Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

La MouleLa Moule
(79)
$$$$
Belgian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 17 times today
The Woodsman TavernThe Woodsman Tavern
(1093)
$$$$
American | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 20 times today
3 Doors Down Cafe and Lounge3 Doors Down Cafe and Lounge
(769)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 10 times today
Bar AvignonBar Avignon
(600)
$$$$
Contemporary European | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 12 times today
Yama Sushi & IzakayaYama Sushi & Izakaya
(136)
$$$$
Sushi | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 14 times today
AccantoAccanto
(1067)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 11 times today
Cafe CastagnaCafe Castagna
(192)
$$$$
Mediterranean | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 5 times today
Bread and Ink CaféBread and Ink Café
(125)
$$$$
Contemporary American | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 3 times today
JacquelineJacqueline
(11)
$$$$
Seafood | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 16 times today
TarBoush Lebanese BistroTarBoush Lebanese Bistro
(11)
$$$$
Lebanese | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 3 times today
Hoda's Middle Eastern CuisineHoda's Middle Eastern Cuisine
(42)
$$$$
Lebanese | SE Portland, Portland
Fukami SushiyaFukami Sushiya
(54)
$$$$
Japanese | SE Portland, Portland
NostranaNostrana
(1745)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 66 times today
RenataRenata
(801)
$$$$
Italian | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 27 times today
Castagna RestaurantCastagna Restaurant
(617)
$$$$
American | SE Portland, Portland
Booked 16 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Ava Gene's

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (2375)
Special Occasion (1824)
Neighborhood Gem (1443)
See All
Notable Wine List (1230)
Hot Spot (1120)
Romantic (1030)
Good for Groups (277)
Vibrant Bar Scene (189)
Good for a Date (183)
Local Ingredients (159)
Good for Anniversaries (146)
Creative Cuisine (143)
Late-night Find (140)
Authentic (96)
Seasonal (88)
Good for Birthdays (81)
Worth the Drive (79)
Handcrafted Cocktails (78)
Cozy (77)
Good Vegetarian Options (56)
Bar Seating (53)
Fun (49)
Tasting Menu (43)
Comfort Food (41)
Organic (38)
Healthy (36)
Business Meals (33)
Kid-friendly (33)
Casual (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Great for Lunch (26)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
People Watching (21)
Great for Brunch (19)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Tapas (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Scenic View (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
1341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We've been excited to try Ava Gene's for a while since we love vegetables and pasta, and this what they are known for. The food was all simply ok. I honestly think we could've made better food at home. The service was kind and prompt, although our waiter (was in-training) didn't offer clear guidance on the menu, so we ordered a few dishes from each section. The prosciutto starter and salads were the best things we ate. Again, dinner wasn't bad, but it was "just ok" for dinner for 2 people for $170.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

This was my second time dining at Ava Gene's. I was impressed-again! I bought a gift card on my way out. That says it all!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had the tasting menu and it was delish! Great service, great wine, and great food...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I live in Dallas and that was my 3rd visit to Portland and 2nd visit to Ava Genes and I can't say enough good things about it. I believe it is truly one of the best and most creative restaurants
I have been to . I bought the cookbook but am hoping I can call and get one of the recipes that is not in the book

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food had good flavor and unique items. Very nice dinner

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our second visit. Exceptional food. They perform miracles with vegetables, pasta, and meats!

Wine list is full of interesting and well-chosen options.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I love their vegetable plates, the chef is truly creative. Lamb chops were also tasty.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our favorite restaurant for a night out with friends. Food is incredible. Who knew we would ever crave Kale Salad, it is awesome. Pastas amazing, service amazing..

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 2, 2017

I want to love Ava Gene's - the atmosphere is lovely, the service great, the food was very good - just not worth the hype & $250 for 2 people. Nothing wrong with any of it - I just won't be lusting for Ava Gene's. If you do choose to go, get the panna cotta and garlic bread, which were the highlights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We'd heard so much about Ava Gene's and it did not disappoint. The food, drinks and ambiance were incredible! I would definitely recommend. My only negative comment was that our waitress seemed distracted. She took a long time to take our first drink order, rarely did table touches and forgot one of our dishes. That was sort of a blessing in disguise as we would have been stuffed! Even with that I would still recommend this spot.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Meatball Monday is amazing and I highly recommend going to the restaurant any day of the week. The bread, salad, then pasta are the best I've ever had. Favorite restaurant hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 28, 2017

