About Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar

2 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro and Wine Bar showcases the formidable creativity and passion of our Chef's, who add playful twists to classic French bistro dishes. Selecting only premium ingredients,our commitment to the use of artisanal, sustainable and organic products is evident in the quality of each dish. Recalling a bustling Parisian bistro, Artisanal’s handsome Art Deco interior offers the sophisticated French specialties one might expect in Paris. As the name implies, Artisanal features a scrumptious selection of 250 hand-crafted cheeses from around the world. In the back of the dining room is the cheese cave, a temperature and humidity controlled room, where a number of the world’s finest artisanally-made cheeses are aged to optimum ripeness and peak flavor. Adjacent to the dining room is the wine bar, which boosts 75 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fondue

Hours of Operation:

LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday 10:00 am - 4:45 pm
Friday - 10.00 - 4:45 PM

BRUNCH: Saturday and Sunday, 9.00 am - 4:45 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Tuesday 5pm -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 5pm - midnight

LATE NIGHT -
Monday - Tuesday 11 pm - 1:00 am
Wednesday - Sunday 12 am - 2:00 am

WINE BAR:
Open all day and evening

FROMAGERIE:
Monday - Tuesday 10 am -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 9:30 am - midnight

Cross Street:
Entrance on 32nd Street between Park and Madison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 725-8585

Website:
http://www.artisanalbistro.com/

Entertainment:





Catering:
With Artisanal’s Event Planning, Consultation and Catering Services you'll surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or in our very own dining room; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering and staffing. Please call (212)725-8585 or email our Event Planner at reservations@artisanalbistro.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking is possible after 6pm -ALSO- indoor parking is available at Icon Parking 475 Park Avenue South ( 32nd btwn. Park and Lexington Avenues) Tel (212)684-8352

Public Transit:
6 train to 32rd Street and Park Avenue
N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street and Broadway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or here on premise; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering & staffing(212)725-8585 Email reservations@artisanalbistro.com

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 2:00PM 1:30PM - 4:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 11:30AM - 12:00PM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 3:45PM 1:30PM - 4:00PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 11:30AM - 12:00PM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 3:45PM 1:30PM - 4:00PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:45PM

Sat 11:30AM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 2:00PM 1:30PM - 4:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrate your special occasion with Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro & Wine Bar. Friends and family can enjoy innovative twists on classic French dishes in the grand, Art Deco dining room. Artisanal's emphasis on wine, cheese, and classic bistro fare set the stage for a festive and memorable party.

Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (74)
special occasion (43)
great for lunch (43)
See All
notable wine list (42)
neighborhood gem (41)
good for groups (36)
great for brunch (31)
romantic (25)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Limited menu/ high priced

Dined 3 days ago

Limited entree selection. No one wants to pay $35.00 for a burger. Though the quality of the food was excellent, the prices were exhorbitant. There should be a lot more creativity by the chef to warrant these prices.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

There was a glitch with my order and it ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

There was a glitch with my order and it was handled swiftly and professionally. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Unpleasantly surprised

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have dined here many times over the last 15 years and it has always been a pleasant experience, until last week. We went to relax, have a few glasses of wine and try a selection of cheeses but when we saw the outrageous price gouging on the wine we quickly changed our minds to cocktails, followed with a very mediocre dinner. The chicken under a brick was as expected but the Dover Sole (at 68.00) was shown to my friend cooked and the server had told us he would be back to debone it tableside. That did not happen and it came back out of the kitchen cold. Another friend sent their meal back twice and gave up after that so left hungry. We did speak to the manager who let us know that the restaurant is under new ownership and they really have no chef at the moment (what?). He ended up bringing a glass of wine on the house to my friend and after much negotiating comped part of our bill. We also found out the restaurant is moving to a new location... If you feel the need to go, I would recommend waiting until after the relocation!

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Really Distressing - Artisanal has lost a step

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Artisanal has historically been a consistently outstanding experience over years I have patronized it. This visit showed a restaurant that is coasting on its past reputation or simply doesn't care about that reputation anymore. Our party dined last Saturday. The restaurant had about six other people when we arrived late Saturday afternoon. We ordered fondue and entrees. We did not receive fondue forks. We asked for water, the waitress assigned to our table stood by and talked with another table close by for nearly 30 minutes. Finally, another staff person brought water. I flagged the manager, who then arranged for another staff member to bring our fondue forks. My wife ordered Dover Sole, very expensive, it did not arrive until 12 minutes after the rest our party's entrees were served. I ordered the Skate Wing. Years ago I first had Skate at Artisanal. The portion at that time was a true wing. Today, the Skate "Wing" was a wing tip. At $36 , The portion size was a travesty. Markup on the wine was similar, with mid-tier reds starting at $17 a glass for what appeared to be a barely 3oz. pour. (We did not order wine after observing nearby tables ordering by the glass and looking at the pours. The alternative would have been to purchase a bottle, but given the price gouging, taking this action would have been tantamount to rewarding bad conduct. When a restaurant known for crisp, yet attentive service, allows a member of staff to essentially hold court in the main room with one set of guests while another languishes in clear sight of management, it shows an establishment that has mentally checked out. My advice is order cheese to go (their cheeses are still exceptional) and skip the dining experience. My hope is that ownership/management will intervene and save what used to be an exceptional establishment that was a destination/occasion experience. Until then, Caveat Emptor....

