Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Artisan

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: (805) 237-8084

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Casual (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Fun (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Tapas (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Organic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
2417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
·Dined 4 days ago

This place was recommended to us. The chicken was the most expensive item on the menu and the waiter said it was amazing. When it came out it was so small barely any meat on it. It looked like a small thigh. The waiter said it was a special cut breast. The biggest waster of money. 2 meals only water was $80. Total rip off. Never. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
·Dined 7 days ago

We have had many excellent meals at Artisan, but our last two have been disappointing. The brunch menu in November was weird and unappealing. This Thursday 8/10 the oysters were somewhat too briny, and the avocado soup was tasteless. (The server didn't charge us for it.) The meatballs were very good and the butterscotch pudding excellent.

Our dishes were brought not in the order we requested. My wine flight went to the wrong table and didn't come back. After our server realized what had happened, she spent a very long time (until after my main dish was served) before bringing a replacement, spending quite a while chatting with other tables.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Been coming here since they opened the doors and it's always been incredible. New chef this time and it still was incredible. Menu was slimmed down a bit but everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had an 8:15 reservation, seated at 8:30 and had our drink order taken at 9:15. Th flavor of the food was good, but my wife's hanger steak was served cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was out of sight good. Service extremely slow. But we will be back, it might have just been an aberration.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had a completely unacceptable visit to Artisan that ended with the server bringing us the wrong dish after which we left. Any one of the problems might have been acceptable by themselves (the hostess who never returned after going to check on our table, the 10 minute wait for someone to take our drink order, the lame table, the interminable wait for the entrees, the entrée that got burnt) but the combination was more than we could bear. The only good thing about our visit was that we ended up having a fantastic dinner across the street that we never would have had otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Artisan used to be much better before they relocated. We heard there had been a change in ownership since the last time we came and the source actually recommended other places to go but we decided to keep our reservation. The atmosphere is colder and there seemed to be fewer choices on the menu. It was very quiet the night we went because of the fair they said. We were there to celebrate a birthday. Service was ok, a bit slow considering there was only one other table in the whole place at 8pm.

We had the mushroom toast and that was good, for some reason the chef sent out an extra poached egg because they didn't think the first on was runny enough, so that was nice.

DO NOT order the Foie Gras though, it's not listed on Open Table but it is not worth half of the $19 they charge for a tiny piece that's MAYBE the size of a 50 cent piece and less that 1/4 Inch thick, not enough for the brioche toast they give with it and the garnish was "pickled" rhubarb, which was terrible, and some wilted, dry arugula.

We had Hanger steaks for dinner, which were very good and a side of grilled asparagus.

We brought a cake for a birthday and they warned us of the cake cutting fee if we wanted them to plate in but since there were only 4 of us we decided to do it ourselves.

Not sure we'll go back, we were disappointed especially since we brought people who had never been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

We were disappointed in our hangar steak which was cooked (?) way too rare - twice!! We like to share an app and an entree so shared the abalone which was good, but they brought our medium rare steak absolutely raw in the middle. It was already cut in slices and we could only eat one end piece. We sent it back, thinking they would maybe cook a new piece for us, but it was the original piece and yet it was served again still blood rare. My husband got pretty mad - I couldn't eat it but he was very hungry, so ate it. They took off the charge for my glass of wine, which was nice but didn't quite make up for my birthday dinner, which I had researched quite a bit with hopes of enjoying the best restaurant in Paso. I would try again, but would not yet recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

Wonderful staff and the food will knock your socks off. Fresh and flavorful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food and service. Wine flight was very good,. A bit pricey.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on June 27, 2017

Since our last visit a year ago, the prices have gone up and the quality has gone down - which is too bad, since the concept is still attractive and refreshingly innovative. The "torchon" of foie gras measures in milligrams, costs $19 and, aside from some leaves of arugula, is devoid of any enhancing condiments. Also, the restaurant's baker needs to be quality-checked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on June 25, 2017

I am so confused about the hype here - we saved our best meal on our trip to Paso Robles for what we thought would be the best restaurant, but it was really nothing to talk of. It's nothing personal against anyone at the restaurant and I know every place is someone's labour of love so it breaks my heart to say it but honestly this was the least memorable meal I've eaten in so long. There was nothing wrong with anything but it was just so ordinary and lacklustre. Disappointed that we wasted our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on June 18, 2017

