About August Henry's City Saloon

August Henry’s City Saloon is located in the heart of Pittsburgh’s Cultural District across from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. One of Pittsburgh’s more popular restaurants, August Henry’s is best known for its Steaks and burgers, offering both a lunch and dinner menu with a responsible wait staff to serve you daily. The lunch menu has a large selection of classic sandwiches, burgers and large salads like the Sweet Potato Chicken Salad. The dinner menu offers a great selection of dinner entrees to please anyone"s taste. Whether you're hungry for a big juicy New York Strip Steak, a Kobe beef burger, grilled Atlantic Salmon, Stuffed Chicken Marsala or one of our great pasta dishes August Henry's has a variety of entrees to please your palate. Our highly trained Bartenders will always have the perfect drink waiting for you from our world-class beer selection or your choice of spirits or wines. Reservations are always recommended.

946 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Burgers

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Tenth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(412) 765-3270

Website:
http://www.augusthenrys.com/

Parking Details:
Lots of parking in secure indoor parking garages with-in 1 block walking distance.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Schallus

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

August Henry's City Saloon Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
See All
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great Beer (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was not very good. Vegetables had no flavor and bbq beef brisket was dry with no sauce. Baked potato cheese was gummy and not well prepared as a loaded potato. Table beside us had a group of 8 young business guys and their language was loud and foul.
F word used frequently. Surprised that wait staff didn't hear it and if they did they did nothing about it. We did not complain to the wait staff. Convenient to the theaters on Penn Avenue but will try other restaurants and not return here.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Service was quick and efficient. Food was delicious and portions were perfect

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Left without any dinner after 1 1/2 hours of waiting. No management response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Started out with the restaurant not having my reservation even though I had the email confirming on my phone. Tried to order Zucchini appetizer but the waitress informed us they were out of zucchini! Who runs out of zucchini in August when it's bumper crop time!! Other than those two issues everything else was fine, food was good, waitress was attentive and we were finished with time to spare before we had to be at the theater.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Reserved booth when got there they had given it to another group, bartender was are server which made it difficult for her to give attentive service to our table. My son had to go over to bar to let her know we were ready to order, had to ask for silverware. Not satisfied with service ... would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great service ! Best crab cake and filet I've had in a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Everything was excellent except one of the servers that came over to fill our drinks was rude. I want to mention that it wasn't our server, but I am guessing she was doing our server a favor because they were busy. When another person in my party asked for a drink, the server responded, "I cannot get it, but I will ask your server to do it because I just got sat with 3 tables". This doesn't sound like a bad statement, however, it was how it was said with annoyance. However, that was the only negative to our experience at August Henry's.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good meal as always. We often go here before the theatre. The waiter was good but not great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great, varied menu, had some good recommendations from our server. Grapefruit margarita was a great choice. The French Dip sandwich and fried green beans were delicious. I ate every single bite! Prices are not everyday dining friendly, but I would for sure go back there. Nice atmosphere, we were in the back where it was cool and quieter, my friend and I could chat without yelling. I got to see all of the food coming out of the kitchen, which made it hard to choose what I wanted. Nothing overly fancy, just good food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The service was outstanding, food spectacular! Jeff was an exemplary server!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was very good. Sandwiches were nice sized. I asked for extra crispy fries and they were. Attentive service. We're very understanding when we called to inform them we would be later than expected. No one in our party was disappointed in their meal. Overall great experience.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Much improved Penn Avenue restaurant. Good food and great service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loud. Holy Christian it was loud. About 630, bar scene was popping. My burger was tasty, they had good fried cheese on it. Could have used a bit more sauce. Cool drinks.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We love going to August Henry's when we are in the city, this time the waitress wasn't very nice or attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Good food, great service. Reasonably priced close to the cultural district and convention center

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

great pub/bar with good food for a nice lunch or dinner. great beer selections and great great service. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful and was very attentive to us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This is one of our "goto" places in Pittsburgh either for lunch or dinner. Anytime we have gone to August Henry's, we have had very good service and excellent food. Don't forget to try one of their desserts. You won't regret it. Great place to eat before a show.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The food was excellent, however, I drove all the way from Niagara Falls, Canada to come back for the pull pork nachos and you were out. I know out of your control, but still I was so looking forward to them,. Our waiter, was slow, seemed as though he could only handle one table requesting anything at a time. He would go to one table and then go get what they needed and then we wouldnt see him for 10 minutes then another table and so on. I will come back because I love the food, and we are in Pittsburgh at least 8 times a year. So hopefully I can have pull pork nachos next time!
The steak flat bread was to die for by the way

