About Auberge du Soleil

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between May 1-Oct 31 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:00am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
French
San Francisco Bay Area
8 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Wine Country
Scenic View
Wine Country
French
Wine Country
Most Booked
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Rutherford ›

scenic view (181)
special occasion (174)
great for outdoor dining (170)
See All
romantic (164)
fit for foodies (142)
notable wine list (102)
great for lunch (94)
great for brunch (73)
good for groups (33)
hot spot (22)
neighborhood gem (19)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine lover

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Truly one of the finest restaurants in the country. Amazing food and service and an extraordinary wine list. Sitting outdoor s overlooking Napa Valley watching the moon rise is not to be missed. And it is worth every penny

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointed. Had too high of expectation.

Dined 6 days ago

Service was just ok. For the amount of money, it was not great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing food. One of the best meals I've ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food. One of the best meals I've ever had. Well worth the price. And the view is just to die for.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Honestly this was one of the worst exper ...

Dined 7 days ago

Honestly this was one of the worst experiences we had in Napa. The service felt so rushed and impersonal. The food was not creative or inspiring at all. The bacon wrapped veal tasted oddly like a pepperoni pizza. Our server tried routinely to remove plates with food on them and glasses with wine left in them making us feel like they wanted us to eat quickly and leave. It was overall a huge disappointment and I would never recommend it to anyone and I would never go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delightful lazy afternoon lunch!

Dined on May 20, 2016

Auberge is always delightful for an afternoon lunch. Great views, great service, great food. Some things never change at Auberge and one of them is Paul ... a great waiter who can help you navigate the menu, make great wine pairing choices and provide a wonderful smile the entire time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Auberge du Soleil is a great spot--one o ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Auberge du Soleil is a great spot--one of the finest dining experiences to be found anywhere. It has the amazing view, polished and refined ambiance, delightful food and exquisite wines and unparalleled service to make it one of the world's great dining experiences. This was our 5th visit to Auberge du Soleil and something I hope to experience again and again.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The Gnocchi was divine. A surprise for s ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The Gnocchi was divine. A surprise for sure. Service was over the top. Should be though for the price.

food5
ambience5
service5

The view the service and the food were a ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The view the service and the food were all outstanding. It could not have been a better lunch experience. I highly recommend it.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's my second time to visit the restaur ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

It's my second time to visit the restaurant but first time for my two friends. Since I had a good time the first time and told them about it they wanted to try it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu, service and ambience This rest ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The menu, service and ambience This restaurant had it all

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Being a vegetarian i was happy to see a ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Being a vegetarian i was happy to see a few choices. The waiter recommended the Mushroom Mille Feuille. While it sounded fantastic , it lacked flavor. I was disappointed. The house while wine was called by their own name was fantastic. Great place. Would love to stay there.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amaging location! We saw two couple of w ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amaging location! We saw two couple of wedding. They're smile make smile us. We requested wine mariarge course. taste good,wine also good,right volume. I recommend this hotel and restourant. Best regard. Soy sauce sommelier D.Ohama from japan

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful and delicious food with a view ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful and delicious food with a view to match.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quintessential wine country elegance.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful meals, friendly staff, unparalleled views. Try to get a reservation for sunset time. Ask for a "rail seat" outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb service, delicious food, amazing ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Superb service, delicious food, amazing view and over fantastic place. Very pricey, but very worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and the location was spectac ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The service and the location was spectacular. Unfortunately, the food left us disappointed. The soup was not tasty and neither was the salad we ordered. The main dishes were a bit better, but nothing spectacular either. The wine, on the other hand, was great. I recommend ordering only a couple of dishes and some great glasses of wine to enjoy the view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had not been to Auberge du Soleil in a ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

I had not been to Auberge du Soleil in a few years and was quickly reminded how wonderful the complete experience is. Always innovative menu, great wait staff and superb wine list. And did I almost forget the panoramic vista?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is excellent, the service very ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food is excellent, the service very attentive and the view is spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of wine country

Dined on May 12, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious meal with a postcard view of the Napa Valley. Everything was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The view, the service, the wine list, th ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The view, the service, the wine list, the food, the ambiance, and oh the dessert! What superlatives are there to describe this restaurant!?? And surprisingly good value! Memorable in every way.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Scenic view and menu

