HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Aura Thai - NY

17 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Good For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants


Ninth Avenue locals have known Aura for its refreshing cuisine and homely atmosphere. But what they don't know is… the fusion cafe is actually named after the matriarch of the Watanasuparp family, Nora; hence, NAURA. This minor misnomer is intentional and welcomed, though, because the eatery evokes Thai aura and flavor into every dish. While the Pad Thai is as traditional as Siam, the Jap Chae, Lemongrass Chicken and Pad Cashew Nut are as international as Korea, Vietnam and China. Like a treasure chest of Asian favorites, the menu offers fusion food with Thai flare so you don't have to travel to the Far East for gourmet food.

Experience the quality and taste, warmth and aura of Thai fusion in New York City. You'll witness some patrons hoping to be seated, and others, spilling into the sidewalks of Ninth Avenue, all waiting for their bit of Naura's – or Aura's – cooking.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch & Dinner:
Daily: 11:30am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(212) 971-8530
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
W. 36th St.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
34th St-8th Ave (A, C, E) 8th Ave-42nd St (A, C, E, 1, 2, 3, S, 7, N, Q, R, W)
Beer, Delivery, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 17 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
1.0Dined on May 21, 2017

I went there. The restaurant was closed I don't know what happened the restaurant. Open table is really bad service bc i went there n n closed the restaurant. U didn't notice for me .. bad service both..

2.0Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice service but the rest not at all of what one expects of a Thai restaurant. Old local, narrow, too many tables. You can hardly walk around! Prices are low but I would not profile this restaurant in any tourist guide as something special.

4.0Dined on January 11, 2017

We dined at Aura Thai during our6 day visit to NYC. The food is fabulous and the staff very attentive. Our first visit there was so good we just had to try it again and we were very satisfied again.

5.0Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was wonderful, very flavorful. We had two curry dishes and we loved them. The service was excellent. We will go again.

3.0Dined on August 18, 2016

I went there because I love Thai food, and at this restaurant was very close to my hotel. It was also highly rated on open table. The ambience at this restaurant is not perfect, it is very simply decorated dining room with a small tables for two persons. I wish they would give more attention to decorating this dining room with ethnic motives. I ordered Tom Kha coconut soup with chicken. The flavor was quite authentic, but the chicken was apparently put into the soup a minute before it was served, so it did not pick up the wonderful flavor of the broth. The green curry was also OK but nothing special. So this restaurant is OK for those who want to learn a little bit about Thai Food, but not for those who know and love it. However, considering the price of $30 for two course dinner with drink the value is quite good.

4.0Dined on May 18, 2016

Excellent food with just the right blend of pepper spice. I loved it!

3.0Dined on January 8, 2016

The food was very good. However, the wait staff seemed to preoccupied talking among themselves rather than taking care of the customers. Tables were too crowded and made it difficult to get in an out of your table.

4.0Dined on December 30, 2015

The first time I ate here a couple of months ago it was BYOB, but they must have been waiting for their liquor license since it's not anymore (so I'm glad I called and asked), but the happy hour drink specials were good at $4 for beers and $6 for wine, and the beer selection was decent for a relatively small one. The food came very quickly and we were all happy with what we got; they must have the sauces ready to go since you choose the dish and also choose the meat. I got the Massaman Curry, and had asked how spicy it was since it had the "spicy" symbol, and the waitress said not too spicy, and it was great for my moderate-spice tastes. The restaurant is cozy and very cute and has a nice atmosphere. I'll definitely be happy to go back when I'm looking for a place for dinner again in the area.

5.0Dined on December 19, 2015

I took my mom here one weekend when she was visiting (it's close to Port Authority). We love thai and have eaten it many times, at MANY different thai restaurants and we agreed this was by far the best we've ever had.
It's tiny inside but the size really adds to the ambiance and vibe of the place so if that's not what you're into, know that ahead of time. The service was prompt and staff was nice.

We shared the chicken satay to start and it was great. Then I got the beef pad thai and she got the shrimp pad thai- she's really not a steak person but tried mine and said that the steak was such excellent quality and so perfectly cooked that she'd order that instead next time. Whenever she mentions visiting she asks if we can go back. Awesome spot!

5.0Dined on November 27, 2015

Booked Aura Thai strictly for logistical purposes and could not have been happier with my decision. 6 people ordered 6 different dishes and everyone was happy with everything. Their happy hour special was in effect on a Friday which was a very pleasant surprise, making dinner and drinks delicious and affordable. The only thing that should be noted for booking on the open table app is that Aura merged with another restaurant called Zib Zoob which is the more visible name on the awning. Other than that, the experience exceeded all expectations.

3.0Dined on October 24, 2015

Waitress was extremely kind and attentive. Not the same to say of the older hostess who seems annoyed. The place was full despite I called an hour before to confirm reservation and our table was not ready or preserved. Place is small and cramped. Pad Thai unfortunately overcooked and heavy on sauce. The rest of the food was good. Not enough reasons for me to go back.

4.0Dined on August 2, 2015

The food was delicious and came out very quickly. Service was great.

5.0Dined on April 15, 2015

The food was very good, but what we loved the most were the mango martinis - especially during the 1/2 price happy hour! Great deal, great service, very good food; we will be back!

5.0Dined on March 1, 2015

Loved this lil neighborhood gem. Wish I lived in New York. Would be there weekly.

4.0Dined on January 8, 2015

I've eaten at Aura Thai four times in the last two years. Not fancy. Great food. Great price point. I recommend Aura Thai. Love it!

5.0Dined on March 22, 2014

A group of us were looking for someplace close to Penn Station to celebrate a friend's birthday. We almost walked by the restaurant as the sign for the noodle restaurant next door is bigger. Varied menu, requested Thai spicy and it was awesome. Excellent happy hour deals until 8PM. Excited to find this gem in the Penn Station area.

1.0Dined on March 20, 2014

The service definitely lacked quality, we were waiting multiple times for him to just come around to our table, and it's not like the restaurant was busy (there was only one other group of 5 or 6 there). On top of that, they charged a group of us 5 as a group of 6, with a gratuity of 19%. Just beware of that.