About Area 31 - Epic Hotel

270 Biscayne Blvd Way
Miami, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Chef Wolfgang Birk at Area 31 delivers a menu of fresh, local seafood prepared with Global Influences for Atlantic Coastal Cuisine. The name comes from the United Nations 'Fishing Area 31,' which encompasses the nearby waters surrounding Miami and the Florida coast, and is dedicated to supporting sustainable development. The menu combined with the chic ambiance welcomes locals and visitors to its stunning 16th floor location for business or pleasure. Guests may dine indoors or on the expansive outdoor terrace overlooking the Miami skyline. The restaurant features an extensive list of high-end and unique wines, as well as an an innovative cocktail list from Head Bartender Dean Feddaoui.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday to Friday 11:30am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday 6:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brickell Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 424-5234

Website:
http://www.area31restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our terrace during our Thursday & Friday night happy hours from 6pm-10pm.

Catering:
You may reserve the following spaces for your event or meeting : Our ballroom provides 4,200 square feet, divisible by half, with stunning views through floor-to-ceiling windows and softly illuminated glass spheres that give the sense of shimmering movement One 625-square-foot meeting room with outside terrace Two large meetings rooms that can each be divided in half to accommodate groups of varied sizes: one room is 1,600 square feet and the other is 1,900 square feet

Parking Details:
For a limited time, Area 31 will be offering complimentary valet for all lunch diners! Valid between 11:30am and 3pm only.

Valet Parking will be discounted after restaurant validation for Dinner and lounge guests.

Public Transit:
Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Wolfgang Birk

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Don't forget to visit us for our Extended Happy Hour with $6 premium well drinks, while DJ Kristian Caro spins the best beats. Event takes place every Thursday and Friday in our outdoor lounge.

With two private dining rooms overlooking Brickell Avenue and the Miami River, your needs are sure to be met whether hosting a small business dinner, birthday celebration, or an intimate engagement dinner. The larger of our private dining rooms can accomodate up to 16 guests and features floor to ceiling windows showcasing panoramic views of the Miami skyline. The small private dining room seats up to 6 guests and has it's own private balcony in the case that you so wish to enjoy the fresh air in addition to the spectacular views.

Restaurant Photos

Octopus Crudo
Snapper
Cocktail
Foie Gras
Arancini
Pork
Avocado And Feta Salad
Fisherman's Stew
Eggs Benedict
Waffle and Jerk C
Root Vegetable Salad
Mahi Club
Hand Wrapped Mahi
risotto Al Frutti Di Mare
Passionada
Tuna
Entree
Blood Orange and Yellow Fin Tuna Ceviche
Scallop
Fish Taco
dessert buffet
Epic Sunset:  Belvedere Orange, Grand Marnier, Campari and Passion Fruit
English Rose
Barbabietole Roasted Beet Salad
Tuna Tartar
Shrimp Ceviche
Crispy Potato Chorizo Croquettes
Cheese And Champagne
Scallops
Grilled Mahi
Veuve Clicquot Champagne
Lobster Ravioli
Chilled Melon And Cucumber Soup
Key Lime Tart
Beef Carpaccio
Cocoa crusted Pork Belly
Tomato Soup
Wahoo Crudo
Flapjacks And Eggs
Cheese Plate
Amazonian Paiche With Faro Watermelon And  Avocado
Roasted Chicken Salad, Grilled Stonefruits And Bleu Cheese
Braised Pork Shoulder
Grilled Hanger Steak
Jumbo Lump Crab Salad
Sabrinatini
Pina Colada
Hot Crush
Epic Sunset
"Cookies And Cream"
Coconut Granola, Banana, Ice-Cream
Caesar Salad With Shrimp
Wild Salmon And Cream Cheese Bagel
Mahi Mahi sandwich
Spicy Pickle
Carrots
Gazpacho
Corn Chowder
Skatewing
Grilled Octopus With Citrus Mousse
Tuna Tartare
crab cake
Heirloom Carrot Entree

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 7:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Private Dining

Considered to be the 'best view' for dining in downtown Miami, Area 31's large private dining room allows for an ambiance that remains unparalleled. Perfect for intimate gatherings of friends, social functions, or private, business meetings, this space allows for nothing more to be desired.

Area 31 - Epic Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

scenic view (47)
great for outdoor dining (43)
special occasion (43)
See All
romantic (34)
hot spot (28)
vibrant bar scene (21)
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (17)
late-night find (13)
notable wine list (9)
great for brunch (9)
great for lunch (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What a great night! Sat outside great fo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a great night! Sat outside great food as always, Kim was exceptional as well as the rest of the staff. The food and view are amazing. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there for dinner to celebrate my b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was there for dinner to celebrate my birthday. We stayed at Epic Hotel. The food is honestly not great by any means. Its over priced and they only have like 5 entrees to chose from. We had reservations at 9 pm but were not sat until a little after 10. We were hanging out by lounge area having drinksdrinks, otherwise I would've left. The waiter forgot to put the candle on my dessert even though we had told them during the reservation. The view is nice but not what I thought it was from looking at the pics online. The lounge area has better views. Wouldn't go back there. Specially is its a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

The view is amazing . Food was fairly pr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The view is amazing . Food was fairly priced . Would recommend for any type of occasion.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

It was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was horrible. We came in for res ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Service was horrible. We came in for reservations at 12 we didn't get our order until 1:30, while people who came in after us received their order promptly and before us. The waitress was fairly new and was very snippy at the mouth. We asked for wi-fi passwords and was told "it doesn't reach outside on the deck" but someone who sat one table next to us requested it and of course got the password. If you are African American DO NOT I repeat DO NOT go here they were very discrimitive against us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great. I loved the cold poa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was great. I loved the cold poached lobster. It's a better experience at night. The lamb was exquisite and so flavorful. The kale Cesar salad war great. And it's great for birthday reservations. The virgin drinks are great as well. You can't go wrong with any of the desserts, and if you didn't already notice I'm am totally content with with the service as well as the food. This is totally a great spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the cusine is not at par ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The quality of the cusine is not at par with the prices.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Great view, be sure to wait for an outsi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great view, be sure to wait for an outside table, inside is just average.

