Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.50mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery is located in the heart of the Village of the Arts in Bradenton, Florida. It's located in a 1920s bungalow and has distinguished itself by remaining #1 on Trip Advisor with a solid 5 star rating for the past year and a half.

Chef Jim’s food is inspired by the ethnic flavors he experienced on the streets of New York City. He is passionate about bringing international flavors to the Bradenton Sarasota area. The menu includes Thai shrimp curry, fresh fish with miso, truffle butter or Thai curry sauce, homemade garlic goat cheese ravioli with pesto, fresh fish, scallops with truffle butter, and much more. All foods are prepared in-house, including breads and desserts (this includes a carrot cake that will make you cry with joy).

Arts & Eats prides itself on bringing people together through amazing food by Chef Jim Copening, nightly music by local musicians, and service where you enter as a guest and leave as a friend.

1114 12th St. West
Bradenton, FL 34205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
International, American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Fri, Sat 12:00 pm–3:00 pm
Dinner
Wed, Thu 5:00 pm–8:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:00 pm–9:00 pm

Cross Street:
12th Ave W.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 201-6647

Website:
http://www.artsandeatsfl.com/

Entertainment:
Arts & Eats hosts local musicians Tuesday through Saturday evenings with an open mic on Wednesday evenings from 6-8pm.

Catering:
We cater dinner parties and small events (up to 50 people).

Parking Details:
Parking is available across the street from the restaurant. There's rarely a problem finding parking.

Executive Chef:
Jim Copening

Private Party Facilities:
Our restaurant seats 35. You can host your own party or event here by reserving the entire space or just the main dining room. We're flexible with our menu and will design a menu specifically for your event, within your budget.

Private Party Contact:
Donna Slawsky: (844) 627-7477

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed - Thu 5:00PM - 8:30PM

Arts & Eats Restaurant and Gallery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (13)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Fun (10)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Live Music (5)
Casual (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort by
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great food
Very friendly atmosphere
Eclectic restaurant in Village of the Arts

Chicken with Asian noodles - excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Very good Italian food. Nice bar area, creative food, and very good service. Comfortable environment and an enjoyable time. We will go there again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We made a reservation but it was obvious they were busy and unprepared. Within 5 minutes they sat a couple with a dog next to us and it took no less than 15 minutes to get our drink order in. My husband’s soup came out well before my appetizer so he was finished before I received mine. When our food finally came, mine was fine—his Fish was very dry and over cooked so we told the server who had one of the owners come over to apologize. She offered to remake the fish but my husband told her to forget it—he would have the lamb special instead. Something was said to the owner chef, who came out of the kitchen to tell us he was making the lamb dish for us and would be 15 minutes (food already took 45 minutes) then he gave my husband a big FAKE sarcastic smile—that’s when It got bad. My husband asked why he was yelling at him and although the owner tried to say he wasn’t, he clearly was yelling at him in the middle of this very small restaurant! This was embarrassing, uncalled for, and unacceptable so we asked for our check. The owner said there was no check for us so we got up and left. This was my husbands Birthday and the first time I we were at that restaurant. Needless to say we will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was not very good. The lamb shank was ineatablw. Very tough and obviously not cooked enough- fried chicken was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

We decided to take our friends to Arts and Eats to thank them for helping us following hurricane Irma. We had a wonderful dinner. Service was good considering the Festival of the Skeletons celebration was occurring all around the Village of the arts. We finally got a chance to check out the outdoor patio. It was huge and beautiful and we will request it next time we have dinner there, weather permitting. As always dinner was filling and delicious. The boys enjoyed a local IPA and we had a bottle of the Super Tuscan. This is our favorite restaurant.

First Friday of every month has something going on in the Village of the Arts. The Festival of the Skeletons was fun and entertaining.

Arts and Eats is always a great dinner choice.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Romantic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

It was the best pompano I’ve ever had and I lived on the gulf my whole life. Run by a sweet and friendly couple. The chef is the husband and he personally greeted us and made sure we were happy. Great atmosphere, great service, but most importantly the food, every single thing we got, was top notch and exquisite. There are original items on their menu and on the daily specials I’ve never seen anywhere else. Go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Jim brings art to his food, with great selections from Paella, to Truffled Shrimp and Crab over home-made ribbon pasta. Try his Fried Parmesan Rice Balls for an exceptional appetizer. Their wine selection is admirable.

Not inexpensive, but a treat that is worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

No words can really describe the experience - from the ambiance to the food. Superb!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2017

It was great as usual...loved the live Jazz music which is now on Monday evenings!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We always enjoy eating here each year we come to Anna Maria Island for vacation . Service, food choices and atmosphere perfect ! The very friendly couple that own it are Truly amazing!

Tags: Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Service was great and a unique dining experience. Food was above average, especially the lamb shank. Thai-inspired fried chicken with noodles was too sweet. Portions were appropriate. One restroom for all patrons (male and female) is a big drawback. The restaurant gets crowded quickly soon after opening. Reservations highly recommended for this small restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Arts and Eata has been a favorite of our for quite some time now. Donna welcomes you always with a warm and friendly smile. Donna's husband Jim is the chief He never disappoints you wit his awesome food preparation. Lynn is frequently our waitress and our service is always great. If you love jazz Monday nights are what you want. Try this place you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed the food very much....best carrot cake we've ever eaten. Our only complaint is that this is a VERY small restaurant and the the hostess/ co-owner was overbearing and hovered over her waitstaff, barking out commands across the restaurant. It greatly diminished our enjoyment of our meal, as the two waitress were really quite nice and doing a good job. Compounding the problem , despite the fact we had a reservation, we were seated right in the middle of the floor in this tiny space, so we had a lot " back sides" in our face as we tried to eat. We finally asked to be seated somewhere else and they reluctantly agreed. We will try one more time because the food was so delicious. Our compliments to the chef!

