Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.42mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Aqua Restaurant

Our menu is created to bring you the freshest seasonal items available presented with a creative touch. Aqua’s small plates offer you an exciting array of tastes in
"just right” portions ideal for passing around the table or enjoying two or three as a full meal. Aqua’s Big Plates feature "North Carolina seafood served stylishly" with the freshest local seafood and Choice Beef Filet, as well as local produce when it’s seasonally available. Aqua prides itself on offering fresh, local products and supporting our local fisherman and farmers.

114 Middle Lane
Beaufort, NC 28516
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fusion / Eclectic

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 900pm Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 728-7777

Website:
http://www.aquaexperience.com/

Catering:
Limited off site catering is available.

Executive Chef:
Jayson Foster

Private Party Facilities:
Private party / Banquet facilities available overlooking Taylor's Creek and the Beautiful Beaufort waterfront from the 3rd floor private dining room located in our sister restaurant Clawson's 1905 Restaurant & Pub. Seats up to 69

Private Party Contact:
Kim Kromka: (252) 728-7777

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Aqua Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (44)
Tapas (41)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Local Ingredients (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fun (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Romantic (17)
Cozy (17)
Tasting Menu (15)
Casual (15)
Authentic (14)
Healthy (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Seasonal (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1059 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined a day ago

Awesome evening in all aspects! Ashley was a great server & the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

First time here. Found on TripAdvisor. A great dining experience. Could have ordered more orders of shrimp and grits, they were so good. $5 martini night on Thursday. Would definitely go back. Sophisticated modern interior. Outside porch seating avsilablecbut too hot that night. Dinner only. Definitely make reservations!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our Sunday evening dining at Aqua was disappointing. The food selection was limited, the taste was average, the service slow, and the environment was stuffy and hot. Out server was great, but they were understaffed. I don't want to go back, at least until I give the other restaurants in the area another try. For the money spent, we can eat anywhere else and have change.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My family of 4 (kids 12 and 15) enjoyed our first meal at Aqua. It is very busy, but well-staffed and everyone pitches in to help each other.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Amazing food! It was a perfect meal for a trip to Beaufort.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Visited on a twice monthly held Wine o Rama night. Was able to book one of the few remaining tables in the afternoon. You can choose to sample 4 of the two oz glasses for $10. Packed with locals. Noise volume was very loud with no music to soften the sounds. With that being said, we still had a very good time. Mostly Tapas & small plates with many different choices available. Food was tasty & service was efficient. I had a tomato tart tapas which was great. Prices are reasonable considering it is in a tourist spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 11, 2017

LOVE their food, eapecially the platter size creme brulee! Only drawback is the noise level.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Aqua has an amazing bartender, Lynsey. While many other restaurants might have a beer tender, Lynsey is in a class by herself. So I always have a great time at the bar. On this evening, we had dinner which was yummy. Dan was our waiter and he is movie-star gorgeous, but humble enough to be finishing his own boat and planning an around -the-world on his craft. Vintage Beaufort

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Amazing caprese salad and great service. Huge variety of wine and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Was the best food on the Crystal Coast. Cocktails and service were exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 6, 2017

They automatically added a gratuity without any prior notice. It was placed on the check in such a manner that it was not easy to see, thus encouraging double tipping. Not what I would expect from a reputable business.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Just ok. My meal was fine, the spouse's was severely overcooked, had to return it. The bad portion was comped, so that made it better. Overall, just an average experience. We will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great outdoor porch area. Nice wine list by the glass. Local seafood

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Fourth of July with family on vacation.

I am assuming it was the owner/hostess was EXTREMELY pushy and over the top. Less meds please.

Continually told people holding the door open for their guests to shut the door because they are letting the air conditioning out!

Wine had bits of cork in it, when questioned she came back with the answer that it was unfiltered...news flash when she came back with another under pour no cork...hmm and by the way Alsatian white wines are always filtered.

Fish was maybe a three ounce portion.

