Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi

About Auberge du Soleil

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between Apr 1-Nov 30 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:30am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (83)
Special Occasion (82)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
Romantic (59)
Good for a Date (57)
Worth the Drive (55)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Notable Wine List (42)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Great for Lunch (33)
Great for Brunch (32)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Tasting Menu (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Fireplace (23)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Seasonal (15)
Cozy (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Organic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Historic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2743 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Spectacular setting for dining on the deck.
perfect service
excellent, creative menu
expensive, but worth it for special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Magnificent setting, creative menu, excellent wine pairings and good service describes the dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We had our orders and food service from several servers, from which I inferred that tips are shared - a good policy. All were pleasant, knowledgeable and skilled.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food just not that inspiring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I had dinner here to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. We went with the 4 course tasting menu, for which you choose 4 courses off the menu (as opposed to it being chef's pick).
For the first course: My foie gras was THE BEST THING I HAVE EVER PUT IN MY MOUTH. Literally. If you eat here, you MUST order it. He had the octopus, good.
For the second: I had ahí tuna, which was good but not great, and neither hubby nor I can remember what he got (prob not a good sign). I remember he did not like it very much.
Third course: I had the duck and he had the beef pave. BOTH were sooooo chewy. My jaw was spent after eating two bites. I just couldn't. Same with my husband.
Dessert: We had the key lime tart and the chocolate. Both were ok, we weren't floored.
Great atmosphere, beautiful views, great cocktails. But thought the meal was extremely underwhelming for $700.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful! The food was delicious and the service impeccable. We loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Retirement lunch

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Beautiful view, elegant food, and impeccable service. Pricey, but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Amazing place for a fabulous memorable meal! We plan to return on every trip to Napa!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience. Beautiful setting. Beautiful service. Beautiful day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Excellent dinner and service. Beautiful location up in the mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had a great experience. One member of the party has gluten intolerance and was given many options from the menu. While most of the food was superb, the risotto had too much parmesan cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Sunday Brunch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First experience with fine dining and it was right on the mark. Exceptional food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Third time at Auberge. Service is still phenomenal, as are the views. However I have a little issue with the value for money. Some wines are ridiculously priced. I did appreciate the little plates or the desserts that came with compliments.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

It was my second time there while visiting wine country. Such a beautiful setting with amazing ambiance and good food/drinks. Will go back again on my next Napa trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

What an amazing ambiance and staff, and the food was perfection. Would come back over and over again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Let me start by saying the view and ambiance were phenomenal and ensure that you are able to take full advantage of the view if you go (tables outside are set up nicely so that both people of date night can enjoy view). All food eaten was good, a little high price for what you get but still tasty food. Service was great and enjoyed the entire experience.

Concern: When you talk to employees that work at a restaurant for 2+ years and have never had an opportunity to eat any of the food at the restaurant, I have to question the management prerogatives. Multiple employees were asked what they preferred, and all said they've never eaten there...so we were flying blind on true "stomach" recommendations, so had to go with just waiter's "gut" recommendations.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were disappointed. Lunch took an hour and 45 mins. Had a salad each and an entree. Server took our order dropped off each dish and never saw him again in between. Waited 45 mins for entree's after salads. Had the chicken, was incredibly dry and tasteless. Tried to get the attention of several staff to no avail. Never got asked if we wanted coffee or dessert. We're seated at table for 1 even though we were a 2 top. No way this place should be Michelin starred. A whole lot of pretension.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our server Julia was excellent. The food was delicious and nicely presented. I would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Was good but suggest trying la toque

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The view at Auburge du Soleil is breathtaking. Also, the duck confit was excellent. They treat you like royalty as well. This was the best service we received on our trip.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Pretty pricey, but it was a wonderful experience overall, unfortunately, I have had better scallops, risotto, and lamb chops elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was great. Do not sit by the doors that open up to the terraces as people keep going in and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This is a Michelin star restaurant supposedly. When we first arrived I was offered a glass of flat sparkling wine from a bottle which on the admission of the waiter, had been opened the night before. I refused it and he went and opened a fresh bottle.
The salad appetisers were not anything special, with just a few shrimps placed on some butter lettuce with dressing on top. I could make a better one at home.
I ordered the scallops which had a tainted taste of 'ammonia' to them. I could not eat them as they were very unpleasant and unpalatable. I had to swap the scallops with another boring salad.
Very disappointing food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great dining. High price but it is worth to pay. I want to come back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

So, a few years ago, I tried the fine dining side of Auberge, only to be ignored. I thought I would give them a second chance. Suzy, my server, was attentive and amazing!!!! No one's fault that it was cold/ raining, so we sat inside and could not enjoy the amazing view. I splurged on the $150 6-course tasting menu. First 2 courses were outstanding!!! Scallop, and Foie Gras. But then the veal sweetbread and Squab were both unedible. I waited 35 minutes for the beef course, and by then I am "over it". The beef was fine, but the sides were cold. What happened there!??!? They rushed the dessert over which was underwhelming. Overall, very disappointing and a waste of $250!!!! Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Beautiful view and terrace. great food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We went with the family for my fiancés birthday and had a great experience. The view was AMAZING and the food is even better!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 10, 2017

This place was recommended to us by family members and might I say what a treat. The views were absolutely stunning! Food and service were excellent. Very unique food presentation. Loved it so worth the drive!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I always appreciate the "pour from bottle at the table side" service for the glass wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 10, 2017

An amazing meal - and then came the deserts!! Exceptionally picture worthy! And the service was spot on.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was excellent.
The service was not good at all.
We would consider other places for future special occassions.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The whole experience was great. We got diner reservation and arrived a little early so we got to hang out in the bar terrace. For diner we had the chef’s tasting and all the food was excellent (just the dessert was a little bit less great than the rest of the courses). The wines were also great. Overall the food was something to remember. Another plus was the service, in the bar the waiter was very friendly and made some good recommendations, the service during diner was also excellent. Really there was nothing disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

All I can say is they never cease to amaze me .Food and service is beyond .I have never been disappointed here and I have been coming here for 20 years .Amazing again !!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Two of us went, it was a 3 course meal each for $70 person. The mahi tartar was absolutely amazing!!! Half dozen oyster, well 2 out of 3 had shell pieces traceable by my teeth but my friend said her oyster were fine. So bad luck for me I guess? Both entree are pretty decent. For dessert the apple pie was one of the best dessert ever!

Tags: Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I come here for Sunday brunch with my wife. The restaurant has a very good view, which you can oversee the Napa. The food is tasty, but I am disappoint that our main dish came in cold. We talk to our waitress and he has replaced our dish immediately. Overall, we are happy with the food and service, we will recommend our friend to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This is a fabulous restaurant with a beautiful view. The food and service are exceptional. It is, however, a bit pricey.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great setting with tasty food and great service. I ordered the chicken for lunch which came with Brussel sprouts and carrots, but they were so skimpy with the vegetables it was laughable ( 3 half pieces of very small brussels and one spear of carrot). The serving of chicken was more than adequate, and it was very tasty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This restaurant was incredible! It was our first time. We went for brunch. We had a beautiful 3 course meal. All of the options sounded amazing, including the desserts. I highly recommend it! The view of the hill and valley was spectacular and relaxing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.