Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

About Ashten's

Come see us at Ashten's Restaurant where the food is exceptional, the service will spoil you and the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. From evening casual to that little black dress event, from a special celebration to a "get together" with friends..we think you'll find Ashten's "comfortably elegant". We want to give you global tastes with a "Southern Spin", we think that's what makes us unique.

140 East New Hamphsire Avenue
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 246-3510

Website:
http://www.ashtens.com/

Executive Chef:
Ashley Van Camp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Ashten's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Cozy (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (15)
Casual (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Organic (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vegan (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nice restaurant in Southern Pines. We went for my husband's birthday. We all wound up eating from the bar menu, although the food on the dining room menu looked really good. I think I would return and go right to the bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Chicken is very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Unrushed, exceptional service. Everyone had an excellent meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Outstanding food and service - will definitely visit again!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I went with my boyfriend and his parents to celebrate his dad's 65th and we had a wonderful meal and genuinely fun time in the pub room.

Valerie was on point with service and was embracing the goofiness of my group.

It was a special night and our favorite meal in Southern Pines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My husband and I had a great evening. He had a hamburger which he said was terrific, I had ahi tuna which was cooked perfectly. Our waitress was very attentive and friendly. The restaurant is very cozy and has conventional table seating as well as small couches and chairs for dinner seating as well. A bit unusual but it works.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fresh food in a comfortable setting. Excellent menu, with good seafood choices. Try the avocado and shrimp toast appetizer!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great farm to table restaurant. Food was good. Waitress very attentive.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Ashten's has a great menu, presentation is great and the food is awesome. But $14 for an app that consists of a piece of toast with some salad and 4 pieces of shrimp is not cool. Should only be about $6 or $7 at most.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I took my wife here for our anniversary and after leaving we immediately said, "why haven't we gone here before." A cute little spot in downtown Southern Pines, with great food, big wine list, local beers, and amazing service. We will be going back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great Beer, Cozy, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Unexpectedly wonderful! Will definitely come back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

If you want a typical meal with an atypical twist, great place. Pork chop on menu is not your average chop. Its the fresh ingredients in the glaze, sauce spices that make it pop!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Outstanding environment and service. Samantha was a very nice host and provided great knowledge of the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always a wonderful meal, never disappointed! Service is remarkable always.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Some food was really good. Some was ok. My duck was a little dry and over cooked. I asked for my rice to be in a separate dish as my wife is allergic to nuts. It came on the same plate as my duck. My and I couldn't share as there were peanuts on my plate. We ordered a burger to be cooked medium and it was well done.
Server was excellent but he had a whole room to serve so service was slow. He also seemed to spend more time at 1 table than rhe rest.
Drinks were awesome but a little slow getting to our table.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Ashten's was a great find. The food was superb and the wine list was good too. We had a business dinner where everyone could hear each other and everyone was impressed with the creativity and quality of the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great vegetarian selections and an emphasis on locally sourced ingredients. An absolute winner ever single time!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very nice and cozy dining atmosphere, solid wine list and a very good menu selection and food. Went here for a dinner date, service was good but the background noise was a little distracting at times, my hearing is also not the best either. Overall, Ashten's is very good and it is one of my favorites places to dine and relax in Southern Pines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Good food. Restaurant was super hot inside though and did take over an hour for entrees. Otherwise food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We are in the private room downstairs and it was perfect for a friends gathering
Server had great interaction but a bit slow getting our meal.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always predictably perfect. The food was delicious. The staff was attentive. The experience was great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was our first visit to Southern Pines.
We chose this restaurant based on their menu listed on open table and we weren't disappointed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A delightful dining experience. The mushroom lasagna was a wonderful savory dish. The double chocolate cake with caramel filling was sinful.

The service was pleasant and efficient in a leisurely dining atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We began with the meat and cheese platter. We ordered the small platter which was PLENTY for two people. I had the dinner salad entree with an added crab cake. The salad greens were local fresh, and delicious, but the crab cake was almost "hushpuppy-like." If I had a chance to order again, I would choose the chicken or salmon. My dinner date ordered the duck and fried rice and was very pleased.

My somewhat low rating reflects how cramped and crowded the tables are. It was difficult to maneuver around the restaurant and the close proximity of tables made dinner conversation less than discreet.

Ashten's is okay for a casual dinner, but is priced more expensively than one would expect to pay for such. For the prices, I would prefer more creative menu offerings and more comfortable seating/table arrangements.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was my second time at Ashten's the food was amazing but the service was incredibly slow . I recommend the food but not the overall experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent Service; the Chef supports local farmers and the choices were amazing! The cocktail menu was superb! The desserts were local peaches with homemade biscuits with a divine caramel sauce
The entire 3 hour dinner was truly an experience

Daniel

Tags: Disabled Access, Organic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

2 had the special of the evening and 2 ordered off memo. All meals were excellent. This is our 4 or 5 time there and never had a bad experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Never disappointing, very fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We hadn't eaten at Ashton's recently so we were surprised to find a quality menus with numerous fresh local options. The food was quite good. Ashton's is one of only a few great choices for dinner in the area

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Ashten's is always a treat and never disappoints! The local flavor, thoughtful blend of fresh ingredients and personable staff always send us away well fed. Oh, and craft cocktails you'll love.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very good standard menu items and chef created something special for my wife who is vegan. She raved about the quality and taste. Chef did not rely on just doing a veggie plate like so many places do for vegans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is a great spot in Southern Pines. I cannot say enough good things about this gem. It is definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We love this place for special occasions. Always serving something new, local, and delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Cocktails are fabulous and the appetizers are delicious and prepared with just as much care as the entree.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My favorite local restaurant. Can eat reasonably priced out extravagant! Sage room for dessert!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent as always! We love coming here. Great food, wonderful service and atmosphere. We will be back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband and I went out for our Anniversary and it was wonderful! The ambiance here is fantastic and very versatile. I was here the night before with a girlfriend and had the Stilton burger and it was amazing, then had the Iron skillet steak for our Anniversary meal and it was incredible! Make reservations, they don't usually have a table for walk-ins until later in the evening.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.