About Atelier

VALENTINE'S 2017

This Tuesday the 14th of February, Atelier is offering two seating options:

5:30 PM- 6-Course blind tasting menu priced at $100 per guest

8:00 PM - 15-Course blind tasting menu priced at $150 per guest
***SOLD OUT***

These prices do not included taxes nor gratuity. Wine pairing options will also be available.

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology. Atelier serves exclusively a 12-course tasting menu.

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Reservations for Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Reservations for tables of 5 or more must be made by phone.

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Parking is available for free on local streets after 5:30 PM Monday - Friday. Free street parking Saturday and Sunday.

A public lot is available for parking beside Atelier, cost will vary depending on time of day.

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Molecular Gastronomy (47)
Tasting Menu (42)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (34)
Worth the Drive (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Fun (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Business Meals (3)
Organic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Last time we went we had rather foolishl ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 4 days ago

Last time we went we had rather foolishly only allowed for a 2 hour window to eat before our show began, this year we scheduled the show for a different night and immersed ourselves completely in the relaxed decadence that is an evening at Ottawa's finest dining establishment

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun experience with the family. Incredib ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

Fun experience with the family. Incredible food combinations that you certainly wouldn't experience anywhere else! Memorable for sure! May not do the wine pairing again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great, the tables are ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was great, the tables are a bit close together, but it adds to the experience. Everyone in the restaurant would watch as each course was brought to the first table, excited to try the dish themselves. The food was exceptional. The flavors , thought to be incoherent at first, danced playfully with each bite much like a symphony of flavour. The colours and textures were exquisite and each dish was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Our server was amazing and the acute attention to detail shines through from everything to your greeting and first impressions at the door to the intricate arrangement and plating of the food, the wine and to the exceptional experience. We dined at Atelier on Valentines Day and can't wait to try the regular tasting menu.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While good, Atelier seemed rushed to get ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

While good, Atelier seemed rushed to get us out by 8 to set up for their second seating. While I have no objections to this there was a definite feeling of being were second class citizens. Also the sommelier was not at the first seating, there was a sommelier in training but the explanation as to why the wines were paired with each course was not provided. Seemed like a random selection. For Valentine's day, I would have expected the Sommelier to be there.

Having said this, the food was great, and the presentation outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A friend & I came to Ottawa as part of o ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A friend & I came to Ottawa as part of our celebration of Canada's 150th anniversary. We loved the entire blind 12-course tasting experience. Each course was beautifully presented & delicious. What a great culinary adventure! It's something we'd do again given the chance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

L'Atelier lives up to its reputation aga ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

L'Atelier lives up to its reputation again - fantastic food innovations and assemblies that tantalize the pallet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The restaurant is the definition of "don ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The restaurant is the definition of "don't judge a book by it's cover". It is in a not great part of town and the building looks condemned when you first drive by as there are bars on the windows, low lights and no sign at all. But when you enter, this is a high end extreme gourmet experience. Highly recommend the wine pairing with the fixed menu. Really excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spend 3 hour and half for a dinner, why ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Spend 3 hour and half for a dinner, why took so long?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my husband to Atelier for his bir ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my husband to Atelier for his birthday and have to admit we were a bit disappointed. Expected more of a wow factor.

The waitress recited the menu like she was a robot and just listed EVERY single ingredient. It was exhausting listening to her non expressive voice list each ingredient and very boring. The Sommelier was more exciting and tried hard (maybe too hard ) to make the wine experience fun, but again felt that it was very robot like. They need staff with better suited personalities or that are excited about the food they are serving.

Agree with others about the music, for such an expensive dining experience once would expect that music would not be an iPod in an alarm clock.

