About Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)

A tribute to Italy’s Amalfi Coast in both cuisine and décor, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point Village allows guests to dine al fresco in a roman inspired garden patio, or simply enjoy the spacious dining room, built around an open kitchen atmosphere and traditional old world wood burning oven. Arugula Ristorante successfully brings a center city style of dining to the suburbs.

Sourcing the freshest and finest local ingredients, such as organic produce, free-range chicken and grass fed beef and veal, this restaurant has created an everyday dining experience with tasty offerings that are showcased in a simple, yet delicious manner.

Seeking casual, affordable and flavorful Italian fare, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point consistently maintains the highest quality of product and success, ensuring that each guest's expectations are always met and exceeded.


2350 Butler Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BYOB
Monday-Saturday: 11am-3:30pm, 5pm-Close
Sunday: 4pm-Close

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 941-1177

Website:
http://arugulacoldpoint.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Authentic (27)
Casual (27)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Great for Lunch (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fun (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed food, atmosphere and service in a great location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food is excellent . Best Italian food in the area. Great service. I would recommend this resturant for any occasion

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Consistently good! Would recommend to a friend. The pastas is the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Hadn't been back to "Arugula" in a while; turns out it is even better than I remembered. My friend and I had reservations and were seated promptly. The server poured our wine and said he would be back to tell us the specials. He did come back,but it was quite a while. The good thing was we had plenty of their tasty bread and oil to tide us over.
We knew we had liked the antipasto before and that there was plenty to share. It was just as good as I remembered. I ordered the penne with shrimp and scallops in a blush-type sauce and it was delicious. My friend ordered the gnocchi with chicken. He said the gnocchi was very good but that he could have done without the chicken. He said that was "hard". Because we had eaten so much bread,we both wound up taking parts of our meals home,and just could not fit dessert!
The staff seems to have gotten training in being more pleasant to customers,as well as slowing down. On previous visits,some of the waiters were almost running to get the food out,and almost knocking people down to do so! This past time,staff stepped back to let you get by,and smiled and spoke as they did so. I was very pleased with that.
This visit reminded me how good "Arugula" can be. I will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great place in the suburbs. Excellent Italian food. Good service. Upscale casual atmosphere. BYOB.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Noisy restaurant and difficult to have a conversation. The fig salad was good and so was the gazpacho. The service was fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Quiet, sweet. The waiters were so nice. I loved every minute there and the food was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Grilled octopus appetizer was delicious . The portions are very generous. Great food!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Horrible mojo tonight
Service was off
Long wait
Food was served cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious fresh food with good friendly service!! Really enjoy the egg plant app light & fresh!!Looking forward to eating in their new outdoor patio as soon as the weather is warmer.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service. Excellent bottle service. Food was delicious. I had the soft shell crab as an appetizer and ravioli with seafood and creamy pesto sauce as a main course. It was a nice touch to give roses to the mothers.

Beautiful landscaping around the restaurant which added to the ambience when eating outside.
Other ratings had me second guessing my decision to eat there. I'm glad I went with this choice

Noise level high but expected for a family style restaurant

Can't wait to go back!!!

Friendly and accommodating wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, a little pricey but nice for a special occasion. And BYOB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was solid-- food was delicious! I had the monkfish (a special) and my husband had the mussels and a veal entree. We both loved what we got. Also, we were in a bit of a rush to get to a movie and it was no problem at all as everything moved just quickly enough-- never felt rushed, just felt like they were on top of things. Will definitely be back! It was a bit loud but otherwise I only have great things to say about it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is always good but the room was very noisy. It was the Saturday before Mother's Day and very busy with a lot of families. They served our meal quickly. I felt pushed to turn over my table. We were asked 4x if they could clear our table.

