About Au Revoir

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Restaurant Photos

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
San Diego
Neighborhood Gem
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

neighborhood gem (49)
fit for foodies (40)
special occasion (26)
See All
great for lunch (21)
romantic (20)
great for brunch (19)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (4)
Sort By:
Newest
155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I tried Au Revoir based on o ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

My wife and I tried Au Revoir based on other Open Table reviews. We found the food to be very good. We each had a different appetizer we had never tried before and found them to be very good and the entrees were tasty as well. The service can be a little slow if they are busy. They are very good at getting you seated (reservations recommended for sure), getting your drink order including consulting on wine choice, taking the meal order and serving it. They could have come be the table during the meal a little sooner than they did....make the rounds so to speak just a little more often. If you are not in a rush then the pace of service is suitable. If you are on a tight schedule this isn't going to be a good choice despite the wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Bon Appetit!

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

This is the best value in San Diego on a Tuesday night. $25 prix fixe menu is amazing, generous portions. This is authentic French without bells and whistles and inflated prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Lousy service. Waited to long for server ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Lousy service. Waited to long for server to attend our table. Food was served to our table 10 minutes apart from each other. Will not be back.

food3
ambience4
service5

Food was average, but waiter were polite ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was average, but waiter were polite and attentive. Likely wouldn't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been here for brunch and dinner and loved it each time! Amazing food and great service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Not a happy diner

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to Au Revoir many times. This was a very bad experience and I do not think we will return. The food was good as always, but the service was rude, abrupt and very unpleasant. We were celebrating a birthday and hoping to enjoy ourselves. That did not happen. The waiter we complained about came over and instead of apologizing, he was argumentative. I would think since we are regular diners, they would have been more conciliatory, but that was not the case.

food4
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Felt like I was in a neighbor ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Loved it. Felt like I was in a neighborhood restaurant in Paris.

food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Good food, not so good service

Dined on April 18, 2016

Our waitress spent most of the evening visiting with friends sitting outside, if not for the attention of another worker we would have been ignored. Food was very good, though. We had mussels and salads and a desert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always visit when in SD

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We have been going to Au Revoir for several years after finding it by chance. We will ALWAYS stop in for brunch, lunch, or dinner when in San Diego (3-4 times a year) as the food and service are remarkable and the staff is excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here many times and are al ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We have eaten here many times and are always more than pleased. The mussels and frites are the best in San Diego, and every salad and entree we have tried has been beautifully prepared and delicious. The feel is a cross between french country and neighborhood bistro. Service is attentive but not cloying. Au Revoir is definitely one of our "go-to" places.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love it!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Au Revoir is one of our very favorite spots in Hillcrest. Food is always excellent; prices are reasonable; wine is great; manager Thomas is fabulous. Go!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The French Win Again

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

We used to dine at this same locale years ago as La Vache ...but the rebirth of Au Revoir is perfection. We'll be back again and again. Merci beaucoup !!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent Food, but too busy for quick service

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Three of us went and we enjoyed the "fish of the day (which was halibut provencal), the seabass plate, and the steak. Each was really excellent. They also have my favorite wine--a Sanceere. The only problems with this restaurant are that (1) it is a small restaurant in a small strip mall with inadequate parking; (2) because the food is so good, it is very popular--be sure to make reservations; and (3) it is so busy that it is sometimes difficult to get the waiter's attention. But I would definitely go again and again. Next time I will allow more time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The halibut special with ratatouille was ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

The halibut special with ratatouille was superb. It was served steaming hot in a cast iron skillet. To die for!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Easter Dinner

Dined on March 28, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. The mussels and the sea bass, along with the foie gras was really good. And the desserts are to die for.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Really love the food service & ambiance. Our server was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Great service and the food was perfect! Lamb chops, duck and cheese plate were amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Terrific sea bass

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Loved the sea bass, some of the best I have had in San Diego.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Good Value

Dined on March 10, 2016

A group of 4 and all raved about the food, service, and value. A great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dinner spot

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a party of 4 for a Saturday night reservation @6. The restaurant wasn't overly busy when we arrived but it soon filled. We all ordered salads and entrees. Food was well paced. The plating was good, but one dish (sea bass) had burnt nuts and very was well done despite it being listed as "seared". Overall it was a great dinner and I am curious to go back on a less crowded night. The noise level was overwhelmingly loud. Waitstaff was very good and attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always enjoyable

Dined on March 4, 2016

We've been coming here since they opened, and we've enjoyed every meal. We love the moules mariniere, the salmon with scallops and when they have it, the stuffed trout special. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

The food was just terrible. My ocopus wa ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

The food was just terrible. My ocopus was way over cooked. The flat bread was somewhat stale and the calamari was so fried that I didn't even feel like touching it!!!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

busy night

Dined on February 25, 2016

We ate there during a special event, and things were definitely not up to their usual standards. It was crowded, even with a reservation they ran 30 minutes late. We must have waited 45 minutes before we even got an appetizer. The entree was delicious, but I'm pretty sure I got the bottom of the pan - lots of bones!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on February 17, 2016

I knew the food and service would be excellent because I'd been there before.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was wonderful. We will be bac ...

