About AQUA by El Gaucho

2801 Alaskan Way
Pier 70
Seattle, WA 98121
View Larger Map

Named Gayot’s Top Ten Seafood Restaurants in America in 2012, AQUA by El Gaucho sparkles at the tip of Pier 70, offering Seattle’s best waterfront dining experience. In addition to fantastic views and ambiance, guests are treated to the legendary El Gaucho personalized, fine-dining service and live music nightly. Our award-winning wine list, coupled with a menu highlighting fresh wild seafood preparations, as well as 28-Day Dry-Aged Niman Ranch All-Natural Certified Angus Beef® Brand Prime steaks and custom aged Certified Angus Beef® Brand, are all prepared on an open-pit charcoal grill in the exhibition kitchen. AQUA by El Gaucho delivers a quintessential Seattle fine dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Open at 4:00 pm daily. Dinner: Nightly from 5:00pm.

Cross Street:
Broad Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 956-9171

Website:
http://www.elgaucho.com/aqua-by-el-gaucho.html

Entertainment:
Live piano music seven days a week.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available on Pier 70.

Executive Chef:
Wesley Hood

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private dining at AQUA by El Gaucho is a memorable occasion. Our beautiful and incomparable private rooms are available for lunch and dinner service Monday through Friday and dinner service on the weekends. We also provide buyouts of our entire restaurant. Please contact Carly Geer at 206-956-8171 or cgeer@elgaucho.com for information.

Restaurant Photos

Seafood Bacchanalia
Sweetcorn
Crab Macaroni & Cheese
Filet Aqua
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Grilled Chilean Seabass
Emerald City Volcano
Stuffed Colossal Prawns & Seared Diver Scallops
Appetizers
Pan Seared Brussels Sprouts
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Australian Rock Lobster
Baked alaska
Bailey's Chocolate Caramel Bread Pudding
Seared Sesame Chilean Sea Bass & Grilled Hawaiian Swordfish
Entrees
Classic Vanilla Bean Creme Brulee
Bone In Ny Strip Steak & Rib Steak
Oysters
Clams With Fennel, Bacon, Tomatoes, Garlic And Pernod
Barbecued Prawns
Pomegrante Lemondrop
White Cosmo
Vegetable Risotto
Calamari
Crab Cakes
Wicked Shrimp
Roasted Sweet Corn
Spicy Crab Bisque

Private Dining

AQUA by El Gaucho, located at the tip of Pier 70, features luxurious private dining rooms and an outdoor dining patio with an unparalleled 270-degree view of Elliott Bay, Seattle's skyline, and the Olympic Mountains. Each room features window shades and direct access to our spacious waterfront.

AQUA by El Gaucho Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Seattle
Scenic View
Seattle
Special Occasion
Seattle
1 More
Seafood
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Waterfront / Belltown ›

scenic view (163)
special occasion (158)
romantic (125)
See All
fit for foodies (97)
good for groups (78)
notable wine list (77)
great for outdoor dining (68)
hot spot (35)
neighborhood gem (23)
vibrant bar scene (20)
great for brunch (20)
great for lunch (15)
late-night find (14)
kid-friendly (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1217 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time dining at Aqua an ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was my first time dining at Aqua and everything was excellent from the food to the service. The view of the water is great and I definitely recommend getting the corn as your side item.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent, the bill was not ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was excellent, the bill was not excelent! My husband and I had budgeted for maybe $150 and we were completely suprised by the $277!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my birthday and they went above a ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

It was my birthday and they went above and beyond to make it special!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Ambiance, décor, view outstanding. Food ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Ambiance, décor, view outstanding. Food, just OK to good. Plenty of Seattle restaurants with better food and drink. Service good to great. The wait for a table, way too long 30 minutes plus with reservations. Very expensive. Great place to go once or for a big occasion. Fancy, yes; but not over the top. Romantic, maybe. For foodies, no not really. Bar was awesome, drinks were just good. Busy, very busy.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

I was very impressed by the service, eve ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I was very impressed by the service, everyone was fantastic. But the cost vs the quality of the food was very poor.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there celebrating our anniversar ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were there celebrating our anniversary. The Aqua staff signed a card for us and had rose pedals on the table! The food was excellent and the service was super! Too bad we live on the East coast. We would highly recommend Aqua to anyone traveling to Seattle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here on a whim, looking to try a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We came here on a whim, looking to try a new place. I had heard about this place - but didn't know what to expect. My husband and I were both extremely satisfied!!! Our server was in training, Erica, and was AWESOME!! She really made our night great. The food was amazing, and ambiance top notch as well : )

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have had our last 3 weddin ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

