About Athena Restaurant

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (70)
great for outdoor dining (54)
neighborhood gem (51)
See All
great for lunch (45)
special occasion (36)
fit for foodies (31)
kid-friendly (30)
romantic (16)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (9)
late-night find (7)
scenic view (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Almost Yia

Dined 6 days ago

The best, most authentic Greek I have had in a long time.The portions are large so go with a group so you can share different dishes. The Lima beans were not the best , rice stuffed grape leave were outstanding.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss Athena. It's the best restaur ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Don't miss Athena. It's the best restaurant in Greektown. Everything from appetizers to dessert is excellent. The sea bass and lamb are outstanding. The main dining is beautiful and a gem in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Tsatziki is the best, along with the Ath ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Tsatziki is the best, along with the Athenian chicken!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kosa, our waiter, was perfect. Everythin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Kosa, our waiter, was perfect. Everything that a waiter should be.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for good food.

Dined on May 13, 2016

My last visit to the restaurant was to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were greeted almost immediately and seated. Our waiter was very friendly and courteous. It was a wonderful dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Excellent Food

Dined on May 12, 2016

Thank you all for wonderful service, excellent food and for allowing me to speak my tourist Greek while I was hosting a business dinner. Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Athena Rocks It Again

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I hadn't been to Athena in over a year and recently I booked a business lunch there. The food was awesome and the service was great too. I forgot how much I like Greek Town, so I booked another lunch meeting at Athena two weeks later. Can't wait for dinner on the patio this summer!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Opa!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed the patio. Kabobs a little too well done. Staff attentive and accomodating.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A taste of Greece

Dined on May 8, 2016

My partner and I brought our mothers and my niece here for Mothers Day. It was a perfect day to sit outside in their lovely patio, with bright blue and white umbrellas all around. Our waiter, Riley, could not have been nicer, helping us pick items on the menu and recommending wines. My niece was late, but he took our orders and timed things so that when she arrived our food came out together. Everyone enjoyed the meal, the ambiance, and the careful service. Our mothers couldn't stop talking about Athena. A lovely and leisurely meal for a special day.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, Athena does not disappoint. ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

As usual, Athena does not disappoint. Some of the best Greek food around! Our server, Stelios, was amazing. Do yourself a favor and visit this gem!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the outdoor patio!

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Food was great! Loved the outdoor patio ` the waiter could've been more attentive, the man was older and not much of a personality. This makes a huge difference when you eat a restaurant, I'm a big foodie and being more engaged with the customer is key.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

The food we ordered came to the table lu ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food we ordered came to the table lukewarm. We ordered vegetables that didn't arrive with the entrees. When they did finally get served, they were cold. The chicken was supposed to have the gravy on the side. Instead, the chicken was soaking in gravy. We ordered dessert and tea. The tea came without a cup or spoon. It took ten minutes to get someone to get us a cup and spoon. By this time, everyone was finished with their desserts. The waiter came by to see if everything was ok. But, then disappeared when we complained about the things that weren't right. It really seemed like he just gave us lip service. He didn’t really care to do anything about the missteps. The atmosphere on the patio is nice, but we expected the food to be much better. We have eaten here before and never experienced this kind of service or inconsistent quality of food. Not sure we will come back. There are many other good Greek restaurants in the area.

food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice outdoor meal

Dined on April 19, 2016

Nice place for a business dinner. Great ambiance, outdoors in beautiful weather was a hit!

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Not worth the reservation-

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Gyros were cold salty and chewy ...possibly from lunch the day before.? Not at all the experience we were hoping for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time and meal- service was great

Dined on April 15, 2016

The waiter recommended a nice wine. We had a sampler appetizer of dips, olives, cheese. I had the vegetable moussaka which is one of my favorites. A real treat but not low calorie. I enjoy the numerous vegetarian options which are not always the case at a Greek restaurant. The place is bright, cheerful, and modern. Overall a lovely experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service3

Everything was good, but the waiter tota ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything was good, but the waiter totally upsold us, encouraging us to buy way too much. Felt taken advantage of. It was otherwise a good experience, but felt a little sketchy.

food5
ambience5
service5

We found Athena to be a perfect Grecian ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We found Athena to be a perfect Grecian oasis in the midst of Chicago. As we basked in the warm bright ambiance it snowed in spring but we felt transported to a beautiful Greek isle. Every dish a delight, our waiter the most charming host. We will return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Athena---Greektown Chicago

