Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi
  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi
  1. Distance: 3.44mi
  2. Distance: 4.38mi
  3. Distance: 5.31mi
  4. Distance: 6.15mi

About Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne

Casual Italian dining in an elegant atmosphere, reservations not required, however recommended for large groups. Please contact us to confirm reservations made after 5:00pm to confirm availability.

5349 Ballantyne Commons Pkwy
Suite 200
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Sunday 11:30am - 3:00pm Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 845-5244

Website:
http://www.aroojis.com/#!__ballantyne

Entertainment:
Friday and Saturday nights we have our musician Jeff Rearick performing live starting at 7pm.

Catering:
For any occasion we can accommodate your catering needs. Please call the restaurant line at 704-845-5244 with any requests.

Parking Details:
Onsite Parking

Executive Chef:
Steve Arooji

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Arooji's Wine Room - Ballantyne Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (6)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Music (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
69 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chiapas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great location. Greeted immediately and shown to my table. Wine menu is awesome. Wonderful ambience. Service impeccable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great ambiance but very expensive. We ordered entrees only (no drinks, starters or dessert) and the bill was $80!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Arooji's is a great place for a nice meal, has a wonderful wine list, as well as having the feeling of being in a cozy Italian neighborhood bistro. The dark woods, greenery and wall art offer a relaxing setting for time with friends, a special occasion, or just a nice meal. We've eaten here many times and find the booths to be quieter for conversation when the restaurant is especially busy. Our server was good, although she made us feel a bit rushed at times (we have felt a bit rushed on other visits as well).

We had made a Saturday evening reservation through Open Table and the requested booth was ready for us upon arrival. We were greeted promptly by a serving assistant with warm rolls accompanied by a tasty concoction of white beans, onions, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Our group enjoyed chicken marsala, filet alla pompei, lasagna, and a pasta dish with jalapenos. Each couple split a salad - caesar and shirazzi. But it was a bit annoying that they would not put the shirazzi on 2 plates without charging extra. Really?! Everyone enjoyed their salad and entree very much though. Our friend who had the lasagna commented that it was one of the best she's ever had.

We would definitely recommend Arooji's to anyone looking for excellent food, fine wine and a nice cozy atmosphere.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My family and I are originally from New York and the chicken parm here is the best we have found in Charlotte. Their food is always on point. Their staff is friendly, and attentive. Their wine... well that just makes it perfect!

This is by far, our favorite Italian restaurant in Charlotte. It is our go-to spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Live Music, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The entire experience was wonderful. Great food, service and ambiance. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Good meal! Server was excellent! Aroojis can slways be relied upon for a quality meal, quick service at a good price point.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food. Service is very good, but a bit hurried. Would appreciate a bit more time between courses.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Very enjoyable evening! The service was on point! Veal meatballs with pasta special was delicious! Fish cooked to perfection. Salad greens super fresh! Loved the live guitar music playing in the background. Will definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We had a mid week dinner and the restaurant was not at all crowded. The staff was attentive and the food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Really enjoyed our night. Food was great and the service was spot on, not intrusive but there when you needed them. great wine selection. really good cream sauce on the lobster ravioli. thought my lamb was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Nice ambiance, decent food and awful service. With only two table occupied, we waited over 5 minutes to be seated. We had to wait for bread to "come out of the oven". It came after the meal was served and was not warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Enjoyable dining experience. Nice atmosphere. Quiet enough for normal conversation. Nice selection of specials. Reasonable pricing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 12, 2016

My husband and I always have had a great , tasty meal. Very consistently good. The sauce is genuinely italian, the way my grandmother use to make it, so delicious and authentic. The eggplant parmigiana is to die for. Yummy!!
Always enjoy the music on the weekends.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nicely designed interior allowing for some degree of privacy. While the main course was quite good, the soup was less than anticipated and the wait was extremely long. Our waitress was friendly enough but avoided us during the long wait for our main course to the point of our having to stop someone to refill our water glasses. Not sure what all the hype is about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This place is great! I love the ambiance and setting. The food is always great as is the service. Friendly staff always remember us and make us feel at home.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was very good, one order was incorrect, but other than that, meals were great. The singer/guitarist that was playing was excellent, and perfect for that room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Highly recommended. Loved beans with olive oil

