About Atera

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

ATERA'S VALENTINE'S DAY MENU IS PRICED $350 PER PERSON, SERVICE INCLUDED. Atera will happily accommodate food allergies and diet restrictions: Please leave a note detailing specific restrictions or email Atera after booking. Cancellations within 72 hours and no-shows are subject to $195/person fee.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Open Kitchen (26)
Tasting Menu (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Seasonal (9)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Casual (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding gourmet tasting menu with Sc ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding gourmet tasting menu with Scandinavian bent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & great alcoholic beverage ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service & great alcoholic beverages. Food however lackluster in the flavor dept. Did not meet our expectations for such high end dining. To many cold plates for this time of year. & most dishes just not that pleasing to the palate. It wasn't just me, my entire party of 5 felt that way. Positive desserts were extremely tasty and the culinary artistry demonstrated in presentation of dishes was outstanding. Would I ever go back sadly no. Also ive had 8 course meals that were more filli ng, by the time I arrived home I was hungry again. Ended up eating a P&J.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

A big evening and an excellent tasting m ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

A big evening and an excellent tasting menu with service to match. Every dish is prepared, plated, and served with exquisite care. While decidedly expensive, it is worth the occasional splurge.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my new favorite place to eat. Th ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is my new favorite place to eat. The service was impeccable and the food was even more so. Most notable was their catering to my no finned-fish request and the temperance pairing. The temperance pairing was an incredibly unique feature and just as good if not (dare I say it??) better than an alcoholic pairing. My partner had a salmon dish that he said was the best salmon he had ever tasted. I can't wait to come again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and its presentation is outstan ...

 
·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food and its presentation is outstanding. The service impeccable! It just became my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, , Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Atera recently - was INCREDIBLE. ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to Atera recently - was INCREDIBLE. Every course, the service. Loved the wine and temperance pairing. Also got a really interesting caffeine free tea. They print out menus for you to take home. So incredible!!!! Staff was lovely, service was immaculate, and didn't feel stuffy in the slightest. Would defintelh return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Love the concept ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and service. Love the concept. I Will come back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Great ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Great food, amazing service, and no pretension: They played George Michael during our meal. The seating is mostly a U-shaped bar around an open kitchen so parties of more than 2 may struggle to have conversations, but there is a larger table in the corner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and ambience at Atera were amazing. ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food and ambience at Atera were amazing. We loved every bite and the food, while exquisite is not pretentious, nor is the setting. Service was impeccable and also laid back and fun - a pleasant surprise that reminded us of other favorite restaurants where you can be yourself and enjoy the experience without it being uptight. Wines pairings were excellent (we chose prestige pairings) so I am sure wine list is also great but we did not look at it in any detail. I would highly recommend Atera to anyone who likes great food that is meticulously prepared and then presented on its own merits by a staff that seemed to truly love what they did and we loved the end result. One note - there are 2 seatings and really no place to wait if you arrive early for your reservation so don't be late, but don't arrive too early either.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I LOVED this restaurant! ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

My friends and I LOVED this restaurant! The food is phenomenal. Only 1 dish out of 18 that I wasn't crazy about (but my friends liked it a lot). The service was perfectly timed and it didn't seem like we were there the 3 hours that we were. I particularly loved the beer foam, the lobster bisque, the toasted hay with oro blanco and pomegranate (my favorite). Even the glass of wine they suggested was excellent. The only complaint I have are the seats. I didn't mind sitting at a bar setup but the barstool seats were very uncomfortable. I have long legs and nowhere to put them. There is a circular piece as part of the stool under the seat but to put my legs back and under didn't work at all. I thought it was only me as I kept fidgeting and trying to get comfortable but my one friend mentioned it to me later on when she got home. She had come up from Virginia just to go there. Most reviewers have given Atera 5 stars and so do I and they definitely deserve the 2 stars that Michelin has given it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences of my ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of the best dining experiences of my life! The food and atmosphere are over the top. Service is on point they have never let me down once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't call yourself a foodie until y ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

You can't call yourself a foodie until you've eaten here. Go. Go now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An exquisite dining experience, with foo ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

An exquisite dining experience, with food as artfully presented as it was delicious. The interaction with the staff and chefs was phenomenal. They displayed incredible attention to detail while remaining relatable and fun. I highly recommend the temperance pairing for creative and delicious alternatives to wine/cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sensational food, wine , service the who ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Sensational food, wine , service the whole lot. Will be back

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely astonishing. We are french fr ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

Absolutely astonishing. We are french from Paris and then regular customer of gastronomic restaurants all over the place. This restaurant breaks the traditional gastronomic codes and is still a very high level restaurant. High end sophisticated food, perfectly mixed ingredients at tastes, and thanks, not too much. It is as well a very rock'n'roll scene and experience, and a real ballet of service and chef's hat. A real great experience.

