About Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar

2 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10016
View Larger Map

Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro and Wine Bar showcases the formidable creativity and passion of our Chef's, who add playful twists to classic French bistro dishes. Selecting only premium ingredients,our commitment to the use of artisanal, sustainable and organic products is evident in the quality of each dish. Recalling a bustling Parisian bistro, Artisanal’s handsome Art Deco interior offers the sophisticated French specialties one might expect in Paris. As the name implies, Artisanal features a scrumptious selection of 250 hand-crafted cheeses from around the world. In the back of the dining room is the cheese cave, a temperature and humidity controlled room, where a number of the world’s finest artisanally-made cheeses are aged to optimum ripeness and peak flavor. Adjacent to the dining room is the wine bar, which boosts 75 wines by the glass.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Fondue

Hours of Operation:

LUNCH:
Monday - Thursday 10:00 am - 4:45 pm
Friday - 10.00 - 4:45 PM

BRUNCH: Saturday and Sunday, 9.00 am - 4:45 pm

DINNER:
Monday - Tuesday 5pm -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 5pm - midnight

LATE NIGHT -
Monday - Tuesday 11 pm - 1:00 am
Wednesday - Sunday 12 am - 2:00 am

WINE BAR:
Open all day and evening

FROMAGERIE:
Monday - Tuesday 10 am -11 pm
Wednesday - Sunday 9:30 am - midnight

Cross Street:
Entrance on 32nd Street between Park and Madison

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 725-8585

Website:
http://www.artisanalbistro.com/

Entertainment:





Catering:
With Artisanal’s Event Planning, Consultation and Catering Services you'll surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or in our very own dining room; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering and staffing. Please call (212)725-8585 or email our Event Planner at reservations@artisanalbistro.com for more information.

Parking Details:
Street parking is possible after 6pm -ALSO- indoor parking is available at Icon Parking 475 Park Avenue South ( 32nd btwn. Park and Lexington Avenues) Tel (212)684-8352

Public Transit:
6 train to 32rd Street and Park Avenue
N, Q, W, R Trains to 34th Street and Broadway

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Surprise your guests with an Artisanal experience at home, the office or here on premise; food and beverage consultants will help you with menu planning, cheese and pairing selections; catering & staffing(212)725-8585 Email reservations@artisanalbistro.com

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Wed 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Thu - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:45PM

Sat 11:30AM - 12:00PM 1:30PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:15PM - 10:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Celebrate your special occasion with Artisanal Fromagerie, Bistro & Wine Bar. Friends and family can enjoy innovative twists on classic French dishes in the grand, Art Deco dining room. Artisanal's emphasis on wine, cheese, and classic bistro fare set the stage for a festive and memorable party.

Artisanal Fromagerie Bistro & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (66)
special occasion (39)
neighborhood gem (37)
See All
notable wine list (34)
great for lunch (30)
great for brunch (28)
good for groups (26)
romantic (24)
great for outdoor dining (9)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
5400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From start to finish, a wonderful experi ...

Dined 3 days ago

From start to finish, a wonderful experience. Jonathan was our waiter and he was helpful and professional- conversational in a welcoming manner. The sommelier helped us pick a wine we never would have chosen. It complimented the cheese and charcuterie plate that the fromager chose, again, new culinary adventures. It was all quite succulent and another visit is guaranteed. Wonderful service and fabulous food for an excellent time.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Despite the place being practically empt ...

Dined 4 days ago

Despite the place being practically empty, i had poor service eventually having to request a wine menu since one wasn't provided. The server suggested the 'special' which turned out to be a piece of fish for $68. Service was slow overall. Used to love this place so it was a very disappointing meal.

