About Ava Gene's

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (69)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (64)
See All
Creative Cuisine (54)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Open Kitchen (49)
Local Ingredients (48)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Romantic (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Seasonal (34)
Cozy (33)
Authentic (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Hot Spot (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Family Style (22)
Wood Oven (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Fun (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Business Meals (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (11)
Organic (11)
Healthy (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Tapas (5)
People Watching (5)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

went for hubby's birthday and had a very enjoyable experience--food was vey tasty, maybe a bit heavy on the olive oil, not too many vegetarian dishes but we found a few and all were good. Prices were highish, but not overly so, and we felt very satisfied and not so full we felt sick. That's all fine with me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

To bad good food is muted by bad service from the wait staff (waiter). Even the manager seemed ambivalent , so I'm sure he's heard it before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Loved it. Will be back. Thank you william Rowe for bringing us!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

spending the year in frugality. this meal was my birthday splurge, and worth every penny. would return for the kohlrabi salad alone. the service was warm and attentive. the environment cozy and thoughtful. the food surpassed all of my expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Just an outstanding dining experience! Worthy of all the accolades & awards. The only miss in our opinion was an overly oily potato side dish. The rest was superbly done.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This use to be my favorite restaurant in Pdx. From the moment we walked in the service was poor. The hostess questioned if we really had a reservation - she finally found it. The waiter was great but after he took our order we did not see him until he brought the bill. The pace there has always been more relaxed and leisurely but we waited for 20 minutes for the entrees with dirty dishes stacked at the end of the table. Although there was staff going by out table no one would clear them. When someone finally stopped we asked if she could check in our meals she rudely replied they would be out soon. So disappointed as this has been one of my favorite spots. Hopefully it was just an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful place, great food and service...had a nice evening!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

All of the food, and the cocktails, were delicious. Attentive staff and an altogether lovely meal!

Tags: Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Try the family style, aka chef's choice. It's a real treat and you'll get waited on like royalty!

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Wonderful service. Excellent atmosphere. Would have loved to sit at the bar to watch what was going on in the kitchen. The food was fantastic. If you like fresh, perfectly flavored Italian food this is your place. Good wine selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fantastic Italian food. Great options on the menu. Appetizers are particularly delicious. The prosciutto is top notch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Amazing, all the way around from the salumi to the panda cotta! Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We brought our son for his first visit to Ava Gene's and it did not disappoint. We had interesting wonderful food and loved it all. Our son is from San Francisco and he compared the freshness of the vegetables to one of his favorite restaurants; STEM. Couldn't have been any better!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We have eaten here several times in the past. This was by far the best experience. We eat at the food counter and witnessing the preparation was all part of the show. The chefs choice was the way to go.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Fantastic food and experience! The dishes seem simple from reading the menu. But the flavor is great. It has a level of sophistication that's totally unexpected. Complex, well-balanced, and well-executed. So happy that's where I celebrated my birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was extraordinary , the wine was outstanding and the ambiance was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Ava Gene's is consistently outstanding in food quality, well made coctails with in-house ingredients, excellent wine list and advice, and a helpful and attentive wait staff. I think it is one of the two or three best in Portland, and definitely the best for Italian cuisine.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Casual, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Our second visit to Eva Gene's was disappointing after having such a great meal the first time. Even though it was a Monday evening, the restaurant was very crowded and noisy. Our salad with mostly pears and dressing but was missing greens, which would have helped it along. The socki salmon was just okay; the mixture of gains and citrus was a little strange though. Our wine was good but the dessert, a cannoli was bitter and we sent it back. We will go back but probably not right away.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Portland. Great salads with interesting combinations of flavors and textures. Original pastas. They also do a great job with fish, meat- innovative presentation. Lastly, the best Panna Cotta in the world

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Thankful for the great service we received at Ava Gene's. Out for my husband's birthday and found our server to be prompt and charming. Very kind and accommodating regarding allergies and he was spot on with all menu descriptions. Loved the charcuterie board and the always great burrata.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We ordered about everything on the menu and was excellent. Order away, and listen to your servers on recommendations. Enjoy the evening. Do not be dispatched from a citrus salad with olives, it was an amazing mix of flavors on the salad!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unbelievable. In every way.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Made a reservation so no waiting issues. Checking coats was a nice touch. Everyone was nice and informative with all questions. I didn't care for my wine which was bland and a bit overpriced. The berlotti beans on bread was fantastic, maybe the best of the night. The burrata was WAY too salty. Not really sure why but this was almost to the point of being inedible. The spouse liked her entree– tortellini with potato and mint– which was simple but nice. The braseole was good, very tender and flavors melded nicely between the acidity of the greens, tomato gremolata and the meat. The sweet cream gelato was almost too simple with no real flavor.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food is truly to die for! The salads are amazing! :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Can't say enough great things about Ava Gene's. Top notch!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a pleasure to have their world class salami from Brooklyn, scrumptious bread sticks, and the polenta cake for dessert! Yumm! Everything was delicious and the service was terrific as usual. We love coming here for the food, the fine service and the proximity to our home (1 block!!! lucky us!!).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a great experience at Ava Gene's. The parking is a bit sparse so allow plenty of time to park then walk. Friendly staff, open kitchen, creative menu, great food and drinks. Make a reservation or else you'll be waiting in line.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Wonderful food, great service. The kale salad was one of the best salads I've had anywhere, and the meatballs are rightly famous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

