About Auberge du Soleil

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between May 1-Oct 31 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:00am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Halibut
Cavatelli With Corn And Mushrooms
Sweetbreads
Risotto
Duck
Beef Tenderloin With Gnocchi
Beef Shank
Scallop And Pork Belly
Palate Cleanser
Lobster
Grapefruit
Duck Confit Hash And Poached Eggs
Crisp Filo Wrapped Chocolate Dumplings, Tarragon Ice Cream, Arbequina Olive Oil
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Valhorna Chocolate With Five Tops
Fried Calamari
Chicken Wings
Spiced Local Lamb
Lamb with Fava Beans and Peas
Crispy Duck Confit with a Sun Dried Tomato, Olive and Garlic Tartine, Toasted Walnuts and Verjus
Roast Maine Lobster W/ Potato Puree, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, Edamame and Tarragon
Seared Ahi Tuna
Bacon Wrapped Veal
Salted Caramel & Peanut Butter Mousse With Milk Chocolate Ganache & Bananas
Fresh Seasonal Fish
Meyer Lemon Risotto
Assorted Chocolates
Ruby Grapefruit
Roasted Breast of Chicken
Ginger Panna Cotta and Green Tea Cake
Amuse Bouche
Wedding Cake
Roasted Kurobuta Pork Belly
Diver Scallop
Day Boat Scallops
Asparagus Soup with Dungeness Crab and Farm Egg
Crostini Amuse Bouche
Tomato Risotto
Asparagus Soup
Spiced local lamb, chickpeas, curry, nicoise olives, yogurt, pastis reduction
Wine
Seared ahi tuna, spring vegetables, fava tapenade, bagna cauda
Mignardise – cocoa dusted chocolate almonds, pistachio caramels, dark chocolate bourbon ganache truffles
Shrimp Risotto
Lamb Loin
Seared Foie Gras
Kona kampachi crudo in housemade puff pastry shell
Wild king salmon, eggplant, zucchini, pine nuts, ricotta stuffed squash blossom
Gelato Di Bufala
Restaurant Month Prix Fix
Breakfast En Bonne Santé
Cappuccino
Auberge du Soleil Rose Champagne
Housemade Bread And Butter
Cow's milk burrata, heirloom tomatoes, padron peppers, basil, saba
Veal sweetbreads, hearts of palm, chanterelle mushrooms, basil, orange glaze
Egg white omelet with spinach, mushrooms, onions and avocado with multigrain toast (breakfast)
Pecan streusel coffee cake (breakfast pastries)
Ahi Tuna Tartare, Wakame, Cucumber, Ginger Dressing
Kurobuta Pork Chop
Breakfast Pizza
Chocolate Stuffed Phyllo Pockets With Olive Oil
Duck confit pizza
Breakfast à l’ Américaine
Tartlet
Auberge du Soleil Champagne
Auberge Omelet
Huevos Rancheros With Chorizo
Fresh Seasonal Berries
Wild mushroom bread pudding, truffle cream, micro arugula
Poached Hopper Shrimp, Butter Lettuce, Avocado, Orange
Duck Confit Hash
Caramelized Banana
Bone Marrow
Xinjiang Lamb Skewers
Candied Ginger Cocktail
Beignets
Crispy Belgian Waffle With Fresh Berries & Devonshire Cream
Chinoise Congee With Pork Belly
Lavender Martini
Cup of Vichyssoise
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Applewood Smoked Bacon
Mixed berries, fresh fruit breakfast bowl
Desserts

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
French
San Francisco Bay Area
5 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Scenic View
Wine Country
French
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Rutherford ›

Scenic View (174)
Special Occasion (150)
Great for Outdoor Dining (147)
See All
Romantic (145)
Fit for Foodies (123)
Notable Wine List (107)
Great for Lunch (80)
Great for Brunch (64)
Good for Groups (28)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Historic (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was our first visit to Auberge du Sol ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It was our first visit to Auberge du Soleil. Our first mistake was booking too late, even though it was the earliest reservation we could get. I suggest arriving long before dark to enjoy the stunning view.

