Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Area 31 - Epic Hotel

Chef Wolfgang Birk at Area 31 delivers a menu of fresh, local seafood prepared with Global Influences for Atlantic Coastal Cuisine. The name comes from the United Nations 'Fishing Area 31,' which encompasses the nearby waters surrounding Miami and the Florida coast, and is dedicated to supporting sustainable development. The menu combined with the chic ambiance welcomes locals and visitors to its stunning 16th floor location for business or pleasure. Guests may dine indoors or on the expansive outdoor terrace overlooking the Miami skyline. The restaurant features an extensive list of high-end and unique wines, as well as an an innovative cocktail list from Head Bartender Brian Reep.

270 Biscayne Blvd Way
Miami, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday to Friday 11:30am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday 6:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brickell Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 424-5234

Website:
http://www.area31restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live DJ on our terrace during our Thursday & Friday night happy hours from 6pm-10pm.

Catering:
You may reserve the following spaces for your event or meeting : Our ballroom provides 4,200 square feet, divisible by half, with stunning views through floor-to-ceiling windows and softly illuminated glass spheres that give the sense of shimmering movement One 625-square-foot meeting room with outside terrace Two large meetings rooms that can each be divided in half to accommodate groups of varied sizes: one room is 1,600 square feet and the other is 1,900 square feet

Parking Details:
Area 31 offers complimentary valet for all lunch diners! Valid between 11:30am and 3pm only. Valet Parking will be discounted after restaurant validation for Dinner and Lounge guests.

Public Transit:
Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Wolfgang Birk

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Don't forget to visit us for our Happy Hour while DJ Kristian Caro spins the best beats. Event takes place every Thursday and Friday in our outdoor lounge.

With two private dining rooms overlooking Brickell Avenue and the Miami River, your needs are sure to be met whether hosting a small business dinner, birthday celebration, or an intimate engagement dinner. The larger of our private dining rooms can accomodate up to 16 guests and features floor to ceiling windows showcasing panoramic views of the Miami skyline. The small private dining room seats up to 6 guests and has it's own private balcony in the case that you so wish to enjoy the fresh air in addition to the spectacular views.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 7:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Area 31 - Epic Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (29)
Romantic (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
See All
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Waterfront (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Business Meals (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (3)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 15 hours ago

Avocado was old and hard, ceviche was salty. Steak meat was also old. Dessert was good.
Service and view was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Super Awesome! Expected less and got more! Thank you Miami Spice!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I went to Area31 for dinner on Saturday 9/2 and that experience
was a good one. I then came for brunch on 9/3 and it
was a bad experience. The waiter was pretentious and forgot who
is the customer and who is the worker. Then I ordered the Benedict. The
eggs should have been poached but they were hard boiled. The spinach should have been sautéed in butter, it was sautéed in some foul tasting animal fat. Epic 31 will never have me as a customer again.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Too little food to be honest! Pricey but delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Had to wait a long time to get our check and to get our parking ticket validated. Besides that the waitress and waiters were attentive and very nice. Beware valet service takes a LONG time to return your car.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Everything under Area 31's control was amazing. Good food, great location great service.

The entire experience was very much impacted by having to wait 45 min for our car at the valet. That's long, especially after a 1h lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 19, 2017

The hotel and location is outstanding, though unfortunately the service was a little poor. It took way too long until we had our drinks after ordering and the food didn't have much taste. We had the whole fish special, and our choice of fish was the snapper. Literally had no other taste than fried fish. So a little disappointed about that. Though the view is absolutely spectacular and very gorgeous. We had dinner on a Friday during happy hour, and they separate the place from the diners to the drinkers, which was actually very nice. I do recommend experiencing it, as the hotel in itself is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Perfect dinner, wonderful meals, incredible view, too expensive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Amazing food, ambiance, view and service. Went there for Miami Spice and had a great experience . Definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Came to bring a friend from out of town. THe view of Brickell is very nice.
Food was good, no complaints but nothing outrageous. Service was very good.
Little pricey

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Not happy with the food and how expensive it was . Our waiter was very nice but our appetizers came out before our drinks . I had a dark roasted chicken that cost $38.00 and it was nothing out of this world. We had to order sides because the portions are so small. The only nice thing about this place is the view . There is much better food and price out there to enjoy than just a view.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Amazing miami experience and I would absolutely continue to visit

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Vegan, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Server was a delight. We celebrated our anniversary and they made it wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Area 31 , well its a good restaurant for that speciall occassion with your love one , but be mindfull of the following things like , you have to bring a fat wallet , food its great except the fact that the appetizers are well more like mini appettizers but great taste with exceptional presentation , entrees are very good in portion and ofcourse the taste i very recommend the Sword fish and the salmon
. As far as the ambient , well if you are lucky enought to get seating outside then you will have an amazing dinner looking at the miami river and the big tall buildings of brickell , overall its a nice restaurant . But dobt forget to bring along
Mr Franklin.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Greeting a family member

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Had a great experience being seated outside in the balcony area for the date. The server was extremely helpful in helping with the menu and even offered to take a picture for us.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Everything was perfect, but there're a little bit noisy and we couldnt hear the waiter.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

your menu needs better vegetarian and vegan options and more salads

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Had enjoyed dinner there a couple of times before but didn't remember the dance beat music being at a volume that was competing with our conversation. It also made the fast talking waitress, who was otherwise very good, harder to understand. The exposed kitchen was a little noisier at times than it needed to be.

