Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Artisan

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: (805) 237-8084

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Special Occasion (23)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Romantic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Casual (11)
Seasonal (11)
Organic (11)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Tapas (7)
Fun (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Live Sports (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2390 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We had an awesome dinner on Easter night. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved our experience at Artisan. Our waitress was very attentive and helpful. We started with an appetizer to share, which included a pate with a vietnamese take to it and grilled baguette. It was excellent. Then my friend had the Burrata Oven Pizza and I had the Wild boar. Both were excellent flavors, presentation was good and there was plenty of food. Decent wine selection, I would have liked to see more choices of wine by the glass. Desert was an amaretto basque cake with a homemade spumoni ice cream which was excellent (and I am not a dessert person, but I could not get enough of that dessert!). Overall a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We've never had a bad meal at Grasings. The ambiance is friendly and warm. The food is pretty straight forward without a lot of "fru-fru" preparation although the presentation is always quite nice. Primarily American fare with a flair. A definite "must" if you're looking to dine in Carmel

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We found Artisan after a day winetasting in the Paso area. We ate early so it was very quiet. The staff were very nice and attentive. The risotto with halibut was absolutely perfect. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Awesome food & service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing food and superb service. Have been there before and would go back again.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Christian was a very good waiter! The food was nothing short of amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had a very nice evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Delicious over all.
Octopus , chicken confit, halibit and even skirt steak all cooked to perfection.
Too full for dessert.
Good wine flights 🌞

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 4, 2017

New owner, small menu selection and very small servings. Very disapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My husband and I ate at Artisan for brunch during a weekend getaway. There were many tasty options to choose from- the items we selected were great. Additionally, the service was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great place to eat in Paso Robles, I had the Salmon, which was exceptional. My date had the Steak, she loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Nice place but in a town full of good restaurants it didn't stand out like we expected with the hype. Not a great value for the cost. Spent $160 on a meal that wasn't memorable. Enjoyable yes, but not close to our best meal in Paso Robles.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Visiting the Paso Robles, this was the second night in a row eating at Artisan. Loved it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We always look forward to enjoying a meal here on our way to the coast! Great food, service and cocktails that are unique. Consistently great !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food. Was great. Nice patio dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This was first visit to Artisan and will will return again. Three of us divided four small courses and all very good. Mussels were excellent. Even though they were small courses, we walked away amply full.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went there due to the fact that in Paso restaurants can have access to farm fresh or specially farmed meats for them and Artisan delivered in a big way. I tried the soup of the day, mushroom toast, cauliflower and pineapple/chorizo pizza and all items over delivered with attention to detail on flavors, creativity, presentation and amazing taste. I would highly recommend dining at Artisan

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent variety in the menu. Good choice of wine, beer and cocktails. Fresh made bread. Exceptional fondue offering. Vegetables are always perfectly cooked. Meat dishes are cooked to order as they should be. Service is always a pleasure.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Dinner with friends. Cauliflower starter is sensational and we order it every time we are there. Pizza, meatball plate and mushroom toast were all very good. Service slow for being less than half full at 7PM

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great restaurant with nice selection and very nice ambiance

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 20, 2017

My wife & I enjoyed the food & service at Artisan very much.The food was excellent. & well presented. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our 2nd visit - the first was a year ago. Food is ok though very pricey. I had the fish and found the fish cooked perfectly but without much interest. $35 was a bit high for an ok main. Service, both times I was there, was slow bordering on negligent. Overall ok but I can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

VERY good Lamb broth soup, and excellent green salad.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Delicious, as usual. We were catching up with friends who were visiting from the east coast and we appreciated the server allowing some space for chatting while not ignoring us.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Not sure if there was a new chef or not, but the sea bass risotto was not as tasty as in the past...neither were the Brussels sprouts....two of the main reasons we chose Artisan.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very noisy and crowded on Saturday night at 8:30. Food worth it; innovative and complex, with wonderful local wines on tap. Just don't go for intimacy or a quiet talk. Our foursome sat down at 8:35 and had to shout to converse until 9:30 when it mellowed some. The tables are quite close together, also.

Try the cheese fondue with their homemade sausage. Really different, as was the special, rainbow trout tartare. Everything was a Yum.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner at Artisan. Easy location and parking in Paso Robles. It's naturally a bit noisy, but that adds to the vibe. The restaurant took it's food seriously, while having a relaxed atmosphere. We're a carnivore/vegetarian couple, and found good options for us both. I loved the whole roasted cauliflower with goat cheese and paprika, and the antebellum grits. Husband had the hangar steak with bone marrow jus that he found delicious and perfectly prepared. The service was attentive. This would be a fun place to have a group dinner, with lots of small plates to share. I recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Hated the $4.00 charge for bread! Only came with a little EVOO for the 4.00 charge. Not even tapenade or some special accompaniment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had been to Artisan a few years ago in their old location and loved it. This time, we were quite disappointed. The food (at $42 per entree) was nothing great, and the service was spotty. We will try something different next time we are in Paso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner there very much.....will certainly be returning!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We have now given Artisan's multiple chances to redeem themselves, and so we are done! We will not be returning. Too many great places to eat in Paso Robles. Service was very bad and food was forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This is a restaurant where a Chef's pride comes through loud and clear. We were staying in the area for two nights and after reading the menu, we were intrigued. After our first visit we were proven right...we returned for more the second night and wish we could have been back again to sample more dishes. Loved the charcuterie selection and the homemade bread, the pizzas we enjoyed the first night, the wild mushroom toast on wonderful brioche bread with the perfectly poached egg on top, the ravioli - delicate little pillows resting on the most delicious lamb ragù and poppini mushrooms. I cannot end this review without mentioning the outstanding and friendly service. This is a restaurant that pleases all your senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Have been to this restaurant multiple times and never disappoints. The mushroom toast is always a must and the pizzas are to die for! Our hostess, Georgia, was amazing. The only recommendation I would make is to spread the two top tables apart a little more. You kinda feel like you are having dinner with the people next to you. The ones next to us were actually awesome, but if you are looking for privacy, I suggest requesting a booth. Love the bar too! Well done.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Seated promptly, friendly and professional wait staff.
Easy to share plates. Delicious food.
Octopus appetizer great. Fish with risotto, lamb shank umm good
Do not miss the butterscotch,sea salt pudding desert. We returned the second night just for desert, because the next night restaurant's deserts sounded boring.
If in Paso, try this place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The food was very good & innovative. The ambience is pleasing. Worth a visit.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We travel to Paso Robles from Southern California a couple time each year. We always reserve a night for a fabulous meal at Artisan. Staff is always friendly and attentive, The food is very creative and perfectly cooked. Hope to see you again soon, Craig and Denise

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was not as good as it used to be. New owner seemed to be very involved and trying to make everyone happy to be there - but the food was subpar really. Colder than appropriate when served, SO not worth it. All entrees were over $32, and none were remotely worth it. Service was GREAT - but that doesn't help. Too bad - they've got such a great bar and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our 3rd time. We have recommended to others in past, however we would not anymore.

Sat in corner of bar next it window - Extremely noisy - Extreme difficulty reading menu (suggest you TYPE IN BOLD - food was fair

Our first time was A+++ across the board
Our 2nd time was B+
This time was an D-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was fantastic! Meatball small plate =❤❤❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.