About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: 2527287777x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
  • Cheddar Soup
  • Shrimp Scampi On Risotto
Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter
Cheddar Soup
Shrimp Scampi On Risotto

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

Fit for Foodies (94)
Special Occasion (86)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
See All
Notable Wine List (70)
Romantic (55)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Hot Spot (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Arrived early for our reservation and we ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Arrived early for our reservation and we greeted by a delightful hostess who seated us immediately on the outdoor porch. Service was fun, knowledgeable and attentive. We started with perfect made-to-order martinis followed by an app, two small plates and a dessert. All perfectly prepared and tasty. Fantastic selections in all categories in broad price ranges. Will definitely return!

Tags: Fun, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to Aqua since it opened ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

I've been going to Aqua since it opened 13 years ago. It is popular with locals and visitors alike. The food is a notch above in terms of quality and sophistication for what you typically find on the Crystal Coast. This is a Big City restaurant in the Coolest Small Town in America. It's casual enough for guys to wear nice shorts and a polo shirt. The food is creative and tasty. For example, the crab Napoleon was out of this world. Who thought to put all that stuff together? It was dynamite! My date loved the mojito. I didn't have a drink, but know from past experience they have a great wine list, including by the glass. They do have a full bar and good bartenders. All in all, it's a great meal. Now, if they could just turn down the volume a bit as it is a bit loud when it is packed, and they are always packed during the summer season and on weekends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service with an amazing selection ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service with an amazing selection of food and beverages. Highly recommend the Creme Brule!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Has jumped to the top of our favorite re ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 4 days ago

Has jumped to the top of our favorite restaurant list! The staff was so incredibly helpful and friendly. For a wine/tapas place the bar really does cover all the bases. The beer selection was superb. We enjoy Sours - so does the bar manager - so the list is full of them. Many from craft and local breweries. The food was amazing. Served in courses as we did a variety of small plates. DO NOT SKIP DESSERT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come here each year when we visit the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

We come here each year when we visit the Crystal Coast. The food, service and vibe is always superb. Killer wine list. Thank you Open Table for this gem of a restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a busy weekend (Pirate Invasion W ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was a busy weekend (Pirate Invasion Weekend), and the small kitchen was slammed. A couple of rounds of amuse-bouches helped quell the hunger. But it was worth the wait. Excellent, inventive food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The fried pineapple (!) is the height of ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The fried pineapple (!) is the height of the epitome of awesomeness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best place to eat in Beaufor ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the best place to eat in Beaufort NC - tucked away on a quiet street (alley) one block behind front street. Always something new and delicious. Fresh local fish, Great bar selection. Their signature Caesar Salad is always a favorite, Too many good things to list. Never had a bad meal! Try it you won't be sorry.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food! Small and intimate but s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent food! Small and intimate but still a good place for a family with children. Again, the food was amazing! Martinis: superb! We had app, small plates, salad and dessert. All were top notch for flavor, complexity, freshness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lovely food, delicious and well presente ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lovely food, delicious and well presented. The different size options for plates are a welcome feature. We each had something different, and we were all happy: corn chowder, shrimp and grits, a Caesar salad, grouper, and a crab, cheese, and pineapple creation (especially yummy). Oh, yes, and a filet, with a shared s'mores sundae for dessert. Excellent choice of beers, wine, and cocktails. The surrounding Beaufort charm adds to the pleasure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was really hot inside, which made it ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

It was really hot inside, which made it hard to enjoy the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Our favorite neighborhood hangout with f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our favorite neighborhood hangout with friends. Awesome food, even more awesome people.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is THE restaurant to visit while in ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This is THE restaurant to visit while in Beaufort. Tucked back on Middle Lane - it makes the other restaurants on Front Street pale in comparison. Reservations - especially on the weekend - are highly recommended.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding meal! The food, service and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Outstanding meal! The food, service and ambience were all great. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Beaufort and worth the dri ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great find in Beaufort and worth the drive from Emerald Isle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Get there early. The fish special sells ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Get there early. The fish special sells out by 9; but the other menu items are so well prepared you will have no problem finding something special.

Waitress was knowledgeable, attentive and fun.

Highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Excellent food and service. Waitstaff w ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food and service. Waitstaff was great and gave us good recommendations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

service was outstanding; main course was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

service was outstanding; main course was special, composition was complex, taste , appearance etc. could not have had a better meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our party of 9 celebrated a birthday. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our party of 9 celebrated a birthday. We had delicious food and pleasant service. Our waitress kindly warned us -- select dishes were very large, including amazing deserts -- def worth sharing! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was easy to choose to dine at Aqua on ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It was easy to choose to dine at Aqua on the evening of 7/27/16, even though it is a one hour drive for us. Open Table made for an easy reservation process for a special occasion on this Wednesday evening.

