Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Au Revoir

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Special A la carte menu for all the Mamans we love.

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Authentic (15)
Great for Lunch (11)
Casual (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a quiet restaurant in the heart of Hillcrest. Friendly Atmosphere, the garcon was very helpful, and very friendly. The menu is very diverse, and the food is made fresh..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Easy going restaurant in Hillcrest. Food is reasonably priced and service is excellent. They have free parking in front which makes it a very easy spot to meet for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cozy and friendly neighborhood spot. Very French with excellent escargot and onion soup. Main dishes of coq au vin and salmon well prepared and generous. Mousse au chocolate rich and creamy. Good wine prices. Comfortable after the movie spot

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First time visitor. Excellent service. excellent meal and good value for the price. Will dine there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We went to Au Revoir to take advantage of their Tuesday night pre-fixe dinner. None of the dishes were disappointing, however the coq au vin was a bit salty for our tastes. We loved the Ile Flotant (creme Anglais with a meringue floating in it)... A lovely , light dessert that I enjoyed in France, but I have never seen on a menu in the U.S.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Being French myself i Love the French ambiance👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food,inattentive waiter

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Delicious food, nice ambiance, and wonderful service. We went to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday. She ordered a dessert off the menu they happened to run out of that night. The waiter was very insistent that they celebrate her birthday, such that he ran (he really ran) next door to another restaurant to get a tiramisu that he offered as a replacement. They brought the dessert with lighter candles and a song! Made a special night even more special with the personal attentiveness the whole evening.
Did I mention food was great too?
Please go if you have the chance - it is a very nice neighborhood gem.
Parking lot in front too!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. We both ordered the rabbit which turned out to be more of a stew than the menu described. The mustard sauce was way too salty, and the rabbit was just so-so. The pear salad was quite good, however. The chocolate mousse brought to our table for the birthday was quite tasty. The "French bread" seemed more like Italian bread than French. When we asked, we found it was indeed purchased from an Italian bakery. The music was too loud for our taste. All in all, we were disappointed. We have eaten there several times, but this meal was certainly not up to par.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance just like a good French cafe should be. Great service and always fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

excellent food and very good service. I was disappointed that they do not serve cocktails but otherwise excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious dinner, excellent service. I had the mussels - tiny, tender little ones in an amazing cream sauce with tiny cubes of pancetta and small, halved mushrooms. Best mussels I ever had! I also ordered the lavender French fries, the perfect accompaniment. My husband was equally satisfied with his boef bourginon. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Foods were good but the service was very slow. There were only a half dozen patrons in the restaurant but our food took a long time to arrive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place for French food in the neighborhood. Tuesday evening prix fixe menu is a great value!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Adorable, charming find and bonus, it has it's own parking lot which is a huge plus!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and drinks were great. Unfortunately they only had 1 server so the service was slow. If not for that, i would have scored a 5.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent overall. Salmon and scallop dish was so well cooked and amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Au Revoir serves delicious food with wonderful service!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We received raw fish and our scallops were barely cooked. The lamb was fantastic. 1/4 meals hit the mark. Food was overpriced. The meringue dessert was lacking. Didn't look appealing and didn't taste great. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we love French food and plan to go back to try their regular menu.
what we ate was fine but wish we had had the option to order what we were told was fabulous.
A very nice couple was sitting next to us who live in that neighborhood and eat there often and have for many years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Relaxed neighborhood gem, great food, good value

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dorset)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visiting from the UK. Rack of lamb was superb, probably the best meal we had in our 2 week stay. Will definitely go back again.

David

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A nice relaxed french bistro meal on a Saturday evening. The seabass was excellent and the confit duck melt in the mouth. A nice wine selection at reasonable prices too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food, as always, and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had terrible service. The waiter served my three friends and then walked off. After ten minutes of being forgotten about, I walked to the kitchen (where the waiter was standing) and asked when I would get my food. He told me it was coming. It took another ten minutes to get my meal. One table of two and a solo diner were served before I was. One of my friend had finished his meal and the other two were 3/4 finished before I got my meal. I asked to speak to the manager and was told that there was not one on duty. (no surprise) To be fair, they did not charge me for my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Stopped for a light dinner after an afternoon show at the Lyceum. Very helpful server with good knowledge of the menu and spot-on recommendations for the wine pairing. Casual atmosphere combined with a sophisticated menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time there and we really were surprised to find *such a good place* off the "beaten path"! My friend's salmon with scallops dinner was a huge hit. I just had salad and soup, both were good and would do again. We had a good time, and I overtipped but oh well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was amazing as always. I love the ambience and the service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Tres friggin' bien. Onion tart not to be missed. Trout to die for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charming, comfortable and full of character despite being in a strip mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thomas is a wonderful server & manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent and well worth the price . The waiter was less than attentive. The bill had several problems with it but when pointed out they were corrected immediately but not with an apology. In addition they charged for water which was not specified on the menu as well as a small increase in a split dish for young children. The atmosphere was very casual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very noisy, and crowded on the day we went...but great quality French cuisine. Unusual choices and all wait staff seemed to ne sponsive, knowledgeable and French speaking?
A nice touch
Duck salad was outstanding choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I were there for our wedding anniversary. We try to make it a tradition to come to this restaurant for every birthday, wedding anniversary, or any special days. We love the staff there. Everyone is so kind. Awesome service from all. An amazing restaurant with great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great - except the noise level. Food, wine, service, value are right on target, but with all of the vertical surfaces being either brick or glass, the noise level becomes just too much when the room become half full. A minimum attempt at some acoustic treatment would make this an unbeatable place for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been going to Au Revoir for either lunch or dinner every time we visit the San Diego area. It's become our must visit restaurant because of the friendly ownership, staff, service and the quality of the food. Strongly recommend that Open table place this restaurant on it's top 10 for San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My new favorite place for sure! The French bread is amazing! I also enjoyed the mushroom ravioli! So much flavor! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A very nice get together where we celebrated a friend's birthday. I mention in my booking about the birthday, but there was no reconition.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Love! Love! Love this place! Always delicious! The salmon with scallops is my favorite. My kid loved his lamb chops. Who couldn't love the chocolate mousse and the creme brûlée?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great place, small but vibrant. Good atmosphere, good food, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.