About Atelier

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
13 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Fit for Foodies
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Restaurants in Ottawa ›

special occasion (91)
fit for foodies (87)
notable wine list (58)
See All
romantic (55)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
great for outdoor dining (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1025 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Set menu, just let go and trust the chef ...

Dined 6 days ago

Set menu, just let go and trust the chef. Once again, blown away! The service was great: describing, informing and listening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful hidden gem in the Littl ...

Dined 7 days ago

What a wonderful hidden gem in the Little Italy neighborhood of Ottawa. Every course was a surprise and tasted great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The main thing that stood out (even beyo ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The main thing that stood out (even beyond the exceptional food) was the service. The staff were incredibly accommodating and helped me set up a memorable evening where I proposed to my girlfriend. Special thanks to Steve who had many helpful ideas. The food was delicious and creative. Especially the dessert!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were exceptional, in their exp ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The staff were exceptional, in their explanations of each course and their attentiveness ( ordering a cab for us, coming to our table when the cab had arrived and walking us out to,the cab). They went above and beyond, made it a great experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten in many great restaurants ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have eaten in many great restaurants around the world and our recent visit is up there with the best of them. Great service. Food with flair. Highly recommend to anyone who appreciates great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience in Ottawa. The t ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Best dining experience in Ottawa. The tasting menu at Atelier is creative, tasty and just plain fun. I am always amazed by what they come up with from the sublime chicken liver pate, through rich beef broth and other savoury courses to the delightful desserts. The most fun was an edible balloon filled with helium. We can't afford this every week but it is the best eating in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Spectacular presentation, service and co ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Spectacular presentation, service and combination of wine and great innovative tasty food. One of my top 3 Ottawa destination restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Top 5 Ottawa

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food and service at Atelier certainly places it amongst the top 5 restaurants in Ottawa!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dinner at Atelier

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was creative, whimsical, stunningly plated, and absolutely delicious. The wine flight was equally fascinating and went perfectly with the various plates. The service was excellent - unobtrusive, quietly attentive, kind, and very knowledgeable. The decor was chic, comfortable, and minimalist. Overall, this was fine dining at its very best.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best food experience ever

Dined on April 22, 2016

if your a foodie or open in trying awesome food...this is the place

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful 10th year anniversary celebration

Dined on April 22, 2016

I had heard about L'atelier and had been dying to go for years. We finally decided it would be the place to go to celebrate our 10th year wedding anniversary and it was fabulous. All of the staff were fantastic and the food was great. It was a great dining experience and at the end of the night, they surprised us with a card that all of the staff had signed wishing us a happy anniversary as well as bringing us an extra treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

taste sensation

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best food in Ottawa we had a fantastic evening, every last little detail explained and refined, would definitely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Absolutely AMAZING! Creative and delici ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Absolutely AMAZING! Creative and delicious. Tasting menu is so much fun and the wine pairing adds to the adventure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie heaven

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was extremely creative and fun right down to the edible balloon and string. We enjoyed all of our dishes . The beverage pairings worked so well. One of the best we have ever had. I wished we lived closer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in town. Not to be missed~

Dined on April 6, 2016

This place is by far the best restaurant in town... It's in fact worthy of a good distance trip. If I lived out of town, I'd be happy to spend the night just so I could go to this place. The food is very inventive, beautifully prepared and perfectly executed. Don't miss it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Atelier serves without a doubt the best food I've ever tasted on three continents. The service is incredibly knowledgeable, smooth and friendly. It is a foodie heaven and the closest I've ever come to Zen gastronomy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All about the experience

Dined on March 18, 2016

This is the second time in about 5 years that my husband and I have been to Atelier. The first time, we were a bit disappointed, finding that even though there were 10 courses we were not actually full at the end. Additionally, the food was good but we felt it was perhaps overrated for what we got. Still, with all the good reviews and awards, we thought that perhaps we just got a bit unlucky with the menu we had the first time. So we tried it again. We were much happier this time. The food is quite good, but to be satisfied with Atelier you really need to appreciate that it's not all about the taste but also the creativity and huge amount of work that the chef puts into each plate. Each plate has so many flavours presented using so many different techniques and put together with such thought, precision, and imagination. The first time we went, I found there were too many flavours and techniques being used, that did not enhance the dish and in some cases even diminished the dish - again, maybe we were just unlucky. This time I thought everything was really well done and although it's not a restaurant that we will be visiting regularly, we will certainly be back and looking forward to the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word: EPIC

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

This place is unreal! Every dish was incredible, interesting, and bursting with flavors and combinations no mere mortal could imagine. The chef is absolutely brilliant and so creative. All of the staff is very attentive, extremely knowledgeable and kind. I can only hope to have a reason to be back in Ottawa just so I can go here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delightful, unexpected and delicious.

