About Atelier

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology. Atelier serves exclusively a 12-course tasting menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Reservations for Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Parking is available for free on local streets after 5:30 PM Monday - Friday. Free street parking Saturday and Sunday.

A public lot is available for parking beside Atelier, cost will vary depending on time of day.

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wine

Restaurant Photos

Edible Chopin Waltz (Op. 69 No 2)
Le Hoop
Fought The Claw But The Lobster Won
Hypno-Scallop
Up In The Air
From Husk Till Dawn
Downward Duck
Simon Says
Return Of The Mack
The Cure
Hello Goodbison
Ball Of Yarn
Belly Up
Dino Egg
The Nutty Professor
Molecular Gastronomy

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
17 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Notable Wine List
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa / Gatineau
Notable Wine List
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau
Most Booked
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Restaurants in Ottawa ›

special occasion (86)
fit for foodies (83)
romantic (59)
See All
notable wine list (50)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We took the meal with the wine paring, W ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined 5 days ago

We took the meal with the wine paring,

Was spot on the temperature of the white wine could Be a little colder but overall

Rromantic intriguing and delicious service outstanding a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had an incredible dining experience th ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had an incredible dining experience there! The food looked and tasted amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolument loved our experience. We had ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Absolument loved our experience. We had great service with wonderful people. The food was out of this world. The size of the portions were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal was incredible - from presentat ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The meal was incredible - from presentation to taste to service! It was like party in my mouth with so many tasty surprises with every course. I would recommend this restaurant without any hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. Exquisite present ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was amazing. Exquisite presentation and taste. Food service felt somewhat impersonal and perfunctory. Wine service more attentive, conversational. For a 12 course meal dining experience, I expected comfortable, cushy chairs (that were not fraying), a table with linens, carpet that was not industrial tile-style carpeting (which was also fraying in numerous places with what felt like no padding at all - laid directly over concrete slab?), poor lighting (cold, not warm), fast food-style soap dispensers and a mirror in need of replacing in the restroom. The atmosphere was industrial and cold, not inviting, warm or remotely elegant. Perhaps the point is that it's all about the food (which is outstanding), just don't go dressed up expecting and elegant romantic meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Creative, delicious, a very very unique, ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Creative, delicious, a very very unique, wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything from the host/hostess to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Everything from the host/hostess to the decor to the food was magnificent. Can't wait for the menu to change so I can go back again. The experience was amazing and everyone was on top of their game. This place is a must try. Can't wait to see what the chef comes up with next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. No real atmosphere. It is r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great place. No real atmosphere. It is really all about the food which is spectacular. 12 courses is a bit too many. 9 would be the perfect number in my opinion. The wine pairings were excellent. The best I have ever had. Great evening and overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We had a superb dining experience on sat ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a superb dining experience on saturday night. Atelier always gives an exciting, creative and surprising experience. I love the set blind menu where they accomodated my hubby's diet restrictions where he still got to enjoy the whole experience. Deinfitely a must try in ottawa for innovative creations and wonderful service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For our anniversary we wanted a dining e ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

For our anniversary we wanted a dining experience and that is just what Atelier delivered, a wonderful experience. We enjoyed every bit and bite of the tasting menu which had many layers of flavours for our pallets to enjoy. The comical titles for the dishes were very fitting and helped build the intrigue in the dishes.

There is no doubt in my mind that the Atelier deserves to be one of Canada’s top 100 restaurants as the food and service were exceptional. Also it is no surprise that the head chef and owner Marc Lepine’s creativity in the kitchen enabled him to once again win the gold at the Canadian Culinary Championship.

I had a half portion of the wine paring with my meal and that was just the perfect amount for the tasting menu. All the wines were new to me with the exception of one BC wine.

Trying to choose our favorite dish was extremely difficult, they were all excellent. The menu changes often at the Atelier and being a fixed price I have started saving for my next experience. As an anniversary treat the staff gave us a sweet after dinner surprize which was very nice.

At the end of dinner my server asked if we would like them to call us a taxi. We had a DD so this was not necessary but I have never been asked this before when out dining. It was a nice touch showing concern for their customers

My only complaint would be that I couldn’t take home a doggy bag.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Small place. Pretensious food . Combinin ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Small place. Pretensious food . Combining interesting unusual ingredients, yet the taste remains mondain. Too expensive. To experience once

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I would absolutely recommend Atelier. It ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I would absolutely recommend Atelier. It's a MUST for foodies, but everybody would enjoy. Great experience, fantastic food, and the wine pairing is a must. Expect to be there for a few hours though :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding but expensive, well fit for ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Outstanding but expensive, well fit for special occasions. There is no menu, so you subject yourself to the whims of the chef for a 12 services gastronomic adventure. The wine list in the optional "all-included" may disappoint sometimes (the proposed Chateauneuf-du-Pape is so-so) but it proposes surprising mixes and matches.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Dining at Atelier was one of the most un ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Dining at Atelier was one of the most unique experiences I have had. The blind 12-course menu made the evening fun and the courses were spaced out perfectly. We never felt rushed, and had time to enjoy each plate. Definitely do the wine pairing - the sommelier is fantastic, it is worth it. We had fun trying to guess what was next based on the drink description. Overall, it is a comfortable space with exciting foods. We tried some new things, and the chef made the familiar new and fun. Our server was fantastic, gave excellent descriptions of the dishes, and great tips on how to tackle some of the creations. We highly recommend dining at Atelier. It's an experience you won't forget!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted with our evening! I d ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We were delighted with our evening! I didn't know anything about the restaurant except it's rating, so I was especially excited to discover a 12 course blind menu; averaging 5 bites each - each bite a choice, balanced mingling of flavours, textures and food types. Our kind of dining experience! Everything was delicious! Service friendly and attentive. Sommelier had some interesting pairings too (no spoilers).

