About Ava Gene's

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Malted Vanilla Gelato - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Pane Borlotti Beans, Olive Oil And Rosemary - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Apples, Cabbage, Leeks And Cheese - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Spaghetti With Cherry Tomatoes And Almonds - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Tomato, Peach And Basil Salad - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ribeye - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Rigatoni - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Cucumbers, melon, colatura, mint, chiles, hazelnuts - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Panna Cotta - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Carrots, quinoa, cashews, honey vinegar - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Celery, almonds, dates, parmigiano-reggiano - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Meyer Lemon Sorbetto - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Paccheri, Lamb Ragü, Chicories - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Fettucine, lamb ragu in bianco, radicchio - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Tomatoes, peaches, basil, pistachios, Grove 45 olive oil - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Shrimp And Squid Piatti - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Tuscan Cavalry - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Meatball Monday Garganelli - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Burrata - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Burrata, corn, husk cherry walnuts, jalapeño, focaccia - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
orecchiette, pork sausage, collards - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Pane Nduja & Pane with Fresh Sheeps Cheese & Nettles - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Affettati Piccolo - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Chocolate sorbet, hazelnut praline and espresso gelato - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
tre scelte dai giardini  - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Cannoli - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Roasted Peanut Gelato - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Carta Di Musica  - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Fritti - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ziti, Zucchini Pesto, Sungolds, Basil - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Bucatini - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Good for a Date (65)
Fit for Foodies (56)
See All
Local Ingredients (55)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Open Kitchen (47)
Romantic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Notable Wine List (33)
Seasonal (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Cozy (29)
Authentic (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Fun (18)
Business Meals (17)
Family Style (16)
Wood Oven (13)
Organic (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Casual (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Healthy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tapas (5)
People Watching (5)
Historic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unbelievable. In every way.

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Unbelievable. In every way.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation so no waiting issues. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Made a reservation so no waiting issues. Checking coats was a nice touch. Everyone was nice and informative with all questions. I didn't care for my wine which was bland and a bit overpriced. The berlotti beans on bread was fantastic, maybe the best of the night. The burrata was WAY too salty. Not really sure why but this was almost to the point of being inedible. The spouse liked her entree– tortellini with potato and mint– which was simple but nice. The braseole was good, very tender and flavors melded nicely between the acidity of the greens, tomato gremolata and the meat. The sweet cream gelato was almost too simple with no real flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Can't say enough great things about Ava ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Can't say enough great things about Ava Gene's. Top notch!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience at Ava Gene's. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great experience at Ava Gene's. The parking is a bit sparse so allow plenty of time to park then walk. Friendly staff, open kitchen, creative menu, great food and drinks. Make a reservation or else you'll be waiting in line.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great service. The kale ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful food, great service. The kale salad was one of the best salads I've had anywhere, and the meatballs are rightly famous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

must have went on an off night for the c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

must have went on an off night for the chef.....food was not great (meat overcooked) and we left disappointed. service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fantastic food, excellent service; an ov ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fantastic food, excellent service; an overall exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took forever to get a reservation and ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It took forever to get a reservation and we were a little disappointed in the food. The pork disappointing and the ragu was salty. For all the hype it was just "okay". However, The staff and service was outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a nice meal and a lovely evening ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a nice meal and a lovely evening at Ava Gene's, but I would not care to go back or recommend it. I don't like the menu much and the price is far too high for the experience. This is not fine dining, it's nicely done everyday food, which I like, but not for the price. The menu is very meat-centric and limited for vegetarians. The cheeses are all US cheeses and not as amazing as many Italian choices. I have a tree nut allergy, and nearly half the dishes have tree nuts. There is not a single green salad. Nearly all the vegetable dishes have heavy, meaty ingredients that make them a poor accompaniment to a pasta with cheese or a meat dish. Overall limited choices. On the plus side, lovely space, wonderful service, and everything was very tasty.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

