About Atticus

1115 East Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Atticus, is a welcoming neighborhood spot. Our restaurant and bar is focused on warm hospitality and comfort. Serving up a community-inspired breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner. Our inventive American menu is designed around Colorado’s small producers, and complimented by a thoughtfully curated wine list and craft cocktails made with spirits from local independent distillers. At Atticus, we believe everyone has a story that can offer new perspective, and when people join for food and drink, companionship is at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm
Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am-3pm
Cocktail Hour | Happy Hour 3pm-6pm
Dinner Monday - Saturday 5pm until Close

Cross Street:
S Downing

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 459-8273

Website:
http://atticusdenver.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot at rear of building. Also available parking across the street in Bank of the West lot during closed bank hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Atticus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (48)
fit for foodies (38)
romantic (13)
See All
great for brunch (10)
special occasion (9)
great for lunch (8)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (6)
notable wine list (6)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I met a friend for dinner after a long s ...

Dined 4 days ago

I met a friend for dinner after a long stressful week. Our server graciously gave us time to look over the menu and answered questions about various appetizers and salads. We ordered the Chef's Board, shared a delicious salad, and proceeded to each choose a separate entree. My friend had the risotto and I chose the steak frites. She loved her risotto, rich and tasty; and my steak was done exactly to my prefernce, medium rare. I've been to Atticus quite a few times before and this sweet neighborhood restaurant has always come through.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

we arrived at 5 p.m - no one in the rest ...

Dined 5 days ago

we arrived at 5 p.m - no one in the restaurant. Placed an order about 5:20 - it came at 6:05. I ordered the escargot and mushrooms. Nothing special - just sauted, placed in a container with a filo dough roll which fell apart & ended up all over the table. Why not a small hard roll? The orange/beet salad was fine. Friends ordered risotto and commented it was very gooey. The dessert ordered was #1 - filo square with small amount of lemon (curd?) on top and a few sliced strawberries. Rather dry and not memorable. I had read a number of bad reviews about the service and we received the same. There were only 4 other people in the restaurant by the time our order came so not understanding what the big holdup was. Outdoors not inviting. Flower boxes dirty and filled with old pine cones. I think flowers could be expected at the near end of June!! overall we were disappointed and probably not returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband loved the Wednesday special " ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

My husband loved the Wednesday special "Buck a Shuck" oysters. I tasted, too, and they were extremely fresh and flavorful. My kale salad was delicious........probably one of the best I've had. Entrees were yummy, too. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere and great service but f ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and great service but food wasn't tasty. Too bad as we were very excited. Not a good kids menu also so not the best place for kids.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Really small portions. Four scallops for ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Really small portions. Four scallops for the scallop dinner? Appetizer, maybe, but dinner? Well-prepared food but a bit over-priced.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

brunch

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

the brussel sprouts were amazing! can't wait to go back and try everything else

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is great, service is not what it was

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food at Atticus is always great. Out server was slow and off pace for courses, drinks, and really the entire meal. He was friendly, made good suggestions but did negatively impact the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had eaten at Atticus before, and this ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

I had eaten at Atticus before, and this time, I came with a group of 7 friends to celebrate my birthday. Everyone raved about the food, and a shrimp and grits appetizer was a special - I ordered it as a main course, and it was the best I've had, including at some of New Orleans' most famous restaurants. The shrimp were very fresh (old, fishy shrimp should never be used for anything other than bait), the grits were done perfectly, and the sauce added just the right amount of flavor without overwhelming the dish. Since it was a special, I will call ahead on my next visit to order it again. It was a delightful culinary experience, and I recommend Atticus to anyone who enjoys great food. It was a fun place to celebrate a birthday, and the staff was very accommodating.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

service was very slow. restaurant was not crowded

Dined on May 26, 2016

not sure why but service was very slow. waiter looked like he was not interested in being there. food was average. so sad as this is in such a good location. I have had lunch and now dinner there. not sure it's worth another visit.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

We sooooo want to like this place but...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Our second visit to Atticus for brunch in the last 18 months... The menu has great variety and creativity. The food is tasty. The atmosphere is quirky/quaint and cozy. The service - oy. While friendly, our server must have been sleep walking or on his first ever brunch shift. He admitted not being familiar with the brunch menu when we asked questions (so go get someone who can answer our simple inquiries - like does the salmon benny come with eggs (not listed as component on menu)!). Another diner at our table ordered the berry lemonade... half way through brunch when we asked if it was still coming, we were told someone had been sent out to buy berries. So... no, it's not coming. In the end, the berry lemonade and extra eggs were on our bill. Waiter was happy to take them off, but c'mon, not a good way to end already mediocre service. Things like that. Maybe we'll try again in another 6 months. Atticus has such potential if they can elevate the service!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We chose this restaurant for brunch beca ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

We chose this restaurant for brunch because it seemed to be vegan friendly. However when we asked for an item to be modified slightly we encountered pushback. Eventually the waiter managed to convince the kitchen to make the changes. But it did set a tone for the meal. Overall the food was good and we would consider it again. But the kitchen could be a little more accommodating. (And for clarification what we were asking for was a dish with a fried egg be made with scrambled egg whites.)

