Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Ava Gene's

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (81)
Good for a Date (80)
Local Ingredients (62)
See All
Special Occasion (62)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Notable Wine List (56)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Romantic (42)
Authentic (42)
Open Kitchen (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Worth the Drive (35)
Seasonal (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Cozy (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Family Style (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Tasting Menu (19)
Wood Oven (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Fun (17)
Healthy (16)
Organic (15)
People Watching (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Another amazing meal. While the menu may change, the food is consistently amazing. The veggie dishes are so creative and delicious. Great place to go with friends and share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great experience service and food-wise. Service was off this time. I know who to ask to "not" be our server in the future. The food and space overcame the poor service we received.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent as always. Service was outstanding in every way: the perfect balance of attentiveness without intruding. Could have ordered anything on the menu and been happy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best of PDX restaurants. Consistently serving delicious meals and unique combinations of freshly sourced ingredients. The asparagus salad was superb! The prosciutto appetizer was exquisite, some of the best prosciutto I have ever experienced, and I've been all over Italy. Always enjoy lovely wines here too.
Another wonderful meal at Ava Genes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

BEST meal I've had in 2017! Absolutely fabulous. Do the family style dining and let the chefs take control. You will not regret it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Great and attentive staff, prompt seating for a small party, and excellent food. An all around great experience that I will definitely keep coming back for. (And delicious cocktails..coming back for them too!)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Visited Ava Gene's from out of town with 2 friends and it was well worth the trip. The staff was very accommodating of my friend's dietary restraints and very friendly. We tasted the fritto misto, calamari, burrata, polenta, one of the pane options with beans and anchovies (this dish was a little too oily), some cocktails, and 3 pastas (cappelletti with veggies, tagliarini with white ragu, and linguine with clams). Everything was soooo good! Especially the burrata and the fried leeks in the fritto misto. At times we had to wait a long time for the server to come by and we'd have to wait a long time to get their attention. The restaurant was completely full though and it looked like a table next to us was having a fit about something that made our server very frazzled.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

This was a great family meal! Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food excellent but menu is eclectic. Makes it hard to visit the restaurant often

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food. Beautiful interior. Great wine and cocktails. Would love to try Ava Gene's again when back in town.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was my first time to Portland and I was nervous because I was alone. Reading up on everything online every review said Ava Gene's was not to be missed. I booked a solo reservation and I'm so glad I did! It felt refined and classy, but not old or stuffy. I had a light meal - the asparagus and walnut salad was the best thing I've ever had. At the end they gave me a complimentary little panna cotta with a candle in it for my birthday. I had to try REALLY hard not to cry. It was wonderful. (Also the bathrooms are super cool and vintage-y)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

As always the service was impeccable. The wait staff knows the menu and wine list inside and out. They spend time answering questions and making very helpful suggestions.
The food is creative, fresh and very PDX. The ambiance is romantic but also perfect for friends, family or business dinners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was such a disappointment, the wine list absurdly huge, the noise level like a diner. Not worth the money or the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best meal I've had in past few years. Vegetables, in particular, were amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Outstanding! Love the Burrata appetizer. Had the Rye pasta and linguini wth clams....both delicious. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Best Restaurant...people are friendly, efficient, food and wine AMAZING!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent food , great service!
The only thing is that the waiter insisted in that we had two or three appetizers that we didn't have thank God because the entrees were very abundant, he could have told us this
Other than this it was excellent overall!!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was my first visit to Ava Gene's and I will be back without a doubt. Service, food, ambience, attention to detail - all first class!!!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Absolutky outstanding! Great food, beautiful decor and perfect service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Not cheap, but food is awesome. Great pasta. Gourmet and a half. Italian to the core.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Perfect meal! Amazing service, completely knowledgable and kind staff. Food was wonderful, drinks were great. Couldn't ask for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was excellent, from the host to our server. They were always available and were excellent at guiding us through the menu as well as the wine list.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We all loved the food, it was the best we had all weekend. We requested a fairly quiet table and one was waiting for us when we arrived even though we arrived early. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

When we booked, we noted it was our anniversary. They brought champagne -- on the house -- within minutes of seating us. Food was heavenly (halibut, perfectly cooked). Service was attentive and timely. I must say, it's a perfect choice for a romantic dinner. Thank you!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Delicious food! Great service. Always fun to try new things on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service: 5 stars
Our server was prompt, pleasant, knowledgable, and articulate (my apologies to him for not remembering his name!), and when a couple of questions/concerns did arise, the GM was quick to show up at our table to address said issues. Stellar service

Food: 2 stars
I have zero qualms with spending some substantial dough on dining out (and it was particularly easy on this occasion because we had a $100 gift card), but when I do this my expectations are invariably set pretty high. We tried several (5) items on the menu, the best of which ranked at about 2 1/2 stars. Nothing stood out as super delicious or even really interesting, which for the price was a bit of a surprise. My wife and I have gone to Tasty and Sons several times for this exact reason: we get small portions of very delicious, very different foods which makes it worth the seemingly inordinate price tag. Not so Ava Genes, sorry to say.

