Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

About Ashten's

Come see us at Ashten's Restaurant where the food is exceptional, the service will spoil you and the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. From evening casual to that little black dress event, from a special celebration to a "get together" with friends..we think you'll find Ashten's "comfortably elegant". We want to give you global tastes with a "Southern Spin", we think that's what makes us unique.

140 East New Hamphsire Avenue
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 246-3510

Website:
http://www.ashtens.com/

Executive Chef:
Ashley Van Camp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Ashten's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Cozy (19)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Casual (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Seasonal (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vegan (5)
Authentic (5)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
555 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Ashten's was a great find. The food was superb and the wine list was good too. We had a business dinner where everyone could hear each other and everyone was impressed with the creativity and quality of the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great vegetarian selections and an emphasis on locally sourced ingredients. An absolute winner ever single time!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very nice and cozy dining atmosphere, solid wine list and a very good menu selection and food. Went here for a dinner date, service was good but the background noise was a little distracting at times, my hearing is also not the best either. Overall, Ashten's is very good and it is one of my favorites places to dine and relax in Southern Pines.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Good food. Restaurant was super hot inside though and did take over an hour for entrees. Otherwise food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We are in the private room downstairs and it was perfect for a friends gathering
Server had great interaction but a bit slow getting our meal.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Always predictably perfect. The food was delicious. The staff was attentive. The experience was great.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This was our first visit to Southern Pines.
We chose this restaurant based on their menu listed on open table and we weren't disappointed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A delightful dining experience. The mushroom lasagna was a wonderful savory dish. The double chocolate cake with caramel filling was sinful.

The service was pleasant and efficient in a leisurely dining atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We began with the meat and cheese platter. We ordered the small platter which was PLENTY for two people. I had the dinner salad entree with an added crab cake. The salad greens were local fresh, and delicious, but the crab cake was almost "hushpuppy-like." If I had a chance to order again, I would choose the chicken or salmon. My dinner date ordered the duck and fried rice and was very pleased.

My somewhat low rating reflects how cramped and crowded the tables are. It was difficult to maneuver around the restaurant and the close proximity of tables made dinner conversation less than discreet.

Ashten's is okay for a casual dinner, but is priced more expensively than one would expect to pay for such. For the prices, I would prefer more creative menu offerings and more comfortable seating/table arrangements.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This was my second time at Ashten's the food was amazing but the service was incredibly slow . I recommend the food but not the overall experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Excellent Service; the Chef supports local farmers and the choices were amazing! The cocktail menu was superb! The desserts were local peaches with homemade biscuits with a divine caramel sauce
The entire 3 hour dinner was truly an experience

Daniel

Tags: Disabled Access, Organic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

2 had the special of the evening and 2 ordered off memo. All meals were excellent. This is our 4 or 5 time there and never had a bad experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Never disappointing, very fine dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We hadn't eaten at Ashton's recently so we were surprised to find a quality menus with numerous fresh local options. The food was quite good. Ashton's is one of only a few great choices for dinner in the area

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Ashten's is always a treat and never disappoints! The local flavor, thoughtful blend of fresh ingredients and personable staff always send us away well fed. Oh, and craft cocktails you'll love.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Very good standard menu items and chef created something special for my wife who is vegan. She raved about the quality and taste. Chef did not rely on just doing a veggie plate like so many places do for vegans.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This is a great spot in Southern Pines. I cannot say enough good things about this gem. It is definitely worth visiting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We love this place for special occasions. Always serving something new, local, and delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Cocktails are fabulous and the appetizers are delicious and prepared with just as much care as the entree.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My favorite local restaurant. Can eat reasonably priced out extravagant! Sage room for dessert!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent as always! We love coming here. Great food, wonderful service and atmosphere. We will be back soon!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My husband and I went out for our Anniversary and it was wonderful! The ambiance here is fantastic and very versatile. I was here the night before with a girlfriend and had the Stilton burger and it was amazing, then had the Iron skillet steak for our Anniversary meal and it was incredible! Make reservations, they don't usually have a table for walk-ins until later in the evening.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Organic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great service. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was our second visit to Ashten's when we are in the area. It was quite disappointing considering how much we enjoyed the first time which was a year prior. The salads and desserts were good but the entrees (tuna and soft shell crabs) were done very poorly. My Husband had the tuna and only ate a bite or two as it tasted off. The soft shell crabs were too heavily breaded and the mashed potatoes on the side were cold. Service was SLOW and not super efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food and great service!! We always visit when we are therefor a golf weekend! Always!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved the vegan options! Very innovative. Husband loved his birthday dinner. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Vegan, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service -- beyond excellent. Ambience -- great. Chicken -- over breaded. Soup -- tepid and tasteless. Crab cake -- over breaded and too small.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We eat at Ashten's every time we visit Pinehurst/Southern Pines from Chicago. We have brought many friends here and very much enjoy the ingredients used from local farms. Our server Valerie is a gem and further enhances the experience with her friendliness and humor!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was outstanding in taste and presentation ! Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The atmosphere and service here are first rate. Dark, plush, cozy, friendly. Food varies from outstanding to good depending on the night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was such a nice experience. Our first time here and the waitress was very pleasant and informative. Our dinners were delicious and the presentation was very appealing. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Very nice. Suggest eating in the pub if the front tables are loud. Coriander ice cream is devine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A great experience at Ashtens once again! My family loves the clever use of local ingredients and there is always interesting and yummy vegetables.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was amazing. Waitress was a little overwhelmed with the large party next to us. We were ready to leave 20minutes befor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Have been here several times while in town for horse shows and it never disappoints! Love this restaurant! Great dining rooms with various seating/atmospheres and good service. Food is outstanding with wonderful variety of seasonal choices and super wine list. It is a favorite, for sure, and will return many times!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Very good food and service is the norm. One can get attached to an item, but they update the menu often, so that favorite item might disappear. It can be loud in one section, if one is seated next to a large or boisterous table, just like most restaurants. The ambiance if varied (depends on the room) and every room is good in its own right.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The owner is back in the kitchen, the menu has changed, so it's time to go back if you haven't been in a while! The baba ganoush on the toasted naan bread - a new item - was excellent (my 1st). Perfect for 2 if you're also having entrees. Husband had the duck - a not-new item - and while it was sweet for me, he loved it. I had the tuna - a new item - and it was terrific (maybe a little too much panko so I scraped it off toward the end). Our server (a guy; I'm not good with names) was excellent too. I know they have brought back the portobello fries among other things so ask your server what's new.
We will go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent location for a nice dinner with friends. Portion size is perfect and the prompt service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Ashton's. By far our favorite place for dinner in the Sandhills area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.