About Aventura

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Hours:
Monday-Friday 11:30am-3pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5pm-11pm
Friday and Saturday: 5pm-Midnight

Late Night:
Sunday-Thursday 11pm-Midnight
Friday & Saturday: Midnight-1am

Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Hot Spot
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Overall
Ann Arbor
Best Food
Ann Arbor
3 More
Best Service
Ann Arbor
Fit for Foodies
Ann Arbor
Most Booked
Ann Arbor
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

fit for foodies (102)
good for groups (70)
special occasion (69)
See All
hot spot (60)
neighborhood gem (41)
vibrant bar scene (40)
great for brunch (36)
romantic (34)
great for lunch (30)
great for outdoor dining (20)
late-night find (15)
notable wine list (14)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great outdoor space. Lovely wait-staff. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great outdoor space. Lovely wait-staff. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Main dish wasn't the real Paella. The se ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Main dish wasn't the real Paella. The sea food was not fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

really great food, especially the bacon ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

really great food, especially the bacon wrapped dates, and the fresh offerings!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was delicious, especially the Bruss ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food was delicious, especially the Brussels sprouts and bacon retailed dates. Our our waitress was fantastic, and the decor was a great blend of rustic and modern.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Against public opinion, I am not general ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Against public opinion, I am not generally a fan of AA dining. I came from Chicago where good food with great service is readily available at a reasonable price. In general, I find the AA food to range from meh to OK, service to be mediocre at best, and prices even worse. Add pretension, and now you have a horrible dining experience.

That in mind, I very much enjoy Aventura. Food is solid, service is good, ambiance great, and all at a reasonable price. Great after work place, dinner with mate, special friends-get-together place. Not a bad plate. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A home run! The food, drinks, vibe, and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A home run! The food, drinks, vibe, and location all are amazing. The wait staff are kind and attentive. The pintxos are a little pricey but everything is quite reasonable. Personal favorites were the white bean pate and almond and pineapple pintxos. The egg pintxos was a generic egg salad on toast. The flat boards were superb, especially the Forest with a cracked egg on top. Wonderful tapas included the Brussels sprouts (seriously), and the egg and potato frites (insanely decadent). Everyone loves the churros and dipping sauces. We loved the brown butter cake with lime curd and the chocolate tart with pretzels. The Tempranillo sangria and all the cocktails were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Service was good bu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was good but not great. Restaurant has a good vibe but the small basement seating area is just ok. Patio looked very nice. Wish I knew about it when I made the reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

The food was fantastic! The cocktail was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food was fantastic! The cocktail was yummy. Highly recommended the octopus cerviche. Small plates...great way to try many dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Second time their second best meal of my ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Second time their second best meal of my life would recommend to anybody at any time any day

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My stepmom and I celebrated our birthday ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My stepmom and I celebrated our birthdays with lunch at Aventura. We shared the new chicken/chorizo paella - delicious! (Note: Our server advised us that this dish would take about 30 minutes to prepare. It did but was well worth the wait.) - and a salad, really good, too. Then we shared some churros for dessert. They were light and yummy and the three dipping sauces were delish! Would definitely recommend this restaurant and would dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Indoors too loud to have a conversation ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Indoors too loud to have a conversation but their outdoor dining out back is fabulous! Great spanish tapas, attentive service, wonderful experience outside.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

This was my first meal at L'Adventura th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was my first meal at L'Adventura this year. The menu was its usual unusual but the food itself was something else. The gazpacho soup was billed as "white" but my husband who ordered it said it was too sweet. The salmon and cheese appetizer turned out to be cream cheese and smoked lox -- it looked and tasted like a Zabar's reject (Zabar's is a very famous NY Deli), not anything exotic. The black kale salad looked odd (cheese grated so finely it looked like layers of dust) but tasted okay. The best dish was the bacon-wrapped dates, which blended familiar flavors in a totally unexpected way. So I would have to say that overall, it was a 3-star experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were first time diners and were blown ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We were first time diners and were blown away by the service and food quality. Our server Alex was knowledgeable and I let him take full control of choosing our food. He made great selections and we were pleased with everything. I spoke with the manager who recently came from the The French Laundry and I informed him of our overall experience. His professionalism and easy going personality were the icing on the cake. Great place, I'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and wonderful service. Firs ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Awesome food and wonderful service. First time visit was great. Second time visit was fantastic. The lamb sliders and marinated olives in citrus and rosemary are not to be missed when ordering. White sangria was delicious and the perfect choice with our tapas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

