About AOC

A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 5:00 pm
Weekend Afternoon Menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday & Monday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: (310) 859-9859

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jun 22, 2017 - Oct 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jun 22, 2017 - Oct 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us for "Cocktail Hour" at the bar, where every night from 5-7pm we will be offering ridiculously well-priced cocktails, wines & beers. Snack on our wood oven focaccia, bacon-wrapped dates & cheeses too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 22, 2017 - Oct 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
Good for a Date (81)
Fit for Foodies (75)
See All
Special Occasion (73)
Romantic (65)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Great for Lunch (52)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Notable Wine List (47)
Cozy (46)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Great for Brunch (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Authentic (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Fun (32)
Tapas (31)
Hot Spot (31)
Business Meals (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Groups (27)
Casual (27)
Good Vegetarian Options (25)
Fireplace (22)
Seasonal (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Comfort Food (19)
People Watching (19)
Healthy (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Happy Hour (14)
Family Style (12)
Organic (11)
Wood Oven (9)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Private Room (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Great Beer (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Historic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
2137 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I came for celebratory dinner on Sunday night. The service was painfully slow and two dishes were not well prepared. It appeared that the kitchen was thrown off by demand for their LA Restaurant Week menu. Typically, AOC and the other Goin restaurants are wonderful and reliable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

A neighborhood gem! If only it were my neighborhood!!
We were visiting from our of town and enjoyed our 1st meal so much that we returned the next night!
Great Tapas portions, amazing wine list and creative cocktails! The outdoor patio is beautiful at night, but the hidden wine room is something not to be missed!
Please open one in MN!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The receptionist was not friendly in fact may be bias. We were there 15 minutes early. The receptionist refused to seat us despite there are many tables empty and available right there downstairs. She wanted us to wait until the reservation time of 6:00 pm. On top of that she let another couple came after us seated right away while we are still waiting. She took up at 6:03 to the upstairs dinning room and seated us at a table next to a wall at the blind spot while the whole room was empty with 2 tables next to the window . She then seated those window tables with people came much later.
When it come to DineLA menu, we order the main course "pork belly". The plate came with 2 pieces of pork belly. One piece was just the skin about length of you pinky, and the next piece the size of the middle finger (this size is okay except the piece consisted of 80% fat). What a rip-off for the $49 DineLA main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

The patio is charming although rather warm in late morning/early afternoon. The food is of high quality-creative flavors and well prepared. If you get the french toast, ask for the chocolate sauce on the side. It is a bit much. The service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We tried the DineLA menu and it was perfect. We ordered almost everything off the menu since there were two of us.

AOC plates are meant to be shared even on the Dine LA menu.

The fresh ingredients make a big difference and the wine pairing was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great! With a group of 6 people, we were able to taste a bit of everything off the menu. The BEST part of the dinner was the dessert. I had butterscotch pot de crème with fleur de sel & salted cashew cookies, which was TO DIE FOR! Highly recommend this item for dessert, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 11, 2017

A restaurant that charges health care fee from its customers should not be on business. Shame on AOC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My favorite outdoor patio dining experience in LA. Instantly transported to Europe for the evening. You must request the patio in advance. Only about half the restaurant's seating is there. There is no bad food on the menu. If it sounds good to you it will be. Service is top rate. We ate olives and dates, followed by a grilled artichoke all with a glass of prosecco. Followed with buttery, garlicky clams, indescribable sea bass, and hangar steak which was about the tastiest hangar steak I've ever had. All delicious with a glass of Santa Barbara rose, which nicely bridged the gap between fish and meat. Or you could order a third glass to go with the steak. I couldn't since I was driving. Finished with dessert and coffee. The staff didn't forget my wife's birthday and put a candle on dessert. Unforgettable evening, even though we've been several times before. Heaven on earth.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Love this place! Beautiful setting, incredible atmosphere, food on point. Service is fantastic! Will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Been here twice for brunch and was very happy both times.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a great experience at AOC. The quality of the food was excellent, the service was attentive and helpful, no rushing us. The ambienance was relaxed yet lively, friendly locale. Frankly the value for what you got was excellent, so we would recommend this charming place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I ordered the butter lettuce main course salad with shrimp, there were 4 shrimp on top of 4 leaves of butter lettuce maybe two walnuts and two very tiny thin slice of avocado, it was to say the least, tasteless.
I used to love AOC and Luques, unfortunately, they are just riding on their name now. The total lack of imagination lack of taste was utterly disappointing. If I am paying $26.00 for a main course salad it better have taste and a relative size to it. I will never recommend AOC to anyone or ever go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food for sharing. Ordered 8 dishes for 4 of us, each one of us got a few bites off. Food was delicious and creative, we loved every dish. The waiter was great! He offered suggestions, even a substitution, and every dish was a hit! Would recommend it for anyone who wants to sample a bunch of delicious dishes at one seating!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Small plates and all lovely- duck confit a bit salty though

