About Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar

2 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro and Wine Bar showcases the formidable creativity and passion of our Chef's, who add playful twists to classic French bistro dishes. Selecting only premium ingredients,our commitment to the use of artisanal, sustainable and organic products is evident in the quality of each dish. Recalling a bustling Parisian bistro, Artisanal’s handsome Art Deco interior offers the sophisticated French specialties one might expect in Paris. As the name implies, Artisanal features a scrumptious selection of 250 hand-crafted cheeses from around the world. In the back of the dining room is the cheese cave, a temperature and humidity controlled room, where a number of the world’s finest artisanally-made cheeses are aged to optimum ripeness and peak flavor. Adjacent to the dining room is the wine bar, which boosts 75 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fondue

Hours of Operation:

LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday 10:00 am - 4:45 pm
Friday - 10.00 - 4:45 PM

BRUNCH: Saturday and Sunday, 9.00 am - 4:45 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Tuesday 5pm -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 5pm - midnight

LATE NIGHT -
Monday - Tuesday 11 pm - 1:00 am
Wednesday - Sunday 12 am - 2:00 am

WINE BAR:
Open all day and evening

FROMAGERIE:
Monday - Tuesday 10 am -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 9:30 am - midnight

Cross Street:
Entrance on 32nd Street between Park and Madison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 725-8585

Website:
http://www.artisanalbistro.com/

Entertainment:





Catering:
With Artisanal’s Event Planning, Consultation and Catering Services you'll surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or in our very own dining room; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering and staffing. Please call (212)725-8585 or email our Event Planner at reservations@artisanalbistro.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking is possible after 6pm -ALSO- indoor parking is available at Icon Parking 475 Park Avenue South ( 32nd btwn. Park and Lexington Avenues) Tel (212)684-8352

Public Transit:
6 train to 32rd Street and Park Avenue
N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street and Broadway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or here on premise; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering & staffing(212)725-8585 Email reservations@artisanalbistro.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrate your special occasion with Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro & Wine Bar. Friends and family can enjoy innovative twists on classic French dishes in the grand, Art Deco dining room. Artisanal's emphasis on wine, cheese, and classic bistro fare set the stage for a festive and memorable party.

Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (41)
Special Occasion (37)
Notable Wine List (31)
See All
Great for Lunch (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Romantic (22)
Great for Brunch (19)
Late-night Find (9)
Business Meals (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Fun (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I visited for a business luncheon and th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I visited for a business luncheon and the food was very good and the service was attentive. I had a delicious fig and kale salad--perfect for a summer day. I would definitely return on another occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This place used to be great but it has g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

This place used to be great but it has gone down hill. Super expensive for what you get. They took the brick chicken off the menu and the Mac and cheese barely had any cheese. Wines are really highly priced - cheaper to order by the glass. Dessert was the best part. Room is nice though. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I am really sad to write this review. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am really sad to write this review. I used to live around the corner from Artisanal 5+ years ago and was there at least once a week for a number of years. It was my favorite restaurant in the city. Loved the food, the ambience, the service--everything about it was special. My husband and I hadn't been back in several years and went for a special occasion last night. Everything about the restaurant has changed, and none of it for the better. The menu and the food were disappointing. The wine was disappointing. The service was disappointing. The ambience was so, so different than it used to be. It has gone from delicious, bustling, and difficult to get a reservation to middle-of-the-road and half empty. I am truly heartbroken about the change in this restaurant. I can no longer recommend this restaurant like I once did. RIP Artisanal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

the food was bland, uninspired, and expe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

the food was bland, uninspired, and expensive. Neither my date nor I liked our food, and basically explained to the waitress that we have eaten in this restaurante about a year ago and it was much better, and that prices were more favorable mas well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I ve been here several times as a cheese ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I ve been here several times as a cheeselover and cheesemonger. THE restaurant is over priced and make me disappointed About quality!! Nothing changed into 10 years. Surprise me ON your new location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I have dined at many times. This time I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have dined at many times. This time I was disappointed that service and quality of food is slipping.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was below average. They sent out ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was below average. They sent out our French onion soup and vegetable soup uncooked. The gnocchi was over cooked. Won't go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Quality of the food was good. However pr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Quality of the food was good. However preparation missed the mark. It was also troubling to have the waiter strongly strongly recommending wines on their list that we knew were mostly inexpensive (at retail) plonk and uninteresting. Cheese was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Omelet ordered very soft but was very we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Omelet ordered very soft but was very well done, and home fries so greasy they were inedible. Salad had no taste. When I complained to the manager, he did not bill us for the dish (I ate one bit of each--omelet, potatoes, salad). My husband's Caesar salad with chicken had just a few pieces of chicken and loads of croutons. No value for the money. We returned home hungry, and we're both small eaters. We've been going to Artisanal for years and don't understand what has happened to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

