Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi
  1. Distance: 0.83mi
  2. Distance: 0.98mi
  3. Distance: 0.98mi
  4. Distance: 1.01mi

About Atticus

Atticus, is a welcoming neighborhood spot. Our restaurant and bar is focused on warm hospitality and comfort. Serving up a community-inspired breakfast, lunch, cocktails and dinner. Our inventive American menu is designed around Colorado’s small producers, and complimented by a thoughtfully curated wine list and craft cocktails made with spirits from local independent distillers. At Atticus, we believe everyone has a story that can offer new perspective, and when people join for food and drink, companionship is at its best.

1115 East Evans Avenue
Denver, CO 80210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday and Sunday 9am-3pm
Lunch Tuesday - Friday 11am-3pm
Cocktail Hour | Happy Hour 3pm-6pm
Dinner Monday - Saturday 5pm until Close

Cross Street:
S Downing

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(720) 459-8273

Website:
http://atticusdenver.com/

Parking Details:
Parking lot at rear of building. Also available parking across the street in Bank of the West lot during closed bank hours.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Atticus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Casual (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Authentic (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Healthy (4)
Fun (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
382 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We were very disappointed to find that after Open Table let us make a 1pm lunch reservation at Atticus, we got there to find a sign on the door that they were closed for lunch till 9/1 or some date in the future. Not blaming Open Table. They probably failed to update you. You need to check with them. We went to Rosedale next door. Not likely to want to give Atticus a try later. [Rosedale said they've had several people come to them w. reservations at Atticus, so it's not just us.]

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Odd problems in the kitchen. We ordered 3 oysters in each of 3 sauces. They came out 4-4-1. My wife's pasta carbonara was so overcooked it was mush. We sent it back and the replacement came out even worse. Some of the food is absolutely delicious. The Brussels sprouts are the best anywhere for example. They are often out of a wine on the menu. We had similar problems the last time we were there. These are fixable problems, but they aren't being fixed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Atticus is one of our favorite restaurants in Denver! It's small, personal, and the food is fabulous. The owner and staff are always super friendly, and it's a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Loved the ambiance. Fun. Met an old friend for brunch and it was the perfect setting. Awesome drink menu too! Perfect for a hangover 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We went there for a late lunch/brunch on a Sunday after volunteering nearby. The burrito was very generous but lacked protein. The lobster roll was on a Kaiser roll, nicely grilled and butter. There was one claw; the rest of the lobster was finely chopped. Kudos for not too much mayo but not much flavor either. The oysters were excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We love Atticus and as always, it did not disappoint. Great service, fabulous food plus a really delicious special tequila cocktail, "The Ax." The NY Strip was perfectly cooked, with a wonderful sauce. A great spot--elegant but not pretentious!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Stress test night.... the charming and awesome barkeep did not show (pray that she is fine) ; it's July 3rd, the sole server is doing 3 roles. Great service, great food.
And a very good wine.

One of our favorite places... just went up a notch. Great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Been here half dozen times...love the location near DU. But there is always something lacking. This time they did not have the bottle of wine we ordered. We spent more on a bottle that wasn't as good. Also, of the 3 dessert specials, 2 required ice cream: the apple pie ala mode, and the chocolate chip cookies with ice cream. We ordered the cookies and when the server brought them, she said they were out of ice cream! ( Also, a few were burned on the bottom. )Why can't they go across the street to Safeway and buy some? Or why not, when she brought the cookies, offer them on-the house? Food had generally been good, which is why we've come back, but the attention to details is lacking. I think we'll wait awhile and see if they can get it together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We have been here before. The food and service are consistently good. Brought neighbors today; they really enjoyed it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Great food and great service! A real gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Just average. Place was great. Service was good. Drinks were really good. Not thrilled with the food and the food is really important.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

"Atticus" is a totally cool name . . . as in Atticus Finch, the lawyer in "To Kill A Mockingbird." Named after the geographical area that included Athens and meaning "a man from Attica, Greece" the place is interesting in that it has, from what I can tell, not one friggin' thing to do with Greece; food or otherwise.

