About Aventura

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Monday-Friday 11:30am-3pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Late Night:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
1 More
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

fit for foodies (111)
special occasion (68)
good for groups (66)
See All
hot spot (57)
vibrant bar scene (44)
romantic (43)
neighborhood gem (37)
great for brunch (32)
great for lunch (24)
late-night find (18)
notable wine list (15)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We love this restaurant. I have been on ...

Dined 7 days ago

We love this restaurant. I have been on several occasions. We decided to take our friend who was visiting from out of town and she loved it as well. I cannot say how much I love this place. The only thing that was not great was where we sat. The restaurant had many available places to sit a party of three. The hostess brought us to a table by a VERY sunny window, so bad I could not see and next to a big party with two NOISY children. I asked the waitress if we could move, she said no problem and we did. After that, the experience was much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the decor and service is awesome. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the decor and service is awesome. Very fun menu and most of the dishes were spectacular. Our only disappointment was the small amount of very delicious octopus served over a larger amount of potatoes that were so salty we couldn't eat them.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice Experience

Dined on May 16, 2016

This is the perfect restaurant for tapas in AA, we had two people and got three dishes and the churros for dessert, possibly should have gotten one more thing, but otherwise it was a good amount. The server was very helpful and all of the staff were accommodating, friendly and professional. It was a tiny bit loud but no more than a typical restaurant and we were still able to easily have a conversation. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always amazing!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is always amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you Andrew !!! Everything was grea ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Thank you Andrew !!! Everything was great and absolutely delicious.. Can't wait to come again !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall is great, not the loud background music.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant provides customers with a unique dining experience, from the type of meals, the way services provided, and the ambiance. It is certainly a very communal dining style, which gears toward encouraging people to share the experience and conversations. With that said, the loud music background sort of diminished the positive overall experience. This downside aspect is definitely easy to ractify.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wasn't Impressed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Brunch and was disappointed that there was very little "Spanish" food, trendy yes but not Spanish. Lived in Spain for quite a few years and was disappointed with what was on the buffet. We were told that we could order only limited from the menu and were told that the buffet was the best. May go back for just a meal but am hesitant and will be upset if the quality doesn't match the price.

food5
ambience4
service5

First time visit; recommended by friends ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

First time visit; recommended by friends. Welcome and service was excellent. Great variety of food to choose from. While tapas portions are smaller, good sizes to share.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Solid Restaurant Choice in AA

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was solid. Did not see much new on the menu, which typically has seasonal choices. The root vegetable dish was a bit overcooked/mushy, but the seafood selections (octopus and shrimp) were very good. I requested a quieter section, which was graciously accommodated, as this was a first date. The noise level can sometimes be a bit high in the middle of the room and toward the kitchen. Service was good- seemed like they may have been training some staff- very young, but competent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Megan, our server was great. Helped us d ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Megan, our server was great. Helped us decide what to pick from the extensive menu with great suggestions and provided us with great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

great service. Very attentive

Dined on April 24, 2016

great service. Very attentive

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tapas!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very glad there is such a great tapas restaurant in Ann Arbor. The food and service were outstanding. Our waiter was helpful and fun!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5

Pintxo with olive tampenade was the stan ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Pintxo with olive tampenade was the standout. Octopus with fingerling potatoes was a letdown

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

My friend and I who don't get to see each other often chose this restaurant based on some excellent word-of-mouth reviews. We were very, very satisfied with everything. Our server, Sloane, took time to explain the menu to us and make recommendations, which was very helpful. Get a sangria; it's delicious. Everything we tried was fantastic. We did a few small plates. They are small, but very filling and reasonably priced. And the small plates excited us more than the medium plates. Also, get the churro. It's out of this world.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Second time eating here. Food was amazing. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Entree before appetizer

Dined on April 13, 2016

Our server had us ordering everything at the very beginning . We had finished 2 tapas dishes before the cheese appetizer came out. Completely kills the taste palate ... Even though the food was good

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, just wanted more of it.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was terrific but the small plates we ordered were definitely that!! I've been to many tapas restaurants and felt that the portion size was a bit lacking at Aventura.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ear-deafening but delicious

Dined on April 6, 2016

Went for dinner with some out of town family. Food was awesome, and the sangria espumosa was on point. We were there at 6:30 and the dining room was busy, but not busy enough for how loud it was. Still a great place for a group, I just wouldn't recommend bringing any one you want to have a conversation with.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum Yum YUM!

Dined on April 3, 2016

I love Aventura, I've loved every time I've gone. It's tricky to split the dishes with a large party because the dishes are so small, but multiple orders of one dish will always work, because you can never have enough of anything on the menu!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Husband's birthday

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

If you are reading this then you probably know there are many restaurants in this town that offer free meals for your birthday. Instead of choosing one of those spots my husband choose Aventura. As always our meal was fantastic. We each started with a small cup of caldo gallego. Although this is a broth based soup it was filling and quite hearty. For our main course we shared several small plates. These included the brussel sprouts, shrimp and suckling pig. The shrimp dish was quite generous with six large shrimps. It's always hard to try new items when we have so many favorites from past visits - the croquetas, the fried cauliflower and roasted beet salad. We finished off with a shared dessert - chocolate bouchon. It was the perfect amount of food for two with some lovely wine. The food presentation and service were outstanding as per usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good waiter, nice ambience, superb food. ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Good waiter, nice ambience, superb food. Enjoyed our whole evening there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for tapas and cocktails

