About Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks

213 Gulf Boulevard
Indian Rocks Beach, FL 33785
View Larger Map

Farm Fresh Coastal Cuisine

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Open 12:00pm to 10:00pm Daily

Cross Street:
Walsingham

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 330-7724

Website:
http://aquaprimeflorida.com/

Entertainment:
Wednesday-Saturday 6-9pm on our outdoor patio

Parking Details:
Trolly and Public transpertaion

Executive Chef:
Jason Vargo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks
Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks

Aqua Prime Seafood & Steaks Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
St. Petersburg
Best Restaurants in Indian Rocks Beach ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for Groups (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Romantic (8)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Live Music (2)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the second time we have dined he ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the second time we have dined here. The first time (and after reading recent good reviews) we felt it had been good enough to try again so we did, this time taking two friends (total of 4 people). Quite disappointed this time - King Crab legs weren't as tasty as before, fried shrimp (6 on the plate) were heavily battered and the batter tasted quite salty and the roasted potatoes that I got with it were tough/dry -- as if they were roasted much earlier, then reheated (we dined at 7 pm, so not late). Another in the party got a special of seafood mac and cheese -- very little seafood and not very cheezy nor tasty per that person (and I tried it too and agreed). Another person got a salmon dinner and said it was "good, but not outstanding". All in all, food was edible but very average or below average and we certainly wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was better on our last visit. My sa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was better on our last visit. My salad was not fresh. Half of the lettuce was brown. That was very disappointing. The waiter only came by twice to take our order and when we were finished. Did not check on us during the meal. The manager had to refill our drinks even though we asked the person who brought out our food. Not sure I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was excellent,food was good but ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was excellent,food was good but all six in our party complained that the food was between cold and warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Food not that great. I had mussels whic ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Food not that great. I had mussels which came with sausage and cheese in the sauce so all you could taste was sausage. My husband had prime rib which was very fatty and served luke warm. Definitely not worth the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food, for the price was average at b ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food, for the price was average at best. Dinner for 4 without dessert or alcholic drinks (2 of us had water) and our bill was over $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Really great food and our waiter was ter ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Really great food and our waiter was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

AS a guest of the city once per year- I ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

AS a guest of the city once per year- I make every effort to get to Aqua at least 1 time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was freshly prepared, did not feel ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was freshly prepared, did not feel rushed. So far it has been excellent. Keep up the good work. Seafood mac-n-cheese was wonderful and the bruschetta was fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a great time and great meal.

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always a great time and great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We received excellent service at Aqua Pr ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We received excellent service at Aqua Prime! Our server explained the menu very well. They have a great selection of fresh fish and prime steak. During our meal, the General Manager stopped by and was very courteous. We will definitely return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in with a party of 11 and they w ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We came in with a party of 11 and they were amazing. Keith and the rest of the staff were super attentive. The food was great!! We had a fantastic time and will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service by Keith great as usual. Nice to ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service by Keith great as usual.

Nice to have manager Johnny visible assuring all is well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service slow even for an early dinner wh ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service slow even for an early dinner when restaurant was not busy. The quality of the food and the presentation not what the prizes would indicate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Lovely beach restaurant never disappoint ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lovely beach restaurant never disappoints. Back garden comfortable even on a hot summer night. All guests enjoyed their meals & our waiter & other staff friendly & helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden gem in the area a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place is a hidden gem in the area and offers a very quaint ambiance and local flavor. We had the coconut encrusted salmon. That was wonderful. To drink, I had the mango mojito which was also delicious. The buffalo chicken sandwich, however, was not a hit with my daugher. They promptly brought a plain chicken sandwich to us with no hesitation. Service was on par with such an establishment. Not smothering nor unavailable. Very comfortable atmosphere. We will return.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Always fantastic service and food! Our ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Always fantastic service and food! Our favorite go-to when we are in the St Petersburg area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great find! The best prime rib I' ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

What a great find! The best prime rib I've had in a long time. Excellent service and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After driving by this restaurant several ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