My wife and I have had our last 3 wedding anniversaries at Aqua and we LOVE this restaurant. It is classy, cool, understated, and magnificent! The atmosphere, the food, the service are all top shelf !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

overall , Our guests are enjoyed the fin ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

overall , Our guests are enjoyed the fine dining and the food was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food. wonderful service. perfe ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

excellent food. wonderful service. perfect date night. shared the scallops (delicious and large), the petite filet (amazing and perfectly cooked) with a manhattan and negroni to start. we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food as always. They were busy tha ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food as always. They were busy that night and we had a large party (10 people) but the quality of the service was still quite good. Great place, all around one of my favorites.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rose petals on the table and an annivers ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Rose petals on the table and an anniversary card signed from all the servors. Dessert was comped. It was a wonderful evening. The cookies left in the car were delicious. Great Evening. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience2
service2

My wife and I recently dined here based ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I recently dined here based upon the strong reviews and water views. While the food was delicious, as it should be at this price point, the level of service was incredibly disappointing. Our sommelier (maybe) literally said nothing to us upon presenting our bottle of wine. No hello, no explanation of the wine, nothing. The wine was poured and he walked away. Not one person asked us how are meal was or offered to refill our wine glasses, which I finally did after waiting 5 minutes with an empty glass. Finally, we couldn't even get our table cleared following dinner. Perhaps these seem like menial gripes, but at this price point and following our amazing experience at Canlis, we were incredibly disappointed by this experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner 1st Time In Seattle!

Dined on June 5, 2016

My wife and I are visiting from Oklahoma for the first time and I found this restaurant on Google Maps and decided to try it based on its views and ratings, I was not disappointed on either point. This restaurant is located at the end of pier 70 and the evening we visited the sun was shining and the temperature was about 80 degrees. The view was amazing as we sat on the patio. Our server was Carly and she did an amazing job of offering advice on food. I was torn between the dry aged steak and the Copperhead Salmon. Since I have access to great steaks at home I chose the salmon, it was amazing. My wife had the prawns, they were delicious as well. The manager came by several times to make sure everything was great. It was our anniversary so Lisa had to have our picture taken with the bay in the background. As Carly was alerted to our anniversary from our picture taking, she had the kitchen write happy anniversary in chocolate on our dessert plates. It was a very nice touch. Lisa had the bread pudding which was amazing and I had the ganache which was also delicious. We had a great experience and could not have asked for more from this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The scallops were amazing

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The scallops were amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Yet Again

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our fourth visit to AQUA by El Gaucho, and once again we had superb service, the ambience was eloquent, and the chef came through. My wife, a birthday occurring, had superb Copper River Salmon, perfectly done to her taste, and I had the Halibut Cheeks, wonderful. We will be back again and again with this impeccable delight on the Seattle waterfront.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First Time Experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first time to Aqua. The complimentary valet parking was a very nice touch. Our waiter, Mekea was a great help. He did an excellent job of giving us menu suggestions and portion sizes. When we were through eating his suggestions were spot on. His suggestion for dessert was also a winner. The view from Aqua is very nice and the service is excellent. The valet parking was very quick in delivering us our car and they left a couple of chocolate chip cookies in the cup holder for us. All in all our experience at Aqua was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Poor service at Aqua

Dined on June 2, 2016

I was disappointed by the service at AQUA. We were a party of two and arrived 20 min. early for our reservation. We were not promptly seated even though there were over a dozen tables open. When inquired to the hostess I was first told that they had many reservations for this weeknight and I needed to wait. Then a second hostess said I would be seated promptly. When we were seated a few minutes later we were placed behind a post, with only a view into the harbor. In this restaurant with more than a dozen open tables, this was an insult. The food was good, but not great, and certainly did not justify the very high prices. The menu was limited and ordinary, and the portions small.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place ROCKS!

Dined on May 29, 2016

One of the best meals that I have had in a restaurant ever. A bold statement, yes. It's expensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most outstanding seafood in the PacNW

Dined on May 29, 2016

I come here again and again- every time I am in Seattle. The seafood is the best I've had in any city. The service, food and ambiance are impeccable. I'm not much of a dessert person, but I have to order the key lime pie each time I'm here. There just really isn't anything on the menu that I wouldn't recommend. Plus, if you can sit outside and have that amazing view and perhaps catch a sunset, you'll never forget it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Not as good as first visit!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was excellent but it was really loud. My impression of the waiter is we didn't spend enough although we spent $125 per person. In the past much more which maybe why we felt this way! After the meal it felt uncomfortable staying and chatting with my wife and friends although it was a special occasion! Overall it was good but not great like Valentine's Day and one other visit!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant, fine dining with great views.

Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a great restaurant with wonderful food, ambiance, and service. Great for special occasions but a little on the pricey side for frequent dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner-The Food was ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner-The Food was fantastic and the service was phenomenal! The view was excellent and the seating was comfortable! I would highly recommend this for any special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service were amazing...fant ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food and service were amazing...fantastic experience!

