About Artisanal Restaurant

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. The capacity is 32 guests. We do welcome parties on the terrace for up to 40 guests and can accommodate more for an event in the main dining room. We do not charge booking fees but do have minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: 8288985395x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Boone / Banner Elk
Best Restaurants in Banner Elk ›

special occasion (9)
fit for foodies (7)
notable wine list (7)
See All
romantic (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (6)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

UNBELIEVABLE EXPERIENCE & FOOD!!!! I wou ...

Dined 5 days ago

UNBELIEVABLE EXPERIENCE & FOOD!!!! I would highly recommend it if you can get reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

My girlfriend and I went to Artisanal on ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to Artisanal on a Tuesday evening. It was my first time there. To my disappointment, the tasting menu that was on their website was not being offered. We shared the burrata salad to start, which was good. I had the Wagyu sirloin, my girlfriend had the halibut. My steak was cooked perfectly, but it didn't taste any different than a normal sirloin. The best part were all the vegetables that came with it. Simply prepared, but absolutely delicious. I did not try the halibut, but my girlfriend really enjoyed it. Food prices at this restaurant are very fair! It was nice to see a place that was not way overcharging for their food. The service was good. Not fantastic, but far from poor. If I have any complaint at all, it was that I felt some pressure to purchase a bottle of wine. We each had a cocktail before dinner/with our appetizer and bread. And we each had a glass of wine with dinner. That was enough for us. We also ordered our wine about 5 minutes before our entrees came out, but did not get it until 10 minutes after we got our entrees. That was frustrating, as I wanted to enjoy the wine and steak together. We had the pudding for dessert. It was not pudding, but more like a cake/bread pudding. This was also very delicious! I would like to go back on a weekend evening sometime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We set our May trip up to coincide with ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We set our May trip up to coincide with Artisanal opening. This year is more different with gres

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting and the food and servi ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Beautiful setting and the food and service were excellent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bill Greene is incredible

Dined on May 10, 2016

Always pleased and amazed with this place which is never boring and the food and service are outstanding. It is a must go place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Once again artisanal restaurant provided a memorable evening in every way. Food was delectable; staff and service , attentive and exacting and the setting is magnificent! HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 10 restaurant in North Carolina

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is probably the 10th time I have dined at Artisanal since they opened. It is one of the finest venues, as well as one of the finest dining experiences in all of North Carolina. The ambience is elegant, the staff are attentive and welcoming, and the food and drinks are simply exceptional . I thought the calamari appetizer was among the best I've ever had. The pan seared halibut was done to perfection, and the wine pairings recommended for our dinner was spot on! I look forward to my next meal in the very near future !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints!!

Dined on October 31, 2015

Artisinal delivers exceptional food, service and environment with every visit. Bill and Anita are perfect hosts. This is a must do while in the mountains.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food. And the service. Did I mention ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

The food. And the service. Did I mention the food?

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food in a beautiful setting. Wor ...

Dined on October 27, 2015

Amazing food in a beautiful setting. Worth every penny! Went with a group of six and we all loved the food and thoroughly enjoyed our evening and experience there.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best

Dined on October 25, 2015

Simply amazing. Best dining experience in NC. We make the trip every year and it exceeds our expectations every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Exceptional find in Beech Mountain

Dined on October 24, 2015

We were lucky to find this hidden gem out in the middle of nowhere near Beech Mountain. The service was top notch, and the menu while not overly large did include several tempting choices. As were refer to ourselves as "semi-vegetarians" the non-meal entrees were too limited, but overall we were pleased with the options. The wine choices were extensive, and the beer menu, while more limited, had some winners. The best part of the dinner was the exceptional service by the staff. The decor is relaxed and innovative. Overall a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent find

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

This restaurant was in the middle of a ranch and was an oasis in the dessert. Food was well executed by an obviously well trained chief. The wine list was ridiculously high end with bottle up to the $5000 range. Romantic ambience and one of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice but salty

Dined on October 22, 2015

We had heard great things about this restaurant and we were not disappointed. It is upper-level dining from the valet through to the kitchen. The outdoor seating and bar and finally pit for the specially nice. The menu choices were interesting and varied and delicious. My only criticism regards the excess amount of salt in the entrées.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sustained culinary artistry

Dined on October 22, 2015

This team continues to amaze. Everything they present is a culinary work of art. Service was terrific. If you are in the High Country, do not miss it (open May-October).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambience and service. The food ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Excellent ambience and service. The food, especially the proteins were outstanding. Great experience in a hugh end mountain setting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience. Jamie ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Always a great dining experience. Jamie is an outstanding waiter

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

First Experience at Artisanal

Dined on October 17, 2015

We reserved table through open table, which apparently does not distinguish between indoor and outdoor seating. Received call week of reservation and learned our reservation was currently outdoors, which was going to be too cold. As alternate accommodations, we ended up being seated in the cellar at a large table with another party at the other end of the table. Not the best situation, as the cellar already had two very loud and boisterous 8-person parties. However, we felt that management did as best as possible to accommodate us considering the situation, but the reservation issues need to be addressed. Other than the seating issue, food was excellent, especially the calamari small plate. Our entrees were well prepared and generous portions. Service was excellent as expected; server was attentive and helpful. Overall, a great addition to the high country. Will be revisiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Surprise to find restaurant of the calib ...

