About Arta restaurant

1131 Greenwood Lake TPKE
Ringwood, NJ 07456
View Larger Map

Arta Restaurant is located on the Greenwood Lake Turnpike in Ringwood, New Jersey, just minutes from the New York State border. Serving Northern Italian Cuisine, Arta has a full lunch and dinner menu and is open Tuesday through Sunday. Arta's dishes include chicken, veal, beef, fish and a selection of homemade pastas. At Arta we use our experience to recommend a wine that will be a perfect compliment to your meal. We stock a variety of domestic and imported red, white and sparkling wines. Relax at our comfortable bar, dine in our warm and casual atmosphere, or contact us for information about our famous catering services. Whatever your dining needs, Arta Restaurant will make your dining experience one to remember.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(973) 728-2344

Website:
http://artarestaurant.net/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Arta restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
Italian
New York / Tri-State Area
6 More
Best Overall
New Jersey - North
Best Food
New Jersey - North
Best Service
New Jersey - North
Best Ambiance
New Jersey - North
Best Value
New Jersey - North
Italian
New Jersey - North
Best Restaurants in Ringwood ›

special occasion (15)
romantic (15)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (3)
notable wine list (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were recommended by a friend. It was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were recommended by a friend. It was our first time there, but it won't be our last. Had a wonderful quiet, relaxing and delicious meal. The service was friendly, professional and attentive. My Bronzino was very fresh, my husband enjoyed his homemade ravioli in a very nice sauce. Our flambé dessert was prepared table side by a very lovely server who listened to our special request of separating the bananas for me and the berries for my husband. The home made whipped cream presented in an aerator was a great touch. A definite new place for us to put in our restaurant rotation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my Mom here for lunch they day be ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my Mom here for lunch they day before Mother's Day. Everything was top notch. the food, the presentation of the food, the service level of the staff, etc. It is a bit pricey so I would not recommend for just a dinner out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, if a little pricey

Dined on May 6, 2016

Prices are closer to what you might expect in or around the city ($15+/- apps, $25+/- entrees, $35+/- specials), but the food quality is outstanding. Great seafood options (I got branzino with crab meet, along with two crab-stuffed shrimp and a side of risotta), food comes out piping hot. Desserts are excellent. Highly recommend Arta for anyone looking for a nice small restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place. The restaurant doesnt loo ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing place. The restaurant doesnt look great from the outside but once you are in... its as good as any top notch restaurant..anywhete!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Food is always outstanding whenever we go. Great service . A little pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Little pricy but very good

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Little pricy but very good

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Hidden Gem

Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent Service from the moment we walked through the door! The food was delicious and was presented beautifully - my 2nd time and it was just as memorable as the 1st time. I brought an additional two people with me and the 4 of us all raved about the entrees and desserts - The burrata was absolutely wonderful and a must have - fresh Italian cheese made with mozzarella and cream - just yummy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Find with One Caveat

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

My caveat would be a big deal to me if not for everything else. Wive and kid's food were great. My salad was good but there was something odd about the chicken. I wasn't horrible tasting but it was very dense -- almost like meat that gets microwaved. Dunno if it was or wasn't. Would give it another try since two of the three meals were so good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very nice and willing. Dinne ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was very nice and willing. Dinner and dessert was delicious

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Valentine's Day dinner. Great ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Fantastic Valentine's Day dinner. Great food and service. Thank you .

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were greeted at the door and the serv ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We were greeted at the door and the service was great from the moment we arrived. We love the cozy little piano bar. Our dinner was great, the lobster bisque was delicious, the seafood risotto a bit starchy, but the veal dish and the pasta special were very good. We ended with the best cappuccino I've had in a long time and a rich carrot cake. If you are looking for a special dinner, with 5 star service, this is the place. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious homemade pasta!

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

The homemade pasta (bucatini) was delicious!! It was cooked to perfection. The bolognese was fantastic. I could have licked the plate! We always enjoy our meals at Arta, but this one was the best one yet. I was also really pleased to see the restaurant so filled. We usually dine there during the week and see a lot of empty tables, but every table was filled on this Saturday night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable....friendly, ...

vip
Dined on January 14, 2016

The service was impeccable....friendly, engaging...but non-intrusive. Sony provided the best service I have ever had .An unbelievably awesome food experience that meets every expectation. All around terrific. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on December 27, 2015

Always a very enjoyable experience. Food is always first rate and service is very attentive without being overbearing. A little pricey but still a great time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So worth the drive, a hidden gem!

