About Ashten's

140 East New Hamphsire Avenue
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Come see us at Ashten's Restaurant where the food is exceptional, the service will spoil you and the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. From evening casual to that little black dress event, from a special celebration to a "get together" with friends..we think you'll find Ashten's "comfortably elegant". We want to give you global tastes with a "Southern Spin", we think that's what makes us unique.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 246-3510

Website:
http://www.ashtens.com/

Executive Chef:
Ashley Van Camp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Restaurant Photos

 Butternut Squash & Paradox Farm Goat Cheese Ravioli With Crimini Mushrooms, Candied Pecans, Crispy Ham & Sage Caramel Sauce
Dinner Salad With Crab Cake
Grilled Romaine Salad
Braised Beef Ravioli
Hawaiian White Fish
Ravioli
The Foundation Burger
Pc Sliders
The Pine State Burger
Nc Style Bbq Pork Pizza
Cotswald Burger
Salt And Pepper Soft Shell Crab
Chocolate Chip Dumplins With Local Ice Cream.
Pine State Burger
Creamy Tomato Soup

Ashten's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

special occasion (27)
fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (24)
See All
romantic (23)
good for groups (12)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
433 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food and great service! I love t ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Amazing food and great service! I love that the food is all local, sustainable, and the meat is all humanely raised.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent and.our w ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent and.our waitress was superb !

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service and atmosphere was great. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Definable recommend this restaurant. We received great service from Vicki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite charming and the service and food ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Quite charming and the service and food was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice cozy place. Excellent food. The P ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Nice cozy place. Excellent food. The Pub side dining is a little more casual, and with a full menu. We will definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I thought the food was absolutely delici ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service but the table near ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food and service but the table near that window alcove was cramped big time. Very uncomfortable getting in and out of there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on the quiet side which we appre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were on the quiet side which we appreciated - i think the bar is more lively. our server was friendly and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our second time dining at Ashten's and it was just as amazing as the first time. We sat in the pub area the first time at a sofa and it was cozy and romantic for our date night. This time we sat in the formal dining area because we had family in town. We had the same server as the first time, and she was amazing. Professional and welcoming! We tried the squash blossoms that were the special of the day, and they were the best I have ever have. Coming from Chicago, we are used to (got spoiled) great restaurants, and Ashten's has become our new favorite since moving to North Carolina. We can't wait to go back and try the new menu items!

One note-They do change their menu frequently, as they are essentially a farm to table restaurant and that makes it challenging to maintain product. I was sad they didn't have the same lamb preparation (with shishito peppers and cippolini onions-it was the best lamb dish I have ever had) but that just gave me the opportunity to try other items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Satisfied Customer

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

When my wife and I want a romantic setting with great food and wine we go to Ashten's. It has been one of our favorites for 20 plus years. They are always so customer oriented and their food is changed periodically to add new items grown by local producers. Excellent!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Wonderful find. The Clara Mae biscuits (with butter and molasses ) are a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ashten's is amazing!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were in from Dallas, Texas for a wedding and stumbled upon Ashten's. My fiancée and I both agree that it was one of our favorite meals we have ever had!

Cocktails were amazing - had the prossecco with st. germain! Best shrimp and grits I've ever had and let me tell you I try shrimp and grits whenever I see it on the menu. Split the strip steak and it was amazing. So well cooked and melted in my mouth. Got the cookie dough molten cake (or something like that) for dessert and it was the perfect ending.

Also, one thing that I really liked is the wine prices were not overly marked up. They were very well priced.

GO TO ASHTEN'S! You won't regret! Contemplating getting on a plane this weekend to go back :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Locally grown

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Ashtens serves locally sourced product succinctly prepared. The menu is diverse and the cost

is reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word describes our dining experience ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

One word describes our dining experience: Disappointed.

We had been to Ashten's 6 years ago, and had a great time. We were really looking forward to our return visit. However, it was the exact opposite. Starting with our server, she seemed uninterested in serving us, just stopping by on her way to wait on another table near us. We had to ask if there were any specials, which there were, and I only knew to ask, as I had heard her mention them to another table.

Then, there was the service. Ordered a cheese plate for an appetizer, and it took over 30 minutes to get it. And finally, the food. The cheese plate was a disappointment, largest item on it was a horseradish mustard...and it was only served with 2 long crackers... Our main entrees also tasted very bland, and we had to wait quite a while for them. The only thing that came fast was the check.

So, unfortunately, we will not be back and would not recommend this restaurant to our friends who are going to Pinehurst this summer. There are too many other restaurants in the Pinehurst area to try.

Very Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, beautiful space

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to Ashten's to celebrate our 10-year anniversary. They had a nice variety of local and NC craft beers. I had a local IPA and my husband had a delicious Carolina Mule. We shared the whipped whole milk ricotta. It was great, but could have used more grilled bread so we could eat every last drop of the cheese. For dinner, I had the barbecue cheddar burger and it was perfect. My husband had the chicken porchetta. He said it was good, but not as intensely flavored as he had expected. I just had a small bite of the grits and I thought it tasted great. We didn't have enough room for dessert. Overall, this was a perfect night out for our special occasion. Food was delicious, service was prompt, and the ambiance was romantic. If we come back to the area, we definitely plan to eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ashten's was very good but not outstandi ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Ashten's was very good but not outstanding. We would go and will go there again as the food is very good. It is not a spacious place and is a little cramped.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Don't like the new chef or his menu...co ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Don't like the new chef or his menu...compared to the past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went for our anniversary and were giv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We went for our anniversary and were given a nice table in the window and a note on the table so from the very beginning it was special. Our waitress was very helpful and service was terrific. The food was excellent. We certainly would recommend Ashten's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on Mother's Day - unfortunately the ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's Day - unfortunately they were under-staffed so service was a little slow. Example, Got some of their excellent biscuits - warm with butter and Molasses. Was offered some additional biscuits which came cold with rock-hard butter.

