About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch 1130am-230pm, Intermezzo 230pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm
Sundays:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Brunch 11am-2pm, Intermezzo 2pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet: 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: 2504146739x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Restaurant Photos

  • Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio
Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Victoria
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
6 More
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Fit for Foodies
Victoria
Romantic
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Most Booked
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

Scenic View (57)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (16)
Waterfront (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (3)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had dinner there many times. Never been ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had dinner there many times. Never been disappointed! One of our favourite restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Nice spot for a casual early Sunday brun ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice spot for a casual early Sunday brunch. Outstanding views.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely incredible experience in ever ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Absolutely incredible experience in every way possible! Greeted by an extremely pleasant server that immediately congratulated us on our anniversary. Very attentive, polite, assisted very well every time we had questions and always arrived at timely moments (no mouthful). Food was exquisite, service was quick, menu could have been a touch larger but we were both very pleased with the food we choose done exactly as we wanted it with outstanding presentation. The gift of dessert for the two of us was a nice treat and of course delicious! Next to us another couple were able to speak with the Chef directly and we would have but did not want to take away from their celebration but nice tough. View was so nice, ambiance and cleanliness was perfect. Definitely would recommend and likely return in the near future. Cannot thank the Aura enough for making our special occasion that much more special! Everything was PERFECT which was greatly appreciated. Finally, the service by email prior to our arrival and now this service after the fact shows that this is a top notch establishment - one that Chef Ramsay could not possibly find anything wrong with. LOL! Thank you!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, People Watching, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place had a stunning view which att ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This place had a stunning view which attracted me as well as food locally sourced. However, there were a number of dishes that did not appeal given a heavy emphasis on Asian ingredients. Buerre blanc sauce infused with kimchi was one such example. Lots of bok choy when I was yearning for asparagus of at least broccholi. I settled for the halibut that was almost the best I have had although it was a tad dry. However, it came and remained hot- no luke warm food here! . Too bad the heavens opened and the patio was no longer viable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent restaurant in a hotel off the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent restaurant in a hotel off the beaten path with a great view of the inner harbor. Menu was limited, but everything done very well. I had the sea scallops and mixed green salad. Best meal I have had so far in Victoria. Dessert was a mouse cake that was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After having reserved via OpenTable, I s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

After having reserved via OpenTable, I still had a question which could not be answered through OpenTable. I first called Aura and a recording came on indicating that they were busy and would call back. After over an hour elapsing and still nobody having called back I sent the question in online but without having received a response in what I considered reasonable amount of time (for a restaurant). We drove many hours (7) from out of town to visit here and arrange a special dinner for two friends. I can accept that you may be busy and delay a response; but once I am speaking with your hostess--after I myself call back--and all she says is "Oh, well, we are in touch now" it is somewhat off-putting. Later --only later--she did say "sorry". Kimberley Spence then called and she apologised. all in all, considering our travel and effort to find an excellent place to celebrate, we were unhappy with this experience.

Service: While Kimberley was polite and pleasantly served our wine, the waitress we had was dour, serious-looking and absolutely lacked familiarity or any interpersonal skills.

Food: The two vegetarian dishes two of us ordered were much too salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was very good featuring fresh local ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was very good featuring fresh local fish , good salads ,and delicious homemade bread. We had hoped for a better view of the harbor. If we go again, will be more specific with that request. It was great to have a quiet setting-nice change from some of the loud places we've been to recently. I would recommend Aura.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was good, view was great and se ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was good, view was great and service was friendly. However the restaurant and hotel are very outdated. Ambiance inside the restaurant is lacking. The wine list was quite good but our friendly server didn't know one wine from the next and tried to fake it. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful location on the water, a littl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Beautiful location on the water, a little off the hustle and bustle of the city. A beautiful walk from our hotel along the water front. Food is rich but they use coho salmon which I am not a fan of. service was great and setting was great. wine recommendation was great but a little disappointed in the salmon

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was great and the food was very ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Service was great and the food was very tasty. The portions were small but we did not mind that, as we hate getting too much food and over eating. A great table was reserved for us for our anniversary dinner. Our table was at a corner where we could see the whole inner harbor.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thought this was a buffet and it wasn ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We thought this was a buffet and it wasn't, apparently they only do it once a month. The food was excellent from the a-la-carte menu

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful waterfront views, professional ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful waterfront views, professional service, great food, many Canadian wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here twice while staying at the I ...

 
 (Oxford)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We ate here twice while staying at the Inn at Laurel Point - having eaten there on our first night we were delighted to go again a second time. High quality and very good service. Special occasion or holiday dining and although I am sure children would be welcomed, perhaps this would not be a first choice for families.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First trip to Victoria (and BC). Wonder ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

First trip to Victoria (and BC). Wonderful town. But highlight was Aura. People were very accommodating, helped with wine selection, very attentive - but not overly close. Seats on the patio were terrific, but food was off-the-charts. We shared the Gnocchi small plate: unbelievable. Then we shared the Salmon and the Halibut. Sounds basic - but totally wonderful. The stuff around the fish was out-of-this-world. And the fish was perfectly cooked and presented. For desert we shared the Ice Cream Sandwich - another pleasant surprise. Every bite the entire meal was a delight. And the service made it hard not to leave the maximum tip. Don't miss this as your special dinner in Victoria. (And with the US dollar so high, the meal was a bargain, too.)

