About Artisan

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: 8052378084x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pastrami Sandwich
Yellowtail Taco
burger and fries
Shoe String Fries
Crispy Shrimp Flatbread Sandwich
Rabbit Liver Pate
Leg Of Lamb Dip
Artisan Cheese Plate
Shrimp Chilaquiles
"B.R.T." Martini
Queen Mary
RED FLIGHT
White Wine Flight
First Date
Allagash White
Cavatelli Bolognese Special
Charcuterie plate
Poached Shrimp Blat
Chopped Caesar With White Anchovy
P,B,L Meatballs With Ricotta Gnocchi
crab cake
Rhone Flight
Salmon Tartar
Abalone Tostada, Avacado, Pork Belly Carnitas
Scallops
Grass-Fed Hanger Steak And Fries
Spring Root Vegetables
Rabbit Paella
Meatballs
Pork Smothered Strip Loin
Hanger Steak
Meatballs & Gnocchi
Lobster Sliders With Scrambled Eggs, Spinach, Topped With Hollandaise Sauce
Wild Boar
Bacon Tater Tots
Onion Rings
Cheddar & Stout Fondue
Goat Cheese Fondue
Smoked Gouda And Porter Fondue
Reuben Sandwich
shrimp appetizer
Burata And Proscuitto With Alnonds
Garden Tomato And Burrata Sandwich
Fruits De Mer
Yellow Tail
Cherry French Toast
Rockshrimp Salad
Lamb Shank
Chopped Salad
Steak
Pan-Roasted King Salmon
French Toast
Eggplant
Applecrumble
Iceburg Salad

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Fit for Foodies
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
1 More
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in Paso Robles ›

fit for foodies (108)
special occasion (61)
neighborhood gem (56)
See All
notable wine list (41)
hot spot (27)
good for groups (26)
great for lunch (22)
great for outdoor dining (18)
romantic (17)
vibrant bar scene (16)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed the unexpected pairing of flavor ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the unexpected pairing of flavors & the inclusion of items such as rabbit paella, mushroom brioche, and duck, as well as the very fresh ingredients. Delicious desserts, too!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and the service was very good. ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and the service was very good. We had a waiter in training serving us that night and he did a good job. Our only complaint was the cost of the corking fee. $25 seems pretty pricey, especially when we brought in local small production wines, that were not on the wine list, and we had purchased before dinner cocktails. As a reference, we were not charged a corking fee at the local restaurants we ate at on Friday and Saturday nights, and again, we brought in local small production wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for lunch and had a pizza. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were there for lunch and had a pizza. It was very good, great crust. Service was also welcoming, prompt and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Waitress was not attentive to us. Took f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Waitress was not attentive to us. Took forever to order then once food came out my food did not arrive. They said the forgot to put in my order. So took another 15 minutes for my food to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Absolutely amazing, as always! Chef Kobe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Absolutely amazing, as always! Chef Kobe is a master at his craft. Food was truly delicious. Bob had the wild boar tenderloin (which he loved) and I had the Ling Cod special - fresh catch from Morro Bay! Artisan NEVER disappoints. Pricey, but worth every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Artisan is simply one of the best restau ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Artisan is simply one of the best restaurants in Paso Robles! You cannot go wrong by dining here. Try the Grilled Octopus as an appetiser if it is available, one of the best dishes we have ever had anywhere!!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding and creative cuisine! I'm lo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding and creative cuisine! I'm looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We cannot say enough about their hangar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We cannot say enough about their hangar steak. A must try when you are there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner with delicious food. Get th ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great dinner with delicious food. Get the mushroom toast, it's worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The reason we gave the food a 4 star rat ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The reason we gave the food a 4 star rating was because of the disappointing cheese plate selection as an appetizer. In the past you had an extraordinary cheese plate which offered a variety of selections, fresh fruit, olives, almonds, honey and crackers or crostini. During this visit we ordered the cheese plate prior to our meal which has always been a treat for us as we have visited several times and were always impressed with the variety of cheeses served as well as the fruits and the local emphasis of the cheese served. On this visit that was not the case and it was disappointing to us, the crackers were stale the serving was portions were too small for three servings and we were charged for three! In the past this would have been typical of a single serving or less. As a result it started the meSl off on a bad note. We did advise the wait staff of our disappointment. We hope you reconsider your decision to reduce the quality of your cheese plate. This may sound as if it is not an issue of importance but the Artisan did have a reputation for its delicious cheese plate among its clients

Thank you

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with a nice variety of small a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Good food with a nice variety of small and larger plates. Service was a little inconsistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A little disappointed this time.. We've ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A little disappointed this time.. We've been to artisan a bunch of times - it has been our favorite restaurant in Paso for years. This is the first time that we have been to the new location... Have to say we miss the intimate feel of the original location.... Food was mostly good - the halibut was overlooked. Boar tenderloin was fabulous. Cocktails fun. They also stopped offering their secret wine list which was also part of the fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Celebrated our 3yr anniv and place was r ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Celebrated our 3yr anniv and place was romantic and adorable. At one point, we had the place all for ourselves, not noticing they've closed for an hour. Check on this, as they do close at 9:00pm during the week.

