Not bookable

This restaurant is temporarily offline. Please contact the restaurant directly or check back shortly for availability.

Art House Café

4.3
58 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

Located in the historic Stadium district of Tacoma, the Art House Café exemplifies the essence of Scratch American cuisine. The kitchen explores the bounty of the Pacific Northwest with an ingredient-driven menu. We invite you to rediscover what it means to cook and eat in Tacoma, Washington.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Northwest
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Monday - Fri: 8 am - 2 pm
Saturday-Sunday: 8 am - 3 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(253) 212-2011
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
N 1st St.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Friday Evenings we are graced by local musicians who wish nothing more than to share their musical talents with those around them. Come enjoy live performances every Friday by artists you surely will not want to miss!
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wine
What 58 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on August 25, 2017

BEWARE of Open Table and making reservations. One should always double check with the restaurant as to whether or not they are truly open. This is the second time I have made a reservation on OpenTable with 2 different restaurants; both of which were closed on Sundays.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

We really enjoyed our visit for breakfast. Our server was helpful, enthusiastic and delightful- all qualities you look for in a quality establishment. Thank you for the delicious breakfast! We really enjoy the scratch made food created at the restaurant. Top notch ingredients for your tummy! Our favorites were Benedict, Breakfast Pizza and the mind blowing biscuit/gravy dish! WOW!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Fabulous in every way as always!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 5, 2017

We showed up for our 6pm reservation and discovered that the restaurant is only open for lunch; it closes at 3pm.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Booked this place for dinner on Jul 29 before a concert. Got there only to find it locked up tight. Thanks Open table.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 28, 2017

The food did not taste as good as I remember it being unfortunately. I was looking online and looking forward to the banana pancakes but they were not on the menu. The food was only good, not amazing. We could've stayed home for breakfast.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Cute, kitschy place for an informal dinner. We went before dropping the 20 yr olds at a concert at the TDome! We had a reservation but it wasn't needed. Sunny day and their small patio was open . We still sat inside but the doors were open and it was nice and pleasant. The dinner salad was a little weak, but the pasta was very nice. Two people had the burger and one was undercooked but he ate it anyways. The kitchen is open and we could see the chef on his phone - 2 or 3 times-- a little odd. Still I would go back if I was in the area. Almond joy cake was fantastic and big enough to share!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2017

We have been here on several occasions. They recently changed their menu, but the changes are very positive. We will be back again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food & service. There were 4 of us total. Two lamb burgers, one pizza & one gnocchi were ordered. All very tasty. We'll be back for sure.. The only negative feedback is that for my taste the cake was to sweet and the slices are huge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2017

Breakfast out for our anniversary. So many options! Loved the food, service was superb and coffee was delish! Highly recommend and will come back soon!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2017

1st time here. I loved the vibe. Food wasn't quite as good as I expected, based on reviews. Started with the house salad, all wonderful ingredients, presentation, but overdressed. Uncle Val's gin and tonic was lovely, spaetzle was killed by too many strongly flavored ingredients.....could not taste the sage butter .
Service was fine, although not notable.

I'll try again, though !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2017

Such a colorful, stylish, fun place! Food was modern, healthy and very good! Our group of six was accommodated quite well: servers were patient and helpful, even if a bit slow (we were not at all in a hurry). I'd go back to Art House Café!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

I had a green salad before dinner which I split with a friend. The server kindly asked if she could split this for us which was great. The salad came with a wonderful balsamic dressing and was sprinkled with cashew nuts, fabulous! For dinner I ordered the polenta cakes which were served over pea greens, also very tasty! This beautiful space is filled with art, thus the name. There are pretty pieces of art every place you look. The fire place kept things warm on the cold night we were there. I loved my meal and hope to return to try their brunch!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was very poor. They acted as if they did not know how there reservation system worked.
I do not think our server was a server. Maybe a manager.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Had the Flank Steak with cauliflower au Gratin and grilled Brussel sprouts. Outstanding! The Gratin is really really good, and the steak tender and cooked to perfection. Service was cheerful, prompt and knowledgeable. Dinner for 2, without drinks, was about $40. Had wine after, and found the staff knowledgeable and wiling to offer suggestions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2017

Charming little spot next to an art school. Pleasant, interesting food; wonderful desserts, convenient location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2017

The Art House cafe has a new chief who has added not only excellent menu choices but, is also a baker and the cafe is offering heavenly homemade bread for take out purchase. The Art House has really stepped up it's game.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

The quality of the food vs price is excellent. Quant and unique atmosphere. We will return with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Our second time and we'll keep coming back. Food, drinks, and staff were great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2017

The staff are always so nice and welcoming at Art House! I love coming in for brunch and am so glad I finally tried dinner. I'll be back for sure!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 2, 2017