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

Everything was wonderful. We will be back. Thomas was a great waiter and made excellent suggestions.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I've been only once, but...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We joined friends at a table for lunch. The restaurant was nearly empty; however, it took quite a while for a waiter to approach us, and, after I asked for a list of wines by the glass, he did not return until he was ready to take our order. My husband's lobster bisque was correctly prepared, with the lobster shells sauteed and pressed through a sieve. However, the soup tasted somewhat burned, perhaps due to overcaramelizing the vegetable and shell mixture; and was on the sweet and fruity side, indicating an overdose of wine. My filet mignon was so tough I had been going to send it back, but my husband ate it with relish. The lavender fries were thin--my favorite type, and excellent. My husband's salade Nicoise (not the traditional version with potatoes) could have received dressing on all the ingredients, not just on the mesclun mix; and the portion of delicious ahi was extremely spare.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

Enjoyed the Prix Fixe Special Valentine's Dinner. Good choices. I had Brochette of scallop and two shrimp, tender, delicious, Honey had the salad. Then we had the Roasted Duck. Skin crisp, wonderful. Potatoes Anna rather cold, disappointing. Finished with Chocolate Mousse-Lovely! We had the wine parings with the meal which were very enjoyable, especially dessert red with the mousse.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cuisine française; friendly staff .

Dined on February 15, 2016

It's like being in a Parisien bistrot. The food and wine selection is extensive and the preparation and presentation are wonderful. I recommend the salmon and the beef wellington.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Tight fit

Dined on February 15, 2016

My only problem with the restaurant was the seating arrangement. The tables were so close that the wait staff had to reach over us to serve our food. On my left and right, other couples were only a foot away and both my wife and I's chairs were against the persons behind us.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

classic French bistro

Dined on February 15, 2016

I love this place. The food is classic and well done. Nothing nouveau or whatever. Just solid food, good service, and a wonderful owner who really cares. A great reasonably priced wine list, classically French, and with some pretty interesting finds.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service

Dined on February 14, 2016

we had the escargot, scallops in Gruyere, sea bass with risotto and butternut squash ravioli, and for dessert the chocolate mousse. We cleaned the plates. All were delectable and delicious. Must return, I hear the brunch is amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The Salmon was some of the best I have e ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Salmon was some of the best I have ever had. It's a good place for a meal with friends or a date. I certainly recommend it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

a real bistro feel

Dined on February 10, 2016

This is by far my favorite French restaurant in San Diego. The servers make us feel like long-time friends and always go the extra mile to make our experience a great one. Case in point, last night my dining partner and I couldn't decide between two main dishes, so they served one as an entrée, presented beautifully on two plates, and the second as a main course, again served separately. It's this service, coupled with consistently delicious meals, that keep this bistro close to our hearts.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Fine

Dined on February 8, 2016

Disappointed that I didn't earn any OpenTable points for eating here. I'm sure it's because the restaurant owner is cheap and won't pay OT for the points. There is a sense of frugleness about the place and the staff. The staff are nice, there is just a sense of being a working stiff instead of trying to make my evening special. Though my date raved about her food and wants to go back. Mine was fine, but not that good.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Terrible Service

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

We were a party if 6 on Saturday evening. We felt ignored when trying to order. When we finally received our food only part of the table was served. They had their dishes at least 25 minutes before many of us. Food was good but not worth the slow service

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service (Mike) ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service (Mike), reasonable prices.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Pleasant enough, but...

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was delicious and well prepared. The service, however, didn't measure up...leaving us unlikely to return any time soon. While the service was reasonably prompt, our waiter's manner, a somewhat haughty and impatient style, put a damper on the meal.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best

Dined on February 2, 2016

Don't let the location in a strip mall fool you. This restaurant is like being in France, lovely interior, fabulous French food, great service. Must try the lavender fries, or pomme frites de lavande!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

Good food at a reasonable price. But com ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Good food at a reasonable price. But communicating with the waiter was difficult because his English was so limited. Also, the noise level makes talking with people at your table a bit hard.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

yummy oh la la!

Dined on January 27, 2016

We wanted escargot and we found it here! Waitress was very nice and helpful, we got several appetizers, wine and dessert! excellent will be back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.