About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: 2527287777x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
  • Cheddar Soup
  • Shrimp Scampi On Risotto
Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
Cheddar Soup
Shrimp Scampi On Risotto

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

fit for foodies (62)
special occasion (52)
notable wine list (41)
See All
neighborhood gem (41)
romantic (33)
great for outdoor dining (30)
hot spot (17)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Tapas, small plates and large plates. So ...

Dined 4 days ago

Tapas, small plates and large plates. Something for everyone. Ceasar Salad was big enough to share. Small plate Shrimp Carbonara was plenty of food with a salad.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We liked everything about Aqua except th ...

Dined 4 days ago

We liked everything about Aqua except the bar service which was bad bad bad. No excuse for this in such a nice restaurant the food was outstanding and our waitress was doing the best that she could

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1

Make reservation time for the beginning ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Make reservation time for the beginning of business hours. Otherwise, later in the evening the server may be overwhelmed creating very poor service, and it may take you 30 minutes to be served a drink from the bar. On another note, the food is excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone loved their food. Each plate w ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Everyone loved their food. Each plate was a work of art and was delicious!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food , everyone had the catch of t ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food , everyone had the catch of the day. Done perfectly. Unfortunately, the drinks were weak. Ordered a Manhattan and it came out looking like scotch and soda, Gin and tonic were similarly weak.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This made our third visit since February ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This made our third visit since February. Food is creative enough to make you think, with many good choices. Service makes it feel like they know you. It would be difficult to make a better choice!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My favorite restaurant for a romantic da ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

My favorite restaurant for a romantic date, great atmosphere and excellent food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Unique menu

Dined on May 28, 2016

The menu is unique for this area and the presentation is outstanding. After we enjoyed a delicious, hot bread with an olive oil and balsamic vinegar dip, the waitress brought 4 "pops" to clean the palate. She was very specific that they were to be "popped" in the mouth and consumed in one bite. I was the only one who did so and the blend of flavors was wonderful. Everyone cleaned his plate, even the picky eater. The view is not good, but all eyes were on the food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua by the Sea!

Dined on May 28, 2016

What we really liked was being able to reserve a space online. Very convenient! When we arrived we were greeted and the hostess found our reservation and were seated immediately. The food was delicious. It was the second time we've eaten there. It was a first for our friends. We were seated outside on the patio, bug free, as it was screened. Will definitely go back again, maybe this weekend, it's my birthday.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dining at Aqua.

Dined on May 28, 2016

As always , our experience was wonderful. Kim & staff have hospitality down to a genuine & heartfelt science. Lisa was so helpful & efficient.Food rocks. Wine list diverse. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great tapas and the menu selections, gre ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great tapas and the menu selections, great choices. They also have a $5 wine special each night and 33% off bottles which is great. Drawbacks- I reserved this 3 weeks ago and they tried to stick us at a table directly behind the hostess stand. I don't know why a table would even be located here. We were sent to the bar to wait 15 minutes for our table and meanwhile, the couple behind us in line was promptly seated at a nice spacious booth, what?! After finally being seated it took the waitress another 15 to even stop by and greet us. Good food, but poor service

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food. Small plates are just t ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Wonderful food. Small plates are just the right size for a smaller appetite.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently exceeds expectations!

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We own a home in Beaufort and frequent Aqua whenever we are in town. It's one of our top favorites. We're always impressed with the new dishes which are added seasonally and the staff are some of the best in the industry. We had the pleasure of having Sara as our server this past Friday evening & she is truly a delight & so very knowledgeable about the food/wine/drinks. We went with some of her recommendations and they were spot on! Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with friends. Great food and serv ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Dinner with friends. Great food and service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great on the cutting-edge rest ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This is a great on the cutting-edge restaurant for delicious, beautiful food. Located on a sidestreet with limited parking so arrive early and reservations highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Excellent Service

