Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Athena Restaurant

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
Authentic (54)
Casual (48)
See All
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Groups (41)
Great for Lunch (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Fun (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
People Watching (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Business Meals (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Romantic (18)
Scenic View (17)
Kid-friendly (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Healthy (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Happy Hour (11)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We always make a stop here when we are in Chicago! The food is delicious and reminds me of my mother in laws cooking. The appetizer portions are large and definitely for sharing. The wine list doesn't disappoint either. We have never had bad service however this time our waiter was very curt until he left the bill at the table, hmmmmmmm. Definitely not the norm for this place! I would recommend this for lunch or dinner, large group or small. Like a small piece of Greece!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We were put in an unacceptable table next to the raised metal enclosure which should not a place for tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

The renovation is very nice. Open air environment and great wine selection. Brancott is a great choice with the stuffed chicken. Customer friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Best Greek restaurant in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food and service was excellent. My husband tried the special which was the sea bass and he said it was amazing. I had the chicken and it was excellent. I will be back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Anastasios was a great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We have always gone to The Parthenon in Greek Town, but it has closed. Athena was recommended and we like it even better!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The room we were placed in was too loud to hear each other at the table. We were celebrating an anniversary with the family and we could not have a table conversation together. We had one child with us, so the loud noise level would have muffled any loud children.
For just a night out and not a family occasion the restaurant would be good. The food is delicious, the service is very good, and it was a pleasant evening out.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

athena was great again. the food recommendations from our waiter were great. the courtyard seating on a beautiful Sunday late afternoon/evening can't be beat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Athena can be counted on for consistency in the food. Typical Greek with a nice flair especially in the patio environment. Very popular with locals as you don't often see flaming saganaki indicative of tourists. Service is always friendly and prompt. Tables are cleared so fast there is the hint that you should consider departing.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 13, 2017

It's pretty, convenient right off the expressway, friendly and nice atmosphere to talk with friends especially al Fresca on a warm summer eve. We used to dine there before they built a garage right across the street blocking a magnificent view of the city. Now we just enjoy the waterfall and the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This was my 4th visit. And I'm sorry to say that I was disappointed in the service. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I will try it again hoping it was just an "off" night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always a pleasure eating at our favorite in Greek Town! We are always greeted with a warm smile, sometimes a welcoming hug and our service and food is always excellent!
Even the valet staff are exceptional. I would give this 5 stars for sure!

Tags: Disabled Access, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Delicious food and always the kindest staff. We had our baby there and the staff was so accommodating!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

It was wonderfully delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always enjoyable with out door seating. Busy w/hustling wait staff. Very accommodating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Lamb and artichokes is terrific. Friendly service. Get a reservation during key hours.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Granddaughters birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went with several out of town guests. They really enjoyed the decor and the outdoor eating space. Everyone thought the meal was very good and our server was outstanding. He apologized for the slow service as a couple of other servers hadn't shown up that day. The service was actually fine and we let him know. Have been here before and will definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was very good, service was outstanding. Ambiance was great. We sat outside but had to relocate quickly because of sudden rain. Quickly moved to an inside table. Can't say enough good things about the experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Beautifully remodeled from our visit many years back. Great service and authentic Greek. Loved it

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Came here with co-workers for lunch for the first time. A beautiful patio setting and great service. The food was so fresh and flavorful. I can't wait to come back to a new favorite spot in Greektown!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Food was pretty good, not amazing, but the ambiance definitely made up for it. The host and waiter were on point with service.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Athena was my first Greek food experience.
The food was really good and they had an impressive wine collection
The service was decent our food arrived soon enough and the order was just as intended.
The only advice I would give to patrons who are planning on visiting the restaurant is this -
If possible, try to sit in the outdoor patio, its much more quieter and looks great and has an artificial water-fall in the wall. We were seated in the main dining area which was unfortunate because there seemed to be lots of seats available outside, this part of the restaurant was kind of loud and there was a lot of foot traffic where we sat so it was not easy to make good conversation with my friend.
Overall a decent experience, but could have been better.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

This place is a KEEPER! Everything about this evening was perfect.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our server was very inattentive. We had to ask a busboy to track him down more than once. My daughter ordered pork chops. They were overdone. We mentioned this to the server & got no response. My daughter asked for some ketchup so she could eat the chops. He didn't come back with it for quite a while & her food got cold. We've been there before & enjoyed it very much. When you have a bad server, nothing can really save the meal, for me.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had Salvatore as our server ad he took very good care of us. We had a great bottle of Boutari white wine! We shared a Greek salad an baked feta cheese with tomato. My husband had loin of lamb and I had boneless chicken breast stuffed with spinach and feta. We loved them both. We will be back soon to have another great meal and fantastic service!

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Healthy, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The best Greek food & salads! Always love being there in nice weather when they can open the roof & parking is so easy! They're very good about holding reservations & if u have theater reservations, they will do their best to get u out in time-great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 15, 2017

I was charged the sugar tax on bill when we ordered coffee and iced tea (unsweetened). When we inquired we were given the change but told it was a computer issue and they could not remove from bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We ordered the cold platter with an assortment of cold spreads, olives, and pita bread. It was a good because you had the opportunity to taste a variety of spreads, a good start for dinner.
I had the leg of lamb with steamed to perfection broccoli. The lamb was delicious and served sliced.
My dining companions had the pork chops which were huge and also delicious.
We had a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good food and service. Beautiful outside patio!!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The best patio on Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food! Great service! Loved the open air dining room😎

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Great food, & a lot of it (I made 2 lunches out of my left-overs)!
The wait-staff are fun, authentic, & knowledgable. The restaurant is a beautiful setting.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Lov the outdoor seating. Dalmados are tops, very disappointed in the taramousulato. Plasticy and bland. But service great. Will come back just not order the Tara.....

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

This restaurant was fabulous! We ordered three different dishes and desert - all of it was so delicious. The staff was kind, friendly, efficient, and fast. There is free valet parking. The ambiance is so romantic and magical, I suggest going in the warmer months so you can sit outside by the waterfall!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Amazing service over the busy lunch hour! I love his place and they were very nice.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

There were 8 people in our party. We were seated in the patio area which is beautiful. The whole restaurant has been remodel and is just beautiful. our server was very handsome and great at his job. He was very attentive to our needs. The food was wonderful. From the flaming cheese, the Greek salad and our entrees. 4 people in our party had birthdays so it was a big celebration and they all loved the restaurant. We will be going back very soon so we can take advantage of the beautiful patio. Thanks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We have gone here many times. Today the service was horrible. We had to ask other servers who our server was.Finally he came over. Never filled water. Left dirty dishes on table. Had an attitude. Went to manager as we were leaving. Said we were st Athena many times. He said "he was a nice guy ". Never apologized!! Did not tip!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great Greek food , generous portions , nice service , fantastic veggies too, bread that is dangerously good . We had the village salad - basically Greek without lettuce , the lemon chicken with veggies and rice , broccoli, green beans , and apasta dish . Individual entees could cover 3 adults .

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.