About Auberge du Soleil

180 Rutherford Hill Rd.
Rutherford, CA 94573
View Larger Map

Auberge du Soleil Restaurant began in 1981 nestled on 33 acres overlooking the lush vines of the Napa Valley. The cuisine has evolved with a wine country theme where innovative menus inspired by the bounty of the vine are paired with food in ways that delight and inspire longtime devotees. The Bistro & Bar is ideal for sipping wine at sunset on the terrace, a casual meal al fresco, or a nightcap by the fireplace. The Restaurant presents luxury at its finest while overlooking some of Napa's most renowned vineyards. Offering more that 40 of the Valley’s finest wines by the glass and boasting a cellar of nearly 17,000 wines, our guests can enjoy a full sensory experience of the California wine country.
Summer Dinner reservations available online 5:30-6:00 and 8:00-9:00 PM. All online reservations between May 1-Oct 31 are confirmed outside on the terrace, weather permitting. *Please review the OpenTable confirmation email for important details regarding your reservation*

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean, Californian

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST, 7 days a week: 7:00am - 11:00am
PRIX FIXE BRUNCH, SATURDAY & SUNDAY 11:30AM-2:30PM
LUNCH, Monday-Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm
DINNER, 7 days a week: 5:30pm - 9:30pm
Holidays hours, menus, and prices may be different.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-3111

Website:
http://www.aubergedusoleil.com/

Catering:
On and Off premise available for 10 to 120 guests.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Robert Curry

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Restaurant Photos

Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
Halibut
Cavatelli With Corn And Mushrooms
Sweetbreads
Risotto
Duck
Beef Tenderloin With Gnocchi
Beef Shank
Scallop And Pork Belly
Palate Cleanser
Lobster
Grapefruit
Duck Confit Hash And Poached Eggs
Crispy Belgian Waffle With Fresh Berries & Devonshire Cream
Chinoise Congee With Pork Belly
Crisp Filo Wrapped Chocolate Dumplings, Tarragon Ice Cream, Arbequina Olive Oil
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Valhorna Chocolate With Five Tops
Fried Calamari
Chicken Wings
Spiced Local Lamb
Lamb with Fava Beans and Peas
Crispy Duck Confit with a Sun Dried Tomato, Olive and Garlic Tartine, Toasted Walnuts and Verjus
Roast Maine Lobster W/ Potato Puree, Black Trumpet Mushrooms, Edamame and Tarragon
Seared Ahi Tuna
Bacon Wrapped Veal
Salted Caramel & Peanut Butter Mousse With Milk Chocolate Ganache & Bananas
Fresh Seasonal Fish
Meyer Lemon Risotto
Assorted Chocolates
Ruby Grapefruit
Roasted Breast of Chicken
Ginger Panna Cotta and Green Tea Cake
Amuse Bouche
Wedding Cake
Roasted Kurobuta Pork Belly
Diver Scallop
Day Boat Scallops
Asparagus Soup with Dungeness Crab and Farm Egg
Crostini Amuse Bouche
Tomato Risotto
Asparagus Soup
Spiced local lamb, chickpeas, curry, nicoise olives, yogurt, pastis reduction
Wine
Seared ahi tuna, spring vegetables, fava tapenade, bagna cauda
Mignardise – cocoa dusted chocolate almonds, pistachio caramels, dark chocolate bourbon ganache truffles
Shrimp Risotto
Lamb Loin
Seared Foie Gras
Kona kampachi crudo in housemade puff pastry shell
Wild king salmon, eggplant, zucchini, pine nuts, ricotta stuffed squash blossom
Gelato Di Bufala
Restaurant Month Prix Fix
Breakfast En Bonne Santé
Cappuccino
Auberge du Soleil Rose Champagne
Housemade Bread And Butter
Cow's milk burrata, heirloom tomatoes, padron peppers, basil, saba
Veal sweetbreads, hearts of palm, chanterelle mushrooms, basil, orange glaze
Egg white omelet with spinach, mushrooms, onions and avocado with multigrain toast (breakfast)
Pecan streusel coffee cake (breakfast pastries)
Ahi Tuna Tartare, Wakame, Cucumber, Ginger Dressing
Kurobuta Pork Chop
Breakfast Pizza
Chocolate Stuffed Phyllo Pockets With Olive Oil
Duck confit pizza
Breakfast à l’ Américaine
Tartlet
Auberge du Soleil Champagne
Auberge Omelet
Huevos Rancheros With Chorizo
Fresh Seasonal Berries
Wild mushroom bread pudding, truffle cream, micro arugula
Poached Hopper Shrimp, Butter Lettuce, Avocado, Orange
Duck Confit Hash
Caramelized Banana
Xinjiang Lamb Skewers
Bone Marrow
Beignets
Candied Ginger Cocktail
Lavender Martini
Cup of Vichyssoise
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice
Applewood Smoked Bacon
Mixed berries, fresh fruit breakfast bowl
Desserts

Private Dining

The restaurant can accommodate parties up to 10 guests. Private Dining rooms are available for parties larger than 10 guests. Special Events: Auberge du Soleil can host special events from 10-120 guests - we offer brunch, lunch, dinner and hors d'oeuvres receptions in our private rooms.

