About Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]

101 L.G. Smith Blvd.
Palm Beach, Aruba 99553
View Larger Map

Aruba Marriott’s beachfront restaurant Atardi is the best kept secret on the island. It is the perfect setting for a romantic dinner, a place where you can be delighted by magnificent sunsets, exquisite meals under the fluttering palm trees, and feel the warmth of the sand between your toes. Atardi allows you to sit back and connect with all your senses as you listen to the sound of the ocean. Although their specialty is seafood, Atardi’s chefs take pride in knowing how to please meat lovers as well. The secret is out. You must come by.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6.15pm - 10.00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
520 6537

Website:
http://www.arubarestaurants.com/restaurants/atardi/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment from 6.30 pm - 10.00 pm.

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking available at the Aruba Marriott Resort.

Public Transit:
Public bus stop in front of Aruba Marriott Resort.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]
  • Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]
  • Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]
Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]
Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]
Atardi [formerly Simply Fish]

Atardi [formerly Simply Fish] Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Caribbean
Outdoor Dining
Caribbean
Romantic
Caribbean
3 More
Scenic View
Caribbean
Most Booked
Caribbean
Most Booked
Aruba
Best Restaurants in Aruba ›

Romantic (39)
Scenic View (36)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Waterfront (14)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Live Music (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
576 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ate there previously when it was Simp ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

We ate there previously when it was Simply Fish. It was very good then and even better tonight! Food very good and ample portion. Had the macadamia grouper and it was excellent . Service was on par with the food! Also the live music was nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was very nice sitting on the beach, b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

It was very nice sitting on the beach, but overly dark close to the water. Had to use light from the phone to read the menu. How about a lamp on the table with a variable output switch? Food was ok. Nothing special. Some items were over sauced, which deemphasized the main item (fish). The wine list was horrible...you would think an upscale restaurant would have had a decent wine list. Service was good...a little lagging and the two people taking care of us were not talking as they would both ask us the same question (multiple times). Overall, rather disappointing. Certainly not worth the $$$$.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Food was excellent service was great wil ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was excellent service was great will be eating there everytime I come to Aruba

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location of this restaurant is the b ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The location of this restaurant is the best! Dining right on the beach and just a few steps from the major high rise hotels on Palm Beach--it's a gem! The food was very good , but truthfully, minor inconsistencies can be overlooked in light of the whole experience. But, perhaps even better than location or food is the service. Our servers Maurizio and Pedro were superb and that is no surprise given the high standard of service and care that is set by the hostess, Malina. We were very impressed with her level of professionalism. Hands down, she was one of the best in that position that we encountered in our travels! Romantic evening and wonderful memories.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner just after sunset, and it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had dinner just after sunset, and it was everything we missed in all the other places we went to.

Wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I dined at Atardi last ni ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

My husband and I dined at Atardi last night for our 30th wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect! The waitstaff were so friendly and knowledgeable and they even offered to take pictures of us at various times.

The sunset was beautiful! Can't beat the atmosphere of dining on a beautiful tropical beach!

The food was so delicious! We had scallops and crab for an appetizer and that was very yummy. Then they brought out some sushi on a corn salad with just the right amount of cilantro. Our entrees were delicious too! Everything came out perfect! They even surprised us with flutes of champagne to celebrate our anniversary!

What a great experience it was dining at Atardi! I highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always make reservations as this is such ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always make reservations as this is such a busy and amazing restaurant. Ask for Oscar to be your waiter as he has been there for years and knows the menu well. Chris is his team mate and does an outstanding job. The menu is well done with a variety of foods to choose from. The coconut cake is the dessert you do not want to miss! The restaurant is on the beach. There is a rack where you can place your shoes. The chairs are perfect for beach sand and do not sink as you sit. We did not have any issues with ants,flies or mosquitoes. The staff provides amazing service. The food comes out fresh and hot. This is one restaurant you should try as it provides a really lovely dining experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate there twice on our last vacation. Fo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Ate there twice on our last vacation. Food was outstanding especially the grouper. Service was good. Staff very pleasant. Oceanside dining!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an adult restaraunt and it shoul ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

This is an adult restaraunt and it should be posted 18 plus. We were there for a sunset dinner and had a beautiful table 10 feet from the water. People were strolling by which was fun however we had one couple seated behind us with a three year old child who was allowed to run around tables and play. This is not that type of setting. I have no problems with kids at restaraunts and would expect this type of behavior at an Olive Garden or Outback, but it is not appropriate at a restaraunt where you are going to spend over $200 on dinner.

