About Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery

1114 12th St. West
Bradenton, FL 34205
View Larger Map

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery is located in the heart of the Village of the Arts in Bradenton, Florida. It's located in a 1920s bungalow and has distinguished itself by remaining #1 on Trip Advisor with a solid 5 star rating for the past year and a half.

Chef Jim’s food is inspired by the ethnic flavors he experienced on the streets of New York City. He is passionate about bringing international flavors to the Bradenton Sarasota area. The menu includes Thai shrimp curry, fresh fish with miso, truffle butter or Thai curry sauce, homemade garlic goat cheese ravioli with pesto, fresh fish, scallops with truffle butter, and much more. All foods are prepared in-house, including breads and desserts (this includes a carrot cake that will make you cry with joy).

Arts & Eats prides itself on bringing people together through amazing food by Chef Jim Copening, nightly music by local musicians, and service where you enter as a guest and leave as a friend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
12th Ave W.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 201-6647

Website:
http://www.artsandeatsfl.com/

Entertainment:
Arts & Eats hosts local musicians Tuesday through Saturday evenings with an open mic on Wednesday evenings from 6-8pm.

Catering:
We cater dinner parties and small events (up to 50 people).

Parking Details:
Parking is available across the street from the restaurant. There's rarely a problem finding parking.

Executive Chef:
Jim Copening

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant seats 35. You can host your own party or event here by reserving the entire space or just the main dining room. We're flexible with our menu and will design a menu specifically for your event, within your budget.

Private Party Contact:
Donna Slawsky: (844) 627-7477

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Live Music (15)
Cozy (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Healthy (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vegan (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
241 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing food! We will return! Great wa ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food! We will return! Great wait staff - friendly and helpful!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking for a quiet place with goo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

I was looking for a quiet place with good food and I found it!!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second visit (first was abou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my second visit (first was about 5 months ago). Food was just as good as I remembered, but that was ironically a "double-edged sword": The menu was identical to my first visit, including the specials, which was a bit of a disappointment.

The dishes on the menu are very inventive, so I had looked forward to new ones to discover. All in all, though, still a great meal and at low prices for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The food was great, as usual. Another s ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great, as usual. Another server was needed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Awesome restaurant. A busy "holiday" nig ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome restaurant. A busy "holiday" night, but the food was great as usual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our 3rd time to dine at Arts & E ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

This is our 3rd time to dine at Arts & Eats and our 2nd Valentine's Day dinner...We always enjoy eating there especially when there is live music outside...I beieive that Monday's are Jazz night and if the weather cooperates it's outside.....

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have dined here several times and the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

I have dined here several times and the food is consistently good as is the service. Original recipes and their menu offers something for all - including vegan.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Vegan, Authentic, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambitious menu. Monday's music is low ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambitious menu. Monday's music is low key and is good for the background

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I am not a big fish eater but chose the ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I am not a big fish eater but chose the special which was Black Sea bass. It was one of the best fish dishes I've ever eaten! Moist and flavorful fish with baby bok choy and wild rice. Super yummy! Great service too! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nick our waiter was great. Food was five ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Nick our waiter was great.

Food was five stair.

The house is adorable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation a couple of weeks in ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Made a reservation a couple of weeks in advance & and asked for the porch, when we got there it was full. Noise level inside is too Loundy with the music to have a conversion. I had fish special and asked how it was prepared and told to look at the menu at the other fish.was done. The fish was so seasoned with soy that the delicate flavor was lost . This was third time there and each got more disappointing

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

This is definitely a hidden gem with a v ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This is definitely a hidden gem with a very special chef - Chef Jim

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local spot seems to be "discovered ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great local spot seems to be "discovered" by many.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crab & shrimp tagine with ribbon noo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The crab & shrimp tagine with ribbon noodles and black truffle butter was excellent, very generous amount of crab, large chunks,; sweet and fresh with just the right amount of garlic. The roasted chicken with mushrooms and madeira sauce: chicken perfectly roasted, generous amount of thick sliced freshly sautéed mushrooms, tasty sauce. Both meals were thoroughly enjoyed. Also enjoyed Chef Jim's carrot cake (always a must have) and the poached pear with marzipan and a mascarpone cheese. Both very yummy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

We keep on coming back. An experience on ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We keep on coming back. An experience on many fronts... food, service, music, personal touch,location etc

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at Arts and Eats several ti ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have dined at Arts and Eats several times. The meals have always been great.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love to take people who have never bee ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I love to take people who have never been there, for lunch. They are always delighted at the unique area and the restaurant itself. It makes for a fun outing !

Carrot soup and chicken salad were outstanding. But I always order the rustic bread and it was dry and not fresh. The first time , so I was disappointed.

