About Athena Restaurant

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (71)
great for outdoor dining (69)
neighborhood gem (55)
See All
great for lunch (52)
special occasion (38)
kid-friendly (30)
fit for foodies (28)
romantic (15)
scenic view (13)
great for brunch (12)
notable wine list (9)
late-night find (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
Sort By:
Newest
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere incredible - the food del ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The atmosphere incredible - the food delectable. The service attentive to r every need. My cousin's were visiting from Sweden - they will never forget the beautiful waterfall and ivy located in the out door area. The ambience was breathtaking and so comfortable! All ages and races can find a piece of heaven at Athena's

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great patio and covered when needed. Del ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Great patio and covered when needed. Delicious food and good service too

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

I love Athena but did not have a good ex ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I love Athena but did not have a good experience on our last visit. My spanikopita was inedible; the service was slow and it was very hot in the atrium. The slow service did give us time to visit but did not enhance the experience. I will be back but it will be awhile before I return. Disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was awesome . It was my husband and I ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was awesome . It was my husband and I 33rd Anniversary... really enjoyed it .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I love this restaurant. On this occasio ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I love this restaurant. On this occasion I was not a fan of the seating, as we were by the bar and people kept hitting off our chairs...

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Athena Restaurant is great for outside d ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Athena Restaurant is great for outside dining. They have a large waterfall wall to make you feel like you are waterside in Greece! Went with two other couples for a friend's get-together and they loved it, too. Service was spot on, with no delays. Food was very good and portions were ample -- after all that crusty bread (so good) and an appetizer, we all needed take-home boxes! On thing: we wish Athena management would allow " couple checks," as some other restaurants do. When we asked, our waiter told us one check per table. Couples were seated next to each other, so we didn't think it would be confusing for the waiter....

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Good prices.

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food. Good prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been coming to Athena for years. M ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I've been coming to Athena for years. My favorite in Greek Town.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When I left Chicago last year to retire, ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

When I left Chicago last year to retire, I ordered food from Athena for my party, and everybody loved it. So when I came back for Printers Row LitFest to work at Allium Press booth, I got a group of 10 of us to go out. It was great. Plenty of selection and reasonable prices and very good service. I love greek food, I could just eat appetizers but I had the combination plate after appetizers and it was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bday dinner

Dined on June 10, 2016

The dos was delicious and it was beautiful in there.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Alfesco Spot

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Athena has a great al fresco garden...it is like eating outside in Greece. The food is just OK, as there is a better spot in Greektown that nails it foodwise. I've read reviews from folks saying they are from Greece, and the food is comparable. To that I say no-way. Not when you serve over-cooked and tough octopus and pink tomatoes. We will say that the yogurt dessert is very very good and authentic. The outdoor garden rocks it...they really have the best one in Greektown. It is a good place to sit and relax and have a good Greek wine. I'd still go back, but for authentic, I go to Greek Islands.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for tourissts

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

we invited friends who were visiting Chicago. It was a beautiful day to dine outside and enjoy the City.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Patio dinning

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great outdoor patio in Greek town ! Good food and reasonable prices .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for large groups. Great outdoor se ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great for large groups. Great outdoor seating and great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner. Loved the food and outdoor patio.

Dined on May 31, 2016

The dinner was excellent as was the service. I would definitely recommend especially in the summer months. Loved the outdoor patio dining.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

my go-to for Greek dining

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

have been going there for y-e-a-r-s .... food and service and ambience always top notch my faves: egg-lemon soup, taramosalata, dolmades as either appetizer or entree, and any lamb entree lovely space, especially the indoor outdoor dining

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Almost Yia

Dined on May 25, 2016

The best, most authentic Greek I have had in a long time.The portions are large so go with a group so you can share different dishes. The Lima beans were not the best , rice stuffed grape leave were outstanding.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss Athena. It's the best restaur ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Don't miss Athena. It's the best restaurant in Greektown. Everything from appetizers to dessert is excellent. The sea bass and lamb are outstanding. The main dining is beautiful and a gem in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Tsatziki is the best, along with the Ath ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Tsatziki is the best, along with the Athenian chicken!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Kosa, our waiter, was perfect. Everythin ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Kosa, our waiter, was perfect. Everything that a waiter should be.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for good food.

