About Aveline

490 Geary Street
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

Modern Californian Cuisine

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Californian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Mon-Thurs 5:30pm-10:00pm
Fri-Sat 530pm - 10:30pm

Breakfast:
Daily 7am to 11am

Saturday and Sunday Brunch
11am to 3pm

Cross Street:
Taylor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 345-2303

Website:
http://www.avelinesf.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and paid public garages.

Public Transit:
Geary muni

Executive Chef:
Kaley Laird

Private Party Facilities:
The European Bar and Lounge is also available for private events.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host a variety of events. Please call us so we can assist you. 415.345.2303

Restaurant Photos

  • Aveline
Aveline

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon 5:30PM - 9:00PM

Tue - Thu 7:45PM - 9:00PM

Fri - Sat 7:45PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Aveline Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

75% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Romantic (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great time here overall. Food t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great time here overall. Food took a tiny bit long but everything was tasty. Dessert was good too. The place is nice for special occasions and was not loud. Our waiter was kind and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place located inside the Warwick h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place located inside the Warwick hotel which is very hip and a smaller, intimate setting. The service was quite poor- the waiter himself kept hinting that he does not make much money, that he can barely afford the food there, had little to no knowledge of the food other than to say simple adjectives of, "this tastes good" and "that is a bit funky".

Also- not amenable to being courteous, when we asked to split the check- he asked if we knew a good accountant as he would need one to do the math... which honestly we asked to split evenly for a check totaling over $500...

Horrible experience. Never coming back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Beautiful restaurant, open kitchen is al ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, open kitchen is always a plus for me. Great staff and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre- theatre Dining

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went to Aveline before attending the theater (ACT). It is located directly across the street. The restaurant was not busy and we were seated promptly. The service was good -- friendly and efficient. We started with the sweet corn soup which was very good. The entrees were also well prepared. My Pork Tenderloin was very good. Deserts were excellent. We will be back and recommend Aveline for pre-theater dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Miss LaScene but still good

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We used to eat at LaScene. In its present incarnation, Aveline, it is less good than it was for breakfast, but fine for dinner. Good food, excellent service, not too much noise. In 5 restaurants we ate at in San Francisco, not one had soundproofing, soft surfaces, or curtains. Everyone had hard surfaces that bounced back every noise in the place. They simply are not good for conversation.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant several ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been to this restaurant several times and the food has improved over the last year! We had a wonderful meal, and we had a really great waiter named Chris! When he came over to our table to introduce himself he said he recognized us from the last time we were in. He's very engaging and went out of his way to make everything great! Thanks, Chris!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The varied menu has always been a winner ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The varied menu has always been a winner. Fortunately, the sweet corn soup remains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Huevos Rancheros was unexpected but deli ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Huevos Rancheros was unexpected but delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We had dinner before ACT, my second time ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We had dinner before ACT, my second time, and really enjoyed it! Attentive and friendly service. We were able to choose a free appetizer as ACT subscribers, and it was delicious (burrata cheese plate). Our wines were also very good. My main course was the lamb which I had ordered before and it was wonderful. The other main course, halibut, was also very good. Will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Elegance Surroundings Did Not Match the Food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I was very disappointed with Aveline. Although the dining room is elegant and comfortable, the food was disappointing. The eggs did not come out with my pancakes. I had to ask for butter for the pancakes and salt and pepper for the eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Business dinner on 2 occasions, date nig ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Business dinner on 2 occasions, date night on 2 others. Every time the food was outstanding, service was professionally perfect, with terrific cocktails and a very nice wine list. The space is comfortable and contemporary. This is really one of San Francisco's best restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrible service for an upscale restaurant.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Waiter appeared very busy, but customers were ignored, not only us. At another table, someone got up to get service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Aveline was a terrific retaurant - excelent

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Aveline has a terrific food and service. Perfect for a couple that would like have a great dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy Hotel Eats

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Aveline was a great spot for dinner on the first night of our hotel stay at The Warwick. The décor is very modern although the overall experience was dulled slightly by the fact it was freezing in the restaurant, and the staff couldn't control the air-con. Food was superb (especially the sprouts) and the waiter new the menu inside out which really helped our selections. Wine pairings are good, too. The only other negative for us was the fact it was pretty quiet for a Friday night, so the atmosphere was a little lacking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great city destination

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Was a last minute booking, but lots of space available. We were promptly seated and given a paper menu and an extensive wine menu on an iPad. The wine list is deep and helps showcase some good Californian wines, which I appreciated coming from out of the country. The food was great, and the serves generous. Service could be a little bit more attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

How is it possible we did not know about this gem?