Our waiter was phenomenal as was the food. The portions are not large but absolutely perfect. The prices are not for the faint of heart.

We are glad we went. For us, it will be a once in a lifetime experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our l ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Auberge du Soleil, it was one of the best dining experiences we had in the Napa Valley during our week long trip! We will definitely be back to enjoy it again the next time we're in the area!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister visiting from Paris wanted to ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

My sister visiting from Paris wanted to eat among vineyards. She loved the place and so did I.

Beautiful settings and quiet place even though it was busy.

Excellent service and mostly great food.

The Sauteed Foie Gras was not a one star micheling guide worthy, served raw inside and full of nerves. It was hard to believe that a French Chef in a state where Foie Gras is so controversial would serve such an item.

It was promptly removed from the bill and our waiter give me an extra "splash" of wine in my glass. Nicely done.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great evening. Thoroughly enjoyed. Good ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great evening. Thoroughly enjoyed. Good food and atmosphere. Great views. We were here for quite a few hours and didn't get moved on. Def recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stuning view with a very chic ambiance I ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Stuning view with a very chic ambiance Ideal for lunch .Beautiful wine list

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

we eat out a lot and this is one of the ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

we eat out a lot and this is one of the nicest restaurants with great food, great service and impressive views.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time and the food was ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a wonderful time and the food was excellent. Our server Paul and the rest of the staff was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to lunch with some friends and enjo ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Went to lunch with some friends and enjoyed every minute. Like an oasis from the harvest time valley this deck seating was relaxing, decadent, and worth every penny. Well done in every possible way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time visiting Auberge. This time i ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Third time visiting Auberge. This time it was very disappointing. Server spoke very fast, hard to understand. She was rushing us through dinner. I ordered the prime filet pave as my third course, it turn out to be chewy, certainly not prime. My friend ordered the pasta as her main course, it had no flavor and had to be sent back. Totally over priced for the quality of the food. Bill was $1,800.00 for 7 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

The service was great and the presentati ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The service was great and the presentation of the food was beautiful. Taste was hit or miss for each of the guests at the table. Each of us had plates that were delicious and each of us had plates that were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Decadent!! Thoroughly enjoyed this resta ...

 
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Decadent!! Thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant. Outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Most incredible dinner I have ever had! ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Most incredible dinner I have ever had! Awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Almost 30 years after first visit, lunch ...

 
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Almost 30 years after first visit, lunch experience was still top-notch. Excellent food, attentive service and spectacular weather all combined to make for a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, disappointing. We arrived early ...

 
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Overall, disappointing. We arrived early for our brunch reservation and was not accommodated a minute early. No one person made us feel particularly welcome. During our wait, we entertained the bar with a couple starters and a bottle of champagne which we enjoyed. The ambience here was ok. While the view is very nice, there are views of this magnitude all over the valley. The egg portion of the lobster omelette was rubbery, hardly edible, even seeming precooked, folded over the filling just prior to serving. The potatoes served alongside were not fresh or crisp. The sourdough bread was very tasty, as well as three different desserts we sampled. We also enjoyed nice french press coffee. Unfortunately, not likely to return, or recommend. Certainly NOT worthy of a one (1) star Michelin rating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

From start to finish, everything was per ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

From start to finish, everything was perfect: The welcome, setting, the service, and the food especially so! The view was spectacular, we felt like we were back in the south of France.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We ate dinner at Auberge Du Soleil as pa ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We ate dinner at Auberge Du Soleil as part of a pre-anniversary trip to Napa. While we had heard about Auberge for years this was our first opportunity to dine there. All aspects of the meal were outstanding, including the menu items we ordered and a few special treats sent out by the chef. Our server (Michael) and the wine steward ((Elizabeth) were knowledgeable, helpful and very pleasant. Do get there before sunset if you can. Few can afford Auberge frequently, but make a pin of getting there whenever you have the chance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We come every year, it is an amazing pla ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We come every year, it is an amazing place to have a meal, and the menu is truly exceptional. You can choose any 3 or 4 courses you wish, from a vibrant list of choices. My wife and I each opt for 4 and never overlap, so every time I taste 8 dishes, and I have never had a bad bite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the view on the patio is breathtaking. s ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

