About Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)

A tribute to Italy’s Amalfi Coast in both cuisine and décor, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point Village allows guests to dine al fresco in a roman inspired garden patio, or simply enjoy the spacious dining room, built around an open kitchen atmosphere and traditional old world wood burning oven. Arugula Ristorante successfully brings a center city style of dining to the suburbs.

Sourcing the freshest and finest local ingredients, such as organic produce, free-range chicken and grass fed beef and veal, this restaurant has created an everyday dining experience with tasty offerings that are showcased in a simple, yet delicious manner.

Seeking casual, affordable and flavorful Italian fare, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point consistently maintains the highest quality of product and success, ensuring that each guest's expectations are always met and exceeded.


2350 Butler Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BYOB
Monday-Saturday: 11am-3:30pm, 5pm-Close
Sunday: 4pm-Close

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 941-1177

Website:
http://arugulacoldpoint.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (31)
Casual (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Authentic (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fun (11)
Romantic (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Cozy (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Business Meals (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I was hearing about a "buzz" about this restaurant and I wanted to personally see what some people were talking about. From the moment we got there, the place was very loud, I guess from people drinking and talking over each other. Now onto the food. We got salads to start and the dressing was terrible, actually too tart and the pears in the salad were not ripe, so the bitterness and the sweet did not exist. My girlfriend got the veal, I thought it was ok as the crabmeat on top of the entree was nice sized, but she said it was too much butter/ cream and the veal was not thin enough. I got the linguine pescatore, actually asked for Gluten -Free Pasta, I thought my dish was ok, the seafood in the pesacatore dish was good, I liked the broth it was in, but I would not feel inclined to come back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely amazing dinner! The staff is very friendly, and the food is great. I've already started making multiple plans to come back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

The eggplant appetizer was amazing. A little loud and waited a while between the appetizer and main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Good Italian food. First courses and salads are very substantial -- you may want to order for the table and split up (or take home) if ordering a main course. Recommend Vitello ala Arugula.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and very friendly service - unfortunately we waited almost 30 minutes for our table. It appeared as though numerous other parties had to wait as well. However, the two hostesses were more than friendly and understanding - opening the byob wines for waiting parties and serving bruschetta. Food was great. Waiter was great. Unfortunately the waiting factor was a kill joy. Granted it was a Saturday night at 8:30 - but still they clearly overbooked.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Arugula has always been our go to place and have been there numerous times. Have had plenty of great meals especially outside. Unfortunately last Saturday night they were off their game, just like Villanova. We had an 8:15 reservation, but were not seated until after 9pm. To their credit, they gave us a complimentary antipasto due to the extended delay. Unfortunately I ordered the pork chop special and asked for it cooked well. In fact our waiter apologized for the food taking so long due to the pork chop. However I cut into the pork chop and it was raw. The waiter took it right back and brought it back about 15 minutes later, but after my family had finished their meals. After a few more bites, it was clear that this pork chop should never have been served, since it was very fatty and after cutting away the fat, 1/3 of the chop was gone. The waiter took it back and took it off the bill. Then the waiter asked me to order something so I wouldn't go home hungry. By this time it was after 10 for an 8:15 reservation and just asked them to pack up a small pasta dish. The dish was fine but I really didn't expect to get charged for a dish that the waiter asked me to order. Anyway I'm sure we will be back at some point and hopefully they will get back on their game again. Also they did give us a complimentary dessert too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Been there a few times now. As always the food is excellent, well prepared and comes out relatively fast regardless of if there are a lot of settings or not.
The menu along with daily specials is plentiful of choices for all to enjoy.
The only two points which are reoccurring on every visit are the noise level that some parties bring to the restaurant, making it more of a stadium feeling rather than a restaurant one. They should be asked to tone it down so that everyone can enjoy their stay, and the buss boys that ask you for your choice of beverages have a tendency of forgetting what they asked you for.
Overall the place is charming, the food is great, and the value is balanced.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great food! Great service! Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service but the noise level is too loud. Hard to hear each other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Awesome food good service

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic!!!!!! We can't wait to return! This will be our new go to spot for dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Good restaurant, good food, good BYOB. Will come again.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I absolutely LOVE this place! Everytime I go I am impressed with the quality of the food they put in front of you. My husband had the bass special with tomatoes and carmelized onions and it was to die for! I had the artichoke salad and the salmon and couldn't have been more pleased.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Our party of 4 all enjoyed their meal. The chef even adapted a pasta entree for me of sausage, mushrooms and arrabiata sauce. Leave off the smoked mozzarella and it was really delicious. The bone in veal chop was properly cooked and flavorful. The waiter was helpful and accommodating to our requests when sharing salads. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

NIce open restaurant BYOB - has outdoor patio - great food and good italian bread - servers very polite and friendly - I'd go back for dinner with a Bottle or Two of wine

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 8, 2017

excellent service & great food! Never been disappointed but you should make reservations as dinner is quite popular.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 7, 2017

