About Atchafalaya Restaurant

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
We accept reservations for parties up to 12 guests. Buyouts are available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Rachael Jaffe: (504) 891-9626

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Shrimp & Grits - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Duck Hash - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Catheads & Jasmine Vodka - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Duck Po Boy - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Pasta Atchafalaya - Fettuccini Surrounded By Lousiana Crawfish, Duck, Shrimp And Tasso - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Bloody Mary - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
BBQ Shrimp and Grits - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Red Velvet Cake - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Fried Green Tomatoes - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Pimm's Cup - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Bloody Mary Bar - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Eggs Louisianian - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Shrimp and Grits - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Chopped Salad - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Pasta Atchafalaya - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Arugala & Spinach Salad W Bleu Cheese - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Boudreaux - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Eggs Benedict Crab Cake Special - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Sesame Seared Tuna - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Free Form Crab Ravioli  - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Porkchop - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Pan Seared King Salmon  - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Steamed Mussels - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Eggs Atchafalaya - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Grillades and Rice - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Chicken and Sausage Gumbo - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Eggs Rockefeler - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Homemade Granola W/ Fresh Berries & Yogurt - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Jalapeno Cornbread - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Crab Omelette - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Eggs Treme - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Louisiana Crab Omlette - Atchafalaya Restaurant, New Orleans, LA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (63)
Fit for Foodies (60)
Special Occasion (57)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Great for Brunch (56)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Local Ingredients (36)
Authentic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (32)
Cozy (32)
Casual (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Comfort Food (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Live Music (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fun (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (11)
Healthy (9)
Historic (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Spicy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Private Room (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Family Style (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A most interesting, unique place. Very ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

A most interesting, unique place. Very attentive manager and staff. Michaelopoulus gallery...an unexpected delight. Extremely creative dishes. All in all, an unabashed winner! Kind to our guide dog, too. Thanks for the memories.

D'nA

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our friends favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our friends favorite restaurant at the moment. Since we were visiting from out of town we decided to meet here. Boy am I glad we did. From the moment we walked in until the moment our cab picked us up the staff was so attentive. They really made the experience that much better. The menu was abundant with so many choices for all of our different tastes. The Drum in cioppino broth was outstanding my pork cutlet special was perfect the vegetarian choices were abundant. If you are looking for farm fresh food with a local flare don't miss this little gem. BTW the desserts were outstanding. We were presented with the blue cheese flan, chocolate truffles, king cake ice cream, citrus sorbet, strawberry crepes and hot chocolate. The pastry chef is amazing (I hear he's among the best in the city) our favorites were the king cake ice cream and the blue cheese flan and the sorbet. I will be dreaming about Atchafalaya (fun to say) until we visit again on our next trip.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Spicy, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place has been on my NOLA list of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This place has been on my NOLA list of resturants to try for a while. The tuna special was outstanding. Fried green tomato with crab meat was so fresh and tasty. Lee did a great job as our server. Will return again soon. Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Saturday brunch was delicious! The chic ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Saturday brunch was delicious! The chicken and biscuit was insanely good, perfectly poached eggs on our other dish (a hard feat and one that they have mastered) and the empanadas were a wonderful starter.

My only complaint was that our server was very absent minded and not very attentive. It wasn't enough to ruin our meal. We still had a wonderful brunch and will absolutely be back.

Tags: Casual, Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great brunch spot.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great brunch spot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food & service were outstanding. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Our food & service were outstanding. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great meal, time and service. Everything we ordered was prepared perfectly. Thank you Tony Tocco & Team for making our evening special!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally very good. Friendly,welcoming, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Generally very good. Friendly,welcoming, knowledgeable service. Great cocktails (though the description of the Turn, Turn, Turn made us laugh ("Cathead vodka, seasonal shrub")). Food mostly terrific, a couple of misses. Fried green tomatoes with crab: wow! Great soup. Snapper with duck crackling was ok-ish, but it was sitting on a dry, sawdusty galette-y fritter of something or other that was unworthy of the company of the rest of the food. The lamb ragu with potato gnocchi rocked and was one of the best things I've had in a long while. We were too full to hazard a dessert. I would return in a heartbeat, the fritter thing-y notwithstanding.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best brunch in town for the uptown area! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best brunch in town for the uptown area! We will return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good - service a bit slow, but ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food was good - service a bit slow, but not awful. I'll be back

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed Sunday Brunch before g ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We really enjoyed Sunday Brunch before going to see the Lion King at the Saenger Theater. Service and Food were outstanding

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved my dish! Food is really good, serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Loved my dish! Food is really good, service as well!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious eggs bene, accommodating to ve ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious eggs bene, accommodating to vegetarian requests, awesome bloody Mary bar, friendly hosts, and live jazz music all set in an awesome neighborhood. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about this restaurant is fant ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything about this restaurant is fantastic. I've eaten here a handful of times, but it had been a couple years since my last visit. Service is great. Food is always outstanding. It's a good place for locals, but I have brought out-of-town visitors here as well and everyone enjoys it. For brunch they have an amazing bloody mary bar. I very rarely enjoy a bloody mary, but this one was delicious! I recommend reservations because there is often a long wait if you don't have a reservation, but they do seat you on time with one.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gracious staff, lovely atmosphere. And ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Gracious staff, lovely atmosphere. And the food presented beautifully. Cocktails were perfect. Soup, salads and entrees prepared by creative hands and minds with the sense not to overwhelm. Desserts are also special. A great evening. Enjoy!

