About Atlantic Fish

761 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Atlantic Fish has been a favorite of both locals and tourists alike, offering classics like award-winning New England Clam Chowder and Maine Lobster to more adventurous items such as our signature New England Lobster Feast ( 2 lb. Steamed lobster served with clam chowder, mussels, steamers, corn on the cob, and new potatoes). The understated and timeless decor of the restaurant immediately draws the attention of those who enter. The dining room reminds one of a classic cruising vessel, complete with detailed woodwork and murals reflecting the spirit of the sea. Tailored to intimate dining with cozy booths throughout.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm,

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 11:30pm, Saturday: 3:30pm - 11:30pm, Sunday: 3:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Fairfield

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 267-4000

Website:
http://www.atlanticfishco.com/

Parking Details:
Located next door at Abe & Louies after 5:00 pm - $17.00

We validate for the Prudential Center Garage for a fixed rate of $14.00 ( the fixed rate is only valid for 4 hours, if you surpass the 4 hour time frame it is full price)

Public Transit:
Green Line Copley Plaza
Back Bay Commuter Rail

Executive Chef:
Danny Levesque

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Celebrate all weekend long. Thank the man who made it all happen by treating him to quality time over a quality meal.

Private Dining

Our private dining room is perfect for that small gathering, business meeting or special occasion. Our private dining room comfortably accommodates up to 22 people.

Atlantic Fish Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boston / New England
Seafood
Boston
Most Booked
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

special occasion (234)
fit for foodies (202)
good for groups (146)
See All
great for lunch (132)
neighborhood gem (112)
romantic (97)
hot spot (82)
notable wine list (80)
great for outdoor dining (62)
great for brunch (59)
vibrant bar scene (52)
late-night find (23)
kid-friendly (18)
scenic view (10)
Sort By:
Newest
4872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The location was great, the service was ...

Dined 4 days ago

The location was great, the service was excellent. I found everything to be quite delicious, but not particularly unique. Standard fish and seafood fare in a wonderful location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my wife here for her birthday din ...

Dined 5 days ago

I took my wife here for her birthday dinner during a couples weekend in Boston. The food was excellent and the service outstanding. Get a reservation as they are always busy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The selection of fi ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was excellent. The selection of fish was outstanding. The staff were knowledgeable and very efficient.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. Service terrific. Food outs ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great place. Service terrific. Food outstanding!

food4
ambience4
service3

The salmon was good but not too extraord ...

Dined 6 days ago

The salmon was good but not too extraordinary. The lobster was OK. I loved the fresh and warm bread.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Best service and seafood

Dined 6 days ago

Having dined here a few years ago, there was a reason we came back. Our server, Nicholas, did a great job. The timing of the meal ran smoothly and his recommendations were right on. The seafood was fresh, and well prepared and tasty with interesting presentation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good downtown spot, but you need a table

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

We had a great meal here. My only complaint was that when we arrived 15 minutes early we couldn't get a drink. Like all the restaurants like this, people eat at the bar. There was not a seat or even elbow room to get a drink. The bar has become additional, first come first serve, seating. we walked down a few places to get a drink and came back for our dinner. Our food was good, the service was great and the buzz lively. I'd go back.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

ambiance doesn't match the food

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Everyone loves Boston seafood and this place does it well -- unfortunately, the crowded seating, noise level and lack of ambiance detract from what otherwise would be a terrific meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous meal. Our server was v ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We had a fabulous meal. Our server was very informative about the specials and how the food was prepared. The cioppino was excellent .

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with very good for in a nice ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great place with very good for in a nice atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went here on vacation to get some Boston ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went here on vacation to get some Boston seafood. We both enjoyed our meals, my husband had lobster, I had fish and chips. The food was very fresh and well prepared. We had a reservation and were seated quickly. The waiter was nice and gave good service. The atmosphere was busy and professional, everything was clean. We had a very pleasant dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal was amazing and the service wa ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This meal was amazing and the service was wonderful!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoy the wonderful spot on Boylston. ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We enjoy the wonderful spot on Boylston. The food and service is of the highest quality even during the busiest of periods.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our experience was excellent here. Beaut ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Our experience was excellent here. Beautiful restaurant, excellent food, professional staff. There were some issues but they were resolved quickly. Great place for outside patio, bar and a nice indoor restaurant for special occasions

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I was disappointed in the food. The spin ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I was disappointed in the food. The spinach side was actually inedible. Overall, really wondered why this place is so popular. Would never go back.

food5
ambience4
service4

Been to AF four times, but this was the ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Been to AF four times, but this was the first for an evening occasion. I was disappointed with the bar as we went early for a drink and the bar was full of diners with a narrow path used by wait staff between three bar tables. While being moved left and right and right to left we jumped the open bar table when vacated only to be told we could not enjoy our martinis there since we had a table reserved. Being accommodating we exited the table and gave it up to a "walkin" who sat alone for 20 minutes waiting for a mate while we continued to bounce with the wait staff. Great food, bad bar scene, sorry.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best place for seafood. Everything o ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The best place for seafood. Everything on the menu is extremely fresh. The calamari is the best I have ever had. The service is incredible.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

i expected a better service

Dined on May 13, 2016

I ordered soup: first they bring me a a different than ordered , i was hungry and started to eat , however they come and took away from me??? after they bring soup which I ordered , but it was cold.... i am not going to comeback there and would not recommend to other people.

food1
ambience4
service2

The last three times I have gone to AF m ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The last three times I have gone to AF my meal has been terrible. I honestly say I can't go back.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

In one word. ..overrated. The clam cho ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