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

What a nice experience! We only found out about Aveline due to being on the ACT website. We have been coming to ACT for 45 years and did not know this gem was across the street! Excellent food, excellent waiter, knowledgeable and out the door in plenty of time. The Brussels sprouts.....oh my.....I would go back just to eat a bucket of them!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Aveline

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I went to Aveline for the first time on March 31. I was attending an ACT performance that evening, and they said that I should check out Aveline, a new restaurant that they recommended that was good and close by. Since I was there early, I beat the evening rush, and had the restaurant section where I was pretty much to myself. The wait staff were very attentive, and the food was very good, and the service was great. Since it is so close to ACT, I recommend it to others who might like to have a good meal near the theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best pasta dishes I've ever eaten...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Staying at the Hilton, Union Square, Aveline was just 1 block north, so the location was a huge plus! The pasta with chorizo sausage I ordered was one of the best I have ever had. Two other people in our party had the prawns (very large!) with a croquette and scallop and crab mornay; both loved their dishes. That said, they charged $25 for corkage (high, in my book!) and our total bill (with tip) was $200 -- too overpriced for me to be able to either return or recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

interesting and unusual menu

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We dined at Aveline on a Tuesday evening before going to an ACT play at the Geary, across the street. We were surprised to see it nearly empty, but that helped with prompt service from our waiter, who was very knowledgable about the wine list, and gave very clear recommendations about menu items -- not exactly opinionated, but warned us away from one item and toward a couple of others. The menu is creative, going beyond the usual choices at an Italian restaurant. Grilled brussels sprouts -- a free appetizer because of our ACT tickets, followed by a nice shrimp risotto and duck angolotti (Piemonte style ravioli). Overall a good experience, but I think just a bit (maybe 20%) overpriced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Every part of the meal was under heated.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

If you would like tepid latte, cool eggs benedict and tasteless cottage fries, this is the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Exceeded expectations

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Aveline was recommended by ACT since the Geary Theater is right across the street. The four of us shared a (complimentary) brussel sprouts appetizer, kale salad, tuna, chicken, duck ravioli, and shrimp risotto. Everything was excellent. Prices were reasonable. And contrary to what I had read, our waiter was just the right level of attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not ready for prime time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

One of our theatre group had been wanting to try this place for awhile. We went for brunch before a Sat matinee. We had an offer from A.C.T for a free appetizer if we showed our tickets. They wouldn't honor it, saying it was only good for dinner (which it did not say on the offer). I would have thought they would have offered something for good will, but no. We asked for the deviled eggs from the "to share" menu - was told they were out of deviled eggs. I ordered the Crab Macarons -- they were out of those too! We asked to see a copy of their dinner menu but they could not accommodate our request. Got the impression they weren't really ready for business despite it being noon. On the other hand, the smoked salmon benedict that I ordered was excellent - eggs perfectly poached, the accompanying potatoes were ok but kind of lukewarm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Disappointed

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My co-worker raved about this place over a year ago. She enjoyed a wonderful dinner and highly recommended this restaurant. So, my husband and I decided to try Sunday brunch here. The place was nearly empty at 11am. I started with a latte, then the server brought me a mimosa which I didn't order. I had him take it back, and he brought me orange juice that I didn't order. Weird. My husband's Bloody Mary was meh. My avocado toast was okay. My husband's Crab Macaron was very fishy and not appetizing. On the bright side, it was fun to watch the two chefs dancing and really loving their jobs. They had big smiles on their faces, and were laughing while they worked. It was nice to see people actually happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Don't waste your time

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The waiter was clearly annoyed that he was working on Sunday, and said as much to us. He was inattentive and had no patience to answer questions. The food was mediocre. One of people with me had a foreign object in her food. The manager only offered 20% off which was inadequate given the damage it could have done if she had bitten into the object. The waiter couldn't seem to manage to ring up the 20% off until several botched attempts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Server was rude and forgetful. Did not feel welcomed at all. Two of the dishes turned out bitter and stale-tasting. The restaurant was nice enough to take them off the charge which I appreciate. All in all, was disappointed and the menu was rather limited. Will not go back, either for the food or the non-existent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Nearly perfect night out

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Took my wife to Aveline for valentines eve. Food and service were excellent. The braised short rib tagliatelle was unbelievable. Ambiance would have great too had a very rude person not been taking calls using speaker phone two tables away. Not necessarily Aveline's fault although it would have been nice of them to intervene on behalf of the civil respectful patrons. We will definitely make a return visit...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A nice surprise

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

We are theatre goers and always looking a place to eat before curtain time. La Scene used to be in this location, it was ok, not much in the area to choose from, we have tried many, but nothing really special. We had a great meal, I had several smaller bites that were not do small, a cocktail, no time for dessert but will definitely go back. My husband had a burger made just the he asked for it, I had mussels, fries, Brussels sprouts, I think that was it. It was all very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Very convenient to A.C.T., but not open Sundays (when we usually go). Very good food and reasonable portions, typical San Francisco prices. Good service, waiters familiar with menu and give advice when asked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

a thoroughly bad experience

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

I cannot recommend Aveline. Just minutes before we left for our reservation at the restaurant, I received a phone call saying that due to a "problem" in the kitchen, all reservations for brunch had been cancelled. Our dilemma was that we had tickets for the matinee at The Geary Theater, and had no other options for lunch in the immediate area. All in all, very inconvenient and disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Do not go for restaurant week

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Went here for restaurant week. Had previously come here for dinner and the food was fantastic. This time around, the food was mediocre and the service wasn't what you would expect for the prices you pay. There was one appetizer that we couldn't quite figure out what it was since it seemed like a little bit of everything was on it - burrata, some gluten free carb thing, some veggies, balsamic vinegar, toast. I think it was an odd interpretation. What particularly surprised us was when dessert was brought out. Our party of three all had to get the restaurant week set menu, but for dessert, they gave us a all a different dessert, assuming that we would just share. So we had two cheesecakes (vanilla and chocolate) and a scoop of raspberry sherbet. We did ask for a non-dairy dessert, so we did ask for the sherbert, but really? The cheesecakes tasted store bought and the sherbet was just a plain scoop. The main dish was ok. I had a pork dish, but the pork was overcooked and dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Thanks, but not again.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Looking back over our recent dining experience at Aveline, I feel like Pete Wells would never have been as kind. Really.

