About AOC

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

We've MOVED! Our new address is 8700 W. 3rd Street & George Burns Drive. A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Afternoon menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Daily 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday and Monday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: 310 859 9859x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

Restaurant Photos

AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
Spanish Fried Chicken
Desserts
Roast Vegetable Salad With Lentals
Torchio
Quinoa Summer Vegetable Salad
Roast Turkey Sandwich
foie gras terrine, sweet and sour prunes
foie gras terrine, sweet and sour prunes stack
Rosted Chilies, Pepper, and Olive Tapenade
English Peas, Sugar Snaps, Saffron Butter
roasted dates, parmesan and bacon
Bread & Tapenade
Arroz Negro with Squid and Saffron Aïoli
cabecero
Hanger Steak, Horseradish Creme Fraiche
Sweet Pea Pancakes & Dungeness Crab
Butterscotch Pot de creme w/ Salted Cashew Cookies & fleur del sel
Riesling
housemade cashew cookies
lomo ibérico, lomito, cabecero
Butterscotch Pot de Creme
caveman blue central point oregon
Duck Pot Au Feu
Foie Gras Terrine
Artichoke Ravioli
Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed With Cheese
Arctic Char
charcuterie
Roasted Dates
Bread
Garnacha
Chardonnay
Meyer Lemon French Toast
Chocolate Tarte
Hanger Steak
Two Eggs, Bacon, Fried Potatoes, Toast
Colheita
Charcuterie plate
Grilled Baramundi
Farmer's Plate
Sunny Side Up On Proscuitto And Salad
Duck Confit Hash w/ Poached Eggs
Roast Turkey, Mozzarella, Green Harissa, Avocado Focaccia Sandwich
Spanish Fried Chicken and Cornmeal Waffle
Torta La Serena
Sweet Potato & Brandade Fritters
Chicken Liver Crostini
Pork belly, Peaches, Ricotta Salata Focaccia Sandwich
Clams with Sherry and Garlic Toast
Steamed Clams
Peach Salad
Creamy Tomato Soup
Chicken Saltimbocca, Capers Brown Butter, Chicories
Cheese Accompaniments
Market Fish, Artichoke, Cardoons, Meyer Lemon
Cow/Goat Cheese From Seascape Paso Robles California
Grilled Hanger Steak
Pork Chop
Duck Confit Hash And Poached Eggs
Speck Salad
Chicken Tajine With Roasted Fennel, Chickpeas, Yogurt And Harissa
brioche with prosciutto, gruyere and egg

Promotions

NEW SEASONAL COCKTAILS FOR SPRING

Special valid Apr 24, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

NEW SEASONAL COCKTAILS FOR SPRING

Special valid Apr 24, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
GLASGOW KISS-famous grouse scotch,red lillet,cherry heering;CAPTAIN SHADDOCK-st. george rum agricole,grapefruit,chartreuse;CARDOON-rittenhouse rye,cynar,lost abbey blond;BIENVILLE-calvados,angostura,peychaud;THE INITIAL-tequila anejo w/calisaya,lime. Excludes Tax and Tip. Market fresh cocktails crafted by Christiaan Rollich. $14/each. Special valid Apr 24, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.
Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us for "Cocktail Hour" at the bar, where every night from 5-7pm we will be offering ridiculously well-priced cocktails, wines & beers. Snack on our wood oven focaccia, bacon-wrapped dates & cheeses too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Los Angeles
Californian
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly / Fairfax / La Brea / Third St. ›

fit for foodies (188)
great for outdoor dining (148)
special occasion (126)
See All
romantic (118)
notable wine list (97)
neighborhood gem (95)
good for groups (91)
hot spot (87)
great for brunch (83)
great for lunch (69)
vibrant bar scene (39)
late-night find (15)
kid-friendly (9)
scenic view (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1653 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Waiters was a little pushy when we were ...

