About August Henry's City Saloon

August Henry’s City Saloon is located in the heart of Pittsburgh’s Cultural District across from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. One of Pittsburgh’s more popular restaurants, August Henry’s is best known for its Steaks and burgers, offering both a lunch and dinner menu with a responsible wait staff to serve you daily. The lunch menu has a large selection of classic sandwiches, burgers and large salads like the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. The dinner menu offers a great selection of dinner entrees to please anyone"s taste. Whether you're hungry for a big juicy New York Strip Steak, a Kobe beef burger, grilled Atlantic Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Marsala or one of our great pasta dishes August Henry's has a variety of entrees to please your palate. Our highly trained Bartenders will always have the perfect drink waiting for you from our world-class beer selection or your choice of spirits or wines. Reservations are always recommended.

946 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Burgers

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 765-3270

Website:
http://www.augusthenrys.com/

Parking Details:
Lots of parking in secure indoor parking garages with-in 1 block walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Schallus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

August Henry's City Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (18)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Comfort Food (9)
See All
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Sports (2)
Cozy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

A group of us went to August Henry's after a matinee show. We were a half hour early for our reservation but we were seated right away. The food was very good! Great burgers, fish sandwiches, and fried zucchini. The blue cheese salad dressing was sharp and tasty. We also tried the Cajun chicken and shrimp with fettuccine Alfredo. Wow! Awesome!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoy this place very much and have dined there many times. Good food. Good times. Always.

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 28, 2017

On business and we were looking for a good variety of food choices. Filet was great, awesome crab cakes and one was gluten free. Music from 70s and 80s made a very pleasant time.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were a group having lunch before attending an afternoon play. Everyone enjoyed their lunch. The server was pleasant and quickly fixed a small order mix up. The only con to our visit was a tip was included on our separate checks. Most in our group would have tipped more than the amount included but if that's all they want that's all they got.

Food, atmospher, and service is great. Would definitely recommend and will be returning.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Not many places to choose from in this location for large groups and specific times. Probably the only reason I chose AHCS. We were promptly seated in the back by the kitchen and noise level was high. Hard to carry on a conversation unless you were sitting right next to the person. Food was just okay, nothing spectacular. Veggies were overcooked although the steak was cooked to my liking and baked potato was just that, a baked potato. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food, great servuce. Highly recommend the meatball appetizer

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We got burgers. They were stupid (in a good way). They were huge and delicious. Service was great. Big fan. Will eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place to come for a nice dinner or casual sandwich before Pittsburgh Penguin hockey games. Personally I wish the kitchen stayed open a bit later on those game nights for fans to stop in for a late dessert after the game.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Filet and crab cake (Land and Sea) was perfect. Great burgers.
Our server was super nice and took good care of us.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed the casual atmosphere with great food and comfort. Diverse menu and an excellent martini.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The prime rib special was very good. My friends veggie burger was not that good. The happy hours wine selection is very limited.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We gather before going to a show. We were finished in plenty of time to make it. Crab Cake salad, sweet potato encrusted chicken salad, fish sandwich, hamburger were some of our selections. All very good. $5 house wine -- great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great little place. Visiting my mom in PA from LA and booked this place before I arrived there. Drinks were tasty, food was on point. The only thing was the pirogues weren't made fresh, rather deep fired and order from some other place. Other then that service was ok and friendly! Probably will rerun before I leave home in a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was delicious and we were seated right away. The only drawback was we waited a long time for our drinks/to have or order taken. The place was packed and our server was busy so it's understandable, but we had to rush to get to our show on time

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great spot to grab a quick and good dinner on New Year's Eve. I had made reservations for a bit later, but since we got into the city and into out hotel earlier, thought we would try to see if the restaurant could accommodate us. They were very helpful. Waiter was super. Restaurant's location was perfect for the evening events in the Burg.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I went there for dinner before a show at Heinz Hall. The food and service was very good. I'd go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was great and our server Jeff was outstanding. Very hospital and we'll informed. We will be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

as we have several times before a friend and I enjoyed dinner(food/service) prior to a Symphony performance....no problem getting there on time..... we hope to do it again....

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Meals were very good and service was great. Our server, Christie was very nice and attentive. This is one of our "go-to" restaurants when we eat downtown. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had a great dinner here before a show at the Benedum. The service was excellent and the food very good and plentiful. I think the prices are a bit high but - heh - we got in an out before the show. Only slight criticism - we were seated along the wall at the back - the view of the ice maker and beverage stand -was not appetizing.

Over all - great find - we will check it out again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our son attends Point Park University so we are in Pittsburgh from time to time.
After bringing him back to campus, we met at August Henry's for dinner and we
had a very nice time. Would go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, great service and a worry free atmosphere to enjoy the food and company. This restaurant has the BEST sweet potato fries I've ever tasted. August Henry's is close to the theaters, the convention center, parking, and other venues. The times I've eaten there, we have never had a bad morsel of food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

BBQ beef nachos were awful. French onion soup was cold and the burger was ok. Waiter was very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was great. Enjoyed our dinner before a show at 7:30 PM. Food was good. The chicken parmasen was a little too thick, chicken could have been thiner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was a very nice pub on Penn Avenue. We just got burgers, but they were very very good. Nice casual place to dine while downtown.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Awesome service! We were there for a baby shower for a co-worker and where they sat us was out of the way so that we could celebrate without a lot of external noise. Great " historic" restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Pre-show dinner - Large menu selection as well as beer list. Our waiter was excellent (wish I could remember his name!!)

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We arrived on time were seated and our servers helped with the menu. The food came out quickly, was very attractive, and piping hot. The sandwiches, a French-dip and meatball, were tasty and a good large serving of the food. The waitress came back several times to check on our status and asked if we needed anything else to make our dining experience better. The bill came promptly and in a few minutes we were on our way out the door. They also gave us an "August Henry" punch card that gives you a 50% off your bill after 7 visits! They have the BEST sweet potato fries I have ever eaten, bar none. *I have eaten them from coast to coast and August Henry has the best ones. We will now go there for all of our meals before we attend the theater in Pittsburgh. I recommend this restaurant to everyone who wants a great dining experience. I DO plan to eat my way through the entire menu over time!! Thanks August Henry.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The portions exceeded my expectations, but the chicken Marsala could've been heated more. Also, my chicken had a leftover taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wasn't too crowded and had a nice casual atmosphere. I got a burger which was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food very good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very nice menu with a wide variety. Great place for lunch and casual dining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food and service was good. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food and price is well worth the visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2016

After a long day of travel this was a great place to kick back have a few greatly priced drinks and some great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was great. food came fast and was very good. We ordered two salads and only one ice tea and the bill was almost $30.00 for lunch. Little pricey.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2016

On several occasions we have frequented August Henry's before the theatre. Always good service, good food, and reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The only complaint I would have is that the air conditioning was a little cool. Especially since it was pouring outside and we were a little wet, so this made us uncomfortably cold.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Caesar salad was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We discovered August Henry Restaurant about a year ago. We go there occasionally when going to Heinz Hall or the Benedum. It can get a little loud but the food, drinks and service are great. If you haven't already, add this to your downtown restaurant list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.