About Apex at Montage Deer Valley

9100 Marsac Ave
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Apex, Montage Deer Valley’s signature restaurant, is a celebration of classic continental cuisine in an unforgettable mountain setting, offering guests a relaxed yet refined dining experience. The menu at our Park City restaurant is a creative revival of iconic dishes, focused on fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care and presented in remarkable style.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Skier's Brunch: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Empire Pass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 604-1700

Website:
http://www.montagehotels.com/deervalley/dining/apex

Catering:
Please call APEX directly to discuss catering options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet for all dining guests.

Public Transit:
Park City public bus system to Empire Pass stop.

Executive Chef:
Christian Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
APEX offers private dining of various sizes, please contact the restaurant manager for options.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Solomon: 4356041300

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Apex at Montage Deer Valley
Apex at Montage Deer Valley

Apex at Montage Deer Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (4)
romantic (4)
scenic view (3)
See All
fit for foodies (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (2)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
193 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was poor. Food was not special a ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was poor. Food was not special at that cost. Room had been cut in half to make room for burger joint. Disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We dined mid-afternoon to celebrate with ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We dined mid-afternoon to celebrate with a small wedding party. The service and food were outstanding. The waiter and staff showed lovely care and enthusiasm for the bride and groom and, despite the odd hour, encouraged our party to linger and enjoy the food and beautiful view. We will return to the Apex.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Over priced restaurant

Dined on June 11, 2016

The ambiance was excellent. The food was good, the service was good but the prices for what you pay for was to expensive. I have paid over $200 for a nice dinner, but this was far over price for what you get. The only thing that was worth anything was the view and my wife. I would not recommend this place unless you have money to burn and don't care for what you pay for. In fact a bottle of wine that you can find at a store for $20 was priced at $125.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 Stars

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We have been trying restaurants throughout Park City and Deer Valley, and the service, ambiance and food at Apex was truly memorable. A must visit for anyone looking for true Deer Valley experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Not for the price sensitive...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Apex for the annual Mother's day brunch. The food was nothing short of amazing and the service, ambiance and view were all spectacular. My only hangup was that we paid nearly 1/2 for a somewhat better brunch experience at the Glitretind (Stein Ericksen Lodge at Deer Valley). Not only is their weekly spread just as good, it has more variety than the Montage's 'special occasion' buffet at Apex and the non-alcoholic drinks are included. I paid $7 for a grapefruit juice, and $5 for a glass of milk for our 18 month old here. That's just gouging when you're already charging $65 for a buffet.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed

Dined on December 30, 2015

I really liked the service but the food was not worth the price we paid. We let our waitress know that our dish lacked seasoning. The hotel is beautiful and the atmosphere is nice. Next time, I am going to try the St. Regis.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Skier's Buffet

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

I never want to miss this amazing skier's buffet to finish the ski day.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Apex Review

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Apex has a nice lunch buffet and is kid friendly. The waiter was very helpful and helped us select a great bottle of Champagne. The atmosphere is casual with a touch of elegance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I was very disappointed with the service ...

Dined on December 25, 2015

I was very disappointed with the service and that there was no notification dinner was Prix Fixe on the website or in the open table confirmation. The service received three stars due to lack of attention to silver timely replacement during the meal. The food was very good and did appreciate the courtesy of allowing our 14 year old to eat off the children's menu. Ambience was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and service was outstanding. Great ...

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

Good and service was outstanding. Great place to bring visitors.

food4
ambience2
service5

Beautiful hotel but no ambiance

Dined on December 13, 2015

We thought this would be a great restaurant to have a joyous holiday dinner and would have beautiful decorations. We were the only table in the entire restaurant for the evening. It was a beautiful dinner but quite costly and the ambiance was lacking. The noise from the Bourbon an Burger bar was much more festive and we felt that is probably where we needed to be. So we were a table of 7 stuck in the middle of a room with no special decorations or ambiance. I could of done better at home. The drive in was sensational and was worth the time. The staff was professional and of course we had all the service we needed.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2

A let down

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

We were visiting the hotel and expected a high end restaurant and were left very disappointed. The service felt very rushed and yet it took a long time to receive our food. The space is also surprisingly small which made it very noisy with a large table seated next to us. The ambiance leaves much to be desired as well. There are SO many excellent restaurants down on Main Street I was surprised that this was the best the Montage had to offer considering the high price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food1
ambience1
service3

We have eaten here before and each time ...

