About Avenue

12 North Meramec Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Avenue. We’ve taken what was best about Pomme Restaurant and Pomme Cafe & Wine Bar and have combined them in one space.A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant. We are here every day from early morning until late at night. We are here for good things to eat and drink, friendly and attentive service and to provide a welcoming place. Our intent is to tempt you. Our aim is your comfort and satisfaction.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm
Saturday: 9am - 10pm
Sunday: 9am - 9pm

Cross Street:
Forsyth Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 727-4141

Website:
http://www.avestl.com/

Catering:
Custom menus available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch and receptions.

Parking Details:
Street parking with a free (after 5:00 pm) municipal lot across the street. Other lots within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Metro Link stop three blocks to the south.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal dinners
Bridal and baby showers
Corporate gatherings
Other private events

Restaurant Photos

Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue

Specials

October Wine Dinner

Tuesday Oct 4, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

October Wine Dinner

Tuesday Oct 4, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Our friend and Beaune wine broker, Jeanne Marie De Champs will bring some of her favorite wines to Avenue's dining room. You will not want to miss an evening with this delightful oenophile and raconteuse. Excludes Tax and Tip. Contact the restaurant directly for reservations. Special valid on Tuesday Oct 4, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Avenue offers The Apple Room for private events for 45 guests seated or 65 standing. This space offers a fireplace along with its own bar, entrance and outdoor patio. We also offer our main dining room and bar area for larger groups, and the entire restaurant can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Avenue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (26)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (19)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for a Date (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Private Room (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Such a pretty resturant and excellent fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Such a pretty resturant and excellent food to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday. It was a little loud and hard to hear eachother for a group of 8 people because the back area was closed off for a private event so resturant was smaller. Service was so good and would go back in heart beat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. The space was nice. M ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was good. The space was nice. My experience was fine but nothing jumped out for me to be above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food. Great service...John is an e ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food. Great service...John is an excellent server!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and well presented food,

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fresh and well presented food,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were in town for an engagement celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were in town for an engagement celebration. Flying home Sunday afternoon, we required a good meal before heading to the airport. Avenue was suggested & we weren't disappointed. Nice atmosphere, friendly service. Food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, wait staff very frie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent, wait staff very friendly and helpful; we were there on a lovely evening after weeks of very hot weather, so the outside table was particularly welcome.

Filet of beef was excellent.

CB

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a mediocre experience. The par ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was a mediocre experience. The parking was difficult (on a Sunday!), and the waitress just didn't get it. We had no eating utensils, the meal was not served in full, and we requested a dinner menu, which was not brought to us Ina timely manner. This is a Clayton restaurant, and I expect more, as I am paying for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I ordered a dirty martini. Did not call ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I ordered a dirty martini. Did not call my alcohol. The bartender took it upon himself to charge me for the most expensive vodka. If I didn't call my brand, it is my understanding that I'm ok with house. Server took off $3 and still charged me for premium vodka. That is taking advantage of your customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The quality and service are always good. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The quality and service are always good. The pace of the service is never rushed. Avenue has an ambiance that is comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only memorable thing about this meal ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The only memorable thing about this meal was how freezing it was in the restaurant. We had to sit outside in hot and humid weather because it was so cold inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server, Jeannie was incredible. She ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server, Jeannie was incredible. She took care of all of our individual needs. Food was great. Loved the gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was delicious as usual

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Brunch was delicious as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always friendly, always good.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always friendly, always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is our third time at Avenue and eac ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is our third time at Avenue and each time the food has been great and every dish ordered has been enjoyed. The servers are there when you need them, but not intrusive. The menu is on the small side but certainly complete enough for every taste.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We thought the food was outstanding and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We thought the food was outstanding and the waitress was knowledgeable and very helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Two of us in the party of three got food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Two of us in the party of three got food poisoning from dinner. We both had the salmon. Not a good recommendation for the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

We had six people meeting for dinner. Av ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had six people meeting for dinner. Avenue was so accommodating, including allowing separate checks. The service was perfect. Everyone enjoyed their meals very much, but really the service and the friendliness of the staff made all the difference, and started off a three day weekend get together with the right spirit.

I had the chilled crab over pea mint purée and I am already trying to figure out how I can make it myself. I was able to taste the roast chicken, and the corn risotto off another person's plate, and the chicken was delicious and moist, and the risotto had incredible flavor. Others had fish dishes they enjoyed. Truly, everyone was very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service - try the house made spina ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service - try the house made spinach ravioli - delicious. Looking forward to coming back to try their pumpkin ravioli later this year when its in season!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the breakfast. Great variety of ch ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Loved the breakfast. Great variety of choices. Food came quick and was delicious,

