About Aventura

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Bar Snacks:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (54)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Authentic (26)
Fun (24)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Romantic (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Modern Decor (15)
People Watching (11)
Family Style (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The taste of the food was good, but not that authentic and pricy, unfortunately l have to say that l had better. However, we also order something sweet and it was very good, also the waiter was friendly and kind.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Walked in and this place looked very promising but was ultimately underwhelmed with everything. The "manchego croquettes " were manchego cheese sticks. The "patatas bravas" were french fries with an egg on top. Fancy wording for moderate food. On top of that, the drinks I ordered, while pretty good, were empty long before the server came back, even though the dining area was not busy. I wouldn't return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We managed to choose just the right amount of food and we thoroughly enjoyed each dish. The shrimp with garlic were wonderful and the apple, fennel ,manchego salad was very well done. The dense chocolate dessert needed abit more passion fruit pulp but was very tasty. We also blundered into a good wine choice. Overall, we enjoyed the meal very much. But... 1) It was almost impossible to read the prices in the dim light and the peculiar choice of font on that column of the menu and 2) it was not clear what made up a meal. For us, an appetizer, a sald, a side vegetable a main course and a dessert was just fine for 2 people but we were guessing. The salad was more than enough for 2; I could easily see a couple each ordering a salad by mistake. There should be some indication of portion size on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Met our son and his roommate for dinner in Ann Arbor. Two of our group had travelled to Spain and were very happy to have authentic tastes from the Iberian Penninsula. Like always -- small plates always end up being easy to order and add up quickly...Great service...

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for brunch with a couple friends. Server was great, food even better, cocktails the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious! We had the flatbread with mushrooms and goat cheese, patatas bravas, and lamb meatballs. We also had desserts and highly recommend the rice pudding. And they made the best sangria (tinta) I've ever eaten. The atmosphere was loud, decor is minimal, and the prices are high -- more than I paid for equal quality tapas in NYC just a few months ago. Still excellent food and good service. Definitely recommend making a reservation, preferably several days in advance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was great but paella was undercooked. Also meat was very less. Service and ambience was spectacular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic food. Best red sangria ever! Waitress was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu. Great overall experience.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I like this spot but it gets super packed! They didn't seat us right at our reservation time and the waiter was very overwhelmed/busy. It took a while to get everything ordered and to us but it was all good. The only downside is that the server didn't mention that paella takes 45 minutes to cook. I would have liked to know that when we sat down so we could have ordered right away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Unique, delicious food. Everything has outstanding flavors. Great drinks, great place to celebrate with friends. They recently updated their menu, and it's even better than before. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was good but the noise level was so over the top that we were shouting to be heard at our little table of 3. I would have a hard time going back for that reason alone.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The lobster paella was awesome!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was ridiculously loud, so much so that we couldn't hear each other. We texted at one point. Would help if someone turned off the music. Service was outstanding and food was good. Have enjoyed Aventura in the past, but the noise this time spoiled the experience.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not our first visit - enjoyed the meal (and some new options) as always. Service was very disappointing. Birthday dinner reservation but no mention made; the waitress was not friendly and at times spoke condescendingly to some of the diners. If not for the occasion and not wanting to ruin the celebration, we would have requested a visit from the manager... It will be a long time before we decide to return!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous food and the staff went out of their way to make brunch a very fabulous experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Portions small and overpriced. Ambiance was clean and crisp, but not very interesting. Maybe good for a busy evening . Definitely will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love this restaurant and try to go there each time I am in Ann Arbor. I have favorite dishes WHICH THEY TOOK OFF THE MENU when they changed it up! Some of the popular dishes should be considered signature dishes and not be removed from new menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fun and romantic date night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

aventura is hands down my favorite spot in ann arbor.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food - loved the portion sizes, but found it to be very noisy and hard to carry on a conversation with the person seated across from me.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good but service was terrible. Dishes did not even come close to arriving at the same time. Getting waiters attention was challenging and it wasn't even busy. Getting the check took forever and then it was divided into four even though we didn't request that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Was very loud, service was mediocre, food was very mediocre and highly priced . Supposed to be a bday surprise dessert with a candle but did not happen this way. Our waiter forgot to tell his helper about bday , but he corrected it at the end. Also our waiter forgot to bring us 2 dishes to try... Needs more improvements not only in service but in a kitchen as well.

We are not coming back, sorry.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome tapas and drinks. Aventura ends up running a bit on the expensive side but the menu deserves it and the food has yet to disappoint. One of my favorite places to bring people in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best for two types of dining... Friday Evening sit at the bar or Group of friends Paella party. This place gets better with age

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really enjoyed the overall experience at Aventura - great food, drink, service, upbeat atmosphere plus my friends, family and good conversation made it a perfect night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was so good, with just the simplest ingredients. The service was warm too this time, a lot better than what I have experienced here before. I would definitely come back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 18, 2017

