Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch: 11:30am-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet from 11am-2pm: June 4th, July 2nd, August 6th, September 3rd, October 1st

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: (250) 414-6739

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (21)
Waterfront (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Local Ingredients (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 10 hours ago

Excellent food and service. Unusual tastes that were fabulous and expanded our repertoire. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful restaurant with views of the Barbour. Fabulous service and excellent fresh seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

This was an excellent example of a true "dining experience "...the food was wonderful down to the last morsel.I had the beef plate with a watermelon sprout salad.....fantastic presentation...a feast for the eyes..had to take pictures of it all.The service so very friendly and explanotory.
Thank You so much...she will alwayscremember her Birthday Dinner at Aura!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, excellent food, terrific view of Victoria from the patio. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Having a japanese/french food is quiet an experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent, creative food served in a lovely setting overlooking the harbor. The menu included exciting flavors and unusual presentations of locally sourced ingredients. The service was gracious and welcoming. We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Although I missed the seafood pasta dish but food is always consistence and delicious!
Our server is very friendly, thoughtful and cheerful! (Oooops... forgotten her name...sorry! )
Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food was excellently prepared and presented. I had watermelon sprout appetizer, halibut bake in banana leaf, and unconstructed strawberry shortcake.
Each course was a delight fir the eye and the palette. Meal was perfectly paced, server was excellent, price was quite fair. The view was also special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

There was nothing special about this restaurant or dining experience. It was, essentially, the "restaurant in the hotel" for breakfast, lunch, dinner. The view was "ok" as was the food. Nothing remarkable. Nothing worth going there for (we had cabbed over from the Empress - afterward asked ourselves "why?"). Service was less than average. Our server tried to take my plate 3 times before I was finished. There were lots of open tables and we didn't stay an inordinate amount of time so to be rushed made no sense. Not sure why this restaurant is rated so highly on Trip Advisor. I wouldn't bother going back when there are far better dining options with an equal view in Victoria. Disappointing for sure.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Anniversary and a birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Very welcoming staff. Attentive but no rushed!
Good food.
Nice scenery.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautiful setting. But don't come here hungry. There is way more plate than food here. Interesting tastes, lovely presentation. But that is it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful fish restaurant. Great location on the water. It was fun watching the boats in the harbor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good food and service. We enjoyed the extensive cheese menu! Nice view and general ambiance. Quiet.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Service very good,Presentation amazing,food delicious

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had superb service with Kate F...the food was outstanding from thee amazing cheeseboard..vichyssoise. ..the halibut so tender in banana leaf...yummy shotcakes dessert

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Limited choices on lunch menu. Many exotic and innovative choices, but nothing traditional. Portion sizes small - not adequate for lunch. Two out of three at our table were disappointed and would not return. Better value and better choices out there with an equally good view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had the last meal of our weeklong Alaskan cruise here on an early Friday evening, a very short cab ride from the cruise line dock. We had a table looking out across the harbor at the Empress Hotel - spectacular.
Our waitress was superb, really understood what they serve and helpful in every way. The manager was also helpful and stopped by a couple of times to chat and check if there was anything he could do for us.
The menu was limited but very impressive from a foodie perspective. The halibut wrapped in a banan leaf with a mild sambal sauce was terrific.
The martini made with locally distilled gin was really nice as was the wine.
We were a couple of tables removed from a crowd that never learned how to lower their voices in a restaurant (why do people act like this???) but they left mid meal.
All in all, we very much look forward to returning again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My friends and I had a very enjoyable time on the outdoor patio. The food was great and the staff (especially Douglas) were awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Beautiful location and great ambiance for a small family celebration but unfortunately overall the food was okay but didn't match the reviews for Aura as one of the top 10 Victoria locations for brunch. The potatoes were dry as if they had been under a heat lamp for some time and the brunch menu was very limited. Maybe the reviews were for the brunch buffet? The service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food and services was incredible! We had a very enjoyable experience. The dishes were unique and full of flavor! Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We visited for a late lunch and found the food to be just right. Service was excellent, particularly Jennifer's attentive care. Thank you, Jennifer.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was very artistically served and was imaginative. It tasted very good but there was just too little of it. I left the restaurant still feeling hungry and looking for a snack!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We had a delicious meal of appetizers, main course & dessert with a lovely view of the harbour. The plating of each course was beautiful, teasing all our senses, and tasted as good as it looked.We brought our own bottle of Veuve Clicquot champagne and happily paid the $25 corkage fee. Our server was charming and attentive and the maitre d' ensured our glasses were never out of champagne. Overall, the service was friendly and attentive without being overbearing. We were there to celebrate our anniversary and were pleasantly surprised to receive a chocolate "card" with our dessert wishing us a happy anniversary. Nice touch.

