About Athena Restaurant

Serving delicious Greek cuisine in a classic old world setting. Indoors, enjoy our fine Greek architecture and art, with comfortable seating and warm fireplaces. Outdoors, dine on our patio with an award-winning view of the Chicago skyline. Our newly renovated, glass retractable doomed patio seats year round and has heated floors and a fireplace in the winter and fountains and beautiful flowers all summer. Come enjoy a piece of Greece!!!

212 S Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60661
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Greek

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 12:00am

Cross Street:
Adams

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 655-0000

Website:
http://www.athenarestaurantchicago.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Athena Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Good for a Date (42)
See All
Casual (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Fun (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Business Meals (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Scenic View (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
People Watching (14)
Kid-friendly (12)
Romantic (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Healthy (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort by
S
655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious but dessert wasn't good (custard had burnt taste). Overall great place and atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Staff was awsome food was great. Drinks a little pricey. over all experience was great.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Love coming to Athena, but Saturday night the service - which is usually phenomenal - was frankly a disaster. It took our waiter almost 10 minutes to even greet us and bring menus. Food arrived fairly promptly but it took us 10 minutes at the end of the meal to find the waiter to ask for the check. Dont think it was his fault - waiter seemed to be running all over the place and they were very busy - but there were 2-3 others who seemed to be standing around doing nothing. Will return and hopefully sit in main dining room where my service experiences have all been outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We made a reservation for Athena for a Saturday night birthday dinner for my mom. We were a half hour late due to a super slow Uber driver, but they managed to seat us within minutes even though the restaurant was packed with people. It is definitely a hot spot on weekends it seems, so come early or make a reservation. Staff was attentive and fun, but service was a bit on the lagging side at times due to the sheer volume of diners. It wasn't a big deal to us as we were having fun celebrating and not in a rush! The food was delicious and priced reasonably. The egg lemon soup was the best I've ever had. So delicious! I got the stuffed chicken breast which was also very good and a huge portion of food. Great atmosphere, was quite loud. We'd definitely come again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Athena is always great, seriously, always. The staff is warm and welcoming, and the food is as authentic as it get and so fair priced. You can never go wrong here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

One of my favorite places in the city to meet friends...especially in the warmer months when the walls open up to the outside. The wines are great, food is great and the staff is always super friendly and accomodating.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Healthy, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Always good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The atmosphere was wonderful, food fantastic! I have not been here in years, wow what a pleasant surprise

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We usually go to Greek Islands when in Greek town, but opted for Athena on 10/27 with friends. It was a busy, crowded Friday night but the place is so huge it didn't seem crowded. That being said the noise level was pretty high which made it hard to have a conversation across the table. We had saganaki and taramasalata for appetizers. The Saganki was rubbery but the taramasalta was the best I've ever had. I had the Chicken Lemonatia which was very tasty, but light on the lemon flavor. My husband had the Spanikopita and the portions were so large we brought half of each home. The baklava for dessert was a huge piece (enough for 4) but a little tough also. Service was very good. we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Athena has been remodeled since I had been there, which has been awhile. Love the new look. Everything we had was very good along with our service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The food and service was good however the shuttle bus service to the hockey game was terrible.Taking the shuttle there was fine but when we finished with the game the bus was not there for us or the other people about 12 of them. We waited for 20 minutes in the cold.After 20 minutes we called the restaurant and were promised pick up within 10 minutes. After another 20 minute wait we had to catch a uber to the restaurant. How could the restaurant advertise this lousy service to its customers. We found out later that this is thing that happens often.They should get rid of this service and STOP LYING TO THERE CUSTOMERS. The four of us were very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere! The waiter wasn’t attentive and helpful! Food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Started out with stereotypical order of Saganaki - glad we did; just a fantastic tasting Saganaki. Had the Greek platter following that as well as lamb chops. Everything was great. Loud like most Greek places on a weekend - but that was not an issue. Overall a great meal!

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Great service, food & ambience! Many great options on the menu... So much so we returned the two days later to continue the experience. Waiter highly personable & even remembered the wine we were drinking two days earlier. Saganaki is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Date night is always great when we go to Athena's.
Appetizers are spot on. The service is great because the servers all cover for one another. It truly is a team effort. We thought the valet was a tad reckless and our server disappeared for about 30 minutes, but that had minimal effect on our opinion of Athena's . We will be back again and again for a great, authentically Greek experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

We listed birthdays on our Open Table reservation, but nothing was acknowledged.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The customer service was outstanding. Hard to compete with Greek Islands next door. Good value for food. The place flooded while we were there due to the unusual rain we got. The restaurant was super accommodating and in good spirits despite the issue.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Beautiful Restaurant with excellent food and wonderful service. I loved that they had a sampler platter of authentic Greek food on the menu. I can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The food was phenomenal! We had the sirloin skewers and were very happy. Our waiter was extremely attentive and gave us good suggestions. We took friends who had never been there and were happily impressed. Valet parking is a plus and did I mention the food was phenomenal???