Dined on December 25, 2015

I was looking for a four star romantic restaurant to take my girlfriend on Christmas, and all our usual go-to places were closed, so I searched and found Arta. What a find! Everything from the food to the service to the ambience and decor were A+. Already we can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My boyfriend and I came in to celebrate ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

My boyfriend and I came in to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We sat at a quiet table in the wine cellar. It was romantic and intimate. The food and service were excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a high quality fine dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

what a fabulous find!

Dined on November 26, 2015

what a wonderful surprise! i'd searched for a great place to eat; i wanted great food, great ambiance, great service, basically great everything! i found that ARTA! no complaints. when my son showed up late (we were a party of 4, and only three of us showed up before the kitchen was set to close.....) they were wonderful about waiting for him to arrive. our mouths watered; the service was perfect and not overdone, and the establishment was perfect. I have already made plans to go back and touted them to everyone I know! Bravo!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent from the host , service,and fo ...

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

Excellent from the host , service,and food. Thank you for a wonderful birthday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful Evening

vip
Dined on November 24, 2015

Delightful Evening

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is AMAZING

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Always great but tonight was even better than usual. Quiet when we arrived, but we got there earlier than our reservation so went ahead and sat. Service is impeccable, food was absolutely fantastic. Short ribs for me, wife got the homemade raviolis which she loved. Nice measured service reminded me of being in Europe. Each course was followed with time to sit and chat. No rushing at all. Finished with a few desserts to sample, all fantastic. Nothing more to say, great food, great service. This place is a winner every time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Excellent service and very good food - a ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

Excellent service and very good food - also a nice selection of house wines by the glass. I had the lobster ravioli, and it was delicious. The sauce definitely stole the show, though - lobster lovers might prefer a tail special if they have it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch Italian . Thank you for a grea ...

vip
Dined on November 4, 2015

Top notch Italian . Thank you for a great wine and delicious is osso buco... and great service ..

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

Good food but inconsistent service

Dined on October 30, 2015

Our server was providing fair service, but then we noticed a table for 4 next to us was getting "extra attention" from another waiter that we did not receive--for example, mentioning the specials, describing wines that would pair well with their meals, more frequent visits to their table, etc. While the food was excellent, it was disheartening to see the stark difference in service.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Reliably good food and friendly service

vip
Dined on October 27, 2015

When we first started dining at Arta, the wait staff made numerous visits to the table, which in theory is nice, but in practical terms, felt like too many interruptions. We have dined there several times now and have seen a very nice improvement in the service. The staff is warm and gracious - they always have been! And now we feel like we have a bit more private time together at the table without so many interruptions. Thank you! The food is delicious. We almost always order the specials. This time we had a burrata and fig appetizer that was delightful and delicious butternut squash raviolis, which were actually an appetizer that they made into dinner portions for us. We've been telling everyone we know about this local gem in Ringwood!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite

Dined on October 17, 2015

Dinner was fabulous. Service was impeccable. When you have dinner here you always feel welcomed and special. See you soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, not cheap but worth it. Prob ...

Dined on October 16, 2015

Great food, not cheap but worth it. Probably the best service I've ever received. Will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

A Neighborhood Gem!

Dined on October 16, 2015

We are always completely satisfied with our experience when dining at Arta Restaurant. The ambiance is perfect, the food is delicious, and the staff is extremely attentive and yet not so much so that you feel hovered over for the evening. We love to share a meal and a memory at Arta any chance we get! Conveniently located in our hometown, it makes that needed night out so much more enjoyable. Highly recommended...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Shelf Italian

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Everything on the menu is spectacular....most specials are unique with their own fabulous flair…….Great service .A must for those who appreciate fine dinning the Italian way.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

QUAINT QUIET PLACE TO WINE AND DINE

Dined on September 5, 2015

SERVICE WAS EXCEPTIONAL FOOD WAS FRESH AND DELICIOUS THE RESTUARNT IS SMALL BUT VERY QUIET SO YOU CAN HAVE GOOD CONVERSATION. BANANNA FLAMBE FOR DESERT WAS JUST FABULOUS, HOST ROMEO WAS VERY PERSONABLE AND MADE SURE WE WERE COMFORTABLE AND HAD WHAT WE NEEDED . THROUGHLY ENJOYED EVEYTHING ABOUT THIS RESTAURANT.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Notch

vip
Dined on August 28, 2015

Always great . Always Consistent . They remember your name what you drink . Great food , service is wonderful.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great dining experience.