Tags: Spicy, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There for New Year's Eve dinner. Specia ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There for New Year's Eve dinner. Special, limited-choice menu. Seafood chowder was delicious. Duck on grits was okay but not special. Overall food was quite good but somewhat over-priced. Would return for their normal menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our New Year's Eve meal with wine pairin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our New Year's Eve meal with wine pairings was one of the best meals that we have ever eaten. I can not say enough about the quality of the food. The service was excellent and the overall experience memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great music and brunch.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great music and brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and impeccable service. G ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Delicious food and impeccable service. Great date night during our short vacation to New Orleans.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best meals I have eve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is one of the best meals I have ever had! The ambiance is amazing, service was wonderful, and the food was impressive. They also have a great build your own Bloody Mary bar with traditional or green tomato homemade Bloody Mary mix with house pickled veggies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it. Amazing food and great service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Loved it. Amazing food and great service. We came for dinner, will visit again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had wanted to eat here for years but p ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I had wanted to eat here for years but plans kept falling through every time I was in town. So, I was very excited to finally have the opportunity. However, it was not the experience I was hoping for.

We brought our three kids here for dinner last week, ages 20, 17 and 12. The restaurant is very nice looking however the atmosphere was pretty dead. There was no music playing for the first hour and 15 minutes we were there. Everyone was talking in hushed voices for some reason. Really a boring atmosphere.

We had some appetizers in the bar because we had arrived early. The drinks were decent however the wine my wife ordered was terrible and we sent it back. When we sat down on the waiter asked to take our drinks, we told him we were also ready to order and that we were all pretty hungry. He came back shortly and took orders however it took almost an hour to get our food. I am not sure why it took so long because no other tables have been seated for at least a half an hour by the time we sat down. There should've been plenty of cook staff available.

All of us felt that the food was overly salty. I don't know if they are having trouble keeping employees or what the deal is here. Whoever, our waiter seemed like he had not been there very long and we definitely met two other employees who had been there less than five weeks.

My overall impression was that this place is living off its reputation but has fallen way, way off since its heyday. It is definitely not a place for foodies and I will not be returning. The quality of the food and the poor atmosphere do not justify the very high prices. There are many better options in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

This is a great restaurant and I highly ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This is a great restaurant and I highly recommend it to anyone passing through the area. I recommend it even more if you are a food lover. I have been twice (~1.5 years between the two visits) and have thoroughly enjoyed my experience both times (the menu changes, so I had a different dish each visit). I typically don't do reviews, but Atchafalaya deserves a little praise. In my opinion, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. There may be words on the menu that you have never heard before...don't let that deter you! The foods that they pair together blend seamlessly and the dish as a whole will be spectacular. I could go on and on about how great this restaurant is, but do yourself a favor and just go see for yourself.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! The food was original and delicious ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Wow! The food was original and delicious. Four of us shared the mussels of the day and they were delicious. We each ordered a different main course, all were excellent. I brought back leftovers and they held up so well that they were as good if not better the second day! That is remarkable considering I had surf and turf. If we lived in NOLA, this would be a go to for us. I highly recommend for a delicious dining experience! (You get what you pay for, this is not cheap but a good value!)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and restaurant is of food quali ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food and restaurant is of food quality. We came for a jazz brunch....but this restaurant doesnt have live music, even though they told me twice that they did, prior to coming.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great neighbor hood restaurant. Food was ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great neighbor hood restaurant.

Food was amazing and service was quick and staff ver friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here at least five time and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been here at least five time and have always had great food, great service , love the atmosphere that it was a house in a neighborhood. One of our favorites in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very delicious as usual, but difficult t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very delicious as usual, but difficult to communicate with my friends because of the loud patrons.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent use of seasonal vegetables and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent use of seasonal vegetables and deep rich flavors make this neighborhood gen a must stop for locals and visitors to the City. Friendly and courteous staff made our dining experience a memorable one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great time!! Service was ex ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food, great time!! Service was excellent & love the Bloody Mary bar!!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AC has become our go-to restaurant as we ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

AC has become our go-to restaurant as we travel thru New Orleans for the holidays.

Cuisine, ambience and service are fantastic!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, in a nice neighborhood, serv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food, in a nice neighborhood, service friendly and warm. Its not cheap but the quality of the food is very good.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this neighborhood restaurant. The f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love this neighborhood restaurant. The food is delicious and the service is perfect. Definitely coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely visit Atchafalaya, especially ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Definitely visit Atchafalaya, especially the bloody mary bar. The food was excellent! My only complaint was that I was freezing. However, when we requested the fans be turned off, our waitress was super accommodating and promptly addressed the issue! We also requested the music be turned down (as someone in our party has hearing loss) and again, totally accommodating!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, , Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch with my friends was amazing!!! C ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Brunch with my friends was amazing!!! Can't remember my waiter's name..., "sorry", but he has been here for years! So happy to have him for this dining experience! I can't say enough about this restaurant! 💖💖💖it!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We had the filet ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was delicious. We had the filet and the shrimp and grits. The eggnog ice cream was out of this world. Very relaxing atmosphere. Very expensive but worth it if you are willing to splurge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Good food, not the greatest in New Orlea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good food, not the greatest in New Orleans, but sound and dependable. Wine list is on the expensive side by well chosen

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent. Two people in ou ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was excellent. Two people in our group ordered the build your own Bloody Mary bar and really loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every item we tried on the menu was top ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Every item we tried on the menu was top notch amazing. Service was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome spot for brunch! We had the duck ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awesome spot for brunch! We had the duck hash (so yummy) and the chicken & biscuits (also amazeballs)...we'd recommend both AND the grits. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant experience in New Orlean ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Best restaurant experience in New Orleans and this is my fourth trip here over the last 6 years. The meal was AMAZING...from my Hamachi Crudit to my Lamb Bolonase with the feta cheese, potato gnocchi and rapini. Cocktail choice was tough and I wasn't at all disappointed! Napoleon something it was called. Telling others about our experience and will DEFINITELY be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.