About Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks

213 Gulf Boulevard
Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
View Larger Map

Farm Fresh Coastal Cuisine

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Open 12:00pm to 10:00pm Daily

Cross Street:
Walsingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 330-7724

Website:
http://aquaprimeflorida.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday-Saturday 6-9pm on our outdoor patio

Parking Details:
Trolly and Public transpertaion

Executive Chef:
Jason Vargo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (21)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Live Music (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our first visit to Aqua Prime. The food was very good, however we felt rushed. We sat down at 5 pm and we were finished eating before 6. The appetizer and salads came out together, and while we were still eating our salads, the entrees came out. I mentioned this to our server and he said he would slow things down. Well, everything was already at the table so there was nothing left to slow down. After I ordered a decaf cappuccino for dessert, he came out to tell me there was no decaf. Ok, regular. Shortly after, he came out to tell me that there was no milk for the cappuccino. In spite of all this, I will consider going back again. As I said, the food is excellent. Maybe it was just an off day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We have eaten here several times. Always good service and food. The service this time was not on the level we expected. We arrived at 4:00 with a reservation. We were seated immediately. We were the only people inside until around 5:00.

The server was there with drinks and water promptly. But that is where it ended. We put in a food order and it was a good 40 min, maybe longer before we were served our food. In fact we had to ask where the server was.

We later found out that he was also given the outside dining are. We don't blame the server. We blame poor management. The server apologized and didn't try to excuse the slow service, but we could see he only had us on the inside and a larger crowd to handle outside. We assume they were short on staff, and other than the server no one in management bothered to apologize or help. Part of our group had to leave before we even got the check. This will not stop me from going back again, but we hope this was not going to be the norm.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Service great...But food too salty!!! Calamari extremely salty. I had to return my rare tuna as extremely salty and unpleasant. I have never returned food before and was reluctant but our waitress was super kind and suggested it. The tuna was returned with sauces on the side. Unfortunately the patatoes were unbearably salty. It was our first time there and I would give it another chance but if next dish salty then will probably never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Make sure wait staff sends the right order to the kitchen. My wife ordered the small Mediterranean Chicken but got the large. Took the extra home.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

aways dine here when in indian rocks area....steraks are very good especially prime rib plenty ofother selections on menu....best to reserve ahead....waiter was very friendly knowledgable and helpful.....was a very nice dining experience......always good and worth a visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, excellent cocktails, warm and efficient service by Melissa our waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

We were seated quickly for our reservation and the service was good. Drinks and appetizers came quickly. We were impressed with the menu options and the happy hour options. The restaurant also has a early dinner menu that most of us ordered from which was a nice amount of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

We meet friends for dinner at Aqua Prime about 1-2 x per month. During the season you have to get reservations in order to eat at a decent time anywhere along the beach. The food and service are always good. The bar area is way better than the inside restaurant for ambiance and service.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went to Aqua Prime for a belated Valentine's Day dinner. The filet was wonderful. We enjoyed the white bean hummus and colada shrimp a lot.

I will mention that the dining room and the bar are very different environments. We were initially seated in the bar area and had to shout back and forth with our server to be heard. Since I had made reservations, and this was a special night, my husband requested we be moved. The manager gladly did so. Our server even came with us. The dining room is quiet and a much more enjoyable environment for a cozy dinner. I can see people liking either area and one does not interfere with the other. They patio off the bar also looked inviting.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Amanda our server was outstanding!!! Food was spectacular. Great job Aqua Prime!

