Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Bucatini
172 reviews
Italian | Brampton, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Jake's Boathouse
28 reviews
American | Brampton, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Jack Astor's - Brampton
12 reviews
Canadian | Brampton, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Iggy's Grill Bar Patio
4 reviews
Contemporary American | Brampton, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Union Social Eatery
718 reviews
Contemporary American | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Chef Sanjeev Kapoor's Khazana
117 reviews
Indian | Brampton, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Zorro's Steak & Seafood House
34 reviews
Steakhouse | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
The Drake & Firkin
37 reviews
Gastro Pub | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Chop Steakhouse & Bar - Meadowvale
232 reviews
Steakhouse | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
The Khana Sutra
2 reviews
Indian | Brampton, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Aristotles Steak and Seafood
24 reviews
Steak | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Turtle Jack's Muskoka Grill - Mississauga Courtney Park
53 reviews
Comfort Food | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Quest Restaurant & Bar
2 reviews
International | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Rib Eye Jack’s Ale House - Streetsville
82 reviews
Contemporary American | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now
Cagneys
44 reviews
Steakhouse | Mississauga, Peel Region
Reserve Now

About Aria Bistro & Lounge

485 Main Street North
Brampton, ON L6X 1N8
View Larger Map

Aria Bistro & Lounge, located at the beautiful historic house of Walter E. Calvert in downtown Brampton, offers an elegant atmosphere to celebrate your most important events. Our 6 private dining rooms, which can accommodate a range of 8 to 80 guests, are the perfect venue for your wedding, corporate or family function. As the new owner of Aria Bistro & Lounge, Michael Cherry is eager to join the vibrant community of Brampton and reveal his restoration of the Walter E. Calvert house, which formally housed neighborhood favorites Chez Marie & Bassano's Restaurant.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday - Saturday: 4:30 PM - 10 PM

Cross Street:
Williams Pkwy

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(905) 451-2600

Website:
http://www.ariabrampton.com/

Parking Details:
Over 70 parking spots for all your parking needs.

Private Party Facilities:
Aria Bistro & Lounge, located at the beautiful historic house of Walter E. Calvert in downtown Brampton, offers an elegant atmosphere to celebrate your most important events. Our private dining rooms are the perfect venue for your wedding, corporate or family function.

Private Party Contact:
Event Coordinator: 8554140795

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Sort By:
Newest
58 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

First time to this Bistro. Great food a ...

Dined on January 31, 2015

First time to this Bistro. Great food and great service. A family of 3 celebrated my birthday. We had ordered Crab cakes as our appetizer and were amazingly yummy. We had ordered sea scallops (DELICIOUS), beef penne(very tasty) and Jail Island Salmon (very fresh). We enjoyed our food very much. The quality and quatity of the food are equally perfect. A little bit pricy but worth for any special occasions. Highly recommend this Bistro. Thank you to Michael (the owner) and their staff's warmest welcome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on January 6, 2015

Amazing food made to perfection. First time and will certainly be back. Service was amazing with a cherry on top. Great place

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our 2nd visit, also superb. Great Food & Service.

vip
Dined on December 24, 2014

Since it was going to be our last luncheon meeting of 2014, thought we would revisit Aria. The Bar was set pretty high, from our initial visit. However, Aria's Staff rose to the challenge. The entire restaurant was tastefully decked out with Christmas decor and the crackling fireplace made it even cozier. From the warm welcome at the main entrance, to the fond farewell; truly a memorable dining experience. Our Host (Ari Y) was very knowledgeable about Wines and 'Food Pairings'. He paid adequate attention to us, without intruding on our special occasion. The Owner (Michael) stopped by the table to extend his appreciation of our business......Nice touch. We will definitely return to this Venue, as often as we can.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great meal and fantastic service.

Dined on December 23, 2014

Aria is one of the best restaurants in Brampton. Inspired menu with fresh ingredients and inventive recipes. The daily specials are interesting and tasty. Nice wine list. The service is exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Dining Experience in Brampton

Dined on December 20, 2014

It was the first time that my wife and I had dined at this restaurant since the change of ownership and we were very impressed by the overall experience. We felt that our food was prepared to perfection and well priced for the quality received. Minor preference changes to our food combinations did not present a problem and the staff was very accommodating. The service in general was very timely and sensitive to our dining pace while respecting our privacy. The atmosphere in this restaurant is outstanding with many of the original home's character features preserved, a welcome alternative to the standard ambience of most of our eating establishments these days. We are looking forward to sharing our next visit with family and friends.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favourite restaurant!

