Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi
  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi
  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi

About Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne

Casual Italian dining in an elegant atmosphere, reservations not required, however recommended for large groups. Please contact us to confirm reservations made after 5:00pm to confirm availability.

5349 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy
Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 845-5244

Website:
http://www.aroojis.com/#!__ballantyne

Entertainment:
Friday and Saturday nights we have our musician Jeff Rearick performing live starting at 7pm.

Catering:
For any occasion we can accommodate your catering needs. Please call the restaurant line at 704-845-5244 with any requests.

Parking Details:
Onsite Parking

Executive Chef:
Steve Arooji

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (6)
Authentic (5)
Cozy (4)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Casual (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
88 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Poor service. Not busy at all. Food was absolutely
taste-less. Zero flavor. What chef doesn’t taste the food before it leaves the kitchen!?!? He came out and ‘blamed it on a large crowd/ order’ on the other side of the restaurant. Can’t believe that because there was only 10-12 total in restaurant. He said ‘we probably forgot the salt and pepper because of the crowd/ big order’..... REALLY!?!?

Never be back again. Last time. Predict this restaurant will close in next 12 months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Dinner for three on a Saturday evening in October. The service is impeccable; they are there to ensure your drink glasses are filled and used plates taken away without delay. The food was incredible; from the starter salads to the main entrees. One had steak, other had Chicken Marsala, and I had a special of mussels and shrimp over risotto in a red sauce. It was all delicious. They have a great wine selection to choose from.

All in all, will return again as it is a great little restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food took almost an hour to come out and was over cooked. The background music is horrible for an Italian restaurant. Music was load and from the 50”s. Killed the ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The salad dressing was from Restaurant Depot (not homemade). The pasta a la vodka was underwhelming . We were disappointed. Has the management changed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Food and service was excellent, the price point was high in my opinion, especially for the wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My friends & I planned a Girls' night (4 of us) to dine at Arooji's. While impressed with the atmosphere, wine and food selections; we were disappointed with our server. He was not warm or welcoming. He seemed very bothered to have to wait on us and ready for us to leave. Perhaps this venue is not fit for a Girls night, but rather a couples' night. I don't think this will deter me from dining with them again, but I may opt to go elsewhere ahead of Arooji's where I feel more invited.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 23, 2017

extremely noisy. Poor service. Favorite item was not available. Iced tea unavailable for refills.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

My husband and I chose this restaurant for our anniversary. As always, they delivered the best food and service. I'd recommend them to anyone. Whether it's a birthday, anniversary or just a good meal you're looking for this restaurant brings a great dining experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This is a gem of a restaurant! We had excellent service, the food was wonderful, and the atmosphere was surprisingly intimate. We will return soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We brought our granddaughter who loved the gnocchi with pesto sauce. Our meals didn't disappoint either. Our second trip here and we WILL be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were seated right away, drinks came fast and our food was awesome! Will be going back soon to taste some other items on the menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Me and my boyfriend went here to celebrate our 3 year anniversary, we were looking for something that wasn't "bust the wallet expensive" but also still nice enough to have the occasion mean something more then your everyday dining place. The House champagne was delicious and the raviolies that I got were fantastic, my boyfriend also loved his enormous plate of chicken parmesan and ended up having to get a box. The wait staff was lovely and polite and the restaurant was pretty quite as we went on a Sunday evening. All in all, I would ABSOLUTELY go back for another "fancy " date night.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Nice atmosphere. My guests loved their mussels, shrimp and clam specials. My veal was bland. The service was likely the worst I have had in years. I am not sure if he was completely inept or just could not care less, but I could speak to more that he did wrong than right. I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Always quiet, good specials. Our group had a variety of dishes and each was thoroughly pleased.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food and service was EXCELLENT!!!! (As usual)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Went for my husband's birthday and we all were very underwhelmed. Food was very salty as all the pasta dishes were overdone with cheese. My husband had the 8oz filet which he said was just average. There was only one other party in the entire restaurant (it was early...) but our service was not attentive at all. And the 'icing on the cake'...I noted in my open table reservation that we were celebrating my husband's birthday and no one even acknowledged the event. We won't be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Arooji's has always been our go to restaurant for years. My neighborhood luncheon was
held there for 30 women. My best friend said her Cosmo was the best she ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Been here several times, always great food and service. Love the decor too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was a fantastic place to eat!! Great service by Ray, excellent food, perfect ambiance!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chiapas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great location. Greeted immediately and shown to my table. Wine menu is awesome. Wonderful ambience. Service impeccable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great ambiance but very expensive. We ordered entrees only (no drinks, starters or dessert) and the bill was $80!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Arooji's is a great place for a nice meal, has a wonderful wine list, as well as having the feeling of being in a cozy Italian neighborhood bistro. The dark woods, greenery and wall art offer a relaxing setting for time with friends, a special occasion, or just a nice meal. We've eaten here many times and find the booths to be quieter for conversation when the restaurant is especially busy. Our server was good, although she made us feel a bit rushed at times (we have felt a bit rushed on other visits as well).

