About Artisan

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: (805) 237-8084

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pastrami Sandwich - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Yellowtail Taco - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
burger and fries - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Crispy Shrimp Flatbread Sandwich - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Shoe String Fries - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Rabbit Liver Pate - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Leg Of Lamb Dip - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Artisan Cheese Plate - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Shrimp Chilaquiles  - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
"B.R.T." Martini - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Queen Mary - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
RED FLIGHT - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
White Wine Flight - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
First Date - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Allagash White - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Cavatelli Bolognese Special - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Charcuterie plate - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Poached Shrimp Blat - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Chopped Caesar With White Anchovy - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
P,B,L Meatballs With Ricotta Gnocchi - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
crab cake - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Rhone Flight - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Salmon Tartar - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Abalone Tostada, Avacado, Pork Belly Carnitas - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Scallops - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Grass-Fed Hanger Steak And Fries - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Spring Root Vegetables - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Rabbit Paella - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Meatballs - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Pork Smothered Strip Loin - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Hanger Steak - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Meatballs & Gnocchi - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Lobster Sliders With Scrambled Eggs, Spinach, Topped With Hollandaise Sauce - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Wild Boar - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Bacon Tater Tots - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Onion Rings - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Cheddar & Stout Fondue - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Goat Cheese Fondue - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Smoked Gouda And Porter Fondue - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Reuben Sandwich - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
shrimp appetizer - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Burata And Proscuitto With Alnonds - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Garden Tomato And Burrata Sandwich - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Fruits De Mer - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Yellow Tail - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Cherry French Toast - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Rockshrimp Salad - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Lamb Shank - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Chopped Salad - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Steak - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Pan-Roasted King Salmon - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Applecrumble - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
French Toast - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Iceburg Salad - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA
Eggplant - Artisan, Paso Robles, CA

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (28)
Local Ingredients (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Casual (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Seasonal (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Organic (10)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fun (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Healthy (6)
Tapas (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not many choices for a Sunday menu.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not many choices for a Sunday menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

I recommend all the appetizers and veggi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I recommend all the appetizers and veggies plates. This way you can try more instead of one entree.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prior location had much better ambia ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The prior location had much better ambiance. The tables do not have table clothes and should have them -- just brown wood tables . The food is good but not great. Artisan is one of the better restaurants in Paso Robles.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Hanger steak is really good and the dess ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Hanger steak is really good and the dessert chocolate cake was great too. The waitress makes great suggestion and very attentive.

Thank Artisan for a great experience here

Tags: Live Sports, Romantic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was only surpassed by Georgia, our ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was only surpassed by Georgia, our waitress, and Garrett, the co-owner, who stopped by to check on our dining experience.

The venison was scrumptious, cauliflower awesome, meatballs tender and flavorful.

Be sure to make reservations or hope for a table in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks and food are on par or better tha ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Drinks and food are on par or better than the best SF and Vegas restaurants I've visited. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience at ARTI ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great dining experience at ARTISAN! I have been to this restaurant several times and always had a wonderful meal. My friends come out of town to enjoy a meal at the Artisan.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great dinner to bring in the New Year. ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great dinner to bring in the New Year. Always a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meal for four people was excellent i ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our meal for four people was excellent in most respects: service, quality of the food and ambiance. To charge four dollars for four slices of mediocre bread for four people, however, is just tacky. One expects better from an establishment such as this.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Went on the 30th The wait is long and th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went on the 30th The wait is long and the food was varied. Some dishes were well prepared while others seemed to be trying to be something else. We have been here several times in the past and this time they were off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

TERRIFIC food and great service. The bar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

TERRIFIC food and great service. The bartender executed perfectly my husband's favorite cocktail recipe; service was spot-on, they brought us olives and almonds to snack on while waiting for food (both my husband and I are gluten sensitive and cannot have bread). The food was prepared with great attention to detail; the venison and the sea bass were cooked to the exact best degree and the sides complemented them perfectly. The wine list offers only the best and one can't really go wrong.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was quite good, especially the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was quite good, especially the abalone appetizer, but the service was very slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

My wife liked the soup, but her chicken ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My wife liked the soup, but her chicken dish was overly salty. I ordered the pork entree on our servers recommendation. It was terrible, all fat. She took off the meal off our check. We won't be back. We were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Anticipating the menu at Artisan is alwa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Anticipating the menu at Artisan is always a surprise. This time, the table next to us had a huge plate of something gorgeous, charred on the edges. Turned out to be the whole roasted cauliflower, which we ordered then devoured. Our guests and us shared the pan-fried abalone with avocado, kale salad, meatballs, mushroom toast (ohhh my) and special rabbit pasta. The restaurant also has wines on tap in 3 sizes for those who have been wine tasting all day and not quite ready to down another bottle. I can't remember what else we had but I would visit Artisan any time I'm in Paso Robles. It's a definite delight!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites in Paso Robles! Al ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

One of our favorites in Paso Robles! Always great service and menu creativity with fresh ingredients.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel to Paso for the food and wine ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We travel to Paso for the food and wine and we always eat at Artisan. The food is excellent as well as the wine selection. Great service. I can't say enough good things about this place. We love it and we live in LA where we get lots of good food, we are picky and spoiled.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was uninspiring. Sounded a lot bett ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Food was uninspiring. Sounded a lot better on paper than on the plate. Mediocre at best.

