About Atlantic Fish

761 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Atlantic Fish has been a favorite of both locals and tourists alike, offering classics like award-winning New England Clam Chowder and Maine Lobster to more adventurous items such as our signature New England Lobster Feast ( 2 lb. Steamed lobster served with clam chowder, mussels, steamers, corn on the cob, and new potatoes). The understated and timeless decor of the restaurant immediately draws the attention of those who enter. The dining room reminds one of a classic cruising vessel, complete with detailed woodwork and murals reflecting the spirit of the sea. Tailored to intimate dining with cozy booths throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm,

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm, Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 267-4000

Website:
http://www.atlanticfishco.com/

Parking Details:
Located next door at Abe & Louies after 5:00 pm - $17.00

We validate for the Prudential Center Garage for a fixed rate of $14.00 ( the fixed rate is only valid for 4 hours, if you surpass the 4 hour time frame it is full price)

Public Transit:
Green Line Copley Plaza
Back Bay Commuter Rail

Executive Chef:
Danny Levesque

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Lobster Ravioli
2 Lb Lobster
Award Winning New England Clam Chowder
Cioppino
Pan Seared North Atlantic Salmon
Oysters
Pan Seared Sea Bass with Lobster Raviolis
Jumbo Shrimp
Strawberry & Cream Dessert
lemon tart
Grilled Scallop Salad
Steamed Mussels
Atlantic Cod
Fried Calamari
Lobster Fra Diavolo
Shrimp Scampi
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Shrimp And Scallop Risotto
Tuna Tartare
Peppermint Ice Cream Cake
Hazelnut Infused Spiced Cranberry Old Fashioned
Bread
New England Lobster Feast
Blackened Lemon Sole
Clam Chowder
Chilled Seafood Platter
Seared Ahi
Lobster
lobster roll
Effin Huge Shrimp, I Feel Like Fred Flintstone!
Huge Shrimp!
3 Pound Lobster
Fried Eastern Belly Clams
Appetizer
Mussels, shrimps, swordfish & scallops linguini pasta for lunch.
Manhattan
Mahi Mahi
Orange Cake
Lobster Claw
Crab Melt
Fish Chowder
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Dark and Stormy
Lobster Quesadilla
Seafood Tower
Blackened Mahi Mahi With Pineapple Salsa And White Rice
Seafood Salad
Vegetables goodies mixed with seafood goodies, very simple yet delicious
Mussels
fried oysters
New England Combination Plate
Shellfish Tower
Sancerre wine
Lump crab and littleneck clams
Maine lobster plate
crab cake
Blood Orange Martini
Grilled Medley Of Seafood
New England Clam Chowder
Lobster Thermidor
strawberry shortcake
Fish and Chips
Crab Stuffed Haddock
Lemon Sole
Costa Rican Mahi
Cappuccino
Scallop Salad
Katama Bay Oysters
Bluepoint Oysters
Lobster and Buffalo Mozzarella Omelet
Pan-Seared Sea Bass
Shirmp Cocktail
Happy Birthday Dessert
Chocolate Berry Tartelette
Lump Crab Cake Melt
Salmon
Flourless Chocolate Cake w/ Beets
Whoopie Pie
Surf & Turf
Crab & Artichoke Dip
Crab Cake Benny
Prime Rib
Blackened Haddock
Fresh Grilled Swordfish
Espresso Flourless Chocolate Cake
Pan Seared Wild Alaskan Halibut

Private Dining

Our private dining room is perfect for that small gathering, business meeting or special occasion. Our private dining room comfortably accommodates up to 22 people.

Atlantic Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (247)
fit for foodies (208)
good for groups (159)
See All
great for lunch (136)
great for outdoor dining (128)
neighborhood gem (127)
hot spot (114)
romantic (95)
notable wine list (78)
vibrant bar scene (62)
great for brunch (47)
kid-friendly (29)
late-night find (26)
scenic view (17)
Sort By:
Newest
5030 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I had a late lunch/early ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I had a late lunch/early dinner before going to a Red Sox game. The food was very good as always. One of our favorite restaurants in Boston! My only disappointment was that when I made the reservation, I wrote we were celebrating my husband's birthday but it was never mentioned while we were there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter Jason was delightful as was e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter Jason was delightful as was everything else. Would definitely come back and recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocrity for such a famous restaurant.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Mediocrity for such a famous restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We were in Boston for our anniversary an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

