Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

August Henry's City Saloon

4.0
215 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
  • Happy Hour
August Henry’s City Saloon is located in the heart of Pittsburgh’s Cultural District across from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. One of Pittsburgh’s more popular restaurants, August Henry’s is best known for its Steaks and burgers, offering both a lunch and dinner menu with a responsible wait staff to serve you daily. The lunch menu has a large selection of classic sandwiches, burgers and large salads like the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. The dinner menu offers a great selection of dinner entrees to please anyone"s taste. Whether you're hungry for a big juicy New York Strip Steak, a Kobe beef burger, grilled Atlantic Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Marsala or one of our great pasta dishes August Henry's has a variety of entrees to please your palate. Our highly trained Bartenders will always have the perfect drink waiting for you from our world-class beer selection or your choice of spirits or wines. Reservations are always recommended.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steak, Burgers
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(412) 765-3270
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Christopher Schallus
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Tenth Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Lots of parking in secure indoor parking garages with-in 1 block walking distance.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 215 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.0based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.1
service
3.7
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

I was looking for somewhere to take my fiance before a concert that we were attending. The service was good, the food came fast and it was a nice place to unwind, relax and conversate before the concert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Loved the food didn’t wait long.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Three of us went to August Henry's before a show downtown. Service was excellent as were the drinks. One of us ordered a Long Island Iced Tea, another ordered a Mule, and one a soft drink. We loved our food. Two of us ordered the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. Excellent. The 3rd person in our group ordered a meal which included pirogi, kielbasa, and a side of fried green beans along with a cup of soup. He said it was really good. I ate some of his green beans, and they were very tasty. We would definitely go there again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Food was good but very poor service. We came in with a reservation and ordered right away because we knew we had a show at 7:30. We didn't receive our food for an hour and were not revisited by our server during this entire time. No updates on when our food was coming or that anything was wrong.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 27, 2018

It took about 45 minutes to get our food and the food was only okay. I will not return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We ate at August Henry's on a Saturday before a show in the theater district. The location is great-near all of the venues in the theater district and also close to the Convention Center. They have a nice selection of burgers, salads, sandwiches and some entrees. Our portions were plentiful - we had burgers with homemade chips, along with Long Island Iced Teas. Service was very good and our burgers were cooked just as we requested. For Pittsburgh Pirate Fans, the restaurant is walkable to PNC Park. We have done it ... probably about 1/2 mile.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Average bar food

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The August Henry City Saloon was about we expected. The food was average at best. The location is I would suggest is better for drinks and appetizers. My wife's turkey burger was dry and tasteless. The kilbosi was over cooked along with the pierogi's. In fairness, we've only tried this place this once. So, we would be willing to try it again with other dinner selections to give it a chance. I would grade our waiter highly. The service staff was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Great burgers, reasonable prices, good service. We will be back

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Food was mediocre at best. The burger was very salty and the chicken on the salad was dry. We won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We have eaten here numerous times in the past and is always a go to when eating in the cultural district. Was extremely disappointed in our most recent experience, especially taking first timers with us, we were most embarrased. Reservation was not ready, we were told a table was being cleaned, when actually we had to wait until another party was finished eating, pay and then the table had to be cleaned. We waited 20 minutes to be seated. Waitress appeared very overworked and was unable to get back to our table to take our order. When hostess was asked to notify our waitress to please come and take our order, the hostess was extremely rude, stating they were extremely busy and raising her voice stating "everyone there had a reservation!" This was untrue as guests walked in behind us and was told the wait was 15- 20 minutes. The rudeness was totally inappropriate! Party at next table witnessed the situation and even tried to bring our poor service to the attention of the staff! Not sure if we will return again...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Steak salad was really good. Server seemed distracted. Ran out of forks and ate cake with spoons😀

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2018

Awesome food, burgers and Mac n cheese. Service great. Perfect stop before theater.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Good place to go before the theatre as it was not very crowded. Bar atmosphere and bar food. Only okay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2018

We always go to August Henry's when we are in downtown Pittsburgh. Great selections of food, be it full dinners or a small bite. And service is always exceptional. Josh waited on us during our last visit - couldn't have been better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We had reservations on New Year's Eve and were seated on time. Waitress was very friendly. Food came out quickly and order was accurate. Burgers were great! Finished our meal in time for Pittsburgh's First Night events. We highly recommend August Henry's City Saloon!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2017

