About Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)

A tribute to Italy’s Amalfi Coast in both cuisine and décor, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point Village allows guests to dine al fresco in a roman inspired garden patio, or simply enjoy the spacious dining room, built around an open kitchen atmosphere and traditional old world wood burning oven. Arugula Ristorante successfully brings a center city style of dining to the suburbs.

Sourcing the freshest and finest local ingredients, such as organic produce, free-range chicken and grass fed beef and veal, this restaurant has created an everyday dining experience with tasty offerings that are showcased in a simple, yet delicious manner.

Seeking casual, affordable and flavorful Italian fare, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point consistently maintains the highest quality of product and success, ensuring that each guest's expectations are always met and exceeded.


2350 Butler Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BYOB
Monday-Saturday: 11am-3:30pm, 5pm-Close
Sunday: 4pm-Close

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 941-1177

Website:
http://arugulacoldpoint.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Casual (28)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (26)
Authentic (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

I had the opportunity to dine at Arugula twice in the past few weeks. The servers were attentive and the food was very good and the restaurant is BYOB, which is always a plus. However, the noise level was such that conversation was quite difficult. The first time was a weekend evening. I assumed that, perhaps, dining on a weeknight would be different. Unfortunately, that wasn’t so. If not for the noise level, I would have given a higher rating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

It was great! The food and the staff were excellent!! Definitely can't wait to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Although we had made reservations, we were not seated right away. We had to stand and wait for groups to leave before we were seated. Food selections were great and food was good. However, noise level was high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Took my daughter-in-law there for her birthday. There were three in our party and everyone's meal was delicious. This is my fourth time there and I will keep coming back. It is a very relaxing enjoyable lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

This was my third time there and the food was equally delicious each time. This time the service was a little on the slow side but it didn't really matter today because I was eating with a friend I haven't seen for quite a while so it was fine for us to sit and talk. The only real issue was that when I ordered my iced tea I was not brought any sugar and it was five minutes or more before I could get anybody's attention to bring me some. But that certainly would not deter me from ever coming back. The food is some of the best I've ever had. I had branzino and my friend had the veal special and they were both delicious. We both had the arugula salad with lemon vinaigrette dressing which was great. I highly recommend this place for any occasion. Plus it is a BYOB which is a very attractive feature to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great food and service. Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awesome - food and atmosphere very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The food was very good. The service was terrible. I would go back and give it another try. Maybe it was an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Very busy night. Very energetic crowd therefore very loud. Server was very good but he was stretched too thin and so it took a while to put in our order. Normally this would not be a big deal except that the noise level made it difficult to hear the person across from you. Food very good to excellent - no complaints. Sampled three desserts and no crumb left behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Stellar evening. Food is excellent. Service is perfect. Our server, Aldi, is outstanding.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Consistently Excellent !!
Always looking forward to going there!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The noise level was WAY too high for me. I could barely hear the waiter and he had to shout. Service was slow, but polite. If I return, I would go earlier when it would be less crowded.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

This was my 2nd time at Arugula and I loved it again! I'll be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food was excellent and the wait staff very polite and accommodating. the atmosphere was a little noisy but easy to hold a conversation at a table of six people without raising your voice. The only downside, if you could call it, was we found the food a bit overpriced for a BYOB restaurant. Essentially, we could've went to a restaurant that serves wine, beer, and spirits, ate ate food that was relatively the same quality, for the same price including drinks. If you want great food, it's a great place to go. If you want great food and also expect to save some $$$ since it's a BYOB, you'll be disappointed. My recommendation is to judge by the quality of the food and not the price

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I'm sorry, the entire experience was just bad. I left very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My birthday celebration was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Always been a favorite, but this time we were a bit disappointed. Our favorite octupus was not offered, as well as no beef. Service was extremely slow in bringing out our main entrees, with no apologies or notification of a delay. Seemed to be a mix up in food deliveries to the tables surrounding us which caused a bit of a ruckus to the usual loudness. When entrees arrived my date's vegetables were cold, but he decided not to send his food back since we waited so long to get them. The salad with gorgonzola, pears and walnuts was delicious, as well as the stuffed artichokes with shrimp and cheese. Salmon entree with broccoli rabe was very tasty, as well as the layered lemon cake for dessert. It had a fabulous light icing. My ratings above do not reflect this particular dining visit, but all the other times we enjoyed, giving the benefit of the doubt that the shortcomings were out of the ordinary. Thanks!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

It was a beautiful night and we sat outside. Food was delicious! Service was great

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Reservation for 3 at 6PM was honored and with the nice weather we sat on the patio. Waiter appeared to introduce himself, then longer wait for ordering and bread. I have remarked many times before that the olive oil they serve with the bread is problematic. Taste it for yourself. Flat bread appetizer was shared and tasty. Chicken parm was nice, but our guest ordered the lemon chicken and ate very little of it. The dessert tray looked appetizing but we just feasted with our eyes. Overall this is a pleasant spot with reasonable food and prices.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Noisiest restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food is wonderful! Noise level too high when crowded. Nice to sit outside in nice weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food my wife and I ordered was terrific. The service was great. The noise was just a little bit more than I expected.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The restaurant is way too noisy. Unless they fix the noise level, I cannot go back because you can not have normal conversation.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very good service and food! I felt well attended to and the server had great food knowledge! The servers worked well as a team!! The only complaint I had was the noise level but it wouldn't keep me from coming back!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I have had dinner at Arugula several times and I have never had a bad meal.
The waiters are excellent! The food is delicious!!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