Dined on May 13, 2016

My last visit to the restaurant was to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were greeted almost immediately and seated. Our waiter was very friendly and courteous. It was a wonderful dining experience for a special occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service, Excellent Food

Dined on May 12, 2016

Thank you all for wonderful service, excellent food and for allowing me to speak my tourist Greek while I was hosting a business dinner. Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Athena Rocks It Again

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I hadn't been to Athena in over a year and recently I booked a business lunch there. The food was awesome and the service was great too. I forgot how much I like Greek Town, so I booked another lunch meeting at Athena two weeks later. Can't wait for dinner on the patio this summer!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Opa!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Enjoyed the patio. Kabobs a little too well done. Staff attentive and accomodating.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A taste of Greece

Dined on May 8, 2016

My partner and I brought our mothers and my niece here for Mothers Day. It was a perfect day to sit outside in their lovely patio, with bright blue and white umbrellas all around. Our waiter, Riley, could not have been nicer, helping us pick items on the menu and recommending wines. My niece was late, but he took our orders and timed things so that when she arrived our food came out together. Everyone enjoyed the meal, the ambiance, and the careful service. Our mothers couldn't stop talking about Athena. A lovely and leisurely meal for a special day.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, Athena does not disappoint. ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

As usual, Athena does not disappoint. Some of the best Greek food around! Our server, Stelios, was amazing. Do yourself a favor and visit this gem!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the outdoor patio!

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Food was great! Loved the outdoor patio ` the waiter could've been more attentive, the man was older and not much of a personality. This makes a huge difference when you eat a restaurant, I'm a big foodie and being more engaged with the customer is key.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience2
service1

The food we ordered came to the table lu ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The food we ordered came to the table lukewarm. We ordered vegetables that didn't arrive with the entrees. When they did finally get served, they were cold. The chicken was supposed to have the gravy on the side. Instead, the chicken was soaking in gravy. We ordered dessert and tea. The tea came without a cup or spoon. It took ten minutes to get someone to get us a cup and spoon. By this time, everyone was finished with their desserts. The waiter came by to see if everything was ok. But, then disappeared when we complained about the things that weren't right. It really seemed like he just gave us lip service. He didn’t really care to do anything about the missteps. The atmosphere on the patio is nice, but we expected the food to be much better. We have eaten here before and never experienced this kind of service or inconsistent quality of food. Not sure we will come back. There are many other good Greek restaurants in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything is always great here. The ser ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything is always great here. The service, the food, the liveliness! Fantastic!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice open air setting!

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Nice open air setting!

food3
ambience5
service3
value5

Nice outdoor meal

Dined on April 19, 2016

Nice place for a business dinner. Great ambiance, outdoors in beautiful weather was a hit!

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Not worth the reservation-

Dined on April 17, 2016

The Gyros were cold salty and chewy ...possibly from lunch the day before.? Not at all the experience we were hoping for.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time and meal- service was great

Dined on April 15, 2016

The waiter recommended a nice wine. We had a sampler appetizer of dips, olives, cheese. I had the vegetable moussaka which is one of my favorites. A real treat but not low calorie. I enjoy the numerous vegetarian options which are not always the case at a Greek restaurant. The place is bright, cheerful, and modern. Overall a lovely experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience5
service3

Everything was good, but the waiter tota ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Everything was good, but the waiter totally upsold us, encouraging us to buy way too much. Felt taken advantage of. It was otherwise a good experience, but felt a little sketchy.

food5
ambience5
service5

We found Athena to be a perfect Grecian ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

We found Athena to be a perfect Grecian oasis in the midst of Chicago. As we basked in the warm bright ambiance it snowed in spring but we felt transported to a beautiful Greek isle. Every dish a delight, our waiter the most charming host. We will return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Athena---Greektown Chicago

Dined on April 7, 2016

One of Chicago's most consistent Greek restaurants. Very attentive service in an extremely pleasant atmosphere. Perfect for a nice meal pre Bulls or Pre Blackhawks games.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening. Excellent ambian ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

We had a great evening. Excellent ambiance for an early date. Easy to talk.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday Night Dinner in Greektown

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful food, service and ambience at Athena restaurant in Greektown. From our arrival, our every request was fulfilled. Beautiful restaurant with exceptional menu-all your Greek cuisine favorites! I will return and recommend to anyone desiring delicious food and great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great looking restaurant. Wonderful food ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Great looking restaurant. Wonderful food and service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Athena

Dined on March 25, 2016

We typically meet our friends here on a quarterly basis. Since we have lots to catch up on, we appreciate friendly wait staff, the fact that they don't rush us but are ready to take our orders when we are ready. They make excellent suggestions on wine appetizers and the meals.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.