About Avenue

12 North Meramec Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Avenue. We’ve taken what was best about Pomme Restaurant and Pomme Cafe & Wine Bar and have combined them in one space.A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant. We are here every day from early morning until late at night. We are here for good things to eat and drink, friendly and attentive service and to provide a welcoming place. Our intent is to tempt you. Our aim is your comfort and satisfaction.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm
Saturday: 9am - 10pm
Sunday: 9am - 9pm

Cross Street:
Forsyth Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 727-4141

Website:
http://www.avestl.com/

Catering:
Custom menus available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch and receptions.

Parking Details:
Street parking with a free (after 5:00 pm) municipal lot across the street. Other lots within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Metro Link stop three blocks to the south.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal dinners
Bridal and baby showers
Corporate gatherings
Other private events

Restaurant Photos

Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue
Avenue

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Avenue offers The Apple Room for private events for 45 guests seated or 65 standing. This space offers a fireplace along with its own bar, entrance and outdoor patio. We also offer our main dining room and bar area for larger groups, and the entire restaurant can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Avenue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
St. Louis
Neighborhood Gem
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

fit for foodies (31)
neighborhood gem (30)
good for groups (16)
See All
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (13)
special occasion (12)
romantic (7)
notable wine list (5)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always great trout!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always great trout!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was wonderful and reasonably pr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was wonderful and reasonably priced. For dessert, we had the apple torte and it was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was very good, but the food ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was very good, but the food was just ok- we ordered from the discount menu during restaurant week, maybe the real menu is better? We probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

This was our first visit to Avenue. We ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first visit to Avenue. We knew we liked Bryan Carr's other restaurants, so we had pretty high expectations.

The meal was terrific. The food was inventive (we both had the crab on a puree of peas) and the main courses were wonderful. The restaurant has achieved a very pleasant balance between being informal and being focussed on high quality.

The room noise was higher than we would have liked, but the tables were far enough apart that the noise was a general noise... we did not feel we were forced to be in any other table's conversation.

We will definitely go back, and we will recommend Avenue to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Avenue was our last stop during Clayton' ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Avenue was our last stop during Clayton's Summer Restaurant Week, and it was the best of the places we tried. Happy hour is not to be missed, as it features a selection of $2 appetizers. Where can you get $2 anything?? The entire staff was very friendly, offered good advice as to their menu favorites and provided attentive, really efficient service. The executive chef appeared in the dining room several times to make sure everyone was enjoying their meals and offer thanks for choosing Avenue.

Really good food, really engaged staff and an overall great dining experience. We'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We tried out the restaurant during Clayt ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We tried out the restaurant during Clayton Restaurant Week. My husband ordered soup as his first course and added oysters. They brought both out together immediately like dinner would be coming out right behind it. 40 minutes later still no dinner. Finally it came out and my dish was very good. My husband's was ok. We might try it again but we wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really good food, prix fixe menu was yum ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Really good food, prix fixe menu was yummy and the service was fun, warm, and very attentive. I only wanted one more 1/2 glass of wine and our waiter came with the bottle and poured me a half-glass, fabulous! Nice broad menu-pasta, chicken, fish, pork and filet's--literally something for everybody. Delish heirloom tomato salad, so good I wanted to lick the plate. All in all a wonderful dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, friendly and good service. A ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food, friendly and good service. Always consistent and reliable. Rather noisy for those of us over 50-60 and ...but we can deal with it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Food & Service, Good Food & Service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good Food & Service, Good Food & Service, Good Food & Service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Braised artichokes were phenomenal..comp ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Braised artichokes were phenomenal..completely unexpected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I have been to Avenue many times (especi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have been to Avenue many times (especially with my parents) and have always loved it until my most recent visit with a group of my friends who are all 25-30 years old on a Friday night. I was the one who suggested it because the food is always great and it is reasonably priced for a nice restaurant and it just has good, fun vibes & no one had been there before. I'm sad to say I will NEVER be back. The staff was that rude and seemed to be annoyed we were even there! There were only 2-3 other small tables in the whole restaurant but could care less that we were bringing them our business. I do have to say though the food, like always, was SO good!! I'm very sad for Avenue--hopefully their waiters & waitresses get an attitude adjustment because no one will want to go to a restaurant where they do not feel welcomed.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Slow service

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Server knew nothing about the menu. 25 ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Server knew nothing about the menu.

25 minutes to get our mimosas.

Lemon blueberry pancakes were served to us raw ... Can't believe I had to send back pancakes in a restaurant.

It was Fathers Day but not over busy - was disappointed.

I live close by and wanted to love the place. This was my third attempt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Excellent food. .staff has always been a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food. .staff has always been attentive friendly

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was great but on this very hot ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was great but on this very hot night the restaurant was apparently having trouble with the air conditioning. So the heat took a few points off the overall ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A work in progress

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Like Pomme, the cooking is Interesting but inconsistent --great appetizers weak mains, average desserts, excellent wine list. They are still seeking a niche in the Clayton dinner scene.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Family Brunch

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Avenue presents a great dining experience again! We had a family gathering Sunday morning. Food was terrific. Wait staff engaging and professional !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

41st anniversary

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great seafood, and delightful desserts. Definitely will be back

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered a salmon salad. It comes with ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I ordered a salmon salad. It comes with potatoes, I requested none. I did ask for remaine lettuce, and for the salmon to be cooked well. The waiter came back and said it was cold salmon. With that said, I said okay. It literally came with a plate of lettuce with slices of lox on the top...nothing more, for $14.00. I don't care for lox, so I just ate the lettuce.

