About Artisanal Restaurant

1200 Dobbins Rd
Banner Elk, NC 28604
View Larger Map

Contemporary American Fine Dining in a rustic yet elegant environment. Innovative and progressive thinking in a farm to table approach, only working with the highest quality ingredients. This warm environment offers the best food and wine with excellent service. Wine Spectator Award of Excellence. Private dining room adjacent to the wine cellar available for events.
Artisanal Restaurant is closed seasonally from November - April.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:30pm - close
May Through October

Cross Street:
Hwy 184

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 898-5395

Website:
http://www.artisanalnc.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment may be available on occasions

Parking Details:
Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Bill Greene

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining room is located adjacent to the wine cellar. The capacity is 32 guests. We do welcome parties on the terrace for up to 40 guests and can accommodate more for an event in the main dining room. We do not charge booking fees but do have minimums.

Private Party Contact:
Anita Greene: 8288985395x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisanal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Food
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville / W. North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Value
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Outdoor Dining
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Romantic
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Special Occasion
Asheville / W. North Carolina
American
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Most Booked
Boone / Banner Elk
Best Restaurants in Banner Elk ›

Special Occasion (55)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Notable Wine List (43)
See All
Romantic (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Scenic View (33)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From driving up (a secluded mountain bar ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined a day ago

From driving up (a secluded mountain barn) to entering the luxurious, understated interior designers dream, we were excited from the start! We sat on the terrace, which was capped perfectly with a babbling brook and temperate mountain climate. Our waiter, Keith, was phenomenal. He was approachable, fun and low key. The portions were kind but not over the top. The cuisine was divine and balanced. For oenophiles; the list is fantastic. Our meal was paced perfectly. We will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our anniversary at Artisin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our anniversary at Artisinal and our dinner was fantastic! We chose the sampling menu...appetizer, salad, entree and dessert. Every morsel was delicious and beautifully presented. I also had the wine pairings. Again, they were excellent. We dined on the terrace and the ambiance was so romantic. We will most definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seriously, I was blown away from the mom ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 6 days ago

Seriously, I was blown away from the moment I approached the restaurant. Located in an isolated rural/farm section in Banner Elk, NC the overall experience was exceptional. This has got to rank as one of the top five star restaurants in the US. I only wish I lived closer so I could visit often.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the Valet to the Hostess to the wai ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

From the Valet to the Hostess to the waiter (Tanner) to the General Manager, and especially to the quality of the food--couldn't have been better!

A bit pricey, but worth it!

Kind of cool when a group of 8 or so members of the Miami Heat showed up for dinner---

Dress up a bit -- gents are preferred in jackets, but not required--

We'll be back--

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal has a notable reputation to li ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Artisanal has a notable reputation to live up to; nothing disappointed. The mountain surrounding is stunning. The service from driving up to drive away was outstanding. Our server (Liza) answered a multitude of questions with acumen. While the wine list is extensive, the craft cocktail menu was delightful. The piping petite hot yeast rolls started the meal with smiles. Appetizer - the tuna tartare - perfect. Both appetizers were spot on: the butter steak - the exterior "crust" divine & cooked perfectly & the seafood bolognese featured homemade pasta, fresh lobster, shrimp...

Artisanal stands up with restaurants anywhere! Make reservations WELL in advance.

We will go back to this High Country gem.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a great destination eating estab ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a great destination eating establishment. The entire staff is gracious, professional and the food is EXCELLENTLY prepared and presented as you would expect a fine dining experience to be. The restaurant is spacious, the ambiance is great and the acoustics are very excellent for a large dining area. The outside dining, even though we ate inside that night due somewhat inclement weather, is very nice with the mountain stream flowing nearby the eating area. Jamie, the Wine Sommelier, is excellent at pairing a wine to complement your dinner. I would highly recommend Artisanal Restaurant for a very pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal was outstanding. The Resturant ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our meal was outstanding. The Resturant was beautiful inside and it's location outstanding. One of the best meal we have in a long time with great table service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal is now my new "favorite" resta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Artisanal is now my new "favorite" restaurant!!! This was my first visit there and the occasion was my birthday. My husband and I were seated at a lovely table on the terrace - the wooded view with the stream running close by was perfect for me. Our server, Liza, was awesome and had great menu suggestions. All who serviced our table were attentive, but not overbearing. The "Strawberry Fields" cocktail was so refreshing and the rolls hot out of the oven were delicious. We also had the calamari appetizer - with an Asian flare, also delicious!! My husband had the butter steak, which he devoured and the chef accommodated an entree-size portion of the duck breast for me and I loved it (the duck breast is an item from the tasting menu). We also shared the handmade potato chips with blue cheese powder....I've wanted more of those every day since!!! My husband loves corn bread so we ordered that to share as well; however, he is not a fan of peppers at all and the corn bread has peppers in it (but the menu doesn't express that), so he was disappointed with the corn bread - but if you like peppers, I'm sure the corn bread is as delicious as everything else on the sumptuous menu. Don't hesitate to visit Artisanal for a fabulous dining experience - I can't wait to go back again!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food in a gorgeous setting. ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Exceptional food in a gorgeous setting. Owners and staff obviously strive for an unforgettable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the food and venue! This place is ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Loved the food and venue! This place is amazing! We had the butter steak and lobster bolognese as entrees and both were delicious. The butter steak came with a truffle sauce which was amazing! We had a calamari appetizer that was a special, best I've ever had. One of the most favorite places we've dined. The setting is a refurbished barn. Open seasonally.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Artisanal is the finest restaurant i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The Artisanal is the finest restaurant in the entire Boone/Blowing Rock/ Banner Elk area.The restaurant is beautiful, the ambiance is perfect and the food (especially the seafood) is fresh, thoughtfully prepared, and served by an experienced, talented staff. We had the halibut, a lamb pasta dish that was incredible and a steak so tender it was cut with a fork. Just try the Artisinal and thank me later.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How good was it - good enough to rebook ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

