About Argiero's Italian Restaurant

300 Detroit St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1116
View Larger Map

Argieros features one of the best patios in Ann Arbor, a full bar, carry out and catering, and delivery from 4-9pm

Argiero's was founded by Rosa, her husband, and their four children and opened in December of 1977. Today, Argiero's is owned and operated by two of the sons, Sam and Carmin.

Argiero's is the only Italian Restaurant, in Ann Arbor, currently run by an Italian family. The Restaurant has been an Ann Arbor favorite for many years. Many loyal customers enjoy its wonderful dishes, relaxed atmosphere, and of course, the covered outside patio.


If you are looking for home-style Italian food, Argiero's is a can't miss, where we prepare our sauce daily. Also, don't forget Argiero's has the best pizza in town! Pull up the menu and come try one of your personal favorites from the Italian dishes on our menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday: 11:30 - 9:00 Friday-Saturday: 11:30 - 9:15 Sunday: 12:30-9 Lunch ending at 3:00.

Cross Street:
Catherine St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 665-0444

Website:
http://www.argieros.net/

Catering:
We offer our entire menu for catering.

Parking Details:
There is off street as well as public parking lot parking.

Private Party Contact:
Sam Argiero: 7346650444x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Argiero's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

3.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (6)
Authentic (4)
See All
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
73 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've eaten at Argerio's a # of times at ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 3 days ago

We've eaten at Argerio's a # of times at it's predictably good. The staff is always friendly, the food is good and the prices reasonable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, love it!!!! Service always ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great spot, love it!!!! Service always good in past but this time not so good... Had to really ask for things that should be automatic....

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Restaurant was very good, however, for s ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Restaurant was very good, however, for some reason the reservation we made via Open Table was not honored..... we had to wait almost 1 hour for our table. Other than that, the service was very good.... food was good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Very slow service. Very bland food slath ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Very slow service. Very bland food slathered in tasteless sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Some of our group raved, some deemed the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Some of our group raved, some deemed their meal average. Waitstaff excellent; attentive and responsive. Large portions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were trying to find a restaurant with ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were trying to find a restaurant with a basic spaghetti w/meat sauce. This restaurant was okay for that. However, with only two other tables occupied we were taken to the rear of the dining room and seated next to the kitchen and restroom doors........not a good start. The spaghetti was fine but a nice herb/olive oil with the bread sure would have been good. We may try Argieros again but certainly not at the top of our "return to" list.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We went for a family dinner. Service was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went for a family dinner. Service was great! They weren't very busy, but food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice neighborhood restaurant. Good ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Very nice neighborhood restaurant. Good food with excellent service by our waiter, nick. Went after a um football game and it was a nice break from the Main Street chaos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst restaurant service we have had in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Worst restaurant service we have had in years! One and half hours to get our food. First person's entree came out 45 minutes after we ordered. The last persons entree arrived an hour and a half after ordering. One dish at a time five minutes a part! The last dish was spaghetti! Really!!!!! Boiled noodles took 1.5 hours!!!! No excuse! So miserable! STAY AWAY!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Some of the most mediocre food and worst ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Some of the most mediocre food and worst service I've had yet in A2. It's been a while since I've been inspired to give a restaurant such a poor review - but this experience was so memorably bad I had to take a minute to share. The waitress - young, female, absolutely indifferent to customer service - actually said to us upon returning to our table when we called her over, after ignoring us for upwards of 20 minutes while we watched her through the window talk with a group on the patio: "Hey, sorry, I forgot about you and your food - but I really wanted to catch up with my friend and her parents. I haven't seen them in a while. It was really great to catch up." I'm sorry - ARE YOU SERIOUS? I literally couldn't believe how shamelessly and effortlessly she shared that our food had to wait while she socialized during her shift with friends. My husband loves the Pasta de Giorno and so we return when in town for games. Or I should say, we returned... since we'll never be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

First off, I do not reccomend this resta ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2016

First off, I do not reccomend this restaurant, at all. I want to refaced this by stating that I am a chef and have worked in the industry for quite a while in metro Detroit and abroad (London and Northern Ireland). I gave no idea how they are still in business.

