Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Athena Restaurant

4.6
766 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Greek
Perfect For:
  • Authentic
  • Casual
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Greek
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 655-0000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Adams
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 766 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.5
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Tasty greek food, our waiter seemed a little harried, but he was nice enough. Excellent value!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Athena is just one of the better Greek town eating places around. The services is great. The inside, between the glass wall and the water is sooooo relaxing, you feel like you sitting at a cafe on a small island in Greece.

I had the Roasted Lamb and it was FANTASTIC. The other members of my party had everything from fish to lamb and everyone loved it. The wait staff was attentive but not intrusive and we sat and talked for a few hours.

Just a WONDERFUL experience. My favorite place, in good or bad weather.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Not the best service. Have had better greek food elsewhere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

The restaurant is everything one expects in Greektown. The food is reasonably priced and the portions are enormous. The facility is huge and attractive but could use a good bit of deep cleaning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Service was good; food was good. Was there for Greek Easter and loved that we were given red eggs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was our first time to Greek town in CHI, food was great. Was our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Great place, delicious food and drinks, excellent service.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Traveled with 3 other ladies 1 1/2 hours to come to city to see a play and then dinner after. I myself have been to Athena several times before, but I do not think I will go back. Very disappointed and my friends who had never been to Greek Town, nor eaten Greek food were NOT impressed. Service was terrible. Appetizer was brought out after a wait, set down and waiter left. Did not take our order until coming back some time later! I asked a busboy to find our waiter as we never saw him again after he took our order and we sat for a LONG time waiting for dinner. Busboy went to another waiter and after speaking with him that man came over and asked if he could help us. I said we would all like another drink, our second of the evening, and I asked him to find our waiter and find our dinner! I do wish I had timed our wait time, but did not and don't really know how long we waited, but all four of us knew it was way too long. When food came it was not hot, barely warm and my Shish K Bob was lying in some disgusting watery substance that was luke warm at best. Vegetables consisted of 2 peels of onion and 1 very small squashed piece of tomato.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food (we had rack of lamb and mousakas -- both were excellent) and service were very good, but it is a very noisy restaurant and it wasn't even that crowded when we were there. This might be fine for a group, but if you're looking for a quiet dinner, look elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Our family eats our Easter Dinner here pretty much every year for over a decade. Even though Greek Easter is usually on a different day they always have wonderful Easter specials. It’s the best taramosalata in Greek town for sure. Nice that there is free valet parking since older disabled family members are with us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Environment is pleasant and food is standard in Greek Town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Service was excellent! Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Awesome as always. Excellent service, delicious food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Great Greek food in a fun, festive setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Thank you Jimmy and Salvador for a great Sunday Lunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Excellent fresh and well prepared ingredients. Exemplary service- not rushed but we were out of there in a l little over an hour. Efficient indeed. Great for any occasion and especially in the summer with their courtyard arboretum space. Greek Authenticity Buy not over the top either.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great place with great food! Really enjoyed our meal. Recommend two appetizers and one entree for a couple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

One of my favorite places. Excellent service, with delicious food and drinks.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

The food was great (as always). The service left something to be desired. Our waiter would disappear for long periods of time and was only prompt to deliver the check and retrieve the signed copy. We likely won't dine in again. Carry-out only.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Wonderful time food was wonderful service excellence reflection nice ambience very light and airy well recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Service was excellent as always and the food was delicious as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Restaurant always delivers on flavorful food, impeccable service, and an affordable menu. Specials are always inventive and creative and staff is warm and welcoming. You always feel like family at Athena's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent service, delicious food and drinks terrific place

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

The food and atmosphere is always amazing, but their service has been going downhill for a while. We had a reso and still waited forever to be seated, all while other ppl walking in were seated right away. It took forever to get menus, to get water, to ever get refills, to get our order taken. I felt like we were stuffed into a corner and forgotten about. This has happened the last two times I've been here and it is unacceptable!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Our server was outstanding. The food was delicious and priced very reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Wonderful attentive waiter. Beautiful dining area and bathrooms. Best chicken kabobs ever

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Terrific as always, excellent service delicious food and beverage.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Nice restaurant and good service. However we were very disappointed by the food, since the rating is so high we expected much more quality food than we got. Salad were not great. They used iceberg lettuce, Which is really bad for a Greek restaurant and the dressing tasted like it was a store bought one.
We ate the grilled fish for main and that was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We go to Athena after visiting Shakepeare Theater. We go with friends . We always enjoy it. Its predictable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The staff - under the leadership of Jim Alexander - could not be more friendly and professional!
Food is tasty, fresh and reasonable!
Ambiance very pleasant!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

I think the staff was busier than they were expecting. Silverware and napkins were scarce (took 4 requests before we finally got it). Octopus was disappointing, saganaki was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Saganaki is the greatest! I like the chicken lemonati... wasn’t as good as it usually is but will continue to get it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Outstanding service and food was delicious. Prices very reasonable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I have been to Athena several times and am never disappointed. The atmosphere is casual but very nice. The food is always excellent. Two of us had the comibnation platter and the leftovers were even better the next day. Portions are generous and everyone brought home a "doggy bag". Will return ... great atmosphere and excellent food. A bit noisy but was still able to talk with family.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 8, 2018

too many other fabulous places would never go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Always great food and atmosphere. Enjoy dining room because so bright and feels like you are in Greece.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

I only found this amazing restaurant on my 11th trip to Chicago, our server was beyond outstanding and the food plentiful and delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Came here to celebrate my daughters birthday. She loves the place. I find it average. Service is good but not great. Food is good but not great. During summer with the patio open, it is a GREAT place to share a bottle of wine and appetizers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Enjoyed the young violinists. They were fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We tried this for the first time on a recent weekend trip. The olives and saganaki were great and fun! Best yet, my partner said the chicken was the best he ever had in his life!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20