About Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne

5349 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy
Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Casual Italian dining in an elegant atmosphere, reservations not required, however recommended for large groups. Please contact us to confirm reservations made after 5:00pm to confirm availability.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 845-5244

Website:
http://www.aroojis.com/#!__ballantyne

Entertainment:
Friday and Saturday nights we have our musician Jeff Rearick performing live starting at 7pm.

Catering:
For any occasion we can accommodate your catering needs. Please call the restaurant line at 704-845-5244 with any requests.

Parking Details:
Onsite Parking

Executive Chef:
Steve Arooji

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (14)
special occasion (11)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
notable wine list (9)
romantic (8)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (5)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
45 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food. We will be back

Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful food. We will be back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best eggplant parmesan ever!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Best eggplant parmesan ever. I always get the lasagna, love their food. They make 'smaller versions' of their classics, perfect sizes for kids.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and found is excellent. Than ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The service and found is excellent. Thanks.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not Bad Nor Great

Dined on March 6, 2016

Received a gift card for here otherwise I probably wouldn't have gone. Nonetheless the experience was alright albeit for the crab and spinach dip appetizer which in my wife's and my opinion was a little to fishy for our liking thus we sent it back unfortunately the waiter did not remove it from the check until I questioned it inclusion. Overall the entries were done nicely. My wife had the lobster ravioli and I had the clams and mussel special which was very good. While not my favorite italIan place in South Charlotte, I would dine here again.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't let the location fool you. This is ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Don't let the location fool you. This is a great find. I will be back for sure.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place.

Dined on March 4, 2016

We love the size and service. We return often. The servers are great. The food is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden jewel!

Dined on February 26, 2016

This place is a hidden jewel!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arooji's

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great experience! Food was delicious,our waiter,Brendan?,was very informative,friendly and timely,and restaurant 's ambiance was relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Italian Fare & Great Wines

Dined on February 12, 2016

We settled in for a night of great Italian food and wines; we were not disappointed! We had a knowledgeable friendly server, great first course salad, followed by great Pasta dishes. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Trattoria Dining

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Imagine a really good trattoria in Italy and then you'll understand why Arooji's is so busy. The food,though not large portions, is excellent. Jonathan,our server, was very good but because they were so busy the food came out hot but took longer than expected. The salad came out right before the dinner was served,which was disappointing. The dinner was hot and my eggplant marinara was delicious. My husband's chicken Parmesan was good. Prices are on the high side,considering portions. If a customer wants to substitute pasta for a salad,even if there is a small up charge, it should be offered. I suppose that with a discount coupon we'd return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Perfect place for anyone.

Dined on January 30, 2016

The atmosphere is one that anyone can enjoy. I came with my mother after doing an internet search on places to take her. As I just relocated down here I'm not too familiar but I'm so glad to have found this place. Having lived in Ballantyne for my first two months here I WISH I'd have found it then, though I'm not too far now. I LOVED the live music. If you're a fan of 70s lite-rock (as I am) you will definitely enjoy. I had the Penne alla Vodka and it was just delicious. Best restaurant I've been to since moving down three months ago. I will certainly be coming back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service1

Poor service!!!

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Poor service!!!

food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding food in a very welcoming env ...

Dined on January 15, 2016

Outstanding food in a very welcoming environment. We were able to take our time, hear our conversation and enjoy our meal.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

So glad our friend recommended this place

Dined on January 2, 2016

This restaurant is great and so glad a friend recommended to us. From the outside it doesn't look like much but the inside of the restaurant is really nice, the food and service was great. Menu was good and so was the wine list - we plan to eat here often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Very good. A favorite of ours

Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good. A favorite of ours

food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing

Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was amazing

food4
ambience3
service4

excellent food. Servers were very attentive.

vip
Dined on September 26, 2015

Ambiance was only listed as good due to lighting being too bright

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Italian fare!

