About Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery

1114 12th St. West
Bradenton, FL 34205
View Larger Map

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery is located in the heart of the Village of the Arts in Bradenton, Florida. It's located in a 1920s bungalow and has distinguished itself by remaining #1 on Trip Advisor with a solid 5 star rating for the past year and a half.

Chef Jim’s food is inspired by the ethnic flavors he experienced on the streets of New York City. He is passionate about bringing international flavors to the Bradenton Sarasota area. The menu includes Thai shrimp curry, fresh fish with miso, truffle butter or Thai curry sauce, homemade garlic goat cheese ravioli with pesto, fresh fish, scallops with truffle butter, and much more. All foods are prepared in-house, including breads and desserts (this includes a carrot cake that will make you cry with joy).

Arts & Eats prides itself on bringing people together through amazing food by Chef Jim Copening, nightly music by local musicians, and service where you enter as a guest and leave as a friend.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:

Wednesday - Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm


Dinner:

Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Closed Sunday & Monday

Cross Street:
12th Ave W.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 201-6647

Website:
http://www.artsandeatsfl.com/

Entertainment:
Arts & Eats hosts local musicians Tuesday through Saturday evenings with an open mic on Wednesday evenings from 6-8pm.

Catering:
We cater dinner parties and small events (up to 50 people).

Parking Details:
Parking is available across the street from the restaurant. There's rarely a problem finding parking.

Executive Chef:
Jim Copening

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant seats 35. You can host your own party or event here by reserving the entire space or just the main dining room. We're flexible with our menu and will design a menu specifically for your event, within your budget.

Private Party Contact:
Donna Slawsky: (844) 627-7477

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (23)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Cozy (16)
Live Music (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fun (11)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Vegan (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Historic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner with a friend in this eclectic, f ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner with a friend in this eclectic, funky, sweet little place. Nice live music, suitable for dining and conversation. Special Ossobuco was pork and enjoyed by my companion. Vegetarian curry had chickpeas and a variety of vegetables perfectly cooked, very tasty, just the right spice. Service was great! Interesting art everywhere!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We enjoyed our lunch here. Small place ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our lunch here. Small place but very comfortable. Great food carefully prepared. Not a big menu which we liked. Do not say no to the chocolate truffle. Yum.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's "29th" birthday and she ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

It was my wife's "29th" birthday and she had heard about the restaurant while surfing through Trip Advisor. It seemed everyone liked this place and the ambiance was something she was looking for. I made a reservation the night before and we arrived 15 minutes early because of on street parking. No problem finding a spot and were quite surprised that our table was ready. I ordered the Indian curry with vegetables and chicken, and my wife had the Florida Pompano which she is still talking about. The meal did not disappoint. Our only recommendation would be to tone down the amp. We found it quite hard to have a conversation and to listen to the waitress. However, I do want to mention that the Sarasota group were excellent and became more alive when Chef Copening joined the group. The waitress was very attentive. Our water glasses were constantly filled and she kept returning to make sure we were OK. It was a very homey atmosphere and we were quite comfortable. A great experience.....

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food in a quaint old cottage. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good food in a quaint old cottage. The restaurant was full when we dined and I found the noise level to be unpleasant. There was an acoustic guitar player/singer and everyone seemed to be practically shouting at their tables.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed a birthday dinner on a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoyed a birthday dinner on a recent Saturday night. The food was excellent, pompano was grilled perfectly, tagine was very flavorful, tempura was light, not greasy. Apps were tasty, hummus in particular. Arancini was good, too. Live music was nice and not intrusive to our conversation. Waitstaff was attentive and helpful. Located in a very cool area of Bradenton.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a wonderful evening at Arts & Eat ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at Arts & Eats, from the delicious meals of Roasted Chicken Breast with mashed potatoes and asparagus to Indian Curry with Chicken and Naan. Chef Jim is a

genius and his meals reflect that. We sprang for sharing a "decadent" Chocolate Tunnel Cake dessert, Wow!

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The building was ecl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was great. The building was eclectic and old. The only problem I had was the close quarters and size of table. It made for a slightly uncomfortable feel while dining. The service was outstanding, but it's not fast food so don't be in a hurry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This has become my favorite restaurant i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This has become my favorite restaurant in the Sarasota Bay region. Great food, funky fun atmosphere, live non-intrusive music, happy service people.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The setting on the porch was quaint and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The setting on the porch was quaint and cozy for two. The meals were spectacular!! One Moroccan lamb and one seafood tagine. One couldn't ask for more crab in the tagine.. the noodles were light and tasty. Spices accompanying the lamb were well balanced and the harissa was tempered to be a great complement.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

A funky little restaurant in a funky par ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

A funky little restaurant in a funky part of town. Always something new and delicious on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was amazing. Will definitely be re ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was amazing. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate here for lunch on Christmas Eve s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We ate here for lunch on Christmas Eve so it was more quiet as people were not out, but I was glad we were-this place is a FIND! Delicious. We had the humus, lavender flatbread, & fried risotto. My spouse & mominlaw had the chicken salad, & I had the crab salad. I loved it, best crab ever. Do yourself a favor and go. And get a glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Creative, delicious food and friendly st ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Creative, delicious food and friendly staff! Our server was knowledgeable and attentive and we always have a great experience at Arts & Eats!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very cozy. The musician was really wond ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Very cozy. The musician was really wonderful and we enjoyed him.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and the service were very good. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food and the service were very good. I thought it was a little over priced. It is a very quaint location with other options in the area. I like that it is different that the "run of the mill" eating places. We will go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Small intimate place with limited but in ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Small intimate place with limited but inventive menu of freshly made items. The restaurant is in a house in the Art District of Bradenton. The entire community is very artsy and there are art items for sale adorning the walls of the restaurant. Nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our dinner at Arts and Eats was good. O ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Our dinner at Arts and Eats was good. One of us ordered the chicken breast on the regular menu. It had a very light cream sauce and was topped with mushrooms. The chicken was perfectly cooked and tasted delicious. The other member of our party had a lamb shank from the specials list. It was very tender, and it was flavorful, but the portion was a little small.

