About Au Revoir

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Restaurant Photos

  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
French
San Diego
Fit for Foodies
San Diego
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
French
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

neighborhood gem (42)
fit for foodies (30)
special occasion (20)
See All
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (15)
good for groups (11)
notable wine list (9)
romantic (8)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

THE FOOD WAS SUPERB AND THE SERVICE WAS ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SUPERB AND THE SERVICE WAS CHARMING

WE ARE COMING BACK VERY SOON!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at this e ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first time dining at this establishment. It won't be our last. We loved the quaint ambiance and the friendliness of the staff. Service was very attentive. We highly recommend the sea bass. The best I have ever had in my life! I still can't get over how delicious it was. The escargot was served warm, not hot as it should be. Disappointing. One other note: if you ask for water, they will bring it, but will charge you without telling you. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable dining experience and we will definitely return and recommend to others!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and warm atmosphere. I de ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and warm atmosphere. I definitely want to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was friendly but somewhat lackad ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was friendly but somewhat lackadaisical. Salad was great. Beef Bourginon had metallic aftertaste. Quail was overcooked and dry. The escargot was overcooked. I've been here several times before and had a good experience, this time was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food is consistently excellent, whic ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food is consistently excellent, which is why we keep coming back. I appreciate the authentic French feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservations were for 7 pm. We were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our reservations were for 7 pm. We were seated Immediately and our food order was taken promptly. Then we waited an hour and twenty minutes for our first course. I ordered the salmon which was over cooked but had a delicious sauce. We finally finished our meal at 9:20 - two hours and twenty minutes after arrival! When we received our bill, I was surprised to see a $2.00 charge for tap water. Au Revoir has been one of our favorite local bistros for years but this is the second time we have been disappointed in the food and the service was deplorable. It was Bastille Day, the restaurant was packed but they had to expect the crowd. The neighborhood now has another French bistro and perhaps the competition will require Au Revoir to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

A fabulous restaurant where the food is ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A fabulous restaurant where the food is great and the staff is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely stellar. Fresh and t ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was absolutely stellar. Fresh and the flavors were in perfect balance. Best sea bass I have ever eaten. Challenges are related to ambiance and initial service was a bit slow.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was excellent - nice little Fren ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was excellent - nice little French place with good atmosphere. Salad was good, but small; scallops were very good!; bread and garlic butter delish; lavender frites were amazing; mussels were fishy so we sent them back. Would go again. Good beer and wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place- delicious food and gr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place- delicious food and great value. My only complaint... If you're going to offer bottomless mimosas, there's no reason to be rude when people ask for a third round. It wasn't packed. There was no wait. We weren't being loud or disrespectful. It felt like we were being encouraged to leave. We specifically sought the place out so we could have time to catch up between old friends, but the service went from excellent to sour very quickly.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent food and service in a most cha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent food and service in a most charming locale - right in the heart of Hillcrest. Highly recommend.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always - Tuesday dinner at ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent as always - Tuesday dinner at $25 cannot be beat. The portions are not reduced either.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent each tine we've dined there. S ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

excellent each tine we've dined there. Service is very friendly

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The staff at Au Revoir made our daughter ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The staff at Au Revoir made our daughters graduation dinner memorable Her friends she invited to the dinner loved their meals

Tomas and all the staff made the graduates feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Au Revoir is a real French bistro. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Au Revoir is a real French bistro. The food is delicious and the service is charming.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrible, absolutely HORRIBLE service an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible, absolutely HORRIBLE service and attitudes of the waitstaff. Why did I not heed other people's advice! Good food but not at the cost of terrible service and poor attitude.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Love this place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in the hood

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great restaurant to go in the neighborhood. Not necessarily fancy but great food is constantly prepared. The wait staff are always friendly and ready to assist.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is probably our 6th visit.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

It has become very popular and our last two visit we had no reservation and couldn't get in. We took a friend who had not been before and she order the veal chop which was one of the specials but no price was mentioned. She I didnt ask since most entres were in the mid $20 range. Her's was $35 and she was upset. We had the steak with frites which we had several times in the past. They must have changed their meat supplier. The steak was larger but very tough.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Delicious food.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great service. Delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I tried Au Revoir based on o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I tried Au Revoir based on other Open Table reviews. We found the food to be very good. We each had a different appetizer we had never tried before and found them to be very good and the entrees were tasty as well. The service can be a little slow if they are busy. They are very good at getting you seated (reservations recommended for sure), getting your drink order including consulting on wine choice, taking the meal order and serving it. They could have come be the table during the meal a little sooner than they did....make the rounds so to speak just a little more often. If you are not in a rush then the pace of service is suitable. If you are on a tight schedule this isn't going to be a good choice despite the wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Bon Appetit!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

This is the best value in San Diego on a Tuesday night. $25 prix fixe menu is amazing, generous portions. This is authentic French without bells and whistles and inflated prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lousy service. Waited to long for server ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Lousy service. Waited to long for server to attend our table. Food was served to our table 10 minutes apart from each other. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was average, but waiter were polite ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was average, but waiter were polite and attentive. Likely wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Loved it!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been here for brunch and dinner and loved it each time! Amazing food and great service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a happy diner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to Au Revoir many times. This was a very bad experience and I do not think we will return. The food was good as always, but the service was rude, abrupt and very unpleasant. We were celebrating a birthday and hoping to enjoy ourselves. That did not happen.

The waiter we complained about came over and instead of apologizing, he was argumentative. I would think since we are regular diners, they would have been more conciliatory, but that was not the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Loved it. Felt like I was in a neighbor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Loved it. Felt like I was in a neighborhood restaurant in Paris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, not so good service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Our waitress spent most of the evening visiting with friends sitting outside, if not for the attention of another worker we would have been ignored. Food was very good, though. We had mussels and salads and a desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

always visit when in SD

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been going to Au Revoir for several years after finding it by chance. We will ALWAYS stop in for brunch, lunch, or dinner when in San Diego (3-4 times a year) as the food and service are remarkable and the staff is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times and are al ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We have eaten here many times and are always more than pleased. The mussels and frites are the best in San Diego, and every salad and entree we have tried has been beautifully prepared and delicious. The feel is a cross between french country and neighborhood bistro. Service is attentive but not cloying. Au Revoir is definitely one of our "go-to" places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love it!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Au Revoir is one of our very favorite spots in Hillcrest. Food is always excellent; prices are reasonable; wine is great; manager Thomas is fabulous. Go!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The French Win Again

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We used to dine at this same locale years ago as La Vache ...but the rebirth of Au Revoir is perfection. We'll be back again and again. Merci beaucoup !!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Food, but too busy for quick service

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Three of us went and we enjoyed the "fish of the day (which was halibut provencal), the seabass plate, and the steak. Each was really excellent. They also have my favorite wine--a Sanceere. The only problems with this restaurant are that (1) it is a small restaurant in a small strip mall with inadequate parking; (2) because the food is so good, it is very popular--be sure to make reservations; and (3) it is so busy that it is sometimes difficult to get the waiter's attention. But I would definitely go again and again. Next time I will allow more time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The halibut special with ratatouille was ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

The halibut special with ratatouille was superb. It was served steaming hot in a cast iron skillet. To die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Easter Dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. The mussels and the sea bass, along with the foie gras was really good. And the desserts are to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Really love the food service & ambiance. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Great service and the food was perfect!

Lamb chops, duck and cheese plate were amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific sea bass

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved the sea bass, some of the best I have had in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent Food and Good Value

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

A group of 4 and all raved about the food, service, and value. A great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.