Décor is very boring, nothing visual to please the eye and almost appears as if they are trying to save money. Over all I would not go back or recommend this experience. The food was just ok and nothing grand. Just overall not a WOW factor place. Expected to leave here with being impressed after dropping so much money for dinner out for two...but I have to say overall a non grand experience for $500 for two meals with wine pairing.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Atelier is an excellent choice for a spe ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Atelier is an excellent choice for a special occasion. Prepare yourself for an introduction to molecular gastronomy; an extra-ordinary 12 course meal; a feast for the eyes and for the taste buds. Each course brings another surprise and attentive service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food, amazing service! Cannot wa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service! Cannot wait to go back again! The wine pairing was well worth it!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, , Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kudos to Atelier for offering a vegetari ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Kudos to Atelier for offering a vegetarian tasting menu. Food was very good but some dishes were a bit on the cautious side - think subtle rather than big, bold flavours. Plating was beautiful and at times whimsical. Tables near front window are a bit cool. Service was excellent. A very lovely birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superlative. An incredible dining experi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Superlative. An incredible dining experience. Can't recommend Atelier highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience. My partner and I ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Incredible experience. My partner and I enjoyed our 12 course menu and the wine pairing. Loved the information that was provided with every wine! A unique and special evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Such a great experience! Would love to d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Such a great experience! Would love to do it again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

great restaurant and impeccable service. ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

great restaurant and impeccable service.

One of the best dinning experiences I have ever had, worth every penny.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expérience culinaire qui en vaut la pein ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Expérience culinaire qui en vaut la peine, et d'une qualité qui en vaut le prix. Prévoir toute une soirée, ne pas être pressé. Les surprises fusent. :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, , Cozy, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant revitalized my love for ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This restaurant revitalized my love for food and crystallized my career choice. Thank you, Chef Lapine along with the rest of the staff at Atelier. I yearn to produce dishes half as good as what I enjoyed on Thursday. You gave me an experience I will not soon forget, and poverty notwithstanding I will return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are new to the area - and it was our ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We are new to the area - and it was our first visit to Atelier, the first of many we hope. We had the most incredible evening. For the first time, my partner and I were able to both participate fully in a set menu - his with meat and mine without. Atelier asked for details about our preferences before our evening there and were the most accommodating restaurant I have ever experienced. The food was beautiful, the wine impeccably paired........

Thank you so very much.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Beautiful and thoughtful cooking alongsi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Beautiful and thoughtful cooking alongside extraordinary hospitality and stunning wine pairings make Atelier a top choice not only for Ottawa, but for Canada as a whole. Highly recommended!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, felt I was on a trip f ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great experience, felt I was on a trip for 4.5 hours. We had diner on or engagement night and we were blown away by the service and the food. My new favorite place. Expensive, but worth every penny. The sommelier there (Steve) is the best I've encountered. Great job guys. The paid attention to the fact this was a special occasion for us and made us feel like the most important people in the room. We are going back soon for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atelier is our favourite restaurant in O ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Atelier is our favourite restaurant in Ottawa. We've been coming here since its opening. Chef Marc Lepine and his team continue to achieve incredible results with their creativity. Steve , the handsome sommelier, and his colleagues are attentive to their clients' needs, while being respectful but also friendly. My wife got a birthday cupcake with an edible candle made of white chocolate and slivered almond. She also had a copy of the menu of the day signed by the whole team. Thank you, team Atelier, for another wonderful evening!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, ambiance and service. Wi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic food, ambiance and service. Wine pairings a must do! This one is not to miss!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience fully lived up to expecta ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The experience fully lived up to expectations. Every course was good and the wine pairings were excellent. For the smaller wine pairing option, I think the servings could have been a dash more generous.

