Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio

A true gem of the Inner Harbour, AURA waterfront restaurant + patio is Victoria’s premiere dining destination for Pacific Rim inspired cuisine.

Featuring an eclectic winelist, island microbrews and handcrafted cocktails, enjoy spectacular harbour views from the dining room, bask in the glow of the under-lit Onyx bar, or relax on the waterfront patio. For larger gatherings, retreat to AURA’s private dining room, where original works of art keep you company.

AURA is placed perfectly to watch the world go by.

680 Montreal Street
Victoria, BC V8V 1Z8
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday:
Breakfast: 7am-11am, Lunch: 11:30am-5pm, Dinner 5pm-9pm

First Sunday of the Month Brunch Buffet from 11am-2pm: June 4th, July 2nd, August 6th, September 3rd, October 1st

Cross Street:
Belleville St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(250) 414-6739

Website:
http://www.aurarestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet or secure underground parking available.

Executive Chef:
Takashi Ito c.c.c.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For special and upcoming events please visit our website at http://aurarestaurant.ca/events for details.

Aura Waterfront Restaurant + Patio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (25)
Waterfront (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
See All
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Romantic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
709 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I happened to indicate it was our anniversary on the open table reservation and every one of the staff members greeted us with best wishes. It was a lovely experience. The oysters were amazing!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

TRuly creative and magnificent food, starting with the breads and ending with dessert. SPectacular!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

very limited menu and not that appealing. Hard to find something one wanted. The staff were wonderful and upon exit when we were needing a taxi for a handicapped guests the hotel staff were great.
We will give it another chance mainly because we have been impressed in the past and the friendliness of the staff. But who ever put together the menu should rethink it.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The fried sushi appetizer was very good but the meal went down from there. Our entrée of a fish sampler was lukewarm, tasteless and very small in portion size for the price.
The ambiance is very nice overlooking the bay .

As we were staying at the hotel we did have breakfast there two mornings as it was included with our hotel package; it was quite nice both mornings and again the view from the bay is lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a mixed response to the meal at Aura. My halibut wrapped in banana leaves was absolutely perfect! Delicious, moist, and prepared wonderfully. I liked all that accompanied the fish; small rice cakes and asparagus were tasty. I also enjoyed the "hedgehog" ice cream that we selected for dessert. My husband felt that his duck was just so-so. He orders duck often and did not like it or the accompaniments this time.

We ate breakfast at Aura during our trip and my omelet was very nice, good potatoes with tomato and onion as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Outstanding Halibut in banana leaf with crispy coconut rice cakes. Inspired menu. Professional and courteous service. Relaxed comfortable ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very nice overall dining experience. Expertly prepared meal, friendly and knowledgeable staff combined with a nice atmosphere . Will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Disappointing. The service, location and view were all excellent. The flavors of the food were a major disappointment. We had the halibut and two appetizers. All dishes were presented well, but just didn't have any flavor. We had halibut two other times in the week at different restaurants that was 100% better. Plus, the halibut was served room temp/cold. The chef here needs work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our new favorite restaurant in Victoria. The food was creative, artistic and delicious. The staff was thoughtful and attentive. Free valet parking. Nice view of the harbor. What's not to love?

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Just overpriced. Good food but nothing excellent. No wow factor so overpriced for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Had a great experience for my father's 75th birthday. A touch disappointed in my meal's portion size, but the presentation was wonderful. My parents particularly enjoyed the Halibut and steak dinner - indicated they were perfect. Ambience and atmosphere are incredible - with beautiful views of boats and other small craft sailing through. Great for special occasions and dates and will definitely be back.

As I am a bit of a pig when it comes to portions - my dinner size was not too disconcerting. Limited opportunity to try Octopus, which was tasty. Service was impeccable, as Jennifer had great timing; never being obtrusive, without leaving us waiting.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Although we (party of 4) came in during intermezzo period (2pm to 5pm) due to our time constraints, the intermezzo menu offered fabulous cuisine for afternoon bites. There are enough teasing numbers of tapas-styled dishes on the menu to makes you want to come back for course dining at night.
Scallops, always a great measure of chefs technicality, were undoubtedly cooked to perfection.
Fine dining experience in an elegant ambiance.
We will come back for dinner for sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Ate here once before years ago, most recent visit was not as memorable. I ordered the Seafood Trio which was disappointing, food arrived almost room temp. Wife got Halibut which I tasted and it was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food was delicious & creative. However, it was hard to get the server's attention at times. But when we did get their attention their service was top notch! Everything we had was delicious, except the eclair which was slightly disappointing as the eclair shell was quite dry. Would definitely recommend the deep fried sushi though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Tapas, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent experience here. I had a strip loin that I asked be done to the chef's liking. It arrived rare, which surprised me for a strip loin. But it was quite good - way better than I would have imagined. And the entire plate was balanced and complementary.

