About Auberge du Soleil

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between May 1-Oct 31 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:00am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Halibut
Cavatelli With Corn And Mushrooms
Lobster
Beef Tenderloin With Gnocchi
Risotto
Duck
Palate Cleanser
Beef Shank
Grapefruit
Scallop And Pork Belly
Sweetbreads
Duck Confit Hash And Poached Eggs
Chinoise Congee With Pork Belly
Crispy Belgian Waffle With Fresh Berries & Devonshire Cream
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Chicken Wings
Fried Calamari
Crisp Filo Wrapped Chocolate Dumplings, Tarragon Ice Cream, Arbequina Olive Oil
Valhorna Chocolate With Five Tops
Spiced Local Lamb
Lamb with Fava Beans and Peas
Crispy Duck Confit with a Sun Dried Tomato, Olive and Garlic Tartine, Toasted Walnuts and Verjus
Roast Maine Lobster W/ Potato Puree, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, Edamame and Tarragon
Seared Ahi Tuna
Bacon Wrapped Veal
Salted Caramel & Peanut Butter Mousse With Milk Chocolate Ganache & Bananas
Fresh Seasonal Fish
Meyer Lemon Risotto
Assorted Chocolates
Roasted Breast of Chicken
Ruby Grapefruit
Ginger Panna Cotta and Green Tea Cake
Amuse Bouche
Wedding Cake
Roasted Kurobuta Pork Belly
Diver Scallop
Day Boat Scallops
Asparagus Soup with Dungeness Crab and Farm Egg
Crostini Amuse Bouche
Tomato Risotto
Asparagus Soup
Spiced local lamb, chickpeas, curry, nicoise olives, yogurt, pastis reduction
Wine
Mignardise – cocoa dusted chocolate almonds, pistachio caramels, dark chocolate bourbon ganache truffles
Seared ahi tuna, spring vegetables, fava tapenade, bagna cauda
Shrimp Risotto
Lamb Loin
Seared Foie Gras
Wild king salmon, eggplant, zucchini, pine nuts, ricotta stuffed squash blossom
Kona kampachi crudo in housemade puff pastry shell
Gelato Di Bufala
Restaurant Month Prix Fix
Breakfast En Bonne Santé
Cappuccino
Auberge du Soleil Rose Champagne
Cow's milk burrata, heirloom tomatoes, padron peppers, basil, saba
Egg white omelet with spinach, mushrooms, onions and avocado with multigrain toast (breakfast)
Veal sweetbreads, hearts of palm, chanterelle mushrooms, basil, orange glaze
Pecan streusel coffee cake (breakfast pastries)
Housemade Bread And Butter
Ahi Tuna Tartare, Wakame, Cucumber, Ginger Dressing
Kurobuta Pork Chop
Breakfast Pizza
Chocolate Stuffed Phyllo Pockets With Olive Oil
Duck confit pizza
Fresh Seasonal Berries
Auberge Omelet
Breakfast à l’ Américaine
Tartlet
Auberge du Soleil Champagne
Huevos Rancheros With Chorizo
Wild mushroom bread pudding, truffle cream, micro arugula
Poached Hopper Shrimp, Butter Lettuce, Avocado, Orange
Duck Confit Hash
Caramelized Banana
Xinjiang Lamb Skewers
Bone Marrow
Beignets
Candied Ginger Cocktail
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Applewood Smoked Bacon
Cup of Vichyssoise
Lavender Martini
Mixed berries, fresh fruit breakfast bowl
Desserts

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
French
San Francisco Bay Area
7 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Wine Country
Romantic
Wine Country
Scenic View
Wine Country
French
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Rutherford ›

scenic view (183)
great for outdoor dining (165)
special occasion (164)
See All
romantic (155)
fit for foodies (136)
notable wine list (112)
great for lunch (90)
great for brunch (73)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (19)
neighborhood gem (13)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lovely meal Start to finish Michael was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Lovely meal

Start to finish

Michael was wonderful in helping us select our dishes and Elizabeth match each with an amazing wine pairing

See you next year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is unbeatable. Came for my wife ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The view is unbeatable. Came for my wife's birthday and we were treated like royalty. Not to be missed if you are in Napa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was fabulous! The service was b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The meal was fabulous! The service was beyond my expectations. Paul was my host and he was so helpful with the menu. He was so polite and he told me that he had been there over 15 years... He is an asset. Everything was superb.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view and the service were amazing. W ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The view and the service were amazing. We had breakfast and the breakfast menu had fresh juices available - including carrot and fresh vegetable.

