About Artisanal Restaurant

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. The capacity is 32 guests. We do welcome parties on the terrace for up to 40 guests and can accommodate more for an event in the main dining room. We do not charge booking fees but do have minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: 8288985395x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
6 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Boone / Banner Elk
Best Restaurants in Banner Elk ›

special occasion (31)
notable wine list (25)
romantic (25)
See All
fit for foodies (24)
great for outdoor dining (20)
scenic view (18)
neighborhood gem (10)
good for groups (8)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
524 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is the fourth time we dine at this ...

Dined 4 days ago

This is the fourth time we dine at this restaurant and the food, as always is outstanding, on par with any good restaurant in big cities. The restaurant itself is also pretty impressive, simulating a barn, with all reclaimed wood. The main room is ample and comfortable, with a view of the kitchen in back. The terrace is ideal in the summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

From top to bottom, our experience at Ar ...

Dined 4 days ago

From top to bottom, our experience at Artisanal was beyond excellent. The menu, while small in comparison to everything else, is powerful. The food quality is exceptional. The service was friendly and engaging. GREAT wine steward and the atmosphere was inspirational. Thank you for all of the attention to detail. And thank you for explanation of the dress expectation. So few places do that anymore. For what you give your diners in experience, the very least we can do is dress accordingly for the service we are about to receive. All of it together helps make the experience over-the-top. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely flawless! Amazing flavors sto ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Absolutely flawless! Amazing flavors stood out in every bite. The steak was one of the best I've ever had, and made all the more delicious by the tarragon lemon sauce. Drew's pork chop was also delicious, as were the wonderful sides. His calamari appetizer was tender and flavorful. My scallops were the best. Serving sizes quite generous. A beautiful setting and gorgeous decor, lent an air of effortless class and comfort. I almost hate that we came here, because now all else will pale in comparison. And that's saying quite a bit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Banner Elk a ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Banner Elk and the Artisinal restaurant. It exceeded our expectations and is now one of our favorite restaurants anywhere. Artisinal rivals Blackberry Farm. Great Wine list!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience from the valet to ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding experience from the valet to dinner to desert then departure...very relaxed dining..sat outside and the ambiance could not have been better...our waitress was delightful and always available for our needs...would suggest this restaurant for anyone who wants a great meal at a fair price.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate our anniversary ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place to celebrate our anniversary! Great service and tasty food. Exclusive feel that's well hidden from open view. Will definitely recommend to family and friends

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was wonderful as always. We ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful as always. We thought the pricing was a bit high however.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Artisanal is the finest restaurant in th ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Artisanal is the finest restaurant in the high country, period. I have been a foody for many years, experiencing the best in dining around the world. Artisanal's ambiance, exceptional service, and of course, great food, make it a great dining experience. I highly recommend it. Mountain Mike.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time to Artisinals an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time to Artisinals and it will NOT be our last! The waitstaff were all very professional and attentive. We have several dietary requirements, which were all carefully met. The food was superb and beautifully presented. And the ambiance was quiet. It was a perfect experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awesome meal and the waitstaff ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had an awesome meal and the waitstaff was equally good. I enjoyed seeing into the kitchen, also. The desserts were to die for! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely perfect dinners tonight. Enjo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect dinners tonight. Enjoyed sitting on the porch and hearing the water flow in the stream. Our service was very good and all of us were happy with our dinner choices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in Banner Elk, NC

Dined on June 9, 2016

I had heard great things about Artisanal since buying our cabin in Banner Elk, but never made plans to dine there until last week. Even two weeks in advance, reservations were gone for Friday and Saturday nights, June 10 and 11, and we had to settle for Thursday June 9. It does not matter what night you choose as our meals were without doubt the best we have had in years. Being from Charlotte we have many choices for fine dining. Artisanal is the top of the list in delicious food and setting. We ate our dinner on the covered porch by a mountain stream. The ambiance is rustic, yet modern. Tables are well spaced to allow for a quiet dining experience. On our next visit we will make reservations for a table at the rail on the porch so we can enjoy the stream as well as our food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent good find superb presentation

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent good find superb presentation

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a special treat

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Artisanal is our go-to date-night place whether for special occasions or meeting friends. Service is impeccable and food is outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food at a beautiful setting

Dined on June 3, 2016

It was our 1st visit to Artisanal based on a recommendation from our hotel in Linville (Eseeola). We were so impressed with the food, wine and service. The setting is beautiful. Will plan to eat on the porch next time. Truly a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sitting outside is a must! The stream is ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Sitting outside is a must! The stream is so pretty and the overall atmosphere here is incredible. I had the salmon and it was a large piece cooked to perfection I highly recommend

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Perfect!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the mountain region! They offer spectacular service, gorgeous views, and the most delicious food. Highly recommend for a special occasion!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit to Artisanal. W ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our first visit to Artisanal. We were visiting friends in Banner Elk from NJ. We were very pleased to find a high quality restaurant in the mountains so far from Princeton. We enjoyed cocktails on the back porch next to the babbling brook. We all enjoyed our first courses . We had the octopus, burrata and beet salad. All were beautifully plated and delicious. My husband who is gluten free was accommodated. We all ordered the Butter Steak and happy that we did! Service was wonderful from beginning to end!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful venue, outstanding staff & foo ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Wonderful venue, outstanding staff & food! Interior is to see. Thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of this dining experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

UNBELIEVABLE EXPERIENCE & FOOD!!!! I wou ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

UNBELIEVABLE EXPERIENCE & FOOD!!!! I would highly recommend it if you can get reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

