About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch 1130am-230pm, Intermezzo 230pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm
Sundays:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Brunch 11am-2pm, Intermezzo 2pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet: 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: 2504146739x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Restaurant Photos

  • Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio
Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Victoria
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
6 More
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Fit for Foodies
Victoria
Romantic
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Special Occasion
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

scenic view (36)
special occasion (28)
romantic (22)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
great for outdoor dining (13)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (7)
notable wine list (7)
neighborhood gem (4)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
527 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire team at Aura did an outstandi ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The entire team at Aura did an outstanding job helping us celebrate our anniversary. Everyone was expecting us and ensured our experience was excellent. We were given the best table with an amazing view of the inner harbor and decorated with the flowers I had sent in advance. They delivered my surprise gift to the table and added an edible note to our dessert. The service at Aura was the best we have experienced in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The yuzu martini pairs with the oysters ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The yuzu martini pairs with the oysters very well since they are served with a yuzu dressing. Great location, attentive staff.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were disappointed that the famous Lau ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We were disappointed that the famous Lauel Point Brunch only happens once a month (first Sunday). The Aura a-la-carte brunch was good, but much more modest. The view is always great though- from either venue.

Tags: scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3

I was disappointed. It was expensive, a ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

I was disappointed. It was expensive, and some dishes were empty. I didn't try the roast beef on my the first round then I went back it was gone. A lot of empty dishes.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Tasty food, GREAT service.

Dined on June 5, 2016

Having some food intolerances, it was a little hard to eat the brunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place and Staff!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful birthday lunch!! Great staff too!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

While the food was excellent and the ser ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

While the food was excellent and the servers and staff were very personable, the service was slower and less attentive than expected fit this venue

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Enjoyable

Dined on May 29, 2016

I went there for lunch with my boyfriend on a recent visit to Victoria. The food was very good, however there was not much of it. The view was wonderful, and very romantic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The kitchen closes at 9pm and we were co ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The kitchen closes at 9pm and we were constantly being hassled about ordering on time

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was great. We also had a table with a view of the ocean Harbour which was very scenic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food left me full and on cloud 9

Dined on May 24, 2016

Firstofall, yes the view is amazing but honestly I was more amazed by the food. Scallops perfectly cooked. Steelhead Trout perfectly cooked. Beautifully plated, explained thoroughly by our waitstaff and was the best meal i have had in a long time. The mango Panna Cotta desert was so simply sweet and a refreshing finish to my meal. Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful experience while we visited Victoria BC. We will surely come again and would recommend you to anyone. Sincerely, Guest from Montana, USA.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Location was a bit hard to find per look ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Location was a bit hard to find per looking at the maps, but we found it and that was good. Staff was great and very accommodating as well as friendly. Manger came over and greeted us as well and congratulated us on our special occasion. Food was excellent and very tasty, we ordered desert and they created a special sign made from chocolate with an additional message for our occasion. Great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent. The food was ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They made a VEGAN very happy!

Dined on April 21, 2016

While there was one vegetarian option on the menu, it was not vegan. But when I asked when we made reservations if they could accommodate a vegan, the response was a resounding "yes." The chef prepared the most amazing vegan meal I've ever had, including glazed tofu, mushroom croquettes, beets, greens, and delicious sauces made of vegetable puree. I was so pleased with the dining experience that we returned two nights later for a completely different vegan entree with a portobello mushroom as the highlight, covered in a beautiful red pepper cous cous. The plate included sushi-like rice rolls and veggies too. We stayed at the Inn at Laurel Pointe where this restaurant is located. Both surpassed our expectations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was good, professional and frien ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was good, professional and friendly. Ambiance and view were nice. Vegetable side was to die for. Steak was tough as leather. We would try the place again, but not order steak.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Planning again

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very impressed, great food, amazing service, picturesque view, Our trip from Alberta was for supper on a Saturday evening and we were not disappointed, will most definitely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We experienced a excellent meal at Aura. ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We experienced a excellent meal at Aura. Our server Suzanne was spot on in her wine selections, which paired nice my with our trout and beef entrees. This was our first visit and would recommend this place to all. Bravo!

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Awesome restaurant.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great restaurant. The food and presentation is great. The view is spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Don't Bother

Dined on April 3, 2016

poor service, limited fare, poorly refilled platters. Cold hot chocolate, lousy refilling of water, no interest in waiting on customers. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter Brunch a |Tradition

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great location, good food, great service. Earlier is better than late when it comes to the food selection.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing food

Dined on March 6, 2016

I don't usually do these things....reviews, but Aura was probably the best dinner and brunch we have experienced in our many years. The flavors and attention to detail are the best. The service was attentive and responsive to our needs. But again it is the food that is amazing...the portions look small but somehow they are really filling. We will go back again and again. The prices are fair and worth every penny.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent taste and presentation

Dined on March 6, 2016

My only concern was the portions were too small this year. I recommended this to my group because last year when I visited for dine around the portions were much larger and I wanted the group to experience what i experienced the previous year. Everything else was excellent. Food and presentation was done to perfection and I was expressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dine Around

Dined on March 4, 2016

Came here for the Dine Around event in Victoria. The presentation was phenomenal and the taste matched. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First time Aura patron

