About Atelier

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology. Atelier serves exclusively a 12-course tasting menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Reservations for Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Reservations for tables of 5 or more must be made by phone.

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Parking is available for free on local streets after 5:30 PM Monday - Friday. Free street parking Saturday and Sunday.

A public lot is available for parking beside Atelier, cost will vary depending on time of day.

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edible Chopin Waltz (Op. 69 No 2) - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Le Hoop - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Ball Of Yarn - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
From Husk Till Dawn - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Hypno-Scallop - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Fought The Claw But The Lobster Won - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Downward Duck - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Hello Goodbison - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Up In The Air - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Dino Egg - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
The Nutty Professor - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Return Of The Mack - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Belly Up - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
The Cure - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Simon Says - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Molecular Gastronomy - Atelier, Ottawa, ON

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
10 More
Best Value
Ottawa
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Restaurants in Ottawa ›

Special Occasion (54)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Tasting Menu (39)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Notable Wine List (38)
Molecular Gastronomy (32)
Romantic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fun (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, the wine pairing and the servi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food, the wine pairing and the service were exceptional. Atelier should consider pairing down (no pun intended) its offerings. Twelve courses in 4 hours is a bit much. Eight courses in 3 hours would have been more enjoyable, if not perfect.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La nourriture tout à fait excellente et ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

La nourriture tout à fait excellente et vraiment à découvrir.

Le seul bémol de notre soirée à été face au service.

Nous aurions apprécié être servi en français. Nous avons remarqué que plusieurs serveurs parlaient français, mais à notre table, notre serveuse parlait seulement anglais, peut-être mettre les serveurs francophone avec les clients francophone. Elle nous a jamais demandé de commentaire sur nos repas ou comment se passaient notre soirée.. ce qui pour nous apporte beaucoup à l'ambiance du repas. Nous trouvons que la salle était très bruyante, mais nous comprenons que nous avions aussi un soir occupé.

Tags: Romantique, Il en vaut le détour, Idéal pour les anniversaires, Une occasion spéciale, Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

It was the best experience my husband an ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was the best experience my husband and I have ever had. Thank you very for everthing. From the chef to the servers, everything was excellent! Will definitely suggest it to our friends and family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Organic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd time there. Food, wine & service are ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

3rd time there. Food, wine & service are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food imaginatively prepared an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful food imaginatively prepared and presented with love, skill, thought and creativity. Best dining in Ottawa if you have the time for a tasting menu. Outstanding wines in sensibly small and smaller portions offered to accompany the menu or big choice of bottled wines. Great service and sommelier. All 4 of us agree!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

An excellent experience all around. Grea ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

An excellent experience all around. Great food, service and wines. Well worth the cost of admission.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'est ma deuxième expérience à ce restau ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

C'est ma deuxième expérience à ce restaurant qui est unique. C'est un moment unique de dégustation et de découverte des saveurs et textures. Je le recommande à tous. Chaque details est bien pensé.

Les serveurs connaissent et décrivent bien ce qui nous est servi.

Cependant, l'ambiance est assez bruyante et je préfererais plus un milieu tranquille et privé.

Tags: Cuisine moléculaire, Ingrédients locaux, Une carte des vins remarquable, Cuisine créative, Une occasion spéciale
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Came here for the second time, to celebr ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Came here for the second time, to celebrate my partner and I's 3'rd anniversary. Dinner was exceptional, and to top it off, the whole staff signed a card congratulating us. Excellent food, supreme service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a once in a life time dinner, ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great for a once in a life time dinner, will never do again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Amazing evening of fine dining and super ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing evening of fine dining and superb service. Celebrated birthday and anniversary and the service team took great care with us and Chef accommodated a surprise arranged by my coworkers. Totally worth the trip to Ottawa to dine at this fine restaurant. Everyone should be going there for the tasting menu! Thank you to Chef and his amazing team!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time having dinner at Atelier ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our second time having dinner at Atelier didn't disappoint. The food was great, thoughtful, and inventive, and the service was friendly without being pretentious.

We would definitely go back and make plans to see chef Lepine again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Merveilleux restaurant servant des plats ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Merveilleux restaurant servant des plats très travaillés. Le wine pairing a permis de faire de belles découvertes. Service irréprochable.

Tags: Une carte des vins remarquable, Cuisine créative, Idéal pour les plus fins palais
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed this wonderful 12 course tast ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We enjoyed this wonderful 12 course tasting menu beautifully crafted by Chef Lepine and his team.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience was beyond exceptional. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our experience was beyond exceptional. Truly an adventure in food and wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clearly one of the best restaurants in O ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Clearly one of the best restaurants in Ottawa. This is a tasting menu only experience and well worth the price. The artistry and multitude of tastes and aromas on each plate is a little miracle.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our dining experience at Atelier! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Loved our dining experience at Atelier! The food is exquisitely presented, the dishes delicious and the portion sizes appropriate for the number of courses served (12). Wine pairing worth it, with some interesting choices. We have dined at a number of Michelin starred restaurants and this one belongs in that category. Highly recommend

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was impeccable and food was deli ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Service was impeccable and food was delicious. It's a gastronomy experience that you can't experience anywhere else. Such a great concept. You can take your time to chat and food is brought to you - no decisions to make! Love that! Plus, the wine pairing was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atelier is always a wonderful dining exp ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Atelier is always a wonderful dining experience. I just wish that their ambiance would reflect the high quality of food and service. I think that tablecloths would go a long way to helping with that.