I have to say it again; Amanda was fantastic!! Thank you Amanda!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great beachy top end seafood and prime rib spot. Def will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have come here several times and each time remain optimistic that it will be a better overall experience. Our initial impression was influenced by Host and Hostess. no eye contact, heads down looking at computer screen, unwelcoming, unsmiling, just focused on filling tables. Despite a reservation we waited at bar until a table was ready. Host advised he would advise us when table was ready. 20 minutes after res time I circled back to host who advised a table was ready immediately. I do wonder why he hadn't advised us first. In general the food was okay. Waiter was efficient without any warmth. Prime rib was just okay. Wahoo was very good. Sides were okay. In general we've decided that the quality of food does not overcome the lack of welcoming hosts and friendliness of wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our 1st time at Aqua Prime for Valentine's. All three had the prime rib and it was excellent ,done rare as ordered. Our server, Ben ,was very pleasant and helpful. We will return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 13, 2017

This was our second time here. Food is excellent. But we waited a little over an hour for our entrees. The server did apologize and thanked us for our patience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very busy night being the weekend before Valentine's Day. Food was excellent with nice size portions. Service was a bit slow but acceptable given the busy conditions. Valet parking was an adventure because of the crowd and limited parking accommodations. Overall a very nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We dined here as an early Valentine's Day dinner. The service is excellent from valet, host, server and management. The food was delicious, Caesar salads, scallops, vegetables & pasta all cooked very well. Only miss was hubby's rice was too strong in taste. We enjoyed eating on the patio listening to Stacey Knight's music. Server David was excellent. Johnny, manager, stopped by to check on us and chat with our daughter about her wine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always good food. Great service and friendly staff. Thanks has become one and f our favorite spots

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were seated promptly, however it took almost 15 minutes to find a water. He had a lot of tables & appears no other help to deliver meals. I believe most successful restaurants use added help to deliver meals. Once we placed our drink orders, the rest was very good & the service imporoved. Our dinners were excellent, prime rib & steak, cooked exactly as requested.

We'll go back soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food had great flavor but over cooked a bit. Our waiter forgot to put in our appetizer which was a big deal because the food was great. All in all a good spot to eat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The dining area is outdated and lacks ambiance. We expected something a little more elegant based on the outside, lobby, and bar area. The food wasn't very good for the prices charged. The beef carpaccio was salty and didn't come with bread. Veggies served with the meal were a combination of over and undercooked. The meat was ordered medium rare and arrived medium. Even the server commented that it was medium but didn't offer to take it back and make it right. He later explained they were short a server. Funny thing was that our server did just fine except for his lack of consideration as to how we had ordered our food. Glad we tried it but won't be going back. Price was too high for what you get. Too many other local restaurants that hit the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I said the last time I was there I wouldn't go back, very rude female bartender in outside bar and food is just ok. My 87 year old mother got a gift card for Christmas so it was an obligation. I will not return

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

For the price of the entrees, I would expect a salad to come with the dinner. Restaurant was quite busy and most people seemed happy with the overall atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Early bird special till 6 for $14 and half price drinks. Smaller portions but nice value. Blackened dishes very spicy. We will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Unfortunately, this was not The best experience for us. My wife and I ate at Aqua prime last Friday evening and were far from impressed. We pulled up to valet and waited 10 minutes for someone to show up and park our car before giving up and finding parking ourselves. The restaurant was not terribly busy and we were seated quickly. I must say that we were initially excited when we received our appetizers, as they were beautifully plated an very tasty. While the Shrimp Colada was essentially a knock off of Bonefish's Firecracker Shrimp, it was still delicious although it was strangely paired with a coconut dipping sauce that was cloyingly sweet and went untouched. The raw tuna app was absolutely fabulous and beautiful to look at. That is where the good experience ended. Entrees came and we were very disappointed. My wife had the gnocchi which is served in a shredded pork raghu or bolanese. The gnocchi was a bit over cooked, the red sauce tasted like something from a jar and the pork was chewey. Presentation was less than appetizing the dish looked more like a chunky chili. I had the scallops with a coconut curry sauce. The scallops were overdone... No absolutely hammered, which, in my book, is a culinary crime. The cocunut curry sauce was vastly under seasoned and bland. The accompanying cocunut rice was passable but the mixed vegetables were over cooked and mushy.

The service was pleasant and friendly and our server gave us recommendations and answered all our questions but this was not a fine dining experience. Our empty app plates sat on our table for the duration of dinner, water was not refilled, our entree plates were handed to us across the table rather than walking around and placing them. We had a bottle of wine that we poured all night even though the server came to the table several times when our glasses were low and even empty.

