Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

AvenueAvenue
(285)
$$$$
American | Clayton, Midtown
Booked 8 times today
Brasserie by NicheBrasserie by Niche
(1518)
$$$$
French | St. Louis, Downtown
Booked 25 times today
The Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWEThe Tavern Kitchen & Bar - CWE
(195)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Central West End, Downtown
Booked 24 times today
Gamlin Whiskey HouseGamlin Whiskey House
(522)
$$$$
Steak | St. Louis, Downtown
Booked 43 times today
Scape American BistroScape American Bistro
(1296)
$$$$
American | Central West End, Downtown
Booked 32 times today
Charlie Gitto's 'On the Hill'Charlie Gitto's 'On the Hill'
(2880)
$$$$
Italian | The Hill, Downtown
Booked 49 times today
PublicoPublico
(342)
$$$$
Mexican | The Loop, Midtown
Booked 13 times today
801 Chophouse - St. Louis801 Chophouse - St. Louis
(946)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Clayton, Midtown
Booked 45 times today
The Melting PotThe Melting Pot
(1361)
$$$$
Fondue | University City, Midtown
Booked 35 times today
Randolfi'sRandolfi's
(212)
$$$$
Italian | The Loop, Midtown
Booked 6 times today
Café NapoliCafé Napoli
(1079)
$$$$
Italian | Clayton, Midtown
Booked 11 times today
Maggiano's - St. LouisMaggiano's - St. Louis
(4901)
$$$$
Italian | Richmond Heights, Midtown
Booked 35 times today
JuniperJuniper
(301)
$$$$
Southern | Central West End, Downtown
Booked 8 times today
801 Fish - STL801 Fish - STL
(392)
$$$$
Seafood | Clayton, Midtown
Booked 16 times today
SardellaSardella
(165)
$$$$
Italian | Clayton, Midtown
Booked 16 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.54mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About Permanently Closed - Atlas Restaurant

This restaurant is permanently closed. Where classic European flavors mingle with warm smiles and exemplary service. We are conveniently located in the West End of St. Louis, just minutes away from Washington University, The Fox, Powell Hall and the Muny.

5513 Pershing
St. Louis, MO 63112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Belt

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 367-6800

Website:
http://www.atlasrestaurantstl.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot across from our restaurant, along with a parking lot at the corning of Pershing and Belt. There is also many spots available via street parking infront of and near or restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr, Executive Chef & Alberto Ahuatzi

Private Party Facilities:
Our dining room comfortably seats 65, or can be used for standing receptions of 100 or more guests. Our space is available for private parties during non-business hours, making it ideal for business luncheons, brunch events, or evening gatherings on Sundays or Mondays. Please contact us to arrange your private event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Moore: (314) 367-6800

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
272 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and service have always been superb. Will truly miss this St Louis gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A bit disorganized. Small restaurant, with close seating, making it difficult to have any kind of private conversation. Food was so-so, not impressed. Service was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Good food but slow service. Served a warm bottle of "Sancerre" which we asked to be chilled, but still not served at the correct temperature. Then the waiter insisted on pouring it all out before the first course was finished? Did he expect us to buy another poorly presented bottle?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I probably should have expected less for Valentines Day. Traffic delays caused us to arrive and be seated 5 min late for our 5:45 pm reservation. The waiter took about 5 minutes to greet us and take our drink orders. Noticing that the restaurant was fairly full, but very few tables had been serviced, we tried to flag down our waiter to place our dinner order so that we would be able to eat and make it to our show in time.
We weren't able to get our waiters attention, so we placed our order with the host, and shared that information with our waiter when he brought our drinks. We also told him we had tickets to a 7:30 show. It was a full 10 minutes before we got our appetizer, so I asked the waiter to please bring our dessert out with dinner. Dinner took forever- we almost asked for it to go, but we were able to eat. No dessert was brought out- we asked for it to go. The food was well prepared and flavorful . The service left much to be desired.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was good. It's a shame they are closing next week

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The six of us really enjoyed our evening. The food was outstanding and the service very good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Another lovely dinner, sorry the restaurant is closing. Any chance you can share that yummy meatloaf recipe?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We are sad that Atlas is closing. It has been a neighborhood favorite of ours for years.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 9, 2017

A wonderful, reliable restaurant- good food in a cozy atmosphere with good service. It should live on fo years, not be closing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Everything was delicious, as usual. The mussels were perfectly cooked and so was my steak!! I have no complaints at all. There was a gentleman at the bar (manager?) who seemed a little unfriendly and did not provide the same gracious service that our waiter did, but other than that it was perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is a long-time favorite spot full of special memories. We're sorry it's closing.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This restaurant has been consistent in quality of food, service and value for many years. I was so sorry to learn that they will be closing in two weeks....