Service was OK but waitstaff seemed flustered at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We waited at the host stand for 5 minute ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We waited at the host stand for 5 minutes before anyone came to greet us. The bartender made eye contact but did not acknowledge our presence or tell us that someone would be there to seat us (and the restaurant was nearly vacant). Bar noise and loud "world" music along with sterile decor disappointed us. Food was okay. We had the braised lamb shoulder and sea bass entrees. The lamb could have been more tender and a steak/meat knife was not offered with it. The meat needed to have more fat trimmed as well. The chickpea & potato medley also included carrots. Those soaked up the jus that accompanied the lamb. Sea bass was a little dry but the skin was crispy. The seafood risotto was not creamy; abalone in the risotto was chewy. Bread was good (for $4) but butter had a layer of salt on top that meant we got a mouthful of salt in some bites. Affordable list of local wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Always a winner for us. We visit this re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Always a winner for us. We visit this restaurant yearly when we're in the area and it never disappoints. Shared a fabulous abalone appetizer, a slow braised pork, and brussels sprouts. The sprouts were a bit too crunchy for us but the kitchen fixed that. Pumpkin cake with gingerbread gelato was superb. It was a quiet week night and we dined early. Service could not have been better-- friendly server, very knowledgeable. Impressive wine list-- enjoyed an Aaron Trespasser that cost less than what we paid for it at the winery. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really wasn't impressed. While our waite ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Really wasn't impressed. While our waiter was good, you could see people all around struggling with the service. The couple next to us tried to get bread with their soup.... Never came. The couple once other side couldn't get their check. I found the food to be overpriced for the taste and quality. The menu did contain some interesting choices however.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very disappointed. We took friends, the ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very disappointed. We took friends, their first time to Artisan. The food was fair tasting, but served luke warm at best. We have been to Artisan a number of times and have considered it one of our favorite places in Paso. It will be awhile before we try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Paso Robles has so many fantastic restau ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Paso Robles has so many fantastic restaurants but when passing thru town driving to LA we often eat at The Artisan. Excellent the 3 times we have been here. Their designer pizzas are fantastic best kale salad anywhere and meat dishes are well prepared. Probably going to stop by again on our way home!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food - prepared perfectly. Our wa ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great food - prepared perfectly. Our waitress was hard to find most of the time and we were the only ones in the dining room. The bus person was who we had to flag down for any refills, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful food and wine. Ravioli was in ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful food and wine. Ravioli was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Artisan is a new experience in Pasa Robl ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Artisan is a new experience in Pasa Robles, CA. It was my 2nd choice, the 1st choice being closed on Sundays. A pleasant second choice that turned into a great food experience. Our waiter, "Cody", is a well informed professional who steers one to a great selection and finally to a great meal in the overall. Prices are reasonable for such fine food served in a beautiful presentation. The chef is incredible.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, , Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to the old location many year ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I had been to the old location many year ago and always wanted to try the new Artisan. Well we were not disappointed. Went into the bar for a cocktail before dinner and decided to eat there. After delicious cocktails we were ready for some food and wine. Lucky for us they had a flight of 3 reds and we found a wine we had never had before which became our favorite of the evening (found the tasting room the following day and joined their club). The bartender suggested the Mushroom Toast to start with and it was delicious! Big and rich enough to share. From there we had the sweet potato w/duck confit , roasted cauliflower w/goat cheese and ended with the mussels. Everything was so good and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I would go back to Artisan because the f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I would go back to Artisan because the food was outstanding! I would hesitate going back to Artisan because the hostess set an edgy tone right from the beginning. I had made reservations weeks before because we were coming from out of town so wanted to make sure we were set for dinner. When we arrived a few minutes early the restaurant was not crowded and there were lots of nice choices for seating. The hostess walked us waaaaay to the very last booth in a kind of darkish and chilly corner. I kind of felt like I did something bad! After sitting there for quite a few minutes we all looked at each other and said hey we are freezing so I went to the front and in a very nice way asked if we could switch tables. There were lots of choices...the hostess moved us to the booth next to our other one which was fine but her attitude was not gracious. If I were a hostess and 4 senior citizens came in who had made reservations weeks earlier I would probably do a heads up and seat them in one of the more pleasant spaces right away.

