About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch 1130am-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm
Sundays:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Brunch 11am-2pm, Lunch 2pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm,

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet: 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: 2504146739x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Restaurant Photos

  • Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio, Victoria, BC
Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio, Victoria, BC

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Executive Chef Takashi Ito has thoughtfully prepared this one-of-a-kind Christmas spread for you & your loved ones to enjoy and remember for years to come. Seatings from 10am-2pm in our Terrace Ballroom & Restaurant. $68 adults, $34 children 6-11yrs. old, kids under 5 free, plus 18% gratuity & tax

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Victoria
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Fit for Foodies
Victoria
1 More
Scenic View
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

Scenic View (31)
Special Occasion (25)
Waterfront (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely loved our experience. Wonderf ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Absolutely loved our experience. Wonderful service and great perogies! Had a lot of fun with the gingerbread houses as well. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was prepared very well and the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was prepared very well and the service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We stayed at the hotel, The Laurel Point ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We stayed at the hotel, The Laurel Point Inn (Erickson Wing), where the Aura Waterfront Restaurant is located, with several of our family to celebrate our son's UVic graduation. Over the course of our stay we enjoyed breakfasts and a family celebration dinner. We can highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We called the restaurant last minute from the university to shift our celebration dinner reservation by a half hour and they kindly accommodated us, no problem. We are very happy to recommend this hotel and restaurant to all, and very much appreciate their help making our family celebration special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only concern was with the service. ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My only concern was with the service. There were only two tables of two occupied in the restaurant and the lunch hour was over yet the server would not seat us until all five of us arrived at the restaurant. We were left standing in the hall. As one of the party suffers from MS this was inappropriate and not welcoming.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to AURA and sat at the bar. My husb ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went to AURA and sat at the bar. My husband and I shared a cheese plate and it was excellent! The bread, crackers, jam and chutney were all made in house and it was so delicious! George our server at the bar was attentive and welcoming. Enjoyed their selection of wine by the glass and my husband loved the local craft beer on tap! Definitely will be back for Dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant offers a great view of t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This restaurant offers a great view of the water, but that's about all that's great. The price per portion of the restaurant is very high, you get very little food for a high price. The service here is good if you are coming in for a business dinner as you are not checked on in between plates, or ever asked how your meal is. Overall this place really doesn't deserve your business as they are far overpriced and don't care to really give you a decent experience while dinning with them.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food, ambience and service was good but ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food, ambience and service was good but menu was a bit limited

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was not good.food is ok. Nothing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was not good.food is ok. Nothing special and definitely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

A well run restaurant with attentive sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A well run restaurant with attentive staff and excellent people skills at all levels of service, we have eaten there several times and feel it just gets better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a great experience. Service was bad ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not a great experience. Service was bad and they screwed up our bills. Food was mediocre and very limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The waitstaff were not welcoming, food w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The waitstaff were not welcoming, food was slow and very subpar. Would not recommend at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was amazing! Wish I could go ba ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food was amazing! Wish I could go back tomorrow night for dinner...and the next night too! Yum!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Sunday Brunch Buffet. Althoug ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We went to Sunday Brunch Buffet. Although the selection was limited for a "fancy" buffet, the food was not limiting. It was interesting, well prepared, sufficiently varied and absolutely delicious. The cost was reasonable for the quality, and getting a senior discount was a bonus. We definitely will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service was the finest in V ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service was the finest in Victoria. Just outstanding!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful view, attentive service and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A beautiful view, attentive service and exquisite food......what more could a person ask for? Thanks for making our evening a romantic and memorable occasion. We will definitely be back, and will be recommending this lovely spot to our friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chefs are excellent. Unique food com ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The chefs are excellent. Unique food combos, everything delicious. The best gnocchi and risotto. Scallops cooked to perfection. Bread/Buns to die for. Go for happy hour and then slid into dinner at 5:00.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always choose table 91 if I can. And I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I always choose table 91 if I can. And I hope Maitre 'd Robin is there. There is change in menu coming up this weekend but my favourites will be on it----deep fried sushi with a big difference. Try it. Also have the heritage tomato salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful ann ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful anniversary at aura on Saturday night. The evening was gorgeous, we had a table with a view and our server was David. He was patient, kind and helpful :-) the manager was a gentleman named Robin, I believe. So inviting from our arrival and very personable. They made us feel extra special when they brought out the dessert with a sign on it saying "happy anniversary". We enjoyed our night so much that we came back the following evening for some tea and dessert. Robin recognized us right away and sat us outside with blankets and a view. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone :-)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very narrow menu- very small portions- 1 ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very narrow menu- very small portions- 1 carrot and 1 bean cut into 3!!! Poor desert options

