Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.75mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Ava Gene's

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for a Date (71)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Local Ingredients (50)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Open Kitchen (46)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Notable Wine List (43)
Romantic (40)
Authentic (33)
Seasonal (32)
Cozy (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Family Style (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Wood Oven (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Fun (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Organic (11)
Healthy (10)
Casual (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Historic (4)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1246 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Another excellent meal at Ava Genes. The salad were the highlight. It's not often I write that in a review. They are really THAT good. Be sure to order at least one for your table, and ideally three. Just outstanding. The service was terrific too. The waiter answered every one of our questions and was incredibly knowledgeable about the menu, the cocktails, and the wine, and made excellent recommendations after taking the time to understand our preferences. Really impressive. Highly recommended. Ava Genes never disappoints. Only thing I'd offer as feedback to the restaurant is that the music is just a tad too loud for this place. I don't mind louder music, but this was just a bit too much for us.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a lovely dinner at Ava Genes with our adult daughter. The food was wonderful, the service was impeccable and the overall ambiance was relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice meal, great service, meals timing was perfect.server asked and we got xactly what we wanted. Nice wine selection. The beans on bread was fab. Brachiole was superb. Greens just ok. Pasta well executed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

I have traveled the world and this restaurant is #1 on my list . We sat in front of the open kitchen. It is hot but worth every second. Talked with the salad people for recommendations. Burratta and Gnocco as app. Celery salad and finished with pasta. Everything was delicious. Everyone was accommodating and kind. Can't wait for another trip back to Portland.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We've historically enjoyed the food here, this visit was no different. What was different this time was the music; too heavy and too loud, combined with the concrete floors it was impossible to hear our guests that we had invited to dinner. What was once a favorite spot is no longer relaxing and enjoyable...sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

I like this place. We've been here several times. The latest meal was ok. Did the pr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was so delicious! I would go again. However, I was freezing (left my coat in the whole time) and it was hard to hear my husband across the table. Still, I would go again for that pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Waiter made good recommendations for food and wine pairing.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style, Fun, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Outstanding. This was my first time here. Believe the hype!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Food is always great. Service is always friendly. We eat here whenever we can and always leave looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Top notch. Literally the best Italian outside of Italy. But Ava Genes has better salads.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had such a fantastic dinner here! The service was impeccable! Our server was extremely knowledgable about the menu and was great at recommending items and describing every dish in detail. We loved the ambience and the restaurant was beautiful after it got dark and all of the lights were lit up hanging from the ceiling. All of our dishes were so delicious and we especially loved the fresh pasta! Authentic food, great space, and wonderful employees. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Each bite was incredibly well executed and the cocktails were really perfect. Feared it might be a bit overrated, but it was worth the several week's wait for a reservation.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a wonderful, tasty dinner at Ava Gene's. Three of us shared 2 salads, 2 entrees, and a vegetable dish, all of which were presented very nicely and tasted delicious. The only thing I wish was different about the restaurant was the level of noise - it was terribly for such an intimate restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Awesome food, tremendously knowledgeable staff, excellent service. What else could you ask for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Small plates of beautifully prepared food. You'll need to order all three salad, primi and secondi courses to really have enough food for a complete meal, which will be expensive but delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I always have high expectations for Ava Gene's and they always exceed them. We tend to order most of the salads, an entry or two and eat family style. The salads are the real gold of their menu although I can find no fault with the rest.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The excellent service, combined with a stellar attention to detail, delicious food, and romantic atmosphere proved to be a perfect first night in Portland. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food and a great value. Sit at the counter and watch your food get made. The veg dishes are the highlight, make sure to get a pane (basically big bruschetta with awesome toppings)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Overall the experience was good but several of the dishes were way over salted. And I am someone who usually salts my food more then average. My dining companion agreed. We mentioned it to the server and hopefully the kitchen will get the message.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Delicious innovative culinary delights. Salads are incredible: Entrees the same. Bingo!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We had reservations for 5 months to celebrate our 37th Anniversary. We only live a few blocks away and were excited to walk to this top rated restaurant. It turned out to be our worst ever dining evperience. Waited forever for cocktail, waited for ever for order to be taken. No explanation of menu or menu recommendations. Waited forever to be served and when the food came it was not even average. Must be 50 better Italian restaurants in Portland. They offered to comp the entire bill because the knew they failed miserably. I paid them $100 and we literally left with my wife in tears. This was to have been a very special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I was a little disappointed to find out that the lasagne was only available on Tuesday.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Loved this visit to Ava Gene's. It was our first time and the staff were incredible. The hostess greeted us at the door and offered to take my coat. We were early for our reservations, but she was able to seat us quickly. Our waiter was so friendly. The wine steward was knowledgeable. Food and cocktails were incredible. We never felt rushed in any way, and everyone was so friendly and laid-back, yet the atmosphere was so sophisticated. One of my best meals. Highly recommend Ava Gene's!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 23, 2017

went for hubby's birthday and had a very enjoyable experience--food was vey tasty, maybe a bit heavy on the olive oil, not too many vegetarian dishes but we found a few and all were good. Prices were highish, but not overly so, and we felt very satisfied and not so full we felt sick. That's all fine with me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

To bad good food is muted by bad service from the wait staff (waiter). Even the manager seemed ambivalent , so I'm sure he's heard it before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved it. Will be back. Thank you william Rowe for bringing us!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

spending the year in frugality. this meal was my birthday splurge, and worth every penny. would return for the kohlrabi salad alone. the service was warm and attentive. the environment cozy and thoughtful. the food surpassed all of my expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Just an outstanding dining experience! Worthy of all the accolades & awards. The only miss in our opinion was an overly oily potato side dish. The rest was superbly done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This use to be my favorite restaurant in Pdx. From the moment we walked in the service was poor. The hostess questioned if we really had a reservation - she finally found it. The waiter was great but after he took our order we did not see him until he brought the bill. The pace there has always been more relaxed and leisurely but we waited for 20 minutes for the entrees with dirty dishes stacked at the end of the table. Although there was staff going by out table no one would clear them. When someone finally stopped we asked if she could check in our meals she rudely replied they would be out soon. So disappointed as this has been one of my favorite spots. Hopefully it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful place, great food and service...had a nice evening!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

All of the food, and the cocktails, were delicious. Attentive staff and an altogether lovely meal!

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Try the family style, aka chef's choice. It's a real treat and you'll get waited on like royalty!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful service. Excellent atmosphere. Would have loved to sit at the bar to watch what was going on in the kitchen. The food was fantastic. If you like fresh, perfectly flavored Italian food this is your place. Good wine selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic Italian food. Great options on the menu. Appetizers are particularly delicious. The prosciutto is top notch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Amazing, all the way around from the salumi to the panda cotta! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We brought our son for his first visit to Ava Gene's and it did not disappoint. We had interesting wonderful food and loved it all. Our son is from San Francisco and he compared the freshness of the vegetables to one of his favorite restaurants; STEM. Couldn't have been any better!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have eaten here several times in the past. This was by far the best experience. We eat at the food counter and witnessing the preparation was all part of the show. The chefs choice was the way to go.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fantastic food and experience! The dishes seem simple from reading the menu. But the flavor is great. It has a level of sophistication that's totally unexpected. Complex, well-balanced, and well-executed. So happy that's where I celebrated my birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was extraordinary , the wine was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.