About Athena Restaurant

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (102)
Good for Groups (80)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
See All
Special Occasion (54)
Great for Lunch (54)
Kid-friendly (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Romantic (28)
Scenic View (19)
Hot Spot (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Athena is my favorite among all the rest ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Athena is my favorite among all the restaurants in Greektown. The food is as good as any other in the neighborhood and the ambience exceeds all others. Athena's outdoor patio with a retractable roof makes for a wonderful all season choice for outdoor and outdoor-like dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a beautiful patio setting. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food in a beautiful patio setting. Highlights were the wine, saganaki, and lamb loin. Best saganaki I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has an amazing outdoor a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant has an amazing outdoor atmosphere. With that said, the food is just awful! We ordered a variety of dishe, all were cold and bland. I was truly disappointment with the all of the dishes.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

The food was very good. The service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was very good. The service was fantastic. everyone was friendly and welcoming. Even on a busy Friday night, we were never made to feel like we had to rush to open up the table for the next customers. They allowed us to take our time, enjoy our meal and dessert and coffee. All and all it was a lovely evening and dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Athena for a gazill ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been going to Athena for a gazillion years and never once had a bad meal! The patio there is the best in the city!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loves the atmosphere and the food. It m ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loves the atmosphere and the food. It made a dinner with my sister a special occasion

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was excellent. There were 5 of ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal was excellent. There were 5 of us. Two of us had the Athenian Chicken, two had the lamb dishes, and one had the steak.

For dessert, we shared galaktobouriko, and greek yogurt which were perfect.

Our thanks to our friend and compadre, Jimmy Alexander for making sure that we were taken care of well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food service atmosphere!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food service atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection. .weordered saladswhich ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great selection. .weordered saladswhich were okay, but not great for the price. The lettuce was shredded. And lackedavariety veggies. The salmon was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had another great time!! Stelios our ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Had another great time!! Stelios our server is the best!!!!! Jimmy..... The host with the most!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service, and atmosphere ever ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere every time. The garden/patio is stunning!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always enjoyed going to Athena, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have always enjoyed going to Athena, but especially for celebrations!

The staff are very friendly and always accommodating, cant wait til the next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service outweighs good food Ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Terrible service outweighs good food

Our waiter kept disappearing for ten minute intervals

Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Our waiter was terrific and the food del ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was terrific and the food delicious. everything we ordered was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is a real gem. The outdoor am ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This place is a real gem. The outdoor ambiance is very relaxing and beautiful. Food was fresh and wonderful. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took the family to the Athena Restaura ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I took the family to the Athena Restaurant the other night after several friends had recommended it. We found the experience to be very disappointing. The gyro meat was dry and rubbery, and the Beef Rosa was way too fatty. Also, the service was very sub-par for a restaurant with as many other good Greek restaurants around it. It appears to cater to locals/friends and the waiters ignore you if they don't know you. There are several other Greek restaurants in the immediate area that are much better and that are more welcoming and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

My first time in an authentic Greek rest ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My first time in an authentic Greek restaurant and it didn't disappoint. The service from our waiter was excellent and everything we ate in our party was great. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was decent. Wine was good. Ambiance ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was decent. Wine was good. Ambiance was good.

***Note that they will not seat your party until eveyone is present (4 out of 6 is not enough) even if you have a reservation and they have several tables free.***

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was very good and a good value. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very good and a good value. Other than the loud atmosphere a good time was had by everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything about this visit was fine wit ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything about this visit was fine with the exception of the waiter. Disappeared for 20 minutes and when told by the bus staff we were looking for him he dismissed it and went back to the kitchen without coming to our table. This is the second time the wait staff (different waiter) has been less than as attentive as you might expect.

The food is good but there aren't any must have dishes. They don't go out of their way to be better than any of the other touristy Greek restaurants on Halsted. They seem to rely mostly on their (covered) patio being the draw to get people coming back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Noisy and horrible place. Do not go to t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Noisy and horrible place. Do not go to this restaurant and spend your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was great but their was a hel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was great but their was a helper from the waiter I felt like he was rushing me to eat my food (8) he ask me and I kept say no I'm working on it but the rest was good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is an excellent choice for authenti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is an excellent choice for authentic Greek- great wine options as well. Ordered the gyro plate and it was good, description says it comes on a bed of onions which would better sautéed/ cooked a bit. The bed of RAW onion adds no depth to the plate and seem a bit out of place. My boyfriend ordered salmon which was listed as a top choice but was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Athena's has great Greek food and the di ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Athena's has great Greek food and the dining area is beautiful. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

nice evening witth friends in garden are ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

nice evening witth friends in garden area. good food and servicem

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Every time I visit Athena I enjoy it mor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Every time I visit Athena I enjoy it more! They welcome us as regulars and make us feel at home! They continue to upgrade every aspect of the restaurant and their outdoor space is one of the very best in the city!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food and the atmosphere.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Love the food and the atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been going to this restaurant for ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I have been going to this restaurant for over 15 years and Athena just keeps getting better and better. The outdoor patio and courtyard transport you to Greece. The food is always amazing, especially the charred items like the Octopus appetizer and the pork chops. The gyros and saganaki are must haves for any group. If you only go during Greek Easter when they're slammed you're missing the best experience of Athena where their food, service and ambiance really shine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent, very good value for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Food was excellent, very good value for downtown - great portions. My friends loved it. The only catch was the roof was open and it was smolderingly humid . Not much in the way of relief unless a breeze came by which it didn't. Might be nice to turn on some AC on those days.

Otherwise, great fun and food. Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We have been to Athena many times. As a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We have been to Athena many times. As always the food, service and ambiance were top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped in for lunch to catch up with a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Stopped in for lunch to catch up with a friend visiting from out of town. We had great service, never felt rushed (we kept chatting and forgetting to decide), but he still attentive without being bothersome. Food was tasty and the patio seating with umbrellas made sitting outdoors very nice without having to bake in the sun.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Chicago's Athena is one of my favorite r ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Chicago's Athena is one of my favorite restaurants on Earth. I grew up in a town where the restaurants were primarily owned and run by the Greek community and I learned to adore Greek food and Greek flavors. Everything at Athena is magnificently flavored and absolutely delicious. I can't imagine a visit to Chicago without at least one meal there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, excellent service, beautiful ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food, excellent service, beautiful decor, but so loud I couldn't even hear the person next to me let alone across the table. The stone walls and floors are stunning, but the volume is worse than a rock concert. No exaggeration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated in the atrium and the cei ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were seated in the atrium and the ceiling leaked all over my son and our table. We had to move mid meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

The open air dining is the best!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The open air dining is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, outstanding. Biggest piece o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As always, outstanding. Biggest piece of Salmon I have ever been served. The outdoor garden is magnificent!! Free parking and great prices. Saganaki is outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoying having dinner at Athe ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We always enjoying having dinner at Athen.

Everyone is as friendly as you could ask for.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had a meal here every time I've bee ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've had a meal here every time I've been to Chicago and it never disappoints! We dined by the fountain on the patio and it was so relaxing. The braised lamb fell off the bone and the village salad was delicious. My teenagers enjoyed the Pastitsio and the Sea bass. We all gave Athena 5/5 stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome patio and appropriate for anythi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Awesome patio and appropriate for anything from business meetings to family functions with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The patio is awesome. Going from sunset ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The patio is awesome. Going from sunset to nighttime was really cool, with the lighting and waterfall creating a wonderful ambience. A very memorable evening for me and my family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.