About Atchafalaya Restaurant

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
We accept reservations for parties up to 12 guests. Buyouts are available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Rachael Jaffe: 5048919626x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Shrimp & Grits
Duck Hash
Catheads & Jasmine Vodka
Duck Po Boy
Pasta Atchafalaya - Fettuccini Surrounded By Lousiana Crawfish, Duck, Shrimp And Tasso
Bloody Mary
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Red Velvet Cake
Fried Green Tomatoes
Pimm's Cup
Bloody Mary Bar
Eggs Louisianian
Shrimp and Grits
Chopped Salad
Pasta Atchafalaya
Arugala & Spinach Salad W Bleu Cheese
Boudreaux
Eggs Benedict Crab Cake Special
Free Form Crab Ravioli
Sesame Seared Tuna
Grilled Porkchop
Pan Seared King Salmon
Steamed Mussels
Eggs Atchafalaya
Chicken and Sausage Gumbo
Grillades and Rice
Eggs Rockefeler
Homemade Granola W/ Fresh Berries & Yogurt
Eggs Treme
Jalapeno Cornbread
Crab Omelette
Louisiana Crab Omlette

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
1 More
Creole
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

fit for foodies (202)
neighborhood gem (192)
great for brunch (137)
See All
special occasion (121)
romantic (95)
great for lunch (52)
hot spot (50)
good for groups (46)
notable wine list (31)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for outdoor dining (22)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (12)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a lovely meal with a job candidat ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had a lovely meal with a job candidate. Everything looked great. I had the fried truffle chicken, which was not fried and did not taste like truffles, but was otherwise delicious. The service was very attentive and no missteps. Just as we were leaving, the lights were turned down. In the past, I noticed how dark it was. So much so that customers were using their phones to read the menu.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Shrimp and grits were amazing, I'm so gl ...

Dined 5 days ago

Shrimp and grits were amazing, I'm so glad they left the heads on! I want that every Sunday for the rest of my life :) The server accidentally heard our order wrong and only put in three of five dishes we ordered, but they were very apologetic and quick to fix the mistake, they also comped one meal for the mix-up. Servers were very nice and the atmosphere was vibrant and lively. The Gumbo was the best we had on our trip to Nola. I truly enjoyed my experience and will be back for more Shrimp and Grits on my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect at this neighborh ...

Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect at this neighborhood gem of a restaurant. At a recent brunch the food was delicious (and very New Orleans-y brunch, think awesome Shrimp & Grits). The make your own bloody mary bar was a great touch and the staff was attentive and engaging. Overall, a very positive experience and we intend to return for dinner next time.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant is very busy for brunch s ...

Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant is very busy for brunch so I recommend making reservations! We were sat right on time of our reservation. The Bloody Mary bar is always a win! The soft shell crab appetizer was the highlight of our meal! My shrimp and grits were a little overpriced for the quality of shrimp but my husband ordered the duck hash and it was excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal. Wonderful experienc ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had a great meal. Wonderful experience. New Orleans must!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We get to New Orleans once a year and ev ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We get to New Orleans once a year and every time we visit we always eat here. They have the best shrimp and grits on the planet. The food is always excellent as is the service. It's one of the restaurants where you always know you are going to have a great experience. Can't wait until our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding all around. We bring guests ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Outstanding all around. We bring guests to many restaurants in New Orleans to impress them. We will be back many time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made lunch reservations and did not re ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

I made lunch reservations and did not realize that the menu was a brunch one. This was a pleasant surprise. The food was great as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible experience. Wonderful food, o ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Incredible experience. Wonderful food, outstanding and attentive service, and delicious Bloody Mary bar! I would go back again. This is a must when visiting NOLA.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed a wonderful Father's Day Brunch ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful Father's Day Brunch with friends at this restaurant. Although we didn't take advantage of the make-your-own Bloody Mary bar, we were impressed by the depth of offering! The food was really fantastic (Duck Hash, Eggs Atchafalaya, Chicken and Biscuits) and the service was really excellent. The only unfortunate aspect of our visit was the three-piece band that was performing. Although they were really excellent, their sound was so loud it was difficult to talk to our guests who had joined us.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The Bloody Mary bar is the best.

Dined on June 19, 2016

The Bloody Mary bar is the best.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A must place to eat. Food was very good, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A must place to eat. Food was very good, great fish selection. Staff was very friendly, prompt, and very helpful on wine and food selection. We will defiantly be back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot with excellent food. This gem ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great spot with excellent food. This gem is worth the short drive to the garden district for those visiting the french quarter.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service! Dependabl ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Always great food and service! Dependable, I enjoy dining there

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Brunch at Atchafalaya was nice. They had ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Brunch at Atchafalaya was nice. They had a Corn and Crab Bisque that grew on me as I ate it, the flavor seemed to develop with each bite. Also, the Duck Hash.... There isn't much more that needs to be said other than TRY IT! We were there right when it opened up so it was nice and quiet.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great small restaurant with excellent ba ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great small restaurant with excellent bar. On a corner in the Garden District. Not a long menu but the food is fantastic. Service is very attentive. I'll be back next time I'm in New Orleans. I hope to be able to contribute to any expansion plans