Dined on August 8, 2015

This is the second time I've been to Arat. The food was excellent and the service was top notch. The recommendations of our server were right on. It was the perfect place for a celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Arta's is a true gem in the mountains of NJ

Dined on August 1, 2015

If you want a truly relaxed dinner in the traditional Italian style, you must try this place. It is well known to all the locals for the place to celebrate any special occasion or for a romantic dinner. The food rivals experiences that I had while traveling thru Italy. The atmosphere is warm and the wait staff is very attentive. Romeo, the owner, will be sure to stop by and ensure everything is up to your expectations and usually offer you and after dinner drink. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Good food, better management and a good bet

vip
Dined on July 11, 2015

The food was good, not great. The service was OK, but the management was great. The selection of food and wine was maybe a little too big, but there's something for everyone. Concentration on a smaller menu would lead to even better quality food. But the key to this place, is that in a neighborhood that is like a dessert of anything decent to eat and this place becomes a gem.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

WHAT A SURPRISE !

vip
Dined on July 9, 2015

MY HUSBAND AND I ARE FOODIES. WE SAW ARTA'S ON OPEN TABLE , A LITTLE OUT OF OUR DRIVING RANGE BUT WE DECIDED TO GO. OUR RIDE WAS ABOUT 1/2 HOUR IN THE RAIN. WELL IT WAS SO WORTH THE TRIP. WE WERE SAT IMMEDIATELY AND FROM THEN ON OUT IS WAS A GREAT DINING EXPERIENCE. THE ATMOSPHERE WAS PLEASING, DIM BUT NOT TOO DARK, COUPLES & GROUPS WERE ALL ENJOYING THEMSELVES, EATING & DRINKING, YET NOT DISTURBING, WONDERFUL. WE WERE SO EXCITED WITH THE WINE MENU AS THE OFFERINGS WERE NOT OVER THE TOP PRICED AS YOU SEE AT SOME PLACES. OK THE FOOD !!! WE ORDERED OCTOPUS, ESCARGOT TO START. OUT THEY CAME, PLATED AS THEY SHOULD HAVE BEEN WITH ATTENTION TO DETAIL, THESE APPETIZERS WERE COOKED TO PERFECTION AND MOUTHWATERING. THE ENTREES' WE ORDERED WERE BOTH CHICKEN DISHES, NOT OUR NORMAL FAIRE ,BUT THEY READ SO DELICIOUS THAT WE HAD TO TRY THEM. THESE ENTREES' DID NOT DISAPPOINT. THEY WERE PLATED PERFECTLY AND TASTED THE SAME. WOW WHAT S DINNER ! AS FAR AS THE SERVICE, THE STAFF WERE VERY ATTENTIVE AND HELPFUL. WE CANNOT WAIT TO GO BACK. A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. OH YEAH, THE CHEESECAKE WAS TO DIE FOR !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful !!

vip
Dined on July 2, 2015

We've been coming here for over 7 years . This is by far our favorite place to eat for a nice date night. The food here is fantastic. It's all fresh and always delicious. The restaurant is very clean and has such a nice ambiance. The owners and wait staff remember you and treat you like an old friend. They are also very good with special requests. We are always told that if it's not on the menu it doesn't matter, they will make it for you.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food, a Real Gem

Dined on June 20, 2015

My husband and I recently moved to Ringwood, and we wanted to go out to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Arta came highly recommended from "Ringwood Moms" group on Facebook. And, now we know why! The ambiance is romantic, quaint, and relaxed. You feel so comfortable why enjoying artful gourmet food that is simply delicious when you bit into it! The service is impeccable. I highly recommend Arta. I will be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was absolutely superb, f ...

Dined on June 5, 2015

This restaurant was absolutely superb, from start to finish. The service was imoeccable, the ambiance was beautiful and the food was amongst the best I've ever had locally. I would highly recommend Arta and will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Italian dining at its best

Dined on June 4, 2015

We were in the area and was recommended to Arta by a friend. Very glad we decided to go for an early dinner. Nice atmosphere very good service, nice friendly staff. We shared a salad, delicious. My husband had a pasta dish, I opted for chicken rollatini. Both were great. You will not be disappointed. Will go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

vip
Dined on June 2, 2015

This is by far THE best Italian restaurant in the area. Service and food are excellent. Portions are a nice size. The waiters are very friendly and provide great service. The atmosphere is elegant and comfortable. I highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect Mother's Day dinner! From begin ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2015

Perfect Mother's Day dinner! From beginning to end, the staff was attentive. Starter of sausage and broccoli rabe was yummy. The sea bass wrapped in prosciutto was delectable, and the risotto with scallops and shrimp were to die for! Top all of that off with great dessert and cappuccino and it equals perfection. Great hidden gem!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.