About Atchafalaya Restaurant

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
We accept reservations for parties up to 12 guests. Buyouts are available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Rachael Jaffe: 5048919626x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Shrimp & Grits
Duck Hash
Catheads & Jasmine Vodka
Duck Po Boy
Pasta Atchafalaya - Fettuccini Surrounded By Lousiana Crawfish, Duck, Shrimp And Tasso
Bloody Mary
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Red Velvet Cake
Fried Green Tomatoes
Pimm's Cup
Bloody Mary Bar
Eggs Louisianian
Shrimp and Grits
Chopped Salad
Pasta Atchafalaya
Arugala & Spinach Salad W Bleu Cheese
Boudreaux
Eggs Benedict Crab Cake Special
Free Form Crab Ravioli
Sesame Seared Tuna
Grilled Porkchop
Pan Seared King Salmon
Steamed Mussels
Eggs Atchafalaya
Chicken and Sausage Gumbo
Grillades and Rice
Eggs Rockefeler
Homemade Granola W/ Fresh Berries & Yogurt
Eggs Treme
Jalapeno Cornbread
Crab Omelette
Louisiana Crab Omlette

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
1 More
Creole
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

fit for foodies (180)
neighborhood gem (173)
great for brunch (123)
See All
special occasion (119)
romantic (88)
hot spot (55)
great for lunch (50)
good for groups (47)
notable wine list (34)
vibrant bar scene (29)
great for outdoor dining (19)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (11)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent gem in neighborhood setting. C ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent gem in neighborhood setting. Competes with the big boys downtown. Nice bar and diverse wine list. Reasonably priced but excellent food. Blue cheese flam was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this place! Even though we have ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

We love this place! Even though we have been to brunch twice and haven't seen any children does not mean it is not kid friendly!! the Bloody Mary bar is key!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food we had on our trip and we ate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Best food we had on our trip and we ate at some other great restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter staff was top notch. Food was gre ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waiter staff was top notch. Food was great. Recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, little bit of a wait with re ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, little bit of a wait with reservation but overall enjoyable experience. Awesome menu selection of unique dishes. Definitely would recommend and will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved Atchafalaya but had ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have always loved Atchafalaya but hadn't been for a while. Guess we just got lazy and stayed close to the Quarter. But thankfully we ventured Uptown and again found that the food was absolutely, amazingly wonderful. We shared a soft shell crab appetizer that was terrific. I had the redfish with shrimp and clams, and must say it's one of the best fish dishes I've ever had in NOLA--and I've eaten a lot of fish. My partner had the risotto which he also loved. Beautiful restaurant. Good service. Good (little pricey) wine list. Too full for dessert!! Going again soon!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an absolutely marvelous time at A ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had an absolutely marvelous time at Atchafalaya. The ambiance was really lovely and the food was excellent, as was the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little slow, but the waits ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was a little slow, but the waitstaff was very kind and accommodating (and apologetic about the slow service). Will go back. Great cocktails and menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful Garden District restaurant wit ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful Garden District restaurant with fresh, innovative dishes. The fried green tomatoes with crab were outstanding and the ravioli was superb. Fish dishes were fresh and cooked perfectly. Loved the small corn muffins and rolls. Warning that the dirty rice is very spicy with large jalapeño slices. Good wine selection reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant off the beaten path ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful restaurant off the beaten path that is absolutely worth finding. Food is exquisite and we recommend going for Sunday brunch. Bloody Mary bar is amazing. Bananas Foster french toast and shrimp and grits are our favorites.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to atchafalaya a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was my first visit to atchafalaya and I was VERY impressed . The service was great and the food was superb !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for jazz brunch. The food and se ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for jazz brunch. The food and service was great but the band wasn't there for a while and then took a long time setting up. So after spending over an hour at "Jazz" brunch, we left having only heard pop music over the sound system. It completely ruined the ambiance. VERY disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was excellent. My wife had a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was excellent. My wife had a smoked NY strip. While my wahoo was excellent, she gave me a bite of her steak and it was incredible! No kidding when I say it was one of the best steak I ever tasted.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wahoo was excellent. bartender made a gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

wahoo was excellent. bartender made a great old fashion, good selection of bourbon. also enjoyed sweet potato soup

