Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi

About Auberge du Soleil

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between Apr 1-Nov 30 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:30am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (95)
Great for Outdoor Dining (92)
Special Occasion (83)
See All
Romantic (78)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Worth the Drive (66)
Good for a Date (62)
Notable Wine List (55)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Great for Lunch (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Local Ingredients (36)
Great for Brunch (34)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Tasting Menu (22)
Authentic (22)
Seasonal (14)
Business Meals (13)
Hot Spot (13)
People Watching (13)
Fun (13)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing restaurant. Food was delicious and the view incredible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing restaurant a true gem of Napa valley. Salvador took care of us and thanks to him we really enjoyed it even more !!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous food and a fabulous view. Definitely worth the trip! I would recommend combining lunch here with a wine-tasting at the nearby Caymus Vineyards, just a few minutes away. Also, the house wines at Auberge du Soleil are amazing, and great values.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

From the food to the service everything was impeccable! If you are looking for a special place to celebrate, or just an amazing meal, this is the place to go. Everyone knows about French Laundry, but I would argue that this is Napas's best kept secret!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food and service was great and the view is spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Always a great experience, food, service and amazing view!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed our meal, very nice restaurant. I would return. I just do not believe that it warrants a 1 star Michelin rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We had breakfast there, very nice, food was nicely prepared and has a great view. The menus presented to us, however, were soiled and worn. Not a good first impression. Also, this property seems to not have a receiving area, so when we arrived for breakfast, several trucks were unloading in front of the front door. We thought we had entered the wrong driveway, but that is the main entrance.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Attentive and genuinely friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food and service was lovely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Best of the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It would be worth it just for the views...but the food is also incredible! Did the 4 course meal and every course was perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Absolutely amazing food and service. The view is spectacular.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Would recommend for the view. Went for breakfast, I had scrambled eggs and bacon, my husband had eggs benedict. I was just okay. Not spectacular. Just mediocre . Coffee was great.. Not in a hurry to go back..

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 3, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've ever been to , we went for our anniversary dinner and it was the perfect spot. Great view and ambiance, exquisite food and a great wine list. An absolute gem in Napa I would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 30, 2017

EVERYTHING we ordered was absolutely delectable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Beautiful view, great food and terrific service. Go early for serenity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We picked a few special restaurants to dine at during our recent trip to Napa. This one was exceptional. I could only get a late reservation about 8:45 and wasnt sure if we could appreciate the view at that time, but the stars came out and the outdoor heaters came on and it was pretty magical. Our dinner conversation consisted of a lot of "Mmmmmmmmm", followed by a soft "Wow". Sometimes with our eyes closed. This was no ordinary meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We ordered the three courses fix: 1: Sauteed foie gras + day bay scallop, 2: red snapper + heirloom tomato risotto, lobster, 3: Beef pave + Japanese Wagyu A5. Each dish was flavorful and beautiful. Our server, Ms. Julia was attentive and professional and friendly. We really enjoyed the whole experience of the place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Loved the view, atmosphere, overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A truly wonderful experience in the most beautiful and romantic setting overlooking Napa! A must see. We may even stay at the hotel our next time in Napa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Excellent view and food, with a romantic and beautiful setting!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Amazing views, service, wine, and food! I definitely want to come back next time I'm in California!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Service, Food, Wine, Ambience were all fantastic. the ONLY downside was the sulphuric tap water.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

