About Athena Restaurant

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Casual (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (11)
Family Style (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
People Watching (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fireplace (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Historic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious Greek food. Fish, chicken, and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Delicious Greek food. Fish, chicken, and lamb - all good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am a vegetarian and I enjoy the food, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

I am a vegetarian and I enjoy the food, the service, and the complimentary valet parking. The value is wonderful, too. In the summer, I love the retractable roof. :-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad service today They were tired and t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Bad service today

They were tired and the servant lectured me 3 times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Delicious avgolemono (egg/lemon) soup. V ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Delicious avgolemono (egg/lemon) soup. Very lemony-yum! Nice atmosphere. Always a pleasure to visit Greektown!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First off, the service from Anastacio wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

First off, the service from Anastacio was outstanding! And the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was very good . We had Saganaki recently somewhere else and Athenas was much better(less salty). We ordered a chicken dish and veggie kabobs which were also very good. Nice atmosphere. We sat in the room with the fireplace which made it feel cozy. Over all a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We chose Athena for an early New Year's ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We chose Athena for an early New Year's Eve dinner and were pleased in every way.

We were greeted by a most friendly hostess (Grace) who promptly sat us exactly at our reservation time.

Food and service were excellent!

Server and wait staff were attentive and friendly without being obtrusive.

Our selections of spanakopita, seafood, lamb and desserts were all delicious.

Good wine list too! Our server suggested a Cabernet which was smooth and paired well with our dinner.

Oh-Pahh!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to celebrate my engagement. Really ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went to celebrate my engagement. Really enjoyed the authenticity, and romance. Went at a less busy time so our food was made to perfection...The chef really took their time, tender juicy char broiled chicken. We especially liked the calamari and baklava.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, , Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Athena Restaurant is a hidden gem. The f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Athena Restaurant is a hidden gem. The food is spectacular. The service is better. You feel like family when you dine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my fiance came here for a late ni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Me and my fiance came here for a late night dinner date. We had made a reservation for a table, and we were seated right away when we came inside. Our server was very punctual, and our food came out really quick! The only downside was when we were finished eating he took a little bit longer than usual to come and bring us our check, but I think it was because he had gotten a large party in his section about halfway through our meal. As someone who has worked in the industry I totally understand being sat a large party so I wasn't upset by it at all, and neither was my fiance. Overall, we had an amazing experience and I definitely will be visiting again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Gorgeous glass atrium seating & generous ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Gorgeous glass atrium seating & generously proportioned round tables, perfect for a group of 6. We were able to share our dishes easily & converse w all members of our party throughout the meal. We had requested the grilled octopus (hot appetizer) & lamb w artichokes on our reservation, and were delighted to find both on the menu. We also tried 2 new dishes this time, lamb in lemon sauce w potatoes & a beef dish from the feature menu - all were perfectly prepared, w rich, balanced flavors, generous proportions, and nice presentation. The restaurant was comfortably busy, but service was prompt & attentive throughout the meal. A great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The servers waiters were very Attentive ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The servers waiters were very Attentive and good authentic Greek food

Tags: Good for Groups, Fireplace, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had 3 Lamb lovers in the party and they ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had 3 Lamb lovers in the party and they agreed, this is the place to come for lamb!! They all enjoyed their meals. Nice wine list, and the service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we ordered was good, not wond ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything we ordered was good, not wonderful but good!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nice place for a nice dinner! Went there ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Nice place for a nice dinner! Went there with my daughter after a Nutcracker play.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The place is beautiful and so welcoming. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The place is beautiful and so welcoming. Our waiter was excellent & had great suggestions as to what to eat. It was a delightful experience.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a birthday lunch celebration. One ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

We had a birthday lunch celebration. One diner had an appetizer of delicious hummus and a appetizer skewer that was big enough for a meal, and delicious. The other diner tried the quail; which was tender and tasty. The service was prompt as you want for lunch, without being overly aggressive. Would definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here was a disappointment. We f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food here was a disappointment. We found the pastitsio bland and devoid of the savory meat flavors for which it is known. The moussaka was also pretty bland. The lamb and dolmades were good, and the smelts were good and plentiful. Best of all was the bread. This restaurant is large and very busy. Perhaps we ordered wrong or caught them on an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Traditional Greek food at a refined leve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Traditional Greek food at a refined level, with large and satisfying portions. Food outshines other Greek restaurants in this popular Chicago area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing real authentic food.

