About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch 1130am-230pm, Intermezzo 230pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm
Sundays:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Brunch 11am-2pm, Intermezzo 2pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet: 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: 2504146739x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Restaurant Photos

  • Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio
Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Victoria
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
5 More
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Fit for Foodies
Victoria
Romantic
Victoria
Special Occasion
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

scenic view (40)
special occasion (32)
fit for foodies (25)
See All
romantic (22)
great for outdoor dining (20)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (9)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
536 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and a beautiful view of t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and a beautiful view of the harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aura was amazing. Service and food was i ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Aura was amazing. Service and food was impeccable. We went for a friend's birthday, and ordered the cake through Aura. It was phenomenal. We cant wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location overlooking the Inner Har ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great location overlooking the Inner Harbour of Victoria. Leisurely paced service, just right for a special occasion. The view of the harbor is partially obscured by a large tree, you would think that they would not block out the primary purpose of eating there.

The food was excellent, we had a deep fried sushi appie that was delightful and then scallops and halibut for both of us. Very well prepared and creatively presented. No crumbs left on each plate.

Kudos to Colleen for great service.

We look forward to going back for another meal on another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food. Service was a bit slow a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food. Service was a bit slow and the area was very noisy due to large parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were staying at the hotel and had bee ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were staying at the hotel and had been told this was a great restaurant. The information was correct! We sat by the window and had a lovely view while enjoying a delicious meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always this dinner was fantastic... t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always this dinner was fantastic... the appetizers and entrees were exquisite and awakened the taste buds to new and various flavours. Every bite was savored by both of us. As a special birthday, the dessert came with a chocolate birthday "card". The service was attentive , friendly, and informative.

We could not asked for a better experience to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have only ever had dinner there, so c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have only ever had dinner there, so cannot speak to other menus. However, we are always very pleased with the qualify of food and service and highly recommend Aura. Wonderful place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! The salmon and shrimp Benny wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved it! The salmon and shrimp Benny was perfect with extravagant flavors of terragon, cabbage and soy sauce. We will definitely be back for the great food, service, atmosphere and amazing views!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meal we had in 4 days in Victor ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The best meal we had in 4 days in Victoria on holiday from the Uk. Service from the staff was friendly and professional and the dishes, sushi followed by halibut were freshly prepared and full of flavour.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire team at Aura did an outstandi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The entire team at Aura did an outstanding job helping us celebrate our anniversary. Everyone was expecting us and ensured our experience was excellent. We were given the best table with an amazing view of the inner harbor and decorated with the flowers I had sent in advance. They delivered my surprise gift to the table and added an edible note to our dessert. The service at Aura was the best we have experienced in the city!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The yuzu martini pairs with the oysters ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The yuzu martini pairs with the oysters very well since they are served with a yuzu dressing. Great location, attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed that the famous Lau ...

 
 (West Sussex)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were disappointed that the famous Lauel Point Brunch only happens once a month (first Sunday). The Aura a-la-carte brunch was good, but much more modest. The view is always great though- from either venue.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was disappointed. It was expensive, a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I was disappointed. It was expensive, and some dishes were empty. I didn't try the roast beef on my the first round then I went back it was gone. A lot of empty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Tasty food, GREAT service.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Having some food intolerances, it was a little hard to eat the brunch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place and Staff!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful birthday lunch!! Great staff too!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food was excellent and the ser ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

While the food was excellent and the servers and staff were very personable, the service was slower and less attentive than expected fit this venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Enjoyable

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I went there for lunch with my boyfriend on a recent visit to Victoria. The food was very good, however there was not much of it. The view was wonderful, and very romantic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The kitchen closes at 9pm and we were co ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The kitchen closes at 9pm and we were constantly being hassled about ordering on time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was great. We also had a table with a view of the ocean Harbour which was very scenic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food left me full and on cloud 9

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Firstofall, yes the view is amazing but honestly I was more amazed by the food. Scallops perfectly cooked. Steelhead Trout perfectly cooked. Beautifully plated, explained thoroughly by our waitstaff and was the best meal i have had in a long time. The mango Panna Cotta desert was so simply sweet and a refreshing finish to my meal. Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful experience while we visited Victoria BC. We will surely come again and would recommend you to anyone.

Sincerely,

Guest from Montana, USA.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Location was a bit hard to find per look ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Location was a bit hard to find per looking at the maps, but we found it and that was good. Staff was great and very accommodating as well as friendly. Manger came over and greeted us as well and congratulated us on our special occasion.