Dined on December 19, 2014

The food is very tastey and the wait staff is knowledgeable about food and wine. Courses are well paced and the ambience of the old house is elegant. Every visit is a special dining experience. Happy to support a fantastic restaurant in our own city.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

We had a great time at Aria, when we wen ...

Dined on November 30, 2014

We had a great time at Aria, when we went for dinner with friends. Our waitress was terrific, the owner was fun, everyone's food was delicious. We would definitely go back and we would definitely recommend the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

A dining pleasure

Dined on November 29, 2014

The service was fantastic, our waitress was friendly and attentative, as well as the support staff. My fiance had the filet mignon and I the crusted halibut on risotto. The steak was done perfectly and very tender, the halibut was fantastic, perfectly cooked. The risotto could have been done a tad more, but the flavour was excellent. Portions were perfect. I highly recommend the vanilla ice cream. I would recommend this for any special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service3

Romantic Birthday Dinner

Dined on November 28, 2014

I booked a table for my boyfriends birthday dinner and we both really enjoyed the evening. The restaurant was decorated very beautifully for Christmas and it really set a romantic mood.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

so excited about this local gem!

Dined on November 23, 2014

Be sure to try the warm seafood salad. It was well balanced and grilled perfectly. And the bread pudding is worth the wait. Amazing that the chef is so young.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great experience

Dined on November 21, 2014

The staff was, knowledgeable, passionate and genuine, the food was way above standard considering Bramptons fine dining scene, a must try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice date night

Dined on November 15, 2014

My husband and I we're looking for a new place to go for date night, and found Aria (as recommended by a friend). Nice spot - fits the standard format for nice restaurant/old house. Overall - we had a really nice night, and a good table by the fire (we had to ask for it...they were going to seat us in a less ideal spot. Highlights - best bread ever, food was good, additional staff was nice, romantic enough. Lowlights - main server was abrupt and not knowledgable, couldn't get more butter for that delish bread, weird table in the middle of the room that should be off to the side (used for water pitcher, spare cutlery, etc - constant invasion of our space - buffet against the wall makes more sense) and desserts had a freezer/crystallization to them. We let owner know about the odd service and he sent over after dinner drinks. I would go back - but would ask for a different server up front.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect to take that special someone

Dined on November 12, 2014

Before taking my girlfriend I saw pictures of what the inside of Aria looked like and they are truly being modest because it doesn't capture even a fraction of it's beauty. This historic home turned cute and romantic restaurant is the perfect spot to take someone who you're thinking of proposing to, celebrating an anniversary with or want to show how much you appreciate them. The service was impeccable. Even though My girlfriend and I got full off of their delicious calamari unfortunately had to get our main courses to go, the staff at Aria were very accommodating. They always wanted to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and were very eager to help in any way they could to make our experience that much better. Thank you Aria for your fantastic service and food, now I know where I want to propose to her.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

One of the best restaurants I've ever been.

Dined on November 11, 2014

Wonderful place, excellent food, great service. It has exceeded our expectations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time at this Venue......Awesome!

vip
Dined on November 7, 2014

It was a chilly Fall Day, when we stumbled upon this 'Old House'. The Restaurant had just been decorated for Christmas and there was a crackling fire going. The Menu is different and the Food was fantastic. Yuri, our Waiter was excellent and his recommendation of Wine Pairing with Menu Items was spot on. We will be back and will take even longer to enjoy lunch.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Food and Service!

vip
Dined on October 30, 2014

From the food, to the service to the atmosphere....top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Expensive

Dined on October 8, 2014

Aria is a lovely place. Food is good, but not outstanding. Way overpriced. That's the main reason we only dine there on special occasions. If he would drop his entree prices he would be busier. $49 for a filet! The best steak houses don't charge that much.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great time and food

Dined on September 5, 2014

First time at the restaurant and had a great time and the food was excellant. The experience was good and the service was super.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dining experience

Dined on August 30, 2014

My fiancé and I chose Aria to celebrate our 4 year anniversary and we were not disappointed. This restaurant is absolutely amazing. The serene atmosphere and fine dining all added up to a wonderful first time dining experience. Their food is to die for. We will definitely be going back. If I could rate this place 100 stars I would. Thank you Aria for making this dining experience a fabulous one!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent meal, but a tad noisy

