About Ashten's

140 East New Hamphsire Avenue
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Come see us at Ashten's Restaurant where the food is exceptional, the service will spoil you and the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. From evening casual to that little black dress event, from a special celebration to a "get together" with friends..we think you'll find Ashten's "comfortably elegant". We want to give you global tastes with a "Southern Spin", we think that's what makes us unique.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 246-3510

Website:
http://www.ashtens.com/

Executive Chef:
Ashley Van Camp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Romaine Salad
Dinner Salad With Crab Cake
 Butternut Squash & Paradox Farm Goat Cheese Ravioli With Crimini Mushrooms, Candied Pecans, Crispy Ham & Sage Caramel Sauce
Nc Style Bbq Pork Pizza
Cotswald Burger
The Pine State Burger
Braised Beef Ravioli
Ravioli
Pc Sliders
Hawaiian White Fish
The Foundation Burger
Salt And Pepper Soft Shell Crab
Chocolate Chip Dumplins With Local Ice Cream.
Creamy Tomato Soup
Pine State Burger

Ashten's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Pinehurst
Most Booked
Pinehurst
Best Restaurants in Southern Pines / Pinehurst ›

Neighborhood Gem (25)
Romantic (24)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been coming here regularly for t ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have been coming here regularly for the past 3 years. Ashten's offers consistently very good food from a menu that changes seasonally. Most of their ingredients are sourced locally and from sustainable producers and there are usally two or three specials so we never get bored. The wine list has something for everyone and the staff are uniformly friendly and knowledgeable. We prefer sitting in "The Pub" downstairs but the menu is the same as upstairs.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed. Service was slow and ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very disappointed. Service was slow and food was marginal...ordered the salad with grilled chicken. The salad was bland with dried out chicken that still had the skin on it...the burgers were fine but not much flavor...the fries were the best part of the meal. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was superb. We had our 2 year ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was superb. We had our 2 year old with us. The waitress made us very comfortable with our young squirmy little girl. My wife stated that the chicken disk was the best ever. I will certainly return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu at Ashton's s rather limited, a ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The menu at Ashton's s rather limited, and includes some unusual ingredients. As I enjoy relatively simple foods, many entrees did not appeal to me. Why are chefs so enamored with goat cheese and bacon, for example? I finally settled on a bison burger, no goat cheese, please, which was well prepared and tasty. I applaud their support of local farmers. Prices are on the high side for the servings. Salads are ala carte. Entrees include one side, so if you choose a potato dish, your green vegetable or salad must added to the cost. Great horseradish mashed potatoes!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Specializes in local farm-to-table ingre ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Specializes in local farm-to-table ingredients that, naturally, change from season to season. Ate solo while in town for an event. Restaurant accepted my reservation for one, and wait staff was extremely cordial and attentive. Kitchen staff was a bit slow in preparing order, but no complaints about food when it arrived. Wait may have been due to a larger-than-expected Sunday evening crowd. A well-selected wine list, although a bit thin on wine-by-the-glass selections. I would have no hesitation in returning next time I'm in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and cocktails

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server did a great job explaining al ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our server did a great job explaining all of the entres on their menu. The food was excellent and was made using local ingredients. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fish special that evening was delici ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The fish special that evening was delicious, the regular menu strip steak was just okay, the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed celebrating our 19th wedding ann ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Enjoyed celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary at Ashtons. The wine special was top notch and every bite we are was delish!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative farm to table menu. The downsta ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Creative farm to table menu. The downstairs is a large bar with a more casual menu that is available upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food cooks to perfection. I h ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food cooks to perfection. I had NY stip which as superb and my husband had rack of lamb, great sauce. Caitlin our server was attentive but not overbearing. The veggie special of carrots was wonderful and order the biscuits thy are very special. Can b romantic or there is a bar/ couch ara to sit and visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu change this past spring was not ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The menu change this past spring was not successful. We had a fig appetizer that served fairly tasteless figs on top of large, thick slices of bread. The flavor blend was not successful. The fried livers and bread and butter pickles was OK. Heavy, overdone breading. The taste of the fried pickles was delightful. Hamburger was good. French fries seemed thicker than they have been in the past and not as good. All in all , a fairly mediocre experience. This used to be our "go-to" place, but I think we'll be changing that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a nice evening! Order the Reuben ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a nice evening! Order the Reuben egg rolls and whatever their fish special is for the evening. It's always amazing. (So is everything else though!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner with friends on a ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner with friends on a Saturday night. Our reservations were at 7:45 and my only complaint was that they were already out of a couple of the specials but my final selection was tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, very attentive. Foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service, very attentive. Food was delicious. We both had the special, Grouper, and was very pleased. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate at Ashten's several years ago and th ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ate at Ashten's several years ago and the food was amazing. Went back last week for our anniversary and it was not good. Options didn't sound great, so my husband had a burger. It came with fries. The burger meat was good but the bun was dry. The fries seemed to have been sitting a while, maybe under a heat lamp, and weren't worth the calories. I ordered fish and chips. It was ok, hot, but not much flavor. The chips (fries) were same as my husband's. We were looking forward to having another wonderful meal at Ashten's, but were so disappointed. Unfortunately, we can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food and service... As always! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and service... As always! One of our favorite places in SP!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, charming setting. Delicious food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely, charming setting. Delicious food, wine, cocktails and excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room temp was too warm, although it ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The room temp was too warm, although it was one of the hottest days outside of the year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and great service! I love t ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Amazing food and great service! I love that the food is all local, sustainable, and the meat is all humanely raised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent and.our w ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent and.our waitress was superb !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service and atmosphere was great. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Definable recommend this restaurant. We received great service from Vicki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite charming and the service and food ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Quite charming and the service and food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice cozy place. Excellent food. The P ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Nice cozy place. Excellent food. The Pub side dining is a little more casual, and with a full menu. We will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I thought the food was absolutely delici ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service but the table near ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food and service but the table near that window alcove was cramped big time. Very uncomfortable getting in and out of there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on the quiet side which we appre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were on the quiet side which we appreciated - i think the bar is more lively. our server was friendly and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our second time dining at Ashten's and it was just as amazing as the first time. We sat in the pub area the first time at a sofa and it was cozy and romantic for our date night. This time we sat in the formal dining area because we had family in town. We had the same server as the first time, and she was amazing. Professional and welcoming! We tried the squash blossoms that were the special of the day, and they were the best I have ever have. Coming from Chicago, we are used to (got spoiled) great restaurants, and Ashten's has become our new favorite since moving to North Carolina. We can't wait to go back and try the new menu items!

