Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Au Revoir

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for a special Lamb, sea bass and more to celebrate Easter the french way

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Special A la carte menu for all the Mamans we love.

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Casual (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday. We both ordered the rabbit which turned out to be more of a stew than the menu described. The mustard sauce was way too salty, and the rabbit was just so-so. The pear salad was quite good, however. The chocolate mousse brought to our table for the birthday was quite tasty. The "French bread" seemed more like Italian bread than French. When we asked, we found it was indeed purchased from an Italian bakery. The music was too loud for our taste. All in all, we were disappointed. We have eaten there several times, but this meal was certainly not up to par.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent food and ambiance just like a good French cafe should be. Great service and always fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 18, 2017

excellent food and very good service. I was disappointed that they do not serve cocktails but otherwise excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Delicious dinner, excellent service. I had the mussels - tiny, tender little ones in an amazing cream sauce with tiny cubes of pancetta and small, halved mushrooms. Best mussels I ever had! I also ordered the lavender French fries, the perfect accompaniment. My husband was equally satisfied with his boef bourginon. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place for French food in the neighborhood. Tuesday evening prix fixe menu is a great value!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Adorable, charming find and bonus, it has it's own parking lot which is a huge plus!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and drinks were great. Unfortunately they only had 1 server so the service was slow. If not for that, i would have scored a 5.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent overall. Salmon and scallop dish was so well cooked and amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Au Revoir serves delicious food with wonderful service!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We received raw fish and our scallops were barely cooked. The lamb was fantastic. 1/4 meals hit the mark. Food was overpriced. The meringue dessert was lacking. Didn't look appealing and didn't taste great. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

we love French food and plan to go back to try their regular menu.
what we ate was fine but wish we had had the option to order what we were told was fabulous.
A very nice couple was sitting next to us who live in that neighborhood and eat there often and have for many years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Relaxed neighborhood gem, great food, good value

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dorset)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Visiting from the UK. Rack of lamb was superb, probably the best meal we had in our 2 week stay. Will definitely go back again.

David

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

A nice relaxed french bistro meal on a Saturday evening. The seabass was excellent and the confit duck melt in the mouth. A nice wine selection at reasonable prices too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Good food, as always, and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had terrible service. The waiter served my three friends and then walked off. After ten minutes of being forgotten about, I walked to the kitchen (where the waiter was standing) and asked when I would get my food. He told me it was coming. It took another ten minutes to get my meal. One table of two and a solo diner were served before I was. One of my friend had finished his meal and the other two were 3/4 finished before I got my meal. I asked to speak to the manager and was told that there was not one on duty. (no surprise) To be fair, they did not charge me for my meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Stopped for a light dinner after an afternoon show at the Lyceum. Very helpful server with good knowledge of the menu and spot-on recommendations for the wine pairing. Casual atmosphere combined with a sophisticated menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

First time there and we really were surprised to find *such a good place* off the "beaten path"! My friend's salmon with scallops dinner was a huge hit. I just had salad and soup, both were good and would do again. We had a good time, and I overtipped but oh well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The food was amazing as always. I love the ambience and the service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Tres friggin' bien. Onion tart not to be missed. Trout to die for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charming, comfortable and full of character despite being in a strip mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thomas is a wonderful server & manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent and well worth the price . The waiter was less than attentive. The bill had several problems with it but when pointed out they were corrected immediately but not with an apology. In addition they charged for water which was not specified on the menu as well as a small increase in a split dish for young children. The atmosphere was very casual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very noisy, and crowded on the day we went...but great quality French cuisine. Unusual choices and all wait staff seemed to ne sponsive, knowledgeable and French speaking?
A nice touch
Duck salad was outstanding choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I were there for our wedding anniversary. We try to make it a tradition to come to this restaurant for every birthday, wedding anniversary, or any special days. We love the staff there. Everyone is so kind. Awesome service from all. An amazing restaurant with great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great - except the noise level. Food, wine, service, value are right on target, but with all of the vertical surfaces being either brick or glass, the noise level becomes just too much when the room become half full. A minimum attempt at some acoustic treatment would make this an unbeatable place for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been going to Au Revoir for either lunch or dinner every time we visit the San Diego area. It's become our must visit restaurant because of the friendly ownership, staff, service and the quality of the food. Strongly recommend that Open table place this restaurant on it's top 10 for San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My new favorite place for sure! The French bread is amazing! I also enjoyed the mushroom ravioli! So much flavor! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A very nice get together where we celebrated a friend's birthday. I mention in my booking about the birthday, but there was no reconition.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Love! Love! Love this place! Always delicious! The salmon with scallops is my favorite. My kid loved his lamb chops. Who couldn't love the chocolate mousse and the creme brûlée?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great place, small but vibrant. Good atmosphere, good food, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Perfectly charming little strip mall French bistro in Hillcrest. Nice friendly vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always Outstanding authentic French food and quality service. Don't pass up the aioli served with your bread basket.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What's not to love?! Au Revoir is easily some of the best French food in town, absolutely delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was a special occasion offered by the restaurant to celebrate the release of Beaujolais Noveau. The menu was a fixed price three course delight with choices within each course. The salade Lyonnaise with pork belly was scrumptious; the blue crab stuffed rainbow trout with fingerling potatoes and asparagus was delicious as was the poached pear and ice cream for dessert. My husband had the lamb - also lovely. This is a warm, welcoming place with excellent food and lovely wine at a very reasonable price. Lovely neighborhood bistro in Hillcrest.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had tried Au Revoir several months back and had really enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the wine. My wife and I had a date night at the theater and decided to go again but go early and take our time. The second time was every bit as good as the first and we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I eat at this restaurant on average 2 times per month and I'm never disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went for our wedding anniversary, early in the evening. Appetizers were excellent, had the escargot and cheese plate, with a glass of champagne. Our food server was attentive, but unintrusive. We had the salmon and New York steak with lavender fries (yum!). We shared the profiteroles for dessert. Wonderful experience before the Old Globe.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great tasting dinner was the highlight of the evening. Met a friend for dinner and it was perfect for that because of it being quiet enough for great conversation. A little bit pricey, but not horrible. Service was adequate. I would recommend this establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food, service and prices. Quite a find in Hillcrest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.