About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch 1130am-230pm, Intermezzo 230pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm
Sundays:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Brunch 11am-2pm, Intermezzo 2pm-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm, Intermezzo 9pm-10pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet: 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: 2504146739x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Restaurant Photos

  • Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio
Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Victoria
Best Food
Victoria
Best Service
Victoria
6 More
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Value
Victoria
Fit for Foodies
Victoria
Romantic
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Special Occasion
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

Scenic View (50)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ate here twice while staying at the I ...

 
 (Oxford)
·Dined 4 days ago

We ate here twice while staying at the Inn at Laurel Point - having eaten there on our first night we were delighted to go again a second time. High quality and very good service. Special occasion or holiday dining and although I am sure children would be welcomed, perhaps this would not be a first choice for families.

Tags: Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the patio which was quieter than ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyed the patio which was quieter than inside and there was a heater ready to warm us after it cooled. Excellent service from our waiter, Simon. The food was delicious.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a lovely time. As the weather ch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a lovely time. As the weather chilled down out on the patio, the staff brought blankets. Aura needs to broaden its bar choices to include a tequila silver. Also, I think that something had MSG in it, as I was awake all night. It never occurred to me to ask about MSG or ACCENT. The setting was wonderful and the food quite tasty. Mostly British Columbia wines, and I guessed wrong on the first glass. If I can determine they are not using MSG, I would happily return. Great view and people watching.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was very limited. Our waiter w ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The menu was very limited. Our waiter was very accommodating, helped us make a good wine choice, but we were both disappointed in the limited options there were on the menu.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good, but all of the portions o ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was good, but all of the portions on the four entrees were pretty meager, especially the halibut and salmon. our server waS EXCELLENT

Tags: Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very imaginative menu. The best part is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very imaginative menu. The best part is that while they have a good selection, they don't try to do too much. They do what they do and do it very well. The Gnocchi was the best I have ever had anywhere in the world - keep in mind I travel extensively for work including to Italy often.

The halibut and scallops were also very good. Don't miss the bread!

Great atmosphere also. We sat on the patio and it was a perfect setting.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great view of the waterfront, attentive ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great view of the waterfront, attentive service, and excellent food. The tomato salad was very fresh. The vegetarian scotch eggs had a great variety of favors. The steak was very tender.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was beautifully prepared, howev ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was beautifully prepared, however the halibut was over cooked for both diners. 3 minutes less and everything would have been perfect.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were staying at the inn on laurel. W ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We were staying at the inn on laurel. We had a Great brunch there. Pricy but worth it. Would go there agIn

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

That was possibly the best Sunday brunch ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

That was possibly the best Sunday brunch my wife and I ever ate! Every item was fresh and the best it could be. The breads were out of this world, salad and vegetables super fresh and the meats cooked to perfection. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was friendly and attentive witho ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. Food was perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. The menu, as others have noted, is quite limited. About eight salads or starters and six entrees -- salmon, halibut, scallops, duck and steak. But it appears that allows them to focus on what they do well. Might be a bit on the pricey side for some folks, but a worthwhile splurge.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We absolutely loved everything about the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We absolutely loved everything about the food, drinks, and service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A great experience! The staff went out o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A great experience! The staff went out of their way to accommodate the special request that i had included in the reservation. The food was great too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One of our favourite places. Close to o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of our favourite places. Close to our work and always offering diverse options, lovely service, amazing food and a beautiful location.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

a good solid restaurant. the service a b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

a good solid restaurant. the service a bit on the go, but it is part of a large restaurant, mostly from the wine server. but the food was tasty and well prepared. we decided not to dinner outside as it was windy and cold for us.... but it was a pity as the location is just on the Victoria BC harbour

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went to Aura for an anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We went to Aura for an anniversary dinner, and we were thoroughly impressed. A request for a nice table for two resulted in them preparing the best seat in the house in advance, with a beautiful view of the inner harbour in a quiet, secluded section of the restaurant. The food was impeccable, and the drinks beyond impressive. Thank you for the wonderful experience! Our time here will be a fond memory from our trip to Victoria.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and spent an afternoon in Victor ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My wife and spent an afternoon in Victoria while visiting from the US. We took the ferry from Port Angeles in the early afternoon and returned on the last ferry. Before departing we had dinner at Aura. We requested an outside table and got one with a nice view from the patio. It was the end of the Happy Hour when we arrived and the restaurant got pretty empty soon after Happy Hour was over. We ordered beers, appetizers and main courses. Everything was very good. The portions are more on the smaller side. Our server was very attentive and friendly. She gave us plenty of time to finish our dinner before she brought the check.

