Permanently Closed - Artisan

3.9
2530 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Local Ingredients
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Kyle Baca finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Baca's insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sun 10:00 am–2:30 pm
Lunch
Mon–Sat 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Afternoon Menu
Daily 4:30 pm–5:30 pm
Dinner
Mon–Thu, Sun 5:30 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(805) 237-8084
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kyle Baca
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
12th and Pine
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2530 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on recent ratings
3.9
food
3.8
service
3.8
ambience
3.5
value
Noise · Moderate
72% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on June 10, 2018

This is a review of Open Table as we were not informed that Artisan eas permanently closed prior to our arrival. We bookef several weeks ago. This was a huge inconvenience.
This is not the first time we have booked through open table and arrived at the restaurant only to find it was closed. This happened on new years eve a few years ago. Ruined our evening both times

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 3, 2018

we booked reservation on open table but found out day of our reservation that the restaurant had closed!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 21, 2018

I can't give you a review because restaurant closed 2 months ago & will not reopen. THey never let us know & neither did open table. We showed up there & doors were closed even after getting Open Table reminder of reservation. Improve your verification of restaurants on your list. Their website doesn't show closed either, A neighboring restaurant told us. We were forced to make other plans.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We heard after going that they'll be closing soon and it doesn't surprise us. The service was slow and spotty, the menu extremely limited and for the most part uninspired. One dish was excellent and one was inedible. Even if they don't close, we certainly wouldn't return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This used to be one of the top restaurants on the California Central Coast. However, their service and food have faltered of late. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The restaurant was nice, but they had a significantly limited menu due to their planned closure on May 19 (which we didn’t know until we showed up - even though reservations were made Weeks in advance. )

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Food was delicious! Sad they are closing soon - and that may be why it was so eerily empty on a Thursday night when all the surrounding restaurants were bustling. Servers were really nice, but quite sparse - however, few were needed with so few patrons. No more beers on tap which was a bummer. Really tasty beet salad - was our favorite dish that we ordered. Also had the Brussels sprouts SLO pork. I have not heard if they plan to reopen - I hope so as we would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Although we had reservations we had to wait 20 minutes. The menu only had four entres..

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had heard good things about this place but were so disappointed! And then we heard the next day that they were closing at month’s end - not surprising!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

This restaurant used to be amazing - a true pioneer in the area and a dining experience in the wine country. Now it is just ho-hum. Another place to get a margarita pizza and some brussel sprouts. The food is fine, service is good, cocktails ok but there are better places to spend your time and money. I was very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food was great. Busy place but service didn’t suffer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Good food great service. The mushroom toast and beet salad were excellent. I never order chicken in a restaurant but here I liked what it was served with. The chicken breast was moist and tasty and the couscous great. Even the dessert was yummy. A reasonably priced and casual restaurant. I would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We were in Paso Robles for the Hospice du Rhone wine conference and wanted a dinner upon our arrival into town. We chose Artisan for its location and the menu looked interesting. We were quite pleased with our meal. The service was great. The wine list offers some great wines. It is not full of brand name wines, but instead offers many interesting and small production wines. The food was quite enjoyable. The menu changes often based on what is available and in season. We were able to choose from a wide variety of items ranging from wild boar to chicken to steak, as well as super delicious pizzas.

We enjoyed our meal so much that we returned another evening for dinner and also for brunch during our stay. I highly recommend visiting Artisan.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Outstanding food. Great creativity. Wish it was in the Bay Area.

We visit every time we are in Paso and are never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Worst meal my wife and I have in the last 40 years. Went there for sea food and no sea food now on menu. Wife had skirt steak that was cold when served and server offered to heat it up. No visit my manager to discuss the problem. I would not recommend to anyone for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We have always enjoyed the food, especially the mushroom toast! and the flavors this time did not disappoint! We were surprised that the service this time was much slower (took 45 minutes until we could place our food order and when we asked for pepper with our salads most at the table had already finished their salads by the time the pepper arrived) but the food was still just as outstanding as always. We'll be back but perhaps on a different night when staffing is higher.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

One of the most consistent restaurants in Paso. Their pizza is always a must, but they change their menu to the season, which is great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Get the mushroom toast. It’s to die for.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 15, 2018

$25 corkage. Waitress offered some extra crostini for our appetizer, which was nice , got 4 pieces and a charge of $3. Seriously? Should tell customer it will cost extra. Again waited an hour for the entree. Been going to Artisan for years, but I am done. Used to be my favorite, no more

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Apprehensive at first after reading all the negative comments. It was soon put the rest by a good service and attentive staff. Food was very flavorful and a very nice presentation. Menu is somewhat limited in selections but very creative.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

Get service and incredible food. Have a wonderful dinner of Wild Boar and Pizza. Yes, the Pizza is over the top

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Took 1 hour to get our meal after ordering, so we had basically finished our wine we brought before our meal arrived. Too long. Especially when we aren’t doing appetizers. Needs improvement in that regard

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Service was slow.
Our server brought us dessert menus before bringing us our entrees. That’s how long it took to get our food. They forgot about us and didn’t apologize for the delay. Restaurant wasn’t that busy. Quality of food has changed since they moved locations and changed owners.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We were disappointed to find the small plates menu drastically reduced. Our meals were good but somewhat unremarkable. Table near the door was low on ambience. Then I got a pop up notice from Open Table scolding me for no show. While seated. Got that straightened out through Open Table but hostess was struggling.

