Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.65mi

About Apex at Montage Deer Valley

Apex, Montage Deer Valley’s signature restaurant, is a celebration of classic continental cuisine in an unforgettable mountain setting, offering guests a relaxed yet refined dining experience. The menu at our Park City restaurant is a creative revival of iconic dishes, focused on fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care and presented in remarkable style.

9100 Marsac Ave
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Empire Pass

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 604-1402

Website:
http://www.montagehotels.com/deervalley/dining/apex

Catering:
Please call APEX directly to discuss catering options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet for all dining guests.

Public Transit:
Park City public bus system to Empire Pass stop.

Executive Chef:
Christian Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
APEX offers private dining of various sizes, please contact the restaurant manager for options 435-604-1396.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Apex at Montage Deer Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (4)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Business Meals (2)
Historic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Cozy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family of 4 attended for Mother's Day brunch. I booked table at Apex, but we were seated in the more casual Burger's and Bourbon room. Buffet was crowded, waiters were coming and going out of the kitchen and nearly collided with diners on their way into the buffet room. Table and place mats were dirty when we sat down. Our waiter took our drink order and didn't mention anything about the food or how buffet worked, I had to ask. Drinks took a long time to come. Buffet was lovely and food very good but would not recommend attending on a crowded day like Mothers Day. Not the best ambience. For the prices Montage charges ($60 p/person for buffet) I felt a little disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing food for the Easter brunch. Fewer choices than the buffet at Grand America, but every option was a cut above. Amazing staff! Happy, helpful, personal. We will definitely be going back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch because Stein's was all booked (of course). I always wanted to eat at Apex because I adore the Montage setting - so beautiful: the lobby, lounge, decks, views both slopeside and valley and the restaurant shows beautifully in the photos. My son asked me was this, at one time, someone's home?

The service in every capacity: valet, hostess, waiter, carvery etc is above reproach. Montage, and all of Deer Valley, know the meaning of gracious customer service. When you meet the occasional rude or indifferent employee it is really jarring after the constant pampering and attention to your needs.

All these positives aside... the brunch has areas it could be significantly improved: overcooked eggs benedict (i want a runny yolk), easter desserts that looked better than they tasted, soup was not hot, most food was cold by the time you got to your table. I recommend some special cocktails for the holidays. So I wanted to rave but just cannot.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter brunch here. The food is very good. It's not as huge of a selection as the other famous brunch at Deer Valley, but the quality of the items offered is great with some creative options. It's also a little less expensive than that other famous brunch place.
Beautiful location (how could it not be - it's Deer Valley) and the staff is really friendly and attentive.
I have never eaten here for a regular meal, but I think that this was well worth the price ($55 per person) for Easter brunch.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Jumbo shrimp cocktail, beef tenderloin, salmon and more......delicious! The pastry chef made exceptional desserts for Easter brunch. Cute and delicious!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Wine and food was very good. The desserts were okay but not the same caliber as the meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Celebrated our 10 year anniversary, we had a lovely time.

Thank you

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The pasta was undercooked and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Small portions, high prices, and a wait staff that wouldn't shut up... seriously, the guy insisted on not just reading the whole menu to us, but then explaining what everything was. The best part was when a couple sat down at the table next to ours and we got to listen to it all again. The food was good, but you're better off going downtown. Try cafe terino on Main Street.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Good food, great setting, a little bit dark inside

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Of all of the restaurants we patronized in Park City, this was definitely the best! Better than Riverhorse by far! The filet was good, the service was great and the drinks were great! b

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Kudos to the friendly staff... food was excellent... and thank you for the special anniversary dessert!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Apex suppose to be a nice quite romantic dinner place. This place was constantly bombarded with the loud noise from Burgers & Bourbon. No door to cancel the noise out! Totally ruined the romantic atmosphere. I will never go to this place for a romantic dinner. I WILL NOT RECOMMEND APEX TO ANYONE!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Spectacular setting - romantic and special. Food was outstanding and unique. Would recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wow is all I can say. The drive up made my legs jittery. The hamburger was amazing and the staff, truly professional.

