Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Atera

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (32)
Special Occasion (27)
Tasting Menu (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Open Kitchen (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (16)
Seasonal (15)
Modern Decor (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Fun (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Organic (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the wine pairing! Every dish is a pure sensational journey. The staff and the sommelier are all very professional.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great experience in a very intriguing environment. To us one of the best NYC dining experience. We came last year and it did not disappoint us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The tasting menu is an exceptional experience! Foodies, and others as well, will be absolutely delighted. Sitting at the counter and watching the kitchen team(!) is a delightful experience.

The music at times can be very eclectic and don't forget to bring your credit card....

We will be back!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Simply Amazing. Every aspect of the evening was executed to perfection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was great. Ver

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As you walk into the restaurant your welcomed into the space with its beautiful decor and open kitchen.

The serving of dishes is like watching a beautifully choreographed symphony where each items hits a beautiful note.

Food was incredible

The chef and staff provide amazing dining experience. A+

Great Chef's Table Dining Experience

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is by far my wife's favorite restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit with the excellent service and the wonderful tasting menu. It was so memorable.

Tags: Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I feel the more tasting menus I tried, the more difficult to be impressed. However, Atera succeeds with its creative concepts and fresh ingredients. Sitting at the counter always adds the extra bit of fun

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Food was incredibly creative, interesting, fresh and delicious. 11/10

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Not only is the food amazing but the service was excellent. Everyone was so nice and we loved having all the dishes explained to us. It's made our anniversary ever more special than we could have imagined.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing experience! The tastes, service, attention to detail and uniqueness was unparalleled! Best experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Absolutely amazing tasting menu, with cozy ambience that a small restaurant with everyone sitting around the chef table. Friendly staff with always attention to details.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 20, 2017

This was the perfect dinner, maybe the best we ever had. The food is simply perfect, service is exemplary, and the wine pairing as well as the temperance pairing are so well chosen! This will definitely be a restaurant to return to whenever we are in New York. The only thing I don't understand is why this gem of a restaurant has not yet received its third Michelin star.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Amazing and truly memorable 20-course experience to celebrate my husbands birthday. Look forward to coming back here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent food and service. It was our second visit and was as good as the first time we went.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful time at Atera. Menu was refreshing and incorporated seasonal flavours. A particular favourite is a Norwegian salmon with radish and ikura. A close second is the take on sweetbread with asparagus and umami packed mushroom jus. Atera was accommodating to a guest who had dietary restrictions. Service was attentive but not overbearing. The selection of teas (we had spring fortune from Taiwan) and the tea service was outstanding.
If I had to be picky, the music was a bit loud at times, other than that a very lovely evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent and solid 2-star dining. Several of the dishes were very well executed, the aebleskiver starter with beet, and the apple and shaved foie gras was accompaned by an excellent wine pairing, where the aroma was on point. Dry aged duck with Togni cabernet was also a very well executed wine pairing. All in all a very enjoyable dinner, and I can heartily recomment the higher-end wine pairing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I'm a regular patron since the first week Marea opened years ago

Awesome place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday .. Absolutely fabulous.. The food, service, atmosphere was amazing.. This was our fifth time at Atera and it keeps getting better.. I can't say enough about this place.. You have to go!!! Already planning our next trip.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Outstanding 20 course tasting menu, cooked and plated before your eyes by a skillful set of chefs-servers. Very small (16-18 seats at a comfortable counter). Definitely a special experience, with expected high cost.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

A must taste in nyc. The food the fusion the music the stealth ninja staff. Relaxed but everything taken care of to precision including what your phone sits on so you are ready to take photos of the delights the young chefs place in front of you. The wine list - the up most to die for - such a selection let Evan decide for you. But bring deep pockets - worth every thousand dollars. We go every season cause the menu changes. Mike and Matt are supurb. Thank you for such a treat!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The entire experience was impeccable. Great service, amazing food, beautiful ambiance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Incredible. I have dined at La Bernadine, Jean Georges, Masa, and several Michelin 1 or 2 star restaurants like Aquavit, Bouley, etc., but Atera, to be honest, wins out among these restaurants. I don't really understand why it has only 2 stars; from my view, it should definitely be a seven-star restaurant (Michelin 3 ⭐️ and NY Times 4 ⭐️). I have also dined at Alinea in Chicago, which is so-called best restaurant in the U.S., but I think Atera is the best molecular gastronomy restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The service and the food were amazing! We really felt at home on finedining restaurant. It was a show. Outstanding experience watching the service and the cooks on real ballet.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Atera is truly gem in the city. The food and service is un matched in the city. Makes 11 Madison look like chopped liver. The detail and passion is felt in every meal and all the employees. Michael at the front is the best and a great ambassador.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Atera was good but not great. The reserve wine pairing was disappointing and very poor value. Overall, Atera did not deliver the kind of dining experience that you would expect from a restaurant of this calibre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The most excellent dining experience I've had, period. Food, staff, ambiance, music were off the chart. Well worth the flight from NC.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Cozy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Truly wonderful experience! The temperance pairing is definitely worthwhile, it is very thought out, creative and interesting. One of the best tasting menus. A lot of very creative bites/courses. The citrus dessert was exceptional as were many of the savory courses. Wonderful environment, and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food worths 3 stars of Michelin rating. Creative and beautufullly presented. Top notch service , modern and chic deco and the ambiance is beyond expectation. Wine pairing selection is perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service. Good wine list. Very Expensive,

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

One of the best in NYC. Amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The tasting menu is outstanding. The only dish that didn't blow my mind was the quail eggs with cream cheese, kind of boring, but everything g else was just incredible. Everything is assembled in from of you, the service is impeccable, the wine list excellent (I went with an amazing 2007 Cedric Bouchard Blanc de Blancs and then went for a glass of an ok Napa Cab and a glass of outstanding Sauternes). About 16 courses, create a fantastic journey of perfectly assembled flavors, textures and tenperatures that must together amazingly. Much more interesting and vibrant cusine than the various Per Se and Le Bernardin. I venture to say, except for the view it's worth a third star, I compare it to Meadowhood in Napa. All in all one of the best tasting menus in the city. I hope they will keep it up.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As an Australian on holidays we wanted a special meal to remember, after doing our research Atera did not disappoint . The four of us were seated on the only table in the restaurant which was perfect . From the moment we entered the restaurant until the time we left our experience was outstanding.There was not one thing that we could fault. Each course was explained in detail as well as the accompanying wine . The "icing on the cake" was that the chef was a Melbourne boy.
We would recommend Atera for foodies and wine lovers who like to indulge in something special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was the first time we visited Atera.
Food and Service were both amazing!!!
We celebrated my birthday, and each one of the stuff members new about and came to wish a happy bday.
We will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Exceptional. Secondtrip, chef excelled himself. Creativity is spectacularly gob smacking for eyes and taste buds. Yeah, will be back. Exceptional service, thanks to Matthew and Justin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pricey but a terrific experience! Highly recommended. Food was delicious--elegantly prepared and served. Staff was professional but not stuffy. Would go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had an amazing experience at Atera. The food, service and ambience were all marvelous and orchestrated to a level of detail that is commendable. We are most definitely coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

An amazing culinary event. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of the best venues and dining experiences in NYC. Excellent food, great ambience, outstanding service. In a city with many great restaurants Atera really stands out as a unique and amazing experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food AND service was outstanding! Be prepared to pay a hefty price for this meal especially if you add on the wine pairing but it's worth it! My only advice is do not bother ordering coffee or espresso with dessert, both had a weak disappointing taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.