About Atera

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Open Kitchen (26)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (10)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Authentic (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Healthy (2)
Casual (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
409 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The tasting menu is outstanding. The only dish that didn't blow my mind was the quail eggs with cream cheese, kind of boring, but everything g else was just incredible. Everything is assembled in from of you, the service is impeccable, the wine list excellent (I went with an amazing 2007 Cedric Bouchard Blanc de Blancs and then went for a glass of an ok Napa Cab and a glass of outstanding Sauternes). About 16 courses, create a fantastic journey of perfectly assembled flavors, textures and tenperatures that must together amazingly. Much more interesting and vibrant cusine than the various Per Se and Le Bernardin. I venture to say, except for the view it's worth a third star, I compare it to Meadowhood in Napa. All in all one of the best tasting menus in the city. I hope they will keep it up.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As an Australian on holidays we wanted a special meal to remember, after doing our research Atera did not disappoint . The four of us were seated on the only table in the restaurant which was perfect . From the moment we entered the restaurant until the time we left our experience was outstanding.There was not one thing that we could fault. Each course was explained in detail as well as the accompanying wine . The "icing on the cake" was that the chef was a Melbourne boy.

We would recommend Atera for foodies and wine lovers who like to indulge in something special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was the first time we visited Atera.

Food and Service were both amazing!!!

We celebrated my birthday, and each one of the stuff members new about and came to wish a happy bday.

We will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Exceptional. Secondtrip, chef excelled himself. Creativity is spectacularly gob smacking for eyes and taste buds. Yeah, will be back. Exceptional service, thanks to Matthew and Justin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pricey but a terrific experience! Highly recommended. Food was delicious--elegantly prepared and served. Staff was professional but not stuffy. Would go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had an amazing experience at Atera. The food, service and ambience were all marvelous and orchestrated to a level of detail that is commendable. We are most definitely coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

An amazing culinary event. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of the best venues and dining experiences in NYC. Excellent food, great ambience, outstanding service. In a city with many great restaurants Atera really stands out as a unique and amazing experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food AND service was outstanding! Be prepared to pay a hefty price for this meal especially if you add on the wine pairing but it's worth it! My only advice is do not bother ordering coffee or espresso with dessert, both had a weak disappointing taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great space, service and ambiance. Good food but certainly not worth two stars. One at the most. The wine list is amazing but ridiculously overpriced. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Atera is incredible! Best NYC food experience ever. I have done a few of the 2 and 3 Michelin star and for me this was the best, especially because of the 22-course experience, nice wines and really cool staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Absolutely wonderful.

Young energetic staff, inventive dishes, excellent wine pairings.

Unique and intimate setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A spiritual experience. Food so good I actually started crying with emotion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding gourmet tasting menu with Scandinavian bent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great service & great alcoholic beverages. Food however lackluster in the flavor dept. Did not meet our expectations for such high end dining. To many cold plates for this time of year. & most dishes just not that pleasing to the palate. It wasn't just me, my entire party of 5 felt that way. Positive desserts were extremely tasty and the culinary artistry demonstrated in presentation of dishes was outstanding. Would I ever go back sadly no. Also ive had 8 course meals that were more filli ng, by the time I arrived home I was hungry again. Ended up eating a P&J.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A big evening and an excellent tasting menu with service to match. Every dish is prepared, plated, and served with exquisite care. While decidedly expensive, it is worth the occasional splurge.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is my new favorite place to eat. The service was impeccable and the food was even more so. Most notable was their catering to my no finned-fish request and the temperance pairing. The temperance pairing was an incredibly unique feature and just as good if not (dare I say it??) better than an alcoholic pairing. My partner had a salmon dish that he said was the best salmon he had ever tasted. I can't wait to come again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Extremadamente caro para lo que es.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food and its presentation is outstanding. The service impeccable! It just became my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to Atera recently - was INCREDIBLE. Every course, the service. Loved the wine and temperance pairing. Also got a really interesting caffeine free tea. They print out menus for you to take home. So incredible!!!! Staff was lovely, service was immaculate, and didn't feel stuffy in the slightest. Would defintelh return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and service. Love the concept. I Will come back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Great food, amazing service, and no pretension: They played George Michael during our meal. The seating is mostly a U-shaped bar around an open kitchen so parties of more than 2 may struggle to have conversations, but there is a larger table in the corner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food and ambience at Atera were amazing. We loved every bite and the food, while exquisite is not pretentious, nor is the setting. Service was impeccable and also laid back and fun - a pleasant surprise that reminded us of other favorite restaurants where you can be yourself and enjoy the experience without it being uptight. Wines pairings were excellent (we chose prestige pairings) so I am sure wine list is also great but we did not look at it in any detail. I would highly recommend Atera to anyone who likes great food that is meticulously prepared and then presented on its own merits by a staff that seemed to truly love what they did and we loved the end result. One note - there are 2 seatings and really no place to wait if you arrive early for your reservation so don't be late, but don't arrive too early either.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My friends and I LOVED this restaurant! The food is phenomenal. Only 1 dish out of 18 that I wasn't crazy about (but my friends liked it a lot). The service was perfectly timed and it didn't seem like we were there the 3 hours that we were. I particularly loved the beer foam, the lobster bisque, the toasted hay with oro blanco and pomegranate (my favorite). Even the glass of wine they suggested was excellent. The only complaint I have are the seats. I didn't mind sitting at a bar setup but the barstool seats were very uncomfortable. I have long legs and nowhere to put them. There is a circular piece as part of the stool under the seat but to put my legs back and under didn't work at all. I thought it was only me as I kept fidgeting and trying to get comfortable but my one friend mentioned it to me later on when she got home. She had come up from Virginia just to go there. Most reviewers have given Atera 5 stars and so do I and they definitely deserve the 2 stars that Michelin has given it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of the best dining experiences of my life! The food and atmosphere are over the top. Service is on point they have never let me down once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