Dined on March 15, 2016

Impeccable service and wonderful food. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I thought the presentation was nice but

Dined on March 12, 2016

wasn't blown away by the taste of the food. it just wasn't great. .

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite!!!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We cannot fully express our gratitude and our sheer delight at the dining experience we enjoyed at Atelier. Not only were we warmly greeted and perfectly attended to throughout the entire 3 hours, they went above and beyond to recognize a birthday celebration. Atelier offers unparalleled customer service. They are also incredibly accommodating for allergies and food preferences. ALL of the dishes were an exciting adventure for our taste buds and our spirit. A must-visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative Molecular Cuisine

Dined on March 11, 2016

A very interesting and memorable culinary adventure and experience with a champion chef. Excellent food , presentation and service. Will definitely try it again, this time with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A culinary adventure!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent food, great value and exquisite service. But... not for someone who does not posses a real love of fine dining. I know a lot of people who say they are "foodies" because they like foreign food. Atelier offers you the chance to experience something different and challenging. The menu is blind, meaning you have no idea what you will get until it arrives at the table. Twelve courses of surprise including three desert dishes. Very good pairing of wine and food. and excellent value. Give them a try and keep an open mind.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

brilliant tasting menu

Dined on March 5, 2016

Marc Lepine's Atelier is arguably Ottawa's signature contribution to the world of foodies, with one of the most original tasting menus in Canada and the best wine parings anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brilliant!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Chef Lepine is a creative genius. Atelier provides an exceptional taste experience. Wine pairings were wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Well Executed

Dined on February 26, 2016

I personally don't like seafood. When I said this to my waiter he said that was no problem and I received the same menu that was being presented however it had minor alterations that replaced the seafood with other type of protein. I that this was excellently done as the dishes still maintained their integrity. Very well done, I highly recommend this Ottawa gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food; Beautiful Preparation

Dined on February 26, 2016

All 12 courses were wonderful. Magnificently plated and served. Outstanding overall, but it will be a pricey evening. Will be going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Unique Atelier

Dined on February 24, 2016

There is no category for Atelier. It is the only one of its kind in Ottawa. Every time I go, I am amazed, never bored. You can ask for half a pairing of wine, it's cheaper and much less overwhelming than the regular amounts of alcohol served. Beware that,(I have experienced it twice), although the thought is really sweet, the special birthday cupcake is nasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in town

Dined on February 20, 2016

The GREATEST restaurant in the Ottawa-Gatineau area. Impeccable food, wine and service. Best culinary experience ever! Highly recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Best meal so far in Ottawa.

Dined on February 19, 2016

This was the best meal I had so far in Ottawa. My boyfriend described it as Top Chef or Food Network Food. It was very beautiful, tasty and well excecuted. I would say if you don't drink alot, have the half wine paring which was plenty. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of Ottawa's finest dining experience's

Dined on February 19, 2016

This was our second time visiting Atelier. As always the food and service was impeccable. My only slight disappointment would be that we waited over a year, purposely, to visit again, so that the menu items would be different. There were a few items on the menu that were the same, and although they were great, i just wish we got to experience other innovative dishes. Over all I feel this restaurant is one of the best dining experience's Ottawa has to offer. If you enjoy wine like i do than i highly recommend that you do the wine pairing. This restaurant is ideal for celebrating special occasions as it is a memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Once-in-a-lifetime experience