One note-They do change their menu frequently, as they are essentially a farm to table restaurant and that makes it challenging to maintain product. I was sad they didn't have the same lamb preparation (with shishito peppers and cippolini onions-it was the best lamb dish I have ever had) but that just gave me the opportunity to try other items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Satisfied Customer

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

When my wife and I want a romantic setting with great food and wine we go to Ashten's. It has been one of our favorites for 20 plus years. They are always so customer oriented and their food is changed periodically to add new items grown by local producers. Excellent!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Experience

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Wonderful find. The Clara Mae biscuits (with butter and molasses ) are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ashten's is amazing!

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were in from Dallas, Texas for a wedding and stumbled upon Ashten's. My fiancée and I both agree that it was one of our favorite meals we have ever had!

Cocktails were amazing - had the prossecco with st. germain! Best shrimp and grits I've ever had and let me tell you I try shrimp and grits whenever I see it on the menu. Split the strip steak and it was amazing. So well cooked and melted in my mouth. Got the cookie dough molten cake (or something like that) for dessert and it was the perfect ending.

Also, one thing that I really liked is the wine prices were not overly marked up. They were very well priced.

GO TO ASHTEN'S! You won't regret! Contemplating getting on a plane this weekend to go back :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Locally grown

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Ashtens serves locally sourced product succinctly prepared. The menu is diverse and the cost

is reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word describes our dining experience ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

One word describes our dining experience: Disappointed.

We had been to Ashten's 6 years ago, and had a great time. We were really looking forward to our return visit. However, it was the exact opposite. Starting with our server, she seemed uninterested in serving us, just stopping by on her way to wait on another table near us. We had to ask if there were any specials, which there were, and I only knew to ask, as I had heard her mention them to another table.

Then, there was the service. Ordered a cheese plate for an appetizer, and it took over 30 minutes to get it. And finally, the food. The cheese plate was a disappointment, largest item on it was a horseradish mustard...and it was only served with 2 long crackers... Our main entrees also tasted very bland, and we had to wait quite a while for them. The only thing that came fast was the check.

So, unfortunately, we will not be back and would not recommend this restaurant to our friends who are going to Pinehurst this summer. There are too many other restaurants in the Pinehurst area to try.

Very Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food, beautiful space

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We went to Ashten's to celebrate our 10-year anniversary. They had a nice variety of local and NC craft beers. I had a local IPA and my husband had a delicious Carolina Mule. We shared the whipped whole milk ricotta. It was great, but could have used more grilled bread so we could eat every last drop of the cheese. For dinner, I had the barbecue cheddar burger and it was perfect. My husband had the chicken porchetta. He said it was good, but not as intensely flavored as he had expected. I just had a small bite of the grits and I thought it tasted great. We didn't have enough room for dessert. Overall, this was a perfect night out for our special occasion. Food was delicious, service was prompt, and the ambiance was romantic. If we come back to the area, we definitely plan to eat here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ashten's was very good but not outstandi ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Ashten's was very good but not outstanding. We would go and will go there again as the food is very good. It is not a spacious place and is a little cramped.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Don't like the new chef or his menu...co ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Don't like the new chef or his menu...compared to the past

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We went for our anniversary and were giv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We went for our anniversary and were given a nice table in the window and a note on the table so from the very beginning it was special. Our waitress was very helpful and service was terrific. The food was excellent. We certainly would recommend Ashten's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on Mother's Day - unfortunately the ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went on Mother's Day - unfortunately they were under-staffed so service was a little slow. Example, Got some of their excellent biscuits - warm with butter and Molasses. Was offered some additional biscuits which came cold with rock-hard butter.

I had the Rack of Lamb, my wife had the Tuna special. The Tuna was excellent, as was the Lamb but the Lamb did not come with a sharp knife (steak type) and I had to flag down the server to get one. All told, we spent about 2.5 hours (long periods with no service).

I still enjoyed the meal, but it seemed that our server was totally overwhelmed. Will have to try again on a "not-so-special" occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A very good spot.

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our second most favorite restaurant in the area, and the other is not open Sundays. So when an occasion falls on Sunday, Ashten's is it, and we sometimes go there Fridays and Saturdays. Very creative salads, entrees and cocktails, using local sources where possible and changing seasonally. Two separate menus, one for the bar area and one for the restaurant, but can order from either menu. Some entrees are too salty for us, but not so much as to deter us from going.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely Dining

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Quaint with a lot of additional rooms, so everything feels very personable and almost exclusive. We had the cheese plate and reuben eggrolls for an app. Both wonderful, but the eggrolls were AMAZING. I had a greens salad and would 100% get it again. Mushroom tostada was ordered and it was a full meal. Burgers are excellent. They have rooms for parties that are too fantastic. Great for a party!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.