About August Henry's City Saloon

August Henry’s City Saloon is located in the heart of Pittsburgh’s Cultural District across from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. One of Pittsburgh’s more popular restaurants, August Henry’s is best known for its Steaks and burgers, offering both a lunch and dinner menu with a responsible wait staff to serve you daily. The lunch menu has a large selection of classic sandwiches, burgers and large salads like the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. The dinner menu offers a great selection of dinner entrees to please anyone"s taste. Whether you're hungry for a big juicy New York Strip Steak, a Kobe beef burger, grilled Atlantic Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Marsala or one of our great pasta dishes August Henry's has a variety of entrees to please your palate. Our highly trained Bartenders will always have the perfect drink waiting for you from our world-class beer selection or your choice of spirits or wines. Reservations are always recommended.

946 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Burgers

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 765-3270

Website:
http://www.augusthenrys.com/

Parking Details:
Lots of parking in secure indoor parking garages with-in 1 block walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Schallus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

August Henry's City Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Bar Seating (11)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great Beer (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
165 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was very good. Sandwiches were nice sized. I asked for extra crispy fries and they were. Attentive service. We're very understanding when we called to inform them we would be later than expected. No one in our party was disappointed in their meal. Overall great experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Much improved Penn Avenue restaurant. Good food and great service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loud. Holy Christian it was loud. About 630, bar scene was popping. My burger was tasty, they had good fried cheese on it. Could have used a bit more sauce. Cool drinks.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We love going to August Henry's when we are in the city, this time the waitress wasn't very nice or attentive.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food, great service. Reasonably priced close to the cultural district and convention center

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This is one of our "goto" places in Pittsburgh either for lunch or dinner. Anytime we have gone to August Henry's, we have had very good service and excellent food. Don't forget to try one of their desserts. You won't regret it. Great place to eat before a show.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was excellent, however, I drove all the way from Niagara Falls, Canada to come back for the pull pork nachos and you were out. I know out of your control, but still I was so looking forward to them,. Our waiter, was slow, seemed as though he could only handle one table requesting anything at a time. He would go to one table and then go get what they needed and then we wouldnt see him for 10 minutes then another table and so on. I will come back because I love the food, and we are in Pittsburgh at least 8 times a year. So hopefully I can have pull pork nachos next time!
The steak flat bread was to die for by the way

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wait staff was overwhelmed. Our waitress had too many tables and was making her own drinks at the bar. We were served a drink prior to ordering and then were not asked again if we needed a drink nor were we checked on. Food was mediocre, far too many menu choices to be great at all of them. We left our table to go to bar to order our own drinks. Once we saw our waitress working the bar as well, we asked her for our check and left. Disappointing because it has potential to be a great place.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Generous portions. Delicious. Great atmosphere. Highly recommended. Within walking distance to PPG Arena.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

For a place that touts it's burgers mine was a huge disappointment. I got the Kobe burger and asked for it medium and it was well done. But there was nothing to the taste to suggest it was Kobe. A well done burger from Ruth's Chris will taste great. This burger had no taste at all. I've dined at August Henry before and have had a great experience. This was the first time I've tried a burger and it fell way short of the mark.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were a group of 8 for lunch, going to Heinz Hall for a matinee. Our waitress was attentive, but didn't interrupt - great service! Apps for the table, excellent food, separate checks, everything handled very smoothly. It was noon on Saturday, and the place was empty, so very nice and quiet for conversation among friends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Was very good everything and menu had alot to choice from would go back again

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

August Henry is a pleasant, casual bar and restaurant. Food is good, service is good, prices are reasonable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The atmosphere was great and so was the service. The food wasn't what I was expecting for the price. I have been here a few times and loved the food in the past, but I felt that the quality went down during this visit.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I had dinner here for the first time with my son before attending a musical. The waiter we had was very pleasant and accommodating. They had Moscoto! Dinner was served in a fashionable time frame and was less costly than I expected. I would recommend August Henry's.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Pittsburgh Pierogies were great! Ordered the brisket sandwich which sounded amazing... the gouda wasn't melted and the sandwich in general was lacking. Sweet potato fries were outstanding though!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was a fun place. Service was great, everyone very friendly. Food was not as good as expected. The pretzels are terrific! Ours were a little under done but we didn't care they tasted so good. Black bean veggie burger not so good. Blackened cat fish po boy pretty good! Burgers ok. Salads were big. Drinks just average. Beer selection great. Prices reasonable. We had a good time. Would prob try it again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A group of us went to August Henry's after a matinee show. We were a half hour early for our reservation but we were seated right away. The food was very good! Great burgers, fish sandwiches, and fried zucchini. The blue cheese salad dressing was sharp and tasty. We also tried the Cajun chicken and shrimp with fettuccine Alfredo. Wow! Awesome!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoy this place very much and have dined there many times. Good food. Good times. Always.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 28, 2017

