About Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks

213 Gulf Boulevard
Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
View Larger Map

Farm Fresh Coastal Cuisine

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Open 12:00pm to 10:00pm Daily

Cross Street:
Walsingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 330-7724

Website:
http://aquaprimeflorida.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday-Saturday 6-9pm on our outdoor patio

Parking Details:
Trolly and Public transpertaion

Executive Chef:
Jason Vargo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks, Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks, Indian Rocks Beach, FL

Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Romantic (2)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was ok. I expected better seaf ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food was ok. I expected better seafood being right on the water. That was the general consensus for our group of 8. The service was good, and it seems like a nice restaurant, but they need to work on their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great neighborhood restaurant. It has re ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant. It has really come a long way over the years...We are not crazy about inside seating as somewhat sterile but the back terrace is great. I don't believe there is live music during the week, which makes for a nice, quiet dinner...but even on the weekends, music is at a comfortable level. Food is excellent, service very accommodating and down to earth. Not a. Plaint. My new favorite place, after 3 great, consistent visits!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Not extremely crowded on Thanksgiving bu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Not extremely crowded on Thanksgiving but busy. Great ambiance by the beach. Thanksgiving meal was very nicely prepared. We did have a few issues with menu orders which were addressed promptly. Service was ok - our server had many tables and they seemed a little short staffed. Overall a very nice restaurant for the holiday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Good service from Ted. Cocktails were go ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Good service from Ted. Cocktails were good. The fresh cod was very good and really liked the cauliflower purée with it. I had the seafood Cobb salad-- best ever. Light and delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Could use table coverings, beverage napk ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Could use table coverings, beverage napkins and better table prep before sieating another cusotmer at a table thats not been cleaned throughly. Food was tasty, timely and a good value

for casual dinning.

Service wasa good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Had to send prime rib back - it was toug ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had to send prime rib back - it was tough and loaded with tendons. Definitely not prime. Food here is hit and miss. Last visit was a miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic service and atmosphere, at lea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Fantastic service and atmosphere, at least outside, but the food was disappointing. At this price point, there are far better dining options along Gulf Blvd...

Tags: Live Sports, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved this place. The food was incredibl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Loved this place. The food was incredible, the service was perfect, and the Michael Buble-esque live music was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered tuna dinner which came cold. Kit ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Ordered tuna dinner which came cold. Kitchen reheated it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Slow service despite few customers. Sull ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Slow service despite few customers. Sullen waitress with no name tag who never announced who she was. Steak undercooked. With so many options in the area, would not repeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Consistently good- both food and staff! ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Consistently good- both food and staff! The grilled shrimp was cooked very well and my date had a nice swordfish special.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I attempted two other times to go for di ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

I attempted two other times to go for dinner n parking was unavailable so we went for lunch. It was a beautiful breezy afternoon so we opted to sit out back. Music level was perfect. Service was great. We were there for about 4 hours. We shared crab cake app, which I thought a bit small for the price. Perhaps use abt half more n make two separate ones. Most ppl like to share apps n it was way too small. But was all crab just as we were told. We both had grouper sandwich. His just grilled w fries n mine blacked w potato salad. Could have used more blackened seasoning as I thought it was left off by mistake but when we looked at mine vs his we could see difference in color. It needs a bit of zip!!!! Potato salad was good but I like heat n did not mind pepperoncini in it, however. I think staff should give heads up to someone ordering it. My hubby would not have been able to eat it had he ordered it cause he doesn't like spicy things.

We will be back n were very happy w all. These r not criticisms just honest thoughts. We did go inside to check out n decor very nice. Will try dinner again at some point!!

Sad such s nice place n no customers in day time. Perhaps a bit more advertising Lovely place to not be full during the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic & Thank too to our waitress Am ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fantastic & Thank too to our waitress Amanda she was great.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks and music at the bar set a great ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Drinks and music at the bar set a great tone. Very nice. It all went down hill after that. The waiter, Scott was very pushy. We felt rushed. Food was mediocre at best. I had the swordfish which was very dry and my husband had the scallops which were not sweet. Expected better. Not a good birthday memory.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Since this place is along the Gulf coast ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Since this place is along the Gulf coast in a residential/tourist area, I presumed it would be worth the trip there for lunch. The food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had filet mignon and grilled grouper, ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had filet mignon and grilled grouper, both were prepared properly and very good. Salads are a nice accompaniment. Service was a little slow.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Thank you for making our girls road tri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Thank you for making our girls road trip and yearly trip such a pleasure.