must have went on an off night for the chef.....food was not great (meat overcooked) and we left disappointed. service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fantastic food, excellent service; an overall exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It took forever to get a reservation and we were a little disappointed in the food. The pork disappointing and the ragu was salty. For all the hype it was just "okay". However, The staff and service was outstanding.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a nice meal and a lovely evening at Ava Gene's, but I would not care to go back or recommend it. I don't like the menu much and the price is far too high for the experience. This is not fine dining, it's nicely done everyday food, which I like, but not for the price. The menu is very meat-centric and limited for vegetarians. The cheeses are all US cheeses and not as amazing as many Italian choices. I have a tree nut allergy, and nearly half the dishes have tree nuts. There is not a single green salad. Nearly all the vegetable dishes have heavy, meaty ingredients that make them a poor accompaniment to a pasta with cheese or a meat dish. Overall limited choices. On the plus side, lovely space, wonderful service, and everything was very tasty.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We chose the expensive tasting menu and felt we were getting what wasn't selling well. Very little meat in the short rib pasta, a bowl of unappetizing looking polenta, another bowl of overdone veggies, etc. service painfully slow. Coffee took over 15 mins to get, etc. this use to be a favorite restaurant. Sadly no more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My boyfriend and I went here for our 4 year anniversary, and everything was perfect! Our server was so kind and very knowledgeable about our dishes. This place is one of our favorite places to eat! They really made our anniversary so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Tasty and great detail in everything, especially our server. Everyone was attentive and delicious

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This was our second dining experience at Ava Gene's and we will be back many more times to this amazing restaurant. The food is out of this world in taste and creative presentation. Everything is just incredible. The service is friendly, helpful and our server made us feel he was genuinely happy we were there at his table. Ava Gene's is one of Portland's very best!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We really enjoyed this restaurant. We are vegetarian and the server gave us very detailed descriptions of what we could have. She was very informative and professional without being stuffy. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Most of the food was really good- though heavy. Only dish we did not like was the polenta. Also the dessert menu was lacking and the nonalcoholic drinks were overly sweet. The ambience was great though and the pasta dishes were perfect. Nice spot for a special dinner or a date.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I really love this restaurant. The first two times we've been here, we had phenomenal waiters. They walked through the menu and explained (in very delicious detail) a lot of the food. This time, our waiter was very nice and efficient, however, she did not explain the menu in such detail, which was a slight disappointment to me. I might suggest that if customers say they know the menu well or don't need an explanation, they can skip it. But what I really appreciated the first two times was hearing descriptions about the food. With that said, I will be back and still highly recommend Ava Gene's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 3, 2017

meh, more hype than substance. Putting th name of dishes in Italian doesn't mean they are special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not a regular brunch spot and on New Year's Day it showed. The server was nice but so unfamiliar with the menu items that she literally interrupted questions to tell us she hadn't seen any of the items. A very small portion of eggs was good but at $15 very overpriced. The shrimp and polenta--also a high cost item--had no flavor. The apple zeppoles were also pretty flavorless.

All in all, a disappointing brunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of the best restaurants we have been. Outstanding food and wine list !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

First time. For dinner on Saturday night. Excellent atmosphere. Bistro-like. Could be anywhere - NYC, Italy, London. True fusion of Italian-inspired menu and NW influence with proudly local produce and meat/seafood. Great wines by the glass. Expensive, but worth it. My duck leg was a little dry. The pasta with mussels only had two mussels. But the food was very, very good none the less. I want to go back. Creative menu with lots of options for family-style dining if you chose. Maybe better to go with another couple or other group, then you can taste more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As usual this was some of the most creative, yummy and well presented food I've had in Portland area. Every dish was full of diverse flavors which brought something new to the list.

Only missed having a good Oregon wine list as well. The wine list, Italian, was just OK.

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was excellent and unrushed on even on NYE.

The food was as always well above average. The only weak link was the wine guy/ Tuck in your shirt, and get a rap down! Realizing Portland is the hub if hipsterville, this is a class place! Go take a course in wine stewardship on your way to becoming a sommelier.

Nonetheless, I'll be back a great overall experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We made the brilliant decision to choose the Chef's menu .. it was stupendous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

SO FREAKIN DELICIOUS! We went in there with a very minimal idea of what to expect, and our watress was so helpful breaking the menu down. She also helped suggest dishes, which we appreciate. The Bortolli Beans and Gnocco Fritto were full of flavor and I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great meal celebrating our wedding anniversary. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Waiter gave great advice on food selections. Pastas were superb.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful service. Food was innovative, with deft use of heat; overall, good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This was our second visit to Ava Gene's and we had another wonderful experience. The food is truly delicious! We started with grilled bread and two salads, the carrot was my favorite with toasted peanuts and mint; the flavors were refreshing and bright! My hubby preferred the beet salad, which was very good as well, the house made croutons offered a nice crunchy contrast to the rest of the salad. For dinner we had the seafood linguini (amazing), and the house made spaghetti; both were very good, the linguini was our favorite, we were pleasantly surprised there were no shells to pick through. For our main course we shared the deep fried black cod, which happened to be the special that evening; it was light, tender, and delicious! The server was very helpful, we debated choosing the chefs tasting menu, after hearing what we were interested in trying she steered us down our own path. The only thing that I don't love about this restaurant is the noise level; the ambiance is otherwise lovely. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.