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time! I wish there was a better s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great time! I wish there was a better selection of brunch items, however, i enjoyed my omelette.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When I make a reservation I expect to be ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

When I make a reservation I expect to be seated regardless of whether my entire party is present. They need to fix that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Best meal we had during our week in New ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best meal we had during our week in New Orleans! Very fresh ingredients. Dishes prepared with care and attention to detail. Wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. The shrimp and grits were fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent at all levels. The food was ou ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent at all levels. The food was outstanding. The wait staff were timely and friendly. The ambiance is non intrusive. The place is small and friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant did not dissapoint. I wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This restaurant did not dissapoint. I was in New Orleans for a conference which coincided with my birthday. I wanted to dine in a place away from the usual tourist traps. Found Atchafalaya after an online search and so glad I did. My SO enjoyed it as well. Will certainly go back the next time I visit the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location is great. They were busy bu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The location is great. They were busy but took good care of their patrons. Food tasted delicious! definitely some classics along with newer flavors.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch ! Reservations highly sugg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Sunday Brunch ! Reservations highly suggested. Live band was very loud for the space making across the large table discussions difficult , but we made it work.

Bloody Mary bar, Sazerac, French 75 were all expertly made . Our waiter was very helpful with the menu and attentive throughout the meal. Good was delicious! Definitely going to go back .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice and quaint restaurant. I love ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very nice and quaint restaurant. I love the ambiance and the service was top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a great experience! I was ce ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had such a great experience! I was celebrating my lease signing for an apartment located in this neighborhood and I could not have picked a better restaurant. I had the lamb potato gnocchi which was excellent. Even the iced tea and rolls were wonderful and the service could not have been better! A little pricy but worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One might think having a conversation wo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

One might think having a conversation would be a part of brunch, even among the texting-addicted. We are not old, and we love music. However, we walked into an ear-splitting wall of sound surrounded by chaos: reception, band, and a self-serve bar all in a tiny space.

The food was delicious, but why not include bread to soak up the tasty sauce on that plate of shrimp and grits? We asked for bread and a spoon. One dry slice (not a basket, a single slice) of stone-cold toast arrived. We were charged $3.00. I guess we should be happy there was no charge for the spoon.

Even waitress Lindsey was apologetic for that sad toast offering. We would have protested ourselves, but with all of us developing migraines from the din we couldn't escape that restaurant fast enough. So food gets a 10, environment a 3 (assuming a 1 involves something CNN would be interested in).

For us that still cherish our hearing and/or wish to converse at brunch, there are better local offerings to be found. Management needs to review the situation.

Also, don't plan for any special events here. This was a special celebration for a 75-year-old, but they don't cater to such events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

We have been here several times for dinn ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been here several times for dinner and brunch. It was brunch this time. The brunch is fantastic. The egg dishes here are excellent. The best in New Orleans. French toast daily specials. If you want a bloody Mary you can make your own with all the extras you can think of at the Blood Mary bar. Music as well. Specials are always excellent. Great for brunch or dinner. You should go, a real neighborhood gem.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have had brunch and dinner. Both were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have had brunch and dinner. Both were amazing. The drum dish was so good it was a topic of conversation driving back to Austin. The flavor was so very unique

