Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Area 31 - Epic Hotel

Chef Wolfgang Birk at Area 31 delivers a menu of fresh, local seafood prepared with Global Influences for Atlantic Coastal Cuisine. The name comes from the United Nations 'Fishing Area 31,' which encompasses the nearby waters surrounding Miami and the Florida coast, and is dedicated to supporting sustainable development. The menu combined with the chic ambiance welcomes locals and visitors to its stunning 16th floor location for business or pleasure. Guests may dine indoors or on the expansive outdoor terrace overlooking the Miami skyline. The restaurant features an extensive list of high-end and unique wines, as well as an an innovative cocktail list from Head Bartender Brian Reep.

270 Biscayne Blvd Way
Miami, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday to Friday 11:30am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday 6:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brickell Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 424-5234

Website:
http://www.area31restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live DJ on our terrace during our Thursday & Friday night happy hours from 6pm-10pm.

Catering:
You may reserve the following spaces for your event or meeting : Our ballroom provides 4,200 square feet, divisible by half, with stunning views through floor-to-ceiling windows and softly illuminated glass spheres that give the sense of shimmering movement One 625-square-foot meeting room with outside terrace Two large meetings rooms that can each be divided in half to accommodate groups of varied sizes: one room is 1,600 square feet and the other is 1,900 square feet

Parking Details:
Area 31 offers complimentary valet for all lunch diners! Valid between 11:30am and 3pm only. Valet Parking will be discounted after restaurant validation for Dinner and Lounge guests.

Public Transit:
Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Wolfgang Birk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Don't forget to visit us for our Happy Hour while DJ Kristian Caro spins the best beats. Event takes place every Thursday and Friday in our outdoor lounge.

With two private dining rooms overlooking Brickell Avenue and the Miami River, your needs are sure to be met whether hosting a small business dinner, birthday celebration, or an intimate engagement dinner. The larger of our private dining rooms can accomodate up to 16 guests and features floor to ceiling windows showcasing panoramic views of the Miami skyline. The small private dining room seats up to 6 guests and has it's own private balcony in the case that you so wish to enjoy the fresh air in addition to the spectacular views.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Celebrate Dad and all he does with a delicious Brunch at Area 31 overlooking Brickell and the Miami River. We will be serving our regular ala carte brunch menu from Noon-3pm plus some grill items specially prepared by our grill master that Dad will surely love!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 7:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Private Dining

Considered to be the 'best view' for dining in downtown Miami, Area 31's large private dining room allows for an ambiance that remains unparalleled. Perfect for intimate gatherings of friends, social functions, or private, business meetings, this space allows for nothing more to be desired.

Area 31 - Epic Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (52)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Romantic (35)
Special Occasion (31)
Waterfront (23)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Modern Decor (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fun (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
People Watching (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Business Meals (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Healthy (8)
Private Room (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Cozy (6)
Family Style (6)
Authentic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Live Music (4)
Dancing (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent customer service. Erica was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of Miami's best restaurants. Great view food and hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

From the time we arrived they did everything to make our experience exceptional. What a view of downtown miami! Colin, our waiter, did an incredible job. I'll be back soon to see them.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Excelente comida y servicio. Ambiente muy agradable aunque muy ruidoso. El precio un tanto excesivo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Nice view from the 16th floor but that's it. Food was salty and overpriced. Service was not good and we were rushed. Not managed well, didn't even see the manager around. Not coming back here.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time! The food was delicious and the service was excellent, including the manager who was amazing... Blessed! One negative, it was too crowded!! We were like crabs in a bucket!! :-)

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had reservations for 9:00pm and had to wait 1/2 to be seated. We were asked our seating preference 3 times even though I had specified it when I made the reservation via Open Table. I'm one for enjoying time with family and friends and understand that people can get loud but the noise level was awful, I understand it's a popular restaurant but it was ridiculous!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Overpriced for for what you get in return, octopus was hard to find. Prawns weren't peeled, unimpressive main courses. Courses took forever. Get then in & get them out attitude from hostess. Great view though. Would go back for drinks only. Noisy bar area right next to restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had the brunch buffet and lover the variety and selection of food

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The restaurant was very good, but of course came with the Miami prices. Definitely pay for the ambiance and location. Probably come here only for special occasions and not a regular date night if I come back.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food quality and taste was EXTREMELY poor for the price. Would never go back there to eat. Hotel needs to reconsider a new chef to keep up with the drinks. With that being said, I would go Back for drinks on the balcony.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 10 year wedding aniverssary here, and it was awesome, great food, beautiful view, and they had music outside, it was really fun!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I bought the Bouillabaisse seafood mix in tomato broth for $45.00 and I got exactly one shrimp, one scallop, one tiny piece of fish, and one tiny clam. I've ordered this all over the country and have never seen such a small about served for that amount of charge. Rip off. Totally not worth the value. But the view is great! Guess you are paying for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and the staff friendly, although it took almost 20 mins (even with a reservation) for me to be seated on a pretty empty Monday night. The food was pretty good. The grilled octopus was good, the bao bun was spectacular, ceviche pretty standard and the goat cheese croquetas were just not for me... all in all it was an OK experience. Probably would not return for a second time. The only reason I would is to have the amazing waiter service, they go above and beyond

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Excellent food and atmosphere!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We arrived at the Epic Hotel valet parking and found our way upstairs to the dining room. The view was spectacular unfortunately that was it, the view. my steak was overcooked and had some sauce, not sure what it was on my steak. The server was nice and friendly. Valet charged me more money, some confusion about validating at the restaurant. Overall it was the scenery that was the best about this restaurant not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great time always. The service was excellent . It is important a good customer service and I give you guys an A+.

Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, People Watching, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Stayed at the Kimpton Epic for the weekend and had a wonderful diner and brunch at Area 31. The food was great and the service was great also.

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had my birthday dinner at Area 31 and everyone enjoyed themselves. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for her Birthday. Our server, Erika, was great. Very enthusiastic, funny, and answered any questions we had. The scenery was awesome. We went around sunset and as the time past and the sky grew darker, we were able to watch as the city lit up beside us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Outstanding restaurant! Beautiful views of downtown Miami with spectacular outdoor seating. A great romantic night or family brunch. Would defiantly recommend! Excellent food too!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This place is amazing. I will be back there to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was OK, but after getting our drinks, we were not asked if we wanted another. After being served our main meal, we were not asked by our wait staff to see if we wanted to order anything else off the menu or if everything was OK. We also had to ask for the dessert menu and the check twice. We were never offered coffee or an after dinner drink. At these prices, the service did not equal the price tag. Our server was far too busy to handle all these tables and our check was incorrect as she added another table's bill (over $300) to our bill which was a little over $120. Not cool.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We were staying across the street at the JW Marriott so I made a brunch reservation at Area 31 the day we arrived prior to check-in at the hotel. The view and weather were absolutely perfect. A wonderful way to start our girls weekend. The food was good, standard price if not a little better than the Miami norm, and service was satisfactory. All in all I would book again at this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The menu wasn't the same as on the website, and what we ended up ordering was more expensive then it said. No wifi by the outdoor tables. We couldn't order drinks from the happy hour price in the area that we sat in. Confused waiter and bad services. Won't come back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Yet another great meal at Area 31! You really can't go wrong with this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Its just a perfect place for any occasion .

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The overall experience was out standing. Our server (Jose) was one of the best we have had. The buffet was an amassing assortment of delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food was good but very expensive ($55 for a steak which did not even come with fries). Waitress was excellent. There were people waiting for tables so it clearly has a good reputation but we did not feel that it was worth the money.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The service was awesome and the view was amazinggggggg. I had brunch outside and it was soo relaxingggg and the food was the topping on the cake. Would give it 10/10! Will definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The place is beautiful and I felt great about my best friends birthday being celebrated at Area 31. The server was very nice but unfortunately it took me almost 20 minutes to get a drink only because every rose i wanted either wasn't in stock due to this massive party and the worst part is that the server tried to push another "rose" but it was the worst suggestion ever. I finally got a drink when I wanted to buy a bottle but with all this rosé problems I wasn't feeling it. The food came out and I ordered the crab cake which was the ONLY worthy thing there, these little pork belly pockets and the salmon. The salmon was dry and I ordered it medium and the seasoning was off. I expected an amazing dinner due to how known this place is but the quality of the food did not meet the quality of the scenery.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Thanks Area 31 for an amazing night!!! I wanted to surprise my husband and you guys exceeded our expectations. The view was amazing. The food was delicious. The music next door kept us dancing in our chairs and the wine recommended by our server completed our night :)

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Fantastic food but worst service ever. Waitress was sweet but so overwhelmed. Wine didn't come until we were done with appetizers. Long spans of time to get drinks or next course. Left our finished plates a long time. Busy Saturday night but for 400 meal with wine expect much better service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Would have been a more memorable experience if I would have received what I requested having made my reservation so far in advance. Room did not have the required effect requested and dining room table was much worse than requested. Was a good experience could have been great. Thank you anyway

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was absolutely great. We had the swordfish, salmon, and pork belly, and they all left me wanting more. The drinks were nice and strong, I personally enjoyed the classical cocktail selection. Service was outstanding, definitely glad we made reservations and we were at our table no more than 10 min after arriving with a few people still waiting on availability. Would definitely go again but at an earlier time to enjoy the live music. I was a little bummed out that the music ended at 11 if I'm not mistaken =(

Tags: Business Meals, Dancing, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Sitting at a outside table by the rail , you are in the middle of a downtown Miami view surrounded by tall buildings glowing in the night. Went the end of March. It's 16 stories up . Thought it might be chilly. It was perfectly comfortable.
The food was excellent. Great combinations. Very tasty. We will go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Very nice ambiance and service. Brunch offerings included made-to-order grill with omelets and waffles!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We came here for my Girlfriends Birthday. The food was amazing. We had the Crab cakes and the Pork Belly was to die for. We also tried the Salmon and Filet Mignon, both were excelllant. I look forward to dinning here again soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Just really really loud. We were doing a mother-daughter weekend, and trying to have a simple conversation was impossible. Everyone there was on their phones and there some something sad about that.

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Sat on the terrace for a late lunch. Pleasant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.