About AQUA by El Gaucho

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/aqua-by-el-gaucho.html

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly McGovern at 206-956-8171 or cmcgovern@elgaucho.com for information.

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (79)
Special Occasion (73)
Waterfront (65)
See All
Good for a Date (57)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Romantic (52)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Modern Decor (28)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Business Meals (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Cozy (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Live Music (19)
Good for Groups (19)
People Watching (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Private Room (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1516 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the moment we pulled up to valet st ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

From the moment we pulled up to valet stand service was impeccable. Each course was prepared perfectly and the pace at which food arrived at table could not have been better. The cookie left in car by valet is a nice touch. I tend to forget about you when I go out since you are a little off my normal circuit but you definitely provide one of the best dining experiences in Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Much lighter and brighter than El Gaucho ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Much lighter and brighter than El Gaucho. The food was great -- emphasis on seafood and their wine list seemed nicely complete with wines distributed by Vinum, and reasonable priced. Aqua will never be an inexpensive meal but for a treat its worthwhile.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Aqua never fails, always perfect in both ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Aqua never fails, always perfect in both food & service. We had salmon & scallops which were delicious & a wonderful spinach salad made at our table. Our waiter Tim makes a mean salad and did an outstanding job serving us. The piano player seemed to play all our favorites & we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was delicious, our service was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Our food was delicious, our service was friendly without being too fussy, and if the sunset had been cooperative--it would have been over the top special. I guess we'll need to go back and try for that part again!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I was a little surprised to receive an e ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I was a little surprised to receive an email from Open Table that I didn't show up for my reservations which I did show up with my husband and checked in with the greeter. She had a table reserved for me. Our server was nice and friendly but she forgot to bring me my lemon a couple of times. She did eventually after my husband reminded her. That wasn't too much of a deal. I had the special with filet mignon which was okay, not too favorable. But my husband had to ask for seasoning for his NY steak. It's not our first time to be at Aqua and the food was very good when we went there before. Things happen. We will go again and give it another try. The server introduced the point reward program to us which was great because our bill was over $260 (pretty pricey). I filled out the form and she said she would credit the points to my new award account and mail me the membership card. I hope she didn't forget. One thing is El Gaucho and Aqua both automatically charged 20% for service charge. We found the services were not as good as before because the wait staff probably didn't have any incentives to provide better service because either way they would get 20% tip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Jake or Jacob was a friendly helpful ple ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Jake or Jacob was a friendly helpful pleasant waiter. JR was exceedingly helpful and informative as well as friendly in helping us select our drinks. The food was scrumptious; well prepared and presented. My only complaint is that a gratuity was well deserved but already included in the bill. Honestly, it is not a gratuity if it is automatically included. I was gratified with everything but that.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Expected much more from El Gaucho establ ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Expected much more from El Gaucho establishment. Staff just going through the motions and lackadaisical with 20% tip added automatically. Food was good but ed bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

We had the dinner experience at AQUA las ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the dinner experience at AQUA last weekend, in celebration of our wedding anniversary. We loved the food, and impeccable service, both. I had the salmon special with a side dish of lobster mashed potatoes, and it was to die for! I also tried their pineapple martini and highly recommend that alcoholic beverage as well. However, when the bill came, it was a bit of a shock. The prices are quite high indeed, - but for special occasions when you wish to splurge - it's a winner.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Once again AQUA does not disappoint! Th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again AQUA does not disappoint! The food was fabulous! Filet AQUA to die for! KIng Salmon outstanding! Great Service, Great Food, Great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would love to recommend the restaurant ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would love to recommend the restaurant-the food was quite good, the ambiance very nice-although all in all not as impressive as El Gaucho, itself. My complaint is the new "Service Charge" of 20% added onto every bill, that is a fee, I imagine, in retaliation for the company having to pay its employees a higher, but still less-than livable minimum wage. It is explained that this fee is not a tip for the wait staff, but a charge by the restaurant to help them cover their costs. Instead of raising the cost of goods sold like every other industry does to make up for a rise in overhead, they have chosen to take the low road and call it a Service Charge-thereby taking any desire to tip the waitstaff away. This may account for the less than stellar attitude of the wait staff-and I can't blame them. What's the incentive to be more than ordinary-and how much less are they taking home now that their gratuities are being taken by the ownership?

