About Argiero's Italian Restaurant

300 Detroit St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1116
View Larger Map

Argieros features one of the best patios in Ann Arbor, a full bar, carry out and catering, and delivery from 4-9pm

Argiero's was founded by Rosa, her husband, and their four children and opened in December of 1977. Today, Argiero's is owned and operated by two of the sons, Sam and Carmin.

Argiero's is the only Italian Restaurant, in Ann Arbor, currently run by an Italian family. The Restaurant has been an Ann Arbor favorite for many years. Many loyal customers enjoy its wonderful dishes, relaxed atmosphere, and of course, the covered outside patio.


If you are looking for home-style Italian food, Argiero's is a can't miss, where we prepare our sauce daily. Also, don't forget Argiero's has the best pizza in town! Pull up the menu and come try one of your personal favorites from the Italian dishes on our menu.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Thursday: 11:30 - 9:00 Friday-Saturday: 11:30 - 9:15 Sunday: 12:30-9 Lunch ending at 3:00.

Cross Street:
Catherine St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(734) 665-0444

Website:
http://www.argieros.net/

Catering:
We offer our entire menu for catering.

Parking Details:
There is off street as well as public parking lot parking.

Private Party Contact:
Sam Argiero: 7346650444x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Argiero's Italian Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.9

ambience

3.4

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Outdoor Dining
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Restaurants in Ann Arbor ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Groups (4)
See All
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First off, I do not reccomend this resta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

First off, I do not reccomend this restaurant, at all. I want to refaced this by stating that I am a chef and have worked in the industry for quite a while in metro Detroit and abroad (London and Northern Ireland). I gave no idea how they are still in business.

I went there with my wife for our weekly date last Friday night. We were hoping to get a nice casual dinner before catching a film at the Michigan Theater. I had heard good things about Argiero's from friends in Ann Arbor, do we went there.

My wife and I enjoyed the ambiance and service. It was very casual and low key; it was very relaxing.

I ordered the chicken Parmesan, which had several issues: 1) it was under seasoned, frankly it tasted like a child had made it. 2) It was barely browned after frying and bit back when I bit into it. It was clearly underdone, not raw, but it needed a few more minutes. I sent it back and heard from the kitchen (they sat us by the kitchen) "Tastes fine to me! It's really bland and I could have cooked it longer, but it's fine to me!" First if all, if it's any of the things you said it was (bland and undercooked), Chef, it shouldn't be good enough for you and certainly not for customers. Where are your standards? Maybe this is why your restaurant is so poorly seated on a Friday night? Take pride in your work! Geez.

My wife's meal was ok. She ordered the pesto pasta and said it was ok, but not $20 ok, so there's that.

The service was amateur, but friendly. I imagine being a college town there's a lot if turnover in the front of the house staff.

Overall, none of this would have been unbearable if it wasn't for the high prices. If this was a nicer place, I would have been ok with the prices. If the food was better, I would have been ok with the higher prices too. (Seriously rework the price points for your menu.) Perhaps this is place known for their pizza not their Italian food?

Our experience was tremendously disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

I have been to the 2 other main Italian ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I have been to the 2 other main Italian restaurants in downtown Ann Arbor, so I wanted to give this one a try, especially since their website said it was the only Italian family owned one in town. I never saw inside as we ate outside. Outside location is okay, a little loud due to road noise. I had the special(which was hand written on a piece of paper), salmon in a citrus sauce, which I thought was very good. The best thing on the plate were the fried risotto cakes. I told the waitress these should at least be available as an appetizer, as they were amazing. My son said the meatballs were very good.

