About Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]

Aruba Marriott’s beachfront restaurant Atardi is the best kept secret on the island. It is the perfect setting for a romantic dinner, a place where you can be delighted by magnificent sunsets, exquisite meals under the fluttering palm trees, and feel the warmth of the sand between your toes. Atardi allows you to sit back and connect with all your senses as you listen to the sound of the ocean. Although their specialty is seafood, Atardi’s chefs take pride in knowing how to please meat lovers as well. The secret is out. You must come by.

101 L.G. Smith Blvd.
Palm Beach, Aruba 99553
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6.15pm - 10.00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
520 6537

Website:
http://www.arubarestaurants.com/restaurants/atardi/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment from 6.30 pm - 10.00 pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available at the Aruba Marriott Resort.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop in front of Aruba Marriott Resort.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Atardi [formerly Simply Fish], Palm Beach, Aruba
  • Atardi [formerly Simply Fish], Palm Beach, Aruba
  • Atardi [formerly Simply Fish], Palm Beach, Aruba

Report a photo problem

Atardi [formerly Simply Fish] Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Scenic View (29)
See All
Waterfront (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Live Music (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (7)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing service! Made our celebration tr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing service! Made our celebration truly special!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While I enjoy this restaurant it has got ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

While I enjoy this restaurant it has gotten very pricey so I am not sure I would rate it high on value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful spot on the beach and the serv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful spot on the beach and the service was so attentive and the food was fantastic! We would definitely recommend it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and unbeatable atmosphere ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal and unbeatable atmosphere on the beach. Always a special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service super rude and bad. Food and am ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Service super rude and bad.

Food and ambience wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Dinner on the beach watching the sun go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dinner on the beach watching the sun go down, what beats that? Had a guy playing the trumpet and singing some melo songs. The food and service were excellent. This is a no brainer.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic! Up close to the water and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Very romantic! Up close to the water and sunset. Wait staff spoiled us. Loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place always go there twice a week ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place always go there twice a week during our visits to Aruba

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Gorgeous setting, gracious service and t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Gorgeous setting, gracious service and the food is always excellent. Loved the saxophone player!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to take your wife for dinner ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place to take your wife for dinner...on the beach, sun going down, great food with great service..couldn't ask for anything more

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner on the beach, toe ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a lovely dinner on the beach, toes in the sand. The beachfront setting can't be beat. Service was cheerful and very attentive. Our appetizers were fantastic; some entrees were very good but others just okay. Shrimp and scallops were prepared beautifully, with interesting combinations of spices and accompaniments. Red snapper was presented nicely but was slightly over cooked and not very flavorful.

When one member of our party was away from the table as the entrees were served, our waiter took his plate back to a warming station until he returned, then brought it back as soon as he was seated again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful setting on the sand. The serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Beautiful setting on the sand. The service is excellent and the food is delicious. It is a bit pricey but worth it for a vacation or special occasion dinner. Just fine for kids because they can play in the sand while waiting for food to be served. My family loves it and we usually go once during our yearly vacation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mauricio, our waiter, was amazing, food ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Mauricio, our waiter, was amazing, food was exceptional, ambiance was perfect. We literally had dinner three and a half feet from the ocean. It was great and a place you must experience if you visit Aruba.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, although it is very pricey. Y ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Good food, although it is very pricey. You pay for eating on the beach. The tuna appetizer was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

On the beach, shoes off. Very nice

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

On the beach, shoes off. Very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atardi was a great find! My wife and I ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Atardi was a great find! My wife and I were visiting Aruba for a second time to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We loved the setting of a table on the beach near the water's edge, while watching the sunset. Our waiter, Mauricio was remarkable. He was very attentive, did not rush us, and provided excellent recommendations on the menu. I would highly encourage the Sea Bass. One of the best I ever had. My wife really enjoyed the coconut cake for dessert. I saw in some other reviews complaints about the prices, but we found after visiting other restaurants later in the week that our bill at Atardi was very reasonable. It was by far the best dining and most memorable experience we had during our stay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we had high hopes of perfection for ata ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

we had high hopes of perfection for atardi, considering the location and our anticipation of dining right on the beach, as well as most of the reviews that i had read !! the location is wonderful, however, they did not serve on the beach this evening due to the possibility of problematic weather - not their fault of course - can't control mother nature! they had the tables under the pavillion instead of on the sand :-( - oh well ! anyway, a VERY slow start regarding service, once we were seated, which should not occur at a restaurant of this caliber. we eventually had to hail another waiter to even get a cocktail order placed & it didn't appear that he was too pleased about that. once we did finally get our real waiter, he was extremely pleasant & accommodating. we started w/ the bouillabaisse, which had been recommended earlier that day & it was a tad underwhelming - just "okay". the sea bass came out pretty much raw looking, however, our waiter immediately took it back and returned with another. with the return came a switch from one side dish to a different one - not sure why, but we worked that out too. the macadamia crusted grouper was also just okay. the fish was completely lost in the thick crust and it seemed fried, rather than baked, thereby only allowing for crust flavor, no fish - disappointing. we really were excited about dining here and i really wanted to be able to write an exceptional review, however, things simply weren't of the caliber we expected. maybe it was just an off night. the location is fabulous though. next time we visit aruba we will certainly try it again. we will go earlier, to catch a sunset, and we'll hope, once again, to dine on the sand !! aruba and the marriott stellaris were fabulous!!!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Start by going at sunset. Take off your ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Start by going at sunset. Take off your shoes when being escorted to a table by the shoreline. Just soak in the live music and the waves splashing in front of you.

