Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.71mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.97mi

About Atelier

Atelier is a tasting menu restaurant in Ottawa serving 'New Canadian' food based on hypermodern culinary technique and technology.

Atelier serves exclusively a 12-course tasting menu offered at $125 CAD per person. We offer a wine pairing to complement the menu for $75 CAD per person.

When reserving please make note of any dietary restrictions or allergies so our chefs may best prepare your experience.

540 Rochester Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 4M1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Reservations for Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Closed Sunday and Monday

Reservations for tables of 5 or more must be made by phone.

Cross Street:
Carling

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(613) 321-3537

Website:
http://www.atelierrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
Parking is available for free on local streets after 5:30 PM Monday - Friday. Free street parking Saturday and Sunday.

A public lot is available for parking beside Atelier, cost will vary depending on time of day.

Executive Chef:
Marc Lepine

Additional:
Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Wine

Atelier Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (31)
Special Occasion (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Romantic (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (10)
Fun (10)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Organic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The food paring I found exceptional and reasonably priced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was fantastic and imaginative. The staff was friendly and highly professional. By far, the best restaurant meal I've ever had. Even better than Tokay. Kudos to sommelier Steve Robinson.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The experience we had at Atelier was amazing. They do a 12 course blind tasting menu. It took us just over 4 hours to make it to the end so it was a long time to sit.
Every dish was just as amazing as the last. The dishes were all well thought out and each component, while tasting amazing together, could easily stand on it's own. Everything was well seasoned and thoughtfully placed. Many of the herbs and edible flowers came from a garden on the property. I would recommend this restaurant for all foodies who really appreciate the detail, and artistry that goes into each of the courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This was my second time at Atelier and it was much much better the first time - I believe the first time I went was in 2009. Obviously you know you are going to spend a lot at Atelier - I imagine an average bill is something like $500. So that's a lot to live up to. The first time I went it did, this time it really did not. While there we some tasty dishes it was really nothing out of the ordinary. There was a lack of creativity with the tasting menu - lots of sous-vide stuff, couple of interesting gels and mousses, but nothing really next level. Obviously this type of complaint can come off as nit-picking - but for $500 there is a fair expectation of amazing.

The wine was a bigger disappointment than the food. I'm not a wine expert, but I've done pairing menus before, and this was not good. One wine was flat out not good, another was fine but got totally overwhelmed when consumed with the dish it was paired with. The sommelier was disengaged and kept licking his fingers - he was pleasant but that was kind of off putting.

The main server was fine. He definitely was engaged in us enjoying ourselves.

Final comment is on the restaurant itself, the carpet and baseboards are in really dingy shape. Obviously if the food had been amazing this would have been easy to forget. I don't know what the design style of the restaurant would be called - minimalist? - but dirty baseboards seems like something to fix.

Anyways... it was truly an experience the first time I went and a big, big let down this time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

It's getting boring guys and the time between courses was a bit too long. The experience was the same as last time except longer.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 11, 2017

absolutely spectacular, fresh food and locally ( even backyard) sourced, very unique, without being too overtop top or not real food, very informative servers, a great value, especially for all the attention to details, also lastly impressed chef came over to our table to introduce himself
highly recommend, thank you for a great dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Superior service, creative and gourmet dishes, perfect wine pairings.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 11, 2017

A very unique experience. Dishes are presented creatively. Good for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This spot was really original. There's nothing like it in Ottawa and we really enjoyed our unique experience for my birthday 🎉. The food was delicious and very creatively presented. The service was exceptional. My only small complaint is that I found it too loud to hear the server when he explained the meals. Don't be shy about asking him to repeat! Enjoy this gem.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

It is worth the expense for this very special dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This restaurant is extraordinary both because of the quality of the food, wine and service and because of the quality of the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 5, 2017

What a wonderful meal. The Wow effect is really present in every service and the staff is simply outstanding. I will definitely go back with friends so they can live that magic moment too.
Wow! What a wonderful experience, food simply delicious. A must go absolutely! Thanks!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 29, 2017

It was an amazing expwrience! I am not familiar with the chef but he/she definitely knows what he's doing. He/she is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Once in a lifetime experience. Creativity beyond compare and wonderful wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Eclectic and electric. Ambience quirky, severe and yet relaxing. Service attentive, very professional and unobtrusive. Food, outstanding an understatement. Each of the 12 courses a delightful culinary adventure. Flavours meld together subtlety but tastefully. Wine pairings well selected to marry the multiple flavours of the wine with the various food characteristics. Definitely 6 stars out of 5.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Culinary delight for all the senses. Each dish is an edible work of art. Exquisite service from very knowledgeable servers, each in tune with the fine details of the dishes offered. Extensive carte de vin with a sommelier ready to suggest or impart knowledge on the wine being ordered.
Minimalist decor probably intended so as not to disrupt the diner's eating experience.
Well worth the money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Atelier has not disappointed me this time too. I had my best desserts ever in Atelier, both dessert dishes are in excellent taste and wonderful appearance. I haven't had one single old dish from my previous times and every single dish is perfect. Definitely will be back later.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Did the tasting menu. Food creativity is through the roof. All the courses and wine pairings exceeded our expectations. The perfect special occasion place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

