Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Artisan

From its inviting corner location at 12th and Pine streets in charming downtown Paso Robles, Artisan captures the essence of the Paso Robles wine country on every plate. Showcasing locally grown produce and handcrafted foods, Executive Chef Chris Kobayashi finds much of the inspiration for his dishes through regular trips to the farmer’s market; he combines regional American flavors in new and innovative ways. Artisan’s menu features local and organic produce, and proteins that are wild caught or sustainably farmed with no growth hormones or antibiotics. Chef Kobayashi’s insistence on freshness and quality complements his style which allows each ingredient to shine, but not overwhelm. Designed to complement its contemporary American cuisine, Artisan’s wine list offers a balanced selection of varietals that includes many wines from California regions in small or limited distribution. The staff of Artisan kindly look forward to serving you in the near future.

843 12th Street
Paso Robles, CA 93446
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Afternoon menu: 3:00pm - 5:15pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Afternoon Menu:Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm - Online reservations not available at this time.
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday, 5:30pm - 9:00pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday, 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
12th and Pine

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 237-8084

Website:
http://www.artisanpasorobles.com/

Executive Chef:
Chris Kobayashi

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Artisan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

Noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (13)
Casual (12)
Local Ingredients (9)
See All
Creative Cuisine (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The pork dinner was phenomenal! Great service in a nice relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very well thought out and well presented, however we noticed a lack of seasoning on all of our dishes. We had the mushroom toast, the beet salad and the wild boar tenderloin. All good, but with a dose of salt and pepper were VERY good. The biggest drawback was the service. It was very slow. Our first glass of wine was half gone before we were able to place our first food order. And our second glass of wine didn't arrive until halfway into our main course dish. We had to ask twice for salt and pepper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Lunch after some wine tastings. Good food with okay to good service. Would eat again but only after trying other places in town.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good! We waited FOREVER to get it. All the tables on all sides of us (most that arrived later than us) got their food before us. Our waitress didn't check on us and a member of our party finally had to go up and ask the kitchen where our food was. That was after waiting well over 30 min and it hadn't been entered by the waitress. She offered us a bottle of wine (which we declined as we had been wine-tasting all day and didn't need more to drink), but she didn't offer any other apologies. She stated "she can't control the kitchen." It really soured what would have been an incredible dining experience. As I stated, I've never had pork that great!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Once again, Garrett and staff didn't disappoint! Fantastic assortment of food and wine. From appetizer to dessert, food was unique, well presented and amazingly flavorful! Don't miss this restaurant when in Paso Robles!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2017

This is a bar-centric restaurant claims to be full service but falls dramatically short. The dining room is a horribly depressing experience: poor music, very poor lighting, poor service. We waited forever to receive each course. Lighting in the dining room is inadequate - unable to read the cheaply printed multiple menus. The music was loud and annoying 60’s. That said, the cocktails and food taste is above average to very good(albeit a little unimaginative). The restaurant offered our table a small free dessert for our celebrated occasion, so they were trying. If you go, stick to the bar until the main restaurant improves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Get the meatballs, salami pizza, and do not miss the pork entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Artisan does not disappoint. It's a fantastic restaurant in every regard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Paid $32 for the chicken. It was 1/4 of a chicken. At that price I would have expected at 1/2 chicken with enough to take home. Not impressed. Lots of other choices in Paso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very disappointing. I ordered the Wild Boar which was cooked as order but was hardly "wild" it did not taste like any wild game i have ever eaten.

Also, when did this become a pizza joint?

