Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About AQUA by El Gaucho

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://elgaucho.com/dine/aqua/

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly McGovern at 206-956-8171 or cmcgovern@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (144)
Scenic View (128)
Special Occasion (121)
See All
Good for a Date (108)
Good for Anniversaries (106)
Romantic (89)
Good for Birthdays (77)
Notable Wine List (62)
Great for Outdoor Dining (60)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Business Meals (50)
Good for Groups (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Live Music (37)
Local Ingredients (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (31)
People Watching (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Seasonal (19)
Fun (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Healthy (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Authentic (13)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Private Room (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Tapas (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was attentive, helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent. The views and ambiance were outstanding. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellence but unfortunately the food was mediocre at best. Highlights were the spicy crab bisque, roasted broccoli, and cookie sundae dessert. The cocktails, starter salads and entrees (halibut and pork chop) were bland and left a lot to be desired. Disappointing as we had high expectations and were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Overall it was a wonderful experience. However, they are exceedingly "proud" of their wines! Our server, Rochelle, was attentive and helpful without being overbearing.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Horrible decor, overpriced, and they overlooked my halibut do it was very dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was delicious! The drinks were perfect, and the view was beautiful!! Our waiter was great as well!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. The server was fabulous and the food was really excellent. Great view, even from the inside

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Loved the service and food was delicious! Thursday nights there is a regatta on the water so get a window seat!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Fabulous dinner made extra special by the attentiveness of our server Brandon and RJ, one of the sommeliers. Food choices were excellent we had the sea bass and the halibut which were delicious. The ambience of the restaurant was wonderful. Beautiful views of the water, lovely piano music playing in the background. I would highly recommend this restaurant. It's pricey but worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Lovely celebrating my sons birthday! Very special the candle in the bread pudding dessert!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Waterfront, Fun, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

First thoughts a bit stuffy BUT that changed with a caring wait staff and wonderful Captain and knowledgeable wine staff. Everything was so well
Prepared and we asked for slower timing and they asked us before they fired the main course. That is caring!!! Chef's Bernaise on the filet and lobster was suspect. Wicked shrimp was as advertised!!
Not for every night, price wise but make it happen!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food and views are excellent. The prices are excellent too! This is a great place for entertaining clients and for special occasions. I'll return as soon as I gather enough cash.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Was a great experience. We will be back. Our server Gabriel was very attentive and very professional.
Thank you for an amazing time there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. We requested music from the pianist and also received a special dessert. The food was fabulous, service attentive and there was a gorgeous view. What's not to love?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Get a drink there. Food and service are below standard. Such a shame, as it is a beautiful spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We just landed in Seattle and wanted a romantic dinner for two on the waterfront. The wine, the food and the ambience were perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Amazing food and service! Loved everything about the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Aqua is one of the great restaurants in a city of great restaurants. But, a tad above the other great ones in this charming city The scenic views of Puget Sound captures you on entrance. The service is casual and friendly with being overbearing. More than adequate menu selection. We had the salmon special,which was superb. Great wine selection adds up to a perfect evening with great friends. We will return on our next trip Seattle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

El Gaucho never disappoints. I frequent the Portland, Tacoma and Seattle locations and they are consistently exceptional.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food, absolutely delicious desert, and amazing views as always! Higher priced restaurant, but you know that going in. The view and outdoor seating area is fantastic. They have blankets and heaters if it gets cold. Open space indoor dining is ideal for business dinners, and the restaurant has two semi private rooms for large group dinners/events. It's really a must do even for happy hour... which is served both in the bar, and a limited area on the porch. Our waiter recommended the bread pudding, which I was skeptical of, but it seriously AMAZING!! So so good!

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing and the staff were courteous and knowledgeable.
The view on Mount Rainier and Elliott bay is breathtaking!

