Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.36mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.52mi

About Areal Restaurant

Areal is set in a comfortable atmosphere near the beach with a large outdoor patio, a dining room, and a lounge/bar. A light and flavorful seasonally driven menu is offered along with a wood-burning oven that is used for artisan pizzas. We are a farm-to-plate restaurant who practices sustainability in everything we can.

2820 Main St.
Santa Monica, CA 90405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm;
Lunch: Tuesday - Friday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm;
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00 pm - 12:00 am, Friday - Saturday: 5:00 pm - 1:00 am

Cross Street:
Ashland

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 392-1661

Website:
http://arealrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Join us for 'Whiskey Wednesdays" every week we feature some of the best Blue Grass, New Orleans Jazz, Folk and Blues while sipping on one of our Master Mixologist Adam Fournier's Whisky Creations. We feature a different Spirit every week.

Sunday & Tuesday evenings enjoy the patio with guitar virtuoso Josh Balbien.

Catering:
Let Areal Restaurant bring the party to your house. We strive to bring the same dining experience we provide here at the restaurant to all our outside events.

Parking Details:
We have a lot next door that we validate and there is plenty of public parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Areal Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Casual (4)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Business Meals (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Vegan (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
205 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Amazing cocktails, excellent food, great ambiance and superb service. We sat in the outside patio and they had an acoustic guitar player that was excellent. He set the tone for a great dinner and wine buzz.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wasn't as good as the prior visit there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

While the inside was somewhat lacking in charm, the outdoor patio was very nice. As for the food, the Pizza and Bacon wrapped dates were delicious. The "New York" Steak & Frittes on the other hand left much to be desired. It is a great summer outdoor setting with descent food and a nice ambience.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Areal is a favorite I frequent both day and evening. We even did a super New Year's Eve dinner one year. I prefer the patio, which is sublime if you catch it on a pretty day. Also less noisy than inside, though indoors during the week seems to be less noisy for lunch. Dinner can be a bit noisy, I always prefer asking for a table in the corner. The bar, however, is super noisy since they put in the sports tvs. But then some people like that. They also do a great Happy Hour menu.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Wood Oven, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This place was very nice for a quiet dinner with my husband. We saw individuals with their dogs which was a nice touch and we will be doing so in the future.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything's good about this place, but I thnk the price of some of their dinner items is too high.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Food was fair, nothing to rave about. Place is nice though with outdoor patio dining area. But I don't think I will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I can't honestly say the restaurant was bad. But the service was terrible. I made a reservation about three hours before hand. Once I arrived I was informed that there weren't any meals being prepared because of some special even. The staff never tired to contact me about that. All I was told was that there would be a limited menu, which I was ok with. Otherwise a bad experience when the staff neglect to inform you about exclusive events that will not allow entry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We all four loved the delicious food. The patio is attractive and enclosed, with heaters and blankets available. It was quiet when we arrive at 6:00 p.m. on Friday evening, but when we left at 7:30 the noise level was high because there was live music and dancing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Menu is varied but rarely changes. Nice outdoor atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The only thing that brought the experience down was that our waiter gave us the bill before we were done ordering as though he wanted us to leave. We were going to order more food and dessert, but we decided to just leave instead. Other than that, the experience was nice. It was likely not the waiter's fault, but it took awhile for our drinks to come too.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Hos test was incredibly rude. Service was incredibly slow for only maybe six tables. When I asked for the wifi I was told different reasons by two different people; it doesn't work and I can't give it out.
The hostess was rude from the beginning. Folded napkins and took a phone knowing I was standing there waiting to be helped. Told her I had a reservation. In a very snarky tone, "um we do not take reservations before 4." "Perhaps your owner Shiism speak with OpenTable as it allows for reservations well before then."
I will never go back to this Areal despite throwing friends baby showers there and having Areal be apart of our bar crawls. Way better service just about anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wouldn't suggest for a romantic date due to the loudness of the bar right beside it but food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was my second time at Areal. After my first enjoyable and tasty lunch I returned the following week with two friends and we had a wonderful lunch. We all will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 8, 2016

An interesting restaurant that has abundant outdoor dining space and open to the indoor dining area so the indoor tables do not feel closed in. From the website I mistakenly thought it would be a quiet dining spot but it is located right at a busy corner (lots of parking in the back) with much foot and vehicle traffic around. If I had been looking for a more energetic feel with live music (we were there for Sunday dinner), it would have been great. The food was fine and good portions.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great but the noise level was a bit too loud for a Monday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Below average food and bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Awful awful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2016

I havent been to Areal in eons. The food has greatly improved and we enjoyed our server immensely. The restaurant was gracious enough to take back a pizza one of the kids ended up not eating/liking. This has now made it onto the list for regular rotation for us. I plan to come back soon, and often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 4, 2016

If you remember World Café, you will notice how not much has changed, in terms of ambience, décor and food quality, which is good (except for the food part). The food is not horrible, it's just not great, however it is fairly priced, so the restaurant is a good choice when you want to have a nice night out in a good atmosphere and not spend too much money.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Areal is a real gem. Great food, service and ambiance. It is my favorite LA eatery for brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Didn't know that this mostly known as bar based on review. They over sold and set up tables everywhere including the bar where we were seated. Loud music and a very long line for a buffet that was out of most items so we left without eating.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Food was okay. Seems if they are going to compete with the new restaurants on the Westside, they'd better step up their game. Place could use a power wash as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 29, 2016