food3
ambience3
service4

classic NYC restaurant and have been goi ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

classic NYC restaurant and have been going for many years but the Food has become mediocre. Spinach and even the Macaroni and Cheese very bland. appetizers way better than main courses.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Rightly known for its cheeses Good food ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Rightly known for its cheeses Good food Good service A favorite

Tags: neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous fromagerie

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This was a very special occasion. From attentive service to wonderfully presented food, dining at Artisanal was a delight.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

Been to artisanal at least 12 times. Las ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been to artisanal at least 12 times. Last two it was overpriced and food not good. $25 for a Cosmo!!!!0nion soup was too spicy. Thx God they didn't ruin the fondue !!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been going here for many years. Never been disappointed with the service or meal. Was sad to see that it's moving late summer to a new larger location. I hope they keep the same atmosphere that they've always had.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

The food is delicious however very over ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is delicious however very over priced. The girl who served us was very nice but lack of training. In fact, the other couple of staff need training too as they avoid us when passing by. No one collect the plates after we've finished the dishes so the small table became crowded.

food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner was fabulous. You can ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Anniversary dinner was fabulous. You can go there and have small quantities of exquisite food and fine wine and leave not feeling bloated and bad about yourself.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excelent food and enviroment a place to ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Excelent food and enviroment a place to comeback again

food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of five including a 4yo ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

We were a party of five including a 4yo baby and we had a warm reception Food was pretty good . We asked for the Wellington beef, mussels, and a Bouillabaisse (French Seafood Stew) All comparing Wellington beef was superb Wine chart is honest including options for any wallet

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The assortment of Cheeses was outstanding

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

and the wine list unending. We chose to taste three recommended cheeses paired with wines that were superb. The prices are high but the cheese and wines were excellent. I would not have thought of ordering the recommended wines and I was pleasantly surprised. We had french bread and the waitress refilled the basket. Our meal was leisurely. We will go there again when craving cheese.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Beef Wellington + nice wine!

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

I could ask for no more! The Beef Wellington was excellent accompanied by a nice Cote du Rhone making it a memorable meal. The service was attentive and helpful without being intrusive. I highly recommend this restaurant for those not on a diet.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service1

Still the best Mac and cheese and fondue ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Still the best Mac and cheese and fondue. But the service is worse than ever. Always was slow. Plus the wait staff pays no attention to you. It's too bad.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favorite places in NYC, and ne ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

One of my favorite places in NYC, and never disappoints. TIP: get there early for a nice quiet lunch table, it picks up round 12:30. The dinner fondues (they usually offer several kinds) are amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Pricey

Dined on April 27, 2016

We arrived for a 6:30 reservation and were seated right next to the very noisy bar. Accoustics in this restaurant don't help dampen the noise, and amplify it. We asked to be moved to the opposite side of the restaurant and we were accommodated promptly. It took a good ten minutes to get the attention of our server to take a drink order; the prices of wine by the glass are astronomical! There were two of us and we both ordered the French onion soup and mussels as our entrée. The onion soup was superb. the mussels were very tasty and nicely seasoned, but were not as plump as I expected. Overall, it's a nice restaurant, but not worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Soggy Quiche

Dined on April 27, 2016

Quiche was mushy, over-heated, with soggy crust. Bread was chewy, did not taste fresh. My husband had an omelette he was happy with.

food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Food was good. Service not so much.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

I went with a friend for brunch. i had the lobster chive omelette and she had the eggs en cocette. We both enjoyed our meals, and my bloody mary was just the right amount of spicy. The coffee was very good, too. The atmosphere is wonderful and appropriately channels a french bistro. However, we had to constantly flag down our waiter for service and the restaurant wasn't even busy

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Way over priced and contemptuous.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Went pre-show wanted fondue. Was early - first no points awarded on open-table- whatever? Food overpriced for the mediocre quality, and the wine list although extensive was WAY over priced and a mule of ice was $20. Service was the contemptuous part.. Made us feel like second class.. although they charge first. Never again- won't recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Not worth the price

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have eaten there many times and loved it, even when it lost its air conditioning one hot summer day. But it seems the portions are much smaller. The hamburger has gotten smaller and is no longer worth its $25 price. The dessert was pitifully small and expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as always. From the cheeses re ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Fabulous as always. From the cheeses recommended by the fromagier to the attentive service by our server and - of course - the tremendous salads, soups and entrees, Artisanal can always be counted on for a quality dining experience. Can't wait for my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

For an expensive brunch....