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wait staff was overwhelmed. Our waitress had too many tables and was making her own drinks at the bar. We were served a drink prior to ordering and then were not asked again if we needed a drink nor were we checked on. Food was mediocre, far too many menu choices to be great at all of them. We left our table to go to bar to order our own drinks. Once we saw our waitress working the bar as well, we asked her for our check and left. Disappointing because it has potential to be a great place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Generous portions. Delicious. Great atmosphere. Highly recommended. Within walking distance to PPG Arena.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

For a place that touts it's burgers mine was a huge disappointment. I got the Kobe burger and asked for it medium and it was well done. But there was nothing to the taste to suggest it was Kobe. A well done burger from Ruth's Chris will taste great. This burger had no taste at all. I've dined at August Henry before and have had a great experience. This was the first time I've tried a burger and it fell way short of the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were a group of 8 for lunch, going to Heinz Hall for a matinee. Our waitress was attentive, but didn't interrupt - great service! Apps for the table, excellent food, separate checks, everything handled very smoothly. It was noon on Saturday, and the place was empty, so very nice and quiet for conversation among friends.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Was very good everything and menu had alot to choice from would go back again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

August Henry is a pleasant, casual bar and restaurant. Food is good, service is good, prices are reasonable.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The atmosphere was great and so was the service. The food wasn't what I was expecting for the price. I have been here a few times and loved the food in the past, but I felt that the quality went down during this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I had dinner here for the first time with my son before attending a musical. The waiter we had was very pleasant and accommodating. They had Moscoto! Dinner was served in a fashionable time frame and was less costly than I expected. I would recommend August Henry's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Pittsburgh Pierogies were great! Ordered the brisket sandwich which sounded amazing... the gouda wasn't melted and the sandwich in general was lacking. Sweet potato fries were outstanding though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was a fun place. Service was great, everyone very friendly. Food was not as good as expected. The pretzels are terrific! Ours were a little under done but we didn't care they tasted so good. Black bean veggie burger not so good. Blackened cat fish po boy pretty good! Burgers ok. Salads were big. Drinks just average. Beer selection great. Prices reasonable. We had a good time. Would prob try it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A group of us went to August Henry's after a matinee show. We were a half hour early for our reservation but we were seated right away. The food was very good! Great burgers, fish sandwiches, and fried zucchini. The blue cheese salad dressing was sharp and tasty. We also tried the Cajun chicken and shrimp with fettuccine Alfredo. Wow! Awesome!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Enjoy this place very much and have dined there many times. Good food. Good times. Always.

Tags: Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 28, 2017

On business and we were looking for a good variety of food choices. Filet was great, awesome crab cakes and one was gluten free. Music from 70s and 80s made a very pleasant time.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We were a group having lunch before attending an afternoon play. Everyone enjoyed their lunch. The server was pleasant and quickly fixed a small order mix up. The only con to our visit was a tip was included on our separate checks. Most in our group would have tipped more than the amount included but if that's all they want that's all they got.

Food, atmospher, and service is great. Would definitely recommend and will be returning.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Not many places to choose from in this location for large groups and specific times. Probably the only reason I chose AHCS. We were promptly seated in the back by the kitchen and noise level was high. Hard to carry on a conversation unless you were sitting right next to the person. Food was just okay, nothing spectacular. Veggies were overcooked although the steak was cooked to my liking and baked potato was just that, a baked potato. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food, great servuce. Highly recommend the meatball appetizer

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We got burgers. They were stupid (in a good way). They were huge and delicious. Service was great. Big fan. Will eat again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is a great place to come for a nice dinner or casual sandwich before Pittsburgh Penguin hockey games. Personally I wish the kitchen stayed open a bit later on those game nights for fans to stop in for a late dessert after the game.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Filet and crab cake (Land and Sea) was perfect. Great burgers.
Our server was super nice and took good care of us.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Enjoyed the casual atmosphere with great food and comfort. Diverse menu and an excellent martini.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The prime rib special was very good. My friends veggie burger was not that good. The happy hours wine selection is very limited.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We gather before going to a show. We were finished in plenty of time to make it. Crab Cake salad, sweet potato encrusted chicken salad, fish sandwich, hamburger were some of our selections. All very good. $5 house wine -- great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.