About Ava Gene's

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Malted Vanilla Gelato - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Pane Borlotti Beans, Olive Oil And Rosemary - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Apples, Cabbage, Leeks And Cheese - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Spaghetti With Cherry Tomatoes And Almonds - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Tomato, Peach And Basil Salad - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ribeye - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Rigatoni - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Cucumbers, melon, colatura, mint, chiles, hazelnuts - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Panna Cotta - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Carrots, quinoa, cashews, honey vinegar - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Celery, almonds, dates, parmigiano-reggiano - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Meyer Lemon Sorbetto - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Paccheri, Lamb Ragü, Chicories - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Fettucine, lamb ragu in bianco, radicchio - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Tomatoes, peaches, basil, pistachios, Grove 45 olive oil - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Shrimp And Squid Piatti - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Tuscan Cavalry - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Meatball Monday Garganelli - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Burrata - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Burrata, corn, husk cherry walnuts, jalapeño, focaccia - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
orecchiette, pork sausage, collards - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Pane Nduja & Pane with Fresh Sheeps Cheese & Nettles - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Affettati Piccolo - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Chocolate sorbet, hazelnut praline and espresso gelato - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
tre scelte dai giardini  - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Cannoli - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Roasted Peanut Gelato - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Carta Di Musica  - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Fritti - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Ziti, Zucchini Pesto, Sungolds, Basil - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR
Bucatini - Ava Gene's, Portland, OR

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Special Occasion (71)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Local Ingredients (58)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Good for a Date (50)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Romantic (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Notable Wine List (37)
Open Kitchen (34)
Seasonal (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Cozy (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Authentic (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Family Style (18)
Business Meals (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Fun (13)
Healthy (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Wood Oven (10)
Organic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Tapas (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The salads were particularly well execut ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

The salads were particularly well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a welcome place to go as a single ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a welcome place to go as a single diner. Wonderful food with helpful, friendly service.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Healthy, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always love Ava Genes and it typically h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Always love Ava Genes and it typically has great food and service. Lively and fun. This time the Tuesday lasagne was extremely overcooked to the point of being dry on top and mushy underneath the cheese. My dining companions enjoyed their dishes and the panna cotta was yummy

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Well crafted food, very good service, an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Well crafted food, very good service, an overall enjoyable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I shared the family style op ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My wife and I shared the family style option which was great because it allowed us to try 3 different salads and 2 types of pasta as well as sharing a main dish of smoked trout. The food was outstanding and the wine steward was very helpful with picking out a nice bottle of wine that was within our price range. It would be great if they added wine pairing to go with the family style meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had such high expectations, although ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We had such high expectations, although were warned that there's too much hype. While the service was attentive, the downsides were numerous - from tight seating to an overpriced menu. The potential for the wonderful ingredients to shine was ruined in almost all of the dishes by overly rich and far too salty preparations. There are just better options in Portland for great Italian food at lower cost and in a more relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A new tradition for birthday dinner! Gr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

A new tradition for birthday dinner!

Great food and a knowledgeable waiter.

No hurry, no rush just a pleasant very delicious dinner

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there with a best friend to celebra ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went there with a best friend to celebrate our birthdays. Delicious food from start to finish. The fact that they prepare their pasta from grain to noodle allows for phenomenal flavors. Conscientious staff who helped us when initial beverage choices were not ideal. Look forward to enjoying their food again!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ava Gene's is one of our favorite PDX re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ava Gene's is one of our favorite PDX restaurant. We highly recommend Ava Gene's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A small but very creative Italian menu. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A small but very creative Italian menu. Not your pizzas and traditional pasta. Great mixture. Outstanding ingredients and presentation. Service was there when needed and never to overbearing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a leisurely birthday dinner with ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a leisurely birthday dinner with two couples and arrived early in the evening. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and we had a cocktail round, a brought bottle of wine and lots of questions about the menu ingredients. Everyone was very happy with their meals. We had a charcuterie plate for four, with their own cured meats. Delicious proscuitto. Then each of us had: beef ragu, the lamb, clam linguini with saffron, and sausage pasta. (My naming for these dishes do not do the lovely menu justice.) Then - gelato for dessert. Very delicious! We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Fun, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ran late due to poor planning and tra ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We ran late due to poor planning and traffic. However, the alerted the staff and with quick but truly excellent service we enjoyed a delicious meal with good friends and felt unhurried. We appreciate the way they handled the situation and will definitely be back (this time on time).

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always consistent & fresh - we love to s ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Always consistent & fresh - we love to sample their delicious salads, a pasta, a protein, and a bread to start. Portions aren't huge but good, so lots of sharing to do.