Food was excellent and very tasty, we ordered desert and they created a special sign made from chocolate with an additional message for our occasion. Great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

They made a VEGAN very happy!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

While there was one vegetarian option on the menu, it was not vegan. But when I asked when we made reservations if they could accommodate a vegan, the response was a resounding "yes." The chef prepared the most amazing vegan meal I've ever had, including glazed tofu, mushroom croquettes, beets, greens, and delicious sauces made of vegetable puree. I was so pleased with the dining experience that we returned two nights later for a completely different vegan entree with a portobello mushroom as the highlight, covered in a beautiful red pepper cous cous. The plate included sushi-like rice rolls and veggies too. We stayed at the Inn at Laurel Pointe where this restaurant is located. Both surpassed our expectations!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, professional and frien ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Service was good, professional and friendly. Ambiance and view were nice. Vegetable side was to die for. Steak was tough as leather. We would try the place again, but not order steak.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Planning again

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very impressed, great food, amazing service, picturesque view, Our trip from Alberta was for supper on a Saturday evening and we were not disappointed, will most definitely be back

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We experienced a excellent meal at Aura. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We experienced a excellent meal at Aura. Our server Suzanne was spot on in her wine selections, which paired nice my with our trout and beef entrees. This was our first visit and would recommend this place to all. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Great restaurant. The food and presentation is great. The view is spectacular.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Don't Bother

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

poor service, limited fare, poorly refilled platters. Cold hot chocolate, lousy refilling of water, no interest in waiting on customers. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Easter Brunch a |Tradition

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great location, good food, great service. Earlier is better than late when it comes to the food selection.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely amazing food

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I don't usually do these things....reviews, but Aura was probably the best dinner and brunch we have experienced in our many years. The flavors and attention to detail are the best. The service was attentive and responsive to our needs. But again it is the food that is amazing...the portions look small but somehow they are really filling. We will go back again and again. The prices are fair and worth every penny.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent taste and presentation

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My only concern was the portions were too small this year. I recommended this to my group because last year when I visited for dine around the portions were much larger and I wanted the group to experience what i experienced the previous year. Everything else was excellent. Food and presentation was done to perfection and I was expressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Dine Around

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Came here for the Dine Around event in Victoria. The presentation was phenomenal and the taste matched. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time Aura patron

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Booked a table for a family birthday at Aura as the restaurant was recommended by a friend in the know. As it was dine-around we had a limited selection of times and were restricted by number of guests due to limited availability of tables (we requested a table for 6 but could only reserve for four - when we were seated it was at a table for six). That being said the meal choices made the most of presentation and the kitchen can be tipped as first rate for Victoria. I found the chairs uncomfortable and the restaurant a little noisy but the staff was attentive, even on a busy night like ours. Would recommend it on a non dine-around evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Dine Around $30 menu

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Ambiance was great - wonderful view, nice setting. Table next to us was quite loud. The perigee and mushroom sauce were top-class, but the star anise taste in the braised beef did not come through as well as the sample at the launch. Still I would highly recommend dining at the Aura. The dine around price was an excellent value.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Will come back again.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Date Spot

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I went here without knowing about the dine around Victoria menu, but ended up ordering from it, which is a great deal. We had a waterfront table with a stunning view of the inner harbour. The restaurant was peaceful but not too quiet, the staff were attentive, and the food was delicious. The beet salad seemed a little lacking, but the Onion Soup was fantastic. You really can't go wrong here.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner here at Aura - people on their way out were recommending dishes to us before we had a chance to sit down. They seated us at a very romantic table by the window and our service was outstanding. The presentation of the food is beautiful and they really take pride.

Their pinot gris was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The perfect place to celebrate our anniv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

The perfect place to celebrate our anniversary! A nice window table looking at the lights across the harbor, good wine, innovative cuisine, and attentive service made for a wonderful evening (and our best meal this trip).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, good review and warm service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had our anniversary dinner here while visiting Victoria. It didn't disappoint!

The menu dishes are mostly fusion style and very creative. Taste is good and enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Visited Victoria for our Anniversary weekend. While we were on town we selected restaurants that had very high reviews and were considered "fine dining". Our of the three we visited Aura had the best food, service, and view. I had the Sable fish and it was out of this world. Our meal was light and packed with flavor. We left feeling very satisfied, but not over stuffed and bloated. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.