About Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery

1114 12th St. West
Bradenton, FL 34205
View Larger Map

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery is located in the heart of the Village of the Arts in Bradenton, Florida. It's located in a 1920s bungalow and has distinguished itself by remaining #1 on Trip Advisor with a solid 5 star rating for the past year and a half.

Chef Jim’s food is inspired by the ethnic flavors he experienced on the streets of New York City. He is passionate about bringing international flavors to the Bradenton Sarasota area. The menu includes Thai shrimp curry, fresh fish with miso, truffle butter or Thai curry sauce, homemade garlic goat cheese ravioli with pesto, fresh fish, scallops with truffle butter, and much more. All foods are prepared in-house, including breads and desserts (this includes a carrot cake that will make you cry with joy).

Arts & Eats prides itself on bringing people together through amazing food by Chef Jim Copening, nightly music by local musicians, and service where you enter as a guest and leave as a friend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
12th Ave W.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 201-6647

Website:
http://www.artsandeatsfl.com/

Entertainment:
Arts & Eats hosts local musicians Tuesday through Saturday evenings with an open mic on Wednesday evenings from 6-8pm.

Catering:
We cater dinner parties and small events (up to 50 people).

Parking Details:
Parking is available across the street from the restaurant. There's rarely a problem finding parking.

Executive Chef:
Jim Copening

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant seats 35. You can host your own party or event here by reserving the entire space or just the main dining room. We're flexible with our menu and will design a menu specifically for your event, within your budget.

Private Party Contact:
Donna Slawsky: 8446277477

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery in Bradenton's Village of the Arts will be open on Christmas Eve for a great turkey and ham dinner with all the trimmings -- all homemade and delicious! We look forward to hosting your family.

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery in Bradenton's Village of the Arts will be open for a joyful holiday buffet for $35. on Christmas Day. We look forward to hosting you and your family! Arts & Eats is a top restaurant on Trip Advisor, Open Table, and Yelp.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve with Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery in Bradenton's Village of the Arts. We're cozy and intimate and present live music. There will be 2 seatings: $45. from 5 to 8 and $55. from 9 to midnight and beyond! The price fixed menu will include 3 sumptuous courses & bubbly!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Service
Tampa / Central Florida West
Fit for Foodies
Tampa / Central Florida West
6 More
Neighborhood Gem
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Food
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Ambiance
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Bradenton ›

Neighborhood Gem (22)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (10)
Live Music (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Romantic (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Authentic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Business Meals (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and the service were very good. ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food and the service were very good. I thought it was a little over priced. It is a very quaint location with other options in the area. I like that it is different that the "run of the mill" eating places. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Small intimate place with limited but in ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Small intimate place with limited but inventive menu of freshly made items. The restaurant is in a house in the Art District of Bradenton. The entire community is very artsy and there are art items for sale adorning the walls of the restaurant. Nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our dinner at Arts and Eats was good. O ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our dinner at Arts and Eats was good. One of us ordered the chicken breast on the regular menu. It had a very light cream sauce and was topped with mushrooms. The chicken was perfectly cooked and tasted delicious. The other member of our party had a lamb shank from the specials list. It was very tender, and it was flavorful, but the portion was a little small.

Our appetizer was stuffed figs -- delicious! For dessert we ordered the chocolate cake from the regular menu. It was tasty, but just a little dry.

Arts and Eats has a somewhat limited menu. Some diners may have difficulty finding things to order. I had been there before and always enjoyed my meal, but sometimes struggled with the menu.

They often have live music. It's a very small place, and the music is sometimes too loud for the space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great dishes! My wife had the pompano, ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great dishes! My wife had the pompano, my friend had a seafood special, and I had the roasted chicken breast. They were all fantastic. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were the only diners; food was very b ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were the only diners; food was very bland - squash soup had absolutely no flavor at all; curry was said to be mildly spicy - had to add pepper just to have any flavor. Pan-roasted chicken was fair; mushroom sauce made it better. Rice side was tasteless. White Sauvignon Blanc wine was absolutely the worst - bitter; could not finish it. High-priced meal for mediocre quality. Tried it once before for dessert; was OK. Decided to give it a try for dinner and no better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Simply excellent!!

