About Ava Gene's

3377 SE Division St
Portland, OR 97202
View Larger Map

Ava Gene’s is a neighborhood place, located on Division Street in Southeast Portland. Our restaurant serves rustic cuisine, features an extensive Italian wine list and offers cocktails focused on & inspired by the regions of Italy. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 4:30pm-10pm
Monday-Thursday: 5pm-10pm
Friday: 5pm-11pm
Saturday: 4:30pm-11pm

Cross Street:
SE 34th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(971) 229-0571

Website:
http://avagenes.com/

Executive Chef:
Joshua McFadden

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Ava Gene's
Malted Vanilla Gelato
Pane Borlotti Beans, Olive Oil And Rosemary
Apples, Cabbage, Leeks And Cheese
Spaghetti With Cherry Tomatoes And Almonds
Tomato, Peach And Basil Salad
Ribeye
Rigatoni
Cucumbers, melon, colatura, mint, chiles, hazelnuts
Panna Cotta
Carrots, quinoa, cashews, honey vinegar
Celery, almonds, dates, parmigiano-reggiano
Meyer Lemon Sorbetto
Paccheri, Lamb Ragü, Chicories
Fettucine, lamb ragu in bianco, radicchio
Tomatoes, peaches, basil, pistachios, Grove 45 olive oil
Shrimp And Squid Piatti
Tuscan Cavalry
Meatball Monday Garganelli
Burrata
Burrata, corn, husk cherry walnuts, jalapeño, focaccia
orecchiette, pork sausage, collards
Pane Nduja & Pane with Fresh Sheeps Cheese & Nettles
Affettati Piccolo
Chocolate sorbet, hazelnut praline and espresso gelato
tre scelte dai giardini
Cannoli
Roasted Peanut Gelato
Carta Di Musica
Fritti
Ziti, Zucchini Pesto, Sungolds, Basil
Bucatini

Ava Gene's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Portland / Oregon
Italian
Portland
Most Booked
Portland
Best Restaurants in SE Portland ›

Fit for Foodies (155)
Special Occasion (127)
Neighborhood Gem (94)
See All
Notable Wine List (82)
Romantic (70)
Hot Spot (60)
Good for Groups (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This must be the best restaurant in Port ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

This must be the best restaurant in Portland. The food is extraordinary and always changing, so you go once and you'll be coming back again and again. The cocktails were unbelievable and the wine was on point. Great service - everyone working had intimate knowledge of the menu and talked freely about it. Pacing was great. Portland eateries are not big on reservations -- I flew in for a work dinner so appreciated that Ava Gene's not only had perfect ambiance for the meeting but also was easy to plan with. Would go back to Portland just to eat here again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Organic, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Every time

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic. Every time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After reading some of the recent reviews ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

After reading some of the recent reviews, I was concerned we would have inattentive or snobby service, too much noise, cramped tables and overpriced food. Nothing could have been further from the truth. We had an amazing dinner at 9 pm on a Friday night. It was busy with a fairly typical noise level and I noticed a table leaving in the corner, and was seated there upon request (maybe a 3 minute wait and we were actually 5 minutes early).

Our server was seriously one of the best I've ever had. She was super attentive and we allowed her to pick our entire meal and wine. We explained what we preferred, including different wines for each of us by the glass as I wasn't familiar with the Italian wineries on the list. I won't go into great detail about the food other than it was fantastic and we had 6 dishes and split the pana cotta (super yum). The total bill was much less than I had expected and overall my girlfriend and I thought the ambiance and food were superb. I'm puzzled why others have had service issues and negative comments as Ava Gene's pretty much delivered a perfect experience for us.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience and unique m ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful dining experience and unique mostly vegetable dishes. The one thing we didn't like was cheerfully replaced without charge. A total class act.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service as always! This ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing food and service as always! This is worth the long wait for a reservation! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was insanely delicious, every b ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was insanely delicious, every bite was worthy of another bite. My group did family style and the chef was accommodating to dishes we wanted to try and other dishes we weren't expecting. Keeping our overall meal full of surprise and comfort. I would highly recommend every person I know to try the panne cotta, the texture and flavor was out of this world.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had been looking forward to visiting ...