Don’t think we will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We ordered small plates and one entree. Great selection of small plates. Waitress explained menu / sizes of serving well. Helped to make decisions . Looking forward to return visit .

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 2, 2018

My hanger steak tasted like it was tenderized under a saddle, and then cooked in the same skillet they use to make liver and onions. My wife had a bite and said "oh that tasted like liver, I don't like that". My martini was good, and the only reason I finished my meal...was because I had two of them.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We had a horrific experience. We arrived and it took the wait staff 20 minutes to get us water and coffee, the restaurant was not busy. One of the workers was in fuzzy mocasins, this is supposed to be an upscale restaurant. the Mortadella Bahn Mi was uninspiring, dry, and the veggies werent even pickled. Potatoes that came with the breakfast dishes were unseasoned and simply tossed on the plate straight from the deep fryer. This place needs some serious help, unenthused service with mediocre food for the price, SOS.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 28, 2018

The menu was completely wrong from what open table had! Was a disaster to say the least! The only thing good about this restaurant was the waitress! Seems like management has lost all control of this place! No wonder it’s closing down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Girlfriend and I had brunch after wine tasting all weekend. Super grub. Bartender made us delish bloody Mary’s topped with candied bacon 😍

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Artisan is a fine dining place for meat-eating folks looking for a fancy meal. There are a couple of vegetarian options, too. The wine and beer menu offers a well-rounded variety.

My husband ordered the abalone appetizer which he said was delicious but decadent. He was rather disappointed that it was breaded and fried, and this was not made clear on the menu. So, it's best to ask your Artisan server how certain dishes are prepared to avoid dissatisfaction.

His entrée of choice was the wild boar tenderloin; he loved it. After he ordered, I selected the Vina Robles 2014 Cabernet Sauvignon for him, and he savored the glass of wine before, during, and after dinner.

My friend is vegetarian, so she ordered the kung pao glazed Brussels sprouts appetizer, which we all ended up sharing. Her entrée of choice was the delicata squash. It was so plentiful that she had to take half of it (and a few of the Brussels sprouts) home.

I started with the garden greens minus the cheddar since I don't eat dairy. I was a little surprised to taste the crunch of salt crystals on a salad, especially knowing that eating overly salted food is a habit detrimental to health.

My selected entrée was the organic mushroom pizza; it was delicious and loaded with goat cheese, leeks, and slices of fungi. I stay away from white flour products, though, and I really wanted the choice of a whole wheat crust. Again, I experienced the massive salt crystals, and I winced. My husband and our friend each had a slice.

I ordered a glass of wine based on our server's recommendation after telling her my favorite varietals. It was the Herman Story 2013 "Casual Encounters," a Rhône red blend of Syrah, Grenache, Mourvèdre, and Tannat, and it was exceptionally delicious.

While the experience was memorable, we were a bit let down overall -- partly due to the poor choice of piped-in music. What "high-end" restaurant plays Bon Jovi during Saturday night dinner? Ugh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Delicious food. Highly recommend for good flavors and good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Wonderful as always

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Service was excellent. Food was out of this world. Will definitely be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

When we visit Paso Robles we love to dine at Artisan! The service is exemplary and the food always enjoyable. Truly a consistently wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Great service, great food. Good drinks and wine. Easy access downtown Paso.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The entire meal was excellent. Beet salad was delicious and the ice cream/churros for dessert finished off the meal perfectly. The wild boar entree was outstanding; excellent, thoughtful preparation and perfectly cooked and presented.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Visiting Paso Robles for the first time, we went by several reviews that had Artisan as the tip or near tip of best restaurants in the area.
We visited on a quiet Tuesday evening. There were 16 patrons in the entire restaurant from when we arrived at 6:45 pm until we departed at 9:25. Note the amount of time we were there .
1. We waited more than 10 minutes after we were seated to be greeted by our server.
2. We only ordered 4 entrees with no salads or apps ordered. After she took our order (more than 35 minutes after being seated) our entrees were served 49 minutes after that.
3. After waiting for an unreasonable amount of time for our entrees, one Hanger Steak that was ordered to be cooked at medium rare plus, came bloody and near rare, rare. After sending it back, another 20 minutes to get it back.
3. We brought in a bottle of Paso Robles wine to drink as we had heard that if you brought a local wine in that the corkage fee would be waived. They charged us 25.00 for the privilege.
In summary, while the food was better than average, the experience here was an F. Don’t believe the internet hype. Finally, our 4 entrees with 3 deserts and the corkage fee was more than $220.00! Again, no salads or apps, just 4 entrees, some potatoes and Brussels sprouts. Ridiculous prices for a disappointing evening at Artisan.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 19, 2018

We were excited to go Artisan based on other reviews, but once there, were disappointed. Not only was the ambiance lack-luster, reminding us of a nicer version of Denny's, but the kitchen also ran out of pizza dough. Thankfully, we walked over to another restaurant and had an amazing dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Consistently good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Dined here our first night visiting Paso Robles and it will definitely be at the top of our list to revisit on our next trip! Pate was exceptional, brussel sprouts were some of the best we’ve had and the burrata pizza with chorizo was perfect. Excellent cocktails and wine selection. Service was outstanding - would give more stars for it if I could.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
64