Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.58mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Art House Café

Located in the historic Stadium district of Tacoma, the Art House Café exemplifies the essence of Scratch American cuisine. The kitchen explores the bounty of the Pacific Northwest with an ingredient-driven menu. We invite you to rediscover what it means to cook and eat in Tacoma, Washington.

111 N Tacoma Ave
Tacoma, WA 98403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Northwest

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Tuesday: 8 am - 2 pm
Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 8 am - 9 pm
Friday - Saturday 8 am - 11 pm

Cross Street:
N 1st St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 212-2011

Website:
http://www.arthousecafe.com/

Entertainment:
Friday Evenings we are graced by local musicians who wish nothing more than to share their musical talents with those around them. Come enjoy live performances every Friday by artists you surely will not want to miss!

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Art House Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.0

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
S
53 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food did not taste as good as I remember it being unfortunately. I was looking online and looking forward to the banana pancakes but they were not on the menu. The food was only good, not amazing. We could've stayed home for breakfast.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Cute, kitschy place for an informal dinner. We went before dropping the 20 yr olds at a concert at the TDome! We had a reservation but it wasn't needed. Sunny day and their small patio was open . We still sat inside but the doors were open and it was nice and pleasant. The dinner salad was a little weak, but the pasta was very nice. Two people had the burger and one was undercooked but he ate it anyways. The kitchen is open and we could see the chef on his phone - 2 or 3 times-- a little odd. Still I would go back if I was in the area. Almond joy cake was fantastic and big enough to share!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We have been here on several occasions. They recently changed their menu, but the changes are very positive. We will be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent food & service. There were 4 of us total. Two lamb burgers, one pizza & one gnocchi were ordered. All very tasty. We'll be back for sure.. The only negative feedback is that for my taste the cake was to sweet and the slices are huge.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Breakfast out for our anniversary. So many options! Loved the food, service was superb and coffee was delish! Highly recommend and will come back soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

1st time here. I loved the vibe. Food wasn't quite as good as I expected, based on reviews. Started with the house salad, all wonderful ingredients, presentation, but overdressed. Uncle Val's gin and tonic was lovely, spaetzle was killed by too many strongly flavored ingredients.....could not taste the sage butter .
Service was fine, although not notable.

I'll try again, though !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Such a colorful, stylish, fun place! Food was modern, healthy and very good! Our group of six was accommodated quite well: servers were patient and helpful, even if a bit slow (we were not at all in a hurry). I'd go back to Art House Café!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I had a green salad before dinner which I split with a friend. The server kindly asked if she could split this for us which was great. The salad came with a wonderful balsamic dressing and was sprinkled with cashew nuts, fabulous! For dinner I ordered the polenta cakes which were served over pea greens, also very tasty! This beautiful space is filled with art, thus the name. There are pretty pieces of art every place you look. The fire place kept things warm on the cold night we were there. I loved my meal and hope to return to try their brunch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was very poor. They acted as if they did not know how there reservation system worked.
I do not think our server was a server. Maybe a manager.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had the Flank Steak with cauliflower au Gratin and grilled Brussel sprouts. Outstanding! The Gratin is really really good, and the steak tender and cooked to perfection. Service was cheerful, prompt and knowledgeable. Dinner for 2, without drinks, was about $40. Had wine after, and found the staff knowledgeable and wiling to offer suggestions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Charming little spot next to an art school. Pleasant, interesting food; wonderful desserts, convenient location.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The Art House cafe has a new chief who has added not only excellent menu choices but, is also a baker and the cafe is offering heavenly homemade bread for take out purchase. The Art House has really stepped up it's game.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date, Vegan, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The quality of the food vs price is excellent. Quant and unique atmosphere. We will return with friends.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our second time and we'll keep coming back. Food, drinks, and staff were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The staff are always so nice and welcoming at Art House! I love coming in for brunch and am so glad I finally tried dinner. I'll be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was my second visit to Arthouse Cafe. The first time, the service and food were great! This time, we waited for 20-30 minutes just to have our order taken and then another 30 to get our food. Breakfast was mediocre this time. Unfortunately, we probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We came here the day after Christmas. We were sat right away because of our reservation. There was a longer than normal wait time for our food so our server brought us a complimentary cinnamon roll! More than one server kept our water glasses and coffee mugs full. I ordered a pressed egg sandwich on sourdough. It was homey and delicious. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our meal- we shared a bunch of small plates among our group of 4 so that we could sample more things on the really delicious menu. Everthing we ordered was great but the table favorite was the gnocchi with bacon- will get that again if it's on the menu in the future! Desserts are also worth the calorie splurge. Service was outstanding.
We've been to breakfast and lunch at Arthouse in the past but this was our first dinner. But definitely not the last. The neighborhood is becoming a restaurant destination and as a bona fide foodie I must say this has become one of the best in this hood.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The biscuits were fabulous! Love the fireplace! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The Art House Café has a great menu with many choices for all different type of eaters. I had the gnocchi with bacon and I finished every morsel. The dinner salad was excellent had a nice balsamic dressing. My friend who had the polenta dish was practically licking her place

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We live right down the street in the Vista Del Rey and come here once every couple of months. Every time it' great. Service and food are top notch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We ordered pizza and salads and lattes (which, they advertise as being famous for their coffee). The pizza came out first, and we had to continually ask for the lattes. After we finished the pizza, the salad came out, despite telling the server we'd like to have the salad anytime before the pizza was ready. We also had to ask for sweetener multiple times before just getting up, going to the back area of the kitchen, and getting it ourselves. Water glasses remained empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good, but the host was preoccupied and didn't listen to me when I told him I had a reservation so I didn't get my 100 points for making a reservation through Open Table. Since I am not able to go out a lot, it was important that I got credit for making the reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Lovely feel to this place. The presentation and flavor of the dishes was wonderful. The waiter was completely inattentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2016

