About Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks

Smoked Fusion Coastal Cuisine

213 Gulf Boulevard
Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Open 11:00am to 10:00pm Daily

Cross Street:
Walsingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 330-7724

Website:
http://aquaprimeflorida.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday-Saturday 6-9pm on our outdoor patio

Parking Details:
Trolly and Public transpertaion

Executive Chef:
Jason Vargo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Casual (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Live Music (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Romantic (4)
Cozy (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 3 days ago

excellent menu, great options, food fabulous. Service just perfect great cocktails too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Server was absolutely amazing. She had the best personality, super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The chargrilled oysters were the best thing we had. I ordered the filet and it way over cooked and the outside was dry but center eas rare. Our food must have sat for some time before it was served. We may try them again but it was overall a nice place on the beach and very low key and casual

Tags: Quick Bite, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our new favorite! Outside seating and bar is excellent. Food fabulous!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

I am very conflicted: this was my second visit to Aqua Prime in a week. We went back because the food was so fresh and beautifully prepared the first time (last Sunday) that we wanted to try more on the menu. The service was prompt and helpful.

The second visit was a disaster. Our server took 15 minutes to acknowledge our existence. Two other couples were seated, greeted and their drink orders delivered before anyone came near our table. Our soup arrived stone cold. Eventually, our server appeared and we sent them back. Tasted fine but cold. Our main courses were eventually delivered. My husband had the brisket. It looked like leftovers. The mashed potatoes were very unappetizing. The coleslaw was soggy and unappealing. I picked the rubbery batter off my battered cod and ate the soggy fish. My "herbed chips" came with ketchup. Not on the menu and not requested. I asked for ad spoke to the manager, who did take my meal off the bill. That was the right thing to do and we thank him for that.

Long term, I am not sure if I will risk going back to Aqua Prime because of the uncertainty as to which Aqua Prime will be there - the one we loved last Sunday or the one we could not wait to leave Friday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Very nice outside dining area with music.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The Belle of the Boulevard and I booked a 5:30 table. We had the place and the servers pretty much to ourselves since we beat the dinner rush, and the hoards from the north haven't descended upon us in mass yet.

Andrew was our delightful server for the evening and quickly presented us with water and menus. My bride chose a Kendall Jackson Chard to accompany her house salad while I enjoyed a mojito to accompany my appetizer of Charbroiled Oysters.

That was probably the best serving of those charbroiled delights this side of New Orleans. There was a subtle sweetness that just added to the flavor with Parmesan cheese, shallot butter, minced garlic and sriracha bacon. The only downside was the oysters had not been cut from the bottom shell. The meat had to be pried loose with the cocktail fork, mangling the mollusk in the process.

Despite that oyster debacle the Belle and I had to go back to Aqua Prime since there were more pluses than minuses. I had to have those delicious oysters one more time. This time I asked Courtney, our charming server, if the kitchen would please cut the meat from that bottom shell. She said, "I'll ask," and returned a few minutes later and said that was doable. In a perfect oyster eating world, neither the diner nor server should have to ask that question. This time the oysters were dilly dilly good.

On our first visit my bride had the Slow Smoked Roasted Brisket. I had a taste and that brisket was the best beef brisket this side of Texas. In addition to the brisket, Aqua Prime has two other beef dishes that I simply had to have. The first time out I swooned over the Smoked Certified Angus Roasted Prime Rib cooked to a requested medium rare Pittsburgh style.

As good as that prime rib was, this time my buds of taste demanded the Certified Angus Argentinean Coulotte Steak. This cut of beef is called sirloin cap in the U.S. and picanha in Brazil. I just call it good, grilled and sliced with smokey red chimichurri and au gratin potatoes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Aqua Prime has multiple seating areas to accommodate the wishes of different clients wishes. We prefer the open air seating but there is also a covered bar area and traditional dining room. They have a terrific selection of meals. We enjoyed pork chops and prime rib while being treated to live dinner music. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We were a group of six on a slow rainy night. The server was nice, but quite obviously inexperienced. One of our party ordered a glass of Reisling only to be told that there was none available. The rest of us were able to get the wine of our choice. We were served pita points with something referred to as hummus, but it certainly didn't resemble hummus. Looked more like Thousand Island dressing and tasted worse. Two of us had the grouper, which was a nice portion of fish and cooked properly, but the risotto cake on the side was cooked beyond crisp and was dry as a bone. One diner had crab cakes and barely touched them as they were mostly filler, another had the Surf & Turf Skewer and was disappointed when the steak was tough and the shrimp overcooked. One member of our party had prime rib which she described as "not bad, just not medium rare as I ordered it", again overcooked. The only good review was the scallops. I had a cup of soup as a starter and the partially eaten bowl sat there until the end of our meal, apparently a shortage of bussers. We were not offered dessert, which was just as well since we were ready to pay the bill and get out of there. Needless to say, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2017

Not a place to go if you're in a hurry, but you'll want to take your time. The food is amazing, they just redid their menu and their updated dishes and cocktails are on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

We were looking forward to coming to this establishment, to celebrate our engagement. The restaurant was hyped up to be perfect for this occasion. So, again we were very much looking forward to this night out. The food overall was very good. However, service was extremely slow. While advertised as a seafood and steakhouse, they were out of two different cuts of steak. A "steakhouse" should never run out of steak, in my opinion. Even after our order was place, the order was again changed Being as they were out of the particular cuts of steak. We were informed by our server that we were in time for the early bird special, and asked if we would like to order from that section of the menu. However, after our order was changed we were not given the price of the early bird special, nor did we get the desert, as was to be included in a "3" course meal. Overall, the prime rib that we did end up with, after all the changes and not being able to get of the entires that were order, was very good. In my opinion not worth all the hype and price. Probably will not return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Wonderful scenery & great food. The kids menu had lots of options to choose from. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

