Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Atticus

Atticus, is a welcoming neighborhood spot. Our restaurant and bar is focused on warm hospitality and comfort. Serving up a community-inspired breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner. Our inventive American menu is designed around Colorado’s small producers, and complimented by a thoughtfully curated wine list and craft cocktails made with spirits from local independent distillers. At Atticus, we believe everyone has a story that can offer new perspective, and when people join for food and drink, companionship is at its best.

1115 East Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm
Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am-3pm
Cocktail Hour | Happy Hour 3pm-6pm
Dinner Monday - Saturday 5pm until Close

Cross Street:
S Downing

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 459-8273

Website:
http://atticusdenver.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot at rear of building. Also available parking across the street in Bank of the West lot during closed bank hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Atticus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Romantic (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (8)
Fun (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fireplace (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Seasonal (6)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
360 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great little spot off of Downing and Evans. Food was delicious! Small complaint . Service was a little bit slow. I think they could use one more server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for their Mother's Day brunch at 1:30. Brunch menu served til 4, but they were already out of several items, really limiting options. Drinks were excellent, food was very good, service was really slow, but not as attentive as it should have been, especially considering the low number of customers at the time. Waiter kept excusing slow service by telling us how overwhelmed kitchen staff was--but don't know what this had to do with the slow & forgotten drink service. Party of 6; ordered charcuterie which came with 3 pieces of bread. Asked for more which seemed like a great challenge. ("I can put the order in, but I don't know how long it will take.") I would go back, but not for any occasion where a crowd might be expected.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great experience, wonderful staff, and healthy and yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service at Atticus was good. The menu however was less than imaginative. The food was bland. We had dined here in the past several times and our experience was much different. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've enjoyed Atticus in the past, but sadly it seems to have gone downhill. I met friends for brunch yesterday and there were only two other occupied tables when we arrived during prime brunch time on a Sunday. A few others filled in after we sat, but not enough to warrant the slow, inattentive service. After being told they were out of grapefruit juice (there is a grocery store across the street) we saw the bartender pour our drinks, but then they sat there for at least 15 minutes until one of our party walked up to the bar to retrieve them. Our food did not arrive until a full hour after we originally sat, and after all of the other tables that arrived after us had already been served. It was fine when it did arrive, except that my dish was advertised with potatoes in the menu but was served with Brussels sprouts. I like them so did not mention it and was too hungry by then to argue, but a change like that should have been mentioned before it was delivered. One of my friend's over medium eggs was served with a broken yolk as well. All in all, a disappointing experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Atticus has a nice atmosphere, great food, and a nice wine list and drink menu. There was a problem with service the night we were there which I heard was unusual. It was specific to our waiter; the rest of the staff were really good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous cauliflower entree. Attentive service. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As usual, an excellent dinner at Atticus. We loved sitting by the fire on a snowy night. Service was great and attentive. Loved the brussels sprouts, hamburger and mussels, and also appreciated the oyster appetizer on the house! Atticus never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always had great meals at Atticus and fun cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a great dinner, we had the tuna poke which was very fresh, the slow cooked pork was excellent. Would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We started with a half dozen oysters for my husband and the smoked olves to share. Both were outstanding! I had the steak which was very good. Husband had the Duck Confit which he said was well seasoned but dry. We both loved the cocktails - Negroni for him and Hemingway for me. Followed by a glass of wine with dinner. We shared the key lime dessert which was very tiny but yummy. Our server was teriffic (I can't believe we forgot her name!!). All the staff working tables were very good. The acoustics in the main room make for a noisy environment and the 2 top table was small and very close to the one next to us which somewhat stymied intimate conversation. However, all things considered, we were happy with our evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for brunch on a Saturday and it was dead inside. Service was ok and our food came out after a table that came in 30 mins after us. Our food was delayed bc the kitchen "burned our biscuits" but I think our server forgot about us. He didn't even Comp our side or drinks and took forever to bring our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lunch menu was uninspired
Our server was very unfriendly and seemed annoyed and disinterested
Restaurant was very slow yet food prep took a long time
Will not go back for lunch
Not sure if I will go back for dinner
Too many other places to settle for mediocrity and poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food is very good, the decor is nice and the staff is really great. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband had to get up to track down a server to take drink order after no one came by for about 15 minutes after being seated. Two meals came out. Server didn't put order in for third meal. We were finished by the time 3rd meal finally arrived. Restraunt was nearly empty. Should have been busy at noon on a Sunday. No obvious reason for poor service. Food is good. Unfortunately this is second consecutive time with poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Cool neighborhood eatery. Excellent, interesting preparations. Adequate wine list. The one down side is the acoustics of the place make it extremely loud and the tables are really close together. So not a great place for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The Brussels sprouts were wonderful and perfect portion for the 4 of us. We ordered another appetizer and for the life of me, I can't even remember what it was(not a good sign) and was barely enough for one person. I felt that it was the server's job to let us know that, so we're could have ordered more. We were all very pleased with the entrees so all and all, it was a a good night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice place. Service was a little slow. Food was very good. Nice wine list. Beautiful decor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

