About Atlas Restaurant

5513 Pershing
St. Louis, MO 63112
View Larger Map

Where classic European flavors mingle with warm smiles and exemplary service. We are conveniently located in the West End of St. Louis, just minutes away from Washington University, The Fox, Powell Hall and the Muny.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
European, Italian, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday-Sunday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
Belt

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 367-6800

Website:
http://www.atlasrestaurantstl.com/

Parking Details:
We have a parking lot across from our restaurant, along with a parking lot at the corning of Pershing and Belt. There is also many spots available via street parking infront of and near or restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Bryan Carr, Executive Chef & Alberto Ahuatzi

Private Party Facilities:
Our dining room comfortably seats 65, or can be used for standing receptions of 100 or more guests. Our space is available for private parties during non-business hours, making it ideal for business luncheons, brunch events, or evening gatherings on Sundays or Mondays. Please contact us to arrange your private event.

Private Party Contact:
Andrew Moore: (314) 367-6800

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Please join us for a special 3 course prix fixe menu for $68 per guest including a Valentine's toast.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atlas Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Casual (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fireplace (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
255 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Rainbow Trout was delicious. Yummy warm ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Rainbow Trout was delicious. Yummy warm bread and salted butter. I'd order it again.Menu seemed limited. The garnishment on the plate was disappointing fingerling potatoes were hard and the carrot souffle was slimy and weird. Was a little expensive. Service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's too bad this place is closing! We h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

It's too bad this place is closing! We hadn't been there recently but it was just as good as we remembered!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful experience. My only ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. My only complaint is that there were two couples at a nearby table at which both the men wore their hats throughout the meal. One had on a baseball hat and the other had on a knit hat. If the restaurant feels uncomfortable about a dress code the least they could do is insist that men remove their hats at the dinner table. Appalling bad manners to do this and offensive to the other diners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Atlas has been a wonderful neighborhood ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Atlas has been a wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Great food and service.

Here is the problem: Atlas is closing. The restaurant's landlord has determined to raise the rent to a point that it makes no sense to keep the restaurant open. It is a shame.

We will miss Atlas very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New Year's Eve at Atlas was fantastic! ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve at Atlas was fantastic! The prix fixe menu was absolutely full of amazing options and I had the best steak ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I went on a nice date ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My girlfriend and I went on a nice date to celebrate New Years and everything was perfect from the food to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had five adults and a well behaved ni ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had five adults and a well behaved nine year old. Celebrating his Dad's birthday. Something on the menu for everyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not worth the money. The value is just n ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Not worth the money. The value is just not there. The food is not up to par with other restaurants and the ambiance and location is not worth the cost. The entree selections were not in the style of the food that I was expecting, it was over salted, small - very small portion. The dessert was also not what I expected.

It's your choice to try it or not but I didn't finish my food because it was not good. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

It was fun for a casual dinner with frie ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It was fun for a casual dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

A wonderful neighborhood place to relax ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A wonderful neighborhood place to relax and enjoy a drink and delicious food in an atmosphere that invites quiet conversation in warm surroundings.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Atlas is a hidden gem in the West End. T ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Atlas is a hidden gem in the West End. The service is outstanding and the food delicious. I can't say enough positive things about this lovely restaurant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Atlas has excellent range of menu items. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Atlas has excellent range of menu items. We have eaten there many times and always found the cuisine first rate and the service excellent.. We highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atlas is an excellent restaurant. We ha ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Atlas is an excellent restaurant. We had a delicious meal from their Prix Fixe Menu. Three courses for $28. The mushroom soup was delicious and we all enjoyed the fresh mushroom taste and smooth finish.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, always consistent. So many c ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, always consistent. So many choices on the menu that we'd like to try. Service is always kind, friendly and never over the top. Reservations always honored. Even those of us who are over 60 can hear and we much appreciate that!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fun, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, food was very good and the se ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always, food was very good and the service great.

We love to go to Atlas for dinner before the Muny or a show at The Fabulous Fox...just let them know when we need to be finished and they always come through.

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful except for the ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Everything was wonderful except for the small two person booth. It felt a little claustrophobic . We will return the food and service were top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrific as always. Warm, friendly servi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Terrific as always. Warm, friendly service. Food expertly prepared. Been one of our favorites since we moved to STL..

