Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Aventura

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Bar Snacks:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (68)
Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Authentic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Fun (31)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Modern Decor (19)
People Watching (15)
Casual (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Family Style (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Business Meals (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Private Room (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful service, our server had excellent knowledge of the menu. The food was excellent! The ambience was fair, we were dining on a Saturday night so it was fairly busy. Due to the volume of patrons, the noise level was moderarely loud. The prices are on the more expensive side, so it is not somewhere I would dine for everday occasions. That being said, it is wonderful, and a restsurant that everyone should try at least once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food ,great service and nice atmosphere. We arrive a little early and seated immediately all of the the suggestions were spot on.

Our only regret is that we didn't order the paella it looked delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our favorite spots for a Friday date.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

I was very happy to see paella on the menu for 2, usually this is a dish for 4 or 6. Everything was perfectly cooked and the sangria was very tasty. Service was quick, efficient and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was good, food was generally good, but we had to wait over 20 minutes for a entree we ordered at the beginning of the meal after the last of our tapas came out. Our waitress kept apologizing, but it still took a long time to come out once they realized we hadn't gotten it yet. It was the mushroom pasta, which when it arrived was not worth the wait. It was very bland, as if they forgot to add any salt at all. The tapas we had prior to this dish were delicious though and seasoned well.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Aventure has delicious food & great service! We enjoyed everything we ordered! The churros were amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went here for Easter brunch, served in a buffet format. We were impressed with the interesting assortment of dishes and, for a buffet, the overall quality. We'll be back.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Booked a reservation here on a whim for Easter brunch. Our meal was superb, staff was extremely friendly, atmosphere was great, price was very reasonable (especially given the quality of the meal).

Looking forward to my next meal at Aventura.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were seated at the worst location in the restaurant right next to the storage/garbage closet, even though the restaurant was almost completely empty. The food was excellent, though. The service was pretty lousy. I mostly tip 20%, but our waitress was only half good (10%). Dishes were not cleared properly for a buffet. I had to put one dish on top of the other! For a $25 per person buffet, I expect much better service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Every bite was delightful!
We enjoyed sharing all of the foods, both small and large plates.
It was all beautifully presented and the portions were sufficient for 4 people. Our second time here. I plan to return!
Also the bartender was very entertaining and the drinks were all unique and interesting. Delicious Sangria.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Im not sure what is going on on this place , i've been 3 times in a couple months and they keep changing the menu , when I look forward to have a favorite dish is gone !!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great place for a casual OR slightly dressed up occasion. Food choices are healthy and fresh. Definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Had a wonderful time! Brunch was delicious! Services was exceptional and speedy! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Came here for brunch. It wasn't very busy but our server was not very attentive. The food took about 40 minutes to come out. Then the server didn't stop by to check in for about a half hour (after initially coming over to see how the food was) so we were stuck at the table and couldn't pay for that long. The food was ok. Not bad but not out of the ordinary. I probably won't come back again but try it for yourself and make your own decision.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My husband is from Argentina and travels frequently to Spain. He believes that this is the best place state side to get an authentic paella. I love the tapas. It's expensive but worth it!! Everyone we're eating in Ann Arbor we eat at Aventuras

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Romantic, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Had a wonderful experience again at Aventura, the menu changed since our last visit and appreciated our server's aid in navigating the changes. Food is wonderful, and we had a party of 4 with similar dietary tastes, so sharing 8 dishes was a wonderful way to sample a bit of everything.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good dood, good atmosphere, excellent service, wine lost

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was incredible, and the food was as well. A little noisy, but not overwhelming by any means. Kinda pricey for portion size, but suitable for two to eat under $75

