About Auberge du Soleil

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between Apr 1-Nov 30 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:30am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Scenic View (55)
Romantic (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Good for a Date (44)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Notable Wine List (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Great for Lunch (26)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Tasting Menu (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Fireplace (18)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Vegan (3)
Casual (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
2663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding, and with a ver ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was outstanding, and with a very knowledgeable server who was able to produce a vegetarian/pescatarian tasting menu version from the main menu, our experience was elevated to stellar! Compliments to the chef & entire staff - these foodies were highly impressed!

Tags: , Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Fireplace, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tops in food, service and creating and r ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Tops in food, service and creating and reliving warm memories.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot - great view; if I go back it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great spot - great view; if I go back it will be for drinks and appetizers in the bar area/patio. Food was good; service was fantastic.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A must visit in Napa for brunch on the t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

A must visit in Napa for brunch on the terrace. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding! And service was excellent! ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Outstanding! And service was excellent! Victor was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We rode bikes up the hill to experience ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We rode bikes up the hill to experience this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend. The ride was really tough but the food and the view were absolutely worth it. Highly recommend for anyone visiting napa valley

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Service and food was amazing. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing. Service and food was amazing. We loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Request a table on the deck overlooking ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Request a table on the deck overlooking the valley. The menu and the wine list are among the best in the Valley. Service is out of sight and not stuffy. Dinner or lunch is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolute best! Can still taste the pork ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Absolute best! Can still taste the pork chops! I definitely will be coming back next time I am in Napa. It was raining when I was there so I hope to sit outside next time.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been going to Auberge for 25 years ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Have been going to Auberge for 25 years and it has never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 3rd Anniver ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 3rd Anniversary at Auberge du Soleil. The experience was a success on all levels: Food, Service and Ambience. The food was outstanding, particularly the Lamb Loin with Moroccan spices. Our server was very attentive and tended to our every need. We particularly enjoyed the quiet ambience. Unlike other restaurants, there were no noisy children to spoil the atmosphere.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first experience here was spectacula ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our first experience here was spectacular. Great food, ambience, and service. This last visit was a bit off. Young, drunk, loud female in bar before dinner while we were waiting for our reservation, and then in the dining room a party of seven young loud 20 somethings were actually playing drinking games at the table close to us. A bit disappointing that a restaurant of this stature would tolerate such inappropriate behavior.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Beautiful serene restaurant in Napa Vall ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Beautiful serene restaurant in Napa Valley. Wonderful food with great taste and presentation. Marvelous view overlooking the valley. Attentive service. While I was there on Tuesday, Jan 31 they was working going on below the restaurant. It would have been nice to have some background music to block out the noise. Excellent selection of vegetarian items that were highlighted on menu with check marks.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and the service was excellent ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food and the service was excellent. The ambiance was a little stuffy and very quiet, but service, food and the amazing views keep us coming back for more

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointing after having had some ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very disappointing after having had some great meals here. For the amount of money they charge, the food should be excellent to spectacular rather than not memorable. Accordingly, I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

This is my favorite restaurant. I select ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. I selected it for several special occasions and have never been disappointed. Always an outstanding experience from arrival to departure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all ways Their amazing vie ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent in all ways Their amazing view, the ambience and professional yet not 'stuffy' service, and their delicious food make for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Auberge a few times. Excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I've been to Auberge a few times. Excellent location with a gorgeous view. Their staff is very attentive. Their food is mostly excellent, but last time I went there the soup was very salty and the chicken was very bland. I would recommend their gnocchi, foie gras, and desserts. Excellent wine menu. Very lovely place to dine for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Terrific service. Great shrimp salad. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Terrific service. Great shrimp salad. Wonderful leek soup w/ oyster garnish. My husband's tuna dish was a bit off on the composition. Not that it wasn't good and prepared properly just odd choice of the other ingredients. Beautiful view and patio heaters kept us comfortable despite a chill in the air. Don't miss it if you can afford it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went as part of the Restaurant Week i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We went as part of the Restaurant Week in Napa. It was a great value!

