Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Athena Restaurant

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Authentic (40)
Casual (37)
See All
Good for Groups (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fun (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
People Watching (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Healthy (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Romantic (11)
Scenic View (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
567 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

First of all, the ambience in the restaurant was great. The weather attributed to a pleasant experience. The wait staff was great and the food was delectable. We had a team dinner here, recommended by one of our team members, and we had a fantastic time. Lots of energy. Definitely a gem to visit in Greektown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The food, service and ambience was lovely. The chicken was delicious and love the lemon potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Best open air place in town. Delicious food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great the service was kinda slow but as a whole it was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely loved this place - high ceilings , light and airy , place to sit outside by a fountain/ waterfall . You are transported from everyday chicago . Let's not forget the food and incredibly generous portions . We had a vegetable salad ( incredibly fresh) , lemon chicken with myshroons over rice , green beans , brocoli and Wonderful bread . Will we return , absolutely !! The service was attentive but unobtrusive .

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Unfortunately the sound level at Athena, even early on a Wednesday evening, is getting ridiculously loud inside. We were a table of three and had to scream to hear each other.
It ruined our evening.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Had chosen Athena for its outside seating, but it was raining that day. The dining room is beautiful, with lots of light and views of the outside seating area with a waterfall fountain. The service was extra slow for our group, and it seemed because we didn't order whole bottles of wine, and instead went for individual cocktails/drinks. Waiter brought first round of drinks and then didn't take any food order. Didn't come back for at least 15 minutes (ignored us trying to flag him down), and we had to ask the busboy to get him where we proceeded to order another round of drinks, appetizers, and entrees all at once. Service was disappointing as we were a group trying to catch up, but couldn't because one or two of us were always looking out for the waiter/trying to get his attention.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I have dined at Athena many times in the past and have had a wonderful experience, however, I cannot say the same after dining there yesterday. The food was good, but the service was terrible. Our server John L came to the table and instead of greeting us and asking if we've dined there before he just asked, "What do you want to drink?" We asked him 3 times for straws and lemons and then he finally brought them. Each table had a cold glass bottle with ice water- ours was Luke warm and we had to ask twice for it. He dropped off our food and didn't ask us how any of it was. When we went to order more all he said was, "Do you want more food?" Took our order and then walked away. He was inattentive and the busboys took better care of us than he did. When we left he didn't say thank you. He was extremely unfriendly and didn't seem as if he wanted to take care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Good food, friendly and engaged wait staff (Socrates). The open air area at the front of the restaurant (with its retractable roof) is really one of the nicest open air space for al fresco dining in Chicago, IMHO.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Our server Salvador was extremely friendly and very professional throughout our visit. Our little 4th of July get together was a very pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The weather was perfect to sit in the courtyard that had a scenic setting, waterfall. My two friends and I have different tastes and there were options on the menu for everyone. I had the moussaka which was delicious. One friend had the salmon which was moist, just right. The other friend, who's picky, had the gyros plate and ate every bit. My only suggestion is to have warm bread; they served bread but not warm. I love warm bread in a restaurant. Although the tables were filled, there was no noise issue. There were a variety of people; a family with young child, a single woman, a large family, a couple enjoying a date. The waiters were attentive but not overbearing. And since there were a couple of empty tables, we lingered a little at our table after we ate since it was so pleasant and no one rushed us to leave. Definitely would recommend and would go back.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome food & service. RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS at United Center. Athena is perfect before a UC event.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

I had a great experience at Athena. The outdoor space is awesome, truly. The service was really good. Our server ran after me outside when I forgot my credit card. Thank you soo much!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We have dined at Athena in the past and on this occasion it was a huge disappointment. Our server was the worst I have witnessed in any restaurant in a long time and this totally distorted our experience and impression. The food was OK and the surroundings should make for a good evening out but when you are confronted with bad service it detracts from the occasion. We had a booking and the restaurant was not busy so there is no excuse. I suspect that with a different server this would be a very different review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

What a wonderful find. Wanted outdoor dining on a warm evening. Opted for the atrium dining room with open windows and roof. Made us feel like we were outdoors but the comforts of avoiding a hot sun.