Dined on February 17, 2016

Wine pairing is highly recommended. Very accommodating with dietary restrictions and allergies. Started dinner at six and went on to 930 with 12 course tasting menu. Extremely personalized and attentive service. Food was out of this world!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Valentine's Day Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Atelier came up as being one of the best places in Ottawa, if it the very best. Keenly excited I booked a reservation which they confirmed with me well in advance. Over all the food was phenomenal so I highly recommend it to anyone that is a foodie and loves to try some great stuff at a proportional price. Service was good, but due to scheduling I think their usual politeness was overruled by the guests they had following us. The Valentine's Day dinner was done in heats and honestly they didn't plan enough time for everyone that evening. My date and I were rushed out the door after we had to pound our Port wine we'd payed as a last pairing to our dinner. I've never felt so rushed and urged to leave, to such an extent they brought us our jackets, placed them down next to my date and said,"No rush..." Then proceeded to set up the tables around us. Keep in mind that we were doing a five course meal with wine pairing that ultimately cost over $400 after tip. Thus, to rush two customers that had never enjoyed this restaurant before on Valentine's Day was unnecessary, and quite frankly, rude. It doesn't matter how much one pays for a meal, but if it's over $100 rushing them out is absolutely out of the question. Got it, should have eaten faster I suppose but that's not the intent when you go to wonderful establishments such as these.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Michelin Quality Meal in Ottawa

Dined on February 14, 2016

Phenomenal meal in Ottawa. Simply phenomenal. Truly inspirational cuisine. We have eaten many Michelin starred meals in France while living in Europe. Presentation, taste, service, paired wine selection - all would be deserving of Michelin consideration at Atelier. I do have to say that the appearance of the building pulling up in our taxi was a bit off-putting. Granted, that appears to be a part of the image. Inside - simple but elegant decor. Friendly and helpful staff. Just GREAT food. A true find during our weekend stay in Ottawa!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

our experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

we booked several weeks in advance for the 12 course meal and found out 2 days before it was a 6 course meal-- for the price better notification should be available -- we wanted to experience the whole thing but received one half for approx. the same price -- our meal included a helium balloon considered a course -- as interesting as it was and it was fun for valentines day -- it was not a 'course' -- unless it was a 12 course...we had a course of the main dish that won in bc and that was extremely tasty-- we understand some of the dishes were probably larger than usual (eg yes dear) but if you don't care for deer the deer and the balloon are now 2 courses. overall the food was pretty good-- the service was courteous and timely--the sommelier was quite pleasant and insightful but personally we wished we had experienced the 12 course

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Great experience but food not great.

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great experience, great service. Atmosphere could be improved and food taste needs to improve.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place For a Date Night

Dined on February 11, 2016

Went to atelier for the first time with my girlfriend for a Valentine's Day date. The servers were very good, took our coats and brought us to our seats. They were asking what drinks we wanted and brought us bread within a few minutes of us being there. It was easily the best meal I've ever had. The food was amazing, the wine was great and I will definitely recommend the restaurant to friends and family. It's fairly expensive, but completely worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique dining experience

Dined on February 11, 2016

Our entire group loved our recent outing to l'Atelier. Any kind of special celebration would benefit from this wonderful restaurant. The 12 course tasting menu was extraordinarily detailed in every way, cleverly planned and beautifully plated down to the last garnish. I particularly enjoyed the floating helium-filled edible balloon. We all took the wine pairing option and while I am not enough of an oenophile to fully appreciate this, I very much enjoyed the sommelier's descriptions and flourish. The service was extraordinary as it would have to be related to such a labour intensive meal. Based on this meal, it was no surprise to us to hear of the chef's recent win at a Canadian cooking competition. Prepare for your wallet to take a considerable hit, but I hope to return in the near future. Thanks for such a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worth the price for a special evening out.

Dined on January 31, 2016

It was our third visit in as many years. The 10-course tasting menu with wine pairing continues to be spectacular. The wait staff are knowledgeable, well-trained and enhanced the experience. The chefs were able to seamlessly accommodate dietary restrictions by varying the menu in creative ways that was at the same time consistent with the original intent. For the third time in a row, we got the amazing culinary experience we were seeking. Well done. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A culinary experience

Dined on January 16, 2016

Atelier's chef Marc Lépine obviously believes that eating in his restaurant has to be a memorable experience for the senses, and it is. Each of the twelve small courses was a surprise for the pallet and the eyes (there is no menu). The taste combinations and wine pairings were remarkable and brilliantly explained. If you have a very, very special occasion to celebrate, this is the place to go but be prepared to pay dearly. However, the memory of this unique culinary experience is well worth the momentary strain on the pocketbook.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.