About Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery

1114 12th St. West
Bradenton, FL 34205
View Larger Map

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery is located in the heart of the Village of the Arts in Bradenton, Florida. It's located in a 1920s bungalow and has distinguished itself by remaining #1 on Trip Advisor with a solid 5 star rating for the past year and a half.

Chef Jim’s food is inspired by the ethnic flavors he experienced on the streets of New York City. He is passionate about bringing international flavors to the Bradenton Sarasota area. The menu includes Thai shrimp curry, fresh fish with miso, truffle butter or Thai curry sauce, homemade garlic goat cheese ravioli with pesto, fresh fish, scallops with truffle butter, and much more. All foods are prepared in-house, including breads and desserts (this includes a carrot cake that will make you cry with joy).

Arts & Eats prides itself on bringing people together through amazing food by Chef Jim Copening, nightly music by local musicians, and service where you enter as a guest and leave as a friend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
12th Ave W.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 201-6647

Website:
http://www.artsandeatsfl.com/

Entertainment:
Arts & Eats hosts local musicians Tuesday through Saturday evenings with an open mic on Wednesday evenings from 6-8pm.

Catering:
We cater dinner parties and small events (up to 50 people).

Parking Details:
Parking is available across the street from the restaurant. There's rarely a problem finding parking.

Executive Chef:
Jim Copening

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant seats 35. You can host your own party or event here by reserving the entire space or just the main dining room. We're flexible with our menu and will design a menu specifically for your event, within your budget.

Private Party Contact:
Donna Slawsky: 8446277477

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
3 More
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Neighborhood Gem
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Bradenton ›

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Romantic (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been eating once or twice a year ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been eating once or twice a year at Arts and Eats since it opened. This most recent visit was a disappointment. A long favorite dish, the vegetarian curry, which is usually amazing was below standard. The vegetables used were easily identified as coming from a frozen bag of mixed vegetables: corn, cubed carrots, peas and beans. This greatly diminished the taste and texture of the dish. The flat bread served with the dish was tough and flavorless, clearly not prepared in house, and was not worth eating. My date's entrée was cold upon arrival. These are not cheap meals, and in the past I have been happy to spend freely. I will say that our appetizer: rustic home made garlic bread with olive oil and roasted Egyptian hazelnuts, was excellent and tasty as usual, we ate every bite. The deserts were outstanding: the carrot cake is still the best I have ever had, and Chef Jim's Persian ice cream: rosewater, pistachios and rose petals accompanied by a light crispy coconut cookie was amazing and should become part of the regular menu. Chef Jim is a creative, masterful chef combining tastes and cuisines with great success. I have enjoyed all of my previous meals immensely, which is why I am giving 4 stars not less. To be fair, this was the day before the restaurant closed for a much needed month long vacation, so not wanting to waste food is understandable. I am hoping after a good period of rest and relaxation that my next visit is more reflective of my previous experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was warm with sense of humor. Des ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Server was warm with sense of humor. Described menu items well.

Menu selections very interesting. Food was great.

Owners (Donna and Jim) visited a bit and made it very friendly.

My guests were delighted.

A success!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arts and Eats was a surprisingly good fi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Arts and Eats was a surprisingly good find. My wife had a pompano dish which she felt was superb. I had a chicken dish. The chicken was perfectly cooked and the mushroom sauce was sensational. Nice atmosphere, pleasant patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolute charming/funky ambience. A bit ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolute charming/funky ambience. A bit pricey for this neighborhood, but they deliver most at a high standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It's so nice to dine at Arts and Eats be ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It's so nice to dine at Arts and Eats because of the atmosphere. Chef Jim and Donna treat everyone like house guests. A special request for gluten-free was cheerfully accommodated. Chef Jim stopped by our table more than once. Our server, Vivian, thoughtfully checked on us, but not too much. Our dinners were divine. We were too full for desert, but the desert menu looked delicious. We always enjoy the live music. This charming cottage has provided us with a wonderful experience each time we have visited. NO wonder this place is so popular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Excellent service. Very frie ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Very friendly owner and staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the atmosphere of Arts & Eats. It ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I love the atmosphere of Arts & Eats. It's eclectic, vibrant, and fun. The food is fabulous too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a Groupon and had never heard of ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We had a Groupon and had never heard of this restaurant before. It was a delightful, quirky, happy place. We were made to feel so welcome and the service was excellent but unobtrusive. Best of all the food was divine. We had dates stuffed with goat cheese and pistachios and drizzled with balsamic vinegar followed by vegan curry. The curry was served with a pineapple chutney that was the best we've ever had.

