About Ashten's

140 East New Hamphsire Avenue
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Come see us at Ashten's Restaurant where the food is exceptional, the service will spoil you and the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. From evening casual to that little black dress event, from a special celebration to a "get together" with friends..we think you'll find Ashten's "comfortably elegant". We want to give you global tastes with a "Southern Spin", we think that's what makes us unique.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 246-3510

Website:
http://www.ashtens.com/

Executive Chef:
Ashley Van Camp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ashten's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

special occasion (30)
fit for foodies (28)
neighborhood gem (25)
See All
romantic (25)
good for groups (11)
notable wine list (11)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Locally grown

Dined 4 days ago

Ashtens serves locally sourced product succinctly prepared. The menu is diverse and the cost is reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

One word describes our dining experience ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

One word describes our dining experience: Disappointed. We had been to Ashten's 6 years ago, and had a great time. We were really looking forward to our return visit. However, it was the exact opposite. Starting with our server, she seemed uninterested in serving us, just stopping by on her way to wait on another table near us. We had to ask if there were any specials, which there were, and I only knew to ask, as I had heard her mention them to another table. Then, there was the service. Ordered a cheese plate for an appetizer, and it took over 30 minutes to get it. And finally, the food. The cheese plate was a disappointment, largest item on it was a horseradish mustard...and it was only served with 2 long crackers... Our main entrees also tasted very bland, and we had to wait quite a while for them. The only thing that came fast was the check. So, unfortunately, we will not be back and would not recommend this restaurant to our friends who are going to Pinehurst this summer. There are too many other restaurants in the Pinehurst area to try. Very Disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, beautiful space

Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to Ashten's to celebrate our 10-year anniversary. They had a nice variety of local and NC craft beers. I had a local IPA and my husband had a delicious Carolina Mule. We shared the whipped whole milk ricotta. It was great, but could have used more grilled bread so we could eat every last drop of the cheese. For dinner, I had the barbecue cheddar burger and it was perfect. My husband had the chicken porchetta. He said it was good, but not as intensely flavored as he had expected. I just had a small bite of the grits and I thought it tasted great. We didn't have enough room for dessert. Overall, this was a perfect night out for our special occasion. Food was delicious, service was prompt, and the ambiance was romantic. If we come back to the area, we definitely plan to eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Ashten's was very good but not outstandi ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Ashten's was very good but not outstanding. We would go and will go there again as the food is very good. It is not a spacious place and is a little cramped.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3

Don't like the new chef or his menu...co ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Don't like the new chef or his menu...compared to the past

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our anniversary and were giv ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We went for our anniversary and were given a nice table in the window and a note on the table so from the very beginning it was special. Our waitress was very helpful and service was terrific. The food was excellent. We certainly would recommend Ashten's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Went on Mother's Day - unfortunately the ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's Day - unfortunately they were under-staffed so service was a little slow. Example, Got some of their excellent biscuits - warm with butter and Molasses. Was offered some additional biscuits which came cold with rock-hard butter. I had the Rack of Lamb, my wife had the Tuna special. The Tuna was excellent, as was the Lamb but the Lamb did not come with a sharp knife (steak type) and I had to flag down the server to get one. All told, we spent about 2.5 hours (long periods with no service). I still enjoyed the meal, but it seemed that our server was totally overwhelmed. Will have to try again on a "not-so-special" occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A very good spot.

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our second most favorite restaurant in the area, and the other is not open Sundays. So when an occasion falls on Sunday, Ashten's is it, and we sometimes go there Fridays and Saturdays. Very creative salads, entrees and cocktails, using local sources where possible and changing seasonally. Two separate menus, one for the bar area and one for the restaurant, but can order from either menu. Some entrees are too salty for us, but not so much as to deter us from going.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely Dining

Dined on May 6, 2016

Quaint with a lot of additional rooms, so everything feels very personable and almost exclusive. We had the cheese plate and reuben eggrolls for an app. Both wonderful, but the eggrolls were AMAZING. I had a greens salad and would 100% get it again. Mushroom tostada was ordered and it was a full meal. Burgers are excellent. They have rooms for parties that are too fantastic. Great for a party!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always nice to enjoy local and sustainab ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Always nice to enjoy local and sustainable, etc food that is also excellent quality. Whipped ricotta on grilled bread appetizer was a bit bland but nice texture, however everything else was very good to excellent. Had the pork shoulder confit, my wife had Scottish salmon, kale salads were excellent as well, and lemon creme brulee and sorbets were a fantastic way to finish.