Don't waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Love the creative cuisine and true thoughtful wine list for true wine aficionados

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We go to Agua every year when we return to the beach; it is our favorite local restaurant. The menu selections are creative and original and usually quite delicious. However, sometimes it seems that they try a little too hard such that 'originality' gets in the way of 'deliciousness'. I had a most unusual mussel dish in which the broth was original and delicious. However, the lamb 'lollipops' I ordered were overcooked. My wife had crab cakes which were good (but not as amazing as the year before) and shrimp and ham pasta dish which she found to be good but a little too salty (which is unusual as she loves salt). The two white wines we had by the glassy were true to form but too close to room temperature. The red was delicious. All in all, we enjoy Agua a lot and will return again next year.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great meal as always! Food was delicious and great wine by the glass options!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have never had anything but excellent service and outstanding meals at Aqua. The wine list is fantastic!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

After arriving and finding the music from the pub next door a bit loud, we were lucky enough to change to inside seating! Thanks Aqua staff for that. From that point on the night was fantastic. The 33% off of bottled wines, the specials, the appetizers, the service was all top notch. The food was excellent and served hot. The service was beyond reproach! Thanks Dan! I would recommend this restaurant above all other in Morehead City and Emerald Isle.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was my 3rd visit.to Aqua Rest. Best meals I've had since arriving in NC 25 yrs ago. Delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Wonderful food with excellent service! Highly recommend the tomato tart tapas and the catch of the day is always good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tapas, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Our first visit. Very pleasantly surprised ! We will return.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Delicious food and wine. Good value. Great service. Love the place! Would go back again for sure if in the area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had our first date at Aqua and went back for our 6th anniversary. Great food and an excellent server!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Service was outstanding. The petite filet and red mashed potatoes were perfect. The "sampler"
3 dessert, while delicious was too much for 2 people. Would highly recommend. It was my birthday and they comped one dessert and made such a nice fuss over me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was our first time to Aqua and it was a very nice experience. The food was wonderful and we really enjoyed our meal. The service was exceptional. Our waiter was attentive, but not overbearing. I highly recommend Aqua for a night out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great food!! Menu has something for everyone. Atmosphere is fun. Neat glass art everywhere. Wine list is great and they offer tastings. Creme brûlée is HUGE and fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We were seated promptly by a happy and gracious greeter. She checked on us during our meal. Tasty tapas and entrees. We were surprised with a prosecco split for our anniversary.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Tapas, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2017

From the moment we were greeted, I knew we were going to love the place! The service was exceptional and the food was incredible. I found good gluten free options. We noted on our reservation that we had 2 toddlers and got a seat outside on a cute porch area. There was some loud live music from the beer garden next door- this was great for us with kids but not sure how others would feel! My husband and I want to plan a trip back to the area and Aqua is on the list of things to do again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had a delicious meal as always!! Service was great, atmosphere was pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 10, 2017

over several years we've never been disappointed at Acqua. it combines the best of local seafood and produce, a creative chef and casual but sophisticated dining. We'll be back.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is extremely well run restaurant. They hire great people and use local ingredients. Make reservations and request where you want to dine. There reservation system is very organized. The wait staff is friendly and they explain the dishes vey well. They use a team approach to serving and I appreciate their attentiveness and professional training. The bar tender creates quality artisan drinks, taking care with each order. They have professionally trained chefs and it is demonstrated by the flavorful offerings. After each visit why it took us so long to return. This restaurant will not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Started off with the Crabmeat Gazpacho and Asian Wings, then finished with the local Trigger Fish special. All delicious as usual, together with the Aqua Ambiance and Warm and Friendly Staff. Love the Aqua! Consistently Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I had a very "meaty" gf crabcake with succotash. Also shared the 5 spice wings, which were delicious. Hubby had the special with scallops and succotash, also quite good. Loved the atmosphere of the screened in porch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is the second time we dined here, and we will be back again. Service was outstanding, and fresh seafood options based on local catches are excellent. Our first visit was with friends from New York who are seasoned travelers, and they currently live near Charleston, SC. They commented that the seafood selection and quality of food were second to none of the places they frequently visit in their home states.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our waitress Resa (sp?) was fabulous! She was so knowledgeable about the food and wine and really took care of us. I would request to be seated at her table!

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Reservations are a MUST, especially during the busy season. If you plan ahead and do that, you will not be disappointed. It was by far the best meal I've ever had in Beaufort, Morehead City or the beaches. Everyone at our table of six thoroughly enjoyed their meal. One unusual one that was incredible was the crab and pineapple dish. The shrimp and grits were wonderful too. Streaks were perfectly cooked and the seafood special that night was incredible. We were also thrilled with the cocktails and wine we ordered and shared a dessert sampler that was fabulously decadent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was our third time at Aqua. Service was super. Loved the mussels and the great salads. We will go back again and again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.