About Atera

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
Contemporary American
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
5 More
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Best Value
Manhattan
Notable Wine List
Manhattan
Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (54)
notable wine list (40)
See All
romantic (22)
hot spot (16)
neighborhood gem (6)
good for groups (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second Time here, the first with the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Our second Time here, the first with the New chief. The atmosphere is unchanged, sophisticated, with only 12 guests participating to what remains a unique experience. Some plates should be in an anthology of cooking, caviar with pistache, lobster... Great service, large and rich wine list. We'll come back again!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Ronny and his team were incredible. ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Chef Ronny and his team were incredible. Borge front-of-the-house and the kitchen team were friendly, organized, and accommodating. The food was exquisite and unique. It was truly a ⭐️⭐️⭐️ Meal. Can't be more happy. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An absolute must for foodies

Dined on June 11, 2016

The restaurant is so hidden, my husband and I were a bit lost! We were equally impressed and pleased that we chose Atera during our short stay in NYC. The attention to detail on each course was delicious and beautifully presented. We enjoyed 17 courses while watching the chefs prepare everyone's dishes. I was excited that the chef included my favorites in each course; foie gras, shaved black truffles, poached lobster, squab, pheasant egg, caviar, flavorful foam, beef and mushrooms. The list goes on. Even the coffee and tea was impressive. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine companion. Enjoy every meal a ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Great wine companion. Enjoy every meal and drink

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent and interesting

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Had a really wonderful dinner experience here last Friday. The menu was very innovative and interesting and some of the dishes were truly memorable (esp the lobster and the caviar). Wine pairings were well done although overall would say the QPR on the wine doesn't work so well. Dinner was two couples and that certainly worked, but more than 4 ppl I think would have been a bit too much given the set-up. Enjoying though being seated at the counter so could interact with the ppl serving the food and the somms. Service top notch and very well done.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Food was incredible. I loved th ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Amazing! Food was incredible. I loved the artistic ways they plated the food. There was so much attention to detail. Every bite was full of texture and flavor. Would go again and again

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Absolutely amazing.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

I've dined at Atera three times over the past two years, and each and every time it has been a spectacular experience on every level. My wife and I just celebrated our anniversary here, and they completely knocked it out of the park.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The experience was lovely and the food w ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The experience was lovely and the food was quite good but because I've been to so many high end wine pairings in some fabulously famous restaurants that this place left me wanting more. Plus when you go for the reserve wine pairing at an additional $200 each it just seems unfair to have 4 of those wines be the same as the regular wine pairing. At that price each and every pairing needs to be outstanding. Almost half of the wines served were under $45 I'm not sure how the restauarat owwner and his sommelier can justify that. And it did not go unnoticed at the table for my husband nor myself. So unfortunatly being the foodie that I am, and am constantly recommending new NYC restaurants to my friends, this one will not be one of them. My email is listed here and I welcome any feedback on mine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! One of the best meals I've ever ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Amazing! One of the best meals I've ever had. From service to food to ambiance to music. Worth every penny. Do the temperance pairing.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great

Dined on May 25, 2016

Some great ideas and execution on the dishes but I was never left wanting more, and nothing was memorable except perhaps the caviar dish and the chamomile lobster bisque. There were also some dishes that dishes that overall felt lacking. In general I would say the vegetable and dessert preparations were excellent and well executed. The wine pairings really shined as well, in most cases overshadowing the food. With so many options at this price point, I would need a more compelling reason to return rather than dine elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely spectacular!! The food was ar ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely spectacular!! The food was art on a plate but a good balance of flavours. The menu was also well balanced, so as not to leave feeling over-full. The temperance menu was a standout - very creative & quite exciting!!!! Highly highly recommend.... By the way, the maitre d' is a hoot! Nice to be in a fine dining restaurant where the music is well put together by a DJ & can be thoroughly enjoyed!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome tasting menu