I went there with my wife for our weekly date last Friday night. We were hoping to get a nice casual dinner before catching a film at the Michigan Theater. I had heard good things about Argiero's from friends in Ann Arbor, do we went there.

My wife and I enjoyed the ambiance and service. It was very casual and low key; it was very relaxing.

I ordered the chicken Parmesan, which had several issues: 1) it was under seasoned, frankly it tasted like a child had made it. 2) It was barely browned after frying and bit back when I bit into it. It was clearly underdone, not raw, but it needed a few more minutes. I sent it back and heard from the kitchen (they sat us by the kitchen) "Tastes fine to me! It's really bland and I could have cooked it longer, but it's fine to me!" First if all, if it's any of the things you said it was (bland and undercooked), Chef, it shouldn't be good enough for you and certainly not for customers. Where are your standards? Maybe this is why your restaurant is so poorly seated on a Friday night? Take pride in your work! Geez.

My wife's meal was ok. She ordered the pesto pasta and said it was ok, but not $20 ok, so there's that.

The service was amateur, but friendly. I imagine being a college town there's a lot if turnover in the front of the house staff.

Overall, none of this would have been unbearable if it wasn't for the high prices. If this was a nicer place, I would have been ok with the prices. If the food was better, I would have been ok with the higher prices too. (Seriously rework the price points for your menu.) Perhaps this is place known for their pizza not their Italian food?

Our experience was tremendously disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

I have been to the 2 other main Italian ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I have been to the 2 other main Italian restaurants in downtown Ann Arbor, so I wanted to give this one a try, especially since their website said it was the only Italian family owned one in town. I never saw inside as we ate outside. Outside location is okay, a little loud due to road noise. I had the special(which was hand written on a piece of paper), salmon in a citrus sauce, which I thought was very good. The best thing on the plate were the fried risotto cakes. I told the waitress these should at least be available as an appetizer, as they were amazing. My son said the meatballs were very good.

Overall, I would rate this as a good Italian restaurant, far from the worst I have been to, and not the worst out of the 3 in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was tasty, but the waiter forgo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was tasty, but the waiter forgot our appetizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is always excellent! This is a neig ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is always excellent! This is a neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just love, love, love Argiero's - we hav ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Just love, love, love Argiero's - we have been here numerous times, and the food is wonderful, a great value and always tastes homemade! The family still runs it, and it shows in the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Always a treat!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weekday dinner

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had not been to this restaurant in 20 years. My Dad (89 years old) requested a spot that wasn't noisy. After looking at the reviews I decided to give this place a second chance. Reviewers were right - it is not as loud as other facilities. Our server was friendly and did a nice job for the most part. There were four of us dining. We had two orders of pasta, a grilled chicken and a pizza. We started with the bruschetta as an appetizer. Not a great choice. It was white bread (not toasted or grilled) with a tad of sausage and some red sauce. The bread was a soggy mess. The two pasta dishes were good and my friend was quite happy with the pizza. Unfortunately the restaurant had to make new dough and we waited for over an hour for the pizza. We did not learn the reason for the wait until the pizza arrived. Not what we expected on a Wednesday night. The grilled chicken was blah and tasteless. We chose to eat on the patio due to the musty damp smell in the restaurant. I liked the patio - it was nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Another great meal at Argiero's

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We visit often and keep coming back because of the hospitality and the food quality. We love the insalata supremo and always get two or three for the table. Everyone enjoyed their main plates as well - I had the spinach lasagne, and others ordered eggplant parmagiana, eggplant con spaghetti and a pizza. I''ve had the pesto pasta in the past and it's super flavorful - the garlic and basil both punch, and the rotini is the perfect noodle for it. Skip the corporate Italian places and give Argiero's a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Home-style Italian

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Most authentic Italian "comfort food" in Ann Arbor. Nice to have a place run by actual Italian Americans who grew up with this food (like myself). Also a well stocked bar, nice wine list selection, and shaded outdoor dining across from Kerrytown Farmer's Market. Highly recommended if you feel like more of a restaurant experience than Zingerman's Deli a block away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Argierios is a great little restaurant s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Argierios is a great little restaurant serving excellent food.

