About Area 31 - Epic Hotel

270 Biscayne Blvd Way
Miami, FL 33131
View Larger Map

Chef Wolfgang Birk at Area 31 delivers a menu of fresh, local seafood prepared with Global Influences for Atlantic Coastal Cuisine. The name comes from the United Nations 'Fishing Area 31,' which encompasses the nearby waters surrounding Miami and the Florida coast, and is dedicated to supporting sustainable development. The menu combined with the chic ambiance welcomes locals and visitors to its stunning 16th floor location for business or pleasure. Guests may dine indoors or on the expansive outdoor terrace overlooking the Miami skyline. The restaurant features an extensive list of high-end and unique wines, as well as an an innovative cocktail list from Head Bartender Dean Feddaoui.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00pm - 3:00pm
Lunch: Monday to Friday 11:30am - 3:00 pm
Dinner: Sunday to Thursday 6:00pm-10:00pm, Friday & Saturday 6:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Brickell Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 424-5234

Website:
http://www.area31restaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy live music on our terrace during our Thursday & Friday night happy hours from 6pm-10pm.

Catering:
You may reserve the following spaces for your event or meeting : Our ballroom provides 4,200 square feet, divisible by half, with stunning views through floor-to-ceiling windows and softly illuminated glass spheres that give the sense of shimmering movement One 625-square-foot meeting room with outside terrace Two large meetings rooms that can each be divided in half to accommodate groups of varied sizes: one room is 1,600 square feet and the other is 1,900 square feet

Parking Details:
For a limited time, Area 31 will be offering complimentary valet for all lunch diners! Valid between 11:30am and 3pm only.

Valet Parking will be discounted after restaurant validation for Dinner and lounge guests.

Public Transit:
Miami Metro Mover drop off two blocks from restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Wolfgang Birk

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Don't forget to visit us for our Extended Happy Hour with $6 premium well drinks, while DJ Kristian Caro spins the best beats. Event takes place every Thursday and Friday in our outdoor lounge.

With two private dining rooms overlooking Brickell Avenue and the Miami River, your needs are sure to be met whether hosting a small business dinner, birthday celebration, or an intimate engagement dinner. The larger of our private dining rooms can accomodate up to 16 guests and features floor to ceiling windows showcasing panoramic views of the Miami skyline. The small private dining room seats up to 6 guests and has it's own private balcony in the case that you so wish to enjoy the fresh air in addition to the spectacular views.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Join us with your Dads for a fantastic Brunch overlooking the Miami skyline. Celebrate the day with Chef Wolfgang's unique creations and freshest fare. Reserve soon.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 6:00PM - 7:15PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 6:00PM - 6:45PM

Private Dining

Considered to be the 'best view' for dining in downtown Miami, Area 31's large private dining room allows for an ambiance that remains unparalleled. Perfect for intimate gatherings of friends, social functions, or private, business meetings, this space allows for nothing more to be desired.

Area 31 - Epic Hotel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Miami - Dade County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Downtown Miami ›

scenic view (68)
great for outdoor dining (57)
special occasion (52)
See All
romantic (52)
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (26)
late-night find (23)
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (16)
great for brunch (14)
notable wine list (10)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for lunch (9)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1180 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome views of the city, great ambianc ...

Dined 4 days ago

Awesome views of the city, great ambiance, the service was also good. However, menu somewhat limited. I would still recommend due to wonderful views and great place to go for drinks.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

While on vacation in Miami visited for d ...

Dined 5 days ago

While on vacation in Miami visited for dinner for friend's birthday......lamb & crab cake was delicious, but steak ordered medium-well(no pink) was not properly cooked & was sent back & new piece came out undercooked as well.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice bar and very nice Caipirinha....

Dined on May 19, 2016

Bar terrace and Caipirinha excellent!! but, restaurant expansive and if the food was good, the quantity in the plate was limited!

Tags: scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

All around excellence. The ambience and ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

All around excellence. The ambience and view were stunning. Service top notch and food delicious. I would more than happily return

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service2

Made reservations for a party of 4 at 9p ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Made reservations for a party of 4 at 9pm, Entire party arrived on or before 8:50pm Seated at 10:14pm Waited 29 mins for server to place order Waited 16 mins for appetizers to arrive Waited 39 mins for dinner to arrive (after Appetizers) Food was much more desirable then the wait. Then again we could have been so hungry anything would have been good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome views!!! Great waiter!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Awesome views!!! Great waiter!

food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Mediocre.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was slow. Went with a group of 5. Not one though the food was good. Not impressed drinks either.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was good

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was good

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place but noisy

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Nice place but noisy

food5
ambience5
service5

Juan our waiter was great!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Juan our waiter was great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for special occasions

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had a chance to go out on a date with my wife, incredible experience. Highly recommendable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good but could be great

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Go for the view. The food was great.. We requested to have two entrees split on to two plates. NO. This is a trend around Miami. This and the elitist attitude will eventually slow tourism and spending in this overpriced town. As for Area 31 They did fine. I understand not splitting a single dinner for two I guess. We ordered two entrees and wanted them split . They were busy but not that busy. Skip dessert they are sold as "petite" not very good. Our server was attentive and the prices were 20 percent less then South Beach. Food quality other than dessert was a 10. We will be back because it is without a doubt the best view and most romantic place in Miami..