Dined on April 7, 2016

One of Chicago's most consistent Greek restaurants. Very attentive service in an extremely pleasant atmosphere. Perfect for a nice meal pre Bulls or Pre Blackhawks games.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening. Excellent ambian ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

We had a great evening. Excellent ambiance for an early date. Easy to talk.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday Night Dinner in Greektown

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambience at Athena restaurant in Greektown. From our arrival, our every request was fulfilled. Beautiful restaurant with exceptional menu-all your Greek cuisine favorites! I will return and recommend to anyone desiring delicious food and great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great looking restaurant. Wonderful food ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Great looking restaurant. Wonderful food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Athena

Dined on March 25, 2016

We typically meet our friends here on a quarterly basis. Since we have lots to catch up on, we appreciate friendly wait staff, the fact that they don't rush us but are ready to take our orders when we are ready. They make excellent suggestions on wine appetizers and the meals.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

Absolutely the worst service followed b ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Absolutely the worst service followed by charging our credit cards in correctly . The food, amazing but the service was less than desirable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The service was spectacular, and the food was absolutely delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Started out with my wife having a tray o ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Started out with my wife having a tray of drinks spilt all over her the water was trying to blame her and we had to ask for towels to help her dry off not even send us the bill for cleaning . Poor judgement on there part Thank goodness she is a trooper we went on with our celebration but the waiter continued to speak in Greek to his boss and nothing was said in an apology .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

Dined on March 13, 2016

It's so nice to have good food at reasonable prices, good service and ambiance, and complimentary valet parking.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

great greek food

Dined on March 13, 2016

service and food were excellent. highly recommend the rack of lamb. prices are reasonable and the atmosphere is lovely.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was very attentive and knowled ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable of the menu, serving sizes, and child friendly dishes. There is free valet parking which helps alot in the west loop. I would definitely go back with my family.

food5
ambience5
service5

Another great night!A friend was in from ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Another great night!A friend was in from NY and brought her in....Thank you Jimmy for the delicious appetizer and dessert!!!!!See you soon

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Chicago

Dined on March 6, 2016

The best part of travel for business in Chicago is the food! We went to Greek town for dinner at Athena. It appears they updated the décor recently because I noticed a little construction but it did not detract from our experience. We were promptly greeted and shown to our table. We were seated in a modern tranquil room with a fireplace and beautiful built in wood shelves.Water was promptly poured and our waiter followed shortly to say hello and grab our drink order. Appetizers - flaming cheese and flaming shrimp with onions, peppers, feta and tomato. BIG HITS! For dinner our group enjoyed the combination plate, gyro platter and roasted chicken with potatoes - everyone morsel was fresh and delicious. More drinks and rice pudding wrapped up the night. We rolled back to our hotel. A great find!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious. Great service

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Delicious. Great service

food1
ambience4
service2

The shrimp had a slight ammonia taste to ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

The shrimp had a slight ammonia taste too it. The waiter was not very friendly and somewhat inattentive. We were seated directly next to the fireplace, which was very hot.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Opa!

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Enjoyed free valet on our visit, staff and service are attentive.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Greek town choice for dinner or lunch

Dined on February 25, 2016

The food is good, the staff efficient and friendly, and the atmosphere always fun. Appropriate for after work casual get togethers and business lunches - although it may be a bit loud for some

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food..

Dined on February 21, 2016

Fantastic food..

food5
ambience5
service5

Great vegetarian selection! Wonderful am ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Great vegetarian selection! Wonderful ambience and attentive waitstaff. Loved my visit and will definitely be back again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great pre-theater dinner and Stell ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Had a great pre-theater dinner and Stellios our server was the best!

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Last visit set a new standard

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Athena has been a favorite for years. This time the ambience and food was equally good; service was super slow, and the waiter seemed distracted. We hosted a friend who is considering a move to the area, and wanted to set the bar high. I apologized that it wasn't what we all expected. Though I'll still come back and bring friends, I may not be so anxious to brag next time :)

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Bob @ Athena

Dined on February 15, 2016

I made a reservation at Athena for Valentine's Day. Service was excellent, food VG, value excellent. We would definitely go back, maybe soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Can't go wrong with whatever ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food. Can't go wrong with whatever you order. Athena Chicken is a must. The service is always amazing. Perfect family atmosphere.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.