About Au Revoir

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Specials

Prix Fixe Tuesday for $25.00

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Prix Fixe Tuesday for $25.00

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Prix Fixe Tuesday for $25.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 22, 2016 - Mar 21, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Authentic (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (9)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We received raw fish and our scallops we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

We received raw fish and our scallops were barely cooked. The lamb was fantastic. 1/4 meals hit the mark. Food was overpriced. The meringue dessert was lacking. Didn't look appealing and didn't taste great. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

we love French food and plan to go back ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we love French food and plan to go back to try their regular menu.

what we ate was fine but wish we had had the option to order what we were told was fabulous.

A very nice couple was sitting next to us who live in that neighborhood and eat there often and have for many years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Relaxed neighborhood gem, great food, go ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Relaxed neighborhood gem, great food, good value

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Visiting from the UK. Rack of lamb was s ...

 
 (Dorset)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visiting from the UK. Rack of lamb was superb, probably the best meal we had in our 2 week stay. Will definitely go back again.

David

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A nice relaxed french bistro meal on a S ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A nice relaxed french bistro meal on a Saturday evening. The seabass was excellent and the confit duck melt in the mouth. A nice wine selection at reasonable prices too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food, as always, and friendly servi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food, as always, and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We had terrible service. The waiter ser ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had terrible service. The waiter served my three friends and then walked off. After ten minutes of being forgotten about, I walked to the kitchen (where the waiter was standing) and asked when I would get my food. He told me it was coming. It took another ten minutes to get my meal. One table of two and a solo diner were served before I was. One of my friend had finished his meal and the other two were 3/4 finished before I got my meal. I asked to speak to the manager and was told that there was not one on duty. (no surprise) To be fair, they did not charge me for my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Stopped for a light dinner after an afte ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Stopped for a light dinner after an afternoon show at the Lyceum. Very helpful server with good knowledge of the menu and spot-on recommendations for the wine pairing. Casual atmosphere combined with a sophisticated menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time there and we really were surp ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time there and we really were surprised to find such a good place off the "beaten path"! My friend's salmon with scallops dinner was a huge hit. I just had salad and soup, both were good and would do again. We had a good time, and I overtipped but oh well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing as always. I love t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was amazing as always. I love the ambience and the service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, , Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tres friggin' bien. Onion tart not to be ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Tres friggin' bien. Onion tart not to be missed. Trout to die for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Charming, comfortable and full of charac ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charming, comfortable and full of character despite being in a strip mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Thomas is a wonderful server & manager

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thomas is a wonderful server & manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent and well worth th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent and well worth the price . The waiter was less than attentive. The bill had several problems with it but when pointed out they were corrected immediately but not with an apology. In addition they charged for water which was not specified on the menu as well as a small increase in a split dish for young children. The atmosphere was very casual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Very noisy, and crowded on the day we we ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very noisy, and crowded on the day we went...but great quality French cuisine. Unusual choices and all wait staff seemed to ne sponsive, knowledgeable and French speaking?

