Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Aventura

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Monday-Sunday: 3pm-12am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (66)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Fun (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Bar Seating (34)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Authentic (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Casual (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Happy Hour (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Romantic (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
People Watching (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Comfort Food (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Business Meals (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The paella was authentic and delicious! We paired it with an amazing Spanish wine from their list.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

My boyfriend and I were in town visiting family. We wanted a date night away just the two of us and found Aventura when searching top restaurants in Ann Arbor. The chicken and fried cauliflower were perfect tapas to share and the authentic sea food Spanish rice dish was amazing. A lot of food for two people so we took some home.

Highly recommend eating here! The service was friendly and quick. And the atmosphere was outstanding as well. Very modern, industrial which is always a plus in my book!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Stephan, our waiter was very attentive and considerate. Applause!!!
Atmosphere was quiet because we ate outside but inside it is quite noisy.
Food is always delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Understaffed. Food delayed and not served at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Yum!!! great meal! great service! Everyone should go here

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always delicious but also, as always service needs improvement. Wrong orders, always waiting for drinks and water refills. Makes me almost want to never come back ... but then the food and atmosphere bring me back. Totally fixable but it's a recurrent issue and this a consensus amongst almost everyone I know.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Aventura has some of the best tapas I have had. The octopus is fantastic. The drinks are creative. The bartender even created a drink for us. Worth a visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent Spanish bases dishes. We enjoyed the tempura asparagus as an appetizer, which was lightly fried with cheese. Our main dish was the chicken-chorizo-sausage paella which was exceptional! All was washed down with their sangria tinto. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I love eating at Aventura when in Ann Arbor! The outside patio is wonderful for a larger group or business meeting as it helps keep the noise level lower than if inside the restaurant .The food is always wonderful and drinks and wine menus have a lot of variety! Aventura is a "must" for me when in Ann Arbor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Ann Arbor, which is saying a lot since Ann Arbor has many wonderful restaurants. A very creative tapas menu, but also larger plates, paella etc.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Aventura continues to be one of the top restaurants in Ann Arbor if you're looking for highly flavorful and diverse food. Classic tapas approach with great diversity. Service is typically very good to excellent in a great ambiance without too much noise. Vibrant but not to the point you can't hear each other. Cudos to them for staying on top of their game!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a fantastic meal. The sangria was a very good choice to drink and we totally enjoyed the tapas and paella. We would recommend this to our friends and family. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Salmon was tasteless while pork flatbread was delicious. At 6:30 had run out of one entree and by 7:00pm had run out of two desserts. Waitress wasn't very friendly and said there were no bags to take food home yet he gracious hostess found one easily. Finally they seated two of us at a table only big enough for one person. The couple next to us also complained that they tabled was too small--and there were many open larger tables. Our previous experiences had been great--but his was so radically different that I wonder if they changed management?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Had a wonderful meal to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. I was a bit disappointed our server never acknowledged our anniversary even though we were asked if we celebrating a special event when we booked our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

A great variety of food kept a curious palette.

We were a group of 4 who ordered the paella at the end of our tapas. It was plenty filling and on time. To enjoy the last of a summer evening, we sat outside where a high-bench paired with a low-table made for an odd arrangement. Despite a clean seating area, the patio offered little refinement of ambiance. The low natural light and cool evening contrasted well with a dancing fire heater.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Tapas, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent Spanish menu!
The tapas were excellent and the Paella was amazing .
The drinks were unique and the sangria was delicious! Service was fantastic. Cannot wait to return !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food is delicious and imaginative. Great for sharing dishes. Service was pleasant and attentive. We have been back many times. Courtyard is delightful in warm weather. Inside is vibrant.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Love their Tapas particularly the croquetas. We enjoyed their Sangria too. We went with our kids and ordered for dinner their Paella Aventura. We all love it, and our boys said is the best rice they have had! We look forward to come back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Yum!!! Every dish was delicious and great for sharing.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We wanted to try someplace new for our Wedding Anniversary. We agreed this definitely is a place we will eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a reservation for a Wednesday night and expected it to be packed as usual but we lucked out to get a seat out on the back patio. Such an inviting ambiance for a casual and leisurely dinner with friends.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Sunday Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