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Menu and flavor were lacking

Dined on April 9, 2016

I've eaten at all sorts of restaurants all over the country and even internationally. The menu didn't have much that sounded appealing and the food didn't have much flavor.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner on St Pats

Dined on March 17, 2016

Love the variety of special drinks for $10. Love the "use local" foods. Waite staff very attentive & friendly. Food a little pricey: salad, soup, entree all separate prices. Kale salad: too much kale. Would be better with a blend of kale & greens. Easy on-line reservation option. Suggestion: open for lunch / more dining hours. Will return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

City Like Dining in Southern Pines!

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I recently moved to the Fayetteville/Spring Lake area from Denver and were truly missing our date nights at local, eclectic, farm fresh, chef-led restaurants. We thought we would have to drive to Raleigh or Charlotte to experience this but honestly, Ashten's was BETTER than any of the establishments we have been to in either larger city in NC! The food was excellent, service top notch and I loved the drink menu variety and ambiance. We care deeply about responsibly sourced, organic, local food and had yet to find a restaurant that places the same value on their food - until Ashten's. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ashton's is a go to restaurant for us.

Dined on March 1, 2016

Good food and service, nice atmosphere! A great in town go-to place with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is phenomenal! Small but well p ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

The food is phenomenal! Small but well picked winelist!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific!

Dined on February 19, 2016

Ashten's can be depended on to deliver consistently good food, reasonably priced, with the best servers anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Valentine's love

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a delightful dinner for Valentines last night. They had a special menu in addition to the full regular menu. We had a leisurely dinner which was a nice surprise since a lot of restaurants rush you in and out, especially on special occasions. Everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on February 13, 2016

food was excellant, service was great......too dark downstairs..

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

best pub around

Dined on February 13, 2016

I was skeptical about this place, I found it on google. Turned out to be an overall excellent experience, great food and great drinks for a dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Pork chop was amazing; crispy duck was a ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Pork chop was amazing; crispy duck was a little too dry

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Southern Pines

Dined on February 13, 2016

The whole experience from start to finish was great. Always enjoyed having dinner at Ashtens.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on January 31, 2016

We like to go to Ashten's for special occasions. Once we booked our reservation they called me to see if there was something special they could do for our joint birthday celebration. We ordered a cake and they delivered after dinner - with just the right amount of fanfare. Dinner was good and the cake was delicious. They seated us at our favorite table in the window. It was a good experience. Would like to see a bit more variety in the wine by the glass list

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

a great choice

Dined on December 27, 2015

Party of six including and active two-year old were graciously accommodated. Shared appetizers were all tasty. For a Sunday night, the place was hopping.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband's in the military and current ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

My husband's in the military and currently deployed. He emailed Ashtens (knowing it's my favorite restaurant) and asked if they could mail my son (who's 6yrs old) a gift certificate. My son had wanted to take me out on a "date". Our son received the gift certificate in the mail and was totally excited. We were able to use the gift certificate for 2 meals. Each time, we were met with great staff and had a great experience. I love this restaurant. I have sat in the main dining room, the pub, and also the private dining area. Each time, I have had a great dining experience. The food is incredible. But I want to point out that they go above and beyond. Not only did they email my husband back the first time (saying that the gift certificate in the mail), they emailed him after we went a 2nd time, saying that my son and I had another "date". You can't get this kind of attention to detail at a chain restaurant. We will always be back. And hopefully next time with my husband.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

We enjoyed it immensely! Would recommen ...

Dined on November 25, 2015

We enjoyed it immensely! Would recommend for those in the area, a must for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Great place to go!

Dined on November 20, 2015

My wife and I have always thought of Ashten's as a special place to go. The bar area is especially warm and inviting. The food selection is always changing which is great in itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't even bother trying another place in SP

Dined on November 8, 2015

Ashten's has been the go-to place for my wife and me for years. Their specials are what sets them apart from other places, and the fact that they always have fresh, local ingredients, to include their meat, fish, vegetables, etc. They are set up to pair whatever drink you want with your meal, although I normally just get draft beer. Perhaps the nicest thing about this place is its genuine charm, ranging from its location to the tasteful decor inside. All things considered, the price is more than reasonable for the absolute quality of food you get. There are not many places that I would fast for all day long.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Bon appétit!