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were seated in the basement near the bathrooms. Only two tables down there so definitely seemed like afterthought. Food was good but we ordered Lobster paella and server could not find any crackers to open the shells. Can't eat expensive lobster if you can't get it out of the shell. They eventually found one near the end of our meal. Bummer.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Bday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We were seated in a 4 person high top and the seats aren't comfortable. Overall experience was very satisfied and happy. We'll be back, and next time I'll request a regular table. Good music too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

aventura is one of Ann Arbor's best restaurants. Highly recommend dining with at least 4 people so you can try many dishes.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I've been to this restaurant before for dinner and really enjoyed it. This time we were there for brunch our daughter's birthdays. The service was very slow and the music was so loud we couldn't hear each other speak. I'm not sure why the music was so loud given people are there to eat and enjoy each other's company. The food was very good as always. Brunch was also awkward for a tapa's restaurant.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Really was a great place for a date. The environment was great! The service was amazing. My date krpt accidently blowing our candle out and they continued to relight it. I will be coming here again for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 23, 2017

It was a first time for us. It was a dining gift from our brother. The portions seemed small, the prices were a little high. The ambiance was very nice, the drinks were good. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. The churros were good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The paella was amazing and the food and drinks were all around delicious. They're smaller plates let you try a few things. The two drinks we got were different and delicious. Great restaurant all around!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food, as always, was awesome. This time I had paella. I've spent time in Spain, and Aventura feels quite authentic, especially the Serrano hams suspended from the ceiling!
The less stellar aspect of my dining this time was the service. Our waitress was very friendly, but we had to ask for several things. We asked for salt, she brought an empty salt mill. We asked for another, she brought another empty mill. I asked to see a menu again to compare ingredients once we'd tasted things, instead she tried to explain it. When I asked again, she finally brought one. When she brought out churros for the 3 of us, my husband had to get up to go find plates. I'm hoping she was just having a bad day.
I'll definitely be back, because I really think this was a fluke.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The non alcoholic drinks were great but pricey. The Tapas were hit and miss. Everything on the menu seems good for sharing. Service is kind of slow.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wasn't that impressed with the menu, and was a bit hyped. None of the above did I feel strongly enough to highlight.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, the food was good. It was expensive for not being exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service and ambiance of the place! Its a bit high priced but worth the experience and if you already are use to A2 prices and Tapas this will not be an issue for you! Loved the meat and cheese tray, drinks were wonderful, pear and beet salad was excellent as were the lamb burgers, the steak and cheese plate and the flat bread with pork. All was delightful and would order again. Drinks were also interesting and delish. Do take the servers advice, ours was awesome with guidance and suggestions. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Omelette with chorizo and ham sandwich was not what we expected. Will not order either again as it was nothing special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing food and great service. It made for perfect date night atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food and service were great. This restaurant is very noisy with all hard surfaces, so quiet conversations are difficult. This is a good place to go with several friends. Not so good for a couple that wants to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I love Aventura and chose to celebrate our anniversary and enjoy a night out before our 2nd child arrives.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went to Aventura for dinner before a concert. The food was very good. We had a meat and cheese plate and a few tapas and dessert. My husband got the cocktail on special, which he loved, and I had one of the gin and tonics. I have only two complaints. One is that the pacing was very uneven. I'm not sure if this was the fault of the wait staff or the kitchen/bar, but it took a long time to get our appetizer and we barely started on that when tapas started arriving. Then it took a very long time to get another drink toward the end of the meal - this is something that's tricky at Tapas restaurants, but was troublesome in our case. The only complaint I have about the food is that the bread that came with our shrimp was not very good - seemed like bread I would get at Kroger. I highly recommend the shrimp, patatas bravas, cauliflower and artichoke and churros.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good to go with at least 4 people to try a variety of things. Really enjoyed the manchego croquettes and garlic shrimp. Pricey wine list. A little too dark to read menu

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Enjoyed the seafood paella 🥘 And a cheese board for brunch. Many interesting dinner items and craft beverages, both boozy and nonalcoholic. The ginger pear buck (non-a) was spicy and refreshing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was not the same since my last dining experience and my favorite desert was taken off the menu. I was told there is a new chef since I had last dined there. I doubt I will dine here again to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is the best place I've been to since I moved to Ann Arbor. The lobster paella, croqueta de manchego, and patatas bravas were A++. I'll also be dreaming about the churros for days to come.

Unlike most restaurants I've been to in A2, this one actually has ambience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.