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Great restaurant for a special occasion, wine pairing phenomenal, reminded us of Central in Lima. Food is perfect, flavors are very well intertwined, unexpected mix of ingredients is a full success!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Highly interesting menu. The general sta ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Highly interesting menu. The general standard is outstanding, although the same quality level is not achieved throughout the whole menu. Comparing with other examples of avantgarde Scandinavian cuisine the choice of ingredients and variation in methods of cocking and preparation could be even more innovative. As to the atmosphere, the staff is competent and very friendly. The choice and volume of the music may not be everybody's taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This was my second visit. The service ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

This was my second visit. The service was as superb and unique as first time. They all have sophisticated humor and entertained us throughout again. Food, sometimes the salt level was a little too high for me. Especially for a slice of steak and foie gras. However I Love how they present every plate like a masterpiece and kindness. Whoever brought the plate was so warm and had pretty smile, which added the last essence of each dish. All the Vegetables dishes were amazing. Definitely coming back for another special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was totally fantastic! I'll visit aga ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

It was totally fantastic! I'll visit again when i come back to nyc definitely. It's overwhelming

food5
ambience3
service5

My mother and I heard wonderful things a ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

My mother and I heard wonderful things about this restaurant being and experience not only a great meal, and it was. The courses were beautiful and it all felt very personal as the staff almost out numbered the patrons. However, there was a table of younger girls behind us that really ruined the experience by being excessively loud, taking pictures, and lighting the beautiful room with their phones all night. It was disappointing that the management did nothing to stop them from ruining the experience, as other patrons were also bothered by this.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Gastronomical Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

I chose this venue for it's Michelin rating and creative approach to dining to celebrate my wife's birthday. The service was impeccable and the staff was very knowledgeable, engaging and super friendly. The music was energetic. The food was divine and we were able to watch how the food was prepped. It was like a theatrical show with front row seats. My wife and I were thrilled to have experienced this interactive and exceptional display of culinary skills for their 18 course dinner with temperance pairing. It's an experience that we will never forget and cherish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was fantastic

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The food and the service was fantastic

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally amazing!

Dined on April 20, 2016

My husband and I went to Atera to celebrate my 40th birthday. We were looking for a unique experience and that is definitely what we got at Atera! The food was absolutely exquisite, very fresh and beautifully presented. The chef's table experience is amazing as you can watch the chefs preparing the dishes in front of you and everything is all calm and perfectly orchestrated by the head chef. The rest of the staff (sommelier, waiters etc) are all fantastic, very friendly, very knowledgeable about their own area and made us feel very confortable. The atmosphere was also fantastic, very relaxed and quite informal for a 2-Michelin star restaurant. We expected it to be quite formal but it was not like that at all. The music played was brilliant, funk and should sounds which we love so that made the night even better for us! The fact that you're sat next to your fellow diners is also a great experience and it makes the whole restaurant very convivial. One of the best things for me was the temperance. As I don't drink alcohol, I thought I was going to have to drink sparkling water all night but, instead, I had the most brilliant non-alcoholic cocktails served to me all night, all cocktails had been designed to copy some famous alcoholic drinks including a non-alcoholic red wine made from beetroot!!! We truly had the best time at Atera and would love nothing more than to do it all over again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent

Dined on April 20, 2016

Atera delivers a magnificent dinner - the compositions of tast are faboulus! Chef Emborg takes you on an adventure that will print itself into your mind. Go there ...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Worth the splurge. A real culinary adventure.

Dined on April 6, 2016

It was a perfect evening. Charming, very attentive service from everyone in the restaurant (and a staff:customer ratio of about 2:1). Creative, fascinating and unexpected food. Some of the courses were out of this world, others less good (razor clams and beats was a bit of a tasteless miss), but every dish was a visual feast and you watch it all prepared right in front of you. Can't recommend enough for a memorable night.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once in a Lifetime

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Our experience was similar to having a party in our own home but with unbelievable food, wine and music. (And of course we didn't have to lift a finger!) We were treated like royalty and overwhelmed with the incredible staff. It was everything and more that we hoped it would be and we are sincerely planning our next visit to NYC to return to this incredible restaurant. Really there are no words to explain how much we loved our experience

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome! Great experience

vip
Dined on March 30, 2016

Awesome! Great experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Incredible service and cuisine!

