About Au Revoir

Located in the heart of Hillcrest, Au Revoir Bistro saw it's first day in November 2010, a new born of the Mastellone family (Arrivederci, Il Postino, Buon Appetito, etc etc). Typical Parisian French Bistro, Au Revoir, has a casual ambiance and an atmosphere that transports you directly to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Our French Homemade Cuisine is a perfectly inexpensive recipe, a little bit of tradition, an ounce of modern French cooking inspired by different regions, and a big cup of love from our Chef Dédé and his team. Some of the house specialties are "escargots", "soupe à l'oignon", "boeuf bourguignon", "coq au vin", "frogs' legs", ...Et Voila !

420 Robinson Ave
Suite A
San Diego, CA 92103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Comfort Food, Bistro

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Robinson & 4th Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 268-2400

Website:
http://www.aurevoirbistrohillcrest.net/

Entertainment:
French music playing

Catering:
We cater your parties. Call us at 619-268-2400 or email us at aurevoirbistrohillcrest@gmail.com for a customized menu and quote.

Parking Details:
Free Private lot in font of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
A block away from Route 10 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"
A block away from Route 120 : Stop "University & 5th Ave"

Executive Chef:
Dédé

Additional:
Bar Dining, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine dinners once a month
Beaujolais Nouveau
Bastille day
New year
Mother's day
....

Restaurant Photos

  • Au Revoir, San Diego, CA
  • Au Revoir, San Diego, CA
  • Au Revoir, San Diego, CA
  • Au Revoir, San Diego, CA
  • Au Revoir, San Diego, CA
  • Au Revoir, San Diego, CA
  • Au Revoir, San Diego, CA

Report a photo problem

Specials

Prix Fixe Tuesday for $25.00

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Prix Fixe Tuesday for $25.00

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Prix Fixe Tuesday for $25.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 22, 2016 - Mar 21, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Au Revoir Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Romantic (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Charming, comfortable and full of charac ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Charming, comfortable and full of character despite being in a strip mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Thomas is a wonderful server & manager

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thomas is a wonderful server & manager

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent and well worth th ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was excellent and well worth the price . The waiter was less than attentive. The bill had several problems with it but when pointed out they were corrected immediately but not with an apology. In addition they charged for water which was not specified on the menu as well as a small increase in a split dish for young children. The atmosphere was very casual.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Very noisy, and crowded on the day we we ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very noisy, and crowded on the day we went...but great quality French cuisine. Unusual choices and all wait staff seemed to ne sponsive, knowledgeable and French speaking?

A nice touch

Duck salad was outstanding choice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I were there for our wedding ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I were there for our wedding anniversary. We try to make it a tradition to come to this restaurant for every birthday, wedding anniversary, or any special days. We love the staff there. Everyone is so kind. Awesome service from all. An amazing restaurant with great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great - except the noise ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Everything was great - except the noise level. Food, wine, service, value are right on target, but with all of the vertical surfaces being either brick or glass, the noise level becomes just too much when the room become half full. A minimum attempt at some acoustic treatment would make this an unbeatable place for dinner.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have been going to Au Revoir for eith ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We have been going to Au Revoir for either lunch or dinner every time we visit the San Diego area. It's become our must visit restaurant because of the friendly ownership, staff, service and the quality of the food. Strongly recommend that Open table place this restaurant on it's top 10 for San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My new favorite place for sure! The Fren ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My new favorite place for sure! The French bread is amazing! I also enjoyed the mushroom ravioli! So much flavor! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice get together where we celebr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A very nice get together where we celebrated a friend's birthday. I mention in my booking about the birthday, but there was no reconition.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love! Love! Love this place! Always deli ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Love! Love! Love this place! Always delicious! The salmon with scallops is my favorite. My kid loved his lamb chops. Who couldn't love the chocolate mousse and the creme brûlée?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, small but vibrant. Good at ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great place, small but vibrant. Good atmosphere, good food, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Outstanding authentic French food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always Outstanding authentic French food and quality service. Don't pass up the aioli served with your bread basket.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to love?! Au Revoir is easily ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What's not to love?! Au Revoir is easily some of the best French food in town, absolutely delicious!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This was a special occasion offered by t ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2016

This was a special occasion offered by the restaurant to celebrate the release of Beaujolais Noveau. The menu was a fixed price three course delight with choices within each course. The salade Lyonnaise with pork belly was scrumptious; the blue crab stuffed rainbow trout with fingerling potatoes and asparagus was delicious as was the poached pear and ice cream for dessert. My husband had the lamb - also lovely. This is a warm, welcoming place with excellent food and lovely wine at a very reasonable price. Lovely neighborhood bistro in Hillcrest.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had tried Au Revoir several months ba ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had tried Au Revoir several months back and had really enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the wine. My wife and I had a date night at the theater and decided to go again but go early and take our time. The second time was every bit as good as the first and we will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I eat at this restaurant on average 2 ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I eat at this restaurant on average 2 times per month and I'm never disappointed!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for our wedding anniversary, early ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Went for our wedding anniversary, early in the evening. Appetizers were excellent, had the escargot and cheese plate, with a glass of champagne. Our food server was attentive, but unintrusive. We had the salmon and New York steak with lavender fries (yum!). We shared the profiteroles for dessert. Wonderful experience before the Old Globe.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great tasting dinner was the highlight o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Great tasting dinner was the highlight of the evening. Met a friend for dinner and it was perfect for that because of it being quiet enough for great conversation. A little bit pricey, but not horrible. Service was adequate. I would recommend this establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food, service and prices. Quite a ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great food, service and prices. Quite a find in Hillcrest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Truly delicious food. Every dish cooked ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Truly delicious food. Every dish cooked to perfection.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As always, a delicious meal and superlat ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 7, 2016

