About Artisan

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: 8052378084x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pastrami Sandwich
Yellowtail Taco
burger and fries
Crispy Shrimp Flatbread Sandwich
Shoe String Fries
Rabbit Liver Pate
Leg Of Lamb Dip
Artisan Cheese Plate
Shrimp Chilaquiles
"B.R.T." Martini
Queen Mary
RED FLIGHT
White Wine Flight
First Date
Allagash White
Cavatelli Bolognese Special
Charcuterie plate
Poached Shrimp Blat
Chopped Caesar With White Anchovy
P,B,L Meatballs With Ricotta Gnocchi
crab cake
Rhone Flight
Salmon Tartar
Abalone Tostada, Avacado, Pork Belly Carnitas
Scallops
Grass-Fed Hanger Steak And Fries
Spring Root Vegetables
Rabbit Paella
Meatballs
Pork Smothered Strip Loin
Hanger Steak
Meatballs & Gnocchi
Lobster Sliders With Scrambled Eggs, Spinach, Topped With Hollandaise Sauce
Wild Boar
Bacon Tater Tots
Onion Rings
Cheddar & Stout Fondue
Goat Cheese Fondue
Smoked Gouda And Porter Fondue
Reuben Sandwich
shrimp appetizer
Burata And Proscuitto With Alnonds
Garden Tomato And Burrata Sandwich
Fruits De Mer
Yellow Tail
Cherry French Toast
Rockshrimp Salad
Lamb Shank
Chopped Salad
Steak
Pan-Roasted King Salmon
Applecrumble
French Toast
Iceburg Salad
Eggplant

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Fit for Foodies
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
1 More
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in Paso Robles ›

Fit for Foodies (84)
Special Occasion (55)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
See All
Notable Wine List (46)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (22)
Romantic (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Organic (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Authentic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tapas (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not really much to say about the food - ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined 3 days ago

Not really much to say about the food - it is good, but money for value is out of sync.

Overpriced is the conclusion.

We ordered Charcuterie for starters and only had some small pieces of dry bread served with the dish for 4 persons. We asked for more bread, and the waitress asked us back if we would like to buy some of their freshly baked bread?

Sorry, Artisan, that is not how to treat customers paying this amount of money for their meals.

We had 3 meals in town, and the others were same level but much cheaper - and with an understanding of where to charge and where not to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Whether a weekend in Paso or driving thr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Whether a weekend in Paso or driving through on the way to San Francisco. only a visit to Artisan makes the drive worthwhile. This trip we weren't as hungry as usual after tastings and both choose a small plate and dessert. Mine was the mushrooms on toast and my husband had the ravioli. They were both excellent. Chalk up another great meal at Artisan.

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent, but the place was cr ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent, but the place was crowded and some of the dishes arrived warm and not hot.

Tags: Organic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved everything about it. Great service ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved everything about it. Great service and food was "melt in your mouth " delicious. We shared several small plates, shared a bottle of great local wine. Perfect place to go while visiting for a few days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Saturday Brunch. Overall a ver ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for Saturday Brunch. Overall a very good experience. My wife had the corn pancakes with ham and eggs, I had the pulled pork on pain perdu -- tasty and very inventive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great inventive food. The roasted head ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great inventive food. The roasted head of cauliflower is a must!! Great Paso Robles wine selection too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

After a bad experience we crossed this r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

After a bad experience we crossed this restaurant off our to-go list, but decided to give it another chance at its new location. Sorry to say we were underwhelmed, which might explain why it was very empty on a Monday night. There is now a $4.00 charge for bread and butter, however, the napkins are still free. My husband had a steak which was tough but tasty. I had the wild boar tenderloin which was extremely under done. We had a butterscotch pudding for dessert which was good but over priced at $10.00. So sadly Artisan is off our list again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a great meal that was memorable. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We had a great meal that was memorable. This is our first time at the new location. The food is just as great. We met the new co-owner who made sure we were pleased with our experience. I will be sure to go back as we pass through from Pasadena to the Bay area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great team service. Food phenomenal. D ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great team service. Food phenomenal. Drinks great. I'm sharing this story because I found it off putting. Note that I did tell the manager on my way out in attempt to fix this moving forward... We arrived, was seated, and perused the menu for a moment when the waiter arrived to tell us the specials. He asked if we were ready to order drinks when we responded we needed some more time. He then said, "would you like some waters for the table?" We said yes. Then he said "and how about some sourdough bread and butter" in which we responded sure. After further review of the menu there was bread and butter on the appetizer menu for $4 but we didn't think that was the same bread he just offered to bring us with the water. Sure enough it was on the bill which wasn't a big deal, I paid it since we did eat some however we wouldn't have agreed for him to bring it if we knew were being charged. It is common for restaurants to give complementary bread and butter so for us to assume that was complementary by the way he offered to bring it wasn't to unheard of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Use to love this place. Last Saturday ni ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Use to love this place. Last Saturday night was horrible there.. Sat down at 6:45 and our dinner came at 8:00! We had to pay for bread . Fondue tasted like watered soup. It use to be good.