It was a special day; 30th birthday of my wife. Great night!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful creative meal and outstanding ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful creative meal and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever experi ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever experienced. Was like a small dinner party. Something you should experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined all over the world and witho ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've dined all over the world and without a doubt Atera is pricey, however for us the 18 course experience was well worth it. If you make the decision to go, then just go and enjoy the ride!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in the world ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the world, let alone NYC, with Chef Emborg getting more assured and creative with the menu as he settles in. Hope they reopen the lounge downstairs to the general public.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable exper ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic tasting menu. Was a return vis ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic tasting menu. Was a return visit and will return back again when in NYC next time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atera is the best restaurant in the Glob ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Atera is the best restaurant in the Globe for us. From service to food, everything is outstanding!

This is our second visit and we felt special that all the staff remembered about us. This was unique given that our first visit was in December 2015!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The presentation of the food is exquisit ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

The presentation of the food is exquisite. The caviar course is amazing. The reserve wines are very special.

The interaction with chefs and staff could be improved with more warmth and a sense of welcome.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Immaculate....nothing but perfection...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Immaculate....nothing but perfection...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atera keeps improving, we have been the ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Atera keeps improving, we have been there 3 times and every visit is better than the previous. Defínetely we will keep coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a magic night, with surprising fo ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a magic night, with surprising food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food looks beautiful. And the taste ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food looks beautiful. And the taste is similar to Momofuku ko, but I don't think it worth two star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This has been the worst Michelin star re ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

This has been the worst Michelin star restaurant I have even been too. The food portions are far too small for the price they charge. You barely get to enjoy the taste before it's done. The food also lacked creativity. One course called "California olives" was a single piece of grape in olive oil. Some of the courses were very good but then again too small for the money I am paying. I know that fine dining places usually serve small portions but this was even smaller than those and lacked creativity. I went here for my birthday and regret it. With that kind of money you are better off going to a 3 Michelin star restaurant (per se, 11 Madison Ave being my fav) or a nice holiday.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Simply awesome. A spectacular dining exp ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Simply awesome. A spectacular dining experience. Breaking the codes of traditional dining. Try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit NYC from London for three week ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

We visit NYC from London for three weeks every year and Atera is always at the top of our list for an exceptional gastronomic experience. Every meal has been memorable and the combination of exquisite food and superb service cannot be surpassed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once in a live time experience !!!

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Once in a live time experience !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent meL, nice service, very intere ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

excellent meL, nice service, very interesting seating in a very personal environment.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Creativity at it' ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wonderful experience. Creativity at it's best. Wouldn't hesitate to go again. This is a special food experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Atera for my birthday. It was ab ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Went to Atera for my birthday. It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The food was incredible. Every course was delicious with little surprises along the way. Staff were professional and personable. The intimate seating around the open kitchen worked perfectly. The music soundtrack added a fun, lighthearted touch.

We've been fortunate enough to eat in some very good restaurants all around the world and Atera is at the very top of the list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience!! The food was ver ...

 
·Dined on October 12, 2016

Incredible experience!! The food was very well prepared and displayed, the wine pairing was adventurous with some very good wines. This was our third find dining experience on this trip that included Eleven Madison Park, I thought the food flavors were better here. Don't arrive early, they did recommend a bar to get a drink about 2 blocks away but we really didn't have enough time to walk there and back and enjoy a drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were seated on the top floor and that ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were seated on the top floor and that was a climb. Luckily, there was a restroom on that floor. Also a little loud for my tastes, but fun, and the food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent. Atera exceeded our expectatio ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent. Atera exceeded our expectations. Believe the hype. The level of attention to detail, the creativity, and the professionalism were outstanding. Please don't miss out on the temperance pairing or the tea progression if those even remotely pique your interest. Such a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best tasting menu so far, I have been to ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Best tasting menu so far, I have been to many Michelin starred restaurants, this one is absolutely phenomenal! The chef is out-going and really humble, the presentation and execution of the dishes are incredible!

The kitchen and the entire restaurant is quite small in size but only 16 seats per seating makes the environment very cozy and capacious.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very interesting dining experience as ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

A very interesting dining experience as the plating process can be seen directly from your table. Good services!!! Wonderful cuisines!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've lived in NYC for nearly 20 years an ...

 
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I've lived in NYC for nearly 20 years and this meal was definite one of the best that I have ever had. The amount of creativity and precision put into every dish was incredible. Also, I must say that the music played there was the best. And they brought out an extra dessert for my girlfriend's birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.