About Artisanal Restaurant

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. The capacity is 32 guests. We do welcome parties on the terrace for up to 40 guests and can accommodate more for an event in the main dining room. We do not charge booking fees but do have minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: 8288985395x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
8 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Boone / Banner Elk
Best Restaurants in Banner Elk ›

special occasion (43)
fit for foodies (35)
romantic (34)
See All
notable wine list (33)
great for outdoor dining (28)
scenic view (26)
neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (12)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They called 40 mins before time for our ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

They called 40 mins before time for our reservation and said they had electrical and water problems and that they were canceling the entire evening, they would be closed. But they didn't release my OpenTable reservation, so I had to call them to cancel so I could check availability elsewhere. When they answered there was a lot of noise in the background, dishes being rattled, people talking - they were open! Undoubtedly they overbooked and selected us to bump. When I said, "hey, you're open", they hung up on me. Terrible experience, would never, ever try to eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We sat outside for 15 minutes waiting fo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

We sat outside for 15 minutes waiting for the valet to come with an umbrella. There was a lot of movement out of the restaurant by employees. We were finally approached by a nice woman who apologized for not having contacted us to let us know there had been a power failure. She took our contact information, asked when we were leaving the area (vacation), and said we would be contacted by a hostess to work us in...

Never happened.

To enter this review, I had to rate the restaurant in all areas, which creates an inaccurate picture of our experience, which was poor overall based on a complete lack of customer service only.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Beautiful setting and dining experience.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Beautiful setting and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is beautiful but no coke was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This place is beautiful but no coke was offered to drink, some just don't drink alcohol or water. Food was beautiful and good but over priced.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Artisanal has become our go to restaura ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Artisanal has become our go to restaurant for special occasions. We love the outside dining area when the weather permits. Make your reservations early as the dining slots fill up quickly. The service is five star! The food is prepared with great care to taste and freshness.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal rates as one of N.C.'s top res ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Artisanal rates as one of N.C.'s top restaurants. Every summer we drive from Blowing Rock to have this dining experience with friends. We are never disappointed. From the time you get out of your car to your departure every detail of providing for your comfort and enjoyment is arranged. Savannah was a delightful wait person and she discreetly kept tabs on our needs. The sommelier was in the background to answer questions about our wine choice. The serene setting and the stunning architecture and interior design compliment an incredible menu.

Book early if you want to enjoy the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing second experience. First a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Disappointing second experience. First and most concerning issue is that a huge storm was blowing up and rain pelting just a few minutes prior to our arrival. We were met at the car with large umbrellas. But much to our surprise and dismay we were seated on the patio at a table on the outside row. The temperature had dropped suddenly into the low 60s and I was wearing a sleeveless dress. The wind was high and it was COLD and the rain was blowing in on us. Although the hostess who seated us said it would not be, but she contradicted herself in the next sentence when we asked if we could move inside (no), then we asked if we could move to a nearby empty table on the inside row. No, because the ladies next to us on the outside row were moving there! So it's perfectly fine for us to sit on the outside row getting cold and wet, yet those ladies get to move?!

I was also concerned for our safety since there were large lightning flashes nearby. The only positive I can say about that is that I was offered a shawl which helped some but I was still shivering despite it being wrapped tightly around me.

I was more than a bit put out, to the point that we strongly considered leaving. However we knew they would charge us $70 anyway, per their credit card reservation policy.

It was very poor and shocking treatment from such a high end establishment. Imagine paying $200 for a meal where your safety and comfort is of little concern to the staff.

The food was not as good as the first time. My entree was essentially a butter sauce on angel hair pasta with a few bits of lobster for $42, was very oily to the point that I couldn't finish it.

Service was slow and I was also surprised when the server said I could not get the ice cream on the side with my dessert to go. I've had many other restaurants do this. He actually argued with me about it and prevailed. And the dessert (chocolate cake) was nothing spectacular either.