You can't call yourself a foodie until you've eaten here. Go. Go now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

An exquisite dining experience, with food as artfully presented as it was delicious. The interaction with the staff and chefs was phenomenal. They displayed incredible attention to detail while remaining relatable and fun. I highly recommend the temperance pairing for creative and delicious alternatives to wine/cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Sensational food, wine , service the whole lot. Will be back

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Absolutely astonishing. We are french from Paris and then regular customer of gastronomic restaurants all over the place. This restaurant breaks the traditional gastronomic codes and is still a very high level restaurant. High end sophisticated food, perfectly mixed ingredients at tastes, and thanks, not too much. It is as well a very rock'n'roll scene and experience, and a real ballet of service and chef's hat. A real great experience.

It was a special day; 30th birthday of my wife. Great night!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful creative meal and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever experienced. Was like a small dinner party. Something you should experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've dined all over the world and without a doubt Atera is pricey, however for us the 18 course experience was well worth it. If you make the decision to go, then just go and enjoy the ride!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very impressive cuisine. Wine pairing for the tasting menu was unbelievable! I have been to Atera twice already (both bar seating and table seating) and I will definetely go back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the world, let alone NYC, with Chef Emborg getting more assured and creative with the menu as he settles in. Hope they reopen the lounge downstairs to the general public.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic tasting menu. Was a return visit and will return back again when in NYC next time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Atera is the best restaurant in the Globe for us. From service to food, everything is outstanding!

This is our second visit and we felt special that all the staff remembered about us. This was unique given that our first visit was in December 2015!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The presentation of the food is exquisite. The caviar course is amazing. The reserve wines are very special.

The interaction with chefs and staff could be improved with more warmth and a sense of welcome.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Immaculate....nothing but perfection...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Atera keeps improving, we have been there 3 times and every visit is better than the previous. Defínetely we will keep coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food looks beautiful. And the taste is similar to Momofuku ko, but I don't think it worth two star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a magic night, with surprising food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This has been the worst Michelin star restaurant I have even been too. The food portions are far too small for the price they charge. You barely get to enjoy the taste before it's done. The food also lacked creativity. One course called "California olives" was a single piece of grape in olive oil. Some of the courses were very good but then again too small for the money I am paying. I know that fine dining places usually serve small portions but this was even smaller than those and lacked creativity. I went here for my birthday and regret it. With that kind of money you are better off going to a 3 Michelin star restaurant (per se, 11 Madison Ave being my fav) or a nice holiday.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Simply awesome. A spectacular dining experience. Breaking the codes of traditional dining. Try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We visit NYC from London for three weeks every year and Atera is always at the top of our list for an exceptional gastronomic experience. Every meal has been memorable and the combination of exquisite food and superb service cannot be surpassed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

So a foodie friend had recommended this restaurant and we were looking forward to trying it on our next visit to NYC. We were really excited when we were able to get a table last fall. On the plus side, the food, the service and the ambiance was great. A truly unique dining experience. Unfortunately, as we opted to get the full experience, including the wine pairings, the final bill in my mind was just outrageous. I've eaten at expensive restaurants all over the world. This was just silly expensive and it turned what could have been an unforgettable dining experience into an unfortunate memory. I did not write the review right away to let some time pass but I still felt the need to state my dissatisfaction with the value received. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Once in a live time experience !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

excellent meL, nice service, very interesting seating in a very personal environment.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wonderful experience. Creativity at it's best. Wouldn't hesitate to go again. This is a special food experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Went to Atera for my birthday. It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The food was incredible. Every course was delicious with little surprises along the way. Staff were professional and personable. The intimate seating around the open kitchen worked perfectly. The music soundtrack added a fun, lighthearted touch.

We've been fortunate enough to eat in some very good restaurants all around the world and Atera is at the very top of the list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.