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Love this restaurant. Please don't close down! Always a friendly staff and the food is consistently good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have enjoyed Atlas for many years. It had also been our favorite. We will miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful again! Such a shame that is is being forced to close - I hope they move some of the menu staples like the duck to their other restaurant.

I will be getting some of the tarragon vinaigrette to go before they close!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Unfortunately this great restaurant is closing next month. I will miss Atlas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have been going to Atlas for years and it is always fantastic. Food, service, ambiance, wine, cocktails are all the best. On recent visit, the duck with creamed cauliflower and braised cabbage were over the top as were the lamp chops with ratatouille.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Rainbow Trout was delicious. Yummy warm bread and salted butter. I'd order it again.Menu seemed limited. The garnishment on the plate was disappointing fingerling potatoes were hard and the carrot souffle was slimy and weird. Was a little expensive. Service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

It's too bad this place is closing! We hadn't been there recently but it was just as good as we remembered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. My only complaint is that there were two couples at a nearby table at which both the men wore their hats throughout the meal. One had on a baseball hat and the other had on a knit hat. If the restaurant feels uncomfortable about a dress code the least they could do is insist that men remove their hats at the dinner table. Appalling bad manners to do this and offensive to the other diners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Atlas has been a wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Great food and service.

Here is the problem: Atlas is closing. The restaurant's landlord has determined to raise the rent to a point that it makes no sense to keep the restaurant open. It is a shame.

We will miss Atlas very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve at Atlas was fantastic! The prix fixe menu was absolutely full of amazing options and I had the best steak ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My girlfriend and I went on a nice date to celebrate New Years and everything was perfect from the food to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had five adults and a well behaved nine year old. Celebrating his Dad's birthday. Something on the menu for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not worth the money. The value is just not there. The food is not up to par with other restaurants and the ambiance and location is not worth the cost. The entree selections were not in the style of the food that I was expecting, it was over salted, small - very small portion. The dessert was also not what I expected.

It's your choice to try it or not but I didn't finish my food because it was not good. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was fun for a casual dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A wonderful neighborhood place to relax and enjoy a drink and delicious food in an atmosphere that invites quiet conversation in warm surroundings.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Atlas is a hidden gem in the West End. The service is outstanding and the food delicious. I can't say enough positive things about this lovely restaurant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Atlas has excellent range of menu items. We have eaten there many times and always found the cuisine first rate and the service excellent.. We highly recommend it

Tags: Outstanding Value
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Atlas is an excellent restaurant. We had a delicious meal from their Prix Fixe Menu. Three courses for $28. The mushroom soup was delicious and we all enjoyed the fresh mushroom taste and smooth finish.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, always consistent. So many choices on the menu that we'd like to try. Service is always kind, friendly and never over the top. Reservations always honored. Even those of us who are over 60 can hear and we much appreciate that!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always, food was very good and the service great.
We love to go to Atlas for dinner before the Muny or a show at The Fabulous Fox...just let them know when we need to be finished and they always come through.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was wonderful except for the small two person booth. It felt a little claustrophobic . We will return the food and service were top notch!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Terrific as always. Warm, friendly service. Food expertly prepared. Been one of our favorites since we moved to STL..

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent duck pate appetizer, duck entrée, wine, and wonderful service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service ! We went to Atlas on Saturday night after Thanksgiving to take a break from turkey left overs- As always they delivered. Trout was cooked perfectly and the duck breast was very flavorful- the cauliflower purée that cane with the doc was out of this world!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Delicious! Beet Salad and Crusted Steak was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We are not native St. Louisans, however this was our second visit. First time was very good, so we came back.

Food is very, very good. Gnocchi is outstanding. We (party of four) loved all our meals, including the meatballs, amish chicken, gorgonzola sirloin, and the vegetarian fettucine.

The apple-cinnamon planters punch and the Atlas Manhattan were both winners. Wine menu has some unique and interesting (i.e. quite good) options.

Location and room are nothing special. Service was fine.

Menu is not large, but is very diverse. Anyone could find something to love here.

We will return on a future trip to St. Louis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was ok at best. Mushroom app was very tasty. My wife's Gorgonzola encrusted steak was good. My lamb chop came out so undercooked that the waitress said "that's not good. You can't eat that." By the time it came back from the kitchen, my wife was done eating. We spent a date night watching each other eat dinner.

Unimpressed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is excellent but the service is atrocious.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.