Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne

4.5
112 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem
Casual Italian dining in an elegant atmosphere, reservations not required, however recommended for large groups. Please contact us to confirm reservations made after 5:00pm to confirm availability.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(704) 845-5244
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steve Arooji
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For any occasion we can accommodate your catering needs. Please call the restaurant line at 704-845-5244 with any requests.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Onsite Parking
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Friday and Saturday nights we have our musician Jeff Rearick performing live starting at 7pm.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 112 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The service was first class, along with the many dishes we had ordered. I have been to Italy, and Arooji’s has mastered bringing that experience to the US. Will surely re-visit for any occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

This is our go to restaurant for special occassions. Love the atmosphere. It is nice to be able to tell your waiter what you like in a wine and then they bring you a glass that matches your taste! The food is always delicious and the portions are large.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The Crab and Spinach Dip and Pasta with Shrimp was excellent. The service was attentive and quick.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

The food was generally very mediocre. The service was fantastic but I would be reluctant to return due to the food quality.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Tha food was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I chose this restaurant from Open Table for dinner with friends on our first night in Charlotte and couldn't have been happier! First of all the ambience is lovely...the restaurant is extremely cozy and decorated beautifully with a wine theme. There were six of us and they gave us a little private room with one table and a view of part of the restaurant. Being from New York, we were a little hesitant about having Italian food outside of our city since we have had some bad experiences in other places. But the food here was amazing! We all ordered different dishes and everyone was very pleased with everything from appetizer to desert. Our waiter was also very professional and very pleasant. In short, a terrific experience and a restaurant we would definitely return to if we make a return trip!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Jonathan was fantastic

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Great service and food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

This is my favorite Italian restaurant in all of North Carolina. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and professional. The food is AWESOME. Highly Recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Good Italian food in a local restaurant. A hidden gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Very good food and service. Superior wine selection.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 17, 2018

We were eating dinner with 2 other couples. Our food was very slow arriving and when it did, the order was mixed up. The waiter also had trouble dividing our bill. He was very pleasant, but, obviously needed more training. The food and ambiance were nice, but, we will not be back because of the slow food service and untrained waitstaff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Great wine list, the cheese plate appetizer and meals were just outstanding, and it had a very romantic, adult friendly vibe.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Excellent service and meal! Our family had dinner on a quiet Sunday evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

This was a date night with my husband. Have been to Arooji's several times and it never disappoints. Our server was Eric and he was very knowledgeable and was helpful with suggestions.

We started with the Sambuce appetizer which is baked beef in a puff pastry; delicious! It is a great appetizer for 2-3 people.

Main entrees were Chicken Parm and a seafood pasta special that had shrimp & scallops in a pink cream sauce. The portions are generous and the quality spectacular. We enjoy each experience at Arooji's and plan to return again.

They have a really nice selection of wines; had a red blend from their menu. Thanks for such a great dining experience. Eric was great and would ask for him to serve us again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Another great meal here, brought friends who were very impressed with their meals and the awesome service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Food and service were very good. Seafood specials were great and the chef accommodated my daughter by making a special veal dish. Great waiter. Only downside was that there was a group behind us that was very loud. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 18, 2017

This was probably my 10th visit to Arooji’s, but it has been 6 years since I was there (just moved back to town). Restaurant was not crowded - only 4 groups when we arrived. Service was slow...very slow. My lasagna was actually undercooked and cool in the middle. Other guests enjoyed their meal, I just felt the value had slipped. Still a nice place, probably a bad night. Will try again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

Good food
Service was moderate - no refill on water; server not attentive
Loud table next to us

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2017

Had not been to Arooji’s in a long time even though I live close by. It’s in the pricey side, maybe that’s why. However, the service is attentive. Food was good. Dirty martinis were spot on. I’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 2, 2017

overall a very good experience. Server was friendly but didn't "bother" us. My dinner was served hot and was very tasty. I definately will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Awesome gourmet Italian style food. Great waiter.
Great sauces, will go again went in the area.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Poor service. Not busy at all. Food was absolutely
taste-less. Zero flavor. What chef doesn’t taste the food before it leaves the kitchen!?!? He came out and ‘blamed it on a large crowd/ order’ on the other side of the restaurant. Can’t believe that because there was only 10-12 total in restaurant. He said ‘we probably forgot the salt and pepper because of the crowd/ big order’..... REALLY!?!?