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent meal.great presentation.good s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent meal.great presentation.good service. Would recommend and go again

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. It was a treat fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was fabulous. It was a treat for the taste buds.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner there many times. Never been ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had dinner there many times. Never been disappointed! One of our favourite restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The waitress killed the evening. We book ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The waitress killed the evening. We booked in advance and said it was for a birthday. There was no valet and we parked our car. We were seated at the best table and view in the restaurant. The waitress was friendly and got us specific craft cocktails we asked for. we then said we'd be dining and asked for 2 courses of appetizers. She said she hadn't had someone dine in a while, which became obvious. She didn't write things down and brought the first appetizer and it was excellent. She took the rest of the dinner order and forgot the second appetizer. The first appetizer plates were never cleared. The sommelier delivered the wine early. She must have forgot the main entrees as well as we had to ask for them and they were cold. Dessert was set up for the birthday and she came to ask what we wanted. We said nothing asked for the check and left them with the cake. We couldn't take any more disappointments.The food was good but not outstanding and the level of service was lacking. It may be one of the best in Victoria, but this is not a notable restaurant for seasoned travelers.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice spot for a casual early Sunday brun ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice spot for a casual early Sunday brunch. Outstanding views.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely incredible experience in ever ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Absolutely incredible experience in every way possible! Greeted by an extremely pleasant server that immediately congratulated us on our anniversary. Very attentive, polite, assisted very well every time we had questions and always arrived at timely moments (no mouthful). Food was exquisite, service was quick, menu could have been a touch larger but we were both very pleased with the food we choose done exactly as we wanted it with outstanding presentation. The gift of dessert for the two of us was a nice treat and of course delicious! Next to us another couple were able to speak with the Chef directly and we would have but did not want to take away from their celebration but nice tough. View was so nice, ambiance and cleanliness was perfect. Definitely would recommend and likely return in the near future. Cannot thank the Aura enough for making our special occasion that much more special! Everything was PERFECT which was greatly appreciated. Finally, the service by email prior to our arrival and now this service after the fact shows that this is a top notch establishment - one that Chef Ramsay could not possibly find anything wrong with. LOL! Thank you!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place had a stunning view which att ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This place had a stunning view which attracted me as well as food locally sourced. However, there were a number of dishes that did not appeal given a heavy emphasis on Asian ingredients. Buerre blanc sauce infused with kimchi was one such example. Lots of bok choy when I was yearning for asparagus of at least broccholi. I settled for the halibut that was almost the best I have had although it was a tad dry. However, it came and remained hot- no luke warm food here! . Too bad the heavens opened and the patio was no longer viable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent restaurant in a hotel off the ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent restaurant in a hotel off the beaten path with a great view of the inner harbor. Menu was limited, but everything done very well. I had the sea scallops and mixed green salad. Best meal I have had so far in Victoria. Dessert was a mouse cake that was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After having reserved via OpenTable, I s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 13, 2016

After having reserved via OpenTable, I still had a question which could not be answered through OpenTable. I first called Aura and a recording came on indicating that they were busy and would call back. After over an hour elapsing and still nobody having called back I sent the question in online but without having received a response in what I considered reasonable amount of time (for a restaurant). We drove many hours (7) from out of town to visit here and arrange a special dinner for two friends. I can accept that you may be busy and delay a response; but once I am speaking with your hostess--after I myself call back--and all she says is "Oh, well, we are in touch now" it is somewhat off-putting. Later --only later--she did say "sorry". Kimberley Spence then called and she apologised. all in all, considering our travel and effort to find an excellent place to celebrate, we were unhappy with this experience.

