Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Aqua Restaurant

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: (252) 728-7777

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Tapas (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Fun (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Waterfront (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great combination of Tapas, small plates, and deserts with an excellent martini bar. Food is great for the price and I would recommend unreservedly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place as always. My wife and I like it because good food, good staff, relaxing. However, the bar next door is now having rock bands outside so if you sit in Aqua's patio area, you get a free concert. Like it or not. I like rock bands but only when I'm in the mood for them and when I eat at Aqua I'd rather be relaxed. I'm guessing the bands just play on weekends, not sure as the summer season is almost upon us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We've eaten at Aqua many times and are always pleased with the food and drinks. Thursday is the best day to go because there's a featured $5 martini!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent staff, quick efficient service, and fabulous food. What's not to love? Thank you, Aqua, for a very nice evening and meal!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Aqua. Arrived early for our reservation and at our option, opted to enjoy a drink in the small but fun bar area. Our server, Emily, was exceptional and took great care of us. She helped guide us on choices of a couple of small plates (lamb chops, seared scallops) that were both tasty and just enough for light eaters. We split a caprese salad which was choc full of fresh tomatoes and lovely mozzarella. We especially enjoyed the creme brulee which is served in an oversized dish, resulting in every bite including both creamy goodness and sugary crunch. We sat on the patio which was very comfortable and better lit than the inside seating appeared to be. Even in the shared patio we felt we had privacy and never felt crowded. We will definitely return on our next visit to Beaufort.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Aqua is my favorite restaurant. It has a very romantic atmosphere, with beautiful decor, the food is extremely good alone with the presentations. All the servers and workers are so kind and they don't forget faces.
I highly recommend Aqua and i take all my company there. Also we eat there twice a week when I'm here.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waitress Emily was awesome! Had a great time and service was great. Trigger fish dish was so tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Loved the option of tapas and small plates and the presentation was exceptional as well as the taste of the food even on a very busy night. We will definitely return!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great food, great wines, great service. One needs nothing more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Had a 6:15 pm dinner reservation on a Tuesday and arrived promptly. Noticed the place had outdoor seating but a loud band that was not very good was playing outside. Waited forever for hostess to great us. Explained my vertigo problems and my need not to sit in the middle of a restaurant. Hostess explained it was too late to make a special request. We had no idea Tues was wine night. There was two open booths that would had been better but no either outside or the table right in the middle. 5 minutes later the hostess sat a party of 2 in the empty booth I requested. She could had accomidated my illness but not not want to. We will never go back. To be fair our waiter and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food was excellent - creative, fresh and great variety including vegetarian. The martini options are super. also, enjoyed wine-o-rama. Outstanding desserts . All staff were very friendly and patio dining was great fun. Could not have chosen a better spot to enjoy an evening with our visiting daughter who is a "foodie" . Definitely recommend!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Anniversary!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Great Beer, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Immediately greeted and seated--had reservation. Wonderful experience celebrating Mom's 90th birthday. Lovely server, Amber. Delicious food and wine--good value. Presented Mom with dessert and "souvenir" for birthday. A little loud, but obviously everyone was having a good time. Would definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

One word ---- awesome ... why write 50 words when one word will suffice ... I'll add 47 more words because I have write at least 50 words .... words words words words words ... a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a .....

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The service and food was excellent! My wife and I went there for our anniversary and we both agree that we definitely go back again. Definitely a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very good food and the wait staff is excellent. Our table was right in front of the food prep window so we got to see all the delicious entrees and desserts coming out which was really great. It was however a bit warm from the heat of the kitchen.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My wife and I dined here for the second time. It continues to be our favorite restaurant in Beaufort. My wife had the chicken and I had the sea bass. Both were excellent, as was the beet salad. Our waiter was very professional without being stuffy. We will certainly be here again on our next trip to the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

As always Aqua provides excellent food - the shrimp & grits small plate is especially notable. The service was good. There was a wine tasting of Fess Parker wines for $10 - a fair value but the wines were not particularly good. They were mostly from the lower tier of the winery's offereings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We try to dine at Aqua whenever we make a trip to Beaufort, our old home place. The food this trip was contemporary and very, very good. Shrimp and grits with a substitute for the tasso cream (a nod to my pescetarian wife) was excellent. The crab napoleon, with panko crusted pineapple and blue cheese cream sauce, was a real surprise, and we both loved it, especially since it was piled high with backfin crabmeat. The tomato tart and the crab cake, while very good, paled in comparison to the first two dishes mentioned above. Our waitress and the chef were very receptive to my wife's requests for substitutes for meat, and we had an excellent meal. We definitely plan to return on our next visit to Beaufort.

