About AQUA by El Gaucho

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/aqua-by-el-gaucho.html

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly Geer at 206-956-8171 or cgeer@elgaucho.com for information.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Brunch

Sunday Jun 19, 2016 from 9:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Promotions

Father's Day Brunch

Sunday Jun 19, 2016 from 9:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Details
Enjoy the Ultimate Brunch experience at AQUA by El Gaucho for Mother's Day. $49/person, $19 for ages 6-13, 5 and under free. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Sunday Jun 19, 2016 from 9:30 AM - 2:00 PM.

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Romantic
Seattle
Scenic View
Seattle
2 More
Special Occasion
Seattle
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Waterfront / Belltown ›

scenic view (175)
special occasion (168)
romantic (138)
See All
fit for foodies (94)
notable wine list (78)
good for groups (72)
great for outdoor dining (52)
hot spot (33)
vibrant bar scene (23)
neighborhood gem (21)
great for brunch (15)
late-night find (15)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (8)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant, fine dining with great views.

Dined 3 days ago

This is a great restaurant with wonderful food, ambiance, and service. Great for special occasions but a little on the pricey side for frequent dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner-The Food was ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner-The Food was fantastic and the service was phenomenal! The view was excellent and the seating was comfortable! I would highly recommend this for any special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service were amazing...fant ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food and service were amazing...fantastic experience!

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

A little disappointing. I expected a lo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A little disappointing. I expected a lot more from a restaurant with "El Gaucho" in the name. Have been to the Portland location and LOVE it! The setting of the restaurant has a nice water view, but the interior is really bright and vibrant. I was expecting an elegant setting with class. Not here. Food was good, service great but would not make it back here again as there are SO MANY better restaurants in the Seattle area.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing the timing was off ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was amazing the timing was off and drinks came out very slowly. But the manager was great and covered our bill without us complaining. Fabulous restaurant we just had a bad server .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service, great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's retirement last night. We had OUTSTANDING service from our waitress Leanne along with John Lennstrom and Joseph Anthony. They made our time there very special and we are so glad we chose Aqua. From the front desk/check in area staff to everyone involved, each person congratulated my husband on his retirement. They gave us each a complimentary glass of bubbly along with an very nice appetizer. Thanks so much to everyone involved and we will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, great view and great Sal ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Great location, great view and great Salmon! I really loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, the view is amazing consider ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, the view is amazing considering the wrap around windows, service was fantastic and they seriously do all the little touches here and are very attentive to their customers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent.....

Dined on May 15, 2016

My goal was to experience a memorable birthday dinner for my girlfriend. This was accomplished with the precise attention to detail and superb service provided by the team at Aqua. I called roughly two weeks in advance and requested assistance in the coordination of an excellent table and assistance with the delivery-presentation of her birthday gift during the final course at dinner. Everyone participated starting with valet, reception, waiter and management to make the night special for her. I could have selected virtually any restaurant in Seattle and decided on Aqua based on my previous excellent dining experiences. The ambiance and setting was perfect and service outstanding. We started with the crab cakes which were delicious followed by the mouth watering crab bisque soup. Our entries consisted of the sea bass and filet prepared Oscar style. Both of which were delicious. I highly recommend for a memorable dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 13, 2016

We are from out of town.picked this due tip menu and view. It was wonderful! My only complaint was that it is a very noisy room, didn't fit in with the romantic feel. They need a buffer! Also, as the sun was going down, it was right in our eyes..... badly! They need shades! We were offered cheap sunglasses! Food & service impeccable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Evening Dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day and a birthday at Aqua and had a delightful evening. The service was excellent, the food good, and the view fantastic! The corkage fee was $30, which was pretty steep for 4 bottles of wine (8 of us). The food prices were also steep so our bill was quite expensive. But for special occasions this restaurant is very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Did not feel special on a special occasion

