Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.21mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Atera

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Open Kitchen (25)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Seasonal (11)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Incredible. I have dined at La Bernadine, Jean Georges, Masa, and several Michelin 1 or 2 star restaurants like Aquavit, Bouley, etc., but Atera, to be honest, wins out among these restaurants. I don't really understand why it has only 2 stars; from my view, it should definitely be a seven-star restaurant (Michelin 3 ⭐️ and NY Times 4 ⭐️). I have also dined at Alinea in Chicago, which is so-called best restaurant in the U.S., but I think Atera is the best molecular gastronomy restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and the food were amazing! We really felt at home on finedining restaurant. It was a show. Outstanding experience watching the service and the cooks on real ballet.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Atera is truly gem in the city. The food and service is un matched in the city. Makes 11 Madison look like chopped liver. The detail and passion is felt in every meal and all the employees. Michael at the front is the best and a great ambassador.

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Atera was good but not great. The reserve wine pairing was disappointing and very poor value. Overall, Atera did not deliver the kind of dining experience that you would expect from a restaurant of this calibre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The most excellent dining experience I've had, period. Food, staff, ambiance, music were off the chart. Well worth the flight from NC.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Cozy, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Truly wonderful experience! The temperance pairing is definitely worthwhile, it is very thought out, creative and interesting. One of the best tasting menus. A lot of very creative bites/courses. The citrus dessert was exceptional as were many of the savory courses. Wonderful environment, and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food worths 3 stars of Michelin rating. Creative and beautufullly presented. Top notch service , modern and chic deco and the ambiance is beyond expectation. Wine pairing selection is perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding service. Good wine list. Very Expensive,

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2017

One of the best in NYC. Amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The tasting menu is outstanding. The only dish that didn't blow my mind was the quail eggs with cream cheese, kind of boring, but everything g else was just incredible. Everything is assembled in from of you, the service is impeccable, the wine list excellent (I went with an amazing 2007 Cedric Bouchard Blanc de Blancs and then went for a glass of an ok Napa Cab and a glass of outstanding Sauternes). About 16 courses, create a fantastic journey of perfectly assembled flavors, textures and tenperatures that must together amazingly. Much more interesting and vibrant cusine than the various Per Se and Le Bernardin. I venture to say, except for the view it's worth a third star, I compare it to Meadowhood in Napa. All in all one of the best tasting menus in the city. I hope they will keep it up.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As an Australian on holidays we wanted a special meal to remember, after doing our research Atera did not disappoint . The four of us were seated on the only table in the restaurant which was perfect . From the moment we entered the restaurant until the time we left our experience was outstanding.There was not one thing that we could fault. Each course was explained in detail as well as the accompanying wine . The "icing on the cake" was that the chef was a Melbourne boy.
We would recommend Atera for foodies and wine lovers who like to indulge in something special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was the first time we visited Atera.
Food and Service were both amazing!!!
We celebrated my birthday, and each one of the stuff members new about and came to wish a happy bday.
We will definitely come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Exceptional. Secondtrip, chef excelled himself. Creativity is spectacularly gob smacking for eyes and taste buds. Yeah, will be back. Exceptional service, thanks to Matthew and Justin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pricey but a terrific experience! Highly recommended. Food was delicious--elegantly prepared and served. Staff was professional but not stuffy. Would go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had an amazing experience at Atera. The food, service and ambience were all marvelous and orchestrated to a level of detail that is commendable. We are most definitely coming back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

An amazing culinary event. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of the best venues and dining experiences in NYC. Excellent food, great ambience, outstanding service. In a city with many great restaurants Atera really stands out as a unique and amazing experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Late-night Find, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food AND service was outstanding! Be prepared to pay a hefty price for this meal especially if you add on the wine pairing but it's worth it! My only advice is do not bother ordering coffee or espresso with dessert, both had a weak disappointing taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great space, service and ambiance. Good food but certainly not worth two stars. One at the most. The wine list is amazing but ridiculously overpriced. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Atera is incredible! Best NYC food experience ever. I have done a few of the 2 and 3 Michelin star and for me this was the best, especially because of the 22-course experience, nice wines and really cool staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Absolutely wonderful.
Young energetic staff, inventive dishes, excellent wine pairings.
Unique and intimate setting.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

