About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: 2527287777x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
  • Cheddar Soup - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
  • Shrimp Scampi On Risotto - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
Cheddar Soup - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
Shrimp Scampi On Risotto - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
6 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

Creative Cuisine (40)
Special Occasion (39)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Tapas (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Local Ingredients (26)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Modern Decor (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fun (18)
Casual (16)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Business Meals (9)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (5)
Historic (5)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Spicy (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another great evening at Aqua! Superb s ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Another great evening at Aqua! Superb service coupled with outstanding food. One of our favorite night spots in Beaufort to enjoy wine tasting. We will be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine list and service. I ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food, wine list and service. It was our first visit but we will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his birthday. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday. Everything was so delicious and artfully presented. We ordered several small plates to share - I like the fact that they offer smaller plates for a lower price, so you can sample several different things instead of committing to one huge dinner. It was a completely lovely experience. I highly recommend Aqua.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This Tuesday was Wine-O-Rama night offer ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This Tuesday was Wine-O-Rama night offering 4 tastings paired with dinner of French boutique wines with personal introductions to their characteristics given by Laure Levesque, the Queen of Wine, to each table. The tapas and small plates were absolutely delicious paired perfectly with the wines. Manager Kim and Cayla, our server, were very gracious and accommodating, which made us feel like family. Come to Aqua for a truly unique and enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic wine tasting. Food was wonderf ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic wine tasting. Food was wonderful. Impeccable hosting service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were recommended to come there by peo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were recommended to come there by people in Washington NC. We were very pleasantly surprised by the cuisine and atmosphere. Great value as well. Would recommend to anyone. On a negative note, my first option for supper was sold out but the alternative was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Crystal Coast, some restaurants c ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

On the Crystal Coast, some restaurants close after tourist season, some keep the same menu, and some get even more creative. Aqua is in the latter category. We have dined there a couple of times. When we went in mid November we went in mid November we found a creative menu and the restaurant filled with people enjoying themselves. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Aqua every time we come to the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We go to Aqua every time we come to the beach. It is consistently great. Food, wine, and atmosphere is great and they always have a great fresh catch dish. Worth the visit for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice idea of sharing plates Had specia ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice idea of sharing plates Had special martinis a bit weak. Service was very good. Atmosphere good for area. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Aqua ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Aqua in the outdoor seating area. All the food was well prepared with nuanced and creative sauces and pairings. One of our group had the pork chops and raved that it was the best he has ever had. The server was attentive and professional. Aqua is an hour drive for us but well worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine and meet neigh ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine and meet neighborhood friends in a festive atmosphere and creative cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate outdoors with friends. Server was re ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Ate outdoors with friends. Server was really great; enhanced our enjoyment. Food is always excellent, and my wife (who is mandatory gluten-free with celiac disease) has many wonderful choices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We Love Aqua! The dishes are always deli ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We Love Aqua! The dishes are always delicious and delectable. All the selections on the daily fares and menu are intriguing and delightfully seasonal. The waite staff are very friendly and accommodating. They work so hard! Our dishes were a little late getting to us, probably because of the simultaneous wave of all the orders. But, we sat outside on the veranda and enjoyed the cool night air and our wine. BTW, on Fridays All the bottles are 30% off! Definitely will repeat visiting here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

SUPERB food and service.. as always ! Ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

SUPERB food and service.. as always ! Our favourite restaurant in Beaufort..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just all around excellent. Lovely space. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Just all around excellent. Lovely space. Service to match. I don't normally care about discounts but the night we went, bottles of wine were 33% off, which basically made them retail, so I got a bottle of Caymus Cab Sav for the table, which was perfectly pre-chilled and decanted at the table. Wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is consistently a great place for a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Aqua is consistently a great place for a nice meal away from home. The food is exceptional, as is the service. They also have a full bar with a good wine selection.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant just keeps getting bette ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better. While there are a number of good dining choices in Beaufort NC, this one always gets our top vote. The summer patio is charming, even if it's not on the water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the happening place in Beaufort. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This is the happening place in Beaufort. It is busy and friendly every night. The food is creative and delicious, service friendly and engaging. Great for every occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Was recommended to us. Small plate dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Was recommended to us. Small plate dinners. Both very good. When we walked around after dinner, Aqua had been crowded, other restaurants close by, not so much. Saturday evening in late October.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food & service! Our waitress w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent food & service! Our waitress was extremely pleasant & fun. She was informative of the various preparations. A definite must try! And we are foodies!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience; very enjoyable ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great dining experience; very enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been there for 7 or 8 years since ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Hadn't been there for 7 or 8 years since the last time was not good. This time, the service was better but the server was new and a bit slow. The food was better than what I remembered from the last time we ate there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Aqua always hits a home run. Great food, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Aqua always hits a home run. Great food, great vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another great experience at Aqua. Our fr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Another great experience at Aqua. Our friend that were visiting in Beaufort loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Aqua was recommended by a friend. I was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Aqua was recommended by a friend. I was looking to find a place to celebrate our 15 year anniversary. I have been to Beaufort many times and was looking to try something different to eat. My wife and I were so impressed by the wait staff. Because of hurricane Matthew, some of their waiters were unable to make it to work. The hostess ended up being our server. I had made a note about the anniversary and we were treated so kindly. They brought us out some "off the menu tapas" that that chief was experimenting with and we were sent home with 2 bottles of sparkling wine as a thank you for eating with them on our anniversary. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Lovely dinner out on the back porch area ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Lovely dinner out on the back porch area - nice lighting and 70's music (not too loud) which was great for my sister who was celebrating her birthday- she got special treatment, even a little gift of wine!

