Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Atera

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (31)
Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Open Kitchen (13)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding lunch at atera! Food was delicious and creative. Non-alcoholic beverage pairings were wonderful! Service was very professional and attentive. Great to see the Chef working and presenting the dishes. 18 courses that were each individually superb. Already made my next lunch reservation at atera.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food, presentation, service and staff. Mains in particular were terrific, as well as the temperance pairings, which were an absolute treat from beginning to finish. Laid back atmosphere and no dress code are also a plus for place like this in my books - though most people dining around me did seem more dressed for the occasion, I felt just as welcomed walking in with a generic Nike tee, and some jeans.

Lovely place, all in all - zero complaints.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our first trip to New York from Sydney and we were recommended by friends to try Atera. It's intimate size (16 seats only) and view of the kitchen made it an outstanding event not just a fine dining dinner. Watching the kitchen work with machine like efficiency was a true delight. Ninjas appearing and removing plates with precision. The staff were amazing and happy to talk to us as we asked about all the interesting things happening around us. The food was something truly next level and we enjoyed an exciting series of courses with matching wines. I would like to thank Chef Ronny, Jimmy (good to see an australian making it big in NY), Amit (Chestnut), Kevin, Alec, Evan (Sommelier for us), Mike (Ninja 1), Yumi (Ninja 2), Justin and Matthew. Thank you for making our first trip to NY one to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The ambiance does a great job of balancing upscale, fine dining with a relaxed, unstuffy experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing experience. Each course was delicious. The wine pairings were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Second visit after a long break. Creative dishes following a great sequence and flow. Initially a bit rushed serving, but overall nice pace. Wine pairing was fantastic. Very New York City vibe, which makes this place a wonderful place to entertain a guest from abroad. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Superb as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Of all the ridiculously expensive dinners I have had, this was by far the most worth it. I look forward to another visit!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

An excellent concept. You sit on high chairs facing the kitchen. It's a pleasure to observe how all the 20 small plates comprising the menu are created. The ingredients are of the highest quality and the chef's creativity is impressive. Service is friendly and professional. Dinner with a view - but not in the traditional sense.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Three dishes I would call outstanding, the rest were good/ok. Disliked the "temperance" non alcoholic pairings couldn't drink most of them at all and was not the only one. Husband had wine pairing they were very good. Hate tall stools but you need them to see the kitchen, which was amazingly organized and very fun to watch! Staff was great, everyone works hard there and cares what they are doing you can tell. Don't like there is no place to go before hand, they should of kept the lounge area and this knocked off points for us too. My husband enjoyed his tasting menu more than I did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was our first time experiencing Nordin/Scandinavian cuisine and I believe I experienced its best representation outside of its respective country at Atera. I needed a couple days to 'digest' this experience, and I enjoyed it very much.

First off, the service was incredible and you shouldn't feel any reservations about the inclusive service fee. We received small napkin holders for our cell phones and a napkin for my camera; I've only experienced this at high-end restaurants in Japan and never in America. Servers were patient, somms were friendly and educational, and the chefs were so friendly and presented each dish with a warm smile on their face. We were celebrating an anniversary and received warm congratulations from the chefs and servers and a complimentary black tea cake, which was amazing and incredibly delicious!

Having no background with this type of cuisine I had no expectations, but I was blown away. I think the cooking highlights particular ingredients with a focus on seafood and harmony between fresh vegetables with some richness from a puree, reduction, or the protein. I wish I could have had a dialectic with the executive chef about the cuisine, but he had a very austere and focused demeanor.

Each ingredient was of the highest quality; the caviar from Israel in particular is way better than at Brooklyn Fare (I think). It's more balanced in flavor and has a creamier and fuller body with each egg. As for the food itself, it's very light and doesn't leave you with palate fatigue or overwhelming fat usage; you leave the restaurant feeling satisfied and not exhausted from many cooking fats. Each dish was extremely thoughtful and balanced in flavor and composition; I particularly loved the balance between a particular protein and some vegetable to contrast it. Even the use of purees and broths was well thought out and well executed.