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the patio which was quieter than ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Enjoyed the patio which was quieter than inside and there was a heater ready to warm us after it cooled. Excellent service from our waiter, Simon. The food was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely time. As the weather ch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a lovely time. As the weather chilled down out on the patio, the staff brought blankets. Aura needs to broaden its bar choices to include a tequila silver. Also, I think that something had MSG in it, as I was awake all night. It never occurred to me to ask about MSG or ACCENT. The setting was wonderful and the food quite tasty. Mostly British Columbia wines, and I guessed wrong on the first glass. If I can determine they are not using MSG, I would happily return. Great view and people watching.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was very limited. Our waiter w ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The menu was very limited. Our waiter was very accommodating, helped us make a good wine choice, but we were both disappointed in the limited options there were on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good, but all of the portions o ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was good, but all of the portions on the four entrees were pretty meager, especially the halibut and salmon. our server waS EXCELLENT

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very imaginative menu. The best part is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very imaginative menu. The best part is that while they have a good selection, they don't try to do too much. They do what they do and do it very well. The Gnocchi was the best I have ever had anywhere in the world - keep in mind I travel extensively for work including to Italy often.

The halibut and scallops were also very good. Don't miss the bread!

Great atmosphere also. We sat on the patio and it was a perfect setting.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great view of the waterfront, attentive ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great view of the waterfront, attentive service, and excellent food. The tomato salad was very fresh. The vegetarian scotch eggs had a great variety of favors. The steak was very tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beautifully prepared, howev ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was beautifully prepared, however the halibut was over cooked for both diners. 3 minutes less and everything would have been perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were staying at the inn on laurel. W ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were staying at the inn on laurel. We had a Great brunch there. Pricy but worth it. Would go there agIn

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

That was possibly the best Sunday brunch ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

That was possibly the best Sunday brunch my wife and I ever ate! Every item was fresh and the best it could be. The breads were out of this world, salad and vegetables super fresh and the meats cooked to perfection. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was friendly and attentive witho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Food was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The menu, as others have noted, is quite limited. About eight salads or starters and six entrees -- salmon, halibut, scallops, duck and steak. But it appears that allows them to focus on what they do well. Might be a bit on the pricey side for some folks, but a worthwhile splurge.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely loved everything about the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We absolutely loved everything about the food, drinks, and service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience! The staff went out o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A great experience! The staff went out of their way to accommodate the special request that i had included in the reservation. The food was great too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One of our favourite places. Close to o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of our favourite places. Close to our work and always offering diverse options, lovely service, amazing food and a beautiful location.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

a good solid restaurant. the service a b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

a good solid restaurant. the service a bit on the go, but it is part of a large restaurant, mostly from the wine server. but the food was tasty and well prepared. we decided not to dinner outside as it was windy and cold for us.... but it was a pity as the location is just on the Victoria BC harbour

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to Aura for an anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to Aura for an anniversary dinner, and we were thoroughly impressed. A request for a nice table for two resulted in them preparing the best seat in the house in advance, with a beautiful view of the inner harbour in a quiet, secluded section of the restaurant. The food was impeccable, and the drinks beyond impressive. Thank you for the wonderful experience! Our time here will be a fond memory from our trip to Victoria.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and spent an afternoon in Victor ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and spent an afternoon in Victoria while visiting from the US. We took the ferry from Port Angeles in the early afternoon and returned on the last ferry. Before departing we had dinner at Aura. We requested an outside table and got one with a nice view from the patio. It was the end of the Happy Hour when we arrived and the restaurant got pretty empty soon after Happy Hour was over. We ordered beers, appetizers and main courses. Everything was very good. The portions are more on the smaller side. Our server was very attentive and friendly. She gave us plenty of time to finish our dinner before she brought the check.

The patio seating is very nice with a beautiful view of the Inner Harbour.

Aura is maybe a five to ten minute walk away from the busiest area of town which we found very nice.

When we return to Victoria we will put Aura on our list for dinner again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The chef at Aura is so creative! The fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The chef at Aura is so creative! The food was some of the most beautiful food I've eaten. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and a beautiful view of t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food and a beautiful view of the harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service and a waterfro ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food, great service and a waterfront view that changes every second!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Aura was amazing. Service and food was i ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Aura was amazing. Service and food was impeccable. We went for a friend's birthday, and ordered the cake through Aura. It was phenomenal. We cant wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location overlooking the Inner Har ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great location overlooking the Inner Harbour of Victoria. Leisurely paced service, just right for a special occasion. The view of the harbor is partially obscured by a large tree, you would think that they would not block out the primary purpose of eating there.

The food was excellent, we had a deep fried sushi appie that was delightful and then scallops and halibut for both of us. Very well prepared and creatively presented. No crumbs left on each plate.

Kudos to Colleen for great service.

We look forward to going back for another meal on another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food. Service was a bit slow a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food. Service was a bit slow and the area was very noisy due to large parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were staying at the hotel and had bee ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were staying at the hotel and had been told this was a great restaurant. The information was correct! We sat by the window and had a lovely view while enjoying a delicious meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always this dinner was fantastic... t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always this dinner was fantastic... the appetizers and entrees were exquisite and awakened the taste buds to new and various flavours. Every bite was savored by both of us. As a special birthday, the dessert came with a chocolate birthday "card". The service was attentive , friendly, and informative.

We could not asked for a better experience to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have only ever had dinner there, so c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have only ever had dinner there, so cannot speak to other menus. However, we are always very pleased with the qualify of food and service and highly recommend Aura. Wonderful place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! The salmon and shrimp Benny wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved it! The salmon and shrimp Benny was perfect with extravagant flavors of terragon, cabbage and soy sauce. We will definitely be back for the great food, service, atmosphere and amazing views!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.