Dined on August 29, 2014

The purpose of our visit was an evening out with our two University students who we had just moved to Brampton. Our meal at Aria was exquisite, but because of the room's acoustics (hardwood floors), we had difficulty holding a conversation - partially due to a boisterous table nearby. It was quiet for a Friday so I can't imagine what the noise level would be like if it had been busy. That said, the service was excellent, the meal - superb (a delicious beet carpaccio to start, and the rack of lamb just melted in my mouth); a lovely menu & wine list; all surrounded by understated elegance. We will return on our next trip to Brampton. Others in our party had the scallops (loved!), the seafood penne (liked), chicken supreme, & fish & chips.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Lovely patio

Dined on August 8, 2014

It was a great evening to enjoy Aria's new patio. It's a lovely space but unfortunately close to a busy street, hence the noise. Our server was very young but adequate (we had to ask about specials & she didn't know much about the wine). The food was very good but not exceptional. We started with the caprese salad , the mozarella was good but the basil was hardly there & since it is tomato season I was expecting juicy, flavourful tomatoes & they were not at all. I had the catfish. The dirty rice was disappointing. The salsa gave the fish some much needed flavour & moisture. My husband had the pasta special. He enjoyed it. We really liked the house white wine and the comfortable new patio. For the price point, the servings are small.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Impeccable Service, Food, Elegance

Dined on July 21, 2014

An old house converted into a restaurant. Loved the etched windows. Distracts from the busy street but lets light in. Celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary here. Was a Sunday eve. and there was only one other table occupied but we were seated far enough away to feel private. Expensive but elegant and suitable for such a special occasion;were treated to a delicious dessert to mark the event. Food and service were top notch. Would recommend this place to someone who appreciates fine cuisine. Was surprised to learn that my only choice of wine was red or white unless I purchased a bottle. Very tasty nonetheless. I could feel an a/c draught. Otherwise, I would have rated the ambience outstanding. Luckily, I had taken a sweater.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional dinning experience

Dined on July 19, 2014

From the moment we walked in, my wife and I were treated as if we were regulars. It was our 1st time there. The staff was very courteous and friendly. Our server was great and the food outstanding. When I got the bill, I was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting a bill over $200 but it was well short of that. Needless to say, our server was left a very handsome tip. Our experience was exceptional and I would highly recommend dinning there. We'll be back! 5 stars!!!!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4

Summerlicious & almost delicious

Dined on July 19, 2014

I don't want to give a bad review because Aria Bistro has great service. The menu items ordered around us looked great. Presentation was nice, but 3 of the 6 Summerlicious items we had had room for improvement. My brie appetizer was not warm and gooey in the middle, too big a block of cheese for that, but the pastry and blueberry coulis were perfect. The calamari had no seasoning, & the roasted red pepper dip didn't compensate there. My seafood pasta was perfect & like the flank steak portions were nice, but seasoning & strange pseudo-pesto didn't suit the steak. Desserts, made in house with real Tahitian vanilla, had great flavor, but my funnel cake was fairly standard and the dulce de leche needed to be more substantial. Good ingredients.

food1
ambience3
service4

Enthusastic staff awful food

Dined on July 19, 2014

To put things into perspective, this restaurant was rated number 1 of 540 restaurants in Brampton, so I had relatively high expectations. That was definitely a mistake in judgement. The staff though very enthusiastic and very friendly was just as equally unskilled. Forgiving their inexperience would have been quite easy if the food was at all remarkable. It wasn't. The food was bland and totally boring. It was also either overcooked or undercooked depending on the order. I was stunned to say the least. What could be said when the quality check came, other than this food is terrible. The cheque was slightly over $450.00 which would have been acceptable if the food was prepared in the fashion that it deserved. Avoid this restaurant.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Great once again

Dined on July 17, 2014

Food was wonderful service was Great (except for wine refills - did myself) and we were only ones there! Wonderful place

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Kept Secret in Brampton!

Dined on July 11, 2014

While Aria Bistro & Lounge is not new to the area, the new team at Aria are without a doubt "outstanding" ! Michael and his team have taken dining in Brampton to a new level. Whether your a local, or just visiting the area, Aria has to go on your "must" list! From the home-made bread, that simply melts in your mouth and is salted to perfection, to the amazing menu, Aria brings it all together! We were greeted by Michael (the restauranteur) and his amazing staff, made welcome and seated. Drinks were quickly delivered to the table, and the food...AMAZING! True passion for service and food will keep Aria on your mind and you will need to go back time and again! Book your reservation now!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always Exceptional!

