About Atera

77 Worth St.
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Atera honors the poetry of nature and creativity in pursuit of an immersive sensory dining experience. We offer a highly seasonal and continuously sensory 18 course experience. Please allow 2½ hours for you and your guests.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American

Hours of Operation:
Atera offers reservations for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 6:00pm and also at 9:30pm. The experience is approximately three hours.

Cross Street:
Church & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 226-1444 ext. 1

Website:
http://ateranyc.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at the corner of Worth Street and West Broadway, one block west of Atera.

Public Transit:
We can be reached by train on the 1/2 to Franklin St., A/C to Chambers St., the 4/5/J/Z to Brooklyn Bridge/City Hall, and the 6/N/Q/R to Canal St.

Executive Chef:
Ronny Emborg

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

ATERA'S NEW YEAR'S EVE MENU IS PRICED AT $350, SERVICE INCLUDED. For food allergies and dietary restrictions: Please leave a note detailing specific needs or email the restaurant after booking. Atera accepts cancellations with no charge until 72 hours prior. Cancellation fee is $195 per person.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Tue - Thu 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 3:00AM - 3:00AM

Atera Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Contemporary American
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
Manhattan
3 More
Best Food
Manhattan
Best Service
Manhattan
Contemporary American
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in TriBeCa - Downtown ›

Fit for Foodies (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Open Kitchen (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (7)
Seasonal (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Healthy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful creative meal and outstanding ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful creative meal and outstanding service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals I have ever experi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the best meals I have ever experienced. Was like a small dinner party. Something you should experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've dined all over the world and witho ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've dined all over the world and without a doubt Atera is pricey, however for us the 18 course experience was well worth it. If you make the decision to go, then just go and enjoy the ride!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in the world ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

One of the best restaurants in the world, let alone NYC, with Chef Emborg getting more assured and creative with the menu as he settles in. Hope they reopen the lounge downstairs to the general public.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable exper ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic. Unbelievable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic tasting menu. Was a return vis ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic tasting menu. Was a return visit and will return back again when in NYC next time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atera is the best restaurant in the Glob ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Atera is the best restaurant in the Globe for us. From service to food, everything is outstanding!

This is our second visit and we felt special that all the staff remembered about us. This was unique given that our first visit was in December 2015!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The presentation of the food is exquisit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The presentation of the food is exquisite. The caviar course is amazing. The reserve wines are very special.

The interaction with chefs and staff could be improved with more warmth and a sense of welcome.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Immaculate....nothing but perfection...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Immaculate....nothing but perfection...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atera keeps improving, we have been the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Atera keeps improving, we have been there 3 times and every visit is better than the previous. Defínetely we will keep coming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a magic night, with surprising fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a magic night, with surprising food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food looks beautiful. And the taste ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food looks beautiful. And the taste is similar to Momofuku ko, but I don't think it worth two star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This has been the worst Michelin star re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This has been the worst Michelin star restaurant I have even been too. The food portions are far too small for the price they charge. You barely get to enjoy the taste before it's done. The food also lacked creativity. One course called "California olives" was a single piece of grape in olive oil. Some of the courses were very good but then again too small for the money I am paying. I know that fine dining places usually serve small portions but this was even smaller than those and lacked creativity. I went here for my birthday and regret it. With that kind of money you are better off going to a 3 Michelin star restaurant (per se, 11 Madison Ave being my fav) or a nice holiday.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Simply awesome. A spectacular dining exp ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Simply awesome. A spectacular dining experience. Breaking the codes of traditional dining. Try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit NYC from London for three week ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We visit NYC from London for three weeks every year and Atera is always at the top of our list for an exceptional gastronomic experience. Every meal has been memorable and the combination of exquisite food and superb service cannot be surpassed.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once in a live time experience !!!

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Once in a live time experience !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent meL, nice service, very intere ...

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on October 15, 2016

excellent meL, nice service, very interesting seating in a very personal environment.

Tags: Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Creativity at it' ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Wonderful experience. Creativity at it's best. Wouldn't hesitate to go again. This is a special food experience.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Atera for my birthday. It was ab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Went to Atera for my birthday. It was absolutely amazing from start to finish. The food was incredible. Every course was delicious with little surprises along the way. Staff were professional and personable. The intimate seating around the open kitchen worked perfectly. The music soundtrack added a fun, lighthearted touch.