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Thanks so much!! Can't wait to see you again in the spring!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very interesting and quaint place. Food and service was very good. A little pricey.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Best meal that we have had in a long time. Chef Jim is very hospitable!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

A most enjoyable evening. The salad with green goddess dressing was fresh and delicious. The chicken with mushroom sauce was juicy and full of good flavor along with a good portion of broccoli and rice. And the carrot cake was the best I've had. The service was great and chatting with the owner and staff very fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As always, Chef outdid himself! The food is definitely creative and is served at the correct temperature (hot is hot, etc). My hubby loves the bacon-wrapped brat on pretzel roll and I lve the herbed chcken salad with cashews. The decor is funky (in a good way) and artistic and we will be going back when they return from their vacation in mid-September.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We really wanted to like Arts and Eats but, unfortunately, we did not. It is a cute, artsy place with outdoor cats and lots of colors outside and lots of art inside. We started with carrot, ginger, coconut soup and it was delicious. My husband had the bone marrow, it didn't smell good and looked worse. We had a couple of their entrees but they were either bland or too spicy. Perhaps we tried the wrong things but the waitress was very good and she couldn't make the meal better.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Very Homey quiet place with terrific food and great choices from lamb to Paella to Indian curry
All delicious and ample portions

Tags: Vegan, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Lovely little place in The Village of the Arts with great food and friendly owners. A little pricey but well worth it for the quality of food.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great quaint restaurant! We love it for a Saturday afternoon escape!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Chef Jim is amazing, friendly, and is a good base player. He just encourages big happy smiles. Great local village of the arts resturant. If you haven't been, Its your lose

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Liked the personal touch and informality and the potato-leek soup!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First time here, Donna was very accommodating, and the wait staff was competent. The food was delicious. Hungry Jack will come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loved it. Chef Jim was a hit and very attentive to our special dietary needs.

Tags: Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Ordered almost all of the appetizers and ALL of the vegetables. It was a great option for our vegetarian palates. Emily, our server, was kind, friendly and helpful. The jazz duo were extremely enjoyable and the food was delicious. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent food!!! Beautifully presented. Great flavors--I can go on an on about this charming, fun, delightful restaurant. Monday night the band plays the most wonderful jazz music and it was so good, I didn't want to go home. The art all around is fantastic. The staff are knowledgeable and very friendly. It's just a great place to go!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Probably one of our best experiences. Thought we were going to Arts Cafe, what a wonderful surprise. Do love Arts Cafe also, but this was outstanding. There were 5 of us and everyone had something different. I had the Shrimp Tempura, a friend had the Shrimp and Crab noodle dish (I think it was my favorite) another friend had the rack of Lamb.......very good. My husband had a fish dish. We all sampled each others dish and all were exceptional! Not over the moon on the stuffed prune appetizer. But over all it was great. Loved the music, we sang along with some of the tunes. Wonderful night!!!!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent food
Friendly atmosphere
Live music but quiet

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This was a Mother's Day celebration. The menu choices were excellent! The She Crab soup was incredible! I had the rack of lamb which was the most tender & Tasty lamb that I've ever had! My husband and son enjoyed the Pompano which they raved about, and we eat a LOT of fish. He said it was the best fish he'd ever had!
The owner came by our table several times to check on us. Oh! and the deserts were incredible too!

Happy Happy Mother!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This place was great! The atmosphere and food was the best that I have experienced in some time. The dining space is small with limited tables so I suggested reserving a table. In my opinion the intimacy of the restaurant is what makes it so great. The Shrimp Tempura was amazing! I highly suggest this dish. The prices are mid-range, so be prepared to spend $65.00 - $100 for a date or dinner with 2 people. The owners are friendly, the staff is attentive and the musician was soothing. This place is a must!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Absolutely classic small, local restaurant with an upscale menu (stuffed dates and duck for example) and great service. Very down to earth. Don't let the outside appearance put you off - this place is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We have been to Arts and Eats so many times I have lost count. Been with friends, quiet dinners, lunch, all times of year. The food is spectacular, fresh and there are specials every night. I had Okinowan sweet potatoes for the first time in my life (they're purple). Donna is gracious and welcoming and Chef Jim checks on us when he has time. The atmosphere is special because it's a cracker-style house, probably built around 1925. It's cozy and comfortable. The art on the walls changes periodically. There was no music during our last visit, but usually there is live music. This is a very special place.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I thought the hospitality and service were exceptional. The food was presented beautifully, delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Best friend in from our of town. Had to take her. Perfect, as per usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Wow. Really great chef. Don't be fooled by the exterior. Go there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

In a word- Excellent. The waitress was very accommodating by sourcing a sweater for my wife who had a chill. We both enjoyed our meals-they were very well balanced and cooked to perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have enjoyed dining at Arts and Eats every time we have visited. Donna, Jim and staff make everyone welcome. From soup to dessert the fare is creative and inspired. I had a wonderful cocoanut soup and a salad, my husband the pork--all delicious. We have never dined outside, but they have a nice patio in back. I enjoyed a nice pinot grigio, and my husband had an IPA (or two). Don't forget to have dessert--the truffles are divine. Our server, Lynn was attentive, appearing just when we needed her. There's always live music. Do not miss this unique, special place, housed in a cute, historic bungalow near downtown Bradenton.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Live Music, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Really fun! Thanks for the bread & hummus recipes!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.