The garlic bread was amazing and the waitress was very helpful in suggesting wine pairings and spirit flights. The one issue I had with the ambiance was the restroom - my friends and I all did not appreciate how dark it was in the bathroom. They should improve the lighting. Also the soap dispenser was confusing. Apart from that the restaurant was wonderful and I'd recommend it to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This place was impressively good! And my boyfriend is a vegan and they made him a special pasta that was just as delicious as the ones that weren't. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Started with the best bread appetizer ever, moved on to amazing asparagus and then flavorful and tender main courses, all coupled with well-made and well-balanced cocktails and mocktails brought by friendly and knowledgeable staff (a lot of them!) in a vibrant atmosphere. It's obvious why it's so hard to get a reservation here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Stunning bathrooms! Excellent food, particularly for plant strong vegetarians. Didn't care for the clams linguine, as the chili paprika sauce was overpowering.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were so glad that we had faith enough to try the Family Dinner. Each course was a nice surprise, beautifully presented and delicious. Our waiter was spot-on with wine recommendations. On a long weekend in Portland, it was easily the best meal we had.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Another amazing meal. While the menu may change, the food is consistently amazing. The veggie dishes are so creative and delicious. Great place to go with friends and share.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always a great experience service and food-wise. Service was off this time. I know who to ask to "not" be our server in the future. The food and space overcame the poor service we received.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Excellent as always. Service was outstanding in every way: the perfect balance of attentiveness without intruding. Could have ordered anything on the menu and been happy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 22, 2017

One of the best of PDX restaurants. Consistently serving delicious meals and unique combinations of freshly sourced ingredients. The asparagus salad was superb! The prosciutto appetizer was exquisite, some of the best prosciutto I have ever experienced, and I've been all over Italy. Always enjoy lovely wines here too.
Another wonderful meal at Ava Genes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

BEST meal I've had in 2017! Absolutely fabulous. Do the family style dining and let the chefs take control. You will not regret it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great and attentive staff, prompt seating for a small party, and excellent food. An all around great experience that I will definitely keep coming back for. (And delicious cocktails..coming back for them too!)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Visited Ava Gene's from out of town with 2 friends and it was well worth the trip. The staff was very accommodating of my friend's dietary restraints and very friendly. We tasted the fritto misto, calamari, burrata, polenta, one of the pane options with beans and anchovies (this dish was a little too oily), some cocktails, and 3 pastas (cappelletti with veggies, tagliarini with white ragu, and linguine with clams). Everything was soooo good! Especially the burrata and the fried leeks in the fritto misto. At times we had to wait a long time for the server to come by and we'd have to wait a long time to get their attention. The restaurant was completely full though and it looked like a table next to us was having a fit about something that made our server very frazzled.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This was a great family meal! Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food excellent but menu is eclectic. Makes it hard to visit the restaurant often

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food. Beautiful interior. Great wine and cocktails. Would love to try Ava Gene's again when back in town.

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

It was my first time to Portland and I was nervous because I was alone. Reading up on everything online every review said Ava Gene's was not to be missed. I booked a solo reservation and I'm so glad I did! It felt refined and classy, but not old or stuffy. I had a light meal - the asparagus and walnut salad was the best thing I've ever had. At the end they gave me a complimentary little panna cotta with a candle in it for my birthday. I had to try REALLY hard not to cry. It was wonderful. (Also the bathrooms are super cool and vintage-y)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Received excellent service from our server. She was very attentive. The food was outstanding. I had been dying to try the Gnocco Fritto and it was incredible. The meatball special was delicious, as well as the Tagliatelle with chicken. The ambiance was great, even on a Monday night. Perfect for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had the tasting menu, which provided an abundance of food cooked to perfection, and amazing flavors. I can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always the service was impeccable. The wait staff knows the menu and wine list inside and out. They spend time answering questions and making very helpful suggestions.
The food is creative, fresh and very PDX. The ambiance is romantic but also perfect for friends, family or business dinners.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was such a disappointment, the wine list absurdly huge, the noise level like a diner. Not worth the money or the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best meal I've had in past few years. Vegetables, in particular, were amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Outstanding! Love the Burrata appetizer. Had the Rye pasta and linguini wth clams....both delicious. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best Restaurant...people are friendly, efficient, food and wine AMAZING!!!!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent food , great service!
The only thing is that the waiter insisted in that we had two or three appetizers that we didn't have thank God because the entrees were very abundant, he could have told us this
Other than this it was excellent overall!!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

This was my first visit to Ava Gene's and I will be back without a doubt. Service, food, ambience, attention to detail - all first class!!!

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Absolutky outstanding! Great food, beautiful decor and perfect service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Not cheap, but food is awesome. Great pasta. Gourmet and a half. Italian to the core.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Perfect meal! Amazing service, completely knowledgable and kind staff. Food was wonderful, drinks were great. Couldn't ask for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Service was excellent, from the host to our server. They were always available and were excellent at guiding us through the menu as well as the wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.