About Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar

2 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

After 15 years at 2 Park Avenue on East 32nd Street, we are moving to 27th Street and Park Avenue South.
We are currently closed and we plan to re-open in our new location in early 2017.
We hope that you will once again join us at our new, exciting restaurant.
Please call us for further information at 212-725-8585. We would like to add you to our mailing list so we can invite you to our opening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fondue

Hours of Operation:

Cross Street:
Entrance on 32nd Street between Park and Madison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 725-8585

Website:
http://www.artisanalbistro.com/

Entertainment:





Catering:
With Artisanal’s Event Planning, Consultation and Catering Services you'll surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or in our very own dining room; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering and staffing. Please call (212)725-8585 or email our Event Planner at reservations@artisanalbistro.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking is possible after 6pm -ALSO- indoor parking is available at Icon Parking 475 Park Avenue South ( 32nd btwn. Park and Lexington Avenues) Tel (212)684-8352

Public Transit:
6 train to 32rd Street and Park Avenue
N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street and Broadway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or here on premise; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering & staffing(212)725-8585 Email reservations@artisanalbistro.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrate your special occasion with Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro & Wine Bar. Friends and family can enjoy innovative twists on classic French dishes in the grand, Art Deco dining room. Artisanal's emphasis on wine, cheese, and classic bistro fare set the stage for a festive and memorable party.

Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Fun (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
5490 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Compared with a year ago, neither food n ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Compared with a year ago, neither food nor service was up to the standard when we went for dinner on 29th Oct. The vegetable companying the dish was frozen and was heated up but not very well. The meat was tasteless. The service was slow & not attentive considering the restaurant was less than half full. We were very disappointed with it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Overtime we go to NYC we go to Artisanal ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Overtime we go to NYC we go to Artisanal for a fondue. It's a classic for our family.

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Horrible food, mussels cold, eggs Benedi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Horrible food, mussels cold, eggs Benedict like rubber. Screaming, banging childrn. Very expensive, terrible dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

This restaurant has one of the best chee ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This restaurant has one of the best cheese selections in the city. For some reason they have replaced the "BIG Cheese" which was their signature grilled cheese sandwich with something they call the "Cheese Club". It is a major disappointment. They have replaced a world class grilled cheese dish with some cheese between 3 slices of bread.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very Disappointing! We used to love goi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Very Disappointing!

We used to love going to Artisanal but this time we were taken aback and apparently other diners feel the same way. Usually, the restaurant is jam packed but on the night we were there it was maybe 30% at best. Service? It has never been great but now it is worse. Waitstaff is rude and indifferent. Food? It used to be good but now it is AWFUL. The menu has changed and not for the better. We started with the large seafood platter and that was a mistake. For $150 we got 10 oysters and 8 clams (they were delicious!) 8 teeny tiny shrimp, a teeny tiny lobster tail, a teeny tiny claw, 3 small pieces of crab and a "seafood salad' that I cannot describe. We usually order this platter at Balthazar and are never disappointed. Here, very disappointed! The seafood salad had ingredients that just do not go w seafood. It left a bad taste in our mouths. Almost Indian type spices???? No mussels, no whelks. We would have been better to order 2 dozen oysters for $72.

Onto the main course. No more steak frites! In place, my husband ordered hanger steak and it just wasn't the same. A strong marinade and no frites! I ordered the lobster with cabbage and it was awful. I sent it back, got onion soup instead and it too was awful! It had an underlying taste like cabbage instead of the rich beefy cheesy onion taste. BTW, w a room in back with pounds and pounds of cheese, they put one skimpy piece of cheese on the soup! Last but least, the wine list was very overpriced! Bottles were extremely overpriced. I had a martini for $21.00 and my husband had a couple of glasses of chardonnay at $18.00 each. Way too much for the amount served and the 'casual bistro' you're dining at!

I just looked online and realized why I was so disappointed w this awful and very expensive meal ($300+) Terrance Brennan sold the restaurant to Sarid Drory. He is one of the original owners of The Waverly Inn and The Cub Room. Well, now there 3 restaurants I will not be returning to!

STAY AWAY

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Artisinal has been a favorite standby of ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Artisinal has been a favorite standby of mind for years, and their fondue and cheeses remain excellent choices. However, it seems like in my last 2 times I visited the quality of both food and service has slipped. Specifically, on my last trip, the dover sole was somewhat mushy and the meuniere sauce was overly salty (although the pate appetizer was delicious). Our waiter couldn't have been less interested (example, "what type of tea do you have?" answer: "I know we have chamomile" as the only option) and took our order by spreading his hands as if to ask "are you ready yet?" Overall it just felt sloppier than it has in the past, as if the people working there no longer really care.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was delicious. Unfortunately, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The food was delicious. Unfortunately, however, the service was rude in the extreme. This includes two waiters and two hostesses. At such prices, common courtesy would seem appropriate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Our server was extremely unfriendly and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our server was extremely unfriendly and unaccomadating. I had specified that it was a special occasion and that we had dietary restrictions when I made a reservation. For a bill that was susbstantial, the service and food was mediocre. Never returning or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