We had made a Saturday evening reservation through Open Table and the requested booth was ready for us upon arrival. We were greeted promptly by a serving assistant with warm rolls accompanied by a tasty concoction of white beans, onions, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Our group enjoyed chicken marsala, filet alla pompei, lasagna, and a pasta dish with jalapenos. Each couple split a salad - caesar and shirazzi. But it was a bit annoying that they would not put the shirazzi on 2 plates without charging extra. Really?! Everyone enjoyed their salad and entree very much though. Our friend who had the lasagna commented that it was one of the best she's ever had.

We would definitely recommend Arooji's to anyone looking for excellent food, fine wine and a nice cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My family and I are originally from New York and the chicken parm here is the best we have found in Charlotte. Their food is always on point. Their staff is friendly, and attentive. Their wine... well that just makes it perfect!

This is by far, our favorite Italian restaurant in Charlotte. It is our go-to spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The entire experience was wonderful. Great food, service and ambiance. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good meal! Server was excellent! Aroojis can slways be relied upon for a quality meal, quick service at a good price point.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food. Service is very good, but a bit hurried. Would appreciate a bit more time between courses.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Very enjoyable evening! The service was on point! Veal meatballs with pasta special was delicious! Fish cooked to perfection. Salad greens super fresh! Loved the live guitar music playing in the background. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 7, 2016

We had a mid week dinner and the restaurant was not at all crowded. The staff was attentive and the food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Really enjoyed our night. Food was great and the service was spot on, not intrusive but there when you needed them. great wine selection. really good cream sauce on the lobster ravioli. thought my lamb was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice ambiance, decent food and awful service. With only two table occupied, we waited over 5 minutes to be seated. We had to wait for bread to "come out of the oven". It came after the meal was served and was not warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Enjoyable dining experience. Nice atmosphere. Quiet enough for normal conversation. Nice selection of specials. Reasonable pricing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2016

My husband and I always have had a great , tasty meal. Very consistently good. The sauce is genuinely italian, the way my grandmother use to make it, so delicious and authentic. The eggplant parmigiana is to die for. Yummy!!
Always enjoy the music on the weekends.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nicely designed interior allowing for some degree of privacy. While the main course was quite good, the soup was less than anticipated and the wait was extremely long. Our waitress was friendly enough but avoided us during the long wait for our main course to the point of our having to stop someone to refill our water glasses. Not sure what all the hype is about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This place is great! I love the ambiance and setting. The food is always great as is the service. Friendly staff always remember us and make us feel at home.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was very good, one order was incorrect, but other than that, meals were great. The singer/guitarist that was playing was excellent, and perfect for that room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Highly recommended. Loved beans with olive oil

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved the food but our Groupon was not used properly so we didn't get $30 credit. Didn't want to make a fuss since we were picking up tab for friends also. Hesitate to go back even though we have another groupon to use.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit and will return many times. The food excellent and wine was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2016

With our out-of-town guest we decided to dine at a neighborhood restaurant, on a Saturday night. We chose Arooji's Wine Room based upon it's menu. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly. Service however, got off to a slow start but did improve after we addressed it. We were all very pleased with our meals and the live music was most enjoyable! We ended the evening feeling satisfied and would certainly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2016

It too 4 days for my points to appear before on open table.

My credit card was not properly processed and as of now, my bank statement does not show my Groupon discount reflected. There is a duplicate charge of $30.00 more than the actual bill. If this is not corrected, I will put a hold on their chargeback. Not a good scenario for Arooji's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.