Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Aqua Restaurant

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: (252) 728-7777

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (41)
GoodForDates (39)
Anniversaries (31)
See All
Tapas (30)
Foodies (30)
WorthTheDrive (26)
CreativeCuisine (26)
Birthdays (23)
NeighborhoodGem (22)
LocalIngredients (22)
Romance (18)
Cozy (17)
NotableWineList (17)
HandcraftedCocktails (16)
Fun (15)
OutdoorDining (13)
Groups (12)
Casual (11)
TastingMenu (11)
Healthy (10)
Authentic (9)
PeopleWatching (8)
VegetarianOptions (8)
ModernDecor (8)
HotSpot (7)
GlutenFree (6)
VibrantBarScene (6)
Seasonal (6)
PrePostTheatre (6)
BarSeating (5)
QuietConversation (5)
HappyHour (4)
ComfortFood (4)
OpenKitchen (3)
Waterfront (2)
QuickBite (2)
LateNightFind (2)
SundayLunch (2)
ChildFriendly (2)
LiveMusic (1)
Vegan (1)
BusinessMeals (1)
GreatBeer (1)
ScenicView (1)
Lunch (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Sort By:
S
1035 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food with excellent service! Highly recommend the tomato tart tapas and the catch of the day is always good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Our first visit. Very pleasantly surprised ! We will return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food and wine. Good value. Great service. Love the place! Would go back again for sure if in the area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had our first date at Aqua and went back for our 6th anniversary. Great food and an excellent server!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was outstanding. The petite filet and red mashed potatoes were perfect. The "sampler"
3 dessert, while delicious was too much for 2 people. Would highly recommend. It was my birthday and they comped one dessert and made such a nice fuss over me.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our first time to Aqua and it was a very nice experience. The food was wonderful and we really enjoyed our meal. The service was exceptional. Our waiter was attentive, but not overbearing. I highly recommend Aqua for a night out!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food!! Menu has something for everyone. Atmosphere is fun. Neat glass art everywhere. Wine list is great and they offer tastings. Creme brûlée is HUGE and fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were seated promptly by a happy and gracious greeter. She checked on us during our meal. Tasty tapas and entrees. We were surprised with a prosecco split for our anniversary.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2017

From the moment we were greeted, I knew we were going to love the place! The service was exceptional and the food was incredible. I found good gluten free options. We noted on our reservation that we had 2 toddlers and got a seat outside on a cute porch area. There was some loud live music from the beer garden next door- this was great for us with kids but not sure how others would feel! My husband and I want to plan a trip back to the area and Aqua is on the list of things to do again!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is extremely well run restaurant. They hire great people and use local ingredients. Make reservations and request where you want to dine. There reservation system is very organized. The wait staff is friendly and they explain the dishes vey well. They use a team approach to serving and I appreciate their attentiveness and professional training. The bar tender creates quality artisan drinks, taking care with each order. They have professionally trained chefs and it is demonstrated by the flavorful offerings. After each visit why it took us so long to return. This restaurant will not disappoint.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Started off with the Crabmeat Gazpacho and Asian Wings, then finished with the local Trigger Fish special. All delicious as usual, together with the Aqua Ambiance and Warm and Friendly Staff. Love the Aqua! Consistently Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had a very "meaty" gf crabcake with succotash. Also shared the 5 spice wings, which were delicious. Hubby had the special with scallops and succotash, also quite good. Loved the atmosphere of the screened in porch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is the second time we dined here, and we will be back again. Service was outstanding, and fresh seafood options based on local catches are excellent. Our first visit was with friends from New York who are seasoned travelers, and they currently live near Charleston, SC. They commented that the seafood selection and quality of food were second to none of the places they frequently visit in their home states.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our waitress Resa (sp?) was fabulous! She was so knowledgeable about the food and wine and really took care of us. I would request to be seated at her table!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Reservations are a MUST, especially during the busy season. If you plan ahead and do that, you will not be disappointed. It was by far the best meal I've ever had in Beaufort, Morehead City or the beaches. Everyone at our table of six thoroughly enjoyed their meal. One unusual one that was incredible was the crab and pineapple dish. The shrimp and grits were wonderful too. Streaks were perfectly cooked and the seafood special that night was incredible. We were also thrilled with the cocktails and wine we ordered and shared a dessert sampler that was fabulously decadent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our third time at Aqua. Service was super. Loved the mussels and the great salads. We will go back again and again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 2, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had. Top 5. My wife and I cannot wait to come back. They made us feel so special as we celebrated our first anniversary. The catch of the day is always a must try, and their wine list was quite good. I cannot say enough good things.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Always enjoyable and moreover, delicious! My go to for visitors, a date night with the girls, or the spouse. Yay Aqua :)

