About Artisanal Restaurant

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. The capacity is 32 guests. We do welcome parties on the terrace for up to 40 guests and can accommodate more for an event in the main dining room. We do not charge booking fees but do have minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: 8288985395x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / Western North Carolina
6 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / Western North Carolina
American
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Banner Elk ›

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (35)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Scenic View (24)
Local Ingredients (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Open Kitchen (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Seasonal (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (6)
Fun (6)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (3)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Waterfront (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Phenomenal experience. I would classify ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Phenomenal experience. I would classify this as one of my Top Ten dining experiences in my life. The food was incredible and the beautiful setting added to its charm. I will go back every time I visit that area. It is not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal was a real treat... we decided ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Artisanal was a real treat... we decided to go on a Thursday as they close for the season and the weekend was booked, and what a decision it was. Kim was a fantastic waitress... a real pro who we will certainly request when we return in the spring. We did the tasting menu with the wine pairing, and while not cheap by any means, it was absolutely worth it. The duck breast was, I think, the best I've ever had. Years ago there was a restaurant in Maine that came close to this... alas, they have fallen so far off that I will not return. Artisanal was everything t his other place aspired to, and then some. And while great food is always a pleasure, great service makes it that much moreso, and from the hostess, to the Sommelier, to Kim, we had a fantastic evening, and I couldn't recommend this place any more strongly. Go. Enjoy. Slainte Mhe!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Artisanal was a pleasant surprise while ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Artisanal was a pleasant surprise while visiting Banner Elk. Superlatives: food, service, and ambience. Negatives: too far from home to enjoy routinely. Mega rich arrive by chopper but, alas, not an option for me. Creative and tasty creations from locally sourced suppliers as much as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've had in the High Country, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Best meal I've had in the High Country, hands down.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisinal is truly an epicurean delight! ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Artisinal is truly an epicurean delight! Entrees were flavorful, choices were great for every palate. Several delightful selections for the first course including octopus and squid. Second course included Alaskan Halibut, Duck and a special cut of ribeye. Several side dishes for sharing, including pomme frites. Finally, desserts were outstanding !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We wanted to see the leaves and my wife ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We wanted to see the leaves and my wife shopped at Dandelion. This was our first trip to Banner Elk, and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The restaurant, the food and cocktails, the chef, and the wait staff were all exceptional. We told all our friends about our wonderful experience. We look forward to our next visit in the spring. . . Chuck and Shirley Miller

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went here for a date night ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for a date night. We had heard about Artisinal, but always missed their seasonal hours. We were not disappointed.

The service is impeccable. The ambiance is nice, and made for a romantic dinner. The food was beyond our expectations. Very creative, lovely presentation, and simply delicious. We opted out of the tasting menu, but may do that next time.

The prices are on the high end. However, I recommend those who love good food to not miss Artisinal.

My only complaint is we never received our leftovers, which we were told would be loaded by the valet. We discovered this half-way home. Despite this, we will definitely be back next year.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing as always! The very best restaur ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Amazing as always! The very best restaurant. I am a foodie and artisanal always amazes me with their creativity, service and ambiance. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just outstanding in every way. Excellent ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Just outstanding in every way.

Excellent seafood dishes in a most unexpected place. Wonderful ambience and we loved sitting near the open kitchen to watch the prep action.

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Artisanal is a very classy place to cele ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Artisanal is a very classy place to celebrate a special occasion. We sat on the terrace overlooking a babbling brook this time around. There were outdoor heaters mounted high enough to not be uncomfortably warm. The service was superb. One of the waiters remembered our party from previous visits and recommended some excellent wine. The decor is an elegant barn/country theme. The wine cellar is a must see as well well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A five star experience in every way, abs ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A five star experience in every way, absolutely outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was outstanding! Service was outsta ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Meal was outstanding! Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Compliments to the chef! We ordered fo ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Compliments to the chef! We ordered four different dishes, and each was excellently prepared. The beet salad was delicious, as was dessert! The wine list is exhaustive and high quality. Plan to pay for it, but it is fully worth it! We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

We were unable to go on our honeymoon th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were unable to go on our honeymoon thanks to Hurricane Matthew so some friends let us use their house on Sugar Mountain for a few days. Our meal at Artisanal was the highlight of the trip. My mom is a chef and my husband and I both value/enjoy good food so I can honestly say this was one of the best meals of our lives. Everything from the ambiance, the wine, the food, to the service was amazing! We were impressed the open kitchen was quiet and nothing felt chaotic, even though the restaurant and outdoor tables were full.

We started with Tuna Tartare and Calamari first courses--holy yum!!! My husband got the pork chop for his entree and said it was the most tender pork chop he's ever had (and he LOVES pork chops). I got the butter steak--it was a great size portion and was super tender. The sauce/jus on the plate with the steak was so delicious we got extra rolls to sop it up after we were done eating. If we could have licked our plates, we would have. For dessert, we got the sticky toffee pudding and again, were not disappointed. I'm not a big caramel fan but this was delicious.