Congratulations to the chef and his wife.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this restaurant is in the Village of Art ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

this restaurant is in the Village of Arts. A great area for food and art. The chef is very creative! We had the dates with goat cheese and pistachios, and ricotta balls...wonderful! The chicken with portabello sauce was "hands down the best". Carrot cake is wonderful! we definetly would go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a fun experience at Arts and Eats ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always a fun experience at Arts and Eats! Lovely staff, lovingly prepared food and a nice wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun, funky and artsy restaurant with gre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Fun, funky and artsy restaurant with great and original food. Couple who runs this little establishment were very sweet and solicitous. I had the Indian vegetarian curry which was made from the freshest ingredients and was one of best I have ever had. My friend enjoyed a hearty hot sandwich and we shared a very delicious poached pear with lemon marzipan sauce. Wonderful lunch! Plan to go back many times!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious cuisine with friendly service. ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious cuisine with friendly service. Charming art as decoration and enchanting area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Funky little place with wonderful food a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Funky little place with wonderful food and service. Scallops are my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow a hidden gem. Outside of our normal ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wow a hidden gem. Outside of our normal comfort zone and amazing. Ingredients I had never heard of before explained very well, the spices I feared served on the side and brilliant flavor made me a true fan!

We started with the Fried Parmigian Risotto Balls - light, creamy, seasoned perfectly and the best risotto I've had in years.

Main dishes...

I had pan Roasted Sea Bass served Mediterranean Style with Harissa, Rice, Tahini Sauce and Broccoli. The heat was perfect. The bass had a perfect crisp skin. The entire dish just complimented each ingredient it was heavenly.

My husband had Thai Red Curry Shrimp with Ribbon Noodles and Vegetables. Great flavor. He didn't think it had much heat at first, but by the time he was ready to kick the plate clean he did! I didn't get a bite- he never came up for air.

Desserts was homemade as well. This was the best meal we've had in Florida over three months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our server was excellent. Truly passiona ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our server was excellent. Truly passionate about the food she represented and the restaurant. As a whole the restaurant plays with all of your senses, local art covers the walls, peaceful soulful music plays, bright colors, fun textures. The food..... Chef Jim is insane in the best way possible. His creations borderline on genius. The way that the flavors are juxtaposed creates such an interesting palette. The special soup today (blended veggie) was the best soup I've ever had. The Rosemary flatbread with hummus was both salty and floral sweet. The sea bass was cooked in a way I had never tried before and I loved it paired with the Mediterranean accoutrements. The star of the show was most definitely the Persian ice cream with her notes of cardamom, saffron, rose... Best ice cream ever! Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit was memorable. Great fo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit was memorable. Great food and nice discussion with our server as well as the owner. We learned about the history of the restaurant and the background of the owners. The food was exceptional. Garlic herb bread, scallops and mashed potato combo was great. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent intriguing flavor-full food wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent intriguing flavor-full food with warm and welcoming staff, a must for serious foodies seeking a new journey!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wrote review on tripadvisor. Entire sta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wrote review on tripadvisor. Entire staff friendly and knowledgeable. Food entrees excellent and well appointed. House wines excellent and added bonus wonderful entertainment from a super singer/pianist. Going back this week with book club

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was coming from Clearwater and wasn't ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I was coming from Clearwater and wasn't familiar with the area. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The neighborhood was really cute. The restaurant was adorable, the servers were excellent and the food was delicious. It is a very small place renovated from a frame house, so reservations would be recommended. I would highly recommend Arts & Eats.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful, wait staff frien ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was wonderful, wait staff friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great scallops, quiet for our first anniversary dinner. Our third time here, we will be back, staff is very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Amazing!

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fabulous, chef created meals. Unique and tasty flavors, unparalleled in the area. Every dish ordered by party was great! Short ribs were succulent & mashed potatoes were tasty. Pasta dishes, veal, etc- all were delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a chance to try this restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We took a chance to try this restaurant. When we arrived the parking area very shabby and much in need of attention. We ventured in and found a very eclectic atmosphere. It was easy to relax as we the delightful piano music.

