Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Ava Gene's

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (76)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Special Occasion (62)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Local Ingredients (54)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Open Kitchen (53)
Notable Wine List (51)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Romantic (45)
Authentic (36)
Worth the Drive (33)
Seasonal (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Cozy (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Family Style (26)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Wood Oven (21)
Tasting Menu (18)
Fun (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Organic (15)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Healthy (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (9)
Modern Decor (9)
People Watching (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tapas (4)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

Overall, I really do like Ava Gene's. A couple of issues during this visit though. The corner table by the window, on the east side of the space is just a bad table. I've sat there twice, and should've asked to be moved, but it was too booked. The table has poor lighting, feels disconnected from the restaurant, and is super drafty. Honestly, they should just eliminate it, or at least add the same lighting that hangs over the other tables. Just wasn't pleasant. Also, there were just 3 of us, and we got the tasting menu...do not do this...way too much food. I wish our waiter would've advised us better. The entree servings came out painfully slow, and the time between dishes was just ridiculously off. We sat down at 8:20 and didn't get out until 11. No apologies, or comping of any dish from our waiter - just poor business practice. And frankly, I expected more from Ava Gene's.
I will return, but NOT to that table, and ideally at the bar....just better service overall.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We ordered Family Style and were blown away. I swear we got about 60% of the entire menu. We tried to pace ourselves. But everything was just so good. Probably my best experience to date at a place that always offers a stellar experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

My third meal at Ava Gene's, first since a trip to Piedmont food & wine region of Italy. What a treasure. The dining experience is a trip to Barolo without the flight. Wines are top notch and represetative of the breadth of Italian fine wines, and the sommelier is the most informed I have every encountered. Menu is so diverse that you really do need a cocktail hour to fully assess whatto try to gain the most representative dining experience. Ding at Ava Gene is unique and wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Great service from Keegan. Explained the choices on the menu. Answered all our questions. Food was exceptional. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This was my family's first time to Ava Gene's - we're living in the Northwest Portland area and have heard many great things about this place. I've been wanting to try Ava Gene's for a few years now, and it was the perfect spot to celebrate my mom's 50th birthday. Thank you so much for the amazing food and wonderful service, and thank you also for helping us celebrate my mom's milestone birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Organic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ava Gene's never disappoints. Fresh, delicious food. One of the best restaurants in Portland.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall, the experience was somewhat underwhelming. I guess I had, judging from their menu prices, expected something more formal and less "hip" from their decor and ambiance. While the ingredients were fresh and seasonal, there was too much salt in too many of the dishes, including the 3 salads that were a part of our "family style" option and the two pastas. Also, the sorbet that we ordered would have been $8 on its own (thank goodness it was included in our $70 per person option), which is ridiculous as all we got was a white blob in a cup that tasted just like orange tic tacs. I think Ava Gene's should be known more for its vibe than for the actual food. I am happy that I got to go to this famous Portland establishment, but I sure won't be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This WAS an great food experience - not so much now. This was the second time (in na row) that the food just missed the mark. I don't know if they are ttrying to hard but the entrees are not great anymore. In fact out of the four entries - none of them were as good as they should have been. Too much salt, over done ribs, so so lamb again over Salted, I would give them a month to figure out what their doing. They are in a an identity crisis - much like Coio Vito was.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I'm a regular here and am really really sad that Ava Genes stopped getting their foccacia/pizza bianca and gelato from next door at Roman Candle. My favorite dish ever, the burrata with pizza bianca, is just not as good with sourdough bread. Please bring back the pizza bianca!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our meal was exquisite! The service was impeccable. I would highly recommend this spot for any occasion. it was very relaxing and enjoyable. Not a place for young children I wouldn't imagine. And, that is strictly my opinion and not that of the proprietors.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Server KEEGAN was outstanding, as was the food! I would highly recommend the tasting menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

One of the best meals we've had in Portland ever! The food was amazing and the server/wait staff informed and understated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything was excellent. The service was great, the food was amazing, the atmosphere was great. The price for the quality of food and service was great. My husband and I shared two appetizers and each ordered a pasta dish. We also each had a drink. Total was about $100 including tip. The burrata was amazing. The ingredients sound weird together, but the textures and flavors are so complementary. The garlic bread was pretty good, but was more of a pesto bread in my opinion. I got the rigatoni all'amatriciana, which was fantastic. Fresh house-made pasta and incredibly flavorful sauce with a little bit of a spicy kick. My husband got the cavatelli with wild mushrooms and pea shoots with ricotta salata. It was a rich hearty dish with great flavor as well. While the portions for the pasta dishes weren't huge, they were just right and we left feeling very full. I highly recommend Ava Gene's if you want great quality food and service at a reasonable price.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent experience as usual. My out of town foodie guests loved every dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service wasn't great, waitress barely came around. Waited twenty mins to get another drink. Food was tasty but not worth the price

