About AOC

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

We've MOVED! Our new address is 8700 W. 3rd Street & George Burns Drive. A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Afternoon menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Daily 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday and Monday 5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: 310 859 9859x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

Restaurant Photos

AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
AOC
Spanish Fried Chicken
Desserts
Roast Vegetable Salad With Lentals
Torchio
foie gras terrine, sweet and sour prunes
foie gras terrine, sweet and sour prunes stack
Rosted Chilies, Pepper, and Olive Tapenade
English Peas, Sugar Snaps, Saffron Butter
roasted dates, parmesan and bacon
Bread & Tapenade
Arroz Negro with Squid and Saffron Aïoli
cabecero
Hanger Steak, Horseradish Creme Fraiche
Sweet Pea Pancakes & Dungeness Crab
Butterscotch Pot de creme w/ Salted Cashew Cookies & fleur del sel
Riesling
housemade cashew cookies
lomo ibérico, lomito, cabecero
Butterscotch Pot de Creme
caveman blue central point oregon
Duck Pot Au Feu
Foie Gras Terrine
Artichoke Ravioli
Bacon Wrapped Dates Stuffed With Cheese
Arctic Char
charcuterie
Roasted Dates
Bread
Garnacha
Chardonnay
Meyer Lemon French Toast
Chocolate Tarte
Hanger Steak
Two Eggs, Bacon, Fried Potatoes, Toast
Colheita
Charcuterie plate
Grilled Baramundi
Farmer's Plate
Sunny Side Up On Proscuitto And Salad
Duck Confit Hash w/ Poached Eggs
Roast Turkey, Mozzarella, Green Harissa, Avocado Focaccia Sandwich
Spanish Fried Chicken and Cornmeal Waffle
Torta La Serena
Sweet Potato & Brandade Fritters
Chicken Liver Crostini
Pork belly, Peaches, Ricotta Salata Focaccia Sandwich
Clams with Sherry and Garlic Toast
Quinoa Summer Vegetable Salad
Roast Turkey Sandwich
Steamed Clams
Peach Salad
Creamy Tomato Soup
Chicken Saltimbocca, Capers Brown Butter, Chicories
Cheese Accompaniments
Market Fish, Artichoke, Cardoons, Meyer Lemon
Cow/Goat Cheese From Seascape Paso Robles California
Grilled Hanger Steak
Pork Chop
Duck Confit Hash And Poached Eggs
Speck Salad
Chicken Tajine With Roasted Fennel, Chickpeas, Yogurt And Harissa
brioche with prosciutto, gruyere and egg

Promotions

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us for "Cocktail Hour" at the bar, where every night from 5-7pm we will be offering ridiculously well-priced cocktails, wines & beers. Snack on our wood oven focaccia, bacon-wrapped dates & cheeses too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Apr 30, 2016 - Aug 30, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Los Angeles
Californian
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Most Booked
West Hollywood / Beverly Hills / Mid-Wilshire
Best Restaurants in Beverly / Fairfax / La Brea / Third St. ›

fit for foodies (194)
great for outdoor dining (168)
special occasion (130)
See All
romantic (119)
neighborhood gem (106)
notable wine list (99)
good for groups (96)
great for brunch (86)
hot spot (83)
great for lunch (67)
vibrant bar scene (35)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (10)
scenic view (10)
Sort By:
Newest
1686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious! Our server was delig ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined a day ago

Food was delicious! Our server was delightful, but overly busy creating very long delays between sitting and ordering drinks, food, dessert, etc. - and we enjoy long leisurely meals, generally. This was a little too leisurely. Air conditioning was also blasting which made the overall experience less than comfortable. Underwhelmed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Nice lunch (my birthday) with a friend. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Nice lunch (my birthday) with a friend.

Best part: the diplomacy + professionalism of "Jessica" who manages

(or should be the manager) of the front of the house. Both on the phone

and in-person she was THE BEST.

