About Avenue

12 North Meramec Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Avenue. We’ve taken what was best about Pomme Restaurant and Pomme Cafe & Wine Bar and have combined them in one space.A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant. We are here every day from early morning until late at night. We are here for good things to eat and drink, friendly and attentive service and to provide a welcoming place. Our intent is to tempt you. Our aim is your comfort and satisfaction.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm
Saturday: 9am - 10pm
Sunday: 9am - 9pm
Bar stays open later.

Cross Street:
Forsyth Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 727-4141

Website:
http://www.avestl.com/

Catering:
Custom menus available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch and receptions.

Parking Details:
Street parking with a free (after 5:00 pm) municipal lot across the street. Other lots within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Metro Link stop three blocks to the south.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal dinners
Bridal and baby showers
Corporate gatherings
Other private events

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Please join us on Valentine's Day - we will offer our regular menu in addition to a special 3 course prefix menu for $48 per person.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Avenue offers The Apple Room for private events for 45 guests seated or 65 standing. This space offers a fireplace along with its own bar, entrance and outdoor patio. We also offer our main dining room and bar area for larger groups, and the entire restaurant can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Avenue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fireplace (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great experience. Is a frequent ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great experience. Is a frequent choice for us. Excellent fresh quality food and piped in music is usually very good. Best bread in town'

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came. We ordered. We paid way too muc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We came. We ordered. We paid way too much for what we got. We'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Dined here for NYE. Had the 4 course mea ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dined here for NYE. Had the 4 course meal. Food was delicious, service was outstanding and ambiance was above average. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tried the special of the day. It was ve ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tried the special of the day. It was very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food was quite good but gnocchi dish was ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

food was quite good but gnocchi dish was too salty; otherwise, the duck confit was outstanding and the menu was fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food. Great service ( Paul was our ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good food. Great service ( Paul was our server). I'm looking forward to trying a dinner at this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Slowest service ever! One hour lunch en ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Slowest service ever! One hour lunch ended up much longer due to slow server. Took forever to pay our bill. Definitely will meet friends at other restaurants in the area. This one has a kit to be desired.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

One of my favorite, most consistent plac ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 20, 2016

One of my favorite, most consistent places to eat. Always excellent for a business meal or with adult family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Three of the four entrees were very good ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Three of the four entrees were very good. The brisket sandwich was dry underneath the cheese. There was no gravy for the beef. My husband asked for some sauce, explaining it was dry. The waiter did not apologize as said he could bring a steak wine sauce. It didn't really go with brisket that well. Later they took the entree off of our bill. The waiter could have better resolved it with an "I'm sorry". The fireplace room was closed. The Avenue is a great location and has a nice ambience. It's missing a friendly attitude. On a cold night the fireplace room would have been nice and would have spread out the noise.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Met a good friend for brunch over the ho ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Met a good friend for brunch over the holidays - had a great meal - nice ambiance. Fabulous Huevos Rancheros!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A special of the evening was cauliflower ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A special of the evening was cauliflower soup. It was outstanding. The chef and owner Brian Carr has a talent with his cuisine and invariably runs a comfortable restaurant that has understudied elegance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avenue was great! It is pretty small but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Avenue was great! It is pretty small but if you are looking for a more moderate noise level and a cozy feel it is perfect!

The server was super knowledgeable and made great recommendations! She was also very attentive to us throughout the whole time we were there.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Avenue was recommended by a foodie frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Avenue was recommended by a foodie friend. As a first time customer I treated my brother to a birthday lunch. The food was fantastic, we had the ham & cheese sandwich and a burger. Our waitress Becky was friendly, helpful and provided excellent service. Will definitely go back - hear the BLT with salmon is delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been coming to Avenue for 3 years a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've been coming to Avenue for 3 years and the food is always great. Fresh seafood and imaginative fare. I highly recommend it for lunch and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was oddly almost empty. O ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The restaurant was oddly almost empty. Our server seemed disinterested. When my meal arrived It was not what I ordered. When I pointed it out to our waiter he informed me the special I ordered was from the previous evening, they had not changed info. The four other diners in my party were served room temperature, reheated food, clearly not fresh. At the end of the meal our waiter tried to make things right by bringing a side dish that had been from night before special, so over salted it was inedible.

