About Apex at Montage Deer Valley

9100 Marsac Ave
Park City, UT 84060
View Larger Map

Apex, Montage Deer Valley’s signature restaurant, is a celebration of classic continental cuisine in an unforgettable mountain setting, offering guests a relaxed yet refined dining experience. The menu at our Park City restaurant is a creative revival of iconic dishes, focused on fresh, local ingredients, prepared with care and presented in remarkable style.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Skier's Brunch: 11:30am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Daily: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Empire Pass

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(435) 604-1700

Website:
http://www.montagehotels.com/deervalley/dining/apex

Catering:
Please call APEX directly to discuss catering options.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet for all dining guests.

Public Transit:
Park City public bus system to Empire Pass stop.

Executive Chef:
Christian Ojeda

Private Party Facilities:
APEX offers private dining of various sizes, please contact the restaurant manager for options.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Apex at Montage Deer Valley
Apex at Montage Deer Valley

Apex at Montage Deer Valley Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Park City Area
Best Restaurants in Park City ›

Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (6)
Scenic View (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Spectacular setting - romantic and speci ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Spectacular setting - romantic and special. Food was outstanding and unique. Would recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow is all I can say. The drive up made ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Wow is all I can say. The drive up made my legs jittery. The hamburger was amazing and the staff, truly professional.

Unbelievable view and an experience that is incomparable to any establishment in Park City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As guests of the Montage, we chose to di ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

As guests of the Montage, we chose to dine on property for our first dinner in Park City. I had the heirloom tomato salad which was delicious and the risotto with asparagus, which was disappointingly bland. My husband had the special lasagna; unlike traditional lasagna, it was a light alternative full of flavor and texture. We ate outside overlooking the slopes, listening to the live music from a wedding reception across the field, enjoying a lovely summer breeze. The service was outstanding with a friendly and well informed waitress. For an on property restaurant it was a bit overpriced, as expected, but pleasant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an amazing place to go to. I wa ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was an amazing place to go to. I was proposing and the staff was so accommodating and made sure that everything went perfectly. I would definitely go here again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was poor. Food was not special a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was poor. Food was not special at that cost. Room had been cut in half to make room for burger joint. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We dined mid-afternoon to celebrate with ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We dined mid-afternoon to celebrate with a small wedding party. The service and food were outstanding. The waiter and staff showed lovely care and enthusiasm for the bride and groom and, despite the odd hour, encouraged our party to linger and enjoy the food and beautiful view. We will return to the Apex.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Over priced restaurant

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The ambiance was excellent. The food was good, the service was good but the prices for what you pay for was to expensive. I have paid over $200 for a nice dinner, but this was far over price for what you get. The only thing that was worth anything was the view and my wife.

I would not recommend this place unless you have money to burn and don't care for what you pay for. In fact a bottle of wine that you can find at a store for $20 was priced at $125.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

5 Stars

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We have been trying restaurants throughout Park City and Deer Valley, and the service, ambiance and food at Apex was truly memorable.

A must visit for anyone looking for true Deer Valley experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not for the price sensitive...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall, we had a very good experience at the Apex for the annual Mother's day brunch. The food was nothing short of amazing and the service, ambiance and view were all spectacular.

My only hangup was that we paid nearly 1/2 for a somewhat better brunch experience at the Glitretind (Stein Ericksen Lodge at Deer Valley). Not only is their weekly spread just as good, it has more variety than the Montage's 'special occasion' buffet at Apex and the non-alcoholic drinks are included. I paid $7 for a grapefruit juice, and $5 for a glass of milk for our 18 month old here. That's just gouging when you're already charging $65 for a buffet.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

I really liked the service but the food was not worth the price we paid. We let our waitress know that our dish lacked seasoning. The hotel is beautiful and the atmosphere is nice. Next time, I am going to try the St. Regis.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Best Skier's Buffet

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I never want to miss this amazing skier's buffet to finish the ski day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Apex Review

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Apex has a nice lunch buffet and is kid friendly. The waiter was very helpful and helped us select a great bottle of Champagne. The atmosphere is casual with a touch of elegance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I was very disappointed with the service ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

I was very disappointed with the service and that there was no notification dinner was Prix Fixe on the website or in the open table confirmation. The service received three stars due to lack of attention to silver timely replacement during the meal. The food was very good and did appreciate the courtesy of allowing our 14 year old to eat off the children's menu. Ambience was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Good and service was outstanding. Great ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Good and service was outstanding. Great place to bring visitors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful hotel but no ambiance

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

We thought this would be a great restaurant to have a joyous holiday dinner and would have beautiful decorations. We were the only table in the entire restaurant for the evening. It was a beautiful dinner but quite costly and the ambiance was lacking. The noise from the Bourbon an Burger bar was much more festive and we felt that is probably where we needed to be. So we were a table of 7 stuck in the middle of a room with no special decorations or ambiance. I could of done better at home. The drive in was sensational and was worth the time.