Dined on July 31, 2015

Nice setting in a shopping center which was surprising to me. Very good food with a very nice wine selection. The wait staff were very attentive, and the decor was unique. There was entertainment which was a person who played guitar and sounded like James Taylor, and even better we could still have a nice dinner and talk since the music was not too loud. I highly recommend Aroojis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Always a great time - dinner and wine is ...

Dined on July 30, 2015

Always a great time - dinner and wine is wonderful

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service4

Happy to have given it a "whirl"

vip
Dined on July 17, 2015

Read a bevy of mixed reviews, but went all in on the eggplant parm.......cannot go wrong. Eclectic decorations, some cool, some a bit cheesy, but a great find in the Promenade. Would highly recommend based on our experience.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Never got a table

Dined on July 12, 2015

I can't rate this restaurant because when I booked a 7pm reservation with open table it didn't tell me that they had no availability that evening, instead automatically booking me at 7pm for the next evening. This should not happen. Could I have caught this, yes but I wasn't thing about the date I was making a reservation for the same evening.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

really like this restaurant. Have been ...

vip
Dined on July 10, 2015

really like this restaurant. Have been back several times and its always good

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1

Aroojis - Bad Attitude.

vip
Dined on July 7, 2015

Made the reservation on line and arrived at the restaurant on time. Waited for 5 minutes before a waiter came by and said that they weren't using open table because the manager was off. The restaurant was not crowded but clearly understaffed. We were told that we could wait for 50 minutes. We left disappointed and vowed never to return to Aroojis.

food4
ambience4
service3

Very enjoyable overall

Dined on June 29, 2015

The food was excellent. Four of us went and everyone liked their entree. Two people had the veal saltimbocca and both said it was excellent on top of being a huge portion! The eggplant parm was particularly good since it wasn't dipped in bread crumbs prior to baking. The last entree was the chicken marsala which was also a huge portion and excellent. We had calamari for an appetizer and it was fried perfectly - not greasy. It was served with an excellent white aioli sauce and marinara. We also had the antipasto plate which had an excellent choice of real Italian charcuterie. The only drawback for the night was the waiter. He was a little inexperienced and needs some additional training. Minor drawback - we'd all still go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3

disappointing

Dined on May 15, 2015

I brought 3 friends about a month ago, and they really loved it and wanted to go back. We were disappointed this time. It was good but the food was not nearly as good for the same dishes as before. I was very disappointed. The lobster ravioli is always fabulous and the sauce was thick and pasty. The other 2 dishes were not as well prepared as before. It also took a long time to be served. We thought maybe the chef was out. Hopefully this will be helpful. I will return once again because I have been going for years and it is always wonderful. I love the restaurant and its ambiance and wait staff.

food2
ambience3
service2

It was okay.

Dined on May 10, 2015

This restaurant was notable for neither the food or the wine. First clue was the vintage wasn't listed on the wine list. So you had no idea if you were paying $90 for a good year or a mediocre year until the bottle arrived. Also, the wine was largely stored vertically, which led to dry corks. Naturally, the first bottle they tried to pour for us the waiter broke the cork. The food was not bad (not outstanding), but about what you could make at home. In spite of telling me that the chef recommends medium rare for the rack of lamb, it was delivered nearly well done. Prices were lower than better places, so maybe my expectations were just a little too high. However, this is not a restaurant that I plant to frequent. Service was very slow. The waiter was pre-occupied with a large group and getting the check took nearly as long as the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely recommend

Dined on April 13, 2015

We went on a quiet Monday night but there was still a good number of diners. Server was attentive but not overbearing. Food had a lot of flavor and was timed well - something that too many restaurants cannot get right anymore!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Good food at a local independent restaurant

Dined on March 14, 2015

We have eaten at Arooji's several times for dinner. The calamari appetizer is very good. The chicken parmegan and spaghetti was just good. It is a good choice for a local upscale restaurant. If you're looking for excellent Italian food there are better choices in the area.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2