Auberge du Soleil Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
French
San Francisco Bay Area
5 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Scenic View
Wine Country
French
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Rutherford ›

Scenic View (188)
Great for Outdoor Dining (164)
Special Occasion (158)
See All
Romantic (154)
Fit for Foodies (138)
Notable Wine List (108)
Great for Lunch (89)
Great for Brunch (73)
Good for Groups (29)
Hot Spot (18)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Kid-friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
2355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good, not excellent or ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was very good, not excellent or exciting, and 110 pp for 3 courses was a bit too much as a result. Pastry chef seems stronger.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Service was top notch. View was lovely. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Service was top notch. View was lovely. Good very tasty.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was absolutely fantastic! Unb ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was absolutely fantastic!

Unbelievable! Perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Amazing. The meal and ambience ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing. Amazing. The meal and ambience is worth every penny! The Auberge du Soleil can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Napa for our anniversar ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were visiting Napa for our anniversary and when I came across this restaurant with the backdrop/view it offered, we had to eat there. The view was the most incredible I've probably experienced, and the service and food was absolutely amazing. It was all around an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very ambience. Great setting. Great vi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very ambience. Great setting. Great view. Food very nice, but food taste was average.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I have four daughter in laws and a daugh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

I have four daughter in laws and a daughter, all of whom have summer birthdays. I like to take them all to some place special for a birthday celebration. Auberge is their favorite place. It is so beautiful, service so great, and food outstanding, that everyone is happy, from vegetarians to meat eaters. It is certainly pricey, but worth the expense to see those women have such a good time for their birthdays.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent our 10 year anniversary at Aube ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We spent our 10 year anniversary at Auberge and it did not disappoint! The view was incredible, the service impeccable and the food delightful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

View and wine was beautiful. Bathrooms w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

View and wine was beautiful. Bathrooms were disgusting even after notifying management 3 times. Food was beautiful to look at but extremely bland and under seasoned. Also had to send bread back as it was burnt. I make better tasting food at home. House wine was exceptional and a great value. Starting service was excellent but slowly throughout the meal went downhill. At the end my iced tea was refilled with coffee and it took a long time to get the check and then way too long to get the car from valet. Don't go for the food. Maybe a glass of wine while enjoying the sunset.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

This is one of my favorite places in Nap ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This is one of my favorite places in Napa Valley. I can't think of one negative.

The view at lunch is fabulous, as is the food and service. I am glad I live close enough to go often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always at the auberge everything was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As always at the auberge everything was wonderful: waiters were attentive but not overwhelmingly so, the food was perfect and arranged nicely on the plates, the prix fix menu was ample food at a very reasonable price for the amount served and, of course the sorbet dessert was melt in your mouth amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were lucky enough to get a table outs ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were lucky enough to get a table outside and were there for the sunset. The food is very expensive, but we knew that going in. The menu selection was excellent as were the presentations and the food. Our server Salvador was very knowledgeable and offered suggestions when asked. He was assisted by Alma who was such a charming lady.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our hostess Elizabeth was very attentive ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Our hostess Elizabeth was very attentive and made a great wine recommendation for our special evening with friends from the Loire Valley. The sun had set beautifully as we shared a succulent fois gras accompanied by a Chassagne Montrachet, a perfect start to the tasting menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous and the service ex ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service excellent. We had fantastic view with our table located outside on the terrace.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I just had my 40th birthday dinner here. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I just had my 40th birthday dinner here. We had a table for 8 and not one of us were impressed with the food. My bacon wrapped veal was so disappointing and tasteless. It was more like a pork medallion. I also had lobster risotto that was nothing to write home about. Boring and flavorless. Even my burratta was not very good. The view was lovely but I'd say that's about it.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Professional waiters, fun but keep thing ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Professional waiters, fun but keep things moving, all the food comes out a same time - the servers have each other's back, lovely! Food is over the top, gorgeous seared ahi, fois gras, & shrimp salad starters, mains were juicy pork chops, delicious short rib, generous lobster omelets & weird for brunch but best shrimp risotto ever. Dessert is more is the same excellence. View was as always unbeatable!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful breakfast for our 35th anniver ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful breakfast for our 35th anniversary. Breathtaking view, exciting menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This restaurant is awesome beautiful vie ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant is awesome beautiful view staff is awesome food is ridiculous love