Tags: Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. Sat at the chef's table and so great to interact with the chef and his staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely delicious! Quali ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious! Quality ingredients executed to perfection. By far one of the best dinners I have had out in a long time. The service was remarkable. The staff was very personable and knowledgeable, and went the extra mile to ensure our experience was positive. The only negative for me was it is quite noisy and difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Second time there in two years. Still ex ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Second time there in two years. Still extremely good. Sat at the kitchen bar again and got to watch all the food coming out of the kitchen and grill . Well done is all I can say. Great service by all the staff. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I've had in portland. Hands do ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best meal I've had in portland. Hands down. Still thinking about it. Soooo good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time and we ordered the ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was our first time and we ordered the Chefs Table.. It was AMAZING!! Best Italian restaurant I've eaten hands down. It was 5 courses custom prepared by 5 chefs and then brought to our table by the chefs. I'd definitely recommend..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nothing vegan, in Portland, really? 1 pe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Nothing vegan, in Portland, really? 1 pescatarian option and it was awful. For a traveler who has eaten everywhere I expect a 4 + rating to be better than what I could do at home. Inaccurate here. Too expensive. Well too expensive for what you get any way. I don't mind paying for awesome food. But that's not what happened. There was rioting going on and it made me late. When I called to notify I was running late due to freeway access being very limited as well as on and off ramps being closed, she said she was going to deduct the time I was late from my 2 hour allotted time. I'm not sure why she felt the need to say that when there were empty tables all around me! Tried to get in here forever, won't be back.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

A lovely restaurant with delicious food. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A lovely restaurant with delicious food. We especially enjoyed the many selections available to select from in "constructing" your meal, depending on your appetite and budget. Be sure to ask your server to recommend combinations of dishes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our go-to place for an upscale m ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This is our go-to place for an upscale meal for any occasion. We always get the house specialty and it is always special. Bon appetite.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and friendly, professiona ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food and friendly, professional service! Highly recommended.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We booked for Saturday at 8:45pm and ar ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We booked for Saturday at 8:45pm and arrived a few minutes early. We were waiting for 25-30 minutes but the restaurant offered us complimentary drinks which was appreciated. It was worth the wait! The charcuterie and cheese selection was delicious. We enjoyed our wine and our pasta. The restaurant is cozy and the service was excellent. Great spot!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant made me decide to quit e ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This restaurant made me decide to quit eating at expensive, noisy but trendy restaurants. I had heard good things about it but when I can barely hear my wife sitting across the table from me it's time to go elsewhere. It was also a good reminder that expensive food is not always good food. There were just some items where the combination of ingredients didn't seem to complement one another at all. The whole was not greater than the sum of the parts.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent and tasty food. The back cod w ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent and tasty food. The back cod was hot, moist, flakey and delicious. My pork chop was good but my wife's cod was much better. We also had a great salad. We skipped dessert. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely phenomenal food, service, and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Absolutely phenomenal food, service, and atmosphere. One of the most memorable dining experiences I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

melt in your mouth trout - wonderful tex ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

melt in your mouth trout - wonderful texture, flavor, and topping great too. Salads amazing.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have dined here multiple times. It i ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We have dined here multiple times. It is a bit pricey so we choose Ava Gene's for special times. The flavors and unique dishes including the salads never disappoint. I like that the portions are not too large, patrons do not feel rushed, and they know their wines so can assist with pairing . From beginning to end the meal this time was interesting, attractive to the eye and very tasty.

My only complaint is that the restaurant can be noisy. We avoided this by coming early this time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, innovative menu, attenti ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Delicious food, innovative menu, attentive service. Highly recommended. If you can't get a table, try eating at the bar. Fun to watch the prep of the meal sitting toward the kitchen.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, the food and service were sup ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

As always, the food and service were superb. The sommelier was helpful and guided us to a great bottle to go with our meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food at Ava Gene's is not your stand ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food at Ava Gene's is not your standard Italian but it's delicious. Locally sourced and inventive menu items. We opted to share a few appetizers my favorite being the Burrata with greens. We had several pastas, the Cavatelli and the Ragu, both had wonderful flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food reminded us of our honeymoon in ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food reminded us of our honeymoon in Italy. It was delicious and the servers were extremely kind and helpful with choosing what to order. We shared lots of small plates and loved everything we tried. The wine was also outstanding. We highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ava Gene's is a consistently fabulous ex ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Ava Gene's is a consistently fabulous experience for us. The quality food and service is always top notch. It's not a quick nor inexpensive meal but it is always worth the time and price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service from Steve and as alwa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Excellent service from Steve and as always, fantastic food!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food I've ever had. The ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Some of the best food I've ever had. The lasagna was delicious!!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! Highly recommend ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food and service! Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a terrific experience here, my on ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a terrific experience here, my one comment is that the roasted olives, while sounding creative I found the roasting of them to concentrate the salt. They were far too salty for me and my husband and were also oily.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Four of us had a wonderful family style ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Four of us had a wonderful family style meal at Ava Gene's. The waitstaff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful without being intrusive. It was hard to choose because so many things sounded awesome on the menu. The vegetable dishes were delicious, the pasta fresh, rich, and amazing, the cocktails lovely. Not a cheap date by any means, but I think it's worth splurging for a special evening out.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Cozy, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food definitely loved up to all of t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food definitely loved up to all of the hype - the dishes were so creative and delicious! I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great local, seasonal food. Waiter was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great local, seasonal food. Waiter was great, food was delicious and reasonably priced. Great for a date or meetup with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.