Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Atticus

Atticus, is a welcoming neighborhood spot. Our restaurant and bar is focused on warm hospitality and comfort. Serving up a community-inspired breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner. Our inventive American menu is designed around Colorado’s small producers, and complimented by a thoughtfully curated wine list and craft cocktails made with spirits from local independent distillers. At Atticus, we believe everyone has a story that can offer new perspective, and when people join for food and drink, companionship is at its best.

Now Open Lunch Wednesday- Friday 11am - 3pm!! Featuring $2 off beer or wine with the purchase of lunch!!

1115 East Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm
Lunch Wednesday - Friday 11am-3pm
Cocktail Hour | Happy Hour 3pm-6pm
Dinner Monday - Saturday 5pm until Close

Cross Street:
S Downing

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 459-8273

Website:
http://atticusdenver.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot at rear of building. Also available parking across the street in Bank of the West lot during closed bank hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Now open for Lunch 11am - 3pm Wednesday - Friday.
Featuring $2 off beer or wine with the purchase of lunch.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Details

Join us for a cozy sweetheart dinner with your special someone. We will have a full menu to choose from along with special Valentine features and wine pairings.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atticus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

80% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Cozy (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Romantic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 13 hours ago

Great food, great service, great 80's music. There were only 3 tables the restaurant but somehow their entire parking lot was full so I am guessing it was not customers parked there. There really isn't any street parking within a block or so, so had to walk a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Highly suggest the bacon wrapped tuna from the winter menu. By far the best part of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 9, 2018

From Minneapolis. Daughter goes to DU. Second time visited. OUTSTANDING food and service both times. Fireplace adds a nice touch. Every meal we have had has been creative, filling and wonderful. Would strongly recommend this.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Had the special New Years Eve pris fixe dinner. The big disappointment of th meal was the beef Wellington, which was served on a bed of purple mashed potatoes which read gray on the plate. Give that the meat was overdone, the dish was rather a big, gray, soggy mess. Fortunately, the rest of my meal ranged from acceptable to quote good, as did the meals of the others in my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2017

My first time here and found it very cozy with our table by the fireplace.
Our server Jackie was great; personal and attentive. Portions are perfect size and delicious dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Our first dinner at Atticus & we have no complaints. The food & service were both excellent! It was nice to eat at a restaurant that felt cozy & wasn't overly loud like so many restaurants seem to be these days. We had five people in our party, all with varying food tastes & we were all very happy with our meals. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Atticus was a fantastic place to spend Christmas Eve! The food was superb and the service was phenomenal! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Food was so delicious! We had to be somewhere after so we couldn't stay too long but the food came right out and everyone loved their meal. My salmon was beyond amazing and my fiancé's lamb was awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2017

Cozy and eclectic - feative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2017

We have been here four times and have always been satisfied. Last night the food was good but the salmon and slider special were small portions. Both men that were with us went home still hungry. We did have appetizers and drinks. They were great. I had the pork and it was a generous portion and delicious. I felt a little guilty eating it in front of the men.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Friendly high end neighborhood joint preparing fresh and thoughtful colorado cuisine and even great oysters served with no attitude in a upscale pub environment

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2017

Awesome. Great menu, food, drinks, and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Nice time and yummy food. Nothing crazy but a simple brunch spot and great price. I wonder why more people weren’t there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 12, 2017

Our waiter was the bartender. They were outstanding. Made an OpenTable reservation and they had a sign waiting for us at the table. We elected to sit at the bar. We had the hamburger and brussle sprouts. Best sprouts I've had in a while!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Atticus is always delicious, the service is generally quick n friendly, and it is a cozy neighborhood spot to grab dinner

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2017

The food is ok, nothing to knock my socks off and being that I live in the neighborhood, I find the other related restaurants (Black Bird, Rosedale) have similar menus. On this particular night, the service was off. I mainly go here because it is convenient since I live in the neighborhood, not because it is great or unique. My friend that joined me had not been and really liked it. I've been a few times and find it fair.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Worst service I've ever had! No exaggeration here. I was entertaining two friends from out of town. After our order was botched, the waiter weakly apologized, blamed the kitchen and then continued to ignore us. We were VERY hungry yet only one cup of soup came out of the kitchen.
We were there a total of 3 hours! The manager came out and offered another weak apology and lame excuse. The food is only average---no reason to risk it!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Very good experience - Excellent service and the presentation and quality of food was fabulous! Cant wait to return!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Always enjoy dining here. Space is comfortable (love the fireplace) and the food is simple but satisfying. Oh and oysters - did I mention oysters?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Wonderful service and meal. The brussel sprouts (with Bacon) may be the best I️ ever had. I️ ordered the chef special (a chicken, duck, snail, over fried risotto contraption), and I️ absolutely loved loved loved it. Service was a little slow, but exceptional. Great “bang for the buck”.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

The oysters were good, but the rest of the meal was disappointing and bland.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Had a girls lunch here before the Junior League Holiday Mart. We had a wonderful lunch. The Brussels sprouts are amazing. A little too salty but still amazing. The Cesar salad was good and really enjoyed the French onion soup.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 5, 2017

This is the worst restaurant I have ever been to in my 51 years. The cheese plate had only 2 cheeses and everything but the cheeses was stale. The meat was disgusting.