That being said the food preparation was both creative and excellently prepared with regards to taste and visual presentation. All portion of appetizers and entrees were large. The ceviche mixto could have been a meal in itself. For a dinner at this higher price level we just prefer a quieter ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Only negative: very small entree portion.
Ordering appetizer or side(s), a must, contributing much to a high bill

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I had a good time at the restaurant, but didnt lasted . When we picked up the car from the valet parking we had been robbed. They stole all the gifts from the birthday we were celebrating. Really sad that such an expensive place provides such an indecent service. We could not retrieve the gifts, and have not received an answer for the claim that was made. 😡😡

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The place was great overall. Excellent service. However the drinks are very pricey for what I got.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Went there for happy hour. The happy hour specials are good. The venue is great , and the food and service are great. It's a fun place to unwind after work, with nice views from the balcony.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was our first time in Miami. We were looking a restaurant with nice view to watch sunset and city, so we chose this one. We were so happy with view also food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was a nice atmosphere. The service was great. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Even with reservation took 20 min to seat. The service is really poor...the food is good .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Views were amazing so was the food and cocktails. Highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was great, nice view but a bit noisy due to all the people in the bar which was close to the dining area. Service was bad, the server looked bored out of his mind and was arrogant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

When we first visited this restaurant several years ago, it was a wonderful experience. This most recent, not so. Mind you, it was a Friday night relatively early and the place was filled with happy hour revelers (not well dressed which was sad to see), but the dinning area was slow as was the service which made little sense. Food was "eh" and for the price it should be "wow." Given that this is not a easy place to get to, not to mention the cost of parking at the hotel, it needs to have a draw. Views are impressive, but that's where impressive stops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious food, beautiful view, wonderful service! Our table had a light dusting of cigarette ashes on it because of the fact that the restaurant is located underneath hotel balconies. But the staff was wonderful and took care of the dust for us. Still highly recommend this place!!

Tags: Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very nice environment. The view is beautiful and the food was great. The servers were very nice. The only thing was that i reserved a table for outside but when we got there it was full. We were fine with it because we thought we would get moved after a spot opens up but when people started leaving they ended up moving other people that had gotten there after us and they never asked if we wanted to move to the outside. Just felt like they should have the tables reserved when asked to be seated in certain places when the customer reserves and also confirms the reservation that same day. But other than that everything was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Don't even bother

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was good... but not $100 a meal good (without alcohol). Tried the mushrooms and the pork belly. Both tasty. The roasted chicken was on point, but I've had better at less expensive restaurants in larger cities. The view makes this place. The service was okay, but super slow. The biggest complaint came from some drunk woman a few tables over consistently making a scene by cursing, shouting, etc and nothing seemed be done about it from management.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

I'm a United States Marine and I Chose Area 31 as the spot to surprise my girlfriend that I've been with for 5 years now with a nice date and a proposal! I only come back to Miami about twice a year so I had to make sure I picked the perfect spot to propose. The roasted chicken is amazing! Our waitress Ericka did an amazing job with the service, although there was a pretty big party inside she had to attend, she did a great job checking up on us meanwhile our food arrived. She constantly made sure our drinks were filled and everything went smoothly. She kept a very happy vibe throughout the night which is always a big thing for me. After dessert I asked her to take us a couple pictures with the nice Brickell scenery in the background and then I popped the question to my fiancé if she would marry me!(She said yes) I want to thank Ericka for doing such a great job attending us, I couldn't ask for this night to go any more perfect than it could've and thanks to Ericka it did. Thank you Area 31 for one of the happiest nights of my life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Sadly disappointed. The service was poor, the foot was below average and it had all of the ambiance of an employee cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

They brought out more food than I ordered and end up getting charged for it,, server had a hard time listening I guess , beautiful view tho,, but pricey

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Location was easy to get to. Ambiance was pleasant. On a cooler night the outdoor dining would be fantastic but since it was humid and hot we stayed indoors. Try the pork belly. It's fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 19, 2017

View, food, wine and service were lovely! It was the kickoff dinner to a fabulous vacation.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Amazing food, good atmosphere, good views of Miami, would definitely return!!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.