Dined on November 27, 2015

We have eaten here before and each time have been disappointed. The "thanksgiving " buffet had it all but left much to be desired in taste. Turkey was dry and I didn't know it was possible to not have one good dessert. My wife's apple pie tasted like they dropped the cinnamon jar in it.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service5

Very Good Meal

vip
Dined on November 20, 2015

We have eaten at Apex a couple of times before and found it good but not great. Our most recent meal was excellent. Cordell, our server, was very friendly and knowledgeable and walked us through the menu with recommendations, when asked. The Sommelier made an excellent wine recommendation that truly complemented the meal. The service was just great but understated - just the way we like it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, well served

Dined on November 8, 2015

There is abundant choice and a great three course meal that will be served professionally. I had a 3 course for $30 special menu and took some home as it was very filling. My wife had two appetizers for her dinner. Attractive presentation, quiet professional service, wine decanted and well served. It is worth the hike up the mountain.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

3 course special

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for a while since we are locals, and took advantage of their 3 course meal for a special price. Of course the choices are limited, but we were very surprised and pleased with our choice of the two different salads and the chicken saltimboca. Very tasty and tender. Dessert was nice too. Service was attentive and timely. Only complaint was price of cocktails. Why is it necessary to gouge customers on alcohol? Two drinks were $27 for a Cosmo and a rum and tonic! Nice dining experience though.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Why go anywhere else?

Dined on October 17, 2015

While staying at the hotel a couple of nights, I found myself eating breakfast, lunch and dinner at the APEX. Everything was high-end, the food, service and restaurant. I would highly recommend dining at the APEX for all three meals, especially if you’re staying at the hotel. It would be hard to find a better restaurant in the Park City area. The menus are simple, yet perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to Apex at the Montage

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

We visited Park City on Sunday 9/6 and rerouted to Apex as the Main Street was overtaken by a street fair. I am so glad we did as we discovered the Apex restaurant which will now be on our list of favorite restaurants. Our server Vanessa L was extremely good. She was very courteous, and her soft spoken voice was very soothing and relaxing. With a friendly smile, she provided one of the best service experience we've ever had. It impressed my mother, who is quite fussy. She also loved her latte, which was $7 (a bit pricy) but worth every dollar. She is a fussy coffee drinker too! LOL. We are so pleased that we discovered Apex and look forward to visiting in the near future. We checked out the Montage hotel while we were there and we will definitely be back and book our stay here.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was visually gorgeous and well pres ...

vip
Dined on August 26, 2015

Food was visually gorgeous and well presented. Also tasted good, but not as outstanding as the appearance. Service was very spotty, with excessively long intervals between courses, even though only one other table was dining.

food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Beaultifull Place

Dined on August 25, 2015

had a great dinner with my wife. Cordell, the serve, was fantastic. It was a intimate dinner and the ambiance was great for it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service1

Spectaclar Views, Good Food, Poor Service.

Dined on August 23, 2015

Located in the heart of Deer Valley, UT, the Montage is adjacent to Empire Lodge and lift. In summer the drive up Guardsman Pass road is scenic and relaxing. Pulling into the Montage one is quickly greeted by the valet service. The Montage is an outstanding facility with views toward Park City and up into the mountains. The Apex outdoor dining faces the summit of Guardsman Pass, shelters you from the sum by umbrella and the views when seated are just beautiful. Bikers and hikers pass by at frequent intervals. The daytime menu is varied with most entrees around $30 and mixed drinks $14. Reasonable for such a location. We selected salmon and chicken schnitzel. Both entrees were very good, especially the red cabbage with the schnitzel. The service, however, leaves much to be desired. A waiter showed up at the table and stood there. No hello or anything. I finally asked for a drink menu that arrived in about five minutes. About 10 minutes later a waitress came and asked if we would like to order and we ordered drinks. Then a manager stopped by to ask if we were ready to order. We said we already had and he left. A while later the original waiter returned for our order. We indicated we had already ordered so he left. The waitress brought the drinks and then returned at intervals for the food order. Follow-up service from that point was OK but slow and there we not a lot of guests at 2PM. So while we recommend the food and view, someone certainly needs to do "a lot" about the service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent

Dined on July 25, 2015

Excellent food, attentive service. Would come back.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Disappointed

vip
Dined on July 13, 2015

It was Sunday evening and the restaurant was relatively empty. Service was poor as it took a long time to get our food (both salad and then main course),plus the waitresses kept bringing over food to us that was supposed to go to other tables, and they couldn't figure out who got what dish. Not the great dining experience it used to be

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service2

Too fancy for it's own good

Dined on July 7, 2015

They took some normal dishes and tried to make them too fancy, ruining the flavor and traditional nature of the food. The popovers they give you instead of bread are awesome though!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love it!

Dined on June 25, 2015

Remarkable experience. The singer was amazind and service impeccable. The French manager Benjamin is very nice too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing!