Dined on May 8, 2016

My two sons took me for Mothers' Day Brunch. It was a big deal since the meal was $200 but the buffet was good but not great. Initially they were going to seat us at a two person table and squeeze one of us in on a common used walkway - without a view at a seafod view restaurant that we had requested a view table from. I had to be the "difficult one" and say that it was not appropriate for the 3 of us (even though my boys are teens, they are very tall and it was ridiculous. We waited and then were given a table that had clearly been brought in for overflow, with kid chairs and pushed in between the nice table siwth the nice chairs. I did not feel special. Finally the buffet was nice but not "great" and they did NOT have the carving bar that was touted and that my sons were eager to use. The omelet bar was ok, but they made my spinach omelet without spinach on the first try and then made on ehalf the size the second time....it just got to be too much so we exited and determined that more expensive does not equal better view or better food or better experience.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for what it was. It was a complete disappointment, the food selection was limited and they took a while to replenish. The servers spill all the water all over and not even bother to apologize. Never again.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great buffet

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here for mother's day buffet and were not dissapointed. They had a lot of different types of things to eat that even vegetarians such as my husband would be happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful but pricey

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for mother's day brunch - beautiful, until the bill came. It was a buffet, and I rarely tip 20% - especially at a buffet where the wait staff doesn't do much but bring drinks. To my surprise, after paying $49pp for the disorganized buffet, we were charged 20% gratuity, for only 5 people... ? Nice, but I don't like being gouged like that. especially on gratuity. $49 for a buffet is high anyway -

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had one of the best nights of my life! E ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had one of the best nights of my life! Every course was unimaginably delicious. Come here for a special occasion, elegant night, or any extra fancy meal. The bread pudding made me cry; best dessert in Seattle.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Another incredible celebratory dinner. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Another incredible celebratory dinner. Thank you for being consistently amazing at what you do.

food4
ambience5
service5

We always have such a wonderful time bei ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We always have such a wonderful time being wined and dined by the delightful folks at El Gaucho! Tonight was no different! Wonderful drinks fabulous wine delightful food and service beyond compare! Whenever we've got something special to celebrate we always make sure to do so at this restaurant!

food5
ambience4
service3

The waitress did a good job but had too ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

The waitress did a good job but had too many tables. When you want a dining experience they should be more attentive. Meal was great!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant evening out

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food, atmosphere, and service were all wonderful. We really enjoyed what we ate - Seafood Bacchanalia.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

My favorite

Dined on May 1, 2016

Aqua is one of, if not, my favorite restaurant in Seattle. We met friends from out of town for a dinner get together. It was a beautiful sunny day and the view was fantastic! The only thing that could have been better was the service time at the bar. We were a few minutes early and waited in the bar for our table. They were very busy, but it was difficult watching the bartender make a bunch of drinks and we hadn't ordered yet. The service was great throughout, just took a little bit of time to start.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beef tenderloin appetizer was amazin ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The beef tenderloin appetizer was amazing, & the ahi main course was excellent. The server recommended the carmel bread pudding and that unbelievable. Plus the ambience of the restaurant, and the views were incredible. Great dining experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Be sure to check out the deck area outsi ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Be sure to check out the deck area outside before or after dinner for a beautiful view of the sound and nearby sculpture park. A great photo op of the space needle. Great seafood menu,attentive staff. Time it so you can see the sunset.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

First Visit

Dined on April 29, 2016

Location on the water and the interior ambience lived up to our expectations for a special occasion dining experience. The wait staff were excellent with just the right amount of attentiveness. Cocktails were well made and generous. We found the steaks to be well prepared, tender with great flavor. A sore spot were the scallops as they were sandy. Did not expect to find this issue in a restaurant of this caliber. We found the side dishes to be on the salty side for our taste. Dessert was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and a stunning view.

Dined on April 28, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience at AQUA. The sommeliers were courteous, professional and knowledgeable. The server was very attentive, and the support staff was excellent. The food was outstanding - fresh, local, and beautifully presented. The view at sunset is phenomenal. We hoped for a window seat, which wasn't available, but the view is excellent from anywhere in the restaurant. The only drawback was the number of large groups celebrating - loudly - nearby. But it has a city feel and we would definitely go again the next time we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Seafood in Seattle

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We love dining at Aqua whenever we visit Seattle. The ambiance and service can not be beat. The wait staff are incredible. They always know the right food to recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing!!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Absolutely amazing!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous place for a romantic dinner!

Dined on April 24, 2016

AQUA is a fabulous place and never disappoints. Great ambiance, beautiful artichoke hanging lights, attentive and professional staff and warm and friendly atmosphere. The food is outstanding and the presentation at times is jaw-dropping. Always consistent. Excellent wine list with lots of favorites. Will continue to dine there whenever we can!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Pretty ok..