Clueless

Dined on March 13, 2015

I booked a reservation for 7:15 had my family in the car driving when the restaurant called me and said they just saw my open table booking and told me they were too busy and could not seat us. So we drove someplace else. It's a good place but they are not managing open table apparently?

food5
ambience5
service5

I Absollutely Loved This Place

Dined on March 8, 2015

Arooji's Wine Room is definitely a "DIAMOND" in the rough. It was my first time at Arooji's Wine Room and it was a "Great Experience". The atmosphere was exactly what I like. Very quiet and romantic. "Great Wine List" ... Our service was "IMPECCABLE"..... :)

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A great find!

Dined on January 23, 2015

This was our first visit, but we will definitely return. The food, the service, the ambience were all top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

A Good, Unappreciated, Italian!

vip
Dined on December 21, 2014

The food is always quite good at Arooji's Wine Room, one of the better Italian restaurants in Charlotte, and the staff always friendly and solicitous. Having dined frequently at this Ballantyne location and the now-closed South Park location, I would have to conclude that Arooji's is not well appreciated by Charlotte diners.

food2
ambience4
service2

Aroojis used to be better.

Dined on December 14, 2014

Food was adequate, service was slow. What's happened?

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and atmosphere

Dined on October 26, 2014

Every time we dine at this restaurant we enjoy it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great eggplant parm

vip
Dined on October 10, 2014

First time in dining room, usually eat at the bar. Atmosphere is very nice in dining room. Good great. Server was too soft spoken, and didn't offer much when asked about specific dishes. We needed to ask for something to accompany our bread (butter, oil, etc). All in all, a very good meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Great local restaurant

Dined on July 25, 2014

We have been her a couple of times and have sat both inside and out. Great service, food is good. We enjoy the cheese place with a glass of wine, had Italian wine this last time and it was delicious. Waitress was knowledgeable and helpful with choosing the wine. Daily specials are our favorite way to order. Stuffed salmon with Mac and cheese was great. Lobster ravioli from the menu was also good. Only disappointment was the antipasto which we had before and was excellent. This time salami was wrapped in ham and rolled like pin wheels, topped with two cherry tomatoes and 4 olives, not as described on the menu. It was gladly taken off our bill and the overall experience was good.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice place

Dined on July 18, 2014

Arooji's has a great location - very cute inside, great appetizers and good wine list. There were four of us, 2 of our meals were great and 2 were just ok so it's kind of hit or miss on what you order.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Hot Potato!

Dined on April 27, 2014

Very friendly, professional and knowledgable staff. Food was amazing from appetizer to desert. And my mashed potatoes were Hot like its supposed to be when it comes to your table. The chefs know what they're doing and it show in every bite I took. There was nothing left on my plate!

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service1

The location inside is beautiful

vip
Dined on March 21, 2014

The location inside is beautiful and the bread and cheese platter good. Wine is significantly overpriced and overheated. and not climate-controlled. Cheese platter was delivered and was excellent. However, when the waitress came to our table and we asked her the names of the cheeses she laughed and said, "I have no idea". We sat for almost 30 minutes with dirty appetizer dishes on the table. Than my Husband sat for another 15 minutes with , drive into Waxhaw and eat at Trattoria Antica...a place that has fresh/homemade Italian and professional service!his entrée while I waited for mine! The food was just "so-so" and definitely did not homemade Italian. Dessert comes from another bakery but was served still frozen!

food4
ambience4
service4

Arooji's doesn't disappoint!

Dined on March 2, 2014

We visit this restaurant often and it doesn't disappoint. Quiet, intimate setting with just the right amount of classic live background music. Service and food are consistently very good. We never feel rushed here...it is a place where you can linger, talk, enjoy the company of friends for hours without ever feeling pressured to leave, but if you want to pick up the pace, your servers can do that as well. The specials as well as standard fare are do not disappoint.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.