About AOC

A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 5:00 pm
Weekend Afternoon Menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday & Monday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: (310) 859-9859

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jun 22, 2017 - Oct 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jun 22, 2017 - Oct 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us for "Cocktail Hour" at the bar, where every night from 5-7pm we will be offering ridiculously well-priced cocktails, wines & beers. Snack on our wood oven focaccia, bacon-wrapped dates & cheeses too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 22, 2017 - Oct 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (82)
Great for Outdoor Dining (82)
Fit for Foodies (71)
See All
Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (57)
Creative Cuisine (52)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Tapas (46)
Great for Brunch (44)
Notable Wine List (44)
Great for Lunch (43)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Cozy (38)
Casual (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Business Meals (32)
Worth the Drive (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Hot Spot (28)
Authentic (27)
Fun (27)
Local Ingredients (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Bar Seating (25)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Seasonal (21)
Comfort Food (20)
People Watching (20)
Tasting Menu (19)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Happy Hour (13)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Organic (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great Beer (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vegan (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

Gave one star because they are charging health care on your bill. This is a shame and should be prohibited. People should stop going there until they stop charging health care from the customers. SHAME ON AOC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined a day ago

Beautiful place, lovely food, but be warned: dinner prices are vastly higher than Opentable's "$30 and under" ranking. We ordered a few modest share plates and one of the cheapest bottles of wine on the menu (most of which were between $150-400), and ended up spending over $200 for three people. Granted, everything was truly delicious. But definitely sticker shock vs what OpenTable led us to believe when booking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful atmosphere! Pricey, great food, invented! Special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great cocktails, but rather pushy waiter that wants to make as much revenue by trying to make you order more dishes than you can or want to eat.

The cauliflower that we ordered was charred for about 40%, on which the hostess replied "that's normal, it goes with the campfire feeling and is necessary for the flavor". B.... please, your cook burnt the food, you should have take if off the check instead.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful ambiance but food was not worth the exorbitant prices for what you get-- VERY small plates and OK food but honestly over salted and not anything truly amazing. Wine list was impressive though, and good service too.

Tags: Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We booked a 8:15 dinner for a 60th Birthday celebration and requested a table by the fireplace to celebrate the occasion.

1) They sat us on the patio ( while lovely) our birthday boy was cold and we asked if we could have a table inside instead.
2) we waited about 10mins for someone to return and we were told they cant seat us inside ( nor did they offer us waiting a little to get a table inside ) note-there were a few tables inside available when we walked in that could seat 4.
3) They offered turning on the heat lamp instead which we said yes too. It took another 15mins for a maintenance guy to return to inform us that heat lamp (closest to our table was broke, but he can turn on the heat lamp next to it, which we said yes too.) He never returned to turn it on and we asked our waitress two times during the night to have it turned on and we were told yes and it was never turned on.
4) we order the pork tenderloin but we received the pork belly instead and had to wait a little longer for our last course.
5)Our food started to come before the bottle of wine we ordered came ( all was ordered at the same time)
6) Somm was lovely.
7) Food was good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Service was too aggressive, pressuring patrons to order more food and drink than desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Perfect place for date night or any occasion. Can't wait to dine here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Outstanding food. Still extremely popular. Very consistent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. The foodnjust wasn't good. Feel bad writing this but not one dish we ordered was good. Mediocre at best. Sad face.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Terrific dinner once again at AOC!!! We were seated outside on their patio garden area and it was absolutely lovely. Definitely recommend this outside area! We enjoyed the handcrafted cocktails AND some wine. We shared several small plates and loved it all. Perfect little evening!

Tags: Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

AOC was a great place to celebrate a birthday. Food and service were great. Shared plates are fun for a group. We had a wonderful time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

After having heard about this place for so long, it was really just nothing more than fine. Nothing stood out much, especially in this town saturated with great places to eat. I was also shocked by the small size of the $56 fish plate. Pretty ridiculous. In any other restaurant it would have been $26.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Sorry I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anybody which one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great and unique menu in a lovely patio setting. Everything we ordered was A+ and having dined here many times I can vouch for the consistency of the kitchen.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Great service! Great food! My girlfriend took me to AOC for my birthday. The food was outstanding, the service was great. Our waiter was very friendly and was really good about keeping my food allergies in mind when we placed our orders. We would absolutely go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Tapas, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Charming ambiance, very good food, nice wine list, excellent service. We will definitely be coming back for the charm, service, and food. Prices were moderate, about what you would expect from a hip LA spot with some elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Absolutely lovely. Very romantic and charming atmosphere. A stellar menu at a reasonable price. Definitey returning.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Went here for brunch and found it quite underwhelming. The AOC brioche was way too salty and just not that good. I would stick to dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was great service lacked professionalism.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was lovely but good was poorly executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food. My first but will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2017

I have been many times to AOC, and find it always a pleasureable experience.

Our wait person yesterday was truly extraordinary...knowing just when to check in to see about additional drinks or food, and with an excellent sense of humor!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Awesome as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

A favorite in our rotation. Consistent quality and service -- if you can score a patio table, all the better. I honestly have nothing bad to say about this perennial favorite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great spot for brunch with an amazing terrace and menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful service and pretty patio. We shared the small plates and some were really small! The fried chicken and cauliflower were terrific. The lemon papardelle at $20 was a joke as was the clam small plate. The peach cobbler dessert was large enough for 4 to share if you just want a taste but it was so good you'd want your own!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Explore Vegan, and Gluten Free options along waiter took a long time on our second glass of champagne which arrived with our check.

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

They have a very unique menu an the flavors came together so well/ I absolutely loved the artichoke.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food was okay 4-5/10. Definitely small plates. Price point was average for location.

Ordered:
1. Bacon wrapped dates - good.
2. Corn pudding - okay, a bit oily and texture felt a bit under done.
3. Spicy Fried Chicken - tasty but if you prefer breast meat avoid. Chicken was thigh meat.
4. Papperdella with Squash Blossoms - good, fresh papperdella but portion very small.
5. Cauliflower - large portion, almost too much. Greasy and overly spiced, delicate flavor of vegetable was completely lost.

Plus - wine list was great and selection of draft was good.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Spectacular, can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Lovely restaurant, we sat in the courtyard filled with locals - friendly, attentive service and delicious food. A great way to spend a Sunday evening

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great ambience. Great food. Consistently great times every time. Thanks AOC!
Sunday Brunch in the courtyard is amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2017

AOC moved to its current location several years ago but this was the first time my wife and I ate there. The indoor restaurant and patio are quite nice and decorations are low keyed and inviting. The noise level near the bar was quite loud but we asked for a table in the back. This is a smalllates/sharing restaurant and the waiter was helpful with the ordering. Each plate was very good. The bacon wrapped dates were outstanding. The price was reasonable for a restaurant of this class and we will be happy to return

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Love this plzcr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were hosting a little brunch for a niece, her husband, and three sons. Everyone in our party LOVED AOC, citing the imaginative (and beautifully executed) menu, the superior service, the gorgeous ambience. A winner in every possible way.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Upscale but casual restaurant with excellent food. We sat in the covered outside space that was open enough to enjoy the sunshine but covered enough to eliminate the street noise. A wonderful experience for sight and taste.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Came here for an anniversary brunch. Food was mediocre. The duck was watery and the crab was tasteless. We had high hopes but were let down by the food. Maybe we ordered the wrong dishes, but we are not encouraged to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

This place is beautiful. Its warm, like a mild woodburning flame and glows with a similar radiance

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Enjoyed such a beautiful atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.