About Art House Café

111 N Tacoma Ave
Tacoma, WA 98403
View Larger Map

Located in the historic Stadium district of Tacoma, the Art House Café exemplifies the essence of Scratch American cuisine. The kitchen explores the bounty of the Pacific Northwest with an ingredient-driven menu. We invite you to rediscover what it means to cook and eat in Tacoma, Washington.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Tuesday: 8 am - 2 pm
Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 8 am - 9 pm
Friday - Saturday 8 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
N 1st St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 212-2011

Website:
http://www.arthousecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Friday Evenings we are graced by local musicians who wish nothing more than to share their musical talents with those around them. Come enjoy live performances every Friday by artists you surely will not want to miss!

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Art House Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Casual (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Healthy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
45 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was very poor. They acted as if they did not know how there reservation system worked.

I do not think our server was a server. Maybe a manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Had the Flank Steak with cauliflower au Gratin and grilled Brussel sprouts. Outstanding! The Gratin is really really good, and the steak tender and cooked to perfection. Service was cheerful, prompt and knowledgeable. Dinner for 2, without drinks, was about $40. Had wine after, and found the staff knowledgeable and wiling to offer suggestions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Charming little spot next to an art school. Pleasant, interesting food; wonderful desserts, convenient location.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The Art House cafe has a new chief who has added not only excellent menu choices but, is also a baker and the cafe is offering heavenly homemade bread for take out purchase. The Art House has really stepped up it's game.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date, Vegan, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The quality of the food vs price is excellent. Quant and unique atmosphere. We will return with friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our second time and we'll keep coming back. Food, drinks, and staff were great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The staff are always so nice and welcoming at Art House! I love coming in for brunch and am so glad I finally tried dinner. I'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was my second visit to Arthouse Cafe. The first time, the service and food were great! This time, we waited for 20-30 minutes just to have our order taken and then another 30 to get our food. Breakfast was mediocre this time. Unfortunately, we probably won't go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We came here the day after Christmas. We were sat right away because of our reservation. There was a longer than normal wait time for our food so our server brought us a complimentary cinnamon roll! More than one server kept our water glasses and coffee mugs full. I ordered a pressed egg sandwich on sourdough. It was homey and delicious. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal- we shared a bunch of small plates among our group of 4 so that we could sample more things on the really delicious menu. Everthing we ordered was great but the table favorite was the gnocchi with bacon- will get that again if it's on the menu in the future! Desserts are also worth the calorie splurge. Service was outstanding.

We've been to breakfast and lunch at Arthouse in the past but this was our first dinner. But definitely not the last. The neighborhood is becoming a restaurant destination and as a bona fide foodie I must say this has become one of the best in this hood.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The biscuits were fabulous! Love the fireplace! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Art House Café has a great menu with many choices for all different type of eaters. I had the gnocchi with bacon and I finished every morsel. The dinner salad was excellent had a nice balsamic dressing. My friend who had the polenta dish was practically licking her place

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We live right down the street in the Vista Del Rey and come here once every couple of months. Every time it' great. Service and food are top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We ordered pizza and salads and lattes (which, they advertise as being famous for their coffee). The pizza came out first, and we had to continually ask for the lattes. After we finished the pizza, the salad came out, despite telling the server we'd like to have the salad anytime before the pizza was ready. We also had to ask for sweetener multiple times before just getting up, going to the back area of the kitchen, and getting it ourselves. Water glasses remained empty.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good, but the host was preoccupied and didn't listen to me when I told him I had a reservation so I didn't get my 100 points for making a reservation through Open Table. Since I am not able to go out a lot, it was important that I got credit for making the reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Lovely feel to this place. The presentation and flavor of the dishes was wonderful. The waiter was completely inattentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

There wasn't that many people in the tiny restaurant, but you would've thought our waiter was slammed. We rarely saw him and had to ask several times for things. We've eaten there hundreds of times and have enjoyed it every time, but this was one of the worse service experiences I've dealt with. They weren't prepared for us, and like I said there was three other tables at the time. I will think again before coming back and honestly love this place, but tonight put a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Art House Cafe popped up as a place for lunch while searching Open Table in Tacoma. We are so glad that it did! My girlfriend had a pizza (cannot remember the name of it), and I had a burger. Both were so darned good! We even ordered a pizza to go so we could have it for dinner later. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was simply amazing. Everything we had, and I do mean everything, was superb. The butternut squash pizza with sausage was to die for - literally the best pizza that I have ever had to date. The beet salad was also delicious along with the salmon crostini. Dave was our server - totally nice guy. Cocktails were perfectly poured and just right. Really, could not have asked for a better meal/experience. Went here just after doing the wine + painting event upstairs. Was a great date night with my wife - and - will definitely come back. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was terrific and will definitely return. The only issue was that there is construction nearby which was VERY loud when sitting outside, so it hurt the ambiance. That was out of the control of the restaurant though :)

