Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Area 31 - Epic Hotel

Chef Wolfgang Birk at Area 31 delivers a menu of fresh, local seafood prepared with Global Influences for Atlantic Coastal Cuisine. The name comes from the United Nations 'Fishing Area 31,' which encompasses the nearby waters surrounding Miami and the Florida coast, and is dedicated to supporting sustainable development. The menu combined with the chic ambiance welcomes locals and visitors to its stunning 16th floor location for business or pleasure. Guests may dine indoors or on the expansive outdoor terrace overlooking the Miami skyline. The restaurant features an extensive list of high-end and unique wines, as well as an an innovative cocktail list from Head Bartender Brian Reep.

270 Biscayne Blvd Way
Miami, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday to Friday 11:30am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday 6:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brickell Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 424-5234

Website:
http://www.area31restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live DJ on our terrace during our Thursday & Friday night happy hours from 6pm-10pm.

Catering:
You may reserve the following spaces for your event or meeting : Our ballroom provides 4,200 square feet, divisible by half, with stunning views through floor-to-ceiling windows and softly illuminated glass spheres that give the sense of shimmering movement One 625-square-foot meeting room with outside terrace Two large meetings rooms that can each be divided in half to accommodate groups of varied sizes: one room is 1,600 square feet and the other is 1,900 square feet

Parking Details:
Area 31 offers complimentary valet for all lunch diners! Valid between 11:30am and 3pm only. Valet Parking will be discounted after restaurant validation for Dinner and Lounge guests.

Public Transit:
Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Wolfgang Birk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Don't forget to visit us for our Happy Hour while DJ Kristian Caro spins the best beats. Event takes place every Thursday and Friday in our outdoor lounge.

With two private dining rooms overlooking Brickell Avenue and the Miami River, your needs are sure to be met whether hosting a small business dinner, birthday celebration, or an intimate engagement dinner. The larger of our private dining rooms can accomodate up to 16 guests and features floor to ceiling windows showcasing panoramic views of the Miami skyline. The small private dining room seats up to 6 guests and has it's own private balcony in the case that you so wish to enjoy the fresh air in addition to the spectacular views.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 7:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Private Dining

Considered to be the 'best view' for dining in downtown Miami, Area 31's large private dining room allows for an ambiance that remains unparalleled. Perfect for intimate gatherings of friends, social functions, or private, business meetings, this space allows for nothing more to be desired.

Area 31 - Epic Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Romantic (30)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Waterfront (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fun (9)
Casual (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Live Music (3)
Dancing (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (0)
Sort By:
S
1521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Had enjoyed dinner there a couple of times before but didn't remember the dance beat music being at a volume that was competing with our conversation. It also made the fast talking waitress, who was otherwise very good, harder to understand. The exposed kitchen was a little noisier at times than it needed to be.

That being said the food preparation was both creative and excellently prepared with regards to taste and visual presentation. All portion of appetizers and entrees were large. The ceviche mixto could have been a meal in itself. For a dinner at this higher price level we just prefer a quieter ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Only negative: very small entree portion.
Ordering appetizer or side(s), a must, contributing much to a high bill

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had a good time at the restaurant, but didnt lasted . When we picked up the car from the valet parking we had been robbed. They stole all the gifts from the birthday we were celebrating. Really sad that such an expensive place provides such an indecent service. We could not retrieve the gifts, and have not received an answer for the claim that was made. 😡😡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The place was great overall. Excellent service. However the drinks are very pricey for what I got.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Went there for happy hour. The happy hour specials are good. The venue is great , and the food and service are great. It's a fun place to unwind after work, with nice views from the balcony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was a nice atmosphere. The service was great. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Even with reservation took 20 min to seat. The service is really poor...the food is good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Views were amazing so was the food and cocktails. Highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was great, nice view but a bit noisy due to all the people in the bar which was close to the dining area. Service was bad, the server looked bored out of his mind and was arrogant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

When we first visited this restaurant several years ago, it was a wonderful experience. This most recent, not so. Mind you, it was a Friday night relatively early and the place was filled with happy hour revelers (not well dressed which was sad to see), but the dinning area was slow as was the service which made little sense. Food was "eh" and for the price it should be "wow." Given that this is not a easy place to get to, not to mention the cost of parking at the hotel, it needs to have a draw. Views are impressive, but that's where impressive stops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious food, beautiful view, wonderful service! Our table had a light dusting of cigarette ashes on it because of the fact that the restaurant is located underneath hotel balconies. But the staff was wonderful and took care of the dust for us. Still highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very nice environment. The view is beautiful and the food was great. The servers were very nice. The only thing was that i reserved a table for outside but when we got there it was full. We were fine with it because we thought we would get moved after a spot opens up but when people started leaving they ended up moving other people that had gotten there after us and they never asked if we wanted to move to the outside. Just felt like they should have the tables reserved when asked to be seated in certain places when the customer reserves and also confirms the reservation that same day. But other than that everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Don't even bother

