About AQUA by El Gaucho

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/aqua-by-el-gaucho.html

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly McGovern at 206-956-8171 or cmcgovern@elgaucho.com for information.

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Bacchanalia - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Salmon - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Sweetcorn - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Emerald City Volcano - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Stuffed Colossal Prawns & Seared Diver Scallops - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Appetizers - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Pan Seared Brussels Sprouts - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Australian Rock Lobster - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Lobster Mashed Potatoes - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Baked alaska - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Classic Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Seared Sesame Chilean Sea Bass & Grilled Hawaiian Swordfish - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Entrees - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Bailey's Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Bone In Ny Strip Steak & Rib Steak - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Oysters - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Clams With Fennel, Bacon, Tomatoes, Garlic And Pernod - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Barbecued Prawns - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Pomegrante Lemondrop - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
White Cosmo - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Crab Macaroni & Cheese - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Vegetable Risotto - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Grilled Chilean Seabass  - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Calamari - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Filet Aqua - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Crab Cakes - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Spicy Crab Bisque - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Roasted Sweet Corn - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA
Wicked Shrimp - AQUA by El Gaucho, Seattle, WA

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Waterfront / Belltown ›

Scenic View (90)
Waterfront (84)
Special Occasion (82)
See All
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Romantic (57)
Notable Wine List (43)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Modern Decor (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Business Meals (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (17)
People Watching (16)
Seasonal (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Live Music (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Private Room (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Fun (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Cozy (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Casual (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place, but very early (6pm)they we ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place, but very early (6pm)they were out of Salmon and our entire table had ordered it.

Manager came over, but was very defensive (almost not nice) rather than apologetic. Given the prices they charge you would have thought he'd bend over backwards to make us happy.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value1

It was a packed night but all of the sta ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a packed night but all of the staff treated us like we were the only ones there. Scallops and prawns prepared to perfection. Great sides. Top notch service. It made the evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every morsal was divine to the palate. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Every morsal was divine to the palate.

The Volcano dessert is a must for the experience, the artistic affect and the extraordinary flavor as each bite is enjoyed!

Vallet drivers need to slow down when driving someone else's automobile.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place, one of my favorites to ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wonderful place, one of my favorites to take out of town guests. Excellent food and ambiance. But clearly an expense account restaurant. Prices are really over the top. That was apparent in a half empty place on a Friday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff provided excellent service and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The staff provided excellent service and the food was well prepared. We didn't feel rushed and at the same time we were not ignored. Very nice setting.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

took my family to Aqua to celebrate my w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

took my family to Aqua to celebrate my wife's birthday. She tends to stay away from red meat so the seafood was perfect for her tastes. The service was great and I especially appreciated the shuttle that picked us up at the ferry terminal on a rainy evening. Great night and thanks to everyone at Aqua.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and amazing service! Th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding food and amazing service! The attention to detail is superb!

Tags: Modern Decor, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Private Room, Scenic View, People Watching, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a very good experience

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It's a very good experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and ambiance!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing food and ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, probably the best seafood ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Amazing food, probably the best seafood restaurant in Seattle. It is expensive, but well worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had an enjoyable wedding anniversary ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had an enjoyable wedding anniversary dinner at Aqua. The staff was great and we enjoyed our meal. I would recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb! Enjoyed a romantic anniversary m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Superb! Enjoyed a romantic anniversary meal on a Saturday night. The hostess decorated our quiet table for two with a view with rose petals and had placed a card at the table wishing us a happy anniversary that was signed by several staff. The waiter was excellent; very professional and balanced his attentiveness while respecting our time to enjoy our special night. The food was superb and the live, quiet, pianist provided a wonderful ambiance! Our deserts came to us with Happy Anniversary spelled out in chocolate drizzle on our plates. It seemed that many of the managers and staff knew it was a special occasion for us as one of the managers, seeing my wife walk to the restroom, escorted her to the door while inquiring as to if she was enjoying her anniversary. What more could you ask for? The best compliment you can say is that it was worth the $300 dinner for two, and we will not hesitate to return on our next trip to Seattle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

After coming here multiple times over th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

After coming here multiple times over the past year my wife I are both disappointed. We both ordered our favorite dish 'Chilean Sea Bass' when it arrived it was RAW! I cannot believe there was no failsafe to prevent this. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food! Great service!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good . Considering the price p ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was good . Considering the price point, it should be amazing. I will go back to sit at the bar for a drink and appetizer. The decor is beautiful .

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely the best swordfish, I've ever ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Absolutely the best swordfish, I've ever eaten. I highly recommend this restaurant in Seattle.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a remarkable and memor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

My wife and I had a remarkable and memorable experience at AQUA by El Gaucho, and I am calling it an "experience" in no light term.

I had chosen Aqua by El Gaucho to celebrate my wife's birthday with a surprise date night with her. I had put a reservation using Opentable where I had left a note mentioning the special occasion. What I didn't expect was for them to make it such a memorable experience right from the moment we stepped in, to until we had left.

