About August Henry's City Saloon

946 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

August Henry’s City Saloon is located in the heart of Pittsburgh’s Cultural District across from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. One of Pittsburgh’s more popular restaurants, August Henry’s is best known for its Steaks and burgers, offering both a lunch and dinner menu with a responsible wait staff to serve you daily. The lunch menu has a large selection of classic sandwiches, burgers and large salads like the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. The dinner menu offers a great selection of dinner entrees to please anyone"s taste. Whether you're hungry for a big juicy New York Strip Steak, a Kobe beef burger, grilled Atlantic Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Marsala or one of our great pasta dishes August Henry's has a variety of entrees to please your palate. Our highly trained Bartenders will always have the perfect drink waiting for you from our world-class beer selection or your choice of spirits or wines. Reservations are always recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Burgers

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 765-3270

Website:
http://www.augusthenrys.com/

Parking Details:
Lots of parking in secure indoor parking garages with-in 1 block walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Schallus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

August Henry's City Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Pittsburgh
Great for Lunch
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for lunch (19)
good for groups (19)
neighborhood gem (10)
See All
vibrant bar scene (8)
fit for foodies (8)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (4)
special occasion (4)
hot spot (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Caesar salad was awesome

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Caesar salad was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We discovered August Henry Restaurant ab ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We discovered August Henry Restaurant about a year ago. We go there occasionally when going to Heinz Hall or the Benedum. It can get a little loud but the food, drinks and service are great. If you haven't already, add this to your downtown restaurant list.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fairly extensive lunch menu includes man ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fairly extensive lunch menu includes many options; service was prompt & friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After the appetizers the food went downh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

After the appetizers the food went downhill. Not much ambiance. Overall a disappointing experience. Had much higher expectations based on reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Pre Theatre Ir Game

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

this convenient restaurant offers a wide variety of menu options sure to suit everyone in your party. Service is consistently pleasant and professional. Food presentation is a plus as are the fun drink specials. Whether going to the theatre or. Sporting event, August Henry's won't disappoint.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pulled pork nachos are excellent. Would ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Pulled pork nachos are excellent. Would be great as a main meal too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner before show

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised. They were very efficient knowing that we were going to a show. The food arrived promptly. Very large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No wait, great service and excellent mea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

No wait, great service and excellent meal! I had read about the crab cakes them! Yum! No ambiance, bar scene but great for a work dinner...

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Went for lunch during the steel conventi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Went for lunch during the steel convention. Short walk from the show. Recommend a reservation during an event. We went right in and sat down, while there was a line at the door. Portions were large. Service was decent considering it was a full house.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Close to everything!

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We stopped here before a show in the Cultural District. It was early and a weekday so we took advantage of the happy hour deals. The drinks were a great price as well as the appetizers. And so good! The wings especially.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

August Henry's is a great place, very hi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

August Henry's is a great place, very high on atmosphere. It's right in the heart of the Cultural District and has a strong, energetic vibe that matches that dynamic new city environment. The food was terrific and the service excellent. Would be a great place to stop in after a game. We chose it because of its close proximity to PNC Park.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was incredible, but the service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

the food was incredible, but the service was lacking. it was a busy Saturday night so we were patient, but we did become frustrated. do not sit in the bar if you want to be able to hear yourself think!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good food and service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We frequent this establishment before the theater events. The food and service are both good and prices fair. Never have anything bad to say about it.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Needed a warning about the spicy marinara sauce

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Our meal was generally pretty good. My wife was disappointed in her pasta, though. She was not expecting a simple marinara sauce to be so spicy. She's sensitive about hot/spicy dishes, so she couldn't eat her pasta at all. The server never asked about it, even though the dish was obviously not touched by the end of our meal.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

August Henry's--a gem in the theater district

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food and service were excellent and the price is reasonable. Great location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We checked out this place as a last minu ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We checked out this place as a last minute decision. I took my wife and nine year old daughter for dinner on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy, but they took (and kept) reservations. The services was good and the food (sweet potato encrusted chicken with cream sauce) was delicious. My daughter was reluctant to eat at a "saloon," but she also enjoyed her meal. The prices were reasonable for a downtown establishment. The bar area looked nice; however, I did not have an opportunity to try any spirits. I would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great find near the Cultural District

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

August Henry's is a great neighborhood saloon. It's much more casual than the usual "I have theater tickets" restaurants, but the atmosphere is relaxed and fun. The fried zucchini appetizer was amazing! It's breaded with panko crumbs rather than batter fried and I'll probably get it every time I'm there from now on. I had the black bean burger and felt totally satisfied. Spend the little extra for sweet potato fries because they are great! For dessert, they have all local, fresh items. We tried the Peanut Butter/chocolate mousse pie. Delicious! I'll definitely head to August Henry's again!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good dinner in the city near a lot of venues

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great variety on the drink and food menu! Known for the steaks and burgers. We all tried a different item. Food was prepared as requested and very tasty. Service was timely as we were going to a concert afterwards.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy food! Lots to chose from

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Yummy food! Lots to chose from

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

All the meals we ordered were perfect. S ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

All the meals we ordered were perfect. Service was very attentive. All in all a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fast service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our experience at August Henry's was exc ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Our experience at August Henry's was exceptional. Even though our server was a little under the weather, she was pleasant and took good care of us. The fried meatloaf was excellent, the serving was HUGE, my husband had a hard time eating it all. I had the filet and crab cake, the steak was done perfectly, the crab cake had very little filler, lots of crab meat. We both ordered dessert, expecting smallish portions... Wrong. The chocolate/peanut butter pie was the best I've ever had, the carrot cake was excellent, and we were barely able to finish them (but we did!) We highly recommend it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very large burger menu. Very large burg ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Very large burger menu. Very large burgers. We had grilled chicken salad, salmon, & prime rib. Large portions. Very good.

