Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About AQUA by El Gaucho

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://elgaucho.com/dine/aqua/

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly McGovern at 206-956-8171 or cmcgovern@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (82)
Scenic View (77)
Waterfront (73)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Romantic (61)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Business Meals (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Modern Decor (27)
Notable Wine List (26)
Live Music (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Fun (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Private Room (14)
People Watching (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (7)
Seasonal (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Organic (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1548 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Very annoyed at the service and our server. The busser was clearing the table as we were ordering, we were moving menus and trying to talk to the server and it was just not very pleasant. We had to ask the server twice to clear our table and take empty glasses away. Had to ask for more bread twice. We lost a napkin on the floor and had to ask for another twice. We brought in two of our favorite bottles of wine, and when most of our glasses still had wine in it, she took the new bottle, which was different, and started filling up a glass, mixing the wine. And we told her and then she tried to do another's at our table. The only person we were happy with was the som, RJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We attended AQUA for a family dinner on a Saturday evening. Our experience was nothing short of what we have come to expect from the El Gaucho family of restaurants. This was a special occasion meal and reservations are definitely recommended. We were seated promptly and were greeted by our server soon after. His food and drink recommendations were perfect and very much appreciated as everything on the menu looked amazing. Nothing was rushed, all six entrees arrived at the same time and the food was delicious! Of note were the scallops, the swordfish and the Filet AQUA. Our service was excellent throughout the meal, the atmosphere and piano player were lovely, the valet parking was much appreciated and the view of the sound is second to none. I would return in a heartbeat and would recommend to anyone looking for a classic Seattle dining experience! Thank you AQUA!

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great service. I do not enjoy children. We were seated by two families with children. One family had 2 very well mannered children. The other allowed the kids to intrude 3 other tables including ours during dinner and no one did anything about it.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful location, great food, decently (though not bargain-) priced, attentive service, easy parking -- what's not to like? The menu is fairly extensive and offers both excellent seafood and meat selections, all attractively presented. This is our friends' favorite special-occasion place, and now it's ours, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Amazing experience, first time here and definitely coming back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Second visit to Aqua, have been to El Guacho in Tacoma a few times as well. Impeccable service. Amazing food. The piano player plays some odd choices in a lounge like tempo, but it is all good.

Thank you for a fabulous evening!

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We met another couple to celebrate 2 birthdays amongst us. The table was beautifully set for our celebration with rose petals running down the center. We brought our own wine, which was handled expertly by the sommelier. The appetizers and dinner were fresh, cooked to perfection and amazing! We had no room for dessert! We ended up being the last table in the restaurant, but there was no pressure at all to leave. Lovely live piano music throughout the evening was a wonderful touch.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love the atmosphere of Aqua and the gorgeous views of Puget Sound. And the food is always delicious - we enjoyed outstanding salmon and the first halibut of the season - both prepared flawlessly! The Seafood Bliss appetizer is outstanding if you cannot decide between all the choices. Impeccable, attentive service and a fabulous wine list, plus the best desert of any restaurant we've ever been to - chocolate, caramel bread pudding! Add Aqua to your list for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Seafood is simply outstanding and always prepared creatively to match seasonal tastes. Nick and Jacob are phenomenal servers - be sure and ask for one of them and RJ is one the best sommeliers in the biz! Enjoy! You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wife's birthday

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding seafood with a view of Puget Sound. Seattle Prices but in line with its competition. The view is priceless and it is a superb place to show the beauty of the Northwest to out of town friends or business colleagues. The service is excellent but not obtrusive and almost every table has a view.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We came with our business associates from out of town, and everyone loved the atmosphere, food and terrific service. The presentation of the Spinach Salad for 2 was fastastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This restaurant consistently is fabulous. Went there for our 25th anniversary celebration and I just can't say enough about how great it was. Rose pedals on the table when we arrive along with congrats card signed by the staff, both a very nice touch. Our server was absolutely perfect, the food superb (filet and lobster tails, shrimp cocktail, crab cakes). Wines served nicely. Overall, one of our finest dining experiences ever. Thank you Aqua by El Gaucho for such a lovely evening.

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We've been to Aqua more than a few times - both for social events and business dinners. It's been fabulous every time. Everyone we interacted with was top notch, especially our server John. It is not inexpensive, but you really do get what you pay for - at least at Aqua!

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Awesome , fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 28, 2017

always a good spot to eat never disappointed. great view good service and just fun