Good place for a business lunch. A nice alternative to the more expensive places in Plymouth Meeting. Lunch time is much quieter and slower paced. I have met clients there several times and always went well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Service was great and the food was amazing! Started with bruschetta and then delicious pasta. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 9, 2017

While there is still a bit of a noise level issue, I decided to bring a business associate there for dinner. Service was great, food was fabulous. All in all, it is definitely a "go to" place - I look forward to weather warming a bit and enjoying the outdoor dining space. Great place!! (don't forget BYOB)

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Had our anniversary dinner at Arugula this week...we ordered the special, an Octopus appetizer, which was fabulous. Also a fresh home made Caesar salad...my husband had the seafood pescatore, very good. I ordered Langostinos...a disappointment. Small-barely any meat and not worth the money at all. Overall, the experience was great, we would go back, I just would choose another entree...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Very nice lunch for my friend's birthday. It was Monday and the restaurant was quiet. Waiter brought a candle in the birthday dessert that we ordered and shared. Nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Grilled calimari salad was excellent. Veal chop not as much. I ordered it med rare and got it raw by the bone and well done at the edge. Overall good meal. I'll order something different next time. Loud but not impossible to hear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

VERY ATTRACTIVE DECOR. VERY GOOD SERVICE.THE MENU IS HEAVY ON VEAL DISHES. SOME WERE GOOD,BUT VEAL WAS NOT GOOD AT ALL.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Quickly becoming a local favorite for us... and apparently we're waaay late on this. Great place to gather with friends for a terrific meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We will be back. We had an excellent meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The menu had an excellent selection of Italian dishes. The food was outstanding, however it took some time for our food arrived at the table. It also got a bit noisy as the dining room became more crowded. Our group still had a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 24, 2017

This is the second time I've eaten at Arugula and both times the food (got the specials both times) were creative and EXCELLENT!! They don't rush you and allow you to enjoy your time there enjoying their great food and your BYOB.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 24, 2017

A Monday night at 6 - place was crowded and VERY noisy - could barely hear my companion across the table. Service was a little slow - not too bad. My companion had chicken parm - which was pretty bad - dried out chicken, heavy breading. I had salmon which was a bit overcooked & too much oil . Without drinks & with 1 dessert the bill was $80!! Salads were good though.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 24, 2017

My friends and I were here for a girls’ night out. I was very happy that we were not rushed through dinner and we were permitted to linger and chat afterwards. Food was good and our waiter was great!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Always a good meal! Excellent appetizers with authentic Mediterranean overtures. Have been several times and never been disappointed. We will go again!

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing and service was quick. Our glasses were never empty. Only complaint was the noise level. It was difficult to speak to one another during our meal and we were yelling most of the time. Highly recommend unless you're having a business dinner or catching up with a friend - you might want to go somewhere more quiet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

A great BYOB with nice service and delicious food. Love to go there with friends and family, because there is a diverse menu with something for everyone.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We frequently meet friends at Arugula. We always try something new on the menu, and have never been disappointed. Every menu item we have eaten was delicious. Highly recommend. Very friendly staff and service is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I've been here numerous times and have never had a bad meal. Two complaints, however: 1) the place is very noisy. By the time we wrapped up our meal, we were literally shouting to be heard. 2) One of the staff was wearing a strong cologne/body spray. You'd think a restaurant would advise its staff to not wear strong scents. We thought it was something near our table and requested to be moved, but realized it was someone on staff later.

Overall, would certainly return but, weather permitting, would sit outside or go at an offpeak time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Well prepared food, attentive service. Did not have to wait for a table on a Saturday night, with a reservation.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Only complaint is that it is too noisy. Everything else service and food is excellent.

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We've dined here several times and had dined at the location in Huntington Valley when it was still open. The food is very good but the noise level goes beyond "energetic". We were a party of four and could not hear the waiter or each other. It actually was unpleasant which is too bad since we enjoy the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Every employee we passed in or out said something nice and friendly
Waiters were exceptional and food was amazing !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The restaurant was extremely noisey, the food was fair at best and the service adequate. The eggplant was fine for a suburban restaurant but nothing you would get in a South Philadelphia Italian restaurant. The same is true for the pasta dish and for the veal medallions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I was hearing about a "buzz" about this restaurant and I wanted to personally see what some people were talking about. From the moment we got there, the place was very loud, I guess from people drinking and talking over each other. Now onto the food. We got salads to start and the dressing was terrible, actually too tart and the pears in the salad were not ripe, so the bitterness and the sweet did not exist. My girlfriend got the veal, I thought it was ok as the crabmeat on top of the entree was nice sized, but she said it was too much butter/ cream and the veal was not thin enough. I got the linguine pescatore, actually asked for Gluten -Free Pasta, I thought my dish was ok, the seafood in the pesacatore dish was good, I liked the broth it was in, but I would not feel inclined to come back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing dinner! The staff is very friendly, and the food is great. I've already started making multiple plans to come back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.