The view is spectacular. Auberge is a very special place!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made our annual Napa restaurant week pi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Made our annual Napa restaurant week pilgrimage for the fixed price lunch at Auberge. Risotto was outstanding and the apple pie desert amazing. Market salad underwhelmed but the view from our table on the terrace made up for it. House Sauvignon Blanc was decent and reasonably priced. Service was impeccable as you would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went during Napa Valley Restaurant Week. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Went during Napa Valley Restaurant Week. However, ordered off the regular menu. Innovative dishes, excellent quality and service. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was amazing because of so many ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our meal was amazing because of so many reasons! The service and attention to detail were fabulous and spot on. The dinner options and drink menu were plentiful and the wine list beyond your wildest dreams. Wonderful place!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday treat for my wife of 34 y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great birthday treat for my wife of 34 years. We are locals and grow cab wine grapes. This has been a go to special event location for years and we highly recommend it.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love this restaurant as on ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We absolutely love this restaurant as one of our best go to places in the bay area. Excellent food, wine, and service, plus absolutely beautiful dining area and terrace overlooking Napa Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating with a nice menu. L ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very accommodating with a nice menu. Loud group in our room likely affected the noise level. Best lamb I have ever eaten. Appreciate the flexibility of the menu courses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was one of the best meals I have ev ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have ever had. The food was prepared as though each item was a work of art. Beautiful to look at, the smells and tastes outpaced the visual aspects. Simply outstanding experience. It is not an inexpensive meal, but if you have the resources, this is a "bucket list meal" not to be missed.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This was my first dinner for the New Yea ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was my first dinner for the New Year and it was a great way to start 2017. The food here did not disappoint. The menu was fantastic and the flavors all complement each other. Would definitely be back the next time I'm in Napa.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

At the end of a quiet New Year’s Day, we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

At the end of a quiet New Year’s Day, we dined at Auberge du Soleil. It is still as elegant as ever. The room is gorgeous and overlooks the Napa Valley, although it was dark and all we could see were lights twinkling in the distance. The dinner starts with the champagne cart, from which we selected 2 glasses of Pommery. The menu is either three or four courses, priced according to the number of courses. For some reason, we thought we were hungry, so we had four courses, which proved to be too much. Nevertheless, the food was quite good, if a bit rich. We loved the chestnut soup, the bacon wrapped veal and the apple cider doughnuts. We had a nice bottle of Burgundy to go with the meal. The luxury is not cheap, and our bar bill was half of the total. We walked out, quite full, having enjoyed the experience, even if our wallet was significantly lighter.

Tags: Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Very good food, much better then the 6 m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good food, much better then the 6 month ago.

Very nice at the reception. Good ambiance all along.

Still one of our favorite spot....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Our lunch at the Auberge was delightful. ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our lunch at the Auberge was delightful. We were lucky to have an excellent table on the terrace offering gorgeous views on a beautiful sunny day. Every course was delicious and the service was impeccable. We could not recommend this restaurant more highly.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The best food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food quality was very good. Service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food quality was very good. Service was not up to par for this level of restaurant and price.

The tables are too cramped, may be OK for a lesser type of restaurant but not compatible with high end place like this.

Check out high end restaurant like Gary Danko in San Francisco if you want an example to see what I meant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The restaurant was really off this night ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The restaurant was really off this night. The timing was inconsistent. Drinks took a long time. We had to wait to have our wine opened. I had to ask twice and after our meal was already served. The wait staff was not warm and attentive as you would expect from a restaurant of this caliber. Some of the food was overcooked. I have had fantastic lunches here with friends and colleagues before but I will probably not go back again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Amazing view, excellent service, top not ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Amazing view, excellent service, top notch food! Can't say anything bad about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal! We did the 6 course tasting ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great meal! We did the 6 course tasting menu with wine pairings and the food was outstanding. Well worth the effort and money to enjoy a meal at this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food and service. Great setti ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wonderful food and service. Great setting to lazily enjoy yourself and the views on the patio with a nice glass of wine or cocktail.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were there for dinner on Christmas Da ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were there for dinner on Christmas Day and our experience was exceptional. We will remember this dining experience for a very long time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, , Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you go for breakfast (and the view) s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

If you go for breakfast (and the view) stick with the specials, perhaps that is their thing. Eggs Benedict was served with lukewarm Hollandaise sauce. Oatmeal was not great.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Good food, not great. Not worth the $$$$ ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Good food, not great. Not worth the $$$$$ price tag.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.