Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Aventura

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Monday-Sunday: 3pm-12am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (61)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
See All
Good for a Date (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Special Occasion (34)
Authentic (33)
Fun (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Romantic (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Casual (21)
Happy Hour (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
People Watching (14)
Healthy (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Vegan (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort by
S
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and I had dinner at Aventura for my birthday. We had never had food like this before, and our waitress explained everything very well. The food was absolutely delicious, and very well presented. This is a great restaurant for a intimate dinner, or even with a group of friends. The food is designed to share with each other, so order a bottle of wine from their large list and plan for a fun 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Best paella marisco we have ever eaten!
Superb.
Dessert was less than mediocre.
Lovely service. Noise level & music were unpleasant. Still, we would return for the paella marisco & the attentive service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We gathered for a friend's birthday brunch. We enjoyed a dish and drink on Sunday. Thank you for the birthday dessert, which made our gathering special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

At my Sunday brunch excursion every single thing was on point!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2017

We loved the new menu items we tried! Great service as always.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2017

It’s a bit overpriced but a fun option overall. Interesting craft cocktails & a good selection of Spanish wines.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Service was cold and unresponsive. Ordered draft beer that truly had something wrong with it (I have my own for 4 years and know what IPAs taste like, others at table confirmed it was off; I suspect dirty lines), no apology when sent back, not taken off bill. Several other beers on menu not available. Food has moved away from Spain in terms of recipe (my wife is native Spanish, we visit Spain every year), more traditional tapas poorly prepared (gambas al aljillo overcooked with too much sherry, could go on). Prices have jumped since last visit.
All in all it was a disappointing meal, would not recommend, we will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We were with friends from France/Spain and from Argentina. They loved it! That makes it authentic enough for me. Great service. No problems. Will go again soon.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 4, 2017

It is a pleasure to be able to sample many interesting items during a meal and not be over full. One can do that at Aventura. Many choices of dishes but the ones we tried were all pretty successful and they were quite distinct, for example the Iberico jambon had such nice additions-3 kinds of olives, garlic, only jam, tomato jam, marcona almonds, etc. Wow! The dessert we chose was only okay ; the coffee was bitter-tasted old but we will go back soon for the food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Excellent food...best paella I have had and smaller plates all interesting and delicious. Great ambiance in the restaurant and our server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. Hi grades all around. One of the top 2 or 3 restaurants in Ann Arbor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2017

It was a great lunch. We really enjoyed the sangria.
Food was very authentic and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and food! Always a winner! Make your reservations early.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Went here for brunch with my family for parent's weekend. The food was amazing! We split the french toast and it was to die for. Tasted like a churro. I had one of the omelettes for my meal and it filled me up and tasted great. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone in Ann Arbor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Really great place. Was there on a football game weekend so there is always a balance between bustling and overcrowded but they handled quite well.

Tags: People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Loved the ambiance, the tapas, and the cocktails! Fun place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We loved everything we ate. Our waitress was very helpful and made great suggestions. Highly recommend Aventura!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 2, 2017

Very good food. Great decor. Too loud if you want a conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Paella was on the salty side. Cocktails and appetizers were excellent. Service was attentive but unobtrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Excellent food and service - Anya had some great ideas and suggestions. We loved everything we ate (including a meat/cheese board, gazpacho, shrimp, chicken kebabs, olives, lamb meatballs). The brussel sprouts and hummus we will amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was amazing! We had brunch there. The service unfortunately the worst I ever had. Brunch took 2.5 hours because the waiter was so slow. The restaurant wasn't even busy. We had to leave the table to order drinks at the bar because the waiter didn't tend to the table for 20 mins after we had been sat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We dined on a Saturday night, and the restaurant was super busy. Glad we made a reservation! The food was delicious, and the menu had lots of great choices. Our waitress was very attentive, even though she was very busy. We will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service. Went for our anniversary and was surprised with complimentary flutes of champagne for each of us. Wonderful place for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2017

