About Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)

A tribute to Italy’s Amalfi Coast in both cuisine and décor, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point Village allows guests to dine al fresco in a roman inspired garden patio, or simply enjoy the spacious dining room, built around an open kitchen atmosphere and traditional old world wood burning oven. Arugula Ristorante successfully brings a center city style of dining to the suburbs.

Sourcing the freshest and finest local ingredients, such as organic produce, free-range chicken and grass fed beef and veal, this restaurant has created an everyday dining experience with tasty offerings that are showcased in a simple, yet delicious manner.

Seeking casual, affordable and flavorful Italian fare, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point consistently maintains the highest quality of product and success, ensuring that each guest's expectations are always met and exceeded.


2350 Butler Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BYOB
Monday-Saturday: 11am-3:30pm, 5pm-Close
Sunday: 4pm-Close

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 941-1177

Website:
http://arugulacoldpoint.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (42)
Casual (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Authentic (25)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fun (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Romantic (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (0)
Paleo Friendly (0)
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

One of our favorite local spots. Go often for both business and pleasure. Very accommodating for my "clean" eating needs. Never go without having their fabulous artichoke appetizer. Look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food and service... but really really loud for a Thursday early evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed a delicious lunch with a friend at Arugula 's. The ambience was perfect; noise level was minimal and the service fantastic ! We had a lot to catch up on and the staff never rushed us through our meal. It definitely is a spot we would return to for lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was incredible, and the service was quite good as well. the only "downfall" was our table was a small table for two, but it was very close to a support pole and people were squeezing by our table to get to their tables. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We loved it the last time we were here. Tonight did not live up to our expectations. Even ordered one of the same dishes and it was totally different from last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We came to Arugula due to friend's glowing comments, and we were not disappointed. Some restaurants balk at parties of 5 adults with two small children--but the Staff was lovely. We sat outside on the attractive patio which features comfortable seating in a relaxed setting. The food, however, was the star, from the moment the generous platter of fresh, true "Italian" bread with olive oil was placed on our table, each course was delightful. Special praise for the Arugula risotto porcini--real Amalfi Coast style!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiter asked us if we needed an ice bucket when we sat down, we said yes. Did not bring the ice bucket until the end of the meal. We ordered appetizers and the main course. The appetizers came. My eggplant was ice cold and not edible. My wife's Caesar Salad was just ok. The waiter finally came by after we had stopped eating about 10 minutes later and I told him that my eggplant was ice cold. He offered another appetizer, but I did not want another one. My gnocchi wth an almond pesto and chicken came next. Good news, it was hot, but too much garlic. I didn't eat very much. My wife had Penne Sofia, which had scallops and shrimp. The dish was not memorable. As we slowly dined, the tables around us was not bused, not very appetizing. My wife was served on 2 chipped plates. The noise level was so loud that I had to lean over to hear my wife. Fine dining, no. Lots of food, yes.
We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had a 7:30 reservation for a party of three and were seated within a few minutes. We ordered appetizers and entrees and appetizers were served in about 20 minutes. At 9:30 when our entrees were still not served we told the server we were leaving. Restaurant was not crowded at that time and had not been crowded for sometime prior to 9:30. Needless to say, we will not be returning and we would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My husband and I went to Arugula for an anniversary celebration after I found this restaurant on yelp. Thanks to the reviews here, we had the right attitude and expectations. We knew service would be slow per some reviewers, but the problem was exasperated due to it being the day before July 4th and they were understaffed. To give you a time frame, we arrived shortly before 7pm, and did not leave the restaurant until 9:30pm.

The food itself was amazing. My husband and I shared an appetizer (grilled calamari); he had the lamb chop and I had the linguine pescatore (with garlic white wine sauce). We loved the flavors of the food, and the portion size was good as well. We did not order dessert because we had our wedding cake at home to tackle, but they do have an amazing looking dessert tray that we definitely want to try next time.

Our only complaints were 1) after they gave us our check, it took another 20 minutes before they came back to collect it. As my husband said, slow service is acceptable except when you're trying to pay and leave. There is really no reason for us to be ignored for so long at the end of our meal especially because by that time the restaurant was no longer busy. 2) When we first got there, the restaurant was packed and it was LOUD. Multiple times I made my husband repeat what he was saying because I really could not make out a word he was saying, and we were seated at a more secluded area of the restaurant already. We think that if the weather is good, it is definitely a good idea to sit outside if you want to be able to hear your conversations.

Still, we liked our server, loved our food, and think the bill was very reasonable. We will definitely give it another try in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It was the worst dinig experience We have had in a long time. Our food took almost 2 hours. All of that time the waiter never came over once to say anything to us even after we pulled aside other waiters. We constantly had asked to have our drinks refilled, that is when we could find somebody. Our eggplant appetizer was good but both of our meals were tasteless. I was glad we were there on a gift card. However when I tried to leave a tip for the waiter, even though it was crappy I still wanted to leave a tip, I couldn't find anybody including the hostess to give me change for five minutes. So we just left. This was the second time we were there, we were not impressed the first time either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Arugula restaurant is a great neighborhood BYOB. The food is good and has a nice range of choices. The only complaints I have with the restaurant are the noise level and inconsistent service. The noise is so loud that you need earplugs when the place is filled! The first time we went to Arugula, the service was impeccable. This time, the waiter had to be reminded to bring a forgotten flatbread and one of entrees came out late also.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We visited friends we had not seen in a long time and neither of us had been here before. The food was excellent, service was good, and we enjoyed every minute of our time there. It is BYOB and we brought a bottle and they kept it next to our table on ice and came by and poured. Lovely place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I've been to Arugula twice in the last month, and both times the food was amazing. I'd especially recommend the artichoke appetizer and any of the seafood pasta dishes. Everything was fresh and flavorful and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great food, proper, friendly service, reasonable prices, BYOB.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This is a regular spot for us. The atmosphere is friendly and the food is terrific!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

