About Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar

2 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro and Wine Bar showcases the formidable creativity and passion of our Chef's, who add playful twists to classic French bistro dishes. Selecting only premium ingredients,our commitment to the use of artisanal, sustainable and organic products is evident in the quality of each dish. Recalling a bustling Parisian bistro, Artisanal’s handsome Art Deco interior offers the sophisticated French specialties one might expect in Paris. As the name implies, Artisanal features a scrumptious selection of 250 hand-crafted cheeses from around the world. In the back of the dining room is the cheese cave, a temperature and humidity controlled room, where a number of the world’s finest artisanally-made cheeses are aged to optimum ripeness and peak flavor. Adjacent to the dining room is the wine bar, which boosts 75 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fondue

Hours of Operation:

LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday 10:00 am - 4:45 pm
Friday - 10.00 - 4:45 PM

BRUNCH: Saturday and Sunday, 9.00 am - 4:45 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Tuesday 5pm -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 5pm - midnight

LATE NIGHT -
Monday - Tuesday 11 pm - 1:00 am
Wednesday - Sunday 12 am - 2:00 am

WINE BAR:
Open all day and evening

FROMAGERIE:
Monday - Tuesday 10 am -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 9:30 am - midnight

Cross Street:
Entrance on 32nd Street between Park and Madison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 725-8585

Website:
http://www.artisanalbistro.com/

Entertainment:





Catering:
With Artisanal’s Event Planning, Consultation and Catering Services you'll surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or in our very own dining room; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering and staffing. Please call (212)725-8585 or email our Event Planner at reservations@artisanalbistro.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking is possible after 6pm -ALSO- indoor parking is available at Icon Parking 475 Park Avenue South ( 32nd btwn. Park and Lexington Avenues) Tel (212)684-8352

Public Transit:
6 train to 32rd Street and Park Avenue
N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street and Broadway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or here on premise; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering & staffing(212)725-8585 Email reservations@artisanalbistro.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrate your special occasion with Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro & Wine Bar. Friends and family can enjoy innovative twists on classic French dishes in the grand, Art Deco dining room. Artisanal's emphasis on wine, cheese, and classic bistro fare set the stage for a festive and memorable party.

Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (55)
Special Occasion (41)
Notable Wine List (37)
See All
Great for Lunch (34)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Groups (24)
Romantic (24)
Great for Brunch (21)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5436 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have not been there in a couple or yea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have not been there in a couple or years. It is dirty and run down. Still have a great fondue , but it worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Went for restaurant week with friends. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Went for restaurant week with friends. I will recommend this restaurant and return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheeses on view and cheese overseer (?) ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Cheeses on view and cheese overseer (?) are great, the wine captain was pompous. Our dinner was delicious during restaurant week. Oddly it wasn't crowded and yet they sat us right next to a big rip and 1' water stain in the banquet upholstery so half our group stared at it all night. Wines were very high with few exceptions.

For someone who loves good wine maybe it's the right place but I probably won't go back unless I'm with a cheese lover. Too many other spots with good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

I've never had cheese and charcuterie fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've never had cheese and charcuterie for dinner but that's exactly what happened and I want more. I'll be going back as often as possible to try every cheese they have. The waiter Steve was phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lunch at the Bistro our first day ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had lunch at the Bistro our first day on a weekend visit to NYC from Conneticut. It was a lovely respite from the 100 degree summer day. Very charming room and professional wait staff. The lunch was perfect and we decided to check out their very extensive cheese selection for desert. The cheese expert was very helpful and selected an amazing Cheese from Portugal.

Next trip we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the old school french atmosphere. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I love the old school french atmosphere. We were seated and it started out to be good, the servers are attentive, appetizers were served and wine and we're having a good time. Then we were advised our entree is being prepared. Until ... Our entree got lost somewhere. We waited, and waited, and waited. Everyone else seems to be getting their food in a timely manner but ours. Then we were notified it will be soon. Waited and waited again. Now we are getting antsy. They gave us a complimentary bottle of wine because of some kitchen mishap. Finished the wine, food is not here yet. After about an hour (it feels longer when you're hungry), the food came. It doesn't seem to entice me nor my family. First off, it's not hot, just a little warm. It seems like it was just in the kitchen and was held back. It was ok, not the kind of food I expect. I finished it because I'm hungry. Then dessert came, the chocolate mouse is just ok, a bit hard like old if you asked me. Overall it was an experience I don't want to put myself the second time around. Would not recommend. And take note, they were not busy so there's no excuse why our food came soooo LATE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

At here for lunch with a guest. Both of ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