If I had a restaurant (or any service-related business) I'd hire her first!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for lunch and tried their Dine LA m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for lunch and tried their Dine LA menu. We left stuffed, I guess we a relight eaters. Cheese plate was good, fried chicken was delicious , roasted veggies with burrata and toast was yummy and the turkey sandwich was delicious. Glass of Rose compliments all the dishes. And outside or their patio area was perfect for the SoCal weather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Fabulous assortment of small plates! All ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous assortment of small plates! All winners! Fresh, flavorful, unique combinations!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't know what happened. When I'd bee ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

I don't know what happened. When I'd been before, it was so lovely. This time, the martinis tasted like they added bitters to them (I asked for no vermouth). The food was small in portion and ordinary. I'd had the farmer's board before and it was delightful and delicious and ample, and this time, it was disappointing. One piece of toast for all those veggies and spread and cheese? For the price, I feel like I have had many better meals in LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Arrogant "welcome", table was 25 minutes ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 7 days ago

Arrogant "welcome", table was 25 minutes late, we were sent to wait in the bar and then told to "clear the service path"... Had to insist to be seated in the lower floor - meaning the main restaurant. The food was lower than average. The half chicken took 1 hour to arrive and it was terribly dry. Will not go back.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I would not recommend this restaurant. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

I would not recommend this restaurant.

The food was good, but it was dropped at our table by the bus boy and not by our waiter, there was no explanation as to which dish was being served, just quickly dropped at the side of the table , very poor table side service..

We had to wait 45 minutes for one of our courses . We asked to speak to a Manager?

no one came for 40 min.. We ended up leaving .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had a wonderful Brunch & we both love ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a wonderful Brunch & we both loved the Bacon Wrapped Dates ! We will be back soon thanks !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, the Best food in town!! Servi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

As always, the Best food in town!! Service was Spectacular, never disappoints.!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go-to place, AOC never disappoints. I ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My go-to place, AOC never disappoints. It's comfortable, welcoming and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Green tea drink with cucumber and mint w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Green tea drink with cucumber and mint was excellent. Fried chicken, albacore salad and farmers plate were average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I have been here couple years ago and I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I have been here couple years ago and I really liked this place so I wanted take my friends out to AOC on saturday evening however, our server ruined our dinner he was very rude and even though he made a mistake he didn't apologize.

I had to ask to change our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

One of the best dining patios in LA, but ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of the best dining patios in LA, but please shut off the music. No one's listening, which is an insult to the music, which is in turn a distraction from the conversation, which should be ambiance enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

AOC is a really great place - the food a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

AOC is a really great place - the food and wine list is wonderful - the patio is reminiscent of being in Tuscany in early fall - could eat here weekly!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience on all counts. As ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent experience on all counts. As it was a birthday, we felt they could have thrown in dessert for free. Otherwise it was terrific

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic restaurant, one of my favorite ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fantastic restaurant, one of my favorites in Los Angeles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

love A.O.C. - one of my most favorite re ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

love A.O.C. - one of my most favorite restaurants in Los Angeles!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service! The flavors of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing food and service! The flavors of the tapas expoled in your mouth! The dishes were the perfect size to share and the wine list was amazing! Large selection and pricing for all budgets

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are some dishes I like better than ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

There are some dishes I like better than others, but I've NEVER had a bad meal at AOC. Also, they were able to accommodate an out-of-town vegan in our party effortlessly, and it's now her favorite spot in LA! Two thumbs way up for AOC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service, attention to detail and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing service, attention to detail and an extremely professional hostess Jessica. She and the staff made it an incredible experience. It was me my wife's 12th anniversary and everyone made us feel special. Cheers!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vegetables were cooked perfectly and ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The vegetables were cooked perfectly and my egg with polenta was very tasty.

I wish we had known to order bread. We saw other tables with it and it looked yummy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

You just know that it's going to be good ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

You just know that it's going to be good as it's part of the Lucques' group. Very high quality and ambience and service. Well worth going.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Cal Med Classic Slightly pricey A ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lovely Cal Med Classic

Slightly pricey

Annoying extra health care charge on check

Let the owner provide benefits to her employees not pass it on to the clients Or do it discreetly like every other part of profit margins

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, neighbourhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing menu and lunch time. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very disappointing menu and lunch time. Food just okay and overpriced. Waiter a bit too pushy. Was much better years ago when it first opened in it's original location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The service was mediocre and the food wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was mediocre and the food was very expensive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The place is nice. Food was quite delic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The place is nice. Food was quite delicious. Except for the hostess that mixed up my reservation and blame me for it. Rude hostess!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We've been to AOC over a number of years ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We've been to AOC over a number of years: at their original location and their new one. The food and wine list are spectacular and the service always excellent.