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was tasty and fresh. Nice coc ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything was tasty and fresh. Nice cocktail menu.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect! Amazing food and ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Everything was perfect! Amazing food and views of Miami!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it was awesome. the scene was to die for ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

it was awesome. the scene was to die for and the service was incredible

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

The restaurant was freezing. I do not li ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The restaurant was freezing. I do not like shivering through my dinner.

food5
ambience5
service2

Great food, service was not fair enough ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food, service was not fair enough since we got in, host was very rude as my wife's English is not ver good. I though service should be the first and they did not demonstrate it, I leave 2 star on service as the guy with the water and the waitress was pretty kind.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Amazing.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food, service, view, atmosphere, people, were all awesome. Really can't say anything bad about this place. Was expensive, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome

Dined on March 28, 2016

This i a place I would take anyone visiting Miami.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The seating outside on the 16th floor is ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The seating outside on the 16th floor is what really sells this place. We sat next to the glass railing overlooking Brickell and sipped mimosas for a few hours eating and people watching. Great place to bring a date, we did Easter brunch and I will certainly bring her back for dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice city views from the terrace. Excell ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Nice city views from the terrace. Excellent food and service.

food3
ambience4
service3

It was good the view was spectacular but ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

It was good the view was spectacular but the food is not much the big for but overall it was a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Worst service ever

Dined on March 10, 2016

The food was great but the waitress didn't make us feel wanted. She also made sarcastic comments when we asked a question about the menu. The food good but the service was terrible find it had to ever wanna come back.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful view

Dined on March 8, 2016

Beautiful view

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Great Bar ambiance and great view.

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food was great and the service too. The price is a bit steep but the location and the view are very special.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious. Get the steak wrap o ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Food was delicious. Get the steak wrap or Mahi tacos. Love the ambiance and the view outside of course. The hostess was very nice and accommodating. My one negative thing would be to stop giving us cold fries! Please just make a new batch. Thank you. Still 5 stars though.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A level above

Dined on March 1, 2016

The view was only the beginning. The food was excellently prepared and creatively presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Aniversary at area 31

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was different for us as we are not from the area. Wait for an outside table, views are fabulous. Very romantic and they knew it was our anniversary. Nice touch at the end with the desert and they even took a drink off. Drive a nice car, the valet is all exotic cars. There was a yacht at the marina, that was bigger 4-5 homes! I would recommend the experience, traffic, parking and the restaurant, you need reservations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4

Attentive staff. Lovely crowd. Lively vi ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Attentive staff. Lovely crowd. Lively view.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Star Service with Great Food and Energy!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We arrived early for our reservation and was greeted promptly even though they were happily busy! We were seated early by a friendly hostess and immediately introduced to our server Michael who was amazing! He was friendly and kind and perfect with his time, suggestions and guest attention! The restaurant was high energy but not stressful at all and the food from start to finish was presented tastefully and properly. Pricing was great for the quality and the atmosphere, even as busy as it was, contained no signs of stress by any of the staff or otherwise! The scenery was great and we are planning on another visit soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

The large seafood tower was good except ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

The large seafood tower was good except the whole lobster claws weren't precracked. This is too nice of a place to have to break apart the lobster. The presentation should have been more along the lines of a "lazy lobster". The risotto was overdone and more like a gummy paste and the creamy polenta was way over salted, partly because it was finished with an abundant amount of Parmesan Reggiano cheese. On the positive side brussel sprouts with pork belly we're delicious and the lamb was cooked perfectly at medium rare.

food5
ambience1
service5

Great food. Extremely noisy.

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food. Extremely noisy.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was a great experience. It was our an ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

It was a great experience. It was our anniversary. We had a 7:00 pm reservation. Upon arriving, there was a line for valet (only valet parking at the hotel) but they actually moved quickly. Valet cost about $22 but they validate parking which takes $5 off. The ambiance was nice. The building is right on a river with a couple of lounges on the ground floor. The one problem we had was there wasn't a sign pointing us in the direction of the restaurant. Front desk helped us. Upon entering Area 31, we were seated immediately once we verified our reservations. We had a choice to dine inside or outside, we decided on the outside. The view of the Miami river, downtown and Brickell was simply amazing from the 16th floor. We received complimentary champagne almost immediately after being seated to start our celebration. The food was great and the food portion was fair with great presentation. I had the swordfish and my wife had the salmon which were both delicious. The salmon was even prepared to her liking. Our waitress (Susann) brought out a surprise complimentary dessert for two with sparkling flares. Compliments to the chef, our server, and even the hostess. The whole staff was attentive. They even noticed the table to be wobbly and they came and propped something under it to stabilize it. The location is just beautiful. I would return. It's a place to hold a formal business dinner or even a small birthday celebration for mom.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on February 14, 2016

I would definitely go back. The food was great and the service was professional. The view was great also. Seating was fast. Overall awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect location... Main dish not so good!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We ordered the lobster, it was kind of a disappointment. The flavor was too strong, it had a lot of bacon and the combination was not that good. The cocktail selection, the appetizers and everything else was just perfect....

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Memorable service. Our waiter was attent ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Memorable service. Our waiter was attentive and intelligible, and accommodated to our party's needs.

food5
ambience5
service5

What an incredibly beautiful setting,, w ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

What an incredibly beautiful setting,, wonderful service and excellent meal.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent views of the city. Great food. ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Excellent views of the city. Great food. Prices were good. Great for couples. First dates. Trendy and very chic. Overall a great place to dine. Parking may be a bit of a hassle. $22 valet . No other options avail as you are in downtown. Overall good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Overpriced and average

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Food was average, service was average. Sat next to a window for the view and a large group came and sat outside in front of us. Very awkward to have people stare at you back. All the food and drinks are over priced. For these prices, it should be white glove service.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.