Dined 5 days ago

Waiters was a little pushy when we were ordering. We needed time to review the menu as it is very unique. I ordered a small salad and a large was brought....I mentioned it immediately but waiter did not respond to making it right. I thus paid for a portion I could not eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I've been to this restaurant many times ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I've been to this restaurant many times and found the food to always be fantastic. The chicken was fantastic as always.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! From the beginning we wanted to walk out. The hostess was not accommodating, nor was the server. we were really excited to try the food so we sucked it up and stayed. The food was good, however some of the fresh plates they gave us smelled like fish or dirty water and at that point we couldn't bare to stay there any longer. we asked for the check and left. it if unfortunate this happened, and I hope they resolve their flaws.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose AOC for a Father's Day dinner ba ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I chose AOC for a Father's Day dinner based on the reviews on Open Table and Yelp. They were absolutely right...the outdoor patio is magnificent, magical and memorable. The food was fantastic. The 5 of us shared several small plates and a platter and were able to taste many delicious items including the brussel sprouts, faro with black rice, short ribs, southern fried chicken and bacon wrapped dates. Additionally, the lemon dessert was divine. And to top it off, the entire staff at the restaurant was professional, accommodating and friendly. We can't wait to return for another wonderful dinner or lunch. ***if you're making a reservation on Open Table, be sure to request an outdoor table in the "notes" section. Definitely worth it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wide variety for brunch menu items. Wel ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Wide variety for brunch menu items. Well-prepared plates, but had noticed that other tables who seated after us were served before ours. Servers are courteous, but at times took awhile before they returned back to the table after making a request, e.g. water re-fill, or more catsup. But overall a good eating experience under the outdoor canopy.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and drink you love, prepared in a w ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and drink you love, prepared in a way you've never experienced.

food4
ambience5
service5

The spanish fried chicken was delicious! ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The spanish fried chicken was delicious! And I recommend the Meyer lemon pudding cake for dessert! It was sinfully good-served in a piping hot skillet topped with vanilla ice cream.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was the best any of us had h ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was the best any of us had had in a long time. The food was great and fun to share (small plates abound). There is no other patio quite like this one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was not up to par. On a Monday n ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was not up to par. On a Monday night the kitchen was backed up. Our appetizer of clams took over an hour. I noticed our server kept pushing items on the menu that were easier to make as she said the oven was backed up. I'm sorry but I did not come to A.O.C just to have the cheese platter and sautéed cauliflower. Maybe they were short staffed ? On the bright side our wine bottles were amazing !!! Atleast we drank well. Once the roast chicken did come out it was so dry!! Hope they read their reviews and try to fix certain things.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was definitely an enjoyable experie ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This was definitely an enjoyable experience. A restauranteur from Portland recommended A.O.C. and she was right on target. A great bar without being pretentious. The food was delicious and the ideal blend of flavors to share with friends. The staff hustles all the time. And, somehow I heard much of the conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This is a go to for me! In my neighborho ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This is a go to for me! In my neighborhood, great everything! Our server was having a super tough night so that was the only bummer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food wasn't réaly good!!!! And it wa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food wasn't réaly good!!!! And it was too noisy.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a Saturday brunch at 2 pm. Bacon ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a Saturday brunch at 2 pm. Bacon wrapped date was burnt. Fried chicken was good, but a bit greasy. Polenta with egg was good, but asparagus was very tough because they didn't trim the tough bottom part. Their hamburger and fried chicken were the best part of the meal.

food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food & service but noise level overwhelming

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our server was great! food was tasty but too many vegetables. Seems like every dish had veggies. Also they recommended we do 7 dishes but 7 dishes was too overwhelming and I wish I would've only had 2 total making it 4 per per couple. I would recommend this restaurant to a foodie friend but I will not be coming back. I especially did not like the 4% healthcare tax (fine print on the dessert menu)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service4

My husband was at Cedars for surgery and ...