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Amazing real authentic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasant evening with old friend--many a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Pleasant evening with old friend--many appetizers and an excellent Malbec in an informal atmosphere.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great. Great food. Great service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always great. Great food. Great service. We visit often and this trip introduced our six-week old grandson to Greek town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Historic, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Warm and friendly with a retractable roo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Warm and friendly with a retractable roof to enjoy the weather.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always go to Athena when we want Gree ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We always go to Athena when we want Greek food. It doesn't disappoint and it didn't

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A wonderful time and meal with good frie ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

A wonderful time and meal with good friends. Delicious food in abundance. Ironically and yet enjoyably, we had much finer service from our bus man than our waiter. This young man was highly attentive and helpful and gave us great service. Our waiter on the other hand seemed somewhat disinterested and in a hurry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Ambiance in atrium dining room wit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great Ambiance in atrium dining room with outdoor seating available. Terrific Greek food! Saganaki Is Awesome! Opa! The service is top-notch! All the waiters are friendly and fast. We have been to Athena restaurant many times and it is consistently very good! Highly recommended! We will definitely return. Enjoy!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there before a Bulls game and th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We went there before a Bulls game and thought we had been here before, but it turned out we hadn't and were extremely pleased with the atmosphere, food and service. Loved the decor as well. We have told several of our friends and family about how good the food was.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Cozy, , Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Private Room, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable! Relaxing dinner with my ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Very enjoyable! Relaxing dinner with my sister, there was noise from a lot of people talking in such a big open area, but we could hear each other just fine. Waiter and staff were great, wine was good and food was wonderful and not pricey!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, , Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was well-prepared and tasty. Se ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was well-prepared and tasty. Service was good. It was extremely quiet because the Cubs were playing and no one was out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love love love this place! Will definite ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Love love love this place! Will definitely be going back to eat again!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Scenic View, , Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all loved Athena's food, ambiance, an ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We all loved Athena's food, ambiance, and service. The starters, both cold & hot are delicious, from the combination platter, to octopus, to peppers & feta, meatballs and of course saganaki. It works out well if you have a large group to sample the wide variety. The entrees were all exceptional from combination platter, to beef tenderloin, lamb chops and gyros. We also enjoyed some of the best galactobourikos (sp?) we have ever had. There is a great wine list and we had several bottles of a white from Crete. We all found Athena to be exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, value, ambiance and se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Outstanding food, value, ambiance and service! I highly recommend it! never disappointing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding quality restaurant - great s ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Outstanding quality restaurant - great staff and management

Good and fresh food at a great value!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at this restaurant is something I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Eating at this restaurant is something I look forward to. This time the service was terrible, you were out of a specials at 6 PM. I only left the waiter 15%.

We will be back as you are the best restaurant in Greek town.

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Food was phenomenal. We did family Greek ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was phenomenal. We did family Greek style and ordered almost every appetizer. The host, Kosta took great care of us giving us a nice table off to the side since this was a business meal. Our server Stelios was excellent. This place is 10 stars if that was a possible vote. A must see for authentic Greek in Greektown!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Greek food! We are big fans of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent Greek food! We are big fans of Greek food, and this was among the very best!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, , Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We visited to celebrate our son and daug ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We visited to celebrate our son and daughter-in-law's second anniversary. Everything was great, from the greeting to the service. The food was delicious and served promptly. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though you walk into a large open s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Even though you walk into a large open space here, it's comfortable. Our server was very patient with our group, making dinner and wine suggestions for those not familiar with Greek cuisine. Those at our table who ordered lamb dishes commented that the meat was dry/over cooked in spots. All else was very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Poorly organized disappointment, with de ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Poorly organized disappointment, with delusions of grandeur. We arrived 5 minutes late for our reservation, and told we were early, so needed to wait at the bar. After 25 minutes, we checked on our table and were told another 10-15 minutes. We were celebrating my mother's 75th birthday, and she didn't want to eat at 9pm. There was no contrition when we left - only blaming of other diners for staying too long at their tables. BTW - while their closed in patio looked like a nice space, the widely publicized "Skyline views" is a complete joke. Its a ground floor space looking out on 2 or 3-story buildings on the other side of the road! We went next door to Rodity's, not so "trendy" but a quiet, family-run restaurant where we were seated immediately and enjoyed wonderful food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wow.....from service to food flavors it ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wow.....from service to food flavors it was very memorable

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 4, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was even better. When I return to Chicago, I will be back!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.