My husband and I use to leave in the nei ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband and I use to leave in the neighborhood and we use to love this restaurant! Unfortunately the management and the food has changed. The food was terrible and OVERPRICED!! A burger was 25$ (the bun was hard and the burger was dry); We also ordered the FLUKE CEVICHE, which was awful and the Tuna Tartar was ok but not worth the 20$. We were very disappointed and sad! This use to be one of our favorite restaurants! The service was good but that's about it.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Very relaxed and comfortable. Food is c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very relaxed and comfortable. Food is consistently good. Service is attentive. Strongly recommended.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been here many times and always l ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I have been here many times and always loved the experience & food, not this time. It was empty for a Friday night and the usual buzz was gone. Our server showed us photos of 2 specials on an iPad, not appetizing. She never mentioned any changes to the menu yet when 2 of us chose our entrees we were told they were out of that item. I have always ordered the skate and was told they are going to remove it from the menu. There was no substitute. Luckily we enjoyed the fondue but none of the entrees were good and everything was overpriced. I have celebrated birthdays, New Years, Valentine's Day and other events here and wanted to go before they closed this location and moved to the new big one. I wish I had not because my memories are now tarnished. What a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We have been several times in he past. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been several times in he past. Each time, we have not been disappointed. The food and service are always the best.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our dinner was much better than our last ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our dinner was much better than our last, shortly after Terrance Brennan left Artisanal. Menu hasn't changed much, but the prices are considerably higher, which is unfortunate. Our Bouillabaise was very good, but the portions were small. We will be back, but not as often as before. Ambiance and service same as a decade ago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Escargot were served luke-warm. Octopus ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Escargot were served luke-warm. Octopus was chewy. Lobster tail on the pasta was too tough to cut. Cod in citrus was so-so. Preparations were not classic and a lot of them didn't really work. Considering the prices, this is not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Delicious cheeses! Knowledgeable cheese ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Delicious cheeses! Knowledgeable cheese expert. Definitely overpriced even for NYC but if you like French bistro fare and can splurge on fondue or the cheese tastings it might be worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The Mac and Cheese is worth the visit . ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The Mac and Cheese is worth the visit . The cheese club sandwich is less successful .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have not been there in a couple or yea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I have not been there in a couple or years. It is dirty and run down. Still have a great fondue , but it worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Went for restaurant week with friends. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went for restaurant week with friends. I will recommend this restaurant and return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheeses on view and cheese overseer (?) ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cheeses on view and cheese overseer (?) are great, the wine captain was pompous. Our dinner was delicious during restaurant week. Oddly it wasn't crowded and yet they sat us right next to a big rip and 1' water stain in the banquet upholstery so half our group stared at it all night. Wines were very high with few exceptions.

For someone who loves good wine maybe it's the right place but I probably won't go back unless I'm with a cheese lover. Too many other spots with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

I've never had cheese and charcuterie fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've never had cheese and charcuterie for dinner but that's exactly what happened and I want more. I'll be going back as often as possible to try every cheese they have. The waiter Steve was phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lunch at the Bistro our first day ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had lunch at the Bistro our first day on a weekend visit to NYC from Conneticut. It was a lovely respite from the 100 degree summer day. Very charming room and professional wait staff. The lunch was perfect and we decided to check out their very extensive cheese selection for desert. The cheese expert was very helpful and selected an amazing Cheese from Portugal.

Next trip we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the old school french atmosphere. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I love the old school french atmosphere. We were seated and it started out to be good, the servers are attentive, appetizers were served and wine and we're having a good time. Then we were advised our entree is being prepared. Until ... Our entree got lost somewhere. We waited, and waited, and waited. Everyone else seems to be getting their food in a timely manner but ours. Then we were notified it will be soon. Waited and waited again. Now we are getting antsy. They gave us a complimentary bottle of wine because of some kitchen mishap. Finished the wine, food is not here yet. After about an hour (it feels longer when you're hungry), the food came. It doesn't seem to entice me nor my family. First off, it's not hot, just a little warm. It seems like it was just in the kitchen and was held back. It was ok, not the kind of food I expect. I finished it because I'm hungry. Then dessert came, the chocolate mouse is just ok, a bit hard like old if you asked me. Overall it was an experience I don't want to put myself the second time around. Would not recommend. And take note, they were not busy so there's no excuse why our food came soooo LATE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

At here for lunch with a guest. Both of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

At here for lunch with a guest. Both of us agreed that the soup that came with the meal, which was delivered a minute before the main course, was inedible. My salmon dish --recommended to me at medium rare -- came well done and was a very small portion for a $32 plate at lunch. My guest did enjoy his fondue burger. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food is very disappointing since Terranc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food is very disappointing since Terrance Brennan left. New menu sounds great but execution does not deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

The food was absolutely amazing, it is n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, it is no doubt that steak is their speciality. The service was also phenomenal, the waiters constantly walked by asking if everything was alright and if we had a particular preference of the meat we wanted to have. It was how I decided to end my mothers vacation and I'm so glad this was the choice I made. We went during restaurant week and I highly recommend it to all. I did not have anything to drink so I cannot judge the wine/alcohol list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese monger is knowledgeable, ente ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The cheese monger is knowledgeable, entertaining and very helpful. The food was delicious, and we were not rushed. A nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. Service was really slow. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good. Service was really slow. It took 25 minutes for the soup to arrive after initial order. It took another 20 minutes for the main disk to arrive, after we finished soup. It took 30 minutes to find out that they are "out of cheesecake". For a cheese specialty place to run out of cheesecake on Saturday 2:20pm is simply unacceptable!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

A Cheese and Wine and Whiskey Extravagan ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A Cheese and Wine and Whiskey Extravaganza. Quite impressive selection of fine liquor including Japanese Whiskeys and well aged tequila. The fondue is a special treat and the cheese master is extremely knowledgable and attentive. We tried things we had never even heard of before so it was quite an adventure. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Artisanal is proof to me that poor servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Artisanal is proof to me that poor service always overshadows good food at a pricey restaurant.

