About Artisan

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: 8052378084x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pastrami Sandwich
Yellowtail Taco
burger and fries
Crispy Shrimp Flatbread Sandwich
Shoe String Fries
Rabbit Liver Pate
Leg Of Lamb Dip
Artisan Cheese Plate
Shrimp Chilaquiles
"B.R.T." Martini
Queen Mary
RED FLIGHT
White Wine Flight
First Date
Allagash White
Cavatelli Bolognese Special
Charcuterie plate
Poached Shrimp Blat
Chopped Caesar With White Anchovy
P,B,L Meatballs With Ricotta Gnocchi
crab cake
Rhone Flight
Salmon Tartar
Abalone Tostada, Avacado, Pork Belly Carnitas
Scallops
Grass-Fed Hanger Steak And Fries
Spring Root Vegetables
Rabbit Paella
Meatballs
Pork Smothered Strip Loin
Hanger Steak
Meatballs & Gnocchi
Lobster Sliders With Scrambled Eggs, Spinach, Topped With Hollandaise Sauce
Wild Boar
Bacon Tater Tots
Onion Rings
Cheddar & Stout Fondue
Goat Cheese Fondue
Smoked Gouda And Porter Fondue
Reuben Sandwich
shrimp appetizer
Burata And Proscuitto With Alnonds
Garden Tomato And Burrata Sandwich
Fruits De Mer
Yellow Tail
Cherry French Toast
Rockshrimp Salad
Lamb Shank
Chopped Salad
Steak
Pan-Roasted King Salmon
Applecrumble
French Toast
Iceburg Salad
Eggplant

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
2 More
Fit for Foodies
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in Paso Robles ›

Fit for Foodies (99)
Special Occasion (61)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
See All
Notable Wine List (46)
Hot Spot (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Romantic (21)
Great for Lunch (19)
Great for Brunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Late-night Find (6)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The original Artisan was MUCH better. Ve ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 5 days ago

The original Artisan was MUCH better. Very much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great experience! The food was exception ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience! The food was exceptional and the owner was friendly!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small plates are amazing. Try the raviol ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Small plates are amazing. Try the ravioli. Crazy good. Beware the chicken wings! Great flavor but the heat just won't go away. If you're unsure about a dish, they'll give you a taste. What a great idea! We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at Artisan is always a pleasure - ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Dining at Artisan is always a pleasure - yummy food

