Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Aqua Restaurant

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (55)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Special Occasion (51)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Notable Wine List (47)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Local Ingredients (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Fun (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Tasting Menu (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Romantic (21)
Casual (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Authentic (18)
Cozy (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Healthy (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great Beer (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Spicy (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1129 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Favorite restaurant anywhere! We had Kelly as waitress. She was not new to Aqua, but had been away for a while and was back. Our first time with her and she is already like family! Had the trigger fish special, AMAZING!!!

Love our Aqua visits!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

Second visit. Food very good & fresh. Staff is super. Based on 2 visits there my recommendation is: dress very warmly (or request outside) - like long sleeves, pants, gloves! So cold both times that it made the dining experience less enjoyable - and I though I had dressed more warmly on the 2nd visit. Luckily, Hosts has fleece blankets for fibers!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Saw some old friends who had never eaten there, they loved it, went crazy over the creme brulee, quite happy but pretty noisy, special wine nite so big noisy crowd. We like it a lot but it's a half an hour away so we don't go too often. Bob Ross

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Aqua has lots of tapas and small plate options! All of picks were fantastic! The service was a little off due to the chef being on vacation and the restaurant was extremely busy! I would definitely go back again!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful food, service and nice touches made our dinner out for our anniversary extra special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

this restaurant is rated number 1 by trip advisor. we are not disappointed. would recommend without any qualifications.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We loved this restaurant!! Our server Rosa was exceptional!! We will frequent this place often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Although I have been to Aqua many times in the past, I thought I would try it again. The red drum small plate was fresh and succulent. We started with the Bento Box. Two of us got the salad and one got the shrimp and grits. All were good. We ended with the red drum and crab cake. Dessert was the creme brûlée and bananas foster. The service was attentive but not overly so. A great experience!

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Another great evening at Aqua. Never disappointed from the first touch walking in the door to the final bite of the dessert sampler. Just right all the time....thanks team Aqua!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I love this restaurant! The crab Napoleon is awesome. Catch of the day never disappoints. We never make it to dessert but I'm sure it's as good as the meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We went to Aqua for our wedding anniversary and loved it! Our waitress was fantastic in recommending dishes and the wine. Best service in a long time! The food was excellent and great variety of healthy choices. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We chose the small plate special: red drum with rice, zucchini, mushrooms,
and roasted tomatoes in a light cream sauce. It was one of the best meals I've ever eaten in a restaurant! Even though the restaurant was crowded, the host did his best to find us a table that was not too noisy. The manager came by to check on us within 5 minutes of our being seated. We've been to Aqua 3 times now, and we like it better each time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great place to celebrate my birthday tonight! Dinner was delicious as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

I love Aqua...I go there as much as possible, but especially love to go in the off season because it is less crowded and quite. The service is great and the food is delicious. My Favorite restaurant in Beaufort!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Aqua is Absolutely Wonderful! This is one of our very favorite places to eat and to celebrate special occasions. The menu is creative and the food is always delicious. Dishes feature local ingredients regardless of the season. The ambience is delightful and upbeat. The Wine list is extensive with Wine Tastings featured twice monthly as well as Wine Specials on Friday nights. Specialty Martini's are also a favorite. It is usually quite crowded, so reservations are highly recommended. I would not recommend this restaurant for small children.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 26, 2017

When we visit from out of state Aqua is always on our must do list of restaurants. It is a favorite of locals and it never disappoints. Food is always excellent. Menu is not huge which is a plus since items on menu are thoughtfully prepared. The grouper special was amazing. Thanks, Aqua, see you next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent food and service, as usual. Every course, from the appetizers to desert, was delicious. Much thought goes into the menu.

