About Ava Gene's

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Portland / Oregon
Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
1 More
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

fit for foodies (182)
special occasion (151)
neighborhood gem (96)
See All
romantic (87)
notable wine list (86)
hot spot (69)
good for groups (31)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food is fantastic, the service in ON ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food is fantastic, the service in ON it. The I only thing was when I asked for a glass of red, they brought me an $18 glass of wine which I found out at the end. Granted, it's an expensive restaurant, but that was a bit much. Seriously though, an incredible restaurant with delicious food and whomever picks the music, has exquisite taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very high quality food

Dined 7 days ago

Everything was delicious. We had panne with chicken livers and cherries ( great flavored), a farrow based pasta with clams that was excellent. The pasta was some of the best I've had. The roast chicken with artichokes, fava. Beans, and morels was deliscious Great service. Busy and vibrant room. Not recommended for parties with hearing impaired guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We had the family style dinner. While th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the family style dinner. While the salads and appetizers were good, the main course was a single really fatty rare short rib. My husband ate around the fat. I found it disgusting. The dessert was a mediocre Panna cotta. I love to cook and this was very disappointing dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service! Atten ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great food and excellent service! Attention to detail is evident. It feels very crowded and it is noisy, but I would return for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was unique & delic ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Everything we ordered was unique & delicious. Best panna cotta I've ever had.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed.

Dined on May 14, 2016

I'd eaten there before and thought highly of the food the first time. However the food was not very good this time and not worth anywhere near the price given how many great restaurants there in in Portland and cheaper as well. Competent but nothing memorable. Very disappointed. What happened to them?

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 10, 2016

A wonderful dining experience all around! Everything we ordered was delicious, and the service was knowledgeable and super friendly. Cute, clean dining area. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful wonderful from the time we ent ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Wonderful wonderful from the time we entered until the time we left -outstanding dinning experience food, plate presentations and service all exceptional very unique food offerings from starters to main courses. Try the different offerings and share with Your table partners.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Ava Gene's

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We have eaten in many very good restaurants in the World but Ava Gene's is one of our favorites. Every time we have been there the food and service has been terrific. May 8th was Mothers Day and my wife's birthday. All was done perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

There are a lot of great restaurants in Portland but Ava Gene's is our favorite. It is a completely satisfying experience in every way. The food is great, the service and people are great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

We ate there on a special event night--K ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We ate there on a special event night--Katie Parla's book signing & recipes. The fava bean salad, bruschetta with borlotti beans, mozzarella in carroza, caccio e pepe pasta and Panama cotta were all superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on May 4, 2016

Absolutely nothing but praise...love this place! Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This place never disappoints!

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This place never disappoints!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rethink Italian

Dined on April 30, 2016

We indulged ourselves and ordered the Family Style option. Absolutely sensational palate of flavors, colors and textures. Enjoyed every bite of every dish. New favorite. Book ahead and invite friends for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous, original food. Great service.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Fabulous, original food. Great service.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Flexible staff

Dined on April 30, 2016

I really appreciated the wait and kitchen staffs' responsiveness and accommodation of food preparation in my having to avoid ingesting chili pepper (it exacerbates a medical condition that can affect my eyes). As a result, the fish entree was grilled instead of battered and fried. The entire restaurant is exhaustively curated, and the "Carta di Musica" flatbread was an obscure offering, came off as a little pretentious and was bland. The only other criticism I could give is that the Salsa Verde served with the fish was a bit too salty. However, everything was top-quality, looked and tasted fresh and bright, with well-balanced flavors and interesting taste profiles. A good place to go if you want a special meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great neighborhood gem

Dined on April 28, 2016

Got together with a friend at Ava Genes. Day of, only reservation we could get was 5:30 and I was afraid we would be rushed through. Not so, the service was perfect, wine list quite nice and the food was great. We shared frito misto, and assorted breads, spreads and olives. We shared 2 mains.....excellent red wheat pasta and another pasta dish with halibut and spring veg. Unfortunately we left no room for dessert, but that just means we will have to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Salty Food

Dined on April 27, 2016

I was not a fan of the salty food. Two out of three dishes were saturated with salt and it was unpleasant. Maybe the PNW likes salt more than us East Coast people but, wow, that was intense. Ambience was great but portions were small and expensive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great dinner

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our dinner was really fantastic, loved all of the food. Our server was really attentive at first but then when we were finished it took a while for someone to clear our plates and bring the bill. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

great food

Dined on April 26, 2016

each dish was original and delicious. My visiting friend noted that it was a little like tapas in the small serving style. I recognize that a full Italian meal requires small size but would have liked them a little larger as we were sharing. Noise level was annoying to which they added background rock music (always a turn off). They have some curtains for dampening the sound a little but tables are VERY close together and I do not equate noise with excitement. Service is excellent. Food is good enough to overcome the noise and close quarters and I would return but with some reluctance. This is not your typical Italian restaurant which usually bores me to death. Recommended with reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved everything except the tunes.

