Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Mexique
1609 reviews
Mexican | West Town, Chicago
Reserve Now
Homestead on the Roof
304 reviews
Contemporary American | Ukranian Village, Chicago
Reserve Now
Ruxbin
36 reviews
Contemporary American | West Town, Chicago
Reserve Now
The Cotton Duck
1 review
American | Ukranian Village, Chicago
Reserve Now
Takito Kitchen - Wicker Park
202 reviews
Mexican | Bucktown / Wicker Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
a tavola
85 reviews
Italian | Ukranian Village, Chicago
Reserve Now
Green Zebra
2557 reviews
Vegetarian / Vegan | West Town, Chicago
Reserve Now
Taus Authentic
87 reviews
American | Bucktown / Wicker Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Nando Milano Trattoria
353 reviews
Italian | Bucktown / Wicker Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
25 Degrees Wicker Park
7 reviews
Burgers | Bucktown / Wicker Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Charlatan
193 reviews
Italian | West Town, Chicago
Reserve Now
Shaman by Chilam Balam
47 reviews
Mexican | West Town, Chicago
Reserve Now
Via Carducci - Wicker Park
51 reviews
Italian | Bucktown / Wicker Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
The Bedford
597 reviews
American | Bucktown / Wicker Park, Chicago
Reserve Now
Black Bull
161 reviews
Spanish | Bucktown / Wicker Park, Chicago
Reserve Now

About Arami

1829 West Chicago Avenue
Chicago, IL 60622
View Larger Map

Updated traditional feeds the urban dweller at this innovative sushi and Japanese kitchen spot. Enjoy high quality sushi in our peaceful, natural, garden like atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Japanese, Sushi, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Service
M 5 PM - 9:15 PM*
T 5 PM - 9:45 PM
W 5 PM - 9:45 PM
Th 5 PM - 10:15 PM
F 5 PM - 10:30 PM
S 5 PM - 10:30PM
S 5 PM - 9:15 PM
*kitchen closes 30 min after last seating

Cross Street:
Wood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 243-1535

Website:
http://www.aramichicago.com/

Catering:
Whether it is an intimate dinner or a large social event, our offerings are sure to leave a lasting impression. A wide variety of service styles are offered, from on-site sushi chefs, station service or family style dining. Let us make your next event something truly special.

For more information on catering, visit aramichicago.com.

Executive Chef:
Ajay Popli, Nelson Vinansaca

Private Party Facilities:
Updated tradition feeds the urban dweller at this innovative sushi and Japanese kitchen spot. Host your private event at Arami and enjoy high quality sushi in our peaceful, natural, garden like atmosphere as you mingle and dine with your guests.

Private Party Contact:
Heather Hughes: 3122431535

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
NOODLE NIGHT: warm up on the last Monday of each month for a variety of Japanese noodle dishes including: RAMEN, UDON and SOBA. LARGE PARTIES are recommended for these traditional family-style eats but all sizes are welcome to share in the comfort foods of Japan. Also enjoy SPECIALS on hot sake, including ARAMI's house brew: Ichi no Torii for $15, glass pours for $7 and Asahi Japanese beers for $5.

Restaurant Photos

Arami Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (21)
hot spot (16)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
romantic (14)
good for groups (9)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

was definitely on the pricey side! food ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

was definitely on the pricey side! food was okay - nothing really extremely memorable

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dope Sushi

Dined on March 4, 2016

Arami has the best sushi in the city of Chicago, hands down!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Still the best

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Arami has the freshest fish, and tastiest preparations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Amazing food!

Dined on February 26, 2016

Arami's location and ambiance are a bit misleading, but don't let the lack of frills scare you away. The food is outstanding and service is incredible. It feels like a hidden gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

don't believe the hype!

Dined on February 20, 2016

the space is woody and worn, with uncomfortable chairs and little or no decor. there is so much noise in the room that conversation is difficult. the overpriced sushi/sashimi selection leant to heavily on salmon and was average in taste and cut. colin, our waiter, was scatterbrained and overworked. we were glad to be out of there in one hour and 230 dollars poorer

food4
ambience4
service1
value1

I was thoroughly disappointed with my experience.

