About Atelier

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology. Atelier serves exclusively a 12-course tasting menu.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Reservations for Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Reservations for tables of 5 or more must be made by phone.

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Parking is available for free on local streets after 5:30 PM Monday - Friday. Free street parking Saturday and Sunday.

A public lot is available for parking beside Atelier, cost will vary depending on time of day.

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Edible Chopin Waltz (Op. 69 No 2) - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Le Hoop - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Ball Of Yarn - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
From Husk Till Dawn - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Hypno-Scallop - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Fought The Claw But The Lobster Won - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Downward Duck - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Hello Goodbison - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Up In The Air - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Dino Egg - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
The Nutty Professor - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Return Of The Mack - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Belly Up - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
The Cure - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Simon Says - Atelier, Ottawa, ON
Molecular Gastronomy - Atelier, Ottawa, ON

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Tasting Menu (44)
See All
Molecular Gastronomy (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Notable Wine List (36)
Romantic (34)
Good for a Date (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Fun (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Kudos to Atelier for offering a vegetari ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined a day ago

Kudos to Atelier for offering a vegetarian tasting menu. Food was very good but some dishes were a bit on the cautious side - think subtle rather than big, bold flavours. Plating was beautiful and at times whimsical. Tables near front window are a bit cool. Service was excellent. A very lovely birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superlative. An incredible dining experi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Superlative. An incredible dining experience. Can't recommend Atelier highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience. My partner and I ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 4 days ago

Incredible experience. My partner and I enjoyed our 12 course menu and the wine pairing. Loved the information that was provided with every wine! A unique and special evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Such a great experience! Would love to d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 7 days ago

Such a great experience! Would love to do it again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

great restaurant and impeccable service. ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 7 days ago

great restaurant and impeccable service.

One of the best dinning experiences I have ever had, worth every penny.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Expérience culinaire qui en vaut la pein ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined 7 days ago

Expérience culinaire qui en vaut la peine, et d'une qualité qui en vaut le prix. Prévoir toute une soirée, ne pas être pressé. Les surprises fusent. :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, , Cozy, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant revitalized my love for ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This restaurant revitalized my love for food and crystallized my career choice. Thank you, Chef Lapine along with the rest of the staff at Atelier. I yearn to produce dishes half as good as what I enjoyed on Thursday. You gave me an experience I will not soon forget, and poverty notwithstanding I will return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are new to the area - and it was our ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We are new to the area - and it was our first visit to Atelier, the first of many we hope. We had the most incredible evening. For the first time, my partner and I were able to both participate fully in a set menu - his with meat and mine without. Atelier asked for details about our preferences before our evening there and were the most accommodating restaurant I have ever experienced. The food was beautiful, the wine impeccably paired........

Thank you so very much.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Beautiful and thoughtful cooking alongsi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Beautiful and thoughtful cooking alongside extraordinary hospitality and stunning wine pairings make Atelier a top choice not only for Ottawa, but for Canada as a whole. Highly recommended!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, felt I was on a trip f ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great experience, felt I was on a trip for 4.5 hours. We had diner on or engagement night and we were blown away by the service and the food. My new favorite place. Expensive, but worth every penny. The sommelier there (Steve) is the best I've encountered. Great job guys. The paid attention to the fact this was a special occasion for us and made us feel like the most important people in the room. We are going back soon for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atelier is our favourite restaurant in O ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Atelier is our favourite restaurant in Ottawa. We've been coming here since its opening. Chef Marc Lepine and his team continue to achieve incredible results with their creativity. Steve , the handsome sommelier, and his colleagues are attentive to their clients' needs, while being respectful but also friendly. My wife got a birthday cupcake with an edible candle made of white chocolate and slivered almond. She also had a copy of the menu of the day signed by the whole team. Thank you, team Atelier, for another wonderful evening!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, ambiance and service. Wi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fantastic food, ambiance and service. Wine pairings a must do! This one is not to miss!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, , Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The experience fully lived up to expecta ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The experience fully lived up to expectations. Every course was good and the wine pairings were excellent. For the smaller wine pairing option, I think the servings could have been a dash more generous.

I would recommend starting no later than 7; we started at 7:30 and the it felt late by the end of the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience! This was our second ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Amazing experience! This was our second time at Atelier and we were just as impressed (if not more) with the food, the creativity, the flavours and the service! Would highly recommend it as an incredible culinary experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My second visit to Atelier was excellent ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My second visit to Atelier was excellent. Superb accommodation of dietary restrictions and friendly staff. Formal without being stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my partner's and my first exper ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 28, 2016

This was my partner's and my first experience at Atelier. Definitely one of our best dining experiences to date. Everything was fantastic. It's absolutely worth doing the wine pairing, as each course is so different. The mini-cake at the end to acknowledge my partner's birthday was a lovely touch. We will be back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was more of an experience than a me ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was more of an experience than a meal. The two of us were both surprised and delighted by the creativity, ingenuity, and refined culinary finesse that went into our meal.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience! Be prepared ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wonderful dining experience! Be prepared to spend at least 4 hours.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was beyond outstanding. Attentiv ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Service was beyond outstanding. Attentive and non-obtrusive. Very knowledgeable about each dish and great wine tasting explanations. Food was good with the soup being most memorable.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb and exciting food, as always. Lo ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Superb and exciting food, as always. Loved the duck salad in the terrarium and the helium-filled edible balloon ...what fun!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very elaborately prepared tasting menu b ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very elaborately prepared tasting menu by Canada's best chef (designated two years in a row). Flavours subtly assembled to create a creative yet flavourful taste adventure through the courses of the meal.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Me and my boyfriend had the best time. W ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Me and my boyfriend had the best time. We went for our one year anniversary and was overally pleased with everything.