The coffee was delicious . I had the brioche French toast - but am not a fan of brioche so did not really enjoy it. Next time I would stick with eggs and bacon.

The food is quite expensive - breakfast for 2 was about $100.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing - everything is impec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely amazing - everything is impeccable- the service, the food, the wine -- a real treat to our week in Sonoma. We started with the shrimp salad and the mushroom gnocchi, followed by the scallops with snap peas and the ahi tuna for my husband. A lovely day overlooking the Napa valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

View was outstanding and food did not ta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

View was outstanding and food did not take a back seat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location, and wonderful appeti ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Beautiful location, and wonderful appetizer and dessert. Main courses across the board were unfortunately mediocre.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Phenomenal from start to finish. I am Ve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Phenomenal from start to finish. I am Veg and they had unbelievable options for each course. Each course was superb. I had the gnocchi and it melted in my mouth. The best gnocchi I've ever had. I just can't say enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place-have been going for 20 y ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Love this place-have been going for 20 years plus and it has definitely kept up. The dessert was incredible (and I am not a dessert person). I understand it was a Sunday and it was brunch but I don't understand why people take infants to upscale restaurants. When you are spending $200 + on a meal, you don;t want a squaling kid next to you.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing restaurant, stupendous view (ask ...

 
 (Raum Stuttgart)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing restaurant, stupendous view (ask for a table outside always!) If you cannot go to the Auberge du Soleil restaurante itself they have an outdoor more casual one that you will always be able to get a table. The service is good but the wine list is short (what is not good for a wine country). Overall an amazing experience.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic breakfast at this incredible r ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic breakfast at this incredible restaurant. The food, service and view was impeccable, a must for visitors to the area!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did the 3 course prix fixe. Corn soup wi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Did the 3 course prix fixe. Corn soup with crab was good. Veal was surprisingly mediocre. Agnolotti wasn't very good. It wasn't al dents. It was chewy. These were waiter recommendations. Wine recommendation was also not great and glass of wine was $30. I don't mind spending a lot of money if it's an exceptional meal, but this was fair at best. Highly disappointing. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Amazing view we had for lunch. The serv ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing view we had for lunch. The service and food was great. Very relaxing setting for outdoor dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Auberge for our 47h wedding ann ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We chose Auberge for our 47h wedding anniversary special meal on the recommendation of a local friend, and it far exceeded our expectations from attentive service to phenomenal food and wine. Such a memorable time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent overall experience, highly rec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent overall experience, highly recommend. Great for families.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delish, service was great, and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was delish, service was great, and the view was amazing. I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Sunday brunch is spectacular! The ha ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Sunday brunch is spectacular! The hardest thing was what to select with so many delicious choices. The view from the terrace was gorgeous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deserves all the rave reviews it gets! O ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Deserves all the rave reviews it gets! Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we love having lunch on their outdoor pa ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

we love having lunch on their outdoor patio- great food, service and a view to go with great wines at a great price- 65$ covers a sparkling wine and three course lunch. you cannot go wrong .