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Fun, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent duck pate appetizer, duck entr ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Excellent duck pate appetizer, duck entrée, wine, and wonderful service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service ! We went to Atlas on ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service ! We went to Atlas on Saturday night after Thanksgiving to take a break from turkey left overs- As always they delivered. Trout was cooked perfectly and the duck breast was very flavorful- the cauliflower purée that cane with the doc was out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious! Beet Salad and Crusted Steak ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Delicious! Beet Salad and Crusted Steak was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are not native St. Louisans, however ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We are not native St. Louisans, however this was our second visit. First time was very good, so we came back.

Food is very, very good. Gnocchi is outstanding. We (party of four) loved all our meals, including the meatballs, amish chicken, gorgonzola sirloin, and the vegetarian fettucine.

The apple-cinnamon planters punch and the Atlas Manhattan were both winners. Wine menu has some unique and interesting (i.e. quite good) options.

Location and room are nothing special. Service was fine.

Menu is not large, but is very diverse. Anyone could find something to love here.

We will return on a future trip to St. Louis.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It was ok at best. Mushroom app was very ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was ok at best. Mushroom app was very tasty. My wife's Gorgonzola encrusted steak was good. My lamb chop came out so undercooked that the waitress said "that's not good. You can't eat that." By the time it came back from the kitchen, my wife was done eating. We spent a date night watching each other eat dinner.

Unimpressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food is excellent but the service is ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is excellent but the service is atrocious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My husband and I celebrated our 33rd ann ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 33rd anniversary at Atlas. It is evident that the chef gives full attention to every part of the meal, from the salad through dessert--all was exquisite. Even the complimentary glass of champagne was one of the best I've ever had! The wait staff was friendly, but never imposing. An all around enjoyable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is consistently very good. Never been ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It is consistently very good. Never been disappointed . I usually have fish which is GREAT. Service very professional, and price s are reasonable. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

everything was excellent as it has been ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

everything was excellent as it has been for the past 20 years that I have been dining at Bryan Carr restaurants. Outstanding soup always.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband, Scott and I love love love A ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My husband, Scott and I love love love Atlas! I'll be dining at your place with my girlfriends next month and cannot wait! Thanks to all the staff and nice owners! Laura Lock

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the bouillabaisse, it wasn't on th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I had the bouillabaisse, it wasn't on the menu but was a special. It was outstanding. My wife, the birthday girl, was envious.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed the visit, second tim ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the visit, second time in recent months. Good food, good service, ABLE TO TALK!! not possible in many restaurants.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great experience. Good food, and service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Great experience. Good food, and service.

Parking can be difficult, but after 7.30 should not be any problem.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite surprised! We chose it from Open ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Quite surprised! We chose it from Open Table and saw the rating and the location and said why not. We weren't disappointed. Nice atmosphere and simple surroundings that didn't distract us from the food.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Historic, Bar Seating, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Quiet, intimate setting. Casual and ele ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Quiet, intimate setting. Casual and elegant at the same time. Food beautifully prepared, not overly fussed with - identifiable.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good with unique dishes

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Always good with unique dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service. Ha ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Had a wonderful fish dish and some excellent appetizers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most tender and succulent park chip l ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Most tender and succulent park chip l have eaten in a very long time. Everything was high quality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal and a let of fun. St ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a great meal and a let of fun. Staff was very accommodating for our large party of 7!

Drinks were fast and refreshing. Waiter was attentive and knowledgable. Course country pate was delicious. Presentation was spot on and the lamb chops was delicious. We had not been since before the Carr's purchased the Resturant a few year ago but we will plan to return again.

Thanks

Stephen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The gorgonzola encrusted sirloin was del ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The gorgonzola encrusted sirloin was delicious. Friends had the pasta with meatballs, fettucine, and duck dishes and all were happy. Desserts were good as well. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Would recommend this as a relaxing spot for a casual dinner with friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Atlas is always excellent value. Very g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Atlas is always excellent value. Very good straight forward preparation at very reasonable prices. We've always enjoyed the neighborhood setting and lack of pretension.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Have been going here for a number of yea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Have been going here for a number of years. Always quality food and service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service, food and location all good. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service, food and location all good. The only turnoff was a moldy smell when you enter the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.