Dined on July 10, 2014

Service, atmosphere, and food always excellent whenever I go to Aria. I love that it's a classy foodie option here in the GTA when one is tired of making the trek to Toronto for dining options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Aria is a dining Gem in Brampton

Dined on July 6, 2014

I have been to Aria on 10 occasions since they opened last year. From romantic dinners for 2, dinners with friends and family, Christmas groups lunches and dinner, and business celebrations - they have all been excellent in terms of service and food quality. And this latest dinner with my husband was no exception when we sampled their Summerlicious offering. Well done and thanks to Michael and his staff for never disappointing us and always providing high quality food and service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed!

Dined on July 5, 2014

My husband and I and another couple had dinner at Aria Bistro and Lounge last Saturday night. It was a warm evening, so we sat outside on the lovely patio. Our friends had crab cakes and calamari which they said was very good; I had a caesar salad, which was delicious. The guys had the steaks and the ladies had the chicken. I don't think I've had too many better meals - ever- anywhere! This restaurant is a MUST TRY!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service1

Wanted to enjoy our trip to Aria

Dined on July 5, 2014

We saw this lovely old house and thought it looked like a great setting for a restaurant and the new patio looked beautiful from the street, so we decided to give it a try. There was no one there to greet us when we arrived, but finally were seated, the place was empty and the tablecloth had a stain on it. We were seated by the window, which had a nice view but lots of dust and cobwebs. When the waiter came we asked for a wine list and were given a dessert menu with some special dessert drinks, it was quite a while before we got a menu. When the wine came it was two small bottles and no container to chill the white wine we ordered, it was set on the dusty window

food4
ambience5
service5

Review for Aria Bistro

Dined on June 21, 2014

We took my cousin and his wife for his birthday. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They went out of their way to get us anything we wanted. The food was absolutely delicious and nicely presented also the ambience was outstanding. Michael paid attention to us and we appreciate that very much. I would recommend Aria very highly. Our 35th wedding anniversary is coming up this weekend and we are taking our family for dinner on Saturday night. Looking forward to it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

bread is awesome!

Dined on June 16, 2014

So was everything else! Found you on Tripadvisor and will definitely come back. Their patio is very nice for outdoor dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely new restaurant in Brampton

vip
Dined on June 15, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely Father's Day lunch on the patio. Great food, great service. The best restaurant in Brampton.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food3
ambience3
service4

The food was good - not great. But the ...

Dined on May 28, 2014

The food was good - not great. But the facility is not accessible. There are stairs into the restaurant and no bathroom on the main floor. I have trouble walking upstairs therefor I could not access the washrooms. Because of this we will not return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Almost flawless.

Dined on May 18, 2014

The food was great. The Calamari was typically battered with a melt-in-your-mouth texture and paired with a delicious lime aioli. I had a horseradish encrusted NY striploin. I requested it to be cooked to rare but it turned out to be closer to medium-rare. Still very tasty. My Mom (this was a Mother's Day treat) had the cajun chicken pasta which left something to be desired in the sauce. It wasn't my dish, so I can't comment much more on that dish. My only complaint is of our server, Ari, who upon requesting our drink order leaned in entirely too close to my mother with his hand on the back of her chair and his face inches from hers. Generally creepy guy and an uncomfortable experience for my mother.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

All-round delicious

Dined on May 15, 2014

Although a little pricy for eating here on a regular basis, it is the perfect place for a special evening - we celebrated our 10th anniversary here. The atmosphere is warm & welcoming, the staff were fast & friendly, and the food was very tasty (and filling).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4

A diamond in the rough

Dined on May 11, 2014

Brampton is not known for it's fine dining!! But I've lived in Brampton for 20 years and only now have I found something special. This place is beyond words, you just have to taste it for yourself. The price is high, but so worth it!! I plan on trying everything on the menu, 1 visit at a time!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Aria = Excellence

Dined on May 3, 2014

Michael Cherry and staff at Aria are dedicated to providing the best dining experience anywhere. Michael has taken a lovely old home, updated it while keeping the bones of the building and just making it beautiful. He has talented chefs, personable and efficient waitstaff, and then there's Michael--everywhere--checking on everything. Open Table doesn't give enough space for an in depth review. Full text of my review is on Trip Advisor. Please read there--and all the other great reviews. See you on the patio--we'll be regulars!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great place to celebrate a birthday

Dined on April 23, 2014

Food was impressive, robust wine list, and a delicious chocolate bread pudding dessert. I will be back.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.