The staff was professional and of course we had all the service we needed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

A let down

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

We were visiting the hotel and expected a high end restaurant and were left very disappointed. The service felt very rushed and yet it took a long time to receive our food. The space is also surprisingly small which made it very noisy with a large table seated next to us. The ambiance leaves much to be desired as well. There are SO many excellent restaurants down on Main Street I was surprised that this was the best the Montage had to offer considering the high price.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We have eaten here before and each time ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

We have eaten here before and each time have been disappointed. The "thanksgiving " buffet had it all but left much to be desired in taste. Turkey was dry and I didn't know it was possible to not have one good dessert. My wife's apple pie tasted like they dropped the cinnamon jar in it.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Very Good Meal

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

We have eaten at Apex a couple of times before and found it good but not great. Our most recent meal was excellent. Cordell, our server, was very friendly and knowledgeable and walked us through the menu with recommendations, when asked. The Sommelier made an excellent wine recommendation that truly complemented the meal. The service was just great but understated - just the way we like it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, well served

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

There is abundant choice and a great three course meal that will be served professionally. I had a 3 course for $30 special menu and took some home as it was very filling. My wife had two appetizers for her dinner. Attractive presentation, quiet professional service, wine decanted and well served. It is worth the hike up the mountain.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

3 course special

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

We've been wanting to try this restaurant for a while since we are locals, and took advantage of their 3 course meal for a special price. Of course the choices are limited, but we were very surprised and pleased with our choice of the two different salads and the chicken saltimboca. Very tasty and tender. Dessert was nice too. Service was attentive and timely. Only complaint was price of cocktails. Why is it necessary to gouge customers on alcohol? Two drinks were $27 for a Cosmo and a rum and tonic! Nice dining experience though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Why go anywhere else?

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

While staying at the hotel a couple of nights, I found myself eating breakfast, lunch and dinner at the APEX. Everything was high-end, the food, service and restaurant. I would highly recommend dining at the APEX for all three meals, especially if you’re staying at the hotel. It would be hard to find a better restaurant in the Park City area. The menus are simple, yet perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first visit to Apex at the Montage

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

We visited Park City on Sunday 9/6 and rerouted to Apex as the Main Street was overtaken by a street fair. I am so glad we did as we discovered the Apex restaurant which will now be on our list of favorite restaurants. Our server Vanessa L was extremely good. She was very courteous, and her soft spoken voice was very soothing and relaxing. With a friendly smile, she provided one of the best service experience we've ever had. It impressed my mother, who is quite fussy. She also loved her latte, which was $7 (a bit pricy) but worth every dollar. She is a fussy coffee drinker too! LOL.

We are so pleased that we discovered Apex and look forward to visiting in the near future. We checked out the Montage hotel while we were there and we will definitely be back and book our stay here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was visually gorgeous and well pres ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

Food was visually gorgeous and well presented. Also tasted good, but not as outstanding as the appearance. Service was very spotty, with excessively long intervals between courses, even though only one other table was dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Beaultifull Place

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 25, 2015

had a great dinner with my wife. Cordell, the serve, was fantastic. It was a intimate dinner and the ambiance was great for it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Spectaclar Views, Good Food, Poor Service.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Located in the heart of Deer Valley, UT, the Montage is adjacent to Empire Lodge and lift. In summer the drive up Guardsman Pass road is scenic and relaxing. Pulling into the Montage one is quickly greeted by the valet service. The Montage is an outstanding facility with views toward Park City and up into the mountains. The Apex outdoor dining faces the summit of Guardsman Pass, shelters you from the sum by umbrella and the views when seated are just beautiful. Bikers and hikers pass by at frequent intervals. The daytime menu is varied with most entrees around $30 and mixed drinks $14. Reasonable for such a location. We selected salmon and chicken schnitzel. Both entrees were very good, especially the red cabbage with the schnitzel. The service, however, leaves much to be desired. A waiter showed up at the table and stood there. No hello or anything. I finally asked for a drink menu that arrived in about five minutes. About 10 minutes later a waitress came and asked if we would like to order and we ordered drinks. Then a manager stopped by to ask if we were ready to order. We said we already had and he left. A while later the original waiter returned for our order. We indicated we had already ordered so he left. The waitress brought the drinks and then returned at intervals for the food order. Follow-up service from that point was OK but slow and there we not a lot of guests at 2PM. So while we recommend the food and view, someone certainly needs to do "a lot" about the service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

