About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: 2527287777x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
8 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Beaufort / Morehead City
Best Restaurants in Beaufort / Morehead City ›

fit for foodies (59)
special occasion (51)
notable wine list (40)
See All
neighborhood gem (39)
romantic (35)
great for outdoor dining (21)
hot spot (15)
good for groups (10)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with friends. Great food and serv ...

Dined 5 days ago

Dinner with friends. Great food and service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a great on the cutting-edge rest ...

Dined 5 days ago

This is a great on the cutting-edge restaurant for delicious, beautiful food. Located on a sidestreet with limited parking so arrive early and reservations highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Excellent Service

Dined 6 days ago

We had a great meal at Aqua for a date night while on vacation. Although they were out of the special and it did take awhile for them to inform my husband after he ordered it, the food was superb. The service was outstanding and Sara was so helpful with the menu. The wine discount on Friday nights is an added bonus! Highly recommend this restaurant if you're in Beaufort.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and our server was very he ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great service and our server was very helpful with special diet and wine selection

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

as usual, great food, wonderful tatooed ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

as usual, great food, wonderful tatooed bartender who hooked us on Salty Dogs and Cherry Bombs. we always want Sarah to take care of us, too. Keep it up! every meal here has been super good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Aqua is a little gem of a restaurant wit ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Aqua is a little gem of a restaurant with good marks all around. A couple of tapas and 2 small plates are perfect for two people. The value is good too, compared to the other upscale eateries in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Date-Night

Dined on May 13, 2016

From arrival to departure, our night was outstanding. Lisa (our server) expertly helped with menu questions, suggested an excellent vintage to go with our meal and just took care of us graciously and attentively. Kim (owner-manager) stopped at our table to ensure all was well more than once (as she seemed to do at every table.) The meal was presented very well, was the correct temperature and was portioned as I would expect. This was an anniversary date and when Lisa found out, our desert was comped, delivered with a candle and we were gifted two personal sized bottles of Prosecco for later. If I could give them six stars, I would.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative Menu & Very Nice Wine List

Dined on May 11, 2016

We had a delightful dining experience at Aqua. My husband and I shared the Duck Confit appetizer, which was wonderful and then split the Italian bread salad. Neither of us has a huge appetite, so the servings were more than adequate. We decided to go with small plates for dinner. I had the Pineapple Crab Napolean. It sounded so intriguing that I had to try it, and I'm so glad I did. It was topped with pimiento cheese and a kiwi garniture -- what a fabulous flavor mix! My husband had a crab cake with white bean and tomato side -- very enjoyable. We would highly recommend Aqua!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This was THE BEST culinary sensation I h ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

This was THE BEST culinary sensation I have had in Beaufort in quite awhile... Also great art, music... Just fabulous! I will return.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoy Aqua

Dined on May 7, 2016

We go here often for special occasions. It's great. The hospitality is outstanding and the food is excellent. The service is attentive, without being intrusive. Small and intimate. Inside and outside seating available.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an Experience

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was superb, our server Sarah was phenomenal and Kim was as gracious as always. Been there before and will be back again and again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, fair service

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I have enjoyed a number of meals at Aqua. Our latest visit started out fine. The food was good, but service became slow, which is to say, beyond leisurely. It was Saturday, but we arrived early, and a table or two were open the whole time we were there. Other tables turned over twice during our stay. This is not to say our server wasn't friendly, and when I complained about the time it took for our dessert to arrive, he immediately said it was on the house. The hostess also apologized. The good news is that Aqua wants to have happy customers and is ready to compensate for disappointments. But if you're a quiet couple there on a busy night, be ready to flag down your server to get the service you deserve.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Special Restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

You pay a bit more for creative cooking, fresher ingredients and wonderful wine. It's a great place to get a new dish to share and a couple shared deserts.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good but not great