Cocktails: 4 stars
The Negroni Old Fashioned was surprisingly good, and they made a very nice Vieux Carre.

Ambiance: 4 stars
Really enjoyable environment for nice, long conversations.

All in all, 3 stars seems to perfectly suit our experience. I wish I could rate this place higher as, again, the service was stupendous and the ambiance relaxed and enjoyable, but the ho-hum food just dragged it down.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Have not been here since Stumptown sold it. The experience was far better. The food was excellent and the wines fantastic. Really enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We shared a very enjoyable evening with friends we hadn't seen in 10 years. Appetizers, salads, pasta entrees and canollis were all delicious but very small portions, especially considering the prices which are very high. Our waitress was wonderful, attentive and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A terrific evening all around! The food was fabulous, only shown up by the outstanding service!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Been wanting to come here for a while and finally got a reservation. No wonder they are always busy! We decided to order the family style menu and were definitely impressed. Tons of food to explore the entire menu...meat and cheese along with olives and calamari to start. Then a selection of 3 different salads. Hard to decide if the sprouted barley or asparagus one was better as both incredible. Then two different pastas that could each have been the best entree to order. Not done yet as we got a lamb shank with two sides as entree. The lamb was really flavorful but a bit under cooked. After being totally full we got tiramisu ice cream and espresso. The espresso was totally bitter and undrinkable but was too full to complain.

Hands down Andy is one of the best waiters in PDX and we had a great time on a Thursday night. Can't wait to comeback with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

our Portland friend was surprised/impressed we were able to get a reservation, such is its reputation. And it was extremely well deserved. Only regret is forgetting to take a menu as a souvenir. Wonderful food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Still my favorite restaurant in Portland. Food is fantastic, service is great. This time we ate the family style option ($70 per person) which was an amazing value. Starter, trio of salads, two pastas, a platter of the pork main dish and two sides, plus dessert and espresso. It was all delicious and more than we could eats.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Thank you for keeping our reservation open even though we made it there just at 11PM (after the Blazer game)!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great restaurant, just either turn the music down or not play fast, loud music.
Where is all the wonderful Italian music?

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Exceptional cuisine using seasonal local ingredients, lovely decor, though loud and crowded. Service was personable and professional.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Excellent salad and garden plates and though we didn't have the salumi appetizer plate it looked fabulous!
Loved the radishes & asparagus dishes!!
Definitely will be back when in Portland again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Overall, I really do like Ava Gene's. A couple of issues during this visit though. The corner table by the window, on the east side of the space is just a bad table. I've sat there twice, and should've asked to be moved, but it was too booked. The table has poor lighting, feels disconnected from the restaurant, and is super drafty. Honestly, they should just eliminate it, or at least add the same lighting that hangs over the other tables. Just wasn't pleasant. Also, there were just 3 of us, and we got the tasting menu...do not do this...way too much food. I wish our waiter would've advised us better. The entree servings came out painfully slow, and the time between dishes was just ridiculously off. We sat down at 8:20 and didn't get out until 11. No apologies, or comping of any dish from our waiter - just poor business practice. And frankly, I expected more from Ava Gene's.
I will return, but NOT to that table, and ideally at the bar....just better service overall.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We were there to celebrate a birthday. The food was delicious although the portion sizes were quite small for the price. It was a beautiful day in Portland. However the ambience inside was dark and quite stuffy. Like, literally stuffy, as we would wait for someone to walk by for some breeze.

The service was the most outstanding thing about this restaurant. They were attentive and took care of every detail. They initially messed up on entree order but they quickly corrected it, added additional food for me so that my party would not have to wait to eat. They apologized many times. Basically, perfect service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We ordered Family Style and were blown away. I swear we got about 60% of the entire menu. We tried to pace ourselves. But everything was just so good. Probably my best experience to date at a place that always offers a stellar experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My third meal at Ava Gene's, first since a trip to Piedmont food & wine region of Italy. What a treasure. The dining experience is a trip to Barolo without the flight. Wines are top notch and represetative of the breadth of Italian fine wines, and the sommelier is the most informed I have every encountered. Menu is so diverse that you really do need a cocktail hour to fully assess whatto try to gain the most representative dining experience. Ding at Ava Gene is unique and wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.