A nice touch

Duck salad was outstanding choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I were there for our wedding ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I were there for our wedding anniversary. We try to make it a tradition to come to this restaurant for every birthday, wedding anniversary, or any special days. We love the staff there. Everyone is so kind. Awesome service from all. An amazing restaurant with great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great - except the noise ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great - except the noise level. Food, wine, service, value are right on target, but with all of the vertical surfaces being either brick or glass, the noise level becomes just too much when the room become half full. A minimum attempt at some acoustic treatment would make this an unbeatable place for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have been going to Au Revoir for eith ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been going to Au Revoir for either lunch or dinner every time we visit the San Diego area. It's become our must visit restaurant because of the friendly ownership, staff, service and the quality of the food. Strongly recommend that Open table place this restaurant on it's top 10 for San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite place for sure! The Fren ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My new favorite place for sure! The French bread is amazing! I also enjoyed the mushroom ravioli! So much flavor! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice get together where we celebr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A very nice get together where we celebrated a friend's birthday. I mention in my booking about the birthday, but there was no reconition.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love! Love! Love this place! Always deli ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Love! Love! Love this place! Always delicious! The salmon with scallops is my favorite. My kid loved his lamb chops. Who couldn't love the chocolate mousse and the creme brûlée?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, small but vibrant. Good at ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great place, small but vibrant. Good atmosphere, good food, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfectly charming little strip mall Fre ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Perfectly charming little strip mall French bistro in Hillcrest. Nice friendly vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Outstanding authentic French food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always Outstanding authentic French food and quality service. Don't pass up the aioli served with your bread basket.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love?! Au Revoir is easily ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What's not to love?! Au Revoir is easily some of the best French food in town, absolutely delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This was a special occasion offered by t ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was a special occasion offered by the restaurant to celebrate the release of Beaujolais Noveau. The menu was a fixed price three course delight with choices within each course. The salade Lyonnaise with pork belly was scrumptious; the blue crab stuffed rainbow trout with fingerling potatoes and asparagus was delicious as was the poached pear and ice cream for dessert. My husband had the lamb - also lovely. This is a warm, welcoming place with excellent food and lovely wine at a very reasonable price. Lovely neighborhood bistro in Hillcrest.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had tried Au Revoir several months ba ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had tried Au Revoir several months back and had really enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the wine. My wife and I had a date night at the theater and decided to go again but go early and take our time. The second time was every bit as good as the first and we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I eat at this restaurant on average 2 ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I eat at this restaurant on average 2 times per month and I'm never disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for our wedding anniversary, early ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went for our wedding anniversary, early in the evening. Appetizers were excellent, had the escargot and cheese plate, with a glass of champagne. Our food server was attentive, but unintrusive. We had the salmon and New York steak with lavender fries (yum!). We shared the profiteroles for dessert. Wonderful experience before the Old Globe.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great tasting dinner was the highlight o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great tasting dinner was the highlight of the evening. Met a friend for dinner and it was perfect for that because of it being quiet enough for great conversation. A little bit pricey, but not horrible. Service was adequate. I would recommend this establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, service and prices. Quite a ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food, service and prices. Quite a find in Hillcrest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Truly delicious food. Every dish cooked ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Truly delicious food. Every dish cooked to perfection.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As always, a delicious meal and superlat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2016

As always, a delicious meal and superlative service. A very generous wine pour too! We had the very tasty Bistro Salad with poached pears and candied walnuts and a really yummy Tapenade Tartine. My Vegetarian friend had the mushroom ravioli and loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was only my second time visiting au ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was only my second time visiting au revoir, but i love it. It is a cozy restaurant great menu that is worth the price and our server was very friendly. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect food and perfect service - you a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Perfect food and perfect service - you are never rushed and you are allowed to savor the moment. America needs to learn how to eat like the Europeans, this is a great place to take your first lesson in living to eat!

We will go back at every opportunity we can

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing first time experience - will vis ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing first time experience - will visit every time I'm in town! Food was excellent and the waitstaff friendly and professional, and didn't rush me as a solitary diner who stayed two hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The decor is nice, but not over-the-top. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The decor is nice, but not over-the-top. Food quality very good. Service solid although it seemed apparent that they wanted to leave for the evening (we were the last ones there).

It's not cheap, but the prices are within reason. Overall, I'd recommend them.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Excellent service. Great pla ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Great place for special occasion or just a nice dinner out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent guests at Au Revoir, esp ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We are frequent guests at Au Revoir, especially on Tues night when the prix fix 3 course dinner is offered. The onion soup there is the best I have ever had. We usually have the salmon dinner with added scallops. The staff is friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection. Highly recommend that you make a visit.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, , Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We go often to Au Revoir but have found ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We go often to Au Revoir but have found it is gaining in popularity so made a res this time. We got a table for two near the back and all went well until we got our food. Then we sort of became invisible. We finally flagged our waited down for a desert and the bill but it was nearly 30 mins between finishing the main and leaving. That is unusual for these folks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.