Dined on February 15, 2016

$55 dollars per person for a valentines dinner was the biggest waste of money I've ever spent. The portions were tiny, and I left the restaurant hungry. Completely rip off. Kai Zan does an omakase for $60 dollars that's 10 course, and far more elegant. I won't be returning and am quite upset with how I was treated. I had a 8:30 reservation and wasn't seated until 9:30, simply because the hostess forgot about us. If you ask me Arami got away with robbery on Valentine's Day. Don't make the same mistake. Oh and not to mention they served a dessert that tasted like a sand cake.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Sushi

Dined on February 15, 2016

We went during the Valentine's Day special where they had a special tasting menu for all the couples that dined there that day. The choices were fantastic and all the courses were absolutely delicious. The chef's choice sashimi, grilled octopus, Arami ramen, and numerous other choices we had were all excellent. We liked everything we ordered, and we were proven wrong whenever we were skeptical. Arami is on the expensive side, so definitely consider it for a special date or occasion. Arami also has a wide selection of great sakes so if that is your thing, definitely give Arami a try.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Continues to Impress

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our second time visiting Arami was for Valentine's Day. The first experience at Arami was impressive: creative rolls, unique cocktails, attentive service, friendly staff, etc. I didn't think Arami could get any better but it has! The menu continues to evolve with offerings not seen at other sushi restaurants. We asked for recommendations to help guide us through the dynamic menu and each suggestion was full of flavor. Ask to be seated at one of Collin's tables. He makes Arami extra special and can provide an optimal experience because of his understanding of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is amazing! I love dining there ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is amazing! I love dining there and I always bring new people with me.

food5
ambience4
service3

Sushi was UNREAL! Tons of vegetarian and ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Sushi was UNREAL! Tons of vegetarian and vegan options which was great! Service was pretty slow and we were both shocked by small portions.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arami has its own ocean

Dined on February 13, 2016

They must. Arami must have exclusive rights to its own ocean. There's no other explanation for why they serve the freshest fish I've ever tasted. The almost-endless selection would seemingly require its own ecosystem from which to harvest. Pair this fact with either the wonderful ambiance, or the supremely informed staff, or the elaborate list of cocktails, and one would make a note of coming back to dine again... but since they've got it all, one might say Arami is to sushi what Hatorri Hanzo was to steel.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2

I suppose I expected more from this plac ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

I suppose I expected more from this place given the it's pricey offerings, but the sushi just was so-so and the ramen was not nearly up to par...way better ramen options available in the city. On top of that, they had incorrect restaurant week dates printed on the web for weekS, never bothered to correct it and did not honor it when we came for our reservation...that was the main reason we went. No reason to return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Freshest fish we've tasted in Chicago.

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Freshest fish we've tasted in Chicago.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vegan menu

Dined on February 11, 2016

Awesome vegan menu. Great service. Really good cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food overall but chef's assorted sa ...

vip
Dined on February 8, 2016

Good food overall but chef's assorted sashimi was very disappointing

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was great; fresh & original. Porti ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Food was great; fresh & original. Portions were tiny relative to price; don't come hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

The waitstaff was awesome as well that f ...

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

The waitstaff was awesome as well that food was really good. It is a must go to.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best sushi in town!

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

Chitown has many good sushi restaurants but this one is my favorite. The food is amazing and the place is a gem. The service is perfect. Don't miss it, you won't regret.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was good, service slow and prices a ...

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Food was good, service slow and prices a bit steep.

food2
ambience2
service2

So not worth the price....waitress was v ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

So not worth the price....waitress was very helpful but waited forever between dishes. Ended up eating a second meal because we were still hungry after dropping $150!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and service, a little overpriced.

Dined on January 14, 2016

I love this place, I wish I could go more often, I returned because of the gilt coupon which was a perfect anniversary gift for my boyfriend. There was plenty of food included and a lovely drink. I believe it is one of the best restaurants in Chicago, by far the fanciest sushi place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Overpriced and Overhyped

Dined on January 13, 2016

I read several reviews and magazine articles regarding the sushi at Arami and I had to try it for myself. Compared to several other restaurants in it's class, I found that while the ingredients were fresh and some of the dishes were creative, overall the restaurant prices do not reflect the level of quality and craftsmanship that is found by many of the restaurants I would consider their peers. The restaurant atmosphere and the restaurants level of creativity doesn't match the prices on the menu. In particular, I would recommend Tanoshii or Momotaro if you are going to drop the kind of cash that you drop here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect little gem of a place.

Dined on January 11, 2016

Fantastic food and drink. Very unique. The design is gorgeous and the food is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not bad, not great

Dined on January 9, 2016

We had a number of items, from the Spanish Octopus to Maki to Ramen. The ramen was great and the rest of the items were just okay. For the price point, I didn't think Arami was a standout. I really wanted to like it after hearing some friends' reviews but I don't think I'm in a rush to go back.

food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Good service but...

