About Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)

2350 Butler Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

A tribute to Italy’s Amalfi Coast in both cuisine and décor, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point Village allows guests to dine al fresco in a roman inspired garden patio, or simply enjoy the spacious dining room, built around an open kitchen atmosphere and traditional old world wood burning oven. Arugula Ristorante successfully brings a center city style of dining to the suburbs.

Sourcing the freshest and finest local ingredients, such as organic produce, free-range chicken and grass fed beef and veal, this restaurant has created an everyday dining experience with tasty offerings that are showcased in a simple, yet delicious manner.

Seeking casual, affordable and flavorful Italian fare, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point consistently maintains the highest quality of product and success, ensuring that each guest's expectations are always met and exceeded.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BYOB
Monday-Saturday: 11am-3:30pm, 5pm-Close
Sunday: 4pm-Close

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 941-1177

Website:
http://arugulacoldpoint.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout

Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (57)
fit for foodies (40)
good for groups (33)
See All
special occasion (26)
great for outdoor dining (25)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (7)
romantic (6)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We absolutely loved it here! Food was am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

We absolutely loved it here! Food was amazing highly recommend the gnocchi!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Love the Bronzino!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal. Love the Bronzino!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was there for lunch with friends. Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was there for lunch with friends. Food and service were good. I would go back. I do hesitate to go for dinner because the noise level was pretty high and only 4 tables were filled so what does it sound like when the restaurant is full?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was a tad disappointed in Arugula. Was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was a tad disappointed in Arugula. Was told were Italians and being Italian & having just returned from Italy was let down. First the owner might be Italian but all servers I saw seemed to be Spanish speakers and there was an El Salvadorian framed coffee bag leaving me to wonder if Italian at all. Who knows.

Cute inside but music WAY too loud. I had a very good soft shell crab appetizer and then the Vitello Milanese -which was mediocre. Seemed to breaded w/ thick egg batter which is not traditional & veal not pounded thin enough and marbled with lots of veins of fat forcing me to keep spitting pieces of fat into my napkin. Need better quality veal or to trim way more fat off. And pound MUCH thinner. My son got the pizza margherita and was pretty awful. Should've looked around for a pizza oven. All sauce - not fresh - more like marinara and 1 rubbery mozzarella round on each slice. Clearly didn't use mozzarella di bufala. Shame cuz such an easy thing to do right. If you are used to American-ized Italian food you will like this place esp because byob but if you are expecting real Italian then this is not the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice. Good food. Good service. Way too n ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice. Good food. Good service. Way too noisy to have a conversation. That needs to be fixed. It can be done!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite restaurants b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants both in terms of the food and the fact that it is a BYOB. The food is consistently excellent. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A find Came from Mt Airy for something d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

A find

Came from Mt Airy for something different and a change of scenery

Very much enjoyed the restaurant food and staff

Nancy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I've been here several times and have ne ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I've been here several times and have never had a bad meal here. My only complaint is the potential noise. My friend and I dined early, when it wasn't an issue. As we were getting ready to leave, the place became more crowded and noticeably noisy. I'll try to dine at off-peak times but otherwise wouldn't hesitate to return.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Food was good. Service was very slow. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Food was good. Service was very slow. Be prepared to wait - even on weekday in summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Our second visit in a 10 day span and we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Our second visit in a 10 day span and we were not disappointed. Great waitress and wonderful food. Our favorite new spot to dine out!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A quiet lunch outside with Kam the waite ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A quiet lunch outside with Kam the waiter - always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was our first visit but absolutely ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first visit but absolutely not our last. The food was terrific, the presentation of each dish was special. The aged balsamic could have been it's own meal, it was that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Bronzino and salads. Our outdoor e ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great Bronzino and salads. Our outdoor experience was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and way meals are prepared is e ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food and way meals are prepared is excellent. It is a wonderful place to eat and I love BYOB.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First time visit and surprised HOW busy ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

First time visit and surprised HOW busy they were on a Monday night. A tad bit too noisy but the food and service was terrific. Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always outstanding food...a bit loud thi ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Always outstanding food...a bit loud this night, however food was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The best grilled octopus anywhere! Great ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The best grilled octopus anywhere! Great wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Every dis reminded me of being in Capri, ...

vip
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Every dis reminded me of being in Capri, Italy

Grilled Calamari, grilled artichokes and lamb chops were excellent

Only disappointment was grilled octopus

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We walked into a nice looking restaurant ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We walked into a nice looking restaurant with ambiance.

The waiter came quickly and we asked for wine glasses and got 2 large glasses of ice instead?

Our salad was loaded with dressing, too much.

My veal chop was so fatty that I had to keep taking it out of my mouth and left it on the plate.

I told the waiter that it was fatty but got no compensation. I was charged full price.

We didn't even get a free dessert and it was our anniversary.

