Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

About Artisanal Restaurant

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. For events, 32 or less, the cellar is the best option. For larger parties, a restaurant buy-out is an option. Minimums are required for events. Fixed menus are planned with the chef to accommodate guest preferences.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: (828) 898-5395

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (39)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Creative Cuisine (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Romantic (28)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Scenic View (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Seasonal (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Cozy (9)
Healthy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Waterfront (4)
People Watching (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing- loved everything about it! The duck was one of my best meals ever!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Good quality was good ambience and service great prices high would recommend for. A special occasion but not for a weekly night out unless you are rich

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always incredible from the food to the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Delightful evening and dinner. Beautiful setting and restaurant. Food was delicious and service was wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Without a doubt the best dining experience I've ever had! Have eaten at many fine restaurants around the world and none is finer than this one. There are not enough adjectives to describe the delectable meal we had! Even if you have to come a great distance, this restaurant is worth it! Impeccable in every way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Organic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Unquestionably the best restaurant in the NC High Country, Artisinal has many pluses. An interesting if sometimes somewhat limited menu, an extraordinary but expensive wine list, impeccable and friendly service, and delightful surroundings and ambience make every one of our visits a wonderful culinary experience. But be forewarned, it is expensive, and not all dishes are perfect. This visit, uncharacteristically, there were disappointments. They had "just sold" the last quail appetizer, one of our favorites. The fried crab fritters were doughy and not up to their high standards. Their seafood pasta could use more seafood. Be sure to ask for the prices of the specials. We did not (our fault) and were surprised by the $ 56 price for the filet mignon. While excellent, Artisinal is not a "value". We will definitely go back, but for all but the wealthier local residents, we see it as strictly a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This is our date night place and we always ask for the same table. This time (my husband's birthday), we were promised table 42 but then the waitress tried to seat us at another table. Luckily "our" table was free so she moved us over. Also, sorry to see no Sommelier available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The entire experience was excellent, from starters to dessert. The wait staff is excellent, with excellent acoustics and the tables far enough apart that conversation is private. I can recommend highly without reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great ambiance!..food perfectly prepared...presentation an art form!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

About as perfect an evening as I could imagine. The food was consistently excellent, the wine list extensive (the by-the-glass choices are a little limited), and the beauty of the setting was wonderful. Totally worth the drive. We'll make this an every-year tradition. Owner says they are opening another restaurant in Charlotte -- just hope that doesn't diminish the Artisanal in any way in terms of attention from its owners. Definitely in the Top Restaurants of North Carolina category.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. The scallops were perfectly cooked. Expensive but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Was not disappointed! Very lovely atmosphere and food was delicious! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We try to come here every time we come to the mountains. They never fail to impress us with new items or in my case a great vegan meal made off menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Exceptional in all aspects, food, service, and decor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Incredible experience. Food and service second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Never fails to satisfy in every way! Food is fabulous and only matched by ambiance. It continues to be my favorite restaurant in all of NC ... will return as often as we make it to mountains!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

There is only one word to describe this restaurant. Speechless.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Fabulous in every aspect, from the decor, service, food! Great experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the world. They do such a magnificent job!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Sublime, as always. Crab fritters were outstanding, and everyone's meal was a treat!
Dirty banana ice cream!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Attended Artisanal for our anniversary this week. Seated outdoors on their terrace, if the temperature is right, no better place to dine. Service was great, as always, and the food was wonderful. Just can't ask for a better place to go in the area for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Need to offer stevia sweetener and have some live music for weekends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Although it's over an hour and half away, we try to go at least once a year for one of the best meals in WNC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Need to offer Stevia sweetner for tea and coffee. My wife had to bring her own.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Beyond words . . . service, atmosphere and "over the top" creative food presentation! This is the making of a very exciting and delicious evening. The delicate little gnocchi made with lemon and ricotta and shaved mushrooms was breathtaking (photo attached). Yum!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Celebrating our family member's birthday here was truly spectacular. From the exceptional, attentive, and delightful service we received from the moment we entered the restaurant to the sensationally delicious and unique entrees and wine, it was a truly special experience we will always remember. The ambiance is charmingly pleasant and warm, and this extends to all of the staff, as well. We all look forward to returning to this gem in the High Country!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Artisanal has quickly become one of the Top 5 restaurants I've visited around the globe. The flavors and combinations are sublime. The presentation & quality exquisite. Though I live thousands of miles away, I dream of the next time I can visit Artisanal again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

