Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

No matter how appealing eating a forest might sound to you, the food at Atera is not quite worth the hefty price tag. This is an incredibly interesting restaurant, and Chef Lightner is very talented. The service is incredible, the drinks are good, and it’s a really nice room. But the meal here is simply too hit and miss.

We partner with The Infatuation to bring you their smart, helpful, trustworthy reviews of restaurants on OpenTable.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Atera

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (14)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort by
S
504 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Great meal and a unique service experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Exceptionnel. Etonnant. Peu commun. Tres bon. Vaut son prix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2017

Atera is a special location. The staff are excellent hosts, hospitable in every way. The food was wonderful. Each dish was presented beautifully. The flavors were incredibly varied and interesting throughout the whole meal. The room is cozy and the kitchen and preparatory work are right in front of you. The ambiance is perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Impeccable. That is the only word to describe this singularly exceptional experience. Intimate setting, attentive service, outstanding food and wine. This has moved to the top of my list for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Amazing and creative food, wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Excellent and creative food, smart wine pairing, overall an amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I loved everything about this 2 Michelin Star tasting menu. From the casual bar seating around the serving kitchen, to the fun and friendly staff in the kitchen and serving, to the rock music selection, to the details and eclecticism of each dish, to the extensive wine list (who has Vin de Paille anywhere else in NYC?). A recommendation without any reservation (but do book in advance!)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great food and service. All the dishes matched our taste. Not greasy or salty for the savory dishes, and not too sweet for the desserts. The pistachio ice cream accompanying the caviar is a bit too sweet and gives some fishiness to the caviar, but we like the concept. Ingredients are fresh and cooked right to get the best out of them. Strong beverage program as well. This us a fantastic restaurant with Manhattan vibe. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Unique experience, staff very professional and friendly. Unbelievable food!! Truly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The best meal we've ever had. The food was fantastic - five chefs and five waiters gave us - 11 guests- the best food experience - nothing to put a finger on and the two stars and all positive reviews are well deserved.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Fantastic experience on all fronts. Food, Service, Wine, Ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

fine dinning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The best place in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

One of the best restaurants in the world!
We have been in many restaurants this one definitely deserves the third Michelin Star!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Atera was absolutely spectacular as usual - the staff is impeccable the chefs (and executive chef) are precise in executing perfect seasonal dishes - to smash our tastebuds. Michael and Matthew are amazing host - every time I dine at Atera they treat me as part of the family. The menu was undeniable full of surprises and accomplished moans in every bite from my friends that joined the Atera family for the first time. Money worth every bite.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food was diverse and excellent. The service is very personal and attentive.

The seating is at a counter where you watch the food being prepared. There is one table away from the counter that holds 4. Counter service enhanced the interaction with the chefs and the wait staff.

The food was excellent — perhaps a bit eclectic but that made the dining experience better. This tasting menu included many dishes that we haven’t eaten before. They asked if there were foods that we didn’t eat, and adjusted the menu accordingly. I won’t spoil the experience by explaining the dishes in advance.

Atera is one of our favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. Exceeded all my expectations. Everything was the best of the best. The food, the presentation, the chef, the staff, the cocktails, the interior. Everything was extraordinary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Amazing! Each dish was creative and delicious, with clever flavors and textures. We loved watching the preparation of each course. Most of the early dishes included seafood - all very fresh and bright. I did the reserve wine pairing, while my date did the regular wine pairing. While the reserve wines were excellent, the significant difference in cost wasn't worth it to me - when I go back, I'll just do the regular wine pairing. The service was excellent, and the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Absolutely incredible food. Exceptional service and a beautiful wine selection. The tasting menu was extraordinary, The quality and freshness of the ingredients are something you must try for yourself to understand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Even though 18 courses meal, i don't find it heavy meal, yet it lights, flavorful and taste so good, it start from 1st course the meal that we had keep continued variations from meat, fish, shell fish, vegetables, bird and sweet it all amazingly light and good and the service in all is the best yet is fine dining scheme but friendly and casual feel that the one is amazing for me, because we don't feel it tight and rigid we feel comforted.
In all is amazing food and service it top of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Deserves Michelin 3-stars. Much better than Modern or Daniel. Server/sommelier was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Just like the last time I was there, this is a top- level restaurant in the global list of great restaurants. I wouldn't even say it's a restaurant - it's a dining experience which is essentially a 12-seat chef's table.

