About Atera

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Food
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
10 More
Best Ambiance
New York / Tri-State Area
Contemporary American
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Ambiance
Manhattan
Best Value
Manhattan
Fit for Foodies
Manhattan
Notable Wine List
Manhattan
Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

fit for foodies (53)
special occasion (51)
notable wine list (38)
See All
romantic (21)
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (5)
good for groups (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely spectacular!! The food was ar ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely spectacular!! The food was art on a plate but a good balance of flavours. The menu was also well balanced, so as not to leave feeling over-full. The temperance menu was a standout - very creative & quite exciting!!!! Highly highly recommend.... By the way, the maitre d' is a hoot! Nice to be in a fine dining restaurant where the music is well put together by a DJ & can be thoroughly enjoyed!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome tasting menu

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Great restaurant for a special occasion, wine pairing phenomenal, reminded us of Central in Lima. Food is perfect, flavors are very well intertwined, unexpected mix of ingredients is a full success!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly interesting menu. The general sta ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Highly interesting menu. The general standard is outstanding, although the same quality level is not achieved throughout the whole menu. Comparing with other examples of avantgarde Scandinavian cuisine the choice of ingredients and variation in methods of cocking and preparation could be even more innovative. As to the atmosphere, the staff is competent and very friendly. The choice and volume of the music may not be everybody's taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit. The service ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This was my second visit. The service was as superb and unique as first time. They all have sophisticated humor and entertained us throughout again. Food, sometimes the salt level was a little too high for me. Especially for a slice of steak and foie gras. However I Love how they present every plate like a masterpiece and kindness. Whoever brought the plate was so warm and had pretty smile, which added the last essence of each dish. All the Vegetables dishes were amazing. Definitely coming back for another special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was totally fantastic! I'll visit aga ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

It was totally fantastic! I'll visit again when i come back to nyc definitely. It's overwhelming

food5
ambience3
service5

My mother and I heard wonderful things a ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

My mother and I heard wonderful things about this restaurant being and experience not only a great meal, and it was. The courses were beautiful and it all felt very personal as the staff almost out numbered the patrons. However, there was a table of younger girls behind us that really ruined the experience by being excessively loud, taking pictures, and lighting the beautiful room with their phones all night. It was disappointing that the management did nothing to stop them from ruining the experience, as other patrons were also bothered by this.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was fantastic

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and the service was fantastic

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally amazing!

Dined on April 20, 2016

My husband and I went to Atera to celebrate my 40th birthday. We were looking for a unique experience and that is definitely what we got at Atera! The food was absolutely exquisite, very fresh and beautifully presented. The chef's table experience is amazing as you can watch the chefs preparing the dishes in front of you and everything is all calm and perfectly orchestrated by the head chef. The rest of the staff (sommelier, waiters etc) are all fantastic, very friendly, very knowledgeable about their own area and made us feel very confortable. The atmosphere was also fantastic, very relaxed and quite informal for a 2-Michelin star restaurant. We expected it to be quite formal but it was not like that at all. The music played was brilliant, funk and should sounds which we love so that made the night even better for us! The fact that you're sat next to your fellow diners is also a great experience and it makes the whole restaurant very convivial. One of the best things for me was the temperance. As I don't drink alcohol, I thought I was going to have to drink sparkling water all night but, instead, I had the most brilliant non-alcoholic cocktails served to me all night, all cocktails had been designed to copy some famous alcoholic drinks including a non-alcoholic red wine made from beetroot!!! We truly had the best time at Atera and would love nothing more than to do it all over again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent

Dined on April 20, 2016

Atera delivers a magnificent dinner - the compositions of tast are faboulus! Chef Emborg takes you on an adventure that will print itself into your mind. Go there ...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the splurge. A real culinary adventure.

