Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Aventura

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Bar Snacks:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (56)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Authentic (29)
Fun (25)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Bar Seating (15)
People Watching (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Casual (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Family Style (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The paella was amazing and the food and drinks were all around delicious. They're smaller plates let you try a few things. The two drinks we got were different and delicious. Great restaurant all around!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

The food, as always, was awesome. This time I had paella. I've spent time in Spain, and Aventura feels quite authentic, especially the Serrano hams suspended from the ceiling!
The less stellar aspect of my dining this time was the service. Our waitress was very friendly, but we had to ask for several things. We asked for salt, she brought an empty salt mill. We asked for another, she brought another empty mill. I asked to see a menu again to compare ingredients once we'd tasted things, instead she tried to explain it. When I asked again, she finally brought one. When she brought out churros for the 3 of us, my husband had to get up to go find plates. I'm hoping she was just having a bad day.
I'll definitely be back, because I really think this was a fluke.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The non alcoholic drinks were great but pricey. The Tapas were hit and miss. Everything on the menu seems good for sharing. Service is kind of slow.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Wasn't that impressed with the menu, and was a bit hyped. None of the above did I feel strongly enough to highlight.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, the food was good. It was expensive for not being exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was excellent as was the service and ambiance of the place! Its a bit high priced but worth the experience and if you already are use to A2 prices and Tapas this will not be an issue for you! Loved the meat and cheese tray, drinks were wonderful, pear and beet salad was excellent as were the lamb burgers, the steak and cheese plate and the flat bread with pork. All was delightful and would order again. Drinks were also interesting and delish. Do take the servers advice, ours was awesome with guidance and suggestions. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Omelette with chorizo and ham sandwich was not what we expected. Will not order either again as it was nothing special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Quick Bite, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Amazing food and great service. It made for perfect date night atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 8, 2017

The food and service were great. This restaurant is very noisy with all hard surfaces, so quiet conversations are difficult. This is a good place to go with several friends. Not so good for a couple that wants to talk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

My husband and I love Aventura and chose to celebrate our anniversary and enjoy a night out before our 2nd child arrives.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went to Aventura for dinner before a concert. The food was very good. We had a meat and cheese plate and a few tapas and dessert. My husband got the cocktail on special, which he loved, and I had one of the gin and tonics. I have only two complaints. One is that the pacing was very uneven. I'm not sure if this was the fault of the wait staff or the kitchen/bar, but it took a long time to get our appetizer and we barely started on that when tapas started arriving. Then it took a very long time to get another drink toward the end of the meal - this is something that's tricky at Tapas restaurants, but was troublesome in our case. The only complaint I have about the food is that the bread that came with our shrimp was not very good - seemed like bread I would get at Kroger. I highly recommend the shrimp, patatas bravas, cauliflower and artichoke and churros.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good to go with at least 4 people to try a variety of things. Really enjoyed the manchego croquettes and garlic shrimp. Pricey wine list. A little too dark to read menu

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Enjoyed the seafood paella 🥘 And a cheese board for brunch. Many interesting dinner items and craft beverages, both boozy and nonalcoholic. The ginger pear buck (non-a) was spicy and refreshing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was not the same since my last dining experience and my favorite desert was taken off the menu. I was told there is a new chef since I had last dined there. I doubt I will dine here again to be honest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is the best place I've been to since I moved to Ann Arbor. The lobster paella, croqueta de manchego, and patatas bravas were A++. I'll also be dreaming about the churros for days to come.