We made reservations for Fathers Day dinner. We sat outside because we had our dog and we though the outside area is narrow it did work for us. The food was good; we started with the garden greens which was tasted fresh and it was good. My husband had the hangar steak and I had the slow smoked pork. B oath entrées were very well prepared and tasty as well. The win selection is good and you don't pay over the top prices so I do appreciate that.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was my second trip to Paso and second visit to Artisan. After enjoying the free summer concert in the city park across the square, we arrived early for our reservation and were seated right away. Four of us sat at a table in the bar area and our server was great, very knowledgeable about the wines offered and with overall tips about Paso wineries to visit. Food and wine were great. As always. Artisan is a favorite with a nice vibe, good wine selection, and yummy food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful spot for dinner on this lovely town square. Food was delicious and service spectacular. Great menu!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had dinner and our choices were outstanding. The ingredients were very fresh and local. The service was responsive and timely. I would avoid the bread. It is not complimentary and it's not worth the cost. The crust was too hard and it wasn't complemented by a softer inside. The bread was tasteless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our waitress immediately forgot about giving us good service as soon as two larger parties arrived and were seated in her section. Our food was served 15 minutes after our friends' food was served, and was outrageously salty. Additionally, despite our displeasure and complaints to the waitress, the manager never came over.

We had a great experience at this restaurant in December, but have since learned that there are new owners. Bad experience, will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on June 9, 2017

Artisan is a must eat at spot. The mushroom toast was so good it keeps me up at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was good. Way too noisy. Took 10 min to get waitstaff to pick up payment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on May 18, 2017

We were seated by Garrett who spent time conversing with us throughout the evening. He was very knowledgeable about the wineries in the area and shared some of his recommendations. We shared several small plates for dinner - the mushroom toast, the meatballs, and the lamb ragu - all nicely presented and very good. Our servers were very friendly and attentive. We had not been back to Artisan for several years and were glad we got back there on this trip to Paso Robles. We'll be back on future visits.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was slow, the waitress did not check back on us, it took forever to get drinks, coffee was only ok, food was decent but not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was a bit uneven, but the grilled cauliflower was one of the best things I had to eat in all of Paso Robles. May not be a great restaurant, but he food was solid and the wine list was affordable with lots of local options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a reservation for dinner but decided to eat earlier. We cancelled our 6:45 and ate at the Happy Hour. We ordered everything on the happy hour menu and loved it all! The Troublemaker red wine at a crazy good price was delish and the ambiance and food couldn't have been more of a treat. We would recommend eating at Artisan for Happy hour or dinner for sure. They made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in. I love this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 30, 2017

We have been to Artisan several times over the years & are always disappointed in the service. This time, our waiter, Martin, was exceptional. However, this was overshadowed by the fact that we waited 15 minutes in the foyer to be acknowledged by anyone. Several waiters & servers looked at us, but nobody asked if we needed assistance. Our guess was that it wasn't their job & this made us feel unwelcome. The menu is sparse & for a restaurant in the middle of the Central Coast wine country, their wine list is miniscule.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was traveling with 3 friends, tasting wine and golfing and stopped at Artisan for dinner last Saturday evening.
The food was excellent and the service matched it. The owner (Jennifer), was also in attendance and made sure to drop by and make sure we were happy customers. Our server was brilliant.

All had all three courses and they were sublime. I will be back

Eddie

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had an awesome dinner on Easter night. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved our experience at Artisan. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. We started with an appetizer to share, which included a pate with a vietnamese take to it and grilled baguette. It was excellent. Then my friend had the Burrata Oven Pizza and I had the Wild boar. Both were excellent flavors, presentation was good and there was plenty of food. Decent wine selection, I would have liked to see more choices of wine by the glass. Desert was an amaretto basque cake with a homemade spumoni ice cream which was excellent (and I am not a dessert person, but I could not get enough of that dessert!). Overall a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

We've never had a bad meal at Grasings. The ambiance is friendly and warm. The food is pretty straight forward without a lot of "fru-fru" preparation although the presentation is always quite nice. Primarily American fare with a flair. A definite "must" if you're looking to dine in Carmel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on April 14, 2017

We found Artisan after a day winetasting in the Paso area. We ate early so it was very quiet. The staff were very nice and attentive. The risotto with halibut was absolutely perfect. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
·Dined on April 13, 2017

Awesome food & service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food and superb service. Have been there before and would go back again.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on April 7, 2017

Christian was a very good waiter! The food was nothing short of amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a very nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 5, 2017

Delicious over all.
Octopus , chicken confit, halibit and even skirt steak all cooked to perfection.
Too full for dessert.
Good wine flights 🌞

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 3, 2017

New owner, small menu selection and very small servings. Very disapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
·Dined on April 2, 2017

My husband and I ate at Artisan for brunch during a weekend getaway. There were many tasty options to choose from- the items we selected were great. Additionally, the service was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great place to eat in Paso Robles, I had the Salmon, which was exceptional. My date had the Steak, she loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on April 1, 2017

Nice place but in a town full of good restaurants it didn't stand out like we expected with the hype. Not a great value for the cost. Spent $160 on a meal that wasn't memorable. Enjoyable yes, but not close to our best meal in Paso Robles.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
·Dined on March 30, 2017

Visiting the Paso Robles, this was the second night in a row eating at Artisan. Loved it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.