About Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]

101 L.G. Smith Blvd.
Palm Beach, Aruba 99553
View Larger Map

Aruba Marriott’s beachfront restaurant Atardi is the best kept secret on the island. It is the perfect setting for a romantic dinner, a place where you can be delighted by magnificent sunsets, exquisite meals under the fluttering palm trees, and feel the warmth of the sand between your toes. Atardi allows you to sit back and connect with all your senses as you listen to the sound of the ocean. Although their specialty is seafood, Atardi’s chefs take pride in knowing how to please meat lovers as well. The secret is out. You must come by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6.15pm - 10.00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
520 6537

Website:
http://www.arubarestaurants.com/restaurants/atardi/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment from 6.30 pm - 10.00 pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available at the Aruba Marriott Resort.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop in front of Aruba Marriott Resort.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Atardi [formerly Simply Fish] Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (39)
Romantic (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
See All
Scenic View (29)
Good for a Date (26)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Live Music (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fun (8)
Authentic (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Right on the water! Beautiful spot, great service and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Live music, good food, very friendly staff, you can watch sunset

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Second time at Atardi and just as wonderful as the first. Great cocktails, can request wine not on the list. Excellent ambiance and service; feet in the sand. Great job!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The tables are 20 feet from the waters edge and the fish (tuna) was outstanding. Each table is serviced by 2 waiters who couldn't have been nicer. With your toes in the sand and with the postcard sunset views this is the place to impress your significant other!! The night we were there there was a roving tenor saxophone player going from table to table who played like Kenny G/Boney James with some light jazz.. Aruba always has a light breeze which later on in the evening could be considered a little cool to some so the ladies in your life should bring a very light coverup just in case. This restaurant is part of the Marriott so there is also entertainment inside as well. The night we were there there was a singer in the lobby that was "belting out" incredible Broadway hits like Phantom of the Opera and Memories from Cats as well as Bruno Mars hits.. If you love fish (just about every kind imaginable) cooked every way imaginable) and post card sun sets then make sure you stop here for at least one meal!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Dinner on the beach, literally on the beach just a few feet from the incoming surf. Outstanding music, from romantic to dance. Some people actually got up from their table and danced. My macadamia nut crusted grouper was outstanding. The only little shortfall was that the server seemed to have too many tables and was not terrible attentive. Still, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Amazing restaurant, great way to end our vacation. Sit right on the beach during your meal and enjoy some fantastic food!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Been coming to Aruba for 25 years. Have never been to Atardi before. The meal was exceptional. The shrimp with the corn purée was delicious and the macadamia encrusted grouper was exceptional. Sitting on the beach at sunset..... listening to the singer....

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great Valentine's dinner.The food was great and the service was terrific.Great water front atmosphere.It was on the higher side price of any place we haven't eaten this week.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was the perfect Valentine's Day date night. It was very romantic. Our duo servers were a great team ( Pedro & Rudolfo). Our whole meals were very good and it was capped off with a nice apple crumble. We highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was the most disappointing meal from our vacation. Given the price point and high reviews, we expected a great meal. Here's what we got instead:

I am certain my fiancé's fish was previously frozen, my lamb tenderloin was actually lamb chops & served well done when ordered medium rare. Our appetizers were certainly better than entrees, but with entrees $40+, you except at the very least a decent meal.

Ambiance is great, but does not make up for the subpar food.

We went to "Que Pasa" the next night. 1/2 the price and substantially better.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious dinner in a beautiful setting! Servers were very attentive and the food was very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lovely setting on the beach. Much, much better than what 'dinner at the Marriott' sound like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This restaurant's food is sensational, atmosphere incredible, service outstanding! A night to remember forever! So fantastic that we are returning on Sunday!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was terrible. Fish was at best warm and consistency of a RedLobster restaurant.

No value here

The music was great as well as the sunset. But you cannot eat those things...

Hard to find

No plans to return

Barefoot blows this place away.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Atardi's was awesome! The food was unbelievable, our waiter was so nice and even took some pics for us with the sun setting. We originally made reservations for two, but invited my Mother the last minute and the restaurant was very accommodating to be able to rearrange the tables on the beach and make room for her also! One of the best meals we have had on the island. Presentation was beautiful and food was delicious, from the apps. to the desert!

