Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Aqua Restaurant

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Tapas (53)
Good for a Date (52)
See All
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Notable Wine List (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Local Ingredients (37)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Fun (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Tasting Menu (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Authentic (22)
Casual (22)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Seasonal (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Great Beer (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service, as usual. Every course, from the appetizers to desert, was delicious. Much thought goes into the menu.

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

As always our dinner was fabulous! Wonderful staff, and nice setting. I highly recommend Aqua!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was the 2nd time we were at your restaurant and it was as good as the first.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 16, 2017

As usual, everything was terrific! We go to Aqua every chance we get.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Great meal, excellent service and interesting wine list. Be sure to make a reservation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The restaurant has both indoor and outdoor seating. The menu has tapas, small plates and big plates so regardless of appetite there is something for everyone. They try to feature local foods and offered fresh trigger fish as their nightly special which was delicious. The tomato pie is a must on the tapas section. It's one of their noteworthy dishes. We also tried the tuna and the lamb which were cooked to perfection. Twice monthly they offer wine tastings on Tuesdays and those nights are very busy, cost is $10 for 4 wines. Other nights include drink specials and the night we were there, a Wednesday you could design your own flight of wines. We have the bartender pick 4 (1 oz.pours) for each of us based on what we ordered and the selections were fabulous. Of all the places we ate while visiting Beaufort this was the best. Too full to eat dessert so can't even comment on that.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We own a B&B and send guests to Aqua daily! They are never disappointed by Chef Jayson's cuisine or the care and attention Kim gives them the moment they walk in the door! Lindsey is a phenomenal bar keep and is very attentive with ensuring patrons have a great time and a great drink in hand. Tuesday Night's twice a month are the Wine O Rama selections and it's an evening not to be missed... Thanks for ensuring the guests at the Inn on Turner always feel special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fun, Bar Seating, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

I loved the Wine-O-rama. $10 to try 4 different wines...awesome.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Outstanding as usual. Kim is a great hostess. Dan, our server was spot-on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was great.The food-the service-the lighting-we really enjoyed our dining experience.We were on vacation and when we come back-we will be back. Thank-you!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food and service. Love this place! We love the range of wines available by the glass -- even though we always end up ordering a bottle!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went here for a birthday dinner. Food and service were both great. Prices are a bit much. $21 for a 2x4 inch piece of mahi? Yes it is fresh and tasty but that's a ripoff. Same with the beef filet. Even smaller and $19.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Second time in 10 days driving all the way from Raleigh in. The Greatest restaurant experience for my wife and I is the comfort of home, the quality of fine dining all in a casual atmosphere. We always enjoy thinking about different things that go together well on their menu. This time we tried the roast chicken, zucchini cakes and a caprese salad. We shared that combination and it was more than enough food and truly amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Aqua.The foods delicious and the menu is very creative.
The Pineapple crab Napoleon was such an unexpected combination and very tasty and the Mahi-Mahi Mahi-Mahi with a Basil andKale pesto was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a tapas and 2 small plates followed by a dessert. All were delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurant's in the area. We have dined here often in our time in North Carolina. My husband is retiring so we will be leaving g the area soon. When we come come back to visit Aqua will be on our to do list!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Consistently excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 23, 2017

While we continue to return to Aqua for great food and service, this particular occasion was marked by the lack of a beer advertised on the menu, as well as a bottle of wine which was no longer in stock. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Aqua they will be our most favorite restaurant of all time. We like an atmosphere that feels like our own home. Aqua knocks it out of the park! So appreciate Kim, Lindsey, Dan and others whose names Skip my memory right now.

