About Aventura

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Monday-Friday 11:30am-3pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Late Night:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Food
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
1 More
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

fit for foodies (102)
good for groups (70)
special occasion (67)
See All
hot spot (53)
vibrant bar scene (42)
neighborhood gem (40)
great for brunch (36)
romantic (36)
great for lunch (24)
notable wine list (15)
late-night find (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!! Shrimp, cauliflower, Oc ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food!! Shrimp, cauliflower, Octopus, flat bread, and lamb burgers were all amazing!!

food4
ambience3
service4

Food and service were great. I ate outsi ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Food and service were great. I ate outside and while the overhead shades took care of the direct sun, unfortunately the glare off the aluminum tables was too much...My server Sloane knows how to solve the problem. Management should listen to her.

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Went for Father's Day. Not crowded, whi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's Day. Not crowded, which was very nice. Service was a bit slow, considering. I did not like the high top table they sat us at. I have short legs so I was actually dangling. Ended up having to sit on my legs. Was disappointed that brunch was limited to the brunch menu (which is comparably small) and not the whole menu. I've love this restaurant. Just not for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this Ann Arbor restaurant! Deliciou ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Love this Ann Arbor restaurant! Delicious and varied food and drink choices. They did initially mess up our reservation (for some reason even though we were seated and checked in, they *later* canceled our reservation. No big deal, since we were seated but Open Table also helped us clear things up. Restaurant week allows us to explore. This is now gonna be a regular for us. Thanks!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

After dining at Adventura on several occ ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

After dining at Adventura on several occasions, I do not plan on returning ever again. The food and cocktails themselves are quite good, albeit expensive for the portions. We often mock the portions and only go knowing we will be eating again later in the evening. The service is friendly but usually mediocre. Last night was atrocious. The restaurant was not at full capacity and there was no line out the door as other visits, so I couldn't say that they were just too busy. Drink orders took over a half hour. Our meal lasted over 3 hours and we had to beg for the bill to brought quickly. This was not because we were talking or lingering. Unlike the past when we order a few tapas every so often, we waited the entire time for the first order and never added any more plates. We noticed it wasn't just our table but the full restaurant came to a full stop for a hour, no one was served. The annoyance in the room was palpable. Our charcuterie plates were brought with a single slice of bread, only to be brought the rest of the bread an hour later when it was no longer of use (except for food, we were starving). One of our plates did not match the description and was inedible by the friend ordering it. She said she couldn't eat it and when the server offered to place another order, she declined because we needed to leave. It was well after 10pm and she had to drive an hour home yet. The waitress claimed 3 hours was average. Sorry, I've never had a three hour meal there, ever, even when ordering multiple times. Up until that point our table was very polite and jolly, but I think the condescending tones of the waitress and our hunger sent two of our party over the edge. If there had ever been a case for a dine and dash that would have been it. Of course we did not, though even after speaking to the management, who was very rude, there was no resolution. Needless to say, despite how good the food is, we will not be returning. Quite a shame, really.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience with Spanish ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful dining experience with Spanish tapas. Every dish was delicious and artfully presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experience at Aventura was fantastic ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Our experience at Aventura was fantastic! We had the octopus ceviche, the fried cauliflower, the roasted mushrooms, the peas and clams, and a chocolate tart with buttered popcorn ice cream for dessert. Our favorite was the peas and clams with a fish stock, lemon aioli, sliced garlic, and English pea shoots, which, along with our dessert, was chosen for us by our server, TK. Chelsea, a manager, also surprised us with the delicious fried cauliflower. As for the service, TK was genuinely one of the best servers I've ever had. He essentially chose half of our meal for us and absolutely crushed it. Everything was fantastic, and we'll definitely be back (and requesting to be sat with TK)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time guests

Dined on June 11, 2016

No wonder we haven't managed to get a table reservation before this (we have tried many times). There's no reason why everybody shouldn't want to be there! The bar was great, Lerone created some great cocktails that we loved. The dining was also superb - we went with lots of small tapas-plates, all of them delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very good but the portions ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was very good but the portions were really small, my wife and I are not big eaters so we found ourselves having to order more. When the bill came I had a little sticker shock.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I always love this place

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Ann Arbor. Reservations are recommended (especially for large groups). Service is always impeccable, and the food is always delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great range of flavored available, great ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Great range of flavored available, great cocktails.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food, loud atmosphere

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food including items that are harder to find in other A2 places. Menu has gotten much smaller, unfortunately, so it is less tapas and more Americanized. Very loud and hard to hear your dinner party. I have been here several times and this was the only time that service was really, really terrible. The prepared food is pretty good, especially the flatbreads and pintxos. The meat and cheese selection for the charcuterie and cheese boards is good - but if there is a supplier issue preventing an item from being served, remove that item from the menu until the issue is corrected! Aventura was an awesome place but now it is just a good one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time!

Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been to Aventura on several occasions - sometime just the two of us, sometime with a large group. It's been great everytime -- really good, interesting food, a lively atmosphere and attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aventura was all we were hoping it would ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Aventura was all we were hoping it would be. The staff was kind, helpful, knowledgable and friendly, but not overbearing. There was a wide variety of drinks. We enjoyed the creative sangria and cocktails on special, as well as the great wine list. Small plates and flatbreads did not disappoint: complex flavors, variety of proteins and vegetables, creative combinations. We'd definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We love this restaurant. I have been on ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We love this restaurant. I have been on several occasions. We decided to take our friend who was visiting from out of town and she loved it as well. I cannot say how much I love this place. The only thing that was not great was where we sat. The restaurant had many available places to sit a party of three. The hostess brought us to a table by a VERY sunny window, so bad I could not see and next to a big party with two NOISY children. I asked the waitress if we could move, she said no problem and we did. After that, the experience was much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect for a date night. Great food and ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Perfect for a date night. Great food and drinks. Was a little loud

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the decor and service is awesome. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the decor and service is awesome. Very fun menu and most of the dishes were spectacular. Our only disappointment was the small amount of very delicious octopus served over a larger amount of potatoes that were so salty we couldn't eat them.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice Experience

Dined on May 16, 2016

This is the perfect restaurant for tapas in AA, we had two people and got three dishes and the churros for dessert, possibly should have gotten one more thing, but otherwise it was a good amount. The server was very helpful and all of the staff were accommodating, friendly and professional. It was a tiny bit loud but no more than a typical restaurant and we were still able to easily have a conversation. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always amazing!!

