About Atchafalaya Restaurant

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
We accept reservations for parties up to 12 guests. Buyouts are available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Rachael Jaffe: 5048919626x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Shrimp & Grits - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Duck Hash - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Catheads & Jasmine Vodka - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Duck Po Boy - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Pasta Atchafalaya - Fettuccini Surrounded By Lousiana Crawfish, Duck, Shrimp And Tasso - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Bloody Mary - Atchafalaya Restaurant
BBQ Shrimp and Grits - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Red Velvet Cake - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Fried Green Tomatoes - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Pimm's Cup - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Bloody Mary Bar - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Eggs Louisianian - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Shrimp and Grits - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Chopped Salad - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Pasta Atchafalaya - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Arugala & Spinach Salad W Bleu Cheese - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Boudreaux - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Eggs Benedict Crab Cake Special - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Sesame Seared Tuna - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Free Form Crab Ravioli  - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Grilled Porkchop - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Pan Seared King Salmon  - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Steamed Mussels - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Eggs Atchafalaya - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Grillades and Rice - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Chicken and Sausage Gumbo - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Eggs Rockefeler - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Homemade Granola W/ Fresh Berries & Yogurt - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Jalapeno Cornbread - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Crab Omelette - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Eggs Treme - Atchafalaya Restaurant
Louisiana Crab Omlette - Atchafalaya Restaurant

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
1 More
Creole
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Neighborhood Gem (129)
Fit for Foodies (124)
Great for Brunch (109)
See All
Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (66)
Great for Lunch (44)
Hot Spot (36)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for a Date (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Cozy (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Live Music (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Casual (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Fun (8)
Historic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (5)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1839 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful evening. Flavors were amazing. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful evening. Flavors were amazing. Loved it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second time dining while here ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 4 days ago

This is my second time dining while here on business and enjoyed all of my food once again. Best risotto so far.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a complete shot in the dark for ...

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was a complete shot in the dark for us and it paid off! Loved everything, start to finish. Very busy for a Monday night, which we took as a good sign. A little hike off the beaten path but ABSOLUTELY worth it!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Atchafalaya every trip to New O ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

We visit Atchafalaya every trip to New Orleans. Consistent relaxed atmosphere, great food and drink, nice music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! I have a lot of ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love this restaurant! I have a lot of food sensitivities and when I bring this up with some waiters, they look at me with a face that says, "So why did you have to eat here or eat out at all?" My waitress helped me make a custom order avoiding my allergens and it was absolutely delicious with a nice presentation. I am not trying to sound like woe is me, but I have been to a restaurant and after explains my food issues, I have literally received a piece of grilled fish on a plate with no seasoning and no garnishment and a waiter looking smug with a look that says "I did exactly what you wanted". No, that's not what I wanted. I can actually eat a lot of things and I love eating out in this city. So, thank you cafe Atchafalaya for making my brunch experience terrific!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well worth it. Go slow or fast the food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Well worth it. Go slow or fast the food is extradinary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was so wonderful experience. The ser ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was so wonderful experience. The service, food and atmosphere were fabulous. We will definitely go back the next time we are in New Orleans! It is an adorable building and everyone who worked there seemed to enjoy their jobs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must-have jazz brunch in the Garden Dist ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Must-have jazz brunch in the Garden District! Amazing creative Southern cuisine with an adorable French Colonial twist.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brilliant. Perfection itself. Have the b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Brilliant. Perfection itself. Have the blueberry flan and your life will have been well lived. Music, ambiance, staff, musicians, all great.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and atmosphere was great. However, ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food and atmosphere was great. However, our particular server was not. The other servers in the restaurant did, however, seem much more attentive and hospitable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Restaurant was warm (not enough Air cond ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Restaurant was warm (not enough Air conditioning) but everything else was great

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every element of the food was superb, th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Every element of the food was superb, the service was excellent, and we could hear each other talk without the intrusion of loud music or other noises. The wine suggestion was perfectly apt for the dish I ordered. We ate here on the first night of our vacation in New Orleans, and it was a wonderful way to kick off our time there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful absolutely delicious filet ste ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Wonderful absolutely delicious filet steak!! Great service - friendly warm!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch here was fantastic. At many tren ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Brunch here was fantastic. At many trendy restaurants, brunch menus often fall short by over-charging for uninspired takes on cliched staples like French toast or eggs benedict, but Atchafalaya did an excellent job of having fresh variations on classic local dishes, as well as offering a few more unusual (but equally satisfying) options, all for very reasonable prices. The live jazz provided great ambiance, although I might have liked it to be a touch quieter.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great vibe, food music and everyone was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great vibe, food music and everyone was welcoming. GO!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ordered corn and crab bisque for an appe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ordered corn and crab bisque for an appetizer, chicken and biscuits with sausage gravy and eggs for an entree, and a bloody mary. The bisque was great with the lump crab, but the corn was pureed so it lacked a little texture. The chicken and biscuits were too salty with the gravy. The chicken was tender, but I expected it to be fried chicken with the bone; it was boneless skinless chicken breast. The biscuit was pretty tough, and not flaky and buttery. The bloody mary was delicious - make your own bloody mary bar! (probably the highlight of the whole meal, sadly)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Outstanding service, delicious food. Ou ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Outstanding service, delicious food. Our visit to New Orleans was highlighted by our visit to Atchafalaya. The soft shelled crab is the best that I have had. The shrimp and grits and chicken were also enjoyed at our table. I wish the menu was a bit bigger however. Good drink selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in New Or ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Great good, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, very attentive wait staf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious food, very attentive wait staff, lovely setting. We have no complaints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best soft shell crab I have ever eat ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The best soft shell crab I have ever eaten...and I have eaten tons.