the view on the patio is breathtaking. sometimes looks nicer than it tastes but still excellent quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Wonderful meal and great vi ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent. Wonderful meal and great view. Had brunch there and sat on the balcony overlooking the valley. The choices were all so great we couldn't decide. My daughter choose two app instead of a desert.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the terrace dining at lunch. T ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We loved the terrace dining at lunch. The food was excellent, although small in portion size, especially the shrimp salad. Given the price, I would have expected more than 4-5 medium shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous day on the terrace! The quail ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fabulous day on the terrace! The quail salad was outstanding. Lobster salad was also good 9quail better). Outstanding wine list - many you can obtain by the glass alone. Service was impeccable. Well worth the visit if you are in Napa/Rutherford.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful view, great food and service. ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Beautiful view, great food and service. A wonderful place for lunch -- serene surroundings!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing view, amazing ahi tuna, and the ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Amazing view, amazing ahi tuna, and the salted butter with bread by itself was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience was great!!!! Food was real ...

 
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The ambience was great!!!! Food was really good and service was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is trading on it's reputa ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The restaurant is trading on it's reputation. The menu is time warp, boring and the food mediocre. The prices are sky high however. My husband ordered a Marguerita and instead of asking if he wanted a "signature" version, the waiter just brought it. It tasted like whisky. I complained and it was changed. That should not have happened in the first place. The food experience doesn't warrant a second visit.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Auberge Du Soleil is a "must experience" ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Auberge Du Soleil is a "must experience" for Napa. The view from the balcony is breathtaking and not to be missed. The food is excellent - well prepared and well presented, although serving size is small and prices are large. Overall, the experience was worth the price for a special occasion. We will never forget the wonderful lunch we shared at Auberge du Soleil and every visitor to the area should experience the view at least once.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The whole experience was exceptional, fr ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The whole experience was exceptional, from the food , service and a view to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They could not have made us feel any mor ...

 
·Dined on August 29, 2016

They could not have made us feel any more special for a fabulous anniversary lunch. The food and service exceed expectations without fail. Loved every moment and every bite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. Outstanding ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always a great experience. Outstanding views. Gourmet menu. Excellent Service. Perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went here for a wedding anniversary brun ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went here for a wedding anniversary brunch. It was outstanding, the service, the food, the view. It was really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a return visit and we were not ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was a return visit and we were not nearly as impressed as the other visit. The view and ambiance is great but given their even increasing prices we felt the food quality had slipped a notch or two. Bacon wrapped veal overcooked and

Risotto's temperature was lukewarm. Wished we had a more positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Love the local ingredients. All the cour ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Love the local ingredients. All the courses were special. The ribs over the heirloom tomatoes was absolutely spectacular. The view, the setting, the weather were perfect. I'm ready to go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a great breakfast! Everything about ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Such a great breakfast! Everything about the atmosphere and the service was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you like great food, service and a se ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

If you like great food, service and a setting that is incomparable, then this is the place for you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, not excellent or ...

 
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food was very good, not excellent or exciting, and 110 pp for 3 courses was a bit too much as a result. Pastry chef seems stronger.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Service was top notch. View was lovely. ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Service was top notch. View was lovely. Good very tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was absolutely fantastic! Unb ...

 
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Everything was absolutely fantastic!

Unbelievable! Perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Amazing. The meal and ambience ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Amazing. Amazing. The meal and ambience is worth every penny! The Auberge du Soleil can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Napa for our anniversar ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were visiting Napa for our anniversary and when I came across this restaurant with the backdrop/view it offered, we had to eat there. The view was the most incredible I've probably experienced, and the service and food was absolutely amazing. It was all around an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very ambience. Great setting. Great vi ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very ambience. Great setting. Great view. Food very nice, but food taste was average.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.