The parents were apologetic but had no control over their child who solicited the help of another diner who had completed their dinner and felt compelled to play with the child at the water and running back and forth in front, to the side and behind our table. When we told our waiter, Oscar, that we didn't appreciate this, he did nothing. The Marriott has an adult pool and a family pool. If they can do that they can certainly do it at their dining facilities.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We had dinner here on our last night in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had dinner here on our last night in Aruba

What a perfect location

Beautiful Sunset

Delicious food

Romantic

Good Music

A little pricey but worth every cent!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We absolutely love this restaurant. We d ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We absolutely love this restaurant. We dined there 3 times on our first trip to Aruba last year and will go there 3 times on this trip too. The grouper is the best I've ever had. The lobster salad is wonderful. Service is very attentive and friendly. Make a reservation just before sunset for amazing views.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was the highlight of mine and my hu ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was the highlight of mine and my husbands first trip to Aruba. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. It was so romantic sitting by the water in the sand and watching the beautiful sunset. Then the saxophone player went around to each table and played a romantic song. The food was great! We started off getting appetizers. I had the scollops and crab and my husband had the seafood boulabaise. For our entrees I had the lobster tail and my husband had the beef filet with potatoes and asparagus. Everything was delicious and great! The chef gave us some shrimp to try as a compliment for our special day. Our waiters were Juan and Pedro. They were terrific! Always asking if everything was good and filling up our water when needed. They then surprised us with a special dessert lighted with a twizzler for our 30th! They took pictures for us with the sunset in the background. I didn't want the night to end and will always remember it and hopefully go back in the near future!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. We went twice! Y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was amazing. We went twice! You must go here when in Aruba. Food was delicious, got great pics, and had a romantic dinner on our honeymoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very well prepared

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was very well prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Atardi was wonderful. We dined on Sunday ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Atardi was wonderful. We dined on Sunday arriving in time to enjoy the sunset. Upon arrival you place your shoes in the shoe check as most of the tables are on the beach in the sand close to the water. The food was great. Juan and Maria waited on us and they were great. We are returning Friday night our last night in Aruba for another romantic meal with great service and wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great time at Atardi! The service ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Had a great time at Atardi! The service was so impeccable at all times throughout our dining experience. This was our 1st restaurant we visited in Aruba during our stay and everything was perfect. We were celebrating our 5th anniversary so they had us at a secluded table and the musician ended up playing our song. Prefect evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We always make a point of dining at Atar ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We always make a point of dining at Atardi's when in Aruba. The food, service and atmosphere are outstanding. The view of the sunset makes it especially nice.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views... Amazing Chilean Bass. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful views... Amazing Chilean Bass.. Just perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great location, on the beach. Excellent ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great location, on the beach. Excellent service and food but menu was limited.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is ON the beach in front ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This restaurant is ON the beach in front of the Marriott Hotel in Aruba.

You can remove your shoes upon arrival and walk in the sand.

