About AQUA by El Gaucho

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/aqua-by-el-gaucho.html

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly Geer at 206-956-8171 or cgeer@elgaucho.com for information.

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Bacchanalia
Sweetcorn
Emerald City Volcano
Stuffed Colossal Prawns & Seared Diver Scallops
Appetizers
Pan Seared Brussels Sprouts
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Australian Rock Lobster
Baked alaska
Bailey's Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding
Seared Sesame Chilean Sea Bass & Grilled Hawaiian Swordfish
Entrees
Classic Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Bone In Ny Strip Steak & Rib Steak
Oysters
Clams With Fennel, Bacon, Tomatoes, Garlic And Pernod
Barbecued Prawns
Pomegrante Lemondrop
White Cosmo
Crab Macaroni & Cheese
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Vegetable Risotto
Calamari
Crab Cakes
Filet Aqua
Wicked Shrimp
Grilled Chilean Seabass
Roasted Sweet Corn
Spicy Crab Bisque

Promotions

Hootenanny

Saturday Aug 6, 2016 from 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Promotions

Hootenanny

Saturday Aug 6, 2016 from 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Details

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Romantic
Seattle
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Waterfront / Belltown ›

scenic view (180)
special occasion (172)
romantic (132)
See All
fit for foodies (106)
great for outdoor dining (93)
good for groups (83)
notable wine list (79)
hot spot (33)
neighborhood gem (27)
great for brunch (22)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for lunch (16)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing restaurant in Seattle. If you lo ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing restaurant in Seattle. If you love great food and wonderful service go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great location, awesome view, delicious ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

great location, awesome view, delicious food and nice service

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very nice and informative ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter was very nice and informative about the menu.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very disappointed with what we got and h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointed with what we got and how much we paid. The only dishes worth mentioning was the tomato and buratta salad and crab cakes. Note- a 20% gratuity is automatically included.

Will not return

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We were celebrating a family birthday... ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were celebrating a family birthday....

Disappointed with the food. Drinks were great. Appetizers were okay but nothing wonderful. My Halibut cheeks were chewy and stringy. The opah was over cooked. Sauces were okay but needed something. The lobster mashed potatoes were watery and tasteless. Regardless of Aqua's view, it is highly likely I will not return, given Seattle has so many other nicer restaurants,.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Best steak I have had in a very long tim ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak I have had in a very long time and excellent service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great views. Overall, the experience imp ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great views. Overall, the experience impressed our guest. This is a special occasion restaurant. It is pricey.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

we had a lovely experience. the food wa ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

we had a lovely experience. the food was fantastic and the service equally so.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We brought four friends from out of town ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We brought four friends from out of town to Aqua. They were thrilled with the views, great drinks, fresh and delicious seafood and the impeccable service. A perfect experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice dinner with a great server ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a nice dinner with a great server. We sat outside and the o my drawback was the chairs were very uncomfortable, especially when wearing a dress. Food was good but service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This is a regular go to spot for me. I'v ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a regular go to spot for me. I've recommended to friends and business associates. I've also posted them on Hometown Tourist, a website where locals share the best of what they love in their hometown. You can only get on this site by recommendation. And, I highly recommend Aqua.

Tags: group bookings, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The seafood ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. The seafood is a must but there are other options if the others in your party are not seafood lovers. The pace was perfect and we were able to enjoy our conversations without being interrupted every few minutes. You can't beat the view but parking can be tricky and the restaurant is not easily seen from the street so plan ahead if you do not want to valet park.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely setting and a great outdoor patio ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Lovely setting and a great outdoor patio. A gem on a nice day. Food is fantastic and we loved the live piano music.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time I have been to A ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is the second time I have been to AQUA. First with a large group, and this time with just one other person. The service is impeccable, the food is delicious. Best of all it is a great blend of fine dining and 'casual' that ensures all guests have an amazing experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfection!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I celebrated out 31st annive ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My wife and I celebrated out 31st anniversary at your outstanding establishment. We had great food, outstanding service and the ambiance was super. The staff could not have been more professional and yet personally interested in our having a wonderful time. Thank you and your entire staff for a beautiful experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I couldn't find anything on ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My wife and I couldn't find anything on the menu we didn't want to order. We were able to order half orders of the sides which meant we could try more of them. It was delicious. It wasn't a cheap dinner, but definitely worth it. Try the grilled corn side, it was so good we ordered one to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our 50th anniversary and Aqua made the o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our 50th anniversary and Aqua made the occasion very special...Kuddos to a job well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, amazing view, but food n ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great location, amazing view, but food needs improvement. There was nothing special about the halibut I ordered, it tasted a bit old. Also, the tomatoes around it tasted funny. Even Pink Door makes a much better tomato garnish to fish dishes. I would have expected a lot of better of a restaurant owed by El Guacho.

Tuna poke was good, but have had better and more fresh at other restaurants.

