About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Dinner 5pm-9pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet February 5th: 11am-2pm

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a small private dining space for groups of up to 12 people.

Private Party Contact:
Kimberly Spence: (250) 414-6739

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (23)
Scenic View (21)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Cozy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
639 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our night was made even more special by ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Our night was made even more special by our spectacular dinner and the service we experienced.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view. Excellent food. Great se ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Beautiful view. Excellent food. Great service (especially the manager). What really disappointed us was the fact that if you sit next to a window (inner harbour side), you're right next to the coffee machine/cleaning supplies/server station. Very unusual for a restaurant of this calibre. Kinda ruined if for me from the beginning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

it would be nice it they had a brunch. o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

it would be nice it they had a brunch. other than that every thing else was great

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second time at Aura Waterfront Resta ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our second time at Aura Waterfront Restaurant for our anniversary. Service was excellent, food was spectacular, as was the wine. We will be back soon as we hope to try out the patio in milder weather. Thank you for a great anniversary!!

Dave and Lisa

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent quality indgredients More ch ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

excellent quality indgredients

More choices in the menu would be nice

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Quality of food has slipped since last v ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Quality of food has slipped since last visit when it was outstanding! Hoping just temporary slip because food is original, beautifully plated and amazing usually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the ambiance. Quiet and dark so pe ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Loved the ambiance. Quiet and dark so perfect for a date or special occasion. The fish dishes is what we focused on and they did not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Wow! This is our second time at Aura an ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Wow! This is our second time at Aura and we continue to be impressed. Great service, great view, excellent food. The quality, taste and creativity of the food is very impressive. The wait staff is attentive yet understated... thanks Simon! We dine out in Victoria a lot and I'm not sure we've found a better restaurant. We will back... soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Family Style, Happy Hour, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant at ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant at Laurel Point Inn. The food was excellent and very nicely prepared and presented! The view is absolutely lovely! The service was very good, attentive and not overly annoying. We will definitely return!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Waterfront, Family Style, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Worst meal I have ever had. Food was col ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Worst meal I have ever had. Food was cold, tasteless and very poor value

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We dined at Aura for a birthday celebrat ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We dined at Aura for a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The Server and manager couldn't do enough for us. We were greeted with great respect and our coats taken, and our chairs moved out. The food was beautifully presented and tasted just as good as it looked. When asked if they had gluten free bread some was brought immediately. When told that one of us could not eat dairy or gluten, a special menu was brought out.

Will definitely go to Aura again and our thanks go out to them for making a special occasion very special.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous water views, artful presentatio ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Fabulous water views, artful presentation of tasty food, excellent service. Quieter than most restaurants in Victoria as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food. Perfect service. And bea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Amazing food. Perfect service. And beautiful view of the harbour. We'll definitely become regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and nice quiet atmosphere. Ni ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and nice quiet atmosphere. Nice waterfront view, I would go back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always well prepared and the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is always well prepared and the view is one of the best in town. Always a desired destination when we are in Victoria.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Went to Aura for brunch; great, inventiv ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Went to Aura for brunch; great, inventive food. It was too cold for outdoor seating, but its location overlooking Victoria's Inner Harbour was unmatched. Attentive, yet discreet service in a bright, greenhouse-like setting. Nice, elegant decor but not snobby.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Seasonal, Business Meals, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has it all. Excellent fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This restaurant has it all. Excellent food and staff in a great location at a price that compares very favourably with restaurants aspiring to this class. At Christmas, other restaurants we dined at suffered from reduced and less capable staff but Aura maintained the same high standards that we have experienced at other times of the year. To cap it all, you can conduct a conversation across the table without having to shout. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, , Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was superb. The f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The dining experience was superb. The food was beautifully presented and the food perfect!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant went above and beyond to ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This restaurant went above and beyond to create an amazing 3 course meal that my husband could enjoy even with all his food restrictions and on a very busy Christmas Eve at dinner time. The food was fabulous and the service and views overlooking the harbour made it out favourite meal of the holidays!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, our Christmas Eve dinner was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always, our Christmas Eve dinner was beyond our expectations. The atmosphere, service and especially the cuisine was outstanding. New items on the menu proved to be better than one could have expected.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, , Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Is there a minimalist trend happening? ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Is there a minimalist trend happening? Food portions were small - so didn't feel like we had a complete meal. Had to go home and eat something afterwards! I enjoyed the flavours of my meal, but I wouldn't go here unless you're on a diet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