Service was very attentive, but slow which is a challenge when there for business which usually puts the diner on a strict time schedule.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Service and food are always outstanding. Occasion was dinner before movie at the Grand. Food was healthy and proportioned just right. Have eaten there for lunch and dinner. Next I want to experience their breakfast menu. I highly recommend it. Learned about it through the advertising at the Grand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2016

I love this place, the food is wonderful, we have been blessed to have the same waiter several times and he always trys to make it a nice dining experience. This last time I appreciated the fact that through opentable I was able to request a quieter table because my husband is hard of hearing and when we walked in the hostess said I have a couple tables here that would be good and you can pick. They really tried to help us have dinner with good food, good wine and good conversation. Great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2016

The butternut squash pizza is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 9, 2015

We were warmly welcomed into the most European-like bistro I have seen in Tacoma. Our table was ready for us before we were there, complete with the toddler's seat, coloring book, crayons, and appropriate water cup with lid!

The food is excellent and mostly seasonal.

Service is spot on, no rush, but there when you need them.

The feel is relaxed and elegant. It is a great fit for everyone! And now with the deck open with warm weather, this will quickly become your new favorite neighborhood haunt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2015

This was my second time and it was fun to take some people who did not know about this great place in the neighborhood. Not only will I go back but I know they will too

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2015

Our breakfast was delicious and service, professional. Lunch service starts at noon so we were forced to have breakfast, arriving at 11:30. the noise level is quite high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 7, 2015

Nice little spot that has that neighborhood café feel. Comfortable and romantic, service is great, you feel like a regular on your first visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2015

does what it claims to be, a simple cafe styled restaurant with a distinct menu. Food was good but could have had more punch, ambience was perfect for a Wednesday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2014

From the time we stepped in through the door the ambiance and friendliness of Art house Cafe was perfect. Our server was so polite and welcoming and the food was delicious. A great lil spot in Tacoma!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2014

This was our first time at this restaurant, and it is a wonderful find. The service was excellent, and it had a nice menu and a very reasonably priced wine list. It among the first days of a new fall special menu, and the only problem was that the beef burgundy had no burgundy in it. This is a dish I make very often, and the burgundy wine gives it is wonderful and distinctive flavor but the dish here was completely devoid of that flavor. Otherwise it was a tasty stew.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2014

I've been to the Art House twice in the evening and had AMAZING dinners there with fantastic service. Brunch on Veteran's Day, however, left a lot to be desired. I made a reservation for four but we only had three chairs. The server said she was going to come back with another but 10 minutes later no one had brought chairs or checked in and when the rest of our group arrived, my friend stood/crouched for another 6 or 7 minutes next to her daughter waiting for a seat.

The server was friendly, as they always are, but for an establishment with so few tables, I was surprised that she checked on us so infrequently.

One of my friends ordered the Omelette of the Day and said it was alright. I was excited for my pressed egg sandwich but the flavor combination was just a miss for me. I trusted the description because I have loved the various dinner choices here but just was not a fan of the pear compote on a savory egg sandwich. To be fair, though, I don't like blue cheese, so I subbed that for hollandaise sauce and that choice may have 'broken' this sandwich's magic. Although I didn't try them, the rest of the table really like the pumpkin bread french toast and the dutch baby crepe.

Also, I will not be taking children there again. I normally wouldn't anyway, as I don't consider this establishment aiming anywhere near that target market but I didn't have much of a choice due to the holiday closure of his daycare. My 5-month-old was in his carrier, tucked half way under the table, and the server brought two cappucinos to the table and served them over his head. Halfway through she realized her mistake and rerouted but only after dripping coffee over the canopy of his carrier, which I am glad was up because hot liquid would have hit him square in the face.

