About Areal Restaurant

2820 Main St.
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Areal is set in a comfortable atmosphere near the beach with a large outdoor patio, a dining room, and a lounge/bar. A light and flavorful seasonally driven menu is offered along with a wood-burning oven that is used for artisan pizzas. We are a farm-to-plate restaurant who practices sustainability in everything we can.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm;
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 1:00 am

Cross Street:
Ashland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 392-1661

Website:
http://arealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for 'Whiskey Wednesdays" every week we feature some of the best Blue Grass, New Orleans Jazz, Folk and Blues while sipping on one of our Master Mixologist Adam Fournier's Whisky Creations. We feature a different Spirit every week.

Sunday & Tuesday evenings enjoy the patio with guitar virtuoso Josh Balbien.

Catering:
Let Areal Restaurant bring the party to your house. We strive to bring the same dining experience we provide here at the restaurant to all our outside events.

Parking Details:
We have a lot next door that we validate and there is plenty of public parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Bucanti
Gloria Farm's Spinach Salad
Lentil Soup
Oysters
Grass Fed Beef Burger
Proscuitto
Lobster Club
Mushroom Pizza
Margarita Pizza
Old Fashioned
Wild Baby Arugula
Tuna Tarta
The Lily
Dated Reference
Duck Rilettes
So Good...French Toast
Yummy

Areal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Great for Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Notable Wine List (5)
Romantic (4)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wouldn't suggest for a romantic date due ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wouldn't suggest for a romantic date due to the loudness of the bar right beside it but food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was my second time at Areal. After m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was my second time at Areal. After my first enjoyable and tasty lunch I returned the following week with two friends and we had a wonderful lunch. We all will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An interesting restaurant that has abund ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

An interesting restaurant that has abundant outdoor dining space and open to the indoor dining area so the indoor tables do not feel closed in. From the website I mistakenly thought it would be a quiet dining spot but it is located right at a busy corner (lots of parking in the back) with much foot and vehicle traffic around. If I had been looking for a more energetic feel with live music (we were there for Sunday dinner), it would have been great. The food was fine and good portions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great but the noise level was a bit too ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great but the noise level was a bit too loud for a Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Below average food and bad service.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Below average food and bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Awful awful service

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Awful awful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I havent been to Areal in eons. The food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I havent been to Areal in eons. The food has greatly improved and we enjoyed our server immensely. The restaurant was gracious enough to take back a pizza one of the kids ended up not eating/liking. This has now made it onto the list for regular rotation for us. I plan to come back soon, and often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Value

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

If you remember World Café, you will notice how not much has changed, in terms of ambience, décor and food quality, which is good (except for the food part). The food is not horrible, it's just not great, however it is fairly priced, so the restaurant is a good choice when you want to have a nice night out in a good atmosphere and not spend too much money.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Best brunch in LA!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Areal is a real gem. Great food, service and ambiance. It is my favorite LA eatery for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easter disaster

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Didn't know that this mostly known as bar based on review. They over sold and set up tables everywhere including the bar where we were seated. Loud music and a very long line for a buffet that was out of most items so we left without eating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was okay. Seems if they are going t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Food was okay. Seems if they are going to compete with the new restaurants on the Westside, they'd better step up their game. Place could use a power wash as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Terrible Food

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The bow tie pasta over seasoned inedible, the Mediterranean pasta tasteless awful, bean soup and tortilla soup flat and tasteless, squash blossom appetizer soggy and mushroom fries heavily battered and greasy. How does this place stay in business?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Met a friend here who I hadn't seen in y ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Met a friend here who I hadn't seen in years so we obviously spent a bunch of time catching up. We were never rushed or pressured which I really appreciate. Our server was attentive without being pushy and was ready with suggestions when we couldn't make up our minds. Food was tasty and I enjoyed sitting in the courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great service and ambiance....something for all!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

From vegetarians to carnivores this menu had it all! Great service with friendly staff! I think it was quite affordable!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great happy hour deals...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went there after spending the day on the beach. It was very good portions and good food at low prices (since we hit the happy hour, which lasted until 7).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Not as good as last year

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

We are from Chicago and spend the winters in Santa Monica. Last year we love Areal

This year we were very disappointed

Last year we found it romantic looking. This year we ate inside and they had chairs stacked in

The corner in the main dining room. The corner of the dining room looked awful

Food wasn't very good

Bar/ding outside was full. Maybe they just don't care about the inside dining room

This is the first review I have ever written for a restaurant.