Check for the time of sunset before you make your reservation and make your reservation for 30 minutes before sunset. WHAT A VIEW !!!!! Food and service are excellent. No bugs!!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just OK. Service was slow. It's ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was just OK. Service was slow. It's almost like their waiting to serve you another drink waiting between courses! I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Great service, food and ambience!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service, food and ambience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After two attempts, my Mahi dinner just ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

After two attempts, my Mahi dinner just was not prepared well. Was not properly cooked. Thankfully the waiter was very accommodating and did his best to handle it well. It was disappointing for a special dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good ambience Food not so good All fish ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good ambience

Food not so good

All fish items over cooked

Shrimp appetizer that was suggested by the waiter were 4 small very rubbery with tons of corn

Red snapper inedible because way over cooked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

It was a wonderful meal with great food ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

It was a wonderful meal with great food and ambiance but very expensive. It averages a hundred a person.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our table was on the beach and it was am ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our table was on the beach and it was amazing to watch the sunset. Our server was very attentive and offered to take lots of pictures for us. The food was delicious and the martinis were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the best meals we had in ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This was one of the best meals we had in Aruba. A terrific seafood place right on the beach . The fish was incredible (we had the macadamia crusted grouper and the red snapper). The sides were delicious too (bok choy and red curry). My only regret is that we didn't find it earlier in our stay as we would have gone back for a second time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not recommend this restaurant at ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant at all. We tried Atardi as a different place to go in Aruba during our vacation and regretted it. Apart from the charm of dining on the beach there was nothing to recommend and we have been to far better beachfront restaurants that cost the same or less. The food was mediocre from apps to desert, the service only so-so and it was not crowded so there was no good reason for the shortcomings. It was even a struggle to get the check at the end of the evening.

This is our fourth straight year coming to Aruba in August and we have been to most of the better restaurants with consistently good to excellent results. Our advice is to go elsewhere.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Perfect beach front dining. Most romant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Perfect beach front dining. Most romantic location ever. We had the best snapper of our lives as well as a coconut cake that was totally amazing. Can be expensive. Not for small kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atardi was excellent! Food, service, an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Atardi was excellent! Food, service, and ambiance! Will dine again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

I think this was one of the most memorab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I think this was one of the most memorable meals I had in Aruba. We went on Saturday night, the music was a single guitarist, playing very romantic, relaxing covers. The food was absolutely amazing, dish after dish, Tuna Carpaccio, Mahi Mahi, and Grouper with Coconut Rice and Plantains. Wow, and dessert that Chocolate Tart, with vanilla ice cream was to die for. Perfect meal, perfect ambiance, we even danced on the sand as our table was on the beach. I would highly recommend this place, and the staff couldn't be friendlier.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!!! The grouper is the best fish ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing!!! The grouper is the best fish on the menu and if your not into fish the beef tenderloin is out of this world! Beautiful view. Make sure to see the sunset as you dine. The service is amazing and they had a great musician playing as well!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The winds can gust sometimes. It can mak ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The winds can gust sometimes. It can make it hard to keep everything on the table. : ) I almost lost my menu to the ocean. The staff does an excellent job to accommodate the breeze though. Be prepared to take your shoes off. Food was excellent. Staff was excellent. Great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was amazing! The service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was amazing! The service was very friendly and attentive! All the food came out timely and was cooked to perfection! From the bread and appetizers to the dessert everything was delicious !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atardi restaurant was a great experience ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Atardi restaurant was a great experience and a perfect setting to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The ambiance was very romantic and the staff was excellent; they even took a few pictures to help capture our special occasion. The food was delicious: from the special complimentary dish from the chef to the creme bruelle dessert. I highly reccommend it for couples looking for a romantic dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance is beautiful and the servic ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The ambiance is beautiful and the service was great. The food was very expensive and their wasn't a big selection. The prices were very expensive super expensive and OMG are you kidding me. We didn't have desert because we didn't want to break the bank so we went inside and had desert buy 1 get one free and it as delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Very romantic. Try to go before sunset.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very romantic. Try to go before sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Most amazing meal in a place where there ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Most amazing meal in a place where there's lots of options. Live music, eating on the beach with no shoes, great food, great service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing find for our last dinner ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

What an amazing find for our last dinner in Aruba. From removing our shoes all the way until the end of the meal everything was perfect. Attentive and friendly servers all while maintaining the upscale dining vibe at the beach. Toes in the sand, delicious food, not a care in the world. One of our favorite Aruba memories for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most memorable dinner in Aruba. A MUST D ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Most memorable dinner in Aruba. A MUST DO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.