The lobster salad is a great starter. We had sea bass and macadamia nut grouper and both were terrific.

The chocolate tart dessert is a wonderful way to finish a great and romantic dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very expensive restaurant. Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 6, 2016

This is a very expensive restaurant. The food is excellent, but be prepared to spend a lot of money while you are here. The wine list was just ok but again, the prices by the glass or the bottle were ambitious . I would have asked for a glass of Kim Crawford, but at $14 USD a glass or just wasn't worth it.

The other issue is the lighting. It was so dark at the table that it was difficult to see the menu or even your food.

Now, onto the review of the food...

Appetizers:

We ordered the Seafood Bouillabaisse and the Shrimp Appetizer were superb. The seafood was extremely fresh and prepared with care and precision.

Main Course:

Blackened mahi mahi was seasoned well and blackened to perfection. Everything on the plate was fresh and well plated. The taste was definitely something to write home about.

We also ordered the Chilean Sea Bass and it was spectacular. Cooked with a perfect crust and served with fresh string beans and a champagne sauce. The sauce was just ok, however it would have gone better with a beurre blanc. Overall,it was fantastic and well executed

Dessert:

The dessert offerings were definitely lack luster. We didn't order anything. I honestly felt that the dessert was not paired well for this restaurant.

I would definitely eat here again , however the prices and the dessert selection need some work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The macadamia crusted grouper is fabulou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The macadamia crusted grouper is fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing in every way!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Amazing in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful, yummy food and romantic atmos ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Beautiful, yummy food and romantic atmosphere.. We love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful setting -on the beach w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 1, 2016

What a beautiful setting -on the beach with the sound of the waves. The service was exceptional and the staff very friendly. The grouper and lobster were excellent. I highly recommend Atardi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Serene dining on the beach! The food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Serene dining on the beach! The food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Several excellent fish entrees and appet ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Several excellent fish entrees and appetizers. Excellent feet in the sand dining on the beach.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful beach restaurant overlooking t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful beach restaurant overlooking the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful ambiance. Phenomenal view. Foo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful ambiance. Phenomenal view. Food is delicious. Wait staff, especially Oscar, is excellent. Have eaten here several times. Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience in front of the sea.

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Great experience in front of the sea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have been coming here f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My husband and I have been coming here for years. Mauricio is the best and a real asset to this restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a reservation for 20th November bu ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I had a reservation for 20th November but when arrived to restaurant, told us that was cancelled due to bad weather and I was not informed before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Ambiance was incredible.....our table wa ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ambiance was incredible.....our table was perhaps 10 feet from the shoreline. Dined to the sound of the gentle lapping of the waves and a very talented saxophonist.

Sea Bass was delicious and the Filet was done to perfection. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly one of the most romantic, special, ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Truly one of the most romantic, special, luxurious experiences I've ever had. When you're in Aruba, put this in your must-do list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Sunset on the beach is gorgeous! High, yet competitive pricing. What was not expected, with an operation of this caliber, was the corporate party with a live band blasting next door. We could not carry on a conversation. Check the party schedule before dining here!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I truly enjoyed our meal ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

My husband and I truly enjoyed our meal at Atardi. We loved the idea of kicking off our shoes and eating our dinner right on the beach with the waves lapping right next to us. The wait staff was extremely attentive to us and the food was delicious! We will definitely recommend Atardi and return in the future!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding ambience, outstanding food, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Outstanding ambience, outstanding food, outstanding service. Seafood was of course as fresh as can be. Ate their twice on our trip. One was for dinner and one was for our special occasion. How nice it was to kick off your shoes and eat with your feet in the sand watching the sunset. Very peaceful and beautiful. Juan the manager was super friendly and spoke to us about our meal and service and made sure everything was to our liking. The live entertainment during dinner was fantastic also.

Tags: Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful from start to finis ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely wonderful from start to finish. The service was friendly, helpful and great. The food was excellent. Great appetizers were enjoyed by all. The blackened Mahi Mahi was amazing. The only problem was that there was little sharing among our guests as all were enjoying individual selections.

The ambience was so cool. Table on the sand. Oceanside. Bare feet. Gorgeous evening. Hand it to Atardi for using what was granted to them!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner! Sea bass and grouper we ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Amazing dinner! Sea bass and grouper were both delicious. As good, if not better than simply fish, though was a little pricey.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant that is literally o ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful restaurant that is literally on the beach! VERY romantic with excellent service and wonderful live jazz.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and it was nic ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The service was excellent and it was nice to sit by the beach but I felt they lacked some ambience lighting. The food was awful. Very little to chose from on the menu that was interesting and the flavour was not there. I never return my meal and I had to return it and ask for something else which had slightly better taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.