In previous experiences, Aventura has always impressed. Unfortunately that was not the case this time. We went for restaurant week and the kitchen was extremely slow; our entire meal took almost two and a half hours. It took 20 to 40 minutes in between our courses, they brought the third course out before the second and gave us the second course minutes after our third had been delivered, and the food was not up to par. Our server could have done a better job communicating the delays and when we asked to speak to a manager, she took 15 minutes to come over. We will not be returning for another restaurant week at Aventura.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Restaurant week dinner. Comfortable seating, noisy, busy Monday. Food was very good, stuffed dates, pineapple pinxto, lamb burgers. Missed a bit on the lil executive things, bacon crisped too dark, and it seemed like several of our courses had sat under a heat lamp for a little too long (temp texture appearance). Nonetheless a good meal and a good time. Courses came out well timed, service from everyone we interacted with was minimal and attentive. My date and I had an excellent evening, thank you!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 17, 2017

One of the best waiters I've ever had at any restaurant in my life and the food was just as good. One of Ann Arbor's best.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They've change their menu since I was there last, and I didn't find as many things that I liked. The atmosphere can't be beat, though, as long as you are into a more lively dinner scene. Our server, Peter, was excellent.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I went with my friend group and we had a most wonderful time. We decided on the lobster paella and then we all ordered small plates of food. And let me tell ya, the food just kept coming. It was perfect! Talk about delicious, each plate was a new and perfect taste that we shared. Conversation good, ambiance good, wait staff excellent. I highly recommend Aventura.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This was a delightful meal and adventure. The hostess and staff were wonderful and the menu choices were colorful and creative.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Made a reservation. Arrived 5 mins early and was told main dining area was closed for 10 more minutes. Informed hostess we would prefer a booth she said sure then offered us a half booth next to the bar. I declined said I would wait for a booth and she still sat us at a small half booth in the main siding area. Not sure why she didn't inform us that she only had half booths available. As I was walking into main dining area I noticed patrons that came in after use were already seated there. Not sure why we were passed up. This was a celebration dinner which is why I made a reservation and asked for a good seat. We were seated at a small table in the middle of the room. Thank goodness our waitress was super nice and prompt with service. The food was way too expensive for its quality. Don't think I'd ever eat here again.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Wonderful service from our server- she gave us a free dish because the chef made an extra!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The drinks are amazing! The brunch menu had great variety. Highly recommend the Forest Flat Bread and the Watermellon and Mint Memosa. It was pretty cold in the restaurant though.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food quality has been on a steep decline since the first time I ate here two years ago. The menu is the same but everything tastes worse each time I go. Service is always slow even when they aren't busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was impeccable. I was recommended a fabulous wine and the knowledge in general to all aspects of the menu by staff exceeded my expectations. The food was hot, prepared fresh and fast, I couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for a great night out with friends!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 5, 2017

So delicious!!! I've been to Aventura for brunch once before, but I didn't realize what a completely different experience dinner would be. One, the ambience. The moment you walk into the restaurant with its dim lighting, the clean decor and lively music, you know you're in for a good night. Second, of course, the FOOD. We got a variety of tapas, a flatbread, and the pig entree. Personally I found the entree to be underwhelming, but the tapas were to die for. Highly recommend the dates with chorizo, the patatas bravas, and the lamb meatballs.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Family celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I have been going to Aventura for almost a year now. I've always found the food and service to be very good. However, when I took my friend here for her birthday this week, I found the food had changed. I usually order the paella and a few tapas. The tapas continue to be very good but the paella was different. When I asked the server about this he said the restaurant had recently hired a new chef. This new chef supposedly uses a more "authentic" recipe but I found it not to be no where near as good as before. There is less meat and vegetables in the paella and it doesn't seem to possess the same flavor as the former recipe. Other than that we both found it very enjoyable. The service was great and the ambience was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Love Aventura. Always my go-to for casual meet-ups with girlfriends. Had a great server and the food is delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is a live space, open and well-choreographed on the floor. The kitchen, however, could use an upgrade. The ginger cocktail was piercing on the high notes of spice, missing on a foundation to balance. The plates seemed driven by the thought that everything is enhanced if you just add more oil. Nice to the lips, thud to the stomach. Trust your ingredients to dance unchaperoned: they should create their own lubrication, no?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best cauliflower known to man! You must try it!!!

Tags: Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My brother and sister in law were in town for a early Christmas visit and wanted to treat my wife and me to dinner. Since they were in Barcelona last month, I suggested dining at Aventura. They raved about the food and service . We will visit again.

I hope they will add a tortilla to their dinner menu.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 19, 2016

What a fun night! Went to dinner here before a class at The Last Word hosted by Tammy's Tastings. Overall, excellent evening. Food here was delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Tried 8 or so dishes, wine and cocktails at our table - nothing we didn't like. Server was outstanding, particularly regarding wine information. Very nice atmosphere - fun, but not so loud that we couldn't hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Avetura's food never fails to inspire my pallet! My wife and I have never been disappointed!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Can be pretty loud but it makes for a great lively atmosphere. I went on a date there and it was fun trying a bunch of different dishes. It is a tapas style restaraunt so you order a lot of small dishes (the cost adds up of course but the quality of the food and the experience is worth the price). There are mostly tables for large groups of people and I can imagine it being very fun for dinner and drinks with friends or family. It quieted down significantly after 11:00pm though on the Friday that I went. You definitely need to make a reservation well in advance.

10/10 would recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Family Style, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Perfect...the ambiance with the food was a perfect date night for two UM students.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.