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

A little disappointing. I expected a lo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

A little disappointing. I expected a lot more from a restaurant with "El Gaucho" in the name. Have been to the Portland location and LOVE it! The setting of the restaurant has a nice water view, but the interior is really bright and vibrant. I was expecting an elegant setting with class. Not here. Food was good, service great but would not make it back here again as there are SO MANY better restaurants in the Seattle area.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was amazing the timing was off ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The food was amazing the timing was off and drinks came out very slowly. But the manager was great and covered our bill without us complaining. Fabulous restaurant we just had a bad server .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service, great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's retirement last night. We had OUTSTANDING service from our waitress Leanne along with John Lennstrom and Joseph Anthony. They made our time there very special and we are so glad we chose Aqua. From the front desk/check in area staff to everyone involved, each person congratulated my husband on his retirement. They gave us each a complimentary glass of bubbly along with an very nice appetizer. Thanks so much to everyone involved and we will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, great view and great Sal ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Great location, great view and great Salmon! I really loved it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, the view is amazing consider ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great food, the view is amazing considering the wrap around windows, service was fantastic and they seriously do all the little touches here and are very attentive to their customers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent.....

Dined on May 15, 2016

My goal was to experience a memorable birthday dinner for my girlfriend. This was accomplished with the precise attention to detail and superb service provided by the team at Aqua. I called roughly two weeks in advance and requested assistance in the coordination of an excellent table and assistance with the delivery-presentation of her birthday gift during the final course at dinner. Everyone participated starting with valet, reception, waiter and management to make the night special for her. I could have selected virtually any restaurant in Seattle and decided on Aqua based on my previous excellent dining experiences. The ambiance and setting was perfect and service outstanding. We started with the crab cakes which were delicious followed by the mouth watering crab bisque soup. Our entries consisted of the sea bass and filet prepared Oscar style. Both of which were delicious. I highly recommend for a memorable dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Anniversary

Dined on May 13, 2016

We are from out of town.picked this due tip menu and view. It was wonderful! My only complaint was that it is a very noisy room, didn't fit in with the romantic feel. They need a buffer! Also, as the sun was going down, it was right in our eyes..... badly! They need shades! We were offered cheap sunglasses! Food & service impeccable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Evening Dinner

Dined on May 9, 2016

We celebrated Mother's Day and a birthday at Aqua and had a delightful evening. The service was excellent, the food good, and the view fantastic! The corkage fee was $30, which was pretty steep for 4 bottles of wine (8 of us). The food prices were also steep so our bill was quite expensive. But for special occasions this restaurant is very nice.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Did not feel special on a special occasion

Dined on May 8, 2016

My two sons took me for Mothers' Day Brunch. It was a big deal since the meal was $200 but the buffet was good but not great. Initially they were going to seat us at a two person table and squeeze one of us in on a common used walkway - without a view at a seafod view restaurant that we had requested a view table from. I had to be the "difficult one" and say that it was not appropriate for the 3 of us (even though my boys are teens, they are very tall and it was ridiculous. We waited and then were given a table that had clearly been brought in for overflow, with kid chairs and pushed in between the nice table siwth the nice chairs. I did not feel special. Finally the buffet was nice but not "great" and they did NOT have the carving bar that was touted and that my sons were eager to use. The omelet bar was ok, but they made my spinach omelet without spinach on the first try and then made on ehalf the size the second time....it just got to be too much so we exited and determined that more expensive does not equal better view or better food or better experience.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overpriced for what it was. It was a complete disappointment, the food selection was limited and they took a while to replenish. The servers spill all the water all over and not even bother to apologize. Never again.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great buffet

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went here for mother's day buffet and were not dissapointed. They had a lot of different types of things to eat that even vegetarians such as my husband would be happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Beautiful but pricey

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for mother's day brunch - beautiful, until the bill came. It was a buffet, and I rarely tip 20% - especially at a buffet where the wait staff doesn't do much but bring drinks. To my surprise, after paying $49pp for the disorganized buffet, we were charged 20% gratuity, for only 5 people... ? Nice, but I don't like being gouged like that. especially on gratuity. $49 for a buffet is high anyway -

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was exquisite ! Waiter was slow. B ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was exquisite ! Waiter was slow. But overall a great experience . We will be back.👍🏽

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had one of the best nights of my life! E ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had one of the best nights of my life! Every course was unimaginably delicious. Come here for a special occasion, elegant night, or any extra fancy meal. The bread pudding made me cry; best dessert in Seattle.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Another incredible celebratory dinner. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Another incredible celebratory dinner. Thank you for being consistently amazing at what you do.

food4
ambience5
service5

We always have such a wonderful time bei ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We always have such a wonderful time being wined and dined by the delightful folks at El Gaucho! Tonight was no different! Wonderful drinks fabulous wine delightful food and service beyond compare! Whenever we've got something special to celebrate we always make sure to do so at this restaurant!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.