About Arta restaurant

1131 Greenwood Lake TPKE
Ringwood, NJ 07456
View Larger Map

Arta Restaurant is located on the Greenwood Lake Turnpike in Ringwood, New Jersey, just minutes from the New York State border. Serving Northern Italian Cuisine, Arta has a full lunch and dinner menu and is open Tuesday through Sunday. Arta's dishes include chicken, veal, beef, fish and a selection of homemade pastas. At Arta we use our experience to recommend a wine that will be a perfect compliment to your meal. We stock a variety of domestic and imported red, white and sparkling wines. Relax at our comfortable bar, dine in our warm and casual atmosphere, or contact us for information about our famous catering services. Whatever your dining needs, Arta Restaurant will make your dining experience one to remember.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean, Contemporary Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Saturday: 2:00pm - 11:00pm

Sunday: 12:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Jacket Preferred

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(973) 728-2344

Website:
http://artarestaurant.net/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Arta restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
New York / Tri-State Area
Italian
New York / Tri-State Area
Best Overall
New Jersey - North
5 More
Best Food
New Jersey - North
Best Service
New Jersey - North
Best Ambiance
New Jersey - North
Romantic
New Jersey - North
Italian
New Jersey - North
Best Restaurants in Ringwood ›

Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
106 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It has gotten a bit expensive for us to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It has gotten a bit expensive for us to dine their regularly. Too many specials that are spoken, then the written ones and then the regular menu. Plus, if you are claiming that you use organic, grass fed, etc ingredients you should tell us where they come from. Anyone can make that claim!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Always a fabulous experience at Arta. T ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a fabulous experience at Arta. The service is far above most in northern NJ and food quality is wonderful

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent service, water glass filled br ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

excellent service, water glass filled bread basket and butter replaced as needed, fresh cutlery replaced at each course, fresh napkin as needed. Did not wait long for menu, specials description and service of the food. Menu was good and food was pleasantly presented.

Appetizer choice for the table of 6 persons was excellent included hot and cold sections.

Branzino Fish with real crab stuffing was excellent.

Desert selection included tasty gallato and great tortoni

There was adequate space on the table for the food.

Would recommend to friends, but it may be a little pricey for some, about $60 person but the quality of food and service were worth it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Arta's has always been delicious but in ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Arta's has always been delicious but in recent visits they seemed to have upped their game considerably!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Has become a reg ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and service. Has become a regular stop for us. Nicest of evenings.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food. Excellent service. A great st ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Good food. Excellent service. A great stop if you are in that area.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Gazpacho soup was good, we had an array ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Gazpacho soup was good, we had an array of dishes for a large group and all of them were amazing, tender and cooked to perfection, including the lamb. I service was impeccable, they would swoop in take care of filling a glass or taking a dish away and wouldn't interrupt conversations or inconvenience us. This is a wonderful gem and we had a better time than anticipated which speaks volumes for the people who work there!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The online lunch menu was not available ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The online lunch menu was not available and was missed. The restaurant was empty except for our table and while that increased the quality of the service, it greatly reduced the quality of the ambiance. I would not recommend this restaurant for lunch.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Food very good. Service outstanding! A ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food very good. Service outstanding! A little pricey but worth it. A lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were recommended by another couple we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were recommended by another couple we had met at the inn we were staying at. We were greeted very warmly as soon as we walked into the restaurant and the staff was very attentive to our needs. The food was great although a little pricey, but we were willing to pay it as it was to celebrate my husband's birthday. Dessert was the best!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great find in a remote area of No ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a great find in a remote area of Northern NJ...EXCELLENT meal and service...wish Arta was closer to my home! Harris M.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant, Well executed food , t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great restaurant, Well executed food , top notch service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very delicious. Desserts not a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food was very delicious. Desserts not as much. Service and ambience very good. Definitely a great neighborhood find!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Get the homemade pasta!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at Arta. The veal and fish dishes are always well prepared and delicious. I don't typically order pasta out because it seems too simple for a dinner out. But the last 2 times we've gone, I've ordered the homemade pasta specials at Arta. Both times, they've been so delicious! The sauces have been so tasty and creative and the pasta is cooked perfectly. So I recommend eating at Arta. Everything I've ever gotten there has been very good. But today I am definitely recommending the pasta! Also, service is always attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow. Big surprise. Restaurant staff very ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wow. Big surprise. Restaurant staff very professional and attentive to the floor. Constant motion to provide for patrons.

Food creative in presentation and taste.

Appetizers of salmon tower and asparagus Napolitiano proved to be delightful choices.

Fish specials of John Dory and Norwegian salmon from page to plate were delicious.

Crepe dessert prepared tableside exceptional. Price slightly high for area but restaurant delivered.

Worth the effort and expense.

