About Atticus

1115 East Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Atticus, is a welcoming neighborhood spot. Our restaurant and bar is focused on warm hospitality and comfort. Serving up a community-inspired breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner. Our inventive American menu is designed around Colorado’s small producers, and complimented by a thoughtfully curated wine list and craft cocktails made with spirits from local independent distillers. At Atticus, we believe everyone has a story that can offer new perspective, and when people join for food and drink, companionship is at its best.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm
Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am-3pm
Cocktail Hour | Happy Hour 3pm-6pm
Dinner Monday - Saturday 5pm until Close

Cross Street:
S Downing

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 459-8273

Website:
http://atticusdenver.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot at rear of building. Also available parking across the street in Bank of the West lot during closed bank hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Atticus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Casual (9)
See All
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fireplace (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Seasonal (3)
Romantic (3)
Organic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were gathering at Atticus for a frien ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We were gathering at Atticus for a friend's moving away dinner. The staff was attentive, but did not try and rush us. The food was absolutely delicious, even for picky vegetarian and gluten free diners (myself). The wine selection was nice and the atmosphere is cozy. It was the perfect choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

interesting and different food for a lim ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

interesting and different food for a limited menu. Nicely paired wine list. Good value for very good food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took our daughter here as a treat, she'd ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Took our daughter here as a treat, she'd had a hard week at work. We had the brunch (huevos rancheros, rocky mountain biscuit, and breakfast biscuit sandwich). All were delicious! The pitcher of mimosas wasn't very strong, we ordered separate glasses of Prosecco to add to them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The brunch is arguably the best in town!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The brunch is arguably the best in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In summary, the starters were good, the ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 18, 2016

In summary, the starters were good, the main and dessert were bad, and the timing of the courses were completely off. We told the waiter we needed to leave at 6:30 when we ordered at 5:15. We ordered 2 courses. The brussel sprouts and salmon tartar were fine but the main course paella came before we had barely started on the apps and it was only 5:50 so no rush. They took it back and waited for us to finish. Then they brought the same paella back out but now it was cold and didn't taste good. They offered a free dessert but not the paella for free. So we got the apple tartan which barely had apples and also wasn't good. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

New local neighborhood favorite! Great c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

New local neighborhood favorite! Great cocktails. Cozy. Bar and table seating

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Organic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience was completely different ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This experience was completely different from the other two times we have gone to this restaurant. My mother in law's food came out cold, we had to ask for little plates to eat our appetizers on. And the restaurant was extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Exceptional food, as always. Several GF ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Exceptional food, as always. Several GF items to choose from and wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the risotto and it was absolut ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I ordered the risotto and it was absolutely wonderful. My husband ordered the steak and said it was good, but overdone. Our guests shared the salmon and the surf and turf and they enjoyed both dishes. Our server was friendly and attentive but the food took a bit long to come out. But overall we very much enjoyed our dinner here and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The food is just average Serving sizes w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food is just average

Serving sizes were a bit off

Huge serving of Brussels Sprouts, way too much for even 2 people

Salmon appetizer sounded great and presentation was nice but not much flavor

Mussels had a TON of garlic, overwhelming really. Not enough broth

Fries were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu is very interesting. I wouldn' ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The menu is very interesting. I wouldn't necessarily say it is kid-friendly, as the mac-n-cheese is pretty gourmet and my little 2-year-old would have none of it! We had the risotto, which was outstanding - and the paella, which was a bit dry and certainly not the stand-out. Would definitely try it again.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to brunch with family and had a gre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Went to brunch with family and had a great meal - others that I was with said there meals were okay. Service was slow as we were one of the only two tables in there. One meal came out about 15 minutes after everyone else. I would say okay experience overall.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Started with cocktails, tuna tartare and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Started with cocktails, tuna tartare and the chef's board. Drinks took forever, and arrived in three separate trips. Cheese selection was uninspired and boring (smoked gouda and cheddar? Really?) and the tuna arrived missing part of the dish.

They were out of the duck confit, which we were not told until two people in our party tried ordering it.

Entrees arrived and three of them were cold. They were cooked well, but had clearly been sitting around for a while.

Our server knocked 15% off for the cold food, but we still felt we had paid way too much for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Love this place. Great food selections a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Love this place. Great food selections and a staff that has been great every time we've been there. A great addition to the neighborhood in the past year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful cozy ambiance and the food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful cozy ambiance and the food was lovely. We were seated right by the fireplace and it was very cheerful and conducive to a great evening catching up with a friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not a huge meat eater but the Steak Au P ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Not a huge meat eater but the Steak Au Poivre is a MUST!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Atticus was lovely. There were ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Lunch at Atticus was lovely. There were not alot of folks so we were able to receive the "royal treatment". The Brussel Spouts were fantastic - not over seasoned and quite a generous portion for us to share. All entrees were very, very good. Beer on tap - great selection and excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and excellent - did not hover but was always there when we needed her. My one complaint would be that I'd like a few more choices on the menu. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Sunday brunch. Made reservation ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Made reservation ahead of time and table was ready when I arrived. Waiter was very polite and gave us time to look over menu (because we were distracted talking). Food was delicious but took a while for it to come out. I ordered huevos rancheros and friend got the French Toast. Overall a pleasant experience and will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

4th visit and very disappointed. We had ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

4th visit and very disappointed. We had mussels to start and my wife had steak and I had the cauliflower steak. Everything was just blah, which is very, very different from our prior visits. Previously, I had had some of the best duck in a long time. Not on the menu this time. Mussels were overcooked and borderline rubbery. Drinks were very good. Place was only 1/3 full on a Saturday at 8 pm, so maybe the people have voted with their feet.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Everything was great. The servers weren' ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was great. The servers weren't to professional though. Not the friendly attitude I want from a waitress. Seemed like the were counting the second to close.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Atticus is our favorite neighborhood res ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Atticus is our favorite neighborhood restaurant. We find ourselves going back again & again.

