About Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery

1114 12th St. West
Bradenton, FL 34205
View Larger Map

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery is located in the heart of the Village of the Arts in Bradenton, Florida. It's located in a 1920s bungalow and has distinguished itself by remaining #1 on Trip Advisor with a solid 5 star rating for the past year and a half.

Chef Jim’s food is inspired by the ethnic flavors he experienced on the streets of New York City. He is passionate about bringing international flavors to the Bradenton Sarasota area. The menu includes Thai shrimp curry, fresh fish with miso, truffle butter or Thai curry sauce, homemade garlic goat cheese ravioli with pesto, fresh fish, scallops with truffle butter, and much more. All foods are prepared in-house, including breads and desserts (this includes a carrot cake that will make you cry with joy).

Arts & Eats prides itself on bringing people together through amazing food by Chef Jim Copening, nightly music by local musicians, and service where you enter as a guest and leave as a friend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
12th Ave W.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 201-6647

Website:
http://www.artsandeatsfl.com/

Entertainment:
Arts & Eats hosts local musicians Tuesday through Saturday evenings with an open mic on Wednesday evenings from 6-8pm.

Catering:
We cater dinner parties and small events (up to 50 people).

Parking Details:
Parking is available across the street from the restaurant. There's rarely a problem finding parking.

Executive Chef:
Jim Copening

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant seats 35. You can host your own party or event here by reserving the entire space or just the main dining room. We're flexible with our menu and will design a menu specifically for your event, within your budget.

Private Party Contact:
Donna Slawsky: 8446277477

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Tampa / Central Florida West
Neighborhood Gem
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Sarasota / Bradenton
4 More
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Neighborhood Gem
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Bradenton ›

neighborhood gem (34)
fit for foodies (31)
special occasion (15)
See All
romantic (11)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (4)
good for groups (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
notable wine list (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Funky little place with wonderful food a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 2 days ago

Funky little place with wonderful food and service. Scallops are my favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wow a hidden gem. Outside of our normal ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wow a hidden gem. Outside of our normal comfort zone and amazing. Ingredients I had never heard of before explained very well, the spices I feared served on the side and brilliant flavor made me a true fan!

We started with the Fried Parmigian Risotto Balls - light, creamy, seasoned perfectly and the best risotto I've had in years.

Main dishes...

I had pan Roasted Sea Bass served Mediterranean Style with Harissa, Rice, Tahini Sauce and Broccoli. The heat was perfect. The bass had a perfect crisp skin. The entire dish just complimented each ingredient it was heavenly.

My husband had Thai Red Curry Shrimp with Ribbon Noodles and Vegetables. Great flavor. He didn't think it had much heat at first, but by the time he was ready to kick the plate clean he did! I didn't get a bite- he never came up for air.

Desserts was homemade as well. This was the best meal we've had in Florida over three months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Our server was excellent. Truly passiona ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Our server was excellent. Truly passionate about the food she represented and the restaurant. As a whole the restaurant plays with all of your senses, local art covers the walls, peaceful soulful music plays, bright colors, fun textures. The food..... Chef Jim is insane in the best way possible. His creations borderline on genius. The way that the flavors are juxtaposed creates such an interesting palette. The special soup today (blended veggie) was the best soup I've ever had. The Rosemary flatbread with hummus was both salty and floral sweet. The sea bass was cooked in a way I had never tried before and I loved it paired with the Mediterranean accoutrements. The star of the show was most definitely the Persian ice cream with her notes of cardamom, saffron, rose... Best ice cream ever! Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit was memorable. Great fo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit was memorable. Great food and nice discussion with our server as well as the owner. We learned about the history of the restaurant and the background of the owners. The food was exceptional. Garlic herb bread, scallops and mashed potato combo was great. We'll be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent intriguing flavor-full food wi ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent intriguing flavor-full food with warm and welcoming staff, a must for serious foodies seeking a new journey!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wrote review on tripadvisor. Entire sta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Wrote review on tripadvisor. Entire staff friendly and knowledgeable. Food entrees excellent and well appointed. House wines excellent and added bonus wonderful entertainment from a super singer/pianist. Going back this week with book club

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was coming from Clearwater and wasn't ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

