About Art House Café

111 N Tacoma Ave
Tacoma, WA 98403
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Stadium district of Tacoma, the Art House Café exemplifies the essence of Scratch American cuisine. The kitchen explores the bounty of the Pacific Northwest with an ingredient-driven menu. We invite you to rediscover what it means to cook and eat in Tacoma, Washington.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Tuesday: 8 am - 2 pm
Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 8 am - 9 pm
Friday - Saturday 8 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
N 1st St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 212-2011

Website:
http://www.arthousecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Friday Evenings we are graced by local musicians who wish nothing more than to share their musical talents with those around them. Come enjoy live performances every Friday by artists you surely will not want to miss!

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Art House Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (8)
fit for foodies (6)
great for lunch (5)
See All
great for outdoor dining (4)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
special occasion (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
25 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service and food are always outstanding. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Service and food are always outstanding. Occasion was dinner before movie at the Grand. Food was healthy and proportioned just right. Have eaten there for lunch and dinner. Next I want to experience their breakfast menu. I highly recommend it. Learned about it through the advertising at the Grand.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I love this place, the food is wonderful ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I love this place, the food is wonderful, we have been blessed to have the same waiter several times and he always trys to make it a nice dining experience. This last time I appreciated the fact that through opentable I was able to request a quieter table because my husband is hard of hearing and when we walked in the hostess said I have a couple tables here that would be good and you can pick. They really tried to help us have dinner with good food, good wine and good conversation. Great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The butternut squash pizza is out of thi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The butternut squash pizza is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Well suited for whole party

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

We were warmly welcomed into the most European-like bistro I have seen in Tacoma. Our table was ready for us before we were there, complete with the toddler's seat, coloring book, crayons, and appropriate water cup with lid!

The food is excellent and mostly seasonal.

Service is spot on, no rush, but there when you need them.

The feel is relaxed and elegant. It is a great fit for everyone! And now with the deck open with warm weather, this will quickly become your new favorite neighborhood haunt.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun little place to go to

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

This was my second time and it was fun to take some people who did not know about this great place in the neighborhood. Not only will I go back but I know they will too

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our breakfast was delicious and service, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 19, 2015

Our breakfast was delicious and service, professional. Lunch service starts at noon so we were forced to have breakfast, arriving at 11:30. the noise level is quite high.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice little spot.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

Nice little spot that has that neighborhood café feel. Comfortable and romantic, service is great, you feel like a regular on your first visit.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

spot on feel

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 15, 2015

does what it claims to be, a simple cafe styled restaurant with a distinct menu. Food was good but could have had more punch, ambience was perfect for a Wednesday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

perfect brunch apot

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on December 30, 2014

From the time we stepped in through the door the ambiance and friendliness of Art house Cafe was perfect. Our server was so polite and welcoming and the food was delicious. A great lil spot in Tacoma!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No Burgundy in the Beef Burgundy

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

This was our first time at this restaurant, and it is a wonderful find. The service was excellent, and it had a nice menu and a very reasonably priced wine list. It among the first days of a new fall special menu, and the only problem was that the beef burgundy had no burgundy in it. This is a dish I make very often, and the burgundy wine gives it is wonderful and distinctive flavor but the dish here was completely devoid of that flavor. Otherwise it was a tasty stew.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

I'll stick with dinners here...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 11, 2014

I've been to the Art House twice in the evening and had AMAZING dinners there with fantastic service. Brunch on Veteran's Day, however, left a lot to be desired. I made a reservation for four but we only had three chairs. The server said she was going to come back with another but 10 minutes later no one had brought chairs or checked in and when the rest of our group arrived, my friend stood/crouched for another 6 or 7 minutes next to her daughter waiting for a seat.

The server was friendly, as they always are, but for an establishment with so few tables, I was surprised that she checked on us so infrequently.

One of my friends ordered the Omelette of the Day and said it was alright. I was excited for my pressed egg sandwich but the flavor combination was just a miss for me. I trusted the description because I have loved the various dinner choices here but just was not a fan of the pear compote on a savory egg sandwich. To be fair, though, I don't like blue cheese, so I subbed that for hollandaise sauce and that choice may have 'broken' this sandwich's magic. Although I didn't try them, the rest of the table really like the pumpkin bread french toast and the dutch baby crepe.

Also, I will not be taking children there again. I normally wouldn't anyway, as I don't consider this establishment aiming anywhere near that target market but I didn't have much of a choice due to the holiday closure of his daycare. My 5-month-old was in his carrier, tucked half way under the table, and the server brought two cappucinos to the table and served them over his head. Halfway through she realized her mistake and rerouted but only after dripping coffee over the canopy of his carrier, which I am glad was up because hot liquid would have hit him square in the face.

