Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Atera

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Notable Wine List (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever had. Exceeded all my expectations. Everything was the best of the best. The food, the presentation, the chef, the staff, the cocktails, the interior. Everything was extraordinary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Amazing! Each dish was creative and delicious, with clever flavors and textures. We loved watching the preparation of each course. Most of the early dishes included seafood - all very fresh and bright. I did the reserve wine pairing, while my date did the regular wine pairing. While the reserve wines were excellent, the significant difference in cost wasn't worth it to me - when I go back, I'll just do the regular wine pairing. The service was excellent, and the restaurant is beautiful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Absolutely incredible food. Exceptional service and a beautiful wine selection. The tasting menu was extraordinary, The quality and freshness of the ingredients are something you must try for yourself to understand.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Even though 18 courses meal, i don't find it heavy meal, yet it lights, flavorful and taste so good, it start from 1st course the meal that we had keep continued variations from meat, fish, shell fish, vegetables, bird and sweet it all amazingly light and good and the service in all is the best yet is fine dining scheme but friendly and casual feel that the one is amazing for me, because we don't feel it tight and rigid we feel comforted.
In all is amazing food and service it top of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Deserves Michelin 3-stars. Much better than Modern or Daniel. Server/sommelier was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Just like the last time I was there, this is a top- level restaurant in the global list of great restaurants. I wouldn't even say it's a restaurant - it's a dining experience which is essentially a 12-seat chef's table.

Every course was absolutely amazing, with creativity not overshadowing the great taste of each dish. Very well done in service and ambience (the daily- changing playlist put together by one of the wait staff is a great personal touch). We will definitely return, and would recommend Atera to anyone looking for a top-level eating experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Blown away by this restaurant. The attention to detail in food and service was insane. Every single person working there knew it was my husbands birthday and they all wished him a happy birthday - he was ecstatic! The food - wow. Worth every single penny. The service takes this place to another level though. You can feel the passion from everyone working there. This dining experience was one that we will never forget. This place is special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We've done a number of similar tasting menus, at places like WD50 and Moto. This was a very good meal, but not perfect. The service was fantastic. A few standout courses were the oyster, caviar, and scallop. All of the food was good, but the meat and dessert courses were not very memorable. One of the wine pairings was quite bad; I couldn't finish it. (The rest were fine.) It was a great experience and a very good meal, but for the price, I had slightly higher expectations.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

was my first time eat dinner in fine dining restaurant.
service was nice food was fantastic wish i could go next time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

really good,but not amazing and surprising as I first time came here. The part of “Molecular” is not strong enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Hands down the best dining experience in NYC. It's perfect in every way. The most unbelievable floor men you'll ever come across. The attention to detail is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What a wonderful experience. When we arrived we were approached and addressed by our names, which is so intimate and special. The decor is beautiful and elegant. With only 18 seats available, you're front and center with the chefs and just a few others as they prepare your food. The music is awesome, as they have a great playlist playing with all genres of music. Everyone in the restaurant from the staff to chefs are professional, friendly and knowledgeable. The food dishes are unique, presented beautifully and delicious. We also enjoyed the wine pairing option which was a fantastic addition to our meals. You're served 18 courses and each dish is better than the next. You're not given a menu, which is exciting because every dish is a surprise. They cater to your dietary needs and still present a fabulous dish.

We will absolutely be back and soon too. We have been to restaurants all over the world, including those that are Michelin starred and this place is definitely right up there, if not better.

Thank you for an amazing experience and we cannot wait to enjoy an experience (because that's exactly what this is) again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Recently in NYC there seems to be an increasing trend of chefs paying more attention towards their vegetarian clients. While many are showing new revamped vegetable tasting menus across the city, the vegetable tasting at Atera is by far one of the most well thought out and delicious menus, surpassing gold standard vegetable tastings like Dovetail. In addition to the subtitle yet stimulating flavors that the chefs at Atera emphasize throughout the tasting, what must equally be commended is their beverage program whose wine pairings not only compliment but enhance the dishes presented. Last but not least, the wonderful service was the cherry on top to this breathtaking meal. While Atera seems to have remained stagnant at 2 stars since its inception, it is becoming increasingly clear that it is mere inches away from a coveted 3rd star. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Phenomenal experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Dining at Atera was an incredible experience that far exceeded my expectations. I will certainly be recommending this establishment to everyone I know. Definitely deserves a third star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Wonderful food, we absolutely loved it, outstanding service, the bill was just extremely high. Even more than 3 Michelin Star restaurants I've visited. But worth a visit if you not on a budget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Outstanding lunch at atera! Food was delicious and creative. Non-alcoholic beverage pairings were wonderful! Service was very professional and attentive. Great to see the Chef working and presenting the dishes. 18 courses that were each individually superb. Already made my next lunch reservation at atera.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Amazing food, presentation, service and staff. Mains in particular were terrific, as well as the temperance pairings, which were an absolute treat from beginning to finish. Laid back atmosphere and no dress code are also a plus for place like this in my books - though most people dining around me did seem more dressed for the occasion, I felt just as welcomed walking in with a generic Nike tee, and some jeans.

