About Avenue

12 North Meramec Avenue
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Avenue. We’ve taken what was best about Pomme Restaurant and Pomme Cafe & Wine Bar and have combined them in one space.A friendly welcome, a generous spirit and considerate attention come together at Avenue Restaurant. We are here every day from early morning until late at night. We are here for good things to eat and drink, friendly and attentive service and to provide a welcoming place. Our intent is to tempt you. Our aim is your comfort and satisfaction.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, European

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm
Saturday: 9am - 10pm
Sunday: 9am - 9pm

Cross Street:
Forsyth Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 727-4141

Website:
http://www.avestl.com/

Catering:
Custom menus available for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch and receptions.

Parking Details:
Street parking with a free (after 5:00 pm) municipal lot across the street. Other lots within walking distance.

Public Transit:
Metro Link stop three blocks to the south.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rehearsal dinners
Bridal and baby showers
Corporate gatherings
Other private events

Restaurant Photos

Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO
Avenue, Clayton, MO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Avenue offers The Apple Room for private events for 45 guests seated or 65 standing. This space offers a fireplace along with its own bar, entrance and outdoor patio. We also offer our main dining room and bar area for larger groups, and the entire restaurant can accommodate up to 150 guests.

Avenue Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
St. Louis
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Romantic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Avenue was recommended by a foodie frien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Avenue was recommended by a foodie friend. As a first time customer I treated my brother to a birthday lunch. The food was fantastic, we had the ham & cheese sandwich and a burger. Our waitress Becky was friendly, helpful and provided excellent service. Will definitely go back - hear the BLT with salmon is delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great experience!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been coming to Avenue for 3 years a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I've been coming to Avenue for 3 years and the food is always great. Fresh seafood and imaginative fare. I highly recommend it for lunch and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was oddly almost empty. O ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The restaurant was oddly almost empty. Our server seemed disinterested. When my meal arrived It was not what I ordered. When I pointed it out to our waiter he informed me the special I ordered was from the previous evening, they had not changed info. The four other diners in my party were served room temperature, reheated food, clearly not fresh. At the end of the meal our waiter tried to make things right by bringing a side dish that had been from night before special, so over salted it was inedible.

It was my birthday and I was so disappointed, especially when there are so many great restaurants near by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

another great meal---Brian is the man--- ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

another great meal---Brian is the man-----food, wine service---the trifecta

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fair at best. Bread and butter and desse ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fair at best. Bread and butter and desserts were very good, but our salad and main meals were just ok. A lot of money for just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Good food, even tho went on a Monday, th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Good food, even tho went on a Monday, the chef's night off. Chose because have had excellent experience with Brian's cooking at other restaurants. Table of 4 celebrating a key birthday. Quiet because we were the only table for much of the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent meal on an early Sunday evenin ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent meal on an early Sunday evening. Trout almandine was outstanding--perfectly prepared with slightly crisped skin, toasted almonds, perfectly balanced amount of richness. Fair selection of wines by the glass, wish offerings were more interesting than a handful of Chardonnays, a SauvB and PinotG, but such is the scene in many STL eateries. Nice ambience, friendly waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pomme excellence reincarnated. Some inno ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pomme excellence reincarnated. Some innovative new items mixed with Pomme classics. A great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good. However, the service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was good. However, the service was very slow! We were seated at least 10 minutes before anyone came to our table to bring coffee or take our order. The waitress did not charge us for our drinks. My sister ordered a Chai Tea, but that was delayed because the bartender had to go out to get the mix! The waitress told us three times that the kitchen was "plating" our food and it should be right out! She finally brought us some biscuits and jelly because she knew we must be getting hungry. The restaurant was busy but not crowded! I thought maybe the kitchen had a grudge against her or something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

Poor service marred my visit to Avenue. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Poor service marred my visit to Avenue. It appeared that they were inadequately staffed for the number of customers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

This is the second time at Avenue. The f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This is the second time at Avenue. The first time was a lunch with my 2 sisters. We had such a

great time. We each drooled over the mac&cheese. This time I took our daughter and beau for

Sunday brunch. Everything was perfect. The food, service, table placement was great. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always great food and great atmosphere. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

always great food and great atmosphere. waitstaff is always accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I were visiting Washu an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

My daughter and I were visiting Washu and this restaurant was just down the street from our hotel. We stopped in for a quick bite after a long day. The atmosphere was great and the food was good. We were both a little underwhelmed by the beef with rigatoni but our dessert left us satisfied.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprised when charged for "special birt ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Surprised when charged for "special birthday" dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Poor service and server had "an attitude ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Poor service and server had "an attitude".

We did not get what we ordered.

