About Auberge du Soleil

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between May 1-Oct 31 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:00am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Halibut
Cavatelli With Corn And Mushrooms
Lobster
Beef Tenderloin With Gnocchi
Risotto
Duck
Palate Cleanser
Beef Shank
Grapefruit
Scallop And Pork Belly
Sweetbreads
Duck Confit Hash And Poached Eggs
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Chicken Wings
Chinoise Congee With Pork Belly
Crispy Belgian Waffle With Fresh Berries & Devonshire Cream
Fried Calamari
Mignardise – cocoa dusted chocolate almonds, pistachio caramels, dark chocolate bourbon ganache truffles
Wild king salmon, eggplant, zucchini, pine nuts, ricotta stuffed squash blossom
Gelato Di Bufala
Spiced local lamb, chickpeas, curry, nicoise olives, yogurt, pastis reduction
Kona kampachi crudo in housemade puff pastry shell
Cow's milk burrata, heirloom tomatoes, padron peppers, basil, saba
Veal sweetbreads, hearts of palm, chanterelle mushrooms, basil, orange glaze
Wild mushroom bread pudding, truffle cream, micro arugula
Peaches, Chiffon Cake, And Buffalo Mozzarella Ice Cream
Seared ahi tuna, spring vegetables, fava tapenade, bagna cauda
Housemade Bread And Butter
Crisp Filo Wrapped Chocolate Dumplings, Tarragon Ice Cream, Arbequina Olive Oil
Valhorna Chocolate With Five Tops
Spiced Local Lamb
Lamb with Fava Beans and Peas
Crispy Duck Confit with a Sun Dried Tomato, Olive and Garlic Tartine, Toasted Walnuts and Verjus
Roast Maine Lobster W/ Potato Puree, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, Edamame and Tarragon
Seared Ahi Tuna
Bacon Wrapped Veal
Salted Caramel & Peanut Butter Mousse With Milk Chocolate Ganache & Bananas
Fresh Seasonal Fish
Meyer Lemon Risotto
Assorted Chocolates
Roasted Breast of Chicken
Ruby Grapefruit
Ginger Panna Cotta and Green Tea Cake
Amuse Bouche
Wedding Cake
Roasted Kurobuta Pork Belly
Diver Scallop
Day Boat Scallops
Asparagus Soup with Dungeness Crab and Farm Egg
Crostini Amuse Bouche
Tomato Risotto
Asparagus Soup
Wine
Shrimp Risotto
Lamb Loin
Seared Foie Gras
Restaurant Month Prix Fix
Breakfast En Bonne Santé
Cappuccino
Auberge du Soleil Rose Champagne
Egg white omelet with spinach, mushrooms, onions and avocado with multigrain toast (breakfast)
Pecan streusel coffee cake (breakfast pastries)
Ahi Tuna Tartare, Wakame, Cucumber, Ginger Dressing
Kurobuta Pork Chop
Breakfast Pizza
Chocolate Stuffed Phyllo Pockets With Olive Oil
Duck confit pizza
Fresh Seasonal Berries
Auberge Omelet
Breakfast à l’ Américaine
Tartlet
Auberge du Soleil Champagne
Huevos Rancheros With Chorizo
Poached Hopper Shrimp, Butter Lettuce, Avocado, Orange
Duck Confit Hash
Caramelized Banana
Xinjiang Lamb Skewers
Bone Marrow
Beignets
Candied Ginger Cocktail
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Applewood Smoked Bacon
Cup of Vichyssoise
Lavender Martini
Mixed berries, fresh fruit breakfast bowl

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
French
San Francisco Bay Area
8 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Wine Country
Romantic
Wine Country
Scenic View
Wine Country
French
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Rutherford ›

scenic view (185)
special occasion (170)
great for outdoor dining (167)
See All
romantic (164)
fit for foodies (143)
notable wine list (111)
great for lunch (88)
great for brunch (67)
good for groups (30)
hot spot (18)
neighborhood gem (12)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here for years and ha ...

Dined 5 days ago

We have been going here for years and have never been disappointed

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat on the patio and rocked out a seriou ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Sat on the patio and rocked out a serious meal. Took my Daughter and her teen friend. They were captivated by the entire experience. Food is better than most 1 start and service was above expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside and the view was breathta ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

We sat outside and the view was breathtaking. Schedule your dinner plans at Auberge around sunset; it's just an incredible view. The wine selection can be overwhelming but the waiters (and they have a sommelier) can assist with that. My husband had the beef and I had the veal. Both dishes were delicious. The service was excellent. Auberge du Soleil is a must, view, food and service all exceeded our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The lunch menu was simple but complete, ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

