Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

About Artisanal Restaurant

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. For events, 32 or less, the cellar is the best option. For larger parties, a restaurant buy-out is an option. Minimums are required for events. Fixed menus are planned with the chef to accommodate guest preferences.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: (828) 898-5395

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Romantic (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Scenic View (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Authentic (17)
Seasonal (16)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (8)
Organic (6)
Cozy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Waterfront (4)
Fun (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

Attended Artisanal for our anniversary this week. Seated outdoors on their terrace, if the temperature is right, no better place to dine. Service was great, as always, and the food was wonderful. Just can't ask for a better place to go in the area for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Need to offer stevia sweetener and have some live music for weekends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Although it's over an hour and half away, we try to go at least once a year for one of the best meals in WNC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Need to offer Stevia sweetner for tea and coffee. My wife had to bring her own.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Beyond words . . . service, atmosphere and "over the top" creative food presentation! This is the making of a very exciting and delicious evening. The delicate little gnocchi made with lemon and ricotta and shaved mushrooms was breathtaking (photo attached). Yum!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Celebrating our family member's birthday here was truly spectacular. From the exceptional, attentive, and delightful service we received from the moment we entered the restaurant to the sensationally delicious and unique entrees and wine, it was a truly special experience we will always remember. The ambiance is charmingly pleasant and warm, and this extends to all of the staff, as well. We all look forward to returning to this gem in the High Country!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Artisanal has quickly become one of the Top 5 restaurants I've visited around the globe. The flavors and combinations are sublime. The presentation & quality exquisite. Though I live thousands of miles away, I dream of the next time I can visit Artisanal again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

You won't go wrong if you head to Artisanal for your dining experience. Fabulous service before you put your foot in the door (which will be opened for you.) Exceptional staff presenting fabulous food. This place is only open on a limited basis (I believe May through October) so plan accordingly--they do fill up!

Great time w/friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. From her welcoming glass of sparkling wine to our craft cocktails to a delicious wine--we were quite hydrated. The snacks (appetizers) were superb, leading us into our fine dinner entrees and rounding out with a sampling of desserts for the table.

Kudos to Artisanal! Don't miss this mountain gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Amazing restaurant in EVERY respect! Have been going to the Artisanal for several years and it just keeps getting better. Suggest logging on and making reservations ahead, as it stays booked, specifically on weekends. You will be so happy you chose the Artisanal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Exceptional find, not only in North Carolina, but for anyone looking for the Best!!!! Beautiful setting, remarkable beauty inside, top trained personnel for service, knowledge of menu and making you feel as though you are the only important person being served. You must eat at this fine, elegant restaurant!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This is the best restaurant in the mountains for both fine food and excellent service. Regardless of what you Oder at Artisanal you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Recommend by a friend! One of the best meals in the area! Our server made the dining experience truly exceptional!! Will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I come here every time in town. Absolutely love atmosphere, location, food. Service and greeting this time was very off. Felt like they couldn't wait to turn over all tables. Waiters hovering. Very uncomfortable, but food still stood out. Will still come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Beautiful atmosphere. Great, professional service. We have dined in big cities(NYC,San Fran etc) and this meal was definitely right up there with the best. Great find in Banner Elk. Will definitely go back and have already recommended to others. Great wine as well.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Amazing!!!!!! Very memorable meal and atmosphere. I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wow! What an unbelievable experience. Artisanal can proudly claim title to best restaurant in North Carolina.
From the time of arrival to departure everything was presented in perfect balance. To start we were invited to sample the enticing cocktail menu in the intimate lounge area while our table was being finalized. With no rush we were ushered to our seats in the center of the classy decorated , equine themed building. Beautiful sculptures and art work by local artists carefully placed on display. The downstairs led to a private seating area that overlooked a very expansive and impressive wine cellar.
With an open kitchen in view, the Chef and his staff crafted their magic and delivered some on the best meals we collectively have experienced.
For starters we shared the bone marrow, figs and blue cheese, tuna taco tarter, blue crab fritters and pork belly skewers - each unique in presentation and taste yet equally delicious. In a world were everyone is a winner these 5 all earned their first prize honors.
For mains we had the berkshire pork chop, ricotta gnudi and the flank steak. Again each perfectly portioned, prepared and presented. Could firmly recommend all of the above.
The wine list is exquisite and slightly on the high side however when combined with the exceptional value delivered on the meal it all balances out. The sommelier was really good as well offering timely and valuable input into the selection.
Artisanal is exceptional and an absolute "must attend" if ever in Banner Elk. We will be spending a lot more time in the mountains and most certainly will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was the best ever. Food is exceptional, perfectly prepared with care and balance. A delightful evening I look forward to repeating.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 20, 2017