Location is the only positive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was delicious. Experience was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was delicious. Experience was disappointing because the bar crowd was sooo loud. It was over an hour after happy hour was over and there was still a large crowd present that was definitely not using their inside voices. Very disruptive for conversation. We asked to be seated in the back dining room and this was somewhat better but still too noisy for the prices Avenue charges.

The wine list was odd. Except for about 8 wines which you could order by the glass, all other wines were sold by bottle only.

Our server was very good. Attentive but didn't hover.

Perhaps eating there on a night with no happy hour would be better but I certainly couldn't recommend eating there on a Friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value2

My wife and I dined at Avenue for lunch, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

My wife and I dined at Avenue for lunch, our first time there. The brisket sandwich was very tender, but needed more flavor. Fries were greasy. Also, the filling of the sun-dried tomato and spinach quiche was dry, and and the crust, which appeared to be store-bought, was soggy. We definitely won't return. We doubt this new restaurant will last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

great food, and nice decor. highly recom ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

great food, and nice decor. highly recommend for business meetings at a casual venue. they specialize in fish, but all of their food items are great, and dont forget to save room for dessert!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good brunch good service

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Good brunch good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Have been there several times, but not f ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Have been there several times, but not for a year or 2. When we've gone before, the service was poor; this time, however, the service was great! Great brunch, great service!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always dependable for a business lunch. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always dependable for a business lunch. Great variety on the menu to meet any taste, convenient location, easy parking across the street, in good weather a choice of eating inside or outside, good service that senses your needs and time constraints.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a pretty resturant and excellent fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Such a pretty resturant and excellent food to celebrate my dad's 70th birthday. It was a little loud and hard to hear eachother for a group of 8 people because the back area was closed off for a private event so resturant was smaller. Service was so good and would go back in heart beat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good. The space was nice. M ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was good. The space was nice. My experience was fine but nothing jumped out for me to be above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Good food. Great service...John is an e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food. Great service...John is an excellent server!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh and well presented food,

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Fresh and well presented food,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We were in town for an engagement celebr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were in town for an engagement celebration. Flying home Sunday afternoon, we required a good meal before heading to the airport. Avenue was suggested & we weren't disappointed. Nice atmosphere, friendly service. Food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent, wait staff very frie ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was excellent, wait staff very friendly and helpful; we were there on a lovely evening after weeks of very hot weather, so the outside table was particularly welcome.

Filet of beef was excellent.

CB

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was a mediocre experience. The par ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was a mediocre experience. The parking was difficult (on a Sunday!), and the waitress just didn't get it. We had no eating utensils, the meal was not served in full, and we requested a dinner menu, which was not brought to us Ina timely manner. This is a Clayton restaurant, and I expect more, as I am paying for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I ordered a dirty martini. Did not call ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I ordered a dirty martini. Did not call my alcohol. The bartender took it upon himself to charge me for the most expensive vodka. If I didn't call my brand, it is my understanding that I'm ok with house. Server took off $3 and still charged me for premium vodka. That is taking advantage of your customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The quality and service are always good. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The quality and service are always good. The pace of the service is never rushed. Avenue has an ambiance that is comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only memorable thing about this meal ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The only memorable thing about this meal was how freezing it was in the restaurant. We had to sit outside in hot and humid weather because it was so cold inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our server, Jeannie was incredible. She ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our server, Jeannie was incredible. She took care of all of our individual needs. Food was great. Loved the gnocchi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch was delicious as usual

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Brunch was delicious as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always friendly, always good.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Always friendly, always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is our third time at Avenue and eac ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is our third time at Avenue and each time the food has been great and every dish ordered has been enjoyed. The servers are there when you need them, but not intrusive. The menu is on the small side but certainly complete enough for every taste.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We thought the food was outstanding and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We thought the food was outstanding and the waitress was knowledgeable and very helpful.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Two of us in the party of three got food ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Two of us in the party of three got food poisoning from dinner. We both had the salmon. Not a good recommendation for the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

We had six people meeting for dinner. Av ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had six people meeting for dinner. Avenue was so accommodating, including allowing separate checks. The service was perfect. Everyone enjoyed their meals very much, but really the service and the friendliness of the staff made all the difference, and started off a three day weekend get together with the right spirit.

I had the chilled crab over pea mint purée and I am already trying to figure out how I can make it myself. I was able to taste the roast chicken, and the corn risotto off another person's plate, and the chicken was delicious and moist, and the risotto had incredible flavor. Others had fish dishes they enjoyed. Truly, everyone was very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service - try the house made spina ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great service - try the house made spinach ravioli - delicious. Looking forward to coming back to try their pumpkin ravioli later this year when its in season!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.