Dined on May 10, 2015

We made reservations for the Mother's Day brunch at Apex and were blown away by the food. Very delicious, and lots of selections (even for kids). It came with a steep price tag, but definitely worth it for the special occasion. In addition to the amazing food, there was a harp player just feet away from us playing beautiful music, and breath taking views of the mountain outside.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service1

Ok food,terrible service.

Dined on May 10, 2015

Have been to the Thanksgiving and Mothers Day buffets numerous times. The food was just OK, server was terrible. Old dishes were not being collected before we would return again. The house cured bacon that was on the menu never made it. I inquired twice. Time to move on from APEX. I give up on them.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Incredible

Dined on May 9, 2015

The Apex is a fine dining establishment that serves high quality upscale food. If you are looking for large portions or low prices this place is not for you. Our server was incredibly kind and helpful. We felt her attitude and personality matched the high level tone of the restaurant in a good way. Our meals were enjoyable, especially the gnocci appetizer and the pistachio, apricot, cherry, chocolate, delightful dessert. The view was breathtaking.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2

I would not recommend this place. It wa ...

Dined on March 24, 2015

I would not recommend this place. It was very expensive and the food was frankly not that impressive. The caesar salad, supposedly famous, was just okay. We found it a bit tasteless. I ordered the free range chicken breast and it was barely warm. The lamb was okay, although I thought a bit undercooked for a medium rare order. My husband's snapper was good. The creme brûlée was average, but not outstanding. The ambiance in the hotel is just beautiful, but the food just doesn't match up. Overall, disappointed, especially for how expensive the meal was.

food5
ambience5
service5

apex food and dining experience was grea ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2015

apex food and dining experience was great. we ate there on many occasions and we were happy each time

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Regrettably menu is now more convention based fare

Dined on February 7, 2015

When Apex first opened it was awesome, now the menu seems more convention & family based than foodie, but that is probably their clientele. We had a good meal, but not one to rush back to. Missing were the special mountain type game items. One guest comment it was the best crab cake ever.

food5
ambience5
service5

great ski lunch

vip
Dined on February 6, 2015

As always Montage is our favorite place to ski in to for lunch while in Deer Valley. Always great service, great food and atmosphere. And in the summer we love to hike and come down to Montage for a wine lunch with beautiful mountain views. A gem of Deer Valley!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3

Beautiful room, comfortable seating and good food.

Dined on December 27, 2014

We brought our 5 children to dinner at Apex and it was rather expensive to take the whole family to this restaurant. I'd wished the more casual restaurant next door took reservations. The service was attentive, but slow even though the dinning area was only 1/2 full. Overall, the venue was lovely and the food very good, but I'm not sure it was worth the cost.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1

. What???!!??

Dined on December 25, 2014

We went here and they talked up their buffet so we tried it. After our first trip, they informed us the buffet was closing for dinner. What???!!?? -97

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Christmas day lunch

Dined on December 25, 2014

We sat near the window and looked at the skiers who were right there... Snow all around. Fireplace with a cool one man live singer and staff who were helpful. We had the smorgasbord for $55 each which was pretty good. The roast beef melted in your mouth almost and the dulce De leche pudding was so yummy. The Chipotle salmon was dry but flavourful, big prawns and oysters good too, Asian soup was average but they had this pear jam to go with the procuitto which was awesome. They did have complimentary valet parking which is nice too. Fix the panna cotta and cheescake desserts and other above and it will be absolutely delicious all round. I will go back though... Especially if I'm on the slopes just there.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service3

Dining Room lighting TOO bright

vip
Dined on December 22, 2014

They were really slow with the food then didn't get my vegetarian order right. They fixed it right away but for such an expensive place it was disappointing. Too many tables in a big room with the lighting too bright made it seem very cafeteria like and not upscale enough for the prices. The food was great and the wine list one of the best.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was outstanding. Kudos to Chr ...

Dined on November 4, 2014

The staff was outstanding. Kudos to Chris (our waiter), Martin (maître d), and Big Rob (who was enlisted to give us a tour of the property). Big Rob went out of his way to give us the tour of a lifetime. He is an outstanding employee.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant. Soup was OK; overa ...

Dined on October 28, 2014

Beautiful restaurant. Soup was OK; overall food was good. Would definitely come back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5

Great food if you can stay awake

Dined on October 5, 2014

It's not that I need a vibrant restaurant to keep me happy but this was like dining on fabulous food in the overflow room of a Hilton banquet room. Very boring and it had nothing to do with my date or the wait staff .

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on September 18, 2014

Service was outstanding - entrees delicious - ambience with fireplace and view of tree covered mountainside - quiet and serene. Perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.