So overall, I will still recommend for dinner and still love the restaurant but I wasn't a fan of the breakfast menu or the surprising degradation of service on a mildly busy day in such a small establishment.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

So glad I found it...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on November 1, 2014

My sister took me here and based on food and service I immediately changed my birthday plans so I could go again the following week. My husband and I enjoyed a late night dinner on Halloween. The pear gorgonzola ravioli was phenomenal and my husband really enjoyed his prime rib. The gimlet was made perfectly and with a nearly empty restaurant due to the holiday, and the server knowing it was my birthday, he gave us dessert on the house! It was a chocolate cake with ganache layers in which I detected a hint of grand marnier. The food both times has been fantastic but the service really tips it over for us. We've both worked in food service and customer service and it's nice to see them dedicated to a positive experience for their guests.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic for brunch

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

We've eaten here several times and their brunch is fantastic! Today we came for dinner and forgot that the menu at night is basically just sandwiches and pizza. Which are also really good, if you want a light dinner. We'll be back - for brunch again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great little cafe!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2014

We had a delightful dinner here. The baguette with truffle butter reminded us of Paris. The Cobb salad was fresh and delicious. We had the Berry Crisp for dessert, but were so full that we ended up taking 1/2 of it home to eat the next day. We will certainly go back the next time we are in Tacoma.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful Lunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 26, 2014

I took four of my staff to lunch on a Tuesday and we couldn't have had a better experience! We all had various salads, which were delicious (the Chilled Watermelon with Prawns was to die for!) and the service was fantastic. The comfortable atmosphere and friendly nature of their team the belies the 'foodie' quality of the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely Amazing!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2014

I love the relaxed atmosphere of this lovely restaurant. You feel like you are having a meal with friends in family on your back porch. The butternut squash pizza was FABULOUS and the spinach salad with the grapefruit was delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Art House Cafe

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 15, 2014

This was a great find through open table. The food is delicious and creative. The staff was always available and did a great job. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family. I had the salmon scramble with small red potatoes and my friend had an egg whit omelet with a side salad. All of the dishes were exceptional. We sat inside, however a covered patio was available, even though it was raining people were able to sit outside and enjoy the Northwest weather.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last time I wrote a review for AHC, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 8, 2014

The last time I wrote a review for AHC, I could not give enough praise. However, Saturday night was the antithesis - at least regarding the food and the new menu. Several of my favorites i.e. the beet salad and one of the pizzas is no longer offered. I settled for the ahi tuna salad and it was a joke! The tuna was overcooked and meager (looked like cat food) and the portion for the price was robbery (basically, I paid 15 dollars for a few pieces of tuna "chunks" and a hard boiled egg). My husband had the salmon with orzo and it was acceptable. The atmosphere and the music and the service were all on point - as usual. However, we are looking for a new neighborhood favorite as AHC is no longer my first choice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Quality and fair price

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2014

Great Duck, Great Salad, good wine/beer options. The ambiance was inviting, clean and modern. The outdoor eating space is nice and the indoor area is open and comfortable. Service was good but it was pre-dinner rush. I'd go 3.5 of 5 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Night out at the Art House Cafe

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2014

I enjoyed my first dinner at the Art House Café. The ambience is casual, modern and open. We were there on a Friday night and the live music was pleasant (guitarist). The menu was not extensive but all of the choices were tempting.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

bears repeating

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 18, 2014

I learned about AHC while watching the advertisements at the Grand Cinema. Thought I'd pay it a visit. So glad that I did. I have been back with spouse, relatives, and friends. I recommend AHC every chance I get. The food, service, and attention is consistently excellent. The atmosphere is inviting and convivial. I always feel like an honored and valued guest.

I do wish the wine (red) list was a bit broader...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice early weeknight dinner

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 16, 2014

We'd been here for brunch, which was worth the wait (the place is SUPER popular on weekends), but this was a lovely early weeknight dinner for my husband's birthday. It was nice that we made it in before the crowd. I was disappointed in the limited menu, mostly pizza, but my husband really enjoyed it, and the chocolate cake was delightful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 12, 2014

This was our third visit and unfortunately the experience was not positive enough to return. The staff is very inexperienced: slow, inattentive, lacking in knowledge. Our server meant well, but that only goes so far. The menu has so much potential, but execution isn't there. Pizza that is undercooked and bland, lentils seasoned like cup-o-soup, salad with giant lettuce leaves that you have to spend minutes chopping up to eat with too much bacon and nuts. It's really disappointing because the atmosphere is great and the concept as well. We had similar issues on the first two visits but have been hoping they were anomolies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Hip neighborhood spot to eat

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 25, 2014

Love this place for breakfast and lunch! Atmosphere very hip,casual and up scale. Food is high quality, interesting and healthy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for dinner

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

We have had breakfast and lunch here in the past and always enjoyed it but this was our first time for dinner. Great food, fun live music, sort of slow service but, with the music, we didn't mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.