Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Enterprise Fish Co. - Santa MonicaEnterprise Fish Co. - Santa Monica
(1927)
$$$$
Seafood | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 31 times today
Lula CocinaLula Cocina
(127)
$$$$
Mexican | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 8 times today
HinterlandHinterland
(120)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 15 times today
Finn McCoolsFinn McCools
(37)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Santa Monica, Westside
Bareburger OrganicBareburger Organic
(1)
$$$$
American | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 2 times today
Rose Cafe - RestaurantRose Cafe - Restaurant
(470)
$$$$
American | Venice, Westside
Booked 170 times today
Cafe Gratitude - VeniceCafe Gratitude - Venice
(332)
$$$$
Vegetarian / Vegan | Venice, Westside
Booked 30 times today
ManchegoManchego
(236)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 24 times today
One PicoOne Pico
(1510)
$$$$
Californian | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 38 times today
CoastCoast
(661)
$$$$
Californian | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 30 times today
Plant Food + Wine VenicePlant Food + Wine Venice
(282)
$$$$
Vegan | Venice, Westside
Booked 43 times today
Osteria Venice WestOsteria Venice West
(356)
$$$$
Italian | Venice, Westside
Booked 14 times today
Catch at Hotel Casa del MarCatch at Hotel Casa del Mar
(1005)
$$$$
Seafood | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 15 times today
Herringbone - Santa MonicaHerringbone - Santa Monica
(341)
$$$$
Seafood | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 41 times today
Via VenetoVia Veneto
(313)
$$$$
Italian | Santa Monica, Westside
Booked 21 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Permanently Closed - Areal Restaurant

This restaurant is permanently closed. Areal is set in a comfortable atmosphere near the beach with a large outdoor patio, a dining room, and a lounge/bar. A light and flavorful seasonally driven menu is offered along with a wood-burning oven that is used for artisan pizzas. We are a farm-to-plate restaurant who practices sustainability in everything we can.

2820 Main St.
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm;
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 1:00 am

Cross Street:
Ashland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 392-1661

Website:
http://arealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for 'Whiskey Wednesdays" every week we feature some of the best Blue Grass, New Orleans Jazz, Folk and Blues while sipping on one of our Master Mixologist Adam Fournier's Whisky Creations. We feature a different Spirit every week.

Sunday & Tuesday evenings enjoy the patio with guitar virtuoso Josh Balbien.

Catering:
Let Areal Restaurant bring the party to your house. We strive to bring the same dining experience we provide here at the restaurant to all our outside events.

Parking Details:
We have a lot next door that we validate and there is plenty of public parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Areal Restaurant - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (5)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

One of my very favorite places to eat in Santa Monica.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Bar Seating, Live Music, Vegan, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Hostess told us she had to seat us inside, but we had a reservation. She told us it could be a 35 minute wait, but a table opened up after 2 minutes. Our waitress was rude. Food was medicore. No thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Everything we ordered was delicious. Lots of space and good patio dining and bar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Really like Areal, especially when they have the guitarist playing . Last night was fine: excellent service & good food. BUT the classic Disco coming from the bar was too loud. The patio was not crowded, but we struggled to talk over the music.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food was fair overall. Service was EXTREMELY slow....should say the waitress was slow. The food came out immediately. Our waitress was always MIA. Had to get up and get her couple times. Both times she was chatting away with another waitress in the back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I mainly picked this place out for its location, and figured it would be the Santa Monica standard: decent cocktails, and food that is good, but slightly overpriced. It ended up being much more disappointing than that. I had a reservation and only two-thirds of the tables were filled, but it still took them several minutes to seat us. Once they did, a busboy brought us water, and then we weren't spoken to again by any member of staff for 30 minutes. Eventually I got sick of it and asked a busboy to go find our waiter. He did, and the waiter showed up and introduced himself 5 minutes later. We quickly ordered, and waited another 25 minutes for our food to come out, again, not hearing anything from any members of staff. The calamari was tasty, but no better than the average decent Italian restaurant. The pasta dish we ordered was also fairly good, but not really as good or inspired as you expect it to be when you're spending 30 dollars on an entree. Overall, our favorite part of the whole place was the guitarist playing weird mashups of top 40 pop and old classical tunes. I can't stand places that don't take service seriously, and the food was nowhere near good enough to overlook it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Waiter too attentive. Brought out entree before we were through with appetizers.
Not good. Felt like we were being rushed, but I do to think that was the case.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great patio dining. Good pizzas. Very dog friendly.

