About Atchafalaya Restaurant

901 Louisiana Ave
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

Atchafalaya Restaurant is a true New Orleans neighborhood eatery. Neighbors, locals, and out of town guests return often for a great Louisiana food experience, highlighted by attentive service, time- tested favorites, and tasty new creations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Creole, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner - Seven Days: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Brunch - Five Days: Thursday - Monday: 10:00am - 2:30pm

Cross Street:
Laural Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 891-9626

Website:
http://atchafalayarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music during Saturday & Sunday Brunch.

Parking Details:
Residential Street parking with no time restrictions.

Public Transit:
Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Lynch

Private Party Facilities:
We accept reservations for parties up to 12 guests. Buyouts are available upon request.

Private Party Contact:
Rachael Jaffe: 5048919626x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Atchafalaya Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
New Orleans / Louisiana
Creole
New Orleans / Louisiana
Great for Brunch
New Orleans
1 More
Creole
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

fit for foodies (203)
neighborhood gem (190)
great for brunch (133)
See All
special occasion (117)
romantic (98)
hot spot (52)
great for lunch (51)
good for groups (46)
notable wine list (30)
great for outdoor dining (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
late-night find (13)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1706 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Nawlins off the beaten path

Dined 4 days ago

Chose this out of the way restaurant based on trip advisor Found the food too "pretentious " Nice service staff, but they towed the political correctness order too closely probably because the chef was dining himself,( nearby). Probably will not go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

One of neighbor favorites but the might ...

Dined 5 days ago

One of neighbor favorites but the might we went the restaurant was off. Took forever to get a drink. At the being they only had one waiter for the whole room. The swordfish I had was good, mussels ok. The crabmeat ravioli was very good. The veg risotto was a big disappointment. No flavor at all. Tried adding salt and pepper and parm cheese, to no available. Since the tourist have found the restaurant have they let their standards down? Hope not.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had ...

Dined 7 days ago

One of the best breakfasts I've ever had..ever! And great Bloody Mary bar

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Drinks were watered down, service was sl ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Drinks were watered down, service was slow, seating was isolating, and the main dish was dried out and uneatable. When complained to the waiter they merely apologized. It was the last serving of the night and it was apparent the staff and cook wanted to go home. Very disappointing experience. After it being recommended on Trip advisor and a local New Orleans bar tender.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atchafabulous!!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

We arrived early and sat at the bar with the very friendly bartenders. We had excellent drinks and scrumptious fried green tomatoes. Dinner was even better. The service was friendly and most knowledgeable of the entire menu. The food was exquisite!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. Fan ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. Fantastic music and a lively crowd. Hostess and wait staff attentive and friendly. Loved my chicken and waffles. It was graduation weekend so there was a a huge crowd.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this place was Fantastic! Great food we ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

this place was Fantastic! Great food well presented and very tasty. Service was wonderful and attentive but not overbearing at all. Great wine list and a knowledgeable person to help with your selection. Be sure to try their signature cocktail and their flan with a hint of blue cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent brunch offerings, attentive service. The make our own Bloody Mary bar is outstanding.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

A must when visiting NOLA.

Dined on May 20, 2016

A must when visiting NOLA.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fried green tomatoes with the Drum, and ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Fried green tomatoes with the Drum, and a cheese plate. Great job.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Four of us ordered different entrees and enjoyed our meals. My red snapper was a little dry and I overlooked the fact that it had fried greens of some sort. The others ordered, steak, pork chops and another fish dish. They all raved about their choices. Would definitely recommend! Very good service too.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my husband for a special birthday h ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Took my husband for a special birthday here. It was absolutely a great choice in a city full of wonderful dining choices. I had the swordfish and my husband had the tuna. We are early diners so the restaurant was nicely quiet when we arrived but was filling up and getting lively by the time we left.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place. Great food. Great cockt ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Love this place. Great food. Great cocktails. Warm and welcoming space. Had the swordfish and the drum; both were amazing.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was everything. This place was ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was everything. This place was so much more than I imagined. A-mazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Reliable service and pleasant atmosphere ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Reliable service and pleasant atmosphere. Good choice to take friends from out of town. The staff goes out of the way to fulfill special requests. This restaurant is on my list of 10 local restaurants that I try to regularly patronize.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and amazing food. We c ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Fantastic service and amazing food. We came in to visit NO and so glad we got a recommendation to eat here. It's a can't miss

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Meal

Dined on May 10, 2016

We were visiting New Orleans and found this restaurant on Open Table. Had a superb dinner, wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Cocktails and wine were good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Mother's Day 2016

Dined on May 9, 2016

I just moved to NOLA and this was recommended by a co-worker. Got there a little early for our res but were not immediately seated, which was curious given the number of open tables. Bar service was extremely slow given the crowd that night, but we were seated by our res time and everything flowed smoothly from there. Food was wonderful and they packed our leftovers impeccably. Overall good experience, although given the level of this restaurant in terms of price and reputation, the greeting and drinks experience could certainly be improved.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Hadn't been in a while. Was really impre ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Hadn't been in a while. Was really impressed. Has definitely stepped up the menu. Those grits are everything!! Will be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very impressive food, service and overall value.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second visit, it was as good as the first. We will not hesitate to return to this outstanding restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real gem

Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was outstanding. This is a charming place, and the food, service, ambience - were all I could ask for. The salad with apples and warm goat cheese was a bit unusual - and probably the best salad I can remember having. Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Really enjoyed the duck hash and Korean ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Really enjoyed the duck hash and Korean pork belly. The duck fat sazerac was also an unusual but delicious drink worthy of its place on Atchafalaya's incredible drink menu.

food5
ambience4
service4

Order the swordfish!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Order the swordfish!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Hidden Gem in NOLA

Dined on May 6, 2016

This place had superb food, outstanding service and fantastic ambiance. A bit hidden away in suburbia so a bit hard to find but well worth the trip and highly recommend to anyone. Don't miss this place and make it a must - stop on your restaurant tour in NOLA!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Took client looking for a genuine NOLA e ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Took client looking for a genuine NOLA experience away from the quarter. Absolutely wonderful meal/experience and a big success. I had swordfish in a green curry with crawfish tails!!

food4
ambience5
service5

This is a lovely restaurant with delicio ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

This is a lovely restaurant with delicious and perfectly portioned fare. I was delighted to have a cocktail with fernet, it was very potent and did not disappoint. I started with the PEI mussels which were delicious, the double cut pork chop was huge but had I not had the mussels I would've been able to handle it and their special ice cream was light and lovely. The husband had their house salad and the swordfish, he found both delicious but the swordfish was a little spicy. His dessert was the blueberry bread pudding which he thoroughly enjoyed. My only disappointment was that all the fish dishes came with crawfish, which I'm allergic to.

food5
ambience5
service5

The Bloody Mary bar!!! So fun!! And do ...

Dined on May 2, 2016

The Bloody Mary bar!!! So fun!! And do t miss the Eggs Atchafalaya!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atchala-WOW

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

One of my faves, and boy they don't disappoint! In a town FULL of great dining options, this place stands out. Just to walk past the sidewalk grills where they are preparing the chargrilled oysters, to the perfect truffled fried chicken, the oyster salad or the filet, its ALL good here!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went here on our first night in New Orleans and had a wonderful meal. The roasted oysters were outstanding. Red snapper was great. My husband said his swordfish was great, too. While this place is known for its brunches, it was a wonderful dinner experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

We running late due to the fact that we ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We running late due to the fact that we landed that afternoon and headed straight over for our reservation. They were very accommodating and they were packed as well. Drinks were great. Sercice was kind and knowledgable. Great brunch on a rainy day!

food3
ambience3
service4

Lovely restaurant with good food but too ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely restaurant with good food but too noisy! We could barely have a conversation. Other friends had the same problem. They need to do something about the noise.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Resturant

Dined on April 29, 2016

This Resturant delivers in every way! Great food, service, decor and wine! Don't miss it if your in New Orleans.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nothing spectacular

Dined on April 28, 2016

Was disappointed to have to wait to be seated 25 min after our reservations, despite open tables. after being seated it took waiter 10 minutes to first approach the table, and then another 10 to come back to tell us the specials. We were very hungry and eager at that point to get an appetizer order in while discussing the menu, but was instead rudely interrupted and asked to wait to order with our entrees. Immediately put a damper on the mood of my wife and mine. It was nearly an hour since we arrived for our reservation before we even were able to order. The food was also disappointing, we only ate half of our plates. Not for great portion but lack of enthusiasm. After we left we ended up grabbing a couple drinks and a small bite on magazine st around the corner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Secret

Dined on April 27, 2016

This is one of the great secrets in NOLA. Off the beaten trail, Atchafalaya has the great ambiance, food and drink of downtown/French Quarter but in relaxed Uptown. No hassle parking, beautiful neighborhood. Food and drinks are outstanding - excellent stand-bys; shrimp and grits, but excellent creative creole dishes and awesome fish. Go -but make sure you book long in advance - the place isn't huge. Always fully booked when I go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming, Soulful & Delicious!

Dined on April 26, 2016

My husband and I had an incredible dining experience here on a Tuesday at noon! We walked in to live music that was bluesy & soulful! Fantastic! The brunch menu had great choices and was so delicious! And our server was charming! The ambiance was perfect for our midday lunch anniversary celebration! Loved this place!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

Chargrilled oysters were amazing. Shrimp and grits was good. Bread pudding yummy. Staff very friendly and attentive.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

TOP NOLA RESTAURANT

Dined on April 24, 2016

Love the Bloody Mary bar! Finally found a great brunch in NOLA that has reasonable prices and located in such a nice uptown neighborhood!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delish Food

Dined on April 24, 2016

We are from out of town and came about 1 1/2 years ago. Loved it then so came back for another wonderful meal. A New Orelans style menu with a unique twist on regional dishes. The grilled oysters were fabulous. Delish food and craft cocktails! Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Bittersweet review

Dined on April 24, 2016

Atchafalaya has been a favorite of mine for as long as I've lived in New Orleans - over 9 years. It was the place I went with my family before my college graduation and the place I went for my best friend's white coat ceremony. Unfortunately this past dining experience at Atchafalaya did not go well. Of my party of five, three of us woke up in the middle of the night from food poisoning symptoms. It was so severe it cost two us our last day of Jazz Fest and has cost me three days of work. The food tasted good in the moment, but the sickness we felt didn't make the taste worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Oustanding Dining Experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Atchafalaya is in my neighborhood and I used to go all the time; however, I have not been since the new chef started. It was superb. Menu contained some of the old favorites and the new items were fantastic. I highly recommend Atchafalaya.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.