Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Athena Restaurant

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Authentic (29)
Casual (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fun (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Business Meals (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Family Style (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (8)
Modern Decor (6)
Romantic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Fireplace (5)
Cozy (5)
Scenic View (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Was going to Neil diamond concert and book it on open table for first time. Like it slot the outdoor sesting

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Great. Love this restaurant. Valet parking!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful environment! The remodel is outstanding, very open, airy, comfortable. Great service and of course great food!

This is a great addition to Greek Town!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Molecular Gastronomy, Healthy, Bar Seating, Vegan, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food as always! Our "go to" restaurant in Greektown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Absolutely
Love this restaurant! The best Greek food I have ever had! Great service and atmosphere! Mmmmm!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always GOOD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Enjoyed the food. Waiter was very nice and knowledgeable. Nice open air dining

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service and the food was wonderful. So much food and the prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food,beautiful restaurant great value! Service was not good, our waiter seemed to forget everything! He Brought our wine after all of our meals were finished, and after being reminded theee times.....aside from him perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great Greek food with beautiful outdoor atrium. Loved my saganaki, lamb and greek salads. Service is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Athena is a favorite of mine. The ambience is beautiful and the food is always consistantly excellent. The valet parking makes it convient and the service is always excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Healthy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome meal at Athena! We appreciated the excellent service and the outstanding authentic Greek food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food, service and ambiance were excellent. A good choice in Greektown.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Visit Athena often because of the great food and service!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always delish Greek food and consistent every time with great service.
Very accommodating when it comes to customizing for individual food needs.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our server was awesome!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was great, would have preferred to be seated in the atrium section. Had to flag the waiter a couple of times

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our waiter was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Light and airy at,osphere. Great food and service. The bar is open and a great place to meet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter dinner was very festive at Athena Restaurant -- complete with traditional red-dyed eggs. Glad we went early as the restaurant quickly filled to capacity in the area in which we were seated. Food was traditional Greek fare - quite tasty. Especially appreciated the help of valet parking attendants with my disabled brother. All in all, a good experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our dinner was fantastic! The food and service were outstanding. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 11, 2017

One of Chicago's Greektown superstars ! Consistently good food with just outstanding service. Great place to meet prior to a Bulls or Hawks game or just an evening out on the town. Always fun and always hospitable staff. Great combination in a convenient location just outside the west loop.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

I have been a patron of Athena for many years, and the new remodel is great! With that in mind, the food at the restaurant is becoming increasingly Americanized and tasteless. On the recent visit, the arakas latheros and gigantes plaki lacked authenticity. On an earlier visit, I had a salad with added salmon. It appeared as thrown on a bed of lettuce. Nothing to write home to mother about!

The wait staff is not what it used to be either.

This is all sad because Athena used to serve "the real thing," and the waiters were topnotch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

My wife's spanakopita was over cooked and my seafood kabob was dry. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Been coming here for years. Have never had a bad time at this restaurant. Good food, friendly staff and great ambience. The patio is excellent , especially during the summer.

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Scenic View, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great Greek food - fish is always excellent. Have been here multiple times and have never had a bad experience

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Having never been to this restaurant along the Halsted Street Greektown row, I was pleasantly surprised to find the room airy and open, unlike the tight fit I've found in some neighboring eateries. It's an open space with a greenhouse/glass roof feel, and while it was very noisy as the rain poured down as we arrived, once the showers subsided, the noise was not an issue. Our waiter, typical of the middle-aged, aloof servers in the area, was efficient and not unfriendly (not particularly friendly, either). I'll go back, but not in a huge hurry.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Food is great. Service is fast, a bit rushed bc they really get people in and out. The main dining room is gorgeous but we sat in one of the back rooms near the fire place n a draft was coming through so that was a little annoying. But this is definitely our go to restaurant for a night out for quality of food and value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

very disappointing meal...not one of their better efforts. the saganaki wasn't cooked enough so the cheese wasn't fully melted and the rack of lamb was way over cooked and dry and tough. will be a while before I try this place again

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We have been going to Athena's for many years and I look forward to eating their authentic Greek food each time I return to Chicago, but this time the food was somewhat disappointing. I ordered the aginarato (my favorite lamb with lemon and artichokes) but it was not as tender or well-seasoned as it has always been. The taramosalata appetizer was also not up to their usual high standards. Let's hope they were just having an off-day!

Tags: Business Meals, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The waiter we had, was moved to another table, and we got a new one, that was a bit strange. The egg lemon soup was too lemony and very salty, we actually sent it back. And although I got something I didn't order, beef shish kebob - I ordered the pork tenderloin. It was very good. I have been here many times before, so I suspect that there may have been an issue that evening that is not usual. Hence the waiter switch and the soup not right.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

This was my second lunch at Athena and I look forward to returning again - and have already recommended it to colleagues as a great place for a business lunch. The service was excellent and the lunch was delicious. The main dining is very pleasant -- the filtered light and high ceilings create a very pleasant, summery feeling, even on a cloudy day. The complimentary valet is a much appreciated add-on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We are frequent diners at Athena. They have a gorgeous atrium on Halsted Street in the heart of Greektown. The food is authentic and exceptional. The service is always outstanding. I suggest trying Greek wine with your meal. They have delicious appetizers, I recommend the Saganaki and Skordalia (Skor-tha -yah). We usually order lamb chops, braised lamb or chicken kebobs. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service and atmosphere was excellent, with authentic, quality and reasonably priced Greek food. Always a reliable go-to in Greektown.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, great night with friends and family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We came to Chicago and always love the Greek food. Very authentic and huge portions. Loved everything

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food ,excellent service and atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were celebrating my sister's birthday and everyone was so friendly and attentive. The food was great can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The only thing I could recommend is they had a fireplace - but it didn't work as we asked. Terribly slow service and not appealing food, maybe because it was delivered warm at best. Looked like it sat waiting for delivery for too long.. I've been there for lunch many times but I'll find a new spot for dinner.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.