To bad it had to be negative

We were sorry we suggested and took are friends there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

New Years group dinner

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here for New Year's Eve pre-drinking dinner with some friends, saw their beautiful white party decorations and had a very nice time. Prices were very fair for the location and because we were about an hour or so before their prix fix menu setting, we were in and out very quickly, service was tremendously fast! We'll be going again for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worthwhile for the patio dining

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food is mediocre. The location and outdoor dining is very nice. If one does not consider oneself a foodie, then this restaurant might be fine for your needs. The outside courtyard is very picturesque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Very cute place, great date scene, make ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Very cute place, great date scene, make sure to sit outside (even if it's cold)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Love this place. Food is amazing. All t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

Love this place. Food is amazing. All the food. Happy hour is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had delicious salads for lunch. Great ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

We had delicious salads for lunch. Great outdoor area. They did bring salmon on my salad and I'm a vegetarian, and I could tell they just pulled the salmon filet off the top and brought the dish back out. But it was a good meal and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Food In Santa Monica

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Areal is a great spot, with consistently great food. Everything on their menu is great and really can feel comfortable ordering what you want. The bar scene is usually pretty good and vibrant. Great place to stop by have a few drinks, enjoy what Santa Monica has to offer and enjoy the awesome weather. They have a great patio for groups and the menu really caters to just that as you can share most of the items.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Never Again

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

I can't say I've ever visited Areal for the food.... but I did love the atmosphere, the string lights & dining outside.

Areal was one of my "go-to's" for last minute reservations & outdoor dining on a nice night. Having lived in Santa Monica for years, I've been to Areal more times than I can count on four hands.

The first disappointment was when they limited their happy hour to indoor bar dining....even when the outside was empty.

The second disappointment has been lack luster food. Lame Caesar, weak/spongy pizza & possibly one of the worst "hand crafted" spicy margaritas I've had.

The final & ultimate offenses was the service. I asked if they had any specials. He said no but they had two soups, one being a clam chowder. My boy friend ordered said clam chowder. 10-15 minutes later when our salads are served he comes back to say they are out of the clam chowder.....how did you take an order for something you're out of? No apology or gesture....fine.

But our waiter didn't check on our table for more than 20 minutes. More than 10 minutes into the twenty I asked the busser to please send our waiter over....another 10 minutes later I got up & walked towards him & asked him to send us our check. Believe it or not, against our better judgement we were going to try & order a different cocktail, but after 20+ we couldn't wait to get out of there & give someone else our money.

The waiter did not apologize or make any gesture to right the wrong. He meekly brought the check, as if his tail were between his legs, & left. The manager was also next to spineless. I calmly explained that though I'd never been overly impressed with their food, I'd been back countless times because of the atmosphere. I explained the lack of service & lackluster cocktails & disappointing food was a trifecta I didn't find excusable. he replied with "& we're not even busy..." Ya no kidding. He made no effort to explain, make the wrong right, etc.

As such I won't be back. Bad business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

The staff is warm, friendly and very helpful.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

The food was not good. So sorry. We started with the tuna tartar, it looked good but the tuna was not very fresh still edible. The bacon wrapped dates with goat cheese was sitting in a pool of honey, not enough contrast sweet on sweet. We had the pork chop, and a burger (usually a safe choice.) The burger on a brioche bun was good not great but good. The pork chop was not. I have never sent back a dish (even if it is not cooked the way I order it) but it was not edible. We ordered it medium, it was well done and so tough the steak knife they gave us could barely cut through it. It was sitting on a pile of vegetables that were supposed be potatoes, and brussel sprouts, but there was something incredibly bitter in the mix. The server was great he took it back and asked if we would like something else. Desserts were OK. The creme brulee was a bit broken the texture was grainy. The coffee was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

service,food and atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

Great restaurant ! We were looking for city dinning with lots of atmosphere ,somewhere we could dine with young friends that we had not seen in awhile. Areal was over and above our expectations. WE had a fantastic dinner out on the patio.Troy waited on us ,we could not pick a better person . this man made our night. We finished our night inside at the whiskey bar ,it"s real quaint with a fantastic band . This restaurant put everyone in a Great mood .