One of our favorite local spots. Go often for both business and pleasure. Very accommodating for my "clean" eating needs. Never go without having their fabulous artichoke appetizer. Look forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great food and service... but really really loud for a Thursday early evening!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed a delicious lunch with a friend at Arugula 's. The ambience was perfect; noise level was minimal and the service fantastic ! We had a lot to catch up on and the staff never rushed us through our meal. It definitely is a spot we would return to for lunch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was incredible, and the service was quite good as well. the only "downfall" was our table was a small table for two, but it was very close to a support pole and people were squeezing by our table to get to their tables. Will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We loved it the last time we were here. Tonight did not live up to our expectations. Even ordered one of the same dishes and it was totally different from last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We came to Arugula due to friend's glowing comments, and we were not disappointed. Some restaurants balk at parties of 5 adults with two small children--but the Staff was lovely. We sat outside on the attractive patio which features comfortable seating in a relaxed setting. The food, however, was the star, from the moment the generous platter of fresh, true "Italian" bread with olive oil was placed on our table, each course was delightful. Special praise for the Arugula risotto porcini--real Amalfi Coast style!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The waiter asked us if we needed an ice bucket when we sat down, we said yes. Did not bring the ice bucket until the end of the meal. We ordered appetizers and the main course. The appetizers came. My eggplant was ice cold and not edible. My wife's Caesar Salad was just ok. The waiter finally came by after we had stopped eating about 10 minutes later and I told him that my eggplant was ice cold. He offered another appetizer, but I did not want another one. My gnocchi wth an almond pesto and chicken came next. Good news, it was hot, but too much garlic. I didn't eat very much. My wife had Penne Sofia, which had scallops and shrimp. The dish was not memorable. As we slowly dined, the tables around us was not bused, not very appetizing. My wife was served on 2 chipped plates. The noise level was so loud that I had to lean over to hear my wife. Fine dining, no. Lots of food, yes.
We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had a 7:30 reservation for a party of three and were seated within a few minutes. We ordered appetizers and entrees and appetizers were served in about 20 minutes. At 9:30 when our entrees were still not served we told the server we were leaving. Restaurant was not crowded at that time and had not been crowded for sometime prior to 9:30. Needless to say, we will not be returning and we would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My husband and I went to Arugula for an anniversary celebration after I found this restaurant on yelp. Thanks to the reviews here, we had the right attitude and expectations. We knew service would be slow per some reviewers, but the problem was exasperated due to it being the day before July 4th and they were understaffed. To give you a time frame, we arrived shortly before 7pm, and did not leave the restaurant until 9:30pm.

The food itself was amazing. My husband and I shared an appetizer (grilled calamari); he had the lamb chop and I had the linguine pescatore (with garlic white wine sauce). We loved the flavors of the food, and the portion size was good as well. We did not order dessert because we had our wedding cake at home to tackle, but they do have an amazing looking dessert tray that we definitely want to try next time.

Our only complaints were 1) after they gave us our check, it took another 20 minutes before they came back to collect it. As my husband said, slow service is acceptable except when you're trying to pay and leave. There is really no reason for us to be ignored for so long at the end of our meal especially because by that time the restaurant was no longer busy. 2) When we first got there, the restaurant was packed and it was LOUD. Multiple times I made my husband repeat what he was saying because I really could not make out a word he was saying, and we were seated at a more secluded area of the restaurant already. We think that if the weather is good, it is definitely a good idea to sit outside if you want to be able to hear your conversations.

Still, we liked our server, loved our food, and think the bill was very reasonable. We will definitely give it another try in the future.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

It was the worst dinig experience We have had in a long time. Our food took almost 2 hours. All of that time the waiter never came over once to say anything to us even after we pulled aside other waiters. We constantly had asked to have our drinks refilled, that is when we could find somebody. Our eggplant appetizer was good but both of our meals were tasteless. I was glad we were there on a gift card. However when I tried to leave a tip for the waiter, even though it was crappy I still wanted to leave a tip, I couldn't find anybody including the hostess to give me change for five minutes. So we just left. This was the second time we were there, we were not impressed the first time either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Arugula restaurant is a great neighborhood BYOB. The food is good and has a nice range of choices. The only complaints I have with the restaurant are the noise level and inconsistent service. The noise is so loud that you need earplugs when the place is filled! The first time we went to Arugula, the service was impeccable. This time, the waiter had to be reminded to bring a forgotten flatbread and one of entrees came out late also.

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We visited friends we had not seen in a long time and neither of us had been here before. The food was excellent, service was good, and we enjoyed every minute of our time there. It is BYOB and we brought a bottle and they kept it next to our table on ice and came by and poured. Lovely place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.