About Aqua Restaurant

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: 2527287777x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
  • Cheddar Soup - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
  • Shrimp Scampi On Risotto - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC

Report a photo problem

Duck Ravioli, Braised Short Rib Bruschetta, And Cranberry Chèvre Fritter - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
Cheddar Soup - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC
Shrimp Scampi On Risotto - Aqua Restaurant, Beaufort, NC

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (30)
Special Occasion (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Tapas (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Modern Decor (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Authentic (7)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
955 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service were excellent. They we ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were excellent. They were also very accommodating as we had to add people to our reservation.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely, a fantastic find, for us. O ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely, a fantastic find, for us. Our new favorite restaurant in Eastern NC. Has a flare of a city restaurant, with the pricing of North Carolina. The wait staff never stopped moving. If you had to wait, for a minute, it was because they tend to every detail, for every diner. The noise level would seem high, but it truly wasn't. We were able to have a great conversation, without leaning in or raising our voices. The food, well! All was fantastic. I recommend everyone try this fantastic gem!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is hands-down our favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Aqua is hands-down our favorite restaurant in the Eastern NC area. The food, service, and atmosphere are "big city" in nature (i.e. top notch) but the vibe is relaxed and welcoming. My absolute "go to" meal that is always on their rotating menu is the Petite Filet - the steak, mashed potatoes, reduction sauce, and truffle oil all come together in the most delicious meal you could enjoy! Aqua understands that quality is more important than quantity - you're not going to find some monster oversized plate of food that is just "ok" - instead, each meal is GREAT and leaves you feeling completely satisfied - especially since the prices are also very reasonable for what you get. Wine-O-Ramas every other Tuesday (with a few exceptions) should not be missed. Where else can you get four good-size sample pours for $10 for wine you can not find at the local grocery store?? Plus, you can buy the wine for insanely great prices! Kim, Lyndsey, and Chef Jayson make this place what it is - simply the best!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for NYE and loved it. Very ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We came here for NYE and loved it. Very friendly hostess and waitress who helped us select wines and courses. Highly recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous service, great food. Several p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fabulous service, great food. Several people stopped to check on us thru the experience. Perfect choice for New Years Eve

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We understand that it was New Years Eve, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We understand that it was New Years Eve, but that is no excuse for poor service and under cooked food. Our server was very inexperianced and not friendly. It's unfortunate that our first visit to Aqua was also our last.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

OMG- it is hard to chose what to highlig ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

OMG- it is hard to chose what to highlight! The corn chowder is outstanding, and although not a steakhouse - the filet is outstanding! The salad was bigger than I remember- so if you want to save room for the really unique items then skip the salad is my advice. The special bread pudding was amazing too. It was a great New Years Eve celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant at the beach. Al ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our favorite restaurant at the beach. Always great food and service with quality wine selections. Try the tomato tart appetizer, fresh catch, and save room for desert! Worth the trip to Beaufort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a really special restaurant with ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is a really special restaurant with a special menu. Every item is excellent, the presentation is elegant, and the service is superb! It is a 50 minute drive for us, and we rarely leave our neighborhood when we eat out.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great concept that has worked. But from ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great concept that has worked. But from an experienced palate perspective, let the star of a dish remain the star. Do not cover it with sweet sauces and mix too many ingredients that dilute rather than accentuate. Offer sauce on side.

Great location and outside dining on a small lane are hard to beat.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall total experience very, very grea ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Overall total experience very, very great. Been before and will return. Food is always great. Very busy on the night the six of us went and yet the service didn't suffer. Employees, all hard working people. Chef and cooks seems to be behind, but the food was coming out of the fast and correctly prepared.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Delightful meal with friends over the ho ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delightful meal with friends over the holidays. Especially enjoyed the wine event - lovely wines, very reasonable prices, and we ended up with a great mixed case!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Wine-O-Rama. The distr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were there for Wine-O-Rama. The distributor Jessica Sabiton did a fantastic job of explaining the wines. The food was unique and tasty and our server was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aqua is always one of our go to places f ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Aqua is always one of our go to places for a special meal and this time was no exception. Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb as usual. Outstanding food and d ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Superb as usual. Outstanding food and drinks, and great service.

