About Atchafalaya Restaurant

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
We accept reservations for parties up to 12 guests. Buyouts are available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Rachael Jaffe: 5048919626x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Atchafalaya Restaurant
Shrimp & Grits
Duck Hash
Catheads & Jasmine Vodka
Duck Po Boy
Pasta Atchafalaya - Fettuccini Surrounded By Lousiana Crawfish, Duck, Shrimp And Tasso
Bloody Mary
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Red Velvet Cake
Fried Green Tomatoes
Pimm's Cup
Bloody Mary Bar
Eggs Louisianian
Shrimp and Grits
Chopped Salad
Pasta Atchafalaya
Arugala & Spinach Salad W Bleu Cheese
Boudreaux
Eggs Benedict Crab Cake Special
Sesame Seared Tuna
Free Form Crab Ravioli
Grilled Porkchop
Pan Seared King Salmon
Steamed Mussels
Eggs Atchafalaya
Grillades and Rice
Chicken and Sausage Gumbo
Eggs Rockefeler
Homemade Granola W/ Fresh Berries & Yogurt
Jalapeno Cornbread
Crab Omelette
Eggs Treme
Louisiana Crab Omlette

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Fit for Foodies (154)
Neighborhood Gem (150)
Great for Brunch (109)
See All
Special Occasion (107)
Romantic (84)
Hot Spot (47)
Good for Groups (46)
Great for Lunch (44)
Notable Wine List (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Kid-friendly (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Scenic View (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our food and our service were outstandin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Our food and our service were outstanding. The specials were exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is delicious and the restaurants am ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food is delicious and the restaurants ambiance is classic New Orleans Home. Love it. One of my favorite brunch places in all of New Orleans

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The crab ravioli appetizer was delicious ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

The crab ravioli appetizer was delicious! Awesome gumbo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent from the drink ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was excellent from the drink at the bar to dessert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best grits and fried green tomatoes I ha ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Best grits and fried green tomatoes I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful menu. Outstanding Bloody Mary ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wonderful menu. Outstanding Bloody Mary bar.

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite places and the highl ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

One of our favorite places and the highlight of the weekend. Friendly attentive staff, great and original food in a very nice setting.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was absolutely amaz ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service and food was absolutely amazing. Our server was Rachael and she was on top of everything! I definitely recommend a reservation and go early!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for dinner and arrive about 20 ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Went here for dinner and arrive about 20 minutes early. We sat at the quaint bar upon entry and ordered two delicious cocktails. The bartender was terrific and gave us some great local suggestions to catch while in Nola. It was fun to watch him make our drinks and we enjoyed talking with him. We were seated a little early and moved to our table. Not really a bad table in the place so our table was perfect. Our meal was absolutely delicious from the bread and butter to the very last crumb we ate. The chef, who coincidently is from our hometown, actually came out to meet us and shake our hands which was completely unexpected and above and beyond. We will definitely come back to this gem! Go, you won't regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Duck confit hash and pork belly are a mu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Duck confit hash and pork belly are a must. Food was great, service was good, place is very cool. Id like to see 1 or 2 craft beers that are a little more and not quite so local, they have plenty of local ones.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The best dish was the french fries. Ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The best dish was the french fries. Everything else was just okay. We didn't think it was worth the price. As always, we were very thankful for the meal--we realize some people don't get to eat at all. BUT as far as restaurants go--there are so many more restaurants in New Orleans that have much better tasting food. All that said, the service and ambience were both outstanding and that certainly counts for a lot.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Everything was great. We were very pleas ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was great. We were very pleased. And it was clear that the neighborhood has a strong relationship with the restaurant. Among the food we ate, Atchafalaya's shrimp and grits, fried green tomatoes, and flan were as good as we've ever eaten anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, outstanding food and won ...

 
 (Idaho)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great location, outstanding food and wonderful service. My favorite restaurant in NOLA so far

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great atmosphere , friendly, ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere , friendly, hospitable owner and staff. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at brunch, been on the NOLA b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time at brunch, been on the NOLA bucket list for a good long time. Lively afternoon entertainment provided by a three piece jazz band, a bustling Bloody Mary bar and dining rooms packed to the brim with delighted diners. Everything was fantastic and hope to return soon to try dinner!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

No one enjoyed their meal. I had bragged ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