Modify amount of choices to decrease cost.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were recommended by a friend. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were recommended by a friend. It was our first time there, but it won't be our last. Had a wonderful quiet, relaxing and delicious meal. The service was friendly, professional and attentive. My Bronzino was very fresh, my husband enjoyed his homemade ravioli in a very nice sauce. Our flambé dessert was prepared table side by a very lovely server who listened to our special request of separating the bananas for me and the berries for my husband. The home made whipped cream presented in an aerator was a great touch. A definite new place for us to put in our restaurant rotation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my Mom here for lunch they day be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my Mom here for lunch they day before Mother's Day. Everything was top notch. the food, the presentation of the food, the service level of the staff, etc. It is a bit pricey so I would not recommend for just a dinner out.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, if a little pricey

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Prices are closer to what you might expect in or around the city ($15+/- apps, $25+/- entrees, $35+/- specials), but the food quality is outstanding. Great seafood options (I got branzino with crab meet, along with two crab-stuffed shrimp and a side of risotta), food comes out piping hot. Desserts are excellent. Highly recommend Arta for anyone looking for a nice small restaurant with excellent food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing place. The restaurant doesnt loo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Amazing place. The restaurant doesnt look great from the outside but once you are in... its as good as any top notch restaurant..anywhete!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Food is always outstanding whenever we go. Great service . A little pricey, but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Little pricy but very good

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Little pricy but very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Hidden Gem

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Excellent Service from the moment we walked through the door! The food was delicious and was presented beautifully - my 2nd time and it was just as memorable as the 1st time. I brought an additional two people with me and the 4 of us all raved about the entrees and desserts - The burrata was absolutely wonderful and a must have - fresh Italian cheese made with mozzarella and cream - just yummy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Find with One Caveat

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

My caveat would be a big deal to me if not for everything else. Wive and kid's food were great. My salad was good but there was something odd about the chicken. I wasn't horrible tasting but it was very dense -- almost like meat that gets microwaved.

Dunno if it was or wasn't. Would give it another try since two of the three meals were so good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very nice and willing. Dinne ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service was very nice and willing. Dinner and dessert was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Valentine's Day dinner. Great ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Fantastic Valentine's Day dinner. Great food and service. Thank you .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were greeted at the door and the serv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We were greeted at the door and the service was great from the moment we arrived. We love the cozy little piano bar. Our dinner was great, the lobster bisque was delicious, the seafood risotto a bit starchy, but the veal dish and the pasta special were very good. We ended with the best cappuccino I've had in a long time and a rich carrot cake. If you are looking for a special dinner, with 5 star service, this is the place. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious homemade pasta!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The homemade pasta (bucatini) was delicious!! It was cooked to perfection. The bolognese was fantastic. I could have licked the plate! We always enjoy our meals at Arta, but this one was the best one yet. I was also really pleased to see the restaurant so filled. We usually dine there during the week and see a lot of empty tables, but every table was filled on this Saturday night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was impeccable....friendly, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

The service was impeccable....friendly, engaging...but non-intrusive. Sony provided the best service I have ever had .An unbelievably awesome food experience that meets every expectation. All around terrific. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

 
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Always a very enjoyable experience. Food is always first rate and service is very attentive without being overbearing. A little pricey but still a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

So worth the drive, a hidden gem!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I was looking for a four star romantic restaurant to take my girlfriend on Christmas, and all our usual go-to places were closed, so I searched and found Arta. What a find! Everything from the food to the service to the ambience and decor were A+. Already we can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I came in to celebrate ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

My boyfriend and I came in to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. We sat at a quiet table in the wine cellar. It was romantic and intimate. The food and service were excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a high quality fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

what a fabulous find!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

what a wonderful surprise! i'd searched for a great place to eat; i wanted great food, great ambiance, great service, basically great everything! i found that ARTA! no complaints. when my son showed up late (we were a party of 4, and only three of us showed up before the kitchen was set to close.....) they were wonderful about waiting for him to arrive. our mouths watered; the service was perfect and not overdone, and the establishment was perfect. I have already made plans to go back and touted them to everyone I know! Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent from the host , service,and fo ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Excellent from the host , service,and food. Thank you for a wonderful birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delightful Evening

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 24, 2015

Delightful Evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is AMAZING

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

Always great but tonight was even better than usual. Quiet when we arrived, but we got there earlier than our reservation so went ahead and sat. Service is impeccable, food was absolutely fantastic. Short ribs for me, wife got the homemade raviolis which she loved. Nice measured service reminded me of being in Europe. Each course was followed with time to sit and chat. No rushing at all. Finished with a few desserts to sample, all fantastic. Nothing more to say, great food, great service. This place is a winner every time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and very good food - a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

Excellent service and very good food - also a nice selection of house wines by the glass. I had the lobster ravioli, and it was delicious. The sauce definitely stole the show, though - lobster lovers might prefer a tail special if they have it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Top notch Italian . Thank you for a grea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 4, 2015

Top notch Italian . Thank you for a great wine and delicious is osso buco... and great service ..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but inconsistent service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

Our server was providing fair service, but then we noticed a table for 4 next to us was getting "extra attention" from another waiter that we did not receive--for example, mentioning the specials, describing wines that would pair well with their meals, more frequent visits to their table, etc. While the food was excellent, it was disheartening to see the stark difference in service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Reliably good food and friendly service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 27, 2015

When we first started dining at Arta, the wait staff made numerous visits to the table, which in theory is nice, but in practical terms, felt like too many interruptions. We have dined there several times now and have seen a very nice improvement in the service. The staff is warm and gracious - they always have been! And now we feel like we have a bit more private time together at the table without so many interruptions. Thank you! The food is delicious. We almost always order the specials. This time we had a burrata and fig appetizer that was delightful and delicious butternut squash raviolis, which were actually an appetizer that they made into dinner portions for us. We've been telling everyone we know about this local gem in Ringwood!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.