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

My husband was at Cedars for surgery and I went to lunch with my daughter and nephew. We sat outside and it was lovely. My daughter and I shared a hamburger and a salad. The burger was fine, but the salad was over dressed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

The whole experience was just fantastic. From the host, to the waitstaff, to the ambience and of course the food. I have to mention that our server was FABULOUS, but I forgot to get her name. She was very knowledgeable about the menu items and her suggestions were spot on!!! Probably added immensely to how well each dish complemented the next and the next!! This is my third time at the restaurant and I am planning to be back next weekend AGAIN!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice relaxed restaurant. The garden ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Very nice relaxed restaurant. The garden is great for a table of friends or a romantic evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love

Dined on June 1, 2016

Its such a beautiful atmosphere and the food is really good too - good veggie options. A tad pricey, but overall good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Surprising

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

I don't usually write reviews but I thought that I should this time. I have been to AOC a number of times both at the old location and new and have always had great experience until last Monday. It could be that the kitchen had an off day or that brunch there is an afterthought, but the bread served, even as toasted ,seemed stale, the bacon wrapped dates, a staple at AOC for years, were I swear, left over from last week and seemed to have been the victim of reheating once too often and the Duck Hash as way short on duck and not really very good. I would have rated it worse but my wife enjoyed her Brioche and the Staff was attentive and friendly as usual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Beautiful restaurant & outdoor patio, wonderful ambiance and amazing food. Our waiter was particularly friendly and helpful. Our last minute visit to LA and last minute reservations resulted in a very enjoyable and delicious Sunday brunch! The vanilla bean french toast was a hit as well as the ricotta toast. And the mimosas, of course.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for girls night to celebrate birthday!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was amazing - small plates perfect for sharing so we got to try a little of everything. Every single thing was absolutely delicious. Definitely try one of the focaccias (we had the one with burrata - ridiculous!) The drinks were strong and delicious, and we enjoyed everything we had. The ambiance and service were fabulous - try to sit in the outdoor courtyard (lots of heaters!), it's the best spot in the house.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

When in doubt, go to AOC. Best food, best service and everything is delicious. Small plates win the day, if it is in a board, plate or mini Skillet, it is all perfect.

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Pretty restaurant but not pleasant experience.

Dined on May 28, 2016

We booked our reservation long in advance for a small group (6) for a very special occasion. I received a phone call confirming the reservation the day prior. We specifically requested the patio, and the woman who called to confirm said she absolutely had that set aside for us. When we arrived, that was not the case. The woman who was working the hostess desk said it would be a long wait and we could sit inside. I explained to her the situation and phone call the day prior, and she very rudely basically said nothing she could do and we could either wait, or take inside. Then a man came over and explained the same thing again, but in an even more rude tone. I told him about the conversation the day before and he interrupted me and in a suspicious tone asked her name. I did not know, nor did I think I needed that information. He began to tell me that was impossible because they don't do that or guarantee. I explained that she did confirm and was told again how wrong I was. We were told to take a table inside, and would then have to move. While we ended up eventually outside, the rudeness of both of those employees will absolutely guarantee that we never go back, or recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food2
ambience4
service4

Came to try the French toast they are fa ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Came to try the French toast they are famous for. It was served burnt to me the first round and had to be redone. The second French toast served was rather disappointing in taste and texture. Found only the bacon and dates to be tasty for the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A Winner

Dined on May 23, 2016

Been here numerous times. Always excellent. Great service, lovely staff. One of my favs on a short list!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved our food and our experience. Such ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved our food and our experience. Such a great place!!

