Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 1.94mi
  3. Distance: 2.25mi
  4. Distance: 2.52mi

About Auberge du Soleil

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between Apr 1-Nov 30 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:30am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (97)
Special Occasion (85)
Great for Outdoor Dining (81)
See All
Romantic (69)
Worth the Drive (66)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (58)
Great for Lunch (54)
Notable Wine List (49)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Great for Brunch (37)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Local Ingredients (35)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Tasting Menu (20)
Authentic (14)
Seasonal (14)
People Watching (11)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (10)
Fireplace (10)
Casual (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
2808 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Great foods ambiance and u for sure I will come back again. This is my 2nd times here. Very nice

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Excellent food, service, staff & setting. We had lunch on the veranda & everything was perfect from soup to nuts.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The view is spectacular and our waiter is very knowledgeable and thorough. He even sent the dessert with "Happy Anniversary" decoration, even though we just nonchalantly mentioned it once. Thank you very much!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Impeccable friendly service, gorgeous views, and amazing food. We came here on our honeymoon 24 yrs ago, and it is as wonderful an experience now as it was then. Definitely worth the trip when in Napa!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Came here on our 5 year wedding anniversary. Parking can be a little confusing as there is very little to no signage. It appears Valet is the only option? Food was magnificent- caviar was a little overpriced, but the Japanese Wagyu A5 beef was worth it. Outdoor seating is wonderful, albeit you may get some mosquito bites (yeah, we know, it is the outdoors). If you're worried about that, just ask for a table inside. We have eaten at Bouchon and the French Laundry, quite hard to pick a favorite but this restaurant comes out slightly ahead of the rest. All in all, would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 7 days ago

We had lunch and it was absolutely fantastic!! Definitely will be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Inattentive front desk.
No water refills.
Eager to remove plates despite food still on plates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Perfect place for a romantic honeymoon lunch that was incredible service at a decent price point.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very good quality but not much quantity. Good service. Quiet atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Great taste but the shrimp is small and hard to find in the risotto. The short rib is tender and tasty. The view is spectacular but some seats' view are partially blocked by tree branches. It is a great restaurant to visit.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We had a lovely lunch on the patio. Beautiful views. A delight!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The restaurant has amazing views with a fantastic staff. The food was very good but a bit pricey. I would recommend it for a special occasion...

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Fabulous tasting menu with wine-selection. Plenty of food and a knowledgeable sommelier. Small intimate dining room and a lovely porch. Servers very friendly and I would be hard-pressed to single out a single dish as the "best". Simply a gorgeous spot with food to match. Have a drink on the veranda first, overlooking the Napa Valley... particularly at sunset!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Perfect every time! The views alone are worth coming for, but the food, wine & service are impeccable every time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Got married at Auberge over 25 years ago and still does not disappoint! Brunch is always a fantastic experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Superb cuisine, outstanding and unobtrusive service with a fantastic view - what could be better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Amazing valley views! Incredible food adequately proportioned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We had great 2nd anniversary having lunch at Auberge du Soleil. Definitely recommend. Considering the food quality and the view, it feels like the price is cheap. Loved the gnochi and the short rib.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Outstanding service. The tasting menu was very good. View was tremendous and there was no rush. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 hours sunset dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Was very much looking forward to our dinner here while on a trip to Sonoma, and upon arriving the location, venue and views did not disappoint. However, for my first trip to California, I found the menu to be challenging and complex, and the service to be pretentious and forced. There was a definite agenda to upsell what they wanted to serve for the evening and the overhearing of the same script to other tables nearby spoiled the illusion that the waitress had been genuinely connecting with us during our interaction. Overall the views were super, and the food was very good, but I think the hype of the place and the palpable stuffiness was a turnoff at least for me. Nice for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Everything at the restaurant was great but one of the customers is very disgusting. I went to the restaurant on June 4th around noon for brunch. In front of my table, there was a group of 8 adults and 3 kids who were very loud and disgusting. Believe it or not? There was a lady in that group changed the diaper for her baby on the floor next to her table!!! I have never seen anything like this before in my life. I am not sure if the waiter saw what she did but there were at least 3 tables next to me saw this appropriate manner. Although it wasn't the restaurant's fault, but I definite don't go back. I really hope one of the customers in this group will see my message and stop doing this disgusting behavior in other restaurants. Please stop ruin other people's businesses and dine at home.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We'd not been to Auberge d Soleil for over 30 years, and decided with family coming to town from NYC that it was the perfect place to meet. Halfway between their arrival point (Sacramento) and our home in Sonoma County. It proved to be everything we'd remembered and more.
The setting is superb, food is over the top and the service is attentive without being 'in your face'.
There are very few venues in the world like this one. Enjoy.
Brent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Wonderful food, view and service. We felt welcomed but no hovering. Meal was delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The good- the views are amazing.
The bad- got our special occasion wrong by two decades too long. The plate said 25 years instead of 5 years and the waitress was surprised when we pointed this out.
The ugly- despite my allergy to shrimp and lobster (which I re-emphasized), believe there was a dish that had a paste that had one or both of the ingredients and had horrible GI distress that night. Also, the fish dish was so spicy that we couldn't eat it.
I guess the views bring people in. Food needs a major upgrade as does staff training.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

From beginning to end are experience was AMAZING! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Beautiful view!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Wonderful lunch. Food was amazing as was the balcony views. We had the burrata to start then my partner had the pork and I had the chicken. All of the dishes were great as was the wine. Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 24, 2017

A fair 1star Michelin, great location in Napa valley. Won't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Everything from start to finish was exceptional. Went here for our 10 yr wedding anniversary dinner and we each chose the 4-course meal. It was probably the most expensive meal we've ever had, but the whole experience was worth it. Food was delicious with good sized portions ... and the view - wow, very picturesque.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Celebrated our Wedding Anniversary there was a fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 23, 2017

One goes to AUBERGE du SOLEIL not only for the view but for the FOOD. I have had the opportunity to dine here on multiple occasions (I live in Richmond Va) and I have NEVER been disappointed. From the front door to the table is an experience in its self. The octopus, the lamb and the desserts are "to die for". Yes--it is expensive, but at AUBERGE du SOLEIL, YOU get what you pay for!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Ambiance and service do not get any better than this! The food was delicious but it's an experience not just a meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2017

This is a beautiful place, the outdoor patio has very nice view, the service was impeccable as the food was!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Wonderful views, impeccable service, outstanding food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Just go here. Everything from the view to the service to the food and wine selections is top shelf.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Wonderful way to celebrate someone's birthday

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice setting above Napa valley with amazing views. The food and service was good. The Esperanza is a must try for breakfast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Melissa was amazing! Food and wine were excellent. Thank you for a lovely afternoon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lovely setting for a fabulous meal. Service was perfection.
Bad part: hard to find even with navigation. Go early.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.