About AOC

A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 5:00 pm
Weekend Afternoon Menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday & Monday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: (310) 859-9859

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - May 13, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Our Specialty Cocktails by Christiaan Rollich

Special valid Jan 14, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Every Night Cocktail Hour at A.O.C.

Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - May 13, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join us for "Cocktail Hour" at the bar, where every night from 5-7pm we will be offering ridiculously well-priced cocktails, wines & beers. Snack on our wood oven focaccia, bacon-wrapped dates & cheeses too!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 13, 2017 - May 13, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for brunch or dinner on Easter. We're serving our a la carte menu.

Our Specialty Cocktails by Christiaan Rollich

Special valid Jan 14, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Try the Tulip; The Refinery; Fire & Smoke; Wild Coast; and The Dillinger!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Market fresh cocktails crafted by Christiaan Rollich. $14/each. Special valid Jan 14, 2017 - May 14, 2017 all week from 11:30 AM - 11:00 PM.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (72)
Good for a Date (69)
Romantic (54)
See All
Creative Cuisine (53)
Great for Outdoor Dining (51)
Special Occasion (50)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fireplace (40)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Great for Lunch (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Notable Wine List (34)
Cozy (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Tapas (31)
Hot Spot (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Casual (27)
Fun (27)
Business Meals (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Comfort Food (15)
People Watching (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Family Style (14)
Healthy (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Seasonal (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Authentic (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Organic (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (5)
Private Room (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (2)
Live Sports (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2002 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a very lovely dinner
However I found it pricey for what they offered

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 3 days ago

Very nice experience. Server was very knowledgeable and friendly. We will be back! Great find!!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Historic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

AOC never disappoints even if you are there for a salad and a glass of wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I always appreciate the ambience at AOC. The waitstaff are friendly and helpful. I had the turkey focaccia sandwich with arugula salad. Very fresh and delicious. My guests had a burger and a small pizza and they both loved their dishes. We had the butterscotch budino for dessert and it was delicious. A good time was hadby all.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointed with the service this time and the inability to order a larger portion of the humus - especially since it is so good!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Best chicken a waffles I've ever had. Cornmeal waffles are great! Great combination with the Spanish fried chicken (so tasty)!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of the best restaurants in LA.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Pleasant seating and views if you get there before 7pm. By 8pm, it is noisy and packed on a Tuesday night. Food was yummy and served in small plates for easy dividing for a couple. Hanger steak and squid entries good. Salad is basic and well dressed. Exotic vege dishes with good seasoning. Service was marginal once the crowds got here-they leave you alone to eat but did not process us out quickly to get the table open. Bar area ample for couples.

Tags: Vegan, Wood Oven, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Disappointed with food. We had ordered focaccia, veggie platter, Spanish fried chicken and attic char. Focaccia was too oily, grilled veggies were not warm, oil was dripping from the fried chicken. I know it was fried chicken but I wasn't expecting it to be that oily. Attic char was perfect. Ambience and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Perfecto todo. A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Loved the place and food and ambiance! 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a wonderful evening. Began with a drink at the bar, was seated out in the heated patio section & the dishes we selected were superb. The waitress was very helpful in this regard.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Another visit to AOC, this time for a birthday celebration, was a resounding success.

I don't feel the menu has changed much, if at all, in 2-years, but it's still delicious and reliably good quality!

Thoroughly recommended, especially the outdoors seating area. Charming, romantic and very civilised. Thank you.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The hostess when I came in was friendly and attentive. I paired the cava with the Spanish Fried Chicken and Cornmeal waffles. Little light on syrup but got a little extra on the side. The blueberry bread went great with a glass of the Godello. Sage is a rockstar with his knowledge of the menu paired with his outstanding service. His recommendation of the butterscotch pot was a perfect ending.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I've been hearing about AOC for years and wanting to go for just as long. I finally decided, "yes! I'll do it!" which is a tricky proposition on a Saturday night, as apparently getting a "dinner time" res on a Saturday requires three weeks' notice and -planning. I opted for the latest I could get -- 5:45 -- and it ended up being perfect. I stayed into the dinner time busy-ness and watched the place fill up and go from evening relaxed to bustling cool. It's a beautiful space, inside by the fire or outside on the patio. The service was excellent, the food absolutely delicious. It's small plates, which can get expensive and salty/creamy, but I felt the value was fair for the quality, and 4.5 plates for two worked out perfectly. We got the lamb chops, the artichoke, the papardelle, the brussel sprout/radicchio salad, and fresh bread for dipping. I wholeheartedly enjoyed the experience, and it was worth the wait. If you like New American but want to feel you're in Southern Europe, come to AOC.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The food is outstanding at this fun restaurant. The menu has a good variety and the servers were very attentive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We've been here many, many times. And we have always loved our experience.