In one word. ..overrated. The clam chowder was bland, crab cakes were so so. Lobster ravioli and fried shrimp were good, but the tartar sauce could be better. Bread is fantastic. Service was extremely slow and we waited some time between courses to order the next. For example we were done with appetizers before the server returned to take our dinner order. We reserved this restaurant 3 weeks in advance but were disappointed as they did not have sufficient waitstaff to handle the crowd they had. It seems as though they are frequently full on weeknights so they should have been prepared. Anyway, we didn't feel that it lived up to its reputation.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We went there following friend's recomme ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went there following friend's recommendation. The restaurant use very good and fresh ingredients. The clam chouder was wonderful. Good oysters as well. The main course was however less impressive. We ordered three different main meals and the fish was either overcooked or the food was far to oily with oil running on the plate like soups. Overall, the cooking skill could be further polished which combined with fresh ingredients could make wonders.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atlantic Fish, a must add to your dinning list!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife out to dinner for Mothers Day while in Boston area visiting. This was rated as one of the Top 10 restuarants to visit and we were not disappointed. Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Blue Point ousters oysters were exceptional. Atlantic Fish is a must for your dining list!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was lovely!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day and they treated the mothers well with roses and chocolate-covered strawberries. Great service, food presentation, and quality food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Went for Mother's Day dinner. The servic ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day dinner. The service was excellent; the waiter brought each of the moms a long-stemmed rose and complimentary chocolate-dipped strawberries for dessert!

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for our Mothers Day celebrati ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great spot for our Mothers Day celebration. We enjoyed the cold seafood platter. Excellent array of oysters, shrimp, crab meat. Grilled salmon was delicious, as well as the halibut. Our server was attentive and pink roses for all Moms a nice touch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time at Atlantic Fish, for Mother's day dinner. Restaurant ran seamlessly on a very busy day. Food and service were exceptional and I'm not easily impressed. Overall experience very positive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service2

Our fish was delicious and fresh, though ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Our fish was delicious and fresh, though the side dishes seemed a little off - like the French fries looked as if they had been fried earlier and refried and the broccoli was nearly raw. Lobster ravioli and clam chowder were both so good. Service was extremely disappointing, especially considering it was Mother's Day. We were sitting outside and I felt like several of the outside tables were just getting completely neglected. Our waiter had nothing to say to us, never got his name or any suggestions on the menu, didn't bring us bread, just not interested in serving us. They were giving flowers out to all the moms which was so cute and my mom was excited about, but our waiter never brought one to us. I felt bad for my mom and at the end had to ask one of the other gentlemen if I could have a flower to give her....shouldn't have to be like that! I had a good experience overall but was disappointed by these aspects, I had high expectations for Atlantic Fish Co and was excited to try it for a special occasion.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Mothers Day Chaos

Dined on May 8, 2016

As we do every year, we reserved a table for mothers day at the Atlantic Fish. At 1:30, the place was mobbed. We specifically requested a special table so were were prepared to wait. The host did everything he could to keep us informed of the progress. The kitchen was very backed up and unfortunately it reflected in the quality of the food. We have been to AF many times and our meals have always been exceptional. Overall the taste was bland and nothing to speak of. Like I said, I think if they weren't so rushed, it would probably have been different.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Server M Little was excellent! Food ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our Server M Little was excellent! Food was superb and served piping hot! A very vast menu served in a timely manner! Lots of specials! Wine list is awesome! Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

I'm trying to understand the inportance of me noting on OpenTable that it was my anniversary when it wasn't acknowledged at all from the staff.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Wonderful

Dined on May 7, 2016

I dined at Atlantic Fish Company with my fiance, my brother, and my mother for Mother's Day weekend dinner on Saturday evening, May 7th. Our food and service was absolutely incredible. Our server was very kind and helpful, never hovering but she was always there with a friendly and genuine smile when we needed something. Our food was delicious beyond explanation. I had the tuna tar tar appetizer and my mom had the fried goat cheese salad. We were already in heaven with our appetizers! We also enjoyed a bottle of Tavistock Sauvignon Blanc which was delightful as well. For entrees my mom had the fried clams, my fiance had the chicken picatta, my brother had the filet mignon, and I had the lobster ravioli. We all LOVED our dishes! I must say, I have never had something so good as the lobster ravioli. The sauce had more flavor in it than anything I have ever tasted. The lobster and mushrooms were cooked to perfection, and the pasta for the ravioli was cooked perfectly as well. We will be back as soon as we can get there! Also, I requested to have our server give a couple extra roses to my mom for Mother's Day and the hostess let me know they could do that at no extra charge. It made my mom's whole weekend. She will never forget it! Thank you so much for an amazing dining experience. Atlantic Fish Company is my new favorite restaurant and I will be recommending it to everyone I know!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Always a great time!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Always a great time!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great menu, and dishes were well executed. Excellent service, great staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and great food.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful service and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Among the worthy in Boston

Dined on May 6, 2016

As a 2 dollar sign restaurant, I half expected it to be more touristy, and casual especially coming in as a local. I was pleasantly surprised. The food and staff were excellent. Glad I made a reservation for a Friday lunch. Lobster roll was huge and tasty!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner with my Ph.D.

Dined on May 6, 2016

I was out celebrating my student's PhD degree. We started off with a dozen oysters that were outstanding. Then we each had mixed shellfish, which again was outstanding. The food at Atlantic Fish is second to none.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good here!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great food, prepared the way you want it and consistently good service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood. Attentive and friendly s ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great seafood. Attentive and friendly server.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on May 4, 2016

Appetizer, crab dip, was cold and sent back.No one seemed to care. No apology forthcoming. Service was slow and 2 course meal took nearly 2 hrs. Main course was ok, but not what I expected. Ran out of time and missed dessert. Service has definitely gone South....

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My last visit was disappointing because ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

My last visit was disappointing because my swordfish steak entrée was minuscule and was cooked well done instead of the medium I had requested.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.