food4
ambience4
service2

The hostess was lovely and my initial im ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The hostess was lovely and my initial impressions were great. I hadn't been to AOC since it had moved and it always been one of my favorites. The food was very mixed - fried chicken was fantastic and the farro and black rice was delish. But the cavolo Nero was over salted and oily and the whole grilled fish was over-cooked and the platter just a mess. Our waiter was distracted and borderline rude - he was condescending when we asked for an overview of the menu. we had to ask twice for our plates to be cleared and changed. It was a very average experience - I expected more from a Suzanne Goin restaurant and was disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was delicious. Small plates to ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was delicious. Small plates to share with everyone in our party. Our waiter never came back to see if our food was as expected. We ate our salad and appetizers but waited almost 30 minutes for the short ribs and fingerling potatoes. When we tracked down our waiter we were told the short ribs take 20 minutes to prepare. We said it had been more than 45 minutes since they were ordered. I would recommend a.o.c. for the food, but the service needs work. Our waiter should have been more attentive. It seemed like he forgot about our order.

food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a good dining experience. I don' ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Overall a good dining experience. I don't understand why they insist on you sharing multiple dishes. If a diner wants an appetizer and a main course, let him or her order in such fashion.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, too noisy.

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service is superb, food an interesting variety of small plates; lamb merguez was especially good. Beautiful surroundings, but if you want to be able to converse, insist on a seat indoors. The patio area gets really noisy, especially after they turn on the thumping music around 8 p.m.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Disappointed

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We went in with high expectations but were pretty disappointed given all of our friend's recommendations. We ordered fried chicken and waffles, and waited almost 45 minutes for it to show up. When we got it, it was cold, so it's like it was sitting out there on the kitchen counter for a long time. We paid almost $80 for this meal; I'd expect the fried chicken to be hot and fresh. It wasn't even warm, it was COLD! The service was horrendous as well. The servers were friendly and everything, but it was so hard to get their attention as they were so busy. Honestly, if you're going to be that busy, then hire more employees. I waited 1 hour, just to get my water glass refilled. I might give it another shot, but seriously, with so many different restaurants out there to choose from, first impressions really do last.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Eats

Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful patio setting; very relaxing. The food was delicious, the service superb. I had a salad with added chicken. The greens were crisp and the dressing flavorful. The blueberry bread was fabulous! The blood orange Bellini was great, and a great alternative to a mimosa. Very accommodating for babies.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service3

I've been to AOC several times and alway ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

I've been to AOC several times and always had great food. Last night there was what looked to be like a private event in the outside dining area and coincidentally the food we received wasn't up to par. The duck was very dry, the Italian kale dish (I think it's called nelo on the menu) had no flavor, the Spanish fried chicken was extremely crunchy as if left too long in the fryer and I can't even put my finger on what was wrong with the artichoke dish. However, the short rib was extremely tender and delicious. I think the event threw off the kitchen and the staff last night. I will definitely be back and hope there is nothing going on outside.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A classic

Dined on April 30, 2016

AOC is what propelled LA's food scene to what it has become.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Customer Service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Our waiter and staff were very friendly and we didn't need to ask for things. They thought about it before we did. It was a birthday celebration but I did not specify who had the birthday. Before we did anything a lovely dessert with a candle was placed in front of my friend....and yes, he was celebrating his birthday! How did they know??? They have an amazing staff!!! We had a lovely time with high quality drinks and exquisite epicurean experience! Thank you!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and beautiful garden! Bacon w ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Great food and beautiful garden! Bacon wrapped dates were amazing as was the asparagus.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Runs about $100/person for a normal dinn ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Runs about $100/person for a normal dinner--food was very good--especially liked the salmon and the focaccia. Terrific dessert--1 shared by 5 people. They were very nice and accommodating when we had to add a person to the party at the last minute. Waiter was very sweet.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyable evening!

Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent food and very friendly, attentive service!

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The overall experience was great. Servic ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

The overall experience was great. Service, ambiance, etc. The food had some wonderful high notes, but also some low ones too. Bar tender was great, also great drinks. Beautiful place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Tasty and small plates but packed with e ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Tasty and small plates but packed with enough flavor one doesn't need a lot of food. Service and hosts were stellar. Packed and lively even on a Monday but classy casual.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.