Staff was attentive and helpful in selecting wine and foods for the evening. We have been going to Greek Town for years and have found our new favorite spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The meal at Athena was exceptional; the two of ordered different dishes and they were both absolutely delicious. The service was charming and extremely prompt.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our friends had never dined here before and they loved it. Everything so fresh and delicious and perfect for a summer night with the open air seating. Everyone felt as though they were on vacation!! Perfect spot to get together with friends!! Great night!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was delicious, our favorite being the grilled octopus. Everything was quite flavorful, the service was fast and efficient, by no means rushed. Nothing is better than dining on the patio in a lively summer night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food has gone way down in quality recently. The only time our server was attentive was to pick up our check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I booked this restaurant to celebrate a graduation. I was looking for a restaurant with outdoor dining not too far from the Arie Crown Theatre. Athena's patio rocks! We sat near the fountain, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect spot on a sunny summer day. The food was fresh and plentiful, especially good was the swordfish k-bobs and grilled octopus. It is our new favorite spot in Greektown.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great quality of food and reasonable price. We loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Athena is always a favorite. It's beautiful dining allows for a feeling of the outdoors without the drawbacks (wind, rain, etc.). The food is always delicious and the service is friendly and responsive.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Business Meals, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great food and service. Valet park with only tip required. Nice staff. It is my go-to spot for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our waiter was outstanding! Super attentive, kind and funny. We loved him. And I never asked his name. I hope you have him registered there. His backup cleared out tables all the time and handled things for us like bread , containers bags etc. it was Father's Day and it made it ver pleasant for us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

great environment and great service. Their staff makes great connections with their customers. We will be going back as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Athena never fails to provide authentic Greek dishes with exceptional service from the curb. The staff is attentive, friendly and welcoming and treats every guest as though they are the only person in the restaurant. Service is exceptional in every aspect. This is a treasure in Chicago dining and a wonderful place to do business or share a meal.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Horrible experience with the managers!

We, a party of 9 (including 3 kids) were told "get out of here!"
Why? Because we sat at a bigger table, and asked the server to confirm with the manager if we can sit there.

This phrase was repeated multiple times, loudly, so all the other tables stared at the manager and us. For the first seconds, we couldn't understand, does he mean- get out of the restaurant, or what?!

After our SHOCk, we ask the manager what does he mean, and he said that the table is reserved for another party (no "reserved" marking, or notice)

We asked for a supervisor, but we were told that the restaurant is busy that day, to call the next day ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great, outdoor dining. Atmosphere is vibrant. Food is very good. Highly recommend.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I love going back to Athena when I return to visit Chicago. I had them cater a party when I was leaving. I love Greek food and especially like the appetizers. Nothing like ouzo over ice and taramasalata and other greek appetizer combos to make the night. Had a great visit with friends there.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great fun for a special birthday
Thank you so much

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Beautiful setting on a summer evening with the rollback roof and the water feature

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Wonderful Greek cuisine, very appealing ambiance. I took a few business colleagues to diner and Athena did not disappoint. The food and service were excellent and the decor was scenic and exuded a Greek-island-like atmosphere. My guests seemed extremely pleased and content with their experience that evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Nice place. Delicious Lamb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Very nice place. Remodeled not too long ago. Usual Greek staples. Appetizers just ok except outstanding octopus. Athenian chicken a bit overcooked. Nice fun place for a group outing. Nice outdoor patio. Great service. Free valet parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This has to be the best outdoor dining experience I have had in Chicago downtown in the last 5 years I have worked downtown! The options for door seating and the ambiance is exquisite! Well done! Food was great. Lots of variety from salads to many lamb dishes and whole fish for lunch! Deserts and cappuccino! Great Greek Wine! Service was impeccable with cheerful helpful wait staff!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Dinner was great but the server was not tentative. I will definitely go back but make sure I have a different server.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant was authentic Greek culture and food.
Service was outstanding.
Food portions were perfect so that you didn't feel that you had to eat too much.
Outside terrace was very enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

A beautiful evening for pateo dining. The food and service were very good.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The outdoor patio at Athena is second to none! My daughter and I had a wonderful lunch there on a beautiful sunny afternoon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.