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great menu, great food, timely and gracious service. Knowing the venue, I could not ask for more. We'll go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Romantic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Aqua never disappoints. One of my favorite choices in Beaufort and I always bring family and friends to Aqua when they are in town. Perfect spot for lunch and drinks for the Beaufort Mardi Gras celebration!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Lovely as always. Definitely do recommend to all our friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Another fabulous Wine A Rama evening at Aqua! William Bell from Mutual Distributors selected 4 lovely, affordable wines which we would not have encountered elsewhere. Lindsey at the bar was sociable and quite personable, helpful in selecting from the large wine menu. Food came out quickly despite a packed dining room and every entree was just delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wish it had more tapas options, the desserts were huge.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always enjoy the food when we go to Aqua. Tomato Tart was very tasty as was the Roasted Corn chowder for appetizers. The deconstructed Caesar Salad was a little awkward to eat. Would have been tastier if the lettuce had been grilled. We both had the Petite Filet Mignon....very tender and delicious. Topped it off with the Creme Brulee.

The only downside to the whole experience is the noise. VERY NOISY. And I mean VERY. It also didn't help that there was what appeared to be two drunks at the bar that kept breaking out in song. Got so bad that another customer who had been seated in the bar area asked to be moved. Aqua either needs to close off that bar area or ask those who have had too much to drink to leave. Once they left, the noise level subsided a bit and we could have a normal volume conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Location, ambience, service, liked that they had small plate offerings, overall experience very good. I had the pan seared crab cake small plate and it was excellent. My wife had the vegetable augratin small plate and she did not care for it at all. She felt the sauce was overwhelmingly rich and carried all the flavor of the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was a getaway weekend surprise for my wife two days before her birthday. We chose Aqua for a Saturday night dinner as first timers and were not disappointed. The ambiance, service, décor, and food were excellent and we would definitely return.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love me some Aqua! One of the best restaurants in Beaufort NC . One always gets special attention from Kim, Lyndsey and All the staff. It's a real treasure to walk Middle Lane and have a reservation with Fun, Kind folks at Aqua.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the best restaurants we've been to.The service and food were great!!!! Just a great place to have dinner and enjoy the friendly crowd. The chef and staff do a great job

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our server attentive but not overbearing. She was knowledgeable about the dishes And helped hone our cravings for the meal. While the restaurant was busy, other staff assisted in clearing plates. The wine list was extensive and not overly pricey. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome experience with our server even though they were slammed! Really creative cocktail list & exceptionally great food menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Romantic, Historic, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

impeccable food and service in a lovely setting . the bartender is awesome!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Late-night Find, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing dinner with fantastic service! Lots of flavor in every dish.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My favorite spot in town! Love the people, the food and the atmosphere...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in the region. The menu offers something for everyone. I ordered the Crab and Pineapple Napoleon. A panko fried thick slice of pineapple piled high with thick chunks of crab. The blue cheese sauce made it a very unusual and very tasty dish. The plate is beautiful--looks like a rich dessert. So much crab that I could not quite finish it--would highly recommend. My friends had the Bento Box, the fresh catch, and the crab cakes and all were very happy.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My "go to " place for great food and a welcoming staff. Portion size is excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always make you feel special and welcoming. Local catch was fresh and delicious. Had a special wine that was a great value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great place to enjoy a meal. Always has fresh fish.Always cooked to perfection.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our favorite place in Beaufort! We always make it a point to have dinner while visiting the coast. The corn chowder with pork belly is phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service were excellent. They were also very accommodating as we had to add people to our reservation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.