Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About AQUA by El Gaucho

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://elgaucho.com/dine/aqua/

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly McGovern at 206-956-8171 or cmcgovern@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (104)
Scenic View (100)
Special Occasion (99)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Good for a Date (78)
Romantic (75)
Good for Birthdays (65)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Notable Wine List (45)
Business Meals (42)
Live Music (38)
Worth the Drive (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Modern Decor (25)
Local Ingredients (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
People Watching (18)
Fun (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Private Room (14)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Healthy (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tapas (3)
Casual (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

This place has it all! Ambience, a water view, perfect service, great bar selections, and over the top food! We were celebrating our birthdays, (may babies), and this first class restaurant really wowed us! The steak and lobster was perfect, our server fun and knowledgeable, and the service perfect. It's expensive, so go in knowing that! Top notch experience in every way!!

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Copper River King salmon was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

It was very good. Dish was good and server was very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, service and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was 3 of us for a full dinner course. The food was pricey. The mac and cheese side was really good. The stuffed shrimp was also good. The salmon was dry and flavorless. The crab bisque was inedible!! Too thick and fatty!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Awesome meal! Had the New York Strip and it was seasoned and cooked to perfection. The Lime Chipotle Corn is unbelievable....The service was over the top by Terri (Mama T). You must try the Bread Pudding. Great wine selection and provided free transportation back to our hotel. Would highly recommend for a special night out!!!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food and the service are very, very good. The seafood in particular was top grade. We loved the seaweed crab salad, lobster tails, Copper river king salmon, and the chipotle butter corn side dish. The food was not only good, but plentiful, which is not always a given for a restaurant of this standing. The desserts are a notch below the rest of the meal. We were there for a birthday, and the crew was super attentive and friendly, and made the evening special. Overall, a great dining experience (although the ambiant noise level is a bit high).

On the other hand, the bill was shocking. At this level of price, I think one can find better options in Seattle, be it Canlis for the fancy experience or Harvest Vine for the food. Still would recommend for a special evening.

Tags: Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Simply amazing - best tasting and freshest seafood in Seattle! Combine that with an outstanding and attentive service beginning with friendly valet service ( a rare find in Seattle!) to welcoming hostesses to the best servers who take care of your every need!!! Can't wait to return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Simply not worth the money in a town with so many fantastic seafood options. Overcooked shrimp, overcooked crab, occasionally inattentive service, no mind blowing innovation, and kinda weird decor. We enjoyed the wine selection, the view, and an amazing live pianist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Many dinners at EG Seattle & Tacoma - first time at Aqua. Although the menu was similar, I thought the food quality was less than the traditional EG's, and over priced.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sivi the general manager is incredible. The restaurant is outstanding and we have always enjoyed our dining experiences there. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone for a family event, special occasion or for business. 2nd to none!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My bride is not one to frequent Mother's Day brunches. But she is open to an amazing dinner experience. And that's why we come to Aqua! From when you pull up, to when you pull away...you are made to feel welcomed and valued. Pancetta wrapped prawns were on point. Crab seaweed salad was scrumptious. We both ordered the Chilean Sea Bass and were blown away. Paired with a Yakima Valley Sauvingnon Blanc...we didn't even need dessert. Thank you, Aqua, for being one of the premier food destinations in the Pacific Northwest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent experience on the waterfront.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not my scene. The interior feels like you're on a cruise ship. A noisy, crowded cruise ship. It felt cheesy and rather dated. The food was good but I've had better all over town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was fantastic and the location/view was wonderful on the waterfront. The noise level was a bit high making it difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were their for our son's 27th birthday. From the birthday card from the employees to the service, presentation of the food, and live music that appropriately played 'happy birthday' as dessert was presented, the whole experience was lovely! And we're pleased we chose Aqua over all other restaurants we considered. Our only frustration was the volume of voices; at times, it was difficult to hear one another over those sitting at table behind us, (which was in the bar, and were only a half wall separated the bar from the restaurant). Overall, we enjoyed our evening and appreciated Aqua's contribution to a wonderful memory. We would definitely recommend Aqua to friends and family.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Seemed to be by far the nicest of the waterfront restaurants. Quite elegant and huge, nice wine list and menu, great views, quite pricey but mostly worth it. If you are visiting and want one splurge on Seattle waterfront, this is it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

My wife and I went here for our 20th anniversary. We could not have picked a better place! The food was fantastic (I had the Grilled Chilean Seabass and my wife had the Filet AQUA), but the service is what made it memorable. The Captain at our table RJ was a huge help selecting a great wine for us, I needed all the help I could get since I'm not really a wine guy. After bringing the wine he informed us that he had something special coming for us. Moments later he returned with a Happy Anniversary card signed by the whole staff and sprinkled rose petals on the table in front of my wife. I thought that was a pretty nice touch. Dinner as I said was great and all the staff were very attentive and a blast to talk to, but were also very respectful to allow us our space. After we ate we were told they were bringing out a complimentary desert! They brought us out their Baileys Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding on a plate that had "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on it for us to share. I've never liked bread pudding in my life, but this was amazing! At the end, I received the check that included a 20% gratuity already added, but I did put a little extra on because they were so great. RJ promptly returned to make sure I understood the gratuity had been included and make sure I didn't add it by accident. This alone would have all been great, but to top it all off, when we picked our car up from the valet (which was validated) there were cookies on our console! I would recommend this place to anyone in a heart beat. The staff really makes you feel like they value your business and want you to really enjoy your experience. Thank you to Aqua for making our 20th anniversary a memorable one!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary here. Location was great, nice water view. Cocktails were tasty and service was attentive. We shared the Seafood Bliss to start which was so great. Loved the cocktail sauce. The scallops I ordered for my main were not good. Tasted metallic, and just seemed off. The risotto that came with it was much better. I'd try this place again but would order something else. They did have my favorite champagne and a 20 year tawny port I hadn't heard of that we loved. Also they offer a shuttle so the free ride home was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Best service I've ever had. Best filet I've ever had in my life!! Spendy but amazing for special occasions