Will go back to try hamburgers.

Reasonably priced for theater district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The part of our experience that stood ou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The part of our experience that stood out the most was the desserts! My daughter had the chocolate peanut butter pie and said it was amazing. My husband and I split a piece of the Valentines special Strawberry Buttermilk cake which was extremely light and moist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good burgers

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Awesome burgers and good drink menu. Service was good. You could talk to people easy. Not real loud.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Service

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

I made a reservation at August Henry's prior to a 7 PM showing. The staff made sure that I was served and finished my meal in time to attend my show. I had a brisket sandwich, which was good. I just wish I had the time to have truly enjoyed a steak. Overall, August Henry's is a nice neighborhood place.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

server was excellent... attentive and fun

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Server understood our time concerns

She knew the menu well and was able to advise us

food was "better than I expected"

portions were good.....not huge

noise level was higher than I'd have liked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice place

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

We booked through Open Table and were seated fairly quick when we came in. We ordered drinks and apps first. They came promptly. I got the flatbread which was really good. We ordered entrees next. I got chicken parm and my old woman got a burger. She loved hers and mine was pretty decent. Not the best chicken parm in the world but this isn't an Italian joint. Would probably try something else next time but not saying don't try it. Service was great. Total bill wasn't too bad. 65 for all the above plus two alcoholic drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice, affordable place in the Cultural District

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 17, 2015

We went to August Henry's City Saloon prior to an evening event at the Benedum. It's cozy and welcoming -- very pub-like. Our meals were served promptly and were pleasing to the palate. This is not what I'd call an "upscale" restaurant, but if you're looking for good food at affordable prices, then I'd certainly recommend August Henry's. They offer a respectable selection of beers, and I'll also give kudos to the bartender for making a great margarita.

This was our second time dining at this restaurant, and we'll go back again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Girls Night Out

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Myself and two friends came here before an event downtown. The food and service were very good. A very casual place that has a great atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very Good Restaurant!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

We picked this restaurant because it had a wide variety of foods - from sandwiches to pasta to steaks to chicken/seafood! The service was quick and our server was accommodating and pleasant. The food was very good - everyone enjoyed their meals (Saloon Burgers well prepared, Turkey Burger, and Filet). I highly recommend getting the fried green beans as a side (with some ranch dressing to dip) -- SO good!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good Food/GREAT Dessert

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

My wife and I occasionally like to try different place to eat in downtown Pittsburgh. After searching on the web, my wife noticed August Henry's Saloon. I wasn't sure what to expect since the reviews were not stellar. We went there on a Saturday night and were glad that we made reservations because the place was packed. Getting seated at our table was quick and painless. Our waitress (who was very pleasant) arrived at the table within a few minutes and took our drink orders. My wife ordered a burger for dinner, and I ordered a steak salad. We both enjoyed the meals...certainly very good for the price. The real surprise was in the dessert. We decided to share the chocolate mousse pie...It was probably the best dessert that we have had in years. Although the place is a bit noisy, that won't stop us from returning again in the future. We can now say we have one more restaurant in our arsenal of places to eat in downtown Pittsburgh.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Food was great and the service was excel ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Food was great and the service was excellent. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The sweet potato crusted chicken is AMAZ ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

The sweet potato crusted chicken is AMAZING! Had a great dinner and experience. My husband said their peanut butter pie was top notch! We will return when we travel to Pittsburgh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Great Location for Theatre District

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

August Henry offered very good food, quick service and great location for parking and attending a theatre event.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

pre event goer

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

This is a great bar with great bar food...Lots of choices for beer but not enough choices for wine which was a little disappointing. The waitress was absolutely wonderfun and I loved the atmosphere!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good..slightly pricey.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 2, 2015

There were four women in our party...all had something different. All said it was good. The reason I say slightly pricey is sandwiches were $10-15, dinners $17 +. I realize we were in the city, but was in Chicago last weekend, and these prices were slightly higher than Chicago prices for the same type of food. Expected in Chicago, not Pittsburgh. I would probably go back for lunch, but not dinner.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our party of four were met at the door a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Our party of four were met at the door and taken to our table. The waitress, Marie, was wonderful as she seated up, gave us menus and told us the "specials of the day". She was efficient, prompt and helped explain how various dishes were prepared. We ordered and the food was served in a great presentation, flavorful, and ample portions.

Marie, made sure we were taken care of with extra napkins, drinks and anything else we need to enjoy the food we had ordered. I have eaten at August Henry's about 5 times and NEVER had a bad morsel of food! In fact, one of the joys there is the expansive menu that has virtually everything one could want. Soups, salads, sandwiches, beverages, appetizers, and special foods. If you can't find something to satisfy your palate, I don't know what to say. I've eaten a lot of places in the U. S. and must say I love their sweet potato fries. They are AWESOME. I suggested to Marie, they should play them up as "The best sweet potato fries in Pittsburgh".

We will return to August Henry's and continue to "eat our way through the vast menu". I would encourage people to try it and see for themselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Group Lunch

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 15, 2015

AH is our office - place to go with our big group - +/- 10 people. We appreciate they accommodate our request for separate checks. Food is great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lousy food but a great waitress who tried to fix

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

The place was empty on a Saturday night (even with a Pitt football game and a Pirates game that day). So that should have been our first clue. They have a large menu that looked great so we stayed. Unfortunately the food was not good. Chicken was cold and kind of pink inside. My sons fish sandwich was tasteless and the fish was not fully cooked. Waitress did a great job trying to accommodate but I would not go back. They just don't have it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.