Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.70mi
  2. Distance: 1.39mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.76mi

About Ashten's

Come see us at Ashten's Restaurant where the food is exceptional, the service will spoil you and the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. From evening casual to that little black dress event, from a special celebration to a "get together" with friends..we think you'll find Ashten's "comfortably elegant". We want to give you global tastes with a "Southern Spin", we think that's what makes us unique.

140 East New Hamphsire Avenue
Southern Pines, NC 28387
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Global, International, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 246-3510

Website:
http://www.ashtens.com/

Executive Chef:
Ashley Van Camp

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Ashten's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Cozy (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Loved the vegan options! Very innovative. Husband loved his birthday dinner. Will definitely return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Vegan, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service -- beyond excellent. Ambience -- great. Chicken -- over breaded. Soup -- tepid and tasteless. Crab cake -- over breaded and too small.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We eat at Ashten's every time we visit Pinehurst/Southern Pines from Chicago. We have brought many friends here and very much enjoy the ingredients used from local farms. Our server Valerie is a gem and further enhances the experience with her friendliness and humor!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was outstanding in taste and presentation ! Service was excellent as well.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Cozy, Healthy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The atmosphere and service here are first rate. Dark, plush, cozy, friendly. Food varies from outstanding to good depending on the night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

This was such a nice experience. Our first time here and the waitress was very pleasant and informative. Our dinners were delicious and the presentation was very appealing. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Very nice. Suggest eating in the pub if the front tables are loud. Coriander ice cream is devine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 25, 2017

A great experience at Ashtens once again! My family loves the clever use of local ingredients and there is always interesting and yummy vegetables.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was amazing. Waitress was a little overwhelmed with the large party next to us. We were ready to leave 20minutes befor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Have been here several times while in town for horse shows and it never disappoints! Love this restaurant! Great dining rooms with various seating/atmospheres and good service. Food is outstanding with wonderful variety of seasonal choices and super wine list. It is a favorite, for sure, and will return many times!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Very good food and service is the norm. One can get attached to an item, but they update the menu often, so that favorite item might disappear. It can be loud in one section, if one is seated next to a large or boisterous table, just like most restaurants. The ambiance if varied (depends on the room) and every room is good in its own right.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Private Room, Organic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The owner is back in the kitchen, the menu has changed, so it's time to go back if you haven't been in a while! The baba ganoush on the toasted naan bread - a new item - was excellent (my 1st). Perfect for 2 if you're also having entrees. Husband had the duck - a not-new item - and while it was sweet for me, he loved it. I had the tuna - a new item - and it was terrific (maybe a little too much panko so I scraped it off toward the end). Our server (a guy; I'm not good with names) was excellent too. I know they have brought back the portobello fries among other things so ask your server what's new.
We will go again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent location for a nice dinner with friends. Portion size is perfect and the prompt service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Another wonderful dinner at Ashton's. By far our favorite place for dinner in the Sandhills area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Delicious food & excellent value. A bit dark in the pub downstairs for those of us who need light to read the menu.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great place, well worth the drive...had a group birthday party there, food great, service too...and good drinks after in the pub

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The perfect place for a quiet and romantic Valentine's Day dinner. Great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice ambiance for nice date dinner! Would recommend to my friends for memorable cozy dinner

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was perfect! We were seated immediately, the waitress was very friendly and accommodating. And the food was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Warm and welcoming ambiance for a romantic evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was fantastic. Worth coming back for. Decor needs major upgrade.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Everything was delicious, from the Ashtini to the warm chocolate chip cookie, and everything in between. We had the Golden Tile Fish special, and the lamb special. Both were out of this world.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Private room, food excllent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The Open Table menu was not the same as when we got to the restaurant (as it is farm to table) however it did NOT disappoint! All 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the salads are superb! Our waitress did not hover, yet was always there at the right time to refill our beers/cocktails. Desserts were fabulous and although the small tables were a bit close to others (and difficult to hear at times) it was a lovely place and we'd recommend other to try it.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Have been here numerous times and always like it. Prefer downstairs- not as formal but exact same menus. They've changed the menu so some dishes are gone (e.g. Duck) while others have been added (different salmon, steaks, soups, etc).
I got the new salmon and it was great but appeared to be in a beefy-type broth. As it cooled, whatever the broth was, it got stronger so I pushed the fish out of it. Next time I'll ask for less broth b/c when it was hot it was good. Partner got the new steak and loved it (tho I thought it was tough).
They are a farm-to-table restaurant so fresh and properly raised counts really high, and I applaud them for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I'm not in love with the changes being made to the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a wonderful atmosphere and ambiance. Appetizer we got was burned and extremely greasy though. (Rueben egg rolls) I have had it before and it is typically not like that. The other appetizer recommended to us was not to our taste, beef potstickers, they were overly sauced to cover to charred flavor. No one ever really checked in on us except to take the plates away and bring the egg rolls we got to go.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great, but we thought we were sitting in the upstairs dining room, but instead were seated in the lower level. Not too nice, but okay, since we couldn't get in anywhere else at New Year's Eve at that late date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As usual, the food was delicious and well presented, the staff was friendly and efficient, and the desserts were worth every calorie!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent food, atmosphere, service. Fresh healthy delicious and fun Its all good Thanks

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had an amazing meal. Great wait staff, superb drinks, and fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had a holiday family dinner for 8 in the small private dining room. Ashten's is my go-to restaurant in town and they never disappoint. Don't need to get specific.... our experience the other night was excellent from service, to cocktails and wine to dinner.AND Will's chocolate chip cookie dumplings made a return appearance making everyone at the table very happy.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Food was great although they had run out of a couple of items. Our server Valerie was awesome. Very knowledgeable about the menu. And she was pretty darn funny too! We will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a family dinner at Ashten's and it was amazing. The food is really unbelievable. I usually try the salmon dish wherever I go and this salmon had to be the best so far. We went early so the restaurant was quiet and perfect. A really excellent job Ashten's.......keep up the good work!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We had a pre-Christmas dinner with 2 other couples and the evening was delightful! We requested to sit downstairs and the waitress and service were very friendly.
Food was excellent. I had the chicken (local) and it was great!
We don't get there often but when we do, it's always special!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It was fantastic
Definitely recommend to anyone
Wonderful atmosphere and service

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Always a delicious and creative menu with local ingredients, seasonally inspired. It's indeed a treat to enjoy a meal here. And they always accommodate my need for a strict gluten free diet even including excellent gluten free deserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a perfect setting for a family gathering. The waiter was very attentive. The food presentation/taste and service could not have been nicer. A real treasure in Southern Pines!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Duck breast with lentils was delicious, rich and flavorful.
Salted caramel chocolate cake was sinful.
Service was attentive without being intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was outstanding. Selection wonderful and everything we had tasted great. The service was also wonderful -- attentive but not intrusive. Couldn't have asked for better meal and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.