Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 58 times today

Athena Restaurant

4.5
826 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Greek
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Good for Groups
Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Greek
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 655-0000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Adams
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 826 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.6
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We dine here regularly and food is always excellent but I think not up to par because it was busy for Father's Day. We asked for medium rare kabobs and they were well done. Lamb chops were also overcooked. We did not say anything at the time because it was busy. They are always accommodating.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

Food was good. Service was stressed and did the bare minimum. Restaurant may have been severely short-handed, but no excuse for that. Asked for water 3 times from waiter as there seemed to be only one bus who never came by our table despite my arm up for attention. Initial waiter introduced himself and said he had to go help in the kitchen. The parking valet was a real nice & professional guy. And it is a nice environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We really liked this place. It was our first time there. The food was great and reasonably priced. We will definitely come back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

We have been to Athena many times and we always love the food, service and ambiance. However, this time we had a waiter that admitted he forgot about us after serving us our appetizers . After 30 minutes of trying to wave him down, we finally got to order our main course and our next round of wine. When the wine didn't come, he told us that wine would be no charge. After dinner we ordered a take out dessert and he forgot about that as well. When the bill came, the wine was on the bill. He then complained that he couldn't take it off and that it wasn't his fault that we didn't get our wine. All in all, he seemed to be a mess and we hope to never get him again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

First visit and look forward to returning. Dined al fresco and had wonderful food! Great lamb and artichoke dish and saganaki, of course!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I took my dad out for a Father's Day dinner, and it was a fantastic experience! The weather was perfect, allowing us to enjoy the beautiful patio area. Our server did a great job, and we loved the food. The prices were very reasonable, especially given the location. We had a wonderful time, and we definitely recommend Athena to anyone looking for a great Greek meal in a fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great dining experience for 10 family members

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 13, 2018

We went to Athena for my niece’s high school graduation and when we arrived, we were sent to the wrong table. The host/manager prepared a new ‘reserved’ table for us.The restaurant wasn’t even full when we arrived for this late evening reservation. It took another 10 minutes for someone to greet us with menus, and another 10 minutes to take our order. By the time we received our entrees it was another 30 minutes. The food was decent, not the best- a little over cooked. There were so many empty seats at that late hour - there was no excuse for the delay in service. We could have been finished with our meal 30 minutes earlier.
The staff and ambiance was nice, however we were all disappointed in service and delivery of the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great service. All employees seemed so happy to see us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Overall great food. Service was a little slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Service was excellent, food very good, open area but tables not so close that you have no privacy.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Very unhappy with the service from Bobby who did not realize service can make or break a restaurant. We waited long periods of time to till our server returned with water , food orders , requests for silverware, and refills on coffee. The place was empty at 5: 30 AND IT STILL TOOK 10 MINUTES FOR ANYONE TO APPROACH THE TABLE! The restaurant itself was stunning but my daughter and sons birthdays experience was ruined. He did manage come back with the bill promptly. I sent a email the next day and never received a response.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Food was fine. Service was terrible, to the point of being rude. Not only were we neglected as customers, our menus and food were thrown at us by clearly unhappy staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

We were there on June 6, 2018 for our 37th Anniversary. Had AWESOME food, wine, service and dessert!! Will be back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

This was our Pre Greece Dinner as we are headed to Greece soon, it was awesome and our server gave us one pointers about our trip as well!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Have been to several older restaurants in Greek town with better food. This was noisy, hot, crowded and disappointing. I ordered the gyro plate...it was a bunch of strips of meat piled on top of some onions and 2 pieces of an anemic, tasteless tomato...wuth 4 little pieces of pita...too much meat..not enough of anything else...boring. my friend had moussaka...she didnt even finish..not good. Dont know why this place had such high ratings

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Athena is a gorgeous space! It offers both covered and open-air outdoor dining options (thankfully off-street). The complimentary valet service is always appreciated. Service and food are excellent!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Fine dining experience, enjoyable atmosphere, great service and we'll prepare meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We love the new atmosphere of Athena's The Atrium which lets you be outside but not outside was beautiful will definitely come back food was really great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We always find the food good-to-excellent and the service both friendly and efficient. The best part is sitting outdoors in the courtyard just before sunset!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

It is Greek and authentic. Great selection of different Greek specialties. Able to carry conversation in outdoor atrium which is wind protected

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great service for our large group and there were lots of kids. Food was fresh and delicious. We loved the spreads with pita, salads and the salmon was terrific!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Nice ambience for a warm night. Food and service were very good

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Food was overcooked and dry. Server was very pleasant and friendly

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I went here for my engagment celebration and my mom's birthday. The atmosphere is very fun and it's good for groups. The wait staff wasn't so great at clearing the table so it made it difficult to fit everything on the table. Other than that, it was a great experience. The food is amazing and very friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Our group of 8 was handled well. Great wait staff. Great food too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Always excellent service and great comfort food. We've been coming here for decades. Also, they have one of the best patios in the city.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Excellent meal . Lamb shank, grilled octopus, desserts outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great meal with friends after a Cubs game! From lamb specials to gyros to salmon salad, everything was delicious. We order the grilled octopus appetizer every time and it never disappoints. The open air patio with waterfall is beautiful😊.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Great food. Really good service. Cool setting. But noisy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Loved the waitstaff (Larry). Not pushy; allowed us to wait for another diner who was running late without making us feel we were in the way. (It was a Monday evening and we had reservations.) Food was outstanding. Had a special dish, Arni Fournou, that was lamb shank on the bone with potatoes. It was just awesome! Great meals and experience overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

We had a table of 7 and everyone really enjoyed the variety of meals that were ordered. Great Calamari!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We were a table for 2. Several large groups came in and the waiter forgot about us for the rest of the night until we asked for the check. The dishes were piled up on the table from the appetizer and entrees, we were never asked if we wanted anything else, or how our meal was. We won't be back there's too many other places that we can go to for Greek food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Athena is wonderful. All staff are friendly and cheerful. Food is fabulous, as is tge drinks list. Always a great experience at a great price. Especially fun on summer days/evenings as the big roof slides away making an even more special experience. Even the restrooms are fabulous. A pleasant walk from our apartment so we'll be returning often!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Athena food never disappoints but the new menu no longer serves one of my favorite shrimp dishes. The renovation is beautiful but you are paying for it with the increased prices.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Bartender was too busy attending the wait station to provide good service. We wanted to order dinner but by the time she walked away from the wait station it was 40 minutes and too late for us. She was very nice and tried to be attentive. Not sure I'll go back. So many other great Greek options in Greek town.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Very nice place, excellent service, delicious food and drinks

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The food was just so bad. we paid and left after a few bites. So so bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The food and service were amazing!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
21