About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: (252) 728-7777

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for a Date (24)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Notable Wine List (21)
Tapas (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Romantic (12)
Casual (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Historic (6)
People Watching (5)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another fabulous Wine A Rama evening at ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 14 hours ago

Another fabulous Wine A Rama evening at Aqua! William Bell from Mutual Distributors selected 4 lovely, affordable wines which we would not have encountered elsewhere. Lindsey at the bar was sociable and quite personable, helpful in selecting from the large wine menu. Food came out quickly despite a packed dining room and every entree was just delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wish it had more tapas options, the dess ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Wish it had more tapas options, the desserts were huge.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy the food when we go to A ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always enjoy the food when we go to Aqua. Tomato Tart was very tasty as was the Roasted Corn chowder for appetizers. The deconstructed Caesar Salad was a little awkward to eat. Would have been tastier if the lettuce had been grilled. We both had the Petite Filet Mignon....very tender and delicious. Topped it off with the Creme Brulee.

The only downside to the whole experience is the noise. VERY NOISY. And I mean VERY. It also didn't help that there was what appeared to be two drunks at the bar that kept breaking out in song. Got so bad that another customer who had been seated in the bar area asked to be moved. Aqua either needs to close off that bar area or ask those who have had too much to drink to leave. Once they left, the noise level subsided a bit and we could have a normal volume conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Location, ambience, service, liked that ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Location, ambience, service, liked that they had small plate offerings, overall experience very good. I had the pan seared crab cake small plate and it was excellent. My wife had the vegetable augratin small plate and she did not care for it at all. She felt the sauce was overwhelmingly rich and carried all the flavor of the dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a getaway weekend surprise for ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was a getaway weekend surprise for my wife two days before her birthday. We chose Aqua for a Saturday night dinner as first timers and were not disappointed. The ambiance, service, décor, and food were excellent and we would definitely return.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love me some Aqua! One of the best resta ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Love me some Aqua! One of the best restaurants in Beaufort NC . One always gets special attention from Kim, Lyndsey and All the staff. It's a real treasure to walk Middle Lane and have a reservation with Fun, Kind folks at Aqua.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants we've been t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

One of the best restaurants we've been to.The service and food were great!!!! Just a great place to have dinner and enjoy the friendly crowd. The chef and staff do a great job

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Our food was delicious. Our server atten ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Our food was delicious. Our server attentive but not overbearing. She was knowledgeable about the dishes And helped hone our cravings for the meal. While the restaurant was busy, other staff assisted in clearing plates. The wine list was extensive and not overly pricey. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome experience with our server even ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome experience with our server even though they were slammed! Really creative cocktail list & exceptionally great food menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Tapas, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Romantic, Historic, Disabled Access, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

impeccable food and service in a lovely ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

impeccable food and service in a lovely setting . the bartender is awesome!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Late-night Find, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner with fantastic service! L ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing dinner with fantastic service! Lots of flavor in every dish.

Tags: , Modern Decor, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

My favorite spot in town! Love the peopl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My favorite spot in town! Love the people, the food and the atmosphere...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best restaurants in t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in the region. The menu offers something for everyone. I ordered the Crab and Pineapple Napoleon. A panko fried thick slice of pineapple piled high with thick chunks of crab. The blue cheese sauce made it a very unusual and very tasty dish. The plate is beautiful--looks like a rich dessert. So much crab that I could not quite finish it--would highly recommend. My friends had the Bento Box, the fresh catch, and the crab cakes and all were very happy.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My "go to " place for great food and a w ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 25, 2017

My "go to " place for great food and a welcoming staff. Portion size is excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always make you feel special and welcomi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always make you feel special and welcoming. Local catch was fresh and delicious. Had a special wine that was a great value.

Tags: , Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to enjoy a meal. Always has ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great place to enjoy a meal. Always has fresh fish.Always cooked to perfection.

