About Athena Restaurant

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (93)
Good for Groups (70)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
See All
Special Occasion (52)
Great for Lunch (44)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Romantic (30)
Kid-friendly (29)
Scenic View (21)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
404 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious. We sat outside, the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was delicious. We sat outside, the sun was shining, beautiful day. Big portions of food. Friendly staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Located in the midst of Chicago's Greekt ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Located in the midst of Chicago's Greektown Athena is true to what you'd expect. Traditional Greek recipes, well prepared, with enough variety to satisfy traditional non-Greek tastes. The great room with the roll-back wall-ceiling sections gives great outdoor ambiance - with the possibility of full weather protection when necessary. We went on a Sunday evening so we were not surprised when we had to wait an extra ten minutes beyond our reserved time. It was crowded and energetic but they took good care of us.

The food and wine prices are very reasonable. We fed four of us, including wine, for just under $100!

Tags: Historic, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a great night to have the roof open ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

What a great night to have the roof open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant in all aspects. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outstanding restaurant in all aspects. We will make this a monthly part of of dining experience

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peter, the host was so accommodating and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Peter, the host was so accommodating and made our group feel extra special. Fantastic food and service, wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a beautiful fall evening and we s ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

It was a beautiful fall evening and we sat in the open air part of the restaurant. Our server was great he managed our time well allowing us time to chat. Food is good and a value. I would recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love Athena. The ambiance, the food, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I love Athena. The ambiance, the food, the service are all fantastic!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience for my birthday. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great dining experience for my birthday. Enjoyed the time with friends and was a great first experience at a authentic Greek Restaurant. The decor was beautiful, and on a nice summer nice, it felt like I was in a different city. I would recommend, as well as look forward to going back with friends and family. Great experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual excellent service & food. Wonde ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

As usual excellent service & food. Wonderful management!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as usual! One of our favorite ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent as usual! One of our favorite places in the city. Opa!

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food at reasonable prices. Nice al ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food at reasonable prices. Nice also to have free valet parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We took my mom for her 80th birthday. Th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We took my mom for her 80th birthday. The woman at the front desk sat us very quickly as the guy who had been seating waved us off to take someone he seemed to know. I think he is the owner so I get it. The food was prompt and very good tasting. The waiter never brought the bread to the table even though we had asked. He did bring my mom a piece of cake which was very nice and she liked it quite well. We were not hurried out, and enjoyed the moment. I will be back

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food. There was a table next to u ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great food. There was a table next to us that decided to break a plate which broke everywhere. Just missed my head and our legs. Management did not come over to us or say a word to the other table.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Always a great Greek meal at Athena ! Lo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Always a great Greek meal at Athena ! Love the big room with glass ceiling, so nice & bright !

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Athena is my favorite among all the rest ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Athena is my favorite among all the restaurants in Greektown. The food is as good as any other in the neighborhood and the ambience exceeds all others. Athena's outdoor patio with a retractable roof makes for a wonderful all season choice for outdoor and outdoor-like dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in a beautiful patio setting. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great food in a beautiful patio setting. Highlights were the wine, saganaki, and lamb loin. Best saganaki I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant has an amazing outdoor a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant has an amazing outdoor atmosphere. With that said, the food is just awful! We ordered a variety of dishe, all were cold and bland. I was truly disappointment with the all of the dishes.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

The food was very good. The service was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was very good. The service was fantastic. everyone was friendly and welcoming. Even on a busy Friday night, we were never made to feel like we had to rush to open up the table for the next customers. They allowed us to take our time, enjoy our meal and dessert and coffee. All and all it was a lovely evening and dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been going to Athena for a gazill ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been going to Athena for a gazillion years and never once had a bad meal! The patio there is the best in the city!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loves the atmosphere and the food. It m ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Loves the atmosphere and the food. It made a dinner with my sister a special occasion

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was excellent. There were 5 of ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our meal was excellent. There were 5 of us. Two of us had the Athenian Chicken, two had the lamb dishes, and one had the steak.

