Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Atelier

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology.

Atelier serves exclusively a 12-course tasting menu offered at $125 CAD per person. We offer a wine pairing to complement the menu for $75 CAD per person.

When reserving please make note of any dietary restrictions or allergies so our chefs may best prepare your experience.

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Reservations for Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Reservations for tables of 5 or more must be made by phone.

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Parking is available for free on local streets after 5:30 PM Monday - Friday. Free street parking Saturday and Sunday.

A public lot is available for parking beside Atelier, cost will vary depending on time of day.

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Molecular Gastronomy (23)
Tasting Menu (21)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Romantic (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
1211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

We have always enjoyed Atelier. When one goes to the restaurant it is a surprise what the courses offered will be. The explanation of the components of the dinner selections and each wine pairing is an education.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic tasting menu. The food is at a very high level. The service and atmosphere, while very good, did not quite elevate to the same level as the food. The cost is much less than you would pay for a comparable meal at fine dining restaurants around the world. This is Michelin star level food without the price.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is our 5th time. Every visit is a brand new dining experience. Very exciting and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent value and service. The dishes were very good but not yet Micheline star quality. Most were too small to let me explore their taste. I would have liked fewer courses but a little more in them. The excellent beef heart soup, chicken and veal courses offered more than two spoonfuls and could be savoured. I found the three hours a bit long. The decor is unappealing.

Nevertheless, the excellent service and the huge amount of labour that went into the dishes and their quality make this a very good value.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fantastic tasting menu. The dishes are always creative and delicious. The service is top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was my third visit. Everything was exceptional, as always.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We came here with a group of 4 and an open mind. The tasting menu was excellent and there was much that delighted all the senses. Presentation was unique and well thought out. The wine pairings were excellent. This is a great place for a special occasion... and to celebrate food! Thanks for a wonderful night.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My wife and i were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary- and its become a tradition to go out to Atelier for dinner! we've never been disappointed! the Wine pairings are phenomenal (highly recommend) and the gastronomy creations are incredible! Thanks Atelier!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

No sign outside to designate establishment just an iron grate over the windows of a dark grey house...and no parking either so a friend suffered a $100 street parking ticket on top of the bill afterwards ;(
Service was impeccable and friendly - Corey was top notch.
I don't remember much art work or ambient music so I guess they want to let the food speak for itself....and it does. For the 12+ courses and a bottle of wine, we were there for about 3.5 hours. It is a one in a lifetime experience which won't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very interesting as usual. Food was excellent, quite innovative. Flavours are great, but I was not blown away as at my previous visit. It is tad too long. First time there we had 8 course meal and that was better. It just takes so long even though they are moving along. Wine was great and staff is amazing. It was very, very loud there. We were sitting on the main floor and maybe they can hang things on the wall do dampen the sound. That was my only complaint. Still, Atelier is always in my top 5 places and their chef is incredible. Presentation is pure art. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overrated. Cared too much about presentation and not about flavours.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A little pricey but a great dinning experience. A variety of tastes and textures brought to you by a very knowledgable and extremely attentive serving staff.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Simply amazing experience for any foodie. The originality is in every plate. I can just imagine the time spent in testing and combining all elements!

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Thoroughly outstanding. In every way.

Very highly recommended

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Creative, original, delicious, fun, informed, and fancy :-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My first visit to this restaurant. Is now in my top 3 Dining Experiences. One to remember. Every course was delicious and creative, eatable art. Staff was extremely accommodating and very knowledgeable about the dishes served as well as the wine pairing. Will be a repeat customer :)

Tags: Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Atelier was an exceptional culinary experience. We thoroughly enjoy the mix of flavours and ingredients; the wine pairing is the best option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a great time! Service was excellent, door was very different and good. I will definietly go back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Best restaurant in the Ottawa-Gatineau area. Fantastic culinary experience everytime we go.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Last time we went we had rather foolishly only allowed for a 2 hour window to eat before our show began, this year we scheduled the show for a different night and immersed ourselves completely in the relaxed decadence that is an evening at Ottawa's finest dining establishment