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Everday tourist dining. Not a destinatio ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everday tourist dining. Not a destination. Not notable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our go to restaurant when vacationing in ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our go to restaurant when vacationing in Paso. The wine list -- which features the very best of Pasos Robles -- and menu options are outstanding. Artisan never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisan NEVER disappoints us! Consistent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Artisan NEVER disappoints us! Consistently great food. Abalone appetizer is to die for. Because it is one large room, the noise level carries, but that is minor compared to the wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this restaurant before and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and I've always loved it. However, this last time I was disappointed in the service. It took awhile for our waiter to get to our table and she also didn't put the order in for our starter until after we got our appetizers and complained that we had not received our starter first. All in all it was a tastey experience but I left feeling very disappointed in the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We'd been to Artisan a couple of times ~ ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We'd been to Artisan a couple of times ~5 years ago when passing through Paso Robles, and so coming back this time we discovered a couple of big things had changed: first, the location ("new" as of a few years ago), and second, the ownership (about 2 weeks ago!). We chatted with one of the new owners for a few minutes and found her friendly and helpful. The service in general was good and we enjoyed our food for the most part. The best dish was the halibut, which tasted fresh and was perfectly cooked. My son's burger looked good and the fries I sampled off of his plate were thin and crisp. My biggest disappointment was the whole roasted cauliflower, which *looked* good, with nice dark edges, but tasted bland and undercooked, without the nice caramelized, roasty flavor I expected. Wine list was good with lots of local options. I'd come back again on our next visit to the area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very disappointing. Heirloom tomatoes we ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very disappointing. Heirloom tomatoes weren't sweet; peaches tasteless; cauliflower undercooked; and mascarpone ice cream tasted like chalk. Maybe the chef just had a bad night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a lovely dinner just across the s ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a lovely dinner just across the street from the Paso Robles town square where there were live bands performing. Try to get a reservation on their small sidewalk dining area - it was booked when we got there but it would have been nice. Food was very good and the service was as well. We would dine here again on next trip to Paso.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This used to be one of my favorite spots ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This used to be one of my favorite spots in Paso - especially at their old location. It has been very hit or miss since they moved. While the Chef is great and I have had some great food from him at his old location, something happened when he moved. Their "special" was a pork dish that was gristly and lacked any real flavor. The chocolate desert was hard as a rock. There are simply too many good restaurants in Paso to risk another trip here.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Delicious, fresh locally sourced cuisine ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious, fresh locally sourced cuisine,passionately prepared and artfully served. We had the grilled octopus salad and an heirloom tomato, basil, point Reyes blue mousse salad to start, followed by a mushroom, leek and chèvre pizza and peach cobbler with corn gelato for dessert. Loved everything especially their spin on a vesper martini with Lillet Rouge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food & great wine! We arrived ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food & great wine! We arrived about an hour early & the hostess was able to seat us (we did have to wait though so we grabbed a drink in the bar). The waiter was very attentive even though the restaurant was busy. We were told our entrees would come out in 25 minutes but they arrived much soon. Well definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, the Paella would hav ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food was great, the Paella would have been much better without the really sour olives, if you get it ask for it without the olives, interestingly enough after I made the comment to our server she said she orders it without the olives. We were there on a Tuesday night and had an 8:00pm dinner reservation. The server knew we were from out of town and failed to tell us the kitchen closes at 9:00, when we wanted to order a pizza to go she told us it was too late and kitchen was closed. We had only ordered 4 small dishes and had told her we'll wait on ordering an entree, she never checked with us or gave us an last call warning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A gem! Fantastic food--inventive and per ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

A gem! Fantastic food--inventive and perfectly seasoned. Really warm service. So glad we stopped here in our drive from SF to LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've dined here before and the food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We've dined here before and the food was far superior to what we had this time around , perhaps it was because it was a Monday night and the head chef was not there. We're not sure, but we were a tad disappointed. In terms of restaurants in the area, it's still one of the better ones.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

First time at Artisan at this location. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

First time at Artisan at this location. It is more casual now although the prices haven't changed. The food was very good and the service was fine. But was expecting a more upscale meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was very good but not good enough t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was very good but not good enough to wait an hour for it ! The restaurant was not especially busy, lots of open tables, but we waited an hour for our food to come out of the kitchen. We were not offered any explanation, or bread or comped dessert or apology. A table of 10 next to us waited over 90 minutes for their meal. Locals told us this was typical experience for Artisan: good food if you want to wait a long time. We are in Paso 5-6 times a year but will not return to Artisan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Food quality was good but it took a long ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food quality was good but it took a long time to get the entrees. Manager even walked by a few times in the 40 minutes but never stopped by to check until the entree came. Next time I would sit at the bar

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service and food. So many interest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great service and food. So many interesting choices to make. The pizza was yummy and so was the mussels. We had sorbet for dessert that was excellent That along with a bottle of champagne made the night very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed the unexpected pairing of flavor ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Enjoyed the unexpected pairing of flavors & the inclusion of items such as rabbit paella, mushroom brioche, and duck, as well as the very fresh ingredients. Delicious desserts, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and the service was very good. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food and the service was very good. We had a waiter in training serving us that night and he did a good job. Our only complaint was the cost of the corking fee. $25 seems pretty pricey, especially when we brought in local small production wines, that were not on the wine list, and we had purchased before dinner cocktails. As a reference, we were not charged a corking fee at the local restaurants we ate at on Friday and Saturday nights, and again, we brought in local small production wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for lunch and had a pizza. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were there for lunch and had a pizza. It was very good, great crust. Service was also welcoming, prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Waitress was not attentive to us. Took f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waitress was not attentive to us. Took forever to order then once food came out my food did not arrive. They said the forgot to put in my order. So took another 15 minutes for my food to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely amazing, as always! Chef Kobe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely amazing, as always! Chef Kobe is a master at his craft. Food was truly delicious. Bob had the wild boar tenderloin (which he loved) and I had the Ling Cod special - fresh catch from Morro Bay! Artisan NEVER disappoints. Pricey, but worth every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisan is simply one of the best restau ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Artisan is simply one of the best restaurants in Paso Robles! You cannot go wrong by dining here. Try the Grilled Octopus as an appetiser if it is available, one of the best dishes we have ever had anywhere!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding and creative cuisine! I'm lo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding and creative cuisine! I'm looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What's all the hype? I didn't see much g ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

