About Atlas Restaurant

5513 Pershing
St. Louis, MO 63112
View Larger Map

Where classic European flavors mingle with warm smiles and exemplary service. We are conveniently located in the West End of St. Louis, just minutes away from Washington University, The Fox, Powell Hall and the Muny.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Belt

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 367-6800

Website:
http://www.atlasrestaurantstl.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot across from our restaurant, along with a parking lot at the corning of Pershing and Belt. There is also many spots available via street parking infront of and near or restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr, Executive Chef & Alberto Ahuatzi

Private Party Facilities:
Our dining room comfortably seats 65, or can be used for standing receptions of 100 or more guests. Our space is available for private parties during non-business hours, making it ideal for business luncheons, brunch events, or evening gatherings on Sundays or Mondays. Please contact us to arrange your private event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Moore: 3143676800

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant
Atlas Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atlas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
Neighborhood Gem
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Central West End ›

Neighborhood Gem (45)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quiet, intimate setting. Casual and ele ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Quiet, intimate setting. Casual and elegant at the same time. Food beautifully prepared, not overly fussed with - identifiable.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service. Ha ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Had a wonderful fish dish and some excellent appetizers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most tender and succulent park chip l ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Most tender and succulent park chip l have eaten in a very long time. Everything was high quality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and a let of fun. St ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a great meal and a let of fun. Staff was very accommodating for our large party of 7!

Drinks were fast and refreshing. Waiter was attentive and knowledgable. Course country pate was delicious. Presentation was spot on and the lamb chops was delicious. We had not been since before the Carr's purchased the Resturant a few year ago but we will plan to return again.

Thanks

Stephen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The gorgonzola encrusted sirloin was del ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The gorgonzola encrusted sirloin was delicious. Friends had the pasta with meatballs, fettucine, and duck dishes and all were happy. Desserts were good as well. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Would recommend this as a relaxing spot for a casual dinner with friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Atlas is always excellent value. Very g ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Atlas is always excellent value. Very good straight forward preparation at very reasonable prices. We've always enjoyed the neighborhood setting and lack of pretension.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have been going here for a number of yea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Have been going here for a number of years. Always quality food and service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service, food and location all good. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service, food and location all good. The only turnoff was a moldy smell when you enter the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Unfortunately, the restaurant was entire ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Unfortunately, the restaurant was entirely full at 6 PM. This taxed both the serving staff and the kitchen and resulted in a long delay for our meal. Management recognized the problem and "comped" our drinks. We shall try to make earlier reservations on Friday and Saturday nights.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The August 26 Atlas dinner was scheduled ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The August 26 Atlas dinner was scheduled to celebrate the 88th birthday of a dear cousin. Other than my wife and I, the group of six were not Atlas regulars. All were blown-away by the excellence of the food and the attentiveness and professionalism of our server, James.

Our overall experience could not have been better.

A sincere thank you to the entire staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Three of us went to Atlas for dinner. T ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Three of us went to Atlas for dinner. Two of us had been there before and thought it would be a good time to return; the other one hadn't ever been there. All of us were very pleased with our drinks, our meals, the service, and the atmosphere. It's a very nice place to sit and talk over a fine dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Atlas has been on our list to try for se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Atlas has been on our list to try for several years. The food was pretty good but not spectacular. Our server (Laura) was one of the worst we ever had: rude, no service skills and no charisma whatsoever. It's a real shame as all the other staff was very friendly. Perhaps she had a bad day but we would request a different section if we ever went back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great resto with great food and service. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great resto with great food and service.....will go back soon......high quality

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

every time we eat there it is terrific w ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

every time we eat there it is terrific which is why we go so often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the intimacy of Atlas. Our servic ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love the intimacy of Atlas. Our service was attentive and appropiately interactive with the serving team. Look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place. The food was delicious, p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely place. The food was delicious, particularly the corn risotto. It has a relaxing, comfortable ambiance. I would definitely recommend Atlas to anyone looking for a place with good food and a great ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant for dinner. Unfortunate ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Nice restaurant for dinner. Unfortunately my encrusted steak was overdone and the encrust soggy . Steak tasted as if it had been tenderized and was mushy. Others (3) did better with their dinners. Service was good and prompt. Servers should not pick up plates until all are done eating ( a universal complaint these days)

This was our first time there and will give them another try as we know the owners reputation is quite good and the steak may have been an aberration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always loved this place, but service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always loved this place, but service was very slow this time, over 45 min to get our first course, and not because it was crowded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