vip
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We had been looking forward to visiting Portland and getting a chance to try Ava Gene's. It did not disappoint. My husband and I both have some dietary requirements and we had no problems finding something delicious. Our server was great - when a salad arrived with an ingredient we had trouble with, she made it right and also comped and additional salad (which was even more delicious than the one we ordered). Wine list is super interesting. I only gave 4 stars for food because I didn't love my entree. Not their fault. I have confirmed that i don't love n'duja which was in the dish and labeled on the menu. This restaurant will be added to our list of favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was definitely off. The food too ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was definitely off. The food took an inordinate time between courses... We had the family style. When I finally complained they tried to make it right by discounting the check. I would rather pay full price and have the experience I anticipated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Top notch food.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Top notch food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had burrata, fritti, pork shoulder a ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had burrata, fritti, pork shoulder and corn agnolotti - all were excellent. Very tasty Rose Negroni.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food. Very noisy. wait staff ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent food. Very noisy. wait staff superb. Crowded. Creative menu. Loved the salads.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious as always...love this restaura ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Delicious as always...love this restaurant! Tasty, innovative and very fresh produce.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. The food choice ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Service was excellent. The food choices were exceptional and unique. The salami and cheese board was delicious and the salads were equally divine. Super fresh farm to table. Pasta was perfect. Amazing flavors. Like little taste of Italy in Portland. Don't miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was awesome! He was polite, k ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our waiter was awesome! He was polite, knowledgeable and informative. He was very thorough when explaining the menu. When I made reservations, I stated that it was my wedding anniversary. Upon our arrival there was complimentary champagne waiting for us. It was a romantic evening for me and my husband.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The asst wine director was awesome.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The asst wine director was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service very good. But the Nois ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food and service very good. But the Noise level and really small tables make me think about coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were visiting our daughter & her boyf ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We were visiting our daughter & her boyfriend who live in Portland and had heard of Ava Gene's but never dined there, so we chose to take them there. We ate "family style" leaving the selections up to the chef, and every course was a delight! The wine selected by the sommelier was perfectly matched to the food. Perfect experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and the staff is top notch. ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Amazing food and the staff is top notch. Always s great experience at Ava Gene's

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Sunday sugo was amazing - we're stil ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The Sunday sugo was amazing - we're still talking about it!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb. Ben, our server, was fr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Food was superb. Ben, our server, was friendly, knowledgeable and personal. He made our 41st anniversary dinner most special. Only part of the dining experience that my wife and I didn't like was the seating. Guess those little tables close to others are a product of the times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome The agnolloti was amazing.

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Awesome The agnolloti was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was spectacular. The wait st ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was spectacular. The wait staff was super knowledgable and helpful. And every course was a treat. All accept the desert cannoli but I'm not really sure how that is supposed to taste. The kale dish, which I don't remember the name of, was the highlight of the meal. Whenever it's time for a special occasion dinner I can't imagine going anywhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant.. Great food!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Lovely restaurant.. Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first visit. We waited at l ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This was my first visit. We waited at least 10 minutes before anyone asked if we wanted something to drink. The server asked if we had any questions about the menu, but it would have been helpful to ask, "have you been here before? If no, let me just explain how the menu is laid out." I just felt our server had a bit of an air about her that we were not cool enough to be there or that because I was with my 18 year old daughter, not enough alcohol would be consumed. So after hearing so many wonderful things about it, I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

This was the first time anyone in our pa ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This was the first time anyone in our party had been to this restaurant. The service was excellent. They had a special menu which was highlighting some food items that were featured in Bon Appetit magazine, and so some of their regular items were not available to eat that night. That was very disappointing for one of our friends, but the staff went above and beyond to apologize and ensure that we were taken care of by bringing us out a free dessert for our troubles. The food overall was fabulous. The only complaint I had, which is minor, was that some of the food portions were small compared to their prices. But overall, everyone left very satisfied, and we will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The best meal we had in Portland, we enj ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The best meal we had in Portland, we enjoyed many great meals. We ate at Counter and the chef treated us so well. The food is a revelation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ava Gene's has an unbelievable reputatio ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Ava Gene's has an unbelievable reputation. We had a lovely dinner - however my dish was quite bland. The ambience is great though. Also, we were running 15 minutes late due to terrible traffic and I called to let them know. When we arrived the hostess informed me we only had X time for our reservation. The Portland of old would never say that to a guest. This isn't San Francisco or New York. I think the hostess needs to remember where she is. Signed. Portland Native.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved every morsel of the negroni coc ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We loved every morsel of the negroni cocktails, appetizer, two salads, and entree. Thank you Ava Gene's for living up to your reputation for fresh ingredients and interesting combinations.