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food here is phenomenal. The service is wonderful. The bartenders are attentive and make delicious cocktails. The sangria is a staple. I recommend for any special occasion, weekend dinner or just a nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food, but not my style. Really loud ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food, but not my style. Really loud, great for celebrating but not for talking. Fun!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I ate here recents on a busy ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I ate here recents on a busy Saturday night (3-5-16) . Even though they were packed our table was ready upon our arrival. Food was very good, especially the suckling pig, which was outstanding. Our server Andrew was spot on. Along with an interesting cocktail and wine list, Aventura makes for a great evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was excellent!!! However, th ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was excellent!!! However, the food quality was not any better than a chain restaurant. The main dish was good, not fantastic, the appetizers were not as good an way overpriced. The desert was even worse. The sangria was very good but a bit overpriced as well. $4.00 for a small slice of bread with a tiny piece of cheese is overpriced. Especially when you have to get several for the table, along with the cheese platter. Again the service was great.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food - Great Conversation!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Our dining experience was very pleasant and facilitated lively discussion among University faculty and our visiting guest. Aventura is a "go-to" venue for Ann-Arborites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, cocktails

Dined on February 28, 2016

Definitely recommend this restaurant. Should order cocktails and have some tapas. Favorite tapas were gambas al ajillo (shrimp) and the prime rib steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. Just be aware th ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was delicious. Just be aware that "medium plates" doesn't refer to the amount of food you get.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Ordered four rounds of tapas--three item ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

Ordered four rounds of tapas--three items were really good, but all the rest not at all memorable. Good cocktail, pleasant dinner and seemed like a good place if you were out for drinks and appetizers. Great ideas on the menu, but too many just didn't pan out. No real complaint with this restaurant, just know several tapas places with more consistently great plates.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

The brunch menu had a great selection of ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The brunch menu had a great selection of small and large plates. The food preparation was excellent although time from ordering to being served was extended. Great leisurely meal. Restaurant is conveniently located close to parking garages if street parking isn't readily available.

food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch...meh

Dined on February 21, 2016

I love Aventura and wanted to try their brunch. Unfortunately, I found the menu quite limited. The food I ordered was actually pretty bland and not something I'd return for.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We have enjoyed several wonderful meals ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

We have enjoyed several wonderful meals at Aventura. Our most recent dinner occurred this past Tuesday night. We were surprised/impressed that for a Tuesday night it was full and lively; though it was often so loud we could hardly hear one another -- but we can deal with the noise. We absolutely love the variety of tapas on the menu. Our favorites were charred peppers, bacon wrapped dates, patatas bravas and seared shrimp. However, we were quite disappointed with the medium plate order of white fish (so salty we could not eat it). We were also disappointed with the octopus order that had 3 very small pieces of octopus and ~6 pieces of potatoes apparently supposed to look like octopus. Nonetheless, we enjoyed the many flavors the menu offers and look forward to returning soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best tapas places out here. N ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

One of the best tapas places out here. Never disappoints. And surprisingly long list of vegetarian tapas options which is excellent.

food5
ambience3
service4

Food is great. Noise level is usually ab ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food is great. Noise level is usually above comfortable conversation level, which presents a challenge, particularly for date night.

food4
ambience5
service4

Met another couple for drinks and light ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Met another couple for drinks and light grubbing. Everything we ordered was good but I was amazed at how quick the tab added up considering each plate was only about a bite per person. I love small plates restaurants but this place seemed a bit pricey. Drinks were great as was the atmosphere but it was extremely easy to rack up a $300 tab and leave feeling hungry.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding food with mediocre service and value

Dined on February 6, 2016

Food quality, taste and flavors is outstanding. Definitely a must try for foodies and tapas lovers. However, the service was mediocre with long waits to get served or even get the waiter's attention. Overall value was mediocre also since quantities were quite small for the price. All in all, definitely a must try and great for a special occasions. Not somewhere you can go all the time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

They overcharged me for the wine. We had ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

They overcharged me for the wine. We had split the wine to four and I only signed for my portion but they charged me the entire amount. After being on the phone for 45 minutes hopefully they corrected this. They offered no compensation for this major inconvenience. I used to be a regular but this is quite disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fun, energetic vibe

Dined on February 3, 2016

I took my daughter here for dinner and we had a very enjoyable experience. The service was prompt and friendly, and the menu was unique and creative. The server was helpful in choosing items and was attentive to my dairy-free request, making suggestions that did not contain dairy in the preparation. The portions are quite small, but everything was delicious. The ALCACHOFAS FRITAS (fried artichokes with rosemary aioli) were delicious, and we also enjoyed the FILETE CHAMUSCADO (seared hangar steak). Overall, the atmosphere was upbeat and fun. We will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Good Food but very LOUD

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

Enjoyed our Tapas, but the table we were at was very loud (speaker right over our table as well as voices all around). Service was good but could have been better. Expensive for the portions, but not unexpected.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

We had a great variety of food and enjoyed it all. Kyle, our server, was outstanding in personality and recommendations! My only critique is the noise level. It was difficult to carry on a conversation between the 4 of us. Will definitely go back though.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.