Wonderful dinner, had the chill avocado soup, rabbitt paella and wild boar tenderloin. All of them at point, paired with their house wine.

Our server Steve was attentive and did a great job. Thanks!

Looking fwd to come back and recommend friends to visit Artisan.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but limited selection. Portio ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food but limited selection. Portions were small. Sole was awesome and the churro was the best Ever.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The food is surprisingly lovely. The di ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food is surprisingly lovely. The dishes were unique and nicely prepared. My date and I both enjoyed our dishes (which I cannot recall at present). Unfortunately, the atmosphere and decor are rather blah, so our dinner was not as romantic as it could have been. And, as noted by other patrons, the service was spotty. Our first waitress took our drink order and literally disappeared. We never saw her again. Huh? Eventually, our thirst got the better of us and asked a passing waiter if he could find out about our drinks. Soon after that, a new waitress appeared, took our drink orders again and completed our dinner order. Our second waitress was attentive enough for us to enjoy our meal, but overall, we found the service to be lacking.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Recommended dishes: fondue, meatballs, p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Recommended dishes: fondue, meatballs, peel-and-eat shrimp, roasted broccoli.

Great wine list with a variety of local wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have been eating at Artisan every tim ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been eating at Artisan every time that we are in the Paso Robles area for several years.

The new location is a big plus. The scene is comfortable and the staff is both friendly and professional. The food is very good and definitely worth going back time after time...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great drinks and wine list, and fantasti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great drinks and wine list, and fantastic dinner. If you can snag a table outside at the bar you can have your dinner out there, which is fantastic on warm nights.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I cannot review the food as we did not d ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I cannot review the food as we did not dine. This is the first time in my life I have exited a restaurant due to poor service.

Its a quick story: Artisan was one of the only restaurants open in Paso Robles on Monday, July 4. They were woefully unprepared in staffing, food product, overbooking reservations, etc... The majority of staff unfortunately had that "crazy eyes" look which clearly indicated they were in the weeds. The hostess seemed overwhelmed and mumbled something incoherent when we arrived which clearly meant: "we are not ready for you or the 5 other people that just checked in." We arrived at 8:05pm for our 8:00pm reservation and were seated at 8:16pm. That is fine, its a holiday, that part was not the issue.

At 8:38pm, we still had not received water or our drinks which we had ordered. The server did have time however to let us know that they were out of several menu items including all pizza, which is 1/4 of their menu. We chose to leave. I did speak with the manager and she admitted that my suspicions were correct (under-staffed, under-prepared, didn't think they would be be this busy, etc...). EXTREMELY disappointing as we had been looking forward to this meal very much. But I cannot justify dropping $150++ on a dinner (which we easily would have done) with terrible service and not even being given water after sitting for 20+ minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Everything was excellent! We were here a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Everything was excellent! We were here a year ago & came back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation is a must, or there will be ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Reservation is a must, or there will be an hour wait. Look at the menu on their website and check out the pictures on yelp, and you'll get great ideas on what to order. I did that and loved the food I ordered, especially the grilled octopus, sole, and butterscotch pudding (to die for). The complex flavors just work. Wait service is very friendly. The setting is fun and chic. Their bench seat cushions may need to be re-stuffed as some spots feels sunken in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not what we expected from Internet revie ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Not what we expected from Internet reviews. Not for foodies.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

High quality, tasty food in the heart of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