My husband and I ordered pasta dishes which were very good. We each had leftovers and the pasta was as good the next evening for dinner. Also the gazpacho was delicious. We will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great Food excellent friendly service. What else do you need???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Was great service and the food quite good. Little pricey but probably worth it if you want something a little special. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Outstanding. Great food and an excellent server. Perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent food and the wait staff dealt graciously with one of our guests who is not the easiest to hear.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Horrible, just horrible!!! My sons and I took my wife here for her birthday expecting a really nice time, but were extremely disappointed. Here's what happened...

We were seated immediately and given water and menus. About 10 minutes later the waiter arrived and mentioned the specials, then left. After waiting a long time we flagged him down and told him that we were ready to order. My son ordered the fried calamari and the rest of us ordered salads. My wife ordered the fettuccine bolognese, the boys ordered pizza and I ordered the veal saltimbocca.

We waited forever to receive this first course. The salads were OK, but my son received a grilled calamari instead. We tried to complain about the calamari, but no one was available. The pizza was dry and tasteless. It arrived and the boys were done with it before we received our entrees. They were done for so long, that their leftovers were boxed up before we received our entrees. Fettuccine was OK, but was pretty much something that could be made at home. The veal was an overcooked, tasteless dry mess covered in cheese. Potatoes were overcooked and unseasoned.

No one stopped by our table to check on our dining experience and to address any of our concerns.

Pro:
Really quick to keep my water glass full

Cons:
Overpriced
Poor service
Tasteless food
Loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

i have been here several times and it is disappointing that they never have any new specials..additionally some of the dishes seem to be made differently each time so the consistency is lacking, also the quality seems to be slipping each time I come. This time the server was testy nd impatient and went from being on top of it to making us look for him and as we were early - there were only 2 -3 other tables at the time.

I used to think of this a great place to go but that is changing as it is becoming boring for foodies and the inconsistency of the dishes and qualtiy will make me think twice about returning

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always great food! Never a bad meal, and BYO keeps the cost down for a girls night out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Another excellent meal tonight. Always consistent and friendly charming service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 5, 2017

First time there with a friend. The food was really good! We spilt the octopus salad which was a special, it was amazing! I would go there again just for that salad. We also ordered the eggplant parm app which was good. I prefer the cheese on the bottom and sauce on top and more cheese as well but it was good. We ordered the pasta with seafood, linguine with shrimp, mussels, and clams that was delicious too. And for dessert we ordered the homemade tiramisu and it was on point! Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Overall very enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

We sat at their outdoor tables and enjoyed a beautiful night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The meal was amazing from appetizers to dessert. Outdoor seating area was lovely, great service from Italian waiters. If you want to experience authentic food from Amalfi coast you won't be disappointed. Will be one of my favorite restaurants for dining out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We go here every other week and always are pleased. Food is delicious and the atmosphere is lively and there are some romantic tables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Have been there more than once. Always great! We will return many times in the future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We love the specials and main menu. There is always something to choose from depending on our mood. Nice waiters. Love the BYOB element.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We loved Arugula! The food and service were terrific, and we were not rushed to finish despite that it was pretty busy there.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food always. The service is great. It is a BYOB. The ONLY downside is when it gets crowded it is very noisy and you can't talk with your table mate unless you shout. Better in the nice weather to eat outside.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Very enjoyable, looking forward to going back to Arugula soon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Enjoyed food, atmosphere and service in a great location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food is excellent . Best Italian food in the area. Great service. I would recommend this resturant for any occasion

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Consistently good! Would recommend to a friend. The pastas is the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Hadn't been back to "Arugula" in a while; turns out it is even better than I remembered. My friend and I had reservations and were seated promptly. The server poured our wine and said he would be back to tell us the specials. He did come back,but it was quite a while. The good thing was we had plenty of their tasty bread and oil to tide us over.
We knew we had liked the antipasto before and that there was plenty to share. It was just as good as I remembered. I ordered the penne with shrimp and scallops in a blush-type sauce and it was delicious. My friend ordered the gnocchi with chicken. He said the gnocchi was very good but that he could have done without the chicken. He said that was "hard". Because we had eaten so much bread,we both wound up taking parts of our meals home,and just could not fit dessert!
The staff seems to have gotten training in being more pleasant to customers,as well as slowing down. On previous visits,some of the waiters were almost running to get the food out,and almost knocking people down to do so! This past time,staff stepped back to let you get by,and smiled and spoke as they did so. I was very pleased with that.
This visit reminded me how good "Arugula" can be. I will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great place in the suburbs. Excellent Italian food. Good service. Upscale casual atmosphere. BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.