Unlike most restaurants I've been to in A2, this one actually has ambience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I are not big eaters so we appreciated the small plates. Everything we ordered was quite tasty. The wine was great and so was the service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The taste of the food was good, but not that authentic and pricy, unfortunately l have to say that l had better. However, we also order something sweet and it was very good, also the waiter was friendly and kind.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Walked in and this place looked very promising but was ultimately underwhelmed with everything. The "manchego croquettes " were manchego cheese sticks. The "patatas bravas" were french fries with an egg on top. Fancy wording for moderate food. On top of that, the drinks I ordered, while pretty good, were empty long before the server came back, even though the dining area was not busy. I wouldn't return.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We managed to choose just the right amount of food and we thoroughly enjoyed each dish. The shrimp with garlic were wonderful and the apple, fennel ,manchego salad was very well done. The dense chocolate dessert needed abit more passion fruit pulp but was very tasty. We also blundered into a good wine choice. Overall, we enjoyed the meal very much. But... 1) It was almost impossible to read the prices in the dim light and the peculiar choice of font on that column of the menu and 2) it was not clear what made up a meal. For us, an appetizer, a sald, a side vegetable a main course and a dessert was just fine for 2 people but we were guessing. The salad was more than enough for 2; I could easily see a couple each ordering a salad by mistake. There should be some indication of portion size on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Met our son and his roommate for dinner in Ann Arbor. Two of our group had travelled to Spain and were very happy to have authentic tastes from the Iberian Penninsula. Like always -- small plates always end up being easy to order and add up quickly...Great service...

Tags: Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for brunch with a couple friends. Server was great, food even better, cocktails the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was delicious! We had the flatbread with mushrooms and goat cheese, patatas bravas, and lamb meatballs. We also had desserts and highly recommend the rice pudding. And they made the best sangria (tinta) I've ever eaten. The atmosphere was loud, decor is minimal, and the prices are high -- more than I paid for equal quality tapas in NYC just a few months ago. Still excellent food and good service. Definitely recommend making a reservation, preferably several days in advance.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was great but paella was undercooked. Also meat was very less. Service and ambience was spectacular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic food. Best red sangria ever! Waitress was attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu. Great overall experience.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I like this spot but it gets super packed! They didn't seat us right at our reservation time and the waiter was very overwhelmed/busy. It took a while to get everything ordered and to us but it was all good. The only downside is that the server didn't mention that paella takes 45 minutes to cook. I would have liked to know that when we sat down so we could have ordered right away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Unique, delicious food. Everything has outstanding flavors. Great drinks, great place to celebrate with friends. They recently updated their menu, and it's even better than before. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was good but the noise level was so over the top that we were shouting to be heard at our little table of 3. I would have a hard time going back for that reason alone.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The lobster paella was awesome!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was ridiculously loud, so much so that we couldn't hear each other. We texted at one point. Would help if someone turned off the music. Service was outstanding and food was good. Have enjoyed Aventura in the past, but the noise this time spoiled the experience.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Not our first visit - enjoyed the meal (and some new options) as always. Service was very disappointing. Birthday dinner reservation but no mention made; the waitress was not friendly and at times spoke condescendingly to some of the diners. If not for the occasion and not wanting to ruin the celebration, we would have requested a visit from the manager... It will be a long time before we decide to return!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous food and the staff went out of their way to make brunch a very fabulous experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Portions small and overpriced. Ambiance was clean and crisp, but not very interesting. Maybe good for a busy evening . Definitely will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I love this restaurant and try to go there each time I am in Ann Arbor. I have favorite dishes WHICH THEY TOOK OFF THE MENU when they changed it up! Some of the popular dishes should be considered signature dishes and not be removed from new menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Fun and romantic date night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

aventura is hands down my favorite spot in ann arbor.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food - loved the portion sizes, but found it to be very noisy and hard to carry on a conversation with the person seated across from me.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was good but service was terrible. Dishes did not even come close to arriving at the same time. Getting waiters attention was challenging and it wasn't even busy. Getting the check took forever and then it was divided into four even though we didn't request that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Was very loud, service was mediocre, food was very mediocre and highly priced . Supposed to be a bday surprise dessert with a candle but did not happen this way. Our waiter forgot to tell his helper about bday , but he corrected it at the end. Also our waiter forgot to bring us 2 dishes to try... Needs more improvements not only in service but in a kitchen as well.
We are not coming back, sorry.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Awesome tapas and drinks. Aventura ends up running a bit on the expensive side but the menu deserves it and the food has yet to disappoint. One of my favorite places to bring people in Ann Arbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best for two types of dining... Friday Evening sit at the bar or Group of friends Paella party. This place gets better with age

Tags: Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.