Tags: Tapas, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Beaufort! We alway ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Our favorite place in Beaufort! We always make it a point to have dinner while visiting the coast. The corn chowder with pork belly is phenomenal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent. They we ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Food and service were excellent. They were also very accommodating as we had to add people to our reservation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely, a fantastic find, for us. O ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Absolutely, a fantastic find, for us. Our new favorite restaurant in Eastern NC. Has a flare of a city restaurant, with the pricing of North Carolina. The wait staff never stopped moving. If you had to wait, for a minute, it was because they tend to every detail, for every diner. The noise level would seem high, but it truly wasn't. We were able to have a great conversation, without leaning in or raising our voices. The food, well! All was fantastic. I recommend everyone try this fantastic gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is hands-down our favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Aqua is hands-down our favorite restaurant in the Eastern NC area. The food, service, and atmosphere are "big city" in nature (i.e. top notch) but the vibe is relaxed and welcoming. My absolute "go to" meal that is always on their rotating menu is the Petite Filet - the steak, mashed potatoes, reduction sauce, and truffle oil all come together in the most delicious meal you could enjoy! Aqua understands that quality is more important than quantity - you're not going to find some monster oversized plate of food that is just "ok" - instead, each meal is GREAT and leaves you feeling completely satisfied - especially since the prices are also very reasonable for what you get. Wine-O-Ramas every other Tuesday (with a few exceptions) should not be missed. Where else can you get four good-size sample pours for $10 for wine you can not find at the local grocery store?? Plus, you can buy the wine for insanely great prices! Kim, Lyndsey, and Chef Jayson make this place what it is - simply the best!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for NYE and loved it. Very ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came here for NYE and loved it. Very friendly hostess and waitress who helped us select wines and courses. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service, great food. Several p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous service, great food. Several people stopped to check on us thru the experience. Perfect choice for New Years Eve

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We understand that it was New Years Eve, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We understand that it was New Years Eve, but that is no excuse for poor service and under cooked food. Our server was very inexperianced and not friendly. It's unfortunate that our first visit to Aqua was also our last.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

OMG- it is hard to chose what to highlig ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

OMG- it is hard to chose what to highlight! The corn chowder is outstanding, and although not a steakhouse - the filet is outstanding! The salad was bigger than I remember- so if you want to save room for the really unique items then skip the salad is my advice. The special bread pudding was amazing too. It was a great New Years Eve celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a really special restaurant with ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a really special restaurant with a special menu. Every item is excellent, the presentation is elegant, and the service is superb! It is a 50 minute drive for us, and we rarely leave our neighborhood when we eat out.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant at the beach. Al ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at the beach. Always great food and service with quality wine selections. Try the tomato tart appetizer, fresh catch, and save room for desert! Worth the trip to Beaufort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great concept that has worked. But from ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great concept that has worked. But from an experienced palate perspective, let the star of a dish remain the star. Do not cover it with sweet sauces and mix too many ingredients that dilute rather than accentuate. Offer sauce on side.

Great location and outside dining on a small lane are hard to beat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall total experience very, very grea ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall total experience very, very great. Been before and will return. Food is always great. Very busy on the night the six of us went and yet the service didn't suffer. Employees, all hard working people. Chef and cooks seems to be behind, but the food was coming out of the fast and correctly prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delightful meal with friends over the ho ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delightful meal with friends over the holidays. Especially enjoyed the wine event - lovely wines, very reasonable prices, and we ended up with a great mixed case!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Wine-O-Rama. The distr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were there for Wine-O-Rama. The distributor Jessica Sabiton did a fantastic job of explaining the wines. The food was unique and tasty and our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aqua is always one of our go to places f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Aqua is always one of our go to places for a special meal and this time was no exception. Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as usual. Outstanding food and d ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Superb as usual. Outstanding food and drinks, and great service.

Tags: Tapas, , Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service, will retu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food, excellent service, will return and recommend others!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Tapas, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, , Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening at Aqua! Superb s ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Another great evening at Aqua! Superb service coupled with outstanding food. One of our favorite night spots in Beaufort to enjoy wine tasting. We will be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine list and service. I ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food, wine list and service. It was our first visit but we will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his birthday. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday. Everything was so delicious and artfully presented. We ordered several small plates to share - I like the fact that they offer smaller plates for a lower price, so you can sample several different things instead of committing to one huge dinner. It was a completely lovely experience. I highly recommend Aqua.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This Tuesday was Wine-O-Rama night offer ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This Tuesday was Wine-O-Rama night offering 4 tastings paired with dinner of French boutique wines with personal introductions to their characteristics given by Laure Levesque, the Queen of Wine, to each table. The tapas and small plates were absolutely delicious paired perfectly with the wines. Manager Kim and Cayla, our server, were very gracious and accommodating, which made us feel like family. Come to Aqua for a truly unique and enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic wine tasting. Food was wonderf ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic wine tasting. Food was wonderful. Impeccable hosting service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were recommended to come there by peo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were recommended to come there by people in Washington NC. We were very pleasantly surprised by the cuisine and atmosphere. Great value as well. Would recommend to anyone. On a negative note, my first option for supper was sold out but the alternative was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, , Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Crystal Coast, some restaurants c ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

On the Crystal Coast, some restaurants close after tourist season, some keep the same menu, and some get even more creative. Aqua is in the latter category. We have dined there a couple of times. When we went in mid November we went in mid November we found a creative menu and the restaurant filled with people enjoying themselves. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.