There are too many excellent restaurants on the beach and we will not be visiting this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Good we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

There was no host at the door, so we seated ourselves and after ten minutes, I finally went to look for a host since no wait staff approached our table. We ordered The Fish soup and MY GOD was it incredibly salty! We had to ask for limes to squeeze into it to make it edible to cut the salt. We also ordered the Grouper sandwich and that was delicious. The waiter who finally handled our table was very friendly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food and service overall, food was spot on and environment was nice and relaxing, I would really recommend this place for a nice night out and great seafood

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service by our server. Good experience on our first visit. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Our first time going and we will definitely be back. A little pricey but totally worth it. We all got something different and all our dishes were so delicious. Steaks were amazing! Service was impeccable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We enjoyed the drinks and food very much, but we found it difficult to park and was not aware of the valet service. I am in a ladies lunch club, and have signed up to do something for April. We always meet the 1st Tuesday of the month. I am hoping to book a party and sometimes we have about 30 people sign up. I hope you can accommodate us, we also need separate checks. Not all restaurants are willing to do this. I hope you are! Carol

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent prime rib on the early bird menu at a great price

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Great, friendly service. Beautiful food. I had the fresh catch of the day. I was really pleased. It was our first time there and will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was not what we expected having eaten at Guppy's.

We didn't eat the main courses and the waiter didn't even question whether something was wrong.

Never go again

Disgraceful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We like Aqua Prime for date night, which is once every couple months, and special occasions. I've had the filet mignon several times and it's always good, but this time it was a little under cooked, no big deal though. I ordered the Surf and Turf and noticed the lobster was overcooked, so a little disappointed with my meal this time, but still good enough to eat all of it! The white bean hummus is awesome and the drinks were good. Wish they had more of a specialty drink selection. I wanted a martini, but the only two available were the Godiva and Watermelon. I tried both and they were good. The service was pretty slow this time around too, which was odd because there were not many patrons (Sunday night).

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

There was not a hostess at the front for at least 3 min after we walked in- then the Hostess was not very friendly and no apology was made for us waiting for our reservation. We were placed at a table of our choice and no one came to the table for at least 5 min to even ask us for drinks.

After our waiter showed up- he was wonderful! I thank him very much for making the rest of our dining experience great!

Food as always was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Limited menu for New Year's Eve, would have preferred regular menu with more options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Aqua Prime has very good food. We were there for New Years Eve, so it was a set four course meal with options for each course. We enjoyed our meal a great deal. It seems that whenever we eat there, the service is a little slow, and this time was no exception. But once the waiter arrived, things went well. This is one of the restaurants owned by Steve Westphal. I have eaten at most of his restaurants and I think his teams do a good job. I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent dinner. Great surf, great turf. Freshest fish, aged fine meat, delicious Alaskan King Crab, passionate, knowledgeable waiter. We are inside for quieter dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I informed the server my grouper tasted fishy, he sent the manager, he said he would look into it and we never saw him again. The server only came to the table 3 times once to take our order second to ask how it was and third to bring the check. I didn't have a chance to order a second drink. Except for the grouper, the food was very good, but the managers lack of follow through will keep us away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible food and atmosphere! The outdoor bar is really nice and the bartenders were great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Had reservations and had to wait 20 minutes very frustrated employees and showed. Old school needs to be updated. Food over priced compared to what you and get next door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the food ,atmosphere, good wine recommendation from our server. Will certainly be going back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Go with the blackened Grouper! Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food, service and out door dinning was wonderful. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We absolutely loved our dinner choices. We will be going agin

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The best part is the food. Every bite was excellent. Love the crackers with hummus (instead of a traditional roll). Being Christmas Eve, our server did very well considering it was very busy. Nice variety on the menu too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Aqua Prime is a great place to watch your favorite football games. The outdoor bar is comfortable and the food is great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 18, 2016

~Very good overall menu with great service (Scott).

~Location in IRB is easily accessible.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Grouper was fresh and seasoned nicely. Crab cake was yummy and side dishes delicious. Great place to watch football games in the bar outdoor area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.