About Area 31 - Epic Hotel

270 Biscayne Blvd Way
Miami, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Chef Wolfgang Birk at Area 31 delivers a menu of fresh, local seafood prepared with Global Influences for Atlantic Coastal Cuisine. The name comes from the United Nations 'Fishing Area 31,' which encompasses the nearby waters surrounding Miami and the Florida coast, and is dedicated to supporting sustainable development. The menu combined with the chic ambiance welcomes locals and visitors to its stunning 16th floor location for business or pleasure. Guests may dine indoors or on the expansive outdoor terrace overlooking the Miami skyline. The restaurant features an extensive list of high-end and unique wines, as well as an an innovative cocktail list from Head Bartender Dean Feddaoui.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday to Friday 11:30am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday 6:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brickell Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 424-5234

Website:
http://www.area31restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our terrace during our Thursday & Friday night happy hours from 6pm-10pm.

Catering:
You may reserve the following spaces for your event or meeting : Our ballroom provides 4,200 square feet, divisible by half, with stunning views through floor-to-ceiling windows and softly illuminated glass spheres that give the sense of shimmering movement One 625-square-foot meeting room with outside terrace Two large meetings rooms that can each be divided in half to accommodate groups of varied sizes: one room is 1,600 square feet and the other is 1,900 square feet

Parking Details:
For a limited time, Area 31 will be offering complimentary valet for all lunch diners! Valid between 11:30am and 3pm only.

Valet Parking will be discounted after restaurant validation for Dinner and lounge guests.

Public Transit:
Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Wolfgang Birk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Don't forget to visit us for our Happy Hour while DJ Kristian Caro spins the best beats. Event takes place every Thursday and Friday in our outdoor lounge.

With two private dining rooms overlooking Brickell Avenue and the Miami River, your needs are sure to be met whether hosting a small business dinner, birthday celebration, or an intimate engagement dinner. The larger of our private dining rooms can accomodate up to 16 guests and features floor to ceiling windows showcasing panoramic views of the Miami skyline. The small private dining room seats up to 6 guests and has it's own private balcony in the case that you so wish to enjoy the fresh air in addition to the spectacular views.

Restaurant Photos

Octopus Crudo
Snapper
Cocktail
Foie Gras
Arancini
Pork
Avocado And Feta Salad
Fisherman's Stew
Eggs Benedict
Waffle and Jerk C
Root Vegetable Salad
Mahi Club
Hand Wrapped Mahi
risotto Al Frutti Di Mare
Passionada
Tuna
Entree
Blood Orange and Yellow Fin Tuna Ceviche
Scallop
Fish Taco
dessert buffet
Epic Sunset:  Belvedere Orange, Grand Marnier, Campari and Passion Fruit
English Rose
Barbabietole Roasted Beet Salad
Tuna Tartar
Shrimp Ceviche
Crispy Potato Chorizo Croquettes
Cheese And Champagne
Scallops
Grilled Mahi
Veuve Clicquot Champagne
Lobster Ravioli
Chilled Melon And Cucumber Soup
Key Lime Tart
Beef Carpaccio
Tomato Soup
Cocoa crusted Pork Belly
Wahoo Crudo
Flapjacks And Eggs
Cheese Plate
Amazonian Paiche With Faro Watermelon And  Avocado
Roasted Chicken Salad, Grilled Stonefruits And Bleu Cheese
Grilled Hanger Steak
Braised Pork Shoulder
Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
Sabrinatini
Epic Sunset
Hot Crush
Pina Colada
"Cookies And Cream"
Coconut Granola, Banana, Ice-Cream
Caesar Salad With Shrimp
Wild Salmon And Cream Cheese Bagel
Mahi Mahi sandwich
Carrots
Spicy Pickle
Skatewing
Heirloom Carrot Entree
Grilled Octopus With Citrus Mousse
Tuna Tartare
crab cake
Corn Chowder
Gazpacho

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 7:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Private Dining

Considered to be the 'best view' for dining in downtown Miami, Area 31's large private dining room allows for an ambiance that remains unparalleled. Perfect for intimate gatherings of friends, social functions, or private, business meetings, this space allows for nothing more to be desired.