First time good impression. Food was tas ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

First time good impression. Food was tasty service friendly & efficient. Lunch menu could be bigger. Tapas sizes were inconsistent. Two large one tiny.

Still I am eager to go back with a bigger group.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderfully tasty. Love the small plate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Wonderfully tasty. Love the small plate dining trend! (Great way to enjoy many different dishes/flavors without overeating). Patio dining in summer is lovely. Highly enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food is always interesting and delic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food is always interesting and delicious. Recommend the Sangria too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delicious food!! Shrimp, cauliflower, Oc ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food!! Shrimp, cauliflower, Octopus, flat bread, and lamb burgers were all amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were great. I ate outsi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food and service were great. I ate outside and while the overhead shades took care of the direct sun, unfortunately the glare off the aluminum tables was too much...My server Sloane knows how to solve the problem. Management should listen to her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Went for Father's Day. Not crowded, whi ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for Father's Day. Not crowded, which was very nice. Service was a bit slow, considering. I did not like the high top table they sat us at. I have short legs so I was actually dangling. Ended up having to sit on my legs. Was disappointed that brunch was limited to the brunch menu (which is comparably small) and not the whole menu. I've love this restaurant. Just not for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Love this Ann Arbor restaurant! Deliciou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Love this Ann Arbor restaurant! Delicious and varied food and drink choices. They did initially mess up our reservation (for some reason even though we were seated and checked in, they *later* canceled our reservation. No big deal, since we were seated but Open Table also helped us clear things up. Restaurant week allows us to explore. This is now gonna be a regular for us. Thanks!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After dining at Adventura on several occ ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

After dining at Adventura on several occasions, I do not plan on returning ever again. The food and cocktails themselves are quite good, albeit expensive for the portions. We often mock the portions and only go knowing we will be eating again later in the evening. The service is friendly but usually mediocre. Last night was atrocious. The restaurant was not at full capacity and there was no line out the door as other visits, so I couldn't say that they were just too busy. Drink orders took over a half hour. Our meal lasted over 3 hours and we had to beg for the bill to brought quickly. This was not because we were talking or lingering. Unlike the past when we order a few tapas every so often, we waited the entire time for the first order and never added any more plates. We noticed it wasn't just our table but the full restaurant came to a full stop for a hour, no one was served. The annoyance in the room was palpable. Our charcuterie plates were brought with a single slice of bread, only to be brought the rest of the bread an hour later when it was no longer of use (except for food, we were starving). One of our plates did not match the description and was inedible by the friend ordering it. She said she couldn't eat it and when the server offered to place another order, she declined because we needed to leave. It was well after 10pm and she had to drive an hour home yet. The waitress claimed 3 hours was average. Sorry, I've never had a three hour meal there, ever, even when ordering multiple times. Up until that point our table was very polite and jolly, but I think the condescending tones of the waitress and our hunger sent two of our party over the edge. If there had ever been a case for a dine and dash that would have been it. Of course we did not, though even after speaking to the management, who was very rude, there was no resolution. Needless to say, despite how good the food is, we will not be returning. Quite a shame, really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Wonderful dining experience with Spanish ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Wonderful dining experience with Spanish tapas. Every dish was delicious and artfully presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Aventura was fantastic ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our experience at Aventura was fantastic! We had the octopus ceviche, the fried cauliflower, the roasted mushrooms, the peas and clams, and a chocolate tart with buttered popcorn ice cream for dessert. Our favorite was the peas and clams with a fish stock, lemon aioli, sliced garlic, and English pea shoots, which, along with our dessert, was chosen for us by our server, TK. Chelsea, a manager, also surprised us with the delicious fried cauliflower. As for the service, TK was genuinely one of the best servers I've ever had. He essentially chose half of our meal for us and absolutely crushed it. Everything was fantastic, and we'll definitely be back (and requesting to be sat with TK)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time guests