Dined on April 29, 2016

They were having an off night - the handoff: hostess to server didnt happen because the hostess was late. Our waiter made a good recovery by taking our table when we said after 15-20 min (and we had a 5:30 reservation) and bringing water etc but it was like we were never quite in the system . The excuse given by the hostess for not having their act together was a private party the night before - no excuse - ya gotta bring it every night! The grouper was grade B - we had eaten at Katherines Bistro on the island the night before and the grouper was exquisite! Aqua's was overcooked and not as fresh. No water view there - you have no view and parking much more of a hassle -... choice is easy... The shrimp and grits was over spiced - shrimp decently fresh. AND the irish coffee came with no whipped cream - really!! We are out - was the excuse - nope - inventory basics and when that fails - send someone to the grocery store - or to neighboring restaurant - an excellent irish coffee would have left a good taste in everyone s mouth - as it was mediocre meal for a high price! I had a great meal here in February. I was a single and got great service - but they double charged me for one item - I wont brng anyone back until you all figure out systems and get quality back! thanks - gsm

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chosen by our Granddaughter

Dined on April 27, 2016

We ate here one other time while in town and the family wanted to return. The manager and wait staff were superb. No better. Good food. Tapas great for sharing. Something for everyone. Wine offered for tasting before decision made on which glass to order. Enclosed outdoor dining super comfortable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Beaufo ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in Beaufort! As always their featured fish was perfectly cooked with a different fantastic flavor each time. We always order it and they never disappoint us!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Aqua continues to amaze!

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Have dined at Aqua many times over the years, and the restaurant has always been consistently enjoyable and good, with friendly staff, great drinks, a superb wine list, and enjoyable meals. Now, however, Chef Jason Foster keeps raising the bar, making some of the traditional items on the menu better and more flavorful, and bringing new items with amazing combinations of flavors. The tapas style allows plates that fit everyone's appetite, from small plates to great regular size dinners.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Food

Dined on April 2, 2016

Group of friends from Durham [foodies haven] celebrating birthdays at Aqua. The food was absolutely fabulous, [small plates: grilled petite filet, crab cake, seared tuna, shrimp and country ham pasta]. All were clear winners!! The poached pear flame' was excellent for dessert. The wine, Esprit de Grenache was perfect with all the dishes. Excellent value. Server was fun and atmosphere was vibrant, but not noisy. I highly recommend Aqua's...absolutely fabulous! Jason, I enjoyed speaking to you about the bouillabaisse, looking forward to coming back when it's on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hot Spot for foodies

Dined on April 1, 2016

A reservation is a must for this foodie heaven. Has a great wine list and special wine events. The menu is small but with special delightful surprises. It has a cool cosmopolitan ambiance and a great bar. If you come to Beaufort it's a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite spot in Beaufort

Dined on March 31, 2016

Friendliest staff, great wine list and lots of options for dining with the tapas and small plates!! We all had the triggerfish and it was awesome!!! We'll all be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Getting better all the time (and it started great)

Dined on March 26, 2016

Kim was on vacation so Ami became the exquisite hostess/manager and did a beautiful job in both functions. Chef Jason provided a wonderful shrimp & grits appetizer and a superb triggerfish dish which was served by the ever friendly and personable Andreas. We love everyone who works there to provide a relaxing and wonderful evening experience. I doubt I have ever seen so many couples and friends enjoying themselves so much as I do at Aqua time and time again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was amazing, best lamb chops I have ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was amazing, best lamb chops I have ever eaten! Veggies Au Gratin was delicious as well. Awesome dining experience for our group!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marty

Dined on March 22, 2016

ItookmybestfriendtoAquaforher"special" birthdaycelebration, anditwasawesome. Firstofall, wearrivedearly, actuallyafewminutesbeforetheyopened, andtheygreeteduscourteously, allowingustocomeinandofferingaglassofwine ifwesodesired. There were questions on their wine menu, and our waitress was very thorough and knowledgeable . She was also courteous, professional and quite beautiful! ShetoldusabouttheChefsspecial, whichwetookherup on--trigger fishwithasparugus, artchokes, andmushrooms. Whilewaiting, wehadtheirhomemadeassorted bread, whichmeltedinyourmouth. Andthefoodwasfitforaking, orinourcase-- foodies. Finishingitoffwithahugecreme brulet, complete with Happy Birthday and a really big smile, weleftquitehappy!!! Youreallymustgo!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Aqua and we were so please ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

First time at Aqua and we were so pleased! Please let the chef know what a delight the food was in taste and presentation. We will be back and even my husband said , "Yep!"