The service was also excellent. Attentive but not overbearing.

We had a nice table along the window - very pleasant. Quiet vibe.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Aura was excellent with an allergy in our group! Very good service and helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I was quite surprised how great the food/ chef was. The restaurant seemed to be in the dining room of a small unremarkable looking hotel . There were beautiful harbor views as well. Come for the food!!! Unusual flavors and a great menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

All round it was a lovely lunch on a beautiful day (which helped, of course). My salad meal was lovely but I think a couple of slices of good bread would have enhanced it. The server could not suggest an alternative (not her fault, but other places give bread and butter for $4 or less, even if it is not gratis). Otherwise a fine time.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Sunday Brunch was quite disappointing. That's a regular no-thrills breakfast with added burger. Service was OK, but we had to chase someone to get teaspoon for the tee. Food quality and choice was average, ladies on the table next to us gave up explaining what Mimosa is. No buffet, while it was clearly what was expected by a lot of people, including us. No need to wait until 11AM to get what was served all morning before that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This was a great choice for my wife's birthday dinner. Great view, service and very interesting food selections. They even had my wife's favourite dessert - cream brulee although it was not on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food and service. Unusual tastes that were fabulous and expanded our repertoire. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food is quite distinctive and really excellent. Beautiful views of water. A little hard to find a place to park there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with views of the Barbour. Fabulous service and excellent fresh seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 24, 2017

This was an excellent example of a true "dining experience "...the food was wonderful down to the last morsel.I had the beef plate with a watermelon sprout salad.....fantastic presentation...a feast for the eyes..had to take pictures of it all.The service so very friendly and explanotory.
Thank You so much...she will alwayscremember her Birthday Dinner at Aura!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great service, excellent food, terrific view of Victoria from the patio. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Having a japanese/french food is quiet an experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent, creative food served in a lovely setting overlooking the harbor. The menu included exciting flavors and unusual presentations of locally sourced ingredients. The service was gracious and welcoming. We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Although I missed the seafood pasta dish but food is always consistence and delicious!
Our server is very friendly, thoughtful and cheerful! (Oooops... forgotten her name...sorry! )
Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Food was excellently prepared and presented. I had watermelon sprout appetizer, halibut bake in banana leaf, and unconstructed strawberry shortcake.
Each course was a delight fir the eye and the palette. Meal was perfectly paced, server was excellent, price was quite fair. The view was also special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

There was nothing special about this restaurant or dining experience. It was, essentially, the "restaurant in the hotel" for breakfast, lunch, dinner. The view was "ok" as was the food. Nothing remarkable. Nothing worth going there for (we had cabbed over from the Empress - afterward asked ourselves "why?"). Service was less than average. Our server tried to take my plate 3 times before I was finished. There were lots of open tables and we didn't stay an inordinate amount of time so to be rushed made no sense. Not sure why this restaurant is rated so highly on Trip Advisor. I wouldn't bother going back when there are far better dining options with an equal view in Victoria. Disappointing for sure.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Anniversary and a birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Very welcoming staff. Attentive but no rushed!
Good food.
Nice scenery.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Beautiful setting. But don't come here hungry. There is way more plate than food here. Interesting tastes, lovely presentation. But that is it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful fish restaurant. Great location on the water. It was fun watching the boats in the harbor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Very good food and service. We enjoyed the extensive cheese menu! Nice view and general ambiance. Quiet.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Service very good,Presentation amazing,food delicious

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had superb service with Kate F...the food was outstanding from thee amazing cheeseboard..vichyssoise. ..the halibut so tender in banana leaf...yummy shotcakes dessert

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Limited choices on lunch menu. Many exotic and innovative choices, but nothing traditional. Portion sizes small - not adequate for lunch. Two out of three at our table were disappointed and would not return. Better value and better choices out there with an equally good view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had the last meal of our weeklong Alaskan cruise here on an early Friday evening, a very short cab ride from the cruise line dock. We had a table looking out across the harbor at the Empress Hotel - spectacular.
Our waitress was superb, really understood what they serve and helpful in every way. The manager was also helpful and stopped by a couple of times to chat and check if there was anything he could do for us.
The menu was limited but very impressive from a foodie perspective. The halibut wrapped in a banan leaf with a mild sambal sauce was terrific.
The martini made with locally distilled gin was really nice as was the wine.
We were a couple of tables removed from a crowd that never learned how to lower their voices in a restaurant (why do people act like this???) but they left mid meal.
All in all, we very much look forward to returning again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

My friends and I had a very enjoyable time on the outdoor patio. The food was great and the staff (especially Douglas) were awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.