About Aventura

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Bar Snacks:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Tapas (34)
Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (17)
Fun (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Family Style (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tuesday happened to be half off select b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Tuesday happened to be half off select bottles of wine. We ordered the lamb meatballs as an appetizer, and I went with the flat iron steak as my main dish. Everything was delicious. We were unfortunately sat right outside the kitchen, but it was still quiet enough to have conversation between the 3 of us without having to raise our voices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Aventura has been on my list for a long ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Aventura has been on my list for a long time, but this was my first visit. Usually when I walk by it is mobbed and noisy and I dare not even attempt the place. But I made reservations for me and a friend on a Monday night, early, and it even turned out to be $5 sangria night. Given those circumstances the restaurant was quiet; the food was great; the service was attentive. We had a great night. Still not sure I would attempt it when it's busy, but that's a personal preference. I will definitely come back for early drinks and Tapas. Also. The portions were very reasonable in size.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, very good food. Fun to or ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good service, very good food. Fun to order a large number of plates and share, just what you expect from a Tapas Bar.

Had a problem in that I was told I could bring my own wine (with corkage) but was denied the opportunity at he restaurant. Major disappointment as I had called before leaving Calif. and I brought some special aged wine for the night to share with my guests.

Tags: Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I tried the shaved fennel salad, beets, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I tried the shaved fennel salad, beets, cauliflower, mushrooms, and Brussels sprouts, and all were well-seasoned and properly cooked. My husband and kids enjoyed the lamb meatballs, pork confit, patatas bravas, and charcuterie and cheese plate. Service was very attentive and friendly but not obtrusive. The noise level was perfect but it was only 5:30 on a Sunday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'd definitely return here, because the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I'd definitely return here, because the food is innovative and beautifully prepared and the ambiance is lively. But we made a reservation at least a week ahead and were seated right in front of the kitchen. Not happy. Plus, our vegetarian paella was boring. They kindly removed it from the bill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a bright spot in a otherwise gl ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was a bright spot in a otherwise gloomy day. Attentive and helpful service, delicious food and drinks, and a quiet but exciting atmosphere! Will definitely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding restaurant, with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant, with superb food and service. It is too expensive, however. We're from NYC, and the prices on some of these small and medium plates are comparable to prices in NYC. This really shouldn't be the case. I'm not saying that Aventura doesn't deserve great margins on its fare, but any plate of food that is priced at or above a Manhattan price point in Ann Arbor is just too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our best meal in three years vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was our best meal in three years visiting Ann Arbor (and the other restaurants were very good, just not as great!)

The food was fun, delicious and quickly delivered by a friendly server. Our UM father's weekend dinner was a fabulous experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Tapas, Spicy, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time and food was delicio ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We had a great time and food was delicious as well as drinks!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new restaurant. Good selection of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great new restaurant. Good selection of wines and Tapas.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was great. Cool ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was great, food was great. Cool place to try something new

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time with friends. Cocktail ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had a great time with friends. Cocktails and food were wonderful, especially the shrimp tapas. Never felt rushed. Due to a time zone error on my part though we arrarrived an hour early and were not allowed to sit anywhere even though we were ordering drinks. Since it was the bar area it felt odd. However I would return on my next visit for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent as always

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was fantastic as always. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This restaurant was fantastic as always. The food is very authentic and reminded me of the food I got in Spain. The service was exceptional as well! I am a university student and my parents took me out here for dinner because it's bit too expensive for an average student's budget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server promised to time the tapas so the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Server promised to time the tapas so they wouldn't all arrive at once; it all arrive at once.

The chicken paella was nothing special, and $47. Everything else was lovely, but pricey. I enjoyed our meal, but probably won't return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Superb, excellent food and helpful servi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Superb, excellent food and helpful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy, absolutely poor service, fo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very noisy, absolutely poor service, food came out in very disorganized way, left feeling very unsatisfied and not happy with food to price value. Not really the fault of waitress - she was very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Great food, fun atmosphere, and 2 of the ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, fun atmosphere, and 2 of the best bartenders in the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not our first time, menu has changed, pe ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Not our first time, menu has changed, perhaps seasonal, food was of high quality

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere with friendly staff. Ho ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Nice atmosphere with friendly staff. However, they need more servers. Second person had to cover our table resulting in long waits for coffee refills. Ordered brunch items and the poach eggs came out - hard boiled for one person, cold but able to mix in with warmer hash, and straight up cold. Sent it back and received cold eggs AGAIN. Kitchen needs to get it together. Management was very apologetic and gave us a gift card. However, there are so many great places for brunch in Ann Arbor that we do not need to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Food was quite good as usual .....servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was quite good as usual .....service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great vibe and energy in Aventura. Fun n ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great vibe and energy in Aventura. Fun night. The service was extremely slow at the beginning- took about 25 minutes to get our drinks. The drinks when they finally arrived were excellent- unique. Some of the plates were very small but everything we ordered was excellent.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Our experience was great. We just ate an ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our experience was great. We just ate and talked. It isn't loud. It is well situated. It has good service, though ours was bit slow, and once, they took our silverware and didn't bring new silverware back even though we had none and they had brought us more good. It was also kind of chilly and we were inside and it was a fall night. Overall, the food is superb. The servings are adequate and there is a lot to pick. 8.9 out of 10