I won't be returning, unfortunately, for this reason-but I imagine I won't be missed given the proceeds they are sure to reap from the customers that do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing love everything about this resta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing love everything about this restaurant , food is exceptional , place is amazing !!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Had a great dinner with my husband. Amaz ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great dinner with my husband. Amazing views and service.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was recommended by our hotel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This place was recommended by our hotel as a nice classy place to eat. It was exactly that! The scenery and the live piano player were lovely and the food!! Oh gosh the Salmon was melt in your mouth!

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner! Service is Excel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had a great dinner! Service is Excellent! Food prepared deliciously. It is a perfect place for a special occasion! It was our anniversary. Very pricey tho 😱. We each had one drink and one glass of wine(least expensive on the menu) shared one appetizer, shared one salad. He had scallops. I had sea bass w/half order of asparagus. Total cost with 20% ( added on by server) ...drum roll...$277.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The place was hard to find as there is n ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The place was hard to find as there is no sign at street level. Then the valet is hidden in the parking garage, again with no clear sign. The valet looked annoyed that we were there. My dinner was good, I had seafood. My husband had steak and he couldn't eat it because it was way too charred on the outside. He also asked for a demi glaze he never got. The last time we went to the El Gaucho in Bellevue our service was terrible and the steak wasn't that good. Maybe they are just going downhill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food excellent, same with the waiter. H ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food excellent, same with the waiter.

However -

Sommelier was smarmy - touching the guest and that's not proper.

Also - storing their white wine together with their beer and at a temperature making the wine way too cold to taste.

Food was fabulous, but they need to clean-up part of their act.

That's why the overall score is only "good".

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service. My wife and I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing food and service. My wife and I will remember this night out for a long time. We have gone to many top end restaurants, but Aqua stands above the rest.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held a retirement dinner for my paren ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We held a retirement dinner for my parents and the service and food were exceptional. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiance and I came here to celebrate m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My fiance and I came here to celebrate my birthday and they did a really wonderful job of helping us celebrate! We stated in the reservation that we were going to be celebrating my birthday and they adorned our table with rose petals and a card signed by the staff. At the end of our meal they provided us with free dessert (and a show!) - we got the baked alaska and it was quite the experience! The food itself was very delicious as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been to Aqua several times and i ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We have been to Aqua several times and it has never disappointed. When busy it can be very noisy but good food and good service more than compensate. I am not crazy about the 20 per cent service charge. I am a generous tipper and frequently add an additional tip, but would prefer to have the option to tip less if the service were really poor.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best seafood experience in Seattle. It's ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Best seafood experience in Seattle. It's expensive, but worth it. The dinner selctions are quite extensive. The wine list is also vast. Biggest problem was deciding on which dessert to order. So, careful to not order too much dinner. The problem with that - it all sounds so delicious. And, they have great steaks, because their 'sister restaurant (El Gaucho) is the best steak house in town.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

My steak was very undercooked. Lost my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My steak was very undercooked. Lost my appetite because it was so raw, they did cook it more, but by that time I was not hungry. Also, should have given me a brand new piece of steak, instead of cooking my raw piece that had four bites eaten from.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was salty and over priced. Ser ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was salty and over priced. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was delicious. Great portions. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was delicious. Great portions. The chocolate ganache was outstanding. My fish was cooked to perfection. The only part I always have trouble at Aqua is that the room is too dark. I have a terrible time reading the menu and I would love to see how pretty my food looks. I always enjoy a meal at Aqua.

The service was very nice. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food certainly was worth considering rep ...