On business and we were looking for a good variety of food choices. Filet was great, awesome crab cakes and one was gluten free. Music from 70s and 80s made a very pleasant time.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were a group having lunch before attending an afternoon play. Everyone enjoyed their lunch. The server was pleasant and quickly fixed a small order mix up. The only con to our visit was a tip was included on our separate checks. Most in our group would have tipped more than the amount included but if that's all they want that's all they got.

Food, atmospher, and service is great. Would definitely recommend and will be returning.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Not many places to choose from in this location for large groups and specific times. Probably the only reason I chose AHCS. We were promptly seated in the back by the kitchen and noise level was high. Hard to carry on a conversation unless you were sitting right next to the person. Food was just okay, nothing spectacular. Veggies were overcooked although the steak was cooked to my liking and baked potato was just that, a baked potato. Probably won't return.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food, great servuce. Highly recommend the meatball appetizer

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We got burgers. They were stupid (in a good way). They were huge and delicious. Service was great. Big fan. Will eat again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place to come for a nice dinner or casual sandwich before Pittsburgh Penguin hockey games. Personally I wish the kitchen stayed open a bit later on those game nights for fans to stop in for a late dessert after the game.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Filet and crab cake (Land and Sea) was perfect. Great burgers.
Our server was super nice and took good care of us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed the casual atmosphere with great food and comfort. Diverse menu and an excellent martini.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The prime rib special was very good. My friends veggie burger was not that good. The happy hours wine selection is very limited.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We gather before going to a show. We were finished in plenty of time to make it. Crab Cake salad, sweet potato encrusted chicken salad, fish sandwich, hamburger were some of our selections. All very good. $5 house wine -- great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great little place. Visiting my mom in PA from LA and booked this place before I arrived there. Drinks were tasty, food was on point. The only thing was the pirogues weren't made fresh, rather deep fired and order from some other place. Other then that service was ok and friendly! Probably will rerun before I leave home in a week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food was delicious and we were seated right away. The only drawback was we waited a long time for our drinks/to have or order taken. The place was packed and our server was busy so it's understandable, but we had to rush to get to our show on time

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great spot to grab a quick and good dinner on New Year's Eve. I had made reservations for a bit later, but since we got into the city and into out hotel earlier, thought we would try to see if the restaurant could accommodate us. They were very helpful. Waiter was super. Restaurant's location was perfect for the evening events in the Burg.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I went there for dinner before a show at Heinz Hall. The food and service was very good. I'd go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was great and our server Jeff was outstanding. Very hospital and we'll informed. We will be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

as we have several times before a friend and I enjoyed dinner(food/service) prior to a Symphony performance....no problem getting there on time..... we hope to do it again....

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Meals were very good and service was great. Our server, Christie was very nice and attentive. This is one of our "go-to" restaurants when we eat downtown. Will definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 6, 2016

We had a great dinner here before a show at the Benedum. The service was excellent and the food very good and plentiful. I think the prices are a bit high but - heh - we got in an out before the show. Only slight criticism - we were seated along the wall at the back - the view of the ice maker and beverage stand -was not appetizing.

Over all - great find - we will check it out again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our son attends Point Park University so we are in Pittsburgh from time to time.
After bringing him back to campus, we met at August Henry's for dinner and we
had a very nice time. Would go back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, great service and a worry free atmosphere to enjoy the food and company. This restaurant has the BEST sweet potato fries I've ever tasted. August Henry's is close to the theaters, the convention center, parking, and other venues. The times I've eaten there, we have never had a bad morsel of food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

BBQ beef nachos were awful. French onion soup was cold and the burger was ok. Waiter was very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.