Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

About Artisanal Restaurant

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. For events, 32 or less, the cellar is the best option. For larger parties, a restaurant buy-out is an option. Minimums are required for events. Fixed menus are planned with the chef to accommodate guest preferences.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: (828) 898-5395

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Scenic View (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fun (3)
Organic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Waterfront (3)
Cozy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

From the wait staff to the food everything was superb. I go their every time I'm in town and sometimes multiple. Fantastic ever changing cuisine /menu.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 7 days ago

Definitely a five star restaurant worthy of its being recognized as one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation by Open Table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food and atmosphere were outstanding. This was our second visit and we brought friends who were visiting us from Kansas who appreciate excellence in dining and they were not disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We are 11 years old and it is a tradition for us to come here. This is our third year coming and we really love it. While our parents talk we like to play by the water. The chef changes the menu occasionally and what they substitute for that used to be on the menu is just as good. Artisinal definitely deserves five stars.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Artisanal never disappoints, alway consistenly exceptional food, wine and service. If you're thinking of going or haven't tried it, do not wait; it is well worth the trip and price.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The whole experience is superb, ambiance, presentation, service, taste...

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The best restaurant I've ever been to! We've been here twice and the food, service and atmosphere do not disappoint. Blue crab balls were delicious and the squid ink spaghetti was out of this world! Sitting by the stream is my favorite thing here. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Wonderful experience! We were celebrating our anniversary. Liza, our server, greeted us with "happy anniversary." She was delightful, helpful, and professional. All the staff were courteous and accommodating. The food is outstanding. We had the oysters, which we so good that we placed a second order for them. Before we ordered dessert, Liza brought us glasses of champagne. It was a lovely night!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

In my view the best food available in all of North Carolina and certainly one of the best restaurants we have ever enjoyed. Impeccable service and fantastic food served in a serene, understated setting. Simply the best-- always.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Delicious! Loved everything about it!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Possibly the best restaurant in the world taking everything into consideration.
The restaurant and owners are simply fantastic. I have eaten there dozens of times and they NEVER disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wow! Incredible dining experience! Picturesque location, beautiful facility, delicious and painstakingly prepared food, and the service was top notch ! Fascinating to observe the professional and well trained waitstaff.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 24, 2017

It doesn't get any better than Artisanal: food, wine, service and ambiance all best of class.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Awesome! Food was prepared perfectly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Surprised to find such a great experience in this community. What a gem!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Lovely. The staff is wonderfully attentive. The food fabulous.....crab fritters divine, mozzarella on salad best ever, octopus charred perfectly, and on and on. We dined out on the porch by the creek. Could not have been a better evening. They do all things with excellence.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The Open Table system didn't allow adding two persons to the original dining party. When called by the restaurant to confirm our reservation, we noted the change and they made it. During the call they also mentioned a birthday + anniversary occasion, but NOTHING was done once we reached Artisanal.

We enjoy fine dining but at somewhat reasonable prices and not just ambiance. Two glasses of Pino Noir were $18 each...checked when we got home only to learn an entire BOTTLE retails for $14.

We have a grandson who is a chef, a culinary institute graduate, so we know a tad about what fine dining should be and the related cost. Artisanal falls short in several areas.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was exceptional. Especially the chicken liver mousse.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

I have been many times and this was the best ever!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Everything about the restaurant is fantastic! tough to get reservations on the weekend but still worth trying!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great chef and staff

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Artisanal is a real Jewel! The Food is Excellently prepared. The Menu reflects creativity has good balance and diversity of main courses and Apps and starters ,yet not so lengthy that it becomes awkward. The Staff is always professional and Hospitable. Atmosphere is unique and very comfortable. I always enjoy my visits there.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The menu at Artisnal is the thing! Very creative and innovative, but my experience shows that it will all be excellent. The cioppino was the best I have ever had. The duck was another outstanding entrée the night we were there. But it is very hard to choose what to order. I hope to be back soon and try other parts of the menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Experience was great from arrival to departure. Our first time here and will definitely go back. Food was outstanding and creative, our waiter was attentive but not pushy, all courses were timed to arrive perfectly and it was just a wonderful evening