My girlfriend and I went to Artisanal on ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

My girlfriend and I went to Artisanal on a Tuesday evening. It was my first time there. To my disappointment, the tasting menu that was on their website was not being offered. We shared the burrata salad to start, which was good. I had the Wagyu sirloin, my girlfriend had the halibut. My steak was cooked perfectly, but it didn't taste any different than a normal sirloin. The best part were all the vegetables that came with it. Simply prepared, but absolutely delicious. I did not try the halibut, but my girlfriend really enjoyed it. Food prices at this restaurant are very fair! It was nice to see a place that was not way overcharging for their food. The service was good. Not fantastic, but far from poor. If I have any complaint at all, it was that I felt some pressure to purchase a bottle of wine. We each had a cocktail before dinner/with our appetizer and bread. And we each had a glass of wine with dinner. That was enough for us. We also ordered our wine about 5 minutes before our entrees came out, but did not get it until 10 minutes after we got our entrees. That was frustrating, as I wanted to enjoy the wine and steak together. We had the pudding for dessert. It was not pudding, but more like a cake/bread pudding. This was also very delicious! I would like to go back on a weekend evening sometime soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We set our May trip up to coincide with ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We set our May trip up to coincide with Artisanal opening. This year is more different with gres

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting and the food and servi ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Beautiful setting and the food and service were excellent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bill Greene is incredible

Dined on May 10, 2016

Always pleased and amazed with this place which is never boring and the food and service are outstanding. It is a must go place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Spectacular experience

Dined on May 7, 2016

Once again artisanal restaurant provided a memorable evening in every way. Food was delectable; staff and service , attentive and exacting and the setting is magnificent! HIGHLY recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top 10 restaurant in North Carolina

Dined on May 6, 2016

This is probably the 10th time I have dined at Artisanal since they opened. It is one of the finest venues, as well as one of the finest dining experiences in all of North Carolina. The ambience is elegant, the staff are attentive and welcoming, and the food and drinks are simply exceptional . I thought the calamari appetizer was among the best I've ever had. The pan seared halibut was done to perfection, and the wine pairings recommended for our dinner was spot on! I look forward to my next meal in the very near future !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints!!

Dined on October 31, 2015

Artisinal delivers exceptional food, service and environment with every visit. Bill and Anita are perfect hosts. This is a must do while in the mountains.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food. And the service. Did I mention ...

Dined on October 30, 2015

The food. And the service. Did I mention the food?

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food in a beautiful setting. Wor ...

Dined on October 27, 2015

Amazing food in a beautiful setting. Worth every penny! Went with a group of six and we all loved the food and thoroughly enjoyed our evening and experience there.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best

Dined on October 25, 2015

Simply amazing. Best dining experience in NC. We make the trip every year and it exceeds our expectations every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Exceptional find in Beech Mountain

Dined on October 24, 2015

We were lucky to find this hidden gem out in the middle of nowhere near Beech Mountain. The service was top notch, and the menu while not overly large did include several tempting choices. As were refer to ourselves as "semi-vegetarians" the non-meal entrees were too limited, but overall we were pleased with the options. The wine choices were extensive, and the beer menu, while more limited, had some winners. The best part of the dinner was the exceptional service by the staff. The decor is relaxed and innovative. Overall a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent find

vip
Dined on October 24, 2015

This restaurant was in the middle of a ranch and was an oasis in the dessert. Food was well executed by an obviously well trained chief. The wine list was ridiculously high end with bottle up to the $5000 range. Romantic ambience and one of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice but salty

Dined on October 22, 2015

We had heard great things about this restaurant and we were not disappointed. It is upper-level dining from the valet through to the kitchen. The outdoor seating and bar and finally pit for the specially nice. The menu choices were interesting and varied and delicious. My only criticism regards the excess amount of salt in the entrées.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Sustained culinary artistry

Dined on October 22, 2015

This team continues to amaze. Everything they present is a culinary work of art. Service was terrific. If you are in the High Country, do not miss it (open May-October).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent ambience and service. The food ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Excellent ambience and service. The food, especially the proteins were outstanding. Great experience in a hugh end mountain setting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience. Jamie ...

vip
Dined on October 18, 2015

Always a great dining experience. Jamie is an outstanding waiter

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

First Experience at Artisanal

Dined on October 17, 2015

We reserved table through open table, which apparently does not distinguish between indoor and outdoor seating. Received call week of reservation and learned our reservation was currently outdoors, which was going to be too cold. As alternate accommodations, we ended up being seated in the cellar at a large table with another party at the other end of the table. Not the best situation, as the cellar already had two very loud and boisterous 8-person parties. However, we felt that management did as best as possible to accommodate us considering the situation, but the reservation issues need to be addressed. Other than the seating issue, food was excellent, especially the calamari small plate. Our entrees were well prepared and generous portions. Service was excellent as expected; server was attentive and helpful. Overall, a great addition to the high country. Will be revisiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Surprise to find restaurant of the calib ...

vip
Dined on October 14, 2015

Surprise to find restaurant of the caliber in Banner Elk. Very interesting menu, expertly prepared, with exceptional presentation. Would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Superior food and service

Dined on October 10, 2015

The food and service at Artisanal was superior..... the best food in North Carolina! This was our second visit to this restaurant and from beginning to end the experience was a joy. Words cannot express the pleasure we had dining in this restaurant! We cannot wait to go back in the spring!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Girls night out

Dined on October 9, 2015

5 of us dined at Artisinal and enjoyed everything about it! Our server John was exceptionally attentive! We were a group of childhood friends looking for something special and we found it. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.