Dined on January 9, 2016

The service was good and our waiter very accomidating. I can't comment on the taste of the food, because I have nothing to compare it to. The waiter quickly translated the Manu for us, because I didn't understand the subheadings. I did like that the menu had descriptions of the food in English, but I didn't know what the items were because I haven't had sushi before. It was also very cold in the restaurant. They should turn the heat up at least in the dining room area. They should also offer silverware because some people haven't had the experience with chopsticks. I was able to use the chopsticks, but I made a mess. I understand that the crowd that the restaurant is trying to attract is a sushi experienced crowd, but it might be someone's first experience with sushi and they might not want to come back because they might feel inadequate.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good food, but pricey and portions ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Very good food, but pricey and portions are on the small size. Service was good and drinks from the bar were amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic NYE meal

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

In town from New York. One of the best sushi meals I've ever had. Food was incredible - simple and creative. Service was right on point. Beautifully designed space. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic quality sushi. They are great ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

Fantastic quality sushi. They are great about gluten free and even gave a nice treat for a birthday celebration.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Steer clear of sashimi, it ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

Amazing food. Steer clear of sashimi, its also great, but small portions and by far not the best tasting. First time trying sesame ice cream, and its good! Great place

food4
ambience5
service5

Really tasty sashimi

vip
Dined on December 3, 2015

The sashimi (chef's choice) was great! But it is pricey... The maki rolls were good, but nothing out of the ordinary. The cocktails were very tasty as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Best sushi in Chicago

Dined on November 15, 2015

The food here is outstanding - best sushi I've had by far in Chicago.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this place!

Dined on November 15, 2015

Everything is delicious and very unique. I try to get to Arami at least once a month. Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service2

Very over-priced. Tiny portions.

vip
Dined on November 9, 2015

Everything was really expensive, and the pieces of fish on the sushi and sashimi were extremely small. Definitely not worth the money. There are many other sushi restaurants in Chicago where you can get equal or better quality of fish where the portions are larger and the prices are more affordable. The service was off to - they did not have the wine we wanted, and they would not offer the next similar wine for the same price. And I specifically asked for the fresh grated wasabi, and the food runner did not even know what that was.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent vegetarian options!

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

We were so pleased with the number of vegetarian options (and a separate menu to make life easier) that we came back 2 weeks later, and will continue to return on a regular basis. We live in the South Loop, so it's a bit of a hike for us, but well worth it! Really well executed food and attentive service. Thank you to all the staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Melt in your mouth sushi!

Dined on November 7, 2015

After just getting back from a year living in Japan, the sushi prepared at this restaurant definitely makes my list of top 5 sushi experiences!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had yet another great experience at Arami

Dined on November 2, 2015

The food is consistently amazing and fresh, the menu is ever changing, waiters are so knowledgeable and it has a wonderful sake selection.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4

Very fresh sushi! Was pleased all around

vip
Dined on October 31, 2015

Very fresh sushi! Was pleased all around

food5
ambience5
service5

Brussel sprouts and trio maki were absol ...

Dined on October 31, 2015

Brussel sprouts and trio maki were absolutely amazing

food2
ambience4
service3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

Arami was recommended recently by a friend and I went with high expectations. I was looking for an omakase dinner which I saw on various websites listed as a specialty. On being seated at the sushi bar, dining alone, I learned that omakase dinners required 24 hour notice. I opted for a chef's choice nigiri and sashimi which was pricey but I assumed I would get a selection of the day's specials. Unfortunately, most of the pieces were their everyday items and the same fish was used for some of the sushi as was used in the sashimi so my variety was inexplicably limited. None of the creativity that I saw being put into their maki rolls was evident on my plate. The fish, though perfectly fresh tasting, was cut sloppily in some cases and without any generosity considering the cost. This might be a very good and fun place to go if you are looking for a more freewheeling creative sushi roll dinner than if, like I was, interested in traditional sushi and sashimi where the emphasis was on the quality and presentation of the rice and the fish.

food5
ambience5
service5

Almost perfect meal

Dined on October 21, 2015

We came here for my wife's birthday and asked for the chef's tasting or Omakase, even though that isn't an explicit option on the menu. For $125 per person, they absolutely outdid themselves. One of the best meals we've ever had. The one flaw is that the final course before dessert was HUGE! At that point, we were pretty close to full, so that much food in a late course was not especially appetizing. Otherwise, incredible from start to finish. They even brought my wife a Mochi plate with a candle in it!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.