Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Atlas Restaurant

4.5
273 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
European
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Where classic European flavors mingle with warm smiles and exemplary service. We are conveniently located in the West End of St. Louis, just minutes away from Washington University, The Fox, Powell Hall and the Muny.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
European, Italian, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 367-6800
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bryan Carr, Executive Chef & Alberto Ahuatzi
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our dining room comfortably seats 65, or can be used for standing receptions of 100 or more guests. Our space is available for private parties during non-business hours, making it ideal for business luncheons, brunch events, or evening gatherings on Sundays or Mondays. Please contact us to arrange your private event.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Andrew Moore: (314) 367-6800
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Belt
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have a parking lot across from our restaurant, along with a parking lot at the corning of Pershing and Belt. There is also many spots available via street parking infront of and near or restaurant.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 273 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5based on all time ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.2
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and service have always been superb. Will truly miss this St Louis gem.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2017

A bit disorganized. Small restaurant, with close seating, making it difficult to have any kind of private conversation. Food was so-so, not impressed. Service was acceptable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2017

I probably should have expected less for Valentines Day. Traffic delays caused us to arrive and be seated 5 min late for our 5:45 pm reservation. The waiter took about 5 minutes to greet us and take our drink orders. Noticing that the restaurant was fairly full, but very few tables had been serviced, we tried to flag down our waiter to place our dinner order so that we would be able to eat and make it to our show in time.
We weren't able to get our waiters attention, so we placed our order with the host, and shared that information with our waiter when he brought our drinks. We also told him we had tickets to a 7:30 show. It was a full 10 minutes before we got our appetizer, so I asked the waiter to please bring our dessert out with dinner. Dinner took forever- we almost asked for it to go, but we were able to eat. No dessert was brought out- we asked for it to go. The food was well prepared and flavorful . The service left much to be desired.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food but slow service. Served a warm bottle of "Sancerre" which we asked to be chilled, but still not served at the correct temperature. Then the waiter insisted on pouring it all out before the first course was finished? Did he expect us to buy another poorly presented bottle?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was good. It's a shame they are closing next week

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2017

The six of us really enjoyed our evening. The food was outstanding and the service very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Another lovely dinner, sorry the restaurant is closing. Any chance you can share that yummy meatloaf recipe?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2017

We are sad that Atlas is closing. It has been a neighborhood favorite of ours for years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2017

It may truly be a shame that atlas has closed down. From the particularly attentive waiting staff to the mouthwatering dishes, atlas will be truly missed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 8, 2017

A wonderful, reliable restaurant- good food in a cozy atmosphere with good service. It should live on fo years, not be closing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 7, 2017

Everything was delicious, as usual. The mussels were perfectly cooked and so was my steak!! I have no complaints at all. There was a gentleman at the bar (manager?) who seemed a little unfriendly and did not provide the same gracious service that our waiter did, but other than that it was perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2017

This is a long-time favorite spot full of special memories. We're sorry it's closing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2017

This restaurant has been consistent in quality of food, service and value for many years. I was so sorry to learn that they will be closing in two weeks....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Love this restaurant. Please don't close down! Always a friendly staff and the food is consistently good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

We have enjoyed Atlas for many years. It had also been our favorite. We will miss it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful again! Such a shame that is is being forced to close - I hope they move some of the menu staples like the duck to their other restaurant.

I will be getting some of the tarragon vinaigrette to go before they close!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Unfortunately this great restaurant is closing next month. I will miss Atlas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2017

I have been going to Atlas for years and it is always fantastic. Food, service, ambiance, wine, cocktails are all the best. On recent visit, the duck with creamed cauliflower and braised cabbage were over the top as were the lamp chops with ratatouille.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2017

Rainbow Trout was delicious. Yummy warm bread and salted butter. I'd order it again.Menu seemed limited. The garnishment on the plate was disappointing fingerling potatoes were hard and the carrot souffle was slimy and weird. Was a little expensive. Service was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2017

It's too bad this place is closing! We hadn't been there recently but it was just as good as we remembered!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. My only complaint is that there were two couples at a nearby table at which both the men wore their hats throughout the meal. One had on a baseball hat and the other had on a knit hat. If the restaurant feels uncomfortable about a dress code the least they could do is insist that men remove their hats at the dinner table. Appalling bad manners to do this and offensive to the other diners.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2017

Atlas has been a wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Great food and service.

Here is the problem: Atlas is closing. The restaurant's landlord has determined to raise the rent to a point that it makes no sense to keep the restaurant open. It is a shame.

We will miss Atlas very much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve at Atlas was fantastic! The prix fixe menu was absolutely full of amazing options and I had the best steak ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

My girlfriend and I went on a nice date to celebrate New Years and everything was perfect from the food to the service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2016

We had five adults and a well behaved nine year old. Celebrating his Dad's birthday. Something on the menu for everyone!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 24, 2016

Not worth the money. The value is just not there. The food is not up to par with other restaurants and the ambiance and location is not worth the cost. The entree selections were not in the style of the food that I was expecting, it was over salted, small - very small portion. The dessert was also not what I expected.

It's your choice to try it or not but I didn't finish my food because it was not good. Would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2016

It was fun for a casual dinner with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2016

A wonderful neighborhood place to relax and enjoy a drink and delicious food in an atmosphere that invites quiet conversation in warm surroundings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2016

Atlas is a hidden gem in the West End. The service is outstanding and the food delicious. I can't say enough positive things about this lovely restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Atlas has excellent range of menu items. We have eaten there many times and always found the cuisine first rate and the service excellent.. We highly recommend it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2016

Atlas is an excellent restaurant. We had a delicious meal from their Prix Fixe Menu. Three courses for $28. The mushroom soup was delicious and we all enjoyed the fresh mushroom taste and smooth finish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Great food, always consistent. So many choices on the menu that we'd like to try. Service is always kind, friendly and never over the top. Reservations always honored. Even those of us who are over 60 can hear and we much appreciate that!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

As always, food was very good and the service great.
We love to go to Atlas for dinner before the Muny or a show at The Fabulous Fox...just let them know when we need to be finished and they always come through.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything was wonderful except for the small two person booth. It felt a little claustrophobic . We will return the food and service were top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2016

Terrific as always. Warm, friendly service. Food expertly prepared. Been one of our favorites since we moved to STL..

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 29, 2016

Excellent duck pate appetizer, duck entrée, wine, and wonderful service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Excellent service ! We went to Atlas on Saturday night after Thanksgiving to take a break from turkey left overs- As always they delivered. Trout was cooked perfectly and the duck breast was very flavorful- the cauliflower purée that cane with the doc was out of this world!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Delicious! Beet Salad and Crusted Steak was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2016

We are not native St. Louisans, however this was our second visit. First time was very good, so we came back.

Food is very, very good. Gnocchi is outstanding. We (party of four) loved all our meals, including the meatballs, amish chicken, gorgonzola sirloin, and the vegetarian fettucine.

The apple-cinnamon planters punch and the Atlas Manhattan were both winners. Wine menu has some unique and interesting (i.e. quite good) options.

Location and room are nothing special. Service was fine.

Menu is not large, but is very diverse. Anyone could find something to love here.

We will return on a future trip to St. Louis.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 19, 2016

It was ok at best. Mushroom app was very tasty. My wife's Gorgonzola encrusted steak was good. My lamb chop came out so undercooked that the waitress said "that's not good. You can't eat that." By the time it came back from the kitchen, my wife was done eating. We spent a date night watching each other eat dinner.

Unimpressed.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7