Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Aqua Restaurant

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: (252) 728-7777

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (58)
Good for a Date (50)
Tapas (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Notable Wine List (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Worth the Drive (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Fun (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Romantic (21)
Tasting Menu (19)
Casual (18)
Authentic (18)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good, and the service was attentive. Host did a great job of working the tables to make sure all customers were happy. Eclectic beer menu and craft cocktails on top of high quality food. What's not to like?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

I'd describe the atmosphere as casually upscale. The food was very good. I especially enjoyed the tomato tart. Service was excellent. Unfortunately, I didn't leave room for dessert but the monster size crème brulee at the table next to me looked amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It's a favorite of my family! I love the menu, the food is always fresh and delicious and different from anywhere else! We love the chef's tastings! Service is always fantastic!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Writing for my Air BnB guests who reported high marks for their dining...only complaint is the noise level. I often send guests to Aqua and always have grateful diners.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Just go. Great food. Great ambiance. The creme brûlée is obscene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2017

First visit to this gem. Great food. Resa provided exceptional service . Our new favorite in Beaufort !
Try the killer Creme brûlée !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My husband and I love Aqua. We have been going to Aqua for over ten years and have never been disappointed. We particularly love wineorama and Kim the very outstanding Manager extraordinaire.
This particular celebration was for our dear sister in law and her August birthday. She and my brother were very pleased with the food service and wine. The special attention to detail is always apparent at Aqua and that can be attributed to Kim. Money cannot buy what Kim gives to this restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always a good choice. Wait staff is always excellent. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fabulous find! Everything was wonderful and we would definitely go back!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food. Tapas and small plates are the way to go. The serving staff and bar need more help. Like other reviews on Yelp have stated, the manager/hostess needs a more customer centered approach. Still worth going for the food.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food, wonderful selection of wines, and attentive service. We'll be back!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Resa best waitress in town keep her foster did not burn off loq not resa but her asst fyi tell tesa That was my odd look at the end of the meal John Miller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went to Aqua for a birthday celebration and had a blast. Our server was delightful, knowledgeable and unbelievably patient with us. It is one of our favorite restaurants in Beaufort! We will return!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and small plates are perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was delicious, the wait staff was friendly and attentive, My wife and I sat outside and had an all around enjoyable evening, Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

LOVED THE FOOD, WAITRESS AND ATMOSPHERE. WILL DEF BE BACK SOON!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Tapas, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2017

First visit to Aqua...thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. Love the tasting menu options. Waitress (Ashley) was very sweet and attentive!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I went here to celebrate our first anniversary. It was amazing, they acknowledged our anniversary many time throughout our dinner, our waitress was amazing. MY wife loves the special drinks they made to fit what flavors she liked. The atmosphere was great, it was low light which was perfect for our night out. The meals were impeccable, my wife had the lamb and i had the sirloin which both were cooked to perfection. The desert was great we had the trio. When we got our checked we were shocked they took over 20$ off of our tab because they love to have people come there to celebrate special occasions! Our first anniversary dinner couldn't have been better.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Delicious as always! The crab cakes are to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Aqua is always the highlight of our trips to Beaufort! Great atmosphere, welcoming staff, and amazing food!!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, People Watching, Good for a Date, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

My husband and I love to go to Aqua whenever we're in town. As usual, the food was delicious! Our server, Reese, was awesome!! The zucchini cakes wer so good as well as the deconstructed ceasar salad. The atmosphere, food and service has always been wonderful!! I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you have not ever been there. I look forward to our next visit to Aqua!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We have dined at Aqua several times. Always perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Awesome evening in all aspects! Ashley was a great server & the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

First time here. Found on TripAdvisor. A great dining experience. Could have ordered more orders of shrimp and grits, they were so good. $5 martini night on Thursday. Would definitely go back. Sophisticated modern interior. Outside porch seating avsilablecbut too hot that night. Dinner only. Definitely make reservations!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Attention from staff was very pleasant and added to a lovely evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great dining experience with super friendly staff
Excellent wine list and specials

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Very good service, food was good but can't say great. Was a bit noisy, no real quiet or cozy place to sit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our Sunday evening dining at Aqua was disappointing. The food selection was limited, the taste was average, the service slow, and the environment was stuffy and hot. Out server was great, but they were understaffed. I don't want to go back, at least until I give the other restaurants in the area another try. For the money spent, we can eat anywhere else and have change.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My family of 4 (kids 12 and 15) enjoyed our first meal at Aqua. It is very busy, but well-staffed and everyone pitches in to help each other.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing food! It was a perfect meal for a trip to Beaufort.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Visited on a twice monthly held Wine o Rama night. Was able to book one of the few remaining tables in the afternoon. You can choose to sample 4 of the two oz glasses for $10. Packed with locals. Noise volume was very loud with no music to soften the sounds. With that being said, we still had a very good time. Mostly Tapas & small plates with many different choices available. Food was tasty & service was efficient. I had a tomato tart tapas which was great. Prices are reasonable considering it is in a tourist spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

LOVE their food, eapecially the platter size creme brulee! Only drawback is the noise level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Always great food and service. Very knowledgeable servers. Short walk to waterfront. Mojitos need improving. One of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Aqua has an amazing bartender, Lynsey. While many other restaurants might have a beer tender, Lynsey is in a class by herself. So I always have a great time at the bar. On this evening, we had dinner which was yummy. Dan was our waiter and he is movie-star gorgeous, but humble enough to be finishing his own boat and planning an around -the-world on his craft. Vintage Beaufort

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing caprese salad and great service. Huge variety of wine and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Was the best food on the Crystal Coast. Cocktails and service were exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 6, 2017

They automatically added a gratuity without any prior notice. It was placed on the check in such a manner that it was not easy to see, thus encouraging double tipping. Not what I would expect from a reputable business.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Just ok. My meal was fine, the spouse's was severely overcooked, had to return it. The bad portion was comped, so that made it better. Overall, just an average experience. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great outdoor porch area. Nice wine list by the glass. Local seafood

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.