Dined on October 15, 2015

Thursday Oct 15th was my first visit to Ashten's, my second visit to Ashten's was Friday night Oct 16th.... need I say more. I'll be back again.... soon! Oh, they accommodate our dietary needs better than any other restaurant before. I highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

I've eaten here a number of times and al ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

I've eaten here a number of times and always enjoyed it. When it's just my husband and I, we were prefer the bar area but were disappointed with the seating this time. The room has been rearranged and we were in very close proximity to two tables of four, so we felt like we were sitting with them! It was difficult to have a conversation. Perhaps the owner should reconsider opening the downstairs area and spreading out tables on the main level.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Southe ...

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

This is my favorite restaurant in Southern Pines. I live in the area and it is my go-to whenever anyone asks for a recommendation. Farm to table, chef owned, price value and high quality of food says it all.

food4
ambience5
service5

Another gem in Southern Pines

Dined on September 12, 2015

It's great. Always a pleasure, been going there for years. I can't say that I've had bad food there..... except, well... pass on the veggie burger, okay? Anything else -- from the portabella fries to the special drinks are awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food & Service

Dined on September 3, 2015

This was our first time dining at Ashten's. The food was exceptional along with this service. We will definitely go back.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice fine dining

Dined on August 29, 2015

While not an extensive menu, the food we chose was delicious and well presented. The tables were close so a loud speaking patron next to us was distracting but was short lived. We truly enjoyed our visit and WILL return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Still #1 in So Pines

vip
Dined on August 29, 2015

Ashtens is still consistent and great. They have the same favorites they've had for a decade or more....and there's always something new on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

Nourishing Food & Service

Dined on August 20, 2015

If you're in the mood to dine on a fine culinary-art meal, this is a great place to go. The service is excellent as well. The menu offers great flexibility -- pub food or fine culinary preparation -- there's something for everyone in taste and price-point categories.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

IT JUST GOT A LITTLE TOO NOISY FOR A WHILE.

Dined on August 19, 2015

GREAT FOOD AS ALWAYS! NEVER DISAPPOINTED. LOOKING FORWARD TO NEXT TIME.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5

Love this restaurant but was disappointed.

Dined on July 11, 2015

The monkfish portion was so small, it was humorous (It was $28 or $30). The bed of goat cheese polenta was runny. My guest had the sugar toad fish (her first time and mine). It was an appetizer that she decided to have as her entre. In the description of the fish (neither one of us have ever had it), the word "bony" never came up but it was extremely bony...a "heads up" would have been helpful. The watermelon, tomato gazpacho and the blood orange sorbet were both exceptional. We eat here as often as we can but the economy has limited us this year. In the past, I would have chalked this disappointment up to a creative chef trying new things, some of which don't always work, and be thankful the restaurant was trying new things. It's a bit harder when your finances aren't what they used to be. We'll certainly come back but stick to what we know we like.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal was excellent. We especially l ...

Dined on May 30, 2015

Our meal was excellent. We especially liked the salmon with the couscous and the reuben egg rolls!

food5
ambience5
service5

Another hit!

Dined on May 22, 2015

We always have Ashtens on our list when we visit from Chicago about 3 times a year. Holly is an excellent waitress supported by Lydia and we always feel welcomed. The food has never disappointed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always interesting menu

Dined on April 9, 2015

My wife and I arrived and were seated at a front window table. We started off by sharing a beet salad. It was fresh, crisp, and had a tangy dressing. Excellent. The special fish that evening was trigger fish, and as usual, it was prepared perfect. My wife had the fish special, and I had the rosemary chicken. The chicken was roasted and served on a bed of spinach and garlic mashed potatoes. The chicken was flavorful and moist and the greens and potatoes fine. The fish was breaded and came with asparagus and potato salad. Both meals were artfully presented and tasted great. We have visited the restaurant many times and have yet to be disappointed in a meal here. Enjoy the local flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.