About Aura Thai - NY

460 9th Ave.
New York, NY 10018
View Larger Map

Ninth Avenue locals have known Aura for its refreshing cuisine and homely atmosphere. But what they don't know is… the fusion cafe is actually named after the matriarch of the Watanasuparp family, Nora; hence, NAURA. This minor misnomer is intentional and welcomed, though, because the eatery evokes Thai aura and flavor into every dish. While the Pad Thai is as traditional as Siam, the Jap Chae, Lemongrass Chicken and Pad Cashew Nut are as international as Korea, Vietnam and China. Like a treasure chest of Asian favorites, the menu offers fusion food with Thai flare so you don't have to travel to the Far East for gourmet food.

Experience the quality and taste, warmth and aura of Thai fusion in New York City. You'll witness some patrons hoping to be seated, and others, spilling into the sidewalks of Ninth Avenue, all waiting for their bit of Naura's – or Aura's – cooking.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Thai

Hours of Operation:


Lunch & Dinner:
Daily: 11:30am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
W. 36th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 971-8530

Website:
http://www.aurathaicuisine.com/

Public Transit:
34th St-8th Ave (A, C, E) 8th Ave-42nd St (A, C, E, 1, 2, 3, S, 7, N, Q, R, W)

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Aura Thai - NY Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (3)
fit for foodies (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
See All
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
13 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a treat!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent food with just the right blend of pepper spice. I loved it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I actually suffered really bad food pois ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

I actually suffered really bad food poisoning after eating at this location

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

The food was very good. However, the wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

The food was very good. However, the wait staff seemed to preoccupied talking among themselves rather than taking care of the customers. Tables were too crowded and made it difficult to get in an out of your table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

Great quick meal

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

The first time I ate here a couple of months ago it was BYOB, but they must have been waiting for their liquor license since it's not anymore (so I'm glad I called and asked), but the happy hour drink specials were good at $4 for beers and $6 for wine, and the beer selection was decent for a relatively small one. The food came very quickly and we were all happy with what we got; they must have the sauces ready to go since you choose the dish and also choose the meat. I got the Massaman Curry, and had asked how spicy it was since it had the "spicy" symbol, and the waitress said not too spicy, and it was great for my moderate-spice tastes. The restaurant is cozy and very cute and has a nice atmosphere. I'll definitely be happy to go back when I'm looking for a place for dinner again in the area.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Aura Thai- Midtown West

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

I took my mom here one weekend when she was visiting (it's close to Port Authority). We love thai and have eaten it many times, at MANY different thai restaurants and we agreed this was by far the best we've ever had.

It's tiny inside but the size really adds to the ambiance and vibe of the place so if that's not what you're into, know that ahead of time. The service was prompt and staff was nice.

We shared the chicken satay to start and it was great. Then I got the beef pad thai and she got the shrimp pad thai- she's really not a steak person but tried mine and said that the steak was such excellent quality and so perfectly cooked that she'd order that instead next time. Whenever she mentions visiting she asks if we can go back. Awesome spot!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Review Title is Weird Aura Thai is Amazing

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

Booked Aura Thai strictly for logistical purposes and could not have been happier with my decision. 6 people ordered 6 different dishes and everyone was happy with everything. Their happy hour special was in effect on a Friday which was a very pleasant surprise, making dinner and drinks delicious and affordable. The only thing that should be noted for booking on the open table app is that Aura merged with another restaurant called Zib Zoob which is the more visible name on the awning. Other than that, the experience exceeded all expectations.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was extremely kind and attentiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Waitress was extremely kind and attentive. Not the same to say of the older hostess who seems annoyed. The place was full despite I called an hour before to confirm reservation and our table was not ready or preserved. Place is small and cramped. Pad Thai unfortunately overcooked and heavy on sauce. The rest of the food was good. Not enough reasons for me to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

The food was delicious and came out very ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

The food was delicious and came out very quickly. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Time!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2015

The food was very good, but what we loved the most were the mango martinis - especially during the 1/2 price happy hour! Great deal, great service, very good food; we will be back!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved this lil neighborhood gem. Wish I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

Loved this lil neighborhood gem. Wish I lived in New York. Would be there weekly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A Real Gem

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 8, 2015

I've eaten at Aura Thai four times in the last two years. Not fancy. Great food. Great price point. I recommend Aura Thai. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A group of us were looking

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2014

A group of us were looking for someplace close to Penn Station to celebrate a friend's birthday. We almost walked by the restaurant as the sign for the noodle restaurant next door is bigger. Varied menu, requested Thai spicy and it was awesome. Excellent happy hour deals until 8PM. Excited to find this gem in the Penn Station area.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

horrible service w/ 19% gratuity

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2014

The service definitely lacked quality, we were waiting multiple times for him to just come around to our table, and it's not like the restaurant was busy (there was only one other group of 5 or 6 there). On top of that, they charged a group of us 5 as a group of 6, with a gratuity of 19%. Just beware of that.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.