Tags: Special Occasions, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super small portions of appetizers, $18 ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Super small portions of appetizers, $18 for 3 tiny slivers of cheese, salad had flowers and petals in it, everything including drinks and pasta with sausage had giant cloves of mint (not sure why), only fit for true foodies which we are not. Server was absolutely wonderful, just not our taste of food at all especially for the price $150 total for two people with no alcohol

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Service was amazing! This visit was our ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Service was amazing! This visit was our first. Our waitress gave good recommendations and were on point from wine to dessert. Food is one of a kind! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best dinner we've had in Portland. Only ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Best dinner we've had in Portland. Only negative is the noise level. It's not easy having a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd anniver ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 2nd anniversary with dinner at Ava Gene's. It came highly recommended from a friend of ours who said if you're in Portland, make sure you go.

From the time we entered the restaurant to the moment we left, we received the kind of service you rarely see in restaurants now. Warm welcoming from the hostess, knowledgeable and creative bartender, to our charismatic server Ben, who took time explaining in detail the menu. We followed most of his items he talked about and all the food lived up to his descriptions.

To go to a place, that has high service standards that the food easily matches, in a comfortable inviting atmosphere a rare feat, and Ava Gene's does it well and seamlessly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday while on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday while on vacation in Portland. After much research, I decided on AvaGene's and will say up front that the cuisine was extraordinary. Truly delicious.

However, service was poor to the point of being bizarre. We could not tell who our actual server was - we seemed to be shared by two but I think each thought the other was taking care of us. After waiting probably 15 minutes for a cocktail during the meal, after it finally arrived, we wanted to order dessert but nobody ever returned. Then when we flagged one of the servers to ask for our check, she apologized for the delay with the drink and insisted that we try the panna cotta dessert (acting as though she was bringing it as an offering due to the service issues). When we got the check, we were charged for the dessert. Obviously we wouldn't have said anything at that point but it was unfortunate that an otherwise lovely meal was marred by poor service. Even fantastic food cannot overcome poor service. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Fantastic, flavorful, quality meats, tas ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Fantastic, flavorful, quality meats, tastefully prepared with seasonal creative sides

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I travel and eat out ofte ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My husband and I travel and eat out often and we consider ourselves obsessive foodies. Our dinner at Ava Gene's easily ranks as one of the Top 10 meals we have ever enjoyed! The farm to table innovative Italian fare is beautifully presented and every bite was sheer heaven. The service is tip top and includes a very knowledgeable sommelier, unusual for such a small restaurant. The location is in a vibrant hip neighborhood. If you go, make reservations early!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is simply fabulous! We couldn' ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food is simply fabulous! We couldn't decide what to order so we did the $70 per person fixed price meal which included the chef's choice of several appetizers, 3 salads, 2 pastas, 1 entre to share, 1 dessert to share, and coffee or tea. The best courses were the appetizers and the salads, which made me think that next time we would just order several small plates of appetizers and salads. Only Italian wines are offered. The wait staff are outstanding--attentive but not overbearing. We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary, but I wouldn't describe the atmosphere as romantic or quiet. The food makes up for the lack of ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every bite was delicious. Great recomme ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Every bite was delicious. Great recommendations from our server. Perfect timing of courses. Never felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was amazing and the tasting ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waitress was amazing and the tasting menu is not to be missed. Knowledgable wine director.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was fabulous. This was our first time at the restaurant and our server was extremely helpful, explaining the many menu options, offering suggestions but not making our decisions for us. We really appreciated her.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.