That aside, the place is a nice neighborhood eatery. Generally good modern American food with some creative twists. The place used to be "Fagan's" some 40 years ago when it was quite the place for DU students to go when their parents came into town, and the old sign "Fagan's" still appears in the dining area. Best seat in the house? Probably the one next to the fireplace. Best thing to eat, probably whatever their fresh fish is. Really liked their crisp skin presentation with gently cooked interior.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It was a nice evening. The music was loud, tho

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This place was fantastic! The food was amazing and inventive. The prices are extraordinary and the staff is very helpful and friendly. This is a top spot in Denver for sure! The steak was amazing and the Brussel sprouts were off the charts. My daughter is vegan and the chef made her an extraordinary meal off menu. 5 stars all the way.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I have been to Atticus several times. It's usually a good neighborhood gem, although can be a bit inconsistent. On this particular occasion, when we arrived ( we had a reservation... it was busy... they seemed to be understaffed) it took about 5 min to be greeted. In the meantime, I saw the bartender making a cocktail that looked beautiful and delicious... so I went and asked him what it was. He promptly responded " a drink we are no longer making". Nice response.... we were then taken to our table a few minutes later where we waited 23 minutes before a server came over... at which point we had gotten up to leave.

With an abundance of great denver restaurants, it sure this one will be one I will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Server was obviously drunk. I could overhear him mocking our order. There was no one else in there, yet it still took 30 minutes for appetizers to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The restaurant was empty, which I didn't mind but my date thought might be an indication of the food. I was disappointed to see that they took the burger off of the brunch menu. Brunch options were not very impressive. The mussels were overcooked as was the burrito. Ok experience, I might try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

This is my third time visiting Atticus and I hope to visit again. The first 2 visits were on the weekend brunch - I had the cauliflower veggie "hash" with poached egg and for the next visit the eggs benedict - both were delicious. Not heavy and well presented and prices were comparable with other restaurants in the area. Drinks were also well priced and service was good. We like to take our time and we did not feel rushed.
4 of us met for lunch on Thursday. Christopher took excellent care of us, but the food was somewhat minimalistic. The lobster rolls were good, but overwhelmed with the bread. ( as they often can be ) I chose the tacos - both the smoked cod and shrimp were lovely, but not very generous. Corn tacos were cold and the additions were almost non existent. I was still hungry when I left. Coffee was good, but dessert was lackluster - only chocolate caramel cake on the menu ( we did mention this and was it was politely taken off the bill ) One of the reasons restaurants often fail is that patrons are too polite to critique and just go else where. My advice - be a little more generous - jack up the flavor profile - and make sure all your employees are invested and encourage them to give their opinion based on their interaction with clients. I have had experience working in the restaurant industry and I wish you well - You have a lovely space and it is well situated. Best Megan

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brunch is one of our top 10 in Denver
Food is quality
Service is excellent

