About Aventura

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Bar Snacks:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (43)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Fun (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Authentic (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Romantic (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Family Style (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Casual (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant week dinner. Comfortable seat ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant week dinner. Comfortable seating, noisy, busy Monday. Food was very good, stuffed dates, pineapple pinxto, lamb burgers. Missed a bit on the lil executive things, bacon crisped too dark, and it seemed like several of our courses had sat under a heat lamp for a little too long (temp texture appearance). Nonetheless a good meal and a good time. Courses came out well timed, service from everyone we interacted with was minimal and attentive. My date and I had an excellent evening, thank you!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the best waiters I've ever had at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the best waiters I've ever had at any restaurant in my life and the food was just as good. One of Ann Arbor's best.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They've change their menu since I was th ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

They've change their menu since I was there last, and I didn't find as many things that I liked. The atmosphere can't be beat, though, as long as you are into a more lively dinner scene. Our server, Peter, was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I went with my friend group and we had a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

I went with my friend group and we had a most wonderful time. We decided on the lobster paella and then we all ordered small plates of food. And let me tell ya, the food just kept coming. It was perfect! Talk about delicious, each plate was a new and perfect taste that we shared. Conversation good, ambiance good, wait staff excellent. I highly recommend Aventura.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a delightful meal and adventure ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This was a delightful meal and adventure. The hostess and staff were wonderful and the menu choices were colorful and creative.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Made a reservation. Arrived 5 mins early ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Made a reservation. Arrived 5 mins early and was told main dining area was closed for 10 more minutes. Informed hostess we would prefer a booth she said sure then offered us a half booth next to the bar. I declined said I would wait for a booth and she still sat us at a small half booth in the main siding area. Not sure why she didn't inform us that she only had half booths available. As I was walking into main dining area I noticed patrons that came in after use were already seated there. Not sure why we were passed up. This was a celebration dinner which is why I made a reservation and asked for a good seat. We were seated at a small table in the middle of the room. Thank goodness our waitress was super nice and prompt with service. The food was way too expensive for its quality. Don't think I'd ever eat here again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful service from our server- she g ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful service from our server- she gave us a free dish because the chef made an extra!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The drinks are amazing! The brunch menu ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The drinks are amazing! The brunch menu had great variety. Highly recommend the Forest Flat Bread and the Watermellon and Mint Memosa. It was pretty cold in the restaurant though.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food quality has been on a steep dec ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food quality has been on a steep decline since the first time I ate here two years ago. The menu is the same but everything tastes worse each time I go. Service is always slow even when they aren't busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was impeccable. I was recommende ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was impeccable. I was recommended a fabulous wine and the knowledge in general to all aspects of the menu by staff exceeded my expectations. The food was hot, prepared fresh and fast, I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for a great night out with friends!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So delicious!!! I've been to Aventura fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 5, 2017

So delicious!!! I've been to Aventura for brunch once before, but I didn't realize what a completely different experience dinner would be. One, the ambience. The moment you walk into the restaurant with its dim lighting, the clean decor and lively music, you know you're in for a good night. Second, of course, the FOOD. We got a variety of tapas, a flatbread, and the pig entree. Personally I found the entree to be underwhelming, but the tapas were to die for. Highly recommend the dates with chorizo, the patatas bravas, and the lamb meatballs.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family celebration

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Family celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love Aventura. Always my go-to for casua ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love Aventura. Always my go-to for casual meet-ups with girlfriends. Had a great server and the food is delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a live space, open and well-chor ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is a live space, open and well-choreographed on the floor. The kitchen, however, could use an upgrade. The ginger cocktail was piercing on the high notes of spice, missing on a foundation to balance. The plates seemed driven by the thought that everything is enhanced if you just add more oil. Nice to the lips, thud to the stomach. Trust your ingredients to dance unchaperoned: they should create their own lubrication, no?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Best cauliflower known to man! You must ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best cauliflower known to man! You must try it!!!

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My brother and sister in law were in tow ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My brother and sister in law were in town for a early Christmas visit and wanted to treat my wife and me to dinner. Since they were in Barcelona last month, I suggested dining at Aventura. They raved about the food and service . We will visit again.

I hope they will add a tortilla to their dinner menu.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a fun night! Went to dinner here be ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

What a fun night! Went to dinner here before a class at The Last Word hosted by Tammy's Tastings. Overall, excellent evening. Food here was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried 8 or so dishes, wine and cocktails ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Tried 8 or so dishes, wine and cocktails at our table - nothing we didn't like. Server was outstanding, particularly regarding wine information. Very nice atmosphere - fun, but not so loud that we couldn't hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Avetura's food never fails to inspire my ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Avetura's food never fails to inspire my pallet! My wife and I have never been disappointed!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can be pretty loud but it makes for a gr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Can be pretty loud but it makes for a great lively atmosphere. I went on a date there and it was fun trying a bunch of different dishes. It is a tapas style restaraunt so you order a lot of small dishes (the cost adds up of course but the quality of the food and the experience is worth the price). There are mostly tables for large groups of people and I can imagine it being very fun for dinner and drinks with friends or family. It quieted down significantly after 11:00pm though on the Friday that I went. You definitely need to make a reservation well in advance.