Dined on April 6, 2016

It was a perfect evening. Charming, very attentive service from everyone in the restaurant (and a staff:customer ratio of about 2:1). Creative, fascinating and unexpected food. Some of the courses were out of this world, others less good (razor clams and beats was a bit of a tasteless miss), but every dish was a visual feast and you watch it all prepared right in front of you. Can't recommend enough for a memorable night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once in a Lifetime

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Our experience was similar to having a party in our own home but with unbelievable food, wine and music. (And of course we didn't have to lift a finger!) We were treated like royalty and overwhelmed with the incredible staff. It was everything and more that we hoped it would be and we are sincerely planning our next visit to NYC to return to this incredible restaurant. Really there are no words to explain how much we loved our experience

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! Great experience

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Awesome! Great experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible service and cuisine!

Dined on March 25, 2016

The flavors of each and every dish were impeccable and went beautifully with the wine pairings. The service was outstanding...nobody missed a beat! Speaking of beat...the music was such a pleasant surprise! We loved the classic 70's and 80's rock! From start the finish, the dining experience at Atera is one that no NYC foodie should miss.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ok Night

Dined on March 25, 2016

Ok Night, i was a little surprised that a 2 Star Michelin Star resteurant in New York didn't have a higher level than this. If i compare it to Europe and the fact that i paid a 1000 dollars for 2 i was not thrilled. We were also hit by foodpoisining so that didn't do the rewiev better. I understand that it could happend to every resteurant but that would still not change my general review and assumption of the resteurant and the Gastro food scene in America. If i compare it to the 10+ restaurants Michelin in Denmark and the rest of Europe i must say it was the visit i enjoyed the least.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic experience

Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything went up to my expectations. Service, the food and wine. Ronny Emborg is a fantastic chef - we miss him here in Denmark.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Special Place

Dined on March 19, 2016

Extraordinary tasting menu full of surprises. For example, caviar, pistachio ice cream and beer foam. I was prepared to hate it, but it was great. Food on par with the best restaurants in NY (Per Se, 11 Madison, etc), but much more casual atmosphere. Chefs serve food, and you get to talk to them about what they are serving, so perfect for foodies. We had the reserve wine pairing , which was expensive at $400/person. The wines were very good and not the usual showy labels - I definitely felt that I was exposed to something new. We plan to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best place for our 20th Anniversary

Dined on March 13, 2016

The service is excellent ... very attentive but not overbearing ... each course was like a work of art ... we have the wine pairing which was perfect for everything each course was served with ... I thought the music was great and lively, but slightly too loud for the hushed descriptions that our servers used to describe what we where about to experience ... overall it was a wonderful meal and we had a great time ... a couple items were a bit on the salty side, but that is personal preference ... I highly recommend this place

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most amazing meal we've ever had

Dined on March 12, 2016

Amazing place right from the get go. They throw you off by making you first question yourself if you've got the right address (no sign that it's a restaurant). Thereafter you are immersed in a complete sensory experience. The venue, the service, the music, the theatre they create and of course the food, spectacular flavours and attention to detail. The wine list.....WOW! A big budget night but well worth the money just make sure you are sitting at the bar by the kitchen....DO NOT SIT AT THE TABLE!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still one of the best!

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The chef chaged, but Atera remains one of the best addresses for dinner in NY. Food as good or better than any of the city's Michelin 3-stars, but much more fun and casual. Great soundtrack, superb wine list, wonderful service. Looking forward to getting back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Atera was extraordinary! The food was be ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Atera was extraordinary! The food was beautiful and delicious and the service was top-notch. As good as any three Michelin star restaurant in New York. We cannot wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my best meals ever. Would go back anytine

Dined on March 3, 2016

Outstanding sophisticated food without ever being too much. We did the " reserve" wine pairing and that is seriously the best pairing I have ever had. Food and wine in world class

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was magnificent!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Everything was magnificent!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

We have dined at Atera on three occasions. Each one was outstanding and a truly special event. Atera is not just a restaurant for a meal, but an experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Generally good. I think expectation was ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Generally good. I think expectation was too high. Especially white stuff was good. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

An incredible experience!

