About Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB)

2350 Butler Pike
Plymouth Meeting, PA 19462
View Larger Map

A tribute to Italy’s Amalfi Coast in both cuisine and décor, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point Village allows guests to dine al fresco in a roman inspired garden patio, or simply enjoy the spacious dining room, built around an open kitchen atmosphere and traditional old world wood burning oven. Arugula Ristorante successfully brings a center city style of dining to the suburbs.

Sourcing the freshest and finest local ingredients, such as organic produce, free-range chicken and grass fed beef and veal, this restaurant has created an everyday dining experience with tasty offerings that are showcased in a simple, yet delicious manner.

Seeking casual, affordable and flavorful Italian fare, Arugula Ristorante at Cold Point consistently maintains the highest quality of product and success, ensuring that each guest's expectations are always met and exceeded.


Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
BYOB
Monday-Saturday: 11am-3:30pm, 5pm-Close
Sunday: 4pm-Close

Cross Street:
Plymouth Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(610) 941-1177

Website:
http://arugulacoldpoint.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Takeout

Arugula Ristorante At Cold Point Village (BYOB) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (54)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Special Occasion (27)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for Groups (22)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (11)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (2)
Fun (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food. Workers all very helpful ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Excellent food. Workers all very helpful and kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were nine of us for lunch, which w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

There were nine of us for lunch, which was during the week, service was very slow, There didn't seem to be enough wait staff. As we had limited time, it was a bit of a problem.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

This is a gem, the area is fabulous the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

This is a gem, the area is fabulous the outdoor seating was comfortable and inviting. The decor was bright, interesting and soothing but with a contemporary flair. It was a great place to catch up with my friend and have conversation inside and outside. I would definitely come back to try more of the menu items...I had ravioli...tasty and just enough for my lunch choice.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant dining on their patio where we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Pleasant dining on their patio where we elected to dine as inside the restaurant seemed noisy. Enjoyed our meal and the service was very good. Certainly will go again and try the inside on a weekday evening. Nice discovery.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service. Love going t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food and service. Love going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the service and the food were quite ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Both the service and the food were quite good. The fig salad was exceptional and both the Veal Milanese and Seafood pasta were well up to expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food service pretty slow restaurant ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good food service pretty slow restaurant not crowded.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The apps and meals for all 7 of us were ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The apps and meals for all 7 of us were outstanding! We are still talking about it. Thanks to the wait staff and kitchen at Arugula!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was really good but ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and service was really good but the noise level takes away from enjoying the whole evening. : (

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Not so good this visit. We have been to ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not so good this visit. We have been to Arugula several times before and it was better...perhaps they had an off night.

Service was lack luster, carelss and inatentive. Swordfish was not good and we were seated under an airvent that blew air that smelled like bags of garbage.

Not so sure, we will be quick to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Arugula is one of our very favorite rest ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Arugula is one of our very favorite restaurants. Great food, great atmosphere and absolutely excellent staff and service. All meals are made to order and they will make whatever you wish as long as they have the ingredients, a sure sign of seasoned and experienced chefs. So, relax and enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Vegan, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a casual meal in the suburbs it was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

For a casual meal in the suburbs it was great. Clearly the menu had been given thought. The food was more than the standard Italian fare, interesting enough, and well-prepared. The service was responsive but with some irregular timing. Most BYOs maintain service of the wine one brings. Our bottle of white was put on ice for us, the first glass poured, then we were on our own. The ambiance was warm and pleasant, but it was a bit echo-y when the room was full.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Try the Octopus appetizer - it is outsta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Try the Octopus appetizer - it is outstanding. Be prepared to share since it is a large portion. The veal is excellent in any variation- thin and tender with tasty sauces.

The service is good but unsophisticated compared to the food quality. This could be an area for improvement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food here is very good. Our waiter ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food here is very good. Our waiter Eric was very attentive without being obtrusive. There is ample seating both inside and outside. If I have to give a negative it would be that there wasn't any music playing in the background to help with the atmosphere. Some soft Italian music would have elevated the ambiance a great deal. All in all a great dining experience by our party of 4.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go to restaurant. This time ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is our go to restaurant. This time it took about 20 minutes to find our reserved table. It turned out to be an outside table. We weren't expecting that since it was a chilly night. Service was fast, food came out hot and tasty. Portions this time were a little smaller. We will still be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

It is one of my favorite places to eat. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

It is one of my favorite places to eat. Food is outstanding, service excellent and friendly and BYOB, what else could you ask for.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is a great find, had we known ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place is a great find, had we known, we would have been here a ton of times already. The flavors in our dishes were vibrant and tasty. The service was just right. Very satisfied.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is consistantly good at Arugula ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The food is consistantly good at Arugula. The whole fish is outstanding. I love coming here, and will be back frequently.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant never fails. The bronzi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