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

No wonder we haven't managed to get a table reservation before this (we have tried many times). There's no reason why everybody shouldn't want to be there! The bar was great, Lerone created some great cocktails that we loved. The dining was also superb - we went with lots of small tapas-plates, all of them delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good but the portions ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was very good but the portions were really small, my wife and I are not big eaters so we found ourselves having to order more. When the bill came I had a little sticker shock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I always love this place

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

One of my favorite spots in Ann Arbor. Reservations are recommended (especially for large groups). Service is always impeccable, and the food is always delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great range of flavored available, great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Great range of flavored available, great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, loud atmosphere

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food including items that are harder to find in other A2 places. Menu has gotten much smaller, unfortunately, so it is less tapas and more Americanized. Very loud and hard to hear your dinner party. I have been here several times and this was the only time that service was really, really terrible. The prepared food is pretty good, especially the flatbreads and pintxos. The meat and cheese selection for the charcuterie and cheese boards is good - but if there is a supplier issue preventing an item from being served, remove that item from the menu until the issue is corrected! Aventura was an awesome place but now it is just a good one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Always a good time!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I've been to Aventura on several occasions - sometime just the two of us, sometime with a large group. It's been great everytime -- really good, interesting food, a lively atmosphere and attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aventura was all we were hoping it would ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Aventura was all we were hoping it would be. The staff was kind, helpful, knowledgable and friendly, but not overbearing. There was a wide variety of drinks. We enjoyed the creative sangria and cocktails on special, as well as the great wine list. Small plates and flatbreads did not disappoint: complex flavors, variety of proteins and vegetables, creative combinations. We'd definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. I have been on ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We love this restaurant. I have been on several occasions. We decided to take our friend who was visiting from out of town and she loved it as well. I cannot say how much I love this place. The only thing that was not great was where we sat. The restaurant had many available places to sit a party of three. The hostess brought us to a table by a VERY sunny window, so bad I could not see and next to a big party with two NOISY children. I asked the waitress if we could move, she said no problem and we did. After that, the experience was much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Perfect for a date night. Great food and ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Perfect for a date night. Great food and drinks.

Was a little loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the decor and service is awesome. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the decor and service is awesome. Very fun menu and most of the dishes were spectacular. Our only disappointment was the small amount of very delicious octopus served over a larger amount of potatoes that were so salty we couldn't eat them.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Nice Experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

This is the perfect restaurant for tapas in AA, we had two people and got three dishes and the churros for dessert, possibly should have gotten one more thing, but otherwise it was a good amount. The server was very helpful and all of the staff were accommodating, friendly and professional. It was a tiny bit loud but no more than a typical restaurant and we were still able to easily have a conversation. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is always amazing!!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is always amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you Andrew !!! Everything was grea ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Thank you Andrew !!! Everything was great and absolutely delicious.. Can't wait to come again !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall is great, not the loud background music.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant provides customers with a unique dining experience, from the type of meals, the way services provided, and the ambiance. It is certainly a very communal dining style, which gears toward encouraging people to share the experience and conversations. With that said, the loud music background sort of diminished the positive overall experience. This downside aspect is definitely easy to ractify.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wasn't Impressed

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day Brunch and was disappointed that there was very little "Spanish" food, trendy yes but not Spanish. Lived in Spain for quite a few years and was disappointed with what was on the buffet. We were told that we could order only limited from the menu and were told that the buffet was the best. May go back for just a meal but am hesitant and will be upset if the quality doesn't match the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

First time visit; recommended by friends ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

First time visit; recommended by friends. Welcome and service was excellent. Great variety of food to choose from. While tapas portions are smaller, good sizes to share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.