We chose the expensive tasting menu and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We chose the expensive tasting menu and felt we were getting what wasn't selling well. Very little meat in the short rib pasta, a bowl of unappetizing looking polenta, another bowl of overdone veggies, etc. service painfully slow. Coffee took over 15 mins to get, etc. this use to be a favorite restaurant. Sadly no more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My boyfriend and I went here for our 4 y ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I went here for our 4 year anniversary, and everything was perfect! Our server was so kind and very knowledgeable about our dishes. This place is one of our favorite places to eat! They really made our anniversary so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty and great detail in everything, es ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Tasty and great detail in everything, especially our server. Everyone was attentive and delicious

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second dining experience at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was our second dining experience at Ava Gene's and we will be back many more times to this amazing restaurant. The food is out of this world in taste and creative presentation. Everything is just incredible. The service is friendly, helpful and our server made us feel he was genuinely happy we were there at his table. Ava Gene's is one of Portland's very best!

Tags: , Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed this restaurant. We ar ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant. We are vegetarian and the server gave us very detailed descriptions of what we could have. She was very informative and professional without being stuffy. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Most of the food was really good- though ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Most of the food was really good- though heavy. Only dish we did not like was the polenta. Also the dessert menu was lacking and the nonalcoholic drinks were overly sweet. The ambience was great though and the pasta dishes were perfect. Nice spot for a special dinner or a date.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I really love this restaurant. The firs ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I really love this restaurant. The first two times we've been here, we had phenomenal waiters. They walked through the menu and explained (in very delicious detail) a lot of the food. This time, our waiter was very nice and efficient, however, she did not explain the menu in such detail, which was a slight disappointment to me. I might suggest that if customers say they know the menu well or don't need an explanation, they can skip it. But what I really appreciated the first two times was hearing descriptions about the food. With that said, I will be back and still highly recommend Ava Gene's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

meh, more hype than substance. Putting ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

meh, more hype than substance. Putting th name of dishes in Italian doesn't mean they are special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Not a regular brunch spot and on New Yea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not a regular brunch spot and on New Year's Day it showed. The server was nice but so unfamiliar with the menu items that she literally interrupted questions to tell us she hadn't seen any of the items. A very small portion of eggs was good but at $15 very overpriced. The shrimp and polenta--also a high cost item--had no flavor. The apple zeppoles were also pretty flavorless.

All in all, a disappointing brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

One of the best restaurants we have bee ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of the best restaurants we have been. Outstanding food and wine list !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time. For dinner on Saturday nigh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time. For dinner on Saturday night. Excellent atmosphere. Bistro-like. Could be anywhere - NYC, Italy, London. True fusion of Italian-inspired menu and NW influence with proudly local produce and meat/seafood. Great wines by the glass. Expensive, but worth it. My duck leg was a little dry. The pasta with mussels only had two mussels. But the food was very, very good none the less. I want to go back. Creative menu with lots of options for family-style dining if you chose. Maybe better to go with another couple or other group, then you can taste more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual this was some of the most creat ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual this was some of the most creative, yummy and well presented food I've had in Portland area. Every dish was full of diverse flavors which brought something new to the list.

Only missed having a good Oregon wine list as well. The wine list, Italian, was just OK.

Tags: Fun, , Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and unrushed on ev ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent and unrushed on even on NYE.

The food was as always well above average. The only weak link was the wine guy/ Tuck in your shirt, and get a rap down! Realizing Portland is the hub if hipsterville, this is a class place! Go take a course in wine stewardship on your way to becoming a sommelier.

Nonetheless, I'll be back a great overall experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We made the brilliant decision to choose ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made the brilliant decision to choose the Chef's menu .. it was stupendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SO FREAKIN DELICIOUS! We went in there w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

