About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: 2527287777x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
  • Cheddar Soup
  • Shrimp Scampi On Risotto
Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
Cheddar Soup
Shrimp Scampi On Risotto

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

fit for foodies (77)
special occasion (66)
notable wine list (56)
See All
neighborhood gem (53)
romantic (41)
great for outdoor dining (37)
hot spot (22)
good for groups (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious interesting food / fresh compl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious interesting food / fresh complex

Great service good value enjoyed the small plate options

Deep wine list

Looking forward to our next dining experience in Beaufort-we tried a different restaurant each night - Aqua was #1

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Aqua for special occasions, e.g ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

We go to Aqua for special occasions, e.g., anniversaries, birthdays, etc. It has never disappointed. We always enjoy the food. The service is stellar -- friendly and readily available without being cloying.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience from the very beginning ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience from the very beginning. We were treated like Princesses for my Sister's Bachelorette party. The Manager Kim was very king and our server Reesa was fantastic. I will definitely be back and will recommend to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Aqua on Jul ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Aqua on July 16. The food was outstanding and the service was great. We had the white bean dip and tomato tart for appetizers - delicious! Then we had the Crab and Pineapple Napoleon and the Cast Iron Seared Crab Cake for dinner - both were fabulous! We would highly recommend Aqua to anyone looking for a great meal in Beaufort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner we had was fantastic. I have ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The dinner we had was fantastic. I have celiac disease and was pleased with the great gluten-free options on the menu. This was one of the best meals we had in Beaufort. We will definitely return.

Service was outstanding. I'm so impressed with the composure of each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua never fails to impress. The food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Aqua never fails to impress. The food was delicious, our waitress, Reesa, was top notch, the drinks were perfectly poured and overall our dinner was a truly delightful experience. Added to that, it is such a wonderful value that we can't help but come back time and time again. Aqua is a true gem in the heart of Beaufort; a not-to-be-missed experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff. Food was wonderful. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great wait staff. Food was wonderful. Wine list was not great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

really good food. from start to finish. ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

really good food. from start to finish. the only disappointment was when we got there, having made our reservation on open table, the hostess tried to seat us at a bar table (high top) with the a.c. blowing down on us. she acted like she did not know there was a table in the dining room in plain sight. maybe she didn't see it. but it made us feel like she was attempting to save it for someone more important. well we asked and got the table. dinner was fabulous. I will go back but will specify next time i make a reservation that i want inside, in the DR, not the bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unique experience and a really enjo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very unique experience and a really enjoyable find in Beaufort. Will definitely go back next time I am at the coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun, local with an interesting menu an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A fun, local with an interesting menu and a very good wine selection. We had great service.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, neighbourhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

our new favorite restaurant! outstanding ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

our new favorite restaurant!

outstanding food!

would recommend this to anyone visiting or in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is always wonderful. Superb food, w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Aqua is always wonderful. Superb food, wonderful wine list and excellent service. We only wish you were closer to New Bern!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I would love to know how Aqua was, unfor ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I would love to know how Aqua was, unfortunately, we stood at the hostess stand, along with two other parties, for 15 minutes and no one ever came to greet us. We all had reservations. We were apprehensive to stay and eat after waiting so long just to be greeted, so we left.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Could not have been better for my best f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Could not have been better for my best friend and me. Our server, Emily, was outstanding; very helpful with recommendations and answering our questions. Italian Bread Salad and snapper special were delicious and creative. Looking forward to returning very soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think this is the best place in the ar ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I think this is the best place in the area to have a fine dining experience.

The menu is innovative, the tastes are sublime, and the memory lingers.