Overall, while not urgent on my NY restaurant list, I'm a fan of Atera and would return without reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Best restaurant in months, surprising!!!
Coming back ASAP

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great playlist. Food was just ok for the price. Some of the dishes were lacking taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Thanks for the birthday cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Best in town hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Top notch service. Incredibly creative dishes, unique and exquisitely prepared, delicious. We tried the Reserve wine pairing and tea progression - both were excellent. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

There are no words to describe Atera, you just have to be there. In a hyphenated word, if I must, soul-elevating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My friend and I couldn't get a table at Chef's Table at Brooklyn Fare and came across Atera. We thought we will give it a try since it's a similar concept of dining around the kitchen. The food was amazing! We really enjoyed watching the chefs putting everything together and making magic happen on every single plates. Highly recommended

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was beautifully prepared and plated. It all tasted delicious! The chef, the host, and the service was superb. A good mix of 80's and classic music playing quietly in the background was also a nice touch to make the atmosphere relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our second visit. It was even better than the first time we ate there. The food and service off the charts.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

About 5 of the 18 courses were memorable, about 5 were great and the rest are forgotten by now. $225 per persone before wine, taxes and tip. It's fair to say you spend around $900 per couple at the end of the night. It was good, very good...just not $900 good.

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here, every member of the staff congratulated us which was a nice gesture. The attention and service is flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I loved the experience, the amazing attention on little details and the food! A beautiful sensory experience. I wish people had interact more with each other since the program itself has a special dynamic but i guess it depends on the group of people of each day. The chefs were very nice and explained the dish with passion. The place very private and cozy. Thank you!! Clara and Helen from Argentina.

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing night! One of the best meals we've ever had.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I love the wine pairing! Every dish is a pure sensational journey. The staff and the sommelier are all very professional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great experience in a very intriguing environment. To us one of the best NYC dining experience. We came last year and it did not disappoint us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The tasting menu is an exceptional experience! Foodies, and others as well, will be absolutely delighted. Sitting at the counter and watching the kitchen team(!) is a delightful experience.

The music at times can be very eclectic and don't forget to bring your credit card....

We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Simply Amazing. Every aspect of the evening was executed to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great. Ver

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As you walk into the restaurant your welcomed into the space with its beautiful decor and open kitchen.

The serving of dishes is like watching a beautifully choreographed symphony where each items hits a beautiful note.

Food was incredible

The chef and staff provide amazing dining experience. A+

Great Chef's Table Dining Experience

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is by far my wife's favorite restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit with the excellent service and the wonderful tasting menu. It was so memorable.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I feel the more tasting menus I tried, the more difficult to be impressed. However, Atera succeeds with its creative concepts and fresh ingredients. Sitting at the counter always adds the extra bit of fun

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Food was incredibly creative, interesting, fresh and delicious. 11/10

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Not only is the food amazing but the service was excellent. Everyone was so nice and we loved having all the dishes explained to us. It's made our anniversary ever more special than we could have imagined.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing experience! The tastes, service, attention to detail and uniqueness was unparalleled! Best experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing tasting menu, with cozy ambience that a small restaurant with everyone sitting around the chef table. Friendly staff with always attention to details.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Amazing and truly memorable 20-course experience to celebrate my husbands birthday. Look forward to coming back here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was the perfect dinner, maybe the best we ever had. The food is simply perfect, service is exemplary, and the wine pairing as well as the temperance pairing are so well chosen! This will definitely be a restaurant to return to whenever we are in New York. The only thing I don't understand is why this gem of a restaurant has not yet received its third Michelin star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. It was our second visit and was as good as the first time we went.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful time at Atera. Menu was refreshing and incorporated seasonal flavours. A particular favourite is a Norwegian salmon with radish and ikura. A close second is the take on sweetbread with asparagus and umami packed mushroom jus. Atera was accommodating to a guest who had dietary restrictions. Service was attentive but not overbearing. The selection of teas (we had spring fortune from Taiwan) and the tea service was outstanding.
If I had to be picky, the music was a bit loud at times, other than that a very lovely evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.