So overall, I will still recommend for dinner and still love the restaurant but I wasn't a fan of the breakfast menu or the surprising degradation of service on a mildly busy day in such a small establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 1, 2014

My sister took me here and based on food and service I immediately changed my birthday plans so I could go again the following week. My husband and I enjoyed a late night dinner on Halloween. The pear gorgonzola ravioli was phenomenal and my husband really enjoyed his prime rib. The gimlet was made perfectly and with a nearly empty restaurant due to the holiday, and the server knowing it was my birthday, he gave us dessert on the house! It was a chocolate cake with ganache layers in which I detected a hint of grand marnier. The food both times has been fantastic but the service really tips it over for us. We've both worked in food service and customer service and it's nice to see them dedicated to a positive experience for their guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2014

We've eaten here several times and their brunch is fantastic! Today we came for dinner and forgot that the menu at night is basically just sandwiches and pizza. Which are also really good, if you want a light dinner. We'll be back - for brunch again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2014

We had a delightful dinner here. The baguette with truffle butter reminded us of Paris. The Cobb salad was fresh and delicious. We had the Berry Crisp for dessert, but were so full that we ended up taking 1/2 of it home to eat the next day. We will certainly go back the next time we are in Tacoma.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2014

I took four of my staff to lunch on a Tuesday and we couldn't have had a better experience! We all had various salads, which were delicious (the Chilled Watermelon with Prawns was to die for!) and the service was fantastic. The comfortable atmosphere and friendly nature of their team the belies the 'foodie' quality of the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2014

I love the relaxed atmosphere of this lovely restaurant. You feel like you are having a meal with friends in family on your back porch. The butternut squash pizza was FABULOUS and the spinach salad with the grapefruit was delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant to all my friends and family. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 15, 2014

This was a great find through open table. The food is delicious and creative. The staff was always available and did a great job. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family. I had the salmon scramble with small red potatoes and my friend had an egg whit omelet with a side salad. All of the dishes were exceptional. We sat inside, however a covered patio was available, even though it was raining people were able to sit outside and enjoy the Northwest weather.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 8, 2014

The last time I wrote a review for AHC, I could not give enough praise. However, Saturday night was the antithesis - at least regarding the food and the new menu. Several of my favorites i.e. the beet salad and one of the pizzas is no longer offered. I settled for the ahi tuna salad and it was a joke! The tuna was overcooked and meager (looked like cat food) and the portion for the price was robbery (basically, I paid 15 dollars for a few pieces of tuna "chunks" and a hard boiled egg). My husband had the salmon with orzo and it was acceptable. The atmosphere and the music and the service were all on point - as usual. However, we are looking for a new neighborhood favorite as AHC is no longer my first choice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 30, 2014

Great Duck, Great Salad, good wine/beer options. The ambiance was inviting, clean and modern. The outdoor eating space is nice and the indoor area is open and comfortable. Service was good but it was pre-dinner rush. I'd go 3.5 of 5 stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2014

I enjoyed my first dinner at the Art House Café. The ambience is casual, modern and open. We were there on a Friday night and the live music was pleasant (guitarist). The menu was not extensive but all of the choices were tempting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2014

I learned about AHC while watching the advertisements at the Grand Cinema. Thought I'd pay it a visit. So glad that I did. I have been back with spouse, relatives, and friends. I recommend AHC every chance I get. The food, service, and attention is consistently excellent. The atmosphere is inviting and convivial. I always feel like an honored and valued guest.

I do wish the wine (red) list was a bit broader...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2014

We'd been here for brunch, which was worth the wait (the place is SUPER popular on weekends), but this was a lovely early weeknight dinner for my husband's birthday. It was nice that we made it in before the crowd. I was disappointed in the limited menu, mostly pizza, but my husband really enjoyed it, and the chocolate cake was delightful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2014

This was our third visit and unfortunately the experience was not positive enough to return. The staff is very inexperienced: slow, inattentive, lacking in knowledge. Our server meant well, but that only goes so far. The menu has so much potential, but execution isn't there. Pizza that is undercooked and bland, lentils seasoned like cup-o-soup, salad with giant lettuce leaves that you have to spend minutes chopping up to eat with too much bacon and nuts. It's really disappointing because the atmosphere is great and the concept as well. We had similar issues on the first two visits but have been hoping they were anomolies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 25, 2014

Love this place for breakfast and lunch! Atmosphere very hip,casual and up scale. Food is high quality, interesting and healthy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 20, 2014

We have had breakfast and lunch here in the past and always enjoyed it but this was our first time for dinner. Great food, fun live music, sort of slow service but, with the music, we didn't mind.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.