Dined on February 5, 2016

An incredible experience!

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

The uniqueness of the dining experience was the seating area. One sits where all the food prep can be visualized. The chef is there as well. Attention to detail was amazing. Food quality was as expected for a 2 Michelin start eatery. They also accommodate all food allergies and requests, as my wife is a vegetarian. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best NY restaurant

Dined on February 2, 2016

A world class meal that deserves 4 Michelin stars if it was possible. Fantastic ingredients and dishes that are made with skills, respect and elegance. No fuss, great ambience and team and an outstanding wine list. Not to be missed when you are in NY and wants the best food available on earth prepared by an outstanding chef and his team. Thanks for a great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal

Dined on January 31, 2016

Thank you for such an excellent meal and wonderful dinner theater. Everything was wonderful. Catherine

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always

vip
Dined on January 20, 2016

Love this spot. Staff is always on point, food is outstanding. Do yourself a favor and eat here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Insanely good

Dined on January 19, 2016

Best restaurant experience I have ever had. Bar none. Everything about this place is of extremely high quality and all in an ambiance of fantastic fun, professionalism and without a hint of snobbiness. Please open an 'Atera 2' in London!

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on January 16, 2016

Best Michelin star dining experience ever! Great food, with some outstanding dishes. Very friendly service. Would be going back when in NYC next.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in NYC!

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

This place rocks! Beautifully presented and super tasty food, crazy fun service, and killer playlist.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best restaurant ever

Dined on January 15, 2016

My boyfriend and I had dinner here a couple days ago and had an unforgettable experience! Of all the restaurants we have been to, Atera, by far, has the best food, service and ambiance. It reminded me of the table at Chef's table at brooklyn fare in a sense that everyone was sitting around the chefs with an open kitchen. We got to watch all our dishes being prepared from start to finish. Everything was so perfectly timed and the little details made Atera stand out above all other restaurants (difference in plate temperatures for each dish, using a long beaked wine decanter to dispense water across a long table, etc). Will definitely return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Birthday Dinner!

Dined on January 14, 2016

I came to Atera with high expectations, and they were exceeded. This was more than just dinner, this was an experience. The food was amazing of course as to be expected at a two Michelin starred restaurant. The scallops with grapefruit and miso, and the foie gras with peanuts and black currant were my two highlights! The cocktails in the lounge prior to dinner were to die for, and the recomendations of the two sommeliers was on point. The service was just the highlight though, it was so entertaining and fun. I didn't want the night to end, and I can't wait to go back when the menu changes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Som

Dined on December 29, 2015

Morten Magh clearly loves wine and has all kinds of interesting bottles on the wine list. Put yourself in his capable hands and get ready for a real treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic experience

Dined on December 29, 2015

The dinning experience is simply fantastic. Definitely worth the price and worth the 2 months in advance booking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

Do yourself a favor. Go! I love everything from the ambiance to the quality of the food to the wine/tea/temperance pairings. Matt has personally greeted us every time we have come to eat here and I couldn't be more impressed with how quickly the staff makes me and my wife feel welcome. I am pretty much a zealot of Atera and I can't wait for my next opportunity to come for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprising and top

Dined on December 12, 2015

Not visible from the outside, Atera brings you one surprise after another. The food is absolutely two star value with local products, and not overdone. Atmosphere is great, with rock music in the background which is perfect! Only the wine pairing is too much, in price but certainly in quantity (for ladies too many glasses). To summarize top surprising address!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Worth 2 star

Dined on December 6, 2015

Used to nice restaurant, I can assure you atera is really a place where you need to go.

food5
ambience5
service5

Culinary artistry. Spectacular food, fla ...

vip
Dined on December 2, 2015

Culinary artistry. Spectacular food, flavors and presentation. Entertaining atmosphere. Exemplary service. Our second time here in the last six months. And we look forward to coming back again.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.