I would recommend starting no later than 7; we started at 7:30 and the it felt late by the end of the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience! This was our second ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing experience! This was our second time at Atelier and we were just as impressed (if not more) with the food, the creativity, the flavours and the service! Would highly recommend it as an incredible culinary experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit to Atelier was excellent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My second visit to Atelier was excellent. Superb accommodation of dietary restrictions and friendly staff. Formal without being stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal, as always. We have din ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Outstanding meal, as always. We have dined here a few times, and will continue to go back. The food, presentation, and pairings are amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my partner's and my first exper ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was my partner's and my first experience at Atelier. Definitely one of our best dining experiences to date. Everything was fantastic. It's absolutely worth doing the wine pairing, as each course is so different. The mini-cake at the end to acknowledge my partner's birthday was a lovely touch. We will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was more of an experience than a me ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was more of an experience than a meal. The two of us were both surprised and delighted by the creativity, ingenuity, and refined culinary finesse that went into our meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience! Be prepared ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Be prepared to spend at least 4 hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was beyond outstanding. Attentiv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was beyond outstanding. Attentive and non-obtrusive. Very knowledgeable about each dish and great wine tasting explanations. Food was good with the soup being most memorable.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb and exciting food, as always. Lo ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Superb and exciting food, as always. Loved the duck salad in the terrarium and the helium-filled edible balloon ...what fun!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very elaborately prepared tasting menu b ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very elaborately prepared tasting menu by Canada's best chef (designated two years in a row). Flavours subtly assembled to create a creative yet flavourful taste adventure through the courses of the meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Me and my boyfriend had the best time. W ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Me and my boyfriend had the best time. We went for our one year anniversary and was overally pleased with everything.

We were so excited about every course we had. We requested in advance that the courses would be vegan and the chef said it would be no problem. All the dishes were so beautiful and delicious.

Thank you for such a great experience, we will be back on the next special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed our celebration meal a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very much enjoyed our celebration meal at Atelier. We opted for the wine pairing. All the wines were new for us and in fact we got a petit sommelier course on those wines by our server. Each dish was exquisite in presentation and taste. The labour involved and experimentation was appreciated by our eyes and taste buds. I really liked the element of surprise. For most courses we did not know what was coming.. occassionally we saw it arrive at a nearby table but that was fine! And they remembered it was a birthday meal! Over the top care for us ensuring that our food allergies were taken care of well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Came here to propose to my girlfriend (n ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Came here to propose to my girlfriend (now fiance!) in December 2016. Some important info first: (1) The menu is a blind tasting of approx. 11 plates with the choice of wine pairing, which we opted for, (2) the experience lasts 3-4 hours and (3) although it may seem expensive, the price is without-a-doubt well-priced for the experience you are about the receive. The outside of the building was deceptively plain-looking, leading to a very modern inside which I could only describe as "perfect for the experience". The service from beginning to end was outstanding, professional, and entertaining, and our server even helped me coordinate the special moment beforehand and allowed us to meet the chef and his kitchen staff after our meal. The food was adventurous to say the least; although there were some dishes I didn't like in terms of personal preference, I thoroughly enjoyed every plate, its presentation, and particularly the associated wine pairings. If there is one con I could say about this place, its the table lighting. For some tables, its a small uncovered bulb over the center of the table; yes, it provides enough light, but it kindof glares in one's eyes and is particularly annoying for people who are light-sensitive or prone to migraines. With that said, if you have one of these tables, you can easily ask to switch to another with different lighting. Overall, I would give this place a 9/10, and it would be a 10/10 if they upgraded the bar appearance, provided more restaurant amenities, provided more comfortable seating, and fixed the lighting as mentioned. Highly recommended and a place I will definitely be coming back to for our engagement anniversary!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place so much! Definitely gonn ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love this place so much! Definitely gonna visit again

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the wine pairing and the servi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food, the wine pairing and the service were exceptional. Atelier should consider pairing down (no pun intended) its offerings. Twelve courses in 4 hours is a bit much. Eight courses in 3 hours would have been more enjoyable, if not perfect.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La nourriture tout à fait excellente et ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

La nourriture tout à fait excellente et vraiment à découvrir.

Le seul bémol de notre soirée à été face au service.

Nous aurions apprécié être servi en français. Nous avons remarqué que plusieurs serveurs parlaient français, mais à notre table, notre serveuse parlait seulement anglais, peut-être mettre les serveurs francophone avec les clients francophone. Elle nous a jamais demandé de commentaire sur nos repas ou comment se passaient notre soirée.. ce qui pour nous apporte beaucoup à l'ambiance du repas. Nous trouvons que la salle était très bruyante, mais nous comprenons que nous avions aussi un soir occupé.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

It was the best experience my husband an ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was the best experience my husband and I have ever had. Thank you very for everthing. From the chef to the servers, everything was excellent! Will definitely suggest it to our friends and family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Organic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.