About August Henry's City Saloon

946 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

August Henry’s City Saloon is located in the heart of Pittsburgh’s Cultural District across from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. One of Pittsburgh’s more popular restaurants, August Henry’s is best known for its Steaks and burgers, offering both a lunch and dinner menu with a responsible wait staff to serve you daily. The lunch menu has a large selection of classic sandwiches, burgers and large salads like the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. The dinner menu offers a great selection of dinner entrees to please anyone"s taste. Whether you're hungry for a big juicy New York Strip Steak, a Kobe beef burger, grilled Atlantic Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Marsala or one of our great pasta dishes August Henry's has a variety of entrees to please your palate. Our highly trained Bartenders will always have the perfect drink waiting for you from our world-class beer selection or your choice of spirits or wines. Reservations are always recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Burgers

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 765-3270

Website:
http://www.augusthenrys.com/

Parking Details:
Lots of parking in secure indoor parking garages with-in 1 block walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Schallus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

August Henry's City Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (16)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
See All
Comfort Food (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food, great servuce. Highly re ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, great servuce. Highly recommend the meatball appetizer

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got burgers. They were stupid (in a g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

We got burgers. They were stupid (in a good way). They were huge and delicious. Service was great. Big fan. Will eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to come for a nice ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place to come for a nice dinner or casual sandwich before Pittsburgh Penguin hockey games. Personally I wish the kitchen stayed open a bit later on those game nights for fans to stop in for a late dessert after the game.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, , Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet and crab cake (Land and Sea) was p ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Filet and crab cake (Land and Sea) was perfect. Great burgers.

Our server was super nice and took good care of us.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed the casual atmosphere with great ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed the casual atmosphere with great food and comfort. Diverse menu and an excellent martini.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prime rib special was very good. My ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The prime rib special was very good. My friends veggie burger was not that good. The happy hours wine selection is very limited.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We gather before going to a show. We we ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We gather before going to a show. We were finished in plenty of time to make it. Crab Cake salad, sweet potato encrusted chicken salad, fish sandwich, hamburger were some of our selections. All very good. $5 house wine -- great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great little place. Visiting my mom in P ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great little place. Visiting my mom in PA from LA and booked this place before I arrived there. Drinks were tasty, food was on point. The only thing was the pirogues weren't made fresh, rather deep fired and order from some other place. Other then that service was ok and friendly! Probably will rerun before I leave home in a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

The food was delicious and we were seate ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was delicious and we were seated right away. The only drawback was we waited a long time for our drinks/to have or order taken. The place was packed and our server was busy so it's understandable, but we had to rush to get to our show on time

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, , Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great spot to grab a quick and good dinn ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great spot to grab a quick and good dinner on New Year's Eve. I had made reservations for a bit later, but since we got into the city and into out hotel earlier, thought we would try to see if the restaurant could accommodate us. They were very helpful. Waiter was super. Restaurant's location was perfect for the evening events in the Burg.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I went there for dinner befo ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I went there for dinner before a show at Heinz Hall. The food and service was very good. I'd go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great and our server Jeff was o ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was great and our server Jeff was outstanding. Very hospital and we'll informed. We will be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

as we have several times before a friend ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

as we have several times before a friend and I enjoyed dinner(food/service) prior to a Symphony performance....no problem getting there on time..... we hope to do it again....

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Meals were very good and service was gre ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Meals were very good and service was great. Our server, Christie was very nice and attentive. This is one of our "go-to" restaurants when we eat downtown. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great dinner here before a show ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had a great dinner here before a show at the Benedum. The service was excellent and the food very good and plentiful. I think the prices are a bit high but - heh - we got in an out before the show. Only slight criticism - we were seated along the wall at the back - the view of the ice maker and beverage stand -was not appetizing.

Over all - great find - we will check it out again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our son attends Point Park University so ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our son attends Point Park University so we are in Pittsburgh from time to time.