Great ambiance so the scene is set. Given that it is expensive, the portions were small and you definitely needed desert. The descriptions on the menu are somewhat misleading .

Not sure if we would go back there again, but we were staying in the hotel so that was the main reason to eat there.

There are lots of restaurants in the area, so next time we might give them a try.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

This place was great! I surprised my wif ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This place was great! I surprised my wife with a dinner here. The view was awesome! The staff was very friendly and attentive. I would recommend this place for a special occasion, or a great night out with friends.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fresh and cooked perfectly.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was fresh and cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a weekend in Miami and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My wife and I had a weekend in Miami and was recommended to us for dinner. Food was great, rooftop ambiance was perfect! Service was great. Parts could be loud but you can find quiet spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great view, excellent service. Food goo ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great view, excellent service. Food good, but a bit salty.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and customer care. Goo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent service and customer care. Good food, spectacular view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good, not the best you will ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good, not the best you will ever have. The portions were tiny and it was VERY expensive. I don't mind spending the money if there is value. One of the dishes was so minuscule that my guest sent it back. It was an appetizer for $ 21. Really embarrassing.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Would recommend this restaurant to anyon ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Everything was WONDERFUL. The service was EXCELLENT. So glad I took my friends advice about this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok -- disappointing atmosphere- expectin ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Ok -- disappointing atmosphere- expecting a more sophisticated ambiance and crowd- the crowd - tourists in shorts - phooey! But my lamb shank was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Amazing service, perfect view of the cit ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing service, perfect view of the city, and great food for a reasonable price! Loved the place and I plan on coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an awsom time there.....didn't kn ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had an awsom time there.....didn't know how beautiful the view would be...

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice place, the view is amazing t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

A very nice place, the view is amazing the food is tasty, not really expensive.

It will be on my favorite places list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I have been to area 31 a couple more tim ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to area 31 a couple more times and my experience has always be good but I can't say the same of this past Saturday. The food was awful and the waitress was rude. I am sorry because was one of my favorite place I have been too so far since I moved here but I won't come back so soon after my bad experience. Please change the chef. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Great place for a special occasion

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was outstanding. Could not have picked a better place to celebrate my anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great hotel will definitely come back gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great hotel will definitely come back great view good vibe great music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Miami Business dinner

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Excelent servce and well balanced menu, They keep our table in spite two ours delay due to traffic jump.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view. Great location. Small portio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great view. Great location. Small portions to eat! Small menu card! I booked a table for my wedding anniversary and asked for a small decoration on my table - did not get anything when we came there, just a short "happy anniversary" at the entrance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Good to experience

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We were visiting Miami and were looking for interesting place to celebrate my spouse's birthday. It is above average price restaurant, but food and service were great. People are pleasant and let us enjoy a warm swimming pool after we had lunch.

Something to be aware of: Parking is $17 with the restaurant validation.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the Entire experience. Definitely c ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Love the Entire experience. Definitely coming Back. Love from Puerto Rico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome views of the city, great ambianc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Awesome views of the city, great ambiance, the service was also good.

However, menu somewhat limited. I would still recommend due to wonderful

views and great place to go for drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

While on vacation in Miami visited for d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

While on vacation in Miami visited for dinner for friend's birthday......lamb & crab cake was delicious, but steak ordered medium-well(no pink) was not properly cooked & was sent back & new piece came out undercooked as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice bar and very nice Caipirinha....

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Bar terrace and Caipirinha excellent!! but, restaurant expansive and if the food was good, the quantity in the plate was limited!

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

All around excellence. The ambience and ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

All around excellence. The ambience and view were stunning. Service top notch and food delicious. I would more than happily return

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations for a party of 4 at 9p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Made reservations for a party of 4 at 9pm,

Entire party arrived on or before 8:50pm

Seated at 10:14pm

Waited 29 mins for server to place order

Waited 16 mins for appetizers to arrive

Waited 39 mins for dinner to arrive (after Appetizers)

Food was much more desirable then the wait.

Then again we could have been so hungry anything would have been good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Awesome views!!! Great waiter!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome views!!! Great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mediocre.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was slow. Went with a group of 5. Not one though the food was good. Not impressed drinks either.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was good

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Nice place but noisy

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Nice place but noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Juan our waiter was great!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Juan our waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for special occasions

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I had a chance to go out on a date with my wife, incredible experience. Highly recommendable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but could be great

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Go for the view. The food was great.. We requested to have two entrees split on to two plates. NO. This is a trend around Miami. This and the elitist attitude will eventually slow tourism and spending in this overpriced town. As for Area 31 They did fine. I understand not splitting a single dinner for two I guess. We ordered two entrees and wanted them split . They were busy but not that busy. Skip dessert they are sold as "petite" not very good. Our server was attentive and the prices were 20 percent less then South Beach. Food quality other than dessert was a 10. We will be back because it is without a doubt the best view and most romantic place in Miami..

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything was tasty and fresh. Nice coc ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything was tasty and fresh. Nice cocktail menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was perfect! Amazing food and ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was perfect! Amazing food and views of Miami!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.