You won't go wrong if you head to Artisanal for your dining experience. Fabulous service before you put your foot in the door (which will be opened for you.) Exceptional staff presenting fabulous food. This place is only open on a limited basis (I believe May through October) so plan accordingly--they do fill up!

Great time w/friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. From her welcoming glass of sparkling wine to our craft cocktails to a delicious wine--we were quite hydrated. The snacks (appetizers) were superb, leading us into our fine dinner entrees and rounding out with a sampling of desserts for the table.

Kudos to Artisanal! Don't miss this mountain gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Amazing restaurant in EVERY respect! Have been going to the Artisanal for several years and it just keeps getting better. Suggest logging on and making reservations ahead, as it stays booked, specifically on weekends. You will be so happy you chose the Artisanal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Exceptional find, not only in North Carolina, but for anyone looking for the Best!!!! Beautiful setting, remarkable beauty inside, top trained personnel for service, knowledge of menu and making you feel as though you are the only important person being served. You must eat at this fine, elegant restaurant!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This is the best restaurant in the mountains for both fine food and excellent service. Regardless of what you Oder at Artisanal you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Recommend by a friend! One of the best meals in the area! Our server made the dining experience truly exceptional!! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I come here every time in town. Absolutely love atmosphere, location, food. Service and greeting this time was very off. Felt like they couldn't wait to turn over all tables. Waiters hovering. Very uncomfortable, but food still stood out. Will still come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Beautiful atmosphere. Great, professional service. We have dined in big cities(NYC,San Fran etc) and this meal was definitely right up there with the best. Great find in Banner Elk. Will definitely go back and have already recommended to others. Great wine as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Amazing!!!!!! Very memorable meal and atmosphere. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wow! What an unbelievable experience. Artisanal can proudly claim title to best restaurant in North Carolina.
From the time of arrival to departure everything was presented in perfect balance. To start we were invited to sample the enticing cocktail menu in the intimate lounge area while our table was being finalized. With no rush we were ushered to our seats in the center of the classy decorated , equine themed building. Beautiful sculptures and art work by local artists carefully placed on display. The downstairs led to a private seating area that overlooked a very expansive and impressive wine cellar.
With an open kitchen in view, the Chef and his staff crafted their magic and delivered some on the best meals we collectively have experienced.
For starters we shared the bone marrow, figs and blue cheese, tuna taco tarter, blue crab fritters and pork belly skewers - each unique in presentation and taste yet equally delicious. In a world were everyone is a winner these 5 all earned their first prize honors.
For mains we had the berkshire pork chop, ricotta gnudi and the flank steak. Again each perfectly portioned, prepared and presented. Could firmly recommend all of the above.
The wine list is exquisite and slightly on the high side however when combined with the exceptional value delivered on the meal it all balances out. The sommelier was really good as well offering timely and valuable input into the selection.
Artisanal is exceptional and an absolute "must attend" if ever in Banner Elk. We will be spending a lot more time in the mountains and most certainly will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was the best ever. Food is exceptional, perfectly prepared with care and balance. A delightful evening I look forward to repeating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 20, 2017

From the wait staff to the food everything was superb. I go their every time I'm in town and sometimes multiple. Fantastic ever changing cuisine /menu.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Definitely a five star restaurant worthy of its being recognized as one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation by Open Table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and atmosphere were outstanding. This was our second visit and we brought friends who were visiting us from Kansas who appreciate excellence in dining and they were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.