About Aventura

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Monday-Friday 11:30am-3pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Bar Snacks:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Best Service
Ann Arbor
1 More
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Fit for Foodies (98)
Good for Groups (66)
Special Occasion (66)
See All
Hot Spot (53)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Romantic (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Great for Lunch (25)
Great for Brunch (24)
Late-night Find (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was wonderful. We tried a numb ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was wonderful. We tried a number of dishes; soups, appetizers, small tapas, capped off with the paella plate for the main course. I was always happy when food came to the table, and while not everything fit my expectations, that was often because they were exceeded.

I had two problems with my experience. I've been to tapas restaurants where something is served as a "filler" between plates. A light something, like a bowl of Spanish peanuts, that I could munch from between servings. Nothing like that was available here, even though the time between plates was often longer than I've experienced elsewhere.

That length was the very tough part. Our reservation was for 7, and we were prompt. When we ordered the paella plate, we were told it would be a 45 minute wait. It was much longer than 45 minutes, to a point that our meal took more than 2 hours. While one might expect a longer meal from a tapas restaurant, it became truly uncomfortable to sit on the wire seats for that long. Everyone at the table at different points got up, for no other reason than the uncomfortable seats.

I'd still say the experience was a positive one, but fixing these simple problems would increase the chances of my return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great dining. The noise level is terrib ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great dining. The noise level is terrible- but it is compensate by food. Would be good to have there spenish music. Anyway- my favorite place in town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my daughter's birthday so we were ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was my daughter's birthday so we were looking for a fun place to have dinner. Aventura fit the criteria we were looking for - a fun atmosphere. It was indeed that. The only major drawback was the noise level. I'm all about having an energetic atmosphere, but when you can't hear the person next to you, that's a bit of a problem. I was also sitting under a speaker and the music was blaring. I asked it have it turned down a little, but that didn't happen. I also for a different table, but was told that was not possible. Despite that, we had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Stopped in while visiting U of M. Had a ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Stopped in while visiting U of M. Had a very nice. meal and the service was stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere...great service...great ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great atmosphere...great service...great Sangria! My only complaint is that every item that the server recommended was very rich and oily. They were delicious, but a little too much oil and very heavy. (we ordered 4 items). I felt that there weren't a lot of lighter items on the menu and even the things we ordered were sitting in more oil than they needed to be.

I'll go back and look for other options, because otherwise it was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent. Brought back so memories of S ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Excellent. Brought back so memories of Spain's delkcious food. Staff awesome. Will go back and bring some friends to share a great dining experience

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I very much enjoyed my meal, I will be b ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I very much enjoyed my meal, I will be back as soon as I can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful! Slone was server and she exc ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderful! Slone was server and she excellent!

The food was delicious! An overall great experience😆

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent waiter and service. Tapas quit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent waiter and service. Tapas quite good, but price a little steep for some. Nice selection of wine and some fairly good values there. Can eat outside on sidewalk, and enjoy the pedestrian traffic and local architecture. Very nice evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

delicious - millions of choices and grea ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

delicious - millions of choices and great staff! thank you for a lovely evening!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aventura is a great space for group dini ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Aventura is a great space for group dining, I really love going with 4 people total because it makes sharing everything the easiest. The tapas menu offers a lot of amazing, unique flavors. Some recommendations for new diners here would be: fried cauliflower, lamb meatballs, patatas bravas, and ceviche.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to meet up with friends, alt ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great place to meet up with friends, although a bit loud depending on where you sit. Great non-traditional food. Sangria is good and potent! Will be back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always delicious and a fun night out. A ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always delicious and a fun night out. A little on the pricier side, but definitely worth it as there are tons of items on the menu I have not found anywhere else!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The paella del mar was particularly good ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The paella del mar was particularly good. The seafood was delicious and calamari was so tender. We loved the mushroom tapas and bacon wrapped dates too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time dining here and we enjoyed e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Second time dining here and we enjoyed everything we tried. The staff and manager go above and beyond to make sure you everything is going good and the food quality is great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was friendly, enthusiastic an ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our waiter was friendly, enthusiastic and very helpful with the menu. The food and experience was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent. The onl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food and service were excellent. The only thing that interfered with our enjoyment was an intoxicated couple who needed to get a hotel room but instead were sitting directly next to us. With the $5 Sangria nights the restaurant has a responsibility to not serve those who are behaving inappropriately and therefore interfering with other guests enjoyment. It wasn't our servers table which also put her in a difficult position.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It is energetic, another word, very nois ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It is energetic, another word, very noisy. It has romantic atmosphere, but if you like quiet romantic, I would not recommend this place. But if you like good quality tasty tapas with energetic atmosphere for dating or friends get together, I highly recommend it. The waiter was very nice and professional.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seems like portion sizes have gone down ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Seems like portion sizes have gone down quite a bit while prices have not. Makes me hesitant to go very often.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I think this place is overrated. Some di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I think this place is overrated. Some dishes were quite good, others were mediocre. Noise level was out of control, too damn loud. They had a hard time delivering food promptly. I just wasn't impressed and I should be at these prices. I can find better or equal food for less in town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Aventura is a great place to go with fri ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Aventura is a great place to go with friends or family, comfortable with a very relaxed environment. The restaurant is clearly a popular choice so I would strongly recommend reservations.The quality of the tapas were excellent across the board and though not everyone liked the same things we had plenty to share that suited everyone's taste. The service was prompt yet not overbearing and the presentation of the food was excellent. We went with two friends from out of the country and they seemed to really enjoy the ambiance and food. My only disappointment was that I ordered the white gazpacho which I absolutely love but the waiter came back and said they were out. A little surprising considering it was only 7:00pm but I guess a decision was made not to make an extra batch, not sure. I was really looking forward to it.

