About Au Revoir

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Restaurant Photos

  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
  • Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir
Au Revoir

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

French
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Hillcrest ›

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Romantic (10)
Authentic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Casual (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for a Date (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Perfect food and perfect service - you a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect food and perfect service - you are never rushed and you are allowed to savor the moment. America needs to learn how to eat like the Europeans, this is a great place to take your first lesson in living to eat!

We will go back at every opportunity we can

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing first time experience - will vis ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing first time experience - will visit every time I'm in town! Food was excellent and the waitstaff friendly and professional, and didn't rush me as a solitary diner who stayed two hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The decor is nice, but not over-the-top. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The decor is nice, but not over-the-top. Food quality very good. Service solid although it seemed apparent that they wanted to leave for the evening (we were the last ones there).

It's not cheap, but the prices are within reason. Overall, I'd recommend them.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Excellent service. Great pla ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Great place for special occasion or just a nice dinner out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent guests at Au Revoir, esp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We are frequent guests at Au Revoir, especially on Tues night when the prix fix 3 course dinner is offered. The onion soup there is the best I have ever had. We usually have the salmon dinner with added scallops. The staff is friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection. Highly recommend that you make a visit.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We go often to Au Revoir but have found ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We go often to Au Revoir but have found it is gaining in popularity so made a res this time. We got a table for two near the back and all went well until we got our food. Then we sort of became invisible. We finally flagged our waited down for a desert and the bill but it was nearly 30 mins between finishing the main and leaving. That is unusual for these folks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This dinner was a lovely surprise for us ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This dinner was a lovely surprise for us. Not a trendy new place with cavernous ceilings, but just a really delicious French bistro, quite traditional, lovely service, and everything tasting superb. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic and creative French food. Cha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Authentic and creative French food. Charming decor, felt like we were in France. Delicious onion soup and unusual mussels

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thomas, our server, was friendly and hel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Thomas, our server, was friendly and helpful. We relied on him to help with the menu selections and were very happy for his input. Foie gras and rack of lamb were exceptional. Prices were moderate given the quality and portion size of the food. We will definitely return on our next visit to San Diego.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There were some good points (the special ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

There were some good points (the special rabbit entree and the creme brulee) and the prices are very modest for genuinely French dishes. But the tarte a l'oingon was served in a thick baguette-like bread, the caesar salad was tasteless, the rack of lamb and steak au poivre merely good. The kicker was when the bill came, and we were charged $3 for a glass of tap water for each guest. The waiter let me know that there was a reason for that. I'm sure there is, but really?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

This is our fifth visit here. A bit off ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our fifth visit here. A bit off their usual four plus stars. Took a while to receive the bread, water set up and the wine order. Informed that several menu items were not available, two of which I was looking forward to. Salad and escargot OK. The "special" fish of the day, yellowtaill, (not the premier of fish) was smothered in some sort of mustard sauce, probably to hide the very powerful fish aroma/taste. Beef bourguignon is a B+. $30 bottle of wine is reasonably priced.

And, they failed to notify Open Table that we honored our reservation, reporting us as no-show. Got that straightened out.

Hopefully just a day which was off their best. Will try again.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We wanted to enjoy this restaurant as we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We wanted to enjoy this restaurant as we love French food however it was very disappointing.Creme brûlée saved the meal. We were disappointed with most of the food . Cheese selection was tiny tiny portions, onion flatbread was very thick bread and dry, snails were not good chewy , salad dressing was very heavy, fish overcooked. Would not recommend or return . Glassware and furnishing were tired and not hood quality all felt a bit dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The stuff kept us waiting until the time ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The stuff kept us waiting until the time hit six pm so the happy hour prices wouldn't be applicable. Not nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Au Revoir is a neighborhood French resta ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Au Revoir is a neighborhood French restaurant that sits in a modest setting but delivered great food. The service was pleasant and prompt but unintrusive. Sitting outside is nice.

The menu is classically French with appetizers, fish and meat entrees, and desserts. The wine list is perfectly adequate though not extensive. But it is reasonably priced. I had the mussels with fries which were sweet and delicious. My wife had the pan-roasted trout which was done just right, lightly dressed and moist on the fork.