There wasn't that many people in the tiny restaurant, but you would've thought our waiter was slammed. We rarely saw him and had to ask several times for things. We've eaten there hundreds of times and have enjoyed it every time, but this was one of the worse service experiences I've dealt with. They weren't prepared for us, and like I said there was three other tables at the time. I will think again before coming back and honestly love this place, but tonight put a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Art House Cafe popped up as a place for lunch while searching Open Table in Tacoma. We are so glad that it did! My girlfriend had a pizza (cannot remember the name of it), and I had a burger. Both were so darned good! We even ordered a pizza to go so we could have it for dinner later. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was simply amazing. Everything we had, and I do mean everything, was superb. The butternut squash pizza with sausage was to die for - literally the best pizza that I have ever had to date. The beet salad was also delicious along with the salmon crostini. Dave was our server - totally nice guy. Cocktails were perfectly poured and just right. Really, could not have asked for a better meal/experience. Went here just after doing the wine + painting event upstairs. Was a great date night with my wife - and - will definitely come back. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was terrific and will definitely return. The only issue was that there is construction nearby which was VERY loud when sitting outside, so it hurt the ambiance. That was out of the control of the restaurant though :)

Service was very attentive, but slow which is a challenge when there for business which usually puts the diner on a strict time schedule.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Service and food are always outstanding. Occasion was dinner before movie at the Grand. Food was healthy and proportioned just right. Have eaten there for lunch and dinner. Next I want to experience their breakfast menu. I highly recommend it. Learned about it through the advertising at the Grand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I love this place, the food is wonderful, we have been blessed to have the same waiter several times and he always trys to make it a nice dining experience. This last time I appreciated the fact that through opentable I was able to request a quieter table because my husband is hard of hearing and when we walked in the hostess said I have a couple tables here that would be good and you can pick. They really tried to help us have dinner with good food, good wine and good conversation. Great neighborhood restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 6, 2016

The butternut squash pizza is out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 8, 2015

We were warmly welcomed into the most European-like bistro I have seen in Tacoma. Our table was ready for us before we were there, complete with the toddler's seat, coloring book, crayons, and appropriate water cup with lid!
The food is excellent and mostly seasonal.
Service is spot on, no rush, but there when you need them.
The feel is relaxed and elegant. It is a great fit for everyone! And now with the deck open with warm weather, this will quickly become your new favorite neighborhood haunt.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2015

This was my second time and it was fun to take some people who did not know about this great place in the neighborhood. Not only will I go back but I know they will too

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2015

Our breakfast was delicious and service, professional. Lunch service starts at noon so we were forced to have breakfast, arriving at 11:30. the noise level is quite high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 6, 2015

Nice little spot that has that neighborhood café feel. Comfortable and romantic, service is great, you feel like a regular on your first visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2015

does what it claims to be, a simple cafe styled restaurant with a distinct menu. Food was good but could have had more punch, ambience was perfect for a Wednesday night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2014

From the time we stepped in through the door the ambiance and friendliness of Art house Cafe was perfect. Our server was so polite and welcoming and the food was delicious. A great lil spot in Tacoma!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2014

This was our first time at this restaurant, and it is a wonderful find. The service was excellent, and it had a nice menu and a very reasonably priced wine list. It among the first days of a new fall special menu, and the only problem was that the beef burgundy had no burgundy in it. This is a dish I make very often, and the burgundy wine gives it is wonderful and distinctive flavor but the dish here was completely devoid of that flavor. Otherwise it was a tasty stew.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2014

I've been to the Art House twice in the evening and had AMAZING dinners there with fantastic service. Brunch on Veteran's Day, however, left a lot to be desired. I made a reservation for four but we only had three chairs. The server said she was going to come back with another but 10 minutes later no one had brought chairs or checked in and when the rest of our group arrived, my friend stood/crouched for another 6 or 7 minutes next to her daughter waiting for a seat.
The server was friendly, as they always are, but for an establishment with so few tables, I was surprised that she checked on us so infrequently.
One of my friends ordered the Omelette of the Day and said it was alright. I was excited for my pressed egg sandwich but the flavor combination was just a miss for me. I trusted the description because I have loved the various dinner choices here but just was not a fan of the pear compote on a savory egg sandwich. To be fair, though, I don't like blue cheese, so I subbed that for hollandaise sauce and that choice may have 'broken' this sandwich's magic. Although I didn't try them, the rest of the table really like the pumpkin bread french toast and the dutch baby crepe.
Also, I will not be taking children there again. I normally wouldn't anyway, as I don't consider this establishment aiming anywhere near that target market but I didn't have much of a choice due to the holiday closure of his daycare. My 5-month-old was in his carrier, tucked half way under the table, and the server brought two cappucinos to the table and served them over his head. Halfway through she realized her mistake and rerouted but only after dripping coffee over the canopy of his carrier, which I am glad was up because hot liquid would have hit him square in the face.
So overall, I will still recommend for dinner and still love the restaurant but I wasn't a fan of the breakfast menu or the surprising degradation of service on a mildly busy day in such a small establishment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2014

My sister took me here and based on food and service I immediately changed my birthday plans so I could go again the following week. My husband and I enjoyed a late night dinner on Halloween. The pear gorgonzola ravioli was phenomenal and my husband really enjoyed his prime rib. The gimlet was made perfectly and with a nearly empty restaurant due to the holiday, and the server knowing it was my birthday, he gave us dessert on the house! It was a chocolate cake with ganache layers in which I detected a hint of grand marnier. The food both times has been fantastic but the service really tips it over for us. We've both worked in food service and customer service and it's nice to see them dedicated to a positive experience for their guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.