After bringing him back to campus, we met at August Henry's for dinner and we

had a very nice time. Would go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service and a worry fr ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, great service and a worry free atmosphere to enjoy the food and company. This restaurant has the BEST sweet potato fries I've ever tasted. August Henry's is close to the theaters, the convention center, parking, and other venues. The times I've eaten there, we have never had a bad morsel of food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, , Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

BBQ beef nachos were awful. French onion ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

BBQ beef nachos were awful. French onion soup was cold and the burger was ok. Waiter was very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

The service was great. Enjoyed our dinn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The service was great. Enjoyed our dinner before a show at 7:30 PM. Food was good. The chicken parmasen was a little too thick, chicken could have been thiner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a very nice pub on Penn Avenue. ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was a very nice pub on Penn Avenue. We just got burgers, but they were very very good. Nice casual place to dine while downtown.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Awesome service! We were there for a ba ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Awesome service! We were there for a baby shower for a co-worker and where they sat us was out of the way so that we could celebrate without a lot of external noise. Great " historic" restaurant in downtown Pittsburgh!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pre-show dinner - Large menu selection ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Pre-show dinner - Large menu selection as well as beer list. Our waiter was excellent (wish I could remember his name!!)

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We arrived on time were seated and our s ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We arrived on time were seated and our servers helped with the menu. The food came out quickly, was very attractive, and piping hot. The sandwiches, a French-dip and meatball, were tasty and a good large serving of the food. The waitress came back several times to check on our status and asked if we needed anything else to make our dining experience better. The bill came promptly and in a few minutes we were on our way out the door. They also gave us an "August Henry" punch card that gives you a 50% off your bill after 7 visits! They have the BEST sweet potato fries I have ever eaten, bar none. *I have eaten them from coast to coast and August Henry has the best ones. We will now go there for all of our meals before we attend the theater in Pittsburgh. I recommend this restaurant to everyone who wants a great dining experience. I DO plan to eat my way through the entire menu over time!! Thanks August Henry.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The portions exceeded my expectations, b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The portions exceeded my expectations, but the chicken Marsala could've been heated more. Also, my chicken had a leftover taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wasn't too crowded and had a nice casual ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wasn't too crowded and had a nice casual atmosphere. I got a burger which was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Food very good and service was excellent ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food very good and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice menu with a wide variety. Grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Very nice menu with a wide variety. Great place for lunch and casual dining.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and service was good. Will definit ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Food and service was good. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and price is well worth the vis ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The food and price is well worth the visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

After a long day of travel this was a gr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2016

After a long day of travel this was a great place to kick back have a few greatly priced drinks and some great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was great. food came fast and wa ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Service was great. food came fast and was very good. We ordered two salads and only one ice tea and the bill was almost $30.00 for lunch. Little pricey.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

On several occasions we have frequented ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 3, 2016

On several occasions we have frequented August Henry's before the theatre. Always good service, good food, and reasonable prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only complaint I would have is that ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The only complaint I would have is that the air conditioning was a little cool. Especially since it was pouring outside and we were a little wet, so this made us uncomfortably cold.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Caesar salad was awesome

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Caesar salad was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We discovered August Henry Restaurant ab ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We discovered August Henry Restaurant about a year ago. We go there occasionally when going to Heinz Hall or the Benedum. It can get a little loud but the food, drinks and service are great. If you haven't already, add this to your downtown restaurant list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fairly extensive lunch menu includes man ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Fairly extensive lunch menu includes many options; service was prompt & friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After the appetizers the food went downh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2016

After the appetizers the food went downhill. Not much ambiance. Overall a disappointing experience. Had much higher expectations based on reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Pre Theatre Ir Game

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 9, 2016

this convenient restaurant offers a wide variety of menu options sure to suit everyone in your party. Service is consistently pleasant and professional. Food presentation is a plus as are the fun drink specials. Whether going to the theatre or. Sporting event, August Henry's won't disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pulled pork nachos are excellent. Would ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 8, 2016

Pulled pork nachos are excellent. Would be great as a main meal too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner before show

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 7, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised. They were very efficient knowing that we were going to a show. The food arrived promptly. Very large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.