Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

About Artisanal Restaurant

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. For events, 32 or less, the cellar is the best option. For larger parties, a restaurant buy-out is an option. Minimums are required for events. Fixed menus are planned with the chef to accommodate guest preferences.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: (828) 898-5395

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

5.0

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (9)
See All
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Scenic View (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Authentic (5)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
636 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 2 days ago

It doesn't get any better than Artisanal: food, wine, service and ambiance all best of class.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome! Food was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Surprised to find such a great experience in this community. What a gem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lovely. The staff is wonderfully attentive. The food fabulous.....crab fritters divine, mozzarella on salad best ever, octopus charred perfectly, and on and on. We dined out on the porch by the creek. Could not have been a better evening. They do all things with excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The Open Table system didn't allow adding two persons to the original dining party. When called by the restaurant to confirm our reservation, we noted the change and they made it. During the call they also mentioned a birthday + anniversary occasion, but NOTHING was done once we reached Artisanal.

We enjoy fine dining but at somewhat reasonable prices and not just ambiance. Two glasses of Pino Noir were $18 each...checked when we got home only to learn an entire BOTTLE retails for $14.

We have a grandson who is a chef, a culinary institute graduate, so we know a tad about what fine dining should be and the related cost. Artisanal falls short in several areas.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was exceptional. Especially the chicken liver mousse.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have been many times and this was the best ever!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Everything about the restaurant is fantastic! tough to get reservations on the weekend but still worth trying!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great chef and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Artisanal is a real Jewel! The Food is Excellently prepared. The Menu reflects creativity has good balance and diversity of main courses and Apps and starters ,yet not so lengthy that it becomes awkward. The Staff is always professional and Hospitable. Atmosphere is unique and very comfortable. I always enjoy my visits there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The menu at Artisnal is the thing! Very creative and innovative, but my experience shows that it will all be excellent. The cioppino was the best I have ever had. The duck was another outstanding entrée the night we were there. But it is very hard to choose what to order. I hope to be back soon and try other parts of the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Experience was great from arrival to departure. Our first time here and will definitely go back. Food was outstanding and creative, our waiter was attentive but not pushy, all courses were timed to arrive perfectly and it was just a wonderful evening

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I had a cousin in town who I hadn't seen in a year, so we wanted to celebrate being together and Artisanal was a perfect place to do that! The food was terrific, the drinks were delicious, the views were impressive, and the service was impeccable. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Phenomenal experience. I would classify this as one of my Top Ten dining experiences in my life. The food was incredible and the beautiful setting added to its charm. I will go back every time I visit that area. It is not to be missed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Artisanal was a real treat... we decided to go on a Thursday as they close for the season and the weekend was booked, and what a decision it was. Kim was a fantastic waitress... a real pro who we will certainly request when we return in the spring. We did the tasting menu with the wine pairing, and while not cheap by any means, it was absolutely worth it. The duck breast was, I think, the best I've ever had. Years ago there was a restaurant in Maine that came close to this... alas, they have fallen so far off that I will not return. Artisanal was everything t his other place aspired to, and then some. And while great food is always a pleasure, great service makes it that much moreso, and from the hostess, to the Sommelier, to Kim, we had a fantastic evening, and I couldn't recommend this place any more strongly. Go. Enjoy. Slainte Mhe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Artisanal was a pleasant surprise while visiting Banner Elk. Superlatives: food, service, and ambience. Negatives: too far from home to enjoy routinely. Mega rich arrive by chopper but, alas, not an option for me. Creative and tasty creations from locally sourced suppliers as much as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Best meal I've had in the High Country, hands down.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Artisinal is truly an epicurean delight! Entrees were flavorful, choices were great for every palate. Several delightful selections for the first course including octopus and squid. Second course included Alaskan Halibut, Duck and a special cut of ribeye. Several side dishes for sharing, including pomme frites. Finally, desserts were outstanding !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We wanted to see the leaves and my wife shopped at Dandelion. This was our first trip to Banner Elk, and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The restaurant, the food and cocktails, the chef, and the wait staff were all exceptional. We told all our friends about our wonderful experience. We look forward to our next visit in the spring. . . Chuck and Shirley Miller

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for a date night. We had heard about Artisinal, but always missed their seasonal hours. We were not disappointed.

The service is impeccable. The ambiance is nice, and made for a romantic dinner. The food was beyond our expectations. Very creative, lovely presentation, and simply delicious. We opted out of the tasting menu, but may do that next time.

