About Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne

5349 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy
Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Casual Italian dining in an elegant atmosphere, reservations not required, however recommended for large groups. Please contact us to confirm reservations made after 5:00pm to confirm availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 845-5244

Website:
http://www.aroojis.com/#!__ballantyne

Entertainment:
Friday and Saturday nights we have our musician Jeff Rearick performing live starting at 7pm.

Catering:
For any occasion we can accommodate your catering needs. Please call the restaurant line at 704-845-5244 with any requests.

Parking Details:
Onsite Parking

Executive Chef:
Steve Arooji

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne
Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne

Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (12)
romantic (8)
fit for foodies (6)
See All
special occasion (6)
notable wine list (5)
good for groups (4)
great for lunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
52 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the food but our Groupon was not u ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved the food but our Groupon was not used properly so we didn't get $30 credit. Didn't want to make a fuss since we were picking up tab for friends also. Hesitate to go back even though we have another groupon to use.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our first visit and will return many tim ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit and will return many times. The food excellent and wine was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With our out-of-town guest we decided to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

With our out-of-town guest we decided to dine at a neighborhood restaurant, on a Saturday night. We chose Arooji's Wine Room based upon it's menu. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly. Service however, got off to a slow start but did improve after we addressed it. We were all very pleased with our meals and the live music was most enjoyable! We ended the evening feeling satisfied and would certainly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

It too 4 days for my points to appear be ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

It too 4 days for my points to appear before on open table.

My credit card was not properly processed and as of now, my bank statement does not show my Groupon discount reflected. There is a duplicate charge of $30.00 more than the actual bill. If this is not corrected, I will put a hold on their chargeback. Not a good scenario for Arooji's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

By far one of the best restaurants in Ch ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

By far one of the best restaurants in Charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable dinner date. Wednesday ni ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner date. Wednesday night so wasn't very crowded thus service and food delivery were efficient. This experience will invite us to return again.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unhappy waiter

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

This was our first dinning experience at Arooji's. We were seated by our waiter without even speaking or making eye contact. Very uncomfortable start to a special night. This was the way it went through out dinner. I had to get up and ask for extra bread because he never came back to check on us and even used my cell to call the restaurant we were ready for the bill and a to go box. The food was good but if you go, beware of the man with no smile or expression.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

Wonderful food. We will be back

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful food. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best eggplant parmesan ever!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Best eggplant parmesan ever. I always get the lasagna, love their food. They make 'smaller versions' of their classics, perfect sizes for kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and found is excellent. Than ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service and found is excellent. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Bad Nor Great

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Received a gift card for here otherwise I probably wouldn't have gone. Nonetheless the experience was alright albeit for the crab and spinach dip appetizer which in my wife's and my opinion was a little to fishy for our liking thus we sent it back unfortunately the waiter did not remove it from the check until I questioned it inclusion. Overall the entries were done nicely. My wife had the lobster ravioli and I had the clams and mussel special which was very good. While not my favorite italIan place in South Charlotte, I would dine here again.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Don't let the location fool you. This is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Don't let the location fool you. This is a great find. I will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We love the size and service. We return often. The servers are great. The food is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is a hidden jewel!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

This place is a hidden jewel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Arooji's

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great experience! Food was delicious,our waiter,Brendan?,was very informative,friendly and timely,and restaurant 's ambiance was relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian Fare & Great Wines

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We settled in for a night of great Italian food and wines; we were not disappointed!

We had a knowledgeable friendly server, great first course salad, followed by great

Pasta dishes. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Trattoria Dining

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Imagine a really good trattoria in Italy and then you'll understand why Arooji's is so busy.

The food,though not large portions, is excellent.

Jonathan,our server, was very good but because they were so busy the food came out hot but took longer than expected. The salad came out right before the dinner was served,which was disappointing. The dinner was hot and my eggplant marinara was delicious. My husband's chicken Parmesan was good.

Prices are on the high side,considering portions. If a customer wants to substitute pasta for a salad,even if there is a small up charge, it should be offered.

I suppose that with a discount coupon we'd return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Perfect place for anyone.

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The atmosphere is one that anyone can enjoy. I came with my mother after doing an internet search on places to take her. As I just relocated down here I'm not too familiar but I'm so glad to have found this place. Having lived in Ballantyne for my first two months here I WISH I'd have found it then, though I'm not too far now. I LOVED the live music. If you're a fan of 70s lite-rock (as I am) you will definitely enjoy. I had the Penne alla Vodka and it was just delicious. Best restaurant I've been to since moving down three months ago.