It was my birthday and I was so disappointed, especially when there are so many great restaurants near by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

another great meal---Brian is the man--- ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

another great meal---Brian is the man-----food, wine service---the trifecta

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fair at best. Bread and butter and desse ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fair at best. Bread and butter and desserts were very good, but our salad and main meals were just ok. A lot of money for just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Good food, even tho went on a Monday, th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food, even tho went on a Monday, the chef's night off. Chose because have had excellent experience with Brian's cooking at other restaurants. Table of 4 celebrating a key birthday. Quiet because we were the only table for much of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent meal on an early Sunday evenin ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent meal on an early Sunday evening. Trout almandine was outstanding--perfectly prepared with slightly crisped skin, toasted almonds, perfectly balanced amount of richness. Fair selection of wines by the glass, wish offerings were more interesting than a handful of Chardonnays, a SauvB and PinotG, but such is the scene in many STL eateries. Nice ambience, friendly waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pomme excellence reincarnated. Some inno ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pomme excellence reincarnated. Some innovative new items mixed with Pomme classics. A great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good. However, the service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was good. However, the service was very slow! We were seated at least 10 minutes before anyone came to our table to bring coffee or take our order. The waitress did not charge us for our drinks. My sister ordered a Chai Tea, but that was delayed because the bartender had to go out to get the mix! The waitress told us three times that the kitchen was "plating" our food and it should be right out! She finally brought us some biscuits and jelly because she knew we must be getting hungry. The restaurant was busy but not crowded! I thought maybe the kitchen had a grudge against her or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Poor service marred my visit to Avenue. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Poor service marred my visit to Avenue. It appeared that they were inadequately staffed for the number of customers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This is the second time at Avenue. The f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is the second time at Avenue. The first time was a lunch with my 2 sisters. We had such a

great time. We each drooled over the mac&cheese. This time I took our daughter and beau for

Sunday brunch. Everything was perfect. The food, service, table placement was great. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great food and great atmosphere. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

always great food and great atmosphere. waitstaff is always accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I were visiting Washu an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My daughter and I were visiting Washu and this restaurant was just down the street from our hotel. We stopped in for a quick bite after a long day. The atmosphere was great and the food was good. We were both a little underwhelmed by the beef with rigatoni but our dessert left us satisfied.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprised when charged for "special birt ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Surprised when charged for "special birthday" dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Poor service and server had "an attitude ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Poor service and server had "an attitude".

We did not get what we ordered.

Location is the only positive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was delicious. Experience was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious. Experience was disappointing because the bar crowd was sooo loud. It was over an hour after happy hour was over and there was still a large crowd present that was definitely not using their inside voices. Very disruptive for conversation. We asked to be seated in the back dining room and this was somewhat better but still too noisy for the prices Avenue charges.

The wine list was odd. Except for about 8 wines which you could order by the glass, all other wines were sold by bottle only.

Our server was very good. Attentive but didn't hover.

Perhaps eating there on a night with no happy hour would be better but I certainly couldn't recommend eating there on a Friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

My wife and I dined at Avenue for lunch, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My wife and I dined at Avenue for lunch, our first time there. The brisket sandwich was very tender, but needed more flavor. Fries were greasy. Also, the filling of the sun-dried tomato and spinach quiche was dry, and and the crust, which appeared to be store-bought, was soggy. We definitely won't return. We doubt this new restaurant will last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

great food, and nice decor. highly recom ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

great food, and nice decor. highly recommend for business meetings at a casual venue. they specialize in fish, but all of their food items are great, and dont forget to save room for dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good brunch good service

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good brunch good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have been there several times, but not f ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Have been there several times, but not for a year or 2. When we've gone before, the service was poor; this time, however, the service was great! Great brunch, great service!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always dependable for a business lunch. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always dependable for a business lunch. Great variety on the menu to meet any taste, convenient location, easy parking across the street, in good weather a choice of eating inside or outside, good service that senses your needs and time constraints.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a pretty resturant and excellent fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Such a pretty resturant and excellent food to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday. It was a little loud and hard to hear eachother for a group of 8 people because the back area was closed off for a private event so resturant was smaller. Service was so good and would go back in heart beat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. The space was nice. M ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was good. The space was nice. My experience was fine but nothing jumped out for me to be above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food. Great service...John is an e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food. Great service...John is an excellent server!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and well presented food,

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fresh and well presented food,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were in town for an engagement celebr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were in town for an engagement celebration. Flying home Sunday afternoon, we required a good meal before heading to the airport. Avenue was suggested & we weren't disappointed. Nice atmosphere, friendly service. Food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, wait staff very frie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent, wait staff very friendly and helpful; we were there on a lovely evening after weeks of very hot weather, so the outside table was particularly welcome.

Filet of beef was excellent.

CB

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.