Our waitress was very knowledgeable

of the menu and the food incredible! The food was artistry at its finest! We ordered veal which was perfection as was the seafood and noodles. If you miss this restaurant you will miss a very unique chef and his ability to create the unimagineable. It was definitely worth the drive!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Arts & Eats provides an intimate setting ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Arts & Eats provides an intimate setting with outstanding food and service. Can't say enough about this Bradenton gem nestled in the Village of the Arts where charming quirkiness is the norm and the food so outstanding we indulged in appetizers, entrees and desserts. Mellow live music on Friday night and a staff who made us feel so at home yet were seasoned professionals added to the ambiance. The owners clearly believe serving excellence to a few (the restaurant is small and quaint) is far preferable than dishing so-so plates to the masses.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered the special Mediterranean Sea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We ordered the special Mediterranean Sea Bass, and it was stupendous, as were the sides. Dessert was also delicious. We thought the place needed a little spiffing up. However, everyone was really friendly and we had a great time. Great chef, who delivered our meals himself.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

What a gem!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This is now our favorite place to go for an amazing meal in an intimate setting with terrific music. The house is cozy and beautifully decorated with interesting local art. We were there for the last jazz night of the season - the musicians were terrific! Chef Jim creates innovative and delicious dishes. It's the best food in the area. The wine selection is small but spot on! It can get a little noisy but that just adds to the extremely satisfying dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funky, but food was uneven.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Funky scene, lots of energy. The menu is eclectic to say the least: curry and pasta, etc.

We had a reservation, and got right in, even though the place was packed on a Monday night.

Service was fine, if a little distracted. Shrimp Tempura was excellent - the pasta less so. It was undercooked, and chewy.

One problem - we had a reservation for dinner, but when we arrived, they had a mandatory cover charge for music....bummer. The place is too small for live music, and I have never honestly had a dinner reservation that included a mandatory cover charge for music in the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb little restaurant in the arts village

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

A gem of a find. Vibrant, colorful interior with great service and better food. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a taste of Key West without the need to travel to the keys. I was recommended to try the restaurant, and have recommended it to my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

card

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed the music, the food original and delicious. Excellent spot for dinner after enjoying the Bradenton Art Walk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic dishes and will be ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dishes and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

An eclectic gem!

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

So quaint and unique. The food is amazing, get the fresh fish! We had pompano and snapper, both superb. Figs app is delicious, apple fritters are fantastic. Wine was great and stellar service. Perfection, can't wait to return!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

A unique experience. Monday jazz was even more enjoyable. Food outstanding. Small,quaint , funky, flavorful, equals memorable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funky, arty bungalow in the Village of t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Funky, arty bungalow in the Village of the arts in Bradenton servrs up delicious Asian/Med/N. African fusion cuisine.

Loving prepared, delightful service and reasonably priced. Worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun and eclectic

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I've been wanting to try Arts & Eats for some time so I was excited when it worked out to be around the corner from our Friday night evening plans. Turns out we finished up about an hour before our dinner reservation but we stopped in anyway and the nice woman at the front seated us right away. The place is super tiny but definitely represents the definition of "cozy" well. There were two guys singing folk music in the main room which I really enjoyed. I had a bowl of onion soup to start and for main dish had the chicken with mushroom sauce and rice and asparagus. My husband started with the appetizer special, vegan ravioli and spring rolls. He wasnt a big fan of the ravioli but I didn't expect him to like vegan anyway lol I thought they were yummy. For his main dish he had the pork tenderloin with sweet potato and another veggie which he said was delicious. All in all we enjoyed ourselves. I look forward to returning :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Still Our Favorite Restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

What a special gem! This restaurant has the best food with unique flavors and combinations. The service is great and very friendly. It was the best restaurant last year when we visited Bradenton for a Pirates game. One year later and it is sill the best restaurant in Florida! Very eclectic place - prepare for an adventure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Check it out

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food, great people, great music...what a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was out of this world. I pleasant surprise in Bradenton! Go ! You will definitely love the food. The room is small and a little loud, but pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

This was our first visit for dinner and it was wonderful! Chef Jim does a terrific job of turning out tasty creative foods. One of the specials that evening was lamb Osso bucco. It was the best I ever had, and I've had quite a few over the years! My husband chose the Pompano and loved it. We were "stuffed" so we passed on dessert, although each one we saw at other tables looked spectacular. Jim's wife Donna took care of the customers and made us feel like family. Our waitress was great! We will return soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very quaint little restaurant.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Very quaint little restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food and the jazz were both wonderfu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

The food and the jazz were both wonderful! The atmosphere is filled with people having a great time and moving to the beat of jazz music you recognize right a away. The hostess is the wife/owner and is very gracious. We experienced a treat when the husband/owner/chef came out of the kitchen to jam with the quartet. He is as passionate playing jazz as he is with cooking delicious meals. The lamb was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.