The receptionist greeted and wished my wife "Happy Birthday" immediately, and that personal touch took her by surprise. We were walked to our special table (which had flower petals lined through the table, with a card wishing her Happy Birthday). Both our server and the manager were such gentlemen. They wished her too in due course. Getting wished by everyone whom we crossed path there definitely makes you feel special. They were great hosts.

About the food: The chef was kind to accommodate our preference to have no bone and skin on our chicken. The dish was not only well done, but was also well served. I noticed that the chef and the server had payed attention to the serving temperature of my dish, and that enhances the experience.

About the dessert: The manager got us the Volcano dessert which is accompanied with a fire show while he prepares it at your table side. That reminded us that our sparkly evening experience wasn't over yet.

About the view: Great view of the water!

About the ambiance: Quiet and romantic. Your date will be impressed.

What touched my heart the most was the welcome feeling, the feel that they are happy to have us on our special occasion. They left no stone unturned in making it a special evening for us. It takes a great team to make one's restaurant visit an "experience".

Thank you AQUA by El Gaucho!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is very pricey. However, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The restaurant is very pricey. However, the food is exceptional and the service is excellent.

Parking isn't an issue due to their valet parking. We would definitely go there more often if the price point was a bit lower!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a delight and amazing

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Always a delight and amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding despite the fire ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was outstanding despite the fire alarm next-door going off through most of our visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice ambience, but mediocre food. Very e ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice ambience, but mediocre food. Very expensive. The Manhattan and Mule were good. We ordered white wine for dinner, and it was just set on the table. No chilling offered. We had an out of town guest and it was really disappointing. Should've gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Drinks took a decent length of time to m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Drinks took a decent length of time to make it out, rest of the meal was amazing. Surf and Turf was the perfect mix, everything prepared perfectly. Dessert of volcano and creme brûlée was quite the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived an hour early on a cold windy ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We arrived an hour early on a cold windy November night to one of the warmest dining experiences ever.

We started at the bar with the magnificent barkeep, Nolan, who was actually trying to set up for the evening while we pestered him with questions. We discussed various white wines with him and he graciously let us taste a few so we could make a better choice for our dinner wine. He also made several suggestions as to what dishes to order.

Once seated in the dining room, our waiter, Winter, continued the excellent service. The exquisite spinach/goat cheese salad with its table side flambe dressing is a must order if they are serving it. The halibut cheeks main course was unique and delicious.

We had two different desserts: apple bread pudding and the seasonal pumpkin cake. My husband thought the bread pudding one of the better ones he's had. My pumpkin cake was too dense despite the topping of cinnamon ice cream and a crumble.

My cappuccino was as good as any I've had at Peet's!

Well done Aqua! Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nolan and Chase at the bar, Ben at the p ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nolan and Chase at the bar, Ben at the piano and amazing food from talented chefs made the evening absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Aqua is in a beautiful waterfront settin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Aqua is in a beautiful waterfront setting, has a superb staff, and its dining room is highly attractive. Unfortunately, fumes from the cooking area carried into our nearby booth making the air quality a bit uncomfortable. The light and small printing font made it a challenge to read menu descriptions. Finally, both the lamb and scallop dishes were somewhat over salted.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

1 of our guest , this was his first time ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

1 of our guest , this was his first time to Aqua and he said his steak was the Best steak he has ever had and they live in Southern California!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fine dining and excellant service on the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fine dining and excellant service on the water. Great for getting together with friends or a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We always have an enjoyable evening and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We always have an enjoyable evening and they don't rush you through.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This restaurant is extremely overpriced. I was looking forward to great, fresh seafood and was very disappointed. The food was heavily salted and quality did not match the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

It was absolutely amazing!! The Food, se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was absolutely amazing!! The Food, service, and setup was outstanding. Definitely recommend coming here 1,000%.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our appetizers and entree were outstandi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our appetizers and entree were outstanding. We had the ahi poke and oysters followed by the halibut with chanterelle mushrooms. Delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's about the view, ambiance and vibe. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

It's about the view, ambiance and vibe. Good food, pricey. Wine selection ok, over price.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Top notch food and service!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Top notch food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful time with my girlfriend ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Had a wonderful time with my girlfriend for our anniversary. Perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding food, great service and terr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Outstanding food, great service and terrific time!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I find it odd that in your list of reaso ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I find it odd that in your list of reasons to recommend this restaurant, you left out "excellent food". The food was simply the best.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service. Noisy, as some pa ...

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great Food & Service. Noisy, as some patrons had little kids with them even late in the hours. Expensive, but overall very nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good, but unfortunately se ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was very good, but unfortunately service was disorganized and slow. To top it off they sat a group with two screaming toddlers in high chairs among several couples expecting a romantic Saturday night dinner for which they paid top dollar. Really not OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Fantastic from the parking on - great lo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fantastic from the parking on - great location, amazing service, incredible menu and the food was phenomenal - truly a spectacular evening - we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated my husband's birthday here ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday here and loved it! The service and food and location were FANTASTIC. Our waiter was so kind and attentive - every detail was perfect! Live piano music - great pianist. The food was fresh and delicious - all in all it was an extremely memorable evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.