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Happy Hour, People Watching, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I had a reservation, and I was 10 minutes late. The hostess acted like she had no idea, but I'm certain she gave away our table. We sat at one of the worst tables I have ever had. In the back, no view, loud, tiny table that was meant for 2, and the staff seemed to change every 5 minutes. Courses arrived within 10 minutes of each other, then 30 minutes later. Overall, the food was great, but the service was so remarkably flawed that I'm unlikely to return.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always wonderful. We luv LeeAnn, Wes, Darias, Lee, J.R., and all Aquas' Culinary experts whose names unfortunately I don't know (but greet my husband and me each time we dine here) but do a delicious job. Truly an amazing team.

Tags: Private Room, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

John was fantastic! It was a great celebration for son's 17th birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great foods, great view, great sevices.
Strong sunlight before sunset was little bit annoying but we got a great ocean view instead.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I go to Aqua periodically both personally and for business, and as a business executive spend time in restaurants all over the world . I chose to go to Aqua for my anniversary this year as part of a day of romantic surprises for my wife. While I expected the great food, great view and great service always associated with Aqua, our waiter and the entire staff there were one of the highlights of our day and made a memory that we won't soon forget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food and service were great. I had the halibut and it was one of the best I have had. We were a party of 3 and quiet surprised to have a 20% gratuity added to our bill automatically and we're not advised of that when the check arrived. We would have tipped that amount anyway, but were surprised by it being automatic and without notice.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Want the crab without the 'don't ruin my buzz with making me crazy the shell?' They got it down. They know we want to see the shell but mke it easy to remove. Best crab, Alaskan, I've had in forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Just so so. Not special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Impeccable, personal service and fabulous food. Definitely for special occasions only due to cost but worth every penny for a romantic celebration.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This is becoming our go to restaurant for great seafood in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Aqua clearly is a "special occasion" place with ordinary food and hefty prices. If you enjoy
a pianist playing in the background, then the ambiance might be for you -- although the dining room is huge and impersonal. It seems like a throw-back to an earlier time -- 90's?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Hosting a friend from out of town. Service was uninspired; $56 for a paltry 4 oz king salmon? Wanted to enjoy the view but had to complain about the couple seated along the window line doing some heavy petting. Essentially, I was an embarrassed host. I've had similar issues with El Gaucho locations specific to price/value & service. They are off my list as there are too many other fantastic options in Seattle.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Exceptional attention to detail. The staff leadership was particularly remarkable. We took our time dining which could have given the appearance that the service we were receiving was not timely (which was not the case!) and even though we were aptly cared for by our server and our sommelier the manager attended to us at least three times and even decanted our wine. Nice touches all around; referring to us by name upon arrival, noticing our interaction and offering a booth where we could sit side by side, the beautiful birthday dessert, excellent and detailed menu recommendations from our server, Sarah, cookies from our valet, and practically perfect preparations from the kitchen, (OMG The Chilean Sea Bass) made our celebration extra special and memorable.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

EVERYTHING was amazing! I had rose petals and a happy birthday note signed by ALL the staff at the restaurant waiting for me at our table. I wasn't sure what to order and so I got the sampler for dinner. (This was a five star sampler, scallops, tuna, sea bass). The sommelier was attentive and listened to what I look for in a wine and brought three samples for me to choose from - I picked a French wine - that did not break the bank. Our food arrived at the table with 4 servers, hot and all at once- (Beautiful presentation) - I haven't seen this level of service in years! To complete our dinner I had a complimentary happy birthday dessert to share. The night was over the top when we received our car from the valet complete with cookies! AMAZING memories for a life time. SO thankful for an amazing and memorable night- thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Tapas, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had heard good things about this restaurant and it is located very near our hotel so we tried it out. It is a little hard to find but others nearby helped us gladly. The ambiance was friendly and inviting and the food was great along with the service. The view of the water is unsurpassed. I thought the food was a little pricey, however. My server explained to me that a 20% tip had been added to the bill automatically and that this tip went to a fund and was doled out to the staff. I don't know how this is accomplished and it is none of my business. My server went on to explain to me that I could leave an additional tip that would be his and his alone. I would recommend this restaurant for the experience but there's no way I could afford to make this restaurant a regular stop when dining out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great greeting and entry with open kitchen action right when you walk in. We got our table and noticed we didn't get the window table like we requested. Instead we got a pillar table. Tucked behind a pillar which two of it's sides were water stands for refills 😒. If i leaned over i could touch the water table with my elbow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Went for 30th Anniversary FANTASTIC, my husband said it was the best meal he's ever eaten. The halibut and sautéed pea vines were so delicious. Our waiter was so personable and efficient and all around nice man, I almost kissed him on the cheek before we left! We loved him. They made our experience wonderful. I would very much recommend Aqua.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The automatic 20% is a bit much when you are buying $1,000.00 bottles of wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

They treated us like royalty...gratis. Anniversary dinner-my wife and I arrived to a quiet table with a view...and rose petals on the table with a card signed by the staff. Elegant service, perfect wine pairing, and wonderful food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My wife and I were here for a wedding anniversary dinner and the entire evening was excellent. Our table was ready a little early and we were treated from start to finish with service that was attentive but not obtrusive. The meal was expensive but I feel I received my moneys worth with the quality and location. I would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone wishing to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.