Our appetizer was stuffed figs -- delicious! For dessert we ordered the chocolate cake from the regular menu. It was tasty, but just a little dry.

Arts and Eats has a somewhat limited menu. Some diners may have difficulty finding things to order. I had been there before and always enjoyed my meal, but sometimes struggled with the menu.

They often have live music. It's a very small place, and the music is sometimes too loud for the space.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great dishes! My wife had the pompano, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great dishes! My wife had the pompano, my friend had a seafood special, and I had the roasted chicken breast. They were all fantastic. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were the only diners; food was very b ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We were the only diners; food was very bland - squash soup had absolutely no flavor at all; curry was said to be mildly spicy - had to add pepper just to have any flavor. Pan-roasted chicken was fair; mushroom sauce made it better. Rice side was tasteless. White Sauvignon Blanc wine was absolutely the worst - bitter; could not finish it. High-priced meal for mediocre quality. Tried it once before for dessert; was OK. Decided to give it a try for dinner and no better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Simply excellent!!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Simply excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Jim and his Wife Donna do a SUPER j ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Chef Jim and his Wife Donna do a SUPER job. The food is out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time dining here and was very i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My first time dining here and was very impressed. Excellent food, very creative menu choices, nice selection of appetizers, good wine pairings with each entree and great service. Highly recommend and will definitely return!

Tags: Special Occasion, , Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Cute venue with an awesome menu, friendl ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Cute venue with an awesome menu, friendly and personal service and high quality food. A must in Sarasota-Bradenton to return to each trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charming neighbourhood restaurant, pleas ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Charming neighbourhood restaurant, pleasant musician, cool funky decor, food quite well-prepared, owners very gracious, service attentive and professional. Prices rather steep, $28 is too much for pompano, though it was delicious. Worth a return visit, specials sounded delectable and enthusiastic.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Food was freshly prepared and served hot ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was freshly prepared and served hot. Homey , casual atmosphere. Would have liked bread served with dinner or a small house salad. Food was delicious, but would have liked a little more for the price. We will dine there again.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed the Arts and Eats ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Arts and Eats Cafe. Our lunch was expertly prepared, delivered with a smile and no details were overlooked. Chef Jim's carrot cake was the best we've ever tasted. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, , Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meals of fried chicken wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed our meals of fried chicken with Asian noodles and broccoli and an awesome meatless curry which was the best I've had ! The wine was good as well as the beer, but could have a bit more variety of beer.

We enjoyed the musician and his easy rock selections.

Such a cute place in a cozy little house turned restaurant in The Village of the Arts!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit here. Both tim ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2016

This was our second visit here. Both times the food and service was excellent. We brought some friends with us this time and they also thought it was great. Kudos also to the musician.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, , Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Friday Art Walk and Eats! My wife ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

First Friday Art Walk and Eats! My wife and I returned to this neighborhood gem for an early dinner prior to our Art Walk, I had a very tasty lamb shank with vegetables, and my wife had a pompano special. the lamb shank was well-seasoned and perfectly cooked. The meat pulled right off the bone. My wife's pompano was extremely tasty and she ate every bit of it. Would definitely return for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The owners are awesome creative welcomin ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The owners are awesome creative welcoming people. The food is fresh, and perfectly tasty! The ambience is charming located in an old home/Bungalo.

BE

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal we have had since purchasi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The best meal we have had since purchasing a home in Florida a year and a half ago! Highly recommend this restaurant - we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A favorite. Original, quality, delicious ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A favorite. Original, quality, delicious food made with live.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, the waitress was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was excellent, the waitress was wonderful, but the owners don't seem to value return customers. To be charged $5 for an extra plate when we ordered wine, appetizer and dinner is ridiculous.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value1

Very creative and super delicious dishes ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very creative and super delicious dishes! Chef Jim does a great job! His wife, Donna, makes you feel like you're at home. Lovely live background music...can't wait to return .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Vegan, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal every time. Great value a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent meal every time. Great value as well. We will definitely be back again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent brunch experience in a bloo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

An excellent brunch experience in a blooming art community. Fantastic menu with creative choices. A+++. We will be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Live Music, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a superb experience. I came fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 14, 2016

As always a superb experience. I came for the veg curry and it was as always, Historic! Hubby came for the lamb shank and it was glorious. The serving staff were attentive and smiley and lovely.The guy singing was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow. Absolutely fabulous find. We starte ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wow. Absolutely fabulous find. We started with the Parmesan Risotto Balls which were great. I had the Asian fried chicken, loved the flavor. My husband had the tangible seafood which was amazingly fresh. We then topped it off with the best carrot cake ever. We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
service5

Second time dining here and it is awesom ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Second time dining here and it is awesome! The owners are very warm and friendly and the food outstanding!

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 3 of us for dining and all we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 9, 2016

There were 3 of us for dining and all we had selected on the menu was not available even our second choice attempts were also no available in fact we did consider just finishing our drinks and leaving .

The reasons were the restaurant had been extremely busy the previous 2 nights Friday and Saturday and someone had just returned from holiday .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.