As always, a delicious meal and superlative service. A very generous wine pour too! We had the very tasty Bistro Salad with poached pears and candied walnuts and a really yummy Tapenade Tartine. My Vegetarian friend had the mushroom ravioli and loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was only my second time visiting au ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was only my second time visiting au revoir, but i love it. It is a cozy restaurant great menu that is worth the price and our server was very friendly. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect food and perfect service - you a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Perfect food and perfect service - you are never rushed and you are allowed to savor the moment. America needs to learn how to eat like the Europeans, this is a great place to take your first lesson in living to eat!

We will go back at every opportunity we can

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing first time experience - will vis ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing first time experience - will visit every time I'm in town! Food was excellent and the waitstaff friendly and professional, and didn't rush me as a solitary diner who stayed two hours!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The decor is nice, but not over-the-top. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The decor is nice, but not over-the-top. Food quality very good. Service solid although it seemed apparent that they wanted to leave for the evening (we were the last ones there).

It's not cheap, but the prices are within reason. Overall, I'd recommend them.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Excellent service. Great pla ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Great place for special occasion or just a nice dinner out.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are frequent guests at Au Revoir, esp ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We are frequent guests at Au Revoir, especially on Tues night when the prix fix 3 course dinner is offered. The onion soup there is the best I have ever had. We usually have the salmon dinner with added scallops. The staff is friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection. Highly recommend that you make a visit.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, , Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We go often to Au Revoir but have found ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We go often to Au Revoir but have found it is gaining in popularity so made a res this time. We got a table for two near the back and all went well until we got our food. Then we sort of became invisible. We finally flagged our waited down for a desert and the bill but it was nearly 30 mins between finishing the main and leaving. That is unusual for these folks.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

This dinner was a lovely surprise for us ...

 
 (México)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This dinner was a lovely surprise for us. Not a trendy new place with cavernous ceilings, but just a really delicious French bistro, quite traditional, lovely service, and everything tasting superb. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic and creative French food. Cha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Authentic and creative French food. Charming decor, felt like we were in France. Delicious onion soup and unusual mussels

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thomas, our server, was friendly and hel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Thomas, our server, was friendly and helpful. We relied on him to help with the menu selections and were very happy for his input. Foie gras and rack of lamb were exceptional. Prices were moderate given the quality and portion size of the food. We will definitely return on our next visit to San Diego.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

There were some good points (the special ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

There were some good points (the special rabbit entree and the creme brulee) and the prices are very modest for genuinely French dishes. But the tarte a l'oingon was served in a thick baguette-like bread, the caesar salad was tasteless, the rack of lamb and steak au poivre merely good. The kicker was when the bill came, and we were charged $3 for a glass of tap water for each guest. The waiter let me know that there was a reason for that. I'm sure there is, but really?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

This is our fifth visit here. A bit off ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is our fifth visit here. A bit off their usual four plus stars. Took a while to receive the bread, water set up and the wine order. Informed that several menu items were not available, two of which I was looking forward to. Salad and escargot OK. The "special" fish of the day, yellowtaill, (not the premier of fish) was smothered in some sort of mustard sauce, probably to hide the very powerful fish aroma/taste. Beef bourguignon is a B+. $30 bottle of wine is reasonably priced.

And, they failed to notify Open Table that we honored our reservation, reporting us as no-show. Got that straightened out.

Hopefully just a day which was off their best. Will try again.

Tags: Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We wanted to enjoy this restaurant as we ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We wanted to enjoy this restaurant as we love French food however it was very disappointing.Creme brûlée saved the meal. We were disappointed with most of the food . Cheese selection was tiny tiny portions, onion flatbread was very thick bread and dry, snails were not good chewy , salad dressing was very heavy, fish overcooked. Would not recommend or return . Glassware and furnishing were tired and not hood quality all felt a bit dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The stuff kept us waiting until the time ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The stuff kept us waiting until the time hit six pm so the happy hour prices wouldn't be applicable. Not nice.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Au Revoir is a neighborhood French resta ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Au Revoir is a neighborhood French restaurant that sits in a modest setting but delivered great food. The service was pleasant and prompt but unintrusive. Sitting outside is nice.

The menu is classically French with appetizers, fish and meat entrees, and desserts. The wine list is perfectly adequate though not extensive. But it is reasonably priced. I had the mussels with fries which were sweet and delicious. My wife had the pan-roasted trout which was done just right, lightly dressed and moist on the fork.

Highly recommend for a casual dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was excellent as always, and the se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was excellent as always, and the service was above and beyond.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Good food, location and service. Waiters ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food, location and service. Waiters know when to leave you alone and not interrupt when talking. Friendly and consistent experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Service was great, and I ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Amazing food! Service was great, and I loved the atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a birthday in style. Wait sta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated a birthday in style. Wait staff attentive, friendly and gooood looking too. Food and wine was superb. It's a favorite of ours!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.