The patio seating is very nice with a beautiful view of the Inner Harbour.

Aura is maybe a five to ten minute walk away from the busiest area of town which we found very nice.

When we return to Victoria we will put Aura on our list for dinner again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The chef at Aura is so creative! The fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The chef at Aura is so creative! The food was some of the most beautiful food I've eaten. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent food and a beautiful view of t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent food and a beautiful view of the harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service and a waterfro ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food, great service and a waterfront view that changes every second!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Aura was amazing. Service and food was i ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Aura was amazing. Service and food was impeccable. We went for a friend's birthday, and ordered the cake through Aura. It was phenomenal. We cant wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location overlooking the Inner Har ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great location overlooking the Inner Harbour of Victoria. Leisurely paced service, just right for a special occasion. The view of the harbor is partially obscured by a large tree, you would think that they would not block out the primary purpose of eating there.

The food was excellent, we had a deep fried sushi appie that was delightful and then scallops and halibut for both of us. Very well prepared and creatively presented. No crumbs left on each plate.

Kudos to Colleen for great service.

We look forward to going back for another meal on another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food. Service was a bit slow a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food. Service was a bit slow and the area was very noisy due to large parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were staying at the hotel and had bee ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were staying at the hotel and had been told this was a great restaurant. The information was correct! We sat by the window and had a lovely view while enjoying a delicious meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

As always this dinner was fantastic... t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always this dinner was fantastic... the appetizers and entrees were exquisite and awakened the taste buds to new and various flavours. Every bite was savored by both of us. As a special birthday, the dessert came with a chocolate birthday "card". The service was attentive , friendly, and informative.

We could not asked for a better experience to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have only ever had dinner there, so c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have only ever had dinner there, so cannot speak to other menus. However, we are always very pleased with the qualify of food and service and highly recommend Aura. Wonderful place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it! The salmon and shrimp Benny wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Loved it! The salmon and shrimp Benny was perfect with extravagant flavors of terragon, cabbage and soy sauce. We will definitely be back for the great food, service, atmosphere and amazing views!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best meal we had in 4 days in Victor ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The best meal we had in 4 days in Victoria on holiday from the Uk. Service from the staff was friendly and professional and the dishes, sushi followed by halibut were freshly prepared and full of flavour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire team at Aura did an outstandi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The entire team at Aura did an outstanding job helping us celebrate our anniversary. Everyone was expecting us and ensured our experience was excellent. We were given the best table with an amazing view of the inner harbor and decorated with the flowers I had sent in advance. They delivered my surprise gift to the table and added an edible note to our dessert. The service at Aura was the best we have experienced in the city!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The yuzu martini pairs with the oysters ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The yuzu martini pairs with the oysters very well since they are served with a yuzu dressing. Great location, attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed that the famous Lau ...

 
 (West Sussex)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were disappointed that the famous Lauel Point Brunch only happens once a month (first Sunday). The Aura a-la-carte brunch was good, but much more modest. The view is always great though- from either venue.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was disappointed. It was expensive, a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I was disappointed. It was expensive, and some dishes were empty. I didn't try the roast beef on my the first round then I went back it was gone. A lot of empty dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Tasty food, GREAT service.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Having some food intolerances, it was a little hard to eat the brunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place and Staff!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Thank you for a wonderful birthday lunch!! Great staff too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food was excellent and the ser ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

While the food was excellent and the servers and staff were very personable, the service was slower and less attentive than expected fit this venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Enjoyable

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I went there for lunch with my boyfriend on a recent visit to Victoria. The food was very good, however there was not much of it. The view was wonderful, and very romantic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The kitchen closes at 9pm and we were co ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The kitchen closes at 9pm and we were constantly being hassled about ordering on time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was great. We also had a table with a view of the ocean Harbour which was very scenic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food left me full and on cloud 9

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Firstofall, yes the view is amazing but honestly I was more amazed by the food. Scallops perfectly cooked. Steelhead Trout perfectly cooked. Beautifully plated, explained thoroughly by our waitstaff and was the best meal i have had in a long time. The mango Panna Cotta desert was so simply sweet and a refreshing finish to my meal. Thank you so much for giving us a wonderful experience while we visited Victoria BC. We will surely come again and would recommend you to anyone.

Sincerely,

Guest from Montana, USA.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Location was a bit hard to find per look ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Location was a bit hard to find per looking at the maps, but we found it and that was good. Staff was great and very accommodating as well as friendly. Manger came over and greeted us as well and congratulated us on our special occasion.

Food was excellent and very tasty, we ordered desert and they created a special sign made from chocolate with an additional message for our occasion. Great experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.