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Simply excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Jim and his Wife Donna do a SUPER j ...

 
·Dined on November 16, 2016

Chef Jim and his Wife Donna do a SUPER job. The food is out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time dining here and was very i ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

My first time dining here and was very impressed. Excellent food, very creative menu choices, nice selection of appetizers, good wine pairings with each entree and great service. Highly recommend and will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Cute venue with an awesome menu, friendl ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Cute venue with an awesome menu, friendly and personal service and high quality food. A must in Sarasota-Bradenton to return to each trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charming neighbourhood restaurant, pleas ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Charming neighbourhood restaurant, pleasant musician, cool funky decor, food quite well-prepared, owners very gracious, service attentive and professional. Prices rather steep, $28 is too much for pompano, though it was delicious. Worth a return visit, specials sounded delectable and enthusiastic.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was freshly prepared and served hot ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was freshly prepared and served hot. Homey , casual atmosphere. Would have liked bread served with dinner or a small house salad. Food was delicious, but would have liked a little more for the price. We will dine there again.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed the Arts and Eats ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Arts and Eats Cafe. Our lunch was expertly prepared, delivered with a smile and no details were overlooked. Chef Jim's carrot cake was the best we've ever tasted. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meals of fried chicken wi ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed our meals of fried chicken with Asian noodles and broccoli and an awesome meatless curry which was the best I've had ! The wine was good as well as the beer, but could have a bit more variety of beer.

We enjoyed the musician and his easy rock selections.

Such a cute place in a cozy little house turned restaurant in The Village of the Arts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit here. Both tim ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was our second visit here. Both times the food and service was excellent. We brought some friends with us this time and they also thought it was great. Kudos also to the musician.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Friday Art Walk and Eats! My wife ...

 
·Dined on November 4, 2016

First Friday Art Walk and Eats! My wife and I returned to this neighborhood gem for an early dinner prior to our Art Walk, I had a very tasty lamb shank with vegetables, and my wife had a pompano special. the lamb shank was well-seasoned and perfectly cooked. The meat pulled right off the bone. My wife's pompano was extremely tasty and she ate every bit of it. Would definitely return for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The owners are awesome creative welcomin ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

The owners are awesome creative welcoming people. The food is fresh, and perfectly tasty! The ambience is charming located in an old home/Bungalo.

BE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal we have had since purchasi ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

The best meal we have had since purchasing a home in Florida a year and a half ago! Highly recommend this restaurant - we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A favorite. Original, quality, delicious ...

 
·Dined on October 28, 2016

A favorite. Original, quality, delicious food made with live.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, the waitress was ...

 
·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was excellent, the waitress was wonderful, but the owners don't seem to value return customers. To be charged $5 for an extra plate when we ordered wine, appetizer and dinner is ridiculous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value1

Very creative and super delicious dishes ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very creative and super delicious dishes! Chef Jim does a great job! His wife, Donna, makes you feel like you're at home. Lovely live background music...can't wait to return .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Vegan, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal every time. Great value a ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent meal every time. Great value as well. We will definitely be back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent brunch experience in a bloo ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent brunch experience in a blooming art community. Fantastic menu with creative choices. A+++. We will be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a superb experience. I came fo ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

As always a superb experience. I came for the veg curry and it was as always, Historic! Hubby came for the lamb shank and it was glorious. The serving staff were attentive and smiley and lovely.The guy singing was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. Absolutely fabulous find. We starte ...

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wow. Absolutely fabulous find. We started with the Parmesan Risotto Balls which were great. I had the Asian fried chicken, loved the flavor. My husband had the tangible seafood which was amazingly fresh. We then topped it off with the best carrot cake ever. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
service5

Second time dining here and it is awesom ...

 
·Dined on October 13, 2016

Second time dining here and it is awesome! The owners are very warm and friendly and the food outstanding!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 3 of us for dining and all we ...