The lunch menu was simple but complete, we had a three course meal that was simply amazing. Starting with the service, i must say it was superb. The hostess quickly accommodated us at an excellent table, on the balcony, overlooking the valley. The food was amazing! such attention to detail was placed in every dish, the foie gras was just amazing, rich, and on top of pain perdu (with chocolate inside). The main dish that won the week was a melt in your mouth beef short rib. Overall, outstanding experience, with excellent food, amazing views, and perfect service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely spectacular dinner! Start to ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Absolutely spectacular dinner! Start to finish, not one complaint about the food, wine, setting or service. Our only regret: that we didn't book a half hour earlier to catch the sunset. Thankfully, even dusk was amazingly scenic. The three-course prix fixe was more than enough, and wine pairings were spot-on. My husband really wanted to try Napa wines, and enjoyed each selection very much. Somehow, without my saying anything, the server guessed that I would prefer mostly French (and he was correct). Every bite, every sip was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We started out having to wait to be seat ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We started out having to wait to be seated. No apologies. Once seated, we enjoyed delicious salads. The main courses were disappointing: dry pork chop, overcooked leg of lamb, and risotto that was not dry enough. For dessert, the lemon tart was tasteless and too gelatinous. For $65 each, we could have done better elsewhere. What saved the day were the lovely view and good service.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful views with amazing food on the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful views with amazing food on the restaurant patio.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service, excellent wine and ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Always great service, excellent wine and breathtaking views!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing view with outstanding food an ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

An amazing view with outstanding food and service to go with it.

food5
ambience5
service5

All round wonderful experience. The wait ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

All round wonderful experience. The waitstaff was helpful with suggestions for food and wine. The food was exceptional in presentation and very tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Auberge du Soleil is an outstanding rest ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Auberge du Soleil is an outstanding restaurant in every respect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Go for a late brunch 1:30-2:30 and it is ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Go for a late brunch 1:30-2:30 and it is more than enough for lunch and early dinner. Halibut and Short Ribs were outstanding. Pastries and desserts to die for. I would have liked my Mimosa better if they used fresh squeezed orange juice. Service was excellent. Request a table along the railing with an awesome view and you'll think you're in Tuscany! Can't wait to go back on another special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific service, great food, fabulous v ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Terrific service, great food, fabulous view. I would love to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

Food and view was wonderful - definitely ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and view was wonderful - definitely perfect for a special treat in the Napa valley. We asked our server to pair our wines with our food and the picked the perfect ones to bring out the best in our dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb fare and service with a delectabl ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Superb fare and service with a delectable array of selections. Impossible to make a bad choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view - fantastic food and service!

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Great view - fantastic food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely in my top 5 best restaurants ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Definitely in my top 5 best restaurants in the US and I've been fortunate to have eaten at many of the top-rated restaurants in NYC, LA, Vegas, Miami, etc.! Gorgeous views, stellar service, and superb cuisine. They get an A+ in my book! Can't wait to return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another EXCELLENT experience.

Dined on June 5, 2016

My sister and I brought our dad here for brunch to celebrate his 60th birthday. Service, food, and ambiance were all 10-10-10. This is one of my favorite places to dine for special occasions and I make the drive up from Oakland, CA - totally worth it. I never considered the price, but my father was shocked to see how affordable brunch is, considering all that you're getting (beyond just good food). Give this place a try, I bet you'll be coming back again and again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a meal to remember at Auberge du Soleil

Dined on June 5, 2016

We had a memorable dinner at Auberge du Soleil for my husband's birthday. The staff was wonderful and helped me surprise him with a candle and 'happy birthday' written in chocolate on his dessert plate. It was a wonderful, special evening with family.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice experience

Dined on June 2, 2016

There is a beautiful outside view of the valley. It's very relaxing watching the sunset. Wait staff was courteous and helpful. The food was very good. Was a nice experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

The three course choice provides solid ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

The three course choice provides solid portions in each. The flavors and textures are incredibly satisfying. Delicious! Service and atmosphere and view cannot be topped!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on June 1, 2016

One of our favorite spots we ate at on vacation. The view was amazing and so was the food and service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Make sure that you are hungry!