We ate a very good dinner here, but my memories of this night are of an incident that the restaurant handled amazingly well. A man and a woman were dining at a table and the woman went to the bathroom. A diner at the next table saw the man put something in the woman's drink. She notified a waitress, who told her manager and the woman in the bathroom. She came back to her table and acted like she knew nothing, while the restaurant called the police. We left as the police arrived to question the man, and safely escort her home. It was the most amazing thing and it really takes a village to keep everyone safe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2016

The bow tie pasta over seasoned inedible, the Mediterranean pasta tasteless awful, bean soup and tortilla soup flat and tasteless, squash blossom appetizer soggy and mushroom fries heavily battered and greasy. How does this place stay in business?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Met a friend here who I hadn't seen in years so we obviously spent a bunch of time catching up. We were never rushed or pressured which I really appreciate. Our server was attentive without being pushy and was ready with suggestions when we couldn't make up our minds. Food was tasty and I enjoyed sitting in the courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2016

From vegetarians to carnivores this menu had it all! Great service with friendly staff! I think it was quite affordable!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 13, 2016

We went there after spending the day on the beach. It was very good portions and good food at low prices (since we hit the happy hour, which lasted until 7).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Here is a tip...do not take reservations if you cannot honor them. We had a reservation and when we got there they said no table would be available for 35 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2016

We are from Chicago and spend the winters in Santa Monica. Last year we love Areal
This year we were very disappointed
Last year we found it romantic looking. This year we ate inside and they had chairs stacked in
The corner in the main dining room. The corner of the dining room looked awful
Food wasn't very good
Bar/ding outside was full. Maybe they just don't care about the inside dining room
This is the first review I have ever written for a restaurant.
To bad it had to be negative
We were sorry we suggested and took are friends there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Went here for New Year's Eve pre-drinking dinner with some friends, saw their beautiful white party decorations and had a very nice time. Prices were very fair for the location and because we were about an hour or so before their prix fix menu setting, we were in and out very quickly, service was tremendously fast! We'll be going again for sure

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 8, 2015

The food is mediocre. The location and outdoor dining is very nice. If one does not consider oneself a foodie, then this restaurant might be fine for your needs. The outside courtyard is very picturesque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Very cute place, great date scene, make sure to sit outside (even if it's cold)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2015

Love this place. Food is amazing. All the food. Happy hour is perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2015

We had delicious salads for lunch. Great outdoor area. They did bring salmon on my salad and I'm a vegetarian, and I could tell they just pulled the salmon filet off the top and brought the dish back out. But it was a good meal and nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2015

Areal is a great spot, with consistently great food. Everything on their menu is great and really can feel comfortable ordering what you want. The bar scene is usually pretty good and vibrant. Great place to stop by have a few drinks, enjoy what Santa Monica has to offer and enjoy the awesome weather. They have a great patio for groups and the menu really caters to just that as you can share most of the items.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2015

I can't say I've ever visited Areal for the food.... but I did love the atmosphere, the string lights & dining outside.

Areal was one of my "go-to's" for last minute reservations & outdoor dining on a nice night. Having lived in Santa Monica for years, I've been to Areal more times than I can count on four hands.

The first disappointment was when they limited their happy hour to indoor bar dining....even when the outside was empty.

The second disappointment has been lack luster food. Lame Caesar, weak/spongy pizza & possibly one of the worst "hand crafted" spicy margaritas I've had.

The final & ultimate offenses was the service. I asked if they had any specials. He said no but they had two soups, one being a clam chowder. My boy friend ordered said clam chowder. 10-15 minutes later when our salads are served he comes back to say they are out of the clam chowder.....how did you take an order for something you're out of? No apology or gesture....fine.
But our waiter didn't check on our table for more than 20 minutes. More than 10 minutes into the twenty I asked the busser to please send our waiter over....another 10 minutes later I got up & walked towards him & asked him to send us our check. Believe it or not, against our better judgement we were going to try & order a different cocktail, but after 20+ we couldn't wait to get out of there & give someone else our money.

The waiter did not apologize or make any gesture to right the wrong. He meekly brought the check, as if his tail were between his legs, & left. The manager was also next to spineless. I calmly explained that though I'd never been overly impressed with their food, I'd been back countless times because of the atmosphere. I explained the lack of service & lackluster cocktails & disappointing food was a trifecta I didn't find excusable. he replied with "& we're not even busy..." Ya no kidding. He made no effort to explain, make the wrong right, etc.

As such I won't be back. Bad business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2015

The food was not good. So sorry. We started with the tuna tartar, it looked good but the tuna was not very fresh still edible. The bacon wrapped dates with goat cheese was sitting in a pool of honey, not enough contrast sweet on sweet. We had the pork chop, and a burger (usually a safe choice.) The burger on a brioche bun was good not great but good. The pork chop was not. I have never sent back a dish (even if it is not cooked the way I order it) but it was not edible. We ordered it medium, it was well done and so tough the steak knife they gave us could barely cut through it. It was sitting on a pile of vegetables that were supposed be potatoes, and brussel sprouts, but there was something incredibly bitter in the mix. The server was great he took it back and asked if we would like something else. Desserts were OK. The creme brulee was a bit broken the texture was grainy. The coffee was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2015

Great restaurant ! We were looking for city dinning with lots of atmosphere ,somewhere we could dine with young friends that we had not seen in awhile. Areal was over and above our expectations. WE had a fantastic dinner out on the patio.Troy waited on us ,we could not pick a better person . this man made our night. We finished our night inside at the whiskey bar ,it"s real quaint with a fantastic band . This restaurant put everyone in a Great mood .
I looked like a real star picking this place , This is now my new go to place in Santa Monica.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2015

Great service, great outdoor seating; I would return....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.