Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.22mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Aventura

Aventura is a new and unique restaurant in downtown Ann Arbor offering both a sophisticated and stylish approach to traditional Spanish tapas, served with a genuine and unique approach to hospitality. Servers guide guests on a culinary journey through the menu Beginning with Basque pinxto (small tasty morsels served on skewers) and cocas (deliciously distinct flatbreads) guests will then venture further into the menu with over twenty five crafted tapas and several traditional Paella. Aventura features local produce, seafood and pork (including roast suckling pig.) Enriching the experience is service from our trendy and sexy bar, offering craft cocktails, house made bitters, tonic, juices, syrups, and of course, Sangria. The extensive wine list includes over fifty bottles of Spanish wine.

At Aventura, we are constantly learning, growing and adding value to our community. We extend a warm welcome to all of our community to become a part of the Aventura family.

216 E Washington St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour:
Monday-Friday: 3pm-6pm

Dinner:
Monday-Sunday: 3pm-12am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10am-3pm

Cross Street:
S. 5th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 369-3153

Website:
http://aventuraannarbor.com/

Parking Details:
CLICK HERE FOR PARKING NEAR AVENTURA

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, View, Wine

Aventura Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (71)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Fun (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Authentic (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Romantic (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Casual (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Business Meals (9)
People Watching (9)
Cozy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Spicy (5)
Family Style (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
549 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

I've been here many times before and I've always loved the bar and their tapas. Nowadays, with the various changes to the menu, dinner is a thing to do while their. We began with sangria's, invierno and tinta specifically and they were cold, perfect and not sleep inducing. We moved on to the coliflor frita or the fried cauliflower and the texture was perfect, crispy, crunch and portioned perfectly to share.

Then the paella came, I cannot tell you how happy I was that they were able to reduce the portions to allow for 2, because where I'm from, you'll just go home with enough left over for a few days. We got the paella aventura and it was colorful, textured and flavorful.

We ended the night with the flan, also shareable, given the portions of the other courses my spouse had. Topped with strawberries and a cream that tasted of passion fruit, and a bit of whipped cream on the side, it was the subtley sweet end to a perfect post-movie dinner date.

This was one of our last weekends in town, and what a way to end our time here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and a great place for tapas and for those who like to try different things. Might be a bit pricey for some, but excellent overall.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Ate at Aventura while revisiting Ann Arbor. While the restaurant was noisy, the food was very good. We especially loved the vegetarian paella. Good beer & wine list.

Tags: Tapas, Great Beer, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Aventura for a date and couldn't have been more satisfied with the ambiance, staff or food. We had a great time, and it was a great kick off to an evening in downtown Ann Arbor.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I had our first introduction to Aventura. The food and wine were excellent and the service exceptional. Our waiterJosh went out of his way to meet our requests. He arranged an uber ride for us as I was having a medical difficulty. Thanks to Josh everything worked out fine.
Aventura is five stars in our view. We will be back.

Ray and Marilyn Jolly

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Aventura has great atmosphere with beautiful brick archways. The tapas style menu is delicious as are the creative cocktails! Great sangria too! Bartender Saul helps to make it a fun experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Pleasant; would return. Enjoyed food, service, and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Sangria and small plates were delicious. Pretty noisy -- it was hard to hear each other and we were only 6 people -- throat was a bit sore at the end of the evening. However, we all had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Recently ate at Aventura for a business dinner when I had some business associates in town in Ann Arbor/Michigan for the first time. The service, food, and atmosphere represent the best of Ann Arbor and really impressed my guests. Our waiter was amazingly helpful in recommending food and drink and most importantly to me, let me know as a pregnant woman which cheese was not pasteurized. I will absolutely be back to Aventura in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding food and service. A bot too noisy for good conversation but otherwise a great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 15, 2017

After spending four months in Madrid, I was eager to try Aventura's take on Spanish cuisine. The dishes I tasted had some variations from the traditional Spanish versions, but were delicious nonetheless and a good way to show my boyfriend what some of my favorite foods abroad were.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My first time for brunch at Aventura. We ordered too much food, but it was nice to try different stuff. The french toast and the ....something...patatas brava? Delicious! I wasn't fond of one of the dishes and the waitress offered to take it off of our bill. That is class. Great service. Nice atmoshpere inside and out. We sat on the patio surrounded by beautiful flowers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Aventura was very enjoyable for a birthday brunch! The food was good, though I found the eggs a bit undercooked (more liquid than solid). The waitress was excellent and their non-alcoholic beverage selections were delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing food selection, bar was a little slow and our drinks came one at at time. But overall amazing spot drove 45 min just to eat here