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable...food incredible ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was impeccable...food incredible...views of Napa Valley so special...perfect for a special occasion!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

This is a place for those who appreciate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is a place for those who appreciate tasty and well presented food. The service is always outstanding. The landscape is beautiful. I highly recomend it

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place, amazing ambiance. Reall ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Beautiful place, amazing ambiance. Really good food. Expensive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Our wait staff was excellent especially ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Our wait staff was excellent especially Stacy I thought the 3 course menu was more than enough to eat definitely worth it

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been coming to Auberge du Soleil ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I have been coming to Auberge du Soleil for years. I was slightly disappointed with the food on this occasion. The Braised Beef was too salty and the Lobster Salad was bland and had too much pepper in it. The service is still impeccable and the view gorgeous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The view was spectacular and the food ma ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The view was spectacular and the food matched the locale. My wife and I were treated exceptionally by our server, Ramon, who was informative, friendly, and accessible. We had an amazing experience that we will never forget.

The food was terrific: we had a tasting menu with wine pairing. It is pretty special to be able to drink wine with good food and you could see the vineyard in the distance! Every preparation was perfect and the wine paired beautifully, further enhancing the meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Separately, the view and the menu would ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Separately, the view and the menu would make the trip worth it; but taken together, the experience is unforgettable. From starters to mains to dessert, the changing seasonal menu is beautifully constructed to take advantage of the best produce and proteins to appeal on the plate and to the taste. On our visit, the tartare of yellowtail was perfect, as was the corn soup finished with bacon. We both had fish for mains, which were perfectly prepared and presented. Auberge will be a regular on our future Napa trips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed a nice, quiet scenic Mon AM brea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Enjoyed a nice, quiet scenic Mon AM breakfast on our last day in the Valley. Beautiful view, peaceful setting and the food was fabulous. Definitely on our "visit again" list! 5 stars to the Duck Confit Hash as well!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was outstanding and th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything we had was outstanding and the view and service were impeccable. The only thing that went wrong was my wife 's veal was overdone, dry and yuck.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Perfect place to enjoy a beautiful day. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Perfect place to enjoy a beautiful day. The food is delicious and the views and atmosphere are exceptional. You can't go wrong by choosing this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful Sunday brunch on a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely wonderful Sunday brunch on a big open balcony with a gorgeous view of the valley. Food was divine and service was outstanding. A perfect way to round out our Napa weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A splendid evening to celebrate my birth ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A splendid evening to celebrate my birthday. It's a beautiful spot, make sure to get a table on the terrace overlooking the valley. Stunning and breathtaking, I even teared up when we got there as I have wanted to come here for over 25 years. Food was spectacular, service impeccable and an evening I won't forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love this place. food is wonderful and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

love this place. food is wonderful and service very attentive. The views are just surreal. love love love it! they accommodated my rather large family --9 of us! all adults in this instance. everyone loved the food, ambiance, views and service!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing! Best place I've ever ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely amazing! Best place I've ever eaten!!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Auberge di Soliel is a favorite of ours ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Auberge di Soliel is a favorite of ours when we visit Napa Valley. We especially enjoy the weekend brunch. They did not disappoint us this trip either. Great food choices, great service, great ambience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely flawless, just as I remember ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Absolutely flawless, just as I remember it 20 years ago. The outdoor lunch dining here is truly a pilgrimage. Must be on everyone's bucket list. BRAVO

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is sofisticated, the ambience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The place is sofisticated, the ambience is quiet, the view is astonish. Realy The recomendation was to be there before sundown to wotch the valley whith all its colors.the food was great, service neat and The price high. But it is a must

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The foie gras was amazing! They were ve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The foie gras was amazing!

They were very accommodating regarding my food allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time and it was amazi ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was our first time and it was amazing. Breathtaking views, impeccable service, outstanding food. Loved everything about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular setting delicious food - sim ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Spectacular setting delicious food - simply wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome views, food and service! Thank ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Awesome views, food and service! Thanks Paul!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful terrace lunch. Free corkage i ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Beautiful terrace lunch. Free corkage if you buy a similar bottle. Valet parking only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.