Loved the bartender, amazing shrimp on grits and the most mediocre thing we ate was the fried green tomatoes with lump crabmeat and it was just fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved this restaurant! We had the Shrimp ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved this restaurant! We had the Shrimp & Grits and Chicken & Biscuits for brunch this weekend and the food and drinks were fabulous. There was also a live band playing which was loud in the bar area but enjoyable. My only complaint is that the seats at the bar are reserved for diners - which is so strange. My husband and I were having a drink while we waited to be seated when 2 seats opened up at the bar so we had a seat to enjoy our drinks and maybe order another - and were promptly asked to moved because the seats were for diners with reservations. I really didn't like that and have never encountered that before. Otherwise, though, the food was excellent and the service was great. We will definitely go back here, just not arrive any sooner than our reservation since there will be no seats at the bar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always enjoy brunch there. The etouffee ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always enjoy brunch there. The etouffee omelet is wonderful and the fried green tomatoes with poached eggs, crab meat, and hollandaise are great. Tried the potatoes which are nicely flavored with onion and garlic and their grits are the best anywhere. They have a nice wine selection. Servers are attentive. On Sunday they have a band. They were very good but did make it a bit difficult to carry on a conversation. However, they added a festive feel to the day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall, we had a pleasant dining experi ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Overall, we had a pleasant dining experience for my birthday brunch. However, I enjoyed Atchafalaya much more when I went to dinner.

The Eggs Atchafalaya is tasty, and an appropriate amount of food. Bloody Mary bar is great, but we filled up on drink veggies.

Service was fine but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The fried softshell and the crab pasta w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The fried softshell and the crab pasta was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved the riffs on traditional dishes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We loved the riffs on traditional dishes - everything was beautiful to look at and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great atmosphere, great serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great servers! My new favorite restaurant in NOLA, can't wait till I can return.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork sandwich was 30-40% fat , just ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The pork sandwich was 30-40% fat , just awful! The aioli was overpowering too. I would not recommend it. The chicken and biscuits were overdone with too much butter and the biscuit was flat/dense not a Southern style flaky biscuit. Again, awful.

Tags: Bar Seating, Historic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

36th Anniversary Celebration was very e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

36th Anniversary Celebration was very enjoyable. The wait staff was very professional and friendly. The owner is the maître de and works the dining area with so much friendliness.

The food was seasoned perfectly. The gumbo was delicious and the gulf black drum was delicious. The fried green tomatoes were a tadbit too firm for me. I am a Southerner and I prefer that the texture to be slightly softer. I definitely will be eating there when I come back to

visit New Orleans.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish we had was very good or great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Every dish we had was very good or great. Loved this place! Super yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose this restaurant since it was lis ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I chose this restaurant since it was listed as one of the best brunches in the US. It is very quaint and it was very quiet for a Monday brunch in New Orleans. My wife enjoyed her meal(can't remember what is was) and I had a very unique take on chicken and biscuits with sausage gravy.

My wife also enjoyed the bloody mary bar. We had a great meal and a very nice walk back to the French Quarter(about 2.5 miles). You will walk through some very interesting neighborhoods. We felt very safe on that walk.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was amazing. Jake the owner made u ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Staff was amazing. Jake the owner made us feel at home. We were and they accommodated us. Food was superb! Everything from appetizers to entrees, dessert and drinks..the astmosphere and place were nice. We are from Jackson ,ms and will be back. Miles & lauren swain

Tags: Scenic View, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service was excellent. Very ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food. Service was excellent. Very nice atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service and ambiance were great. I ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service and ambiance were great. I found the hostess and bartender to be rude. I recognize it was busy, but their curt responses negatively impacted my first impression. There was live music, so it was noisy, but a good, fun noise. Not sure how often this happens, but it was enjoyable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful high end neighborhood restau ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

A wonderful high end neighborhood restaurant experience. Atchafalaya had been on my list since my daughter began attending Tulane University. Our whole family, two college children and two high school children, enjoyed the experience and the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here & both times the food a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Second time here & both times the food and service were outstanding. Funky but comfortable atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Went for brunch and the bloody Mary bar; ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Went for brunch and the bloody Mary bar; it was FABULOUS! I ordered the hash special and my bf ordered the Etouffee Omelette. The food was perfect, I would have liked my plate if i didn't know any better :) The bloody Mary bar offered lot of options including fresh tomato juice, two pre-made house mix options - a regular and a tomatillo verde and there was a great selection of pickled veggies and hot sauces.

I really wish that I lived closer to this restaurant!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and a great atmosphere and won ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Delicious and a great atmosphere and wonderful service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food and our service were outstandin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our food and our service were outstanding. The specials were exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is delicious and the restaurants am ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is delicious and the restaurants ambiance is classic New Orleans Home. Love it. One of my favorite brunch places in all of New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The crab ravioli appetizer was delicious ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The crab ravioli appetizer was delicious! Awesome gumbo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.