 
·Dined on October 9, 2016

There were 3 of us for dining and all we had selected on the menu was not available even our second choice attempts were also no available in fact we did consider just finishing our drinks and leaving .

The reasons were the restaurant had been extremely busy the previous 2 nights Friday and Saturday and someone had just returned from holiday .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our 5th time there and we have ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our 5th time there and we have been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a fun neighborhood hangout like you ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Just a fun neighborhood hangout like you are going to a friend's house for dinner. And he happens to be a master chef.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All dishes were exceptional including th ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

All dishes were exceptional including the carrot cake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have enjoyed both dinner and lunch her ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

I have enjoyed both dinner and lunch here many times. Never disappointed. Flavors, textures and inventive cuisine a specialty of the house. The chef's wife and co-owner is a gracious hostess and the staff is attentive. Both owners are restaurateurs and also have musical ability. It is an eclectic, marvelous dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Small restaurant with big atmosphere . M ...

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

Small restaurant with big atmosphere . Meal was top notch; staff was friendly and gracious. The chef was personable and greeted each and every guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere and service are wonderful ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

The atmosphere and service are wonderful. The food is absolutely delicious. Love taking people there for their first time experience. As always, our friends liked it a lot. We have been there several times, and each time, the food has been consistently good. I recommend this restaurant to everyone I talk to who has not had the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, our service was excellen ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was great, our service was excellent. Cute place. Will definitely return many times! The menu is very eclectic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always. Excellent and frien ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2016

Delicious as always. Excellent and friendly service. Wonderful soup and salad. Love the seafood tagine. Amazing carrot cake & cappuccino. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been eating once or twice a year ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been eating once or twice a year at Arts and Eats since it opened. This most recent visit was a disappointment. A long favorite dish, the vegetarian curry, which is usually amazing was below standard. The vegetables used were easily identified as coming from a frozen bag of mixed vegetables: corn, cubed carrots, peas and beans. This greatly diminished the taste and texture of the dish. The flat bread served with the dish was tough and flavorless, clearly not prepared in house, and was not worth eating. My date's entrée was cold upon arrival. These are not cheap meals, and in the past I have been happy to spend freely. I will say that our appetizer: rustic home made garlic bread with olive oil and roasted Egyptian hazelnuts, was excellent and tasty as usual, we ate every bite. The deserts were outstanding: the carrot cake is still the best I have ever had, and Chef Jim's Persian ice cream: rosewater, pistachios and rose petals accompanied by a light crispy coconut cookie was amazing and should become part of the regular menu. Chef Jim is a creative, masterful chef combining tastes and cuisines with great success. I have enjoyed all of my previous meals immensely, which is why I am giving 4 stars not less. To be fair, this was the day before the restaurant closed for a much needed month long vacation, so not wanting to waste food is understandable. I am hoping after a good period of rest and relaxation that my next visit is more reflective of my previous experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was warm with sense of humor. Des ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Server was warm with sense of humor. Described menu items well.

Menu selections very interesting. Food was great.

Owners (Donna and Jim) visited a bit and made it very friendly.

My guests were delighted.

A success!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arts and Eats was a surprisingly good fi ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Arts and Eats was a surprisingly good find. My wife had a pompano dish which she felt was superb. I had a chicken dish. The chicken was perfectly cooked and the mushroom sauce was sensational. Nice atmosphere, pleasant patrons.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolute charming/funky ambience. A bit ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Absolute charming/funky ambience. A bit pricey for this neighborhood, but they deliver most at a high standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It's so nice to dine at Arts and Eats be ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It's so nice to dine at Arts and Eats because of the atmosphere. Chef Jim and Donna treat everyone like house guests. A special request for gluten-free was cheerfully accommodated. Chef Jim stopped by our table more than once. Our server, Vivian, thoughtfully checked on us, but not too much. Our dinners were divine. We were too full for desert, but the desert menu looked delicious. We always enjoy the live music. This charming cottage has provided us with a wonderful experience each time we have visited. NO wonder this place is so popular.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Excellent service. Very frie ...

 
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great food. Excellent service. Very friendly owner and staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.