About Artisan

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: 8052378084x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Pastrami Sandwich
Goat Cheese Fondue
Yellowtail Taco
burger and fries
Shoe String Fries
Crispy Shrimp Flatbread Sandwich
Rabbit Liver Pate
Leg Of Lamb Dip
Artisan Cheese Plate
Shrimp Chilaquiles
"B.R.T." Martini
Queen Mary
RED FLIGHT
White Wine Flight
First Date
Allagash White
Cavatelli Bolognese Special
Charcuterie plate
Poached Shrimp Blat
Chopped Caesar With White Anchovy
P,B,L Meatballs With Ricotta Gnocchi
crab cake
Rhone Flight
Salmon Tartar
Abalone Tostada, Avacado, Pork Belly Carnitas
Scallops
Grass-Fed Hanger Steak And Fries
Spring Root Vegetables
Rabbit Paella
Meatballs
Pork Smothered Strip Loin
Hanger Steak
Meatballs & Gnocchi
Lobster Sliders With Scrambled Eggs, Spinach, Topped With Hollandaise Sauce
Wild Boar
Bacon Tater Tots
Onion Rings
Cheddar & Stout Fondue
Smoked Gouda And Porter Fondue
Reuben Sandwich
shrimp appetizer
Burata And Proscuitto With Alnonds
Garden Tomato And Burrata Sandwich
Fruits De Mer
Yellow Tail
Cherry French Toast
Rockshrimp Salad
Lamb Shank
Chopped Salad
Steak
Pan-Roasted King Salmon
French Toast
Eggplant
Applecrumble
Iceburg Salad

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
5 More
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Fit for Foodies
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Neighborhood Gem
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in Paso Robles ›

fit for foodies (95)
special occasion (52)
neighborhood gem (40)
See All
notable wine list (32)
hot spot (24)
good for groups (23)
great for lunch (18)
romantic (16)
vibrant bar scene (15)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for brunch (13)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4

Although the restaurant changed at some ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Although the restaurant changed at some point in the last couple of years from being about "haute cuisine" to being more casual, chef Kobayashi continues to be creative and exciting with his flavor combinations.

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

After waiting 20 minutes for our drinks, ...

Dined 5 days ago

After waiting 20 minutes for our drinks, we walked out. Waitress even came to take our food order and my husband said he wanted to wait for drinks first. 10 more minutes went by and we decided to walk out. We've been there numerous times and have loved it, but seems something has changed. The staff are not being trained properly (at least this waitress was not). We sat in the bar for the first time and maybe bar staff are not the best. We told another waiter we were leaving and he said "sorry", rather than, the drinks are on us, which is standard procedure in this business.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved dining curbside right on the squar ...

Dined 6 days ago

Loved dining curbside right on the square. Great and unique menu choices! The reuben was top 5 of my life. Service was friendly and attentive. I've already recommended this place to many friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We had dinner at Artisan on Saturday nig ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had dinner at Artisan on Saturday night and brunch on Sunday morning. We were celebrating our anniversary and traveling with our dog and were happy to find out we could eat at Artisan on the patio with him in tow. Our reservation was at 10:15am and we arrived right on time. This is the second time we have had brunch at Artisan and it always seems like it is a surprise to the wait staff and maybe the kitchen that people are actually showing up that early expecting to be served something to eat and drink. Almost as if they arrived at the same time we did and just weren't prepared to get things going that early in the morning. We were seated right away and I asked the hostess if she could bring a water dish for our dog since it was already very hot outside. She said she would bring it and then our server said she would and then when I asked for the third time, a water dish appeared. That's not a huge thing, but the restaurant was basically empty at that time and it seemed to take forever to get anything. The cappuccino was delicious as was my meal. My husband had the biscuits and gravy and loved it! By the time we were ready to leave, it seemed that things had started to pick up in the service department. Maybe they should all get to work a little earlier and be ready for the first diners when they open at 10:00.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Very poor effort from a restaurant that ...

Dined 6 days ago

Very poor effort from a restaurant that used to be so good. Will not be going back

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our favorite dishes were the mushroom t ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our favorite dishes were the mushroom toast and mushroom ravioli. They were both totally awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were in Paso Robles to ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I were in Paso Robles to celebrate our anniversary and we were also traveling with our dog. We were able to enjoy a delicious dinner on the patio. The staff was kind enough to bring a bowl of water for our dog, since it was quite hot outside. My husband ordered the mussels and said they were the best he had ever eaten. We try to come to Paso Robles every year and will definitely dine at Artisan again. Breakfast at their new spot in Templeton -- Kitchenette -- was also a treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Very pricey.