The prices are on the high end. However, I recommend those who love good food to not miss Artisinal.

My only complaint is we never received our leftovers, which we were told would be loaded by the valet. We discovered this half-way home. Despite this, we will definitely be back next year.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Amazing as always! The very best restaurant. I am a foodie and artisanal always amazes me with their creativity, service and ambiance. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Just outstanding in every way.
Excellent seafood dishes in a most unexpected place. Wonderful ambience and we loved sitting near the open kitchen to watch the prep action.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Artisanal is a very classy place to celebrate a special occasion. We sat on the terrace overlooking a babbling brook this time around. There were outdoor heaters mounted high enough to not be uncomfortably warm. The service was superb. One of the waiters remembered our party from previous visits and recommended some excellent wine. The decor is an elegant barn/country theme. The wine cellar is a must see as well well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A five star experience in every way, absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Love Artisinal! Wish it were open all year but, like the springtime, it makes it all worthwhile to be forced to wait. Creative cuisine, knowledgable staff, ambiance is soothing and wonderful. Looking forward to the opening of the "season" soon.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Meal was outstanding! Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Compliments to the chef! We ordered four different dishes, and each was excellently prepared. The beet salad was delicious, as was dessert! The wine list is exhaustive and high quality. Plan to pay for it, but it is fully worth it! We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were unable to go on our honeymoon thanks to Hurricane Matthew so some friends let us use their house on Sugar Mountain for a few days. Our meal at Artisanal was the highlight of the trip. My mom is a chef and my husband and I both value/enjoy good food so I can honestly say this was one of the best meals of our lives. Everything from the ambiance, the wine, the food, to the service was amazing! We were impressed the open kitchen was quiet and nothing felt chaotic, even though the restaurant and outdoor tables were full.

We started with Tuna Tartare and Calamari first courses--holy yum!!! My husband got the pork chop for his entree and said it was the most tender pork chop he's ever had (and he LOVES pork chops). I got the butter steak--it was a great size portion and was super tender. The sauce/jus on the plate with the steak was so delicious we got extra rolls to sop it up after we were done eating. If we could have licked our plates, we would have. For dessert, we got the sticky toffee pudding and again, were not disappointed. I'm not a big caramel fan but this was delicious.

Bottom line, if you have the opportunity to go, DO IT! You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Impeccable service! Highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The best of the best. We always try to make Artisanal part of our travels to this area. If you are a foodie place this is a must

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. The food, ambiance, and service were memorable. I hope we are lucky enough to return someday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 13, 2016

SUPERB AMBIENCE, FANTASTIC MEAL, EXCELLENT SERVICE.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Artisanal was recommended by our Linville cottage hosts as a restaurant designed in the same format as The Barn at Blackberry Farm. The dinner at Artisanal was the highlight of our girls' trip to Linville, NC. We were thrilled to be seated on the back porch just steps from the beautiful tree line. We each ordered two courses and loved all the food we ordered. We shared two desserts. The menu selections were creative and ridiculously fresh. Our server gave us great advice and couldn't have been more accommodating while giving us plenty of time to enjoy each other's company. Since the menu changes often, I hate to tempt you with descriptions of entrees you may not be offered; however, I will say that if you have the opportunity to try the doughnuts with lemon curd, you should not hesitate to do so. We also loved the brussels sprouts salad and butter steak. We could not have enjoyed our dinner more and are so glad we included Artisanal in our week in the beauatiful town of Linville.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Restaurant is off the beaten path, but definitely worth finding. Food was delicious and the menu was varied. Great atmosphere, would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere all over the top fantastic! This was our second visit and definitely will be back as we come to the area twice a year, fall and late spring/summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My absolutely favorite restaurant. Always fabulous food and excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Artisanal continues to live up to its reputation. We had the tasting menu this time, and the food was excellent -- creative and well-thought-out rather than "innovative" combinations that are just weird. While on the pricier side, the quality is first rate. We are so glad that excellent restaurants like Artisanal and Rowland's are part of our local dining options!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great as always, we hate they close for winter months!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Incredible experience! From arrival to leaving it is first class. The restaurant is gorgeous, just what you would hope for in the middle of the Appalachians. Service was outstanding while not being pretentious. The food is some of the best that we've had, including NYC, San Francisco and Napa! You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Always incredible!!! Artisanal is our families FAVORITE restaurant. We compare every restaurant to this restaurant...."is it Artisanal good?" I can't say enough good things about this place. Atmosphere is upscale but casual at the same time. I wish I didn't live so far away!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.