Overall quite disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

An outstanding restaurant but not up to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

An outstanding restaurant but not up to its usual standards this time. Servers were overworked and food was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, service was exceptional, we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, service was exceptional, we will go back again

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Artisanal is an absolutely fabulous dini ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Artisanal is an absolutely fabulous dining experience. Impeccable service and the best meal we have ever eaten. The food is expertly prepared, with perfect seasoning and flavors. Detail is paid to each aspect, from presentation to taste.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Simply wonderful. The chef worked at Le ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Simply wonderful. The chef worked at Le Cirque in NYC for three years. His team is young and talented, the design of the house is simply gorgeous, and the quality of the food on a par with the best NYC high end restaurant. I would return happily any time. A true find in the mountains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fabulous - best restaurant in the high c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous - best restaurant in the high country

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant tucked away in North Ca ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great restaurant tucked away in North Carolina's high country. The ambiance was stellar, elegant but not fussy. The food was creative and delicious! The service was impeccable! Do make reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in NC!!! The best ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant in NC!!! The best service, food and ambiance. Every person in our group loved their meal and enjoyed the evening, thanks to the wonderful staff and the incredible food. Love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience exceeded my expectations ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This experience exceeded my expectations -- which were high! The food was outstanding, and the service superb. The wait staff -- friendly and yet so professional, in our opinion just the perfect blend. And I think this is often hard to come by with young people. Obviously your staff training is excellent. Thank you for a truly 5 start evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the fourth time we dine at this ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is the fourth time we dine at this restaurant and the food, as always is outstanding, on par with any good restaurant in big cities. The restaurant itself is also pretty impressive, simulating a barn, with all reclaimed wood. The main room is ample and comfortable, with a view of the kitchen in back. The terrace is ideal in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From top to bottom, our experience at Ar ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From top to bottom, our experience at Artisanal was beyond excellent. The menu, while small in comparison to everything else, is powerful. The food quality is exceptional. The service was friendly and engaging. GREAT wine steward and the atmosphere was inspirational. Thank you for all of the attention to detail.

And thank you for explanation of the dress expectation. So few places do that anymore. For what you give your diners in experience, the very least we can do is dress accordingly for the service we are about to receive. All of it together helps make the experience over-the-top. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Absolutely flawless! Amazing flavors sto ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Absolutely flawless! Amazing flavors stood out in every bite. The steak was one of the best I've ever had, and made all the more delicious by the tarragon lemon sauce. Drew's pork chop was also delicious, as were the wonderful sides. His calamari appetizer was tender and flavorful. My scallops were the best. Serving sizes quite generous. A beautiful setting and gorgeous decor, lent an air of effortless class and comfort. I almost hate that we came here, because now all else will pale in comparison. And that's saying quite a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Banner Elk a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Banner Elk and the Artisinal restaurant. It exceeded our expectations and is now one of our favorite restaurants anywhere. Artisinal rivals Blackberry Farm. Great Wine list!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience from the valet to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding experience from the valet to dinner to desert then departure...very relaxed dining..sat outside and the ambiance could not have been better...our waitress was delightful and always available for our needs...would suggest this restaurant for anyone who wants a great meal at a fair price.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate our anniversary ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place to celebrate our anniversary! Great service and tasty food. Exclusive feel that's well hidden from open view. Will definitely recommend to family and friends

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful as always. We ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful as always. We thought the pricing was a bit high however.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Artisanal is the finest restaurant in th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Artisanal is the finest restaurant in the high country, period. I have been a foody for many years, experiencing the best in dining around the world. Artisanal's ambiance, exceptional service, and of course, great food, make it a great dining experience.

I highly recommend it.