Ambiance was on point and the atmosphere is great for a date

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

My wife is an outstanding cook. She always comes away with great ideas, particularly for salads. The wine list isn't anything I see in the store. A full-on great dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Went to Ava Gene's for dinner with a friend. Every aspect of the experience was exceptional. Our server was personable and extremely knowledgeable. The food was beautifully prepared and delicious, right down to the appetizer olives, bread, salads and entrees.

Only two downsides. First, the place is noisy, so don't expect many quiet, intimate exchanges. Second, they don't offer drip coffee, which in Portland borders on the scandalous. My Americano was good, but another of our party ordered espresso and said it was sour.

Nonetheless, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Perfection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Fabulous. So glad we made the reservation. Great food, great service, great ambience.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Always delicious! I love the changing seasonal menu and the creative preparations. We get several things to share - pastas, bread, salads, meats. The cocktails are perfect too. Excellent service. There's a reason you're always busy - doing it right!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

everything was amazingly delicious! great atmosphere, really friendly/helpful staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Delicious- we tried the chefs menu and were happy with all the surprises. A lot of food. We look forward to our next meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Wonderful food and service, will definitely come back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The food was excellent with a nice variety on the menu and our server was very helpful in wine and food selection and very attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Great spot. Sat at the bar and with Graham who manages to treat everyone he is waiting on feel like the only person in the restaurant. Sam was also very gracious and helpful on the wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We really enjoyed our dining experience at Ava Genes. We were greeted with a smile and it only got better. Our server was attentive and helpful. The food was excellent. Our only complaint was that the noise level was very high and the music too loud.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We ordered family style and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It was a great way to taste a little bit of everything and enjoy the whole experience. Worth every penny!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We really enjoyed the energy of this place and the staff was warm and helpful. The food was prepared with creativity and the hand made pasta, especially, was good. I'd go back to Ava Gene's for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Music wasn't a fit with the food and decor. Food had potential to be great but slightly missed it. For example, the polenta had too much olive oil and the barley salad was too sharp because of vinegar. If they get the last 10% on some of their dishes, the place would be great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our second time at Ava Gene's. It is our favorite restaurant in Portland. The food is exceptional, as is the service. The salads are magic, the waitstaff very knowledgeable about the food and wine. We shared a plate from each course per the suggestion of our server, and left completely satisfied.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food and drinks and excellent service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Another excellent meal at Ava Genes. The salad were the highlight. It's not often I write that in a review. They are really THAT good. Be sure to order at least one for your table, and ideally three. Just outstanding. The service was terrific too. The waiter answered every one of our questions and was incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, the cocktails, and the wine, and made excellent recommendations after taking the time to understand our preferences. Really impressive. Highly recommended. Ava Genes never disappoints. Only thing I'd offer as feedback to the restaurant is that the music is just a tad too loud for this place. I don't mind louder music, but this was just a bit too much for us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Ava Genes with our adult daughter. The food was wonderful, the service was impeccable and the overall ambiance was relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Nice meal, great service, meals timing was perfect.server asked and we got xactly what we wanted. Nice wine selection. The beans on bread was fab. Brachiole was superb. Greens just ok. Pasta well executed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I have traveled the world and this restaurant is #1 on my list . We sat in front of the open kitchen. It is hot but worth every second. Talked with the salad people for recommendations. Burratta and Gnocco as app. Celery salad and finished with pasta. Everything was delicious. Everyone was accommodating and kind. Can't wait for another trip back to Portland.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We've historically enjoyed the food here, this visit was no different. What was different this time was the music; too heavy and too loud, combined with the concrete floors it was impossible to hear our guests that we had invited to dinner. What was once a favorite spot is no longer relaxing and enjoyable...sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I like this place. We've been here several times. The latest meal was ok. Did the pr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was so delicious! I would go again. However, I was freezing (left my coat in the whole time) and it was hard to hear my husband across the table. Still, I would go again for that pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Waiter made good recommendations for food and wine pairing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Fun, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Outstanding. This was my first time here. Believe the hype!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.