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Service was lacking, and the menu has lo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Service was lacking, and the menu has lost all the special touches that made Atticus our go to lunch spot. We will be finding a new place to celebrate our special lunches.

food2
ambience4
service3

I went for brunch. I wouldn't recommend ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I went for brunch. I wouldn't recommend Atticus for brunch. My friend got the waffles, which just kind of looked like eggos from the grocery store. They forgot to give her a second waffle, so the second came out later. They also forgot to make her bacon, so she had to ask for that a few times. Finally, the waitress brought two pieces of bacon, one was burnt to a crisp and the other was barely cooked at all. Very strange. I got the breakfast burrito which tasted good. They messed up, but in a good way, by accidentally giving me chorizo AND bacon. The burrito was lukewarm when I got it, unfortunately. It's a super cute place. It just seems like the staff doesn't pay attention. The place wasn't busy at all when we went, so it wasn't like they were distracted for that reason. Hopefully the dinner is much better than the brunch.

food4
ambience4
service4

Bacon was really good. They also had bac ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Bacon was really good. They also had bacon in Nutella for the French toast which was yummy

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyable atmosphere, lacking in food flavor

Dined on May 8, 2016

I really liked the feel of the restaurant and the front of the house was amazing. We had a reservation and they had a welcome note waiting at our table when we arrived. I think that was a nice touch and the personal attention of this detail was appreciated. Off to a great start. I also thought the drink menu was creative and fun. Next, we ordered the carpaccio as an appetizer and it was not that great. The beef needed to be sliced more thinly and the flavor of the meat wasn't to my liking. The presentation was lacking as well. Perhaps the dish needed a bit of shaved Parmesan over top or at the very least an offer for fresh ground pepper. Our next course was the beet and blood orange salad. This was my favorite course of the meal. This was followed by the braised short ribs. This dish took quite awhile to come to our table. We waited twenty minutes after all remnants of the appetizer and salad were gone. Not a terrible length of time, but with after dinner plans on the horizon, it felt much longer. When the entree arrived, it was a smaller portion than I expected, but I would have looked past that if it was full of deliciousness and flavor: It was not. It was very bland, the meat didn't taste salted whatsoever, and there was not salt on our table. Despite all of this, I would actually come back to this restaurant. This is one of the rare occasions that because of the quality of the front of the house staff, I would try the restaurant again even though I was not satisfied with the meal. I overheard our server say that the chef was new and I know how the restaurant business works and sometimes, it takes a little time upfront to accustom a new chef. Overall, I would like to say thank you for a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Slow, but good food

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our first time dining at Atticus. The kitchen got very backed up and it took way too long for our food to come out. However, our server apologized profusely, comped an appetizer, then brought drinks on the house, and ultimately they took 20% off our bill. The food was very good and combined with strong efforts to make up for how long it took to get our food I'm definitely willing to give them another chance and dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great drinks. Service was a bit slow. ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great drinks. Service was a bit slow. Usually service is top notch. Perhaps a new server. Everything is else was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Impeccable service and yummy eats!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Some of their special entrees required a group to order together. Would be a great option if you had friends who liked to share.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on April 29, 2016

Service and food were wonderful. Very interesting entrees. Will be back soon.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food-Lots of fun

Dined on April 28, 2016

We went to Atticus to be a part of Dining Out For Life. We had been there before but are always surprised at how good the food really is. The service was excellent and the bar tender helped u order things that we liked. We had a great evening!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service3

1) 45 minute wait for food after orderin ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

1) 45 minute wait for food after ordering and the place wasn't even crowded. I was expecting something great after waiting so long. NOPE! 2) I had the biscuits and sausage gravy. The sausage was not evident and the sauce tasted and looked like velveeta cheese sauce. The biscuits were cold. 3) She had the waffles and they were unimpressive, chewy and bland The only positive was her drink was good. So, I guess this is probably a good place for drinks. The waiter never asked whether we enjoyed our food (half eaten) and nobody ever came by to apologize for the long wait.

food2
ambience4
service2

Disappointed! All started out great, our ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Disappointed! All started out great, our table was ready and waiting for us, friendly hostess. Had to repeat our order because the waiter didn't write anything down. Ordered ceviche which was bland. French onion soup was bland. An hour later we got our entrees , I ordered the scallops and my wife ordered the grouper. My scallops were cooked well, the sauce was way over salted. My wife's grouper was way over salted and after seeing the table next to us also ordered the grouper it was obvious that my wife's plate had sat under a heat lamp for far too long. Our neighbors plate looked fresh, 2 totally different looking plates. The best part of our meal was the fried green tomatoes, which we had to remind a different server that we ordered. We probably won't return.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

I went to Atticus for my birthday. My husband took me. They had a view great vegetarian and a few vegan options, so I was able to eat something yummy. Our waiter was very friendly and attentive. I would love to come back again!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for friend's get-together