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

I am prepared to pay for food in NYC, but I could see this bill piling up from the time we ordered coffee. The food was tasty, but in the end was not so differentiated from any other brunch to warrant double the price. It's eggs, bread and some potatoes... The waiter was great, but heck he better be, we were among a very few people there. Maybe it isn't the strong meal choice for them? For my money, I can find equally tasty places with substantially better value pricing.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

BEST CHEESE EVER

Dined on April 10, 2016

They have a selection of cheese that is wonderful! Worth exploring.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Overpriced

Dined on April 5, 2016

Been here several times in past. However, only for drinks in past few years. Shocked at prices (and we walked from our long-time apt), which are not reasonable for the quality of dishes. Most in our group of 7 enjoyed our appetizers, but the entrees were poor. For example my steak au poivre was like chewing on a pepper grinder. The deserts were $14.50 apiece, even for ice cream. Save you pocketbook and have a glass of wine and eat somewhere else.

food2
ambience3
service2

This was one of our favorite places, and ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

This was one of our favorite places, and in terms of the selection of cheese is bar none. But otherwise the food tonight was subpar. We got cold ravioli -- when they should have been hot; a rare burger when we order medium; and the bun for the burger was extremely dry and crumbly. We were quite disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service2

Slightly overpriced for what you are get ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

Slightly overpriced for what you are getting.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

While cheese is the star at Artisinal, the rest of the menu is excellent as well. Artisinal is a great bistro style restaurant with an extensive menu. There is something on the menu for everyone, and everything is delicious. Service is very good, the staff is attentive without being intrusive. One of our favorites in the city.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A real treat!

Dined on March 24, 2016

If only the waiters spoke French, I could have pretended I was in Paris. It was my friend's birthday, but we didn't request any special attention. We got it anyway, with a candle and best wishes...very lovely. The food was so delicious and the bread was so good, we purchased a loaf to bring home. We would definitely come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

A friendly and educational dining experi ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

A friendly and educational dining experience. A productive "foodie" event. Thank you Max and Steve!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant for after theatre dinner

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Great restaurant and food. Highly recommend for after theatre dinner without the feeling of being rushed. Food was great and consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

What happened?

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

It is so disappointing to see a beautiful restaurant with a nice menu and very good wine list blow it on the service. They even had a wonderful music duo performing at a very pleasing noise level to enhance the atmosphere. Even with all of that going for it, I would have a difficult time returning to Artisanal. While a few things can be overlooked, slovenly, uninspired service cannot. First we were served flat champagne and asked for a fresh bottle. OK, it happens. We were served a fresh bottle (no fresh glasses, though). We had to ask to have our appetizer order taken, ask again for our entree order to be taken, for our drinks to be refilled, ask for someone to bring cream for coffee (twice, while coffee got cold), and were not offered hot coffee when the cream finally arrived. An espresso was served when we ordered a macchiato. At that point, It made no sense to even ask for the order to be corrected. There was no warmth, no sincerity at all. Too bad.

food4
ambience2
service3
value1

Way over priced even for midtown Manhattan

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food okay. Servers outfits were moronic. Too loud. Slow service. An old Murray Hill fav has been destroyed by price hikes and a hacky atmosphere.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not crowded, excellent venue

Dined on March 12, 2016

It's a little more pricey than others in the neighborhood, but quiet and good food.

Tags: great for brunch
food3
ambience3
service2

Food too way too long to arrive. Steak ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

Food too way too long to arrive. Steak and frites were cold.

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Fondues and Fresh Ideas Brunch

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

The cheese fondues, there are a few to choose from, and the chocolate fondue are excellent. The price is hard to swallow. Would be great if a diner could choose the bread for the cheese fondue and the various options for dipping into the chocolate fondue. Croissant French Toast and innovative Eggs Benedict and more for brunch. Very rich French press coffee is also very expensive. The service is odd. The atmosphere is fun but a bit unkept. Definitely worth spluring on if so inclined.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for Sunday brunch....it was awesome ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch....it was awesome! I recommend the Frenchie grilled cheese. It's a little pricey, but was a nice treat!

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Overpriced

Dined on March 6, 2016

Used to be a great place to go. Now it's very overpriced for what you get.

food4
ambience4
service3

Food was great, but the service was very ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Food was great, but the service was very uneven. We never received several of the items we ordered.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.