23 Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent food and service! Noise level was very good until a noisy table of 4 came in later in the evening. Saw a noticeable increase in volume as both waiters and patrons had to raise their voices to be heard.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was very artistically presented and half of the ingredients I couldn't taste and had never heard of. Really unique experience, but I can't say that much of the food was terribly memorable from the perspective of what it tasted like. Was bordering on gratuitous snobbery to hear all the ingredients involved in making the crazy dishes, but that's part of the entertainment value. I did the half-wine pairing which gives you smaller portions of each drink. Was really well put together and unique choices that matched the meals well. Despite the cost, it's not 'stuffy' and you don't have to be terribly dressed up. Overall was a fun experience, but have had more memorable tasting food at another restaurant's tasting menu in Ottawa that was only 6-8 dishes, and a bit cheaper. Can't remember the name of the place. If it was a bit cheaper, could maybe justify the cost. Don't get me wrong, it's a unique experience, with very creative presentations, but when you throw 20 ingredients into a 2-bite dish, and I couldn't taste what difference any of them made to the dish, it's hard to justify the experience at that price. If you're looking for more memorable tasting food, look elsewhere. If you want an interesting artistic (and still tasty!) dining experience, try it out!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was everything I had hoped it would be. Excellent pairings of food and wine.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I would call it an event, rather than a meal. You must be adventurous to enjoy a "blind" tasting - and enjoy I did. Be prepared to let them know at the start of the meal what you would not like to be served - you will not be ordering off a menu here! Everything was beautifully prepared and delish - down to the last frond of garnish. Each dish was photo-worthy!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Amazing experience ! Food is exceptional and the service is perfect but never snobby.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Went there for 15th anniversary and for a culinary experience. The 12 course blind menu did not disappoint. Delicious and the plating was gorgeous.a true culinary experience. Was stuffed after the 12 courses. Service was amazing. A real gem in ottawa. Reservation required.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The food was excellent. The waiter and sommelier were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Great variety of courses and extremely sophisticated. We had one gluten free meal which the restaurant easily handled and pointed out any differences when the course was presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We have always enjoyed Atelier. When one goes to the restaurant it is a surprise what the courses offered will be. The explanation of the components of the dinner selections and each wine pairing is an education.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fantastic tasting menu. The food is at a very high level. The service and atmosphere, while very good, did not quite elevate to the same level as the food. The cost is much less than you would pay for a comparable meal at fine dining restaurants around the world. This is Michelin star level food without the price.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This is our 5th time. Every visit is a brand new dining experience. Very exciting and delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A wonderful awesome experience. The creativity was out of this world. Service fantastic.
Will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent value and service. The dishes were very good but not yet Micheline star quality. Most were too small to let me explore their taste. I would have liked fewer courses but a little more in them. The excellent beef heart soup, chicken and veal courses offered more than two spoonfuls and could be savoured. I found the three hours a bit long. The decor is unappealing.

Nevertheless, the excellent service and the huge amount of labour that went into the dishes and their quality make this a very good value.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Fantastic tasting menu. The dishes are always creative and delicious. The service is top notch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was my third visit. Everything was exceptional, as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We came here with a group of 4 and an open mind. The tasting menu was excellent and there was much that delighted all the senses. Presentation was unique and well thought out. The wine pairings were excellent. This is a great place for a special occasion... and to celebrate food! Thanks for a wonderful night.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

My wife and i were celebrating our 4th wedding anniversary- and its become a tradition to go out to Atelier for dinner! we've never been disappointed! the Wine pairings are phenomenal (highly recommend) and the gastronomy creations are incredible! Thanks Atelier!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

No sign outside to designate establishment just an iron grate over the windows of a dark grey house...and no parking either so a friend suffered a $100 street parking ticket on top of the bill afterwards ;(
Service was impeccable and friendly - Corey was top notch.
I don't remember much art work or ambient music so I guess they want to let the food speak for itself....and it does. For the 12+ courses and a bottle of wine, we were there for about 3.5 hours. It is a one in a lifetime experience which won't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very interesting as usual. Food was excellent, quite innovative. Flavours are great, but I was not blown away as at my previous visit. It is tad too long. First time there we had 8 course meal and that was better. It just takes so long even though they are moving along. Wine was great and staff is amazing. It was very, very loud there. We were sitting on the main floor and maybe they can hang things on the wall do dampen the sound. That was my only complaint. Still, Atelier is always in my top 5 places and their chef is incredible. Presentation is pure art. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Overrated. Cared too much about presentation and not about flavours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A little pricey but a great dinning experience. A variety of tastes and textures brought to you by a very knowledgable and extremely attentive serving staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Simply amazing experience for any foodie. The originality is in every plate. I can just imagine the time spent in testing and combining all elements!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.