Dined on April 14, 2016

My rating says it all. The location, parking, food, congeniality of staff and setting, all combined to create the perfect atmosphere for four good friends to hang out and catch up.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atticus was the perfect location to cele ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Atticus was the perfect location to celebrate a birthday and birth to come. Good menu selection for all food preferences. The lunch and brunch menus have a decent price point. Food was excellent. The staff was fabulous and very attentive to our group. Very appreciative for the complimentary desserts as well. Big thank you for accommodating our special requests. :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

More Than a Gem

Dined on April 9, 2016

This is becoming my absolute favorite neighborhood place! I have taken many friends there and they love it, too. Unusual menu, amazing flavors, terrific service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Meh

Dined on April 8, 2016

Ya know... You can do a lot better for the money... Keep looking.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Something went wrong

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

We have had several dinners here and have been pleased, not the greatest food but good. A friend and I went for lunch and there must have been a problem in the kitchen. Only 4 tables were occupied but the service was incredibly slow and the 2 waiters who did not have much to do started getting complaints about the service. We overheard them apologizing but not offering an explanation. When our food finally arrived it did not seem up to standard and my friend sent his back. We will probably try it again and hope things are better.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Atticus has lost important things

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

We have loved Atticus in the past, but our recent experience was seriously flawed. The service was terrible. Things weren't available (food, wine) despite being on the menus. Things were forgotten. Things were delayed. The quality of the food dropped as well (except for the brussels sprouts which are still the best anywhere). We'll go back, but not before we give them some time to straighten things out.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Who was our server?

Dined on March 20, 2016

Not really sure who our server was as it seemed the hostess just kind of took it on. Upon being sat it took over ten minutes to get water or even menus. There were a couple of people behind the bar yet it took almost 15 minutes to get a chocolate milk and a bloody mary. That's 15 minutes AFTER the rest of the group getting their coffee. Brunch took over 1.5 hours, which is kind of ridiculous, although it did take over 30 minutes to put our order in and over 30 more minutes for our food to come out. The menu looks good, but front of house/service needs a lot of work and communication, and back of house needs more hands helping out. Probably won't return for brunch because it was so slow.

food3
ambience4
service4

The staff was very attentive, the food w ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The staff was very attentive, the food was ok. Enjoyed sitting next to the fireplace. It was a bit overpriced but I would go back, perhaps try brunch next time instead of dinner.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great for happy hour! Love that this are ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Great for happy hour! Love that this area has a cute little neighborhood restaurant. Thanks for the great service!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit

Dined on March 6, 2016

Atmosphere and staff are awesome....could not have asked for a friendlier and more knowledgeable group. The short rib was a little tough and dry but the salmon is outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Did you say Brussels sprouts?!

Dined on March 4, 2016

The appetizers were really good. I had the brussel sprouts they were the best I've ever had. We had a few different entrees and shared the short ribs and the duck potpie they both lacked some sort of flavor and spice, but were good in general. Our server was excellent took great care of us, did a nice job pairing wines with the foods we ate, we went on 5280 week it was really fun to try a mix of different foods. Oh and the French onion soup was a little too sweet for my tastings. We will go back and try it again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

no thanks

Dined on March 2, 2016

I was waited on by a server that has waited on me previously at other restaurants. He was great! The food was not good. I had a duck pot pie and the pastry was burned on the bottom. My date had the spare ribs, they were to fatty and the sauce although made in a traditional French fashion was overly sweet but had good consistency. I would not recommend this to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I have had in a while , and qu ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Best meal I have had in a while , and quite The bargain , $30 three course for Denver restaurant week ! Will go back in a heartbeat . The chef came out and spoke to us , memorable night !

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great new find

Dined on February 27, 2016

My wife and I had a great time. Waiter Josh was friendly and responsive. Great food!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Denver Restaurant Week Find

Dined on February 27, 2016

My daughter (24 yo) saw the place driving past. Being a fan of TKAM, she was intrigued by Atticus. Glad she was. Recommned it for a Father-Daughter meal, a romantic spot to take wife. Or for small group to enjoy good food. Portions, especially for Restaurant Week were much more than we expected. No complaint, just left very sated... Food was well prepared, seasoned, and presented. Service was just the right balance of available but not pushy. It is on a busy street corner and is relatively small. So don't pick if you are looking for a view... On all other accounts, though I recommend and will go back with my. Oh and for a couple ask to sit near fireplace...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

What a disappointment!

Dined on February 21, 2016

What happened to this restaurant ? The food used to be delicious and the service used to be good. Not anymore! The last 3 times we have been here we have been disappointed. We will not be back. The waiter was horrible. Our 2 soups and one salad all came out at different times. My husband finished his salad before my soup made it out of the kitchen. The same thing happened with the entrees. The food was fair. The French onion soup tasted oily and my husband's salad was nothing more than a bowl of greens. Maybe they ran out of the toppings. The entrees were just ok. The atmosphere is nice so we enjoyed dining here, but not anymore. It has gone downhill fast!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Nice newer spot in DU neighborhood

Dined on February 19, 2016

The food was very good. The service was a little slow for the restaurant being practically empty. The servers were very friendly. They were able to accommodate special requests. I would recommend to friends and definitely go back there.

Tags: great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.