Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 13 times today

Artisanal Restaurant

5.0
720 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Tue–Sun 5:30 pm–9:30 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 898-5395
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bill Greene
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. For events, 32 or less, the cellar is the best option. For larger parties, a restaurant buy-out is an option. Minimums are required for events. Fixed menus are planned with the chef to accommodate guest preferences.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Anita Greene: (828) 898-5395
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Hwy 184
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet Parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Entertainment may be available on occasions
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 720 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
5.0based on recent ratings
4.9
food
4.9
service
5.0
ambience
4.8
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful as usual

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

My husband an I were so impressed with Artisanal. From the valet to the very last bite of dessert. A beautiful restaurant with great food. A special occasion spot for sure. My husband had pork chop an I had sea bass-both delicious. We had the donut dessert with lemon curd, blueberry compote an chocolate sauce. I already have another reservation. A gem in the high country.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great all the way around. A little out of the way but a great memory to complete my daughter’s graduation day! Owners are very interactive with the diners. Nice touch

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

What an amazing restaurant in such a small charming mountain town. Owner, Anita, is everywhere to make sure all details are handled perfectly. Beautiful venue with superb food and an awesome wine list. Only small issue is the lack of bar tending expertise. Will definitely return. Kudos to all the staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

One of our finest dining experiences ever. Service was fabulous, yet not snobby. Highly recommend the tasting menu which is paired with excellent wines. Entire table must order the tasting menu which was easy for the two of us with eclectic tastes. Tucked away a few miles from a delightful mountain town in a rustic farmhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Absolutely superb! Every bite is a variety of tastes. The attention to detail is phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We have dined at Artisanal on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The food is on par with any fine dining establishment anywhere in the country, the ambiance is elegant without being stuffy and the service is attentive. The best restaurant in the high country in my opinion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Perfect restaurant with nice atmosphere, excellent menu and service. In summer there is veranda with nice view to the river.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

The food was fantastic, the Tuna Tartar will melt in your mouth and the Salmon was delicious. Ashley, our server was very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. She made great suggestions and did not steer us wrong. We will be back. Thank you

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 26, 2017

Restaurant is beautiful. Service was good. Don't order the beet salad. Three small pieces of beets on a large plate. Seriously ridiculous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2017

Absolutely an outstanding restaurant in every way! The food never disappoints and such amazing choices! We love it!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 19, 2017

Not a better dining experience anywhere. Incredible food and atmosphere! Must book a long time in advance! It’s a big favorite

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2017

Fantastic experience all the way around! Excellent staff, gorgeous venue, great food, interesting wine list. We hadn’t been here before but will definitely return. I’d highly recommend this restaurant to any of my friends and family! Chef Bill and wife, Anita have created a jewel!

Their wine cellar room is spectacular and couldn’t be a more perfect place for any special event!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

This is by far our most favorite special occasion restaurant. It doesn't matter what you order it will be amazing. The best you can get!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Superb in every aspect, as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

Artisanal is a beautiful restaurant inside and out. The indoor space is elegant with a nice bar and the outdoor porch overlooks a forest and stream. We love sitting outside when the weather is nice and they also have heaters for early spring or late fall. They have wonderful craft cocktails and an extensive wine list with a wide price range. The staff are very knowledgable and can help you to choose a wine in your price range. The chef is very creative and chooses interesting sides. We enjoyed the acorn squash bisque first. I had flounder with jerusalem artichokes and small potatoes. It was delicious. My husband enjoyed the duck. Our friends both had the halibut, which was equally delicious. The desserts were wonderful. Chocolate mousse bomb and a pear tart with cheese. I have never been disappointed in the food, ambiance or service. Worth the drive from Blowing Rock!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 11, 2017

My husband and I come to Banner Elk week 40 every year. We eat at Artisinal at least twice while we are here that week. The service, hospitality, professionalism and food quality and presentation are second to none! The duck is my favorite dish on the menu - the chef prepared it to perfection this week. The baby bib salad is delicious and a good value. The beet salad is very good - just very little of it. This trip, we were finally able to enjoy the outside dining experience this week - it was absolutely perfect! It was warm outside but with a gentle cool breeze while hearing the creek flowing beside the covered dining balcony. Anita is wonderful there - she took very good care of us finding us a perfect seat outside! THANK YOU for this wonderful, beautiful restaurant!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 10, 2017