The food was presented well and delicious. The servings were just right. The service was just right. The casual atmosphere was comfortable inside, as it was when outdoors on previous visits. While we are leaving, we are already talking about going back again soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent - gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food and service was excellent - great wine list. Great atmosphere, very upbeat ! We have been coming here for years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Beaufort! The Pin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Our favorite place in Beaufort! The Pineapple Crab Napolean is out of this world! Tasty cocktails too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent - best food I ever ate (small ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Excellent - best food I ever ate (small hyperbole, but not much)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

There isn't a bad or even negative thing ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

There isn't a bad or even negative thing I can say about Aqua. Everything was perfect. Will definitely be going back there next time we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wasn't very impressed with the dishes ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I wasn't very impressed with the dishes that I ordered. I am not sure if I just ordered the wrong thing, but they were not good for the price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I along with my wife, brother and sister ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I along with my wife, brother and sister in law ate there twice this past week. It was absolutely AMAZING! The atmosphere provided a much needed quiet dinner. Our server on both occasions RESA was excellent. She was warm, friendly, knowledgeable and made our experience very enjoyable. The food prepared by Chef Jayson was OMG delicious! I felt like I was at a 5 star restaurant and enjoyed every course that we were served. The shrimp and country ham pasta was so good and my wife enjoyed the crab and pineapple napoleon! She's from Mobile and knows her seafood!!! The creme brulee and bananas foster capped our evening off perfectly. We will find our way back there on our next trip to Beaufort!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious interesting food / fresh compl ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Delicious interesting food / fresh complex

Great service good value enjoyed the small plate options

Deep wine list

Looking forward to our next dining experience in Beaufort-we tried a different restaurant each night - Aqua was #1

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Aqua for special occasions, e.g ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We go to Aqua for special occasions, e.g., anniversaries, birthdays, etc. It has never disappointed. We always enjoy the food. The service is stellar -- friendly and readily available without being cloying.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great experience from the very beginning ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experience from the very beginning. We were treated like Princesses for my Sister's Bachelorette party. The Manager Kim was very king and our server Reesa was fantastic. I will definitely be back and will recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Aqua on Jul ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Aqua on July 16. The food was outstanding and the service was great. We had the white bean dip and tomato tart for appetizers - delicious! Then we had the Crab and Pineapple Napoleon and the Cast Iron Seared Crab Cake for dinner - both were fabulous! We would highly recommend Aqua to anyone looking for a great meal in Beaufort.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The dinner we had was fantastic. I have ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The dinner we had was fantastic. I have celiac disease and was pleased with the great gluten-free options on the menu. This was one of the best meals we had in Beaufort. We will definitely return.

Service was outstanding. I'm so impressed with the composure of each dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua never fails to impress. The food w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Aqua never fails to impress. The food was delicious, our waitress, Reesa, was top notch, the drinks were perfectly poured and overall our dinner was a truly delightful experience. Added to that, it is such a wonderful value that we can't help but come back time and time again. Aqua is a true gem in the heart of Beaufort; a not-to-be-missed experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wait staff. Food was wonderful. W ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great wait staff. Food was wonderful. Wine list was not great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

really good food. from start to finish. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

really good food. from start to finish. the only disappointment was when we got there, having made our reservation on open table, the hostess tried to seat us at a bar table (high top) with the a.c. blowing down on us. she acted like she did not know there was a table in the dining room in plain sight. maybe she didn't see it. but it made us feel like she was attempting to save it for someone more important. well we asked and got the table. dinner was fabulous. I will go back but will specify next time i make a reservation that i want inside, in the DR, not the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unique experience and a really enjo ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very unique experience and a really enjoyable find in Beaufort. Will definitely go back next time I am at the coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun, local with an interesting menu an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A fun, local with an interesting menu and a very good wine selection. We had great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outdoor Eating, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

our new favorite restaurant! outstanding ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

our new favorite restaurant!

outstanding food!

would recommend this to anyone visiting or in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is always wonderful. Superb food, w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Aqua is always wonderful. Superb food, wonderful wine list and excellent service. We only wish you were closer to New Bern!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I would love to know how Aqua was, unfor ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I would love to know how Aqua was, unfortunately, we stood at the hostess stand, along with two other parties, for 15 minutes and no one ever came to greet us. We all had reservations. We were apprehensive to stay and eat after waiting so long just to be greeted, so we left.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Could not have been better for my best f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Could not have been better for my best friend and me. Our server, Emily, was outstanding; very helpful with recommendations and answering our questions. Italian Bread Salad and snapper special were delicious and creative. Looking forward to returning very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.