Decor no distraction to the food, possibly intentionally.

We asked for a quiet table and got one (the restaurant cannot be held responsible for guests who like the sound of their own voice, and think the waiters appreciate their critiquing each course. I know I didn't.)

Ranks among the most expensive dinners in recent years, but also among the most memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This is a very expensive restaurant. It ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is a very expensive restaurant. It is a once in a lifetime experience. I liked all the twelve servings except the helium bubble because it was too sugary.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There tasting menu is mind blowingly del ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

There tasting menu is mind blowingly delicious at the moment, and the wine/ beer pairings were incredibly well picked out. I have been going to atelier for a few years now, and they always deliver a spectacular meal. But even by their standards the summer tasting menu they put together is better then usual. Go. Go now.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, I enjoyed the experience at Ate ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Overall, I enjoyed the experience at Atelier. A few of the dishes were, unfortunately, not to my taste (eg chicken mousse), but the other dishes made up for it. Would highly recommend the half wine pairing.

Spoiler Alert: I especially liked the Asian sesame asparagus and the smoked salmon (?) in a chip crisp that arrived under a glass dome filled with smoke on a wood plank. The presentation was phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Very creative, and delicious, great pres ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Very creative, and delicious, great presentation!

Best restaurant experience I've ever had!

I highly recommend it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing all around. Would highly recomme ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Amazing all around. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Seriously, this place will just blow you away. Every plate was incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Went there for my partner's birthday and everything was top notch. Great place for amateur foodies like us - Atelier brings you on a roller-coaster of flavours, textures and smells through 12 very different courses. Just sit back and enjoy the ride!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Atelier was a wonderful dining experienc ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Atelier was a wonderful dining experience that fully lived up to the hype. The courses were all intricately crafted, artistically served, and full of flavour. I initially started off as a skeptic of tasting menus but I was pleasantly surprised. The dessert though blew me away! I will definitely be coming back again for more special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For those of you who enjoy unique dining ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

For those of you who enjoy unique dining experiences, this is a "must try". It is once in a lifetime adventure! Indulge yourself at least once, you are worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Set menu, just let go and trust the chef ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Set menu, just let go and trust the chef. Once again, blown away! The service was great: describing, informing and listening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a wonderful hidden gem in the Littl ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

What a wonderful hidden gem in the Little Italy neighborhood of Ottawa. Every course was a surprise and tasted great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The main thing that stood out (even beyo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The main thing that stood out (even beyond the exceptional food) was the service. The staff were incredibly accommodating and helped me set up a memorable evening where I proposed to my girlfriend. Special thanks to Steve who had many helpful ideas. The food was delicious and creative. Especially the dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were exceptional, in their exp ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The staff were exceptional, in their explanations of each course and their attentiveness ( ordering a cab for us, coming to our table when the cab had arrived and walking us out to,the cab). They went above and beyond, made it a great experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten in many great restaurants ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We have eaten in many great restaurants around the world and our recent visit is up there with the best of them. Great service. Food with flair. Highly recommend to anyone who appreciates great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience in Ottawa. The t ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Best dining experience in Ottawa. The tasting menu at Atelier is creative, tasty and just plain fun. I am always amazed by what they come up with from the sublime chicken liver pate, through rich beef broth and other savoury courses to the delightful desserts. The most fun was an edible balloon filled with helium.

We can't afford this every week but it is the best eating in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular presentation, service and co ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Spectacular presentation, service and combination of wine and great innovative tasty food. One of my top 3 Ottawa destination restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top 5 Ottawa

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The food and service at Atelier certainly places it amongst the top 5 restaurants in Ottawa!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Exceptional dinner at Atelier

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was creative, whimsical, stunningly plated, and absolutely delicious. The wine flight was equally fascinating and went perfectly with the various plates. The service was excellent - unobtrusive, quietly attentive, kind, and very knowledgeable. The decor was chic, comfortable, and minimalist. Overall, this was fine dining at its very best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best food experience ever

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

if your a foodie or open in trying awesome food...this is the place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful 10th year anniversary celebration

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I had heard about L'atelier and had been dying to go for years. We finally decided it would be the place to go to celebrate our 10th year wedding anniversary and it was fabulous. All of the staff were fantastic and the food was great. It was a great dining experience and at the end of the night, they surprised us with a card that all of the staff had signed wishing us a happy anniversary as well as bringing us an extra treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

taste sensation

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Best food in Ottawa we had a fantastic evening, every last little detail explained and refined, would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely AMAZING! Creative and delici ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Absolutely AMAZING! Creative and delicious. Tasting menu is so much fun and the wine pairing adds to the adventure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Foodie heaven

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was extremely creative and fun right down to the edible balloon and string. We enjoyed all of our dishes . The beverage pairings worked so well. One of the best we have ever had. I wished we lived closer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town. Not to be missed~

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

This place is by far the best restaurant in town... It's in fact worthy of a good distance trip. If I lived out of town, I'd be happy to spend the night just so I could go to this place. The food is very inventive, beautifully prepared and perfectly executed. Don't miss it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Atelier serves without a doubt the best food I've ever tasted on three continents. The service is incredibly knowledgeable, smooth and friendly. It is a foodie heaven and the closest I've ever come to Zen gastronomy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.