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I went with a few friends for dinner as ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I went with a few friends for dinner as we all were fans, but this is not the Artisanal that any of us remember. The food is extremely overpriced now and the portions way smaller than ever ands the least expensive bottle of wine on the wine list is $55. Not only was it more expensive than it used to be but the food was mediocre at best. Being that the restaurant was pretty empty, we all thought that others must be saying the same as us and none of us wish to return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Without a doubt the highlight of our mea ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Without a doubt the highlight of our meal was the grande charcuterie and cheese plate. The fromagere came and spoke with us and put together a really spectacular set of cheeses. But every aspect of our meal was a pleasure. We look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

The mushroom grilled cheese is fabulous! ...

Dined 6 days ago

The mushroom grilled cheese is fabulous! Haven't been here in a long time, but everything I've ever eaten here has been Delish so was excited to stop by for lunch last week and see that the quality hasn't changed. Beet and burrata salad is an excellent appetizer choice. Thank goodness I don't live closer 😉

food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I thought the food was mediocre. The pr ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the food was mediocre. The prices were very high. My husband ordered a glass of rose and it was $19 for a glass. The waiter did not even show my husband the wine list. I would not go back. The computers were not working to pay the tab and the waiter suggested that we leave his tip in cash which I would have done anyway. Would definitely not go back.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had a lovely post wedding brunch here. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had a lovely post wedding brunch here. The food was pleasing it just took longer than necessary to get our check even though the restaurant was not busy at that point. This wouldn't have been an issue except that we had guests that needed to catch trains out of town and had set times for leaving.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

great food. love the fondue. pricey thou ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

great food. love the fondue. pricey though, so i reserve this restaurant for special occasions

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice to find a friendly bistro with exce ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice to find a friendly bistro with excellent service, good food, and reasonable noise level in midtown Manhattan. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service. Good food. Wonderful pl ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great service. Good food. Wonderful place for brunch

food1
ambience1
service1

We use to dine here regularly, but the c ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We use to dine here regularly, but the changes in management have resulted in ridiculously high prices, poor service, and poorly executed food. The restaurant is empty for a reason ... Avoid!

food5
ambience4
service4

We shared several appetizers; octopus, t ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We shared several appetizers; octopus, tuna tartare, beet & burrata salad, and a wonderful cheese platter. ALL very fresh and tasty!

food5
ambience5
service5

In my opinion this is one of the best re ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

In my opinion this is one of the best restaurants in NYC. The food is always good, the wine list excellent and the ambiance is wonderful. Artisanal is right around the corner from me so I go there a lot, but have never been disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

I brought a couple of clients here. It w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I brought a couple of clients here. It was perfect place for a late lunch.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Definitely not what it used to be. Came ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Definitely not what it used to be. Came here for lunch and had the french onion soup, tuna tartare, and filet mignon. The soup was over salted and the bread was burnt, the filet mignon was dry as if it had been defrosted. The best part was the tuna tartare which had way too much onion, I ended up picking half of it out. I was quite dissapointed with artisinal. Hopefully once they move they will be able to meet the standard of what they were. In the meantime, I will definitely not be returning or recommending it to friends. Service was fine, for a non busy lunch reservation I would've expected the staff to be more attentive and the meal to move faster.

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

We used to eat here regularly. However, ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We used to eat here regularly. However, the prices have increased to an unreasonable point. The quality of the food has declined. The service is not good at all. There were very few people in the restaurant and still the service was poor.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for cheese lovers; value not so much

Dined on June 12, 2016

I was really looking forward to all the cheeses and our waiter really knew his stuff. However, I agree with a different poster that the wine prices were too expensive. It takes the fun out of it when you have to ration the wine! I'm not cheap, but I'm not stupid either. My friend had the salmon and said it was great, but the portion was small. I had the lamb which was good, not great, but both chops had large chunks of fat. For 30-something dollars, I want meat not fat, especially when the portion wasn't big to begin with. I showed it to the waiter, but nothing happened. I'm not sure I would go back - I loved the cheese assortment, hated the wine prices. A different poster suggested just taking the cheese out. Sounds like a good plan to me. It's a shame because if they were slightly more reasonable, I think they would be a lot busier.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you really like cheese

