Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Athena Restaurant

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (25)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Family Style (16)
Casual (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Fun (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fireplace (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
People Watching (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my second lunch at Athena and I look forward to returning again - and have already recommended it to colleagues as a great place for a business lunch. The service was excellent and the lunch was delicious. The main dining is very pleasant -- the filtered light and high ceilings create a very pleasant, summery feeling, even on a cloudy day. The complimentary valet is a much appreciated add-on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We are frequent diners at Athena. They have a gorgeous atrium on Halsted Street in the heart of Greektown. The food is authentic and exceptional. The service is always outstanding. I suggest trying Greek wine with your meal. They have delicious appetizers, I recommend the Saganaki and Skordalia (Skor-tha -yah). We usually order lamb chops, braised lamb or chicken kebobs. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service and atmosphere was excellent, with authentic, quality and reasonably priced Greek food. Always a reliable go-to in Greektown.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food, great night with friends and family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We came to Chicago and always love the Greek food. Very authentic and huge portions. Loved everything

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food ,excellent service and atmosphere

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We were celebrating my sister's birthday and everyone was so friendly and attentive. The food was great can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

The only thing I could recommend is they had a fireplace - but it didn't work as we asked. Terribly slow service and not appealing food, maybe because it was delivered warm at best. Looked like it sat waiting for delivery for too long.. I've been there for lunch many times but I'll find a new spot for dinner.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I love the Greek Town restaurants. Food as always was great.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I'm not one to write bad reviews. Bad waiter, bad attitude, too long for food to arrive and cold. coffee came really late. Waiter demanded more tip than deserved, to the point of confrontation. Used to be a really nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and great service. Lively atmosphere

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Family Style, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food was outstanding. We had 2 teenagers with us and they loved the food. It was a delight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The best Greek restaurant on Halsted.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Very nice place, clean , helpful on food and wine questions great service, excellent coffee made reservations they had a table ready!+

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Historic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Service was a bit off. Would try again.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We did not get the table we requested, but overall a pretty good dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our server John was very friendly and very knowledgeable of the menu , he made sure we had what we needed at all times , the bus boys took good care of our table , Jim the manager was very friendly and took time to talk , also Gabriel , who parked our car was also a really nice man. We will return again to this restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food, taste devine and service was perfect

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We had a very kind and helpful waiter. Our food was wonderful - as always. We had a long dinner and once we ordered, did not feel rushed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 30, 2017

i had a amazing time with my wife. The food was very good and outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food!! Loved it!! Personally, this is now my new favorite place in Greek town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was a girlfriend's birthday

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We come here often. The large dining area, which has a retractable roof in the summer, is great. My ratings for this event are downgraded mostly because the Dolmades I ordered were uncharacteristically bad! Hard, dried, low in moisture and flavor. When a traditionally Greek item comes out so poorly - it make me uncomfortable about future prospects here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, great food and good service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Modern Decor, Romantic, Healthy, Late-night Find, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Great Greek cuisine with very appealing decor and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was delish. Waiter was very nice. Nothing to complain about.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Love this restaurant. Especially like the ambience and, in summer, the retractable roof and outdoor patio. Food is good and plentiful, especially for groups and sharing. Just took family visiting from rural Wisconsin, and they loved the experience and exposure to new dishes.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food is excellent. The service was good. We would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Contrary to my last review , this restaurant has vastly improved. Being a patron since the early 90's I do have experience. The newer management has cleaned up their act.
The food came hot and in a timely manner. Salads crisp & cold, whole sea bass done to perfection. Exceptional service throughout.
Kitchen & Restrooms clean.
Only complaint was the noise level, much too loud, hard to converse.
We will return.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Delicious Greek food. Fish, chicken, and lamb - all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I am a vegetarian and I enjoy the food, the service, and the complimentary valet parking. The value is wonderful, too. In the summer, I love the retractable roof. :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Bad service today
They were tired and the servant lectured me 3 times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great for the family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Delicious avgolemono (egg/lemon) soup. Very lemony-yum! Nice atmosphere. Always a pleasure to visit Greektown!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First off, the service from Anastacio was outstanding! And the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good . We had Saganaki recently somewhere else and Athenas was much better(less salty). We ordered a chicken dish and veggie kabobs which were also very good. Nice atmosphere. We sat in the room with the fireplace which made it feel cozy. Over all a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We chose Athena for an early New Year's Eve dinner and were pleased in every way.
We were greeted by a most friendly hostess (Grace) who promptly sat us exactly at our reservation time.
Food and service were excellent!
Server and wait staff were attentive and friendly without being obtrusive.
Our selections of spanakopita, seafood, lamb and desserts were all delicious.
Good wine list too! Our server suggested a Cabernet which was smooth and paired well with our dinner.
Oh-Pahh!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went to celebrate my engagement. Really enjoyed the authenticity, and romance. Went at a less busy time so our food was made to perfection...The chef really took their time, tender juicy char broiled chicken. We especially liked the calamari and baklava.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Athena Restaurant is a hidden gem. The food is spectacular. The service is better. You feel like family when you dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Me and my fiance came here for a late night dinner date. We had made a reservation for a table, and we were seated right away when we came inside. Our server was very punctual, and our food came out really quick! The only downside was when we were finished eating he took a little bit longer than usual to come and bring us our check, but I think it was because he had gotten a large party in his section about halfway through our meal. As someone who has worked in the industry I totally understand being sat a large party so I wasn't upset by it at all, and neither was my fiance. Overall, we had an amazing experience and I definitely will be visiting again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.