No one enjoyed their meal. I had bragged out the restaurant before going. To be extremely disappointment up on arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great brunch spot! Came on a Saturday t ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great brunch spot! Came on a Saturday to a wonderful jazz band, excellent food, and an AMAZING bloody mary bar. That green tomato juice is something I'll be dreaming of until our next trip to New Orleans. They were highly accommodating (I wanted to stay away from pork even though it was a primary ingredient in my desired dish), and the service was excellent. The only thing I will mention was how incredibly crowded it was getting when we left (around 1:45). Reservations seem to be an absolute MUST on the weekends. However, thanks to OpenTable that was a piece of cake to do!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have enjoyed many wonderful dinners a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have enjoyed many wonderful dinners at Atchafalaya (loooove the crabmeat ravioli, shrimp& grits, blue cheese flan and creme brulee!!) and was super excited to go for brunch with my honey! Our meal was lush, decadent and yummy! Eggs Atchafalaya, French Toast, Best Grits, Bacon, Coffee..Rachel and Anna rocked the service. Thanks for a wonderful morning!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true NOLA gem. Consistently exceptiona ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

A true NOLA gem. Consistently exceptionally good. A "must" stop on our trips to the Crescent City.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food and ambiance! Great brun ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Fantastic food and ambiance! Great brunch place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent gem in neighborhood setting. C ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent gem in neighborhood setting. Competes with the big boys downtown. Nice bar and diverse wine list. Reasonably priced but excellent food. Blue cheese flam was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a charming little spot. Fantastic a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

What a charming little spot. Fantastic ambience, menu, service, decor, location, everything! I will definitely make it a point to come here when I'm in Nola

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped by for brunch. Was early for re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Stopped by for brunch. Was early for reservations since we were not sure about streetcar and visiting from Fl. They very graciously accommodated us. The food was amazing..had the duck hash and enjoyed their fabulous Bloody Mary bar. Would absolutely revisit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! Even though we have ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We love this place! Even though we have been to brunch twice and haven't seen any children does not mean it is not kid friendly!! the Bloody Mary bar is key!!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food we had on our trip and we ate ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Best food we had on our trip and we ate at some other great restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter staff was top notch. Food was gre ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waiter staff was top notch. Food was great. Recommended

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great food, little bit of a wait with re ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, little bit of a wait with reservation but overall enjoyable experience. Awesome menu selection of unique dishes. Definitely would recommend and will be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved Atchafalaya but had ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have always loved Atchafalaya but hadn't been for a while. Guess we just got lazy and stayed close to the Quarter. But thankfully we ventured Uptown and again found that the food was absolutely, amazingly wonderful. We shared a soft shell crab appetizer that was terrific. I had the redfish with shrimp and clams, and must say it's one of the best fish dishes I've ever had in NOLA--and I've eaten a lot of fish. My partner had the risotto which he also loved. Beautiful restaurant. Good service. Good (little pricey) wine list. Too full for dessert!! Going again soon!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had an absolutely marvelous time at A ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We had an absolutely marvelous time at Atchafalaya. The ambiance was really lovely and the food was excellent, as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little slow, but the waits ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Service was a little slow, but the waitstaff was very kind and accommodating (and apologetic about the slow service). Will go back. Great cocktails and menu options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful Garden District restaurant wit ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wonderful Garden District restaurant with fresh, innovative dishes. The fried green tomatoes with crab were outstanding and the ravioli was superb. Fish dishes were fresh and cooked perfectly. Loved the small corn muffins and rolls. Warning that the dirty rice is very spicy with large jalapeño slices. Good wine selection reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant off the beaten path ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful restaurant off the beaten path that is absolutely worth finding. Food is exquisite and we recommend going for Sunday brunch. Bloody Mary bar is amazing. Bananas Foster french toast and shrimp and grits are our favorites.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first visit to atchafalaya a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was my first visit to atchafalaya and I was VERY impressed . The service was great and the food was superb !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for jazz brunch. The food and se ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We went for jazz brunch. The food and service was great but the band wasn't there for a while and then took a long time setting up. So after spending over an hour at "Jazz" brunch, we left having only heard pop music over the sound system. It completely ruined the ambiance. VERY disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was excellent. My wife had a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was excellent. My wife had a smoked NY strip. While my wahoo was excellent, she gave me a bite of her steak and it was incredible! No kidding when I say it was one of the best steak I ever tasted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wahoo was excellent. bartender made a gr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

wahoo was excellent. bartender made a great old fashion, good selection of bourbon. also enjoyed sweet potato soup

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time! I wish there was a better s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great time! I wish there was a better selection of brunch items, however, i enjoyed my omelette.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

When I make a reservation I expect to be ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

When I make a reservation I expect to be seated regardless of whether my entire party is present. They need to fix that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Best meal we had during our week in New ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best meal we had during our week in New Orleans! Very fresh ingredients. Dishes prepared with care and attention to detail. Wait staff was attentive without being intrusive. The shrimp and grits were fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent at all levels. The food was ou ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent at all levels. The food was outstanding. The wait staff were timely and friendly. The ambiance is non intrusive. The place is small and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.