What's all the hype? I didn't see much good and won't be giving this place a second try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We cannot say enough about their hangar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We cannot say enough about their hangar steak. A must try when you are there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner with delicious food. Get th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great dinner with delicious food. Get the mushroom toast, it's worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The reason we gave the food a 4 star rat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The reason we gave the food a 4 star rating was because of the disappointing cheese plate selection as an appetizer. In the past you had an extraordinary cheese plate which offered a variety of selections, fresh fruit, olives, almonds, honey and crackers or crostini. During this visit we ordered the cheese plate prior to our meal which has always been a treat for us as we have visited several times and were always impressed with the variety of cheeses served as well as the fruits and the local emphasis of the cheese served. On this visit that was not the case and it was disappointing to us, the crackers were stale the serving was portions were too small for three servings and we were charged for three! In the past this would have been typical of a single serving or less. As a result it started the meSl off on a bad note. We did advise the wait staff of our disappointment. We hope you reconsider your decision to reduce the quality of your cheese plate. This may sound as if it is not an issue of importance but the Artisan did have a reputation for its delicious cheese plate among its clients

Thank you

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with a nice variety of small a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food with a nice variety of small and larger plates. Service was a little inconsistent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A little disappointed this time.. We've ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A little disappointed this time.. We've been to artisan a bunch of times - it has been our favorite restaurant in Paso for years. This is the first time that we have been to the new location... Have to say we miss the intimate feel of the original location.... Food was mostly good - the halibut was overlooked. Boar tenderloin was fabulous. Cocktails fun. They also stopped offering their secret wine list which was also part of the fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Celebrated our 3yr anniv and place was r ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Celebrated our 3yr anniv and place was romantic and adorable. At one point, we had the place all for ourselves, not noticing they've closed for an hour. Check on this, as they do close at 9:00pm during the week.

Wonderful dinner, had the chill avocado soup, rabbitt paella and wild boar tenderloin. All of them at point, paired with their house wine.

Our server Steve was attentive and did a great job. Thanks!

Looking fwd to come back and recommend friends to visit Artisan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but limited selection. Portio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food but limited selection. Portions were small. Sole was awesome and the churro was the best Ever.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food is surprisingly lovely. The di ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food is surprisingly lovely. The dishes were unique and nicely prepared. My date and I both enjoyed our dishes (which I cannot recall at present). Unfortunately, the atmosphere and decor are rather blah, so our dinner was not as romantic as it could have been. And, as noted by other patrons, the service was spotty. Our first waitress took our drink order and literally disappeared. We never saw her again. Huh? Eventually, our thirst got the better of us and asked a passing waiter if he could find out about our drinks. Soon after that, a new waitress appeared, took our drink orders again and completed our dinner order. Our second waitress was attentive enough for us to enjoy our meal, but overall, we found the service to be lacking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Recommended dishes: fondue, meatballs, p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Recommended dishes: fondue, meatballs, peel-and-eat shrimp, roasted broccoli.

Great wine list with a variety of local wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have been eating at Artisan every tim ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been eating at Artisan every time that we are in the Paso Robles area for several years.

The new location is a big plus. The scene is comfortable and the staff is both friendly and professional. The food is very good and definitely worth going back time after time...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great drinks and wine list, and fantasti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great drinks and wine list, and fantastic dinner. If you can snag a table outside at the bar you can have your dinner out there, which is fantastic on warm nights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.