About August Henry's City Saloon

946 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

August Henry’s City Saloon is located in the heart of Pittsburgh’s Cultural District across from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. One of Pittsburgh’s more popular restaurants, August Henry’s is best known for its Steaks and burgers, offering both a lunch and dinner menu with a responsible wait staff to serve you daily. The lunch menu has a large selection of classic sandwiches, burgers and large salads like the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. The dinner menu offers a great selection of dinner entrees to please anyone"s taste. Whether you're hungry for a big juicy New York Strip Steak, a Kobe beef burger, grilled Atlantic Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Marsala or one of our great pasta dishes August Henry's has a variety of entrees to please your palate. Our highly trained Bartenders will always have the perfect drink waiting for you from our world-class beer selection or your choice of spirits or wines. Reservations are always recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Burgers

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 765-3270

Website:
http://www.augusthenrys.com/

Parking Details:
Lots of parking in secure indoor parking garages with-in 1 block walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Schallus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

August Henry's City Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Pittsburgh
Best Value
Pittsburgh
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Casual (14)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (7)
See All
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Cozy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Romantic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great dinner here before a show ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great dinner here before a show at the Benedum. The service was excellent and the food very good and plentiful. I think the prices are a bit high but - heh - we got in an out before the show. Only slight criticism - we were seated along the wall at the back - the view of the ice maker and beverage stand -was not appetizing.

Over all - great find - we will check it out again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our son attends Point Park University so ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our son attends Point Park University so we are in Pittsburgh from time to time.

After bringing him back to campus, we met at August Henry's for dinner and we

had a very nice time. Would go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and a worry fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, great service and a worry free atmosphere to enjoy the food and company. This restaurant has the BEST sweet potato fries I've ever tasted. August Henry's is close to the theaters, the convention center, parking, and other venues. The times I've eaten there, we have never had a bad morsel of food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BBQ beef nachos were awful. French onion ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

BBQ beef nachos were awful. French onion soup was cold and the burger was ok. Waiter was very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The service was great. Enjoyed our dinn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was great. Enjoyed our dinner before a show at 7:30 PM. Food was good. The chicken parmasen was a little too thick, chicken could have been thiner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a very nice pub on Penn Avenue. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was a very nice pub on Penn Avenue. We just got burgers, but they were very very good. Nice casual place to dine while downtown.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome service! We were there for a ba ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Awesome service! We were there for a baby shower for a co-worker and where they sat us was out of the way so that we could celebrate without a lot of external noise. Great " historic" restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-show dinner - Large menu selection ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Pre-show dinner - Large menu selection as well as beer list. Our waiter was excellent (wish I could remember his name!!)

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We arrived on time were seated and our s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We arrived on time were seated and our servers helped with the menu. The food came out quickly, was very attractive, and piping hot. The sandwiches, a French-dip and meatball, were tasty and a good large serving of the food. The waitress came back several times to check on our status and asked if we needed anything else to make our dining experience better. The bill came promptly and in a few minutes we were on our way out the door. They also gave us an "August Henry" punch card that gives you a 50% off your bill after 7 visits! They have the BEST sweet potato fries I have ever eaten, bar none. *I have eaten them from coast to coast and August Henry has the best ones. We will now go there for all of our meals before we attend the theater in Pittsburgh. I recommend this restaurant to everyone who wants a great dining experience. I DO plan to eat my way through the entire menu over time!! Thanks August Henry.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions exceeded my expectations, b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The portions exceeded my expectations, but the chicken Marsala could've been heated more. Also, my chicken had a leftover taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wasn't too crowded and had a nice casual ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wasn't too crowded and had a nice casual atmosphere. I got a burger which was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food very good and service was excellent ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food very good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice menu with a wide variety. Grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very nice menu with a wide variety. Great place for lunch and casual dining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and service was good. Will definit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food and service was good. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and price is well worth the vis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food and price is well worth the visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

After a long day of travel this was a gr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2016

After a long day of travel this was a great place to kick back have a few greatly priced drinks and some great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was great. food came fast and wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was great. food came fast and was very good. We ordered two salads and only one ice tea and the bill was almost $30.00 for lunch. Little pricey.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

On several occasions we have frequented ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2016

