About Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar

2 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro and Wine Bar showcases the formidable creativity and passion of our Chef's, who add playful twists to classic French bistro dishes. Selecting only premium ingredients,our commitment to the use of artisanal, sustainable and organic products is evident in the quality of each dish. Recalling a bustling Parisian bistro, Artisanal’s handsome Art Deco interior offers the sophisticated French specialties one might expect in Paris. As the name implies, Artisanal features a scrumptious selection of 250 hand-crafted cheeses from around the world. In the back of the dining room is the cheese cave, a temperature and humidity controlled room, where a number of the world’s finest artisanally-made cheeses are aged to optimum ripeness and peak flavor. Adjacent to the dining room is the wine bar, which boosts 75 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fondue

Hours of Operation:

LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday 10:00 am - 4:45 pm
Friday - 10.00 - 4:45 PM

BRUNCH: Saturday and Sunday, 9.00 am - 4:45 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Tuesday 5pm -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 5pm - midnight

LATE NIGHT -
Monday - Tuesday 11 pm - 1:00 am
Wednesday - Sunday 12 am - 2:00 am

WINE BAR:
Open all day and evening

FROMAGERIE:
Monday - Tuesday 10 am -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 9:30 am - midnight

Cross Street:
Entrance on 32nd Street between Park and Madison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 725-8585

Website:
http://www.artisanalbistro.com/

Entertainment:





Catering:
With Artisanal’s Event Planning, Consultation and Catering Services you'll surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or in our very own dining room; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering and staffing. Please call (212)725-8585 or email our Event Planner at reservations@artisanalbistro.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking is possible after 6pm -ALSO- indoor parking is available at Icon Parking 475 Park Avenue South ( 32nd btwn. Park and Lexington Avenues) Tel (212)684-8352

Public Transit:
6 train to 32rd Street and Park Avenue
N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street and Broadway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or here on premise; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering & staffing(212)725-8585 Email reservations@artisanalbistro.com

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:45PM

Sat 11:30AM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrate your special occasion with Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro & Wine Bar. Friends and family can enjoy innovative twists on classic French dishes in the grand, Art Deco dining room. Artisanal's emphasis on wine, cheese, and classic bistro fare set the stage for a festive and memorable party.

Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (62)
special occasion (39)
notable wine list (33)
See All
great for lunch (31)
neighborhood gem (31)
good for groups (24)
great for brunch (23)
romantic (23)
late-night find (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (5)
Sort By:
Newest
5416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We come for their wonderful cheeses and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

We come for their wonderful cheeses and enjoy the entrees as well. Nothing super unique but always well executed. The service is attentive without being cloying. The dining room is a bit loud when full but manageable. We travel to NY a couple of times a year and eat here each time.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was ok. We were hoping for a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant was ok. We were hoping for a great night out and it wasn't. Waiter took far too long to serve us. Now the chef who brought us the charcuterie was amazing. Really nice and friendly. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

There were 4 tables of diners in the ent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

There were 4 tables of diners in the entire restaurant when we had brunch. Despite that the service was truly horrible. They just plain forgot one of our orders, plus the waiter took his sweet time both taking and delivering the order he managed to remember. The service and the over priced food = we won't be returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We have eaten here many times when we ar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We have eaten here many times when we are in the City. The service was fantastic as was food. Love the cheese!!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way overpriced (even by NYC standards), ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Way overpriced (even by NYC standards), horrible food, rude staff : DO NOT GO !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Deep menu, great service, expensive. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Deep menu, great service, expensive. The only downside is you cannot escape $40-$45 for lunch, including the tip, if you have an entree, a beverage, and a coffee. That's a lot for food that is okay,, but not exceptional

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We are Food Network fans and take their ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We are Food Network fans and take their input seriously on The Best Thing I Ever Ate! In a recent episode, one of the chefs said that the fondue was exactly that at Artisanal...and it was. My daughter and I were in New York on Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed the fondue, mussels and quiche. Such a pleasant afternoon. Looking forward to our next visit to Artisanal!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We arrived at 10:30pm on a Saturday and ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We arrived at 10:30pm on a Saturday and had the most wonderful meal. We stuck to wine, the seafood tower, and some excellent cheeses chosen by the Maître Fromager. Everything was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We really enjoyed the cheese plate. They ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We really enjoyed the cheese plate. They came up with six types that are distinct but go with the wine we had. The main dishes were less impressive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While cheese is definitely the thing to ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