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fun experience with the family. Incredible food combinations that you certainly wouldn't experience anywhere else! Memorable for sure! May not do the wine pairing again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The atmosphere was great, the tables are a bit close together, but it adds to the experience. Everyone in the restaurant would watch as each course was brought to the first table, excited to try the dish themselves. The food was exceptional. The flavors , thought to be incoherent at first, danced playfully with each bite much like a symphony of flavour. The colours and textures were exquisite and each dish was perfectly cooked and seasoned. Our server was amazing and the acute attention to detail shines through from everything to your greeting and first impressions at the door to the intricate arrangement and plating of the food, the wine and to the exceptional experience. We dined at Atelier on Valentines Day and can't wait to try the regular tasting menu.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

While good, Atelier seemed rushed to get us out by 8 to set up for their second seating. While I have no objections to this there was a definite feeling of being were second class citizens. Also the sommelier was not at the first seating, there was a sommelier in training but the explanation as to why the wines were paired with each course was not provided. Seemed like a random selection. For Valentine's day, I would have expected the Sommelier to be there.

Having said this, the food was great, and the presentation outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

A friend & I came to Ottawa as part of our celebration of Canada's 150th anniversary. We loved the entire blind 12-course tasting experience. Each course was beautifully presented & delicious. What a great culinary adventure! It's something we'd do again given the chance.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 10, 2017

L'Atelier lives up to its reputation again - fantastic food innovations and assemblies that tantalize the pallet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A creative tasting menu featuring a wide variety of flavours. Main proteins sourced from Quebec. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The restaurant is the definition of "don't judge a book by it's cover". It is in a not great part of town and the building looks condemned when you first drive by as there are bars on the windows, low lights and no sign at all. But when you enter, this is a high end extreme gourmet experience. Highly recommend the wine pairing with the fixed menu. Really excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Spend 3 hour and half for a dinner, why took so long?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I took my husband to Atelier for his birthday and have to admit we were a bit disappointed. Expected more of a wow factor.

The waitress recited the menu like she was a robot and just listed EVERY single ingredient. It was exhausting listening to her non expressive voice list each ingredient and very boring. The Sommelier was more exciting and tried hard (maybe too hard ) to make the wine experience fun, but again felt that it was very robot like. They need staff with better suited personalities or that are excited about the food they are serving.

Agree with others about the music, for such an expensive dining experience once would expect that music would not be an iPod in an alarm clock.

Décor is very boring, nothing visual to please the eye and almost appears as if they are trying to save money. Over all I would not go back or recommend this experience. The food was just ok and nothing grand. Just overall not a WOW factor place. Expected to leave here with being impressed after dropping so much money for dinner out for two...but I have to say overall a non grand experience for $500 for two meals with wine pairing.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Atelier is an excellent choice for a special occasion. Prepare yourself for an introduction to molecular gastronomy; an extra-ordinary 12 course meal; a feast for the eyes and for the taste buds. Each course brings another surprise and attentive service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service! Cannot wait to go back again! The wine pairing was well worth it!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Kudos to Atelier for offering a vegetarian tasting menu. Food was very good but some dishes were a bit on the cautious side - think subtle rather than big, bold flavours. Plating was beautiful and at times whimsical. Tables near front window are a bit cool. Service was excellent. A very lovely birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Superlative. An incredible dining experience. Can't recommend Atelier highly enough.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Incredible experience. My partner and I enjoyed our 12 course menu and the wine pairing. Loved the information that was provided with every wine! A unique and special evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Such a great experience! Would love to do it again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

great restaurant and impeccable service.
One of the best dinning experiences I have ever had, worth every penny.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Expérience culinaire qui en vaut la peine, et d'une qualité qui en vaut le prix. Prévoir toute une soirée, ne pas être pressé. Les surprises fusent. :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This restaurant revitalized my love for food and crystallized my career choice. Thank you, Chef Lapine along with the rest of the staff at Atelier. I yearn to produce dishes half as good as what I enjoyed on Thursday. You gave me an experience I will not soon forget, and poverty notwithstanding I will return.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We are new to the area - and it was our first visit to Atelier, the first of many we hope. We had the most incredible evening. For the first time, my partner and I were able to both participate fully in a set menu - his with meat and mine without. Atelier asked for details about our preferences before our evening there and were the most accommodating restaurant I have ever experienced. The food was beautiful, the wine impeccably paired........

Thank you so very much.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Beautiful and thoughtful cooking alongside extraordinary hospitality and stunning wine pairings make Atelier a top choice not only for Ottawa, but for Canada as a whole. Highly recommended!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.