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent and fresh food and even better ambiance and view. Sits right on the beach where you can put your toes in the sand. Small menu but there is an item on there for everyone. Excellent service, a must if you are coming to Aruba!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great service and great food. Sitting at a table with your toes in the sand makes it a very romantic place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Tables on the beach facing west for spectacular sunsets. Dinner fare to rival formal 5 star dining with soft live music. Ask for Juan as your server, he'll make your night special and error free.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

this place was stunning by the water five star dining. will be back

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The most romantic restaurant I have been to in a long time The staff is impeccable You sit on the beach you take your shoes off and you just watch the ocean while you are dining under the stars If I had to say one negative thing it would be the four young boys playing football in the water right by all the tables where we were dining I was very surprised the restaurant didn't have a sign by their tiki torches where it starts the area of dining same please refrain from noise and activity for our dining guests Or one of the staff members could've went over to the boys and said please move over to the side I was very nervous that the football was going to hit one of the diners in the front row But overall if you come to Aruba you have to come to this restaurant

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were staying overnight at the Marriott and wanted to eat by the beach. All of the issues that Simply Fish had, remain with Atardi. Nothing has changed but the name. Service was spotty. Food very mediocre. Being on the beach was the treat of the evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was very good and the service was nice and attentive. It was very lovely sitting on the beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best meal yet in Aruba for our vacation. Better than the old restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Fanny and Adolpho were amazing. Got a nice crab claw compliments of the chef. Tomato Caprese was great, Sea Bass was delicious. I got the surf and turf. Steak was great, lobster was grilled and a little dry. We got two coffee drinks which were great and the peanut butter and chocolate dessert was good. Music was a great touch and sunset on the beach for dinner was amazing. View and dinner in the sand is totally worth it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Go early for the Sunset view. Wait staff was very attentive & friendly. Gave us glasses of champange for our anniversary. The Grouper was delicious. Definitely try the Coconut Cake--yum!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food had no special preparation. The sunset is beautiful but many people walk in front of you on this public beach . The staff gave special attention to their "regulars", and ignore us and a couple other parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant on the island. We dine here 2-3 times a week when visiting. The atmosphere cannot be beat. Feet in the sand, beautiful sunsets, great music, etc. etc. The food and outstanding service lives up to the atmosphere. Make reservations a few days in advance. I can't say enough about how wonderful this restaurant is.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Menu and dinner service were both excellent. Wonderful ambience with beachfront dining. Highly recommend for a special evening.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Scenic View, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Amazing service! Made our celebration truly special!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

While I enjoy this restaurant it has gotten very pricey so I am not sure I would rate it high on value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Beautiful spot on the beach and the service was so attentive and the food was fantastic! We would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent meal and unbeatable atmosphere on the beach. Always a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service super rude and bad.

Food and ambience wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dinner on the beach watching the sun go down, what beats that? Had a guy playing the trumpet and singing some melo songs. The food and service were excellent. This is a no brainer.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very romantic! Up close to the water and sunset. Wait staff spoiled us. Loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place always go there twice a week during our visits to Aruba

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We decided to try Atardi after reading some great reviews. We were not

disappointed. Located at Marriott, right on the beach, under the stars,

waves crashing on the beach, can't get better than that, but than the food

is also delicious. I had sea bass, w/string beans, my husband tenderloin.

Appetizer was buffalo mozzarella w/tomatoes with a balsamic vinaigrette

Happen to be a full moon that night so extra romantic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Gorgeous setting, gracious service and the food is always excellent. Loved the saxophone player!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place to take your wife for dinner...on the beach, sun going down, great food with great service..couldn't ask for anything more

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on the beach, toes in the sand. The beachfront setting can't be beat. Service was cheerful and very attentive. Our appetizers were fantastic; some entrees were very good but others just okay. Shrimp and scallops were prepared beautifully, with interesting combinations of spices and accompaniments. Red snapper was presented nicely but was slightly over cooked and not very flavorful.

