Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.41mi
  2. Distance: 2.17mi
  3. Distance: 2.82mi
  4. Distance: 3.10mi

About Artisanal Restaurant

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. For events, 32 or less, the cellar is the best option. For larger parties, a restaurant buy-out is an option. Minimums are required for events. Fixed menus are planned with the chef to accommodate guest preferences.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: (828) 898-5395

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (33)
Special Occasion (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (24)
Scenic View (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Seasonal (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Business Meals (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This is by far our most favorite special occasion restaurant. It doesn't matter what you order it will be amazing. The best you can get!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb in every aspect, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Artisanal is a beautiful restaurant inside and out. The indoor space is elegant with a nice bar and the outdoor porch overlooks a forest and stream. We love sitting outside when the weather is nice and they also have heaters for early spring or late fall. They have wonderful craft cocktails and an extensive wine list with a wide price range. The staff are very knowledgable and can help you to choose a wine in your price range. The chef is very creative and chooses interesting sides. We enjoyed the acorn squash bisque first. I had flounder with jerusalem artichokes and small potatoes. It was delicious. My husband enjoyed the duck. Our friends both had the halibut, which was equally delicious. The desserts were wonderful. Chocolate mousse bomb and a pear tart with cheese. I have never been disappointed in the food, ambiance or service. Worth the drive from Blowing Rock!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I come to Banner Elk week 40 every year. We eat at Artisinal at least twice while we are here that week. The service, hospitality, professionalism and food quality and presentation are second to none! The duck is my favorite dish on the menu - the chef prepared it to perfection this week. The baby bib salad is delicious and a good value. The beet salad is very good - just very little of it. This trip, we were finally able to enjoy the outside dining experience this week - it was absolutely perfect! It was warm outside but with a gentle cool breeze while hearing the creek flowing beside the covered dining balcony. Anita is wonderful there - she took very good care of us finding us a perfect seat outside! THANK YOU for this wonderful, beautiful restaurant!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined 7 days ago

Definitely one of the best restaurants in USA. atmosphere is wonderful. Food is on par with Gary Denko’s in San Fran. We live in West Jefferson. So, about an hour trek. Well worth it. 10/10.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everything at Artisanal was excellent. We have had some great meals and some great dining experiences, but Artisanal bested them all. Unique and enjoyable from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

always amazing, great staff, incredible flavors, stunning presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything about this dining experience is pure perfection. No detail is left untouched. The cocktails are delightful, the food is aesthetically pleasing, while also creative and absolutely delicious, and the service is impeccable. Easily the best meal we have ever had.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

I have traveled all over the world (1 mil + miles) and dined at many restaurants and have to say Artisanal is one of the best!
My wife and I look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Organic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vegan, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Authentic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Unbelievable !! The Drinks, Appetizer, crab,meal , side...
The presentation was beautiful, the hostess & our waitress (Elyse) Amazing, and the food was the best we have EVER had! Would travel 2.5 hours again to eat here.
Location was also beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Perfect. Great place for foodies and wine lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always a treat at Artisinal! This was my 4th visit to the restaurant and by far the best. Opted for the tasting menu this time and it was a wonderful pick. Hate to see Artisinal close in the winter, but it makes it so welcome in spring. I would suggest some additional wines by the glass on the wine menu...specifically some French whites. Will be back next season!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Amazing- loved everything about it! The duck was one of my best meals ever!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Good quality was good ambience and service great prices high would recommend for. A special occasion but not for a weekly night out unless you are rich