My friends egg white omelette and my other friend's turkey sandwich did look great though!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great menu choices. So refreshing compa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great menu choices. So refreshing compared to so many restaurants that are trying so hard to be different that they create unappetizing offerings. Not everyone wants goat cheese on everything, weird sauces, wild game, sweetbreads, etc.

The food was delicious and nicely presented. We don't normally do dessert but the apple crepe dish was outstanding. Drinks were great also, though a little on the high priced side. Everything else was reasonably priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is undoubtedly one of my 3 favorit ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is undoubtedly one of my 3 favorite restaurants in CLAYTON. Good outstanding. Good value, great service and great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was definitely sub-par. Often th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was definitely sub-par. Often thought they were brewing the beer we ordered.

Chef came out a few times when we had questions because those who ordered the same dish, had very different looks. Pasta was not good. Gnocchi appetizer was very good, but small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

simple but very good graduation lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

we had a party of 9. service was very efficient, onion soup was excellent, omelets, bloody mary, french dip, salad nicoise were all very good and portions were large. We had 2 people on crutches and 3 elderly, and the restaurant sat us in a separate area, where everyone cld be comfortable and conversations cld be easily heard. Very pleasant lunch at reasonable prices -- exactly what we were looking for.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, very good service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food, very good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Appetizer of mussels was delicately seas ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Appetizer of mussels was delicately seasoned and steamed to perfection. Mains were both outstanding, a fresh halibut and steak frites. Chocolate mousses was sublime.

Service was spotty. Various servers waited on us at different times, and we were sometimes neglected. Food was excellent.

A noisy space with lots of hard surfaces, but a warm and almost intimate feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Avenue

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

the service was a little slow; i ordered the shrimp ad lobster linguine and it was a little salty. one other person in my party ordered the same item and concurred with my assessment.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Great Food and Wonderful Service

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was very good. We got the mussels to start and they were amazing. Bread was also served to start. The bread was perfect to dip into the mussel sauce! The entrees were all very good as well-we got the salmon, the fish special, and the pasta dish (cannot think of the name). All were very satisfying and so good. The service was also great with the server recommendations being on point! Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for any time of day.

 
 (London)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

This was the second time we have been here. Each time we had a lovely waiter and great food. Bar food is very tasty and main menu, while limited, had some great options each time we went.

Tags: outdoor eating, neighbourhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of our favorites in downtown Clayton ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

One of our favorites in downtown Clayton. Service is always impeccable and the food's consistently great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous experience and food and service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Fabulous experience and food and service. Nuff' said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pike's Peak

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I had some of the best Walleye Pike I have ever had in my life. Not kidding. The fish was prepared perfectly and the sauce was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delightful Brunch! Lived being able to ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Delightful Brunch! Lived being able to order off the menu and not have to go through buffet where you over eat! Pancakes with blueberry and lemon light and fresh. Biscuits and gravy best in a long time. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great neighborhood restaurant. Excell ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

A great neighborhood restaurant. Excellent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Avenue: A fine place for a special occasion.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at Avenue. It was my birthday and the waitress, Jeanie, made it feel like a special occasion. The meal was terrific. While it was a little noisy due to a large table of people trying to carry on an animated conversation, the atmosphere was comfortably elegant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Luncheon Spot!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My (very picky) friend and I had a great lunch at Avenue. We asked for a few modifications to our dishes and there were no problems. We had the tenderloin sandwiches, they were great as were the sides,,our server charming without being overly so. We needed to be somewhere quiet because of our hearing issues and our hostess never gave us the impression that we were being a "trial" when we rejected some initial seating options. Definitely plan on returning.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A case where 1+1 is less than 2

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Avenue argues to combine the best of the Pomme restaurant and the Pomme cafe into a restaurant+wine bar mix.

I had been to Pomme before and for my first time at Avenue was not convinced. The compromises forced by this combination (a restaurant part next to a wine/sports bar corner with a large screen TV) result in something that is neither one nor the other. I found the TV distracting while trying to engage in conversations, and while the restaurant corner is not particularly noisy, it has more of a bistro atmosphere than that of a bona fide restaurant.

As far as the food is concerned, I had the same dish I had very much enjoyed at Pomme, namely, the cassoulet, and was disappointed. The ingredients were fine, but did not combine together particularly well; something that is at the core of a good cassoulet where the whole needs to be more than the sum of the parts. My colleagues had the rainbow trout and the Scottish salmon special, and seemed to enjoy it, though I did not hear Oh's and Ah's.

Overall, it was not bad, but mostly a disappointment compared to my recollection of Pomme.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

We have been following the chef owner of ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

We have been following the chef owner of the Avenue for many year. Never ever a disappointment. Menu is always interest. Service is attentive. I love you can eat there breakfast/lunch/dinner 7 days a week. Staff is knowledgeable and will ask the chef to come to the table for extra help on the wine list if necessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food very attentive server friendl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

great food very attentive server friendly and made the meal great! its a new regular place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food! love the atmosphere and the ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

great food! love the atmosphere and the staff is very friendly .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch spot! The food never disapp ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Brunch spot! The food never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.