About Ashten's

140 East New Hamphsire Avenue
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Come see us at Ashten's Restaurant where the food is exceptional, the service will spoil you and the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. From evening casual to that little black dress event, from a special celebration to a "get together" with friends..we think you'll find Ashten's "comfortably elegant". We want to give you global tastes with a "Southern Spin", we think that's what makes us unique.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 246-3510

Website:
http://www.ashtens.com/

Executive Chef:
Ashley Van Camp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Restaurant Photos

Grilled Romaine Salad - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Dinner Salad With Crab Cake - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
 Butternut Squash & Paradox Farm Goat Cheese Ravioli With Crimini Mushrooms, Candied Pecans, Crispy Ham & Sage Caramel Sauce - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Nc Style Bbq Pork Pizza - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Cotswald Burger - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
The Pine State Burger - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Braised Beef Ravioli - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Ravioli - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Pc Sliders - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Hawaiian White Fish - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
The Foundation Burger - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Salt And Pepper Soft Shell Crab - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Chocolate Chip Dumplins With Local Ice Cream. - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Creamy Tomato Soup - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC
Pine State Burger  - Ashten's, Southern Pines, NC

Ashten's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
See All
Local Ingredients (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Seasonal (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was fantastic Definitely recommend t ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 5 days ago

It was fantastic

Definitely recommend to anyone

Wonderful atmosphere and service

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a delicious and creative menu wit ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a delicious and creative menu with local ingredients, seasonally inspired. It's indeed a treat to enjoy a meal here. And they always accommodate my need for a strict gluten free diet even including excellent gluten free deserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a perfect setting for a family ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a perfect setting for a family gathering. The waiter was very attentive. The food presentation/taste and service could not have been nicer. A real treasure in Southern Pines!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Duck breast with lentils was delicious, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Duck breast with lentils was delicious, rich and flavorful.

Salted caramel chocolate cake was sinful.

Service was attentive without being intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was outstanding. Selection won ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was outstanding. Selection wonderful and everything we had tasted great. The service was also wonderful -- attentive but not intrusive. Couldn't have asked for better meal and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is creative using locally sourc ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food is creative using locally sourced products. Yummy! The ambiance is wonderful! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable experience! Atmosphere wa ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Very enjoyable experience! Atmosphere was romantic and intimate- we had a candle lit dinner in a small room with dim lighting. Our service was great but I wish the server would've asked us if it was our first time there (which it was) and gave us some info...(history/background of the restaurant, menu suggestions, etc.). We went because the food was all local, but no one ever mentioned that to us- if you pride yourself on local food by all means tell your customers about it!! It's a great thing ... I wish the menu would've been a bit more descriptive. It lists the ingredients but doesn't tell you how they are served. I expected to have 3 side items but they were served mixed together... it was good but something I would've like to have known. This is NOT a negative review and I will definitely be back- just some suggestions for improvement that maybe they can use!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on October 13, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Ashten's. I requested the window table, which I believe is the best for cozy conversation. Our dinner was outstanding and honestly in the category of the best dinners I have had. The food quality and preparation were superior. We shared a dessert, which was exquisite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Amazing as always! We loved the updated ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing as always! We loved the updated fall menu! Whipped ricotta and cheese plate to start was fantastic. For entrees, we ordered the duck and the steak and shared. Duck preparation was perfectly executed. New steak preparation has a very nice bordelaise. Cocktails and desserts where great! The Pines cocktail was really refreshing with thyme and elderflower.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Consistently good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to this area 3 times a year from ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We come to this area 3 times a year from ohio and this is our very fAvorite place ! We have always had great food and fabulous service! They do it right!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arrival we were informed that appro ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Upon arrival we were informed that approximately 25-30% of the entrees were already sold out and it wasn't even 8:00 pm. The food was good but nothing special for the price. Noticing the bread dishes on the table, we inquired and were told by the waitress that bread was not automatically delivered to the table due to so many gluten free customers. We requested bread - the regular offering was not available - and we were given a mundane substitute.

The server was perky and pleasant but our overall experience was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We have been coming here regularly for t ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have been coming here regularly for the past 3 years. Ashten's offers consistently very good food from a menu that changes seasonally. Most of their ingredients are sourced locally and from sustainable producers and there are usally two or three specials so we never get bored. The wine list has something for everyone and the staff are uniformly friendly and knowledgeable. We prefer sitting in "The Pub" downstairs but the menu is the same as upstairs.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very disappointed. Service was slow and ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very disappointed. Service was slow and food was marginal...ordered the salad with grilled chicken. The salad was bland with dried out chicken that still had the skin on it...the burgers were fine but not much flavor...the fries were the best part of the meal. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was superb. We had our 2 year ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was superb. We had our 2 year old with us. The waitress made us very comfortable with our young squirmy little girl. My wife stated that the chicken disk was the best ever. I will certainly return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu at Ashton's s rather limited, a ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on September 6, 2016