We ten loved visiting again.

Our server, David was excellent and we hope to see him again next year.

Aqua prime is the best for sea food!

Zahav, St. Paul, MN

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have dined he ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here. The first time (and after reading recent good reviews) we felt it had been good enough to try again so we did, this time taking two friends (total of 4 people). Quite disappointed this time - King Crab legs weren't as tasty as before, fried shrimp (6 on the plate) were heavily battered and the batter tasted quite salty and the roasted potatoes that I got with it were tough/dry -- as if they were roasted much earlier, then reheated (we dined at 7 pm, so not late). Another in the party got a special of seafood mac and cheese -- very little seafood and not very cheezy nor tasty per that person (and I tried it too and agreed). Another person got a salmon dinner and said it was "good, but not outstanding". All in all, food was edible but very average or below average and we certainly wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was better on our last visit. My sa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was better on our last visit. My salad was not fresh. Half of the lettuce was brown. That was very disappointing. The waiter only came by twice to take our order and when we were finished. Did not check on us during the meal. The manager had to refill our drinks even though we asked the person who brought out our food. Not sure I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was excellent,food was good but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was excellent,food was good but all six in our party complained that the food was between cold and warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food not that great. I had mussels whic ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food not that great. I had mussels which came with sausage and cheese in the sauce so all you could taste was sausage. My husband had prime rib which was very fatty and served luke warm. Definitely not worth the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food, for the price was average at b ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food, for the price was average at best. Dinner for 4 without dessert or alcholic drinks (2 of us had water) and our bill was over $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Really great food and our waiter was ter ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Really great food and our waiter was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

AS a guest of the city once per year- I ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 8, 2016

AS a guest of the city once per year- I make every effort to get to Aqua at least 1 time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was freshly prepared, did not feel ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was freshly prepared, did not feel rushed. So far it has been excellent. Keep up the good work. Seafood mac-n-cheese was wonderful and the bruschetta was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great time and great meal.

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a great time and great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We received excellent service at Aqua Pr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We received excellent service at Aqua Prime! Our server explained the menu very well. They have a great selection of fresh fish and prime steak. During our meal, the General Manager stopped by and was very courteous. We will definitely return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in with a party of 11 and they w ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We came in with a party of 11 and they were amazing. Keith and the rest of the staff were super attentive. The food was great!! We had a fantastic time and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service by Keith great as usual. Nice to ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service by Keith great as usual.

Nice to have manager Johnny visible assuring all is well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service slow even for an early dinner wh ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service slow even for an early dinner when restaurant was not busy. The quality of the food and the presentation not what the prizes would indicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Lovely beach restaurant never disappoint ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lovely beach restaurant never disappoints. Back garden comfortable even on a hot summer night. All guests enjoyed their meals & our waiter & other staff friendly & helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden gem in the area a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in the area and offers a very quaint ambiance and local flavor. We had the coconut encrusted salmon. That was wonderful. To drink, I had the mango mojito which was also delicious. The buffalo chicken sandwich, however, was not a hit with my daugher. They promptly brought a plain chicken sandwich to us with no hesitation. Service was on par with such an establishment. Not smothering nor unavailable. Very comfortable atmosphere. We will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always fantastic service and food! Our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always fantastic service and food! Our favorite go-to when we are in the St Petersburg area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find! The best prime rib I' ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

What a great find! The best prime rib I've had in a long time. Excellent service and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After driving by this restaurant several ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 23, 2016

After driving by this restaurant several times, we decided to give it a try. Do glad we did! Wonderful menu with several choices for both seafood and prime. Service was friendly and efficient. After dinner we went to the outside bar and listened c to live music. Great food, great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere. Food and the service w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great atmosphere. Food and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here on our last day of vacatio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

We dined here on our last day of vacation. The food was extremely tasty, and the service great. The menu offered a variety of choices. We will return to this restaurant on our next trip to the beach.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu. Amanda great service. Answe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great menu. Amanda great service. Answered all questions about the menu. Our first time there and we will be back. Bar area looked great also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great service and food was just wonderfu ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2016

great service and food was just wonderful! filet was like 'butter' sooo good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Wait staff was superb, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent dinner. Wait staff was superb, dinner for 10 was in a quiet alcove. Meal was not rushed and steaks were prepared to order. Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.