Abalone was ok. Didn't finished the fishy fish or eggplant.

The cost was over $ 100.00 . Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Great food taste and presentation. Kitc ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food taste and presentation. Kitchen is 5 Star.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed the food service and ambience. H ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Enjoyed the food service and ambience. Had abalone and petrale sole steak and both were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a casual restaurant, lots of lo ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was a casual restaurant, lots of local people, that is a small plate or pizza driven menu. The small plates we had were all very good. We shared an appetizer and had two small plates per person. We felt we were well fed. As is true in this area, the wine list was quite nice.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This was my second visit to Artisan, and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This was my second visit to Artisan, and I came back since my first experience was great. I talked the restaurant up with my husband and he was looking forward to the experience. Instead, he ended up telling me he doesn't ever need to go there again.

We had numerous problems during our recent visit.

The hostess was completely disconnected and didn't seem to care. Her attitude was horrible and she appeared to be unhappy to be there from the moment we walked in. I noticed the same disposition towards others that night too. She told me at first we were too early for our reservation...I said fine. I asked that we be retrieved from the bar when we could be seated in the dining room, as we had a concert to attend...she did not come and get us when the dining area was officially open. ..I had to be forward and get up to be seated. She sat us in a booth without a food server...no one came by for 15 minutes, nor said hello, and our server ended up telling us that he just got into work. Oh, and this hostess saw us leave, as well as some other hostesses, with no smile, no thank you and no good bye on our way out, even though they saw us and we're not engaged with any other customer.

Other issues: We had no ice water we requested at the time of food order until AFTER our appetizer was served. Our cocktails that we ordered at the time of food order did not arrive until we were more than halfway done with our meal. I heard there was a computer glitch, but no apology given. Plus, no one asked how our food was.

Even though the food is good, I don't come back to restaurants where I don't feel welcomed or feel anyone cares.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We had a great meal at Artisan and can a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great meal at Artisan and can absolutely recommend it! The food was tremendous and the service was highly efficient and easy going. Non one was rushed but everything came perfectly executed. Garrett, one of the co-owners, made a point to welcome us and made sure we had a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Been here for both lun ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great restaurant! Been here for both lunch and dinner and never disappointed. Inspired food/menu, non-pretentious service and just a wonderful place to dine for anytime!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A little too expensive for what you get. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A little too expensive for what you get. Our chicken was undercooked and had to be sent back. Four dollars for bread that did not have much flavor. I think this restaurant fancies themselves as a fine dining place. I think they should be simpler with better food and cheaper prices. They would probably get more people in the door.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best food in central California!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best food in central California!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate appetizers mostly which were very ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We ate appetizers mostly which were very good. Especially the bread with mushrooms...it's a decadent appetizer but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in Paso Robles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter and loves the food. Only th ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great waiter and loves the food. Only thing is it is hard to know what

Each item is by the description.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found this restaurant scrolling throu ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We found this restaurant scrolling through Open Table for a good lunch spot on a Sunday. The food was amazing, heirloom tomatoes fantastic, meatballs with gnocchi outstanding, abalone spectacular! Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was outstanding; salmon tartar with ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Meal was outstanding; salmon tartar with über thin perfectly cooked red potato chips and fried oysters both great appetizer specials. Wild King salmon entree was also delicious and done so middle of fillet was just the way we like it...slightly translucent.

Only minor issue was large group adjacent to us on long wall table so was a bit noisy for two.

As we had early reservation to accommodate a concert, we missed most of the prime time amped up sound.