The menu at Ashton's s rather limited, and includes some unusual ingredients. As I enjoy relatively simple foods, many entrees did not appeal to me. Why are chefs so enamored with goat cheese and bacon, for example? I finally settled on a bison burger, no goat cheese, please, which was well prepared and tasty. I applaud their support of local farmers. Prices are on the high side for the servings. Salads are ala carte. Entrees include one side, so if you choose a potato dish, your green vegetable or salad must added to the cost. Great horseradish mashed potatoes!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Specializes in local farm-to-table ingre ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Specializes in local farm-to-table ingredients that, naturally, change from season to season. Ate solo while in town for an event. Restaurant accepted my reservation for one, and wait staff was extremely cordial and attentive. Kitchen staff was a bit slow in preparing order, but no complaints about food when it arrived. Wait may have been due to a larger-than-expected Sunday evening crowd. A well-selected wine list, although a bit thin on wine-by-the-glass selections. I would have no hesitation in returning next time I'm in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food and cocktails

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server did a great job explaining al ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our server did a great job explaining all of the entres on their menu. The food was excellent and was made using local ingredients. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The fish special that evening was delici ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The fish special that evening was delicious, the regular menu strip steak was just okay, the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed celebrating our 19th wedding ann ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Enjoyed celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary at Ashtons. The wine special was top notch and every bite we are was delish!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative farm to table menu. The downsta ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Creative farm to table menu. The downstairs is a large bar with a more casual menu that is available upstairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food cooks to perfection. I h ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food cooks to perfection. I had NY stip which as superb and my husband had rack of lamb, great sauce. Caitlin our server was attentive but not overbearing. The veggie special of carrots was wonderful and order the biscuits thy are very special. Can b romantic or there is a bar/ couch ara to sit and visit.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu change this past spring was not ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The menu change this past spring was not successful. We had a fig appetizer that served fairly tasteless figs on top of large, thick slices of bread. The flavor blend was not successful. The fried livers and bread and butter pickles was OK. Heavy, overdone breading. The taste of the fried pickles was delightful. Hamburger was good. French fries seemed thicker than they have been in the past and not as good. All in all , a fairly mediocre experience. This used to be our "go-to" place, but I think we'll be changing that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a nice evening! Order the Reuben ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always a nice evening! Order the Reuben egg rolls and whatever their fish special is for the evening. It's always amazing. (So is everything else though!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely dinner with friends on a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner with friends on a Saturday night. Our reservations were at 7:45 and my only complaint was that they were already out of a couple of the specials but my final selection was tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, very attentive. Foo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Excellent service, very attentive. Food was delicious. We both had the special, Grouper, and was very pleased. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate at Ashten's several years ago and th ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ate at Ashten's several years ago and the food was amazing. Went back last week for our anniversary and it was not good. Options didn't sound great, so my husband had a burger. It came with fries. The burger meat was good but the bun was dry. The fries seemed to have been sitting a while, maybe under a heat lamp, and weren't worth the calories. I ordered fish and chips. It was ok, hot, but not much flavor. The chips (fries) were same as my husband's. We were looking forward to having another wonderful meal at Ashten's, but were so disappointed. Unfortunately, we can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food and service... As always! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent food and service... As always! One of our favorite places in SP!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, charming setting. Delicious food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Lovely, charming setting. Delicious food, wine, cocktails and excellent service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The room temp was too warm, although it ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 26, 2016

The room temp was too warm, although it was one of the hottest days outside of the year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and great service! I love t ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Amazing food and great service! I love that the food is all local, sustainable, and the meat is all humanely raised.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent and.our w ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food and service was excellent and.our waitress was superb !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food, service and atmosphere was great. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere was great. Definable recommend this restaurant. We received great service from Vicki.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quite charming and the service and food ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Quite charming and the service and food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice cozy place. Excellent food. The P ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Nice cozy place. Excellent food. The Pub side dining is a little more casual, and with a full menu. We will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I thought the food was absolutely delici ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and service but the table near ...

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Good food and service but the table near that window alcove was cramped big time. Very uncomfortable getting in and out of there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on the quiet side which we appre ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were on the quiet side which we appreciated - i think the bar is more lively. our server was friendly and the food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2016

This was our second time dining at Ashten's and it was just as amazing as the first time. We sat in the pub area the first time at a sofa and it was cozy and romantic for our date night. This time we sat in the formal dining area because we had family in town. We had the same server as the first time, and she was amazing. Professional and welcoming! We tried the squash blossoms that were the special of the day, and they were the best I have ever have. Coming from Chicago, we are used to (got spoiled) great restaurants, and Ashten's has become our new favorite since moving to North Carolina. We can't wait to go back and try the new menu items!

One note-They do change their menu frequently, as they are essentially a farm to table restaurant and that makes it challenging to maintain product. I was sad they didn't have the same lamb preparation (with shishito peppers and cippolini onions-it was the best lamb dish I have ever had) but that just gave me the opportunity to try other items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.