About Artisan

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: (805) 237-8084

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Organic (9)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (6)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Tapas (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Vegan (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Historic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our 3rd time. We have recommen ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our 3rd time. We have recommended to others in past, however we would not anymore.

Sat in corner of bar next it window - Extremely noisy - Extreme difficulty reading menu (suggest you TYPE IN BOLD - food was fair

Our first time was A+++ across the board

Our 2nd time was B+

This time was an D-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Food was fantastic! Meatball small plate ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was fantastic! Meatball small plate =❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent menu options and perfect for a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent menu options and perfect for a foodie. Ambience is nice and a great bar is available while you wait or afterwards.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our our ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our our evening at Artisan. The food was great and the service was even better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The ambiance in the dining room is still ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance in the dining room is still an issue--one that could be improved with table lights and table cloths instead of general lighting. Until then, get a table in the bar and enjoy some of the best food in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Awful server/service. Disappointing main ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awful server/service. Disappointing main courses. I made a request while ordering (that my meat be prepared well-done) and the waitress laughed and told me the chef would never do prepare it that way. I said,"that's disappointing. If he refuses, please bring me a pizza." She responded with me," he won't agree to it so I will bring you a pizza." The pizza was one of the most disappointing pizzas I have ever had. Not what one needs to hear, especially when there are so many great restaurant options. I definitely would not recommend Artisan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

We went here while we were in town. We a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went here while we were in town. We arrive two hours early for our reservation on a Friday night and asked to be bumped up. They managed to get us in 45 minutes earlier, which was great. As for the food we had the mushroom toast... delicious. A lot of people got the cauliflower, but we skipped it. I heard that was great, too, from another couple at our BNB. I had the venison and my husband had the sea bass. Both were incredibly excellent. For the special occasion dessert we had sorbet, which was okay. We also ordered apple crisp with the cheddar ice cream which was tasty. The food, definitely impressive and excellent.

The service... meh. Our water wasn't filled promptly. The food itself took about forty minutes to deliver after we ordered, except for the appetizer which came out about 15 later. The waiter was okay but didn't seem very engaged with us. Maybe she was just tired.

Anyway, would go again if we're in the area. Delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our meal was totally delicious. Started ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our meal was totally delicious. Started with mushroom toast. Oh My! ThenI had a small plate - meatballs with gnocchi. Just yummy. My husband had a roast chicken dish with delicious potatoes and mushrooms. We finished with butterscotch pudding which I would put on my list for my final meal!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have eaten at several restaurants in ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have eaten at several restaurants in the Paso Robles area and Artisan is at the top of the list for food and service. The food was delicious and our server was excellent!!!! We highly recommend this restaurant for excellent food in a casual setting. Our server was friendly and very professional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Well I was surprised that there were not ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Well I was surprised that there were not many vegetarian options and almost no vegan options on the menu. Even some salmon would have been nice.

The waitress was very nice but not overly helpful. Not overly friendly either.. I made reservations for my wife, daughter and myself as it was our daughter's birthday and the waitress (or anyone else) never even acknowledged her birthday which I felt was a fail..

Overall the experience was not great. We probably won't go back...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Absolutely great, fresh ingredients. I h ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely great, fresh ingredients. I had roast leg of lamb, locally sourced, accompanied by a savory quinoa. We've stopped here every year on our way down to SoCal. It NEVER disappoints

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Organic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice evening while visiting family ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very nice evening while visiting family in area. We enjoyed good food and good service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place. Food good. I went for brun ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place. Food good. I went for brunch & had the pastrami sandwich. Very good except a bit salty. Service excellent & mimosa was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My third time in Artisan was massively d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My third time in Artisan was massively disappointing. Over the 3 years, the restaurant got considerably worse. The wine selection is weak and the food is bellow par. The first glass was oxidized (open too long). My venison was prepared med. rare, but the barley was undercooked and the reduction sauce was 'old? I became violently sick returning to my hotel room. This was positively my last visit here.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Not many choices for a Sunday menu.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not many choices for a Sunday menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I recommend all the appetizers and veggi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I recommend all the appetizers and veggies plates. This way you can try more instead of one entree.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prior location had much better ambia ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The prior location had much better ambiance. The tables do not have table clothes and should have them -- just brown wood tables . The food is good but not great. Artisan is one of the better restaurants in Paso Robles.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Hanger steak is really good and the dess ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Hanger steak is really good and the dessert chocolate cake was great too. The waitress makes great suggestion and very attentive.

Thank Artisan for a great experience here

Tags: Live Sports, Romantic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was only surpassed by Georgia, our ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was only surpassed by Georgia, our waitress, and Garrett, the co-owner, who stopped by to check on our dining experience.

The venison was scrumptious, cauliflower awesome, meatballs tender and flavorful.