OMG. My wife and I had one of the best dinners that we have ever had. We're still on cloud nine. Everything was perfect and we could not of asked for a better time. Our server Ramon was amazing to say the least. We're looking forward to returning in the near future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, People Watching, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Resting on their laurels...
We have loved Auberge for more than 30 years, but its current version left us cold. The atmosphere is still terrific, but the minimalist attitude toward the food was disappointing. Very small portions, not good balance between sauce and the entree, odd flavor combinations. Our service was very ordinary, tho the waiter nearby was very good at guiding patrons. For the money, we'll go elsewhere. When we voiced our concern, they did step up and buy us mochas which we appreciated.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The restaurant staff are friendly, food is always great, and the view is magnificent. Breakfast, brunch, and lunch are all affordable and great before or after wine tasting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great view. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The service was wonderful and the view was amazing!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I had high expectations of this restaurant and while it was good, it fell a bit flat for me. First of all, the view is lovely and it's a nice place to eat. The bread is excellent as were our apps and mains. The dessert was a bit of a joke...the choices were fair and the one we chose was some sort of deconstructed dish with barely three bites on it. Overall though, it was the service that disappointed us. After bringing us water, our waiter didn't return until we flagged someone else down to go get him. He was clearly around though...he just didn't both to check on us or even take our drink order. From then on, he came around occasionally, but it was mostly a different waiter who picked up his slack and made sure that we had what we needed. So, A+ for the second guy, but he should never have had to cover for our waiter. We were not impressed and would probably not go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

This is a special destination in the Napa Valley; the views are outstanding! They have a Michelin Star and we think they deserve it. The food is excellent and is presented beautifully. Service is outstanding as well. You have a choice of a three or four course meal with several choices from the menu. We found the food to be excellent but it is expensive and as they say, "You get what you pay for". I do have one negative comment. We had a five year-old child with us and found nothing on the menu to accommodate a reasonable choice . We asked for a small bowl of plain pasta with butter which we were charged $20.00 for it- somewhat over the top! Otherwise, it is an extraordinary dining experience and we Highly recommend it. Bon Appetite!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went for lunch/brunch on a weekend so it is a pre-fixe menu. I think the selection of food is good so no worries there. The positives first
- big plus on accommodating and remembering Gluten Free special diets (i.e. they had GF bread upon request)
- the bread basket absolutely excellent. What one expect of a quality hotel
- the setting is nice as you get to look out onto green
- the service was attentive and available

The negatives
- the food was meh both in terms of taste and presentation. The quality of ingredient was still there so passable but would expect better for a quality restaurant especially in wine country and at an exclusive hotel like Auberge

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Lives up to the Reputation
The view from the Patio is simply one of the finest I have ever seen while dining. The presentation of the food was as impressive as anywhere else.
Its not cheap, but it is not really much more than a Rutherford Grill or one of the restaurants in Napa. It was cheaper than a steak house or one of the trendy sushi restaurants.
We went in expecting "snooty" service but it never happened. All the staff were attentive and a pleasure to interact with. The clientele was diverse. The food was outstanding.
I will return anytime I am in the Valley.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Amazing setting, cuisine up to * Michelin Star, service not so much. For the price they could step it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was incredible. The service and the views were also great. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our server, Joe was wonderful!! He was very welcoming, and had a great knowledge about wine and food. Thank you!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Outstanding cuisine. Outstanding views. Exceptional service. I'll schedule to bring my two sons & their wives later this summer when they visit from the Bay Area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Auberge came highly recommended and lived up to the hype. This is really a special occasion restaurant. Tasting menu is interesting and adventurous with wonderful flavors. Service was superb from entire staff including Sommelier who was friendly and approachable. Dining outside on the expansive covered patio is lovely with outstanding views of the Valley. Only complaint is the overpriced wine list and lack of affordable wines. Lowest wine by the glass price is $22/glass and rises steeply from there. Average bottle price is in the hundreds of dollars. The wine component drives total check to nearly unacceptable/unaffordable levels. Corkage fee is $40...that should be your first clue as to pricing! I get that this is a 5-star resort with an upscale restaurant but come on...the wine mark-up is absurd!! Mix in a few of the many wonderful Napa Valley wines that are delicious and affordable; typical customers are not employees of the Wine Spectator! Other than that, we would certainly return here for another special occasion visit. There are many good restaurants in the Napa Valley but we would come here hands down over the others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

View, view, view! There is nothing that can beat this view - I went for lunch and the gnocchi is amazing for an appetizer! Their buttermilk cheesecake is the best dessert I have ever had! Small portions and a bit pricey - but you get what you pay for! Would absolutely return again!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.