About Area 31 - Epic Hotel

Chef Wolfgang Birk at Area 31 delivers a menu of fresh, local seafood prepared with Global Influences for Atlantic Coastal Cuisine. The name comes from the United Nations 'Fishing Area 31,' which encompasses the nearby waters surrounding Miami and the Florida coast, and is dedicated to supporting sustainable development. The menu combined with the chic ambiance welcomes locals and visitors to its stunning 16th floor location for business or pleasure. Guests may dine indoors or on the expansive outdoor terrace overlooking the Miami skyline. The restaurant features an extensive list of high-end and unique wines, as well as an an innovative cocktail list from Head Bartender Dean Feddaoui.

270 Biscayne Blvd Way
Miami, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday to Friday 11:30am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday 6:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brickell Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 424-5234

Website:
http://www.area31restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our terrace during our Thursday & Friday night happy hours from 6pm-10pm.

Catering:
You may reserve the following spaces for your event or meeting : Our ballroom provides 4,200 square feet, divisible by half, with stunning views through floor-to-ceiling windows and softly illuminated glass spheres that give the sense of shimmering movement One 625-square-foot meeting room with outside terrace Two large meetings rooms that can each be divided in half to accommodate groups of varied sizes: one room is 1,600 square feet and the other is 1,900 square feet

Parking Details:
For a limited time, Area 31 will be offering complimentary valet for all lunch diners! Valid between 11:30am and 3pm only.

Valet Parking will be discounted after restaurant validation for Dinner and lounge guests.

Public Transit:
Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Wolfgang Birk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Don't forget to visit us for our Happy Hour while DJ Kristian Caro spins the best beats. Event takes place every Thursday and Friday in our outdoor lounge.

With two private dining rooms overlooking Brickell Avenue and the Miami River, your needs are sure to be met whether hosting a small business dinner, birthday celebration, or an intimate engagement dinner. The larger of our private dining rooms can accomodate up to 16 guests and features floor to ceiling windows showcasing panoramic views of the Miami skyline. The small private dining room seats up to 6 guests and has it's own private balcony in the case that you so wish to enjoy the fresh air in addition to the spectacular views.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 7:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Private Dining

Considered to be the 'best view' for dining in downtown Miami, Area 31's large private dining room allows for an ambiance that remains unparalleled. Perfect for intimate gatherings of friends, social functions, or private, business meetings, this space allows for nothing more to be desired.

Area 31 - Epic Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (33)
Special Occasion (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Romantic (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Waterfront (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Casual (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Tapas (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Live Music (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Dancing (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Family Style (4)
Private Room (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Great spot for lunch. Work in the area and visit as much as I can. The service, food and the view are great for a casual or business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrible wait of over 25 minutes for a reservation. Food was games for lamb, and drinks were very watered down with little to order. Felt like a cruise but was charged like a spy h beach club. Very poor experience, and no effort on the part of the staff to make us feel like we weren't ordering from a cabana lunch. Not recommended, versus all suggestions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Watered down drink at the bar while waiting for my reservation to be fulfilled. 30 minute wait passed the reservation time. The server couldn't care less. He said all of 10 words. Pork belly was good but it's hard to mess that up. Swordfish tasted like canned tuna. One of the worst Miami restaurant experiences. Don't waste your time or money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience all around. From the valet to the last bite it was terrific!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday during our trip to Miami. Our waitress was nice enough but it took almost an hour for us to get our appetizer and even longer to get our entree. The manager did come over to apologize for the wait and offer us 2 free drinks but by the time he did that, we were over it. The drinks were okay, the food was good but the wait really did ruin the whole experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great out Doors. Amazing situation. The food was delicious .

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing time great service. Loved the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is my first bad review

We sat at the table for 20 minutes before we asked the manager for a waitress

My husband told the waitress he is a recovering alcoholic then she served him a drink from the bar with alcohol, we asked her to send us the manager - The manager did not come to our table ( we knew who he was because he brought champagne and a Business card to apologize for making us wait so long to be greeted at her table )

They did take off 25% And apologize

Then we waited 30 minutes for our car at the valet before we were told a resident parked in front of us and they couldn't get her car

I have been trying for a couple days to get a hold of upper management I thought it might help more people than a poor review; there is no one available

The waitress was friendly but very Inexperienced, she kept making excuses and then telling us she had forgotten stuff Honestly it was painful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The appetizers were amazing. But was very disappointed with the entrée. Which is kind of sad as I was looking forward to be wow by exciting taste and flavor.