From the wait staff to the food everything was superb. I go their every time I'm in town and sometimes multiple. Fantastic ever changing cuisine /menu.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Definitely a five star restaurant worthy of its being recognized as one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation by Open Table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and atmosphere were outstanding. This was our second visit and we brought friends who were visiting us from Kansas who appreciate excellence in dining and they were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Consistently one of North Carolina's top restaurants.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We are 11 years old and it is a tradition for us to come here. This is our third year coming and we really love it. While our parents talk we like to play by the water. The chef changes the menu occasionally and what they substitute for that used to be on the menu is just as good. Artisinal definitely deserves five stars.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Artisanal never disappoints, alway consistenly exceptional food, wine and service. If you're thinking of going or haven't tried it, do not wait; it is well worth the trip and price.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We always have great service and food and enjoy the cooks creations. Great wine and drink menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 7, 2017

I always enjoy the beautiful restaurant, Artisanal. The service, the waiters , the owners, the setting are always friendly and on their game. I look forward to each delicious night out at Artisanal. The best!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The whole experience is superb, ambiance, presentation, service, taste...

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The best restaurant I've ever been to! We've been here twice and the food, service and atmosphere do not disappoint. Blue crab balls were delicious and the squid ink spaghetti was out of this world! Sitting by the stream is my favorite thing here. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Artisinal is my all time favorite restaurant and enjoy every experience. I do miss your signature calamari. Hint, hint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wonderful experience! We were celebrating our anniversary. Liza, our server, greeted us with "happy anniversary." She was delightful, helpful, and professional. All the staff were courteous and accommodating. The food is outstanding. We had the oysters, which we so good that we placed a second order for them. Before we ordered dessert, Liza brought us glasses of champagne. It was a lovely night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

In my view the best food available in all of North Carolina and certainly one of the best restaurants we have ever enjoyed. Impeccable service and fantastic food served in a serene, understated setting. Simply the best-- always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delicious! Loved everything about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Possibly the best restaurant in the world taking everything into consideration.
The restaurant and owners are simply fantastic. I have eaten there dozens of times and they NEVER disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Wow! Incredible dining experience! Picturesque location, beautiful facility, delicious and painstakingly prepared food, and the service was top notch ! Fascinating to observe the professional and well trained waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It doesn't get any better than Artisanal: food, wine, service and ambiance all best of class.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Awesome! Food was prepared perfectly.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Surprised to find such a great experience in this community. What a gem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lovely. The staff is wonderfully attentive. The food fabulous.....crab fritters divine, mozzarella on salad best ever, octopus charred perfectly, and on and on. We dined out on the porch by the creek. Could not have been a better evening. They do all things with excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The Open Table system didn't allow adding two persons to the original dining party. When called by the restaurant to confirm our reservation, we noted the change and they made it. During the call they also mentioned a birthday + anniversary occasion, but NOTHING was done once we reached Artisanal.

We enjoy fine dining but at somewhat reasonable prices and not just ambiance. Two glasses of Pino Noir were $18 each...checked when we got home only to learn an entire BOTTLE retails for $14.

We have a grandson who is a chef, a culinary institute graduate, so we know a tad about what fine dining should be and the related cost. Artisanal falls short in several areas.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was exceptional. Especially the chicken liver mousse.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.