About Athena Restaurant

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (84)
good for groups (68)
neighborhood gem (60)
See All
great for lunch (50)
special occasion (40)
kid-friendly (31)
fit for foodies (30)
romantic (24)
scenic view (17)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

nice evening witth friends in garden are ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

nice evening witth friends in garden area. good food and servicem

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Every time I visit Athena I enjoy it mor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Every time I visit Athena I enjoy it more! They welcome us as regulars and make us feel at home! They continue to upgrade every aspect of the restaurant and their outdoor space is one of the very best in the city!!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and the atmosphere.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love the food and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been going to this restaurant for ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been going to this restaurant for over 15 years and Athena just keeps getting better and better. The outdoor patio and courtyard transport you to Greece. The food is always amazing, especially the charred items like the Octopus appetizer and the pork chops. The gyros and saganaki are must haves for any group. If you only go during Greek Easter when they're slammed you're missing the best experience of Athena where their food, service and ambiance really shine.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent, very good value for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was excellent, very good value for downtown - great portions. My friends loved it. The only catch was the roof was open and it was smolderingly humid . Not much in the way of relief unless a breeze came by which it didn't. Might be nice to turn on some AC on those days.

Otherwise, great fun and food. Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We have been to Athena many times. As a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been to Athena many times. As always the food, service and ambiance were top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in for lunch to catch up with a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Stopped in for lunch to catch up with a friend visiting from out of town. We had great service, never felt rushed (we kept chatting and forgetting to decide), but he still attentive without being bothersome. Food was tasty and the patio seating with umbrellas made sitting outdoors very nice without having to bake in the sun.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chicago's Athena is one of my favorite r ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chicago's Athena is one of my favorite restaurants on Earth. I grew up in a town where the restaurants were primarily owned and run by the Greek community and I learned to adore Greek food and Greek flavors. Everything at Athena is magnificently flavored and absolutely delicious. I can't imagine a visit to Chicago without at least one meal there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, beautiful ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, excellent service, beautiful decor, but so loud I couldn't even hear the person next to me let alone across the table. The stone walls and floors are stunning, but the volume is worse than a rock concert. No exaggeration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in the atrium and the cei ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were seated in the atrium and the ceiling leaked all over my son and our table. We had to move mid meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

The open air dining is the best!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The open air dining is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, outstanding. Biggest piece o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always, outstanding. Biggest piece of Salmon I have ever been served. The outdoor garden is magnificent!! Free parking and great prices. Saganaki is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoying having dinner at Athe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We always enjoying having dinner at Athen.

Everyone is as friendly as you could ask for.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had a meal here every time I've bee ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've had a meal here every time I've been to Chicago and it never disappoints! We dined by the fountain on the patio and it was so relaxing. The braised lamb fell off the bone and the village salad was delicious. My teenagers enjoyed the Pastitsio and the Sea bass. We all gave Athena 5/5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome patio and appropriate for anythi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Awesome patio and appropriate for anything from business meetings to family functions with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The patio is awesome. Going from sunset ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The patio is awesome. Going from sunset to nighttime was really cool, with the lighting and waterfall creating a wonderful ambience. A very memorable evening for me and my family.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dependable, moderately priced restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Dependable, moderately priced restaurant with great food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food service could have been bette ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food service could have been better. Never got refills for water or ice tea. Waiter apologized for bus boy. Excellent food. Love this place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

It was very nice No complaints

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was very nice

No complaints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Athena is one of our favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Athena is one of our favorite restaurants - it just keeps getting better -- one of the best outdoor spaces in the city

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience for a mid summer nights d ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great ambience for a mid summer nights dream. Thoroughly enjoyed the quick service and the authenticity of the experience. We felt that we had traveled far away from our home without the cost of air fare.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The atmosphere incredible - the food del ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The atmosphere incredible - the food delectable. The service attentive to r every need. My cousin's were visiting from Sweden - they will never forget the beautiful waterfall and ivy located in the out door area. The ambience was breathtaking and so comfortable! All ages and races can find a piece of heaven at Athena's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great patio and covered when needed. Del ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great patio and covered when needed. Delicious food and good service too

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love Athena but did not have a good ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Athena but did not have a good experience on our last visit. My spanikopita was inedible; the service was slow and it was very hot in the atrium. The slow service did give us time to visit but did not enhance the experience.

I will be back but it will be awhile before I return. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

It was awesome . It was my husband and I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was awesome . It was my husband and I 33rd Anniversary... really enjoyed it .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant. On this occasio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I love this restaurant. On this occasion I was not a fan of the seating, as we were by the bar and people kept hitting off our chairs...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Athena Restaurant is great for outside d ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Athena Restaurant is great for outside dining. They have a large waterfall wall to make you feel like you are waterside in Greece! Went with two other couples for a friend's get-together and they loved it, too. Service was spot on, with no delays. Food was very good and portions were ample -- after all that crusty bread (so good) and an appetizer, we all needed take-home boxes!

On thing: we wish Athena management would allow " couple checks," as some other restaurants do. When we asked, our waiter told us one check per table. Couples were seated next to each other, so we didn't think it would be confusing for the waiter....

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Good prices.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food. Good prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been coming to Athena for years. M ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I've been coming to Athena for years. My favorite in Greek Town.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I left Chicago last year to retire, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

When I left Chicago last year to retire, I ordered food from Athena for my party, and everybody loved it. So when I came back for Printers Row LitFest to work at Allium Press booth, I got a group of 10 of us to go out. It was great. Plenty of selection and reasonable prices and very good service. I love greek food, I could just eat appetizers but I had the combination plate after appetizers and it was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bday dinner

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The dos was delicious and it was beautiful in there.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Alfesco Spot

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Athena has a great al fresco garden...it is like eating outside in Greece. The food is just OK, as there is a better spot in Greektown that nails it foodwise. I've read reviews from folks saying they are from Greece, and the food is comparable. To that I say no-way. Not when you serve over-cooked and tough octopus and pink tomatoes.

We will say that the yogurt dessert is very very good and authentic. The outdoor garden rocks it...they really have the best one in Greektown. It is a good place to sit and relax and have a good Greek wine. I'd still go back, but for authentic, I go to Greek Islands.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Good for tourissts

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

we invited friends who were visiting Chicago. It was a beautiful day to dine outside and enjoy the City.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Patio dinning

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great outdoor patio in Greek town ! Good food and reasonable prices .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for large groups. Great outdoor se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great for large groups. Great outdoor seating and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dinner. Loved the food and outdoor patio.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The dinner was excellent as was the service. I would definitely recommend especially in the summer months. Loved the outdoor patio dining.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my go-to for Greek dining

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

have been going there for y-e-a-r-s .... food and service and ambience always top notch

my faves: egg-lemon soup, taramosalata, dolmades as either appetizer or entree, and any lamb entree

lovely space, especially the indoor outdoor dining

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost Yia

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The best, most authentic Greek I have had in a long time.The portions are large so go with a group so you can share different dishes. The Lima beans were not the best , rice stuffed grape leave were outstanding.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't miss Athena. It's the best restaur ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Don't miss Athena. It's the best restaurant in Greektown. Everything from appetizers to dessert is excellent. The sea bass and lamb are outstanding. The main dining is beautiful and a gem in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tsatziki is the best, along with the Ath ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Tsatziki is the best, along with the Athenian chicken!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.