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 19, 2017

As always our dinner was fabulous! Wonderful staff, and nice setting. I highly recommend Aqua!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was the 2nd time we were at your restaurant and it was as good as the first.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 16, 2017

As usual, everything was terrific! We go to Aqua every chance we get.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great meal, excellent service and interesting wine list. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating. The menu has tapas, small plates and big plates so regardless of appetite there is something for everyone. They try to feature local foods and offered fresh trigger fish as their nightly special which was delicious. The tomato pie is a must on the tapas section. It's one of their noteworthy dishes. We also tried the tuna and the lamb which were cooked to perfection. Twice monthly they offer wine tastings on Tuesdays and those nights are very busy, cost is $10 for 4 wines. Other nights include drink specials and the night we were there, a Wednesday you could design your own flight of wines. We have the bartender pick 4 (1 oz.pours) for each of us based on what we ordered and the selections were fabulous. Of all the places we ate while visiting Beaufort this was the best. Too full to eat dessert so can't even comment on that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We own a B&B and send guests to Aqua daily! They are never disappointed by Chef Jayson's cuisine or the care and attention Kim gives them the moment they walk in the door! Lindsey is a phenomenal bar keep and is very attentive with ensuring patrons have a great time and a great drink in hand. Tuesday Night's twice a month are the Wine O Rama selections and it's an evening not to be missed... Thanks for ensuring the guests at the Inn on Turner always feel special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

I loved the Wine-O-rama. $10 to try 4 different wines...awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Outstanding as usual. Kim is a great hostess. Dan, our server was spot-on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was great.The food-the service-the lighting-we really enjoyed our dining experience.We were on vacation and when we come back-we will be back. Thank-you!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food and service. Love this place! We love the range of wines available by the glass -- even though we always end up ordering a bottle!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went here for a birthday dinner. Food and service were both great. Prices are a bit much. $21 for a 2x4 inch piece of mahi? Yes it is fresh and tasty but that's a ripoff. Same with the beef filet. Even smaller and $19.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Second time in 10 days driving all the way from Raleigh in. The Greatest restaurant experience for my wife and I is the comfort of home, the quality of fine dining all in a casual atmosphere. We always enjoy thinking about different things that go together well on their menu. This time we tried the roast chicken, zucchini cakes and a caprese salad. We shared that combination and it was more than enough food and truly amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Aqua.The foods delicious and the menu is very creative.
The Pineapple crab Napoleon was such an unexpected combination and very tasty and the Mahi-Mahi Mahi-Mahi with a Basil andKale pesto was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a tapas and 2 small plates followed by a dessert. All were delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurant's in the area. We have dined here often in our time in North Carolina. My husband is retiring so we will be leaving g the area soon. When we come come back to visit Aqua will be on our to do list!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Consistently excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2017

While we continue to return to Aqua for great food and service, this particular occasion was marked by the lack of a beer advertised on the menu, as well as a bottle of wine which was no longer in stock. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Aqua they will be our most favorite restaurant of all time. We like an atmosphere that feels like our own home. Aqua knocks it out of the park! So appreciate Kim, Lindsey, Dan and others whose names Skip my memory right now.

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Reesa was our delightful server and she was very helpful and knowledgeable. Our party of 4 was happy with each of our selections and my husband says the shrimp and grits were the best he's ever tasted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a delicious meal and our server was attentive and very friendly. Food is always good!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service, creative menu!
Kelly was great waitstaff!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Spicy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Aqua has very good food, nicely presented. Like most good restaurants out of of metropolitan areas, they clear dishes while others are eating but maybe most people want this but I feel like they want to turn the table over as quickly as possible
Excellent martini at 9$ each

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Let the Owner just be the Owner!
We have eaten here before and enjoyed outside and at the bar. This evening we had an early dinner reservation for four and were seated in the dining room by the lady owner with short hair and glasses. Our server was excellent in every way, attentive informative and pleasant - Resa W. The food was mostly good, but everything did not need to come on greens and with Edible flowers.
The gazpacho was spicy and tasty and the tomato tart - delicious - with good crust and gooey cheese. The zucchini cakes were good, but again too much greens and flowers. Two got the caprese which was tasty with watermelon. The crab cake was yummy and the lamb, presented nicely and the chicken wings decent.
The problem was that the owner was very anxious, clearing tables, actually messing up the one with a table cloth and just overall acting like a nervous nelly. It was not good for the mood in the restaurant and I'll admit, dropping a check on a table with dirty dishes is a pet peeve, so it ended on a less than professional note.
Hire a busser and let the owner just touch tables, prohibiting her customers from viewing her stress out just because they were busy - it was a Friday night after all...

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.