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed it

Dined on March 12, 2016

They knew it was our anniversary and treated us wonderfully. Excellent care and concern. Wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Best!

Dined on March 11, 2016

I always have a great time at Aqua! Wonderful food, amazing staff can't decide which is better! Perfect for a romantic date night or an evening out with friends for drinks and tapas. Would highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Packed with locals and I can see why

Dined on March 5, 2016

We decided on Aqua's on the spur of the moment, but did call for a reservation about an hour ahead. We needed it! The place was packed, and this was in February, which is not tourist season! The food was all fantastic, and the wait staff very attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect place for tapas and small plated.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Have walked by Aquas many times and always saw a crowd. Some friends have mentioned it to us and finally after 13 years tried it. Far exceeded expectations. The oysters Rockefeller while different than some I have had were the best. Service wonderful, knowledgable staff, good wine list as well as a selection of bourbon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Aqua!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Everything about this restaurant is great: interesting food, friendly service, and appropriate pricing. Especially enjoyed that the entire wine list is available to create your own tasting flight with 1 oz. pours!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food gets better each time we go! Service is great and staff is always so friendly and helpful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time for us at Aqua...

Dined on February 26, 2016

...and we were very pleased with the food and atmosphere. Sarah our server was so sweet...the place was packed with people waiting and we did not feel rushed or hurried, Sarah took great care of us!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinning experience!

Dined on February 23, 2016

This is the third or fourth time we dinned at Aqua for their Wine-O-Rama. Another great meal with outstanding service (by Katherine). Love the food portion size. Highly recommend attending a Wine event...you'll return often like we do. Enjoy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly and engaging service. Food sel ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Friendly and engaging service. Food selections unique and vibrant to taste. Great time, wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

This was my 3rd time at Aqua. First two ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was my 3rd time at Aqua. First two dinners were more enjoyable. This was a Valentine Dinner. While I like a fun atmosphere, it was so loud you couldn't hear the person across the table. There was a table of about 18 people having a very loud birthday dinner right behind us. I love a good time, but it was so loud there were several tables put off by the group.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Valentine winner

Dined on February 14, 2016

Usually a restaurant on Valentines Day is hectic, has a sub standard Prix fix food menu and lousy service, but that was NOT the case with my first visit to Aqua. Although there was a very energetic table of 14 sitting behind us, our server was prompt, very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. The food was outstanding from beginning to end and we plan on making Aqua our Valentines Day go to for years to come.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We have many wonderful meals at Aqua

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have had many wonderful meals at Aqua, but not tonight. The food was just not up to par. Way over priced for the value. Service was good as always.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

I had the small plate filet with smashed ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

I had the small plate filet with smashed potatoes. The beef was perfect but the potatoes could have used some garlic. My wine was a perfect accompaniment, a California Zinfandel. Dessert was a huge crem brûlée for two, very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on February 6, 2016

If you like lamb chops, don't miss these! Friday night all bottles of wine are 1/3 off. Wonderful wine list as well. Many locals eat here as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Birthday Celebration

Dined on February 6, 2016

We visited Aqua to celebrate a friend's 60th birthday. We were glad we made a reservation. It was a winter Friday night and the restaurant was full. The service was outstanding. Sara took much time to describe the dishes and they did not disappoint. We ordered a number of small plates to share and everything was beautifully presented and delicious. The creme brule was served in a shallow casserole so that the surface area of crunchy top was huge! It was a wonderful festive experience. We are from out of state but if we make it back to Beaufort, Aqua will be on our list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on February 4, 2016

This was our third time dining at Aqua. Again it was a great dining experience. Looking forward to the next time when visiting the Beaufort area. Thank you, The Happy Diners

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.