About Atlas Restaurant

5513 Pershing
St. Louis, MO 63112
View Larger Map

Where classic European flavors mingle with warm smiles and exemplary service. We are conveniently located in the West End of St. Louis, just minutes away from Washington University, The Fox, Powell Hall and the Muny.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Belt

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 367-6800

Website:
http://www.atlasrestaurantstl.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot across from our restaurant, along with a parking lot at the corning of Pershing and Belt. There is also many spots available via street parking infront of and near or restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr, Executive Chef & Alberto Ahuatzi

Private Party Facilities:
Our dining room comfortably seats 65, or can be used for standing receptions of 100 or more guests. Our space is available for private parties during non-business hours, making it ideal for business luncheons, brunch events, or evening gatherings on Sundays or Mondays. Please contact us to arrange your private event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Moore: 3143676800

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atlas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
St. Louis
Best Service
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
2 More
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Central West End ›

neighborhood gem (56)
fit for foodies (46)
special occasion (36)
See All
romantic (24)
notable wine list (12)
great for outdoor dining (9)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Having Atlas within walking distance of ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Having Atlas within walking distance of my front door is a luxury. It's special enough for an occasion, casual enough to make me a regular. The menu is diverse, the food always well prepared. I have many personal favorites, from the piccolo fritto to the chicken piccata. The pate makes a great supper and the pana cotta a not-too-sweet finish. Service is always friendly and capable. What's not to love?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found on line as I searched for a restau ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Found on line as I searched for a restaurant close to the Muny. It was fabulous. Friends loved trying a new place and I've already recommended to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to atlas on a number of occ ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been to atlas on a number of occasions and the food, cocktails and service has always been consistently great. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After dining at Atlas repeatedly for the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

After dining at Atlas repeatedly for the last few years, we were very disappointed with the time we had to wait to order drinks and also for our food to arrive. The last couple of times we have been there have been disappointing. Once the food was mediocre and this last time the slowness of the kitchen was unacceptable. Our waitress was very nice and did a good job but the kitchen was not putting out the food.

One of our party told the waitress that although he didn't blame her, he wouldn't be returning to dine there again.

Actually, the food was outstanding, but the wait time was not worth it. It will be quite a while before we return - if ever. It is such a shame because we have generally enjoyed dining at Atlas over the years.

Karen Frahm

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The pre-mixed dinner was great and servi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The pre-mixed dinner was great and service vertical attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are never disappointed at Atlas. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We are never disappointed at Atlas. The combination of great food and atmosphere without distracting glitz and glamor cannot be overlooked. Free parking is appreciated, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the gnocchi for an appetizer and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had the gnocchi for an appetizer and it was VERY good! My wife had the lobster ravioli and she loved it. I had the strip steak and it was ok. The quality of the beef was ok but the red wine reduction seemed to smother the steak instead of compliment it. I'd definitely go back though. I've seen reviews that the service at times wasn't the best but we had a different experience. The wait staff was very attentive and polite. We really enjoyed our experience at Atlas!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Menu was br ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Menu was broad enough to appeal to most without too many choices. Presentation of both appetizers and meal was very well done. Because the menu tended French I expected small serving sizes but was pleasantly surprised more than adequate servings. Wine menu was also above average.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was amazing! Celebrated a birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was amazing! Celebrated a birthday and was first time at Atlas. Perfect evening, could not have been better- everything was fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful Service excellent Enj ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was wonderful

Service excellent

Enjoyable evening

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bistro feel with efficient and friendly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Bistro feel with efficient and friendly service and enjoyable meal. Featured shrimp dish was delicious. I am particular about rack of lamb and my meal was spot on. Exact temperature I requested and the ratatouille was quite good as well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as Always

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Once again another excellent experience at Atlas. Great food, wine and service

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy taking friends here beca ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We always enjoy taking friends here because most of them didn't know it was there. Always an enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was great...!!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Our server was great..we were in a bit of a hurry as we were off to the Fox Theatre. The salmon was excellent... the dinner special with salad, entree and dessert included is a nice option.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Small gem!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Outstanding food, stellar drinks. Has a nice quiet atmosphere. The house made pasta is great. Fish specials always worth trying.

Superb bartender. The desserts are excellent as well. Very solicitous staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I both ordered the fish sp ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

My friend and I both ordered the fish special, grilled flounder, plus a starter salad and glass of Chardonnay. The fish was perfectly grilled and so delicious. Not many chefs can produce such a marvelous finish to a fish so delicate as flounder.

