Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Sun, 5/20
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Au Revoir

4.5
350 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Authentic
Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Comfort Food, Bistro
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 268-2400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Dédé
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Robinson & 4th Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
French music playing
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....
Additional
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 350 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 2 days ago

It was a wonderful place to have a very good meal & still be able to discuss business. Recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great Mothers Day experience. Friendly service and we’ll prepared food. Very comfortable, relaxing environment. Food came out quick, drinks were refilled promptly and we never felt rushed. Definitely be back!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Best duck confit I've ever had. The food is just terrific

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Always good, well prepared food with attentive service. Took a friend there and she's determined to return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Everything had full delicious flavor from the steak tartar appetizer to the boeuf bourguignon and apple tart for dessert. I have to visit this place every time I visit San Diego, and I love bringing new people here! The wait staff couldn’t be nicer, either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The food was delicious and the service outstanding. Will definitely dine there again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We came here for my birthday. It wasn't busy at all and the service was great. The food was very delicious. It wasn't too heavy, but it was enough. I later was served a chocolate mousse truffle looking dessert which was very delicious. Can't wait to try other meals!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Simply Fabulous. I love French food, and this is as good as it gets! Service was also exceptional. We have just added Au Revoir to our "go to" list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Always great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The pork chops were a bit undercooked-still pink inside and they didn't have enough sauce. The brioche bread pudding was mediocre. Not our best meal at Au Revoir that night. This is unusual because we absolutely love the food here. Also disappointed that you don't have the half-size portions. This way we can sample more items. Overall the food was average that night.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We have been here a few times. The service was excellent and food was also, with the exception of the pork loin which was over cooked. Will definitely return again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Have been to this neighborhood gem many times. Have always had great lunches/dinners and service. Yes, wine list is not top tier, but our focus is the food and then the service. The wines are more than adequate, which keeps our bill at the end of our meal reasonable.

Leave them wanting more...they do.

We will be back again...and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My friend and I wanted a casual restaurant where we could celebrate Easter and still feel like we were doing something special. Au Revoir was perfect. Lamb was on the menu, which we both ordered. We began with Asparagus soup. It was just their regular menu, not overpriced specials just for Easter. That was a plus for us.

The excellent service and warm atmosphere contributed to a special meal. It's one of our favorites and we'll go back often.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter brunch

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We brought visiting friends here. We all had a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Au Revior consistently has great food specials and outstanding customer service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Pleasant enough food in a quaint, if unremarkable atmosphere. Wine list severely lacking, but extremely well-priced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

There were 8 of us that ate here this past Sunday, March 18th. The waitress was attentive, but not pushy and the food was great. I have already recommended this restaurant to a colleague. We ate their for brunch and to get caught up with our kids.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Went for dinner after a movie at the Landmark. Comfortable neighborhood place. Reasonable wine selection, great escargot, and stuffed chicken and trout special were perfectly cooked and excellent. Chocolate mousse dessert was rich and quite large. Good value for money

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We stayed for hours. A few had been there before but not all of us together. The staff was great. Went back for brunch on Sunday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Anniversary dinner when great. Tuesday's are set menu option night. Duck confit was yummy with pickled pear walnut salad. This French bistro is a San Diego gem. Never an outrageous burden on the wallet; has with great value. Note: Can get overly warm inside when the kitchen gets cranked up.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2018

We've been wanting to visit Au Revoir for quite a while, having heard great things about it. I was particularly glad to see there was an easy place to park. Upon arrival at 6:00 p.m., the restaurant was near empty. We had a reservation, but were not welcomed by name. The service was not especially warm or cordial; rather, efficient. The food was outstanding, and we would return just for that. Onion soup was requested, but never delivered; I'm unsure whether we were charged for that. The fish plate was generous, and well done. The scallops over risotto were excellent. The filet was also excellent. One guest had a dinner salad, which was fine. The bread was not fresh, merely okay. the garlic spread (no butter) which accompanied the bread was too liquid, and readily spilled. The white house wine was tried, and was surprisingly very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Lovely little French restaurant with authentic French food. Small and a bit noisy but delightful and affordable.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I felt the service was poor based on the fact that we were never asked if we would like a drink before ordering our dinner. I had to bring it to the wait staff's attention that no one asked us if we would like something to drink other than water.
Also the timing of the meal was off. It would have been nice to enjoy a glass of wine and maybe some bread prior to our meal arriving. Also a bit pricey!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Great food, great place to enjoy a well prepared meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Au revoir is a wonderful place to dine and have fun. The food is delicious and service is friendly and attentive. Thank you Au Revoir for working so hard and making a delightful evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We had 6:30pm reservations on a Saturday. They were out of 4 items...No mussels in a French restaurant in San Diego?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

We really loved this place. Located in great area. Parking in front but was full. Service was good and food was high quality and excellent. Prices were reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Great lunch as usual. Maybe a bit on the salty side for the seabass and the lavender fries, but nothing to be disappointed about. The waiter was super nice and very professional. A great place to eat for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great meal! A very French menu. Service was very good, and the atmosphere was exceptional. It was a real treat for my wife's birthday, and reasonable prices too!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We were there on Valentine's Day, which was our mistake. They were crazy-busy but only had two wait staff and two bussers. Everyone was so very kind and doing their best but it was too much for this little restaurant. With our long wait at the table for even menus, the price for the Prix fixe menu was unreasonable - 3 people came to $275 with one average bottle of wine, add the tip and I was at $325. I highly recommend them for their food and their service but don't go on a holiday - the place is just too small.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The food was amazing as well as service. Would love to go again. I loved the lobster bisque and will sea-bass. Very tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Very relaxed atmosphere. Food was outstanding. The risottos and creme brûlée were flawless. Solid wine menu made the pairings work nicely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Great food! Great service!! Pate and Camembert were delicious and the Salmon/Scallops were amazing!! We just found our new “place!!”

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Best brunch in town for the money

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

The food and service at Au Revoir never disappoints. Great French food at very reasonable prices. You can’t go wrong.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

The inside was lovely, quiet and easy parking on a Wednesday night right outside. Our waiter was ver attentive and the food was very good. A quiet gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Have never had anything less than delicious. Mussles, salmon, scallops, duck, cheese plate -- all worth going back again. Really appreciate a restaurant quiet enough to have a conversation with our dinner guests.
Thank you, Au Revoir!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2018

This is a very comfortable authentic French bistro with a "neighborhood" feel and a pleasant ambiance. The staff is amiable and the service is excellent. The menu has a nice selection of quality food, including a number of gluten-free selections. The wine list is nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Always great food and service. I consistently think of this restaurant for an after movie outing with friends. I often get their trout which is about the best in town.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9