Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch: 11:30am-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet from 11am-2pm: June 4th, July 2nd, August 6th, September 3rd, October 1st

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: (250) 414-6739

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (22)
Waterfront (22)
Quiet Conversation (16)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Arrogant service. Off hand. Went there for breakfast with a friend who is moving to another city.

The table was not clean. cutlery was spotted. I expected more. I didn't say anything to the server as I didn't want to embarrass my friends.

I won't bother going to this restaurant again for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for the Easter brunch. Everything was amazing, especially the seafood! Pleasant live music in the background. Was a great way to spend our first year anniversary. Will definately be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Beautifully presented, well-balanced flavors and great service. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 12, 2017

El servicio fue impecable. Pocas mesas y el mesero y maitre d super atentos

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The view is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I made a reservation through open table two weeks in advance. I made a note that I want a window seat as it was a special occasion. On the same day, I also phoned the restaurant to change my reservation time and again asked If i could have a window seat, the lady on the phone told me that she will reserve a window seat for me and there is no problem at all. On the day when we got to the restaurant, we were told there was no window seat and that they were all reserved or taken. I explained my situation to the waitress and she called the manager. All the manager could say was they will try and cannot promised and we were placed away from the windows. Meanwhile I noted few empty tables by the window with reserved sign on. I walked away from this restaurant feeling disappointed with the management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Dined at Aura for dinner during a short visit to Victoria. The place is quiet and has a lovely view of the harbour. We did not know what to expect in terms of the food but we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and the balanced flavours of all the dishes we tried. Had such a wonderful and memorable meal.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Our Alberta friends were delighted with the corner-table view of the harbour, and the quiet ambience which encouraged conversation. Both the vegetarians (who had gnocchi) and the omnivores (beef and Arctic char) found the preparation, flavours and service outstanding. Aura is now my top choice in Victoria for comfortable and elegant dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went during dine around the dining room was very busy. I ordered from the regular menu the tenderloin and it was tough and unappealing my wife ordered from the dine around which was better except for the dessert which was a white chocolate soufflé but had a strange texture and taste. My wife had the wine pairings with each course. The wine paired with the first course came to the table after that course was done. Oops Overall we were not impressed and would not recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very tasty meal for Dine Around. Would be even better if portion is slightly bigger.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was delicious, the service was great, the noise level was just right so it didn't seem too quiet, but you could have a conversation. Good selection of beer and wine, the "lemon drop" martini was yummy. We went with another couple - suits small groups like that but the tables for two looked equally inviting. View of lights across the water by night, and I'm sure a spectacular view by day. Will definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great Beer, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We ate there in the evening for Dine Around and again in the morning for breakfast. The food was OK, but not as good as I was expecting. Perhaps it was just a bad weekend, however a restaurant of this caliber should be up to snuff any time that you go in. With so many restaurants in Victoria to choose from I'm not sure I'll go back. The saving graces for both meals were the fantastic view and great service.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very good food and the view is hard to beat.
Enjoyed the Dine Around Town menu. Excellent way to try a nice place like Aura.
Definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 23, 2017

All four in our party made different choices on the $30 Dine Around menu, and everything was cooked and presented to perfection. Also we were lucky to get the best corner table with views on 2 sides. A perfect evening - we'll definitely go back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We came for the dine-around dinner menu and also went with the wine pairings. Everything was perfect, especially the dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We spent the long President Day weekend in Victoria and loved this place the best. Food was perfect for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our night was made even more special by our spectacular dinner and the service we experienced.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Beautiful view. Excellent food. Great service (especially the manager). What really disappointed us was the fact that if you sit next to a window (inner harbour side), you're right next to the coffee machine/cleaning supplies/server station. Very unusual for a restaurant of this calibre. Kinda ruined if for me from the beginning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

it would be nice it they had a brunch. other than that every thing else was great

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our second time at Aura Waterfront Restaurant for our anniversary. Service was excellent, food was spectacular, as was the wine. We will be back soon as we hope to try out the patio in milder weather. Thank you for a great anniversary!!
Dave and Lisa

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

excellent quality indgredients
More choices in the menu would be nice

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Quality of food has slipped since last visit when it was outstanding! Hoping just temporary slip because food is original, beautifully plated and amazing usually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the ambiance. Quiet and dark so perfect for a date or special occasion. The fish dishes is what we focused on and they did not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wow! This is our second time at Aura and we continue to be impressed. Great service, great view, excellent food. The quality, taste and creativity of the food is very impressive. The wait staff is attentive yet understated... thanks Simon! We dine out in Victoria a lot and I'm not sure we've found a better restaurant. We will back... soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant at Laurel Point Inn. The food was excellent and very nicely prepared and presented! The view is absolutely lovely! The service was very good, attentive and not overly annoying. We will definitely return!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Family Style, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Worst meal I have ever had. Food was cold, tasteless and very poor value

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We dined at Aura for a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The Server and manager couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with great respect and our coats taken, and our chairs moved out. The food was beautifully presented and tasted just as good as it looked. When asked if they had gluten free bread some was brought immediately. When told that one of us could not eat dairy or gluten, a special menu was brought out.
Will definitely go to Aura again and our thanks go out to them for making a special occasion very special.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous water views, artful presentation of tasty food, excellent service. Quieter than most restaurants in Victoria as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing food. Perfect service. And beautiful view of the harbour. We'll definitely become regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and nice quiet atmosphere. Nice waterfront view, I would go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is always well prepared and the view is one of the best in town. Always a desired destination when we are in Victoria.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went to Aura for brunch; great, inventive food. It was too cold for outdoor seating, but its location overlooking Victoria's Inner Harbour was unmatched. Attentive, yet discreet service in a bright, greenhouse-like setting. Nice, elegant decor but not snobby.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This restaurant has it all. Excellent food and staff in a great location at a price that compares very favourably with restaurants aspiring to this class. At Christmas, other restaurants we dined at suffered from reduced and less capable staff but Aura maintained the same high standards that we have experienced at other times of the year. To cap it all, you can conduct a conversation across the table without having to shout. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The dining experience was superb. The food was beautifully presented and the food perfect!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This restaurant went above and beyond to create an amazing 3 course meal that my husband could enjoy even with all his food restrictions and on a very busy Christmas Eve at dinner time. The food was fabulous and the service and views overlooking the harbour made it out favourite meal of the holidays!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always, our Christmas Eve dinner was beyond our expectations. The atmosphere, service and especially the cuisine was outstanding. New items on the menu proved to be better than one could have expected.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Is there a minimalist trend happening? Food portions were small - so didn't feel like we had a complete meal. Had to go home and eat something afterwards! I enjoyed the flavours of my meal, but I wouldn't go here unless you're on a diet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I'm a foodie and also a freelance writer who occasionally writes articles on food and wine. That said, this was one of the best restaurant meals I have had ever! Excellent food, beautifully presented. The last meal I had of this quality was at Araxi in Whistler.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was my third time there. Every time it has been a great experience. The best I like is vallet parking . No stress to find parking . Definitely is among my favourite restaurants in town .

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were very pleased with our experience. Martinis were great. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.