Definitely one of the best restaurants in USA. atmosphere is wonderful. Food is on par with Gary Denko’s in San Fran. We live in West Jefferson. So, about an hour trek. Well worth it. 10/10.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything at Artisanal was excellent. We have had some great meals and some great dining experiences, but Artisanal bested them all. Unique and enjoyable from start to finish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

always amazing, great staff, incredible flavors, stunning presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything about this dining experience is pure perfection. No detail is left untouched. The cocktails are delightful, the food is aesthetically pleasing, while also creative and absolutely delicious, and the service is impeccable. Easily the best meal we have ever had.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

I have traveled all over the world (1 mil + miles) and dined at many restaurants and have to say Artisanal is one of the best!
My wife and I look forward to our next visit!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

Unbelievable !! The Drinks, Appetizer, crab,meal , side...
The presentation was beautiful, the hostess & our waitress (Elyse) Amazing, and the food was the best we have EVER had! Would travel 2.5 hours again to eat here.
Location was also beautiful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

Perfect. Great place for foodies and wine lovers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a treat at Artisinal! This was my 4th visit to the restaurant and by far the best. Opted for the tasting menu this time and it was a wonderful pick. Hate to see Artisinal close in the winter, but it makes it so welcome in spring. I would suggest some additional wines by the glass on the wine menu...specifically some French whites. Will be back next season!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 12, 2017

Amazing- loved everything about it! The duck was one of my best meals ever!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Good quality was good ambience and service great prices high would recommend for. A special occasion but not for a weekly night out unless you are rich

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 31, 2017

Always incredible from the food to the service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2017

Delightful evening and dinner. Beautiful setting and restaurant. Food was delicious and service was wonderful. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

Without a doubt the best dining experience I've ever had! Have eaten at many fine restaurants around the world and none is finer than this one. There are not enough adjectives to describe the delectable meal we had! Even if you have to come a great distance, this restaurant is worth it! Impeccable in every way.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Unquestionably the best restaurant in the NC High Country, Artisinal has many pluses. An interesting if sometimes somewhat limited menu, an extraordinary but expensive wine list, impeccable and friendly service, and delightful surroundings and ambience make every one of our visits a wonderful culinary experience. But be forewarned, it is expensive, and not all dishes are perfect. This visit, uncharacteristically, there were disappointments. They had "just sold" the last quail appetizer, one of our favorites. The fried crab fritters were doughy and not up to their high standards. Their seafood pasta could use more seafood. Be sure to ask for the prices of the specials. We did not (our fault) and were surprised by the $ 56 price for the filet mignon. While excellent, Artisinal is not a "value". We will definitely go back, but for all but the wealthier local residents, we see it as strictly a special occasion restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2017

This is our date night place and we always ask for the same table. This time (my husband's birthday), we were promised table 42 but then the waitress tried to seat us at another table. Luckily "our" table was free so she moved us over. Also, sorry to see no Sommelier available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2017

The entire experience was excellent, from starters to dessert. The wait staff is excellent, with excellent acoustics and the tables far enough apart that conversation is private. I can recommend highly without reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Great ambiance!..food perfectly prepared...presentation an art form!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

About as perfect an evening as I could imagine. The food was consistently excellent, the wine list extensive (the by-the-glass choices are a little limited), and the beauty of the setting was wonderful. Totally worth the drive. We'll make this an every-year tradition. Owner says they are opening another restaurant in Charlotte -- just hope that doesn't diminish the Artisanal in any way in terms of attention from its owners. Definitely in the Top Restaurants of North Carolina category.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. The scallops were perfectly cooked. Expensive but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 13, 2017

Was not disappointed! Very lovely atmosphere and food was delicious! Can't wait to go again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2017

We try to come here every time we come to the mountains. They never fail to impress us with new items or in my case a great vegan meal made off menu.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 9, 2017

Exceptional in all aspects, food, service, and decor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 6, 2017

Incredible experience. Food and service second to none.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18