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

Surprise to find restaurant of the caliber in Banner Elk. Very interesting menu, expertly prepared, with exceptional presentation. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Superior food and service

Dined on October 10, 2015

The food and service at Artisanal was superior..... the best food in North Carolina! This was our second visit to this restaurant and from beginning to end the experience was a joy. Words cannot express the pleasure we had dining in this restaurant! We cannot wait to go back in the spring!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Girls night out

Dined on October 9, 2015

5 of us dined at Artisinal and enjoyed everything about it! Our server John was exceptionally attentive! We were a group of childhood friends looking for something special and we found it. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience once again

Dined on October 7, 2015

This is our second visit to this wonderful restaurant and we are already looking forward to next time. Warm reception, professional and friendly service (Nick is the best) and food that you would normally only find in a major city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Evening

Dined on October 7, 2015

Artisnal is outstanding in every way. Our server was knowledable ( we asked many questions about the menu), food was better than expected, just great, relaxing and beautiful surroundings, excellent wine by the glass--we could not have been happier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

High end restaurant that delivers

Dined on October 6, 2015

This is a big restaurant secluded back in the hills. New building, lots of wood, high ceilings all very striking and yet still human. Menu a bit limited and rather expensive. The food was very good. Both my entree and my wife's were a bit too spicy, as if the chef had a cold that night. This tended to crowd out the flavor. Service attentive but a little slow on the night we were there and it was not crowded. There are only a very few top of the line dinning places in the area so this is worth a go.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Family Night Dinner

Dined on October 3, 2015

My wife and I had our sons and their wives, giving us an opportunity to celebrate my wife's 60th b-day. The location was perfect, the atmosphere very cozy and warm, the service was right on the money all evening, and the food top shelf. A great combination for a highly rated evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Fine dining

Dined on October 2, 2015

The best restaurant experience that keeps me coming back,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

Dined on September 29, 2015

This is a whole package restaurant , The food was amazing, celebrated my birthday with my daughter great experience would recommend this restaurant. The restaurant is Built out of antique barn wood from Pennsylvania.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best

Dined on September 26, 2015

This is our second year celebrating a birthday at this restaurant with a group of long-time friends. We all agree that it is one of the best restaurants that any of us have experienced. The food was exceptional as was the server.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Over the top ... Great food, quality, pr ...

Dined on September 22, 2015

Over the top ... Great food, quality, presentation, service and atmosphere

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Fine dining in the NC mountains

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

We have eaten here several times and never been disappointed with the food, service and ambience. The restaurant is beautifully designed in a rustic modern fashion. The service is welcoming and efficient. There is a nice selection of cocktails at the bar, setting expectations for the wine offerings which are outstanding and nicely presented on an iPad. The kitchen artfully prepares a nice variety of dishes with seasonal ingredients. All in all Artisanal is worth a special trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best restaurant experiences I ...

vip
Dined on September 22, 2015

One of the best restaurant experiences I've had. Most beautiful restaurant I have ever been to. Every dish was delicious. Service was impeccable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent as was the food. D ...

Dined on September 22, 2015

Service was excellent as was the food. Dining outside and hearing the creek rushing is priceless!

food5
ambience4
service5

Always a special treat to dine at this r ...

Dined on September 19, 2015

Always a special treat to dine at this regional "star"...our table on the porch was private and perfect (albeit a tad dark and eventually cold!) and the food was spectacular. We tried a recommended wine which was most enjoyable (Morgan Pinot noir) and our server was appropriately attentive. A memorable evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Wonderful Experience

vip
Dined on September 19, 2015

The atmosphere, food and service are top notch! A must, go-to spot, when in Banner Elk!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants in the World!

Dined on September 19, 2015

Love the food and Everything about this place. I would recommend it to anyone. Great inside or outside on the porch. Great architecture and nicely designed place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful experience , memorable dinner

Dined on September 10, 2015

The character and ambiance would make this a notable visit but you can add in the delightful and attentive waitstaff coupled with the amazing food and you have a dinner that will not be forgotten. Everyone should get to experience this restaurant once ( or more) in their life!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

No menus available at time of arrival. ...

Dined on September 6, 2015

No menus available at time of arrival. Had to wait to be seated until menus were available. Wait staff were a little out of sync. Right hand did not know what the left hand was doing. Very nice facility. Food was well prepared. Overall good experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

WOW‼️

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

This rates as one of the best restaurants where we have ever eaten. The food was phenomenal and the service was absolutely exceptional! What an experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Entertained

Dined on September 5, 2015

Ordered the 10th anniversary dinner for our party of 4....was a enjoyable evening to be entertained by the chef....4 courses paired with wine...excellent and reasonably priced

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful dining experience

Dined on September 4, 2015

Kathy was great and we loved the table for two by the outdoor fireplace overlooking the creek. Thank you

Tags: romance, special occasions, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.