Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Artisan

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: (805) 237-8084

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
See All
Local Ingredients (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Casual (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Business Meals (10)
Organic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Seasonal (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tapas (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vegan (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
2368 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great restaurant with nice selection and very nice ambiance

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our 2nd visit - the first was a year ago. Food is ok though very pricey. I had the fish and found the fish cooked perfectly but without much interest. $35 was a bit high for an ok main. Service, both times I was there, was slow bordering on negligent. Overall ok but I can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

VERY good Lamb broth soup, and excellent green salad.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious, as usual. We were catching up with friends who were visiting from the east coast and we appreciated the server allowing some space for chatting while not ignoring us.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not sure if there was a new chef or not, but the sea bass risotto was not as tasty as in the past...neither were the Brussels sprouts....two of the main reasons we chose Artisan.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very noisy and crowded on Saturday night at 8:30. Food worth it; innovative and complex, with wonderful local wines on tap. Just don't go for intimacy or a quiet talk. Our foursome sat down at 8:35 and had to shout to converse until 9:30 when it mellowed some. The tables are quite close together, also.

Try the cheese fondue with their homemade sausage. Really different, as was the special, rainbow trout tartare. Everything was a Yum.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Artisan. Easy location and parking in Paso Robles. It's naturally a bit noisy, but that adds to the vibe. The restaurant took it's food seriously, while having a relaxed atmosphere. We're a carnivore/vegetarian couple, and found good options for us both. I loved the whole roasted cauliflower with goat cheese and paprika, and the antebellum grits. Husband had the hangar steak with bone marrow jus that he found delicious and perfectly prepared. The service was attentive. This would be a fun place to have a group dinner, with lots of small plates to share. I recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had been to Artisan a few years ago in their old location and loved it. This time, we were quite disappointed. The food (at $42 per entree) was nothing great, and the service was spotty. We will try something different next time we are in Paso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Hated the $4.00 charge for bread! Only came with a little EVOO for the 4.00 charge. Not even tapenade or some special accompaniment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner there very much.....will certainly be returning!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We have now given Artisan's multiple chances to redeem themselves, and so we are done! We will not be returning. Too many great places to eat in Paso Robles. Service was very bad and food was forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This is a restaurant where a Chef's pride comes through loud and clear. We were staying in the area for two nights and after reading the menu, we were intrigued. After our first visit we were proven right...we returned for more the second night and wish we could have been back again to sample more dishes. Loved the charcuterie selection and the homemade bread, the pizzas we enjoyed the first night, the wild mushroom toast on wonderful brioche bread with the perfectly poached egg on top, the ravioli - delicate little pillows resting on the most delicious lamb ragù and poppini mushrooms. I cannot end this review without mentioning the outstanding and friendly service. This is a restaurant that pleases all your senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Have been to this restaurant multiple times and never disappoints. The mushroom toast is always a must and the pizzas are to die for! Our hostess, Georgia, was amazing. The only recommendation I would make is to spread the two top tables apart a little more. You kinda feel like you are having dinner with the people next to you. The ones next to us were actually awesome, but if you are looking for privacy, I suggest requesting a booth. Love the bar too! Well done.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Seated promptly, friendly and professional wait staff.
Easy to share plates. Delicious food.
Octopus appetizer great. Fish with risotto, lamb shank umm good
Do not miss the butterscotch,sea salt pudding desert. We returned the second night just for desert, because the next night restaurant's deserts sounded boring.
If in Paso, try this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was very good & innovative. The ambience is pleasing. Worth a visit.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We travel to Paso Robles from Southern California a couple time each year. We always reserve a night for a fabulous meal at Artisan. Staff is always friendly and attentive, The food is very creative and perfectly cooked. Hope to see you again soon, Craig and Denise

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was not as good as it used to be. New owner seemed to be very involved and trying to make everyone happy to be there - but the food was subpar really. Colder than appropriate when served, SO not worth it. All entrees were over $32, and none were remotely worth it. Service was GREAT - but that doesn't help. Too bad - they've got such a great bar and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our 3rd time. We have recommended to others in past, however we would not anymore.