At here for lunch with a guest. Both of us agreed that the soup that came with the meal, which was delivered a minute before the main course, was inedible. My salmon dish --recommended to me at medium rare -- came well done and was a very small portion for a $32 plate at lunch. My guest did enjoy his fondue burger. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was absolutely amazing, it is n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing, it is no doubt that steak is their speciality. The service was also phenomenal, the waiters constantly walked by asking if everything was alright and if we had a particular preference of the meat we wanted to have. It was how I decided to end my mothers vacation and I'm so glad this was the choice I made. We went during restaurant week and I highly recommend it to all. I did not have anything to drink so I cannot judge the wine/alcohol list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese monger is knowledgeable, ente ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The cheese monger is knowledgeable, entertaining and very helpful. The food was delicious, and we were not rushed. A nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. Service was really slow. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good. Service was really slow. It took 25 minutes for the soup to arrive after initial order. It took another 20 minutes for the main disk to arrive, after we finished soup. It took 30 minutes to find out that they are "out of cheesecake". For a cheese specialty place to run out of cheesecake on Saturday 2:20pm is simply unacceptable!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

A Cheese and Wine and Whiskey Extravagan ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A Cheese and Wine and Whiskey Extravaganza. Quite impressive selection of fine liquor including Japanese Whiskeys and well aged tequila. The fondue is a special treat and the cheese master is extremely knowledgable and attentive. We tried things we had never even heard of before so it was quite an adventure. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Artisanal is proof to me that poor servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Artisanal is proof to me that poor service always overshadows good food at a pricey restaurant.

I live in the neighborhood and had three friends (two who also live in the neighborhood and one a train ride away) who wanted a Bistro experience for restaurant week. We made reservations for a Tuesday night and - as expected - the restaurant was doing a good business, but there were empty tables to be found.

We all ordered off of the restaurant week menu which was standard bistro fare - okay for restaurant week, but disappointing in not featuring Artisanal's main selling point: cheese. Regardless, the kitchen should have been able to turn the food around quickly. However, the food service was incredibly slow. Other tables that were seated after us were able to finish before us.

The wait service was even slower. We had difficulty getting our server's attention through out the meal. No one came by to check on our meal even though there were two managers on the floor, nor were we offered beverage service with our dessert.

The one bright spot was the wine recommendation from the steward. His descriptions were clear, accurate, and within the price range we requested.

To top things off, Artisinal has a new credit charge service which is most annoying: the server hovered over us with an electronic device - the most attentive service we received all night - while we determined the tip. The device offers several tip options - all higher than the standard 15% on food and drink. There is a cumbersome way to enter a manual tip if you are willing to do the math while the wait person waits to complete the transaction.

Given how wonderful the wine was, I wish I could recommend this restaurant. Unless the quality of service is improved, I can't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

had a business lunch and was disappointe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

had a business lunch and was disappointed with the quality meal compared to cost. The lobster bisque was more like water with a slight lobster flavor. Service was good, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Sadly, the restaurant was not as good as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Sadly, the restaurant was not as good as I remember and the service was very poor. I used to visit frequently and moved out of town and it was just not like the old days. I was sitting for quite awhile before I was offered a drink. The food was mediocre and the service was not attentive at all. I was extremely disappointed that the evening did not live up to my expectations and my former experiences

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Fortunately not in a hurry, as each tran ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fortunately not in a hurry, as each transition took ages (refilling empty water glasses, refilling coffee - nearly $8 for coffee and we had to beg refills, ordering, waiting for food, waiting 20 minutes for dirty dishes to be removed, and so on.) Lots of people working but they seemed to much prefer interacting with the computer, the bread station and each other to the patrons dining (from was full of people looking hopefully at floor staff as they bustled by, studiously avoiding eye contact. Food was fine, although we were a table of six and when the salads came out they brought five, and we had to spend several minutes trying to get someone's attention to bring out the sixth. 45 minutes later when the entrees came out, we received five out of six again and had to notify them that one of us was sitting with no food. You'd think they'd notice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

food, drinks and service were excellent, ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

food, drinks and service were excellent, the Donuts are heavenly BUT the noise is deafening and you cannot have a conversation... why they have a DJ that needs to play so super-loudly is beyond me. Your senses are engaged in conversation and tasting the wonderful food but the noise distracts from both experiences unfortunately. Will not go back for dinner but for drinks only

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Our party of four went during Restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Our party of four went during Restaurant Week. The food was very good, as usual. But the wine we selected was not available, leading us to order a more expensive bottle. Surprisingly, some of the plates were chipped, and not all place settings at our table had a complete set of cutlery. The only food disappointment was that one dessert choice was a trio of sorbets, one of which was citrusy yuzu, plus two other (to me) more interesting flavors. Two of us at the table ordered the sorbet trio -- but only three scoops of yuzu were on the plate. Whether this was a chef or waiter problem was not clear. Overall, it felt a little like we were second class because were were there for the Restaurant week.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We come for their wonderful cheeses and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We come for their wonderful cheeses and enjoy the entrees as well. Nothing super unique but always well executed. The service is attentive without being cloying. The dining room is a bit loud when full but manageable. We travel to NY a couple of times a year and eat here each time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was ok. We were hoping for a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Restaurant was ok. We were hoping for a great night out and it wasn't. Waiter took far too long to serve us. Now the chef who brought us the charcuterie was amazing. Really nice and friendly. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I love Artisanal. Best cheese and wine. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I love Artisanal. Best cheese and wine. Feels like you are in Paris!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