I was coming from Clearwater and wasn't familiar with the area. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The neighborhood was really cute. The restaurant was adorable, the servers were excellent and the food was delicious. It is a very small place renovated from a frame house, so reservations would be recommended. I would highly recommend Arts & Eats.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was wonderful, wait staff frien ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was wonderful, wait staff friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great scallops, quiet for our first anniversary dinner. Our third time here, we will be back, staff is very friendly.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Amazing!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fabulous, chef created meals. Unique and tasty flavors, unparalleled in the area. Every dish ordered by party was great! Short ribs were succulent & mashed potatoes were tasty. Pasta dishes, veal, etc- all were delicious!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a chance to try this restaurant ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We took a chance to try this restaurant. When we arrived the parking area very shabby and much in need of attention. We ventured in and found a very eclectic atmosphere. It was easy to relax as we the delightful piano music.

Our waitress was very knowledgeable

of the menu and the food incredible! The food was artistry at its finest! We ordered veal which was perfection as was the seafood and noodles. If you miss this restaurant you will miss a very unique chef and his ability to create the unimagineable. It was definitely worth the drive!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Arts & Eats provides an intimate setting ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Arts & Eats provides an intimate setting with outstanding food and service. Can't say enough about this Bradenton gem nestled in the Village of the Arts where charming quirkiness is the norm and the food so outstanding we indulged in appetizers, entrees and desserts. Mellow live music on Friday night and a staff who made us feel so at home yet were seasoned professionals added to the ambiance. The owners clearly believe serving excellence to a few (the restaurant is small and quaint) is far preferable than dishing so-so plates to the masses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered the special Mediterranean Sea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We ordered the special Mediterranean Sea Bass, and it was stupendous, as were the sides. Dessert was also delicious. We thought the place needed a little spiffing up. However, everyone was really friendly and we had a great time. Great chef, who delivered our meals himself.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

What a gem!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This is now our favorite place to go for an amazing meal in an intimate setting with terrific music. The house is cozy and beautifully decorated with interesting local art. We were there for the last jazz night of the season - the musicians were terrific! Chef Jim creates innovative and delicious dishes. It's the best food in the area. The wine selection is small but spot on! It can get a little noisy but that just adds to the extremely satisfying dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funky, but food was uneven.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Funky scene, lots of energy. The menu is eclectic to say the least: curry and pasta, etc.

We had a reservation, and got right in, even though the place was packed on a Monday night.

Service was fine, if a little distracted. Shrimp Tempura was excellent - the pasta less so. It was undercooked, and chewy.

One problem - we had a reservation for dinner, but when we arrived, they had a mandatory cover charge for music....bummer. The place is too small for live music, and I have never honestly had a dinner reservation that included a mandatory cover charge for music in the restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Superb little restaurant in the arts village

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

A gem of a find. Vibrant, colorful interior with great service and better food. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a taste of Key West without the need to travel to the keys. I was recommended to try the restaurant, and have recommended it to my friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

card

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed the music, the food original and delicious. Excellent spot for dinner after enjoying the Bradenton Art Walk.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fantastic dishes and will be ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Absolutely fantastic dishes and will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

An eclectic gem!

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

So quaint and unique. The food is amazing, get the fresh fish! We had pompano and snapper, both superb. Figs app is delicious, apple fritters are fantastic. Wine was great and stellar service. Perfection, can't wait to return!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

A unique experience. Monday jazz was even more enjoyable. Food outstanding. Small,quaint , funky, flavorful, equals memorable

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Funky, arty bungalow in the Village of t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

Funky, arty bungalow in the Village of the arts in Bradenton servrs up delicious Asian/Med/N. African fusion cuisine.

Loving prepared, delightful service and reasonably priced. Worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun and eclectic

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I've been wanting to try Arts & Eats for some time so I was excited when it worked out to be around the corner from our Friday night evening plans. Turns out we finished up about an hour before our dinner reservation but we stopped in anyway and the nice woman at the front seated us right away. The place is super tiny but definitely represents the definition of "cozy" well. There were two guys singing folk music in the main room which I really enjoyed. I had a bowl of onion soup to start and for main dish had the chicken with mushroom sauce and rice and asparagus. My husband started with the appetizer special, vegan ravioli and spring rolls. He wasnt a big fan of the ravioli but I didn't expect him to like vegan anyway lol I thought they were yummy. For his main dish he had the pork tenderloin with sweet potato and another veggie which he said was delicious. All in all we enjoyed ourselves. I look forward to returning :-)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Still Our Favorite Restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