Tags: Scenic View, Organic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Reesa was our delightful server and she was very helpful and knowledgeable. Our party of 4 was happy with each of our selections and my husband says the shrimp and grits were the best he's ever tasted.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a delicious meal and our server was attentive and very friendly. Food is always good!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent meal. Great service, creative menu!
Kelly was great waitstaff!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Spicy, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Aqua has very good food, nicely presented. Like most good restaurants out of of metropolitan areas, they clear dishes while others are eating but maybe most people want this but I feel like they want to turn the table over as quickly as possible
Excellent martini at 9$ each

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Let the Owner just be the Owner!
We have eaten here before and enjoyed outside and at the bar. This evening we had an early dinner reservation for four and were seated in the dining room by the lady owner with short hair and glasses. Our server was excellent in every way, attentive informative and pleasant - Resa W. The food was mostly good, but everything did not need to come on greens and with Edible flowers.
The gazpacho was spicy and tasty and the tomato tart - delicious - with good crust and gooey cheese. The zucchini cakes were good, but again too much greens and flowers. Two got the caprese which was tasty with watermelon. The crab cake was yummy and the lamb, presented nicely and the chicken wings decent.
The problem was that the owner was very anxious, clearing tables, actually messing up the one with a table cloth and just overall acting like a nervous nelly. It was not good for the mood in the restaurant and I'll admit, dropping a check on a table with dirty dishes is a pet peeve, so it ended on a less than professional note.
Hire a busser and let the owner just touch tables, prohibiting her customers from viewing her stress out just because they were busy - it was a Friday night after all...

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Aqua is the best restaurant in Beaufort. My daughter and I share a birthday and we go every year to celebrate. Our family orders a variety of starters and small plates. The petit filet, pasta with ham and cheese, and the bento box are favorites. The tomato tart is a treat. We love the amuse bouche offered at the start of the meal, the wine list is great, and the cocktail specials are very fun!! Can't say enough nice things about Aqua. Go! The servers are excellent; they know the wine and the food and make excellent suggestions.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Every summer brings us back to Aqua in beautiful Beaufort. This time, the Bento box, scallops and red snapper could not have been better. We enjoyed it with a delicious Gruner and capped it off with the creme brûlée. We'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

As usual the food and service were excellent. Local catch and mainstays were all delicious. Highly recommended for visitors to the Crystal Coast.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was very good, and the service was attentive. Host did a great job of working the tables to make sure all customers were happy. Eclectic beer menu and craft cocktails on top of high quality food. What's not to like?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I'd describe the atmosphere as casually upscale. The food was very good. I especially enjoyed the tomato tart. Service was excellent. Unfortunately, I didn't leave room for dessert but the monster size crème brulee at the table next to me looked amazing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

It's a favorite of my family! I love the menu, the food is always fresh and delicious and different from anywhere else! We love the chef's tastings! Service is always fantastic!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Writing for my Air BnB guests who reported high marks for their dining...only complaint is the noise level. I often send guests to Aqua and always have grateful diners.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Just go. Great food. Great ambiance. The creme brûlée is obscene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 10, 2017

First visit to this gem. Great food. Resa provided exceptional service . Our new favorite in Beaufort !
Try the killer Creme brûlée !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 8, 2017

My husband and I love Aqua. We have been going to Aqua for over ten years and have never been disappointed. We particularly love wineorama and Kim the very outstanding Manager extraordinaire.
This particular celebration was for our dear sister in law and her August birthday. She and my brother were very pleased with the food service and wine. The special attention to detail is always apparent at Aqua and that can be attributed to Kim. Money cannot buy what Kim gives to this restaurant.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Always a good choice. Wait staff is always excellent. A bit pricey but worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We celebrated a friends 60th birthday. The staff was amazing and made our friend feel very special. She was presented with a birthday gift at the end of our dining experience! As usual, the food was awesome and the four of us topped off the wonderful meal with their amazing creme brûlée.....yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Fabulous find! Everything was wonderful and we would definitely go back!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great food. Tapas and small plates are the way to go. The serving staff and bar need more help. Like other reviews on Yelp have stated, the manager/hostess needs a more customer centered approach. Still worth going for the food.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great food, wonderful selection of wines, and attentive service. We'll be back!

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Resa best waitress in town keep her foster did not burn off loq not resa but her asst fyi tell tesa That was my odd look at the end of the meal John Miller

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.