How good was it - good enough to rebook for a very special event the end of this week. Service was outstanding and the food, as usual, above reproach

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional service. Wonderful meal. Can ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Exceptional service. Wonderful meal. Cannot wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and preparation

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food and preparation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a beautiful place, the service is e ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It's a beautiful place, the service is excellent. It's a shame they won't accommodate special diets, other than gluten-free. Given today's issues with glyphosates, they should offer organic vegetables. Given what's done to beef with hormone and antibiotic injections and GMO and hybridized grains, they should consider grass-fed meat. Nothing but wild-caught fish should be offered - farm-raised is poison. The excuse of limiting their offerings so that they don't have to discard what's left at the end of the evening seems as if they're taking care of themselves, not the customers.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting and dining experience.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Beautiful setting and dining experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is beautiful but no coke was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This place is beautiful but no coke was offered to drink, some just don't drink alcohol or water. Food was beautiful and good but over priced.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Artisanal has become our go to restaura ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Artisanal has become our go to restaurant for special occasions. We love the outside dining area when the weather permits. Make your reservations early as the dining slots fill up quickly. The service is five star! The food is prepared with great care to taste and freshness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal rates as one of N.C.'s top res ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Artisanal rates as one of N.C.'s top restaurants. Every summer we drive from Blowing Rock to have this dining experience with friends. We are never disappointed. From the time you get out of your car to your departure every detail of providing for your comfort and enjoyment is arranged. Savannah was a delightful wait person and she discreetly kept tabs on our needs. The sommelier was in the background to answer questions about our wine choice. The serene setting and the stunning architecture and interior design compliment an incredible menu.

Book early if you want to enjoy the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing second experience. First a ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Disappointing second experience. First and most concerning issue is that a huge storm was blowing up and rain pelting just a few minutes prior to our arrival. We were met at the car with large umbrellas. But much to our surprise and dismay we were seated on the patio at a table on the outside row. The temperature had dropped suddenly into the low 60s and I was wearing a sleeveless dress. The wind was high and it was COLD and the rain was blowing in on us. Although the hostess who seated us said it would not be, but she contradicted herself in the next sentence when we asked if we could move inside (no), then we asked if we could move to a nearby empty table on the inside row. No, because the ladies next to us on the outside row were moving there! So it's perfectly fine for us to sit on the outside row getting cold and wet, yet those ladies get to move?!

I was also concerned for our safety since there were large lightning flashes nearby. The only positive I can say about that is that I was offered a shawl which helped some but I was still shivering despite it being wrapped tightly around me.

I was more than a bit put out, to the point that we strongly considered leaving. However we knew they would charge us $70 anyway, per their credit card reservation policy.

It was very poor and shocking treatment from such a high end establishment. Imagine paying $200 for a meal where your safety and comfort is of little concern to the staff.

The food was not as good as the first time. My entree was essentially a butter sauce on angel hair pasta with a few bits of lobster for $42, was very oily to the point that I couldn't finish it.

Service was slow and I was also surprised when the server said I could not get the ice cream on the side with my dessert to go. I've had many other restaurants do this. He actually argued with me about it and prevailed. And the dessert (chocolate cake) was nothing spectacular either.