Tags: Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nice patio and setting, attentive service but Father's Day brunch buffet was tasteless, unappealing , offering poor quality and variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
·Dined on May 19, 2017

food meh, slow waiter. my credit card was scammed that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed a very pleasant Mother's Day Brunch at a busy yet cozy atmosphere. Delicious breakfast line and bottomless mimosas. Best of all, they welcome dogs so no member of the family had to miss out. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Areal was a great experience. I love to come here for Happy Hour. The deals are great and the service is awesome. I decided to help my brother out for Mothers day. His wife loves to go out for Brunch so I told him about Areal. We all had a very nice time, the service was amazing and the food was really good. we will definitely be coming back!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day, but they overbooked and did not honor reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were seated almost an hour late... On Mother's Day. There was little to no communication as to why we were so delayed. Food was average, but not worth $32 a head. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place but I would skip Mother's Day brunch. Food is better when ordered off menu and not as crowded

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Amazing cocktails, excellent food, great ambiance and superb service. We sat in the outside patio and they had an acoustic guitar player that was excellent. He set the tone for a great dinner and wine buzz.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Wasn't as good as the prior visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

While the inside was somewhat lacking in charm, the outdoor patio was very nice. As for the food, the Pizza and Bacon wrapped dates were delicious. The "New York" Steak & Frittes on the other hand left much to be desired. It is a great summer outdoor setting with descent food and a nice ambience.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Areal is a favorite I frequent both day and evening. We even did a super New Year's Eve dinner one year. I prefer the patio, which is sublime if you catch it on a pretty day. Also less noisy than inside, though indoors during the week seems to be less noisy for lunch. Dinner can be a bit noisy, I always prefer asking for a table in the corner. The bar, however, is super noisy since they put in the sports tvs. But then some people like that. They also do a great Happy Hour menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place was very nice for a quiet dinner with my husband. We saw individuals with their dogs which was a nice touch and we will be doing so in the future.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything's good about this place, but I thnk the price of some of their dinner items is too high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was fair, nothing to rave about. Place is nice though with outdoor patio dining area. But I don't think I will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I can't honestly say the restaurant was bad. But the service was terrible. I made a reservation about three hours before hand. Once I arrived I was informed that there weren't any meals being prepared because of some special even. The staff never tired to contact me about that. All I was told was that there would be a limited menu, which I was ok with. Otherwise a bad experience when the staff neglect to inform you about exclusive events that will not allow entry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We all four loved the delicious food. The patio is attractive and enclosed, with heaters and blankets available. It was quiet when we arrive at 6:00 p.m. on Friday evening, but when we left at 7:30 the noise level was high because there was live music and dancing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Menu is varied but rarely changes. Nice outdoor atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The only thing that brought the experience down was that our waiter gave us the bill before we were done ordering as though he wanted us to leave. We were going to order more food and dessert, but we decided to just leave instead. Other than that, the experience was nice. It was likely not the waiter's fault, but it took awhile for our drinks to come too.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Hos test was incredibly rude. Service was incredibly slow for only maybe six tables. When I asked for the wifi I was told different reasons by two different people; it doesn't work and I can't give it out.
The hostess was rude from the beginning. Folded napkins and took a phone knowing I was standing there waiting to be helped. Told her I had a reservation. In a very snarky tone, "um we do not take reservations before 4." "Perhaps your owner Shiism speak with OpenTable as it allows for reservations well before then."
I will never go back to this Areal despite throwing friends baby showers there and having Areal be apart of our bar crawls. Way better service just about anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Wouldn't suggest for a romantic date due to the loudness of the bar right beside it but food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was my second time at Areal. After my first enjoyable and tasty lunch I returned the following week with two friends and we had a wonderful lunch. We all will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

An interesting restaurant that has abundant outdoor dining space and open to the indoor dining area so the indoor tables do not feel closed in. From the website I mistakenly thought it would be a quiet dining spot but it is located right at a busy corner (lots of parking in the back) with much foot and vehicle traffic around. If I had been looking for a more energetic feel with live music (we were there for Sunday dinner), it would have been great. The food was fine and good portions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great but the noise level was a bit too loud for a Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Below average food and bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awful awful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2016

I havent been to Areal in eons. The food has greatly improved and we enjoyed our server immensely. The restaurant was gracious enough to take back a pizza one of the kids ended up not eating/liking. This has now made it onto the list for regular rotation for us. I plan to come back soon, and often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 3, 2016

If you remember World Café, you will notice how not much has changed, in terms of ambience, décor and food quality, which is good (except for the food part). The food is not horrible, it's just not great, however it is fairly priced, so the restaurant is a good choice when you want to have a nice night out in a good atmosphere and not spend too much money.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Areal is a real gem. Great food, service and ambiance. It is my favorite LA eatery for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Didn't know that this mostly known as bar based on review. They over sold and set up tables everywhere including the bar where we were seated. Loud music and a very long line for a buffet that was out of most items so we left without eating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was okay. Seems if they are going to compete with the new restaurants on the Westside, they'd better step up their game. Place could use a power wash as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 28, 2016

We ate a very good dinner here, but my memories of this night are of an incident that the restaurant handled amazingly well. A man and a woman were dining at a table and the woman went to the bathroom. A diner at the next table saw the man put something in the woman's drink. She notified a waitress, who told her manager and the woman in the bathroom. She came back to her table and acted like she knew nothing, while the restaurant called the police. We left as the police arrived to question the man, and safely escort her home. It was the most amazing thing and it really takes a village to keep everyone safe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The bow tie pasta over seasoned inedible, the Mediterranean pasta tasteless awful, bean soup and tortilla soup flat and tasteless, squash blossom appetizer soggy and mushroom fries heavily battered and greasy. How does this place stay in business?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.