After driving by this restaurant several times, we decided to give it a try. Do glad we did! Wonderful menu with several choices for both seafood and prime. Service was friendly and efficient. After dinner we went to the outside bar and listened c to live music. Great food, great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great atmosphere. Food and the service w ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great atmosphere. Food and the service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here on our last day of vacatio ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We dined here on our last day of vacation. The food was extremely tasty, and the service great. The menu offered a variety of choices. We will return to this restaurant on our next trip to the beach.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu. Amanda great service. Answe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great menu. Amanda great service. Answered all questions about the menu. Our first time there and we will be back. Bar area looked great also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

great service and food was just wonderfu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

great service and food was just wonderful! filet was like 'butter' sooo good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Wait staff was superb, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent dinner. Wait staff was superb, dinner for 10 was in a quiet alcove. Meal was not rushed and steaks were prepared to order. Would highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Have eaten at Aqua prime many times,on t ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Have eaten at Aqua prime many times,on this occasion steak as good as previous visits but calamari uneatable and returned to kitchen.server dealt with problem well and adjusted bill accordingly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and great food. We had the ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service and great food. We had the small filet and the surf and turf skewers. Both were cooked perfectly. Our waiter was there when we needed him, but didn't hover. I love the Cucumber Crush cocktail and they have a good wine list. A little loud, but overall a very pleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Just ok. Didn't receive any pita and hu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Just ok. Didn't receive any pita and hummus. The mashed potatoes were from yesterday. The Filet Mignon was charred. The server seemed not focused and dis-in genuine. Valet parking was great, host stand/greeting was great, the pork dish and vegetables were great. Very nice ambiance and location. Overall pretty let down by the food and the service. Will probably give it another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

This was our first visit to this venue a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was our first visit to this venue although we have enjoyed the hanger and 400 beach on several occasions

Good drinks and service were all excellent especially the 6 dollar house chard

We enjoyed scallops, tuna and steak. Our friends love the black And blue salad and the watermark salad

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bartenders need to learn how to make dr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Bartenders need to learn how to make drinks at outside bar

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent. All of our fo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was excellent. All of our food was good. Sangria was great. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great as usual. Kevin is a great server ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great as usual. Kevin is a great server and Johnny the manager is always visible and helping where needed.

Our neighborhood gem🍷

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service and attention from the staff ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service and attention from the staff - from the hostess to the waiters was fantastic and helped to create a great experience. We went to try the Sunset Dinner Special and the price is great with salad, dinner and dessert for $14.00. This was a good meal for the price but we were not "wowed" enough to go back. We were looking for really good seafood and the seafood was okay but not fantastic. Also the vegetables were very fresh but could have been cooked more and had more flavor. The fried calamari was in a nice light batter but also lacked overall flavor in the batter and in the sauce. We think their speciality is prime rib so that could be the strength of the restaurant over seafood but again the staff have an incredible attitude and knowledge of their menu and are very attentive and this is a plus point. If we were to go back - based on our experience- we would not order the seafood again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

the cheese plate appetizer is world clas ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

the cheese plate appetizer is world class meals were great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here on our last night of vacati ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We went here on our last night of vacation with two kids under 3 years old. We sat outside and had a wonderful time. The food was amazing as was the live music. Our only wish was that we would've been able to choose our own desserts with the happy hour special, but otherwise, it was a perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at Aqua Prime. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first time at Aqua Prime. The restaurant is lovely. We went there primarily for prime rib and steak. I ordered my NY strip steak medium rare to rare. It was over cooked. Probably medium. My husband ordered Blackend prime rib cooked medium. It arrived rare and at least 1/3 fat. A BIG chumk of fat at both ends...not marbled. The waiter said "yeah, that's prime rib..it's hit or miss." Really? The outside bar and patio looked nice. We will probably go back and try the seafood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

One of a local chain. A bit more upscale ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

One of a local chain. A bit more upscale than the Pub down the street. Food was good, not great. Service was amateurish.

I must say that the wait persons description of how they make burgers would turn me off from ever eating one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Waiter was very attentive and the food w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Waiter was very attentive and the food was good portions and tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You must try this place! It will not disappoint!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food, the service, the drinks, were all amazing!! Thank you to Scott, our waiter, for providing excellent service and knowledge of the menu! Everything was fantastic, even the salads! We had the citrus vinaigrette and the Caesar dressings, both equally delicious! Steaks were also cooked perfectly to order! Wish we would have tried them before this trip, as we go to the area 3-4 times a year!We will be back on all future trips to the area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised as this was our fir ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Pleasantly surprised as this was our first time here! Was a little disappointed it wasn't on the water, but the outdoor ambiance, lighting and live jazz music far made up for the usual on the water, crowded, over-rated restaurants we are used to! The Grouper was one of the best I have had by far! Will definitely go back, the inside bar looked fabulous, but the weather outside was so perfect we couldn't resist the outdoor patio dining! And valet parking was a definite plus in my book! Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, relaxing, we will definitely ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Delicious, relaxing, we will definitely be back it's worth the hour drive from new Tampa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our last dinner in IRB. It was our BEST ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Our last dinner in IRB. It was our BEST dinner in IRB. We have been vacationing here for 5 years now and this is hands down the best restaurant in the area. I wish we would have come earlier in the week. If we would have, we would have come at least twice. See you next April Aqua Prime. We can't wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.