My first visit back to Atlas since its re-opening.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is and continues to be one of my fa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is and continues to be one of my favorite restaurants in STL. Best mussel in town. You can find it in the appetizer menu. Trout was awesome as well. As far as the house cocktails go try French 75 or The Atlas Manhattan. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Escellent food, Noisy atmosphere

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was excellent attested to over three different entrees by four people. The noise level was horrendous thanks to a very large group of individuals that appeared to have been imbibing before arrival. The service was marginal and inattentive. The bill contained errors and, I must say, it is the first time I have been charged $2.50 for three blue cheese olives in a "dry" martini that the mixologist must have thought "dry" meant extra volume of dry vermouth and half the gin.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, Service Could Have Been Better

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We just didn't get good service. It wasn't really any one person's fault, but we didn't receive everything we ordered and what we did get took long enough to make us late to our next appointment. I'm sure others have had good experiences though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Just okay!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our meal at Atlas was nothing special. We have dined here previously and always had a great meal. It was probably what we choose which was the Lamb Ragoo and the Sirloin. Also our server seemed to have many tables. Our wait time for food was also longer than we have waited before.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A date with friends

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We love Atlas. The food, service and ambience remind me of a European gem. It was a rainy night when we visited. Hail had made some diners late. For the first time I didn't think my meal was as good as usual. The meatballs were dry. The sauce was thick. This is the only time I have been disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Once Great, Now Good...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I used to live in the neighborhood, and Atlas was always a great place to take friends to dinner. For my wife's birthday, we decided to revisit our old haunt. It was still good, but not as good as we remember. We were surprised to see that the menu hasn't really changed much from 6 years ago. That said, the food was still good, and we will definitely be returning again soon.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner at Atlas

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I think this was our third visit to Atlas. Have never been disappointed. There are a few outside tables too, Atlas is on a quiet side street. We will be back. Would visit more often if we lived closer. Prices are reasonable

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to Atlas and wha ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

This was my first visit to Atlas and what a surprise gem in a fantastic neighborhood. I tried the prix fixe menu (what a steal!). The orange carrot soup (with just a touch of ginger), the salmon and the vanilla bean Panna cotta were exquisite. Perfectly prepared, the flavors were well balanced and remarkable and the textures were very much an adventure for the tongue. Well done, Atlas. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quicky before an event

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We only had 45 minutes before we had to leave for an event. The waiter helped my friend with the menu because she is gluten free. He had the meal out in record time but we did not feel rushed. Waiter was attentive but not pushy. The soup of the day was excellent, the tuna carpaccio was great, and the crème brule delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Manhattan & good service

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Best Manhattan I have ever had! Remembered it for days!

Dining partner was running late and we had limited time. She asked that I order for her. Menu did not have exactly what she was looking for, but waiter suggested a substitute that worked perfectly.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fabulous meal!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We have never gone wrong at Atlas! Everything was fabulous - no complaints at all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great meal

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had early dinner before a show on a Saturday night. From appetizer to entree everything was great. Had several different glasses of wine and selections were better than average for wine by the glass. Will be back soon

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A hidden gem. Barely noticeable as you p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

A hidden gem. Barely noticeable as you pass by, this restaurant has much to offer and at a very affordable price. The service was friendly and the food was fantastic. Favorite dishes included the bread pudding appetizer and the panna cotta for dessert. Ahi tuna was good and the meatballs were fresh and flavorful. Servings were generous but not over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Little Gem just north of Forest Park

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

My husband and I had a delicious romantic dinner at Atlas on a Saturday night. We had reservations, which was fortunate, as it was full! The service was wonderful (coat check!) and the wine was very good. The tuna tartare appetizer was amazing. My only regret is that we do not live in St. Louis so it will be a long while before we get back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have been here many, many times and have ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Have been here many, many times and have always had great meals, etcr

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

atlas found

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Very good atmosphere and cuisine. Service was outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit in many years. Server was t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

First visit in many years. Server was terrific. Food was very good, though over salted. Table for two was very small and the restaurant was not busy (midweek). It would have been better to seat us at a 4-top (given the petite dimensions of the table for two) and away from the kitchen.

Still, I would return and just ask for a restrained hand with salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I was disappointed Sat. night. My duck c ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I was disappointed Sat. night. My duck came out warm and underdone. The polenta was cold in some places and just warm in others. If this had been my first time at the restaurant I may not have come back. It was a rare occurrence, but still unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Excellent dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The chef went out of his way to prepare and off -menu item for me and it was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Nouveau American Cuisine

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Atlas is a wonderful, urban neighborhood spot. My husband and I are perhaps a bit spoiled, as we live around the corner from it -- though sadly we don't stop in nearly as often as we should. The food is less French than it once was, but it is still very very good nouveau American. Everything we tasted, from the mussels to the beet salad to the lamb shank to the delicious dessert, was superb. Service was fantastic and, for a Saturday night, it wasn't as crowded as it might have been. Recommend for special occasions or dates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Neighborhood Restaurant

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Excellent restaurant. My friend who lives in the neighborhood recommended this place. Now I am the one who recommends it to all my friends. Took 2 friends last Sat night and now they are converts. And they are willing to drive 65 miles just to go back and eat there. Great food, excellent service. Great place to eat and visit with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I have eaten at this restaurant for over a dozen years and have never had a complaint. Servers are outstanding as is the food. All meals are moderately priced with delicious sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Party of 3 celebrating a birthday. We had to wait for our table, even with a reservation. Service at bar was a little lax while we waited, but host was excellent at keeping us posted about table availability. Waitress was very helpful and efficient. Food was excellent. Am anxious to return to try other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Long-time favorite.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Consistently good food coupled with warm friendly service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.