Just not what I remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Artisan was just so-so this time. Nothing special. We probably won't go back and will try something new next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had been to Artisan 5 years ago when it was located in a different spot in Paso Robles and had a very good dining experience. This time however, we were disappointed. Menu selections were limited and food was not that notable. Overall, we were not particularly pleased and unfortunately would not recommend this to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 11, 2017

The food was phenomenal. We especially enjoyed the grilled peaches and buratta but everything that we had was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've been going to Artisan since it opened. I was sadly disappointed this evening. The food was way over priced and not good. I hate to say it, but that was my last meal at Artisan. 😩

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

In spite of some of some of the negative buzz going around about Artisan we actually had a very good experience. Food was well prepared and presentation was very good. The service was efficient and friendly. Overall a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 10, 2017

One night in Paso Robles. Opted for Artisan. Was a good choice. Friendly staff and delicious food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We're locals and keep trying to give the only restaurant in town that continually gets love from the foodie press. Once again a mostly average experience. The food was the highlight offset by less than attentive service. The noise level was very loud but there were at least 3 groups of +8 ladies at bachelorette outings. The final disappointment was the presentation of a bottle of a very nice reserve Cabernet Sauvignon that we brought in. For a corkage fee of $25 a little interest in a local winery and care in presentation would have been nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner! Have to rave about the dessert first. The butterscotch pudding with caramel, shortbread cookie and whipped cream was soooo good! Both of us enjoyed our entrees. We chose dinners versus small plates. Husband had halibut and I had the beewench chicken and grits. Both were excellent as were our salads. He had the beet salad (which is beautifully presented) and I had the spring greens with cheddar cheese and radishes. Also want to compliment our server and assistants. They made our night very special.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 1, 2017

I first went to Artisan solo one early evening with my small dog, enjoyed outside seating with a great hand-crafted pizza and a glass of local Paso wine. Food and experience was first-rate. A month later my wife and I had a nice date night, enjoyed an exquisite dinner inside. The food is California cuisine with an Italian influence with top quality ingredients. It compares to top LA restaurants such as Chaya Brasserie and I recommend this place in a heartbeat.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was great. One comment, the abalone was a bit small with too much breading but good flavor. Wines were good pairing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

As excellent as ever! A wonderful brunch with friends. Great food, service, wines and cocktails.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were passing through Paso and fortunate enough to reserve a table at Artisan. The food and the service were spectacular. We enjoyed a a greate chees plate paired with spectacular fresh peaches. We then had a hanger steak that was beautifully prepared and served with a medley of local freash tomatoes. That steak is tough to cook perfectly, but they nailed it with a great char, a sinful sauce and butterflied the steak beautifully. The result was tender and wonderful.
The deserts were great as well.
Our service was a "10", friendly, attentive and yet allowed us to have our space.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 14, 2017

This place was recommended to us. The chicken was the most expensive item on the menu and the waiter said it was amazing. When it came out it was so small barely any meat on it. It looked like a small thigh. The waiter said it was a special cut breast. The biggest waster of money. 2 meals only water was $80. Total rip off. Never. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We were expecting more. More people, since the reservations available were fairly limited. So why were we one of only three tables occupied in a rather large restaurant? We were expecting especially tasty dishes, but the offerings were limited to standard American fare. And we were expecting attentive service, but alas, our waitress was busy somewhere other than our table. All in all, this is a good diner, but don't go out of your way to experience it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Could have been worse, at least the food was tasty. We were visiting the town and didn't know too many places. This was rated highly but the service was not the greatest. The staff were pleasant and polite, they just don't provide what one would call service. Our waitress didn't know the menu; we weren't offered a wine list so we assumed they only served wines on the menu; it was quite sad. When we booked, we stated it was our anniversary. They could have made it more enjoyable (and earned another $50-75) if we had been able to order a bottle of wine and if the staff were actually trained to know how to work in a restaurant. Not the best option in the region as we learned with wonderful food and service elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We have had many excellent meals at Artisan, but our last two have been disappointing. The brunch menu in November was weird and unappealing. This Thursday 8/10 the oysters were somewhat too briny, and the avocado soup was tasteless. (The server didn't charge us for it.) The meatballs were very good and the butterscotch pudding excellent.