Dined on March 4, 2016

Booked a table for a family birthday at Aura as the restaurant was recommended by a friend in the know. As it was dine-around we had a limited selection of times and were restricted by number of guests due to limited availability of tables (we requested a table for 6 but could only reserve for four - when we were seated it was at a table for six). That being said the meal choices made the most of presentation and the kitchen can be tipped as first rate for Victoria. I found the chairs uncomfortable and the restaurant a little noisy but the staff was attentive, even on a busy night like ours. Would recommend it on a non dine-around evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Dine Around $30 menu

Dined on March 2, 2016

Ambiance was great - wonderful view, nice setting. Table next to us was quite loud. The perigee and mushroom sauce were top-class, but the star anise taste in the braised beef did not come through as well as the sample at the launch. Still I would highly recommend dining at the Aura. The dine around price was an excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Will come back again.

Dined on February 29, 2016

Will come back again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Date Spot

Dined on February 28, 2016

I went here without knowing about the dine around Victoria menu, but ended up ordering from it, which is a great deal. We had a waterfront table with a stunning view of the inner harbour. The restaurant was peaceful but not too quiet, the staff were attentive, and the food was delicious. The beet salad seemed a little lacking, but the Onion Soup was fantastic. You really can't go wrong here.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here at Aura - people on their way out were recommending dishes to us before we had a chance to sit down. They seated us at a very romantic table by the window and our service was outstanding. The presentation of the food is beautiful and they really take pride. Their pinot gris was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The perfect place to celebrate our anniv ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

The perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! A nice window table looking at the lights across the harbor, good wine, innovative cuisine, and attentive service made for a wonderful evening (and our best meal this trip).

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, good review and warm service

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner here while visiting Victoria. It didn't disappoint! The menu dishes are mostly fusion style and very creative. Taste is good and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Visited Victoria for our Anniversary weekend. While we were on town we selected restaurants that had very high reviews and were considered "fine dining". Our of the three we visited Aura had the best food, service, and view. I had the Sable fish and it was out of this world. Our meal was light and packed with flavor. We left feeling very satisfied, but not over stuffed and bloated. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Overall good experience but so-so value for dining

Dined on February 13, 2016

Restuarant called to confirm a day beforehand, given the expected Valentines crowd. On the whole, the experience was alright. The atmosphere is spartan and has an Asian fusion flavour in both decor and menu. Best part of the evening was the wine the server recommended, which was an excellent accompaniment to the braised beef we split. I like my beef on the blue rare side and my partner likes it less so. What we received was definitely more blue than rare but we both finished it happily anyways (it was delicious). We had an ideal window seat, with a great view of the inner harbour. Good food but only modest value. Food: 7/10 Service: 7/10 Ambiance: 6/10

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food looks great, but wasn't

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food looks gourmet, is plated gourmet, is portioned gourmet, but is certainly not gourmet. We had 3 dishes, 1 appetizer (onion soup) and dessert. 1 was great (scallops), 2 mediocre (risotto and soup), and 1 as dry as shoe leather (lamb). Dessert was lovely, but portioned as if was something very special, and it wasn't. I like small plates of great food, and if given the choice, that is my preference, but when I get small plates that are mediocre at best, I just think I should have went to the Keg, where the food is fine, and the portion sizes reflect that fact.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable, we bring family and friends!

Dined on February 7, 2016

My visitors to Victoria are delighted! food and ambiance are superb

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Do not forget to try the scallops. (Too ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Do not forget to try the scallops. (Too die for). MMMMMMM

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice spot

Dined on January 18, 2016

Food was great if you don't have a BIG appetite, may need several dishes to fill up

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on January 15, 2016

The service, food, and drinks were great, and the menu was interesting, varied and fun to work through with the server. I cannot say enough great things about Aura. We will be back. I'd stay in the Inn again just to be able to hobble back to my room stuffed and happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aura Restaurant @ Victoria BC

Dined on January 9, 2016

I have been a regular patron here for some years. The food always is interesting even as the menus change with market and seasons. The main theme is Asian-inflected local ingredients, which means a good selection of seafood plus vegetarian, meat and fowl plates. The servings are not huge but the flavours and presentation make it all filling anyway. Desserts are a range of not-common choices. Can't say that either me or my wife has ever had a poorly done plate here yet. Service has always been excellent: attentive but not over-bearing. Many of the staff have been around for years and the new members get a decent training as well. We see both groups with kids and larger groups together without any diminishment of the ambience. The view of Victoria's Inner Harbour is great, even for us locals. Parking is free to resto guests as well at the front desk.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was my first time, and we had the a l ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

It was my first time, and we had the a la carte brunch. Everyone in the party enjoyed their meals, and we would all visit Aura again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food, but dessert was a joke

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

We went for dinner, and the entrees were basically fine with a few flaws that we could live with. However, when we received our dessert, we were sure we were on Just For Laughs or Candid Camera. The portion was so tiny, it wouldn't fill up a toddler, and we felt they served it on the largest plate they had just for effect. The scoop of ice cream on the crumble was no larger than a toonie. I will be posting a picture online once we get home just so others can have a good laugh as well. So while we might go back for a meal, we certainly wouldn't recommend ordering dessert unless you're on an extreme diet (in which case you probably wouldn't be ordering dessert anyway).

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.