This was a new place for a friend lunch. We all enjoyed our food. We split the Arugula salad and enjoyed our new discovery of farro. The Veal Roma was tender and had a hearty fresh non-traditional chunky tomato and pepper sauce. There was enough to take half of it home. Although we did not utilize the BYOB for lunch, I could envision going back for dinner with a good bottle of wine. Access was easy for a friend temporarily using a walker.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

For appetizers we had grilled octopus(which is not in the menu but someone told me to ask for) and the artichokes with shrimp and Parmesan cheese. They were delicious! The dinners then came and they were not good at all. The brandy cream shrimp pasta had a funky twang to it which really made it inedible. The mussels were tremendous and therefore quite chewy and my bolonese sauce was not bad but not anything I couldn't make myself. Ground beef and tomato sauce over pasta. The waiter came over shortly after we sat down offered us water and then we didn't see him for quite some time. When I said that, he said well he has been running around. Ok... when he asked how everything was my husband said his pasta was not good at all. He didn't seem to care. (Not sure why he asked then) didn't take it off the check and didn't send over a manager. maybe I'd go back for apps and sit outside in the summer but certainly wouldn't rush there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Avid diners of Arugula, our service was disappointing on this particular experience. Our server failed to bring bread, parmesan cheese, and red pepper flakes to our table; he also forgot to clear our dirty plates. He didn't come back to the table during our appetizers or entrees to check to see how we liked our food. The food was superb and satisfying as always, but the service was a real let down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was excellent. Very creative and fresh. Great flavors. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

good service, food was tasty, grilled octopus was very good
However, we felt crowded and the noise level was too high
We will give it another try on a night other than the weekend

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We are frequent diners at Arugula and the service and food is always very good. They are very accommodating with special food orders. We are very glad they are in the neighborhood!!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great late dinner with friends. I was the first to arrive. It took a little while before the server came over to give me water and glasses for wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Overall very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Waiter was attentive and helpful when we had questions about the menu and kept our wine glasses full. Food tasted fresh but not outstanding. Noise level made it hard to have a good conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was a bit disappointed with Arugula. It may have been due to Valentine's Day volume, but the food was not overly impressive. We had the eggplant app, penne vodka, and the squid ink pasta with lobster. The lobster was very chewy, and something was off.

The service was great though. Very attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed that it was a set menu for Valentines Day. I ended up being sick after having dinner. I frequent your restaurant often and this is the first time I got sick!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best warm octopus salad I have ever had, anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food took a very long time to come out. Ordered 2 pizzas that came out cold. Forgot 2 of our entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Grilled Calamari and Octopus were great starts. Since it is BYPB we had a Copolla and loved it.
MY Dover Sole and my guests pastas were plentiful and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great place for a nice lunch! We both had the caprese salad and asked for grilled chicken to be added...no problem;). Service was nice, not overbearing. Would like to try for dinner!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We come to Arugula often and there are times that the menu and service is hit or miss.This time, we had a 4:00 p.m. reservation that included our grandchildren and I am happy to say that our entrees were excellent, as was our waiter. First and foremost, we as customers were treated respectfully!! Our waiter was attentive and engaged in what he was doing. Kudos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always have a great meal. Order the octopus. It is great. One minor suggestion-make sure have chocolate cake available for dessert. Always seem to be out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Food was not that great.

My daughter had the special pasta with sausage andbroccoli rabe with truffle oil Think they must have forgotten the truffle oil. Thank goodness there was olive oil on the table because the pasta dish totally lacked any kind of sauce Sausage was cut into very small pieces and overcooked. Broccoli rabe was just a huge clump in the dish. Big cloves of raw garlic as well. Pasta was homemade which was a nice touch but that was about it.

I had the salmon in white wine sauce with broccoli rabe which was okay.

Appetizer was fried eggplant with marina sauce and mozzarella cheese. Eggplant was paper think and after the breading and fried you couldn't really taste the eggplant at all. I would rather have had one piece of eggplant that was sliced thicker

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My boyfriend and I dine at Arugula pretty often. It is the one local Italian restaurant that never disappoints. On this occasion, we ordered the grilled calamari and arugula salad to start and enjoyed the linguine pescatore and veal cacciatore. Everything was cooked to perfection. Molto bene!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had dinner on a Saturday night with my husband. I had the special salad and the special fish, monkfish with leeks and fennel. My husband had calamari, salad and fettuccine bolognese. Everything was amazing. We just loved our waiter Eric. Will be back!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Was very good but they brought the kids food 15 minutes after us adults so dessert was in them other wise it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We started out with the arugula salad and octopus special as appetizers, both of which, were very good. Our entrees consisted of chicken parm, short rib pasta special and shrimp and pasta. We ended the night with coffee and a light lemon cake and chocolate mousse cake. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Had a wonderful time at this establishment. Food was excellent, waiter was no his "A" game and overall a great experience. Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Delicious food and friendly service. Enjoyed the grilled calamari, squid ink pasta, ceaser salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.