Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Au Revoir

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We found this place driving around it is super delicious!

We got the assorted cheese plate along with the calamari and the assorted pates. It was a lot of food but so good.

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very warm inside at dinner time. Otherwise good was awesome.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was delicious. Better than we expected. Great menu. Wine list is surprisingly limited, but you won't be disappointed by the selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. A bit of Paris in San Diego. Love this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 3, 2017

OK French food. There are several other French restaurants in the area that offer MUCH better prepared food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

What a nice surprise! We picked this restaurant randomly and were very pleased to find excellent well-prepared food! It was fabulous and I highly recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

I can't count the times that I have dined at Au Revior in HillCrest and I have never been disappointed. It is like being in a French Bistro with great food, good wine, attentive and excellent service. I had the Steak Frits and my spouse had the Hallibut both excellent. We will be back soon!!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This restaurant is in an unremarkable mini strip mall on Fourth Avenue in the middle of Hillcrest. It was 2 PM on a Saturday so it was pretty empty. However, we enjoyed the quietude and privacy and had a nice meal. The waiter was very pleasant and professional. I enjoyed the food; it was very authentic. I would go back there again. The wine list was decent and reasonably priced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 21, 2017

This authentic French bistro is great for special occasions and wonderful any ol' time. I've never ordered food that wasn't perfect. The sole waiter was a bit busy yesterday, so we had to wait a little to order our after lunch coffee - first world problem. The coffee was fabulous, worth the wait. Also, everything is reasonably priced.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 17, 2017

A very nice place with great lunch menu. Service was excellent. Food was French and very tasty. Really liked lavender French fries! Planning to go back for dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awful experience. We went on a rare date night as we are parents of a toddler for our 5th wedding anniversary. After waiting almost 10 minutes to get into the door, we waited over 25 minutes to even be greeted by our server. We left at this point as we hadn't even been offered water. I do not recommend. We will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Poor service. No catsup "because we are French." The onion soup was very sweet -- worst. Croque Madame was served on French bread with no cheese, only bechamel sauce. French? Nope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 5, 2017

What a wonderful meal and wonderful time. The French cuisine is the best -- the wine list outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Recommended by a friend who is now my friend for life. Outstanding service, wonderful food, nice ambience in a comfortable neighbor hood.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Perfect spot for a great meal. Love the cooked to perfection Coq Au Vin and the Saffron Mayo. Comfortable and non pretentious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall, this is a very charming little French restaurant. The service is excellent and very affordable given the quality of the food and wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants. This time it was off, just like the last couple of times. First, the person who seated and cleaned our table was incredibly rude. It's like it was a huge inconvenience for him to help out. And $22 for the coq au vin which had only a wing and a leg in it? Bad value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This casual French Bistro was a wonderful surprise!! The pate appetizer was wonderful. However, the rabbit dish, which we both had, was even better! The waiter (owner?) was a knowledgeable, young, very friendly, happy Frenchman. We will certainly go back soon and try other dishes like the rack of lamb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I was disappointed in the salad although the tuna on it was great. The dressing lacked flavor. Chocolate mousse for birthday treat was fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We finally found great French Food in SD without $$$$ prices! The service was enthusiastic and there was only one rose on the menu but - our waiter was great, from Marseilles, and from the pate appetizer to the duck l'orange - the food was exactly what we were looking for. If you like french food, try it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Every time we eat at Au Revoir, we are never disappointed. Thomas is the best waitstaff. He always treats us like family. The food is excellent & the menu varies with the seasons.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food & value. A very charming authentic
French bistro with delicious & varied menu of food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

'
food was cold, server never came by in time to check satisfation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent cuisine, friendly service, charming ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I love Au Revoir. The food is delicious, especially the benedicts.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Such a cute place, good food for brunch, and a great space to accommodate groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent and friendly waiter, good food, reasonable price

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Menu choices were excellent. Food was delicious. Will return for personal dining and business meetings.
Excellent prompt service.
Wait staff was attentive.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Eat here often my favorite resturant
Would highly recommend , food outstanding as well as service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed celebrating Mother's Day brunch. Great service and staff. We will be back. Thanks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

They consistently have too few waiters and bus boys so service is slow and erratic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We have dined at Au Revoir since they opened and the food has been consistently great. The service staff have always been very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

A very pleasant surprise in an otherwise mediocre strip mall making it something of a hidden gem. It's almost out of place in this location, given the very nice decor, the excellent food and service and very good wine list. Our friends and we will be returning to Au Revoir and highly recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The colored beet salad may have been one of the best things I've ever had.
Charcuterie plate awesome too!

Tableclothes at dinner might be nice, but the prices are reasonable and the quality of the food fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Love the new menu - rabbit in mustard sauce is so good. As always great value and quality even at the new prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good French food, stereotypical french service (not so good, but not bad). Came here for Brunch and found that there was a good quality to vaue ratio. I can't say the place is especially romantic or quaint. It's not particularly modern or sheik. It is authentic, however. We will be back.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Thought this was a great little restaurant in heart of Hillcrest. Food great! Was a little warm inside but overall great.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This is a quiet restaurant in the heart of Hillcrest. Friendly Atmosphere, the garcon was very helpful, and very friendly. The menu is very diverse, and the food is made fresh..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Easy going restaurant in Hillcrest. Food is reasonably priced and service is excellent. They have free parking in front which makes it a very easy spot to meet for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.