Highly recommend for a casual dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent as always, and the se ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent as always, and the service was above and beyond.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food, location and service. Waiters ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food, location and service. Waiters know when to leave you alone and not interrupt when talking. Friendly and consistent experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Service was great, and I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Amazing food! Service was great, and I loved the atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a birthday in style. Wait sta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated a birthday in style. Wait staff attentive, friendly and gooood looking too. Food and wine was superb. It's a favorite of ours!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Three of us went to the dinner special o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Three of us went to the dinner special on Tuesday nights, it was a very pleasant experience in terms of food, service, and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a girls lunch. Parking c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great place for a girls lunch. Parking could be an issue.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

THE FOOD WAS SUPERB AND THE SERVICE WAS ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SUPERB AND THE SERVICE WAS CHARMING

WE ARE COMING BACK VERY SOON!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time dining at this e ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first time dining at this establishment. It won't be our last. We loved the quaint ambiance and the friendliness of the staff. Service was very attentive. We highly recommend the sea bass. The best I have ever had in my life! I still can't get over how delicious it was. The escargot was served warm, not hot as it should be. Disappointing. One other note: if you ask for water, they will bring it, but will charge you without telling you. Other than that, it was a very enjoyable dining experience and we will definitely return and recommend to others!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and warm atmosphere. I de ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Excellent food and warm atmosphere. I definitely want to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service was friendly but somewhat lackad ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was friendly but somewhat lackadaisical. Salad was great. Beef Bourginon had metallic aftertaste. Quail was overcooked and dry. The escargot was overcooked. I've been here several times before and had a good experience, this time was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food is consistently excellent, whic ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food is consistently excellent, which is why we keep coming back. I appreciate the authentic French feel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservations were for 7 pm. We were ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our reservations were for 7 pm. We were seated Immediately and our food order was taken promptly. Then we waited an hour and twenty minutes for our first course. I ordered the salmon which was over cooked but had a delicious sauce. We finally finished our meal at 9:20 - two hours and twenty minutes after arrival! When we received our bill, I was surprised to see a $2.00 charge for tap water. Au Revoir has been one of our favorite local bistros for years but this is the second time we have been disappointed in the food and the service was deplorable. It was Bastille Day, the restaurant was packed but they had to expect the crowd. The neighborhood now has another French bistro and perhaps the competition will require Au Revoir to improve.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

A fabulous restaurant where the food is ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A fabulous restaurant where the food is great and the staff is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely stellar. Fresh and t ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was absolutely stellar. Fresh and the flavors were in perfect balance. Best sea bass I have ever eaten. Challenges are related to ambiance and initial service was a bit slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was excellent - nice little Fren ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service was excellent - nice little French place with good atmosphere. Salad was good, but small; scallops were very good!; bread and garlic butter delish; lavender frites were amazing; mussels were fishy so we sent them back. Would go again. Good beer and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this place- delicious food and gr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love this place- delicious food and great value. My only complaint... If you're going to offer bottomless mimosas, there's no reason to be rude when people ask for a third round. It wasn't packed. There was no wait. We weren't being loud or disrespectful. It felt like we were being encouraged to leave. We specifically sought the place out so we could have time to catch up between old friends, but the service went from excellent to sour very quickly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent food and service in a most cha ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent food and service in a most charming locale - right in the heart of Hillcrest. Highly recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always - Tuesday dinner at ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Excellent as always - Tuesday dinner at $25 cannot be beat. The portions are not reduced either.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

excellent each tine we've dined there. S ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

excellent each tine we've dined there. Service is very friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The staff at Au Revoir made our daughter ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The staff at Au Revoir made our daughters graduation dinner memorable Her friends she invited to the dinner loved their meals

Tomas and all the staff made the graduates feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Au Revoir is a real French bistro. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Au Revoir is a real French bistro. The food is delicious and the service is charming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrible, absolutely HORRIBLE service an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Terrible, absolutely HORRIBLE service and attitudes of the waitstaff. Why did I not heed other people's advice! Good food but not at the cost of terrible service and poor attitude.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Love this place

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in the hood

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a great restaurant to go in the neighborhood. Not necessarily fancy but great food is constantly prepared. The wait staff are always friendly and ready to assist.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is probably our 6th visit.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

It has become very popular and our last two visit we had no reservation and couldn't get in. We took a friend who had not been before and she order the veal chop which was one of the specials but no price was mentioned. She I didnt ask since most entres were in the mid $20 range. Her's was $35 and she was upset. We had the steak with frites which we had several times in the past. They must have changed their meat supplier. The steak was larger but very tough.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.