Tags: Tapas, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, excellent service, will retu ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great food, excellent service, will return and recommend others!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Tapas, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening at Aqua! Superb s ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Another great evening at Aqua! Superb service coupled with outstanding food. One of our favorite night spots in Beaufort to enjoy wine tasting. We will be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wine list and service. I ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food, wine list and service. It was our first visit but we will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my husband here for his birthday. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I took my husband here for his birthday. Everything was so delicious and artfully presented. We ordered several small plates to share - I like the fact that they offer smaller plates for a lower price, so you can sample several different things instead of committing to one huge dinner. It was a completely lovely experience. I highly recommend Aqua.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This Tuesday was Wine-O-Rama night offer ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 16, 2016

This Tuesday was Wine-O-Rama night offering 4 tastings paired with dinner of French boutique wines with personal introductions to their characteristics given by Laure Levesque, the Queen of Wine, to each table. The tapas and small plates were absolutely delicious paired perfectly with the wines. Manager Kim and Cayla, our server, were very gracious and accommodating, which made us feel like family. Come to Aqua for a truly unique and enjoyable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic wine tasting. Food was wonderf ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Fantastic wine tasting. Food was wonderful. Impeccable hosting service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were recommended to come there by peo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were recommended to come there by people in Washington NC. We were very pleasantly surprised by the cuisine and atmosphere. Great value as well. Would recommend to anyone. On a negative note, my first option for supper was sold out but the alternative was great.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the Crystal Coast, some restaurants c ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

On the Crystal Coast, some restaurants close after tourist season, some keep the same menu, and some get even more creative. Aqua is in the latter category. We have dined there a couple of times. When we went in mid November we went in mid November we found a creative menu and the restaurant filled with people enjoying themselves. We will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Aqua every time we come to the ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We go to Aqua every time we come to the beach. It is consistently great. Food, wine, and atmosphere is great and they always have a great fresh catch dish. Worth the visit for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice idea of sharing plates Had specia ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice idea of sharing plates Had special martinis a bit weak. Service was very good. Atmosphere good for area. Will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Aqua ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday at Aqua in the outdoor seating area. All the food was well prepared with nuanced and creative sauces and pairings. One of our group had the pork chops and raved that it was the best he has ever had. The server was attentive and professional. Aqua is an hour drive for us but well worth the trip.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to dine and meet neigh ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine and meet neighborhood friends in a festive atmosphere and creative cuisine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate outdoors with friends. Server was re ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Ate outdoors with friends. Server was really great; enhanced our enjoyment. Food is always excellent, and my wife (who is mandatory gluten-free with celiac disease) has many wonderful choices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We Love Aqua! The dishes are always deli ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We Love Aqua! The dishes are always delicious and delectable. All the selections on the daily fares and menu are intriguing and delightfully seasonal. The waite staff are very friendly and accommodating. They work so hard! Our dishes were a little late getting to us, probably because of the simultaneous wave of all the orders. But, we sat outside on the veranda and enjoyed the cool night air and our wine. BTW, on Fridays All the bottles are 30% off! Definitely will repeat visiting here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

SUPERB food and service.. as always ! Ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

SUPERB food and service.. as always ! Our favourite restaurant in Beaufort..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just all around excellent. Lovely space. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Just all around excellent. Lovely space. Service to match. I don't normally care about discounts but the night we went, bottles of wine were 33% off, which basically made them retail, so I got a bottle of Caymus Cab Sav for the table, which was perfectly pre-chilled and decanted at the table. Wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is consistently a great place for a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Aqua is consistently a great place for a nice meal away from home. The food is exceptional, as is the service. They also have a full bar with a good wine selection.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant just keeps getting bette ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This restaurant just keeps getting better and better. While there are a number of good dining choices in Beaufort NC, this one always gets our top vote. The summer patio is charming, even if it's not on the water.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the happening place in Beaufort. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This is the happening place in Beaufort. It is busy and friendly every night. The food is creative and delicious, service friendly and engaging. Great for every occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Bar Seating, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Was recommended to us. Small plate dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Was recommended to us. Small plate dinners. Both very good. When we walked around after dinner, Aqua had been crowded, other restaurants close by, not so much. Saturday evening in late October.

Tags: Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent food & service! Our waitress w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent food & service! Our waitress was extremely pleasant & fun. She was informative of the various preparations. A definite must try! And we are foodies!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dining experience; very enjoyable ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Great dining experience; very enjoyable evening with friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been there for 7 or 8 years since ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Hadn't been there for 7 or 8 years since the last time was not good. This time, the service was better but the server was new and a bit slow. The food was better than what I remembered from the last time we ate there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Aqua always hits a home run. Great food, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Aqua always hits a home run. Great food, great vibe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another great experience at Aqua. Our fr ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Another great experience at Aqua. Our friend that were visiting in Beaufort loved it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.