Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Au Revoir

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (25)
Authentic (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Casual (18)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Fun (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This casual French Bistro was a wonderful surprise!! The pate appetizer was wonderful. However, the rabbit dish, which we both had, was even better! The waiter (owner?) was a knowledgeable, young, very friendly, happy Frenchman. We will certainly go back soon and try other dishes like the rack of lamb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 1, 2017

I was disappointed in the salad although the tuna on it was great. The dressing lacked flavor. Chocolate mousse for birthday treat was fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We finally found great French Food in SD without $$$$ prices! The service was enthusiastic and there was only one rose on the menu but - our waiter was great, from Marseilles, and from the pate appetizer to the duck l'orange - the food was exactly what we were looking for. If you like french food, try it.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Every time we eat at Au Revoir, we are never disappointed. Thomas is the best waitstaff. He always treats us like family. The food is excellent & the menu varies with the seasons.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent food & value. A very charming authentic
French bistro with delicious & varied menu of food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

'
food was cold, server never came by in time to check satisfation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent cuisine, friendly service, charming ambiance.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I love Au Revoir. The food is delicious, especially the benedicts.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Such a cute place, good food for brunch, and a great space to accommodate groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great ambiance, excellent and friendly waiter, good food, reasonable price

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed celebrating Mother's Day brunch. Great service and staff. We will be back. Thanks

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

They consistently have too few waiters and bus boys so service is slow and erratic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We have dined at Au Revoir since they opened and the food has been consistently great. The service staff have always been very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2017

A very pleasant surprise in an otherwise mediocre strip mall making it something of a hidden gem. It's almost out of place in this location, given the very nice decor, the excellent food and service and very good wine list. Our friends and we will be returning to Au Revoir and highly recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The colored beet salad may have been one of the best things I've ever had.
Charcuterie plate awesome too!

Tableclothes at dinner might be nice, but the prices are reasonable and the quality of the food fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Love the new menu - rabbit in mustard sauce is so good. As always great value and quality even at the new prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good French food, stereotypical french service (not so good, but not bad). Came here for Brunch and found that there was a good quality to vaue ratio. I can't say the place is especially romantic or quaint. It's not particularly modern or sheik. It is authentic, however. We will be back.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Thought this was a great little restaurant in heart of Hillcrest. Food great! Was a little warm inside but overall great.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is a quiet restaurant in the heart of Hillcrest. Friendly Atmosphere, the garcon was very helpful, and very friendly. The menu is very diverse, and the food is made fresh..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Easy going restaurant in Hillcrest. Food is reasonably priced and service is excellent. They have free parking in front which makes it a very easy spot to meet for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Cozy and friendly neighborhood spot. Very French with excellent escargot and onion soup. Main dishes of coq au vin and salmon well prepared and generous. Mousse au chocolate rich and creamy. Good wine prices. Comfortable after the movie spot

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

First time visitor. Excellent service. excellent meal and good value for the price. Will dine there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We went to Au Revoir to take advantage of their Tuesday night pre-fixe dinner. None of the dishes were disappointing, however the coq au vin was a bit salty for our tastes. We loved the Ile Flotant (creme Anglais with a meringue floating in it)... A lovely , light dessert that I enjoyed in France, but I have never seen on a menu in the U.S.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Being French myself i Love the French ambiance👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food,inattentive waiter

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Delicious food, nice ambiance, and wonderful service. We went to celebrate my mom's 90th birthday. She ordered a dessert off the menu they happened to run out of that night. The waiter was very insistent that they celebrate her birthday, such that he ran (he really ran) next door to another restaurant to get a tiramisu that he offered as a replacement. They brought the dessert with lighter candles and a song! Made a special night even more special with the personal attentiveness the whole evening.
Did I mention food was great too?
Please go if you have the chance - it is a very nice neighborhood gem.
Parking lot in front too!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday. We both ordered the rabbit which turned out to be more of a stew than the menu described. The mustard sauce was way too salty, and the rabbit was just so-so. The pear salad was quite good, however. The chocolate mousse brought to our table for the birthday was quite tasty. The "French bread" seemed more like Italian bread than French. When we asked, we found it was indeed purchased from an Italian bakery. The music was too loud for our taste. All in all, we were disappointed. We have eaten there several times, but this meal was certainly not up to par.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance just like a good French cafe should be. Great service and always fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

excellent food and very good service. I was disappointed that they do not serve cocktails but otherwise excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious dinner, excellent service. I had the mussels - tiny, tender little ones in an amazing cream sauce with tiny cubes of pancetta and small, halved mushrooms. Best mussels I ever had! I also ordered the lavender French fries, the perfect accompaniment. My husband was equally satisfied with his boef bourginon. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Foods were good but the service was very slow. There were only a half dozen patrons in the restaurant but our food took a long time to arrive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place for French food in the neighborhood. Tuesday evening prix fixe menu is a great value!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Adorable, charming find and bonus, it has it's own parking lot which is a huge plus!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and drinks were great. Unfortunately they only had 1 server so the service was slow. If not for that, i would have scored a 5.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent overall. Salmon and scallop dish was so well cooked and amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Au Revoir serves delicious food with wonderful service!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We received raw fish and our scallops were barely cooked. The lamb was fantastic. 1/4 meals hit the mark. Food was overpriced. The meringue dessert was lacking. Didn't look appealing and didn't taste great. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we love French food and plan to go back to try their regular menu.
what we ate was fine but wish we had had the option to order what we were told was fabulous.
A very nice couple was sitting next to us who live in that neighborhood and eat there often and have for many years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Relaxed neighborhood gem, great food, good value

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dorset)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visiting from the UK. Rack of lamb was superb, probably the best meal we had in our 2 week stay. Will definitely go back again.

David

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.