While cheese is definitely the thing to order here, which we did for dessert, the main courses were excellently prepared. We enjoyed filet mignon with a lovely sauce on the side which enhanced the flavor of this perfectly cooked meat. We also had the rack of pork and the skate wing. The cauliflower accompaniment to the skate wing was various colors which made the plate attractive. All plates were beautifully presented. We had not been here for sometime and realized that we should come more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently great!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Consistently great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to this restaurant primarily for f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We go to this restaurant primarily for fondue, but this time it seems to be losing its luster. Also, don't appreciate the fact that we are always seated in the worst areas, such as next to the restroom, next to the kitchen, or up against a pillar which makes you feel you are sitting in a box with no view of the restaurant. But parties with men or a man dining solo, always get the best tables. We always have a reservation and the restaurant is not busy, so this is done on purpose. Not very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

From start to finish, a wonderful experi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

From start to finish, a wonderful experience. Jonathan was our waiter and he was helpful and professional- conversational in a welcoming manner. The sommelier helped us pick a wine we never would have chosen. It complimented the cheese and charcuterie plate that the fromager chose, again, new culinary adventures. It was all quite succulent and another visit is guaranteed. Wonderful service and fabulous food for an excellent time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisanal Fromargerie came highly recomm ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Artisanal Fromargerie came highly recommend but sadly the hype didn't live up to he reality. Though the food was tasty enough it was no sheer near he quality reflected by whathe was being charged even by NY's extortionate standards. Interesting enough place if you like cheese though we on be dashing back or recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Despite the place being practically empt ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Despite the place being practically empty, i had poor service eventually having to request a wine menu since one wasn't provided. The server suggested the 'special' which turned out to be a piece of fish for $68. Service was slow overall. Used to love this place so it was a very disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I went with a few friends for dinner as ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I went with a few friends for dinner as we all were fans, but this is not the Artisanal that any of us remember. The food is extremely overpriced now and the portions way smaller than ever ands the least expensive bottle of wine on the wine list is $55. Not only was it more expensive than it used to be but the food was mediocre at best. Being that the restaurant was pretty empty, we all thought that others must be saying the same as us and none of us wish to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Without a doubt the highlight of our mea ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Without a doubt the highlight of our meal was the grande charcuterie and cheese plate. The fromagere came and spoke with us and put together a really spectacular set of cheeses. But every aspect of our meal was a pleasure. We look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The mushroom grilled cheese is fabulous! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The mushroom grilled cheese is fabulous! Haven't been here in a long time, but everything I've ever eaten here has been Delish so was excited to stop by for lunch last week and see that the quality hasn't changed. Beet and burrata salad is an excellent appetizer choice. Thank goodness I don't live closer 😉

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Love what little surprises this place ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Love what little surprises this place has to offer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was excellent!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I thought the food was mediocre. The pr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the food was mediocre. The prices were very high. My husband ordered a glass of rose and it was $19 for a glass. The waiter did not even show my husband the wine list. I would not go back. The computers were not working to pay the tab and the waiter suggested that we leave his tip in cash which I would have done anyway. Would definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Had a lovely post wedding brunch here. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a lovely post wedding brunch here. The food was pleasing it just took longer than necessary to get our check even though the restaurant was not busy at that point. This wouldn't have been an issue except that we had guests that needed to catch trains out of town and had set times for leaving.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

great food. love the fondue. pricey thou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

great food. love the fondue. pricey though, so i reserve this restaurant for special occasions

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice to find a friendly bistro with exce ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice to find a friendly bistro with excellent service, good food, and reasonable noise level in midtown Manhattan. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Good food. Wonderful pl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service. Good food. Wonderful place for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We use to dine here regularly, but the c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We use to dine here regularly, but the changes in management have resulted in ridiculously high prices, poor service, and poorly executed food. The restaurant is empty for a reason ... Avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We shared several appetizers; octopus, t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We shared several appetizers; octopus, tuna tartare, beet & burrata salad, and a wonderful cheese platter. ALL very fresh and tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

In my opinion this is one of the best re ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