When one member of our party was away from the table as the entrees were served, our waiter took his plate back to a warming station until he returned, then brought it back as soon as he was seated again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Beautiful setting on the sand. The service is excellent and the food is delicious. It is a bit pricey but worth it for a vacation or special occasion dinner. Just fine for kids because they can play in the sand while waiting for food to be served. My family loves it and we usually go once during our yearly vacation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Mauricio, our waiter, was amazing, food was exceptional, ambiance was perfect. We literally had dinner three and a half feet from the ocean. It was great and a place you must experience if you visit Aruba.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Good food, although it is very pricey. You pay for eating on the beach. The tuna appetizer was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

On the beach, shoes off. Very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Atardi was a great find! My wife and I were visiting Aruba for a second time to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We loved the setting of a table on the beach near the water's edge, while watching the sunset. Our waiter, Mauricio was remarkable. He was very attentive, did not rush us, and provided excellent recommendations on the menu. I would highly encourage the Sea Bass. One of the best I ever had. My wife really enjoyed the coconut cake for dessert. I saw in some other reviews complaints about the prices, but we found after visiting other restaurants later in the week that our bill at Atardi was very reasonable. It was by far the best dining and most memorable experience we had during our stay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

we had high hopes of perfection for atardi, considering the location and our anticipation of dining right on the beach, as well as most of the reviews that i had read !! the location is wonderful, however, they did not serve on the beach this evening due to the possibility of problematic weather - not their fault of course - can't control mother nature! they had the tables under the pavillion instead of on the sand :-( - oh well ! anyway, a VERY slow start regarding service, once we were seated, which should not occur at a restaurant of this caliber. we eventually had to hail another waiter to even get a cocktail order placed & it didn't appear that he was too pleased about that. once we did finally get our real waiter, he was extremely pleasant & accommodating. we started w/ the bouillabaisse, which had been recommended earlier that day & it was a tad underwhelming - just "okay". the sea bass came out pretty much raw looking, however, our waiter immediately took it back and returned with another. with the return came a switch from one side dish to a different one - not sure why, but we worked that out too. the macadamia crusted grouper was also just okay. the fish was completely lost in the thick crust and it seemed fried, rather than baked, thereby only allowing for crust flavor, no fish - disappointing. we really were excited about dining here and i really wanted to be able to write an exceptional review, however, things simply weren't of the caliber we expected. maybe it was just an off night. the location is fabulous though. next time we visit aruba we will certainly try it again. we will go earlier, to catch a sunset, and we'll hope, once again, to dine on the sand !! aruba and the marriott stellaris were fabulous!!!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Start by going at sunset. Take off your shoes when being escorted to a table by the shoreline. Just soak in the live music and the waves splashing in front of you.

The lobster salad is a great starter. We had sea bass and macadamia nut grouper and both were terrific.

The chocolate tart dessert is a wonderful way to finish a great and romantic dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2016

This is a very expensive restaurant. The food is excellent, but be prepared to spend a lot of money while you are here. The wine list was just ok but again, the prices by the glass or the bottle were ambitious . I would have asked for a glass of Kim Crawford, but at $14 USD a glass or just wasn't worth it.

The other issue is the lighting. It was so dark at the table that it was difficult to see the menu or even your food.

Now, onto the review of the food...

Appetizers:

We ordered the Seafood Bouillabaisse and the Shrimp Appetizer were superb. The seafood was extremely fresh and prepared with care and precision.

Main Course:

Blackened mahi mahi was seasoned well and blackened to perfection. Everything on the plate was fresh and well plated. The taste was definitely something to write home about.

We also ordered the Chilean Sea Bass and it was spectacular. Cooked with a perfect crust and served with fresh string beans and a champagne sauce. The sauce was just ok, however it would have gone better with a beurre blanc. Overall,it was fantastic and well executed

Dessert:

The dessert offerings were definitely lack luster. We didn't order anything. I honestly felt that the dessert was not paired well for this restaurant.

I would definitely eat here again , however the prices and the dessert selection need some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The macadamia crusted grouper is fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Amazing in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.