Dined on May 9, 2016

It is a one star Michelin restaurant which means the food is great. Service is also good. Neither one or another are breathtaking but it is worth trying... The environment and the view are to dye for... so the combination is perfect.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome view and superb food and service ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Awesome view and superb food and service. Extremely friendly and courteous staff. Gorgeous views overlooking the valley vineyards.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Great experience as usual.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great experience as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance service and food are excellent!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Sitting out on the patio with friends a good bottle of wine and a great view if Napa valley can't be best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambience

Dined on May 3, 2016

Excellent food and ambience

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top o' the Mountain : Not just site-wise!

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

Not only in Auberge situated at the top of a 'mountain', their cuisine is at the Top of the Culinary Mountain! It's a special place where one can find consistent quality dining, consistent service, and . .. .oh the view!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful lunch and the service was outs ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Wonderful lunch and the service was outstanding! The view is amazing, too! Will definitely be back for lunch or dinner again!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food exceeded our high expectations ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The food exceeded our high expectations and prior experiences. Alexandra was attentive, informed and delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic. Everything was perfect. Food ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

Fantastic. Everything was perfect. Food was creative and delicious. Views were stunning and staff was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

NAPA AT ITS FINEST!!!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

If you don't mind the cost, AUBERGE DU SOLIEL is the place to be. The menu and the service is "top of the line" and they do NOT disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Breakfast

Dined on April 29, 2016

This is our second visit to Auberge and we've only had breakfast here. It was amazing, just as we remembered it. The view is terrific, and the outside dining is delightful. The service is impeccable. We brought our daughter this time, and her first comment in the lobby was "this is a Michelin star restaurant?!?!" Needless to say, she was very impressed. We will certainly be back next time we are in Napa.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for special occasions

Dined on April 29, 2016

We liked everything - really good set, nice wine list, the view, very professional waiters. Classic chic restaurant!! Definitely worth it! And definitely deserves its Michelin star

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with a view

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

I took my wife to NAPA for her birthday and picked this spot for our special date night. The ambience was soft and romantic, food was amazing and the service was outstanding. Will def be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! This was the best meal I have ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent! This was the best meal I have ever had. Our waiter was very attentive and did a great job with the wine pairings. To open we had the kampachi and scallops. Both dishes were flawlessly executed. Our second courses consisted of lobster risotto and ahi tuna. The ahi tuna had a spicy but not overpowering sauce that was terrific. For our main courses we had the wagyu ($75 supplement) and bacon wrapped veal. Both main courses were outstanding. Three courses with wine pairings plus tip ran us about $465. Probably not something you would do often but definitely worth experiencing. If you appreciate a great food experience Auberge should be at the top of your list.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely outstanding and ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was absolutely outstanding and service was impeccable. I would highly recommend this to anyone in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic experience

Dined on April 26, 2016

Celebrating being married at sunrise on the lower patio 20 years ago made our wonderful lunch with friends a special experience. The view from the outdoor patio is spectacular. The service is absolutely excellent. The wine list at Auberge is wonderful, including many very special wines from throughout the region. Food at Auberge is incredible, with great options and wonderful flavored. With a good selection of appetizers, salad, soup and entrées you will want to return to try something different. Auberge is also prepared for people with food allergies, including being able to offer a very good gluten free bread option. We go to Auberge whenever we are in the Napa Valley area and are always looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Dining

Dined on April 25, 2016

I had lunch. The meals were quite popular and not so specified as auberge. However the view from the terrace and patio's atmosphere was really wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on April 25, 2016

Was an amazing experience here. Came for post proposal dinner and the whole staff was amazing. I think each staff member came over to say congratulations to my fiance and me. Food was out of this world. Will definitely come again next time we are in Napa.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family from Connecticut were very imp ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

My family from Connecticut were very impressed with the whole dining experience. I already knew how wonderful it was. Certainly will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite place!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We celebrated my birthday at this restaurant and everything was perfect. The tables are situated so there is privacy and the view was gorgeous. The food was delicious!! Loved the ambiance - would definitely recommend this place for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.