I had the Rack of Lamb, my wife had the Tuna special. The Tuna was excellent, as was the Lamb but the Lamb did not come with a sharp knife (steak type) and I had to flag down the server to get one. All told, we spent about 2.5 hours (long periods with no service).

I still enjoyed the meal, but it seemed that our server was totally overwhelmed. Will have to try again on a "not-so-special" occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A very good spot.

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our second most favorite restaurant in the area, and the other is not open Sundays. So when an occasion falls on Sunday, Ashten's is it, and we sometimes go there Fridays and Saturdays. Very creative salads, entrees and cocktails, using local sources where possible and changing seasonally. Two separate menus, one for the bar area and one for the restaurant, but can order from either menu. Some entrees are too salty for us, but not so much as to deter us from going.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Dining

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Quaint with a lot of additional rooms, so everything feels very personable and almost exclusive. We had the cheese plate and reuben eggrolls for an app. Both wonderful, but the eggrolls were AMAZING. I had a greens salad and would 100% get it again. Mushroom tostada was ordered and it was a full meal. Burgers are excellent. They have rooms for parties that are too fantastic. Great for a party!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always nice to enjoy local and sustainab ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Always nice to enjoy local and sustainable, etc food that is also excellent quality. Whipped ricotta on grilled bread appetizer was a bit bland but nice texture, however everything else was very good to excellent. Had the pork shoulder confit, my wife had Scottish salmon, kale salads were excellent as well, and lemon creme brulee and sorbets were a fantastic way to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu and flavor were lacking

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I've eaten at all sorts of restaurants all over the country and even internationally. The menu didn't have much that sounded appealing and the food didn't have much flavor.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Dinner on St Pats

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Love the variety of special drinks for $10. Love the "use local" foods. Waite staff very attentive & friendly. Food a little pricey: salad, soup, entree all separate prices. Kale salad: too much kale. Would be better with a blend of kale & greens. Easy on-line reservation option. Suggestion: open for lunch / more dining hours. Will return

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

City Like Dining in Southern Pines!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I recently moved to the Fayetteville/Spring Lake area from Denver and were truly missing our date nights at local, eclectic, farm fresh, chef-led restaurants. We thought we would have to drive to Raleigh or Charlotte to experience this but honestly, Ashten's was BETTER than any of the establishments we have been to in either larger city in NC! The food was excellent, service top notch and I loved the drink menu variety and ambiance. We care deeply about responsibly sourced, organic, local food and had yet to find a restaurant that places the same value on their food - until Ashten's. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ashton's is a go to restaurant for us.

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Good food and service, nice atmosphere! A great in town go-to place with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is phenomenal! Small but well p ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The food is phenomenal! Small but well picked winelist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific!

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Ashten's can be depended on to deliver consistently good food, reasonably priced, with the best servers anywhere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's love

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a delightful dinner for Valentines last night. They had a special menu in addition to the full regular menu. We had a leisurely dinner which was a nice surprise since a lot of restaurants rush you in and out, especially on special occasions. Everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Food

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

food was excellant, service was great......too dark downstairs..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

best pub around

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

I was skeptical about this place, I found it on google. Turned out to be an overall excellent experience, great food and great drinks for a dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pork chop was amazing; crispy duck was a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Pork chop was amazing; crispy duck was a little too dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

One of the best in Southern Pines

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The whole experience from start to finish was great. Always enjoyed having dinner at Ashtens.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They changed chefs and menu. Took off al ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

They changed chefs and menu. Took off all of our favorites. Bacon is awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Birthday Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We like to go to Ashten's for special occasions. Once we booked our reservation they called me to see if there was something special they could do for our joint birthday celebration. We ordered a cake and they delivered after dinner - with just the right amount of fanfare. Dinner was good and the cake was delicious. They seated us at our favorite table in the window. It was a good experience. Would like to see a bit more variety in the wine by the glass list

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

a great choice

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Party of six including and active two-year old were graciously accommodated. Shared appetizers were all tasty. For a Sunday night, the place was hopping.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My husband's in the military and current ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

My husband's in the military and currently deployed. He emailed Ashtens (knowing it's my favorite restaurant) and asked if they could mail my son (who's 6yrs old) a gift certificate. My son had wanted to take me out on a "date".

Our son received the gift certificate in the mail and was totally excited. We were able to use the gift certificate for 2 meals. Each time, we were met with great staff and had a great experience.

I love this restaurant. I have sat in the main dining room, the pub, and also the private dining area. Each time, I have had a great dining experience. The food is incredible.

But I want to point out that they go above and beyond. Not only did they email my husband back the first time (saying that the gift certificate in the mail), they emailed him after we went a 2nd time, saying that my son and I had another "date".

You can't get this kind of attention to detail at a chain restaurant. We will always be back. And hopefully next time with my husband.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed it immensely! Would recommen ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

We enjoyed it immensely! Would recommend for those in the area, a must for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great place to go!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

My wife and I have always thought of Ashten's as a special place to go. The bar area is especially warm and inviting. The food selection is always changing which is great in itself.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Don't even bother trying another place in SP

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Ashten's has been the go-to place for my wife and me for years. Their specials are what sets them apart from other places, and the fact that they always have fresh, local ingredients, to include their meat, fish, vegetables, etc. They are set up to pair whatever drink you want with your meal, although I normally just get draft beer. Perhaps the nicest thing about this place is its genuine charm, ranging from its location to the tasteful decor inside. All things considered, the price is more than reasonable for the absolute quality of food you get. There are not many places that I would fast for all day long.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.