I have had good dinners at this restaurant in the past, and selected it because one of my friends is vegetarian (This restaurant is one of two that comes up on OpenTable if you search for "Vegetarian/Vegan") and the other friend RAVED about it. Honestly? There was ONE(1) vegetarian entree on the menu, and TWO(2) vegetarian apps, one of which was a cereal bowl of brussels sprouts.

The service was not great - our server was, in fact, rather surly (and not in an amusing way).

Perhaps I irritated him when I requested a table against the wall, instead of the one in the middle of the floor where he had planned to seat us. "It's easier for us if you're at that table," was his statement - and, really, I should have known that it would be all about HIS ease and comfort.

It was "SF Restaurant Week," and the server cautioned us that the chef would only prepare the "special" menu if the whole table participated - because otherwise we might be left dangling while mis-matched courses were staggered. We therefore ALL agreed to participate - yet even then our courses did not come out at the same time. Here's another cute feature: instead of letting us each select a dessert from the menu, the table was presented with a plate of all three flavors of cheesecake and three spoons because...sharing is caring, I suppose. Personally, I would prefer not to share my germs with my dining companions, but there was no extra charge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Really just average and nothing to brag ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Really just average and nothing to brag about. Seating is crowded and we were seated at a table in a doorway. They did move us after being asked about it twice and the restaurant was empty. Steak was ordered MR and had to be sent back. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Service seemed like and afterthought

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I brought a visitor, from Sacramento to dine at the Aveline establishment. My reservations were at 6:45PM Jan 16. When we arrived there was not anyone there to greet us. The house was not full and seems to have plenty of space available. 15 minutes later we were finally greeted by the bus person and seated.

Another 15 minutes passed by until we were finally acknowledged again by the same bus person. I know this because he setting and clearing tables along with water service. He also spoke the person who allegedly was out waiter. When our waiter finally arrived he just gave us our menus and an ipad with the wine list that did not work. When the waited did come back with a wine list. We already knew what we wanted. WE HAD TO BARROW FROM THE TABLE NEXT TO US.

However the food itself was good but not great. We ordered the Mac and Cheese and the Brussel spouts for apps. Both were tasty but not overly exciting. My dinner companion had the scallops which again were tasty but not overly exciting. I had the braised lamb which was also very flavorful but very safe for San Francisco dining. Through out dinner, no one asked how we were doing. The bus person did fill our water, but that was about it. We dined for a good hour an a half and was barely acknowledged. The highlight was the brittle for dessert which the components together were very tasty and would order it again.

Overall, the food was really good, but with so many options in the City, why the low risk. Feels like this restaurant was catering to out of town conventions and mid western tourist than the palate of the local environment. The bus person and the back of the house that made this place manageable. The wait service was questionable at best, especially with only the house half filled.

With so many selections in San Francisco, you are better off going somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

not good to celebrate New Year's Eve.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

they pushed the bill on us, 10 minutes before midnight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice, but overpriced

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Very nice setting and decor; I loved the bar in front of the kitchen.

Food was fresh and recipes were delicious and original. Wine was quite good.

Sadly, New Year's prix fixe was a bit of a rip off. Honestly, $65 for corn soup, a plate of pasta and dessert is quite steep.

Service was good thanks to busser who seems to carry most of the service for the whole restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We went there for early New Year Eve dinner. The food was delicious and the service was great! Everyone happy with the food including my kids.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a NIGHTMARE!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Took an hour for the meals to arrive. Every order was messed up or cold. No one got what they expected. The tofu scramble was anything but. Just awful. Toast was cold and had to be asked for and then was not buttered nor butter brought with it. But they realized they had made all these blunders and did not charge us for any of our drinks. Even with that none of us will go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Not Bad, Not Amazing.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

We went for Christmas dinner. Service was good, but not excellent (timely but robotic). Decor was pretty, but not outstanding (imagine ordinary hotel lobby). Plating was thoughtful, but food was basic (not particularly surprising flavor profiles). Perhaps my expectations were too high, but for the price that the food was offered, I had hoped for something more lustrous than just "nice."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Cold

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

The restaurant food and service were very good. Beware of sitting to close to the entrance on a cold San Francisco night. It may cause you to bundle up so that you can thoroughly enjoy your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good location, nice atmosphere

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

I was disappointed with the Crab macaroon Benedict. The eggs were overcooked, the macaroon was dry and the tiny smear of Hollandaise was just a little sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.