Never be back again. Last time. Predict this restaurant will close in next 12 months.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Dinner for three on a Saturday evening in October. The service is impeccable; they are there to ensure your drink glasses are filled and used plates taken away without delay. The food was incredible; from the starter salads to the main entrees. One had steak, other had Chicken Marsala, and I had a special of mussels and shrimp over risotto in a red sauce. It was all delicious. They have a great wine selection to choose from.

All in all, will return again as it is a great little restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 6, 2017

The food took almost an hour to come out and was over cooked. The background music is horrible for an Italian restaurant. Music was load and from the 50”s. Killed the ambiance!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 1, 2017

The salad dressing was from Restaurant Depot (not homemade). The pasta a la vodka was underwhelming . We were disappointed. Has the management changed?

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 29, 2017

Food and service was excellent, the price point was high in my opinion, especially for the wine.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 26, 2017

My friends & I planned a Girls' night (4 of us) to dine at Arooji's. While impressed with the atmosphere, wine and food selections; we were disappointed with our server. He was not warm or welcoming. He seemed very bothered to have to wait on us and ready for us to leave. Perhaps this venue is not fit for a Girls night, but rather a couples' night. I don't think this will deter me from dining with them again, but I may opt to go elsewhere ahead of Arooji's where I feel more invited.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 23, 2017

extremely noisy. Poor service. Favorite item was not available. Iced tea unavailable for refills.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

My husband and I chose this restaurant for our anniversary. As always, they delivered the best food and service. I'd recommend them to anyone. Whether it's a birthday, anniversary or just a good meal you're looking for this restaurant brings a great dining experience every time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

This is a gem of a restaurant! We had excellent service, the food was wonderful, and the atmosphere was surprisingly intimate. We will return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2017

We brought our granddaughter who loved the gnocchi with pesto sauce. Our meals didn't disappoint either. Our second trip here and we WILL be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

We were seated right away, drinks came fast and our food was awesome! Will be going back soon to taste some other items on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 9, 2017

Me and my boyfriend went here to celebrate our 3 year anniversary, we were looking for something that wasn't "bust the wallet expensive" but also still nice enough to have the occasion mean something more then your everyday dining place. The House champagne was delicious and the raviolies that I got were fantastic, my boyfriend also loved his enormous plate of chicken parmesan and ended up having to get a box. The wait staff was lovely and polite and the restaurant was pretty quite as we went on a Sunday evening. All in all, I would ABSOLUTELY go back for another "fancy " date night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 13, 2017

Nice atmosphere. My guests loved their mussels, shrimp and clam specials. My veal was bland. The service was likely the worst I have had in years. I am not sure if he was completely inept or just could not care less, but I could speak to more that he did wrong than right. I would not recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2017

Always quiet, good specials. Our group had a variety of dishes and each was thoroughly pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

The food and service was EXCELLENT!!!! (As usual)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 1, 2017

Went for my husband's birthday and we all were very underwhelmed. Food was very salty as all the pasta dishes were overdone with cheese. My husband had the 8oz filet which he said was just average. There was only one other party in the entire restaurant (it was early...) but our service was not attentive at all. And the 'icing on the cake'...I noted in my open table reservation that we were celebrating my husband's birthday and no one even acknowledged the event. We won't be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2017

Arooji's has always been our go to restaurant for years. My neighborhood luncheon was
held there for 30 women. My best friend said her Cosmo was the best she ever had.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3