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

People were nice. Service was decent. The 🌟 of this show was the food. The drinks played and nice supporting roll as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The place is beautiful, outside siting highly recommended, the food taste and combination is really authentic overall exceptctations. The staff is very servicial.
One of the best brunches I've had in West Hollywood. A simple dish like the grilled blueberries bread will guarantee a great culinary experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

One of my go to spots; but service was bad. Order for some cheeses never came ; staff didn't check or even acknowledge until we waived them down. C experience at best for that night

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Came here for a first date and it did not disappoint. Second date was discussed, think we might come right back. Our server (didn't get her name) made excellent recommendations and was such a pleasant person to speak with. Everything we ordered was incredible. The ambience was lively but did not overwhelm the coziness. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner on the patio and can't way to return - great meal and great experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We have been coming to AOC since it opened (visiting at both its old and "new" location), and are always delighted to find it remains one of the nicer dining experiences in Los Angeles. The range of food in small plates means there is always a way to have both old favorites and try out new dishes (although we've never tried something we didn't then add to the "old favorites" list). The patio is lovely, but this time we sat upstairs and enjoyed that as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Every dish we ordered was fantastic. But definitely the charcuterie and cheese board was one of the best we have ever had!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Love the outdoor patio, the creative menu and good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have been to A.O.C. many times. This time the restaurant had changed significantly.
The hostess was outright rude, the food portions had shrunk in half, and the food itself had too much sauce and same old same old.
Won't be back after so many wonderful times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I enjoyed everything about my meal at AOC. Ordered the market vegetables with chickpea purée and it was perfect in size and taste. The star of our meal was the chicken with Panzanella and green olives. What a delicious yet simple dish. The service was impeccable, couldn't have asked for a friendlier staff. Great food, service and atmosphere! Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had the most glorious Father's Day brunch here. We had a table in the garden where it was bright and airy. Our server, Sage, was absolutely wonderful and took great care of all of us. The food here is always fantastic but sitting in that garden in the middle of a beautiful sunny day makes you feel like you're in Europe.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I love small plates and choices and AOC fit this perfectly; very enjoyable evening

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Atmosphere, food and service were all superb. Creative menu, fresh ingredients, and wonderful cocktail options. AOC continues to be one of LA's top dining destinations.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is always a special small plate dining experience. The outdoor patio is charming, casual and comfortable. The service is pleasant, not overly attentive but it works. If you want the pace of your meal slowed down, just ask or linger longer on the food that is on your table. The wines by the glass list has much to offer, very affordable. We've had larger pours at other restaurants for the price though, seems things have changed here. The wines by the bottle are interesting organic and sustainable wines, mostly from small wineries and seem to be pricier than they use to be. Chicken liver crostini has been a favorite of ours, as are the stuffed bacon-wrapped dates although both were a tad disappointing this visit. The wood fired egg with gruyere cheese is a very large serving, thick bread, lots of frisee and perfectly cooked egg - tasty. The portion of cauliflower was large, oily spiced. The fried chicken is tasty, with dollop of sauce. Based on past visits, our cheese plate this time was definitely disappointing, lackluster. We have been dining with AOC for 10 years, it has been one of my very favorite dining experiences and for whatever reason, something seems to have changed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food & ambience were great!!!! Would definitely visit again...

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and service and A lovely covered patio made for a great brunch experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Very nice patio seating. Try the cheese and charcuterie plates. Also really liked the cauliflower.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The atmosphere was very cozy, excellent choices of wine, and nice scent of burning charcoal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I have highlighted to AOC that me and my party was there for a special birthday, I even mentioned this 3 times, twice prior and once at the dinner. However the staff did not do anything special for us (no cake with candle or anything), yet the table next to us who was also there apparently for a birthday, did get cake with candle and a special serenade by the waiter. I was ver disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great good, my only comment would be I eat a lot. This is small portion tapas style portions. I would prefer a big plate of one thing but the bites of this & that that we had was really good. Just need more of it

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very nice ambiance and well designed space. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I had bad service the first time I went here for dinner, but gave it another chance. We met friends there for brunch and it was great. Totally different experience because we had a great server.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Bartender was great, service was excellent and I enjoyed the view, food, drinks, and valet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Probably the best run restaurant in the city with food and service to match! Although one of the busiest and hottest restaurants, they still really care about each and every guest - quite unusual in this town. Thank you, AOC, for a truly enjoyable evening,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

AOC is one of Suzanne Goin's restaurants, a comfy and well appointed wine bar. We made a reservation for the lovely patio, but couldn't be accommodated when we arrived. We were seated in a semi-circular booth in the dining room instead, where it was EXTREMELY LOUD.

We seemed to be an afterthought for our server, who forgot to serve wine ordered by one of my guests, and who was a bit impatient when taking orders.
Nonetheless, the food was very good. You could see how imaginative it would have been some years ago. Now it's just solid Cali-French inflected farm to table, but not great. The quality of the ingrediants was high, and the wine list remarkable.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Amazing place - great food and beautiful environment. Awesome service too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.