Tags: Tapas, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went there for our Valentine's Day dinner (even though we had to do it the day before) and had a great experience! Great food and service, incredible views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 13, 2017

AMAZING! Hands down the best restaurant we've been to in Miami. The food was great, but the view was everything.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our waiter was super kind and made sure we had everything we needed. My boyfriend and I went on a date and both had the swordfish. I highly recommend it. It was amazing and the view, don't get me started on how breathtaking it was! Definitely recommend

Tags: Romantic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was great. The night view is spectacular. Overall, a very awesome experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

So amazing , best view in south Florida . It was unreal. 4diamond . Simply worth every penny. Friday nights happy hour and live dj w a real violist and a trumpet player . You have the run of the pool area for some alone time/ over look . Can't beat the feeling . Full of the most beautiful people in south Florida . U haven't lived until you come here . Area 31 amazing !!

Tags: Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Live Music, Historic, Fireplace, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good, service was slow. Everything changed since the last time we've been there and not so sure that's a good thing. Desserts are limited, portions smaller, and waited an hour for food after waiting 20 mins to be seated despite reservation. Probably won't be at the top of the list of places to go anymore. We've been coming here for years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was an awesome experience for our anniversary!!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Another great meal at Area 31! Great hospitality food and what a view. The whole team goes out of the way to make you feel cared for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 23, 2017

I really enjoyed my overall experience, looking forward to going back soon again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Terrible is the only word I can use to describe this restaurant. My wife I came here for my birthday as this was the location of our first ever date. She ordered chicken and when received it looked like rubber and she declined it and decided by looking at mine that she didn't want anything. The server said he would send over the manager but never did. I order the chicken and waffle and they chicken was dry and not very good.

This is the last time we will ever come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was pretty good, the service was pretty good, but the atmosphere was fair; the lighting, table setting, etc just average; The night we went the place was very low energy. But the food and service met expectations and was worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazing! I had the swordfish and I left nothing on the plate! The S more dessert was soooo yummy!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Low quality products, terribly cooked, slowly served by an indifferent and tired staff, at absurdly high prices in a tacky atmosphere. Avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My wife and I went for a quick dinner are a show at Adrienne Arsht center. The room was full of a bar scene type crowd. It was loud but we expected that. Food was very good. Pleasantly surprising.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great appetizers and ceviche. Great view and ambiance.

Entrees were not as good as appetizers, but still good.

Good service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We booked a reservation hoping for a table with a view of the Brickell skyline. Instead, we were seated inside where there is no view. Service and dinner was great albeit a limited wine list. Prices were high and we would have gladly accepted the elevated cost for dinner with a view. It's a crap shoot with seating.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I will let them know in advance about a celebration

They do something special for the neighbors table that were in the same case and just nothing in ours

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 3, 2017

WHAT A GREAT TIME WE HAS THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR MAKING OUR FIRST TRIP SO SPECIAL

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Dancing, Authentic, Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Mi experiencia fue súper buena ! Se los recomiendo a todos mis amigos

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Perfect food and amazing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated New Year's Eve at Epic Area 31. The 5 course meal was made to perfection. The music was just right for the occasion. The service was wonderful, especially their flexibility to accommodate two (2) additional people in my party last minute. I would do it again, nice job Team Area 31 :-)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I can say: this restaurant is really wonderful, the food was delicious and the view is amazing. You need to go to area 31