We were very disappointed and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Food was great and the service was wonde ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was great and the service was wonderful. The waiters were attentive and very accommodating. Will be going back for sure.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff is extremely nice and accommod ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The staff is extremely nice and accommodative. Food is excellent with wide variety of choices. Prices are reasonable. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is a hidden gem.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

This is an authentic Northern Italian restaurant with remarkable food and menu. This is a special place with a perfect atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arugula is a very enjoyable place to eat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Arugula is a very enjoyable place to eat, it is just very noise that you have to talk very loud

if you want anyone at you table to hear you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good local find!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Visited the restaurant for dinner with family after my daughter's preschool graduation. Table was 8 people. Glad we made a reservation. Ambience, nice - nothing special. Cheap looking cafe chairs. Waitress was very nice, and welcomed us right away helping to get us set up with our wine. Menus were a bit disheveled (pages folded, sticky), and we had to wait about 5 minutes for 'more menus', after we were only given 3. We each ordered a salad and antipasti, and main course within minutes of sitting down and getting settled. Salads and antipasti were all delicious and came out within 10 minutes. Esp the Gorgonzola salad. Very good. Entrees received a bit of a mixed review. Also, there was about 30-40 minutes from the time we received our salads to the time we received our main course. Lucky for us, we did not mind the time chatting with each other. It looked as though there may have been only 1 cook in the kitchen putting up one entree at a time - and a full restaurant. Penne ala vodka - very good. Rich sauce. Linguine pescatore with the white wine sauce received rave reviews. Chicken Parm - we spent most of the meal trying to figure out what happened to the chicken, and if it were actually veal (chicken was pounded very thin, strangely shapen, and looked like dark meat). Red sauce looked out of a can, and tasted that way too. The other chicken entrees were decent. Looked and tasted good. Mushroom pizza - very dry. No sauce. We took 7/8 of it home, and trashed it. Very disappointed. Bus service was quick (our waters were filled every 2 sips). Waitress did not come back to check on us between courses or after receiving our main course (she looked very busy), but was very attentive and helpful when we could catch her. Inside was very noisy when restaurant was full. Service although slow, was enough. Food was very good for most part. Overall, we would come again - with different menu choices - and sit outside.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Plymouth Meeting gem

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This was the 5th time I have been to Arugula and each time I have has a pleasant experience. Food has been consistently good, wait staff is friendly and attentive and atmosphere is relaxing and I have never felt rushed. Definitely will continue to dine here.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dinner Good service Good price Ple ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great dinner

Good service

Good price

Pleasant, attentive wait staff

I made the reservation for 6:30 and thought it was for 7 pm. When we showed up, the girl was so nice and said not to worry about it. I felt terrible about the mistake but they seated us immediately and were quite forgiving.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Great find

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Found by googling BYOB Plymouth meeting and couldn't have been better. Grilled artichoke and the calamari apps delicious . My husband's grilled romaine was terrific. Can't wait to go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Fantastic Food, BYOB - Phenomenal Waiters

vip
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Love Arugula's! Fit for Wine lovers and foodies - BYOB establishment with unbelievable chefs and seafood/Italian menus - Terrific specials and they will cook items ordered to your desire. Only had one negative experience in the dozen times we were there and that was one waiter who evidently was in a very bad mood. LOVE the wait staff otherwise - they make it a great place; comfortable seating in contemporary, easy - to - get - to location. Love it Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great. On the other hand ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our waiter was great. On the other hand the meal was mediocre at best. The red sauce with mussels was thick and seemed processed. The pizza was awful- the crust tasted like a bland wafer; I don't understand how a restaurant that presents itself as Italian could possibly serve it. A chicken entree was average but edible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Delicious food. Professional service. Go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Delicious food. Professional service. Good value overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aldi is The Man. Always a great meal!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Aldi is The Man. Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day lunch for my wife , my adul ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day lunch for my wife , my adult children tagging along also. The taste and freshness of the food was excellent. I had the paste with crab and I have never seen large pieces of lump back fun like that before. The other dishes were great also.

The only drawbacks was the noise level and I kinda felt it was a bit pricey to be an often visited venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious food and nice atmosphere.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Delicious food and nice atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waited an hour for our table but well worth it

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We had 8:15 reservations. We got there at 8:10 but didn't get seated until 9:15. Yikes. The excuse was that the table that was slated for us had guests who were sitting more than the allotted 2 1/2 hours yet, no one asked them to leave. After waiting 45 minutes we were offered free appetizers. Just as we were given menus, our table became ready. The owner had appetizers waiting for us and he did apologize. The meal itself was fabulous. I would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Terrible--didn't get to have dinner there

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I had an 8:15 reservation here last night (Saturday), which we made the night before, Friday. We arrived at 8:15 to an over-crowded lobby with standing room only. The hostess said they were running 15 minutes behind. We said we'd rather wait in the car--we weren't about to be stared at in the stuffy, claustrophobic lobby area. She said she'd knock on our window. After 20 minutes of waiting in the car, seeing little movement out of the restaurant, we decided to jet and go somewhere else. We're glad we did. This place needs to learn how to stop accepting reservations if the place is going to be that packed. Not sure we're going to give them a second chance. There are tons of places for good Italian food in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unfortunately, this restaurant is very ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Unfortunately, this restaurant is very loud and noisy. It was difficult to hear my companion; a conversation was next to impossible. Our entrees were good; however $10 for a side ceasar salad seems excessive to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Courtesy staff, friendly, delicious menu items

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We were welcomed and seated quickly. The menu is varied in choices rich in flavors and served by a personable wait staff.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We have never been disappointed with the food at Arugula. Service is Always very good and friendly. And it's a BYOB to boot.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, service, atmosphere

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Great food, service, atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.