About AOC

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

We've MOVED! Our new address is 8700 W. 3rd Street & George Burns Drive. A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Afternoon menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Daily 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday and Monday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: 310 859 9859x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

NEW SEASONAL COCKTAILS FOR SPRING

Special valid Apr 24, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

NEW SEASONAL COCKTAILS FOR SPRING

Special valid Apr 24, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
GLASGOW KISS-famous grouse scotch,red lillet,cherry heering;CAPTAIN SHADDOCK-st. george rum agricole,grapefruit,chartreuse;CARDOON-rittenhouse rye,cynar,lost abbey blond;BIENVILLE-calvados,angostura,peychaud;THE INITIAL-tequila anejo w/calisaya,lime. Excludes Tax and Tip. Market fresh cocktails crafted by Christiaan Rollich. $14/each. Special valid Apr 24, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.
Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us for "Cocktail Hour" at the bar, where every night from 5-7pm we will be offering ridiculously well-priced cocktails, wines & beers. Snack on our wood oven focaccia, bacon-wrapped dates & cheeses too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Los Angeles
Californian
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly / Fairfax / La Brea / Third St. ›

fit for foodies (185)
special occasion (120)
great for outdoor dining (120)
See All
romantic (113)
notable wine list (91)
neighborhood gem (86)
hot spot (83)
good for groups (79)
great for brunch (64)
great for lunch (58)
vibrant bar scene (44)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (6)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Winner

Dined 7 days ago

Been here numerous times. Always excellent. Great service, lovely staff. One of my favs on a short list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our food and our experience. Such ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Loved our food and our experience. Such a great place!!

food4
ambience4
service2

The hostess was lovely and my initial im ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The hostess was lovely and my initial impressions were great. I hadn't been to AOC since it had moved and it always been one of my favorites. The food was very mixed - fried chicken was fantastic and the farro and black rice was delish. But the cavolo Nero was over salted and oily and the whole grilled fish was over-cooked and the platter just a mess. Our waiter was distracted and borderline rude - he was condescending when we asked for an overview of the menu. we had to ask twice for our plates to be cleared and changed. It was a very average experience - I expected more from a Suzanne Goin restaurant and was disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was delicious. Small plates to ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was delicious. Small plates to share with everyone in our party. Our waiter never came back to see if our food was as expected. We ate our salad and appetizers but waited almost 30 minutes for the short ribs and fingerling potatoes. When we tracked down our waiter we were told the short ribs take 20 minutes to prepare. We said it had been more than 45 minutes since they were ordered. I would recommend a.o.c. for the food, but the service needs work. Our waiter should have been more attentive. It seemed like he forgot about our order.

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a good dining experience. I don' ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Overall a good dining experience. I don't understand why they insist on you sharing multiple dishes. If a diner wants an appetizer and a main course, let him or her order in such fashion.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, too noisy.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service is superb, food an interesting variety of small plates; lamb merguez was especially good. Beautiful surroundings, but if you want to be able to converse, insist on a seat indoors. The patio area gets really noisy, especially after they turn on the thumping music around 8 p.m.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We went in with high expectations but were pretty disappointed given all of our friend's recommendations. We ordered fried chicken and waffles, and waited almost 45 minutes for it to show up. When we got it, it was cold, so it's like it was sitting out there on the kitchen counter for a long time. We paid almost $80 for this meal; I'd expect the fried chicken to be hot and fresh. It wasn't even warm, it was COLD! The service was horrendous as well. The servers were friendly and everything, but it was so hard to get their attention as they were so busy. Honestly, if you're going to be that busy, then hire more employees. I waited 1 hour, just to get my water glass refilled. I might give it another shot, but seriously, with so many different restaurants out there to choose from, first impressions really do last.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Eats

Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful patio setting; very relaxing. The food was delicious, the service superb. I had a salad with added chicken. The greens were crisp and the dressing flavorful. The blueberry bread was fabulous! The blood orange Bellini was great, and a great alternative to a mimosa. Very accommodating for babies.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3

I've been to AOC several times and alway ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I've been to AOC several times and always had great food. Last night there was what looked to be like a private event in the outside dining area and coincidentally the food we received wasn't up to par. The duck was very dry, the Italian kale dish (I think it's called nelo on the menu) had no flavor, the Spanish fried chicken was extremely crunchy as if left too long in the fryer and I can't even put my finger on what was wrong with the artichoke dish. However, the short rib was extremely tender and delicious. I think the event threw off the kitchen and the staff last night. I will definitely be back and hope there is nothing going on outside.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A classic