Unbelievable view and an experience that is incomparable to any establishment in Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 30, 2016

As guests of the Montage, we chose to dine on property for our first dinner in Park City. I had the heirloom tomato salad which was delicious and the risotto with asparagus, which was disappointingly bland. My husband had the special lasagna; unlike traditional lasagna, it was a light alternative full of flavor and texture. We ate outside overlooking the slopes, listening to the live music from a wedding reception across the field, enjoying a lovely summer breeze. The service was outstanding with a friendly and well informed waitress. For an on property restaurant it was a bit overpriced, as expected, but pleasant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was an amazing place to go to. I was proposing and the staff was so accommodating and made sure that everything went perfectly. I would definitely go here again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was poor. Food was not special at that cost. Room had been cut in half to make room for burger joint. Disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We dined mid-afternoon to celebrate with a small wedding party. The service and food were outstanding. The waiter and staff showed lovely care and enthusiasm for the bride and groom and, despite the odd hour, encouraged our party to linger and enjoy the food and beautiful view. We will return to the Apex.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 11, 2016

The ambiance was excellent. The food was good, the service was good but the prices for what you pay for was to expensive. I have paid over $200 for a nice dinner, but this was far over price for what you get. The only thing that was worth anything was the view and my wife.

I would not recommend this place unless you have money to burn and don't care for what you pay for. In fact a bottle of wine that you can find at a store for $20 was priced at $125.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have been trying restaurants throughout Park City and Deer Valley, and the service, ambiance and food at Apex was truly memorable.

A must visit for anyone looking for true Deer Valley experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Apex for the annual Mother's day brunch. The food was nothing short of amazing and the service, ambiance and view were all spectacular.

My only hangup was that we paid nearly 1/2 for a somewhat better brunch experience at the Glitretind (Stein Ericksen Lodge at Deer Valley). Not only is their weekly spread just as good, it has more variety than the Montage's 'special occasion' buffet at Apex and the non-alcoholic drinks are included. I paid $7 for a grapefruit juice, and $5 for a glass of milk for our 18 month old here. That's just gouging when you're already charging $65 for a buffet.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2015

I really liked the service but the food was not worth the price we paid. We let our waitress know that our dish lacked seasoning. The hotel is beautiful and the atmosphere is nice. Next time, I am going to try the St. Regis.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2015

I never want to miss this amazing skier's buffet to finish the ski day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2015

Apex has a nice lunch buffet and is kid friendly. The waiter was very helpful and helped us select a great bottle of Champagne. The atmosphere is casual with a touch of elegance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2015

I was very disappointed with the service and that there was no notification dinner was Prix Fixe on the website or in the open table confirmation. The service received three stars due to lack of attention to silver timely replacement during the meal. The food was very good and did appreciate the courtesy of allowing our 14 year old to eat off the children's menu. Ambience was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Good and service was outstanding. Great place to bring visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We thought this would be a great restaurant to have a joyous holiday dinner and would have beautiful decorations. We were the only table in the entire restaurant for the evening. It was a beautiful dinner but quite costly and the ambiance was lacking. The noise from the Bourbon an Burger bar was much more festive and we felt that is probably where we needed to be. So we were a table of 7 stuck in the middle of a room with no special decorations or ambiance. I could of done better at home. The drive in was sensational and was worth the time.
The staff was professional and of course we had all the service we needed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2015

We were visiting the hotel and expected a high end restaurant and were left very disappointed. The service felt very rushed and yet it took a long time to receive our food. The space is also surprisingly small which made it very noisy with a large table seated next to us. The ambiance leaves much to be desired as well. There are SO many excellent restaurants down on Main Street I was surprised that this was the best the Montage had to offer considering the high price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2015

We have eaten here before and each time have been disappointed. The "thanksgiving " buffet had it all but left much to be desired in taste. Turkey was dry and I didn't know it was possible to not have one good dessert. My wife's apple pie tasted like they dropped the cinnamon jar in it.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 20, 2015

