Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Artisan

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: (805) 237-8084

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Special Occasion (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Casual (10)
Romantic (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Organic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
2403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wonderful spot for dinner on this lovely town square. Food was delicious and service spectacular. Great menu!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 14, 2017

We had dinner and our choices were outstanding. The ingredients were very fresh and local. The service was responsive and timely. I would avoid the bread. It is not complimentary and it's not worth the cost. The crust was too hard and it wasn't complemented by a softer inside. The bread was tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our waitress immediately forgot about giving us good service as soon as two larger parties arrived and were seated in her section. Our food was served 15 minutes after our friends' food was served, and was outrageously salty. Additionally, despite our displeasure and complaints to the waitress, the manager never came over.

We had a great experience at this restaurant in December, but have since learned that there are new owners. Bad experience, will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Artisan is a must eat at spot. The mushroom toast was so good it keeps me up at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was good. Way too noisy. Took 10 min to get waitstaff to pick up payment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We were seated by Garrett who spent time conversing with us throughout the evening. He was very knowledgeable about the wineries in the area and shared some of his recommendations. We shared several small plates for dinner - the mushroom toast, the meatballs, and the lamb ragu - all nicely presented and very good. Our servers were very friendly and attentive. We had not been back to Artisan for several years and were glad we got back there on this trip to Paso Robles. We'll be back on future visits.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow, the waitress did not check back on us, it took forever to get drinks, coffee was only ok, food was decent but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The food was a bit uneven, but the grilled cauliflower was one of the best things I had to eat in all of Paso Robles. May not be a great restaurant, but he food was solid and the wine list was affordable with lots of local options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had a reservation for dinner but decided to eat earlier. We cancelled our 6:45 and ate at the Happy Hour. We ordered everything on the happy hour menu and loved it all! The Troublemaker red wine at a crazy good price was delish and the ambiance and food couldn't have been more of a treat. We would recommend eating at Artisan for Happy hour or dinner for sure. They made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in. I love this place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We have been to Artisan several times over the years & are always disappointed in the service. This time, our waiter, Martin, was exceptional. However, this was overshadowed by the fact that we waited 15 minutes in the foyer to be acknowledged by anyone. Several waiters & servers looked at us, but nobody asked if we needed assistance. Our guess was that it wasn't their job & this made us feel unwelcome. The menu is sparse & for a restaurant in the middle of the Central Coast wine country, their wine list is miniscule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was traveling with 3 friends, tasting wine and golfing and stopped at Artisan for dinner last Saturday evening.
The food was excellent and the service matched it. The owner (Jennifer), was also in attendance and made sure to drop by and make sure we were happy customers. Our server was brilliant.

All had all three courses and they were sublime. I will be back

Eddie

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had an awesome dinner on Easter night. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved our experience at Artisan. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. We started with an appetizer to share, which included a pate with a vietnamese take to it and grilled baguette. It was excellent. Then my friend had the Burrata Oven Pizza and I had the Wild boar. Both were excellent flavors, presentation was good and there was plenty of food. Decent wine selection, I would have liked to see more choices of wine by the glass. Desert was an amaretto basque cake with a homemade spumoni ice cream which was excellent (and I am not a dessert person, but I could not get enough of that dessert!). Overall a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We've never had a bad meal at Grasings. The ambiance is friendly and warm. The food is pretty straight forward without a lot of "fru-fru" preparation although the presentation is always quite nice. Primarily American fare with a flair. A definite "must" if you're looking to dine in Carmel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We found Artisan after a day winetasting in the Paso area. We ate early so it was very quiet. The staff were very nice and attentive. The risotto with halibut was absolutely perfect. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome food & service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing food and superb service. Have been there before and would go back again.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Christian was a very good waiter! The food was nothing short of amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a very nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Delicious over all.
Octopus , chicken confit, halibit and even skirt steak all cooked to perfection.
Too full for dessert.
Good wine flights 🌞

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

New owner, small menu selection and very small servings. Very disapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My husband and I ate at Artisan for brunch during a weekend getaway. There were many tasty options to choose from- the items we selected were great. Additionally, the service was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great place to eat in Paso Robles, I had the Salmon, which was exceptional. My date had the Steak, she loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Nice place but in a town full of good restaurants it didn't stand out like we expected with the hype. Not a great value for the cost. Spent $160 on a meal that wasn't memorable. Enjoyable yes, but not close to our best meal in Paso Robles.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Visiting the Paso Robles, this was the second night in a row eating at Artisan. Loved it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We always look forward to enjoying a meal here on our way to the coast! Great food, service and cocktails that are unique. Consistently great !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food. Was great. Nice patio dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was first visit to Artisan and will will return again. Three of us divided four small courses and all very good. Mussels were excellent. Even though they were small courses, we walked away amply full.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went there due to the fact that in Paso restaurants can have access to farm fresh or specially farmed meats for them and Artisan delivered in a big way. I tried the soup of the day, mushroom toast, cauliflower and pineapple/chorizo pizza and all items over delivered with attention to detail on flavors, creativity, presentation and amazing taste. I would highly recommend dining at Artisan

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent variety in the menu. Good choice of wine, beer and cocktails. Fresh made bread. Exceptional fondue offering. Vegetables are always perfectly cooked. Meat dishes are cooked to order as they should be. Service is always a pleasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Dinner with friends. Cauliflower starter is sensational and we order it every time we are there. Pizza, meatball plate and mushroom toast were all very good. Service slow for being less than half full at 7PM

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great restaurant with nice selection and very nice ambiance

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

My wife & I enjoyed the food & service at Artisan very much.The food was excellent. & well presented. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our 2nd visit - the first was a year ago. Food is ok though very pricey. I had the fish and found the fish cooked perfectly but without much interest. $35 was a bit high for an ok main. Service, both times I was there, was slow bordering on negligent. Overall ok but I can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

VERY good Lamb broth soup, and excellent green salad.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious, as usual. We were catching up with friends who were visiting from the east coast and we appreciated the server allowing some space for chatting while not ignoring us.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not sure if there was a new chef or not, but the sea bass risotto was not as tasty as in the past...neither were the Brussels sprouts....two of the main reasons we chose Artisan.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very noisy and crowded on Saturday night at 8:30. Food worth it; innovative and complex, with wonderful local wines on tap. Just don't go for intimacy or a quiet talk. Our foursome sat down at 8:35 and had to shout to converse until 9:30 when it mellowed some. The tables are quite close together, also.

Try the cheese fondue with their homemade sausage. Really different, as was the special, rainbow trout tartare. Everything was a Yum.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Artisan. Easy location and parking in Paso Robles. It's naturally a bit noisy, but that adds to the vibe. The restaurant took it's food seriously, while having a relaxed atmosphere. We're a carnivore/vegetarian couple, and found good options for us both. I loved the whole roasted cauliflower with goat cheese and paprika, and the antebellum grits. Husband had the hangar steak with bone marrow jus that he found delicious and perfectly prepared. The service was attentive. This would be a fun place to have a group dinner, with lots of small plates to share. I recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.