I will say that the Truffle Fondue was d ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I will say that the Truffle Fondue was delicious. However, the prices at this restaurant are out of control. Even at some of the top restaurants in NYC, I don't think I have encountered these prices. I don't know what they are thinking. Our appetizers were adequate but not stellar, further infuriating given the prices. Perhaps that is why the restaurant was half empty on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My grandson and I were in town to take a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My grandson and I were in town to take as big a bite of the apple as we could over a three day weekend. I originally chose this restaurant because it was closely located to our next activity. What an exquisite find!! Both of us were so delighted by their super delicious Mac and Cheese made with four varieties of cheeses and their bread that makes you think you've been magically transported to Paris. Noteworthy macaroons for dessert too! Excellent, friendly service and lovely atmosphere. This place is definitely going on my must do list for my next visit to NYC. Just loved the experience and craving a repeat. They are moving to a new location on Park Avenue in January per the maître d.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch here and it was outstanding. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Had lunch here and it was outstanding. Probably the best onion soup I've ever had. A very nice experience and highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great cheese selection. Very helpful sta ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great cheese selection. Very helpful staff. Food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cheese fondue was amazing! Definitel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The cheese fondue was amazing! Definitely be back again hungry for more!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been there in years, but it's s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I hadn't been there in years, but it's still good. A small caramelized onion fondue and a salad that we shared were just right for two of us the night we went. (The fondue is always filling.) There is always a good selection of wines by the glass. The cheese and fondue items on the menu make this a little different, and the bistro decor and atmosphere makes for a relaxed meal.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service. Lots of input from sommel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great service. Lots of input from sommelier and fromagier were very helpful. The menu has a lot of choices-everything was fresh and plated well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A visit to Artisanal never disappoints! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A visit to Artisanal never disappoints! A friend and I finally took the cheese plunge with a petite order (could easily serve 4 people as an appetizer) of the artisanal cheese fondue with a generous accompaniment of cubed bread, apples and pears plus salads...and this was an excellent late lunch/early dinner choice before theatre...if you're not counting calories! The dessert menu was so tempting (though quite expensive compared to other menu items) but conscience prevailed until my next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

W e,my wife and I were there a few years ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

W e,my wife and I were there a few years ago. It was so good that we wanted to return and we're not disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here many times and enjoyed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We have been here many times and enjoyed it...this time might be our last...the prices seemed to have gone up..we were not able to find a simple bottle of wine for under $65.00..actually sent the first bottle back..something we've NEVER done!! Fondue was fine, but prices were crazy for mediocre entrees that were very small...Hamburger $35.00??? Grilled cheese sandwich for $30.00??? I had fish and chips sandwich that was one tiny piece of fried cod on a slider size bun...nothing great, expensive and very small..my daughter , whom we were celebrating being home from Boston...had chicken under a brick...which was smothered in curry and way too much spices ...she sent it back...nowhere on the description was curry mentioned

Our Waiter was extremely nice...but the whole experience was very disappointing and expensive and we have decided to cross Artisanal off of our Favorite Restaurant list in NYC...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Have been eating at Artisanal since it o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Have been eating at Artisanal since it opened, but not in a long while. The food portions are much smaller than in the past, and the prices higher. One of our companions selected a special of the day and I was dumb-struck when the check came and the dish (dover sole) was $68 ! Seems like the waiters should share that info when presenting specials as it was more than twice and almost three times the price of menu selections. Will return, but infrequently unless I see better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Very disappointed by the terrible food a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Very disappointed by the terrible food and service. How far they have fallen. The manager could care less about our feedback and in fact displayed an utterly arrogant and uninterested demeanor. His arrogance is shameful and rude particularly for a customer who spends $95 per drink. Everyone should be treated with respect however they do not seem to care one bit about the quality and presentation of their food. The soup was abysmal. The "kale" salad was presented as if picked from the ground and thrown in plate with dirt. The fish sandwich was soaked in tartar sauce and thrown together. The waitress was flustered and got our order incorrect and took over thirty minutes to bring out a salad and no bread until requested. There are just so many classy delicious and proper places in the city. Why throw your hard earned money down the drain to be given substandard food for a restaurant of this caliber and to be treated with such disrespect by a so called manager. Shame on you artisanal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Stumbled on this place when my daughter ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Stumbled on this place when my daughter wanted chocolate fondue. Went back for Mother's Day due to the extensive cheese and wine list. Kids loved the Mac and Cheese and the Bread!!! Recent visit to NYC my daughter wanted to bring her grandmother there. Again, cheese, wine, mac and cheese and the fondue are wonderful. Went on a week night and not too crowded or too loud. Mother's Day was nice even though it was crowded. Service is always attentive but not rushed. They have a small bar/waiting area and you can eat outside on nice days. Loved the time we were there and they had old time french music playing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Fondue and cheese selections. Win ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great Fondue and cheese selections. Wine list is heavy French and doesn't have a lot of low cost bottle options under $80 and men. We go specifically because of the fondue. Other menu items are always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been here many times and my only co ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I've been here many times and my only complaint is generally about the noise level. However, this past Saturday night the food and service were off. Our waitress wouldn't leave us alone. Every 2 minutes she was asking, "are you ready to order?" . My husband and I both ordered the whole fish. She did not tell us the price, and no, we did not ask. Mine arrived beautifully filleted after being presented to me. My husband's was brought to him and then went to be filleted. By the time it arrived, not only was my fish cold, but so was my husband's. And filleted? It looked like a bomb went off! No filets, only small broken pieces, with bones, and the skin mixed in. Deplorable and disgusting to look at! We should have sent them both back, but didn't. All for the tune of $68 per fish because it was "flown in from Europe".