This restaurant never fails. The bronzino is excellent, and the octopus is the best around. We'll be back again... and again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wanted to try a different place for Ital ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Wanted to try a different place for Italian. Had never been here but the reviews suggested we should give it a go. Was very impressed with the food. Menu has many options, including handmade pizzas for the kids. BYOB is also a great option. The place was relatively filled with locals for a Monday night. We all agreed we would go back.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lunch is understaffed, but the staff wor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Lunch is understaffed, but the staff work exceptionally hard and gracious. Pasta is surprisingly average; appetizers are better! Caesar salad mediocre, calamari notable, gelato exceptional. With a little tweaking of menu, will be an excellent addition to the local area and lovely change from all the chains in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Eat outside and NO NOISE!!!! All was gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Eat outside and NO NOISE!!!! All was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Server was way too slow. Place is very ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Server was way too slow. Place is very busy and very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We met our daughter for lunch. The atmos ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We met our daughter for lunch. The atmosphere is modern, the service terrific, and the food is delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal. Brought the kids. Good specia ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Nice meal. Brought the kids. Good specials. I thought the staff was very helpful and prompt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of my favorite BYOB and rest ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

This is one of my favorite BYOB and restaurant. The food is simply wonderful and usually the waiters knowledgeable and friendly. Great place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot for casual dining. Great food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great spot for casual dining. Great food. Something for everyone

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here are multiple occasion ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We have dined here are multiple occasions. Service is always very good. Really excellent this time. We ate outdoors which abuts the side of a parking lot, but is quiet and unobtrusive. Food is always solid. Salmon was slightly overcooked as was the grilled octopus special, but both were flavorful. Both salads were fresh and tasty. We will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the second time we've had our Gi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is the second time we've had our Girls Night Out at Arugula and it has been a delightful evening both times. The food and service are excellent. We recently had the grilled calamari, antipasti platter, mussels in spicy red sauce, pasta in a vodka sauce with crab meat, and the smoked burrata salad--they were all delicious.

If you like Italian BYOBs that specialize in seafood, you should give Arugula a try. It is located a mile or 2 away from the Plymouth Meeting Mall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was excellent and the patio charmin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was excellent and the patio charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It.s a lovely restaurant, especially if ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

It.s a lovely restaurant, especially if you sit by the window.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Soup could have been hotter. Salad was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Soup could have been hotter. Salad was very good. Pizza sauce was a bit too tart. Pistachio gelato was relish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

When entering they did not have my table ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

When entering they did not have my table ready for 10 people. Even though I had a reservation on the books. They had problem with help and when I called they really nice and they are sending us a gift. The waiter offered wine and gave us dessert and limoncello. They did try but truly noise level was unbearable. Food outstanding but problem getting it. Long wait for dinner portion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2

Food was great service was good. Kind of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was great service was good. Kind of lost our server towards the end of the meal. Had to wait 20 minutes just to find him for the check. But everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Overall I liked Arugula however there we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Overall I liked Arugula however there were some things that needed improvement.

1. Noise Level - it was so loud I would probably not return. It was beyond an acceptable degree of noise and the restaurant was only half full.

2. The waiter rested his open palm on the top of the neck of our open wine bottle while he went over the specials.

3. I had barely set my fork down when a waiter swooped in and removed my plate and bread dish. I might have liked to use a remaining piece of bread to mop up the sauce on the plate.

My dining partner hadn't finished her meal as yet.

4. Bread was served only after I asked. Most of the tables had bread almost as soon as they sat down

5. In general the service felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We absolutely loved it here! Food was am ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We absolutely loved it here! Food was amazing highly recommend the gnocchi!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Love the Bronzino!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent meal. Love the Bronzino!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was there for lunch with friends. Food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was there for lunch with friends. Food and service were good. I would go back. I do hesitate to go for dinner because the noise level was pretty high and only 4 tables were filled so what does it sound like when the restaurant is full?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was a tad disappointed in Arugula. Was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was a tad disappointed in Arugula. Was told were Italians and being Italian & having just returned from Italy was let down. First the owner might be Italian but all servers I saw seemed to be Spanish speakers and there was an El Salvadorian framed coffee bag leaving me to wonder if Italian at all. Who knows.

Cute inside but music WAY too loud. I had a very good soft shell crab appetizer and then the Vitello Milanese -which was mediocre. Seemed to breaded w/ thick egg batter which is not traditional & veal not pounded thin enough and marbled with lots of veins of fat forcing me to keep spitting pieces of fat into my napkin. Need better quality veal or to trim way more fat off. And pound MUCH thinner. My son got the pizza margherita and was pretty awful. Should've looked around for a pizza oven. All sauce - not fresh - more like marinara and 1 rubbery mozzarella round on each slice. Clearly didn't use mozzarella di bufala. Shame cuz such an easy thing to do right. If you are used to American-ized Italian food you will like this place esp because byob but if you are expecting real Italian then this is not the place for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice. Good food. Good service. Way too n ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Nice. Good food. Good service. Way too noisy to have a conversation. That needs to be fixed. It can be done!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.