We've been fortunate enough to eat in some very good restaurants all around the world and Atera is at the very top of the list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience!! The food was ver ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Incredible experience!! The food was very well prepared and displayed, the wine pairing was adventurous with some very good wines. This was our third find dining experience on this trip that included Eleven Madison Park, I thought the food flavors were better here. Don't arrive early, they did recommend a bar to get a drink about 2 blocks away but we really didn't have enough time to walk there and back and enjoy a drink.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We were seated on the top floor and that ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were seated on the top floor and that was a climb. Luckily, there was a restroom on that floor. Also a little loud for my tastes, but fun, and the food was excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent. Atera exceeded our expectatio ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent. Atera exceeded our expectations. Believe the hype. The level of attention to detail, the creativity, and the professionalism were outstanding. Please don't miss out on the temperance pairing or the tea progression if those even remotely pique your interest. Such a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best tasting menu so far, I have been to ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Best tasting menu so far, I have been to many Michelin starred restaurants, this one is absolutely phenomenal! The chef is out-going and really humble, the presentation and execution of the dishes are incredible!

The kitchen and the entire restaurant is quite small in size but only 16 seats per seating makes the environment very cozy and capacious.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very interesting dining experience as ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A very interesting dining experience as the plating process can be seen directly from your table. Good services!!! Wonderful cuisines!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've lived in NYC for nearly 20 years an ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I've lived in NYC for nearly 20 years and this meal was definite one of the best that I have ever had. The amount of creativity and precision put into every dish was incredible. Also, I must say that the music played there was the best. And they brought out an extra dessert for my girlfriend's birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience and servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding dining experience and service! The chef Ronny Emborg is brilliant creating innovative food combinations! Caviar, foie gras, black truffles, oyster, lobster, no exquisite ingredient is spared, and they're all surprising and delicious!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Astonishingly original and delicious cui ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Astonishingly original and delicious cuisine. The courses are small and very complex with many components and always a wonderful sauce. A unique dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The taste was awesome, and the service w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The taste was awesome, and the service was not bothering.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly experiential! Definitely will go ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Highly experiential! Definitely will go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fine dining chef's table. Overall is a g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fine dining chef's table. Overall is a good experience. Need a little more surprises in the food. I can see why they haven't earned the third Michelin star yet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience. Service was outsta ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Wonderful experience. Service was outstanding - very attentive and kind and accommodating. Good selection of wines. And of course the food, it was delicious. Especially enjoyed the mackerel dish, the lobster tail dish and the dry aged beef. Good choice of teas too. Overall, a pleasant and enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything I experienced on that night w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything I experienced on that night was amazing

It was far more fantastic than I expected.

Service was so nice and food was so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food and service was amazing !!!!! As al ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food and service was amazing !!!!! As always !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I met friends for dinner ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2016

My husband and I met friends for dinner at Atera this past Friday and all of us were thrilled with the choice. Our friend said it was the best meal he'd had in a long time. Couples are seated around the counter facing the open kitchen, but because we were a foursome we had a lovely table to ourselves which made it easier for us to converse. The table was raised a bit so we still had a view of the kitchen, and the chairs were very comfortable. The chefs came over to present each course so we didn't miss that experience or interaction. We're no strangers to this dining format but we have to say that Atera is truly among the very best. There were 18 small courses, some no more than a single bite, so while it sounds like a lot of food we were satisfied without feeling overstuffed. The dishes were creatively plated and totally scrumptious. Rather than get the wine pairing we ordered wine from their excellent and extensive wine list that complemented the food well. There was not a single bite we did not enjoy and I even saw my husband eat and enjoy food he normally does not prefer to order. One of their courses is housemade bread that was simply perfect. I'm not a great fan of squab, but their version was exceptional. I won't catalog the entire menu but among my favorite dishes were the "waffle", the caviar served with pistachio ice cream and India Fine Ale foam. (I dislike beer and adored that combination. Unorthodox? Oh yeah. Amazing flavor? Yes, yes, yes.), oyster, lobster, summer vegetables, squab, beef and rhubarb chocolate popsicle. Service was flawless and charming. The room is simple and elegant without being too austere. The price is wholly justified for the quality. If you have not had the chance to dine here, it's time to seize the opportunity. Very highly recommended!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!!! Its such a w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2016

AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING!!!! Its such a wonderful experience and just simply nothing else like this. Everything was delicious. Its an open kitchen about 20 seats 18-course dinner just exquisite! Well worth the high end price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Easily one of the top restaurants in NYC ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Easily one of the top restaurants in NYC right now and Chef Emborg has definitely found his footing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A amazing dining experience that is diff ...

 
 (London)·Dined on August 7, 2016

A amazing dining experience that is difficult to describe. Great service, great atmosphere and amazing food worthy of the 2 Michelin stars. Well worth a detour and a must for foodies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable dining experience for a foodie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Memorable dining experience for a foodie! One of the very best of all time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

simply a fabulous experience, from the f ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

simply a fabulous experience, from the food through the wine pairings and the service. The non alcoholic cocktails were over the top. Perfect amount of food on each dish, and one left not feeling stuffed despite 18 courses

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique kitchen table style dinning exper ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Unique kitchen table style dinning experience with creative dishes and a 18 course rollercoaster of flavours by Ronny Emborg. Loved it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.