About AQUA by El Gaucho

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/aqua-by-el-gaucho.html

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly McGovern at 206-956-8171 or cmcgovern@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (77)
Waterfront (74)
Special Occasion (67)
See All
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (44)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Notable Wine List (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Modern Decor (27)
Business Meals (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Live Music (16)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
People Watching (13)
Private Room (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food certainly was worth considering rep ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined 3 days ago

Food certainly was worth considering repeat visit. We have experienced the majority of restaurants in Seattle featuring seafood. AQUA is definitely the best. Our service was outstanding. We were celebrating friends anniversary and appreciated the extended attention to detail of the staff. My husband and I frequent dining experiences in NYC, Washington DC, West Coast and rather picky about food preparation and service. AQUA will be added to our list for repeat dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We needed a nurturing night out at a res ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We needed a nurturing night out at a restaurant with a view and atmosphere. Aqua came through with flying colors! Our window table gave us views of the ferries going back and forth to Bremerton, our server was gracious and attentive, the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great ambiance. A little noi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Great ambiance. A little noisy if you are trying to talk due to open concept. I'll go back again.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good. Good attitudes a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very good. Good attitudes and people. Was a little disappointed that they didn't provide complementary birthday treat, especially after spending $1000 on dinner

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wow! Everything was top notch! The amb ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Wow! Everything was top notch! The ambiance is amazing. The piano player really made it special - Great tunes! The fish stew was out of this world. The server was friendly and knew her stuff - she even suggested a half portion of a shared side, since we were just two people, not a group. We totally loved this waterfront restaurant, and are so glad we chose it.

We definitely recommend this restaurant, without conditions. But one thing wasn't quite right... Though the interior of the restaurant was nicely done and gave a good vibe, we thought we were at the wrong door when we first entered (we weren't). Walking into the foyer, there were a bunch of chairs piled up, and a big screen electric board that seemed to have nothing to do with the restaurant. Don't be put off by the clutter in the foyer area. I'm guessing it was from an earlier event, but was surprised they couldn't find a better place to store it, even if it was temporary. Once we went through the main door, everything was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not inexpensive but less than El Gaucho. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Not inexpensive but less than El Gaucho. Amazing service. Well prepared food with good serving sizes. Special place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was in town just for an overnight stay, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Was in town just for an overnight stay, this was recommended by an Uber driver.

Great recommendations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A step down from the previous Waterfront ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

A step down from the previous Waterfront Grill, in everything except prices. Very casual atmosphere with limited menu and wine list. Food is ok but not memorable or inventive. Service is polished but perfunctory. Lighting is abysmally low (the sommelier kindly provided pen lights to read the menu). Trying to be "old school classy" but instead is "out-of-town expense account adequate." Try RockCreek or Canlis or one of Renee Erickson's places instead - better value for money!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Legendary! Service, Food, Valet! Our f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Legendary! Service, Food, Valet!

Our favorite restaurant in the Seattle area.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Live Music, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there several times but thi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We have been there several times but this time was a big disappointment. My husband asked for a vegetarian menu and decided to get pasta with cream sauce (no veggies). They brought out pasta with veggies so he sent it back. The next time the pasta was so undercooked that it was slightly crunchy. I asked if I could have the scallops on something other than the risotto with bacon and sweet potatoes since I am a pescatarian. She brought out a sample that had bacon and sweet potato. So I went with the seafood stew which was amazing but I only had room for 1/2 of it. She took it away and never returned with it packaged to go. I was very disappointed and mad since I was looking forward to the leftovers. Not sure I will ever go back after that experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We chose to spend our date night at Aqua ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We chose to spend our date night at Aqua, and we are so thankful we did. The ambiance, service and food were amazing! We have frequented El Gaucho in Tacoma and while I also like that location, I appreciated the unique differences between the two. I only wish we lived closer, I would be there all the time!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service and delicious food. T ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Incredible service and delicious food. The prices are over the top high. Luckily we had a gift certificate to cover most of it. Terrific for a special occasion and has an amazing view so perfect to host out of towners too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Arrived early for reservation and was ab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Arrived early for reservation and was able to sit right away without waiting. Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was excellent and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was New Years Eve. The ambience was b ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Years Eve. The ambience was beautiful. We had a cozy booth and were seated next to each other. Very romantic. The food was fabulous. The price point for a holiday was expected. I did however forget to give them our loyalty card number. It would be great if asked for it when paying our bill. It was a bit noisy. We did enjoy the piano player as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I highly recommend to anyone who loves s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I highly recommend to anyone who loves seafood! Outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. It was perf ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. It was perfect for our special get together. The food was outstanding. Absolutely, wonderful seafood and spectacular service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Fun, Modern Decor, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an early seating (5:45) so the re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an early seating (5:45) so the restaurant was fairly quiet. We were seated at a lovely window table and had excellent service. My hubby had the Black Cod special, (it was delicious, and he is picky!) and I had the prochutto wrapped ahi. Apparently the ahi is always on the menu and it was outstanding!! (We would go back again just for that entree!!) The piano player began shortly after our arrival making this a perfect 'date' evening!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

El Gaucho restaurants have been a tradit ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

El Gaucho restaurants have been a tradition for many years for our family to celebrate special occasions!! This year was my two older children's birthdays. (40 & 41) At the last minute we had to also bring our youngest granddaughter, Zoe (6 yrs.old) but was pleasantly surprised that you had a children's menu, and crayons to keep her busy. The meal was excellent as always. Zoe wanted the El Gauchos famous Bananas Foster for dessert so when we found out this location didn't have it on their menu, her daddy (our youngest son) took her to your downtown restaurant and shared the delicious dessert!!! El Gaucho is now Zoe's favorite restaurant EVER!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Attentive and pleas ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent service. Attentive and pleasant wait staff.