I love Spanish food and its hard to find a good Medeterriean Restaurant in the states that is authenticate. Having traveled to Spain extensively in the past two decades, my expereince in Aventura activated many memories, smells and tastes of the various wonderful foods of Spain that I love and savor. Two thumbs up! A++ I only wish it was closer as I live in Boston! But, if my child is accepted and attends University of Michigan, this will be a stop for each time we come visit him!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2017

The owner of Aventura owns several restaurants and I've not received good service throughout at any of them. This time, tapas items we never ordered were repeatedly presented to us by a questioning waiter, and one of our items never arrived at our table. The food was decent but not spectacular, though the cocktails were terrific. The noise level, though, was beyond irritating. My husband and I couldn't hear our server or each other, and we were there on a Tuesday night. I'd recommend to friends who wanted to go for a drink and a meat and cheese place, but don't expect intimate, romantic interactions. You'll be shouting at each other, and at the waiter who can't hear you when you tell him the calamari doesn't belong to you.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Great food. Of course the price is a little high but most tapas places are.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I can always count on aventura for a memorable dining experience and exceptional service. Great sangria and everything I’ve sampled has tasted wonderful. Definitely a pricey evening but worth it for a special occasion. Pleas bring back the caramel sauce for the churros!

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The food is always great. The specials of the day are always worth a try. Had a great time for my daughters birthday!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Loved Aventura - Happy Hour was a good value, and the discounted Tapas were a plus! Great food, great service - we will be back to try other plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Wonderful food. Good for sharing Great service Monday's half price Sangria

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food is quite good but too expensive from my point of view. The cheese and meat (jamón, chorizo and lomo) were spectacular! It was my favourite. On the other side, the sangría was the worst one I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We went to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and it was great! I filled out that it was our anniversary when I made the reservation and when we got there we had a cute card on our table. And the food was incredible, we split 2 tapas, 1 order of paella, and the churros for dessert. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Aventura consistently does a great job starting the moment you arrive. Friendly, pleasant hosts. Servers are excellent, knowledgeable, pleasant, prompt. Available yet unobtrusive. Our most recent server, Taylor was very helpful with wine selection. The tapas are excellent, nice variety of selections and start coming quickly. A great place to match any budget and appetite. Have been several times and always pleased with food and service.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, People Watching, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Nibbled at the bar on two occasions and had paella for dinner on a third. All three visits were excellent with great service and tasty food. The ambiance is bustling and energetic -- lots of hard services. Tapas are not necessarily traditional but are ok; the better bet is a cheese or charcuterie board with a paella to follow. Good, reasonable wine list and creative cocktails.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Excellent drinks and tapas. Went here for a business dinner meeting and everyone was pleased!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Food was mediocre . Slow service.One of the orders arrived after the others on the group were done eating . We had to have the order packed to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Loved the food here. Was a special brunch while visiting our daughter in Ann Arbor. Had several small plates and the a paella which we shared. All the dishes tasted great and the service was first rate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Vegan, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We enjoyed Adventura before the Michigan game the other night. Nice bar with a good wine selection and cocktail selection as well with decent pricing. Sampled the tempura asparagus, chicken croquettes, and signature potatoes with a fried egg. Not the lightest meal we've had but all very good. They do have salads on the menu and that would have been a good addition. Overall a nice spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very cozy decor, wish the chairs were more comfortable. Great food! We ordered the vegan paella and they said it takes 45 minutes, but it came out before some of the other small plates, and it was very tasty. We were told it would serve 2 as a main dish, serve 4 if you ordered small plates to go along with it - I think it would have served 8. Lots of food.

I think next time I would order at least 2 orders of the mushroom flatbread. It was my very favorite.

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

The delicious food and great service were marred by the cloud of fruit flies that circled our table.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent food and cocktail menu, great service as well. Will definitely revisit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.