Dined on June 17, 2016

Very pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was a recommendation fro ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant was a recommendation from Adelaida Winery. We weren't disappointed. The food was great; lots to choose from. I liked the layout of the restaurant; it was very open but we were able to have a conversation since the noice level is not high. The service was great. We'll be back to try other entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Weak service. Waiter had no knowledge of ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Weak service. Waiter had no knowledge of wines on the very limited list. Some foods poorly prepared. Most served warm or at room temperature, not hot. Crab cakes over salted. Abalone over done and tasteless. Several mussels served unopened. Third time and last.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Our meal was wonderful. The waitstaff w ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our meal was wonderful. The waitstaff was helpful and attentive. We had a toddler with us and they were patient with her. We had them package our dessert to go, and they even included the chocolate sauce to go with the churro. The crabcake were the best we have had. My small plate meatballs with peas were good, but not exceptional. Loved the fondue appetizer and staek was good

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Maybe an off night for the server, but s ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Maybe an off night for the server, but she wasn't overly friendly and that certainly effected our experience. Otherwise, a good meal but after Bouchon in Santa Barbara and Pico in Los Alamos, no comparison.

food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Disappointing

Dined on June 9, 2016

We had heard great reviews from friends and family. Internet reviews said Artisan had gone downhill and they were accurate. Sat down at table for 15 minutes without water or a menu. Food was average and barely warm. Only 10 people in dining room but painfully slow service. Will not return.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Unfortunately, we experienced average wi ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Unfortunately, we experienced average with food and staff and expected more.

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Nice surprise

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We stopped in Paso Robles on our way south. Only the brunch menu was available at the time, but the waiter arranged to modify a selection to accomodate my food allergies. My meal was delicious, in fact, I would order poached eggs and ham over steamed spinach anyday.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Good not as good as it use to be

Dined on June 5, 2016

When I first found Artisan 5 years ago I was blown away. I have to say that the service and originality of the food has gone down hill over the last few years. I will go back but I wish it was back to the good old days.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Attractive place, but kitchen overreache ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Attractive place, but kitchen overreached and was overwhelmed. Full house when we were there, perhaps the problem. Disappointing.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Did not live up to the hype

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We were really looking forward to dinner at Artisan after reading and hearing many good reviews. 3 of us went on a Friday. The service was very spotty. It took quite a while for a server to come over, and the rest of the evening followed suit. Biggest areas of concern: 1) we did not receive our wine until after the food came, although we ordered it well before placing the food order. 2) The food was generally nicely presented, flavors well balanced and a decent portion size. However, of the dishes ordered (two of us had fish entrees and the third asked for mussels and octopus apps to be served with the entrees), it was clear that one of the fish dishes was finished well ahead of the others - maybe as much as five minutes, judging by the temperature. It was perfectly cooked, but nearly room temperature when it arrived, and became more unappetizing as it sat while we waited for the other fish dish to arrive. The first fish and the mussels came out first, followed a few minutes later by the second fish, and finally the octopus. The poor food timing coupled with no wine made for a bummer of an experience. I might try again on a weeknight, and the food had potential, but it wasn't appealing or even pleasant to eat a cooled-off entree. Given the reaction to our attempts to get our wine, though, I felt it would be a lost cause to complain about the entree and just ate what I could of it.

food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered 5 different small plates betw ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We ordered 5 different small plates between the two of us. We loved four of them, specially the octopus, the abalone and the asparagus. The fifth, the broccoli was just a bit too salty/sour for our taste. I mentioned that to the waiter just to give the kitchen some feedback, not really to complain. They took it off the bill, which was appreciated but not expected. But I guess that's what good service is all about. And it did cause me to write this review, which I rarely do.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service & Unique Food Combinations

Dined on May 29, 2016

Fantastic service in a modern, comfortable, stylish, setting. Menu choices are unique and well paired. Only complaint is that serving sizes are a bit small. But lives up to Artisan name. And we ended up ordering a second entree (a delicious pizza, that we split), after our first entree and felt very satisfied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Tasty dishes...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was very tasty and some unique selections from the menu to pick from.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1

Skip this place for lunch. Our first vis ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Skip this place for lunch. Our first visit was at dinner and the entire experience was amazing. At lunch the food was still superb but we waited 1:15 for our apps with no explanation or apology.

food4
ambience2
service1
value3

We got an email notice about Artisan coo ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We got an email notice about Artisan cooking special pork dishes from a local farmer. Made reservations, but sat in bar area. None of the servers seemed to know about the special. We ordered Korean spare ribs off the bone, and got what looked like Pork Belly. It was still great, but misleading. Wine order was messed up, but corrected ok. Just seemed like the wait staff wasn't all that great that day.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant, inventive menu. I am ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great restaurant, inventive menu. I am a vegetarian, and when I asked the server for a suggestion, she went & talked to the chef, who made me a vegetable risotto off-menu ... And it was FABULOUS!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A good try but a miss in the end

