About Atticus

Atticus, is a welcoming neighborhood spot. Our restaurant and bar is focused on warm hospitality and comfort. Serving up a community-inspired breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner. Our inventive American menu is designed around Colorado’s small producers, and complimented by a thoughtfully curated wine list and craft cocktails made with spirits from local independent distillers. At Atticus, we believe everyone has a story that can offer new perspective, and when people join for food and drink, companionship is at its best.

1115 East Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm
Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am-3pm
Cocktail Hour | Happy Hour 3pm-6pm
Dinner Monday - Saturday 5pm until Close

Cross Street:
S Downing

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 459-8273

Website:
http://atticusdenver.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot at rear of building. Also available parking across the street in Bank of the West lot during closed bank hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for a romantic dining experience. Featuring special dining options and an evening that won't soon be forgotten!

Atticus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Casual (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Fireplace (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
311 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice neighborhood restaurant; friendly a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice neighborhood restaurant; friendly and consistent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gosh, where to start. Our recent dining ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Gosh, where to start. Our recent dining experience was a train wreck. We went in for brunch, and when we sat down, our waiter told us that more than half of the menu items could not be prepared (guess we should have known then to leave). Ok, that happens sometimes, I suppose. We order two of the remaining entrees, the Breakfast Biscuit Sandwich and the Countryman. Half an hour later, our entrees arrive and we notice immediately the enormous heap of steaming breakfast potatoes. Unfortunately, the rest of the food items were cold. The Countryman came with two bacon strips that can only be described as charcoal; they were completely inedible. My husband requested fresh bacon, which was replaced with bacon of the same charcoal texture, only hot. He still couldn't eat it. The biscuit tasted as though they had forgotten the main ingredient - butter - and it did not come with house-made jam as advertised. My husband requested jam and was brought apple sauce. As for the Breakfast Biscuit Sandwich, the bacon was also inedible and the chicken was so thin it was overpowered by the flavorless biscuit. There were no cheddar or pickles, as advertised. We tried eating just the breakfast potatoes, which were at least fresh and hot, but we tired of those quickly. Overall, a very disappointing dining experience, and unfortunately not our first negative experience with the restaurant. They really need to work on improving the consistency of their brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Appetizers, entrees, and dessert were am ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Appetizers, entrees, and dessert were amazing! Great portion size. Not too big and not too small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was great for brunch! Love th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This place was great for brunch! Love the healthy options. Everything was so flavorful and delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Unfortunately we had a very poor experie ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Unfortunately we had a very poor experience. Great appetizer. Main entree served cold! Sent it back. By the time it came back out my husband had finished his meal and my entree was brought back out cold again! The waitress was very apologetic. She did comp my drinks and of course the entree. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Service was excellent and the food was d ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was delicious! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and amazing food--coul ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Excellent service and amazing food--could not have made a better choice for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great atmosphere, great f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service, great atmosphere, great food! Will return for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant. Went at 7:30 PM o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Went at 7:30 PM on a Tuesday; a couple other tables were packed but it wasn't too noisy. When it was clear we were going to stay awhile chatting after dessert, they kindly offered us some decaf coffee and let us stay 'til after 11 PM-ish when they were closing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We made a reservation for Christmas Eve ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We made a reservation for Christmas Eve dinner. On Christmas Eve they offer a special three course meal with different options. Everyone in our party was extreamly impressed with the food, drinks, presentation, and ambiance. I would recommend this place to anyone. Very happy we chose this place for our special occasion dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! Unfortunately, w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was delicious! Unfortunately, we did have to wait 25 minutes to be seated despite our reservation. Our server, though very kind, was not very attentive and did not bring water or coffee as we requested/ordered. For the price, I would love a bit more attentiveness. We will consider giving it another shot.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

It is a great venue. We liked the eclect ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It is a great venue. We liked the eclectic but cozy feel. Great food. The duck Condit was exquisite. The salmon was cooked perfectly. Our guests ordered the Brussel sprouts and two vegan dishes that they raved about. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have never been disappointed at Atticu ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I have never been disappointed at Atticus. The menu is creative and delicious with the plates fully realized with sauce and accompaniments. The staff is friendly and informed and will find out all you need to know regarding the wine list and menu. I need to go here more often.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding French Onion Soup and excell ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding French Onion Soup and excellent Risotto. Warm hospitality on a cold night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Went there for lunch on a Friday. Almost ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Went there for lunch on a Friday. Almost empty. Food, service and ambiance all great! Will go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wow, I had no idea what to expect, havi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wow,

I had no idea what to expect, having never been there and it was just not obtrusive on the street. What a pleasant experience. Excellent food, the brussel sprouts that you hated as a kid, are so scrumptiously yummy, I can't wait to go back. All four of our dinners were excellent, not a scrap left on the plates...Very good service and I will back with some other friends at my soonest opportunity...