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Terrible food and bad service. We sent a dish back and we're considering sending another back, but felt bad. Not the type of people who complain, but this restaurant was definitely bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Met a friend there for dinner. 1st time we had been there. Nice Happy Hour wine choice and I am a wind snob, food as well. Friendly server, there just enough without being annoying. Sam was new, so if he did not know the answer to my question he found out and came back instead of making something up. Took oysters home to my guy, he said they were grand. We will return together. Farm to table place with interesting menu which was good. Definitely give it a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great little spot off of Downing and Evans. Food was delicious! Small complaint . Service was a little bit slow. I think they could use one more server.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had Mother's Day dinner at Atticus, and loved the food and service. My only request is that you always have gluten free breads on hand, as my wife is celiac and was disappointed that an item on the menu that said it was gluten free wasn't available.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for their Mother's Day brunch at 1:30. Brunch menu served til 4, but they were already out of several items, really limiting options. Drinks were excellent, food was very good, service was really slow, but not as attentive as it should have been, especially considering the low number of customers at the time. Waiter kept excusing slow service by telling us how overwhelmed kitchen staff was--but don't know what this had to do with the slow & forgotten drink service. Party of 6; ordered charcuterie which came with 3 pieces of bread. Asked for more which seemed like a great challenge. ("I can put the order in, but I don't know how long it will take.") I would go back, but not for any occasion where a crowd might be expected.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great experience, wonderful staff, and healthy and yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service at Atticus was good. The menu however was less than imaginative. The food was bland. We had dined here in the past several times and our experience was much different. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've enjoyed Atticus in the past, but sadly it seems to have gone downhill. I met friends for brunch yesterday and there were only two other occupied tables when we arrived during prime brunch time on a Sunday. A few others filled in after we sat, but not enough to warrant the slow, inattentive service. After being told they were out of grapefruit juice (there is a grocery store across the street) we saw the bartender pour our drinks, but then they sat there for at least 15 minutes until one of our party walked up to the bar to retrieve them. Our food did not arrive until a full hour after we originally sat, and after all of the other tables that arrived after us had already been served. It was fine when it did arrive, except that my dish was advertised with potatoes in the menu but was served with Brussels sprouts. I like them so did not mention it and was too hungry by then to argue, but a change like that should have been mentioned before it was delivered. One of my friend's over medium eggs was served with a broken yolk as well. All in all, a disappointing experience.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Atticus has a nice atmosphere, great food, and a nice wine list and drink menu. There was a problem with service the night we were there which I heard was unusual. It was specific to our waiter; the rest of the staff were really good. I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Fabulous cauliflower entree. Attentive service. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As usual, an excellent dinner at Atticus. We loved sitting by the fire on a snowy night. Service was great and attentive. Loved the brussels sprouts, hamburger and mussels, and also appreciated the oyster appetizer on the house! Atticus never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always had great meals at Atticus and fun cocktails.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What a great dinner, we had the tuna poke which was very fresh, the slow cooked pork was excellent. Would eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We started with a half dozen oysters for my husband and the smoked olves to share. Both were outstanding! I had the steak which was very good. Husband had the Duck Confit which he said was well seasoned but dry. We both loved the cocktails - Negroni for him and Hemingway for me. Followed by a glass of wine with dinner. We shared the key lime dessert which was very tiny but yummy. Our server was teriffic (I can't believe we forgot her name!!). All the staff working tables were very good. The acoustics in the main room make for a noisy environment and the 2 top table was small and very close to the one next to us which somewhat stymied intimate conversation. However, all things considered, we were happy with our evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for brunch on a Saturday and it was dead inside. Service was ok and our food came out after a table that came in 30 mins after us. Our food was delayed bc the kitchen "burned our biscuits" but I think our server forgot about us. He didn't even Comp our side or drinks and took forever to bring our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Lunch menu was uninspired
Our server was very unfriendly and seemed annoyed and disinterested
Restaurant was very slow yet food prep took a long time
Will not go back for lunch
Not sure if I will go back for dinner
Too many other places to settle for mediocrity and poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food is very good, the decor is nice and the staff is really great. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband had to get up to track down a server to take drink order after no one came by for about 15 minutes after being seated. Two meals came out. Server didn't put order in for third meal. We were finished by the time 3rd meal finally arrived. Restraunt was nearly empty. Should have been busy at noon on a Sunday. No obvious reason for poor service. Food is good. Unfortunately this is second consecutive time with poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Cool neighborhood eatery. Excellent, interesting preparations. Adequate wine list. The one down side is the acoustics of the place make it extremely loud and the tables are really close together. So not a great place for an intimate dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Brussels sprouts were wonderful and perfect portion for the 4 of us. We ordered another appetizer and for the life of me, I can't even remember what it was(not a good sign) and was barely enough for one person. I felt that it was the server's job to let us know that, so we're could have ordered more. We were all very pleased with the entrees so all and all, it was a a good night!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Nice place. Service was a little slow. Food was very good. Nice wine list. Beautiful decor.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.