Food excellent. I ordered the sea bass cheeks, a couple of them were stringy and tough, the flavor was excellent. The other entrees were 5 star!

I would recommend Aqua to friends. A special place to dine on the waterfront!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and location were excellent , ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food and location were excellent , Service was lazy and uninspired , another reason to allow customers to decide appropriate tip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Fabulous !!! Our new after Christmas tra ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Fabulous !!! Our new after Christmas tradition. But we will definitely be back before Christmas.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous and exquisite food! Sarah our w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Gorgeous and exquisite food! Sarah our waiter was knowledgeable and super nice and helped to make our experience perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another excellent anniversary dinner and ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Another excellent anniversary dinner and experience at Aqua. Thank you for making our anniversary memorable once again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a lovely time for Christmas Eve d ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a lovely time for Christmas Eve dinner! It was so much fun to people watch. The meals were fine and service was perfect. Who could ask for more on such a busy night. Loved the music and the special decor. Well done, Aqua! Oh and I did have the $42 delightful after dinner drink. I think it was called Crazy Beautiful! YUM!!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance could not be beat for Chris ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The ambiance could not be beat for Christmas Eve!

The food however was not good. Way over seasoned. And I like seasoning! I've eaten there before and the food was stellar, so not sure if it was the chef or just the large number of guests that night.

I won't be going back on a big holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

First time at the restaurant but others ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

First time at the restaurant but others in our party have been in the past. Great selection of wine and other libations, as I'm a bourbon fan I wasn't disappointed. Service was top notch and exactly as I'd expect from an El Gaucho restaurant. Ordered the sea bass with a side of crab leg. The oyster sauce made the sea bass awesome and the crab was some of the best I've ever had. We will be coming back many more times in the future, and highly recommend this restaurant to all who live in or visit Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love this place and the food is amazing ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this place and the food is amazing each time we go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Aqua on a date with my husband b ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Went to Aqua on a date with my husband before Christmas. The ambience and service were great. There were some good points to the meal but the main courses lacked in flavor and my halibut checks were tough and oily. Beverages, the seasonal salad, and the spicy crab bisque were awesome. Desert was good too! I just expect a little more when paying $50+ for a small plate of fish. I will try aqua again soon because I loved the place and this time I hope the food is up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Last night was our first time at Aqua, I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Last night was our first time at Aqua, I have been to El gaucho in Bellevue and Seattle several times. This was such a special day for my birthday, it was the only day we could celebrate it. We don't make a lot of money and wanted to spend it somewhere with great reviews. Service was terrible. I had such high expectations and it truly was such a disappointment with our server Harley, she only refilled our water glasses once throughout dinner and a second time when we were paying the check. The Scallops were incredible and the bread pudding was out if this world. The muscles and swordfish were just okay. I've never had anything named "Hawaiian" that didn't have pineapple. Aside from these delectable dishes we left with quite the bad taste in our mouths. Throughout dinner the server didn't seem to want to even take our orders or tell us about anything. She just wanted to rush away like we were at an Ihop or a Red Robin (Though I've had better service before at both) Dessert took over thirty minutes to arrive, our server never checked on us or apologized, and we had to ask another server for the check after another fifteen minutes. She didn't seem very busy, but paid careless attention to the table across from us. I think she was more focused on doing her sidework and getting out of there than to pay attention to a couple celebrating a birthday. I guess now that the servers get an auto gratuity of 20% they don't have to try as hard. We won't be going back if this is the standard of service they give for as expensive as it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

We went to Aqua for our 15 yrs wedding a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went to Aqua for our 15 yrs wedding anniversary expecting a 5-star food and service but got neither. The noise was extremely loud. The food was so-so. With this kind of restaurant we expected to make a choice of fries, baked or mash potatoes for our filet mignon. What we got was mash potatoes for our steak and seafood bacchanalia though we really like the tuna poke, not so much the razor clam. They dipped in so much flour you could not taste the clam at all. I guess we won't be celebrate anymore anniversary at Aqua.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

As usual, dinner at AQUA did not disappo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As usual, dinner at AQUA did not disappoint. Great food and staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful evening! We actually arrived a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful evening! We actually arrived an hour early and they sat us. We both had a starter, salad and prawns followed by choc chip cookie sundae. We were there for our 25th wedding anniversary and never felt rushed though we could see them getting busy. Wonderful ambience, delicious food and pleasant wait staff. Thank you, we'll be back!

▶ Show quoted text

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Seasonal, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. It is pricey but quality ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent food. It is pricey but quality and quantity are what they should be. Definitely for a special night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent. Courtesy and class from hoste ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent. Courtesy and class from hostess to sommelier to waitress and all other staff. Food was great and drinks were perfect. Ps- the whiskey cart at meals end is a must try. Some incredible and rare finds on there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prices are very high for dining -- s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The prices are very high for dining -- so it had better get 5 stars in all of the categories

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was good, but not nearly good e ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food was good, but not nearly good enough for the prices. Service was average. I had high hopes for this special occasion, and was disappointed. Beautiful location, but that's not enough to get me excited to go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great, professional service. Nice build ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great, professional service. Nice build-out and facility. Great wine/liquor/cocktail selections, and good food. The piano player (Ben Fleck?) was wonderful, but the noise level in the restaurant was a bit too energetic to enjoy the piano fully. Not a quiet place because the room is so huge and because every table was occupied at 8PM on a mid-December Saturday evening.

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Memorable celebration dinner! Great food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Memorable celebration dinner! Great food and drink! Staff/servers were entertaining and wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous in every way! If any issues, it ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fabulous in every way!

If any issues, it is a bit noisy!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, People Watching, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was the best dining experience and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This was the best dining experience and meal I've had in Seattle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.