This was my second visit to Arthouse Cafe. The first time, the service and food were great! This time, we waited for 20-30 minutes just to have our order taken and then another 30 to get our food. Breakfast was mediocre this time. Unfortunately, we probably won't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2016

We came here the day after Christmas. We were sat right away because of our reservation. There was a longer than normal wait time for our food so our server brought us a complimentary cinnamon roll! More than one server kept our water glasses and coffee mugs full. I ordered a pressed egg sandwich on sourdough. It was homey and delicious. We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal- we shared a bunch of small plates among our group of 4 so that we could sample more things on the really delicious menu. Everthing we ordered was great but the table favorite was the gnocchi with bacon- will get that again if it's on the menu in the future! Desserts are also worth the calorie splurge. Service was outstanding.
We've been to breakfast and lunch at Arthouse in the past but this was our first dinner. But definitely not the last. The neighborhood is becoming a restaurant destination and as a bona fide foodie I must say this has become one of the best in this hood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 28, 2016

The biscuits were fabulous! Love the fireplace! Definitely will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2016

The Art House Café has a great menu with many choices for all different type of eaters. I had the gnocchi with bacon and I finished every morsel. The dinner salad was excellent had a nice balsamic dressing. My friend who had the polenta dish was practically licking her place

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 30, 2016

We live right down the street in the Vista Del Rey and come here once every couple of months. Every time it' great. Service and food are top notch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 11, 2016

We ordered pizza and salads and lattes (which, they advertise as being famous for their coffee). The pizza came out first, and we had to continually ask for the lattes. After we finished the pizza, the salad came out, despite telling the server we'd like to have the salad anytime before the pizza was ready. We also had to ask for sweetener multiple times before just getting up, going to the back area of the kitchen, and getting it ourselves. Water glasses remained empty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good, but the host was preoccupied and didn't listen to me when I told him I had a reservation so I didn't get my 100 points for making a reservation through Open Table. Since I am not able to go out a lot, it was important that I got credit for making the reservation.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 1, 2016

Lovely feel to this place. The presentation and flavor of the dishes was wonderful. The waiter was completely inattentive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 20, 2016

There wasn't that many people in the tiny restaurant, but you would've thought our waiter was slammed. We rarely saw him and had to ask several times for things. We've eaten there hundreds of times and have enjoyed it every time, but this was one of the worse service experiences I've dealt with. They weren't prepared for us, and like I said there was three other tables at the time. I will think again before coming back and honestly love this place, but tonight put a bad taste in my mouth.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

The Art House Cafe popped up as a place for lunch while searching Open Table in Tacoma. We are so glad that it did! My girlfriend had a pizza (cannot remember the name of it), and I had a burger. Both were so darned good! We even ordered a pizza to go so we could have it for dinner later. We'll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was simply amazing. Everything we had, and I do mean everything, was superb. The butternut squash pizza with sausage was to die for - literally the best pizza that I have ever had to date. The beet salad was also delicious along with the salmon crostini. Dave was our server - totally nice guy. Cocktails were perfectly poured and just right. Really, could not have asked for a better meal/experience. Went here just after doing the wine + painting event upstairs. Was a great date night with my wife - and - will definitely come back. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was terrific and will definitely return. The only issue was that there is construction nearby which was VERY loud when sitting outside, so it hurt the ambiance. That was out of the control of the restaurant though :)

Service was very attentive, but slow which is a challenge when there for business which usually puts the diner on a strict time schedule.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2016

Service and food are always outstanding. Occasion was dinner before movie at the Grand. Food was healthy and proportioned just right. Have eaten there for lunch and dinner. Next I want to experience their breakfast menu. I highly recommend it. Learned about it through the advertising at the Grand.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this place, the food is wonderful, we have been blessed to have the same waiter several times and he always trys to make it a nice dining experience. This last time I appreciated the fact that through opentable I was able to request a quieter table because my husband is hard of hearing and when we walked in the hostess said I have a couple tables here that would be good and you can pick. They really tried to help us have dinner with good food, good wine and good conversation. Great neighborhood restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2016

The butternut squash pizza is out of this world!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2015

We were warmly welcomed into the most European-like bistro I have seen in Tacoma. Our table was ready for us before we were there, complete with the toddler's seat, coloring book, crayons, and appropriate water cup with lid!
The food is excellent and mostly seasonal.
Service is spot on, no rush, but there when you need them.
The feel is relaxed and elegant. It is a great fit for everyone! And now with the deck open with warm weather, this will quickly become your new favorite neighborhood haunt.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2015

This was my second time and it was fun to take some people who did not know about this great place in the neighborhood. Not only will I go back but I know they will too

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2015

Our breakfast was delicious and service, professional. Lunch service starts at noon so we were forced to have breakfast, arriving at 11:30. the noise level is quite high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2015

Nice little spot that has that neighborhood café feel. Comfortable and romantic, service is great, you feel like a regular on your first visit.

Report
Helpful
1
2