SO FREAKIN DELICIOUS! We went in there with a very minimal idea of what to expect, and our watress was so helpful breaking the menu down. She also helped suggest dishes, which we appreciate. The Bortolli Beans and Gnocco Fritto were full of flavor and I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal celebrating our wedding anniv ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great meal celebrating our wedding anniversary. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Waiter gave great advice on food selections. Pastas were superb.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful service. Food was innovative, ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful service. Food was innovative, with deft use of heat; overall, good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our second visit to Ava Gene's ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was our second visit to Ava Gene's and we had another wonderful experience. The food is truly delicious! We started with grilled bread and two salads, the carrot was my favorite with toasted peanuts and mint; the flavors were refreshing and bright! My hubby preferred the beet salad, which was very good as well, the house made croutons offered a nice crunchy contrast to the rest of the salad. For dinner we had the seafood linguini (amazing), and the house made spaghetti; both were very good, the linguini was our favorite, we were pleasantly surprised there were no shells to pick through. For our main course we shared the deep fried black cod, which happened to be the special that evening; it was light, tender, and delicious! The server was very helpful, we debated choosing the chefs tasting menu, after hearing what we were interested in trying she steered us down our own path. The only thing that I don't love about this restaurant is the noise level; the ambiance is otherwise lovely. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My siblings and I enjoyed a delicious me ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My siblings and I enjoyed a delicious meal over the holiday season. The food was amazing, service was excellent, and we loved the ambiance. We would very highly recommend and can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was superb, and service as good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was superb, and service as good as anywhere in town. Andy was super helpful, and service was very attentive and we'll timed without being cloying. I have a new understanding of what "Italian Food" can be. Fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Great Service. Our annual ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great Food and Great Service. Our annual Birthday Dinner not to be done anywhere else!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Incredible. Top to bottom. Easily one ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Incredible. Top to bottom. Easily one of the top all around restaurant experiences I have had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! How can a turnip/radish/c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Amazing food! How can a turnip/radish/cranberry salad be so decadent? Wow! All food was amazing! Can't wait to come back!

Only snafu- we were accidentally charged $72 for a bottle of wine- yikes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

On a rare snow day in Portland, Ava Gene ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

On a rare snow day in Portland, Ava Gene's generously accommodated us through all the craziness. Everyone was very warm and welcoming, service was on point, as was the food. The salads were amazing, polenta unbelievably creamy, and casarecce was fantastic. Can't say enough good things. They even let us hang out at the bar while we figured out our transportation back to downtown. Looking forward to coming back on many return trips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall really good dining experience. M ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Overall really good dining experience. My only criticism was that the tortellini was grossly undercooked and the veal broth way too salty for my taste. Just loved the fennel orange pear and brown butter bits salad. Also the fettuccine with mussels was spicey and vibrant. The salumi was top quality. We ended with panna cotta and pine needle syrup, a really unique spin on that dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

this restaurant was recommended to me. I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2016

this restaurant was recommended to me. I cannot say enough good things about this place.

it was a Monday night and the atmosphere was like a Friday. Light, fun, upbeat. The service was outstanding. The food was outstanding. I was with a friend so we ordered multiple items so that we could share and taste a variety. Everything was wonderful. The server even paired my glass of wine with my entree perfectly.

I don't live in Portland, but when I need to be there, this will be my go to spot for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. The salads are exception ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent food. The salads are exceptional. Three of us ordered three different salads to share - all were amazing! The entrees were also fabulous - meatballs and pasta, Dover sole, saffron linguini with mussels. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to this restaurant and after ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

First time to this restaurant and after hearing great things we were absolutely impressed. The food was remarkable and the service was excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

AWESOME. AWESOME. AWESOME! It was our 1 ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

AWESOME. AWESOME. AWESOME! It was our 15th anniversary and the service, food, atmosphere could not be beat! EVERYTHING was perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beef was overcooked and the sauce bitter ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Beef was overcooked and the sauce bitter and strange. The salads were delicious and unique but not very balanced, it was hard to eat much of them because of the overwhelming dressing. A huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

We finally ate here for my birthday afte ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We finally ate here for my birthday after people recommending it for a while. We had a great time at a restaurant in Rome that serves a daily meal, chef's choice, so we decided to go with the family style. I'm kind of a picky eater so I was a little concerned but everything was great. Every course was tasty and just the right amount. I loved the fennel and Tuscany Cavalry salads. The pork tenderloin was incredibly tender. Dessert was amazing, I got creamy panna cotta complete with a birthday candle and my husband is ready to give up his beloved brownies for the decadent chocolate sorbet. The service was a little slow between courses but we weren't in a hurry so didn't mind. Hands down our most enjoyable dining experience in Portland.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.