About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: 2527287777x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
  • Cheddar Soup
  • Shrimp Scampi On Risotto
Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
Cheddar Soup
Shrimp Scampi On Risotto

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

Fit for Foodies (88)
Special Occasion (85)
Neighborhood Gem (72)
See All
Notable Wine List (67)
Romantic (54)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Hot Spot (30)
Tapas (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Casual (11)
Fun (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vegan (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Scenic View (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was fantastic at Aqua, full of ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was fantastic at Aqua, full of flavor and portioned just right.

The only small complaint I would have is that the outdoor area is in the path of the outdoor smoking area so you will have smoke wafting over from time to time (which is why we decided to move inside).

The staff are friendly and really want you to have a great experience and we did. Thanks Aqua, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at Aqua was the standout food exp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner at Aqua was the standout food experience of our 3-day stay in the Atlantic Beach/Beaufort area- excellent service, nice ambiance (we were seated on the screened porch), and creative, beautiful dishes. Two "small plates" (they're not that small), shared appetizer and salad, and a glass of wine from an impressive and approachable list were perfect for two. Our server rightly encouraged us to hold off on ordering a third small plate to share. Each dish was flavorful and complex. We're now searching for recipes to try to recreate the tomato tart appetizer, and the signature salad takes caesar to new heights. The local catch that night- a generous piece of grilled, glazed grouper over wild rice (another dish I'll be trying to recreate at home)- was amazing, and my guy rates the grilled petite filet as the best filet he's ever had. The accompanying mashed Yukon golds with parmesan (or was it gouda?) literally melt in your mouth. You can easily spend the same money on a mediocre meal at one of the more gimmicky restaurants in the area. (We did.) Next time we'll just make a point of visiting Aqua more than once. We made 8:00 reservations on a Tuesday night, mid-September. There were plenty of other diners, but the place was not overcrowded.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in North Car ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of the best restaurants in North Carolina... We will eat there every time we are in the area

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word, Outstanding! Tapas and small ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

In a word, Outstanding! Tapas and small plates allow for lots of sampling. All of their wines are available by the glass or in 1 oz samples. Great way to taste a $300 bottle of wine for about $10!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Aqua an ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Aqua and could not have selected a better place! From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by each staff member we came in contact with. The menu options were varied and reflected the chef's attention to taking a "known commodity" and putting his own twist on it. I chose the Caesar Salad, one of my favorites, and loved the presentation and ability to add a special side (my choice - the crab cake). My husband chose the shrimp and country ham pasta - which he said had a great balance of salty and creamy tastes (I know that there wasn't a morsel left). He enjoyed their signature creme brulee for dessert, and I had the S'mores tart - Yum to both! Highly recommend Aqua as a special-occasion restaurant AND for a middle-of-the-week treat to yourself.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is one of my go to restaurants in C ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Aqua is one of my go to restaurants in Carteret County. I always enjoy the chef's selections. This particular trip I did small plates with a flight of wines to enjoy a variety of taste.

Shrimp and grits appetizer is spicy and great. The crab corn chowder is delicious. We tried the Bento box this trip and it was a little less than what I expect at Aqua. The tuna was not as fresh as usual. But don't let that occurrence discourage you. Wait staff and is always attentive and honest with their suggestions. This place is a gastric extravaganza!

Will be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that they do not offer hot ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Disappointed that they do not offer hot tea as a beverage choice. We especially like that after dinner. Waiter was kind enough to "go next door" to pick up tea bags, but decaf was not in the selections. He gave us a to-go cup of hot(?) water..in a cheap, styrofoam cup.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fun, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The entrees are limited to 3, and when w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The entrees are limited to 3, and when we went one of those had been taken off the menu which was disappointing; the waitress said the restaurant was getting ready to change the menu over to its fall items. Each of us ordered a tapas and a small plate (complimentary rolls were offered) and that really was enough food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Just the best for getting together with ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Just the best for getting together with friends...you always feel welcome!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I have eaten here many times, my m ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