The noise level was a bit high and unfortunately we were seated near a particularly boisterous table. They clearly were enjoying themselves so who am I to complain. I appreciate that you can go down to the kitchen and see the food preparation as well as some of the other rooms. If you go downstairs to look at the kitchen be mindful that the wait staff is rushing back and forth so unless you want to wear your food best to keep an eye out for the staff. Still its nice to see the excellent kitchen staff at work. I've been to Aventura four or five times and it has always been an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Mimi was the best! Super frie ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Our server Mimi was the best! Super friendly.

The food was just ok, really over priced. My meal with one drink was $86 with tip. That's insane considering its tapas, and it was just ok food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great outdoor space. Lovely wait-staff. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great outdoor space. Lovely wait-staff. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Main dish wasn't the real Paella. The se ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Main dish wasn't the real Paella. The sea food was not fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

really great food, especially the bacon ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

really great food, especially the bacon wrapped dates, and the fresh offerings!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was delicious, especially the Bruss ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was delicious, especially the Brussels sprouts and bacon retailed dates. Our our waitress was fantastic, and the decor was a great blend of rustic and modern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Against public opinion, I am not general ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Against public opinion, I am not generally a fan of AA dining. I came from Chicago where good food with great service is readily available at a reasonable price. In general, I find the AA food to range from meh to OK, service to be mediocre at best, and prices even worse. Add pretension, and now you have a horrible dining experience.

That in mind, I very much enjoy Aventura. Food is solid, service is good, ambiance great, and all at a reasonable price. Great after work place, dinner with mate, special friends-get-together place. Not a bad plate. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A home run! The food, drinks, vibe, and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A home run! The food, drinks, vibe, and location all are amazing. The wait staff are kind and attentive. The pintxos are a little pricey but everything is quite reasonable. Personal favorites were the white bean pate and almond and pineapple pintxos. The egg pintxos was a generic egg salad on toast. The flat boards were superb, especially the Forest with a cracked egg on top. Wonderful tapas included the Brussels sprouts (seriously), and the egg and potato frites (insanely decadent). Everyone loves the churros and dipping sauces. We loved the brown butter cake with lime curd and the chocolate tart with pretzels. The Tempranillo sangria and all the cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Service was good bu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was good but not great. Restaurant has a good vibe but the small basement seating area is just ok. Patio looked very nice. Wish I knew about it when I made the reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

The food was fantastic! The cocktail was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was fantastic! The cocktail was yummy. Highly recommended the octopus cerviche. Small plates...great way to try many dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Second time their second best meal of my ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Second time their second best meal of my life would recommend to anybody at any time any day

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My stepmom and I celebrated our birthday ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My stepmom and I celebrated our birthdays with lunch at Aventura. We shared the new chicken/chorizo paella - delicious! (Note: Our server advised us that this dish would take about 30 minutes to prepare. It did but was well worth the wait.) - and a salad, really good, too. Then we shared some churros for dessert. They were light and yummy and the three dipping sauces were delish! Would definitely recommend this restaurant and would dine here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indoors too loud to have a conversation ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Indoors too loud to have a conversation but their outdoor dining out back is fabulous! Great spanish tapas, attentive service, wonderful experience outside.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

This was my first meal at L'Adventura th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first meal at L'Adventura this year. The menu was its usual unusual but the food itself was something else. The gazpacho soup was billed as "white" but my husband who ordered it said it was too sweet. The salmon and cheese appetizer turned out to be cream cheese and smoked lox -- it looked and tasted like a Zabar's reject (Zabar's is a very famous NY Deli), not anything exotic. The black kale salad looked odd (cheese grated so finely it looked like layers of dust) but tasted okay. The best dish was the bacon-wrapped dates, which blended familiar flavors in a totally unexpected way. So I would have to say that overall, it was a 3-star experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were first time diners and were blown ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were first time diners and were blown away by the service and food quality. Our server Alex was knowledgeable and I let him take full control of choosing our food. He made great selections and we were pleased with everything. I spoke with the manager who recently came from the The French Laundry and I informed him of our overall experience. His professionalism and easy going personality were the icing on the cake. Great place, I'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and wonderful service. Firs ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Awesome food and wonderful service. First time visit was great. Second time visit was fantastic. The lamb sliders and marinated olives in citrus and rosemary are not to be missed when ordering. White sangria was delicious and the perfect choice with our tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First time good impression. Food was tas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time good impression. Food was tasty service friendly & efficient. Lunch menu could be bigger. Tapas sizes were inconsistent. Two large one tiny.

Still I am eager to go back with a bigger group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderfully tasty. Love the small plate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderfully tasty. Love the small plate dining trend! (Great way to enjoy many different dishes/flavors without overeating). Patio dining in summer is lovely. Highly enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is always interesting and delic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is always interesting and delicious. Recommend the Sangria too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delicious food!! Shrimp, cauliflower, Oc ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food!! Shrimp, cauliflower, Octopus, flat bread, and lamb burgers were all amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.