Dined on April 30, 2016

AOC is what propelled LA's food scene to what it has become.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Customer Service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter and staff were very friendly and we didn't need to ask for things. They thought about it before we did. It was a birthday celebration but I did not specify who had the birthday. Before we did anything a lovely dessert with a candle was placed in front of my friend....and yes, he was celebrating his birthday! How did they know??? They have an amazing staff!!! We had a lovely time with high quality drinks and exquisite epicurean experience! Thank you!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and beautiful garden! Bacon w ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and beautiful garden! Bacon wrapped dates were amazing as was the asparagus.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Runs about $100/person for a normal dinn ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Runs about $100/person for a normal dinner--food was very good--especially liked the salmon and the focaccia. Terrific dessert--1 shared by 5 people. They were very nice and accommodating when we had to add a person to the party at the last minute. Waiter was very sweet.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyable evening!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent food and very friendly, attentive service!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The overall experience was great. Servic ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

The overall experience was great. Service, ambiance, etc. The food had some wonderful high notes, but also some low ones too. Bar tender was great, also great drinks. Beautiful place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Tasty and small plates but packed with e ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Tasty and small plates but packed with enough flavor one doesn't need a lot of food. Service and hosts were stellar. Packed and lively even on a Monday but classy casual.

food1
ambience5
service1
value3

Bad Service and Salty food

Dined on April 18, 2016

We went to AOC for my Mother's Birthday and we specifically told the Host we were there for my Mom's Birthday. On a special day like this, I would believe the waiter would be a little bit more attentive than a regular dine in situation but the service was pretty much horrible. It could have been due to another big party my waiter was assigned too but I shouldn't have to wave my arms multiple times to get his attention, which I hate doing. Half of our dishes were great and half of our other dishes were really salty and I understand it does happen because I've been in the restaurant industry for a long time but when the broccoli showed up, I had to say something because it was so salty our whole family cringed. Plain and simple, it was not edible. After multiple tries in getting our waiters attention again, we got our broccoli replaced with no hassle. We got a new side of broccoli and just like before it was super salty. I honestly think they rinsed it and brought back out to us. I don't know who was on the line that night but that cook probably forgot that a vegetable like broccoli soaks up and retains sodium but I still want to give them the benefit of doubt and believe they worked up a new broccoli dish but misused the salt again. Anyway, its such a disappointment because I've been dining at AOC since their first location and I had nothing but compliments for this place.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely Evening at AOC

Dined on April 17, 2016

We arrived early for or eservation. The hostess was delightful and offered to seat us right away, although we chose to enjoy a drink at the bar first. The cocktails were interesting and delicious and the bartender , while busy, delivered friendly service. We sat "outside"......the ambiance is soft and romantic . The wine list was varied and not overpriced .....all 3 glasses were tasty. We enjoyed 6 dishes......the highlights were the shrimp and mussels and the lasagna. The desserts ......lemon cake and coconut Bavarian (?) were the perfect ending . Service was attentive and friendly , although I got the feeling our server wanted to be anywhere but at work .......it just could have been more genuine, but did not deter us from enjoying our experience. Overall, great evening ....would absolutely return.......meal was devine .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Westside / Small Plate Vibe Perfected

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Ambience is great. We preferred the "outside" feeling of the area in which we were seated. Personable and courteous servers, a very appealing array of small dishes and an impressive wine list which made up our meal. A little on the pricey side. But when you need something special, this is a great treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience5
service1

Last time my friends and I went there, t ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Last time my friends and I went there, the food was very greasy, but we thought to give it another try! This time, we asked them not to make the food greasy, but everything they brought, soaked in butter and oil! The server kept forgetting to place the order for our food! So, unfortunately, the total experience was pretty bad! :(

food5
ambience5
service5

AOC is without question my favorite rest ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

AOC is without question my favorite restaurant in Los Angeles. It is one of those rare spots that I consider a destination as well as a neighborhood gem -- suitable for a special occasion or just a weeknight out. Caroline and Suzanne have done an outstanding job, and the staff is absolutely first class. Highly recommended for all who pass this way.

food4
ambience5
service4

The baked eggs were a little overdone

Dined on April 10, 2016

The baked eggs were a little overdone

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

birthday brunch

Dined on April 10, 2016

What a great central location to meet friends from all over LA and have a relaxing brunch. The back patio was lovely, everything was paced well. The food was excellent and we really enjoyed the ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place for tapas and small plates ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing place for tapas and small plates. The food and ambiance are perfection! Highly recommend the skirt steak and chocolate cake.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful space and delicious food!