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish (Halibut) was ordinary (slightly ov ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Fish (Halibut) was ordinary (slightly over cooked)

Risotto was decent

Burrata was refreshing

Bread was mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The view was magnificent, but it was not ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The view was magnificent, but it was not worth the price we paid for the food we experienced. My beef was terrible and I could barely cut it. It was a disappointment. I wish I had just gone for a drink instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We enjoyed the scenic view and the servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed the scenic view and the service was great. The food was quite good but I think it was over rated for a one star Michelin restaurant. There was no unusual items on the menu . Considering that it is in the wine country I think the food items available should have been more exclusive. The only thing I did not like that evening was the group that was there in our next table was way too loud for a fine dining place.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going here for years and ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We have been going here for years and have never been disappointed

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sat on the patio and rocked out a seriou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Sat on the patio and rocked out a serious meal. Took my Daughter and her teen friend. They were captivated by the entire experience. Food is better than most 1 start and service was above expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat outside and the view was breathta ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We sat outside and the view was breathtaking. Schedule your dinner plans at Auberge around sunset; it's just an incredible view. The wine selection can be overwhelming but the waiters (and they have a sommelier) can assist with that. My husband had the beef and I had the veal. Both dishes were delicious. The service was excellent. Auberge du Soleil is a must, view, food and service all exceeded our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch menu was simple but complete, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The lunch menu was simple but complete, we had a three course meal that was simply amazing. Starting with the service, i must say it was superb. The hostess quickly accommodated us at an excellent table, on the balcony, overlooking the valley.

The food was amazing! such attention to detail was placed in every dish, the foie gras was just amazing, rich, and on top of pain perdu (with chocolate inside).

The main dish that won the week was a melt in your mouth beef short rib.

Overall, outstanding experience, with excellent food, amazing views, and perfect service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely spectacular dinner! Start to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Absolutely spectacular dinner! Start to finish, not one complaint about the food, wine, setting or service. Our only regret: that we didn't book a half hour earlier to catch the sunset. Thankfully, even dusk was amazingly scenic. The three-course prix fixe was more than enough, and wine pairings were spot-on. My husband really wanted to try Napa wines, and enjoyed each selection very much. Somehow, without my saying anything, the server guessed that I would prefer mostly French (and he was correct). Every bite, every sip was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We started out having to wait to be seat ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We started out having to wait to be seated. No apologies. Once seated, we enjoyed delicious salads. The main courses were disappointing: dry pork chop, overcooked leg of lamb, and risotto that was not dry enough. For dessert, the lemon tart was tasteless and too gelatinous. For $65 each, we could have done better elsewhere. What saved the day were the lovely view and good service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Ambiance and food is great. Service is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ambiance and food is great. Service is good and as expected from a Michelin rated restaurant. Our reservation was actually at 8:45 pm but we arrived early at 8 pm. But they were kind enough to accommodate us our table within 5 minutes!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful views with amazing food on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Beautiful views with amazing food on the restaurant patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great service, excellent wine and ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Always great service, excellent wine and breathtaking views!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing view with outstanding food an ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

An amazing view with outstanding food and service to go with it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All round wonderful experience. The wait ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

All round wonderful experience. The waitstaff was helpful with suggestions for food and wine. The food was exceptional in presentation and very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Auberge du Soleil is an outstanding rest ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Auberge du Soleil is an outstanding restaurant in every respect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go for a late brunch 1:30-2:30 and it is ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Go for a late brunch 1:30-2:30 and it is more than enough for lunch and early dinner. Halibut and Short Ribs were outstanding. Pastries and desserts to die for. I would have liked my Mimosa better if they used fresh squeezed orange juice. Service was excellent.

Request a table along the railing with an awesome view and you'll think you're in Tuscany!

Can't wait to go back on another special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Terrific service, great food, fabulous v ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Terrific service, great food, fabulous view. I would love to return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and view was wonderful - definitely ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Food and view was wonderful - definitely perfect for a special treat in the Napa valley. We asked our server to pair our wines with our food and the picked the perfect ones to bring out the best in our dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Superb fare and service with a delectabl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Superb fare and service with a delectable array of selections. Impossible to make a bad choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view - fantastic food and service!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great view - fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely in my top 5 best restaurants ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Definitely in my top 5 best restaurants in the US and I've been fortunate to have eaten at many of the top-rated restaurants in NYC, LA, Vegas, Miami, etc.! Gorgeous views, stellar service, and superb cuisine. They get an A+ in my book! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.