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I had a cousin in town who I hadn't seen in a year, so we wanted to celebrate being together and Artisanal was a perfect place to do that! The food was terrific, the drinks were delicious, the views were impressive, and the service was impeccable. I will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Phenomenal experience. I would classify this as one of my Top Ten dining experiences in my life. The food was incredible and the beautiful setting added to its charm. I will go back every time I visit that area. It is not to be missed.

Dining Occasion:Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Artisanal was a real treat... we decided to go on a Thursday as they close for the season and the weekend was booked, and what a decision it was. Kim was a fantastic waitress... a real pro who we will certainly request when we return in the spring. We did the tasting menu with the wine pairing, and while not cheap by any means, it was absolutely worth it. The duck breast was, I think, the best I've ever had. Years ago there was a restaurant in Maine that came close to this... alas, they have fallen so far off that I will not return. Artisanal was everything t his other place aspired to, and then some. And while great food is always a pleasure, great service makes it that much moreso, and from the hostess, to the Sommelier, to Kim, we had a fantastic evening, and I couldn't recommend this place any more strongly. Go. Enjoy. Slainte Mhe!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Artisanal was a pleasant surprise while visiting Banner Elk. Superlatives: food, service, and ambience. Negatives: too far from home to enjoy routinely. Mega rich arrive by chopper but, alas, not an option for me. Creative and tasty creations from locally sourced suppliers as much as possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Best meal I've had in the High Country, hands down.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Artisinal is truly an epicurean delight! Entrees were flavorful, choices were great for every palate. Several delightful selections for the first course including octopus and squid. Second course included Alaskan Halibut, Duck and a special cut of ribeye. Several side dishes for sharing, including pomme frites. Finally, desserts were outstanding !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We wanted to see the leaves and my wife shopped at Dandelion. This was our first trip to Banner Elk, and we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. The restaurant, the food and cocktails, the chef, and the wait staff were all exceptional. We told all our friends about our wonderful experience. We look forward to our next visit in the spring. . . Chuck and Shirley Miller

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My wife and I went here for a date night. We had heard about Artisinal, but always missed their seasonal hours. We were not disappointed.

The service is impeccable. The ambiance is nice, and made for a romantic dinner. The food was beyond our expectations. Very creative, lovely presentation, and simply delicious. We opted out of the tasting menu, but may do that next time.

The prices are on the high end. However, I recommend those who love good food to not miss Artisinal.

My only complaint is we never received our leftovers, which we were told would be loaded by the valet. We discovered this half-way home. Despite this, we will definitely be back next year.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Amazing as always! The very best restaurant. I am a foodie and artisanal always amazes me with their creativity, service and ambiance. Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Just outstanding in every way.
Excellent seafood dishes in a most unexpected place. Wonderful ambience and we loved sitting near the open kitchen to watch the prep action.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Artisanal is a very classy place to celebrate a special occasion. We sat on the terrace overlooking a babbling brook this time around. There were outdoor heaters mounted high enough to not be uncomfortably warm. The service was superb. One of the waiters remembered our party from previous visits and recommended some excellent wine. The decor is an elegant barn/country theme. The wine cellar is a must see as well well.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A five star experience in every way, absolutely outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Love Artisinal! Wish it were open all year but, like the springtime, it makes it all worthwhile to be forced to wait. Creative cuisine, knowledgable staff, ambiance is soothing and wonderful. Looking forward to the opening of the "season" soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Meal was outstanding! Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Compliments to the chef! We ordered four different dishes, and each was excellently prepared. The beet salad was delicious, as was dessert! The wine list is exhaustive and high quality. Plan to pay for it, but it is fully worth it! We look forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.