High quality, tasty food in the heart of Paso Robles. Great menu with too many options to choose from, and excellent local wine list. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and very fresh. Serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food was delicious and very fresh. Service from Mark was above excellent! His advice on what menu items to try were perfect for us as we wanted a light meal. This was a perfect spot for celebrating a family birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing fish & steak!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Amazing fish & steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Artisan while on a wine-tast ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We dined at Artisan while on a wine-tasting trip through the Paso Robles area (June 30, 2016). It was a most pleasant experience. We started with the mousse and fondue for the first course and then had the duck breast for the main. All the dishes were excellent. We brought our own wine ('Passage" from Sextant) that paired perfectly with the duck. Artisan is one of our go-to places in Paso. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot in downtown Paso Robles for f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great spot in downtown Paso Robles for farm inspired food. We went late on a weekday and it was empty, so not the best time if you're looking for a lively vibe. I had an excellent local white blend on tap and the perfectly smoky charred octopus starter. Wood fired margarita pizza was good but not the best I've had. Artwork and ambiance are hip and the service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visit Paso Robles a couple of times o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We visit Paso Robles a couple of times of year and always enjoy Artisan's unique small plates and great service. I would have rated the food a 5 but I got a "big plate" this time and my chicken was overdone. It tasted great and the sides were excellent but the chicken was dry. They took great care to make sure nothing I was allergic to was on my plate and that was greatly appreciated. Husband got the crab cake slider and his quail egg was overdone also. Didn't burst and run deliciousness all over the crab cake. He said it tasted good and his other small plates were wonderful. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We found the food to be interestingly pr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We found the food to be interestingly prepared, as always, but everything from the butter on the table to the main dish was over salted. If we return I will ask to have no salt added. I am not someone who is intolerant but it overwhelmed other flavored.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Such an enjoyable dinner! The two of us ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Such an enjoyable dinner! The two of us shared five very interesting small plates, which were all excellent, incl a pizza. Our server was terrific and spaced our food delivery out perfectly. I enjoyed a wine flight of three local wines, and my husband a local beer. Very enjoyable, a lovely casual spot. We will definitely be back when we're in Paso again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My husband and I recently had dinner at ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

My husband and I recently had dinner at Artisan. We were in Paso Robles to celebrate our wedding anniversary and do some wine tasting. Artisan was recommended to us by a friend and did not disappoint. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. A must try is the roasted asparagus with prosciutto, shaved Parmesan, and a scotch egg. The dining room is simple, attractive, and relaxed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I have been to Artisan at le ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I have been to Artisan at least 4 times in the past when visiting Paso Robles and look forward to dining there again. Artisan moved to a new location which lacked the ambience of the prior location. The food was at best okay and overpriced. $32 for a small plate of chicken is unreasonable. Needless to say we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Apparently our waitress forgot to put ou ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Apparently our waitress forgot to put our order in. We sat and sat and sat waiting while other tables that were seated long after us were served. She never came by to check on us or give us an update. We finally complained and asked what was going on, why hadn't she communicated with us? She replied "you were all talking and laughing, I thought everything was fine".... almost an hour after being seated? Yes, we enjoy each other, we're not going to sit here stewing. She sent the manager over who was smug and condescending and had nothing to offer to make this situation any better. NOT HAPPY, really unfortunate that this ruined our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

Exceptional food, every time, at Artisan ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Exceptional food, every time, at Artisan. Good service, especially for a busy Friday night, but the food is the draw and never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and since our last visit the food quality has declined. We were there on a Friday night so the slightly below average service may have been due to the crowd, but is was still below average. Our waitress was very pleasant, but was overcommitted. I had short ribs (the special that night) and they were dry and ordinary. I cook and know what reheated food tastes like - my reheated leftover short ribs were better than what I was served. My wife's meal was excellent, pork loin with risotto. We will come back, but with lower expectations.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Excellent food and a great way to close ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent food and a great way to close out a day in beautiful Paso Robles.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food a reasonable prices. Everythin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good food a reasonable prices. Everything is ala carte even the bread and butter. It's a little tight and noisy as the evening progressed. The music was classic rock which does not fit the dining experience. Service was a little slow maybe under staffed?

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had a fabulous time. The person taki ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We had a fabulous time. The person taking care of us did a fantastic job. Made sure we had everything we needed. The food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although the restaurant changed at some ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Although the restaurant changed at some point in the last couple of years from being about "haute cuisine" to being more casual, chef Kobayashi continues to be creative and exciting with his flavor combinations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

After waiting 20 minutes for our drinks, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

After waiting 20 minutes for our drinks, we walked out. Waitress even came to take our food order and my husband said he wanted to wait for drinks first. 10 more minutes went by and we decided to walk out. We've been there numerous times and have loved it, but seems something has changed. The staff are not being trained properly (at least this waitress was not). We sat in the bar for the first time and maybe bar staff are not the best. We told another waiter we were leaving and he said "sorry", rather than, the drinks are on us, which is standard procedure in this business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.