Area 31 - Epic Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (50)
Special Occasion (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
See All
Romantic (36)
Hot Spot (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Good for Groups (18)
Late-night Find (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1219 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious - everything was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was delicious - everything was very fresh and the service was perfect - we will definitely be going again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Return trip was very good. Desserts have ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Return trip was very good. Desserts have improved since my last trip. Best view in Miami. We

will return.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for our anniversary and had a gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We went for our anniversary and had a great time. I had booked in advance and we waited about 10 min to get seated, for which they apologized, although not really a problem. We sat outside and enjoyed the fantastic view of Miami. We had the Miami Spice menu with scallops as starters, Swordfish as main dish and cheese cake as dessert, and on our waiters advice, we also took two extra starters (octopus and crab cake) as the plates are relatively small. The food was fantastic and so was our waiter, Cintia from Colombia. At some point, my wife ordered a drink but did not get it until we asked for it again 5-10 min later, so they apologized and said it was on the house. All in all, we highly recommend this place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without doubt Area 31 is one of the most ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Without doubt Area 31 is one of the most beautiful and unbelievable place that I visited in my life. The most great thing was the view, a mix between the city and the shore and the sea. I went with my family because was my wife's birthday and all ours minds was floating. Area 31 is a wonderful place for many things but principally for relax and for the specials occasion. Believe me Area 31 is a place where all persons that living in Miami or are visitors, must to visit Area 31 Restaurant in Epic Hotel, do not miss it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful view, delicious food, and best ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful view, delicious food, and best service ever (ERIKA)

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was really good!!!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food and service was really good!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great night at Area31!!! The food is ref ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great night at Area31!!! The food is refreshing and worth trying out. The view is also amazing and the service is excellent and we will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service during a VERY slow lunch hou ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service during a VERY slow lunch hour was terrible. There was barely anyone in the restaurant and yet we waited 40 minutes for our appetizers and then another 25 minutes for our entrees. The manager came over, after we asked for him, to say there was a mistake with our order but he barely offered an apology and then said "let me get you some water....to keep you hydrated." Really? Thanks! They managed to feed a table of 8 all of their food before our table of 4 got our entrees. We will not be going back to dine there again. TERRIBLE experience and although our waitress was sweet, she and the manager should have done more to accommodate our inconvenience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and service! Our server, Gus ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food and service! Our server, Gus was very attentive and helped me surprise my boyfriend on his birthday! Definitely try the octopus appetizer and ribeye for entree- you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great place Outstanding servic ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

This is a great place

Outstanding service

Excellent food and ,,,, free valet for lunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there with our friends for our a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were there with our friends for our anniversary great place to be and hangout enjoy great food and great atmosphere

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting was nice at night to see the ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The setting was nice at night to see the lights over Brickle Key and the Miami River. The waiter was well spoken.

The menu was not descriptive enough about the manner of preparation and the chef was not accommodating. Some of the food was inedible.

The edible portions were average to subpar.

The valet to get to the restaurant was a nightmare. And leaving was just as disorganized. And $22 for two hours was excessive. There were no other on site parking options.

There is a zero chance of me returning.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

What a great night! Sat outside great fo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

What a great night! Sat outside great food as always, Kim was exceptional as well as the rest of the staff. The food and view are amazing. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there for dinner to celebrate my b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was there for dinner to celebrate my birthday. We stayed at Epic Hotel. The food is honestly not great by any means. Its over priced and they only have like 5 entrees to chose from. We had reservations at 9 pm but were not sat until a little after 10. We were hanging out by lounge area having drinksdrinks, otherwise I would've left. The waiter forgot to put the candle on my dessert even though we had told them during the reservation. The view is nice but not what I thought it was from looking at the pics online. The lounge area has better views. Wouldn't go back there. Specially is its a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