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Never having gone during Sunday Brunch t ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Never having gone during Sunday Brunch time, my son was disappointed in not being able to order something he had before. The back courtyard is a favorite place that's not as noisy as inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our waiter, Michael was excellent. He h ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our waiter, Michael was excellent. He had just the right balance of attentiveness, but not interrupting all the time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have had good experiences here in pas ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have had good experiences here in past but this meal was not good. It was not crowded yet the kitchen was SLOW. When the food came it was not hot. I will be reluctant to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Festive and fun atmosphere complimented ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Festive and fun atmosphere complimented by creative and tasty tapas and excellent service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere is fun and different for ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The atmosphere is fun and different for the area. High top tables and up-scale decor. The idea of small plates is fun, my wife and I like to try new things and share. Usually you expect to pay a bit more in places like this, but I have to say the value was really poor. We're talking $15 for a cheese plate with three very thin slices of mediocre cheese, probably valued at maybe $2 retail if that. Similar for a bowl of beats that our waiter described as roasted, turns out they were cold pickled beats no different from a jar from the grocery. $15 for a mojito that was very weak and not properly mixed, despite our waiters insistence that it was "amazing" - made worse because we didn't ask the price first. The mushroom flatbread was the only thing we really enjoyed, and we tried five main plates plus some others smaller items. I can't see myself ever wanting to go back. To make matters worse, despite the place being dead (which I think is unusual) out waiter forgot about us multiple times, even at the end we had to wait ages for our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I've been to this restaurant many times. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I've been to this restaurant many times. It never disappoints. The food is delicious and the service perfect. At times it seems a little pricey but in the end you are full and the bill is reasonable. Highlights from this meal were the dates, croquettes and, of course, the churros.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fantastic place with amazing food! Ou ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 9, 2016

A fantastic place with amazing food! Our waiter was really helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. Top notch service and food.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice experience - one of the best I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very nice experience - one of the best I've had in Ann Arbor. Food was very good but not extraordinary. The restaurant was a bit loud.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent waiter in Mimi. Knowledgeable ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent waiter in Mimi. Knowledgeable, very friendly and even recommended a good wine. Food was excellent at every step. Unique and tastefully presented. HIGHLY recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, we had great food. Service see ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2016

As usual, we had great food. Service seemed to break down a bit; for one of our Tapas, we waited about an hour; staff seemed to think that we already had it. I think that the kitchen must put out Tapas as they come up, and if a server sees it's one they ordered, they grab it. Our server never seemed to get the dates as they came up. Paella advertised as taking 45 min; ours took about 70. It's delicious, just don't order it if you are really hungry or if you have time pressure. Wine selection is good, service is very friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

So many fantastic food choices. Can't go ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

So many fantastic food choices. Can't go wrong with anything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I met a friend for brunch. It was quiet ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I met a friend for brunch. It was quiet when we first arrived but shortly after a large party came in and had a young child or two. As more people arrived it became more "energetic". We didn't mind. Our server was very nice and attentive. She explained every single dish on the (brunch) menu to us so we knew exactly what we had to choose from. I went with the sweet potato pancakes + chicken sausage. Delish! The decor is gorgeous, right down to the wall of floral art that anchors the long dining area. We noticed a group at the bar on our way out. We figured next time we should just sit there since it was just the two of us.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was wonderful. We tried a numb ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was wonderful. We tried a number of dishes; soups, appetizers, small tapas, capped off with the paella plate for the main course. I was always happy when food came to the table, and while not everything fit my expectations, that was often because they were exceeded.

I had two problems with my experience. I've been to tapas restaurants where something is served as a "filler" between plates. A light something, like a bowl of Spanish peanuts, that I could munch from between servings. Nothing like that was available here, even though the time between plates was often longer than I've experienced elsewhere.

That length was the very tough part. Our reservation was for 7, and we were prompt. When we ordered the paella plate, we were told it would be a 45 minute wait. It was much longer than 45 minutes, to a point that our meal took more than 2 hours. While one might expect a longer meal from a tapas restaurant, it became truly uncomfortable to sit on the wire seats for that long. Everyone at the table at different points got up, for no other reason than the uncomfortable seats.

I'd still say the experience was a positive one, but fixing these simple problems would increase the chances of my return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Great dining. The noise level is terrib ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great dining. The noise level is terrible- but it is compensate by food. Would be good to have there spenish music. Anyway- my favorite place in town.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my daughter's birthday so we were ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 19, 2016

It was my daughter's birthday so we were looking for a fun place to have dinner. Aventura fit the criteria we were looking for - a fun atmosphere. It was indeed that. The only major drawback was the noise level. I'm all about having an energetic atmosphere, but when you can't hear the person next to you, that's a bit of a problem. I was also sitting under a speaker and the music was blaring. I asked it have it turned down a little, but that didn't happen. I also for a different table, but was told that was not possible. Despite that, we had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Stopped in while visiting U of M. Had a ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Stopped in while visiting U of M. Had a very nice. meal and the service was stellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere...great service...great ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great atmosphere...great service...great Sangria! My only complaint is that every item that the server recommended was very rich and oily. They were delicious, but a little too much oil and very heavy. (we ordered 4 items). I felt that there weren't a lot of lighter items on the menu and even the things we ordered were sitting in more oil than they needed to be.

I'll go back and look for other options, because otherwise it was wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.