Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Atticus

Atticus, is a welcoming neighborhood spot. Our restaurant and bar is focused on warm hospitality and comfort. Serving up a community-inspired breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner. Our inventive American menu is designed around Colorado’s small producers, and complimented by a thoughtfully curated wine list and craft cocktails made with spirits from local independent distillers. At Atticus, we believe everyone has a story that can offer new perspective, and when people join for food and drink, companionship is at its best.

1115 East Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm
Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am-3pm
Cocktail Hour | Happy Hour 3pm-6pm
Dinner Monday - Saturday 5pm until Close

Cross Street:
S Downing

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 459-8273

Website:
http://atticusdenver.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot at rear of building. Also available parking across the street in Bank of the West lot during closed bank hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Atticus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Romantic (12)
Fireplace (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Authentic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Every item on the menu had a bit of mystery to it, in a good way: interesting combinations of food, unusual descriptions, and fantastic taste. The staff was attentive, but not hovering. The ambiance is eclectic - tastefully done with rustic undertones. I would recommend it to anyone interested in a dining experience worth talking about.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambiance for meeting friends and having a casual dinner. Unbelievable food! We ordered the mussels marinerie, new york strip, braised pork, squid ink flat bread, oysters, and margaritas! Dishes were cooked to perfection and flavorful. Well done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Spicy, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything we had was delicious. The service was very good. The restaurant is small and cozy, great place for a date!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Frustrating experience- available parking (good) and not crowded (Saturday noon), and a comfortable space. Excellent pork Benedict.
But.... only halfway through weekend brunch and several items on the menu were not available, service was excruciatingly slow (all staff completely absent from dining room for long stretches), and the waiter wouldn't speak above mumble once he did arrive.
One good dish does not a return visit make. We had looked forward to trying this place, but won't bother a trip back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Atticus never disappoints. Brought my dad here for his 60th birthday and he loved it. They did have a table reserved for us with a special sign and even gave us 2 complimentary glasses of champagne to celebrate the occasion. Even though it was nice to have an area of the restaurant to ourselves to talk, etc. I did feel a little far away from the "atmosphere" of the restaurant as everyone else dining was located far on the other side of the establishment. Otherwise, food was delicious and fresh. Everything came out hot and our needs were tended to with utmost detail. Always love it here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We stopped in on a Saturday evening as we'd heard nothing but good things but left saddened and disappointed. While it was restaurant week, there were only 2 of 5 entrees available and both were less than appetizing. Our waiter, who was obviously housing some wine while he waited on us, made things worse by vanishing more often than not.
I love trying new places but won't be giving this one another shot.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was tasty. Service was absolutely outstanding. Personable and attentive server.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We have been here several times and each visit has been outstanding. The service is beyond exceptional and they truly go out of their way to ensure your experience is five-star. I cannot rave enough about the food, both during normal occasions and restaurant week. Everything was cooked to perfection, from the French onion soup and Brussels sprouts to the steak and mussels. Atticus has become, by far, one of my favorite Denver restaurants.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First night of Restaurant Week. We allowed ourselves 2 hours before a hockey game at DU. We were one of the first tables to be seated and one of the last to be served our food which all came at once and we had to eat more quickly than we would've liked. It appeared there were not enough servers or something wasn't going right in the kitchen. We had the chef's platter (cheese plate) and the first bread on the plate was frozen. The subsequent bread pieces received were toasty & warm. The wine was great. The pork shank was very tender and a nice blend of flavors. Our dining partners ordered the mussels which they said were overcooked, but they loved the brussel sprouts. We had dined here before and always enjoyed the experience. It was unfortunate that the service was not up to par this night. However, we appreciated the efforts the restaurant made to serve us and provide our salads free of charge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The staff was extremely kind, and attentive to detail. They were concerned that we had everything we need, and that our experience was good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

a bit pricey, but the food was excellent. surprisingly slow service for such a small place, but we enjoyed our dinner quite a lot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Wonderful ambience, excellent food, great location. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Scallops were amazing! Great service and atmosphere. Good value for what you're getting

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My husband and I really like this place. It's a neighborhood gem! The cocktails and wine list are creative and you'll find great new Reds by the glass. The food is lovely - very happy. But the icing on the cake is impeccable service. Great job, Atticus! You've captured our attention and we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, excellent service and ambiance. Will definitely come back for a date night with my husband