Dined on April 26, 2016

Loved everything except the tunes.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A little oversalted today

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The last time I came to Ava Gene's I thoroughly enjoyed the meal. Today's meal, however, was a little over-salted through every dish we tried. I would still eat here again. The wine recommendation was spot on and service was good.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

just okay

Dined on April 24, 2016

with all the hype about this place i was hoping the food would meet all the expectations i was hoping for. instead, it was just okay. we ordered some appetizers before getting our main dishes. all the appetizers were excellent. however the main dishes weren't as great. we ordered the tagliatelle with pork ragu and the halibut dish. sadly the pork ragu was way too salty. and it was not your typical pork ragu. it was some kind of slow-cooked pork, way over salted, then served with the pasta and more salty cheese grated on top. you can say this dish was so awful it left a terrible impression on the overall meal. the halibut dish on the other hand was actually pretty decent. but i feel like we could have ordered any fish dish elsewhere and it'd be just as good if not better. on a different note, the wait staff were super friendly and overall atmosphere was nice. i'd go back, but will most likely skip main courses and just opt for a bunch of appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

They do good work here. From the food to ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

They do good work here. From the food to the ambiance to the service just amazing. Very high class without being the least bit pretentious. Love this place.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ava Genes

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was delicious and the staff was super helpful. It was hard to decide with all the options so we shared a bunch of items. We loved the ambiance. We would recommend it again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Simply the best for a simple affair or a ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Simply the best for a simple affair or a celebration. The ingredients are stellar and the amalgamation of them is sublime. And in some small way, you're inspired to try and do it yourself.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unique Dining Experience

Dined on April 21, 2016

We got in on a last minute reservation during the week. This is fine dining with exceptional service in a relaxed casual atmosphere. We ordered the radish salad and it was unbelievably delicious. The luguine and homemade sausage and garlic bread were also very good. Enjoyed the whole experience. The service staff were very knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly. Never felt rushed. Great place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious Food but be wary of the seafood.

Dined on April 20, 2016

Everything we had here was delicious. But I guess clams aren't in season because I got food poisoning from the clam linguine. Posted something on their FB page but didn't get a response so hopefully it was just a one time thing, and isn't an issue with their supply or anything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Lovely lovely

Dined on April 19, 2016

Lovely spot with delicious fresh food. Mediocre wine list. Perhaps not up to the hype, but hype is often unhelpful. I would go back and will definitely try to replicate the fennel salad! Enjoy

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Cool Vibe with Outstanding Service

Dined on April 19, 2016

Went to Ava Gene's for a business dinner and couldn't have been more happy! The food was incredible and the service was very helpful, kind and fun. We will most definitely be back and would hesitate to recommend to colleagues and friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You Can Never Go Wrong

Dined on April 18, 2016

They really have it figured out at Ava Genes. The quality is set so high, it is easily my favorite Italian restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always. Still the best Itali ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing as always. Still the best Italian restaurant in Portland.

food5
ambience5
service3

THE BEST food. Would have rated higher b ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

THE BEST food. Would have rated higher but service was slow, they didn't bring our bread until after the salad, and they gave us someone else's appetizer And entrees by mistake (it was corrected). Staff was polite.

food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Slipping? Slipped?

Dined on April 8, 2016

Complexity (texture and flavors) of salads more impressive the first time around. Overall still great food but relative to expectations based on previous experience, wouldn't rate food as high. Very loud and difficult to converse. Maybe acoustics problem in the design?

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience

Dined on April 6, 2016

We did the family style option and were fed course after course after course of the most amazing food! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

amazing!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was out of this world! Probably the best Italian food I've had outside of Italy!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on April 1, 2016

This was our 4th time going to Ava Gene's, and I truly think we are more amazed every time we go. This time we opted for the chef's choice menu, which was definitely the right thing to do. We got 4 courses, with 2-3 items for each course, and we loved every single dish that was brought out to us. The servers were all wonderful, and the food was exquisite. We are definite fans!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful salads and Pasta.

Dined on April 1, 2016

Salads and pasta were awesome. Looking forward to going back and trying new things at Ava Gene's

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening at Ava Genes. Sta ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at Ava Genes. Staff was friendly and very helpful. We would come and dine again in the future .

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal for Easter dinner. Wond ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

Outstanding meal for Easter dinner. Wonderful service and atmosphere. Highlights were the bruschetta, burrata, wine and pastas. Still one of our favorite restaurants in Portland.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.