For dessert, we shared galaktobouriko, and greek yogurt which were perfect.

Our thanks to our friend and compadre, Jimmy Alexander for making sure that we were taken care of well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We generally dine at Athena during the w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We generally dine at Athena during the warm weather months to enjoy al fresco dining. It is a good thing they installed the retractable roof, because it was storming on the night we dined there. Free valet parking, reservations are recommended. Service was good, food is standard Greek fare. Adequate wine list. It is a good place to enjoy a glass of wine and a meal. Opaa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food service atmosphere!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent food service atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great selection. .weordered saladswhich ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great selection. .weordered saladswhich were okay, but not great for the price. The lettuce was shredded. And lackedavariety veggies. The salmon was excellent

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had another great time!! Stelios our ser ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Had another great time!! Stelios our server is the best!!!!! Jimmy..... The host with the most!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service, and atmosphere ever ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Great food, service, and atmosphere every time. The garden/patio is stunning!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always enjoyed going to Athena, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have always enjoyed going to Athena, but especially for celebrations!

The staff are very friendly and always accommodating, cant wait til the next time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service outweighs good food Ou ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Terrible service outweighs good food

Our waiter kept disappearing for ten minute intervals

Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Our waiter was terrific and the food del ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our waiter was terrific and the food delicious. everything we ordered was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down my favorite place in Greektow ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Hands down my favorite place in Greektown. The kids devour two plates of octopus every time. Greek red wine is delicious, service is always impeccable. When we lived in the neighborhood we'd visit at LEAST once a week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is a real gem. The outdoor am ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This place is a real gem. The outdoor ambiance is very relaxing and beautiful. Food was fresh and wonderful. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took the family to the Athena Restaura ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I took the family to the Athena Restaurant the other night after several friends had recommended it. We found the experience to be very disappointing. The gyro meat was dry and rubbery, and the Beef Rosa was way too fatty. Also, the service was very sub-par for a restaurant with as many other good Greek restaurants around it. It appears to cater to locals/friends and the waiters ignore you if they don't know you. There are several other Greek restaurants in the immediate area that are much better and that are more welcoming and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

My first time in an authentic Greek rest ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My first time in an authentic Greek restaurant and it didn't disappoint. The service from our waiter was excellent and everything we ate in our party was great. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was decent. Wine was good. Ambiance ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was decent. Wine was good. Ambiance was good.

***Note that they will not seat your party until eveyone is present (4 out of 6 is not enough) even if you have a reservation and they have several tables free.***

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was very good and a good value. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was very good and a good value. Other than the loud atmosphere a good time was had by everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything about this visit was fine wit ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Everything about this visit was fine with the exception of the waiter. Disappeared for 20 minutes and when told by the bus staff we were looking for him he dismissed it and went back to the kitchen without coming to our table. This is the second time the wait staff (different waiter) has been less than as attentive as you might expect.

The food is good but there aren't any must have dishes. They don't go out of their way to be better than any of the other touristy Greek restaurants on Halsted. They seem to rely mostly on their (covered) patio being the draw to get people coming back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Noisy and horrible place. Do not go to t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Noisy and horrible place. Do not go to this restaurant and spend your money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Everything was great but their was a hel ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything was great but their was a helper from the waiter I felt like he was rushing me to eat my food (8) he ask me and I kept say no I'm working on it but the rest was good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

This is an excellent choice for authenti ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This is an excellent choice for authentic Greek- great wine options as well. Ordered the gyro plate and it was good, description says it comes on a bed of onions which would better sautéed/ cooked a bit. The bed of RAW onion adds no depth to the plate and seem a bit out of place. My boyfriend ordered salmon which was listed as a top choice but was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Athena's has great Greek food and the di ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Athena's has great Greek food and the dining area is beautiful. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.