Every course was absolutely amazing, with creativity not overshadowing the great taste of each dish. Very well done in service and ambience (the daily- changing playlist put together by one of the wait staff is a great personal touch). We will definitely return, and would recommend Atera to anyone looking for a top-level eating experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Blown away by this restaurant. The attention to detail in food and service was insane. Every single person working there knew it was my husbands birthday and they all wished him a happy birthday - he was ecstatic! The food - wow. Worth every single penny. The service takes this place to another level though. You can feel the passion from everyone working there. This dining experience was one that we will never forget. This place is special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We've done a number of similar tasting menus, at places like WD50 and Moto. This was a very good meal, but not perfect. The service was fantastic. A few standout courses were the oyster, caviar, and scallop. All of the food was good, but the meat and dessert courses were not very memorable. One of the wine pairings was quite bad; I couldn't finish it. (The rest were fine.) It was a great experience and a very good meal, but for the price, I had slightly higher expectations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

was my first time eat dinner in fine dining restaurant.
service was nice food was fantastic wish i could go next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

really good,but not amazing and surprising as I first time came here. The part of “Molecular” is not strong enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Hands down the best dining experience in NYC. It's perfect in every way. The most unbelievable floor men you'll ever come across. The attention to detail is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What a wonderful experience. When we arrived we were approached and addressed by our names, which is so intimate and special. The decor is beautiful and elegant. With only 18 seats available, you're front and center with the chefs and just a few others as they prepare your food. The music is awesome, as they have a great playlist playing with all genres of music. Everyone in the restaurant from the staff to chefs are professional, friendly and knowledgeable. The food dishes are unique, presented beautifully and delicious. We also enjoyed the wine pairing option which was a fantastic addition to our meals. You're served 18 courses and each dish is better than the next. You're not given a menu, which is exciting because every dish is a surprise. They cater to your dietary needs and still present a fabulous dish.

We will absolutely be back and soon too. We have been to restaurants all over the world, including those that are Michelin starred and this place is definitely right up there, if not better.

Thank you for an amazing experience and we cannot wait to enjoy an experience (because that's exactly what this is) again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Recently in NYC there seems to be an increasing trend of chefs paying more attention towards their vegetarian clients. While many are showing new revamped vegetable tasting menus across the city, the vegetable tasting at Atera is by far one of the most well thought out and delicious menus, surpassing gold standard vegetable tastings like Dovetail. In addition to the subtitle yet stimulating flavors that the chefs at Atera emphasize throughout the tasting, what must equally be commended is their beverage program whose wine pairings not only compliment but enhance the dishes presented. Last but not least, the wonderful service was the cherry on top to this breathtaking meal. While Atera seems to have remained stagnant at 2 stars since its inception, it is becoming increasingly clear that it is mere inches away from a coveted 3rd star. I will definitely be back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Phenomenal experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Dining at Atera was an incredible experience that far exceeded my expectations. I will certainly be recommending this establishment to everyone I know. Definitely deserves a third star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful food, we absolutely loved it, outstanding service, the bill was just extremely high. Even more than 3 Michelin Star restaurants I've visited. But worth a visit if you not on a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Outstanding lunch at atera! Food was delicious and creative. Non-alcoholic beverage pairings were wonderful! Service was very professional and attentive. Great to see the Chef working and presenting the dishes. 18 courses that were each individually superb. Already made my next lunch reservation at atera.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Amazing food, presentation, service and staff. Mains in particular were terrific, as well as the temperance pairings, which were an absolute treat from beginning to finish. Laid back atmosphere and no dress code are also a plus for place like this in my books - though most people dining around me did seem more dressed for the occasion, I felt just as welcomed walking in with a generic Nike tee, and some jeans.

Lovely place, all in all - zero complaints.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our first trip to New York from Sydney and we were recommended by friends to try Atera. It's intimate size (16 seats only) and view of the kitchen made it an outstanding event not just a fine dining dinner. Watching the kitchen work with machine like efficiency was a true delight. Ninjas appearing and removing plates with precision. The staff were amazing and happy to talk to us as we asked about all the interesting things happening around us. The food was something truly next level and we enjoyed an exciting series of courses with matching wines. I would like to thank Chef Ronny, Jimmy (good to see an australian making it big in NY), Amit (Chestnut), Kevin, Alec, Evan (Sommelier for us), Mike (Ninja 1), Yumi (Ninja 2), Justin and Matthew. Thank you for making our first trip to NY one to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A great new addition to the New York food scene. The chef is innovative and the craftsmanship superb. The staff was attentive but not obsequious, and the pairings were delivered perfectly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The ambiance does a great job of balancing upscale, fine dining with a relaxed, unstuffy experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing experience. Each course was delicious. The wine pairings were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.