While I have eaten here many times, my most recent experience was not one of my best. We had cocktails at the bar that were so strong they were un-drinkable. Our food was delicious but our service was not that great. We waited a VERY long time for drinks, food, our ticket and box. As I said I have eaten here before and never had this experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The menu selections are interesting in t ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The menu selections are interesting in that familiar food items are often paired and combined in unique ways. That's what makes dining there special. I can't say that the taste of the food is any better than other top restaurants but you are always surprised which is the outstanding quality of the dining experience at Aqua.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find at the beach. Will definitely ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great find at the beach. Will definitely be back. Best service I have had in years at a restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have enjoyed dining at the Aqua resta ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We have enjoyed dining at the Aqua restaurant every year since it was opened. We have never been disappointed . The food is wonderful and the service is friendly. We will definitely be back next year.

ag1934ny

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night, 8:30 res, party of 7 - the ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Friday night, 8:30 res, party of 7 - the place was jumping; 20 minutes before we got drinks/water; support for the waiter was slow in coming; 2 seafood dishes were gone by then, and the waiter forget to mention that. No prob really but better comm needed; waiter rolled w what appeared to weak info from the kitchen; still, our crowd was happy. Kudos to the waiter. Food was well-received

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Never had even a marginal dining experie ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Never had even a marginal dining experience here, a great dinner is pretty much guaranteed everytime. Chef, kitchen and waitstaff are all tightly professional, gracious and accommodating. Love coming here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We arrived for our 7 PM reservation on t ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We arrived for our 7 PM reservation on time. Please keep in mind the establishment begins dinner service at 5:30 PM. On our arrival they were already out of three (3) primary proteins, two of which had been described to us in their "specials" of the evening. Why bother describing something you already know you longer have available? Our main reason for dining on this specific Friday was their Friday night wine special: 33% off all bottled wines. We requested a specific Riesling and asked our server to keep the bottle "fresh". After one bottle, guess what? That was their last Riesling. This pretty much ruined the meal as we had made responsible plans and secured car service so we could indulge for our vacation "finale" night (basically $50 out the window, there...). Before the wine issue (or lack thereof) even became an issue, we knew we would have trouble with our server. She failed to offer our amuse-bouche, which is really just a small nit picky expectation, but other patrons throughout the restaurant were being offered their portion with no troubles at all. It became apparent she was overwhelmed and "in the weeds". We wouldn't see her for several minutes at a time and other random waitstaff attempted to compensate for her shortcomings. The food was fair, if they could keep our table cleared of the previous dishes to deliver the next course. We visit Aqua regularly and made it a point to let the manager know we had quite the bad night this go round. We will return, eventually. I just can not tell how soon that will be. Such an unfortunate experience.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Healthy, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

As always, excellent food and excellent ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

As always, excellent food and excellent service........

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our experience at Aqua so muc ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We enjoyed our experience at Aqua so much that we decided to have another meal there two nights later. Our server was probably the best we have ever experienced. We dine out often and now have placed Aqua #1 on our best restaurant ever list. We were welcomed warmly by a well trained staff, the

Starter compote of figs, apricots, and cranberries which the chef sent to our table was the perfect flavors to awaken our taste buds for the test of the meal. Great food, staff and atmosphere! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went twice during our week long stay ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We went twice during our week long stay at Emerald Isle. Both meals were exceptional. Ethan & Nadia took care of us and were attentive and personable. The wine selection was surprisingly unique. Outside seating was more intimate and inside was, yes, loud- but in a fun, festive way. Our favorite place btw Emerald Isle-Atlantic Beach- Beaufort.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua had great reviews on open table and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Aqua had great reviews on open table and other travel sites, so we decided to try it for our anniversary dinner. It was excellant! We chose the outdoor dining, which was very comfortable and pleasant. Waitress was very knowledgeable and attentive and food was amazing. Aqua has become one of our top picks for dining in the Beaufort/Atlantic Beach area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Aqua several times over ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have been to Aqua several times over the summer! The food is very good; however, this time, the service was definitely not up to par! Our waitress seemed overwhelmed and did not know the menu or drink options well.