A spiritual experience. Food so good I actually started crying with emotion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Outstanding gourmet tasting menu with Scandinavian bent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great service & great alcoholic beverages. Food however lackluster in the flavor dept. Did not meet our expectations for such high end dining. To many cold plates for this time of year. & most dishes just not that pleasing to the palate. It wasn't just me, my entire party of 5 felt that way. Positive desserts were extremely tasty and the culinary artistry demonstrated in presentation of dishes was outstanding. Would I ever go back sadly no. Also ive had 8 course meals that were more filli ng, by the time I arrived home I was hungry again. Ended up eating a P&J.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A big evening and an excellent tasting menu with service to match. Every dish is prepared, plated, and served with exquisite care. While decidedly expensive, it is worth the occasional splurge.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This is my new favorite place to eat. The service was impeccable and the food was even more so. Most notable was their catering to my no finned-fish request and the temperance pairing. The temperance pairing was an incredibly unique feature and just as good if not (dare I say it??) better than an alcoholic pairing. My partner had a salmon dish that he said was the best salmon he had ever tasted. I can't wait to come again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Extremadamente caro para lo que es.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food and its presentation is outstanding. The service impeccable! It just became my favorite restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Went to Atera recently - was INCREDIBLE. Every course, the service. Loved the wine and temperance pairing. Also got a really interesting caffeine free tea. They print out menus for you to take home. So incredible!!!! Staff was lovely, service was immaculate, and didn't feel stuffy in the slightest. Would defintelh return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and service. Love the concept. I Will come back.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Great food, amazing service, and no pretension: They played George Michael during our meal. The seating is mostly a U-shaped bar around an open kitchen so parties of more than 2 may struggle to have conversations, but there is a larger table in the corner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food and ambience at Atera were amazing. We loved every bite and the food, while exquisite is not pretentious, nor is the setting. Service was impeccable and also laid back and fun - a pleasant surprise that reminded us of other favorite restaurants where you can be yourself and enjoy the experience without it being uptight. Wines pairings were excellent (we chose prestige pairings) so I am sure wine list is also great but we did not look at it in any detail. I would highly recommend Atera to anyone who likes great food that is meticulously prepared and then presented on its own merits by a staff that seemed to truly love what they did and we loved the end result. One note - there are 2 seatings and really no place to wait if you arrive early for your reservation so don't be late, but don't arrive too early either.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My friends and I LOVED this restaurant! The food is phenomenal. Only 1 dish out of 18 that I wasn't crazy about (but my friends liked it a lot). The service was perfectly timed and it didn't seem like we were there the 3 hours that we were. I particularly loved the beer foam, the lobster bisque, the toasted hay with oro blanco and pomegranate (my favorite). Even the glass of wine they suggested was excellent. The only complaint I have are the seats. I didn't mind sitting at a bar setup but the barstool seats were very uncomfortable. I have long legs and nowhere to put them. There is a circular piece as part of the stool under the seat but to put my legs back and under didn't work at all. I thought it was only me as I kept fidgeting and trying to get comfortable but my one friend mentioned it to me later on when she got home. She had come up from Virginia just to go there. Most reviewers have given Atera 5 stars and so do I and they definitely deserve the 2 stars that Michelin has given it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of the best dining experiences of my life! The food and atmosphere are over the top. Service is on point they have never let me down once!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 14, 2016

You can't call yourself a foodie until you've eaten here. Go. Go now!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 11, 2016

An exquisite dining experience, with food as artfully presented as it was delicious. The interaction with the staff and chefs was phenomenal. They displayed incredible attention to detail while remaining relatable and fun. I highly recommend the temperance pairing for creative and delicious alternatives to wine/cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Sensational food, wine , service the whole lot. Will be back

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Absolutely astonishing. We are french from Paris and then regular customer of gastronomic restaurants all over the place. This restaurant breaks the traditional gastronomic codes and is still a very high level restaurant. High end sophisticated food, perfectly mixed ingredients at tastes, and thanks, not too much. It is as well a very rock'n'roll scene and experience, and a real ballet of service and chef's hat. A real great experience.

It was a special day; 30th birthday of my wife. Great night!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Wonderful creative meal and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

One of the best meals I have ever experienced. Was like a small dinner party. Something you should experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.