Creme brûlée was good but the fruits on top were old, especially the strawberry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The food was delicious, from the stakes ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was delicious, from the stakes to all the seafood and desserts. We sat on the patio and the sunset view was amazing! And the service was great as well. Definitely a place I will come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've never had a meal here that wasn't a ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I've never had a meal here that wasn't absolutely fantastic. From arriving to leaving the staff is there to make your evening unforgettable. My suggestion is that you request "Winter" as your waiter as he is excellent and very knowledgeable about the menu and the wine list...my favorite spot in Seattle

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lee knows wine is very kind & considerat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Lee knows wine is very kind & considerate.

Makia is an amazing waiter.

RJ is very cool and fun.

In fact all the staff is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Aqua by El Gaucho hit it out ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Once again Aqua by El Gaucho hit it out of the park. Everything was amazing! It was a glorious sunny evening so sat outside. Spectacular view. Food and service were amazing. My guest said it was the best meal she has ever had. The halibut ceviche was mind-blowing. El Gaucho really knows how to pull out all the stops!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aqua is a Seattle restaurant highlight. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Aqua is a Seattle restaurant highlight. Top-notch service combined with an innovative menu. And the waterfront view can't be beat. We live nearby and have many choices in downtown and the waterfront. Aqua remains a favorite for special occasions and out-of-town guests.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Aqua. Excellent service and excell ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Love Aqua. Excellent service and excellent food. Crab legs with black truffle butter is amazing. A bit pricey, but perfect for a special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at Aqua an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was my first time dining at Aqua and everything was excellent from the food to the service. The view of the water is great and I definitely recommend getting the corn as your side item.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, the bill was not ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was excellent, the bill was not excelent! My husband and I had budgeted for maybe $150 and we were completely suprised by the $277!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

It was my birthday and they went above a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It was my birthday and they went above and beyond to make it special!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance, décor, view outstanding. Food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Ambiance, décor, view outstanding. Food, just OK to good. Plenty of Seattle restaurants with better food and drink. Service good to great. The wait for a table, way too long 30 minutes plus with reservations. Very expensive.

Great place to go once or for a big occasion. Fancy, yes; but not over the top. Romantic, maybe. For foodies, no not really.

Bar was awesome, drinks were just good.

Busy, very busy.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I was very impressed by the service, eve ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I was very impressed by the service, everyone was fantastic. But the cost vs the quality of the food was very poor.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We were there celebrating our anniversar ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were there celebrating our anniversary. The Aqua staff signed a card for us and had rose pedals on the table! The food was excellent and the service was super! Too bad we live on the East coast. We would highly recommend Aqua to anyone traveling to Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here on a whim, looking to try a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We came here on a whim, looking to try a new place. I had heard about this place - but didn't know what to expect. My husband and I were both extremely satisfied!!! Our server was in training, Erica, and was AWESOME!! She really made our night great.

The food was amazing, and ambiance top notch as well : )

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have had our last 3 weddin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I have had our last 3 wedding anniversaries at Aqua and we LOVE this restaurant. It is classy, cool, understated, and magnificent! The atmosphere, the food, the service are all top shelf !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

overall , Our guests are enjoyed the fin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

overall , Our guests are enjoyed the fine dining and the food was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent food. wonderful service. perfe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

excellent food. wonderful service. perfect date night. shared the scallops (delicious and large), the petite filet (amazing and perfectly cooked) with a manhattan and negroni to start. we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food as always. They were busy tha ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food as always. They were busy that night and we had a large party (10 people) but the quality of the service was still quite good. Great place, all around one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Rose petals on the table and an annivers ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Rose petals on the table and an anniversary card signed from all the servors. Dessert was comped. It was a wonderful evening.

The cookies left in the car were delicious. Great Evening. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I recently dined here based ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I recently dined here based upon the strong reviews and water views. While the food was delicious, as it should be at this price point, the level of service was incredibly disappointing. Our sommelier (maybe) literally said nothing to us upon presenting our bottle of wine. No hello, no explanation of the wine, nothing. The wine was poured and he walked away. Not one person asked us how are meal was or offered to refill our wine glasses, which I finally did after waiting 5 minutes with an empty glass. Finally, we couldn't even get our table cleared following dinner. Perhaps these seem like menial gripes, but at this price point and following our amazing experience at Canlis, we were incredibly disappointed by this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Anniversary Dinner 1st Time In Seattle!

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I are visiting from Oklahoma for the first time and I found this restaurant on Google Maps and decided to try it based on its views and ratings, I was not disappointed on either point.

This restaurant is located at the end of pier 70 and the evening we visited the sun was shining and the temperature was about 80 degrees. The view was amazing as we sat on the patio.

Our server was Carly and she did an amazing job of offering advice on food. I was torn between the dry aged steak and the Copperhead Salmon. Since I have access to great steaks at home I chose the salmon, it was amazing. My wife had the prawns, they were delicious as well.

The manager came by several times to make sure everything was great.

It was our anniversary so Lisa had to have our picture taken with the bay in the background.

As Carly was alerted to our anniversary from our picture taking, she had the kitchen write happy anniversary in chocolate on our dessert plates. It was a very nice touch.

Lisa had the bread pudding which was amazing and I had the ganache which was also delicious.

We had a great experience and could not have asked for more from this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The scallops were amazing

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The scallops were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.