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Authentic, Late-night Find, Spicy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Hot Spot, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I really like tapas restaurants and Aventura was spectacular as one of the best. We had a variety of tapas, ranging from a pear salad to shrimp in a garlic sauce to calamari to beef tender tips to mushroom flatbread. The only questions I would have concern the size of shrimp (they were tiny) and the flavor of the tempura asparagus. Its sauce was weird, sort of like tasting soap! Otherwise my husband, my husband's daughter and son-in-law, and I were immensely pleased with our dinner. Our waiter, Josh, was fantastic, explaining the cocktails and tapas in a relaxed, knowledgeable way. He was quite excellent! We will definitely try this restaurants again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I had positive feedback from friends and was glad I chose this restaurant for this special occasion. I will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We went for our wedding anniversary and the staff was incredibly nice. We even got a sparking wine on the house! Food was delicious. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food! Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Always a pleasure dining at Aventura. My favorite restaurant in Ann Arbor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food was absolutely AMAZING! There were 4 adults. We each ordered different handcrafted cocktails (all tasted great), shared 5-6 tapas and the lobster paella.

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We have brunch at Aventura on a Sunday. The menu options were very nice were all along Spanish themes. The service was brilliant. Great ambient music playing for a Sunday brunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I will dream about that Paella! We are planning our next visit back! The sparkling sangria was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Best meal I've had in awhile. Red Sangria was #1 all time, way better than Domicks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is a pricey place and last time was phenomenal. This time - just ok. They forgot one item initially, brought it late but then didn't charge us for it - nice. The fries (under egg, forgot the name of the dish) were too dark, the sauce pretty standard commercial, the fried cheese sticks ok. Mushrooms very ordinary, the grilled peppers were the best. Overall pretty disappointed

The white Sangria was great, and the non-alcoholic drink too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great waitress. Amazing service, and food in general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great place for weekend brunch! Sat outside and loved the ambiance, food, and mimosas!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

They were really busy, so the food took a little long to come out. But I have no complaints. The food and service were both fantastic, and I can't wait to return!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great Place. Fun atmosphere. Good service. Food was somewhat spotty..some items were very tasty, others only so so. Biggest issue: this place is just too noisy. Barely can hear yourself talk. They should do something about noise dampening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I enjoy the on line reservation option. The restaurant is in a good location. I enjoy the ambience, friendly host and waiters. The chef's choices are all excellent and well prepared, presented and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Relaxing, fun to share flavors by ordering several tapas, many vegetarian options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Noisy! Ask server to slow down the arrival of food so it is possible to enjoy the courses as they come out. Noise level and close vacinity of other diners makes it difficult to enjoy conversation at the table. The premise of tapas is to slowly eat, converse and enjoy a leisurely meal but the ambience in the restaurant and the speed with which the plates arrive make this next to impossible, at least at peak dining hours. Food was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fourth time to eat at Aventura. Never lets you down. NEVER! Such a great dining experience.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Intriguing menu, delicious food, attentive host and server. A Nice addtion to the Washington Street restaurants.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 14, 2017

All of the ingredients were fresh and dishes just prepared. The tapas had very interesting spices and flavor combinations. The tapas and drinks menus are extensive, something for everyone, creative.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was very good, especially the mushroom tapas and garlic shrimp. Cheese plate was also excellent. Bar tender slammed his shaker on the bar every so often which was annoying and servers wanted to take plates too fast even when food was still on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food is good, noise level makes it difficult to talk.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Ann Arbor--especially for date night. Excellent food and ambiance. It's always a scene. With the new Chef, they made some changes I'm not a fan of. I wish they would bring back the fried artichoke dish! The tempura asparagus is far inferior. I would prefer bread instead of those little bread "cigars".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Awesome Bloody Mary bar and great atmosphere!!!! We split the Spanish waffles and then each got a brunch meal. everyone had egg to cut and let the yoke cover the dish!!!! So good!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.