Overall quite disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

An outstanding restaurant but not up to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

An outstanding restaurant but not up to its usual standards this time. Servers were overworked and food was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, service was exceptional, we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great food, service was exceptional, we will go back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Artisanal is an absolutely fabulous dini ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Artisanal is an absolutely fabulous dining experience. Impeccable service and the best meal we have ever eaten. The food is expertly prepared, with perfect seasoning and flavors. Detail is paid to each aspect, from presentation to taste.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Simply wonderful. The chef worked at Le ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Simply wonderful. The chef worked at Le Cirque in NYC for three years. His team is young and talented, the design of the house is simply gorgeous, and the quality of the food on a par with the best NYC high end restaurant. I would return happily any time. A true find in the mountains.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fabulous - best restaurant in the high c ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fabulous - best restaurant in the high country

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant tucked away in North Ca ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great restaurant tucked away in North Carolina's high country. The ambiance was stellar, elegant but not fussy. The food was creative and delicious! The service was impeccable! Do make reservations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in NC!!! The best ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant in NC!!! The best service, food and ambiance. Every person in our group loved their meal and enjoyed the evening, thanks to the wonderful staff and the incredible food. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This experience exceeded my expectations ...

 
·Dined on June 28, 2016

This experience exceeded my expectations -- which were high! The food was outstanding, and the service superb. The wait staff -- friendly and yet so professional, in our opinion just the perfect blend. And I think this is often hard to come by with young people. Obviously your staff training is excellent. Thank you for a truly 5 start evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the fourth time we dine at this ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is the fourth time we dine at this restaurant and the food, as always is outstanding, on par with any good restaurant in big cities. The restaurant itself is also pretty impressive, simulating a barn, with all reclaimed wood. The main room is ample and comfortable, with a view of the kitchen in back. The terrace is ideal in the summer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

From top to bottom, our experience at Ar ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

From top to bottom, our experience at Artisanal was beyond excellent. The menu, while small in comparison to everything else, is powerful. The food quality is exceptional. The service was friendly and engaging. GREAT wine steward and the atmosphere was inspirational. Thank you for all of the attention to detail.

And thank you for explanation of the dress expectation. So few places do that anymore. For what you give your diners in experience, the very least we can do is dress accordingly for the service we are about to receive. All of it together helps make the experience over-the-top. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Absolutely flawless! Amazing flavors sto ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Absolutely flawless! Amazing flavors stood out in every bite. The steak was one of the best I've ever had, and made all the more delicious by the tarragon lemon sauce. Drew's pork chop was also delicious, as were the wonderful sides. His calamari appetizer was tender and flavorful. My scallops were the best. Serving sizes quite generous. A beautiful setting and gorgeous decor, lent an air of effortless class and comfort. I almost hate that we came here, because now all else will pale in comparison. And that's saying quite a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Banner Elk a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Banner Elk and the Artisinal restaurant. It exceeded our expectations and is now one of our favorite restaurants anywhere. Artisinal rivals Blackberry Farm. Great Wine list!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience from the valet to ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Outstanding experience from the valet to dinner to desert then departure...very relaxed dining..sat outside and the ambiance could not have been better...our waitress was delightful and always available for our needs...would suggest this restaurant for anyone who wants a great meal at a fair price.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to celebrate our anniversary ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place to celebrate our anniversary! Great service and tasty food. Exclusive feel that's well hidden from open view. Will definitely recommend to family and friends

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful as always. We ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful as always. We thought the pricing was a bit high however.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Artisanal is the finest restaurant in th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Artisanal is the finest restaurant in the high country, period. I have been a foody for many years, experiencing the best in dining around the world. Artisanal's ambiance, exceptional service, and of course, great food, make it a great dining experience.

I highly recommend it.

Mountain Mike.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first time to Artisinals an ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time to Artisinals and it will NOT be our last! The waitstaff were all very professional and attentive. We have several dietary requirements, which were all carefully met. The food was superb and beautifully presented. And the ambiance was quiet. It was a perfect experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an awesome meal and the waitstaff ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had an awesome meal and the waitstaff was equally good. I enjoyed seeing into the kitchen, also. The desserts were to die for! We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely perfect dinners tonight. Enjo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Absolutely perfect dinners tonight. Enjoyed sitting on the porch and hearing the water flow in the stream. Our service was very good and all of us were happy with our dinner choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A gem in Banner Elk, NC

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I had heard great things about Artisanal since buying our cabin in Banner Elk, but never made plans to dine there until last week. Even two weeks in advance, reservations were gone for Friday and Saturday nights, June 10 and 11, and we had to settle for Thursday June 9. It does not matter what night you choose as our meals were without doubt the best we have had in years. Being from Charlotte we have many choices for fine dining. Artisanal is the top of the list in delicious food and setting. We ate our dinner on the covered porch by a mountain stream. The ambiance is rustic, yet modern. Tables are well spaced to allow for a quiet dining experience. On our next visit we will make reservations for a table at the rail on the porch so we can enjoy the stream as well as our food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.