About Artisan

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Private Party Contact:
Shandi Kobayashi: 8052378084x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Most Booked
California Central Coast
6 More
Best Overall
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Food
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Value
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Fit for Foodies
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Neighborhood Gem
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Most Booked
San Luis Obispo / Paso Robles
Best Restaurants in Paso Robles ›

fit for foodies (105)
special occasion (58)
neighborhood gem (51)
See All
notable wine list (40)
hot spot (37)
good for groups (28)
vibrant bar scene (26)
romantic (23)
great for lunch (20)
great for outdoor dining (15)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2015 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service1

Skip this place for lunch. Our first vis ...

Dined a day ago

Skip this place for lunch. Our first visit was at dinner and the entire experience was amazing. At lunch the food was still superb but we waited 1:15 for our apps with no explanation or apology.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant, inventive menu. I am ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great restaurant, inventive menu. I am a vegetarian, and when I asked the server for a suggestion, she went & talked to the chef, who made me a vegetable risotto off-menu ... And it was FABULOUS!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A good try but a miss in the end

Dined on May 22, 2016

I wanted to like this restaurant - I really did. From the outside it looks lovely. Walk inside, you have a feeling like it's a very successful business. But here's the problem. Although it looks great, the execution is not quite right. Seating us in the worse location even though we had reservations always sets the wrong mood. They did move us but no one waited on us in our new location. The hostess walked by us multiple times noticing we were not served. Finally someone came by and asked if anyone had helped us. People who sat after us had already been helped - really don't like that occurring. Nevertheless, we were not upset just thankful someone stopped by our table. But the lack of attention continued and at some point I mentioned the service was questionable. Someone must have heard us and at the end it somewhat improved. The food was okay but not up to the standards of higher end restaurants. If this was a restaurant in an area with more competition, I question whether it would be successful. We tried it but won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We are lucky to be in Paso Robles often and almost always make a stop at Artisan. They are always creative, local and just plain tasty!! The fondue appetizer is a must as well as the churros with fudge sauce- trust me on that!- give them a stop on your next Paso trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Delicious small plates

Dined on May 21, 2016

We enjoyed sharing several small plates. We especially liked the beet salad and the brocolli.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Perfect food, great service. All the opt ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Perfect food, great service. All the options are for one person.

food5
ambience5
service5

New American Farm to Table eats. Chef al ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

New American Farm to Table eats. Chef always has the most unique veggies and sauces with quality proteins beautifully plated.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

TripAdvisor rated Artisan as #4 in Paso ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

TripAdvisor rated Artisan as #4 in Paso Robles. Our waiter Christian did a great job in finding the best wine for our meal. The food was fresh, good color and prepared well. We had the venison stroganoff and a beet salad...perfect meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a memorable meal here the last ti ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We had a memorable meal here the last time we visited Paso Robles, and this meal did not live up to that standard. Good but not amazing.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

It's gone downhill a bit...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have had many fabulous meals here in the past, and my sister and I bring my mom here every year for Mother's Day brunch. This year, their brunch was not great. The service was slow and stiff - even though it wasn't busy, it took 15 minutes to get water and 20 minutes to get our drinks. They had run out of brunch pastries and have cut their brunch menu way down. It is really a normal lunch menu with a few egg dishes thrown in. I'll keep coming here for drinks/ dinner, but will try some place else for brunch next time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful variety of food and very tasty.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening at Artisan. The decor is unique, wait staff friendly and efficient and the food is very good and an interesting variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I am please to see that Artisan is retur ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I am please to see that Artisan is returning to the high level of dining that I remember before they changed locations.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Down in Paso Robles for our anniversary, ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Down in Paso Robles for our anniversary, reserved with a note we'll wait for a prime seat in this place as it looked to have a great menu and good ambiance. Upon arriving was greeted as though it was inconvenient for us to be there. Was offered the lounge bar area—thought maybe didn't get my note, but they did. Dinner was good, but timing and service was poor. Forgot to give us the wine menu. Kept forgetting which wine we ordered. Timing was a bit off sync. Salads and appetizers all at once. I think dessert was the best part. The butter scotch pudding was excellent. It's a casual place with a high price menu and not recommended for special occasions. Won't be back or recommend.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Trendy just not our style