10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Family Style, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect...the ambiance with the food was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect...the ambiance with the food was a perfect date night for two UM students.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real cosy spot for a romantic meal tog ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A real cosy spot for a romantic meal together. The mixed drink are unusual and with trying multiple. The Paella is out of this world. We been there in the past and did a combination of small plates that were to die for. The specials are always unique.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The experience was great. Nice atmospher ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The experience was great. Nice atmosphere. Beautiful place. Friendly Staff. And the food and coktails are good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely loved Aventura! The servic ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We absolutely loved Aventura! The service was excellent from the hostess to the wait staff to everyone in between. The food was outstanding. Wonderful mixed drinks. We had a flatbread, croquetas, shrimp, and bacon wrapped dates, and flan for dessert. Do not miss the dates - they're a showstopper! This was our first time and we highly recommend it. PS we went early (5:15) and others' comments of 1.5 hours is about right, although it can easily stretch to two hours if you order as you go or drink more. People complain about how busy it is, but this is open table, so obviously you're going to go with a reservation, and even when they're busy they give you lots of attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding. Second time we've been her ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding. Second time we've been here. Allow at least an hour and a half to fully enjoy the experience. The paella is excellent.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tuesday happened to be half off select b ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Tuesday happened to be half off select bottles of wine. We ordered the lamb meatballs as an appetizer, and I went with the flat iron steak as my main dish. Everything was delicious. We were unfortunately sat right outside the kitchen, but it was still quiet enough to have conversation between the 3 of us without having to raise our voices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Aventura has been on my list for a long ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Aventura has been on my list for a long time, but this was my first visit. Usually when I walk by it is mobbed and noisy and I dare not even attempt the place. But I made reservations for me and a friend on a Monday night, early, and it even turned out to be $5 sangria night. Given those circumstances the restaurant was quiet; the food was great; the service was attentive. We had a great night. Still not sure I would attempt it when it's busy, but that's a personal preference. I will definitely come back for early drinks and Tapas. Also. The portions were very reasonable in size.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service, very good food. Fun to or ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Good service, very good food. Fun to order a large number of plates and share, just what you expect from a Tapas Bar.

Had a problem in that I was told I could bring my own wine (with corkage) but was denied the opportunity at he restaurant. Major disappointment as I had called before leaving Calif. and I brought some special aged wine for the night to share with my guests.

Tags: Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

I tried the shaved fennel salad, beets, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I tried the shaved fennel salad, beets, cauliflower, mushrooms, and Brussels sprouts, and all were well-seasoned and properly cooked. My husband and kids enjoyed the lamb meatballs, pork confit, patatas bravas, and charcuterie and cheese plate. Service was very attentive and friendly but not obtrusive. The noise level was perfect but it was only 5:30 on a Sunday.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'd definitely return here, because the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I'd definitely return here, because the food is innovative and beautifully prepared and the ambiance is lively. But we made a reservation at least a week ahead and were seated right in front of the kitchen. Not happy. Plus, our vegetarian paella was boring. They kindly removed it from the bill.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This was a bright spot in a otherwise gl ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was a bright spot in a otherwise gloomy day. Attentive and helpful service, delicious food and drinks, and a quiet but exciting atmosphere! Will definitely return!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is an outstanding restaurant, with ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant, with superb food and service. It is too expensive, however. We're from NYC, and the prices on some of these small and medium plates are comparable to prices in NYC. This really shouldn't be the case. I'm not saying that Aventura doesn't deserve great margins on its fare, but any plate of food that is priced at or above a Manhattan price point in Ann Arbor is just too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our best meal in three years vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was our best meal in three years visiting Ann Arbor (and the other restaurants were very good, just not as great!)

The food was fun, delicious and quickly delivered by a friendly server. Our UM father's weekend dinner was a fabulous experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Tapas, Spicy, Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time and food was delicio ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We had a great time and food was delicious as well as drinks!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great new restaurant. Good selection of ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great new restaurant. Good selection of wines and Tapas.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great, food was great. Cool ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Service was great, food was great. Cool place to try something new

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great time with friends. Cocktail ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had a great time with friends. Cocktails and food were wonderful, especially the shrimp tapas. Never felt rushed. Due to a time zone error on my part though we arrarrived an hour early and were not allowed to sit anywhere even though we were ordering drinks. Since it was the bar area it felt odd. However I would return on my next visit for sure.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent as always

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was fantastic as always. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 18, 2016

This restaurant was fantastic as always. The food is very authentic and reminded me of the food I got in Spain. The service was exceptional as well! I am a university student and my parents took me out here for dinner because it's bit too expensive for an average student's budget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.