Overall, I would rate this as a good Italian restaurant, far from the worst I have been to, and not the worst out of the 3 in town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was tasty, but the waiter forgo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food was tasty, but the waiter forgot our appetizer.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is always excellent! This is a neig ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is always excellent! This is a neighborhood gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just love, love, love Argiero's - we hav ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Just love, love, love Argiero's - we have been here numerous times, and the food is wonderful, a great value and always tastes homemade! The family still runs it, and it shows in the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Always a treat!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weekday dinner

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had not been to this restaurant in 20 years. My Dad (89 years old) requested a spot that wasn't noisy. After looking at the reviews I decided to give this place a second chance. Reviewers were right - it is not as loud as other facilities. Our server was friendly and did a nice job for the most part. There were four of us dining. We had two orders of pasta, a grilled chicken and a pizza. We started with the bruschetta as an appetizer. Not a great choice. It was white bread (not toasted or grilled) with a tad of sausage and some red sauce. The bread was a soggy mess. The two pasta dishes were good and my friend was quite happy with the pizza. Unfortunately the restaurant had to make new dough and we waited for over an hour for the pizza. We did not learn the reason for the wait until the pizza arrived. Not what we expected on a Wednesday night. The grilled chicken was blah and tasteless. We chose to eat on the patio due to the musty damp smell in the restaurant. I liked the patio - it was nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Another great meal at Argiero's

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We visit often and keep coming back because of the hospitality and the food quality. We love the insalata supremo and always get two or three for the table. Everyone enjoyed their main plates as well - I had the spinach lasagne, and others ordered eggplant parmagiana, eggplant con spaghetti and a pizza. I''ve had the pesto pasta in the past and it's super flavorful - the garlic and basil both punch, and the rotini is the perfect noodle for it. Skip the corporate Italian places and give Argiero's a try.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Home-style Italian

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Most authentic Italian "comfort food" in Ann Arbor. Nice to have a place run by actual Italian Americans who grew up with this food (like myself). Also a well stocked bar, nice wine list selection, and shaded outdoor dining across from Kerrytown Farmer's Market. Highly recommended if you feel like more of a restaurant experience than Zingerman's Deli a block away.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Argierios is a great little restaurant s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Argierios is a great little restaurant serving excellent food.

We would probably think of it more often if it wasn't downtown.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Argiero's has always been our "go to" place for family occasions that include our elderly mothers. We took them there for dinner to celebrate Mother's Day. One mother sent back her fish, saying it was stale and overcooked. Two orders of manicotti arrived bubbling hot with charred pasta. The pesto pasta was bad enough that 3/4 of the plate was untouched. The appetizers and salad arrived simultaneously. The bread with the mushroom appetizer was also burnt. I'm not sure whether they were just having an off day, but we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Great Pizza and Great Service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The restaurant has a wonderful family run feel and charm about it. The service was outstanding. We mainly went there for Pizza, which was delicious and very reasonably priced. One of the kids had pasta, which was a little pricey compared to everything else, which was great value of r money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyable birthday celebration

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Really good veal. Great, homey atmosphere. Nicely situated in Kerrytown.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for family dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Exceptional service, good food, really nice family atmosphere. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

4 out of 4 stars for quality, comfort, price.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Always a great experience- real home made Italian food and warm atmosphere. A great, laid back neighborhood restaurant. The pizza, bolognese, the pasta, the calamari and limited but fine wine list make for an enjoyable evening. During the summer they have a nice outdoor sitting and people watching area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! The service was great, the food ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing! The service was great, the food was delicious, the setting was perfect.... Definitely returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A quiet restaurant!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We were a group of 6 at Argiero's on a busy Friday night. The place was full but, in addition to the food, the best thing was we could actually hear each other speak. SO many places are just to noisy to carry on conversations, but this was great. Handy location when going to Kerrytown Concert House too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, great service

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Good food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Had a great meal

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Invited by a friend, we were delighted to have dinner at Argeiro's. The food was simple traditional italian with good bread and wine. Plenty of room for large (Italian) families. We really enjoyed dinner and can't wait to go back. Definitely a restaurant on our list .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Italian soul food

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

This is a good old-fashioned Italian restaurant. However, when we arrived on time, we were told that they were running behind and your reservation couldn't be met for at least half an hour. We ended up sitting at the bar, which was fine but not what we were hoping for.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great option

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

This is a nice alternative to the craziness around busy UMich weekends. Our group of 11 was accommodated. Service and food were solidly good and we'll go back. Pricing was appropriate for this kind of family meal experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Spaghetti and Meatballs