Dined on June 1, 2016

The food was delicious and very innovative. You can only purchase the 3-course, 4-course, or 6-course menu, and this is quite a bit of food. My husband and I each did the 3-course and shared the first course and dessert. The meyer lemon donuts were a great finish to the meal. Since we were on vacation, we could not take our left-overs home, which was a real shame. My husband couldn't even finish his meal, which I have rarely seen before. The view from the deck is the best we experienced during our time in the valley. This is a great place for a romantic meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Just alright

Dined on June 1, 2016

I found this place online while searching for a nice restaurant to have my one year wedding anniversary dinner. The pictures of the view were amazing! The food looked very tasty as well, and the restaurant had 4 1/2 stars, so I figured it had to be pretty great. We drove 4 hours to eat here because there is nothing really around where we live. The place was very nice on the inside and outside on the balcony was beautiful too. The scenic view was my favorite part. Once we received the menus I was shocked to see that the least expensive option was $110. We both didn't care too much because we expected our dinner to be expensive and hey, anniversaries aren't every day. We thought wow the food must be really incredible!! Every waiter and waitress there really talked up each dish and the words on the paper were very well written. When we received each course, they were on the small side and very mediocre. Yes they had fancy names and interesting combinations on each plate but that does not make a food taste good. I was very disappointed in this fact because we both really appreciate good food and it just fell flat. We paid $250 (drinks included) for some of the most average food we've had. We still had a great time together and loved staring out at the view but we won't be going back. Nice place but nothing special!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The best view in the Valley. Excellent f ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

The best view in the Valley. Excellent food and service. Highly recommend!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love?

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

This is a wonderful hotel and restaurant-We got married here last fall and went back over a holiday weekend to have a luncheon. The setting is spectacular-perched high above the Napa Valley. The food is local, organic and delicious-changing seasonally. The wine list is quite extensive. Service is excellent. Overall- a very special spot! George, Bradley and team never seem to make a mistake-it's consistently wonderful. Highly recommend for special occasions-or the bar side for a more casual experience. Be sure to sit on the terrace, weather permitting. It's a treat you're not soon to forget.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

In a word--magnificent. Each dish was delicious. Service attentive without hovering. Beautiful view of the wine country. The lemon risotto was out of this world to die for. All 4 of us loved each course. Can't wait to go again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch. Excellent service and beau ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great brunch. Excellent service and beautiful environment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was fantastic!

Dined on May 28, 2016

One of, if not my favorite place for brunch. The view, service, and food were all extremely memorable and I'd highly recommend. All dishes were unique and well crafted. If I had to mention a negative, the valet lot in front of the venue was a bit chaotic. Too small for the amount of cars and buses that park there. We sat in a cluster of cars for about 10 minutes as they tried to navigate people in and out.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Honeymoon dinner

Dined on May 28, 2016

This place was possibly the nicest meal I've ever eaten! The service was great and the food was even better, but the best part of the whole experience was the incredible view. I couldn't have dreamed up a more romantic honeymoon dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Breakfast auberge du soleil

Dined on May 27, 2016

The view was amazing the food was so-so. My pancakes were burnt and the bacon was over done. Great place for a nice view but the food was mediocre at best.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Auberge du Soleil IS OUTSTANDING! THERE ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Auberge du Soleil IS OUTSTANDING! THERE IS NO OTHER PLACE FOR EXTRAORDINARY CUSINE, VIEW, FOR FOODIES, BRUNCH, LUNCH AND DINNER! MAGNIFICENT VIEWS AND OUTDOOR DINING THE BEST IN NAPA VALLEY, FABULOUS WINE LIST!!!! INCREDIBLE SERVICE, MANAGER AND STAFF!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on May 25, 2016

The porch seating was indescribable. Our table was well lit w a heater for the chilly evening. It could not have been a better table. Overlooking the valley was a bonus and a very good choice as opposed to dining bsit de since the weather was beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Views were spectacular. The tasting menu ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Views were spectacular. The tasting menu was fantastic, service spectacular.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a table at the balcony and it off ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We had a table at the balcony and it offered a fantastic view of the sunset. Food was excellent and so was the service. Only disappointment was the table next to us which had 8 persons and were a bit too noisy for a romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine lover

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Truly one of the finest restaurants in the country. Amazing food and service and an extraordinary wine list. Sitting outdoor s overlooking Napa Valley watching the moon rise is not to be missed. And it is worth every penny

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding location and cuisine. Well ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding location and cuisine. Well worth a stop in Napa.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vacation to remember

Dined on May 22, 2016

We have been to Auberge de Soleil a few times over the years and this visit was with two other couples who had never had the wonderful dining experience. The weather was perfect and our round table on the balcony was exceptional as was the service. Everyone thought this was the highlight of our stay in Napa. We definitely would recommend this as a MUST for all visiting the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top spot among top spots for brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

When looking for a top wine country restaurant to treat our daughter to a 21st birthday brunch, we checked out the usual spots. But, the brunch menus were a little uninspired compared to the dinners. Not so with Auberge du Soliel. Theirs is put together with as much imagination and care as their dinners - and delivered to us with great success. A must-do for Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great dinner - good service, outstanding food and great ambience. There was no problem sharing appetizers - and we each loved our entrees. Excellent wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.