About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Dinner 5pm-9pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet February 5th: 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: (250) 414-6739

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (24)
Waterfront (23)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Modern Decor (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
630 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Worst meal I have ever had. Food was col ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Worst meal I have ever had. Food was cold, tasteless and very poor value

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We dined at Aura for a birthday celebrat ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

We dined at Aura for a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The Server and manager couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with great respect and our coats taken, and our chairs moved out. The food was beautifully presented and tasted just as good as it looked. When asked if they had gluten free bread some was brought immediately. When told that one of us could not eat dairy or gluten, a special menu was brought out.

Will definitely go to Aura again and our thanks go out to them for making a special occasion very special.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous water views, artful presentatio ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous water views, artful presentation of tasty food, excellent service. Quieter than most restaurants in Victoria as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Perfect service. And bea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing food. Perfect service. And beautiful view of the harbour. We'll definitely become regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and nice quiet atmosphere. Ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and nice quiet atmosphere. Nice waterfront view, I would go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always well prepared and the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is always well prepared and the view is one of the best in town. Always a desired destination when we are in Victoria.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to Aura for brunch; great, inventiv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went to Aura for brunch; great, inventive food. It was too cold for outdoor seating, but its location overlooking Victoria's Inner Harbour was unmatched. Attentive, yet discreet service in a bright, greenhouse-like setting. Nice, elegant decor but not snobby.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has it all. Excellent fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This restaurant has it all. Excellent food and staff in a great location at a price that compares very favourably with restaurants aspiring to this class. At Christmas, other restaurants we dined at suffered from reduced and less capable staff but Aura maintained the same high standards that we have experienced at other times of the year. To cap it all, you can conduct a conversation across the table without having to shout. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, , Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was superb. The f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The dining experience was superb. The food was beautifully presented and the food perfect!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant went above and beyond to ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This restaurant went above and beyond to create an amazing 3 course meal that my husband could enjoy even with all his food restrictions and on a very busy Christmas Eve at dinner time. The food was fabulous and the service and views overlooking the harbour made it out favourite meal of the holidays!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our Christmas Eve dinner was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always, our Christmas Eve dinner was beyond our expectations. The atmosphere, service and especially the cuisine was outstanding. New items on the menu proved to be better than one could have expected.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, , Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is there a minimalist trend happening? ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Is there a minimalist trend happening? Food portions were small - so didn't feel like we had a complete meal. Had to go home and eat something afterwards! I enjoyed the flavours of my meal, but I wouldn't go here unless you're on a diet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I'm a foodie and also a freelance writer ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I'm a foodie and also a freelance writer who occasionally writes articles on food and wine. That said, this was one of the best restaurant meals I have had ever! Excellent food, beautifully presented. The last meal I had of this quality was at Araxi in Whistler.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my third time there. Every time i ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was my third time there. Every time it has been a great experience. The best I like is vallet parking . No stress to find parking . Definitely is among my favourite restaurants in town .

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very pleased with our experience ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were very pleased with our experience. Martinis were great. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative menu that was well execute ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Very creative menu that was well executed. Service was excellent, as is all service at The Inn at Laurel Point. Spring and summer menus may have better seafood options.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved our experience. Wonderf ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Absolutely loved our experience. Wonderful service and great perogies! Had a lot of fun with the gingerbread houses as well. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was prepared very well and the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was prepared very well and the service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We stayed at the hotel, The Laurel Point ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We stayed at the hotel, The Laurel Point Inn (Erickson Wing), where the Aura Waterfront Restaurant is located, with several of our family to celebrate our son's UVic graduation. Over the course of our stay we enjoyed breakfasts and a family celebration dinner. We can highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We called the restaurant last minute from the university to shift our celebration dinner reservation by a half hour and they kindly accommodated us, no problem. We are very happy to recommend this hotel and restaurant to all, and very much appreciate their help making our family celebration special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only concern was with the service. ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My only concern was with the service. There were only two tables of two occupied in the restaurant and the lunch hour was over yet the server would not seat us until all five of us arrived at the restaurant. We were left standing in the hall. As one of the party suffers from MS this was inappropriate and not welcoming.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to AURA and sat at the bar. My husb ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went to AURA and sat at the bar. My husband and I shared a cheese plate and it was excellent! The bread, crackers, jam and chutney were all made in house and it was so delicious! George our server at the bar was attentive and welcoming. Enjoyed their selection of wine by the glass and my husband loved the local craft beer on tap! Definitely will be back for Dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant offers a great view of t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This restaurant offers a great view of the water, but that's about all that's great. The price per portion of the restaurant is very high, you get very little food for a high price. The service here is good if you are coming in for a business dinner as you are not checked on in between plates, or ever asked how your meal is. Overall this place really doesn't deserve your business as they are far overpriced and don't care to really give you a decent experience while dinning with them.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food, ambience and service was good but ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food, ambience and service was good but menu was a bit limited