I had not been to Atlas for several year ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I had not been to Atlas for several years and was quite pleased with the food and service. Sadly it is a noisy atmosphere and with the tables so close together, private conversation is difficult. My friend from out of town was running late and the staff actually called me to see if I wanted to keep my reservation which was wonderfully accommodating.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service is always pleasant. Gets cr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The service is always pleasant. Gets crowded before opera and symphony so make reservations. It can be noisy. Because the food is always very good, we go there for birthdays. The atmosphere is pleasant, soft lighting, enough space between tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Every time we go to Atlas for pre-opera ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Every time we go to Atlas for pre-opera dinner it's better than the last. Our out-of-town guest raved.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the atmosphere. The strip steak w ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I love the atmosphere. The strip steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were greeted and seated as soon as we ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were greeted and seated as soon as we arrived. The waiter was attentive but not overbearing. The food was excellent...mixed green salad, salmon and creme brule.

Fast becoming a favorite for us, especially before The Muny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of our favorite St. Louis restaurant ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

One of our favorite St. Louis restaurants. Food is consistently delicious. We all enjoyed the 3 course dinner. Caprese salads fresh and wonderful, veggie pasta was delicious as was sliced sirloin and creme brûlée. Love this little place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very well prepared food. Not overly prep ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very well prepared food. Not overly prepared for show. Very fresh produce and seafood. Refined atmosphere but not stuffy. Easy to have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I frequent Atlas often. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

My husband and I frequent Atlas often. It is our go to place before the symphony. However, this last meal was disappointing. I ordered from the prix fixed menu. I received the wrong entree and the server made it seem an imposition to change it to the correct one. I kept the wrong entree since I was dining with a friend and did not want to delay dinner or make a scene. To make matters worse, the bleu cheese encrusted sirloin I was served, was grisly, tough, dry, and over cooked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

Dine here often and the food and service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Dine here often and the food and service are first rate in a relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having Atlas within walking distance of ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Having Atlas within walking distance of my front door is a luxury. It's special enough for an occasion, casual enough to make me a regular. The menu is diverse, the food always well prepared. I have many personal favorites, from the piccolo fritto to the chicken piccata. The pate makes a great supper and the pana cotta a not-too-sweet finish. Service is always friendly and capable. What's not to love?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found on line as I searched for a restau ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Found on line as I searched for a restaurant close to the Muny. It was fabulous. Friends loved trying a new place and I've already recommended to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to atlas on a number of occ ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We have been to atlas on a number of occasions and the food, cocktails and service has always been consistently great. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

After dining at Atlas repeatedly for the ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

After dining at Atlas repeatedly for the last few years, we were very disappointed with the time we had to wait to order drinks and also for our food to arrive. The last couple of times we have been there have been disappointing. Once the food was mediocre and this last time the slowness of the kitchen was unacceptable. Our waitress was very nice and did a good job but the kitchen was not putting out the food.

One of our party told the waitress that although he didn't blame her, he wouldn't be returning to dine there again.

Actually, the food was outstanding, but the wait time was not worth it. It will be quite a while before we return - if ever. It is such a shame because we have generally enjoyed dining at Atlas over the years.

Karen Frahm

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

The pre-mixed dinner was great and servi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The pre-mixed dinner was great and service vertical attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are never disappointed at Atlas. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We are never disappointed at Atlas. The combination of great food and atmosphere without distracting glitz and glamor cannot be overlooked. Free parking is appreciated, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the gnocchi for an appetizer and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had the gnocchi for an appetizer and it was VERY good! My wife had the lobster ravioli and she loved it. I had the strip steak and it was ok. The quality of the beef was ok but the red wine reduction seemed to smother the steak instead of compliment it. I'd definitely go back though. I've seen reviews that the service at times wasn't the best but we had a different experience. The wait staff was very attentive and polite. We really enjoyed our experience at Atlas!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Menu was br ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. Menu was broad enough to appeal to most without too many choices. Presentation of both appetizers and meal was very well done. Because the menu tended French I expected small serving sizes but was pleasantly surprised more than adequate servings. Wine menu was also above average.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was amazing! Celebrated a birthday ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was amazing! Celebrated a birthday and was first time at Atlas. Perfect evening, could not have been better- everything was fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful Service excellent Enj ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food was wonderful

Service excellent

Enjoyable evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bistro feel with efficient and friendly ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Bistro feel with efficient and friendly service and enjoyable meal. Featured shrimp dish was delicious. I am particular about rack of lamb and my meal was spot on. Exact temperature I requested and the ratatouille was quite good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent as Always

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Once again another excellent experience at Atlas. Great food, wine and service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy taking friends here beca ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We always enjoy taking friends here because most of them didn't know it was there. Always an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.