Dined on April 24, 2016

Came up to Seattle to celebrate my wife and my 2 yr anniversary. This place was expensive and the food was good. I think it's slightly overpriced for what you get. Didn't even get a anniversary dessert or anything as most places will give you. Probably wouldn't come back again...but it wasn't bad.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

My friend and I went to Aqua for Restura ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

My friend and I went to Aqua for Resturant week to try it out and I can confidently say that I will be returning. Sometimes during restaurant week places can make you feel rushed or even sometimes unwanted but the service here was impeccable and the food was top notch. If you want to try something the steelhead is amazing!!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Paying for Atmosphere and Service

Dined on April 22, 2016

Came for Restaurant Week and ordered the fried artichokes, steelhead, and key lime pie. My dinner mate ordered the clam chowder, seafood linguini, and tart. The fried artichokes sat on a bed of slightly old/withered arugula, and the artichokes themselves contained some of the tough outer leaves. The clam chowder was excellent, and desserts were tasty. The steelhead was cooked well and was flavorful but forgettable, and the seafood linguini had an odd taste and neither of us could eat much of it. The view of the sunset over Puget Sound was amazing, and our server was friendly and approachable, though the overall feel of the place was uppity. We both felt the atmosphere was more like a hotel lobby in Vegas or a wedding reception, with a pianist playing selections like the Pink Panther theme song. I'm glad we visited for Restaurant Week because this location would have disappointed at full price. Overall an okay experience, but doesn't deliver on uniqueness.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointing (40th Wedding Anniversary dinner)

Dined on April 21, 2016

This was our second time dining at Aqua. We returned because of a great experience in the past. But this time was much different. First of all, although we had a reservation, we had to wait for a table. The table where they seated us had blinding sunlight coming right at us. We were told there were no other tables. When we made the reservation, we noted that this would be our 40th Wedding Anniversary celebration, so we expected a better table. Once we ordered drinks, we waited quite a while for them to come. Overall the service was quite poor and not we would expect from an El Gaucho restaurant. We had dined the week before at El Gaucho on 1st Avenue in Seattle, and the service was outstanding. On the positive side, the dinner we ordered was outstanding - what you would expect from an El Gaucho. When the bill came the glass of wine my wife ordered was charged at $32 rather than the $30 shown on the drink menu. Although we enjoyed our meal, the poor service put a damper on the evening. Overall a disappointing experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time!

Dined on April 21, 2016

We had a great time with fantastic food and service. Our meal consisted of steak, lobster, salmon, scallops, salads, and soups! All was wonderful. Our Server was prompt and courteous. The view was awesome. A very enjoyable evening. We can't wait to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

It was great

Dined on April 20, 2016

It was great

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good restaurant!

Dined on April 18, 2016

Great restaurant, great food and beautiful view!!! We will definitely come back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Impressive

Dined on April 17, 2016

Start to finish, service was professional and pleasant. If you are into seafood, this spot has great options. I'm vegetarian and did not feel like I was missing out. My girlfriend took advantage of the seafood offerings. Both of us had a great time and really enjoyed the food. The cocktails were outstanding and the wine, with which we had some help selecting, was phenomenal! Big smiles from start to finish in a lovely setting. Catch it around sunset, if you can. Note, tip is included.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Winter was very attentive. Se ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Our waiter Winter was very attentive. Seated immediately and they had a thoughtful card signed by the staff for a celebrant in our party. Plus rose petals on the table. Nice touch by the staff. Valet is the only parking if you don't want to park on the street. Also service charge is now added to your bill automatically.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Underwhelmed

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had a nice time but was disappointed in the service of our server. It felt like because we are a younger couple, she didn't think we had the money to foot the bill.. Maybe that was just her personality. I wouldn't be bothered if I had that level of service dining there for brunch, but not for a $300 dinner for two. The food & drinks were great. The additions they do for special occasions were lovely. Front desk was welcoming and personable.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Evening

Dined on April 15, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Aqua....although we had been there several times before this was the best yet! We brought some out of town guests and they were so pleased! The food and service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a wonderful time eating at the res ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

I had a wonderful time eating at the restaurant for my birthday

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.