About AOC

A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 5:00 pm
Weekend Afternoon Menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday & Monday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: (310) 859-9859

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - May 13, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Our Specialty Cocktails by Christiaan Rollich

Special valid Jan 14, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - May 13, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us for "Cocktail Hour" at the bar, where every night from 5-7pm we will be offering ridiculously well-priced cocktails, wines & beers. Snack on our wood oven focaccia, bacon-wrapped dates & cheeses too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - May 13, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Our Specialty Cocktails by Christiaan Rollich

Special valid Jan 14, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Try the Tulip; The Refinery; Fire & Smoke; Wild Coast; and The Dillinger!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Market fresh cocktails crafted by Christiaan Rollich. $14/each. Special valid Jan 14, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (84)
Good for a Date (78)
Great for Outdoor Dining (62)
See All
Special Occasion (60)
Creative Cuisine (59)
Romantic (58)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Cozy (45)
Fireplace (43)
Great for Lunch (41)
Notable Wine List (41)
Bar Seating (39)
Great for Brunch (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (38)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Hot Spot (36)
Good for Groups (35)
Fun (35)
Tapas (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Casual (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Business Meals (31)
Good Vegetarian Options (28)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Tasting Menu (22)
Authentic (20)
Healthy (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
People Watching (17)
Family Style (16)
Organic (14)
Wood Oven (14)
Seasonal (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Private Room (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Scenic View (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2043 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Another perfect lunch at AOC! Even though the day was quite warm, the shaded patio was a lovely temperature, and it is one of the most beautiful in town, as well. The bacon wrapped dates are the perfect salty snack to whet your appetite, and the lemon zest butter with the toasted blueberry bread - I could have eaten that all day! Our waiter was attentive without being overly so - we'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Had a great time

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Our first dinner at AOC was fantastic....wonderful service and the food was delicious. On our way home from a long trip abroad, we made a list of the food in LA we were craving ...AOC was near the top of our list. Unfortunately our server couldn't be bothered.
While we were "greeted" within a few minutes of sitting down, there was no greeting or welcome. She asked if we had been there before and then told us, "great, so you know the drill" and pushed us to order food within just a few minutes of sitting down, skipping over wine or cocktails . While I did manage to slow her down enough to order a glass of wine, she didn't seem to catch on.
She was barely able to finish her sentences each time she walked away from our table, she only smiled when we left. I tried to encourage her by chatting with her, smiling at her when she spoke, I asked her her name but it's not my job to make her feel comfortable.
The food was still great, but we didn't have a chance to really choose what we preferred because she was rushing us so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating birthdays with a group of 6 women from the office for
Lunch. We had the table in the alcove on the terrace. Our service was fantastic and everyone loved it.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

The food, wine and service couldn't possibly have been better. I went for an everyday meal and left feeling like it was a special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Brunch and it was lovely! The service was just ok due to our waiter going missing a few times for 20 minutes or more. I was out of water, had to flag him down to order, and I had to get another waiter to finalize our bill after he was no where to be seen for a very long time. The restaurant was not overly packed or else I'd give him a break. Otherwise, all other staff was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and we had a great time! They have good drinks! Highly recommend this place

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Love making my husband happy; this restaurant did!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was friendly and efficient. The appetizers and main plates were both creative and superb. Décor/ambience was excellent. Our server, Natalie, was a perfect mix of attentiveness but not disruptive to our conversation. We are planning to go again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Small plates allowed us to sample eight or nine different dishes, all of which were great. Squid with squid ink rice was a stand out dish, as was the asparagus with parmesan pudding. We didn't sit on the patio, which is rumored to be a little quieter, but the noise wasn't overbearing. Fine selection of desserts and after dinner drinks to round out the evening. Very good experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always SO good! Beautiful atmosphere and consistently delicious food & drink! Perfect for date night w/your boo or meeting friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful restaurant... Interesting dishes. Loved being able to share .. Tapas style ...Loved the wood oven. Excellent scallops, duck confit....trout...good wine choices by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The hostess was very accommodating and gracious when a second table became available that was more comfortable for our party of three. We enjoyed the service and the food in such a beautiful setting. I highly recommend reserving the patio, as it was a lovely experience!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I can't believe I've lived in LA for so long and did not realize that AOC is open for Sunday brunch. Maple fried chicken with a cornmeal waffle is the breakfast meal I never knew I needed. Stellar experience from start to finish, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Patchy service, food was ok but tiny, place is beautiful though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great place to share good food and wines! Love the share plates of great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I expected "great" but got "good" though service was very good. Waiter recommended at least four dishes (small plates) but three were more than enough so it was wasteful. Noisy so it was difficult to carry on a conversation once room filled up.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

As always, AOC had wonderful food, wine and service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed every single bite from appetizers to dessert! Highly recommended!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Went to try this new place. Staff is non-descript, non-involved. Won't mention their ages. Waited for service throughout. Sub-server came by and dropped the plates on our table then rushed away. Food was ordinary and when asked for leftover to take home, they threw it away. Food was okay, but taken all together, never will return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Our waiter was incredibly helpful and kind; however the manager in this establishment is a total nut job. She frantically goes around monitoring everyone while they are eating and yells at her employees in front of patrons!