Sat in corner of bar next it window - Extremely noisy - Extreme difficulty reading menu (suggest you TYPE IN BOLD - food was fair

Our first time was A+++ across the board
Our 2nd time was B+
This time was an D-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was fantastic! Meatball small plate =❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent menu options and perfect for a foodie. Ambience is nice and a great bar is available while you wait or afterwards.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My wife and I had dinner for Valentine's and we had a good experience. Very good food, I just wish the portions were larger.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service stood out the most - helpful, but not pushy. Enthusiastic, but not annoying. Friendly, but not fake. The food was delicious and unique without being intimidating. Everything arrived with a comfortable pace and nothing felt "phoned in" or careless. Went back two days later, after our initial three-course dinner, for happy hour. The bar staff was just as warm and attentive. A+

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our our evening at Artisan. The food was great and the service was even better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The ambiance in the dining room is still an issue--one that could be improved with table lights and table cloths instead of general lighting. Until then, get a table in the bar and enjoy some of the best food in town.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awful server/service. Disappointing main courses. I made a request while ordering (that my meat be prepared well-done) and the waitress laughed and told me the chef would never do prepare it that way. I said,"that's disappointing. If he refuses, please bring me a pizza." She responded with me," he won't agree to it so I will bring you a pizza." The pizza was one of the most disappointing pizzas I have ever had. Not what one needs to hear, especially when there are so many great restaurant options. I definitely would not recommend Artisan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went here while we were in town. We arrive two hours early for our reservation on a Friday night and asked to be bumped up. They managed to get us in 45 minutes earlier, which was great. As for the food we had the mushroom toast... delicious. A lot of people got the cauliflower, but we skipped it. I heard that was great, too, from another couple at our BNB. I had the venison and my husband had the sea bass. Both were incredibly excellent. For the special occasion dessert we had sorbet, which was okay. We also ordered apple crisp with the cheddar ice cream which was tasty. The food, definitely impressive and excellent.

The service... meh. Our water wasn't filled promptly. The food itself took about forty minutes to deliver after we ordered, except for the appetizer which came out about 15 later. The waiter was okay but didn't seem very engaged with us. Maybe she was just tired.

Anyway, would go again if we're in the area. Delicious!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our meal was totally delicious. Started with mushroom toast. Oh My! ThenI had a small plate - meatballs with gnocchi. Just yummy. My husband had a roast chicken dish with delicious potatoes and mushrooms. We finished with butterscotch pudding which I would put on my list for my final meal!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have eaten at several restaurants in the Paso Robles area and Artisan is at the top of the list for food and service. The food was delicious and our server was excellent!!!! We highly recommend this restaurant for excellent food in a casual setting. Our server was friendly and very professional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Well I was surprised that there were not many vegetarian options and almost no vegan options on the menu. Even some salmon would have been nice.

The waitress was very nice but not overly helpful. Not overly friendly either.. I made reservations for my wife, daughter and myself as it was our daughter's birthday and the waitress (or anyone else) never even acknowledged her birthday which I felt was a fail..

Overall the experience was not great. We probably won't go back...

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Absolutely great, fresh ingredients. I had roast leg of lamb, locally sourced, accompanied by a savory quinoa. We've stopped here every year on our way down to SoCal. It NEVER disappoints

Tags: Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Organic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Very nice evening while visiting family in area. We enjoyed good food and good service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place. Food good. I went for brunch & had the pastrami sandwich. Very good except a bit salty. Service excellent & mimosa was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My third time in Artisan was massively disappointing. Over the 3 years, the restaurant got considerably worse. The wine selection is weak and the food is bellow par. The first glass was oxidized (open too long). My venison was prepared med. rare, but the barley was undercooked and the reduction sauce was 'old? I became violently sick returning to my hotel room. This was positively my last visit here.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not many choices for a Sunday menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I recommend all the appetizers and veggies plates. This way you can try more instead of one entree.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The prior location had much better ambiance. The tables do not have table clothes and should have them -- just brown wood tables . The food is good but not great. Artisan is one of the better restaurants in Paso Robles.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Hanger steak is really good and the dessert chocolate cake was great too. The waitress makes great suggestion and very attentive.
Thank Artisan for a great experience here

Tags: Live Sports, Romantic, Organic, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was only surpassed by Georgia, our waitress, and Garrett, the co-owner, who stopped by to check on our dining experience.

The venison was scrumptious, cauliflower awesome, meatballs tender and flavorful.

Be sure to make reservations or hope for a table in the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Drinks and food are on par or better than the best SF and Vegas restaurants I've visited. Awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always a great dining experience at ARTISAN! I have been to this restaurant several times and always had a wonderful meal. My friends come out of town to enjoy a meal at the Artisan.

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.