In my opinion this is one of the best restaurants in NYC. The food is always good, the wine list excellent and the ambiance is wonderful. Artisanal is right around the corner from me so I go there a lot, but have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I brought a couple of clients here. It w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I brought a couple of clients here. It was perfect place for a late lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely not what it used to be. Came ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Definitely not what it used to be. Came here for lunch and had the french onion soup, tuna tartare, and filet mignon. The soup was over salted and the bread was burnt, the filet mignon was dry as if it had been defrosted. The best part was the tuna tartare which had way too much onion, I ended up picking half of it out. I was quite dissapointed with artisinal. Hopefully once they move they will be able to meet the standard of what they were. In the meantime, I will definitely not be returning or recommending it to friends. Service was fine, for a non busy lunch reservation I would've expected the staff to be more attentive and the meal to move faster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We used to eat here regularly. However, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We used to eat here regularly. However, the prices have increased to an unreasonable point. The quality of the food has declined. The service is not good at all. There were very few people in the restaurant and still the service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great for cheese lovers; value not so much

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I was really looking forward to all the cheeses and our waiter really knew his stuff. However, I agree with a different poster that the wine prices were too expensive. It takes the fun out of it when you have to ration the wine! I'm not cheap, but I'm not stupid either. My friend had the salmon and said it was great, but the portion was small. I had the lamb which was good, not great, but both chops had large chunks of fat. For 30-something dollars, I want meat not fat, especially when the portion wasn't big to begin with. I showed it to the waiter, but nothing happened.

I'm not sure I would go back - I loved the cheese assortment, hated the wine prices. A different poster suggested just taking the cheese out. Sounds like a good plan to me. It's a shame because if they were slightly more reasonable, I think they would be a lot busier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

If you really like cheese

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the place for you. An enormous selection of cheeses and great suggestions on wine pairings. This was my second visit and definitely not my last. Wonder bread and crackers served with the cheeses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Murray Hill Gen

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My guest, a vegetarian, was coming in to New York on an early evening flight so I was looking for a restaurant in Murray Hill area which could accommodate us for a late dinner and had ample choices for a vegetarian. Artisanal came through on every count. In fact, my guest got here a little earlier than expected and Artisanal was very gracious about seating us earlier. Since their specialty is cheese, my guest was able have the gourmet Mac 'n Cheese and I decided to join him. He had the one with mushrooms and truffle oil and I the lobster one. We both agreed it was the best Mac 'n Cheese we had ever eaten. The portions were huge and we both took half our dinners home for the next day. We were too full for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Average food Loosing the quality race. G ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Average food

Loosing the quality race.

Going down hill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Too bad!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Really nice staff!

Max, the formage maestro was spectacular with both knowledge and selection. We had six cheese for dinner.

Steve, our server was just right in delivery and timing.

Unfortunately, as a wine drinker, this is a difficult place. The wine prices are the MOST OUTRAGEOUS I have ever experienced.

I would go back if the wine prices were just high but they are ridiculous.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

I've been to Artisanal many times before ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I've been to Artisanal many times before and, without a doubt, I'll be back many times again. I usually have the steak au poivre, as it takes me back to France. This time, however, it was prepared in a different way and I was not as pleased as before. Before there were whole pepper corns in a kind of creamy sauce on the steak itself. This time the pepper was crusted on the "round cut" steak with a kind of beef sauce on the side. Three of us ordered this steak and all had the same reaction. My sister ordered the broulee desert because the menu stated that one of the four was a pistachio broulee. When it came, there was no pistachio. The waitress checked with the kitchen and came back and simply said the menu was wrong, as there had been a change and she would tell someone about. Not to get too picky...but our waitress's blouse seemed a bit too small (tight) and not very pressed and busboy was wearing hi-top sneakers, they were black though. Even though the customers may come in a casual manner and dress, the staff must not come down to that level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon entering staff was aloof and disint ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Upon entering staff was aloof and disinterested in pleasing their guests, this followed through with the service. I sent a private email to the management to give them an opportunity to reply but I received no reply.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

Mothers birthday

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went for our mothers birthday. Service was great. Food was wonderful and the wine selection was large. Overall we rated it a 4 out of 5 but only because while the wine and cheese selection was wonderful it was very pricy. $25 and up for a glass of wine was common.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Memorial Day

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Not sure if it's because the city was empty on Memorial Day Weekend but the service was not what you expect from a restaurant like Artisanal. We've had dinner there several times but this time will make me think twice before making a future reservation there.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.