Everyone's food was freshly prepared and they accommodate GF customers, yea! Although menu was somewhat limited, every thing was delicious and reasonably priced compared to some in the area. Reesa our waitress was excellent, very knowledgeable and accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always delicious and our service ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food is always delicious and our service was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food selections and great be ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always good food selections and great beverages as well.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to this little gem! Sat ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our first visit to this little gem! Sat outside on screened porch. Great food, service ( some gluten free knowledge). Only complaint was that there is a bar next door and they were rowdy for part of our visit. Would return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We go to Aqua frequently.... always exce ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We go to Aqua frequently.... always excellent, food, service, wine

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our oldest son's birthday, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We celebrated our oldest son's birthday, which included his 4-year old son at Aqua and we had a very nice time. Our waitress was new but so attentive and knowledgeable. We ordered several different items, some we wanted to try, others recommended by the waitress, and although we enjoyed some more than others, the meal overall was outstanding! There was another large party (twice the size of our party of 6) going on at the same time and the kitchen didn't miss a beat! We look forward to celebrating at Aqua again...this time maybe just because its Tuesday.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, great presentation, worth the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good food, great presentation, worth the trip (you can believe the reviews!). Noise level was boisterous. Overall, a very enjoyable experience. Reserve early.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Healthy, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food, service, wine and atmosphere all ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food, service, wine and atmosphere all were perfect! Will definitely be on our short list of great restaurants in the area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Aqua several times this ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We have been to Aqua several times this summer. Every meal has been fantastic. A larger menu would be nice but everything we have ordered has been excellent. Friendly wait staff is another plus.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not happy with food or service. Corn cho ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Not happy with food or service. Corn chowder good. No fish of the day. No fresh fish. Requested soda water three times. New waitress. New menu. Confusing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was fantastic at Aqua, full of ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The food was fantastic at Aqua, full of flavor and portioned just right.

The only small complaint I would have is that the outdoor area is in the path of the outdoor smoking area so you will have smoke wafting over from time to time (which is why we decided to move inside).

The staff are friendly and really want you to have a great experience and we did. Thanks Aqua, we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner at Aqua was the standout food exp ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Dinner at Aqua was the standout food experience of our 3-day stay in the Atlantic Beach/Beaufort area- excellent service, nice ambiance (we were seated on the screened porch), and creative, beautiful dishes. Two "small plates" (they're not that small), shared appetizer and salad, and a glass of wine from an impressive and approachable list were perfect for two. Our server rightly encouraged us to hold off on ordering a third small plate to share. Each dish was flavorful and complex. We're now searching for recipes to try to recreate the tomato tart appetizer, and the signature salad takes caesar to new heights. The local catch that night- a generous piece of grilled, glazed grouper over wild rice (another dish I'll be trying to recreate at home)- was amazing, and my guy rates the grilled petite filet as the best filet he's ever had. The accompanying mashed Yukon golds with parmesan (or was it gouda?) literally melt in your mouth. You can easily spend the same money on a mediocre meal at one of the more gimmicky restaurants in the area. (We did.) Next time we'll just make a point of visiting Aqua more than once. We made 8:00 reservations on a Tuesday night, mid-September. There were plenty of other diners, but the place was not overcrowded.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tapas, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in North Car ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 20, 2016

One of the best restaurants in North Carolina... We will eat there every time we are in the area

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word, Outstanding! Tapas and small ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

In a word, Outstanding! Tapas and small plates allow for lots of sampling. All of their wines are available by the glass or in 1 oz samples. Great way to taste a $300 bottle of wine for about $10!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Tapas, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary at Aqua an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Aqua and could not have selected a better place! From the moment we arrived, we were welcomed by each staff member we came in contact with. The menu options were varied and reflected the chef's attention to taking a "known commodity" and putting his own twist on it. I chose the Caesar Salad, one of my favorites, and loved the presentation and ability to add a special side (my choice - the crab cake). My husband chose the shrimp and country ham pasta - which he said had a great balance of salty and creamy tastes (I know that there wasn't a morsel left). He enjoyed their signature creme brulee for dessert, and I had the S'mores tart - Yum to both! Highly recommend Aqua as a special-occasion restaurant AND for a middle-of-the-week treat to yourself.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Tapas, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.