It's discouraging when you have a server who isn't happy and is judgmental of the drinks and food ordered. The happiest our server appeared was when we got up from the table to leave the restaurant. 1.5 hours and $350 later.

We would like to have stayed as we have many times before. To continue with small plates & drinks. But he made it very uncomfortable. So we went next door and had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Never disappointed in AOC. This dinner was a veggie one and we loved it. Farmers platter a must. Server was knowledgeable and attentive. Enjoyed our conversation and loved the food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I have wanted to go to AOC for a few years, but I don't live in the LA area. I recently decided to take a short trip, and going to AOC was one of the reasons I picked visiting LA. I've used the cookbook for a while, and thought the recipes were inventive, unique and incredibly delicious.
I was not disappointed. I thought AOC was one of the finest restaurants I've eaten at in years. I know it may sound like an overstatement, but it was truly incredible. I can't wait to eat there again!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

So damn good! - I have to remember to come back more often - always such a treat. Great staff, hospitality and ambiance in addition to great food.

Tags: Tapas, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

As excellent as always, Bacon Wrapped Dates and Chicken Waffle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Loved the food and the service was great as well. The fish platter was amazing....from start to finish we enjoyed our entire meal. This is definitely a "must try" place for anyone who hasn't been there yet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food, small plates. Wine is reasonably priced. Ambiance is nice, but they sat us in covered garden area and I ate next to a tree, which scraped against me throughout the meal. I'm sure regular diners get better tables. In the future I'll just sit at the warmer community table in main room. It should be noted we were on time for our reservation but had to wait for our table. Maybe the tree was being sharpened. That's the price of being a nobody in Los Angeles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Love this restaurant! It is always consistent and one of my faves

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The waitress said everything is "family style" to share. That is not the case! The tiny pasta to "share" over $20, came out on very little plate hard to even share with 4 people more then a bite each.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our server was delightful and extremely helpful with the menu. The food was absolutely delicious and we loved the upstairs wine library. A true find!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

One of the great restaurants in LA. Always new and innovative dishes , both small plates and larger to share. Great fir lunch or dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Tapas, Fun, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Organic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Double date with friends. Had a couple cocktails at the bar before dinner.

Ambiance was beautiful and perfect for celebrating the girl's birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS RESTAURANT UNTIL MY CHILDREN BOUGHT ME A GIFT FOR MY BIRTHDAY. WE WERE A PARTY OF FIVE AND MY SON, IN AN EXCESS OF ENTHUSIASM, KEPT DESCRIBING EACH DISH AS IT ARRIVED WITH THE SAME WORD "AWSOME".

IT STARTED WITH THE BREAD AND CONTINUED ALL THE WAY THROUGH DESERT. I NEVER ORDER OR EAT FISH BUT AS A FAMILY STYLE DINNER I WAS STUCK EATING FISH.
AFTER A FEW BITES I COMMENTED "THIS FISH IS AWSOME" . EACH OF THE MANY DISHES WERE INDEED EXCELLENT AND I RATE THIS RESTAURANT "AWSOME".

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was really bad. Had salad at lunch and it was very underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The service, while usually steller, was terrible today. My food was cold and had to be sent back and the wait staff was inattentive. The worst part - I called ahead to say it was my wife's birthday, yet the waiter didn't mention it, or bring anything to the table to celebrate.

I go to AOC at least 10-12 a year and to Lucques a few times a year too, but the lack of decorum on my wife's birthday means you've lost a well paying customer for life.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had an exceptional experience at this wonderful restaurant. We ended up ordering four plates to share and each one was excellent. From the Spainish fried chicken to the fingerling potatoes to the scallops and salad. We each got our own dessert and the chocolate cake was worth finishing up an nice evening. The decor and atmosphere is also very nice and helps set a great mood.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

loved loved loved it!!!! Service, food, ambience - all 10 /10 !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We enjoyed our experience... the food was good but we may have over-extended ourselves with too many selections. Upon reflection, we should have kept it simple to enjoy the variety of flavors more. I would be curious to return on a non-Saturday night and maybe dine at the bar...

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great ambiance with a cool patio area. Great atmosphere, excellent service, great food. A little pricey, but not outrageous.

Would definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Highly recommended but fell a bit short on food taste and quality. Would have been a better value if the food was better. It almost seemed the mastermind chef behind all these wonderful dishes wasn't working and the staff they trained just didn't quite get it. Solid service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Very disappointed. We've eaten here since it's original incarnation and lately not so good food wise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I was able to impress my guests, thank you so much!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was food but service was slow.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The front of house gave me crap for being s half hour late. They told me I could either go to the communal table or bar or I needed to vacate my table by 6:27pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.