On several occasions we have frequented August Henry's before the theatre. Always good service, good food, and reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only complaint I would have is that ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The only complaint I would have is that the air conditioning was a little cool. Especially since it was pouring outside and we were a little wet, so this made us uncomfortably cold.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Caesar salad was awesome

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Caesar salad was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We discovered August Henry Restaurant ab ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We discovered August Henry Restaurant about a year ago. We go there occasionally when going to Heinz Hall or the Benedum. It can get a little loud but the food, drinks and service are great. If you haven't already, add this to your downtown restaurant list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fairly extensive lunch menu includes man ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fairly extensive lunch menu includes many options; service was prompt & friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After the appetizers the food went downh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

After the appetizers the food went downhill. Not much ambiance. Overall a disappointing experience. Had much higher expectations based on reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Pre Theatre Ir Game

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2016

this convenient restaurant offers a wide variety of menu options sure to suit everyone in your party. Service is consistently pleasant and professional. Food presentation is a plus as are the fun drink specials. Whether going to the theatre or. Sporting event, August Henry's won't disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pulled pork nachos are excellent. Would ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Pulled pork nachos are excellent. Would be great as a main meal too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner before show

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 7, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised. They were very efficient knowing that we were going to a show. The food arrived promptly. Very large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

No wait, great service and excellent mea ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2016

No wait, great service and excellent meal! I had read about the crab cakes them! Yum! No ambiance, bar scene but great for a work dinner...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Went for lunch during the steel conventi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Went for lunch during the steel convention. Short walk from the show. Recommend a reservation during an event. We went right in and sat down, while there was a line at the door. Portions were large. Service was decent considering it was a full house.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Close to everything!

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 6, 2016

We stopped here before a show in the Cultural District. It was early and a weekday so we took advantage of the happy hour deals. The drinks were a great price as well as the appetizers. And so good! The wings especially.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

August Henry's is a great place, very hi ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2016

August Henry's is a great place, very high on atmosphere. It's right in the heart of the Cultural District and has a strong, energetic vibe that matches that dynamic new city environment. The food was terrific and the service excellent. Would be a great place to stop in after a game. We chose it because of its close proximity to PNC Park.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was incredible, but the service ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 24, 2016

the food was incredible, but the service was lacking. it was a busy Saturday night so we were patient, but we did become frustrated. do not sit in the bar if you want to be able to hear yourself think!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Good food and service

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We frequent this establishment before the theater events. The food and service are both good and prices fair. Never have anything bad to say about it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Needed a warning about the spicy marinara sauce

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Our meal was generally pretty good. My wife was disappointed in her pasta, though. She was not expecting a simple marinara sauce to be so spicy. She's sensitive about hot/spicy dishes, so she couldn't eat her pasta at all. The server never asked about it, even though the dish was obviously not touched by the end of our meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

August Henry's--a gem in the theater district

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2016

The food and service were excellent and the price is reasonable. Great location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We checked out this place as a last minu ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2016

We checked out this place as a last minute decision. I took my wife and nine year old daughter for dinner on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy, but they took (and kept) reservations. The services was good and the food (sweet potato encrusted chicken with cream sauce) was delicious. My daughter was reluctant to eat at a "saloon," but she also enjoyed her meal. The prices were reasonable for a downtown establishment. The bar area looked nice; however, I did not have an opportunity to try any spirits. I would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great find near the Cultural District

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2016

August Henry's is a great neighborhood saloon. It's much more casual than the usual "I have theater tickets" restaurants, but the atmosphere is relaxed and fun. The fried zucchini appetizer was amazing! It's breaded with panko crumbs rather than batter fried and I'll probably get it every time I'm there from now on. I had the black bean burger and felt totally satisfied. Spend the little extra for sweet potato fries because they are great! For dessert, they have all local, fresh items. We tried the Peanut Butter/chocolate mousse pie. Delicious! I'll definitely head to August Henry's again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good dinner in the city near a lot of venues

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great variety on the drink and food menu! Known for the steaks and burgers. We all tried a different item. Food was prepared as requested and very tasty. Service was timely as we were going to a concert afterwards.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Yummy food! Lots to chose from

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Yummy food! Lots to chose from

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

All the meals we ordered were perfect. S ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 27, 2016

All the meals we ordered were perfect. Service was very attentive. All in all a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fast service

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Fast service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.