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a lovely restaurant located along a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Such a lovely restaurant located along a street of residences. The ambiance was very romantic with incredible food to boot! Their drinks were creative and delightfully delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our Brunch on Sunday a lot. T ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We enjoyed our Brunch on Sunday a lot. The live music and make it yourself Bloody Mary bar are great. The food is good. Most definitely a place we will revisit!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely adored this restaurant and al ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Absolutely adored this restaurant and all it had to offer, from the eclectic Cajun decor, to the live jazz band playing at brunch, to the amazing food! I definitely recommend the bloody mary bar, but try their housemade green tomato juice! It was killer!! I got their eggs atchafalaya and it was everything that is good and right about the world! Also recommend getting a side of their alligator sausage! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday brunch is fantastic. Arrive earl ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Sunday brunch is fantastic. Arrive early, and if possible, sit at the bar for excellent personal service from Eric and Sean. You pretty much can't go wrong with anything on the menu. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for down home cooking. Servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place for down home cooking. Services the best. Food was so good. You wanted to slap your momma. Looking forward to eating there on my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a great experience at Atchafalaya ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had a great experience at Atchafalaya. The beautiful high-ceilinged building is in a lovely neighborhood off the beaten path, but well worth the trip! Ambiance, lighting and decor were all beautiful. I had the snapper and my husband has shrimp and grits, both of which were fantastic. The gumbo we shared was delicious as well. We each had a couple of cocktails from the menu, and as an experienced bartender myself, I can say that they were excellent with a nice variety of ingredients. Interesting but not too out-there for anyone to enjoy. Service was super friendly and they were accommodating to our four-month-old baby. Thankfully the Friday night din inside was enough that any noise she made went mostly unnoticed. The chef came out after we finished and was very interested to hear feedback, all of which was great. I would definitely come back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a neighborhood gem. Everything was ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a neighborhood gem. Everything was superb. The grouper with crawfish risotto and drum with seafood were spectacular. Enjoyed the Emperor Norton cocktail and especially the blue cheese flan (yes, blue cheese!). Waitstaff was attentive but not overbearing. Nicely paced courses and didn't feel rushed. What enjoyable date night! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

10/10. Great attention to detail and wo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

10/10. Great attention to detail and worth the trip here. Food was spot-on and the service impeccable. Thanks for making our visit to NOLA special-good job!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a friendly welcome! Shrimp & Grits ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

What a friendly welcome! Shrimp & Grits are out of this world fantastic.

A special note of THANKS: When my friend and I noticed that one of our bicycles had a flat after our delicious lunch, the owner went down the block to his house to get a pump and helped fix it so we could make it to the next bike shop. How very lovely! Thanks so much!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first visit and I went on th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was my first visit and I went on the recommendation of my husband who had dined there a few months ago while attending a conference. I was not disappointed. I had 2 colleagues with me and all of us left very happy. We shared the fried green tomatoes and the ravioli as appetizers and then all ended having the swordfish as an entree. All were delicious. The green curry sauce with crawfish on the swordfish made the disk. We all also had interesting cocktails. The service was also fantastic. I would definitely return and would recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal with a job candidat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a lovely meal with a job candidate. Everything looked great. I had the fried truffle chicken, which was not fried and did not taste like truffles, but was otherwise delicious. The service was very attentive and no missteps. Just as we were leaving, the lights were turned down. In the past, I noticed how dark it was. So much so that customers were using their phones to read the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Shrimp and grits were amazing, I'm so gl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Shrimp and grits were amazing, I'm so glad they left the heads on! I want that every Sunday for the rest of my life :) The server accidentally heard our order wrong and only put in three of five dishes we ordered, but they were very apologetic and quick to fix the mistake, they also comped one meal for the mix-up. Servers were very nice and the atmosphere was vibrant and lively. The Gumbo was the best we had on our trip to Nola. I truly enjoyed my experience and will be back for more Shrimp and Grits on my next visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The jazz band on Sunday morning was hopp ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The jazz band on Sunday morning was hopping and added a great backdrop to a highly energetic restaurant. That first cup of coffee was ambrosia and Cafe Atchafalaya did not disappoint. The poached egg breaking onto the bacon and grits, heavenly.

The only slight fail was that the sticky jasmine rice was gluey and the jasmine flavor was noticeably absent. I plan to go back and fully explore more bites.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was perfect at this neighborh ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything was perfect at this neighborhood gem of a restaurant. At a recent brunch the food was delicious (and very New Orleans-y brunch, think awesome Shrimp & Grits). The make your own bloody mary bar was a great touch and the staff was attentive and engaging. Overall, a very positive experience and we intend to return for dinner next time.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.