We would probably think of it more often if it wasn't downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Argiero's has always been our "go to" place for family occasions that include our elderly mothers. We took them there for dinner to celebrate Mother's Day. One mother sent back her fish, saying it was stale and overcooked. Two orders of manicotti arrived bubbling hot with charred pasta. The pesto pasta was bad enough that 3/4 of the plate was untouched. The appetizers and salad arrived simultaneously. The bread with the mushroom appetizer was also burnt. I'm not sure whether they were just having an off day, but we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Pizza and Great Service

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant has a wonderful family run feel and charm about it. The service was outstanding. We mainly went there for Pizza, which was delicious and very reasonably priced. One of the kids had pasta, which was a little pricey compared to everything else, which was great value of r money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable birthday celebration

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Really good veal. Great, homey atmosphere. Nicely situated in Kerrytown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for family dinner

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Exceptional service, good food, really nice family atmosphere. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

4 out of 4 stars for quality, comfort, price.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Always a great experience- real home made Italian food and warm atmosphere. A great, laid back neighborhood restaurant. The pizza, bolognese, the pasta, the calamari and limited but fine wine list make for an enjoyable evening. During the summer they have a nice outdoor sitting and people watching area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! The service was great, the food ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing! The service was great, the food was delicious, the setting was perfect.... Definitely returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A quiet restaurant!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2016

We were a group of 6 at Argiero's on a busy Friday night. The place was full but, in addition to the food, the best thing was we could actually hear each other speak. SO many places are just to noisy to carry on conversations, but this was great. Handy location when going to Kerrytown Concert House too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, great service

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Good food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a great meal

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 7, 2016

Invited by a friend, we were delighted to have dinner at Argeiro's. The food was simple traditional italian with good bread and wine. Plenty of room for large (Italian) families. We really enjoyed dinner and can't wait to go back. Definitely a restaurant on our list .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian soul food

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 8, 2015

This is a good old-fashioned Italian restaurant. However, when we arrived on time, we were told that they were running behind and your reservation couldn't be met for at least half an hour. We ended up sitting at the bar, which was fine but not what we were hoping for.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great option

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 7, 2015

This is a nice alternative to the craziness around busy UMich weekends. Our group of 11 was accommodated. Service and food were solidly good and we'll go back. Pricing was appropriate for this kind of family meal experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Spaghetti and Meatballs

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 1, 2015

The spaghetti and meatballs were excellent. I especially enjoyed the housemade red sauce that they used.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

food really good - service was a mess

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2015

if you are looking for a very laid back, casual experience away from state street this place has amazing food. we were told that they were down staff - so maybe thats why service was chaotic but all in all - would go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Argiero's Italian Restaurant

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 27, 2015

I had the Veal and enjoyed it but the other three not so much. All three had pasta dishes that were pretty tasteless.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Nice ambience on the patio for dining. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 23, 2015

Nice ambience on the patio for dining. Good Service. Quite atmosphere on the patio. Enjoyed our evening. Did not feel rushed, very relaxing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful celebration spot

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2015

We were welcomed by the hostess and when we mentioned it was our anniversary she quickly told the waitress to bring us an Asti Spumante split for a toast! It just got better from there. We were seated outside on a beautiful summer night; food was old world Italian which we both appreciated. We started with the bruschetta; insalata suprema with a red wine vinaigrette. My husband had the lasagna which he raved about the meat sauce. I had the spicy eggplant sauce over gluten free penne. I appreciate finding a GF option at a real Italian restaurant. The sauce was outstanding. Service was excellent and we were not rushed. Hostess continued to check on us and celebrate our 29 years. What a treat - we will be back! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wait staff didn't seem to be in any rush ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 2, 2015

Wait staff didn't seem to be in any rush throughout the service until she decided it was closing time then hurried us out. The pasta was delicious and exactly the old school comfort food pasta we were looking for during graduation weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2015

Argiero's Italian Restaurant is our " go to restaurant" in Ann Arbor when we take our grandchildren ,who are Michigan students, out for a meal. All of us enjoy the good food and the ambience of this Italian restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2015

Really delicious authentic Italian food. Best gnocchi I've had.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and her family have been going s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2015

My wife and her family have been going since they opened and we enjoy carrying on the tradition with our children. The food and service are great and the atmosphere is very comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2015

Great authentic Italian experience in the heart of Ann Arbor :-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.