I'm a foodie and also a freelance writer ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

I'm a foodie and also a freelance writer who occasionally writes articles on food and wine. That said, this was one of the best restaurant meals I have had ever! Excellent food, beautifully presented. The last meal I had of this quality was at Araxi in Whistler.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my third time there. Every time i ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was my third time there. Every time it has been a great experience. The best I like is vallet parking . No stress to find parking . Definitely is among my favourite restaurants in town .

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very pleased with our experience ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We were very pleased with our experience. Martinis were great. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative menu that was well execute ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Very creative menu that was well executed. Service was excellent, as is all service at The Inn at Laurel Point. Spring and summer menus may have better seafood options.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely loved our experience. Wonderf ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Absolutely loved our experience. Wonderful service and great perogies! Had a lot of fun with the gingerbread houses as well. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was prepared very well and the serv ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was prepared very well and the service was excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We stayed at the hotel, The Laurel Point ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We stayed at the hotel, The Laurel Point Inn (Erickson Wing), where the Aura Waterfront Restaurant is located, with several of our family to celebrate our son's UVic graduation. Over the course of our stay we enjoyed breakfasts and a family celebration dinner. We can highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant. Service was excellent and the food was delicious. We called the restaurant last minute from the university to shift our celebration dinner reservation by a half hour and they kindly accommodated us, no problem. We are very happy to recommend this hotel and restaurant to all, and very much appreciate their help making our family celebration special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only concern was with the service. ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My only concern was with the service. There were only two tables of two occupied in the restaurant and the lunch hour was over yet the server would not seat us until all five of us arrived at the restaurant. We were left standing in the hall. As one of the party suffers from MS this was inappropriate and not welcoming.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Went to AURA and sat at the bar. My husb ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went to AURA and sat at the bar. My husband and I shared a cheese plate and it was excellent! The bread, crackers, jam and chutney were all made in house and it was so delicious! George our server at the bar was attentive and welcoming. Enjoyed their selection of wine by the glass and my husband loved the local craft beer on tap! Definitely will be back for Dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant offers a great view of t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This restaurant offers a great view of the water, but that's about all that's great. The price per portion of the restaurant is very high, you get very little food for a high price. The service here is good if you are coming in for a business dinner as you are not checked on in between plates, or ever asked how your meal is. Overall this place really doesn't deserve your business as they are far overpriced and don't care to really give you a decent experience while dinning with them.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food, ambience and service was good but ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food, ambience and service was good but menu was a bit limited

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was not good.food is ok. Nothing ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was not good.food is ok. Nothing special and definitely not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

A well run restaurant with attentive sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

A well run restaurant with attentive staff and excellent people skills at all levels of service, we have eaten there several times and feel it just gets better.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not a great experience. Service was bad ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Not a great experience. Service was bad and they screwed up our bills. Food was mediocre and very limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The waitstaff were not welcoming, food w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The waitstaff were not welcoming, food was slow and very subpar. Would not recommend at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was amazing! Wish I could go ba ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food was amazing! Wish I could go back tomorrow night for dinner...and the next night too! Yum!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to Sunday Brunch Buffet. Althoug ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We went to Sunday Brunch Buffet. Although the selection was limited for a "fancy" buffet, the food was not limiting. It was interesting, well prepared, sufficiently varied and absolutely delicious. The cost was reasonable for the quality, and getting a senior discount was a bonus. We definitely will be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The food and service was the finest in V ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food and service was the finest in Victoria. Just outstanding!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful view, attentive service and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 30, 2016

A beautiful view, attentive service and exquisite food......what more could a person ask for? Thanks for making our evening a romantic and memorable occasion. We will definitely be back, and will be recommending this lovely spot to our friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.