We were so excited about every course we had. We requested in advance that the courses would be vegan and the chef said it would be no problem. All the dishes were so beautiful and delicious.

Thank you for such a great experience, we will be back on the next special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very much enjoyed our celebration meal a ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Very much enjoyed our celebration meal at Atelier. We opted for the wine pairing. All the wines were new for us and in fact we got a petit sommelier course on those wines by our server. Each dish was exquisite in presentation and taste. The labour involved and experimentation was appreciated by our eyes and taste buds. I really liked the element of surprise. For most courses we did not know what was coming.. occassionally we saw it arrive at a nearby table but that was fine! And they remembered it was a birthday meal! Over the top care for us ensuring that our food allergies were taken care of well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place so much! Definitely gonn ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Love this place so much! Definitely gonna visit again

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, the wine pairing and the servi ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food, the wine pairing and the service were exceptional. Atelier should consider pairing down (no pun intended) its offerings. Twelve courses in 4 hours is a bit much. Eight courses in 3 hours would have been more enjoyable, if not perfect.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

La nourriture tout à fait excellente et ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

La nourriture tout à fait excellente et vraiment à découvrir.

Le seul bémol de notre soirée à été face au service.

Nous aurions apprécié être servi en français. Nous avons remarqué que plusieurs serveurs parlaient français, mais à notre table, notre serveuse parlait seulement anglais, peut-être mettre les serveurs francophone avec les clients francophone. Elle nous a jamais demandé de commentaire sur nos repas ou comment se passaient notre soirée.. ce qui pour nous apporte beaucoup à l'ambiance du repas. Nous trouvons que la salle était très bruyante, mais nous comprenons que nous avions aussi un soir occupé.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

It was the best experience my husband an ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It was the best experience my husband and I have ever had. Thank you very for everthing. From the chef to the servers, everything was excellent! Will definitely suggest it to our friends and family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Organic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This continues to rank as my favorite re ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This continues to rank as my favorite restaurant in Canada. It's a true hidden gem and I'm happy to have it stay that way, between you and me. The food is exquisite and creative with many more hits than misses (which are themselves merely a byproduct of working at the culinary cutting edge). Bravo to Marc and his team!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

3rd time there. Food, wine & service are ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

3rd time there. Food, wine & service are always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food imaginatively prepared an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful food imaginatively prepared and presented with love, skill, thought and creativity. Best dining in Ottawa if you have the time for a tasting menu. Outstanding wines in sensibly small and smaller portions offered to accompany the menu or big choice of bottled wines. Great service and sommelier. All 4 of us agree!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

An excellent experience all around. Grea ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

An excellent experience all around. Great food, service and wines. Well worth the cost of admission.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'est ma deuxième expérience à ce restau ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

C'est ma deuxième expérience à ce restaurant qui est unique. C'est un moment unique de dégustation et de découverte des saveurs et textures. Je le recommande à tous. Chaque details est bien pensé.

Les serveurs connaissent et décrivent bien ce qui nous est servi.

Cependant, l'ambiance est assez bruyante et je préfererais plus un milieu tranquille et privé.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Came here for the second time, to celebr ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Came here for the second time, to celebrate my partner and I's 3'rd anniversary. Dinner was exceptional, and to top it off, the whole staff signed a card congratulating us. Excellent food, supreme service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a once in a life time dinner, ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great for a once in a life time dinner, will never do again.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Amazing evening of fine dining and super ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Amazing evening of fine dining and superb service. Celebrated birthday and anniversary and the service team took great care with us and Chef accommodated a surprise arranged by my coworkers. Totally worth the trip to Ottawa to dine at this fine restaurant. Everyone should be going there for the tasting menu! Thank you to Chef and his amazing team!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, , Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time having dinner at Atelier ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our second time having dinner at Atelier didn't disappoint. The food was great, thoughtful, and inventive, and the service was friendly without being pretentious.

We would definitely go back and make plans to see chef Lepine again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Merveilleux restaurant servant des plats ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Merveilleux restaurant servant des plats très travaillés. Le wine pairing a permis de faire de belles découvertes. Service irréprochable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed this wonderful 12 course tast ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We enjoyed this wonderful 12 course tasting menu beautifully crafted by Chef Lepine and his team.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our experience was beyond exceptional. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Our experience was beyond exceptional. Truly an adventure in food and wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fun, Modern Decor, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clearly one of the best restaurants in O ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Clearly one of the best restaurants in Ottawa. This is a tasting menu only experience and well worth the price. The artistry and multitude of tastes and aromas on each plate is a little miracle.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.