Service: While Kimberley was polite and pleasantly served our wine, the waitress we had was dour, serious-looking and absolutely lacked familiarity or any interpersonal skills.

Food: The two vegetarian dishes two of us ordered were much too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was very good featuring fresh local ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was very good featuring fresh local fish , good salads ,and delicious homemade bread. We had hoped for a better view of the harbor. If we go again, will be more specific with that request. It was great to have a quiet setting-nice change from some of the loud places we've been to recently. I would recommend Aura.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, view was great and se ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good, view was great and service was friendly. However the restaurant and hotel are very outdated. Ambiance inside the restaurant is lacking. The wine list was quite good but our friendly server didn't know one wine from the next and tried to fake it. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful location on the water, a littl ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Beautiful location on the water, a little off the hustle and bustle of the city. A beautiful walk from our hotel along the water front. Food is rich but they use coho salmon which I am not a fan of. service was great and setting was great. wine recommendation was great but a little disappointed in the salmon

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was great and the food was very ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service was great and the food was very tasty. The portions were small but we did not mind that, as we hate getting too much food and over eating. A great table was reserved for us for our anniversary dinner. Our table was at a corner where we could see the whole inner harbor.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thought this was a buffet and it wasn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We thought this was a buffet and it wasn't, apparently they only do it once a month. The food was excellent from the a-la-carte menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful waterfront views, professional ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful waterfront views, professional service, great food, many Canadian wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here twice while staying at the I ...

 
 (Oxford)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ate here twice while staying at the Inn at Laurel Point - having eaten there on our first night we were delighted to go again a second time. High quality and very good service. Special occasion or holiday dining and although I am sure children would be welcomed, perhaps this would not be a first choice for families.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to Victoria (and BC). Wonder ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 25, 2016

First trip to Victoria (and BC). Wonderful town. But highlight was Aura. People were very accommodating, helped with wine selection, very attentive - but not overly close. Seats on the patio were terrific, but food was off-the-charts. We shared the Gnocchi small plate: unbelievable. Then we shared the Salmon and the Halibut. Sounds basic - but totally wonderful. The stuff around the fish was out-of-this-world. And the fish was perfectly cooked and presented. For desert we shared the Ice Cream Sandwich - another pleasant surprise. Every bite the entire meal was a delight. And the service made it hard not to leave the maximum tip. Don't miss this as your special dinner in Victoria. (And with the US dollar so high, the meal was a bargain, too.)

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the patio which was quieter than ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Enjoyed the patio which was quieter than inside and there was a heater ready to warm us after it cooled. Excellent service from our waiter, Simon. The food was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely time. As the weather ch ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a lovely time. As the weather chilled down out on the patio, the staff brought blankets. Aura needs to broaden its bar choices to include a tequila silver. Also, I think that something had MSG in it, as I was awake all night. It never occurred to me to ask about MSG or ACCENT. The setting was wonderful and the food quite tasty. Mostly British Columbia wines, and I guessed wrong on the first glass. If I can determine they are not using MSG, I would happily return. Great view and people watching.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was very limited. Our waiter w ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The menu was very limited. Our waiter was very accommodating, helped us make a good wine choice, but we were both disappointed in the limited options there were on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good, but all of the portions o ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was good, but all of the portions on the four entrees were pretty meager, especially the halibut and salmon. our server waS EXCELLENT

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.