About Atelier

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology. Atelier serves exclusively a 12-course tasting menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Reservations for Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Parking is available for free on local streets after 5:30 PM Monday - Friday. Free street parking Saturday and Sunday.

A public lot is available for parking beside Atelier, cost will vary depending on time of day.

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edible Chopin Waltz (Op. 69 No 2)
Le Hoop
Ball Of Yarn
From Husk Till Dawn
Hypno-Scallop
Fought The Claw But The Lobster Won
Downward Duck
Hello Goodbison
Up In The Air
Dino Egg
The Nutty Professor
Return Of The Mack
Belly Up
The Cure
Simon Says
Molecular Gastronomy

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
14 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Notable Wine List
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Restaurants in Ottawa ›

Special Occasion (83)
Fit for Foodies (73)
Romantic (49)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1064 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Since fine dining good fortune has smile ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Since fine dining good fortune has smiled upon us around the world, we were hoping for more after reading glowing reviews of Atelier online. The service was exceptional, the tasting menu was solid, albeit overpriced, and the ambiance left much to be desired. In order to elevate the experience, it would be lovely if they could focus more on refining the environment (some table linens and art work would not take away from the minimalist appeal) and executing a more interesting, truly molecular gastronomy menu. The clichéd names for the dishes seem to be more of a distraction than an enhancement. That said, the service is impeccably seamless in a complex environment - Corey and Stephen should both be commended for their expertise and professionalism.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Really nice table, the wines were great. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really nice table, the wines were great. Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marc Lepine, the Chef has a lot of imagi ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Marc Lepine, the Chef has a lot of imagination. He is a master in culinary arts!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, very original! Too many ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food, very original! Too many desserts tough...

Minimalist decoration.

Musical choice to change... to fit the food experience! Classical music would be better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

While some of the courses were delicious ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

While some of the courses were delicious, the fact that any were quite sub par was a concern for the price point. Not to mention the confusingly harsh decor and truly absurd names of each dish (the servers seemed genuinely ashamed having to say each one out loud). All told it started to make the evening feel like an embarrassing stunt rather than a classy, expert culinary experience. Worst of all, after over three hours (and sensing the courses were coming slower than they ought) I asked the server if we could please hope to be out in the next half hour - he assured me that was no problem as we'd already been there the allotted time. An hour later we were being offered our bill with no real apology or recognition that we had been there for well over four hours and had visibly stopped enjoying ourselves.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Wine pairing option involved too much wi ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wine pairing option involved too much wine (9 glasses), but wines were generally exquisite and well paired, and included even wine from Nova Sotia which we were happy to discover; most of the 12 dishes were a success. We had tried molecular cuisine overseas where the presentation of the plates was a lot more artistic/creative so we were somewhat deceived as we expected more originality beyond the mostly funny title of each dish (reminded me of artists who give very special titles to their work but their work should speak for themselves). Service was outstanding although we had difficulty hearing our waiter who was describing every ingredient in every dish so we missed out on some information. Some ingredients we could not taste. Overall impressive, especially for Ottawa, but too expensive/not the value we expected ($500.00 for two).

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Innovative wine pairings. Creative, exc ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Innovative wine pairings. Creative, exciting food that is a feast for your eyes as well as palate. Servers were attentive and knowledgeable .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Remarkable awesome food. It takes 3-3. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Remarkable awesome food. It takes 3-3.5 hours to complete a seating. You must reserve. The pairing wine with your dinner is a must. Not cheap, but worth every dollar!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a fairly long review on trip advi ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I made a fairly long review on trip advisor. Please, go and check

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Superior presentation, service, and qual ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Superior presentation, service, and quality of product. A VERY expensive treat. HIGHLY recommended for foodies, but only for foodies.

Only downside is the venue is small and waiter voices carry. Since every party is being treated to the identical 12 course experience, it is a bit frustrating to hear the party at the table opposite (and 3 courses ahead of you in the fun) having the waiter extoll the virtues of what is coming up in 35 minutes for your table: dampens the surprize.

Otherwise excellent. Plan on at least 3 hours and one second mortgage!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My husband and I heard very good things ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I heard very good things about this restaurant and the chef, Marc Lepine. Therefore, my husband and I decided to dine at this restaurant to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. We were not disappointed.