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Aqua is TERRIBLY Overpriced for mediocre food. Waterfont location is what they're riding on... the menu, however, needs a complete overhaul.
Go here if you want tasteless veggies and dry steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

In a nutshell, the view ... the wine ... the service were just what you'd expect when spending a fortune for dinner. But I was hoping for melt-in-your-mouth salmon from this place and that didn't happen.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 7, 2017

A bit disappointing. The food was nice but not amazing, and the service was quite poor. I had been once previously and had a fabulous time- hoping this last experience is an anomaly and not the sign of a downturn.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Aqua has always been our favorite spot to celebrate special occasions when visiting Seattle. This was the first time we were disappointed. I made reservations almost a month before, requesting a table outside to celebrate our anniversary with some friends. We were seated waaaay off to one side of the patio and often felt forgotten. We have always had exceptional service at Aqua and wanted to share this great experience with our friends, but this night it was just not to be. The service was very slow and, probably because it was such a long walk, our waiter just wasn't around much.
Having said that, I will go back again, as the food is exceptional and the service is usually much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Another great meal at Aqua. We came on a Thursday early evening to claim a table on the patio by the water. The Elliot Bay Marina regatta course goes right by Aqua and provides a wonderful background to a meal. The food was awesome; fresh ingredients perfectly prepared. The service was impeccable. The wine was special--literally! We had the last bottle of a great champagne I'd found in Reims and wanted for the evening's meal. The sommelier had a bottle in his secret stash (not on the wine list)--what more could you ask?

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The patio is the perfect spot to relax with a bottle of wine or sangria. It's amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 5, 2017

AQUA (by El Gaucho) is, like all other El Gaucho restaurants, a first class operation. There is no mediocrity here. The food, the atmosphere, the service - even the valet parking and shuttle service are non pareil. This visit, we had the bread pudding for desert. It was beyond exceptional. Ten stars. !!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Our waiter was over his head. We had to ask for a heater on the outside deck as the sun was going down, everyone else was given blankets too. He took forever and didn't seem concerned if we were satisfied or not. Sadly, the worst part was there were several managers in suits walking around who never came over, never wondered why we had empty plates or not water in front of us for extended periods of time. Food is decent but not memorable and the patio needs to be repainted badly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Crab bisque and bread pudding amazing! Wait staff excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Could not have been better!! We celebrated many family achievements and we all loved it.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

A lovely setting to enjoy great views and food. Easy valet parking who even left a little treat to eat later! Open and airy and bright and happy place.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food, great service, very pricey . Really enjoyed Auqa, they added 20% on the bill automatically , gratuity should be at the discretion of the diner, not automatically added.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! The view was amazing and the food was even more so. The server we had was also so wonderful! Just Perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Such a lovely dining experience! Wonderful views, service and the highest quality food you would expect from an El Gaucho restaurant. The oysters, lobster, halibut and staple chocolate chip cookie sundae were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

35 minute wait for drinks. 2 hr wait for dinner. Several cold entrees. Very poor service

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

$280.00 for two people says it all. Brought a dish we did not order

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Though the food is outstanding the service proved disappointing. Perhaps staff were overworked? Dirty dishes not taken away, no fresh silverware provided, a wine order filled when we had nearly finished our dinner. No one stopped by to check with us after initial dinner order was placed.
I would be less troubled by these service issues if it were not that the restaurant is highly rated and not inexpensive. Thus, it failed to meet our expectations.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was excellent. Calamari best ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Not only was the view, music, service and food perfection, add the blanket offered if you are cold and free restaurant shuttle home. I lost my earring, called at 11:00pm from my hotel and not only did they find it , they delivered it within 15 minutes! Bravo Aqua. Our first experience in Seattle Nd forever remembered.
Leslie
Naples, Florida

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Another outstanding meal! Celebrated a special occasion with 3 friends who had never been to my FAVORITE Seattle restaurant. They were delighted! Salmon was amazing, scallops delicious and the fiddlehead ferns were a very special Spring veggie treat! Leave room for the chocolate caramel bread pudding😋.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.