Lovely place, all in all - zero complaints.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Our first trip to New York from Sydney and we were recommended by friends to try Atera. It's intimate size (16 seats only) and view of the kitchen made it an outstanding event not just a fine dining dinner. Watching the kitchen work with machine like efficiency was a true delight. Ninjas appearing and removing plates with precision. The staff were amazing and happy to talk to us as we asked about all the interesting things happening around us. The food was something truly next level and we enjoyed an exciting series of courses with matching wines. I would like to thank Chef Ronny, Jimmy (good to see an australian making it big in NY), Amit (Chestnut), Kevin, Alec, Evan (Sommelier for us), Mike (Ninja 1), Yumi (Ninja 2), Justin and Matthew. Thank you for making our first trip to NY one to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A great new addition to the New York food scene. The chef is innovative and the craftsmanship superb. The staff was attentive but not obsequious, and the pairings were delivered perfectly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The ambiance does a great job of balancing upscale, fine dining with a relaxed, unstuffy experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing experience. Each course was delicious. The wine pairings were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Second visit after a long break. Creative dishes following a great sequence and flow. Initially a bit rushed serving, but overall nice pace. Wine pairing was fantastic. Very New York City vibe, which makes this place a wonderful place to entertain a guest from abroad. Highly recommended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Superb as usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

An excellent concept. You sit on high chairs facing the kitchen. It's a pleasure to observe how all the 20 small plates comprising the menu are created. The ingredients are of the highest quality and the chef's creativity is impressive. Service is friendly and professional. Dinner with a view - but not in the traditional sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Of all the ridiculously expensive dinners I have had, this was by far the most worth it. I look forward to another visit!

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Three dishes I would call outstanding, the rest were good/ok. Disliked the "temperance" non alcoholic pairings couldn't drink most of them at all and was not the only one. Husband had wine pairing they were very good. Hate tall stools but you need them to see the kitchen, which was amazingly organized and very fun to watch! Staff was great, everyone works hard there and cares what they are doing you can tell. Don't like there is no place to go before hand, they should of kept the lounge area and this knocked off points for us too. My husband enjoyed his tasting menu more than I did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This was our first time experiencing Nordin/Scandinavian cuisine and I believe I experienced its best representation outside of its respective country at Atera. I needed a couple days to 'digest' this experience, and I enjoyed it very much.

First off, the service was incredible and you shouldn't feel any reservations about the inclusive service fee. We received small napkin holders for our cell phones and a napkin for my camera; I've only experienced this at high-end restaurants in Japan and never in America. Servers were patient, somms were friendly and educational, and the chefs were so friendly and presented each dish with a warm smile on their face. We were celebrating an anniversary and received warm congratulations from the chefs and servers and a complimentary black tea cake, which was amazing and incredibly delicious!

Having no background with this type of cuisine I had no expectations, but I was blown away. I think the cooking highlights particular ingredients with a focus on seafood and harmony between fresh vegetables with some richness from a puree, reduction, or the protein. I wish I could have had a dialectic with the executive chef about the cuisine, but he had a very austere and focused demeanor.

Each ingredient was of the highest quality; the caviar from Israel in particular is way better than at Brooklyn Fare (I think). It's more balanced in flavor and has a creamier and fuller body with each egg. As for the food itself, it's very light and doesn't leave you with palate fatigue or overwhelming fat usage; you leave the restaurant feeling satisfied and not exhausted from many cooking fats. Each dish was extremely thoughtful and balanced in flavor and composition; I particularly loved the balance between a particular protein and some vegetable to contrast it. Even the use of purees and broths was well thought out and well executed.

Overall, while not urgent on my NY restaurant list, I'm a fan of Atera and would return without reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Best restaurant in months, surprising!!!
Coming back ASAP

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great playlist. Food was just ok for the price. Some of the dishes were lacking taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Thanks for the birthday cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Best in town hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Top notch service. Incredibly creative dishes, unique and exquisitely prepared, delicious. We tried the Reserve wine pairing and tea progression - both were excellent. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

There are no words to describe Atera, you just have to be there. In a hyphenated word, if I must, soul-elevating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My friend and I couldn't get a table at Chef's Table at Brooklyn Fare and came across Atera. We thought we will give it a try since it's a similar concept of dining around the kitchen. The food was amazing! We really enjoyed watching the chefs putting everything together and making magic happen on every single plates. Highly recommended

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food was beautifully prepared and plated. It all tasted delicious! The chef, the host, and the service was superb. A good mix of 80's and classic music playing quietly in the background was also a nice touch to make the atmosphere relaxed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This was our second visit. It was even better than the first time we ate there. The food and service off the charts.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

About 5 of the 18 courses were memorable, about 5 were great and the rest are forgotten by now. $225 per persone before wine, taxes and tip. It's fair to say you spend around $900 per couple at the end of the night. It was good, very good...just not $900 good.

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary here, every member of the staff congratulated us which was a nice gesture. The attention and service is flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.