The view is amazing . Food was fairly pr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The view is amazing . Food was fairly priced . Would recommend for any type of occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was horrible. We came in for res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was horrible. We came in for reservations at 12 we didn't get our order until 1:30, while people who came in after us received their order promptly and before us. The waitress was fairly new and was very snippy at the mouth. We asked for wi-fi passwords and was told "it doesn't reach outside on the deck" but someone who sat one table next to us requested it and of course got the password. If you are African American DO NOT I repeat DO NOT go here they were very discrimitive against us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great. I loved the cold poa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was great. I loved the cold poached lobster. It's a better experience at night. The lamb was exquisite and so flavorful. The kale Cesar salad war great. And it's great for birthday reservations. The virgin drinks are great as well. You can't go wrong with any of the desserts, and if you didn't already notice I'm am totally content with with the service as well as the food. This is totally a great spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the cusine is not at par ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The quality of the cusine is not at par with the prices.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Great view, be sure to wait for an outsi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great view, be sure to wait for an outside table, inside is just average.

Great ambiance so the scene is set. Given that it is expensive, the portions were small and you definitely needed desert. The descriptions on the menu are somewhat misleading .

Not sure if we would go back there again, but we were staying in the hotel so that was the main reason to eat there.

There are lots of restaurants in the area, so next time we might give them a try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

This place was great! I surprised my wif ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place was great! I surprised my wife with a dinner here. The view was awesome! The staff was very friendly and attentive. I would recommend this place for a special occasion, or a great night out with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fresh and cooked perfectly.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was fresh and cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a weekend in Miami and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I had a weekend in Miami and was recommended to us for dinner. Food was great, rooftop ambiance was perfect! Service was great. Parts could be loud but you can find quiet spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great view, excellent service. Food goo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great view, excellent service. Food good, but a bit salty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and customer care. Goo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent service and customer care. Good food, spectacular view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, not the best you will ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good, not the best you will ever have. The portions were tiny and it was VERY expensive. I don't mind spending the money if there is value. One of the dishes was so minuscule that my guest sent it back. It was an appetizer for $ 21. Really embarrassing.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Would recommend this restaurant to anyon ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Everything was WONDERFUL. The service was EXCELLENT. So glad I took my friends advice about this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok -- disappointing atmosphere- expectin ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Ok -- disappointing atmosphere- expecting a more sophisticated ambiance and crowd- the crowd - tourists in shorts - phooey! But my lamb shank was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Amazing service, perfect view of the cit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing service, perfect view of the city, and great food for a reasonable price! Loved the place and I plan on coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awsom time there.....didn't kn ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an awsom time there.....didn't know how beautiful the view would be...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice place, the view is amazing t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A very nice place, the view is amazing the food is tasty, not really expensive.

It will be on my favorite places list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been to area 31 a couple more tim ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to area 31 a couple more times and my experience has always be good but I can't say the same of this past Saturday. The food was awful and the waitress was rude. I am sorry because was one of my favorite place I have been too so far since I moved here but I won't come back so soon after my bad experience. Please change the chef. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Great place for a special occasion

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was outstanding. Could not have picked a better place to celebrate my anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great hotel will definitely come back gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great hotel will definitely come back great view good vibe great music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Miami Business dinner

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excelent servce and well balanced menu, They keep our table in spite two ours delay due to traffic jump.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view. Great location. Small portio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great view. Great location. Small portions to eat! Small menu card! I booked a table for my wedding anniversary and asked for a small decoration on my table - did not get anything when we came there, just a short "happy anniversary" at the entrance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Good to experience

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We were visiting Miami and were looking for interesting place to celebrate my spouse's birthday. It is above average price restaurant, but food and service were great. People are pleasant and let us enjoy a warm swimming pool after we had lunch.

Something to be aware of: Parking is $17 with the restaurant validation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Entire experience. Definitely c ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love the Entire experience. Definitely coming Back. Love from Puerto Rico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome views of the city, great ambianc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome views of the city, great ambiance, the service was also good.

However, menu somewhat limited. I would still recommend due to wonderful

views and great place to go for drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

While on vacation in Miami visited for d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

While on vacation in Miami visited for dinner for friend's birthday......lamb & crab cake was delicious, but steak ordered medium-well(no pink) was not properly cooked & was sent back & new piece came out undercooked as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.