I will certainly be coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Poor service!!!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Poor service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Outstanding food in a very welcoming env ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Outstanding food in a very welcoming environment. We were able to take our time, hear our conversation and enjoy our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

So glad our friend recommended this place

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

This restaurant is great and so glad a friend recommended to us. From the outside it doesn't look like much but the inside of the restaurant is really nice, the food and service was great. Menu was good and so was the wine list - we plan to eat here often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good. A favorite of ours

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good. A favorite of ours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

excellent food. Servers were very attentive.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 26, 2015

Ambiance was only listed as good due to lighting being too bright

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Italian fare!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2015

Nice setting in a shopping center which was surprising to me. Very good food with a very nice wine selection. The wait staff were very attentive, and the decor was unique. There was entertainment which was a person who played guitar and sounded like James Taylor, and even better we could still have a nice dinner and talk since the music was not too loud. I highly recommend Aroojis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time - dinner and wine is ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 30, 2015

Always a great time - dinner and wine is wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Happy to have given it a "whirl"

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2015

Read a bevy of mixed reviews, but went all in on the eggplant parm.......cannot go wrong. Eclectic decorations, some cool, some a bit cheesy, but a great find in the Promenade. Would highly recommend based on our experience.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Never got a table

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

I can't rate this restaurant because when I booked a 7pm reservation with open table it didn't tell me that they had no availability that evening, instead automatically booking me at 7pm for the next evening. This should not happen. Could I have caught this, yes but I wasn't thing about the date I was making a reservation for the same evening.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

really like this restaurant. Have been ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 10, 2015

really like this restaurant. Have been back several times and its always good

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aroojis - Bad Attitude.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2015

Made the reservation on line and arrived at the restaurant on time. Waited for 5 minutes before a waiter came by and said that they weren't using open table because the manager was off.

The restaurant was not crowded but clearly understaffed. We were told that we could wait for 50 minutes.

We left disappointed and vowed never to return to Aroojis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Very enjoyable overall

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

The food was excellent. Four of us went and everyone liked their entree. Two people had the veal saltimbocca and both said it was excellent on top of being a huge portion! The eggplant parm was particularly good since it wasn't dipped in bread crumbs prior to baking. The last entree was the chicken marsala which was also a huge portion and excellent. We had calamari for an appetizer and it was fried perfectly - not greasy. It was served with an excellent white aioli sauce and marinara. We also had the antipasto plate which had an excellent choice of real Italian charcuterie. The only drawback for the night was the waiter. He was a little inexperienced and needs some additional training. Minor drawback - we'd all still go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

disappointing

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

I brought 3 friends about a month ago, and they really loved it and wanted to go back. We were disappointed this time. It was good but the food was not nearly as good for the same dishes as before. I was very disappointed. The lobster ravioli is always fabulous and the sauce was thick and pasty. The other 2 dishes were not as well prepared as before. It also took a long time to be served. We thought maybe the chef was out. Hopefully this will be helpful. I will return once again because I have been going for years and it is always wonderful. I love the restaurant and its ambiance and wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

It was okay.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

This restaurant was notable for neither the food or the wine. First clue was the vintage wasn't listed on the wine list. So you had no idea if you were paying $90 for a good year or a mediocre year until the bottle arrived. Also, the wine was largely stored vertically, which led to dry corks. Naturally, the first bottle they tried to pour for us the waiter broke the cork.

The food was not bad (not outstanding), but about what you could make at home. In spite of telling me that the chef recommends medium rare for the rack of lamb, it was delivered nearly well done.

Prices were lower than better places, so maybe my expectations were just a little too high. However, this is not a restaurant that I plant to frequent.

Service was very slow. The waiter was pre-occupied with a large group and getting the check took nearly as long as the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Definitely recommend

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 13, 2015

We went on a quiet Monday night but there was still a good number of diners. Server was attentive but not overbearing. Food had a lot of flavor and was timed well - something that too many restaurants cannot get right anymore!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food at a local independent restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

We have eaten at Arooji's several times for dinner. The calamari appetizer is very good. The chicken parmegan and spaghetti was just good. It is a good choice for a local upscale restaurant. If you're looking for excellent Italian food there are better choices in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Clueless

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 13, 2015

I booked a reservation for 7:15 had my family in the car driving when the restaurant called me and said they just saw my open table booking and told me they were too busy and could not seat us. So we drove someplace else. It's a good place but they are not managing open table apparently?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

I Absollutely Loved This Place

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 8, 2015

Arooji's Wine Room is definitely a "DIAMOND" in the rough. It was my first time at Arooji's Wine Room and it was a "Great Experience". The atmosphere was exactly what I like. Very quiet and romantic. "Great Wine List" ... Our service was "IMPECCABLE"..... :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great find!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on January 23, 2015

This was our first visit, but we will definitely return. The food, the service, the ambience were all top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Good, Unappreciated, Italian!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 21, 2014

The food is always quite good at Arooji's Wine Room, one of the better Italian restaurants in Charlotte, and the staff always friendly and solicitous. Having dined frequently at this Ballantyne location and the now-closed South Park location, I would have to conclude that Arooji's is not well appreciated by Charlotte diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Aroojis used to be better.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

Food was adequate, service was slow. What's happened?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.