Our dishes were brought not in the order we requested. My wine flight went to the wrong table and didn't come back. After our server realized what had happened, she spent a very long time (until after my main dish was served) before bringing a replacement, spending quite a while chatting with other tables.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Been coming here since they opened the doors and it's always been incredible. New chef this time and it still was incredible. Menu was slimmed down a bit but everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had an 8:15 reservation, seated at 8:30 and had our drink order taken at 9:15. Th flavor of the food was good, but my wife's hanger steak was served cold

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was out of sight good. Service extremely slow. But we will be back, it might have just been an aberration.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We had a completely unacceptable visit to Artisan that ended with the server bringing us the wrong dish after which we left. Any one of the problems might have been acceptable by themselves (the hostess who never returned after going to check on our table, the 10 minute wait for someone to take our drink order, the lame table, the interminable wait for the entrees, the entrée that got burnt) but the combination was more than we could bear. The only good thing about our visit was that we ended up having a fantastic dinner across the street that we never would have had otherwise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Artisan used to be much better before they relocated. We heard there had been a change in ownership since the last time we came and the source actually recommended other places to go but we decided to keep our reservation. The atmosphere is colder and there seemed to be fewer choices on the menu. It was very quiet the night we went because of the fair they said. We were there to celebrate a birthday. Service was ok, a bit slow considering there was only one other table in the whole place at 8pm.

We had the mushroom toast and that was good, for some reason the chef sent out an extra poached egg because they didn't think the first on was runny enough, so that was nice.

DO NOT order the Foie Gras though, it's not listed on Open Table but it is not worth half of the $19 they charge for a tiny piece that's MAYBE the size of a 50 cent piece and less that 1/4 Inch thick, not enough for the brioche toast they give with it and the garnish was "pickled" rhubarb, which was terrible, and some wilted, dry arugula.

We had Hanger steaks for dinner, which were very good and a side of grilled asparagus.

We brought a cake for a birthday and they warned us of the cake cutting fee if we wanted them to plate in but since there were only 4 of us we decided to do it ourselves.

Not sure we'll go back, we were disappointed especially since we brought people who had never been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We were disappointed in our hangar steak which was cooked (?) way too rare - twice!! We like to share an app and an entree so shared the abalone which was good, but they brought our medium rare steak absolutely raw in the middle. It was already cut in slices and we could only eat one end piece. We sent it back, thinking they would maybe cook a new piece for us, but it was the original piece and yet it was served again still blood rare. My husband got pretty mad - I couldn't eat it but he was very hungry, so ate it. They took off the charge for my glass of wine, which was nice but didn't quite make up for my birthday dinner, which I had researched quite a bit with hopes of enjoying the best restaurant in Paso. I would try again, but would not yet recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Wonderful staff and the food will knock your socks off. Fresh and flavorful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food and service. Wine flight was very good,. A bit pricey.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Since our last visit a year ago, the prices have gone up and the quality has gone down - which is too bad, since the concept is still attractive and refreshingly innovative. The "torchon" of foie gras measures in milligrams, costs $19 and, aside from some leaves of arugula, is devoid of any enhancing condiments. Also, the restaurant's baker needs to be quality-checked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I am so confused about the hype here - we saved our best meal on our trip to Paso Robles for what we thought would be the best restaurant, but it was really nothing to talk of. It's nothing personal against anyone at the restaurant and I know every place is someone's labour of love so it breaks my heart to say it but honestly this was the least memorable meal I've eaten in so long. There was nothing wrong with anything but it was just so ordinary and lacklustre. Disappointed that we wasted our time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We made reservations for Fathers Day dinner. We sat outside because we had our dog and we though the outside area is narrow it did work for us. The food was good; we started with the garden greens which was tasted fresh and it was good. My husband had the hangar steak and I had the slow smoked pork. B oath entrées were very well prepared and tasty as well. The win selection is good and you don't pay over the top prices so I do appreciate that.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This was my second trip to Paso and second visit to Artisan. After enjoying the free summer concert in the city park across the square, we arrived early for our reservation and were seated right away. Four of us sat at a table in the bar area and our server was great, very knowledgeable about the wines offered and with overall tips about Paso wineries to visit. Food and wine were great. As always. Artisan is a favorite with a nice vibe, good wine selection, and yummy food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Wonderful spot for dinner on this lovely town square. Food was delicious and service spectacular. Great menu!

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.