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was not good.food is ok. Nothing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was not good.food is ok. Nothing special and definitely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

A well run restaurant with attentive sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A well run restaurant with attentive staff and excellent people skills at all levels of service, we have eaten there several times and feel it just gets better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a great experience. Service was bad ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not a great experience. Service was bad and they screwed up our bills. Food was mediocre and very limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The waitstaff were not welcoming, food w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The waitstaff were not welcoming, food was slow and very subpar. Would not recommend at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was amazing! Wish I could go ba ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food was amazing! Wish I could go back tomorrow night for dinner...and the next night too! Yum!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Sunday Brunch Buffet. Althoug ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We went to Sunday Brunch Buffet. Although the selection was limited for a "fancy" buffet, the food was not limiting. It was interesting, well prepared, sufficiently varied and absolutely delicious. The cost was reasonable for the quality, and getting a senior discount was a bonus. We definitely will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service was the finest in V ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service was the finest in Victoria. Just outstanding!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful view, attentive service and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A beautiful view, attentive service and exquisite food......what more could a person ask for? Thanks for making our evening a romantic and memorable occasion. We will definitely be back, and will be recommending this lovely spot to our friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chefs are excellent. Unique food com ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The chefs are excellent. Unique food combos, everything delicious. The best gnocchi and risotto. Scallops cooked to perfection. Bread/Buns to die for. Go for happy hour and then slid into dinner at 5:00.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, , Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I always choose table 91 if I can. And I ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2016

I always choose table 91 if I can. And I hope Maitre 'd Robin is there. There is change in menu coming up this weekend but my favourites will be on it----deep fried sushi with a big difference. Try it. Also have the heritage tomato salad.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, , Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful ann ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a beautiful anniversary at aura on Saturday night. The evening was gorgeous, we had a table with a view and our server was David. He was patient, kind and helpful :-) the manager was a gentleman named Robin, I believe. So inviting from our arrival and very personable. They made us feel extra special when they brought out the dessert with a sign on it saying "happy anniversary". We enjoyed our night so much that we came back the following evening for some tea and dessert. Robin recognized us right away and sat us outside with blankets and a view. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone :-)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very narrow menu- very small portions- 1 ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very narrow menu- very small portions- 1 carrot and 1 bean cut into 3!!! Poor desert options

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent meal.great presentation.good s ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellent meal.great presentation.good service. Would recommend and go again

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous. It was a treat fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was fabulous. It was a treat for the taste buds.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had dinner there many times. Never been ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Had dinner there many times. Never been disappointed! One of our favourite restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The waitress killed the evening. We book ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The waitress killed the evening. We booked in advance and said it was for a birthday. There was no valet and we parked our car. We were seated at the best table and view in the restaurant. The waitress was friendly and got us specific craft cocktails we asked for. we then said we'd be dining and asked for 2 courses of appetizers. She said she hadn't had someone dine in a while, which became obvious. She didn't write things down and brought the first appetizer and it was excellent. She took the rest of the dinner order and forgot the second appetizer. The first appetizer plates were never cleared. The sommelier delivered the wine early. She must have forgot the main entrees as well as we had to ask for them and they were cold. Dessert was set up for the birthday and she came to ask what we wanted. We said nothing asked for the check and left them with the cake. We couldn't take any more disappointments.The food was good but not outstanding and the level of service was lacking. It may be one of the best in Victoria, but this is not a notable restaurant for seasoned travelers.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Nice spot for a casual early Sunday brun ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice spot for a casual early Sunday brunch. Outstanding views.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.