Would return again andrecommend

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, an enjoyable meal. My wife orde ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Overall, an enjoyable meal. My wife ordered the Vegetable Ragout which was a special followed by the Trout Amandine, both recommended by the waitress. The Ragout was terrific and a nice size for sharing OR for one person. We can't recommend the trout which tasted of fried vegetable oil and was fishier than expected. I ordered a glass of Malbec, a cup of the Qazpacho and the MahiMahi, an evening special the waitress raved about. She also suggested samples of the Malbec first as well as the new Pinot Noir that Avenue had just begun offering by the glass and was her new favorite. The pinot Noir was definitely a better wine so I ordered a glass. The Gazpacho was good but pureed and not something that I would order again although I also finished it so take that for whatever it's worth. It was good but not amazing or as refreshing as I am accustomed. The MahiMahi was excellent and although not a large serving probably worth the $30 price tag, particularly in the Midwest. I had a second glass of the Pinot Noir with the meal. The dessert menu looked good but we decided to go elsewhere. Throughout the meal our waitress was very helpful. I ordered the check and was the only surprise was that the glass of Pinot Noir was $15/glass. I wouldn't have ordered it had I known the price tag because the Malbec that I had actually ordered was also quite good and had been $9/glass. I hadn't paid attention to price because the glasses I saw were all in the $9-12 range which seemed reasonable. The up-sell on the wine wasn't worth disputing and I still tipped 20% on the bill but the experience detracted from the overall experience. The only other thing worth mentioning was that we had decided to sit outside because the weather was in the high 70's and really wonderful for once. Generally it was a good decision except that people periodically stood in doorways immediately north of us smoking cigarettes and the smell was distinct enough that it drew our attention to them in the first place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food, pleasant ambience, convenient ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good food, pleasant ambience, convenient location, good service. Have enjoyed brunch but dinner has more options and combines a bistro atmosphere with some of the pleasures of the French underpinnings that we enjoyed at Pomme.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good selection for lunch and everyone w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Good selection for lunch and everyone was happy with their selection. Our service was quick and our waitress was attentive and nice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious food. Service is friend ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Always delicious food. Service is friendly but not overbearing. Nice casual and never stuffy. Good cocktails. Very good wine list. It can be a little loud when full but overall an excellent spot for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Like the small quiet space . Easy to co ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Like the small quiet space . Easy to converse amongst ourselves. Good design. Good food. Friendly wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great trout!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always great trout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was wonderful and reasonably pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was wonderful and reasonably priced. For dessert, we had the apple torte and it was to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was very good, but the food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was very good, but the food was just ok- we ordered from the discount menu during restaurant week, maybe the real menu is better? We probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our first visit to Avenue. We ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit to Avenue. We knew we liked Bryan Carr's other restaurants, so we had pretty high expectations.

The meal was terrific. The food was inventive (we both had the crab on a puree of peas) and the main courses were wonderful. The restaurant has achieved a very pleasant balance between being informal and being focussed on high quality.

The room noise was higher than we would have liked, but the tables were far enough apart that the noise was a general noise... we did not feel we were forced to be in any other table's conversation.

We will definitely go back, and we will recommend Avenue to our friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Avenue was our last stop during Clayton' ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Avenue was our last stop during Clayton's Summer Restaurant Week, and it was the best of the places we tried. Happy hour is not to be missed, as it features a selection of $2 appetizers. Where can you get $2 anything?? The entire staff was very friendly, offered good advice as to their menu favorites and provided attentive, really efficient service. The executive chef appeared in the dining room several times to make sure everyone was enjoying their meals and offer thanks for choosing Avenue.

Really good food, really engaged staff and an overall great dining experience. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried out the restaurant during Clayt ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We tried out the restaurant during Clayton Restaurant Week. My husband ordered soup as his first course and added oysters. They brought both out together immediately like dinner would be coming out right behind it. 40 minutes later still no dinner. Finally it came out and my dish was very good. My husband's was ok. We might try it again but we wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really good food, prix fixe menu was yum ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Really good food, prix fixe menu was yummy and the service was fun, warm, and very attentive. I only wanted one more 1/2 glass of wine and our waiter came with the bottle and poured me a half-glass, fabulous! Nice broad menu-pasta, chicken, fish, pork and filet's--literally something for everybody. Delish heirloom tomato salad, so good I wanted to lick the plate. All in all a wonderful dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, friendly and good service. A ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, friendly and good service. Always consistent and reliable. Rather noisy for those of us over 50-60 and ...but we can deal with it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food & Service, Good Food & Service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good Food & Service, Good Food & Service, Good Food & Service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Braised artichokes were phenomenal..comp ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Braised artichokes were phenomenal..completely unexpected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been to Avenue many times (especi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been to Avenue many times (especially with my parents) and have always loved it until my most recent visit with a group of my friends who are all 25-30 years old on a Friday night. I was the one who suggested it because the food is always great and it is reasonably priced for a nice restaurant and it just has good, fun vibes & no one had been there before. I'm sad to say I will NEVER be back. The staff was that rude and seemed to be annoyed we were even there! There were only 2-3 other small tables in the whole restaurant but could care less that we were bringing them our business. I do have to say though the food, like always, was SO good!! I'm very sad for Avenue--hopefully their waiters & waitresses get an attitude adjustment because no one will want to go to a restaurant where they do not feel welcomed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Slow service

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Server knew nothing about the menu. 25 ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Server knew nothing about the menu.

25 minutes to get our mimosas.

Lemon blueberry pancakes were served to us raw ... Can't believe I had to send back pancakes in a restaurant.

It was Fathers Day but not over busy - was disappointed.

I live close by and wanted to love the place. This was my third attempt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Excellent food. .staff has always been a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food. .staff has always been attentive friendly

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great but on this very hot ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great but on this very hot night the restaurant was apparently having trouble with the air conditioning. So the heat took a few points off the overall ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A work in progress

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Like Pomme, the cooking is Interesting but inconsistent --great appetizers weak mains, average desserts, excellent wine list. They are still seeking a niche in the Clayton dinner scene.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.