About Atera

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
Contemporary American
New York / Tri-State Area
5 More
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (45)
Special Occasion (43)
Notable Wine List (32)
See All
Romantic (17)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Highly experiential! Definitely will go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Highly experiential! Definitely will go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fine dining chef's table. Overall is a g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fine dining chef's table. Overall is a good experience. Need a little more surprises in the food. I can see why they haven't earned the third Michelin star yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience. Service was outsta ...

vip
 (東京)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful experience. Service was outstanding - very attentive and kind and accommodating. Good selection of wines. And of course the food, it was delicious. Especially enjoyed the mackerel dish, the lobster tail dish and the dry aged beef. Good choice of teas too. Overall, a pleasant and enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything I experienced on that night w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything I experienced on that night was amazing

It was far more fantastic than I expected.

Service was so nice and food was so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food and service was amazing !!!!! As al ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service was amazing !!!!! As always !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I met friends for dinner ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband and I met friends for dinner at Atera this past Friday and all of us were thrilled with the choice. Our friend said it was the best meal he'd had in a long time. Couples are seated around the counter facing the open kitchen, but because we were a foursome we had a lovely table to ourselves which made it easier for us to converse. The table was raised a bit so we still had a view of the kitchen, and the chairs were very comfortable. The chefs came over to present each course so we didn't miss that experience or interaction. We're no strangers to this dining format but we have to say that Atera is truly among the very best. There were 18 small courses, some no more than a single bite, so while it sounds like a lot of food we were satisfied without feeling overstuffed. The dishes were creatively plated and totally scrumptious. Rather than get the wine pairing we ordered wine from their excellent and extensive wine list that complemented the food well. There was not a single bite we did not enjoy and I even saw my husband eat and enjoy food he normally does not prefer to order. One of their courses is housemade bread that was simply perfect. I'm not a great fan of squab, but their version was exceptional. I won't catalog the entire menu but among my favorite dishes were the "waffle", the caviar served with pistachio ice cream and India Fine Ale foam. (I dislike beer and adored that combination. Unorthodox? Oh yeah. Amazing flavor? Yes, yes, yes.), oyster, lobster, summer vegetables, squab, beef and rhubarb chocolate popsicle. Service was flawless and charming. The room is simple and elegant without being too austere. The price is wholly justified for the quality. If you have not had the chance to dine here, it's time to seize the opportunity. Very highly recommended!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!!! Its such a w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!!! Its such a wonderful experience and just simply nothing else like this. Everything was delicious. Its an open kitchen about 20 seats 18-course dinner just exquisite! Well worth the high end price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easily one of the top restaurants in NYC ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Easily one of the top restaurants in NYC right now and Chef Emborg has definitely found his footing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A amazing dining experience that is diff ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A amazing dining experience that is difficult to describe. Great service, great atmosphere and amazing food worthy of the 2 Michelin stars. Well worth a detour and a must for foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romance, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasions
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable dining experience for a foodie ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Memorable dining experience for a foodie! One of the very best of all time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

simply a fabulous experience, from the f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

simply a fabulous experience, from the food through the wine pairings and the service. The non alcoholic cocktails were over the top. Perfect amount of food on each dish, and one left not feeling stuffed despite 18 courses

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique kitchen table style dinning exper ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Unique kitchen table style dinning experience with creative dishes and a 18 course rollercoaster of flavours by Ronny Emborg. Loved it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our first 2 * restaurant and we c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was our first 2 * restaurant and we could definitely tell a difference from the previous 1 * restaurants. It was quite magical to see the chefs prepare or meals like surgeons doing a heart transplants (ok, maybe slight overexaggeration...).

There were a lot of meals that were home runs/slame dunks for us. We´d recommend any foodie to visit Atera while they are in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience - they definit ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Amazing dining experience - they definitely deserve the 2 Michelin stars that they have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Definitely for foodies.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent. Definitely for foodies.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING by far the best meal I have ever ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

AMAZING by far the best meal I have ever eaten in NYC. Made the occasion extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Who would have thought that pistachio ic ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Who would have thought that pistachio ice cream and caviar go together so well! Spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

New experience - citrusy red string thro ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

New experience - citrusy red string throughout the meal, nice pace with everyone involved - nice atmosphere direct from the kitchen, A couple of highlights: the scallops, squab and rhubarb chocolate... Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were great, however we ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and service were great, however we walked away from dining experience a bit disappointed.

We sat at counter, however the head chef never made an effort to greet or interact with guests. The service was distracting in that different dining parties were given courses at different times, despite everyone experiencing same tasting menu, there was no apparent rhyme or reason to who got served what course first. Finally, there was rock/pop music playing in background which would be fine for most restaurants, but seemed out of place in a restaurant of this caliber.

Glad I gave it a try, but for the money, would not need to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful service and food that is creat ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful service and food that is creative and out of this world delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

18 courses and a hefty price tag (includ ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

18 courses and a hefty price tag (including drinks) is not for everyone. Not every course was equally memorable, though many were innovative. Recommended for special occasions where the cost can be justified.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Really innovative approach to flavours. ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Really innovative approach to flavours. My husband and I really enjoyed our anniversary there. We were mind blown by the food and service. The tasting is interactive and very comfortable, not too formal and well worth the money. It is a must try if in New York City!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our second Time here, the first with the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our second Time here, the first with the New chief. The atmosphere is unchanged, sophisticated, with only 12 guests participating to what remains a unique experience. Some plates should be in an anthology of cooking, caviar with pistache, lobster... Great service, large and rich wine list. We'll come back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Ronny and his team were incredible. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Chef Ronny and his team were incredible. Borge front-of-the-house and the kitchen team were friendly, organized, and accommodating. The food was exquisite and unique. It was truly a ⭐️⭐️⭐️ Meal. Can't be more happy. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An absolute must for foodies

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The restaurant is so hidden, my husband and I were a bit lost! We were equally impressed and pleased that we chose Atera during our short stay in NYC.