There were 4 tables of diners in the ent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There were 4 tables of diners in the entire restaurant when we had brunch. Despite that the service was truly horrible. They just plain forgot one of our orders, plus the waiter took his sweet time both taking and delivering the order he managed to remember. The service and the over priced food = we won't be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We have eaten here many times when we ar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have eaten here many times when we are in the City. The service was fantastic as was food. Love the cheese!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced (even by NYC standards), ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Way overpriced (even by NYC standards), horrible food, rude staff : DO NOT GO !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Deep menu, great service, expensive. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Deep menu, great service, expensive. The only downside is you cannot escape $40-$45 for lunch, including the tip, if you have an entree, a beverage, and a coffee. That's a lot for food that is okay,, but not exceptional

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We are Food Network fans and take their ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We are Food Network fans and take their input seriously on The Best Thing I Ever Ate! In a recent episode, one of the chefs said that the fondue was exactly that at Artisanal...and it was. My daughter and I were in New York on Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed the fondue, mussels and quiche. Such a pleasant afternoon. Looking forward to our next visit to Artisanal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived at 10:30pm on a Saturday and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We arrived at 10:30pm on a Saturday and had the most wonderful meal. We stuck to wine, the seafood tower, and some excellent cheeses chosen by the Maître Fromager. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We really enjoyed the cheese plate. They ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We really enjoyed the cheese plate. They came up with six types that are distinct but go with the wine we had. The main dishes were less impressive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While cheese is definitely the thing to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

While cheese is definitely the thing to order here, which we did for dessert, the main courses were excellently prepared. We enjoyed filet mignon with a lovely sauce on the side which enhanced the flavor of this perfectly cooked meat. We also had the rack of pork and the skate wing. The cauliflower accompaniment to the skate wing was various colors which made the plate attractive. All plates were beautifully presented. We had not been here for sometime and realized that we should come more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to this restaurant primarily for f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We go to this restaurant primarily for fondue, but this time it seems to be losing its luster. Also, don't appreciate the fact that we are always seated in the worst areas, such as next to the restroom, next to the kitchen, or up against a pillar which makes you feel you are sitting in a box with no view of the restaurant. But parties with men or a man dining solo, always get the best tables. We always have a reservation and the restaurant is not busy, so this is done on purpose. Not very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

From start to finish, a wonderful experi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

From start to finish, a wonderful experience. Jonathan was our waiter and he was helpful and professional- conversational in a welcoming manner. The sommelier helped us pick a wine we never would have chosen. It complimented the cheese and charcuterie plate that the fromager chose, again, new culinary adventures. It was all quite succulent and another visit is guaranteed. Wonderful service and fabulous food for an excellent time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal Fromargerie came highly recomm ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Artisanal Fromargerie came highly recommend but sadly the hype didn't live up to he reality. Though the food was tasty enough it was no sheer near he quality reflected by whathe was being charged even by NY's extortionate standards. Interesting enough place if you like cheese though we on be dashing back or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Despite the place being practically empt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Despite the place being practically empty, i had poor service eventually having to request a wine menu since one wasn't provided. The server suggested the 'special' which turned out to be a piece of fish for $68. Service was slow overall. Used to love this place so it was a very disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I went with a few friends for dinner as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I went with a few friends for dinner as we all were fans, but this is not the Artisanal that any of us remember. The food is extremely overpriced now and the portions way smaller than ever ands the least expensive bottle of wine on the wine list is $55. Not only was it more expensive than it used to be but the food was mediocre at best. Being that the restaurant was pretty empty, we all thought that others must be saying the same as us and none of us wish to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Without a doubt the highlight of our mea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Without a doubt the highlight of our meal was the grande charcuterie and cheese plate. The fromagere came and spoke with us and put together a really spectacular set of cheeses. But every aspect of our meal was a pleasure. We look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The mushroom grilled cheese is fabulous! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The mushroom grilled cheese is fabulous! Haven't been here in a long time, but everything I've ever eaten here has been Delish so was excited to stop by for lunch last week and see that the quality hasn't changed. Beet and burrata salad is an excellent appetizer choice. Thank goodness I don't live closer 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love what little surprises this place ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Love what little surprises this place has to offer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the food was mediocre. The pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the food was mediocre. The prices were very high. My husband ordered a glass of rose and it was $19 for a glass. The waiter did not even show my husband the wine list. I would not go back. The computers were not working to pay the tab and the waiter suggested that we leave his tip in cash which I would have done anyway. Would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a lovely post wedding brunch here. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a lovely post wedding brunch here. The food was pleasing it just took longer than necessary to get our check even though the restaurant was not busy at that point. This wouldn't have been an issue except that we had guests that needed to catch trains out of town and had set times for leaving.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.