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Dancing, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It took almost an hour between the starter and the entrees. Fish was overcooked the first time, and undercooked (cold) the second time around. Sides were uninspiring. Food you would eat in business class on a long haul trip. Sauce for the shrimp cocktail was just wrong (egg yolk with lemon) - too sweet, heavy, and should have been a warning. Waitress did her very best job to make the experience a positive one. View from the terrasse was great - go there for a cocktail, but not for dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Love the view and the drinks are very good. Food is also very tasty. All in all pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our food was just average in taste, but was plated very well and looked great. Nicely decorated and great outdoor seating area. Our food was not worth the price, imo.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Everything was fantastic! Other than valet... There was unnecessary wait, the workers were on their personal phone rather taking care of the unnecessary traffic flow coming in and out.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fun, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were expecting a exceptional Christmas Dinner. The food was very mediocre. My pork was cold, the pallea tasted like it was burned, the ravioli was salty. The only thing that was good was the shrimp, and prime beef. Every thing else was not edible at all. Not a lot of option for children. I paid 35.00 for my 9 year old to only eat bread and two pieces of prime beef. Dessert table was almost empty. The worse 400.00 dinner we spent. I was not pleased at all. Very disappointed. I would not recommend this restaurant on a holiday dinner. I could've had a better meal for 75.00 a person !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Hertfordshire)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went to Area31 because of the great reviews but the Christmas buffet was incredibly overpriced for what it was. The food was bland and none of it seemed to go together - suckling pig and paella? The paella incidentally appeared burnt

The staff were great but there is only so much they can do and at $75 per head we were incredibly disappointed with such a poor meal and it is doubtful we would ever eat or be an advocate of the restaurant in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went to Area 31 for Christmas dinner, the food was amazing and we all loved the buffet. We left stuffed, buzzed, and happy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great spot, great service, great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was beautiful, the staff was very attentive and the food was excellent, for the Christmas Day Buffet.

We will most likely return next year if they have it again.

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Menu is not extensive at all. Food is not well seasoned. Food was bland and horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We've enjoyed celebrating our birthdays on the terrace with this unique view and ambiance! Would definitely recommend it especially for those travelers who are the first time in Miami! Great contrast to Miami South Beach!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Overall, everything was great from the check in to the waiter who provided the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This place has no personality, their employees lack customer service skills. This was our first and last time. Over-priced, food was not cooked properly, and in general it was an awful option for a Saturday night diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I were disappointed with the location - massive happy hour event had to be relocated inside due to rain. Wanted to celebrate my birthday in a nice romantic atmosphere, instead ended up in the middle of a binch drinking event, surrounded by drunk people.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Awesome place, it become one my favorite spots in Miami!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Spectacular view, excellent service and delicious food, perfect for a special occasion like date or anniversary

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Took my girlfriend there for her birthday, we were visiting Miami / south beach area.

The food: 5 stars

Everything we ordered was incrediablly tasty. The cold seafood platter was 5/5. Chef definitely knows how to treat the delicate ingredient. Sordfish and seabase dinners were very good. And of course the melting lava cake was the icing on the cake ;)

The service: 4 stars

The hostess were friendly, we didn't wait too long for a table, sitting at the bar for about 15 minutes (just in time for our 8:30 rsvp) the wait staff was professional, from all the servers offering to open the door for you and being helpful to the bar tenders working as a team. My only area for improvement, the food takes too long to come out we spent roughly 3 hours in total for a 3 meal course and bottle of wine.

The environment: 5 stars

Classy, clean, romantinc, professional on the inside and the patio has great views. The patio is really what made me drive to the place from south beach.

Overall: 5 stars

You will not be disappointed. $200 - $250 for a 3 course dinner with bottle of wine but well worth the money and drive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Only go to this restaurant if you are looking for a "vibrant" bar scene. The "music" (pounding disco-crap) was outrageously loud and there is no separation between the bar and dining area. Maybe if you are under 30 this would be a good place, but skip it if you want a relaxing, quiet, meal with really good food. Crab cake appetizer sure didn't look like the jumbo lump crab they show on the menu, and it was FRIED in some kind of oil that was used for other items. Yikes. Main fish entrée was pretty good, though tiny portions. Overall, the atmosphere killed the meal. My colleague's room was directly above the restaurant, and the pounding didn't stop until after 11pm.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great view!!! Waitress was very nice and accommodating. Food was good. I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.