Cheers!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were gathering at Atticus for a frien ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

We were gathering at Atticus for a friend's moving away dinner. The staff was attentive, but did not try and rush us. The food was absolutely delicious, even for picky vegetarian and gluten free diners (myself). The wine selection was nice and the atmosphere is cozy. It was the perfect choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

interesting and different food for a lim ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

interesting and different food for a limited menu. Nicely paired wine list. Good value for very good food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Took our daughter here as a treat, she'd ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Took our daughter here as a treat, she'd had a hard week at work. We had the brunch (huevos rancheros, rocky mountain biscuit, and breakfast biscuit sandwich). All were delicious! The pitcher of mimosas wasn't very strong, we ordered separate glasses of Prosecco to add to them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The brunch is arguably the best in town!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The brunch is arguably the best in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

In summary, the starters were good, the ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 18, 2016

In summary, the starters were good, the main and dessert were bad, and the timing of the courses were completely off. We told the waiter we needed to leave at 6:30 when we ordered at 5:15. We ordered 2 courses. The brussel sprouts and salmon tartar were fine but the main course paella came before we had barely started on the apps and it was only 5:50 so no rush. They took it back and waited for us to finish. Then they brought the same paella back out but now it was cold and didn't taste good. They offered a free dessert but not the paella for free. So we got the apple tartan which barely had apples and also wasn't good. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

New local neighborhood favorite! Great c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

New local neighborhood favorite! Great cocktails. Cozy. Bar and table seating

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Organic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience was completely different ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This experience was completely different from the other two times we have gone to this restaurant. My mother in law's food came out cold, we had to ask for little plates to eat our appetizers on. And the restaurant was extremely loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Exceptional food, as always. Several GF ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Exceptional food, as always. Several GF items to choose from and wonderful ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ordered the risotto and it was absolut ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I ordered the risotto and it was absolutely wonderful. My husband ordered the steak and said it was good, but overdone. Our guests shared the salmon and the surf and turf and they enjoyed both dishes. Our server was friendly and attentive but the food took a bit long to come out. But overall we very much enjoyed our dinner here and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

The food is just average Serving sizes w ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food is just average

Serving sizes were a bit off

Huge serving of Brussels Sprouts, way too much for even 2 people

Salmon appetizer sounded great and presentation was nice but not much flavor

Mussels had a TON of garlic, overwhelming really. Not enough broth

Fries were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu is very interesting. I wouldn' ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The menu is very interesting. I wouldn't necessarily say it is kid-friendly, as the mac-n-cheese is pretty gourmet and my little 2-year-old would have none of it! We had the risotto, which was outstanding - and the paella, which was a bit dry and certainly not the stand-out. Would definitely try it again.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to brunch with family and had a gre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Went to brunch with family and had a great meal - others that I was with said there meals were okay. Service was slow as we were one of the only two tables in there. One meal came out about 15 minutes after everyone else. I would say okay experience overall.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Started with cocktails, tuna tartare and ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Started with cocktails, tuna tartare and the chef's board. Drinks took forever, and arrived in three separate trips. Cheese selection was uninspired and boring (smoked gouda and cheddar? Really?) and the tuna arrived missing part of the dish.

They were out of the duck confit, which we were not told until two people in our party tried ordering it.

Entrees arrived and three of them were cold. They were cooked well, but had clearly been sitting around for a while.

Our server knocked 15% off for the cold food, but we still felt we had paid way too much for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Love this place. Great food selections a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Love this place. Great food selections and a staff that has been great every time we've been there. A great addition to the neighborhood in the past year!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Hot Spot, Fun, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful cozy ambiance and the food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Wonderful cozy ambiance and the food was lovely. We were seated right by the fireplace and it was very cheerful and conducive to a great evening catching up with a friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not a huge meat eater but the Steak Au P ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Not a huge meat eater but the Steak Au Poivre is a MUST!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch at Atticus was lovely. There were ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Lunch at Atticus was lovely. There were not alot of folks so we were able to receive the "royal treatment". The Brussel Spouts were fantastic - not over seasoned and quite a generous portion for us to share. All entrees were very, very good. Beer on tap - great selection and excellent. Our server was knowledgeable and excellent - did not hover but was always there when we needed her. My one complaint would be that I'd like a few more choices on the menu. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Atticus is a fun spot and the wait staff ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Atticus is a fun spot and the wait staff and chef are always willing to accommodate my vegan, no oil diet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for Sunday brunch. Made reservation ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch. Made reservation ahead of time and table was ready when I arrived. Waiter was very polite and gave us time to look over menu (because we were distracted talking). Food was delicious but took a while for it to come out. I ordered huevos rancheros and friend got the French Toast. Overall a pleasant experience and will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

4th visit and very disappointed. We had ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

4th visit and very disappointed. We had mussels to start and my wife had steak and I had the cauliflower steak. Everything was just blah, which is very, very different from our prior visits. Previously, I had had some of the best duck in a long time. Not on the menu this time. Mussels were overcooked and borderline rubbery. Drinks were very good. Place was only 1/3 full on a Saturday at 8 pm, so maybe the people have voted with their feet.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Everything was great. The servers weren' ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Everything was great. The servers weren't to professional though. Not the friendly attitude I want from a waitress. Seemed like the were counting the second to close.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Atticus is our favorite neighborhood res ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Atticus is our favorite neighborhood restaurant. We find ourselves going back again & again.

Sophisticated but approachable menu. it is just easy to meet friends here!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine place. My wife felt her Salmon was ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fine place. My wife felt her Salmon was just OK

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This is a great "winter" place- meaning ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is a great "winter" place- meaning that it is really warm & cozy feeling with a really good red wine selection. The service is always good and the food always tasty.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.