Definitely will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Loved the peach salad and mussels so muc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Loved the peach salad and mussels so much we went two nights in a row when visiting Paso Robles----unheard of for us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had been to Artisan once before when ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We had been to Artisan once before when it first opened several years ago when we went to Paso Robles for wine tasting. But I had forgotten about the restaurant. So since Robert's and Estrella had closed we thought we would try it again. I ordered the chicken wings with cider vinegar, yuzu kosho & togarashi and my spouse ordered the salami, italian sausage, pepperoncini, & oregano pizza. Both dishes were EXCELLENT. The chicken wings were the best I have ever tasted and I'm a wing fan. The deserts were also great, I got the peach crumble and my spouse got the chocolate tart. So 5 stars for the food. But the table they gave us was just ok. We were squeezed in between another couple and a group of 6. So it got kind of noisy. The best tables are the booths.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

there might be a better restaurant in Ca ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

there might be a better restaurant in California than Artisan, but i have yet to know about it. what more can be said than that?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The original Artisan was MUCH better. Ve ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The original Artisan was MUCH better. Very much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great experience! The food was exception ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great experience! The food was exceptional and the owner was friendly!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small plates are amazing. Try the raviol ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Small plates are amazing. Try the ravioli. Crazy good. Beware the chicken wings! Great flavor but the heat just won't go away. If you're unsure about a dish, they'll give you a taste. What a great idea! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at Artisan is always a pleasure - ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Dining at Artisan is always a pleasure - yummy food

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everday tourist dining. Not a destinatio ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everday tourist dining. Not a destination. Not notable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our go to restaurant when vacationing in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our go to restaurant when vacationing in Paso. The wine list -- which features the very best of Pasos Robles -- and menu options are outstanding. Artisan never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisan NEVER disappoints us! Consistent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Artisan NEVER disappoints us! Consistently great food. Abalone appetizer is to die for. Because it is one large room, the noise level carries, but that is minor compared to the wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and I've always loved it. However, this last time I was disappointed in the service. It took awhile for our waiter to get to our table and she also didn't put the order in for our starter until after we got our appetizers and complained that we had not received our starter first. All in all it was a tastey experience but I left feeling very disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We'd been to Artisan a couple of times ~ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We'd been to Artisan a couple of times ~5 years ago when passing through Paso Robles, and so coming back this time we discovered a couple of big things had changed: first, the location ("new" as of a few years ago), and second, the ownership (about 2 weeks ago!). We chatted with one of the new owners for a few minutes and found her friendly and helpful. The service in general was good and we enjoyed our food for the most part. The best dish was the halibut, which tasted fresh and was perfectly cooked. My son's burger looked good and the fries I sampled off of his plate were thin and crisp. My biggest disappointment was the whole roasted cauliflower, which *looked* good, with nice dark edges, but tasted bland and undercooked, without the nice caramelized, roasty flavor I expected. Wine list was good with lots of local options. I'd come back again on our next visit to the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointing. Heirloom tomatoes we ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very disappointing. Heirloom tomatoes weren't sweet; peaches tasteless; cauliflower undercooked; and mascarpone ice cream tasted like chalk. Maybe the chef just had a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a lovely dinner just across the s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a lovely dinner just across the street from the Paso Robles town square where there were live bands performing. Try to get a reservation on their small sidewalk dining area - it was booked when we got there but it would have been nice. Food was very good and the service was as well. We would dine here again on next trip to Paso.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This used to be one of my favorite spots ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite spots in Paso - especially at their old location. It has been very hit or miss since they moved. While the Chef is great and I have had some great food from him at his old location, something happened when he moved. Their "special" was a pork dish that was gristly and lacked any real flavor. The chocolate desert was hard as a rock. There are simply too many good restaurants in Paso to risk another trip here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Delicious, fresh locally sourced cuisine ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious, fresh locally sourced cuisine,passionately prepared and artfully served. We had the grilled octopus salad and an heirloom tomato, basil, point Reyes blue mousse salad to start, followed by a mushroom, leek and chèvre pizza and peach cobbler with corn gelato for dessert. Loved everything especially their spin on a vesper martini with Lillet Rouge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food & great wine! We arrived ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food & great wine! We arrived about an hour early & the hostess was able to seat us (we did have to wait though so we grabbed a drink in the bar). The waiter was very attentive even though the restaurant was busy. We were told our entrees would come out in 25 minutes but they arrived much soon. Well definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.