Dined on May 20, 2016

We had a great meal at Aqua for a date night while on vacation. Although they were out of the special and it did take awhile for them to inform my husband after he ordered it, the food was superb. The service was outstanding and Sara was so helpful with the menu. The wine discount on Friday nights is an added bonus! Highly recommend this restaurant if you're in Beaufort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and our server was very he ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great service and our server was very helpful with special diet and wine selection

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as usual, great food, wonderful tatooed ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

as usual, great food, wonderful tatooed bartender who hooked us on Salty Dogs and Cherry Bombs. we always want Sarah to take care of us, too. Keep it up! every meal here has been super good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Aqua is a little gem of a restaurant wit ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Aqua is a little gem of a restaurant with good marks all around. A couple of tapas and 2 small plates are perfect for two people. The value is good too, compared to the other upscale eateries in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Date-Night

Dined on May 13, 2016

From arrival to departure, our night was outstanding. Lisa (our server) expertly helped with menu questions, suggested an excellent vintage to go with our meal and just took care of us graciously and attentively. Kim (owner-manager) stopped at our table to ensure all was well more than once (as she seemed to do at every table.) The meal was presented very well, was the correct temperature and was portioned as I would expect. This was an anniversary date and when Lisa found out, our desert was comped, delivered with a candle and we were gifted two personal sized bottles of Prosecco for later. If I could give them six stars, I would.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative Menu & Very Nice Wine List

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a delightful dining experience at Aqua. My husband and I shared the Duck Confit appetizer, which was wonderful and then split the Italian bread salad. Neither of us has a huge appetite, so the servings were more than adequate. We decided to go with small plates for dinner. I had the Pineapple Crab Napolean. It sounded so intriguing that I had to try it, and I'm so glad I did. It was topped with pimiento cheese and a kiwi garniture -- what a fabulous flavor mix! My husband had a crab cake with white bean and tomato side -- very enjoyable. We would highly recommend Aqua!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was THE BEST culinary sensation I h ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This was THE BEST culinary sensation I have had in Beaufort in quite awhile... Also great art, music... Just fabulous! I will return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoy Aqua

Dined on May 7, 2016

We go here often for special occasions. It's great. The hospitality is outstanding and the food is excellent. The service is attentive, without being intrusive. Small and intimate. Inside and outside seating available.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was superb, our server Sarah was phenomenal and Kim was as gracious as always. Been there before and will be back again and again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, fair service

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed a number of meals at Aqua. Our latest visit started out fine. The food was good, but service became slow, which is to say, beyond leisurely. It was Saturday, but we arrived early, and a table or two were open the whole time we were there. Other tables turned over twice during our stay. This is not to say our server wasn't friendly, and when I complained about the time it took for our dessert to arrive, he immediately said it was on the house. The hostess also apologized. The good news is that Aqua wants to have happy customers and is ready to compensate for disappointments. But if you're a quiet couple there on a busy night, be ready to flag down your server to get the service you deserve.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Special Restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

You pay a bit more for creative cooking, fresher ingredients and wonderful wine. It's a great place to get a new dish to share and a couple shared deserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great

Dined on April 29, 2016

They were having an off night - the handoff: hostess to server didnt happen because the hostess was late. Our waiter made a good recovery by taking our table when we said after 15-20 min (and we had a 5:30 reservation) and bringing water etc but it was like we were never quite in the system . The excuse given by the hostess for not having their act together was a private party the night before - no excuse - ya gotta bring it every night! The grouper was grade B - we had eaten at Katherines Bistro on the island the night before and the grouper was exquisite! Aqua's was overcooked and not as fresh. No water view there - you have no view and parking much more of a hassle -... choice is easy... The shrimp and grits was over spiced - shrimp decently fresh. AND the irish coffee came with no whipped cream - really!! We are out - was the excuse - nope - inventory basics and when that fails - send someone to the grocery store - or to neighboring restaurant - an excellent irish coffee would have left a good taste in everyone s mouth - as it was mediocre meal for a high price! I had a great meal here in February. I was a single and got great service - but they double charged me for one item - I wont brng anyone back until you all figure out systems and get quality back! thanks - gsm