Bottom line, if you have the opportunity to go, DO IT! You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Impeccable s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Impeccable service! Highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The best of the best. We always try to m ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The best of the best. We always try to make Artisanal part of our travels to this area. If you are a foodie place this is a must

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SUPERB AMBIENCE, FANTASTIC MEAL, EXCELLE ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 13, 2016

SUPERB AMBIENCE, FANTASTIC MEAL, EXCELLENT SERVICE.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal was recommended by our Linvill ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Artisanal was recommended by our Linville cottage hosts as a restaurant designed in the same format as The Barn at Blackberry Farm. The dinner at Artisanal was the highlight of our girls' trip to Linville, NC. We were thrilled to be seated on the back porch just steps from the beautiful tree line. We each ordered two courses and loved all the food we ordered. We shared two desserts. The menu selections were creative and ridiculously fresh. Our server gave us great advice and couldn't have been more accommodating while giving us plenty of time to enjoy each other's company. Since the menu changes often, I hate to tempt you with descriptions of entrees you may not be offered; however, I will say that if you have the opportunity to try the doughnuts with lemon curd, you should not hesitate to do so. We also loved the brussels sprouts salad and butter steak. We could not have enjoyed our dinner more and are so glad we included Artisanal in our week in the beauatiful town of Linville.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant is off the beaten path, but d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Restaurant is off the beaten path, but definitely worth finding. Food was delicious and the menu was varied. Great atmosphere, would recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and atmosphere all over th ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere all over the top fantastic! This was our second visit and definitely will be back as we come to the area twice a year, fall and late spring/summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My absolutely favorite restaurant. Alwa ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 4, 2016

My absolutely favorite restaurant. Always fabulous food and excellent service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal continues to live up to its re ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Artisanal continues to live up to its reputation. We had the tasting menu this time, and the food was excellent -- creative and well-thought-out rather than "innovative" combinations that are just weird. While on the pricier side, the quality is first rate. We are so glad that excellent restaurants like Artisanal and Rowland's are part of our local dining options!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible experience! From arrival to l ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Incredible experience! From arrival to leaving it is first class. The restaurant is gorgeous, just what you would hope for in the middle of the Appalachians. Service was outstanding while not being pretentious. The food is some of the best that we've had, including NYC, San Francisco and Napa! You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as always, we hate they close for ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great as always, we hate they close for winter months!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always incredible!!! Artisanal is our fa ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Always incredible!!! Artisanal is our families FAVORITE restaurant. We compare every restaurant to this restaurant...."is it Artisanal good?" I can't say enough good things about this place. Atmosphere is upscale but casual at the same time. I wish I didn't live so far away!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only drawback was the seafood pasta had ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Only drawback was the seafood pasta had all shrimp. But sauce and pasta was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful restaurant ~ can't say enough ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful restaurant ~ can't say enough good about it. Atmosphere was fantastic as was the service and food. Elegant barn setting with all the right touches. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food,great value,had wonderful tim ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great food,great value,had wonderful time.the wine pairing was perfect.tasteing menu was excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful venue. Relaxed atmosphere. Exp ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Beautiful venue. Relaxed atmosphere. Expensive wine and menu. Excellent entrees and presentation. Service professionals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Artisinal is simply the best restaurant ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Artisinal is simply the best restaurant that we've found anywhere within 20 miles. It is meant to look like an old barn but in fact was built to be a restaurant. The owners are outstanding, friendly and run a wonderful oeration.

The food is excellent with something for almost everyone on the menu. The flavor combinations are wonderful and innovative.

There is a charming balcony where one can ear overlooking a wonerful mountain stream, weather permitting.

Needless to say we like it a lot!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had my doubts that a restaurant in Ban ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 14, 2016

I had my doubts that a restaurant in Banner Elk could really be one of the best in the country, but my experience there erased all doubts. It is every bit as good as the hype. I had the bone-in pork chop, which was without a doubt the best I've ever eaten. I'm not a huge brussel sprouts fan, but I was that night. Staff was friendly and attentive while also casual. Wine list was pricey but amazing. Overall, one of the best dining experiences I've ever had, and that is saying a lot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing!!!!! Best restaurant we have be ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Amazing!!!!! Best restaurant we have been to in years. Great wine, service was top notch, and the food was genious!!! Did I mention the view? We had an

Amazing view of sunset from our table. My only complaint if you can call it one is it was almost to efficient. I wanted the evening to last longer!!!@@

Tags: Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Artisanal is one of favorite restaur ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The Artisanal is one of favorite restaurants anywhere. The service is very good and the food selection and preparation is excellent. The atmosphere is truly unique and quite attractive. The prices are not inexpensive but well worth the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food and staff were perfec ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 1, 2016

As always the food and staff were perfection personified. This is one of our favorite restaurants in the world. It is truly beautiful whether dining table inside or out on the lovely porch listening to the stream tumbling down the mountain. It is very hard to get a reservation so make sure you plan months in advance especially over holiday weekends and peak color season in the mountains.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit and not disappointed. Defini ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 30, 2016

First visit and not disappointed. Definitely recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Romantic, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the finest restaurant in the ar ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was the finest restaurant in the area that we ate at. Everything was perfect from the minute we entered the restaurant. It reminded us of restaurants that we ate in in Napa Valley.

There was nothing lacking from the perfect service to the most elegant presentation of courses.

The flavors were distinct.

Will always go here every time we go to this area.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the hit of our Mountain get-awa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was the hit of our Mountain get-away. Service was friendly and knowledgeable. Food was artfully displayed and prepared. Setting is lovely - whether inside or outside. Attention to details is what really makes it work. We can't wait to return!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We travel a lot for business and pleasur ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We travel a lot for business and pleasure....this was by far the very best dining experience we have ever experienced!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, atmosphere and service were ve ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food, atmosphere and service were very good. I ordered a beer from the list which contained mostly names unknown to me (mostly artisinal brews from Asheville) and was shocked when the bill came and I found I had paid $ 22.00 for one beer.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

From driving up (a secluded mountain bar ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

From driving up (a secluded mountain barn) to entering the luxurious, understated interior designers dream, we were excited from the start! We sat on the terrace, which was capped perfectly with a babbling brook and temperate mountain climate. Our waiter, Keith, was phenomenal. He was approachable, fun and low key. The portions were kind but not over the top. The cuisine was divine and balanced. For oenophiles; the list is fantastic. Our meal was paced perfectly. We will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.