Since they specialize in small plates to share, we always just order a whole bunch of different things --- and in past visits the pacing was spot-on --- i.e., bring out the various orders one at a time --- as we finish up the previous one.

This time, however, they really rushed things out --- nevertheless, the food was still hot and excellent --- but the table was just a bit too cluttered at times. Still --- an excellent experience overall --- and still a favorite of ours when we visit LA.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The ambiance was great. I always loved t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The ambiance was great. I always loved this location. I have dined at AOC on numerous occasions and the dinners were always superb. This is the first time I've had brunch there, and it was disappointing. The ingredients did not seem to mix well, the flavors were off and the meal was not up to the standards of the restaurant's dinner menu.

I had the duck confit hash and a side of blueberry toast. The duck was decent, but most of the rest of the hash consisted of large chunks of potato. The blueberry toast tasted more like tart lemon than sweet blueberry.

My friend has the ricotta toast. The bread was stiff and hard to cut and was accompanied by soggy, uncooked onions.

We'll probably go back for dinner, but I doubt we'll be repeat customers for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

One of my favorite LA meal experiences. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

One of my favorite LA meal experiences. The outdoor patio is beautiful and the service was awesome. Good speaks for itself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time in LA and we chose ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was our first time in LA and we chose to come to AOC from reviews online and we're delighted about our decision. What a great spot with absolutely amazing service and food. We will definitely be recommending this to anyone else who is travelling by.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely visit again on our next ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Will definitely visit again on our next trip to LA. Food and Ambiance were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiters was a little pushy when we were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Waiters was a little pushy when we were ordering. We needed time to review the menu as it is very unique. I ordered a small salad and a large was brought....I mentioned it immediately but waiter did not respond to making it right. I thus paid for a portion I could not eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I've been to this restaurant many times ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I've been to this restaurant many times and found the food to always be fantastic.

The chicken was fantastic as always.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

From the beginning we wanted to walk out. The hostess was not accommodating, nor was the server. we were really excited to try the food so we sucked it up and stayed. The food was good, however some of the fresh plates they gave us smelled like fish or dirty water and at that point we couldn't bare to stay there any longer. we asked for the check and left.

it if unfortunate this happened, and I hope they resolve their flaws.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

I chose AOC for a Father's Day dinner ba ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I chose AOC for a Father's Day dinner based on the reviews on Open Table and Yelp. They were absolutely right...the outdoor patio is magnificent, magical and memorable. The food was fantastic. The 5 of us shared several small plates and a platter and were able to taste many delicious items including the brussel sprouts, faro with black rice, short ribs, southern fried chicken and bacon wrapped dates. Additionally, the lemon dessert was divine. And to top it off, the entire staff at the restaurant was professional, accommodating and friendly. We can't wait to return for another wonderful dinner or lunch.

***if you're making a reservation on Open Table, be sure to request an outdoor table in the "notes" section. Definitely worth it!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wide variety for brunch menu items. Wel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Wide variety for brunch menu items. Well-prepared plates, but had noticed that other tables who seated after us were served before ours. Servers are courteous, but at times took awhile before they returned back to the table after making a request, e.g. water re-fill, or more catsup. But overall a good eating experience under the outdoor canopy.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and drink you love, prepared in a w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food and drink you love, prepared in a way you've never experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The spanish fried chicken was delicious! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The spanish fried chicken was delicious! And I recommend the Meyer lemon pudding cake for dessert! It was sinfully good-served in a piping hot skillet topped with vanilla ice cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The service was the best any of us had h ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The service was the best any of us had had in a long time. The food was great and fun to share (small plates abound). There is no other patio quite like this one.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was not up to par. On a Monday n ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service was not up to par. On a Monday night the kitchen was backed up. Our appetizer of clams took over an hour. I noticed our server kept pushing items on the menu that were easier to make as she said the oven was backed up. I'm sorry but I did not come to A.O.C just to have the cheese platter and sautéed cauliflower. Maybe they were short staffed ? On the bright side our wine bottles were amazing !!! Atleast we drank well. Once the roast chicken did come out it was so dry!! Hope they read their reviews and try to fix certain things.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.