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is always amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you Andrew !!! Everything was grea ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Thank you Andrew !!! Everything was great and absolutely delicious.. Can't wait to come again !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall is great, not the loud background music.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant provides customers with a unique dining experience, from the type of meals, the way services provided, and the ambiance. It is certainly a very communal dining style, which gears toward encouraging people to share the experience and conversations. With that said, the loud music background sort of diminished the positive overall experience. This downside aspect is definitely easy to ractify.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Wasn't Impressed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Brunch and was disappointed that there was very little "Spanish" food, trendy yes but not Spanish. Lived in Spain for quite a few years and was disappointed with what was on the buffet. We were told that we could order only limited from the menu and were told that the buffet was the best. May go back for just a meal but am hesitant and will be upset if the quality doesn't match the price.

food5
ambience4
service5

First time visit; recommended by friends ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

First time visit; recommended by friends. Welcome and service was excellent. Great variety of food to choose from. While tapas portions are smaller, good sizes to share.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Solid Restaurant Choice in AA

Dined on May 4, 2016

Food was solid. Did not see much new on the menu, which typically has seasonal choices. The root vegetable dish was a bit overcooked/mushy, but the seafood selections (octopus and shrimp) were very good. I requested a quieter section, which was graciously accommodated, as this was a first date. The noise level can sometimes be a bit high in the middle of the room and toward the kitchen. Service was good- seemed like they may have been training some staff- very young, but competent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Megan, our server was great. Helped us d ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Megan, our server was great. Helped us decide what to pick from the extensive menu with great suggestions and provided us with great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

great service. Very attentive

Dined on April 24, 2016

great service. Very attentive

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great tapas!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Very glad there is such a great tapas restaurant in Ann Arbor. The food and service were outstanding. Our waiter was helpful and fun!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service5

Pintxo with olive tampenade was the stan ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Pintxo with olive tampenade was the standout. Octopus with fingerling potatoes was a letdown

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

My friend and I who don't get to see each other often chose this restaurant based on some excellent word-of-mouth reviews. We were very, very satisfied with everything. Our server, Sloane, took time to explain the menu to us and make recommendations, which was very helpful. Get a sangria; it's delicious. Everything we tried was fantastic. We did a few small plates. They are small, but very filling and reasonably priced. And the small plates excited us more than the medium plates. Also, get the churro. It's out of this world.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Second time eating here. Food was amazing. Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Entree before appetizer

Dined on April 13, 2016

Our server had us ordering everything at the very beginning . We had finished 2 tapas dishes before the cheese appetizer came out. Completely kills the taste palate ... Even though the food was good

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, just wanted more of it.

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was terrific but the small plates we ordered were definitely that!! I've been to many tapas restaurants and felt that the portion size was a bit lacking at Aventura.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ear-deafening but delicious

Dined on April 6, 2016

Went for dinner with some out of town family. Food was awesome, and the sangria espumosa was on point. We were there at 6:30 and the dining room was busy, but not busy enough for how loud it was. Still a great place for a group, I just wouldn't recommend bringing any one you want to have a conversation with.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yum Yum YUM!

Dined on April 3, 2016

I love Aventura, I've loved every time I've gone. It's tricky to split the dishes with a large party because the dishes are so small, but multiple orders of one dish will always work, because you can never have enough of anything on the menu!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Husband's birthday

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

If you are reading this then you probably know there are many restaurants in this town that offer free meals for your birthday. Instead of choosing one of those spots my husband choose Aventura. As always our meal was fantastic. We each started with a small cup of caldo gallego. Although this is a broth based soup it was filling and quite hearty. For our main course we shared several small plates. These included the brussel sprouts, shrimp and suckling pig. The shrimp dish was quite generous with six large shrimps. It's always hard to try new items when we have so many favorites from past visits - the croquetas, the fried cauliflower and roasted beet salad. We finished off with a shared dessert - chocolate bouchon. It was the perfect amount of food for two with some lovely wine. The food presentation and service were outstanding as per usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good waiter, nice ambience, superb food. ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Good waiter, nice ambience, superb food. Enjoyed our whole evening there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for tapas and cocktails

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food here is phenomenal. The service is wonderful. The bartenders are attentive and make delicious cocktails. The sangria is a staple. I recommend for any special occasion, weekend dinner or just a nice night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Good food, but not my style. Really loud ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food, but not my style. Really loud, great for celebrating but not for talking. Fun!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I ate here recents on a busy ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

My wife and I ate here recents on a busy Saturday night (3-5-16) . Even though they were packed our table was ready upon our arrival. Food was very good, especially the suckling pig, which was outstanding. Our server Andrew was spot on. Along with an interesting cocktail and wine list, Aventura makes for a great evening out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The service was excellent!!! However, th ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The service was excellent!!! However, the food quality was not any better than a chain restaurant. The main dish was good, not fantastic, the appetizers were not as good an way overpriced. The desert was even worse. The sangria was very good but a bit overpriced as well. $4.00 for a small slice of bread with a tiny piece of cheese is overpriced. Especially when you have to get several for the table, along with the cheese platter. Again the service was great.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.