What a special gem! This restaurant has the best food with unique flavors and combinations. The service is great and very friendly. It was the best restaurant last year when we visited Bradenton for a Pirates game. One year later and it is sill the best restaurant in Florida! Very eclectic place - prepare for an adventure.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Check it out

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great food, great people, great music...what a wonderful place to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

The food was out of this world. I pleasant surprise in Bradenton! Go ! You will definitely love the food. The room is small and a little loud, but pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A Gem

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

This was our first visit for dinner and it was wonderful! Chef Jim does a terrific job of turning out tasty creative foods. One of the specials that evening was lamb Osso bucco. It was the best I ever had, and I've had quite a few over the years! My husband chose the Pompano and loved it. We were "stuffed" so we passed on dessert, although each one we saw at other tables looked spectacular. Jim's wife Donna took care of the customers and made us feel like family. Our waitress was great! We will return soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very quaint little restaurant.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Very quaint little restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food and the jazz were both wonderfu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

The food and the jazz were both wonderful! The atmosphere is filled with people having a great time and moving to the beat of jazz music you recognize right a away. The hostess is the wife/owner and is very gracious. We experienced a treat when the husband/owner/chef came out of the kitchen to jam with the quartet. He is as passionate playing jazz as he is with cooking delicious meals. The lamb was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special little restaurant

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

This was a very special little restaurant. It is small and tables are close but the food and service were really outstanding. Live music from local musician just adds to the ambience. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

FRESH and TASTY food

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

What we liked the best was the freshness of ingredients. The veggies tasted like they were picked not too long ago in my own garden! The curry was very tasty and the portion was even too large. Last but not least, the poached pear was simply the BEST desert we'd had in Florida (and we've eaten in top rated restaurants in Sarasota, Orlando, Key West...!)

The atmosphere was nice: we liked the cottage-like decoration and the instruments, here and there.

We'll come back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Amy was wonderful. Really enjoyed it! ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Amy was wonderful. Really enjoyed it! B&B feel cause you're so close but very unique! Food great!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cute restaurant , good music, interesting food.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We were very happy to walk into such a cute restaurant and enjoyed the entire atmosphere. We ordered a lot of different food items and they all were unique and very good. We didn't like the fact that we were suddenly rushed out so they could turn our table. We were actually all ready to go but they misplace our bill. We wanted to leave as well, but they were rude and made comments about us getting out of there. Ruined a perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Quirky resturant with good, international food.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

An intimate eating place in Bradenton's Village of the Arts neighborhood. A small house with eclectic décor and relatively limited seating (I would certainly recommend reservations). The food has an international flavor and is very tasty. The service was attentive. An interesting place to eat if you are looking for something out of the ordinary.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and jazz

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

It's a small place so make reservations! Inspired food, nouvelle cuisine,very efficient service. Reasonably priced considering the high quality. Chef ain't a bad bass player either.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal - and so much fun to ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Always a great meal - and so much fun to bring friends and family for the first time. Chef Jim never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great meal, had the pork and it ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Really great meal, had the pork and it was so moist and delicious, definitely will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Pompano is a standout

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We met friends for the Monday dinner with jazz and were delighted with both. The pompano is always excellent and it's a treat to find this local fish on the menu. The lamb shank was hearty and tasty. The stuffed pear is divine. My only disappointment was the too salty greens. The atmosphere is comfortable and welcoming. One of our favorite area restaurants.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dining at Arts andEats

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Delightful experience at Art and Eats.

We had a late noon time reservation , so the crowd had left by the time we got there. Had undivided service, and even the companionship of the cat. The service was perfect as was the food. The carrot cake was the best for dessert of any I have had. Enjoyed our time there.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

What a great spot. A gem of a find !! Excellent Meals. Great menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time there and it was a cool e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Our first time there and it was a cool evening and there was no one there except us so as one would think you would say to yourself is this place any good. We walked into a quaint place with art on the walls.

My wife ordered the onion soup and it was very good. For dinner I ordered fish and my wife had ravioli. The food was fantastic. After that we had their homemade ice cream and lemon tart which was exceptional.

Needless to say we were very pleased and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.