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the place for you. An enormous selection of cheeses and great suggestions on wine pairings. This was my second visit and definitely not my last. Wonder bread and crackers served with the cheeses.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Murray Hill Gen

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

My guest, a vegetarian, was coming in to New York on an early evening flight so I was looking for a restaurant in Murray Hill area which could accommodate us for a late dinner and had ample choices for a vegetarian. Artisanal came through on every count. In fact, my guest got here a little earlier than expected and Artisanal was very gracious about seating us earlier. Since their specialty is cheese, my guest was able have the gourmet Mac 'n Cheese and I decided to join him. He had the one with mushrooms and truffle oil and I the lobster one. We both agreed it was the best Mac 'n Cheese we had ever eaten. The portions were huge and we both took half our dinners home for the next day. We were too full for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3

Average food Loosing the quality race. G ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Average food Loosing the quality race. Going down hill

food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Too bad!

Dined on June 1, 2016

Really nice staff! Max, the formage maestro was spectacular with both knowledge and selection. We had six cheese for dinner. Steve, our server was just right in delivery and timing. Unfortunately, as a wine drinker, this is a difficult place. The wine prices are the MOST OUTRAGEOUS I have ever experienced. I would go back if the wine prices were just high but they are ridiculous.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Artisanal many times before ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I've been to Artisanal many times before and, without a doubt, I'll be back many times again. I usually have the steak au poivre, as it takes me back to France. This time, however, it was prepared in a different way and I was not as pleased as before. Before there were whole pepper corns in a kind of creamy sauce on the steak itself. This time the pepper was crusted on the "round cut" steak with a kind of beef sauce on the side. Three of us ordered this steak and all had the same reaction. My sister ordered the broulee desert because the menu stated that one of the four was a pistachio broulee. When it came, there was no pistachio. The waitress checked with the kitchen and came back and simply said the menu was wrong, as there had been a change and she would tell someone about. Not to get too picky...but our waitress's blouse seemed a bit too small (tight) and not very pressed and busboy was wearing hi-top sneakers, they were black though. Even though the customers may come in a casual manner and dress, the staff must not come down to that level.

food3
ambience1
service2

Upon entering staff was aloof and disint ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Upon entering staff was aloof and disinterested in pleasing their guests, this followed through with the service. I sent a private email to the management to give them an opportunity to reply but I received no reply.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mothers birthday

Dined on May 28, 2016

We went for our mothers birthday. Service was great. Food was wonderful and the wine selection was large. Overall we rated it a 4 out of 5 but only because while the wine and cheese selection was wonderful it was very pricy. $25 and up for a glass of wine was common.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Memorial Day

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Not sure if it's because the city was empty on Memorial Day Weekend but the service was not what you expect from a restaurant like Artisanal. We've had dinner there several times but this time will make me think twice before making a future reservation there.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

very poor dining experience

Dined on May 25, 2016

poor overall. overpriced for food and service. don't waste your time. if you want to spend money on a great overall experience, this is not your place.

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Services was inattentive - took forever ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Services was inattentive - took forever to order which was surprising given restaurant was 90% empty. The food is good but the prices, especially for lunch, are absurdly high.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Very fine service and delicious food. Sk ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Very fine service and delicious food. Skipped my usual cheese fondue for a lighter lunch of fresh tuna nicoise.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Brunch

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was good and they could have add some additional brunch items. Our waiter was not the best.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Limited menu/ high priced

Dined on May 21, 2016

Limited entree selection. No one wants to pay $35.00 for a burger. Though the quality of the food was excellent, the prices were exhorbitant. There should be a lot more creativity by the chef to warrant these prices.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

There was a glitch with my order and it ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

There was a glitch with my order and it was handled swiftly and professionally. Great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Unpleasantly surprised