We were in Boston for our anniversary and were happy to find this restaurant for fresh seafood and fine dining. We met friends for drinks and had one server at a table near the bar. She was extremely pleasant and attentive even though the restaurant and bar were very busy. When our friends left we moved to a great table near the windows and had a different server for dinner. Our waiter was helpful with everything from the wine selection to the oyster selection. One of the sides we ordered was served wrong, but they were quick to bring the correct item when we asked. The seafood was extremely fresh and cleanly presented (Seafood Platter). The sides were flavorful and nicely sized. We enjoyed the wine and beer selections throughout the meal. I can see us choosing Atlantic Fish next time we're in Copley for dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great selection of fish, as well as no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

A great selection of fish, as well as non-fish items, overlooking Boylston Street - great people watching, especially from the outdoor tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Atlantic Fish several tim ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Atlantic Fish several times already. The food is consistently good, way above "average good". The service is also professional and efficient. What always turns me off is a lack of character and ambience during dinner hours. I would expect that such restaurant, with white clothes on the tables, proper utensils, a proper wine serving etiquette, etc would want to have a little bit better dress-code requirements for dinner clientele. Nothing really extra conservative; just "Smart-Casual" would be sufficient. It is not really proper to have upscale dinner (with the upscale prices to match) being surrounded by people wearing gym clothing, or even jogging clothing - coming straight from jogging to the restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was absolutely incredible, got the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was absolutely incredible, got the clam chowder, lobster ravioli, and lobster roll. Honestly couldn't tell you which of the three I liked the most, all were A+

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super nice waiter. Food was marginal: ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Super nice waiter. Food was marginal: Clam Chowder was milky; Surf lobster was tiny & overcooked (tough) & turf filet steak was fatty & tough. Overpriced for the quality of food & noise levels too loud to have a nice conversation. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

We had 8:15 reservations showed up at 8: ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had 8:15 reservations showed up at 8:10 the host told us we would have at least a twenty minute wait and we could wait by the door. While waiting I noticed someone else coming in after us approaching the host and slipping him a twenty

The host then immediately had them seated.

After a twenty minute wait we were seated at a tiny table after another wait the waiter came and for some reason took our order without looking at us

The food was good but the experience was unpleasant

I guess it would of been better if I slipped the host a twenty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

The food was so good we went back for lu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was so good we went back for lunch the next day. If you love seafood, this Is definitely a must when you're in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service and ambiance all amazing! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food, service and ambiance all amazing! When visiting Boston in the future would absolutely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always excellent

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Always excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood and service! Would defini ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great seafood and service! Would definitely recommend and go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Fresh, well prepared and cos ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Fresh, well prepared and costs in line with expectations. The San Francisco Cioppino was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I have never been disappointed with my e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have never been disappointed with my experiences in Atlantic Fish. The food is excellent, always fresh. The service is top notch, have been going for years and the service has always been consistently terrific. Love the lobster ravoli, the salads with grilled shrimp or scallops, the lemon sole....... it's all good!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great meal here on our first tr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a great meal here on our first trip to Boston. The food was amazing and the service was fantastic. Steak was cooked perfectly, and the lobster ravioli melted in my mouth. We also had desert, Key Lime pie and the peppermint ice cream pie (unbelievable). This place is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Popular, busy location. Food was tasty, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Popular, busy location. Food was tasty, loved the Lobster Ravioli appetizer and split the San Francisco Cippuno entree, very generous portion when shared. Crispy crab and corn spring rolls were average. Enjoyed the evening. Reservation was for 9:45pm on a Friday, it was packed!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Fabulous as always. Superb food and serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous as always. Superb food and service. This is my favorite place in Boston to take my wife.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, good food and drinks. Tab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great service, good food and drinks. Tables are a bit close together.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our meal was very good. The catfish was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was very good. The catfish was fresh and well prepared as was my wife's chicken picatta One of best in Boston for fresh fish. However, the tuna tartare was tasteless. Service was very good

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waiter was great and the food was de ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our waiter was great and the food was delicious! The drinks were also very good. We love coming to Atlantic Fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to the Rest. To Dinner Lobster and ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We go to the Rest. To Dinner Lobster and he say doesn't have when the service is good but it's the especially and we not found Lobeter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