Dined on May 22, 2016

I wanted to like this restaurant - I really did. From the outside it looks lovely. Walk inside, you have a feeling like it's a very successful business. But here's the problem. Although it looks great, the execution is not quite right. Seating us in the worse location even though we had reservations always sets the wrong mood. They did move us but no one waited on us in our new location. The hostess walked by us multiple times noticing we were not served. Finally someone came by and asked if anyone had helped us. People who sat after us had already been helped - really don't like that occurring. Nevertheless, we were not upset just thankful someone stopped by our table. But the lack of attention continued and at some point I mentioned the service was questionable. Someone must have heard us and at the end it somewhat improved. The food was okay but not up to the standards of higher end restaurants. If this was a restaurant in an area with more competition, I question whether it would be successful. We tried it but won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We are lucky to be in Paso Robles often and almost always make a stop at Artisan. They are always creative, local and just plain tasty!! The fondue appetizer is a must as well as the churros with fudge sauce- trust me on that!- give them a stop on your next Paso trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delicious small plates

Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed sharing several small plates. We especially liked the beet salad and the brocolli.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Perfect food, great service. All the opt ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Perfect food, great service. All the options are for one person.

food5
ambience5
service5

New American Farm to Table eats. Chef al ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

New American Farm to Table eats. Chef always has the most unique veggies and sauces with quality proteins beautifully plated.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

TripAdvisor rated Artisan as #4 in Paso ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

TripAdvisor rated Artisan as #4 in Paso Robles. Our waiter Christian did a great job in finding the best wine for our meal. The food was fresh, good color and prepared well. We had the venison stroganoff and a beet salad...perfect meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a memorable meal here the last ti ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a memorable meal here the last time we visited Paso Robles, and this meal did not live up to that standard. Good but not amazing.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

It's gone downhill a bit...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have had many fabulous meals here in the past, and my sister and I bring my mom here every year for Mother's Day brunch. This year, their brunch was not great. The service was slow and stiff - even though it wasn't busy, it took 15 minutes to get water and 20 minutes to get our drinks. They had run out of brunch pastries and have cut their brunch menu way down. It is really a normal lunch menu with a few egg dishes thrown in. I'll keep coming here for drinks/ dinner, but will try some place else for brunch next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful variety of food and very tasty.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening at Artisan. The decor is unique, wait staff friendly and efficient and the food is very good and an interesting variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am please to see that Artisan is retur ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I am please to see that Artisan is returning to the high level of dining that I remember before they changed locations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Down in Paso Robles for our anniversary, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Down in Paso Robles for our anniversary, reserved with a note we'll wait for a prime seat in this place as it looked to have a great menu and good ambiance. Upon arriving was greeted as though it was inconvenient for us to be there. Was offered the lounge bar area—thought maybe didn't get my note, but they did. Dinner was good, but timing and service was poor. Forgot to give us the wine menu. Kept forgetting which wine we ordered. Timing was a bit off sync. Salads and appetizers all at once. I think dessert was the best part. The butter scotch pudding was excellent. It's a casual place with a high price menu and not recommended for special occasions. Won't be back or recommend.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Trendy just not our style

Dined on May 7, 2016

The items all had one or two bizarre ingredients lurking in the mix. Most spelled out on the menu so if you read the menu before you arrive you will be fine. EXCEPT... I love cauliflower - ordered it - presentation was great... Surprised by the chili oil which, as a person who can't eat spicy, was not a good surprise!! Churro dessert was good. Bitter chocolate sauce that accompanies it was not. Service was wonderful. Waiter was attentive and funny. We tipped well.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vegan Dish

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The chef made a special vegan dish for us which was incredible.. Loved our waitress..she was not frustrated by our crazy food requests...the restaurant was very accomodating!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Brunch Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service started off a bit slow even though the place was far from full. Odd that two of the signature cocktails were not available due to lack of certain ingredients. Food was good as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Maybe it was an off night

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I don't usually write reviews but in this case, I have to say something. I made this reservation about 6 weeks in advance for an anniversary trip to Paso. We were reminded of the reservation the day before and we showed up on time, expecting that the reservation time meant something. It seems to be the thing with busy and popular Paso restaurants to treat reservation times like mere suggestions. We were not seated for 40 minutes after our time and had just one glass of water - nothing else - on our table at the hour mark. No offer of complimentary glass of wine, bread, or anything. Our whole section felt the same so we commiserated with our dining neighbors over empty stomachs. Despite being behind, the kitchen managed to overlook the halibut. The desserts were fantastic - especially the special cherry tart. Saturday night is clearly a risky choice - I'm sure it would be a better experience on a weeknight.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food

Dined on May 1, 2016

The dinner ordered (Venison Stroganoff) had no flavor and was a disappointment. Concentration has shifted from food and flavors to enhancing their bar scene and their food to accompany libations.

Tags: vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.