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

The inside of the restaurant is beautiful with a great outdoor patio space. Open layout makes it feel less crowded, even when busy. Service was very prompt and the food was delicious.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This is my second time back to Athens in a short period of time and I can't wait to go back. Everything from the wine, gyros, seafood kabob, salmon, etc are all absolutely outstanding. You're going to be hard pressed to find a more beautiful outdoor patio space to eat in as well. 11/10 experience, and I truly mean that.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

You don't do Greek without at least one order of Saganaki...but how do you do Saganaki without the flame?! Overall we enjoyed our experience here, but were a bit disappointed by the lack in theatrics this visit. I'm not sure if it has been deemed too much of a work hazard, but now all you get is an "Opa!" with a lemon juice drizzle.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Third time and the service has not been good any of the times. I wish it were better, not sure I want to go back. This time and the last time I got up and looked for the waiter, the wait for coffee and desert took forever. When I found the waiter I said we want to leave where is the desert and how long can ice cream take? I said the service has been awful and he said tell me about it....I said I am telling you!
Same thing happened the last time! Food was great/service not so much!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Ambiance and food were very good but took awhile to get the waiter’s attention when we were seated. I went for the Greek salad; was good but more average than expected.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food, service, and ambience were all fantastic. I highly recomend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This Greek town favorite does not disappoint. The grilled octopus is excellent. 6 meatless dolmades are a great starter - cold. The saganaki is the standard at all these places.

Would recommend the Mediterranean Sea bass as a specialty. Deboned at the table. Gyro platter was well received. Chicken kabob was great. Tender and moist. Had a nice Malbec with dinner.

Chocolate raspberry cake was a perfect dessert.

Service was perfect.

Ambiance- energetic and loud. Lots of groups. Young and old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This is a very accommodating and easy restaurant which happens to have excellent , fresh food. Come and stay awhile!! My mother and I went for a Saturday lunch, had lemon chicken with vegetables and rice , green beans and potatoes . We meant to order saganaki but forgot. It was all delicious , perfectly seasoned and just the right combo of veggies . The bread to start was very fresh , we made a conscious decision not to eat all of it ! Our experience was enhanced by the ambience - high ceilings , sunlight and a very attentive waiter . The multi generations that come there too were fun to watch - grandparents, parents, and the kids. The place is handicap friendly , it was easy for my mother to get around with her "roller".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Attentive wait staff, amazing food beautiful setting - all in Greek Town

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Our waiter was superb. the food wonderful and the atmosphere exactly what we were looking for. This is a favorite spot to celebrate or just grab a quick lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food was so so so good and came out very quickly. Service was great until a large party of 30 was seated. Baklava was not my favorite, but the rest of the food we ordered was fantastic. great prices and tons of leftovers!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We always make a stop here when we are in Chicago! The food is delicious and reminds me of my mother in laws cooking. The appetizer portions are large and definitely for sharing. The wine list doesn't disappoint either. We have never had bad service however this time our waiter was very curt until he left the bill at the table, hmmmmmmm. Definitely not the norm for this place! I would recommend this for lunch or dinner, large group or small. Like a small piece of Greece!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Classic Chicago Greektown restaurant; good food, friendly atmosphere, child-friendly (even late Saturday evening)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were put in an unacceptable table next to the raised metal enclosure which should not a place for tables

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The renovation is very nice. Open air environment and great wine selection. Brancott is a great choice with the stuffed chicken. Customer friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Best Greek restaurant in Chicago!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Food and service was excellent. My husband tried the special which was the sea bass and he said it was amazing. I had the chicken and it was excellent. I will be back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Anastasios was a great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We have always gone to The Parthenon in Greek Town, but it has closed. Athena was recommended and we like it even better!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The room we were placed in was too loud to hear each other at the table. We were celebrating an anniversary with the family and we could not have a table conversation together. We had one child with us, so the loud noise level would have muffled any loud children.
For just a night out and not a family occasion the restaurant would be good. The food is delicious, the service is very good, and it was a pleasant evening out.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

athena was great again. the food recommendations from our waiter were great. the courtyard seating on a beautiful Sunday late afternoon/evening can't be beat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.