Sophisticated but approachable menu. it is just easy to meet friends here!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine place. My wife felt her Salmon was ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fine place. My wife felt her Salmon was just OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is a great "winter" place- meaning ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is a great "winter" place- meaning that it is really warm & cozy feeling with a really good red wine selection. The service is always good and the food always tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous food. Our favorite local spot.

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Fabulous food. Our favorite local spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very very tasty! Great oysters!!! Great ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very very tasty! Great oysters!!! Great service. Will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to dinner before a show at the N ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We went to dinner before a show at the Newman Center. Service was quick, efficient and most of all friendly and fun. There were 4 of us and we split 3 salads and 2 desserts among us, and each had a different entrée in between. We were all impressed with the food. It was delicious, well prepared and beautifully presented. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Love this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was terrible. They forgot t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service was terrible. They forgot to bring out the appetizer so they brought it out after they served the meal. Then they were afraid of our table and ignored us for the rest of the night. It was not a busy night and there was no excuse for being ignored by the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service, food, ambiance...simply amazing ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service, food, ambiance...simply amazing! Highly recommend for brunch. :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I met a friend for dinner after a long s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I met a friend for dinner after a long stressful week. Our server graciously gave us time to look over the menu and answered questions about various appetizers and salads. We ordered the Chef's Board, shared a delicious salad, and proceeded to each choose a separate entree. My friend had the risotto and I chose the steak frites. She loved her risotto, rich and tasty; and my steak was done exactly to my prefernce, medium rare.

I've been to Atticus quite a few times before and this sweet neighborhood restaurant has always come through.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

we arrived at 5 p.m - no one in the rest ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 24, 2016

we arrived at 5 p.m - no one in the restaurant. Placed an order about 5:20 - it came at 6:05. I ordered the escargot and mushrooms. Nothing special - just sauted, placed in a container with a filo dough roll which fell apart & ended up all over the table. Why not a small hard roll? The orange/beet salad was fine. Friends ordered risotto and commented it was very gooey. The dessert ordered was #1 - filo square with small amount of lemon (curd?) on top and a few sliced strawberries. Rather dry and not memorable.

I had read a number of bad reviews about the service and we received the same. There were only 4 other people in the restaurant by the time our order came so not understanding what the big holdup was. Outdoors not inviting. Flower boxes dirty and filled with old pine cones. I think flowers could be expected at the near end of June!! overall we were disappointed and probably not returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

My husband loved the Wednesday special " ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 23, 2016

My husband loved the Wednesday special "Buck a Shuck" oysters. I tasted, too, and they were extremely fresh and flavorful. My kale salad was delicious........probably one of the best I've had. Entrees were yummy, too. Service was friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and great service but f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great atmosphere and great service but food wasn't tasty. Too bad as we were very excited. Not a good kids menu also so not the best place for kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Really small portions. Four scallops for ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Really small portions. Four scallops for the scallop dinner? Appetizer, maybe, but dinner? Well-prepared food but a bit over-priced.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Atticus is a cozy restaurant - great coc ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Atticus is a cozy restaurant - great cocktail menu and enjoyed the chef's plate as well as the steak frites.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

brunch

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2016

the brussel sprouts were amazing! can't wait to go back and try everything else

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great, service is not what it was

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food at Atticus is always great. Out server was slow and off pace for courses, drinks, and really the entire meal. He was friendly, made good suggestions but did negatively impact the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I had eaten at Atticus before, and this ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2016

I had eaten at Atticus before, and this time, I came with a group of 7 friends to celebrate my birthday. Everyone raved about the food, and a shrimp and grits appetizer was a special - I ordered it as a main course, and it was the best I've had, including at some of New Orleans' most famous restaurants. The shrimp were very fresh (old, fishy shrimp should never be used for anything other than bait), the grits were done perfectly, and the sauce added just the right amount of flavor without overwhelming the dish. Since it was a special, I will call ahead on my next visit to order it again. It was a delightful culinary experience, and I recommend Atticus to anyone who enjoys great food. It was a fun place to celebrate a birthday, and the staff was very accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

service was very slow. restaurant was not crowded

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2016

not sure why but service was very slow. waiter looked like he was not interested in being there. food was average. so sad as this is in such a good location. I have had lunch and now dinner there. not sure it's worth another visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We sooooo want to like this place but...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our second visit to Atticus for brunch in the last 18 months... The menu has great variety and creativity. The food is tasty. The atmosphere is quirky/quaint and cozy. The service - oy. While friendly, our server must have been sleep walking or on his first ever brunch shift. He admitted not being familiar with the brunch menu when we asked questions (so go get someone who can answer our simple inquiries - like does the salmon benny come with eggs (not listed as component on menu)!). Another diner at our table ordered the berry lemonade... half way through brunch when we asked if it was still coming, we were told someone had been sent out to buy berries. So... no, it's not coming. In the end, the berry lemonade and extra eggs were on our bill. Waiter was happy to take them off, but c'mon, not a good way to end already mediocre service. Things like that. Maybe we'll try again in another 6 months. Atticus has such potential if they can elevate the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.