Always recommended though for any kind of special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

FANTASTIC !!!! wowwwww .... Certains s ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 22, 2016

FANTASTIC !!!! wowwwww ....

Certains serveurs parlaient également bilingues.

Service et nourriture incroyable.

GREAT EXPERIENCE

Tags: Romantique, Décor moderne, Environnement paisible, Cuisine créative, Menu dégustation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting concept. Should the food no ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Interesting concept. Should the food not appeal to you the experience and dish displays will.

Thought waiters were rehearsing a play as the explanations were given for each meal/wine at each table. Restaurant being small it bothered me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everyone should try this place a truly s ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Everyone should try this place a truly surprising gem in this city!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Wow! Food was stunningly presented. Flav ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Wow! Food was stunningly presented. Flavours were balanced and well thought through. No dishes were a miss, many were very happy surprises of colour and texture and flavour. Service was excellent, and the wine pairing was well worth it. It would be hard to find a wine that would do justice to all the unique plates in this multi-course extravaganza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place. Great services. My frie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent place. Great services. My friend and I really enjoyed that night. Every dish was well designed and prepared. I would definitely recommend to my friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals I have had in the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in the last five years!!! I travel all over North America and get bored of restaurant food. This place mixes flavours to a point you want five of each serving. The food presentation is innovative and perfect. I would highly recommend this place to anybody!!! Just sit back and enjoy each dish. Not cheap but fantastic food costs money and the labour put into each dish is worth it.

I

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience with lots of fun su ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent experience with lots of fun surprises. A delight to share delicious food that is creative and playful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly superb. The amazing food and enga ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Truly superb. The amazing food and engaged staff were outstanding and the experience was in every way a joy. Serious, fun, and nothing phony-- well worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our 9th wedd ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary at L'Atelier and we were thoroughly impressed with our overall experience of the food, the service, the knowledge and expertise of Chef Lepine in all the surprise dishes so diligently and deliciously prepared! We couldn't ask for a better anniversary gift! This is the ultimate in dining and "wine-ing"... THE BEST!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best meals I've had and bette ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 29, 2016

One of the best meals I've had and better then a couple Michelin star restaurants. No joke. Great team and Marc is a great chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow, just wow. The food is just amazing, ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wow, just wow. The food is just amazing, like nothing I have ever tasted before. The wine pairings are just perfect. Quite expensive, but oh so worth it. Everything is above and beyond perfection, from the food to the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All I can say is WOW.... lived up to our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 24, 2016

All I can say is WOW.... lived up to our expectations and in fact greatly exceeded them! Every course that came out was better than the one before it... not that this is easily done! the first course was so creatively prepared, with just the right spices, herbs, flowers and paired with the pink sparkling wine, it became an explosion of flavours! The servers, sommelier were personable and knowledgeable and are definitely part of the overall experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal with wine pairing. Service wa ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great meal with wine pairing. Service was excellent. A wonderful evening overall!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another memorable dinner...Chef Lepine's ...

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Another memorable dinner...Chef Lepine's creativity and love for gadgets shines again. Made great use of sous vide, dehydrator, printer, ... to create amazing dishes that not only taste great, but looks fantastic with a myriad of texture to enjoy...

Sommelier Steve also picked some really good wines (and some not well-known but amazing wines to discover) to compliment.

BTW, the whimsical naming of the dishes had been discontinued as of mid-September...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was our second time at Atelier. The ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This was our second time at Atelier. They are very accommodating with our dietary restrictions and every plate is a master piece in itself. If you enjoy good food it's a must. The service is great. We will be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal/wine pairing, creative co ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent meal/wine pairing, creative courses, spectacular presentation, menu/wine items fully explained/described. First class service. A very special night. Can't say enough positive about this restaurant.

Rob & Kathryn

Ottawa

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favourite restaurant I've ever been to! ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Favourite restaurant I've ever been to! What a wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my family of foodies that have ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I brought my family of foodies that have lived in and well explored the food scenes in Toronto, Montreal, Taipei, NYC, Chicago, LA, Nashville, and SF. We all walked away impressed, full, happy, and looking forward to our next Atelier experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never had such great service, eve ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I have never had such great service, ever. The Food was amazing, never ate like that before. Such creativity, well worth the experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic. A true experience. We will be ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic. A true experience. We will be back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atelier was amazing. We celebrated my d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Atelier was amazing. We celebrated my daughter's 30th birthday. It is the place we go for birthday and anniversary celebrations. The menu is completely different. I loved the" tomato soup ball". The upstairs décor is beautiful. Very modern. Thank you so much for a magical evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More an experience than a meal. A dozen ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

More an experience than a meal. A dozen courses of creative, brautiful and delicious food, matched pefectly with superb wines from all over the world. The service was impeccable, being attentive but unintrusive.

In summary, the meal was amongst the best I have ever had. Delicious, beautiful, exciting and memorable. Very expensive, at nearly $500 all said for the meal, wines, tax and tip, but unforgettable and surely worth it, at least once.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.