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a great time and enjoy ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My wife and I had a great time and enjoyed the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Atchafalya was good. The food was outsta ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Atchafalya was good. The food was outstanding, but the day we went for brunch the services was not the best. They were slow. They were very apologetic about it, but they were so so so slow. It took them over 5 minutes to greet us at the table, another 5 to just get water, 10 minutes before they were back just for drink orders. We got the bloody mary bar, and it took the staff 15 minutes to grab our vodka glasses for us. It was a little nuts. Additionally, our waitress was pushing us to add crab to our meals, but failed to mention it was an additional 10$ a plate!!! That being said, the food really was phenomenal! The restored house was really interesting. My biggest piece of advice would be to improve the service speed, the honesty about pricing, and maybe put the a/c on.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

out standing service and outstanding food.....

Dined on June 11, 2016

have already told friends about this gem; will certainly be back the next time i'm in NO. i was disappointed that they didn't have the strawberry short-cake on the menu, BUT it could not have been better than the galette. the red fish/crab "special" was certainly that!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, atmosphere and location. The ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, atmosphere and location. The wine list is exceptional! We had also great cocktails, that are in nobody else menu!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service, I would hi ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Great food and great service, I would highly recommend Atchafalaya.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a great restaurant. The whole dinin ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

What a great restaurant. The whole dining experience was amazing. Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was beyond amazing. And so was the ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was beyond amazing. And so was the service. Will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal of my trip

Dined on June 5, 2016

Stumbled upon Atchafalaya while in NOLA for a baseball tournament and was ready to get out of the French Quarter. It was by far our best evening and best meal during our trip. The food was unique and delicious. There were six of us and we were all passing plate around to get a full taste of everything ordered. I don't get to NOLA often, but will return next time I go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Drumfish and swordfish were both outstan ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Drumfish and swordfish were both outstanding. the swordfish was juicey and not rubbery or dry. The sauces were full of crawfish and shrimp--no skimping. also had a soft shell crab salad that had an excellent dressing. Will eat here again for certain. Excellent use of spice

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

service staff was off the night we we're ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

service staff was off the night we we're there. Food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved everything about my mea ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Absolutely loved everything about my meal from start to finish including drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Incredible experience. It exceeded my expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice for weekend brunch. Don't go w/o reservation

Dined on May 28, 2016

Nice place to get brunch. A hipster take on brunch with a NOLA flare. DON'T SHOW UP WITHOUT A RESERVATION! This restaurant is very popular and had a 2-hour wait when we arrived. Live music playing while you eat and a bloody mary bar. The shrimp and grits were SOOOO good! Grits creamy and hot, sauce was flavorful with lots of shrimp and sausage. I used the jalapeno cornbread to sop up the extra gravy yummmm. However my sister got the Eggs Atchafalaya, supposedly the restaurant's signature dish, and found it small and bland. Disappointing because that dish specifically got rave reviews. We finished the meal with tiramisu, which was also amazing! Overall, a cool place to eat, as long as you avoid the EA.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fantastic!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Always fantastic!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Nawlins off the beaten path

Dined on May 24, 2016

Chose this out of the way restaurant based on trip advisor Found the food too "pretentious " Nice service staff, but they towed the political correctness order too closely probably because the chef was dining himself,( nearby). Probably will not go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

One of neighbor favorites but the might ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

One of neighbor favorites but the might we went the restaurant was off. Took forever to get a drink. At the being they only had one waiter for the whole room. The swordfish I had was good, mussels ok. The crabmeat ravioli was very good. The veg risotto was a big disappointment. No flavor at all. Tried adding salt and pepper and parm cheese, to no available. Since the tourist have found the restaurant have they let their standards down? Hope not.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had..ever! And great Bloody Mary bar

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Drinks were watered down, service was sl ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Drinks were watered down, service was slow, seating was isolating, and the main dish was dried out and uneatable. When complained to the waiter they merely apologized. It was the last serving of the night and it was apparent the staff and cook wanted to go home. Very disappointing experience. After it being recommended on Trip advisor and a local New Orleans bar tender.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atchafabulous!!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

We arrived early and sat at the bar with the very friendly bartenders. We had excellent drinks and scrumptious fried green tomatoes. Dinner was even better. The service was friendly and most knowledgeable of the entire menu. The food was exquisite!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. Fan ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. Fantastic music and a lively crowd. Hostess and wait staff attentive and friendly. Loved my chicken and waffles. It was graduation weekend so there was a a huge crowd.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this place was Fantastic! Great food we ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

this place was Fantastic! Great food well presented and very tasty. Service was wonderful and attentive but not overbearing at all. Great wine list and a knowledgeable person to help with your selection. Be sure to try their signature cocktail and their flan with a hint of blue cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent brunch offerings, attentive service. The make our own Bloody Mary bar is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A must when visiting NOLA.

Dined on May 20, 2016

A must when visiting NOLA.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fried green tomatoes with the Drum, and ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Fried green tomatoes with the Drum, and a cheese plate. Great job.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.