Dined on May 7, 2016

The items all had one or two bizarre ingredients lurking in the mix. Most spelled out on the menu so if you read the menu before you arrive you will be fine. EXCEPT... I love cauliflower - ordered it - presentation was great... Surprised by the chili oil which, as a person who can't eat spicy, was not a good surprise!! Churro dessert was good. Bitter chocolate sauce that accompanies it was not. Service was wonderful. Waiter was attentive and funny. We tipped well.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Vegan Dish

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

The chef made a special vegan dish for us which was incredible.. Loved our waitress..she was not frustrated by our crazy food requests...the restaurant was very accomodating!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Brunch Experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

Service started off a bit slow even though the place was far from full. Odd that two of the signature cocktails were not available due to lack of certain ingredients. Food was good as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Maybe it was an off night

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I don't usually write reviews but in this case, I have to say something. I made this reservation about 6 weeks in advance for an anniversary trip to Paso. We were reminded of the reservation the day before and we showed up on time, expecting that the reservation time meant something. It seems to be the thing with busy and popular Paso restaurants to treat reservation times like mere suggestions. We were not seated for 40 minutes after our time and had just one glass of water - nothing else - on our table at the hour mark. No offer of complimentary glass of wine, bread, or anything. Our whole section felt the same so we commiserated with our dining neighbors over empty stomachs. Despite being behind, the kitchen managed to overlook the halibut. The desserts were fantastic - especially the special cherry tart. Saturday night is clearly a risky choice - I'm sure it would be a better experience on a weeknight.

food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Food

Dined on May 1, 2016

The dinner ordered (Venison Stroganoff) had no flavor and was a disappointment. Concentration has shifted from food and flavors to enhancing their bar scene and their food to accompany libations.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food/service; creative menu & specials

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed many lunches at the Artisan but opted for dinner this time - we weren't disappointed. We tried a couple of the specialty cocktails; they were decent, but we'll go with wine next time. We shared the halibut croquettes with aioli sauce, an appetizer special that was amazing. For her entree, my wife selected the Proscuitto, olive, pesto pizza - marvelous topping combination with an outstanding thin crust. I chose the Wild Boar Loin with fennel rositto. The boar loin was cooked perfectly - tender, succulent and delicious. Fennel can be a bit intense, but this was balanced, creamy and delightful. The butterscotch pudding with salted caramel sauce, served with a gingersnap cookie, provided a fitting conclusion to a memorable dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Still good despite the move

Dined on April 24, 2016

Happy to see that artisan still has solid food and the veal stroganoff really stood out as did the chicken special which easily fed 2.only negative was the 25 dollar corkage which seems high especially when it was 15 At one time.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

A different experience than top reviews

Dined on April 24, 2016

We were expecting fantastic, but only ended up with an ok experience. We sat outside and it was chilly, so the doors to the restaurant were closed and we ended up being a bit neglected out there. I thought the menu was somewhat limited. My husbands fancy burger was a disappointment. My food was delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Highly recommend t

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food Selection was excellent Our meals were well prepared and tasty. Service was great. Hostess and wait staff were personable and professional

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed our meal here, would come back a ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Enjoyed our meal here, would come back again if in the area. We had pizzas, the venison stroganoff Nd the steak. All were very good!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Paso Robles Dinner Spot

Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food, really great service, and not too noisy! Terrific pizza, great veggies, the peel-on shrimp were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service1

The fondue was watery and bland. The piz ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The fondue was watery and bland. The pizza took forever, we even tried to cancel cause it took so long. It was dry and nothing special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wow! Exceeded expectations big time!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

This is Napa Valley quality cuisine. The halibut was succulent and cooked perfectly. The special wood fired pizza, beef cheeks with parmisan and blue cheese with broccolini was to die for. The server, Mark (with a K!!!) was one of the best servers we've ever had. He was attentive and polite. Mark this one down as a Paso favorite!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

fun spot in Paso

Dined on April 19, 2016

We came to Paso for wine tasting. After two wine tastings downtown - Copia and Tasting in the Alley, we had dinner at Artisan. They had local wine flights - different vineyards than we planned to visit next day (Epoch, L'Adventure), so we had those too. Great wine trip and Artisan was a good choice for dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

very disappointing, been here before...t ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

very disappointing, been here before...this time it took 30 min. to get our drinks. New waitress, not very helpful...food was ok, but sitting and waiting with only water at the table wasn't.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious as always!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We always love coming here and are never disappointed. This past time my husband had the wild salmon special and I had the wild boar with risotto - both very moist and flavorful. We shared mushroom toast - a highlight from their menu. I hope Artisan always keeps this on their menu! Fun time, delicious food and we look forward to the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Service