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I chose this place because I wanted to celbrsate my boyfriends birthday and take him to a nice fancy waterfront restaurant with good food.I was hoping to have a nice experience but I regret coming here.
The food wasn't worth what its valued for. Also, the food was salty. I highly do not recommend this place to anybody. Don't waste your money at this high end restaurant when the food isn't all that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went for my 2 daughters' birthdays. Everything was amazing from the rose petals on the table to the piano playing throughout dinner and playing happy birthday when the amazing desserts were served. And our waiter Matt O'Brien was the BEST!! Oh and did I mention the food was fabulous. Overall a great experience. I have already recommended to my friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Took my wife here for our 16th anniversary. Had been there before during the Summer and had a great table outside as the sun was going down, which was fantastic. This time, we had a great booth table inside, but it lost some ambiance since it's fairly large inside and not as idyllic. We started out with a couple cocktails, which were both right on the mark. The service was outstanding (both MyKea and the manager Joe? were great). Joe?, the manager even left cookies in our car for us as we told him we're going home for out desert. We had a ceviche appetizer which was good but not great. We shared scallops and a rib eye steak. Scallops were awesome!, but the steak was good but not quite awesome. Was expecting a lot more flavor for a $68 rib eye. The wine selection was vast and afforded us an option that worked out very well. Other nice things were the rose petals scattered on the table and a card signed by the crew wishing us a happy anniversary. All in all, we will definitely go back but ask for patio prime view seating, stick with the seafood options, and ask for MyKea too. And thanks again for Joe (and I hope I got his name right.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We visited on a slower night and when I was torn between two dishes, our waiter suggested a "combo meal". Not on the menu and not always an option (if they're busy) but so perfect! I was able to enjoy a smaller portion of both items! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always great atmosphere and food. I don't like the mandatory 20% service charge but it is becoming standard in Seattle restaurants - and it seems like the wait staff lose out in the long run. I would prefer to pay 20% more for the menu items and tip staff myself.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I love this restaurant and it's ambience cannot be beat, however there were two people at our table that sent back there food (Sea Bass cheeks) as they were much too salty. They were very gracious and brought us alternative entrees which were delicious. (Scallops) Everyone else enjoyed their food immensely.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at AQUA. We had scallops which were of excellent quality and cooked perfectly. The brussel sprouts were flavorful. The seafood is all locally sourced and wild caught so the flavor and quality is at its peak. The wait staff were excellent and informative, made conversation when appropriate and were unobtrusive otherwise. The ambiance was soft and elegant without being stuffy or overdone and included live piano music in the lights of the city waterfront and the ferries sailing by added to the ambiance. It was expensive, but actually I felt it was worth the price! It was a lovely evening and we plan to return there for our next special evening out.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food was phenomenal and the experience will always be a special memory.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Live Music, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Fabulous birthday celebration including rose petals and special attention to my attention hungry husband. Thanks for the fabulous time.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Normally great food but on this visit I was not terribly impressed with the entrees nor the fact that there were limited options for someone with a dairy allergy. Drinks also very weak so save your money or get wine instead.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

All staff we met was friendly and personable. Love the pianist.
Amazing food we ate: spicy crab bisque, surf 'n turf, prime frenched rib steak, dark chocolate genache.
(Didn't enjoy the key lime pie as much as I hoped but it was still delicious and worth getting.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything is as you would hope it would be! The quality of the food was only exceed by the service! They truly care that you have an incredible experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Love this place. Nirvana on the piano gets me every time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I loved this restaurant. The food was delicious, the atmosphere elegant and fun, the music was wonderful. The spinach salad that was created at the table was the best salad I have ever had. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. I did feel a bit rushed by our server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great experience. Very romantic setting for our anniversary. Recommend table side salad for two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 18, 2017

From the moment we pulled up to valet stand service was impeccable. Each course was prepared perfectly and the pace at which food arrived at table could not have been better. The cookie left in car by valet is a nice touch. I tend to forget about you when I go out since you are a little off my normal circuit but you definitely provide one of the best dining experiences in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The entire meal service and food were amazing. The late evening views from the water front were spectacular.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Much lighter and brighter than El Gaucho. The food was great -- emphasis on seafood and their wine list seemed nicely complete with wines distributed by Vinum, and reasonable priced. Aqua will never be an inexpensive meal but for a treat its worthwhile.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Aqua never fails, always perfect in both food & service. We had salmon & scallops which were delicious & a wonderful spinach salad made at our table. Our waiter Tim makes a mean salad and did an outstanding job serving us. The piano player seemed to play all our favorites & we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our food was delicious, our service was friendly without being too fussy, and if the sunset had been cooperative--it would have been over the top special. I guess we'll need to go back and try for that part again!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I was a little surprised to receive an email from Open Table that I didn't show up for my reservations which I did show up with my husband and checked in with the greeter. She had a table reserved for me. Our server was nice and friendly but she forgot to bring me my lemon a couple of times. She did eventually after my husband reminded her. That wasn't too much of a deal. I had the special with filet mignon which was okay, not too favorable. But my husband had to ask for seasoning for his NY steak. It's not our first time to be at Aqua and the food was very good when we went there before. Things happen. We will go again and give it another try. The server introduced the point reward program to us which was great because our bill was over $260 (pretty pricey). I filled out the form and she said she would credit the points to my new award account and mail me the membership card. I hope she didn't forget. One thing is El Gaucho and Aqua both automatically charged 20% for service charge. We found the services were not as good as before because the wait staff probably didn't have any incentives to provide better service because either way they would get 20% tip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Jake or Jacob was a friendly helpful pleasant waiter. JR was exceedingly helpful and informative as well as friendly in helping us select our drinks. The food was scrumptious; well prepared and presented. My only complaint is that a gratuity was well deserved but already included in the bill. Honestly, it is not a gratuity if it is automatically included. I was gratified with everything but that.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Expected much more from El Gaucho establishment. Staff just going through the motions and lackadaisical with 20% tip added automatically. Food was good but ed bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the dinner experience at AQUA last weekend, in celebration of our wedding anniversary. We loved the food, and impeccable service, both. I had the salmon special with a side dish of lobster mashed potatoes, and it was to die for! I also tried their pineapple martini and highly recommend that alcoholic beverage as well. However, when the bill came, it was a bit of a shock. The prices are quite high indeed, - but for special occasions when you wish to splurge - it's a winner.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.