Fortunately the food was fabulous and our server was very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Cozy ambiance and excellent service. Sea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Cozy ambiance and excellent service. Seasonal and modern comfort food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pizza crust pretty looking but like whit ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Pizza crust pretty looking but like white bread in texture (no chew), toppings were great. Venison great and the vegetarian special (mushroom Wellington) was interesting and satisfying. Wines list to include by the glass were was diverse and tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed their small outdoor patio. Me ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We enjoyed their small outdoor patio. Menu offered very nice choices. We picked the Venison because it is not often on menus in the USA. It was perfectly prepared and delicious. Service was very slow, but that may be because they were very busy that evening. We will happily dine here next time in Paso Robles.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is inventive and the foo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This restaurant is inventive and the food is always very good. We enjoyed the foie gras torchon, grilled octopus, venison, and bison on this visit. The house wine on tap is delicious, and the desserts are inventive and always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter was very friendly and knowled ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Our waiter was very friendly and knowledgable. The food was delicious. We had the Beewench chicken, whole roasted cauliflower and brussels sprouts. Delicious. We'd definitely come back.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not a fancy place but really great food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Not a fancy place but really great food and service. Not cheap but well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We wish we could give Artisan a great re ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We wish we could give Artisan a great review--it used to be our absolute favorite restaurant in Paso, but we do feel it has slipped a lot. We were in on our last trip a couple of months ago, and wondered if we were imagining that it had slipped. But this past week, we dined again and couldn't ignore the problems. Our waitress insistently pushed a more expensive wine than we wanted, and when we resisted, we later found ourselves charged for it anyway. We waited ONE HOUR on a quiet Sunday evening, for our food. When it finally came, my steak was cold and way underdone. The food actually was tasty, but we were starving and annoyed by the problems, which pretty much ruined things. The waitress offered to comp our BREAD. (Bread?) After we expressed our dismay about the entree and waiting one hour, she said she would comp the steak. I felt bad about the comp since I did eat the steak, so she went ahead an un-comped it. Artisan hasn't been the same since it moved to its larger quarters and, strangely, the wait staff somehow changed for the worse when it did. They used to be so caring and attentive. Now not so much. If you are looking for great food and service, head to Il Cortile. Those people really know how to hire and train wait staff, and the food there is memorable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The menu was unimaginative, kind of your ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The menu was unimaginative, kind of your basic meat and potatoes kind of fair. Although they claim to source their food locally, there was almost no credit given to any farms on the menu. The recorded music added nothing to the ambiance but noise, and the lighting was erratic (very bright at some tables, but most patrons at other tables had their smart phone flashlights out to read the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The menu is really different- and not in ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The menu is really different- and not in a good way. Was hard to find something to order! Friends selected a salad that came out wilted and bland. Also had a pizza but it was really bad. I ordered their burger that came out too rare and totally unseasoned. Not good at all. The place was practically empty so you'd think the kitchen would have had plenty of time to focus on our plates but that wasn't the case! Won't return to this place again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

We travel to Paso a couple of times a ye ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We travel to Paso a couple of times a year and make it a point to dine here each trip. The meal this time was the best ever! We always have the wine flights with our meals as it helps us find new wineries to visit. Found a great one again this trip. We'll be back...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was the delicious. The waiter w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The food was the delicious. The waiter was courteous and helpful. Excellent service and a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, , Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table reservation but ended up ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We had a table reservation but ended up sitting at the bar for a drink when we arrived early. There was a good football game on and the bartenders (Donny and Bill, I believe) were very friendly and fun, so we stayed to have dinner in the bar. We were glad that we did. The food was great (wood fired pizzas and cheddar grits were amazing), the service was awesome and it was my favorite meal out of three days in Paso Robles. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Artisan is worse than last year. The tro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Artisan is worse than last year. The trouble started when it took ten minutes for our server to greet us and take our drink order. Then the drinks came, including a different drink than we ordered! While that was quickly addressed (the only bright spot of service), other flaws remained: our cauliflower sat under the lights for ten minutes while the rest of the food was still be cooked. (And the cauliflower was supposed to be roasted, but was instead blanched and then broiled--far from roasted!) We never received a second serving of bread. The portions were smaller.

At the end of the evening, I was surprised to see they charged for bread ($4), the first time in five years we've been charged for bread! The explanation? They started charging last winter because they were throwing some out. I guess I am glad they forgot about the second order of bread! And $5 for a grapefruit juice seems steep to me.

I spoke with the manager, who took off the bread and grapefruit juice--and who profusely apologized for the poor service. He said the restaurant was not up to their standards that night. It was not up to ours, either. And he asked us to come back. But with so many great restaurants in Paso Robles, for the first time in five years, it looks like I will be visiting elsewhere next year for my annual visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.