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Loved the food but our Groupon was not used properly so we didn't get $30 credit. Didn't want to make a fuss since we were picking up tab for friends also. Hesitate to go back even though we have another groupon to use.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our first visit and will return many times. The food excellent and wine was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 25, 2016

With our out-of-town guest we decided to dine at a neighborhood restaurant, on a Saturday night. We chose Arooji's Wine Room based upon it's menu. Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly. Service however, got off to a slow start but did improve after we addressed it. We were all very pleased with our meals and the live music was most enjoyable! We ended the evening feeling satisfied and would certainly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2016

It too 4 days for my points to appear before on open table.

My credit card was not properly processed and as of now, my bank statement does not show my Groupon discount reflected. There is a duplicate charge of $30.00 more than the actual bill. If this is not corrected, I will put a hold on their chargeback. Not a good scenario for Arooji's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 19, 2016

By far one of the best restaurants in Charlotte

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner date. Wednesday night so wasn't very crowded thus service and food delivery were efficient. This experience will invite us to return again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 26, 2016

This was our first dinning experience at Arooji's. We were seated by our waiter without even speaking or making eye contact. Very uncomfortable start to a special night. This was the way it went through out dinner. I had to get up and ask for extra bread because he never came back to check on us and even used my cell to call the restaurant we were ready for the bill and a to go box. The food was good but if you go, beware of the man with no smile or expression.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Wonderful food. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Best eggplant parmesan ever. I always get the lasagna, love their food. They make 'smaller versions' of their classics, perfect sizes for kids.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 1, 2016

The service and found is excellent. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Received a gift card for here otherwise I probably wouldn't have gone. Nonetheless the experience was alright albeit for the crab and spinach dip appetizer which in my wife's and my opinion was a little to fishy for our liking thus we sent it back unfortunately the waiter did not remove it from the check until I questioned it inclusion. Overall the entries were done nicely. My wife had the lobster ravioli and I had the clams and mussel special which was very good. While not my favorite italIan place in South Charlotte, I would dine here again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2016

Don't let the location fool you. This is a great find. I will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2016

We love the size and service. We return often. The servers are great. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 26, 2016

This place is a hidden jewel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great experience! Food was delicious,our waiter,Brendan?,was very informative,friendly and timely,and restaurant 's ambiance was relaxing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We settled in for a night of great Italian food and wines; we were not disappointed!
We had a knowledgeable friendly server, great first course salad, followed by great
Pasta dishes. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Imagine a really good trattoria in Italy and then you'll understand why Arooji's is so busy.
The food,though not large portions, is excellent.
Jonathan,our server, was very good but because they were so busy the food came out hot but took longer than expected. The salad came out right before the dinner was served,which was disappointing. The dinner was hot and my eggplant marinara was delicious. My husband's chicken Parmesan was good.
Prices are on the high side,considering portions. If a customer wants to substitute pasta for a salad,even if there is a small up charge, it should be offered.
I suppose that with a discount coupon we'd return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 30, 2016

The atmosphere is one that anyone can enjoy. I came with my mother after doing an internet search on places to take her. As I just relocated down here I'm not too familiar but I'm so glad to have found this place. Having lived in Ballantyne for my first two months here I WISH I'd have found it then, though I'm not too far now. I LOVED the live music. If you're a fan of 70s lite-rock (as I am) you will definitely enjoy. I had the Penne alla Vodka and it was just delicious. Best restaurant I've been to since moving down three months ago.
I will certainly be coming back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 17, 2016

Poor service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 15, 2016

Outstanding food in a very welcoming environment. We were able to take our time, hear our conversation and enjoy our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2016

This restaurant is great and so glad a friend recommended to us. From the outside it doesn't look like much but the inside of the restaurant is really nice, the food and service was great. Menu was good and so was the wine list - we plan to eat here often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Very good. A favorite of ours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 15, 2015

Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.