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The spaghetti and meatballs were excellent. I especially enjoyed the housemade red sauce that they used.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

food really good - service was a mess

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

if you are looking for a very laid back, casual experience away from state street this place has amazing food. we were told that they were down staff - so maybe thats why service was chaotic but all in all - would go back.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Argiero's Italian Restaurant

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

I had the Veal and enjoyed it but the other three not so much. All three had pasta dishes that were pretty tasteless.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Nice ambience on the patio for dining. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 23, 2015

Nice ambience on the patio for dining. Good Service. Quite atmosphere on the patio. Enjoyed our evening. Did not feel rushed, very relaxing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful celebration spot

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 6, 2015

We were welcomed by the hostess and when we mentioned it was our anniversary she quickly told the waitress to bring us an Asti Spumante split for a toast! It just got better from there. We were seated outside on a beautiful summer night; food was old world Italian which we both appreciated. We started with the bruschetta; insalata suprema with a red wine vinaigrette. My husband had the lasagna which he raved about the meat sauce. I had the spicy eggplant sauce over gluten free penne. I appreciate finding a GF option at a real Italian restaurant. The sauce was outstanding. Service was excellent and we were not rushed. Hostess continued to check on us and celebrate our 29 years. What a treat - we will be back! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wait staff didn't seem to be in any rush ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 2, 2015

Wait staff didn't seem to be in any rush throughout the service until she decided it was closing time then hurried us out. The pasta was delicious and exactly the old school comfort food pasta we were looking for during graduation weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Neighborhood Gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 24, 2015

Argiero's Italian Restaurant is our " go to restaurant" in Ann Arbor when we take our grandchildren ,who are Michigan students, out for a meal. All of us enjoy the good food and the ambience of this Italian restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

Really delicious authentic Italian food. Best gnocchi I've had.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and her family have been going s ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

My wife and her family have been going since they opened and we enjoy carrying on the tradition with our children. The food and service are great and the atmosphere is very comfortable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Great authentic Italian experience in the heart of Ann Arbor :-)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

consistent rustic Italian

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

The food is always delicious at Argiero's. It's family owned and family style. The menu is limited, but the fare is basic, unpretentious country-style Italian food, and never fails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always A Good & Tasty Choice

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 31, 2015

It's has an old world charm and is family owned and operated which is unique compared to all the chain options. Located in downtown Ann Arbor it's a great choice if you're in the mood for moderately priced Italian cuisine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A neighborhood gem

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 30, 2015

The place is a neighborhood gem. Good Italian food in an unpretentious setting with fine service and reasonable prices. The chocolate martinis are great, the veal tender, and the pizza better then anything that can be delivered. I have not been there enough and that must change!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Spaghetti and sauce were mediocre at bes ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 20, 2015

Spaghetti and sauce were mediocre at best. Expected more from this Italian restaurant. Had to ask for Parmesan cheese which turned out to be the powdery grated stuff. Really? Several years ago the food at Argerios was much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Gluten free

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

I go to Argueros for their gluten free offerings. Wednesday's meal was overly dry and not as good as past meals

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We love the eggplant sauce! It's great ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on December 30, 2014

We love the eggplant sauce! It's great on the pizza or spaghetti.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday dinner

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on November 2, 2014

Our reseveration was seated right away despite the fact the whole party was not there yet. Service was wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Ann Arbor Gem!

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

Wow - where can you have fantastic Italian fare with a group of 20 on a Football Saturday, no less? Argiero's was more than accommodating and went out of their way to greet and treat our large party! The food was awesome and the service was impeccable! I am so glad to have found this place and just being a couple extra blocks off the main drag, it's well worth the walk!!! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on October 10, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner. Nice ambiance, great food (love that bread), and very good service too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great birthday dinner experience

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

I came with a group of 8 for my birthday dinner, and it was wonderful! The wait staff was SO hospitable, and the atmosphere was perfect for a birthday dinner. Not loud like many of the downtown restaurants -- we were able to have conversations and laugh and hear each other, but we weren't being too loud in the restaurant (it wasn't silent).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.