I live in the neighborhood and had three friends (two who also live in the neighborhood and one a train ride away) who wanted a Bistro experience for restaurant week. We made reservations for a Tuesday night and - as expected - the restaurant was doing a good business, but there were empty tables to be found.

We all ordered off of the restaurant week menu which was standard bistro fare - okay for restaurant week, but disappointing in not featuring Artisanal's main selling point: cheese. Regardless, the kitchen should have been able to turn the food around quickly. However, the food service was incredibly slow. Other tables that were seated after us were able to finish before us.

The wait service was even slower. We had difficulty getting our server's attention through out the meal. No one came by to check on our meal even though there were two managers on the floor, nor were we offered beverage service with our dessert.

The one bright spot was the wine recommendation from the steward. His descriptions were clear, accurate, and within the price range we requested.

To top things off, Artisinal has a new credit charge service which is most annoying: the server hovered over us with an electronic device - the most attentive service we received all night - while we determined the tip. The device offers several tip options - all higher than the standard 15% on food and drink. There is a cumbersome way to enter a manual tip if you are willing to do the math while the wait person waits to complete the transaction.

Given how wonderful the wine was, I wish I could recommend this restaurant. Unless the quality of service is improved, I can't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

had a business lunch and was disappointe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

had a business lunch and was disappointed with the quality meal compared to cost. The lobster bisque was more like water with a slight lobster flavor. Service was good, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Sadly, the restaurant was not as good as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Sadly, the restaurant was not as good as I remember and the service was very poor. I used to visit frequently and moved out of town and it was just not like the old days. I was sitting for quite awhile before I was offered a drink. The food was mediocre and the service was not attentive at all. I was extremely disappointed that the evening did not live up to my expectations and my former experiences

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Fortunately not in a hurry, as each tran ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fortunately not in a hurry, as each transition took ages (refilling empty water glasses, refilling coffee - nearly $8 for coffee and we had to beg refills, ordering, waiting for food, waiting 20 minutes for dirty dishes to be removed, and so on.) Lots of people working but they seemed to much prefer interacting with the computer, the bread station and each other to the patrons dining (from was full of people looking hopefully at floor staff as they bustled by, studiously avoiding eye contact. Food was fine, although we were a table of six and when the salads came out they brought five, and we had to spend several minutes trying to get someone's attention to bring out the sixth. 45 minutes later when the entrees came out, we received five out of six again and had to notify them that one of us was sitting with no food. You'd think they'd notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

food, drinks and service were excellent, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

food, drinks and service were excellent, the Donuts are heavenly BUT the noise is deafening and you cannot have a conversation... why they have a DJ that needs to play so super-loudly is beyond me. Your senses are engaged in conversation and tasting the wonderful food but the noise distracts from both experiences unfortunately. Will not go back for dinner but for drinks only

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our party of four went during Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our party of four went during Restaurant Week. The food was very good, as usual. But the wine we selected was not available, leading us to order a more expensive bottle. Surprisingly, some of the plates were chipped, and not all place settings at our table had a complete set of cutlery. The only food disappointment was that one dessert choice was a trio of sorbets, one of which was citrusy yuzu, plus two other (to me) more interesting flavors. Two of us at the table ordered the sorbet trio -- but only three scoops of yuzu were on the plate. Whether this was a chef or waiter problem was not clear. Overall, it felt a little like we were second class because were were there for the Restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We come for their wonderful cheeses and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We come for their wonderful cheeses and enjoy the entrees as well. Nothing super unique but always well executed. The service is attentive without being cloying. The dining room is a bit loud when full but manageable. We travel to NY a couple of times a year and eat here each time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was ok. We were hoping for a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Restaurant was ok. We were hoping for a great night out and it wasn't. Waiter took far too long to serve us. Now the chef who brought us the charcuterie was amazing. Really nice and friendly. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I love Artisanal. Best cheese and wine. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I love Artisanal. Best cheese and wine. Feels like you are in Paris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

There were 4 tables of diners in the ent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There were 4 tables of diners in the entire restaurant when we had brunch. Despite that the service was truly horrible. They just plain forgot one of our orders, plus the waiter took his sweet time both taking and delivering the order he managed to remember. The service and the over priced food = we won't be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We have eaten here many times when we ar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have eaten here many times when we are in the City. The service was fantastic as was food. Love the cheese!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.