The service was underwhelming. I believe there was a staffing issue the night I dined. It appeared William was the only server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I've been here several times before and either have a great or bad experience. Unfortunately a new chef and a new server seemed to cause issues this time around. Service was slow, not very good, and the food was cold and not as listed on the menu. I've had good experiences here before, but after this last time I probably won't go back or recommend to friends anymore.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The decor and concept was cool - walking in the greeting was not great and overall wait staff was awkward and not very friendly. The food was just okay, nothing special. Fresh but not super flavorful, green chili on the breakfast burrito was barely there and was more like a soupy sauce then a green chili.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was the first time we had been here and we will go back. It is kind of eclectic/ bohemian joint which we liked. The food was really quite good. We had the French onion soup and roasted and grilled olives appetizers followed by Crispy Duck Confit. That was all really yummy. We felt the duck was a little over priced but it was really good! We splurged and shared the Apple Bread Pudding because I am a bread pudding freak but I am picky about it! It was AMAZING!
It was a nice dinner!

Tags: Family Style, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Brussel sprouts were amazing. Great lunch options - amazing menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was good. Just be sure to ask about portion sizes. The duck is a small leg, not much compared to the beef on the menu. The two men at the table who ordered the duck ended up finishing the other meals on the table, since they were still hungry. There just doesn't seem to be much consistency in size of the meals.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Every item on the menu had a bit of mystery to it, in a good way: interesting combinations of food, unusual descriptions, and fantastic taste. The staff was attentive, but not hovering. The ambiance is eclectic - tastefully done with rustic undertones. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a dining experience worth talking about.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great ambiance for meeting friends and having a casual dinner. Unbelievable food! We ordered the mussels marinerie, new york strip, braised pork, squid ink flat bread, oysters, and margaritas! Dishes were cooked to perfection and flavorful. Well done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Spicy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything we had was delicious. The service was very good. The restaurant is small and cozy, great place for a date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Frustrating experience- available parking (good) and not crowded (Saturday noon), and a comfortable space. Excellent pork Benedict.
But.... only halfway through weekend brunch and several items on the menu were not available, service was excruciatingly slow (all staff completely absent from dining room for long stretches), and the waiter wouldn't speak above mumble once he did arrive.
One good dish does not a return visit make. We had looked forward to trying this place, but won't bother a trip back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Atticus never disappoints. Brought my dad here for his 60th birthday and he loved it. They did have a table reserved for us with a special sign and even gave us 2 complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate the occasion. Even though it was nice to have an area of the restaurant to ourselves to talk, etc. I did feel a little far away from the "atmosphere" of the restaurant as everyone else dining was located far on the other side of the establishment. Otherwise, food was delicious and fresh. Everything came out hot and our needs were tended to with utmost detail. Always love it here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We stopped in on a Saturday evening as we'd heard nothing but good things but left saddened and disappointed. While it was restaurant week, there were only 2 of 5 entrees available and both were less than appetizing. Our waiter, who was obviously housing some wine while he waited on us, made things worse by vanishing more often than not.
I love trying new places but won't be giving this one another shot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was tasty. Service was absolutely outstanding. Personable and attentive server.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We have been here several times and each visit has been outstanding. The service is beyond exceptional and they truly go out of their way to ensure your experience is five-star. I cannot rave enough about the food, both during normal occasions and restaurant week. Everything was cooked to perfection, from the French onion soup and Brussels sprouts to the steak and mussels. Atticus has become, by far, one of my favorite Denver restaurants.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First night of Restaurant Week. We allowed ourselves 2 hours before a hockey game at DU. We were one of the first tables to be seated and one of the last to be served our food which all came at once and we had to eat more quickly than we would've liked. It appeared there were not enough servers or something wasn't going right in the kitchen. We had the chef's platter (cheese plate) and the first bread on the plate was frozen. The subsequent bread pieces received were toasty & warm. The wine was great. The pork shank was very tender and a nice blend of flavors. Our dining partners ordered the mussels which they said were overcooked, but they loved the brussel sprouts. We had dined here before and always enjoyed the experience. It was unfortunate that the service was not up to par this night. However, we appreciated the efforts the restaurant made to serve us and provide our salads free of charge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The staff was extremely kind, and attentive to detail. They were concerned that we had everything we need, and that our experience was good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

a bit pricey, but the food was excellent. surprisingly slow service for such a small place, but we enjoyed our dinner quite a lot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Wonderful ambience, excellent food, great location. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Scallops were amazing! Great service and atmosphere. Good value for what you're getting

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I really like this place. It's a neighborhood gem! The cocktails and wine list are creative and you'll find great new Reds by the glass. The food is lovely - very happy. But the icing on the cake is impeccable service. Great job, Atticus! You've captured our attention and we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, excellent service and ambiance. Will definitely come back for a date night with my husband

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great ambiance but the food was unfortunately not very flavorful. If they could up their food game this place would be incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.