Dined on May 15, 2016

I have dined here many times over the last 15 years and it has always been a pleasant experience, until last week. We went to relax, have a few glasses of wine and try a selection of cheeses but when we saw the outrageous price gouging on the wine we quickly changed our minds to cocktails, followed with a very mediocre dinner. The chicken under a brick was as expected but the Dover Sole (at 68.00) was shown to my friend cooked and the server had told us he would be back to debone it tableside. That did not happen and it came back out of the kitchen cold. Another friend sent their meal back twice and gave up after that so left hungry. We did speak to the manager who let us know that the restaurant is under new ownership and they really have no chef at the moment (what?). He ended up bringing a glass of wine on the house to my friend and after much negotiating comped part of our bill. We also found out the restaurant is moving to a new location... If you feel the need to go, I would recommend waiting until after the relocation!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Bring Ear Protection

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Artisanal is a restaurant living in the past. It was once a wonderful original place, but no more. It is tired, virtually empty on a Saturday night, and trying to make up for the lack of patrons by blasting boring music that uses too few notes at volume making conversation impossible. Both we and the couple at the next table asked for the music (if one would call the same eight notes played repetitively hundreds of time music) to be turned down. Management grudgingly complied for a song or two and then returned the cacophony to its original excessive volume. If the food were as good as it used to be, perhaps some of this would be forgivable, but there are basically no redeeming features any longer about Artisanal.

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Really Distressing - Artisanal has lost a step

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Artisanal has historically been a consistently outstanding experience over years I have patronized it. This visit showed a restaurant that is coasting on its past reputation or simply doesn't care about that reputation anymore. Our party dined last Saturday. The restaurant had about six other people when we arrived late Saturday afternoon. We ordered fondue and entrees. We did not receive fondue forks. We asked for water, the waitress assigned to our table stood by and talked with another table close by for nearly 30 minutes. Finally, another staff person brought water. I flagged the manager, who then arranged for another staff member to bring our fondue forks. My wife ordered Dover Sole, very expensive, it did not arrive until 12 minutes after the rest our party's entrees were served. I ordered the Skate Wing. Years ago I first had Skate at Artisanal. The portion at that time was a true wing. Today, the Skate "Wing" was a wing tip. At $36 , The portion size was a travesty. Markup on the wine was similar, with mid-tier reds starting at $17 a glass for what appeared to be a barely 3oz. pour. (We did not order wine after observing nearby tables ordering by the glass and looking at the pours. The alternative would have been to purchase a bottle, but given the price gouging, taking this action would have been tantamount to rewarding bad conduct. When a restaurant known for crisp, yet attentive service, allows a member of staff to essentially hold court in the main room with one set of guests while another languishes in clear sight of management, it shows an establishment that has mentally checked out. My advice is order cheese to go (their cheeses are still exceptional) and skip the dining experience. My hope is that ownership/management will intervene and save what used to be an exceptional establishment that was a destination/occasion experience. Until then, Caveat Emptor....

food3
ambience3
service4

classic NYC restaurant and have been goi ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

classic NYC restaurant and have been going for many years but the Food has become mediocre. Spinach and even the Macaroni and Cheese very bland. appetizers way better than main courses.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Rightly known for its cheeses Good food ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Rightly known for its cheeses Good food Good service A favorite

Tags: neighbourhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous fromagerie

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

This was a very special occasion. From attentive service to wonderfully presented food, dining at Artisanal was a delight.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3

Been to artisanal at least 12 times. Las ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Been to artisanal at least 12 times. Last two it was overpriced and food not good. $25 for a Cosmo!!!!0nion soup was too spicy. Thx God they didn't ruin the fondue !!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special place!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been going here for many years. Never been disappointed with the service or meal. Was sad to see that it's moving late summer to a new larger location. I hope they keep the same atmosphere that they've always had.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

The food is delicious however very over ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is delicious however very over priced. The girl who served us was very nice but lack of training. In fact, the other couple of staff need training too as they avoid us when passing by. No one collect the plates after we've finished the dishes so the small table became crowded.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.