My wife ordered Mussels. Despite the large shells the meat was almost microscopic and strange looking in that they were stringy. Instead of bringing bread as asked with the mussels they brought fries and no spoon which is important with Mussels.

The meat on my burger had a strange texture and after two bites was scared the meat had gone bad and was cooked anyway. Given how so much of the food appeared to be old and stale I wouldn't have been surprised.

After two bites we asked for the check and paid out. Server never asked if there was a problem. Either she didn't care or had heard this so much she is numb or both.

We couldn't get out of there fast enough. It's a shame as the place had a cool ambiance but when the food and service is this bad nothing can save it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Solid little place, great burger and good beers with warm friendly local environment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

I will definitely return to this restaurant. The menu was limited but the dishes were delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Not sure what has gone wrong here but the food standards are slowly headed the wrong way. Just sub-par our food experience was across a large table. Service and drinks were just fine, but the food let down the night. Shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Cozy neighborhood place, but the service was awful. Initial drink order took too long. It took 10+ minutes, before someone noticed only three out of four dinners were delivered. Food was OK

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2017

I hope it survives. Granted, we were there fairly early (5:30 on a Tuesday), but only three tables had customers.
Parking lot is somewhat constricted.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2017

It's been awhile since a restaurant has been so disappointing. The service was terrible---they were down a server---but she was doing her best, while the kitchen was slow. Patrons were making that awkward eye contact where they were looking around wondering if everyone else's food was so slow. I don't know what took so long to heat up Sysco truck breakfast potatoes? We tried several dishes and not a single one was memorable. My shrimp and grits were the worst I've ever had, anywhere. The bacon was the best part of the other dishes. What made it even worse is that you were paying $12-16 for small portions and the ingredients were poor quality. Even with a coupon, there was no value. This may be close to our house, but my family won't be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The food was good, not great, but the service was worse than ever before. Our friends’ food came out 10 minutes before ours, and 2 meals were missing essential elements (our server had to check the menu to see that we were missing the bacon). Our check to 30 minutes to arrive after we finished eating.
We have been here many times, and the service has never been bad. Don’t know whether we will go back. Disappointing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2017

A friend and I love to go to Atticus. It's small and intimate, especially with the fire going. The waiters are great, and the food is always fabulous. Because it was my birthday, we each got a complimentary half glass of proseco and (shared -my choice!) a piece of flourless chocolate cake. I felt so spoiled!! Thank you Atticus!!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

After driving past Atticus numerous times and making a mental note to try it out, I finally bid on a gift card at a fundraiser and used it to take my husband out for dinner and a movie. We were greeted warmly and given a choice table (it was early). Wait staff were attentive but not overbearing. The food was fresh, mostly locally sourced and very good, especially the stuffed roasted red peppers! Portions were just right and the presentation artful without being pretentious. We will return to check out lunch and brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We've had consistently great experiences at Atticus - great food and excellent service, and we always leave looking forward to our next visit.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Atticus was fine, but nothing special. Drinks ordered during happy hour were delivered slowly, and then charged at after happy hour prices. Cute decor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 14, 2017

First off, there was no drink menu on our table, we had to ask for one and it took the waiter about 10min to get it to us... this is with only four other occupied tables in the restaurant. The drinks came out and they were good. Our mussel appetizer was also good, but the waiter spilled the steaming broth in my lap when he took the bowl away. He said he would bring me a wet napkin to clean it up but never did, and didn't even mention it. I'm pretty sure he forgot as soon as he walked away and I ended up having to take a napkin off the table next to us. Our entrees were ok... they were plated nicely but seasoned poorly, so they were visually appealing but very bland. Definitely not worth over $20/entree... these would need to be closer to $15 for me not to feel ripped off. I got the pork shank entree, and it came out with two pieces of corn on the cob... I've never had corn on the cob at a nice sit-down restaurant. Maybe a BBQ joint, but not a place that passes itself off as a nice restaurant. At least BBQ joints give you a pick to jab into the corn so you don't have to pick up with your hands and eat like a savage, but not at Atticus. I literally couldn't figure out how to eat it so I just left it on the plate. This is a mediocre restaurant that is masquerading as a nice restaurant, and I felt pretty ripped off in terms of food quality and service. There are plenty of other restaurants in Denver in this price range that have great food and service, so I definitely won't be giving it another chance or recommending it to anyone

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Always great food at reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere, although a little loud. Wait staff is always knowledgeable and attentive. It's our go-to restaurant when we want consistently well-conceived and prepared food at reasonable prices. Plus, they have fresh oysters, usually several different varieties.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 22, 2017

A very nice evening! Monday mussels! Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Very nice meal & very friendly service. I appreciated the waiter's & chef's attention to my food allergy. I'll definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I made a reservation for 8 people for happy hour and I had to add a couple more seat upon arriving to the restaurant, they are very accommodating, great service, great food, we had a fun time at Atticus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.