Oh yes....carrot cake was superb.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon entering, we thought the restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Upon entering, we thought the restaurant was adorable. We were greeted in a most friendly way. Our waitress made wonderful suggestions. Our favorite was the stuffed date appetizer. I had the tagline, also excellent. Persian ice cream for dessert was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner with a friend in this eclectic, f ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Dinner with a friend in this eclectic, funky, sweet little place. Nice live music, suitable for dining and conversation. Special Ossobuco was pork and enjoyed by my companion. Vegetarian curry had chickpeas and a variety of vegetables perfectly cooked, very tasty, just the right spice. Service was great! Interesting art everywhere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our lunch here. Small place ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch here. Small place but very comfortable. Great food carefully prepared. Not a big menu which we liked. Do not say no to the chocolate truffle. Yum.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's "29th" birthday and she ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 17, 2017

It was my wife's "29th" birthday and she had heard about the restaurant while surfing through Trip Advisor. It seemed everyone liked this place and the ambiance was something she was looking for. I made a reservation the night before and we arrived 15 minutes early because of on street parking. No problem finding a spot and were quite surprised that our table was ready. I ordered the Indian curry with vegetables and chicken, and my wife had the Florida Pompano which she is still talking about. The meal did not disappoint. Our only recommendation would be to tone down the amp. We found it quite hard to have a conversation and to listen to the waitress. However, I do want to mention that the Sarasota group were excellent and became more alive when Chef Copening joined the group. The waitress was very attentive. Our water glasses were constantly filled and she kept returning to make sure we were OK. It was a very homey atmosphere and we were quite comfortable. A great experience.....

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food in a quaint old cottage. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good food in a quaint old cottage. The restaurant was full when we dined and I found the noise level to be unpleasant. There was an acoustic guitar player/singer and everyone seemed to be practically shouting at their tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed a birthday dinner on a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed a birthday dinner on a recent Saturday night. The food was excellent, pompano was grilled perfectly, tagine was very flavorful, tempura was light, not greasy. Apps were tasty, hummus in particular. Arancini was good, too. Live music was nice and not intrusive to our conversation. Waitstaff was attentive and helpful. Located in a very cool area of Bradenton.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a wonderful evening at Arts & Eat ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Arts & Eats, from the delicious meals of Roasted Chicken Breast with mashed potatoes and asparagus to Indian Curry with Chicken and Naan. Chef Jim is a

genius and his meals reflect that. We sprang for sharing a "decadent" Chocolate Tunnel Cake dessert, Wow!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The building was ecl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was great. The building was eclectic and old. The only problem I had was the close quarters and size of table. It made for a slightly uncomfortable feel while dining. The service was outstanding, but it's not fast food so don't be in a hurry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This has become my favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This has become my favorite restaurant in the Sarasota Bay region. Great food, funky fun atmosphere, live non-intrusive music, happy service people.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting on the porch was quaint and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The setting on the porch was quaint and cozy for two. The meals were spectacular!! One Moroccan lamb and one seafood tagine. One couldn't ask for more crab in the tagine.. the noodles were light and tasty. Spices accompanying the lamb were well balanced and the harissa was tempered to be a great complement.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A funky little restaurant in a funky par ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A funky little restaurant in a funky part of town. Always something new and delicious on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing. Will definitely be re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was amazing. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate here for lunch on Christmas Eve s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We ate here for lunch on Christmas Eve so it was more quiet as people were not out, but I was glad we were-this place is a FIND! Delicious. We had the humus, lavender flatbread, & fried risotto. My spouse & mominlaw had the chicken salad, & I had the crab salad. I loved it, best crab ever. Do yourself a favor and go. And get a glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative, delicious food and friendly st ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Creative, delicious food and friendly staff! Our server was knowledgeable and attentive and we always have a great experience at Arts & Eats!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cozy. The musician was really wond ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Very cozy. The musician was really wonderful and we enjoyed him.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and the service were very good. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food and the service were very good. I thought it was a little over priced. It is a very quaint location with other options in the area. I like that it is different that the "run of the mill" eating places. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Small intimate place with limited but in ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Small intimate place with limited but inventive menu of freshly made items. The restaurant is in a house in the Art District of Bradenton. The entire community is very artsy and there are art items for sale adorning the walls of the restaurant. Nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our dinner at Arts and Eats was good. O ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our dinner at Arts and Eats was good. One of us ordered the chicken breast on the regular menu. It had a very light cream sauce and was topped with mushrooms. The chicken was perfectly cooked and tasted delicious. The other member of our party had a lamb shank from the specials list. It was very tender, and it was flavorful, but the portion was a little small.

Our appetizer was stuffed figs -- delicious! For dessert we ordered the chocolate cake from the regular menu. It was tasty, but just a little dry.

Arts and Eats has a somewhat limited menu. Some diners may have difficulty finding things to order. I had been there before and always enjoyed my meal, but sometimes struggled with the menu.

They often have live music. It's a very small place, and the music is sometimes too loud for the space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great dishes! My wife had the pompano, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great dishes! My wife had the pompano, my friend had a seafood special, and I had the roasted chicken breast. They were all fantastic. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were the only diners; food was very b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were the only diners; food was very bland - squash soup had absolutely no flavor at all; curry was said to be mildly spicy - had to add pepper just to have any flavor. Pan-roasted chicken was fair; mushroom sauce made it better. Rice side was tasteless. White Sauvignon Blanc wine was absolutely the worst - bitter; could not finish it. High-priced meal for mediocre quality. Tried it once before for dessert; was OK. Decided to give it a try for dinner and no better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Simply excellent!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Simply excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Jim and his Wife Donna do a SUPER j ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Chef Jim and his Wife Donna do a SUPER job. The food is out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time dining here and was very i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My first time dining here and was very impressed. Excellent food, very creative menu choices, nice selection of appetizers, good wine pairings with each entree and great service. Highly recommend and will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, , Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.