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always incredible from the food to the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Delightful evening and dinner. Beautiful setting and restaurant. Food was delicious and service was wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Without a doubt the best dining experience I've ever had! Have eaten at many fine restaurants around the world and none is finer than this one. There are not enough adjectives to describe the delectable meal we had! Even if you have to come a great distance, this restaurant is worth it! Impeccable in every way.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Organic, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Unquestionably the best restaurant in the NC High Country, Artisinal has many pluses. An interesting if sometimes somewhat limited menu, an extraordinary but expensive wine list, impeccable and friendly service, and delightful surroundings and ambience make every one of our visits a wonderful culinary experience. But be forewarned, it is expensive, and not all dishes are perfect. This visit, uncharacteristically, there were disappointments. They had "just sold" the last quail appetizer, one of our favorites. The fried crab fritters were doughy and not up to their high standards. Their seafood pasta could use more seafood. Be sure to ask for the prices of the specials. We did not (our fault) and were surprised by the $ 56 price for the filet mignon. While excellent, Artisinal is not a "value". We will definitely go back, but for all but the wealthier local residents, we see it as strictly a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This is our date night place and we always ask for the same table. This time (my husband's birthday), we were promised table 42 but then the waitress tried to seat us at another table. Luckily "our" table was free so she moved us over. Also, sorry to see no Sommelier available.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The entire experience was excellent, from starters to dessert. The wait staff is excellent, with excellent acoustics and the tables far enough apart that conversation is private. I can recommend highly without reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great ambiance!..food perfectly prepared...presentation an art form!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

About as perfect an evening as I could imagine. The food was consistently excellent, the wine list extensive (the by-the-glass choices are a little limited), and the beauty of the setting was wonderful. Totally worth the drive. We'll make this an every-year tradition. Owner says they are opening another restaurant in Charlotte -- just hope that doesn't diminish the Artisanal in any way in terms of attention from its owners. Definitely in the Top Restaurants of North Carolina category.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food and service. The scallops were perfectly cooked. Expensive but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Was not disappointed! Very lovely atmosphere and food was delicious! Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We try to come here every time we come to the mountains. They never fail to impress us with new items or in my case a great vegan meal made off menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Exceptional in all aspects, food, service, and decor.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Incredible experience. Food and service second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Never fails to satisfy in every way! Food is fabulous and only matched by ambiance. It continues to be my favorite restaurant in all of NC ... will return as often as we make it to mountains!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

There is only one word to describe this restaurant. Speechless.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Fabulous in every aspect, from the decor, service, food! Great experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on July 27, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the world. They do such a magnificent job!!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Sublime, as always. Crab fritters were outstanding, and everyone's meal was a treat!
Dirty banana ice cream!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Attended Artisanal for our anniversary this week. Seated outdoors on their terrace, if the temperature is right, no better place to dine. Service was great, as always, and the food was wonderful. Just can't ask for a better place to go in the area for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Need to offer stevia sweetener and have some live music for weekends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Although it's over an hour and half away, we try to go at least once a year for one of the best meals in WNC.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Need to offer Stevia sweetner for tea and coffee. My wife had to bring her own.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Beyond words . . . service, atmosphere and "over the top" creative food presentation! This is the making of a very exciting and delicious evening. The delicate little gnocchi made with lemon and ricotta and shaved mushrooms was breathtaking (photo attached). Yum!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Celebrating our family member's birthday here was truly spectacular. From the exceptional, attentive, and delightful service we received from the moment we entered the restaurant to the sensationally delicious and unique entrees and wine, it was a truly special experience we will always remember. The ambiance is charmingly pleasant and warm, and this extends to all of the staff, as well. We all look forward to returning to this gem in the High Country!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Artisanal has quickly become one of the Top 5 restaurants I've visited around the globe. The flavors and combinations are sublime. The presentation & quality exquisite. Though I live thousands of miles away, I dream of the next time I can visit Artisanal again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

You won't go wrong if you head to Artisanal for your dining experience. Fabulous service before you put your foot in the door (which will be opened for you.) Exceptional staff presenting fabulous food. This place is only open on a limited basis (I believe May through October) so plan accordingly--they do fill up!

Great time w/friends to celebrate my wife's birthday. From her welcoming glass of sparkling wine to our craft cocktails to a delicious wine--we were quite hydrated. The snacks (appetizers) were superb, leading us into our fine dinner entrees and rounding out with a sampling of desserts for the table.

Kudos to Artisanal! Don't miss this mountain gem.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.