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chosen by our Granddaughter

Dined on April 27, 2016

We ate here one other time while in town and the family wanted to return. The manager and wait staff were superb. No better. Good food. Tapas great for sharing. Something for everyone. Wine offered for tasting before decision made on which glass to order. Enclosed outdoor dining super comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Beaufo ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Beaufort! As always their featured fish was perfectly cooked with a different fantastic flavor each time. We always order it and they never disappoint us!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, great vibe, awesome service! ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great Food, great vibe, awesome service!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aqua continues to amaze!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Have dined at Aqua many times over the years, and the restaurant has always been consistently enjoyable and good, with friendly staff, great drinks, a superb wine list, and enjoyable meals. Now, however, Chef Jason Foster keeps raising the bar, making some of the traditional items on the menu better and more flavorful, and bringing new items with amazing combinations of flavors. The tapas style allows plates that fit everyone's appetite, from small plates to great regular size dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food

Dined on April 2, 2016

Group of friends from Durham [foodies haven] celebrating birthdays at Aqua. The food was absolutely fabulous, [small plates: grilled petite filet, crab cake, seared tuna, shrimp and country ham pasta]. All were clear winners!! The poached pear flame' was excellent for dessert. The wine, Esprit de Grenache was perfect with all the dishes. Excellent value. Server was fun and atmosphere was vibrant, but not noisy. I highly recommend Aqua's...absolutely fabulous! Jason, I enjoyed speaking to you about the bouillabaisse, looking forward to coming back when it's on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hot Spot for foodies

Dined on April 1, 2016

A reservation is a must for this foodie heaven. Has a great wine list and special wine events. The menu is small but with special delightful surprises. It has a cool cosmopolitan ambiance and a great bar. If you come to Beaufort it's a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite spot in Beaufort

Dined on March 31, 2016

Friendliest staff, great wine list and lots of options for dining with the tapas and small plates!! We all had the triggerfish and it was awesome!!! We'll all be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getting better all the time (and it started great)

Dined on March 26, 2016

Kim was on vacation so Ami became the exquisite hostess/manager and did a beautiful job in both functions. Chef Jason provided a wonderful shrimp & grits appetizer and a superb triggerfish dish which was served by the ever friendly and personable Andreas. We love everyone who works there to provide a relaxing and wonderful evening experience. I doubt I have ever seen so many couples and friends enjoying themselves so much as I do at Aqua time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing, best lamb chops I have ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was amazing, best lamb chops I have ever eaten! Veggies Au Gratin was delicious as well. Awesome dining experience for our group!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marty

Dined on March 22, 2016

ItookmybestfriendtoAquaforher"special" birthdaycelebration, anditwasawesome. Firstofall, wearrivedearly, actuallyafewminutesbeforetheyopened, andtheygreeteduscourteously, allowingustocomeinandofferingaglassofwine ifwesodesired. There were questions on their wine menu, and our waitress was very thorough and knowledgeable . She was also courteous, professional and quite beautiful! ShetoldusabouttheChefsspecial, whichwetookherup on--trigger fishwithasparugus, artchokes, andmushrooms. Whilewaiting, wehadtheirhomemadeassorted bread, whichmeltedinyourmouth. Andthefoodwasfitforaking, orinourcase-- foodies. Finishingitoffwithahugecreme brulet, complete with Happy Birthday and a really big smile, weleftquitehappy!!! Youreallymustgo!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Aqua and we were so please ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

First time at Aqua and we were so pleased! Please let the chef know what a delight the food was in taste and presentation. We will be back and even my husband said , "Yep!"

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed it

Dined on March 12, 2016

They knew it was our anniversary and treated us wonderfully. Excellent care and concern. Wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best!

Dined on March 11, 2016

I always have a great time at Aqua! Wonderful food, amazing staff can't decide which is better! Perfect for a romantic date night or an evening out with friends for drinks and tapas. Would highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.