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food certainly was worth considering repeat visit. We have experienced the majority of restaurants in Seattle featuring seafood. AQUA is definitely the best. Our service was outstanding. We were celebrating friends anniversary and appreciated the extended attention to detail of the staff. My husband and I frequent dining experiences in NYC, Washington DC, West Coast and rather picky about food preparation and service. AQUA will be added to our list for repeat dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We needed a nurturing night out at a res ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We needed a nurturing night out at a restaurant with a view and atmosphere. Aqua came through with flying colors! Our window table gave us views of the ferries going back and forth to Bremerton, our server was gracious and attentive, the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Great ambiance. A little noi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food. Great ambiance. A little noisy if you are trying to talk due to open concept. I'll go back again.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very good. Good attitudes a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was very good. Good attitudes and people. Was a little disappointed that they didn't provide complementary birthday treat, especially after spending $1000 on dinner

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Wow! Everything was top notch! The amb ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wow! Everything was top notch! The ambiance is amazing. The piano player really made it special - Great tunes! The fish stew was out of this world. The server was friendly and knew her stuff - she even suggested a half portion of a shared side, since we were just two people, not a group. We totally loved this waterfront restaurant, and are so glad we chose it.

We definitely recommend this restaurant, without conditions. But one thing wasn't quite right... Though the interior of the restaurant was nicely done and gave a good vibe, we thought we were at the wrong door when we first entered (we weren't). Walking into the foyer, there were a bunch of chairs piled up, and a big screen electric board that seemed to have nothing to do with the restaurant. Don't be put off by the clutter in the foyer area. I'm guessing it was from an earlier event, but was surprised they couldn't find a better place to store it, even if it was temporary. Once we went through the main door, everything was fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to this location ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This was our first trip to this location. We have been to the other 2 and in expected El Gaucho flavor we we're more than pleased with this entire experience! It didn't feel too over the top and we found our service to be exceptional!! We will return!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not inexpensive but less than El Gaucho. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Not inexpensive but less than El Gaucho. Amazing service. Well prepared food with good serving sizes. Special place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Was in town just for an overnight stay, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Was in town just for an overnight stay, this was recommended by an Uber driver.

Great recommendations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A step down from the previous Waterfront ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

A step down from the previous Waterfront Grill, in everything except prices. Very casual atmosphere with limited menu and wine list. Food is ok but not memorable or inventive. Service is polished but perfunctory. Lighting is abysmally low (the sommelier kindly provided pen lights to read the menu). Trying to be "old school classy" but instead is "out-of-town expense account adequate." Try RockCreek or Canlis or one of Renee Erickson's places instead - better value for money!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Legendary! Service, Food, Valet! Our f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Legendary! Service, Food, Valet!

Our favorite restaurant in the Seattle area.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Live Music, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there several times but thi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We have been there several times but this time was a big disappointment. My husband asked for a vegetarian menu and decided to get pasta with cream sauce (no veggies). They brought out pasta with veggies so he sent it back. The next time the pasta was so undercooked that it was slightly crunchy. I asked if I could have the scallops on something other than the risotto with bacon and sweet potatoes since I am a pescatarian. She brought out a sample that had bacon and sweet potato. So I went with the seafood stew which was amazing but I only had room for 1/2 of it. She took it away and never returned with it packaged to go. I was very disappointed and mad since I was looking forward to the leftovers. Not sure I will ever go back after that experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We chose to spend our date night at Aqua ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We chose to spend our date night at Aqua, and we are so thankful we did. The ambiance, service and food were amazing! We have frequented El Gaucho in Tacoma and while I also like that location, I appreciated the unique differences between the two. I only wish we lived closer, I would be there all the time!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible service and delicious food. T ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Incredible service and delicious food. The prices are over the top high. Luckily we had a gift certificate to cover most of it. Terrific for a special occasion and has an amazing view so perfect to host out of towners too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Arrived early for reservation and was ab ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Arrived early for reservation and was able to sit right away without waiting. Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was excellent and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was New Years Eve. The ambience was b ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Years Eve. The ambience was beautiful. We had a cozy booth and were seated next to each other. Very romantic. The food was fabulous. The price point for a holiday was expected. I did however forget to give them our loyalty card number. It would be great if asked for it when paying our bill. It was a bit noisy. We did enjoy the piano player as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I highly recommend to anyone who loves s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I highly recommend to anyone who loves seafood! Outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.