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was good... but not $100 a meal good (without alcohol). Tried the mushrooms and the pork belly. Both tasty. The roasted chicken was on point, but I've had better at less expensive restaurants in larger cities. The view makes this place. The service was okay, but super slow. The biggest complaint came from some drunk woman a few tables over consistently making a scene by cursing, shouting, etc and nothing seemed be done about it from management.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I'm a United States Marine and I Chose Area 31 as the spot to surprise my girlfriend that I've been with for 5 years now with a nice date and a proposal! I only come back to Miami about twice a year so I had to make sure I picked the perfect spot to propose. The roasted chicken is amazing! Our waitress Ericka did an amazing job with the service, although there was a pretty big party inside she had to attend, she did a great job checking up on us meanwhile our food arrived. She constantly made sure our drinks were filled and everything went smoothly. She kept a very happy vibe throughout the night which is always a big thing for me. After dessert I asked her to take us a couple pictures with the nice Brickell scenery in the background and then I popped the question to my fiancé if she would marry me!(She said yes) I want to thank Ericka for doing such a great job attending us, I couldn't ask for this night to go any more perfect than it could've and thanks to Ericka it did. Thank you Area 31 for one of the happiest nights of my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Sadly disappointed. The service was poor, the foot was below average and it had all of the ambiance of an employee cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

They brought out more food than I ordered and end up getting charged for it,, server had a hard time listening I guess , beautiful view tho,, but pricey

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Location was easy to get to. Ambiance was pleasant. On a cooler night the outdoor dining would be fantastic but since it was humid and hot we stayed indoors. Try the pork belly. It's fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Amazing food, good atmosphere, good views of Miami, would definitely return!!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

the service took much time. The food it is very delicious but expensive.. cost effective..

if want to see beautiful sight this is the place..

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Amazing. The view is spectacular! The good is good.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was Pleasant. Waiter was terrible I don't even remember her name. We waited like 40 minutes after being seated for her she said she didn't know we was here. Everyone who Set after us started eating before us. I received my pancakes and syrup 15 minutes later. We had no napkins or refill on our drinks. Maybe another day will be better but the day we went was terrible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The breakfast buffet was not so great, lacking variety, I have stayed at a Residence Inn that has a way better buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was amazing, for my anniversary they had a special detail.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This restaurant should be converted into a night club serving food, which is really what it is. Because the outdoor bar area is attached, the club music is so loud that you cannot dine comfortably outside. And, the inside dining room is freezing, lacks ambiance and is neglected by the servers. The food was just okay - overpriced like everything in Miami.

Overall, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Muy caro, platos pequeñísimos. No vuelvo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Amazing views of the Miami skyline!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

The food was great but some of it was bland (the chicken with the black rice)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Düsseldorf)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Awesome location, fantastic food. We enjoy dining there every time!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food is tasty but small and expensive, the place is noisy, on the terrace you have a good view of Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
service3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We went there to celebrate my daughter's birthday and she was the one to pick the restaurant and to be very honest with you I would've picked something much much better food was mediocre and location was nice but that's about it .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This was not good at all. Do not take the ceviche, does not taste good. Also you have to pay a valet parking of 22 USD even if you only stay 45 minutes! Not worth it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Loved this restaurant! The staff was top notch and the food was amazing. Great views too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Top notch customer service. Brent the manager was thee Absolute Best. My friends & I had a blast. Will definitely go back again for dinner this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great service and the food was amazing! Too bad it was wet and humid otherwise we would have eaten outside since the view is spectacular!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I will definitely recommend this restaurant! Beautiful! If you looking for an special view - that would be it! Watching boats and life from 16th floor is cool, especially when it gets dark!

Was surprised to find out they serve salmon with side of farry, something that is usual for ukrainian cuisine ( i am ukrainian) and i never saw at any other restaurants i was in America

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Amazing!!! The view is fantastic, I was impressed. Our server I believe her name was Jasmine or Melissa was above five stars, we tried a ton of stuff she recommended and everything was delicious!! I'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Overall good experience and value. Literally the best Swordfish I've ever had.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 28, 2017

On the 16th floor, there's an outside dining area which overlooks downtown Miami. A wonderful summer breeze up there in the evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.