Be sure to make reservations or hope for a table in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks and food are on par or better tha ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Drinks and food are on par or better than the best SF and Vegas restaurants I've visited. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience at ARTI ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great dining experience at ARTISAN! I have been to this restaurant several times and always had a wonderful meal. My friends come out of town to enjoy a meal at the Artisan.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner to bring in the New Year. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dinner to bring in the New Year. Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal for four people was excellent i ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our meal for four people was excellent in most respects: service, quality of the food and ambiance. To charge four dollars for four slices of mediocre bread for four people, however, is just tacky. One expects better from an establishment such as this.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went on the 30th The wait is long and th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went on the 30th The wait is long and the food was varied. Some dishes were well prepared while others seemed to be trying to be something else. We have been here several times in the past and this time they were off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

TERRIFIC food and great service. The bar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

TERRIFIC food and great service. The bartender executed perfectly my husband's favorite cocktail recipe; service was spot-on, they brought us olives and almonds to snack on while waiting for food (both my husband and I are gluten sensitive and cannot have bread). The food was prepared with great attention to detail; the venison and the sea bass were cooked to the exact best degree and the sides complemented them perfectly. The wine list offers only the best and one can't really go wrong.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was quite good, especially the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was quite good, especially the abalone appetizer, but the service was very slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

My wife liked the soup, but her chicken ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife liked the soup, but her chicken dish was overly salty. I ordered the pork entree on our servers recommendation. It was terrible, all fat. She took off the meal off our check. We won't be back. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Anticipating the menu at Artisan is alwa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Anticipating the menu at Artisan is always a surprise. This time, the table next to us had a huge plate of something gorgeous, charred on the edges. Turned out to be the whole roasted cauliflower, which we ordered then devoured. Our guests and us shared the pan-fried abalone with avocado, kale salad, meatballs, mushroom toast (ohhh my) and special rabbit pasta. The restaurant also has wines on tap in 3 sizes for those who have been wine tasting all day and not quite ready to down another bottle. I can't remember what else we had but I would visit Artisan any time I'm in Paso Robles. It's a definite delight!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites in Paso Robles! Al ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of our favorites in Paso Robles! Always great service and menu creativity with fresh ingredients.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel to Paso for the food and wine ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We travel to Paso for the food and wine and we always eat at Artisan. The food is excellent as well as the wine selection. Great service. I can't say enough good things about this place. We love it and we live in LA where we get lots of good food, we are picky and spoiled.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was uninspiring. Sounded a lot bett ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was uninspiring. Sounded a lot better on paper than on the plate. Mediocre at best.

Service was OK but waitstaff seemed flustered at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We waited at the host stand for 5 minute ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We waited at the host stand for 5 minutes before anyone came to greet us. The bartender made eye contact but did not acknowledge our presence or tell us that someone would be there to seat us (and the restaurant was nearly vacant). Bar noise and loud "world" music along with sterile decor disappointed us. Food was okay. We had the braised lamb shoulder and sea bass entrees. The lamb could have been more tender and a steak/meat knife was not offered with it. The meat needed to have more fat trimmed as well. The chickpea & potato medley also included carrots. Those soaked up the jus that accompanied the lamb. Sea bass was a little dry but the skin was crispy. The seafood risotto was not creamy; abalone in the risotto was chewy. Bread was good (for $4) but butter had a layer of salt on top that meant we got a mouthful of salt in some bites. Affordable list of local wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Always a winner for us. We visit this re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a winner for us. We visit this restaurant yearly when we're in the area and it never disappoints. Shared a fabulous abalone appetizer, a slow braised pork, and brussels sprouts. The sprouts were a bit too crunchy for us but the kitchen fixed that. Pumpkin cake with gingerbread gelato was superb. It was a quiet week night and we dined early. Service could not have been better-- friendly server, very knowledgeable. Impressive wine list-- enjoyed an Aaron Trespasser that cost less than what we paid for it at the winery. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wasn't impressed. While our waite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really wasn't impressed. While our waiter was good, you could see people all around struggling with the service. The couple next to us tried to get bread with their soup.... Never came. The couple once other side couldn't get their check. I found the food to be overpriced for the taste and quality. The menu did contain some interesting choices however.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very disappointed. We took friends, the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very disappointed. We took friends, their first time to Artisan. The food was fair tasting, but served luke warm at best. We have been to Artisan a number of times and have considered it one of our favorite places in Paso. It will be awhile before we try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Paso Robles has so many fantastic restau ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Paso Robles has so many fantastic restaurants but when passing thru town driving to LA we often eat at The Artisan. Excellent the 3 times we have been here. Their designer pizzas are fantastic best kale salad anywhere and meat dishes are well prepared. Probably going to stop by again on our way home!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food - prepared perfectly. Our wa ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food - prepared perfectly. Our waitress was hard to find most of the time and we were the only ones in the dining room. The bus person was who we had to flag down for any refills, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful food and wine. Ravioli was in ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful food and wine. Ravioli was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Artisan is a new experience in Pasa Robl ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Artisan is a new experience in Pasa Robles, CA. It was my 2nd choice, the 1st choice being closed on Sundays. A pleasant second choice that turned into a great food experience. Our waiter, "Cody", is a well informed professional who steers one to a great selection and finally to a great meal in the overall. Prices are reasonable for such fine food served in a beautiful presentation. The chef is incredible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, , Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to the old location many year ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I had been to the old location many year ago and always wanted to try the new Artisan. Well we were not disappointed. Went into the bar for a cocktail before dinner and decided to eat there. After delicious cocktails we were ready for some food and wine. Lucky for us they had a flight of 3 reds and we found a wine we had never had before which became our favorite of the evening (found the tasting room the following day and joined their club). The bartender suggested the Mushroom Toast to start with and it was delicious! Big and rich enough to share. From there we had the sweet potato w/duck confit , roasted cauliflower w/goat cheese and ended with the mussels. Everything was so good and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.