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

It's a really beautiful space (we sat in the courtyard/patio area). Very impressed with the food, service, and wine list, especially availability of organic, sustainable, and old world wines!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Great spot

Dined on April 7, 2016

Loved the variety of food on the menu and it had a good buzz.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Good food, service not so much

Dined on April 7, 2016

We live in the valley, we drove all the way down here for our anniversary. We ordered 6 items I believe, they all tasted great. But I wasn't too crazy about the service though. When I asked our server how come the fries was not on the menu (I love their fries), looking annoyed she said, "that's for lunch only". Then I asked if she could please take a picture of us, she seemed irritated. I just ignored her, enjoyed every bite of our meal and sip of my Green Goddess. Must try: dates wrapped in bacon, crostini and spanish fried chicken.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent all around experience. Food, ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Excellent all around experience. Food, service, and atmosphere all great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hidden gem

Dined on April 3, 2016

Ambiance, staff, service, food and drink were top notch. We had a great time and will definitely return to make more memories.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

AOC restaurant

Dined on April 2, 2016

The stuffed dates and butterscotch and chocolate desserts were very good. Otherwise, the meal was unexceptional and pricey.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Food, small portions

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food, but be aware that it is tapas style. A group of 4 was recommended about 10-12 dishes.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Interesting Place with Good food

Dined on March 30, 2016

While dining here we couldn't help but hear conversation around us where one wealthy person was"one upping" the next wealthy person the entire night. My wife and I are in our upper 20's and we were a bit out of place here on a Saturday night. Though we felt respected by the servers, it seemed like other patrons were far more important to the staff. It was a busy night, but the restaurant had the feeling of being understaffed and overcrowded. We did enjoy our food and I would say it was better than I expected. I wouldn't recommend this place however unless it was to someone with a lot of money and who was above 45 years old.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AOC was even better than I expected.

Dined on March 30, 2016

I can't think of a single thing about our evening at AOC that wasn't terrific. We needed to keep our dog in our car while we ate and the Valet people couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. I'm sorry that I don't know our server's name but she was pleasant, well-informed and seemed to anticipate our every need without being intrusive in any way. I can't say enough about our delicious meal--quite possibly this was one of the best meals I've ever had. For those of you who don't think you like dates, order the bacon wrapped ones here, you'll love them. It couldn't have been better!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was good but I felt like the server ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Food was good but I felt like the server was super pretentious in discussing "the dynamic of our meal". We had a party of 4 and weren't crazy hungry, so ordered the Farmer's Platter, Spanish fried chicken, lamb ribs, potatoes, and young broccoli. When we asked if that was enough, he suggested that we order 2-4 plates per person, which seemed insane. There is no way we could have eaten 8 plates total, much less 16. We could have eaten another dish or 2 but definitely no more than that. Felt the server was upset and judgmental about this. Also, would have been nice if he mentioned there were only 2 lamb ribs per order because those are not an easily shareable dish. Overall I think service detracted from the total meal, which was delicious.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great happy hour, drinks, food & service!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Definitely coming back to try more of this awesome spot and super dishes

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Meeting friends...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Best wait staff..ever! They could not have been more efficient, entertaining, accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Must go

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great food, wine and wonderful ambiance. The hostess was rude but other than that everything was great. Try the Farro & Black rice it is delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

My new favorite restaurant in LA. Salads ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

My new favorite restaurant in LA. Salads so fresh and small plates so interesting. Love the atmosphere. What a treat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

They have an amazing outdoor area with fountains and the inside is darker and more romantic. I have been here for both lunch and dinner and I prefer lunch outside with friends or a romantic dinner inside. Mostly I go for lunch. The food is delicious. The service was great. Our waiter had a great sense of humor and answered all our silly questions. I will be back next month.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual fare, elevated to the moon

Dined on March 22, 2016

A.O.C. was a fantastic dining experience. They take simple, familiar concepts like bacon-wrapped dates and elevate them to a point where you say "oh! That is what that is supposed to taste like!" Their food also does a great job of highlighting the superior level of ingredients they are putting in. The butterscotch pot du creme was heavenly. Finally, this was some of the friendliest service I have had in ages.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.