Dined on April 13, 2016

I ordered their margherita pizza and broccoli as well as their bread pudding dessert, all of which were delicious. Loved the service too. Friendly staff and very helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a pleasure

Dined on April 10, 2016

Just stopped by for a light lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the creative blend of flavors and the peaceful environment. The food tasted as good as it looked. We try to eat here whenever we are in town. Also tried their sister establishment, Kitchenette, in Templeton which was equally as excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a few small bites at artisan. The ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a few small bites at artisan. The food was great and perfectly cooked. Drinks were also great. It was a bit loud but we were sitting at the bar so it was expected. Ambiance was great and we would return next time.

food4
ambience4
service1

The food and scene were great. Our serve ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

The food and scene were great. Our server was pretty bad though. I noted on the reservation that it was my birthday and she added a dessert to our bill without asking which we thought was a nice gesture and complimentary. We later saw it on our bill.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fun night out!

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Love the fact that you can make a meal at Artisan out of a delicious pizza and a couple of small plates. The wine list is good, with some wines you won't find in most wine stores plus a good selection of beer on draft. Lauren was our server for the second time, she is friendly, knowledgeable and gives just the right amount of attention. Feel confident in asking Lauren for suggestions. The special fish and chips appetizer the night we went was great as was the Jack's Creek pinot she recommended. Thank you Lauren!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

I'm sorry to say this because I really l ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I'm sorry to say this because I really like Artisan, however, the restaurant was out of sparkling water (??) so there was only one glass available. This seems like poor management. HowAlso it took us 1 hour and 45 minutes to have 2 apps and 2 mains. The restaurant was not busy so this seemed very odd and took FOREVER. Also, we asked for Eberle wine and were told there was none, but behind us on the wine shelves were at least 6 bottles of Eberle right there. When we told our server, she said, "Well, I guess we do have Eberle." La Dee Da. A very uneventful experience that left us saying we might come back again in a year or so...but this is definitely not a "locals restaurant." And why do the reservations online? I don't think anyone else does that in town. It seems very impersonal, which was our overall feeling of the night as well. Once again, sorry to say it, but you asked.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!

vip
Dined on April 6, 2016

Fantastic, memorable food equally matched by incredible service from a caring, knowledgeable and friendly server who also informed us of their other breakfast/lunch restaurant in nearby Templeton which was equally as delicious. Looking forward to returning to both!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Some Service Flaws But Quickly Fixed

Dined on April 4, 2016

We were seated for an early dinner (6:00 pm). The dining room relatively empty at that time, which was expected. It filled up by 7-7:30 pm. The waitress was pleasant and punctual. Ordered two glasses of wine, which had not arrived by the time my roasted garlic soup arrived with the server (not the waitress that took the order). The wine had been forgotten. The server was professional and apologetic and rushed off to get the wine. Our waitress returned shortly with the wine, apologized, and said that the wine was now complementary ($11/glass). This was the proper and professional fix. In the meantime, the soup was tepid when it arrived with the server. I sent it back and a new bowl arrived shortly at the proper temperature. The soup was perfect as was the beet salad. The off-menu morel mushroom pizza was wonderful with its thin crust and perfect preparation. The soup flaw was a kitchen mistake and the wine issue was a waitress service mistake. Both of these errors were addressed immediately and professionally. The menu at Artisan's is ever changing and a tour de force of culinary art and talent.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor service just OK food

Dined on April 1, 2016

The service was non-existent and we had to wait forever for our entrees, no excuses or apologies. The food was OK byt not worth the wait, the tables are too close together alomst to the point of family style. Won't go back

food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Still the best place to eat dinner in Paso.

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Creative food preparation - the wild mushrooms appetizer is a must, as is the asparagus with the fried scotch eggs...both are almost a meal in themselves. The duck, the halibut special, the bread pudding - everything was delicious. Service was friendly but slow and unevenly paced. Wine list could use some tweaks, given the limited number of Rhone varietals by the glass. Still, if you only have one evening in Paso, eat at Artisan.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service1

The service was not great, our server di ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The service was not great, our server didn't know how to describe the plates, and the service was very long. The shrimps dish was very simple & small, just a few shrimps in a bowl and some of them were mushy. The wild boar and mussels dishes were original and good. Pizza was not exceptional. Overall I would not recommend this place, a lot of better other options.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.