This is our favorite restaurant in Bosto ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Boston, it did not disappoint once again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelkent clam chowder, great service, m ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excelkent clam chowder, great service, main dish special of crab crusted haddock was terrific. Best seafood in Boston

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Easy to see why Atlantic Fish is a Bosto ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Easy to see why Atlantic Fish is a Boston Classic. Attractive dining area indoors and delightful al fresco dining in good weather. Excellent menu suits all tastes, including vegan and those not into seafood (pity). Starting with delicious complimentary bread and perfectly made cocktails, we chose lobster bisque and clam stew for our first course...both were rave worthy! For our main course we both settled on the filet mignon, mine with lobster tail and his with shrimp...both done to absolute perfection. Exceptional service (our Dominican server was delightful and made our evening perfect) and prices that won't break the bank make this the spot not to miss in Boston's lovely Back Bay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Captain platter was horrible. Clams not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Captain platter was horrible. Clams not fresh, home made fries not crisp at all. The waiter didn't agree.... he compensated one main course. Very poor price quality. A disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was great and our waiter was per ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was great and our waiter was personable and engaging with us. The food was excellent and the cocktails were even better. If you want a taste of Boston in the Back Bay neighborhood this is the place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My dish was not cooked and the staff was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My dish was not cooked and the staff was difficult to track down to bring the dish back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Great place. One of my girlfriends favor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great place. One of my girlfriends favorite for lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience. The food was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a great experience. The food was very good, as was the service. This is definitely a little higher end, and very busy. The staff seemed a bit overwhelmed at times, but considering how packed the place was, it's understandable. If you have no patience, you might get a bit annoyed with the wait, but to us, it was worth it. It was our first time in Boston, and there are literally hundreds of restaurants. We'd love to try as many as we could, but if we're back, we'd certainly come here again! Oh, and be sure to make reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fish very good, rest of meal varied. Se ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fish very good, rest of meal varied. Service just ok. Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was our 2nd time dining at Atlantic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our 2nd time dining at Atlantic Fish. Both times our meals were delivered in a timely manner and the food was delicious. Good quality, good quantity, nice presentation. The wait staff is great and so are the ladies at the bar. On both occasions we sat at the bar while waiting for our table and was served by a very delightful young lady by the name of Ashley. She was very pleasant with a wonderful personality. We would definitely recommend making reservations. It is a very busy restaurant and I can see why.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous evening. The chilean sea bass ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fabulous evening. The chilean sea bass was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not told of specials of the day . wa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Was not told of specials of the day .

waitress and chef not on the same page

Dish was missing some shell fish brought to table after dessert was served wasnt even offered coffee or tea with dessert

Big disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We went over for some seafood last night ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went over for some seafood last night and enjoyed the ambiance and most of the food. Service was so so... They were busy. The lobster bisque was okay but the lobster roll was great. I got it served warm with butter! My friend got the shrimp scampi which was also pretty good. I didn't care for the side of Brussel sprouts I got. They were very flavorless. It had no seasoning and adding salt and pepper didn't help. I only ate one or two pieces. It was busy and the server didn't really come back to check on us more than once just to tell me that the Brussel sprouts were taking longer to cook and they arrived when I was almost finished with my meal anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Our waiter Jay was very nasty (bad day ? ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our waiter Jay was very nasty (bad day ?, but we are not guilty of that). If you are a paying top dollars for an meal, you expect a much better experience. If you want a top seafood experience in Boston go for Island Creek Oyster Bar!!! Hands down!! No second intentions.

And as I set near the cuisine, we ( my daughter, my wife and myself) saw 3 (!) flies on the windows of the cuisine!!!! Help!!!

And worst part, the food was average, nothing especial

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Busy place, great food, friendly staff!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Busy place, great food, friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant, but fairly expensive for what ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Pleasant, but fairly expensive for what you get. My two crab cakes looked more like 1 1/2 not very large ones; meal overall was more like a lunch "value" type portion that I would have expected to pay substantially less for ( and I'm a woman with a modest appetite).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

It was only ok my drink was standard and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was only ok my drink was standard and the appetizer tuna tar tar was sub standard bit my meal was delicious as well as dessert and the server was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.