What was most disturbing was her treatment towards a disabled person. We are all sat in horror with our jaws dropped to the ground. Truly disgusting.

The food has also gone downhill. Everything was old and stale. This used to be my favorite restaurant. The food was intolerable. Won't be returning and also will be warning everyone I know to stay away from this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful experience - food is carefully arranged and service is warm and flawless. Couldn't be happier!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This place was recommended by a friend and I'm glad that we were able to make a reservation and celebrated my son's and my birthday. Definitely would come back again and try the other stuff that's in the menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Fun, Notable Wine List, Organic, Happy Hour, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good food with amazing ambiance. Perfect to celebrate special occasions!!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Always delicious! Well worth a drive. The menu hasn't changed in years, and that's a good thing!

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Cozy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

What a disappointment! I had read about the wonderful farmers plate and was dying to try it. A couple of carrots and were they parsnips or a different color of carrot? My friend had a few cherry tomatoes. She shared hers with me as I didn't have a single cherry tomato! This is what one gets for $18.00? Yes there was toast and burrata but we are veggie eaters and we were expecting a nice selection. More than a few mouthfuls. A little variety. The wine was nice but at $16.00 a glass I was expecting at least 1/3 of a glass. We did love our little table by the open window though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I'd put this in the cheap and cheerful category, except it's not really cheap.
Dozens of waitstaff constantly streaming back and forth from the kitchen like waves breaking on the shore.
They handled two issues, noisy birthday party table of twenty and a fifty minute wait for first sign of food, very well.
Not a calm dining experience.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Good for out of towners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fabulous small plates selection. Very accommodating regarding food allergies, terrific service and delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I have always loved AOC but have felt that the menu never succeeded in the new location as it had in the old. Unfortunately, the quality of the menu has deteriated as has the food all of which makes me very sad. I hope they can reinvigorate the menu somehow and bring the restaurant up to the quality it had at the old Melrose location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Love the AOC! First off, the bar is beautiful, great lighting, very inviting. The patio feels like a private garden oasis, enclosed off from the surrounding streets. And finally the food is amazing. Highly recommend their signature dishes - fried chicken and bacon-wrapped dates - as well as the sweet potatos and brussel sprouts. Healthy, yet delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Always a fantastic meal -- the most recent night the service was amazing, with our primary server going above and beyond in many ways. We were also the obnoxious people who sat there for three hours (to be fair, we ordered a lot of food and drink, and tipped well, but still) and they never made us feel anything but hugely welcome. Love AOC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

It was great and is always delicious and beautiful.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, People Watching, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Fabulous, as always! The ambiance and creativity with the food make for a splendid evening.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Casual, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Hot Spot, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was a return visit to see if the food was really as good as I came away with the first time. Well, the Green Goddess cocktail and blueberry toast with lemon butter spread are exceptional. The cocktail was refreshing and had a subtle kick to it. The bread was toasted over an open fire which gave it a hint of a smokey taste, and the butter had lemon peal that added a zesty flavor. On my first visit, I enjoyed the hanger steak and eggs. Pretty basic, but the carrots that accompanied the meal were unique and delicious. On my second visit, I enjoyed the chicken and cornbread waffles, which were also flavorful. The chicken was spiced just right, and although I am not a big fan of waffles, these were pretty good. The only downside (just so you know I am an objective critic), was that on both occasions, the I had to send the overcooked eggs back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

No brainer date spot with ideal mix of aesthetics, energy and quality wine / drink / food. Bacon-wrapped dates melt in your mouth. Can't miss.

Tags: Good for Groups, Organic, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

First date, exceptional service, great food, and amazing atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I took a friend for lunch for her 90th birthday. The staff and our waiter (Nathan) were beyond kind and gracious - especially on such a special occasion. The food was super delicious - and that chocolate torte - OMG!!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 21, 2017

It was a very lovely dinner
However I found it pricey for what they offered

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Suzanne Goin's brilliant AOC was everything we had hoped for. Our server was exceptional and made us feel like we were the only party (4!) in the restaurant. All of his suggestions, after a discussion with us about our preferences, were spot on. Then came the food ~ it is beyond exceptional. Highly recommend!

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.