Excellent

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

Excellent food, attentive service. Would come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointed

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 13, 2015

It was Sunday evening and the restaurant was relatively empty. Service was poor as it took a long time to get our food (both salad and then main course),plus the waitresses kept bringing over food to us that was supposed to go to other tables, and they couldn't figure out who got what dish. Not the great dining experience it used to be

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Too fancy for it's own good

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 7, 2015

They took some normal dishes and tried to make them too fancy, ruining the flavor and traditional nature of the food. The popovers they give you instead of bread are awesome though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Love it!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2015

Remarkable experience. The singer was amazind and service impeccable. The French manager Benjamin is very nice too.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely amazing!

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We made reservations for the Mother's Day brunch at Apex and were blown away by the food. Very delicious, and lots of selections (even for kids). It came with a steep price tag, but definitely worth it for the special occasion. In addition to the amazing food, there was a harp player just feet away from us playing beautiful music, and breath taking views of the mountain outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ok food,terrible service.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Have been to the Thanksgiving and Mothers Day buffets numerous times. The food was just OK, server was terrible. Old dishes were not being collected before we would return again. The house cured bacon that was on the menu never made it. I inquired twice. Time to move on from APEX. I give up on them.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Incredible

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

The Apex is a fine dining establishment that serves high quality upscale food. If you are looking for large portions or low prices this place is not for you. Our server was incredibly kind and helpful. We felt her attitude and personality matched the high level tone of the restaurant in a good way. Our meals were enjoyable, especially the gnocci appetizer and the pistachio, apricot, cherry, chocolate, delightful dessert. The view was breathtaking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I would not recommend this place. It wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 24, 2015

I would not recommend this place. It was very expensive and the food was frankly not that impressive. The caesar salad, supposedly famous, was just okay. We found it a bit tasteless. I ordered the free range chicken breast and it was barely warm. The lamb was okay, although I thought a bit undercooked for a medium rare order. My husband's snapper was good. The creme brûlée was average, but not outstanding. The ambiance in the hotel is just beautiful, but the food just doesn't match up. Overall, disappointed, especially for how expensive the meal was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

apex food and dining experience was grea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 22, 2015

apex food and dining experience was great. we ate there on many occasions and we were happy each time

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Regrettably menu is now more convention based fare

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 7, 2015

When Apex first opened it was awesome, now the menu seems more convention & family based than foodie, but that is probably their clientele. We had a good meal, but not one to rush back to. Missing were the special mountain type game items. One guest comment it was the best crab cake ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great ski lunch

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 6, 2015

As always Montage is our favorite place to ski in to for lunch while in Deer Valley. Always great service, great food and atmosphere. And in the summer we love to hike and come down to Montage for a wine lunch with beautiful mountain views. A gem of Deer Valley!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful room, comfortable seating and good food.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 27, 2014

We brought our 5 children to dinner at Apex and it was rather expensive to take the whole family to this restaurant. I'd wished the more casual restaurant next door took reservations. The service was attentive, but slow even though the dinning area was only 1/2 full. Overall, the venue was lovely and the food very good, but I'm not sure it was worth the cost.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

. What???!!??

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

We went here and they talked up their buffet so we tried it. After our first trip, they informed us the buffet was closing for dinner. What???!!?? -97

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Great Christmas day lunch

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 25, 2014

We sat near the window and looked at the skiers who were right there... Snow all around. Fireplace with a cool one man live singer and staff who were helpful. We had the smorgasbord for $55 each which was pretty good. The roast beef melted in your mouth almost and the dulce De leche pudding was so yummy. The Chipotle salmon was dry but flavourful, big prawns and oysters good too, Asian soup was average but they had this pear jam to go with the procuitto which was awesome. They did have complimentary valet parking which is nice too. Fix the panna cotta and cheescake desserts and other above and it will be absolutely delicious all round. I will go back though... Especially if I'm on the slopes just there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Dining Room lighting TOO bright

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 22, 2014

They were really slow with the food then didn't get my vegetarian order right. They fixed it right away but for such an expensive place it was disappointing. Too many tables in a big room with the lighting too bright made it seem very cafeteria like and not upscale enough for the prices. The food was great and the wine list one of the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.