Mountain Mike.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time to Artisinals an ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time to Artisinals and it will NOT be our last! The waitstaff were all very professional and attentive. We have several dietary requirements, which were all carefully met. The food was superb and beautifully presented. And the ambiance was quiet. It was a perfect experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an awesome meal and the waitstaff ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had an awesome meal and the waitstaff was equally good. I enjoyed seeing into the kitchen, also. The desserts were to die for! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect dinners tonight. Enjo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect dinners tonight. Enjoyed sitting on the porch and hearing the water flow in the stream. Our service was very good and all of us were happy with our dinner choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem in Banner Elk, NC

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I had heard great things about Artisanal since buying our cabin in Banner Elk, but never made plans to dine there until last week. Even two weeks in advance, reservations were gone for Friday and Saturday nights, June 10 and 11, and we had to settle for Thursday June 9. It does not matter what night you choose as our meals were without doubt the best we have had in years. Being from Charlotte we have many choices for fine dining. Artisanal is the top of the list in delicious food and setting. We ate our dinner on the covered porch by a mountain stream. The ambiance is rustic, yet modern. Tables are well spaced to allow for a quiet dining experience. On our next visit we will make reservations for a table at the rail on the porch so we can enjoy the stream as well as our food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent good find superb presentation

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent good find superb presentation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a special treat

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Artisanal is our go-to date-night place whether for special occasions or meeting friends. Service is impeccable and food is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food at a beautiful setting

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It was our 1st visit to Artisanal based on a recommendation from our hotel in Linville (Eseeola).

We were so impressed with the food, wine and service. The setting is beautiful. Will plan to eat

on the porch next time. Truly a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sitting outside is a must! The stream is ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Sitting outside is a must! The stream is so pretty and the overall atmosphere here is incredible. I had the salmon and it was a large piece cooked to perfection I highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Perfect!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the mountain region! They offer spectacular service, gorgeous views, and the most delicious food. Highly recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Artisanal. W ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first visit to Artisanal. We were visiting friends in Banner Elk from NJ. We were very pleased to find a high quality restaurant in the mountains so far from Princeton. We enjoyed cocktails on the back porch next to the babbling brook. We all enjoyed our first courses . We had the octopus, burrata and beet salad. All were beautifully plated and delicious. My husband who is gluten free was accommodated. We all ordered the Butter Steak and happy that we did! Service was wonderful from beginning to end!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful venue, outstanding staff & foo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful venue, outstanding staff & food! Interior is to see. Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this dining experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

UNBELIEVABLE EXPERIENCE & FOOD!!!! I wou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

UNBELIEVABLE EXPERIENCE & FOOD!!!! I would highly recommend it if you can get reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I went to Artisanal on ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to Artisanal on a Tuesday evening. It was my first time there. To my disappointment, the tasting menu that was on their website was not being offered. We shared the burrata salad to start, which was good. I had the Wagyu sirloin, my girlfriend had the halibut. My steak was cooked perfectly, but it didn't taste any different than a normal sirloin. The best part were all the vegetables that came with it. Simply prepared, but absolutely delicious. I did not try the halibut, but my girlfriend really enjoyed it. Food prices at this restaurant are very fair! It was nice to see a place that was not way overcharging for their food.

The service was good. Not fantastic, but far from poor. If I have any complaint at all, it was that I felt some pressure to purchase a bottle of wine. We each had a cocktail before dinner/with our appetizer and bread. And we each had a glass of wine with dinner. That was enough for us. We also ordered our wine about 5 minutes before our entrees came out, but did not get it until 10 minutes after we got our entrees. That was frustrating, as I wanted to enjoy the wine and steak together. We had the pudding for dessert. It was not pudding, but more like a cake/bread pudding. This was also very delicious! I would like to go back on a weekend evening sometime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

We set our May trip up to coincide with ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We set our May trip up to coincide with Artisanal opening. This year is more different with gres

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting and the food and servi ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Beautiful setting and the food and service were excellent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bill Greene is incredible

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Always pleased and amazed with this place which is never boring and the food and service are outstanding. It is a must go place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular experience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Once again artisanal restaurant provided a memorable evening in every way. Food was delectable; staff and service , attentive and exacting and the setting is magnificent! HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.