If you like fine dining and accept the appropriate prices, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous restaurant! Had good heard thi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! Had good heard things from friends, and we will definitely make a return visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great and very different. I ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was great and very different. It had a lot of flavors that went very well together. The only thing that could have been better was the lighting. We had a table in the middle of the room and there were no lights. The only lights were small pendants over the outer, booth tables. The older people in our group had to use their phones to read the menu. It was fancy but in a trendy way. Not somewhere you go every day but definitely for special occasions or to try something different. The food was beautifully displayed on the plates as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful, lots of great ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was wonderful, lots of great energy, but she cut herself and left early. I hope she is ok. It was great to see locals at the restaurant and also to see that Aqua has sustained it's quality over the years.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a fantastic experience at Aqua! O ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We had a fantastic experience at Aqua! Our server was exceptionally friendly and fun. The menu was unique and the food tasted fantastic. Our out-of-town guests told us that this was the best place we've ever taken them for dinner. We will be back soon! One thing to note is that the booth was a little bit tight for one of the members of our party; we will request a table next time so he can have more space.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The only way Aqua could be any better wo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The only way Aqua could be any better would be (1) if it was a little larger and (2) if it were on the water. Staff was excellent - not only personable but well-informed and eager to ensure a thoroughly pleasant dining experience. Food/food preparation were absolutely top-notch. We'll be back many times more in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I picked this restaurant from yelp and i ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I picked this restaurant from yelp and it was quite a find. My husband had corn soup that was define and I had a tomato with cheddar on top, Yum. The main course consisted of the small plate of grouper and vegetables. My husband's dinner was delicious as well. Bananas foster ended the spectacular meal. The service and friendliness of the staff was what you would want at a lovely restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time. The food was amazi ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Had a wonderful time. The food was amazing! I had an awesome steak and my boyfriend had the flounder. The service was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was absolutely fabulous! We ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything was absolutely fabulous! We thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Tapas, small plates and large plates. So ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Tapas, small plates and large plates. Something for everyone. Ceasar Salad was big enough to share. Small plate Shrimp Carbonara was plenty of food with a salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We liked everything about Aqua except th ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We liked everything about Aqua except the bar service which was bad bad bad. No excuse for this in such a nice restaurant the food was outstanding and our waitress was doing the best that she could

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We had a lovely meal at Aqua. They have ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a lovely meal at Aqua. They have indoor and outdoor dining. The service was a little slow because they were busy but we did not feel neglected. Still, if you are not up for a relaxed meal (if you need to get in and out quickly) then it may not be the best option on a busy weekend. But the food is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Make reservation time for the beginning ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Make reservation time for the beginning of business hours. Otherwise, later in the evening the server may be overwhelmed creating very poor service, and it may take you 30 minutes to be served a drink from the bar.

On another note, the food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Everyone loved their food. Each plate w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Everyone loved their food. Each plate was a work of art and was delicious!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food , everyone had the catch of t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food , everyone had the catch of the day. Done perfectly. Unfortunately, the drinks were weak. Ordered a Manhattan and it came out looking like scotch and soda, Gin and tonic were similarly weak.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This made our third visit since February ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This made our third visit since February. Food is creative enough to make you think, with many good choices. Service makes it feel like they know you. It would be difficult to make a better choice!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant for a romantic da ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My favorite restaurant for a romantic date, great atmosphere and excellent food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Unique menu

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The menu is unique for this area and the presentation is outstanding. After we enjoyed a delicious, hot bread with an olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip, the waitress brought 4 "pops" to clean the palate. She was very specific that they were to be "popped" in the mouth and consumed in one bite. I was the only one who did so and the blend of flavors was wonderful. Everyone cleaned his plate, even the picky eater. The view is not good, but all eyes were on the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Aqua by the Sea!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

What we really liked was being able to reserve a space online. Very convenient! When we arrived we were greeted and the hostess found our reservation and were seated immediately. The food was delicious. It was the second time we've eaten there. It was a first for our friends. We were seated outside on the patio, bug free, as it was screened. Will definitely go back again, maybe this weekend, it's my birthday.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Aqua.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As always , our experience was wonderful. Kim & staff have hospitality down to a genuine & heartfelt science. Lisa was so helpful & efficient.Food rocks. Wine list diverse. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great tapas and the menu selections, gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great tapas and the menu selections, great choices. They also have a $5 wine special each night and 33% off bottles which is great.

Drawbacks- I reserved this 3 weeks ago and they tried to stick us at a table directly behind the hostess stand. I don't know why a table would even be located here. We were sent to the bar to wait 15 minutes for our table and meanwhile, the couple behind us in line was promptly seated at a nice spacious booth, what?! After finally being seated it took the waitress another 15 to even stop by and greet us. Good food, but poor service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful food. Small plates are just t ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful food. Small plates are just the right size for a smaller appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently exceeds expectations!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We own a home in Beaufort and frequent Aqua whenever we are in town. It's one of our top favorites. We're always impressed with the new dishes which are added seasonally and the staff are some of the best in the industry. We had the pleasure of having Sara as our server this past Friday evening & she is truly a delight & so very knowledgeable about the food/wine/drinks. We went with some of her recommendations and they were spot on! Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with friends. Great food and serv ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Dinner with friends. Great food and service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great on the cutting-edge rest ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a great on the cutting-edge restaurant for delicious, beautiful food. Located on a sidestreet with limited parking so arrive early and reservations highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food, Excellent Service

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a great meal at Aqua for a date night while on vacation. Although they were out of the special and it did take awhile for them to inform my husband after he ordered it, the food was superb. The service was outstanding and Sara was so helpful with the menu. The wine discount on Friday nights is an added bonus! Highly recommend this restaurant if you're in Beaufort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.