We have been here twice and both times they were out of the short ribs so we had too settle for something else. Mind you it was only 6:30 in the evening. The wait staff gives you the feeling they would be better working breakfast in a diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Good food easy parking with valet. Had lobster and filet and wife had prime rib. All was very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Enjoyed our meal. Food was great and the prices are really reasonable. Nice outdoor patio with live musician makes for good atmosphere. It was noisy due to a large party that was there but not more than what you expect on a weekend night out. We will go back for sure.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food was delicious with a great variety of seafood and beef dishes as well as some Italian and poultry dishes. There are three bars-2 inside and 1 out. The outside seating has live music Wednesday through Saturday. The only reason for a 4 was because the service could have been better and a bit faster. Also, even though I put down on the open table reservation request that it was our anniversary, the staff did not recognize or acknowledge it at all.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everything was great except we had a very loud table right behind us, that seemed to not care that they were affecting others. I wish the server had asked them to tone it down a bit, because when we did, they became obnoxious and rude. If our large party had been seated separate from that large party we might have not been bothered. (Note for the person who seats groups.)The decor in the place is beautiful and the food was very good. I would go back for sure

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Perfect place if you want to be ignored and hear excuses for the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 3, 2017

we'll certainly add this restaurant to our weekly outings.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 29, 2017

This was our first time to enjoy this restaurant. The meal was wonderful & the service was great. The only bad thing was that we sat next to a table of 6 who were very loud & one man when speaking across the table to another man in the dinner party & cursed and said "f**k" almost every other word. I looked at him several times and then he finally quieted down about half way through our dinner. They knew they were loud & did not seem to really care.
People--please be considerate of other guests around you when you are in a restaurant. Quite frankly, I prefer to not hear cursing--especially when it is at a table next to mine with self absorbed people without courtesy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

We were vacationing in Indian Rocks for 9 days; at 3 dinners at Prime Aqua. Nice selection of food, prepared nicely.

Servers were all friendly, nice.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Good service, well-prepared food, appropriate portions. Restaurant was very clean (especially the bathrooms), attractive and spacious. Will be back again! Next visit: Fish & Chips or the Bacon-Wrapped Meatloaf!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food is always good, the service is great; anything you ask, they are right there to please you.
The environment is friendly and cozy.
Thank you all for your great service.
Vânia

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Started dinner on patio listening to a talented musician. Enjoyed tuna appetizer. Good drinks. While waiting for entrees, our nice waitress warned us rain was on the way and we should move inside. Relocating to our inside table our food was quickly served. Minutes later the sky opened up with heavy rain outside. Great job by our waitress! Our salmon dinners were perfect. Two thumbs up.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food as ever and Jess is an amazing server. Very knowledgeable and friendly. Really a good restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The only negative thing I could say is that we waited a REALLY long time for our food but the waiter did keep refilling our pita & hummus to make up for it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Lily was an awesome server! Food was excellent and the live music from Cameron Decker was incredible!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 4, 2017

My wife and I came here for our 33rd wedding anniversary. The pita bread and hummus as a complementary appetizer made for a good start. My wife got salmon and I got steak. Both were good, and the vegetables were particularly fresh and prepared well. Our server was friendly and attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Accommodated a large party in a very efficient way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our meals were delivered to other patrons in error....then, the long wait to be served. Steaks tasted like they just got out of the freezer. They comped us $10.00. Classless place. Restaurant no longer owned by Steve W. Would avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The food, service and atmosphere was excellent. We went for my father-in laws birthday and they were so accommodating. My 2 year old was having a rough night and they were so helpful. I highly recommend this place for dinner. They have a great happy hour and early bird menu/prices too. The atmosphere is elegant and upscale but a place you can either dress up or casual. The food was amazing. We had the steak tartare with capers and crab cake appetizer and to was delightful!!! The prime rib and King crab legs were perfect. This a a farm fresh coastal restaurant that is perfect for the Indian Rocks Beach neighborhood. A short walk I was able to stroll with my daughter along a boardwalk hugging the intercostal. After dinner we walked over to the beach for sunset!! It was a perfect night!!!

Our server was Ocean, A+++ also Management was very helpful with my daughter!! Thank you from The Klein's

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Happy Hour, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Was very good food !! Nice atmosphere and great service ! Would definitely go again 😊😊👍🏻

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Reviews were spot on. This place is a find. Great food great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The specials were amazing. Ambiance on the back patio was fantastic. Great dining experience and a great value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food and service was delicious! highly recommend.. i ordered the filet and it was divine :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Loved it! We always do! The flavor combinations are excellent. For example, the onion rings. Most beach places serve them but here they are fried perfectly, served beautifully, and accompanied by ginger catsup. Yummmm. Can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great food for good price. Grouper was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Outside bar and tables were great. Music was appropriate and a good volume. Food and service very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband ordered blacken grouper but it was just grilled The manager came over and said I,ll see who has your dinner never saw him again. Asked the waitress for drinks she answers with her back as walking away Did not check to see if anyone needed a drink before happy hour ends of course happy hour ended and $2.00 more a drink. Everyone else was very pleasant and the food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We were seated promptly at our reservation time, great service, superb food!
We will return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.