I looked like a real star picking this place , This is now my new go to place in Santa Monica.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Main Street Hot Spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

Great service, great outdoor seating; I would return....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great casual dining spot!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

We took a 3 year old to eat here and we're very pleased with the menu choices and attentive service.

The outdoor courtyard dining was perfect ,lovely when it was light out and well lit and warm in the dark.

The burgers were cooked just right and the lobster mac and cheese deliciously rich!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Areal: a definite 'go to' on Main in Santa Monica

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

Areal has a cozy but roomy outdoor patio that hits the mark. The wine list is extensive and it was nice to see some new names rather than the same old brand vineyards. Food was delicious and the whole meal was enjoyable!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I come here a lot bc I live nearby and I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

I come here a lot bc I live nearby and I like the vibe. The food concepts are GREAT... But the execution is somewhat half-assed, unfortunately. Overcooked octopus and soggy squash blossoms. Attempts at a flavor profile that I can tell would be incredible if only the kitchen staff were trained well/cared. The music where the high-tops are is impossibly loud. However, I do choose to go to Areal and sit in that area for the vibe. I love the patio when the sun is out. Again, food is pretty disappointing and service is unimpressive, but I love being somewhere on Main st that's so airy and bustling.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Father's Day Brunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

We were excited with the menu online and then found that they only had a buffet which frankly had some great dishes as well, however was not what we expected.

Our Father like many is up in years and having to get up for his meal and the configuration of the outside dining made it tough on our entire party.

Certainly give the staff an A+ and as mentioned my Salmon Benedict tasted great (but their was no traditional benedict available).

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great fries

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 18, 2015

Areal's French fries are terrific! And the calamari is crunchy and moist, very enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Brunch

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Was there for Mother's Day brunch. Horrible food variety. Jnust a bunch of eggs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

great for brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Took my mom here for Mother's Day brunch. Food was delicious and a lot of healthy choices on eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's day brunch

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Came to Areal for the first time for Mother's day with my mom, boyfriend, and toddler. The food was fantastic! Great variety of food, healthy, a little more indulgent, kid friendly, vegetarian friendly. They constantly rotated the food to ensure freshness, which I appreciated. The waitress we had was very attentive while it was a busy brunch and in between I saw her constantly rolling silverware! I would come back in a heart beat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for brunch!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2015

Had brunch here for the 2nd time. Friday late morning and the place was just busy enough, but plenty of space for private conversation with friends. Great food and attentive service in Santa Monica. Will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great location on main

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 23, 2015

Atmosphere is great, staff is very friendly. The food is average...but still a fun place for lunch/ brunch and people watching on main.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Amazing brunch on the weekends. Food o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Amazing brunch on the weekends. Food off the menu is amazing! Outdoor seating and dog friendly outside tables. Thank you :) we love taking our dog with us for a walk and dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely outdoor dining

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 10, 2015

Delightful outdoor venue with a sufficient selection of small plates and attentive service. Quiet enough to have a conversation. Unfortunately the quality of the cooking doesn't measure up to the setting. For example, ceviche had large chunks of fish that were tough, perhaps due to insufficient time in the marinade, as well as flavorings that were off balance, and the creme brulee was grainy rather than creamy. Very generous on portion size. I would definitely return, but I wouldn't expect great food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Disappointed

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 3, 2015

Our hostess and waiter were the best part of the evening. Inside the restaurant, the temperature was very cold, the tomato basil soup was spicy (not advised) and tasted nothing like tomato basil soup. Also, the creame brûlée was "grainy."

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Areal

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 26, 2015

Dinner was delicious, aumbiance was nice they had a great live band.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.