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great ambiance but the food was unfortunately not very flavorful. If they could up their food game this place would be incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed everything about Atticus. We were warmly greeted when we arrived. It was their anniversary so we had a small celebration glass of champagne they provided. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and drinks. The dinner itself was outstanding - tasty, well presented, and a good value.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We got a great little table by the fire place, very cozy. They had a chalk board on the table with reservation info and my name, nice touch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Perfect place for a mid-week date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I had the steak special with the asparagus recommended by the server. The seasonings were great with the chopped onion, cilantro, and garlic with a bit olive oil.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was a great experience overall. The bartender even created a drink for me and gave me the recipe. I highly recommend Atticus.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always love it here. This was my second time and it was so fantastic. We told them we were celebrating our 2nd Anniversary and they truly went out of their way to make us feel special. They sat us near the fireplace for some quiet and cozy ambiance, checked on us all the time to make sure the food and everything was spectacular, and even gave us a comp-ed dessert for the celebration. The food is ALWAYS phenomenal and fresh and the place is always clean. Thoroughly enjoy the decor too. Really love it here!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our server Steven was excellent and really made our meal memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice neighborhood restaurant; friendly and consistent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Gosh, where to start. Our recent dining experience was a train wreck. We went in for brunch, and when we sat down, our waiter told us that more than half of the menu items could not be prepared (guess we should have known then to leave). Ok, that happens sometimes, I suppose. We order two of the remaining entrees, the Breakfast Biscuit Sandwich and the Countryman. Half an hour later, our entrees arrive and we notice immediately the enormous heap of steaming breakfast potatoes. Unfortunately, the rest of the food items were cold. The Countryman came with two bacon strips that can only be described as charcoal; they were completely inedible. My husband requested fresh bacon, which was replaced with bacon of the same charcoal texture, only hot. He still couldn't eat it. The biscuit tasted as though they had forgotten the main ingredient - butter - and it did not come with house-made jam as advertised. My husband requested jam and was brought apple sauce. As for the Breakfast Biscuit Sandwich, the bacon was also inedible and the chicken was so thin it was overpowered by the flavorless biscuit. There were no cheddar or pickles, as advertised. We tried eating just the breakfast potatoes, which were at least fresh and hot, but we tired of those quickly. Overall, a very disappointing dining experience, and unfortunately not our first negative experience with the restaurant. They really need to work on improving the consistency of their brunch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Appetizers, entrees, and dessert were amazing! Great portion size. Not too big and not too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place was great for brunch! Love the healthy options. Everything was so flavorful and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Unfortunately we had a very poor experience. Great appetizer. Main entree served cold! Sent it back. By the time it came back out my husband had finished his meal and my entree was brought back out cold again! The waitress was very apologetic. She did comp my drinks and of course the entree. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent service and amazing food--could not have made a better choice for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service, great atmosphere, great food! Will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Went at 7:30 PM on a Tuesday; a couple other tables were packed but it wasn't too noisy. When it was clear we were going to stay awhile chatting after dessert, they kindly offered us some decaf coffee and let us stay 'til after 11 PM-ish when they were closing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We made a reservation for Christmas Eve dinner. On Christmas Eve they offer a special three course meal with different options. Everyone in our party was extreamly impressed with the food, drinks, presentation, and ambiance. I would recommend this place to anyone. Very happy we chose this place for our special occasion dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was delicious! Unfortunately, we did have to wait 25 minutes to be seated despite our reservation. Our server, though very kind, was not very attentive and did not bring water or coffee as we requested/ordered. For the price, I would love a bit more attentiveness. We will consider giving it another shot.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It is a great venue. We liked the eclectic but cozy feel. Great food. The duck Condit was exquisite. The salmon was cooked perfectly. Our guests ordered the Brussel sprouts and two vegan dishes that they raved about. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have never been disappointed at Atticus. The menu is creative and delicious with the plates fully realized with sauce and accompaniments. The staff is friendly and informed and will find out all you need to know regarding the wine list and menu. I need to go here more often.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding French Onion Soup and excellent Risotto. Warm hospitality on a cold night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Went there for lunch on a Friday. Almost empty. Food, service and ambiance all great! Will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service is great and the hand crafted cocktails are always fantastic. The food is hit or miss and seems expensive for the atmosphere and approach.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wow,
I had no idea what to expect, having never been there and it was just not obtrusive on the street. What a pleasant experience. Excellent food, the brussel sprouts that you hated as a kid, are so scrumptiously yummy, I can't wait to go back. All four of our dinners were excellent, not a scrap left on the plates...Very good service and I will back with some other friends at my soonest opportunity...

Cheers!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.