A cozy, well-appointed spanish-themed restaurant in the heart of Ann Arbor and only a 10 minute walk from the famed U. Michigan campus. Their Black Paella is to die for, not to mention the delicious tapas, which aren't really small, but rather medium-sized platters! The lamb, and octopus tapas are simply decadent. A great selection of Spanish wines too! Ambience is wonderful, with outdoor roadside, indoor, and outdoor patio seating available.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Everything was excellent except for the lamb burgers. The buns were salted too much, which combined with the chorizo made some bites exceedingly salty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had dined here on several other occasions and never got disappointed with all the services and meals provided. The foods were so unique and they brought the company together to enjoy the meals while socializing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very nice staff...our server, William, was on top of things but the restaurant has a good process of running the food and drinks as a team...no long waits or overburdened staff that way. We had some great small
Plates...mushroom risotto was a particular favorite. We commented that one dish was not our favorite and William took the feedback directly to the kitchen....we weren't even really complaining...they just noted that our feedback was appreciated and took that item off the bill. Very customer oriented and we will certainly go there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Ordered pitchers of sangria and tapas with the assistance of a wonderful, attentive server. Shrimp were overcooked, but meat and cheeses were top notch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Excellent dinner with a friend. Very diverse menu and wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I enjoy and look forward to the weekend Brunch. The hostess and wait staff are attentive and friendly making for an excellent dining experience. The meals are well prepared, presented and delicious. hats off to the chef! Thank you!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great spot for a girls night out. Great food, wonderful sangria and lovely atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Always a great experience here. The ambiance is great, service is knowledgeable and food is always quality. Only criticisms: the pricing is typical of Ann Arbor (can run a little high) and the hosting service can sometimes borderline on apathetic posh. All in all, always a recommendation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This was my first visit to Aventura. I went with some friends and had made a reservation. We were seated at a table next to the kitchen. The tables were close together, which made it hard to hear at my table, due to all the conversations around us. It started to get very hot where we were seated. Our waitress was very knowledgeable but slow. We had a 7:00 reservation and finely left by 9:30. The food was excellent. We ordered the fried cauliflower, brussel sprouts, pork chop and beef tenderloin with asparagus. I was disappointed that the beef tenderloin was so small(5 very small pieces) compared to the price I paid.

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Overall the mgr stepped in at the end and remedied the situation, but alls they had to do was tell us right at the top that our waitress was training and also that they were going to be switching our server about 60% of the way through our meal. This would've alleviated our excessive wait times at the end and, more frustrating than that, calling a waitress who was seemingly ignoring us, but who we didn't know wasn't assigned to our table anymore. It could've been a very easy fix if ANYONE had came over and told us our servers were switching up, but honestly seemed the mgr and staff didn't care enough to address how unpleasant the 45min wait in the middle of our meal had made my father's bday dinner until I literally had to go inside and speak to the floor mgr... who wants to deal with that when you're in from NYC for just 2 shorts days celebrating dad's 60th? In any case, they tried to make up for it with a gift card, so we didn't leave offended, just disappointed. Overall, the staff on the floor is really nice, maybe just a bit aloof. The food is okay, but overpriced for the quality and I wanted to love the lobster paella, but the rice was more salty than my taste (and everyone kind of agreed on this). Overall, I would return bc the staff was really nice -
even if disorganized. Also, the bar is lovely and the bartenders are sweet. When I return, it will be for bar bevs or casual lunch.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Delicious gazpacho. Other food also tasty. A little loud.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I've been here many times before and I've always loved the bar and their tapas. Nowadays, with the various changes to the menu, dinner is a thing to do while their. We began with sangria's, invierno and tinta specifically and they were cold, perfect and not sleep inducing. We moved on to the coliflor frita or the fried cauliflower and the texture was perfect, crispy, crunch and portioned perfectly to share.

Then the paella came, I cannot tell you how happy I was that they were able to reduce the portions to allow for 2, because where I'm from, you'll just go home with enough left over for a few days. We got the paella aventura and it was colorful, textured and flavorful.

We ended the night with the flan, also shareable, given the portions of the other courses my spouse had. Topped with strawberries and a cream that tasted of passion fruit, and a bit of whipped cream on the side, it was the subtley sweet end to a perfect post-movie dinner date.

This was one of our last weekends in town, and what a way to end our time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Excellent food and a great place for tapas and for those who like to try different things. Might be a bit pricey for some, but excellent overall.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Ate at Aventura while revisiting Ann Arbor. While the restaurant was noisy, the food was very good. We especially loved the vegetarian paella. Good beer & wine list.

Tags: Tapas, Great Beer, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Went to Aventura for a date and couldn't have been more satisfied with the ambiance, staff or food. We had a great time, and it was a great kick off to an evening in downtown Ann Arbor.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

My wife and I had our first introduction to Aventura. The food and wine were excellent and the service exceptional. Our waiterJosh went out of his way to meet our requests. He arranged an uber ride for us as I was having a medical difficulty. Thanks to Josh everything worked out fine.
Aventura is five stars in our view. We will be back.

Ray and Marilyn Jolly

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Aventura has great atmosphere with beautiful brick archways. The tapas style menu is delicious as are the creative cocktails! Great sangria too! Bartender Saul helps to make it a fun experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.