I took my three granddaughters there during the holidays before a performance at Heinz hall. The children's meals were just okay, meaning they ate it and didn't complain. I ordered a fish sandwich which was overcooked and terrible. The service was great and catered to the children. I'm not sure if this was because the restaurant was almost completely empty, it was 2:00 in the afternoon. We will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Our waitress was not very nice. She scolded us somewhat for being early for our reservation. When we asked for slight amendments on our entrees, she advised that other people came too early too and the kitchen was receiving too many orders at once so we may not get our meal as requested. When one of our party asked if the restaurant had diet 7up, she told him no just regular so he said ok. She brought him diet pepsi. When we flagged her down to advise of the error, she rudely said that he wanted diet 7up and we dont have it so i gave him the diet we have. He said no, he would drink reg. She rudely grabbed his drink and left and later slammed down a 7up by his place. Obviously, no tip was left for her and the hostess was advised when we left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Went with a group from work. Server was excellent and the food was too. We had an hour to order, eat, and talk. Made it out with a few minutes to spare. Will be back again some time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

We had 10 people and all were very happy with their meal. Great service and casual atmosphere. Thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 9, 2017

We came for dinner after our symphony performance. They were out of many items, even though it was only 5 pm. There was a plumbing issye in the ladies room they were unaware of. The food was average and expensive. They forgot my appetizer. Dinner for 4 with no frills was over 100.00. Definity not worth it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Took my team out for a Holiday lunch. Service was very good, and all enjoyed the food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 7, 2017

They overcooked my burger but fries were good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Food was average, service good but place looked old. Needs to be cleaned up/refreshed

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

A great value and wonderful food. Close to the theatre district and convention center. Prompt service with drinks & meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

The menu is affordable for the area. And the food is on par with thier niegbors.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Food was moderately priced and drinks were well made. Service was Good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

My date's burger was prepared perfectly, medium rare, as he requested. He said it was delicious. I had the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad ... really good. I will get it again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 27, 2017

Service was good
Food was all overcooked
Would not return or recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Great selection of local beers as well as national brands. I usually like to try a local brew when I'm out of town and this place didn't disappoint. The menu was decent and portions large so had plenty to take home with me.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

Solid bar food in downtown pittsburgh. Crab cakes were very good and extremely large. Kids menu was great and my son's chicken strips were extremely tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2017

Outstanding - a hidden gem in the theater district

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 4, 2017

I went here with 6 other people from work to celebrate an employees 25 yr service anniversary. The ONLY table that they sat up for 7 people was all the way in the back of the restaurant right outside the kitchen and across from a dirty server area. It was embarrassing. Probably wouldn't have been bad if the seating situation was better. We were the very first party in the restaurant for lunch and we were put all the way in the back of the restaurant? I didn't get it. I wanted the seating moved to another location but the party I was with would not move. It was pathetic. Didn't seem very clean either. I wasn't impressed. I don't think I will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 25, 2017

Average pub food. Ladies' restroom was not in good repair. Seats in two stalls were so loose they were actually falling off. . . . and, no, I was not drinking .

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Worst chicken parm I ever had. Tough and dry.
Zuchini overwhelmed by thick breading.
Will not return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 21, 2017

I made a reservation for 8 people at 1215 (lunch) and thought everything would be fine when walking in. Unfortunately, our server checked on us twice in over an hour's span of time, and it took over 40 minutes for our foos to come out. Half of the orders were incorrect, either under or overcooked. Thankfully those items were removed from the bill, but would never go back to this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Music was way too loud. Made conversation difficult

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner here. Drinks were great and I loved the French dip sandwich!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 8, 2017

This was my first experience at this restaurant. It was recommended by a co-worker so we went here for her birthday lunch. Everyone loved their food, including me - I had the crab cake salad. The prices are very reasonable. I would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was not very good. Vegetables had no flavor and bbq beef brisket was dry with no sauce. Baked potato cheese was gummy and not well prepared as a loaded potato. Table beside us had a group of 8 young business guys and their language was loud and foul.
F word used frequently. Surprised that wait staff didn't hear it and if they did they did nothing about it. We did not complain to the wait staff. Convenient to the theaters on Penn Avenue but will try other restaurants and not return here.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6