The only negative to our evening was the large table seated behind us which was filled with a group of very loud people who obviously were never taught to use their "inside voices". it was unfortunate that this group could not have been placed in a private room. Their presence definitely destroyed the overall ambience one would expect from such a lovely setting.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great food that was interesting and well prepared. The service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

It's always special to go to Laurel Point, and Aura makes a good place to sit and chill out with some very creative dishes. I love the pyrogies. Light and crispy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic food and service in a nice atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was creative and the presentation was outstanding. Service was attentive but not obtrusive. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My wife and I dined at Aura celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the harbor and was located conveniently from our hotel. The decor is modern, the seating is comfortable and we were seated at a quiet table with a spectacular view. Upon entering the restaurant we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary" and about every employee we came in contact with wished us well. The food and drink was outstanding. The Squash Soup was the best I've tasted and my Braised Beef dish and my wife's Rockfish were fresh and prepared just right. To congratulate us the chef sent an little appetizer and our dessert (Gingerbread S'more) included a pastry sign congratulating us. The care with the personal service and the excellent cuisine made this one of our favorite restaurants in Victoria. We will be telling our friends about Aura and will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Incredible food in beautiful surroundings. Service was superb. Very creative menu. Our server gave good guidance in menu choices and wine. The view of the inner harbor provides a relaxing ambience. Must eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great location! A quiet restaurant with wonderful view of the harbour, good service, good food! I would imagine in warmer weather the outside dining would be great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Food was very tasty but not hot. Oysters were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Arrogant service. Off hand. Went there for breakfast with a friend who is moving to another city.

The table was not clean. cutlery was spotted. I expected more. I didn't say anything to the server as I didn't want to embarrass my friends.

I won't bother going to this restaurant again for a long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for the Easter brunch. Everything was amazing, especially the seafood! Pleasant live music in the background. Was a great way to spend our first year anniversary. Will definately be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Beautifully presented, well-balanced flavors and great service. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

El servicio fue impecable. Pocas mesas y el mesero y maitre d super atentos

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The view is spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I made a reservation through open table two weeks in advance. I made a note that I want a window seat as it was a special occasion. On the same day, I also phoned the restaurant to change my reservation time and again asked If i could have a window seat, the lady on the phone told me that she will reserve a window seat for me and there is no problem at all. On the day when we got to the restaurant, we were told there was no window seat and that they were all reserved or taken. I explained my situation to the waitress and she called the manager. All the manager could say was they will try and cannot promised and we were placed away from the windows. Meanwhile I noted few empty tables by the window with reserved sign on. I walked away from this restaurant feeling disappointed with the management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Dined at Aura for dinner during a short visit to Victoria. The place is quiet and has a lovely view of the harbour. We did not know what to expect in terms of the food but we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and the balanced flavours of all the dishes we tried. Had such a wonderful and memorable meal.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our Alberta friends were delighted with the corner-table view of the harbour, and the quiet ambience which encouraged conversation. Both the vegetarians (who had gnocchi) and the omnivores (beef and Arctic char) found the preparation, flavours and service outstanding. Aura is now my top choice in Victoria for comfortable and elegant dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.