The presentation and flavours showcased the seasonal ingredients to perfection. Each course was "art-on-a-plate". The waitress described each plate with professionalism and bit of humour, which we appreciated. We also took advantage of the wine pairing. The sommelier was very experienced in describing the pairings, from the Rosé from Nova Scotia (Yes, Nova Scotia) to the Banyuls fortified wine, by way of a flemish sour ale. At the end of diner, the sommelier did ask us if we enjoyed the wine pairing, which we did.

Our dinner ended with a very special gift, a card signed by the staff and the owner/Chef, Marc Lepine wishing us all the best for our Wedding Anniversary, as well as a bouquet of mint cotton candy.

It was an experience we will not soon forget.

Thank you to the staff and Chef for a unforgetable evening.

We will be returning customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Lepine and his team are truly HIGH ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Chef Lepine and his team are truly HIGH END professionals and I had the opportunity to meet with them and visit their "lab kitchen" which was absolutely spotless! Keep up the awesome work Marc and we'll be there again guaranteed!

Corey our server was absolutely great as well as the somelier...Overall rating is at 150% for the whole experience.

Melanie & Gabriel on our 15th.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food experience is excellent unique and ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Food experience is excellent unique and worth the cost ambience is lacking but the food makes up for that it is for "foodies and it is special here in Ottawa it is a blind tasting menu 13 courses all were very good both in taste and presentation would highly recommend the experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Exquisite food! Each course in the tast ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Exquisite food! Each course in the tasting menu was beautifully plated, with complex and interesting flavours and combinations. Good and knowledgable wine pairings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took the meal with the wine paring, W ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We took the meal with the wine paring,

Was spot on the temperature of the white wine could Be a little colder but overall

Rromantic intriguing and delicious service outstanding a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had an incredible dining experience th ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I had an incredible dining experience there! The food looked and tasted amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolument loved our experience. We had ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Absolument loved our experience. We had great service with wonderful people. The food was out of this world. The size of the portions were perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was incredible - from presentat ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The meal was incredible - from presentation to taste to service! It was like party in my mouth with so many tasty surprises with every course. I would recommend this restaurant without any hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Exquisite present ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was amazing. Exquisite presentation and taste. Food service felt somewhat impersonal and perfunctory. Wine service more attentive, conversational. For a 12 course meal dining experience, I expected comfortable, cushy chairs (that were not fraying), a table with linens, carpet that was not industrial tile-style carpeting (which was also fraying in numerous places with what felt like no padding at all - laid directly over concrete slab?), poor lighting (cold, not warm), fast food-style soap dispensers and a mirror in need of replacing in the restroom. The atmosphere was industrial and cold, not inviting, warm or remotely elegant. Perhaps the point is that it's all about the food (which is outstanding), just don't go dressed up expecting and elegant romantic meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Creative, delicious, a very very unique, ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Creative, delicious, a very very unique, wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything from the host/hostess to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Everything from the host/hostess to the decor to the food was magnificent. Can't wait for the menu to change so I can go back again. The experience was amazing and everyone was on top of their game. This place is a must try. Can't wait to see what the chef comes up with next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. No real atmosphere. It is r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place. No real atmosphere. It is really all about the food which is spectacular. 12 courses is a bit too many. 9 would be the perfect number in my opinion. The wine pairings were excellent. The best I have ever had. Great evening and overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We had a superb dining experience on sat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a superb dining experience on saturday night. Atelier always gives an exciting, creative and surprising experience. I love the set blind menu where they accomodated my hubby's diet restrictions where he still got to enjoy the whole experience. Deinfitely a must try in ottawa for innovative creations and wonderful service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our anniversary we wanted a dining e ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

For our anniversary we wanted a dining experience and that is just what Atelier delivered, a wonderful experience. We enjoyed every bit and bite of the tasting menu which had many layers of flavours for our pallets to enjoy. The comical titles for the dishes were very fitting and helped build the intrigue in the dishes.

There is no doubt in my mind that the Atelier deserves to be one of Canada’s top 100 restaurants as the food and service were exceptional. Also it is no surprise that the head chef and owner Marc Lepine’s creativity in the kitchen enabled him to once again win the gold at the Canadian Culinary Championship.

I had a half portion of the wine paring with my meal and that was just the perfect amount for the tasting menu. All the wines were new to me with the exception of one BC wine.

Trying to choose our favorite dish was extremely difficult, they were all excellent. The menu changes often at the Atelier and being a fixed price I have started saving for my next experience. As an anniversary treat the staff gave us a sweet after dinner surprize which was very nice.