We usually ask for Lisa since she is outstanding; however, she was not working this particular night. We will be back since it is a wonderful place with a great "vibe"!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

This is by FAR the best restaurant in Be ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is by FAR the best restaurant in Beaufort! Amazing food/staff/ambiance etc. Highly recommend this restaurant again and again!!!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork chop was well seasoned along wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The pork chop was well seasoned along with the vegetables, but the portion size for this type of restaurant was too big; it came out on this enormous plate. Granted, most of the meat presented was bone, so in all the actual eating portion was not horrible. Besides the plating, the only other complaint for this dish was the weird chili that they served with it. It is so out of place and did not compliment the meal at all. We wondered if it was meant to fill the dish up so there wasn't any extra plate space??

The bento box was so displeasing b/c it wasn't anything special and didn't really go with the rest of the restaurant style. It's like it was thrown on their menu "just because". The sauces did not pair well with the items and the wings were so overdressed that it was difficult to eat them.

The appetizer's were delicious and we really enjoyed them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, great service! Sat on the scr ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Good food, great service! Sat on the screened in porch which was fabulous! Excellent wine and beer list!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Super. The food was outstanding. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

It was Super. The food was outstanding. A GEM

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hostess was uptight, waiter was attentiv ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Hostess was uptight, waiter was attentive, food was overseasoned.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Hand down, my favorite in Carteret Count ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Hand down, my favorite in Carteret County. Always has been for me. Apparently, I'm not alone in my assessment. Thank you, Kim, for another exception experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and great service! Fantastic ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great food and great service! Fantastic mixture of flavors. Very nice wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great creative food. Enjoyed my wife's b ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Great creative food. Enjoyed my wife's birthday celebration on the porch. Waitress was excellent. Will continue to come here.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing dinner! The crab and ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Absolutely amazing dinner! The crab and pineapple napoleon and the tomato tart were incredible and the dessert sampler was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, highly recommend.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great place, highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and atmosphere! A little n ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome food and atmosphere! A little noisy and hard to have a conversation at times, but at the top of my favorites list of great restaurants.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is a great restaurant in historic B ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Aqua is a great restaurant in historic Beaufort. It has small plates and tapas as well as large plates. There is seafood as you would expect, but also many other options cooked in creative ways. On Friday nights there is a discount on bottles of wine to make it an even better value, although it is always worth the price. Perfect place for dinner with friends or clients, or girls night out.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a gem. Great food, beautiful coc ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is a gem. Great food, beautiful cocktails, happy servers. Lively place. I wish it were near my house!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Casual, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Riza was a delight.....she was the perfe ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Riza was a delight.....she was the perfect server.....food was excellent as always.....crab cakes are wonderful

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy visiting Aqua when I am i ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I always enjoy visiting Aqua when I am in the area. They had a special wine tasting the night I was there. As a vegetarian I appreciate the thought that goes into those particular dishes. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is my go to restaurant! The staff i ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Aqua is my go to restaurant! The staff is wonderful..as is the food, and a wine list that is heavenly!

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here twice now and will defi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We've eaten here twice now and will definitely go back. Food is good as well as the service. The petite filet is excellent and the deserts define.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Arrived early for our reservation and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Arrived early for our reservation and we greeted by a delightful hostess who seated us immediately on the outdoor porch. Service was fun, knowledgeable and attentive. We started with perfect made-to-order martinis followed by an app, two small plates and a dessert. All perfectly prepared and tasty. Fantastic selections in all categories in broad price ranges. Will definitely return!

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Aqua since it opened ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I've been going to Aqua since it opened 13 years ago. It is popular with locals and visitors alike. The food is a notch above in terms of quality and sophistication for what you typically find on the Crystal Coast. This is a Big City restaurant in the Coolest Small Town in America. It's casual enough for guys to wear nice shorts and a polo shirt. The food is creative and tasty. For example, the crab Napoleon was out of this world. Who thought to put all that stuff together? It was dynamite! My date loved the mojito. I didn't have a drink, but know from past experience they have a great wine list, including by the glass. They do have a full bar and good bartenders. All in all, it's a great meal. Now, if they could just turn down the volume a bit as it is a bit loud when it is packed, and they are always packed during the summer season and on weekends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.