We have eaten at Apex a couple of times before and found it good but not great. Our most recent meal was excellent. Cordell, our server, was very friendly and knowledgeable and walked us through the menu with recommendations, when asked. The Sommelier made an excellent wine recommendation that truly complemented the meal. The service was just great but understated - just the way we like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2015

There is abundant choice and a great three course meal that will be served professionally. I had a 3 course for $30 special menu and took some home as it was very filling. My wife had two appetizers for her dinner. Attractive presentation, quiet professional service, wine decanted and well served. It is worth the hike up the mountain.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 25, 2015

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for a while since we are locals, and took advantage of their 3 course meal for a special price. Of course the choices are limited, but we were very surprised and pleased with our choice of the two different salads and the chicken saltimboca. Very tasty and tender. Dessert was nice too. Service was attentive and timely. Only complaint was price of cocktails. Why is it necessary to gouge customers on alcohol? Two drinks were $27 for a Cosmo and a rum and tonic! Nice dining experience though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 17, 2015

While staying at the hotel a couple of nights, I found myself eating breakfast, lunch and dinner at the APEX. Everything was high-end, the food, service and restaurant. I would highly recommend dining at the APEX for all three meals, especially if you’re staying at the hotel. It would be hard to find a better restaurant in the Park City area. The menus are simple, yet perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 6, 2015

We visited Park City on Sunday 9/6 and rerouted to Apex as the Main Street was overtaken by a street fair. I am so glad we did as we discovered the Apex restaurant which will now be on our list of favorite restaurants. Our server Vanessa L was extremely good. She was very courteous, and her soft spoken voice was very soothing and relaxing. With a friendly smile, she provided one of the best service experience we've ever had. It impressed my mother, who is quite fussy. She also loved her latte, which was $7 (a bit pricy) but worth every dollar. She is a fussy coffee drinker too! LOL.
We are so pleased that we discovered Apex and look forward to visiting in the near future. We checked out the Montage hotel while we were there and we will definitely be back and book our stay here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2015

Food was visually gorgeous and well presented. Also tasted good, but not as outstanding as the appearance. Service was very spotty, with excessively long intervals between courses, even though only one other table was dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 25, 2015

had a great dinner with my wife. Cordell, the serve, was fantastic. It was a intimate dinner and the ambiance was great for it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 23, 2015

Located in the heart of Deer Valley, UT, the Montage is adjacent to Empire Lodge and lift. In summer the drive up Guardsman Pass road is scenic and relaxing. Pulling into the Montage one is quickly greeted by the valet service. The Montage is an outstanding facility with views toward Park City and up into the mountains. The Apex outdoor dining faces the summit of Guardsman Pass, shelters you from the sum by umbrella and the views when seated are just beautiful. Bikers and hikers pass by at frequent intervals. The daytime menu is varied with most entrees around $30 and mixed drinks $14. Reasonable for such a location. We selected salmon and chicken schnitzel. Both entrees were very good, especially the red cabbage with the schnitzel. The service, however, leaves much to be desired. A waiter showed up at the table and stood there. No hello or anything. I finally asked for a drink menu that arrived in about five minutes. About 10 minutes later a waitress came and asked if we would like to order and we ordered drinks. Then a manager stopped by to ask if we were ready to order. We said we already had and he left. A while later the original waiter returned for our order. We indicated we had already ordered so he left. The waitress brought the drinks and then returned at intervals for the food order. Follow-up service from that point was OK but slow and there we not a lot of guests at 2PM. So while we recommend the food and view, someone certainly needs to do "a lot" about the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2015

Excellent food, attentive service. Would come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2015

It was Sunday evening and the restaurant was relatively empty. Service was poor as it took a long time to get our food (both salad and then main course),plus the waitresses kept bringing over food to us that was supposed to go to other tables, and they couldn't figure out who got what dish. Not the great dining experience it used to be

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.