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Consistently fantastic!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Consistently fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was about my 4th visit there. Maybe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was about my 4th visit there. Maybe my last one. There are much better choices. The food got way too expensive throughout the years. Our server put us on the S-list as soon as he realized we were not going for the most expensive stuff. Service was so slow that we were not able to have dessert. Getting the check was a problem as well. The wine list is extensive and you can find wine by the glass for up to $ 70.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Artisinal never fails to please! Althou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Artisinal never fails to please! Although it's become far pricier than I recall, it's cuisine is worth it -- though it would be nice to have cheaper wines by the glass. The Tomahawk ribeye for 2 is presented well and done to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing, 'meh' experience this tim ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Disappointing, 'meh' experience this time - used to be one of my favorites. Food quality has fallen and the person serving us was not very engaged or detail oriented. We had to follow up and ask # of times - and then in the end, were presented with a tipping choice of 18-25 % -- no opportunity to even put in a 15% tip (which she did not deserve). Aggravating. Would have been ok if the food had been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Service is so poor that we felt like we ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Service is so poor that we felt like we had to beg to get more drinks or put in a food order.

The cheese was delicious but taste of the other food items was nothing near what it cost. Totally overpriced. This is one of those wannabe-hip NYC spots that just isn't getting it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Horrible. What happened? My salad was no ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Horrible. What happened? My salad was no better than those I have on Broadway and 37th street at a deli. And then bread was actually close to frozen. When we got it. Used to be a standard good no brainer resto. No longer. The oysters were good as they had nothing to do with the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We had an amazing lunch and a memorable ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We had an amazing lunch and a memorable lunch date. The cheese plate was unbelievable and the service was incredible!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, but a bit expensive. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was good, but a bit expensive. Kind service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I visited for a business luncheon and th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I visited for a business luncheon and the food was very good and the service was attentive. I had a delicious fig and kale salad--perfect for a summer day. I would definitely return on another occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This place used to be great but it has g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

This place used to be great but it has gone down hill. Super expensive for what you get. They took the brick chicken off the menu and the Mac and cheese barely had any cheese. Wines are really highly priced - cheaper to order by the glass. Dessert was the best part. Room is nice though. I won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

I am really sad to write this review. I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I am really sad to write this review. I used to live around the corner from Artisanal 5+ years ago and was there at least once a week for a number of years. It was my favorite restaurant in the city. Loved the food, the ambience, the service--everything about it was special. My husband and I hadn't been back in several years and went for a special occasion last night. Everything about the restaurant has changed, and none of it for the better. The menu and the food were disappointing. The wine was disappointing. The service was disappointing. The ambience was so, so different than it used to be. It has gone from delicious, bustling, and difficult to get a reservation to middle-of-the-road and half empty. I am truly heartbroken about the change in this restaurant. I can no longer recommend this restaurant like I once did. RIP Artisanal.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

the food was bland, uninspired, and expe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

the food was bland, uninspired, and expensive. Neither my date nor I liked our food, and basically explained to the waitress that we have eaten in this restaurante about a year ago and it was much better, and that prices were more favorable mas well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

I ve been here several times as a cheese ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I ve been here several times as a cheeselover and cheesemonger. THE restaurant is over priced and make me disappointed About quality!! Nothing changed into 10 years. Surprise me ON your new location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I have dined at many times. This time I ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

I have dined at many times. This time I was disappointed that service and quality of food is slipping.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was below average. They sent out ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was below average. They sent out our French onion soup and vegetable soup uncooked. The gnocchi was over cooked. Won't go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Quality of the food was good. However pr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Quality of the food was good. However preparation missed the mark. It was also troubling to have the waiter strongly strongly recommending wines on their list that we knew were mostly inexpensive (at retail) plonk and uninteresting. Cheese was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Omelet ordered very soft but was very we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Omelet ordered very soft but was very well done, and home fries so greasy they were inedible. Salad had no taste. When I complained to the manager, he did not bill us for the dish (I ate one bit of each--omelet, potatoes, salad). My husband's Caesar salad with chicken had just a few pieces of chicken and loads of croutons. No value for the money. We returned home hungry, and we're both small eaters. We've been going to Artisanal for years and don't understand what has happened to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.