At the end of dinner my server asked if we would like them to call us a taxi. We had a DD so this was not necessary but I have never been asked this before when out dining. It was a nice touch showing concern for their customers

My only complaint would be that I couldn’t take home a doggy bag.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small place. Pretensious food . Combinin ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Small place. Pretensious food . Combining interesting unusual ingredients, yet the taste remains mondain. Too expensive. To experience once

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I would absolutely recommend Atelier. It ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I would absolutely recommend Atelier. It's a MUST for foodies, but everybody would enjoy. Great experience, fantastic food, and the wine pairing is a must. Expect to be there for a few hours though :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding but expensive, well fit for ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Outstanding but expensive, well fit for special occasions. There is no menu, so you subject yourself to the whims of the chef for a 12 services gastronomic adventure. The wine list in the optional "all-included" may disappoint sometimes (the proposed Chateauneuf-du-Pape is so-so) but it proposes surprising mixes and matches.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dining at Atelier was one of the most un ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dining at Atelier was one of the most unique experiences I have had. The blind 12-course menu made the evening fun and the courses were spaced out perfectly. We never felt rushed, and had time to enjoy each plate. Definitely do the wine pairing - the sommelier is fantastic, it is worth it. We had fun trying to guess what was next based on the drink description. Overall, it is a comfortable space with exciting foods. We tried some new things, and the chef made the familiar new and fun. Our server was fantastic, gave excellent descriptions of the dishes, and great tips on how to tackle some of the creations. We highly recommend dining at Atelier. It's an experience you won't forget!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted with our evening! I d ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were delighted with our evening! I didn't know anything about the restaurant except it's rating, so I was especially excited to discover a 12 course blind menu; averaging 5 bites each - each bite a choice, balanced mingling of flavours, textures and food types. Our kind of dining experience! Everything was delicious! Service friendly and attentive. Sommelier had some interesting pairings too (no spoilers).

Decor no distraction to the food, possibly intentionally.

We asked for a quiet table and got one (the restaurant cannot be held responsible for guests who like the sound of their own voice, and think the waiters appreciate their critiquing each course. I know I didn't.)

Ranks among the most expensive dinners in recent years, but also among the most memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is a very expensive restaurant. It ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is a very expensive restaurant. It is a once in a lifetime experience. I liked all the twelve servings except the helium bubble because it was too sugary.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There tasting menu is mind blowingly del ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

There tasting menu is mind blowingly delicious at the moment, and the wine/ beer pairings were incredibly well picked out. I have been going to atelier for a few years now, and they always deliver a spectacular meal. But even by their standards the summer tasting menu they put together is better then usual. Go. Go now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, I enjoyed the experience at Ate ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed the experience at Atelier. A few of the dishes were, unfortunately, not to my taste (eg chicken mousse), but the other dishes made up for it. Would highly recommend the half wine pairing.

Spoiler Alert: I especially liked the Asian sesame asparagus and the smoked salmon (?) in a chip crisp that arrived under a glass dome filled with smoke on a wood plank. The presentation was phenomenal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Very creative, and delicious, great pres ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Very creative, and delicious, great presentation!

Best restaurant experience I've ever had!

I highly recommend it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing all around. Would highly recomme ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Amazing all around. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Seriously, this place will just blow you away. Every plate was incredible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Went there for my partner's birthday and everything was top notch. Great place for amateur foodies like us - Atelier brings you on a roller-coaster of flavours, textures and smells through 12 very different courses. Just sit back and enjoy the ride!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Atelier was a wonderful dining experienc ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Atelier was a wonderful dining experience that fully lived up to the hype. The courses were all intricately crafted, artistically served, and full of flavour. I initially started off as a skeptic of tasting menus but I was pleasantly surprised. The dessert though blew me away! I will definitely be coming back again for more special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For those of you who enjoy unique dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

For those of you who enjoy unique dining experiences, this is a "must try". It is once in a lifetime adventure! Indulge yourself at least once, you are worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Set menu, just let go and trust the chef ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Set menu, just let go and trust the chef. Once again, blown away! The service was great: describing, informing and listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful hidden gem in the Littl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

What a wonderful hidden gem in the Little Italy neighborhood of Ottawa. Every course was a surprise and tasted great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.