Dined on March 25, 2016

The flavors of each and every dish were impeccable and went beautifully with the wine pairings. The service was outstanding...nobody missed a beat! Speaking of beat...the music was such a pleasant surprise! We loved the classic 70's and 80's rock! From start the finish, the dining experience at Atera is one that no NYC foodie should miss.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Ok Night

Dined on March 25, 2016

Ok Night, i was a little surprised that a 2 Star Michelin Star resteurant in New York didn't have a higher level than this. If i compare it to Europe and the fact that i paid a 1000 dollars for 2 i was not thrilled. We were also hit by foodpoisining so that didn't do the rewiev better. I understand that it could happend to every resteurant but that would still not change my general review and assumption of the resteurant and the Gastro food scene in America. If i compare it to the 10+ restaurants Michelin in Denmark and the rest of Europe i must say it was the visit i enjoyed the least.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic experience

Dined on March 24, 2016

Everything went up to my expectations. Service, the food and wine. Ronny Emborg is a fantastic chef - we miss him here in Denmark.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very Special Place

Dined on March 19, 2016

Extraordinary tasting menu full of surprises. For example, caviar, pistachio ice cream and beer foam. I was prepared to hate it, but it was great. Food on par with the best restaurants in NY (Per Se, 11 Madison, etc), but much more casual atmosphere. Chefs serve food, and you get to talk to them about what they are serving, so perfect for foodies. We had the reserve wine pairing , which was expensive at $400/person. The wines were very good and not the usual showy labels - I definitely felt that I was exposed to something new. We plan to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best place for our 20th Anniversary

Dined on March 13, 2016

The service is excellent ... very attentive but not overbearing ... each course was like a work of art ... we have the wine pairing which was perfect for everything each course was served with ... I thought the music was great and lively, but slightly too loud for the hushed descriptions that our servers used to describe what we where about to experience ... overall it was a wonderful meal and we had a great time ... a couple items were a bit on the salty side, but that is personal preference ... I highly recommend this place

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most amazing meal we've ever had

Dined on March 12, 2016

Amazing place right from the get go. They throw you off by making you first question yourself if you've got the right address (no sign that it's a restaurant). Thereafter you are immersed in a complete sensory experience. The venue, the service, the music, the theatre they create and of course the food, spectacular flavours and attention to detail. The wine list.....WOW! A big budget night but well worth the money just make sure you are sitting at the bar by the kitchen....DO NOT SIT AT THE TABLE!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still one of the best!

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The chef chaged, but Atera remains one of the best addresses for dinner in NY. Food as good or better than any of the city's Michelin 3-stars, but much more fun and casual. Great soundtrack, superb wine list, wonderful service. Looking forward to getting back

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Atera was extraordinary! The food was be ...

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

Atera was extraordinary! The food was beautiful and delicious and the service was top-notch. As good as any three Michelin star restaurant in New York. We cannot wait to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my best meals ever. Would go back anytine

Dined on March 3, 2016

Outstanding sophisticated food without ever being too much. We did the " reserve" wine pairing and that is seriously the best pairing I have ever had. Food and wine in world class

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was magnificent!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Everything was magnificent!

food1
ambience1
service2

Fancy but not worth it

Dined on February 14, 2016

Fancy but not worth it

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

We have dined at Atera on three occasions. Each one was outstanding and a truly special event. Atera is not just a restaurant for a meal, but an experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Generally good. I think expectation was ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Generally good. I think expectation was too high. Especially white stuff was good. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

An incredible experience!

Dined on February 5, 2016

An incredible experience!

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

The uniqueness of the dining experience was the seating area. One sits where all the food prep can be visualized. The chef is there as well. Attention to detail was amazing. Food quality was as expected for a 2 Michelin start eatery. They also accommodate all food allergies and requests, as my wife is a vegetarian. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best NY restaurant

Dined on February 2, 2016

A world class meal that deserves 4 Michelin stars if it was possible. Fantastic ingredients and dishes that are made with skills, respect and elegance. No fuss, great ambience and team and an outstanding wine list. Not to be missed when you are in NY and wants the best food available on earth prepared by an outstanding chef and his team. Thanks for a great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal

Dined on January 31, 2016

Thank you for such an excellent meal and wonderful dinner theater. Everything was wonderful. Catherine

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.