The attention to detail on each course was delicious and beautifully presented. We enjoyed 17 courses while watching the chefs prepare everyone's dishes. I was excited that the chef included my favorites in each course; foie gras, shaved black truffles, poached lobster, squab, pheasant egg, caviar, flavorful foam, beef and mushrooms. The list goes on. Even the coffee and tea was impressive. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great wine companion. Enjoy every meal a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great wine companion. Enjoy every meal and drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent and interesting

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Had a really wonderful dinner experience here last Friday. The menu was very innovative and interesting and some of the dishes were truly memorable (esp the lobster and the caviar). Wine pairings were well done although overall would say the QPR on the wine doesn't work so well. Dinner was two couples and that certainly worked, but more than 4 ppl I think would have been a bit too much given the set-up. Enjoying though being seated at the counter so could interact with the ppl serving the food and the somms. Service top notch and very well done.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing! Food was incredible. I loved th ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Amazing! Food was incredible. I loved the artistic ways they plated the food. There was so much attention to detail. Every bite was full of texture and flavor. Would go again and again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing. Absolutely amazing.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I've dined at Atera three times over the past two years, and each and every time it has been a spectacular experience on every level. My wife and I just celebrated our anniversary here, and they completely knocked it out of the park.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience was lovely and the food w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The experience was lovely and the food was quite good but because I've been to so many high end wine pairings in some fabulously famous restaurants that this place left me wanting more. Plus when you go for the reserve wine pairing at an additional $200 each it just seems unfair to have 4 of those wines be the same as the regular wine pairing. At that price each and every pairing needs to be outstanding. Almost half of the wines served were under $45 I'm not sure how the restauarat owwner and his sommelier can justify that. And it did not go unnoticed at the table for my husband nor myself. So unfortunatly being the foodie that I am, and am constantly recommending new NYC restaurants to my friends, this one will not be one of them. My email is listed here and I welcome any feedback on mine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing! One of the best meals I've ever ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Amazing! One of the best meals I've ever had. From service to food to ambiance to music. Worth every penny. Do the temperance pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good but not great

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Some great ideas and execution on the dishes but I was never left wanting more, and nothing was memorable except perhaps the caviar dish and the chamomile lobster bisque. There were also some dishes that dishes that overall felt lacking. In general I would say the vegetable and dessert preparations were excellent and well executed. The wine pairings really shined as well, in most cases overshadowing the food. With so many options at this price point, I would need a more compelling reason to return rather than dine elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely spectacular!! The food was ar ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely spectacular!! The food was art on a plate but a good balance of flavours. The menu was also well balanced, so as not to leave feeling over-full.

The temperance menu was a standout - very creative & quite exciting!!!!

Highly highly recommend....

By the way, the maitre d' is a hoot!

Nice to be in a fine dining restaurant where the music is well put together by a DJ & can be thoroughly enjoyed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome tasting menu

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great restaurant for a special occasion, wine pairing phenomenal, reminded us of Central in Lima. Food is perfect, flavors are very well intertwined, unexpected mix of ingredients is a full success!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly interesting menu. The general sta ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Highly interesting menu. The general standard is outstanding, although the same quality level is not achieved throughout the whole menu.

Comparing with other examples of avantgarde Scandinavian cuisine the choice of ingredients and variation in methods of cocking and preparation could be even more innovative.

As to the atmosphere, the staff is competent and very friendly. The choice and volume of the music may not be everybody's taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my second visit. The service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was my second visit.

The service was as superb and unique as first time. They all have sophisticated humor and entertained us throughout again.

Food, sometimes the salt level was a little too high for me. Especially for a slice of steak and foie gras. However I Love how they present every plate like a masterpiece and kindness. Whoever brought the plate was so warm and had pretty smile, which added the last essence of each dish. All the Vegetables dishes were amazing.

Definitely coming back for another special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was totally fantastic! I'll visit aga ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

It was totally fantastic!

I'll visit again when i come back to nyc definitely.

It's overwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My mother and I heard wonderful things a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My mother and I heard wonderful things about this restaurant being and experience not only a great meal, and it was. The courses were beautiful and it all felt very personal as the staff almost out numbered the patrons. However, there was a table of younger girls behind us that really ruined the experience by being excessively loud, taking pictures, and lighting the beautiful room with their phones all night. It was disappointing that the management did nothing to stop them from ruining the experience, as other patrons were also bothered by this.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Amazing Gastronomical Experience

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I chose this venue for it's Michelin rating and creative approach to dining to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service was impeccable and the staff was very knowledgeable, engaging and super friendly. The music was energetic. The food was divine and we were able to watch how the food was prepped. It was like a theatrical show with front row seats. My wife and I were thrilled to have experienced this interactive and exceptional display of culinary skills for their 18 course dinner with temperance pairing. It's an experience that we will never forget and cherish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service was fantastic

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and the service was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.