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

As usual, Aqua, Jayson and Lyndsey did not disappoint. I ordered the stuff I like without venturing into the specials. The tomato tart and shrimp and grits were stellar. The lampchops were perfectly cooked.
Lyndsey was her usual competent self and our wine pairings couldn't be better. They have a system for wine storage that allows you to taste, by the glass. So, you are able to taste expensive wines that you would not ordinarily purchase. It is a treat!
The creme brulee is massive--two or three can share. And delicious.
Aqua only gets better with age.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Great dinner spot for the family. We haven't been here for 3 years but it was as good as we remember.
Excellent service and varied menu with great local seafood. Save room for the dessert. We shared the trio sampler which was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This was our second visit to Aqua. The food and service was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The service was excellent. Our server was extremely knowledgeable and we never waited for drinks, silver, extra napkins etc.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Tapas, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The food is always excellent here. Good vegetarian options. On Friday nights, bottles of wine are 30% off. They do a good job honoring reservations in a timely manner. Overall a good experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Each time we visit Beaufort, we look forward to dine at Aqua.
It is always an enjoyable experience . The menu is creative and the service is exceptional and friendly and has remained that way consistently. This time I tried the Crabmeat Napoleon and it was great. The Creme Brûlée is sinfully good and definitely has to be shared .Looking forward to be back in August.
ag1934ny

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Great food, great waitress, wonderful hostess, all made us feel some welcome. Love going there!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

excellent red snapper with spicy sauce-good service, great value

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very much enjoyed the atmosphere, service, and most of all the food. Would definitely recommend to anyone who enjoys a creative menu and a well prepared plate(s)! ;-)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We go to Aqua every time we are in town and it has never disappointed. They have some great specials and a great wine list.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I was visiting my brother-in-law in the area and wanted to treat them to a wonderful dinner. He and his wife named Aqua as their favorite place to dine. I was delighted with the food, atmosphere, and service. It is located in a small town but offers a sophisticated and creative menu. I would go weekly if I lived in the area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time visitor and I will be a return customer. Wide ranging menu and good combination of small plates, tapas and large plates. Everything we ordered was fantastic. Service was excellent. I sat by the kitchen and got to witness first hand how the staff worked together to deliver great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Shrimp and grits was very tasty, tomato tart amazing, the petite steak melted in your mouth and cooked perfectly!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This was our first time dining at Aqua. We go to North Carolina's Crystal Coast at least one a year and have many favorite restaurants, no Aqua is added to our favorites list. We went based on reviews from TripAdvisor. We ate inside which was very nice, patio dining is available as well. Service and food were both top notch, we will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We dine at Aqua regularly and, as usual, our experience this evening was outstanding. The menu is interesting and creative, the food is exceptionally well prepared and beautifully presented, and the service (Amber) was perfect. I had the triggerfish and my wife had the crab cakes. Both dishes were great! We shared a tomato tart as an appetizer that was wonderful. Aqua is one of favorite restaurants!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous Trigger Fish dinner w/great wine!! Will go back every time in Beaufort!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I haven't been to Beaufort in years & was hopeful that my favorite restaurant was still going strong. It was. I love Aqua. Wonderful, inventive food. The $5 wine was a great plus. It is a quirky, solid choice for dinner. We had the trigger fish small plate & the flavors were wonderful. Hope I can get back sooner & go to Aqua again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our cocktails were so refreshing and a perfect way to start the evening. We started w/ the wings and were glad we got two orders. So good. Sharing four small plates (one being the special), it was hard to say which was the best. A nice bottle of wine from the diverse wine list complemented our choices. Our waitress was the right amount of attentive. Finishing off with the CremeBrulee and Banana Foster was the way to go. Our most favorite restaurant on the NC coast. Been going for about 15 years. Try it. You'll love it!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service, every time. Aqua is our favorite spot in Beaufort!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic-wonderful-magnifique. Try the tomato tarts for a taste sensation that is memorable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Will definite return again when in Beaufort.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Absolutely fabulous meal! All 8 of us loved our choices from apps to desserts! Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Tapas, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.