About AOC

A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails. Reservations are encouraged.

8700 West 3rd Street
Los Angeles, CA 90048
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, French

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 5:00 pm
Weekend Afternoon Menu - 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Dinner Tuesday - Saturday 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm,
Sunday & Monday 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Happy Hour Daily (at the bar & communal): 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Cross Street:
George Burns Drive

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 859-9859

Website:
http://www.aocwinebar.com/

Catering:
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com

Parking Details:
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.

Executive Chef:
Suzanne Goin

Private Party Facilities:
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.

Private Party Contact:
Email events@aocwinebar.com: (310) 859-9859

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.

AOC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (93)
Fit for Foodies (86)
Great for Outdoor Dining (79)
See All
Romantic (65)
Special Occasion (64)
Creative Cuisine (57)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Cozy (50)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Notable Wine List (48)
Great for Lunch (45)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
Fireplace (42)
Great for Brunch (42)
Bar Seating (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Fun (40)
Tapas (39)
Casual (37)
Hot Spot (37)
Good for Groups (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Business Meals (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Good Vegetarian Options (27)
Authentic (26)
People Watching (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Family Style (21)
Tasting Menu (20)
Seasonal (18)
Healthy (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Wood Oven (16)
Happy Hour (13)
Organic (13)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Private Room (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Quick Bite (5)
Scenic View (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Historic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
2078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

It was beautiful sitting outside under shade. The food was delicious, the drinks were divine and the service was too notch. Would recommend this place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Unfortunately to food at AOC (especially the brunch) has really gone downhill. While the restaurant was one of my favorites with a great vibe and nice menu, I don't think I'll be going back. The food at last two dining experiences has been awful. Both times the entree dish consisted of 60% potatoes. Food was greasy and tasteless. The wine list has also gotten very "eclectic" (nothing I really recognize) and VERY expensive. The place still has a great vibe, waiters are attentive but what's a restaurant if the food isn't good?

Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great food and atmosphere ; will definitely be back

Tags: Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Almost the perfect restaurant from the all variables standpoint

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was great, especially the whole fish grilled with a nice touch of coconut rice. We also had a great time people watching. Most especially we were impressed with our waiter who did a superb job of presenting our food and wine. He carried out his job with, I don't know a better word but grace.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a great meal here. Tonight the food stopped coming in the middle of dinner - it was a good 20 minutes before the plates came out again. That is rare - usually it comes out one after another like clockwork. Oh well - still a great dinner and always a pleasure to visit AOC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2017

They are always consistent. Delicious food, very good service in the wonderful California atmosphere. We enjoy every time we go there.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Everything was absolutely fantastic.
Food was exquisite.
Service was phenomenal.
Ambience was magical.
Lovely experience.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always the best dinner in town!! Great food, service, and vibe!

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Terrific as always. Great food and a great atmosphere.
Beautiful patio and a very friendly clientele.
Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Birthday/mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was delicious, great vibe! Would recommend the brunch menu. French toast are to die for.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Food/ service ( including the busboy) were excellent. Very accommodating, especially considering they were extremely busy due to USC graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The food was very disappointing. I love AOC but the lunch yesterday was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

AOC always satisfies...good food, great service, lovely ambiance.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I had a great time. Food was great, service was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Always a great experience. Consistently good food and wines by the glass, and great artisanal cocktails

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service was great... food was a bit lacking in taste.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I was there for Sunday brunch. The menu was OK. It was CA style, I'm accustom to NYC and they are different. The food pricing was reasonable but their wine prices are seriously expensive. I don't think there was a single bottle for less than $50. The eggs I ordered were about $16.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I went here for brunch with significant other. The food was good but not sure why everyone raved about the fried chicken or French toast. definitely good and well worth the price but didn't live up to the 10/10 description I often hear. The building is beautiful though and the value is excellent. Maybe I'll have to try it for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Came here for Sunday brunch with a girlfriend of mine. She had the chicken and waffles, and I had the AOC brioche with prosciutto.

The chicken and waffles tasted considerably better; the waffles tasted like corn bread and melted in my mouth. The chicken was really crispy and juicy.

The brioche bread was drenched in cheese, so it was a bit on the salty side. Also, too much salad just dumped on top of the meal.

Overall, food was good, but not spectacular. I'd be open to dining here again (maybe for dinner). Perfect place for a date or casual get together with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Solid quality. A little disappointed in the avocado toast that only came w guac. Overall great ambience great drinks and service. Beautiful space both day and night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was excellent. My new favorite place.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It's never disappointing at AOC...they have their act together from the moment you walk through the doors you are greeted by welcoming hosts. The waiters and servers are equally as nice. And then there is the food. It is all amazingly delicious. Mostly we order small plates to share. They come out of the kitchen at a perfect pace. The beet salad was so fresh. The scallops were perfectly cooked, exactly the right sear and my fork glided easily into one for the first bite. We also enjoyed the arctic char and the squid directly from the wood oven. All I can say is I cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Wood Oven, Cozy, Fireplace, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was delicious! We had a great table and good service. There is both nice indoor, outdoor and bar seating. I would 100% recommend this place!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Beautiful experience and a great night! It was my birthday and I wasn't sure if the weather would be right for our outdoor table. The staff said they'd be happy to move us inside but first showed me our perfect patio table, next to a heater, and offered pashmina scarves for chilly shoulders and legs. Perfect! The food was outstanding, delicious, and comfortable. Nothing felt pretentious, just charmingly and effortlessly chic. Highly highly recommend. (Came for birthday dinner with parents, brother, and boyfriend. All enjoyed.)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food, ambiance and service! Our waiter was very attentive and made excellent recommendations. Would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a great time eating after seeing LACMA. Food was delicious. Our server helped us with ordering so that we didn't order too much and helped me pick a glass of wine. We enjoyed the whole experience and relaxed in the comfortable booth.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was exceptional but the service was slow. We sat outside and the ambiance was very nice, it reminded us of being on vacation in Puerto Rico.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

remarkable brunch menu..great crowd...creative food

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was wonderful. Cozy inside and out. Might be a new favorite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always a tasty dinner. It took too long for the wine to come but otherwise a great dinner. Love the patio!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food, beautiful patio. Not very crowded on Saturday for lunch

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Another perfect lunch at AOC! Even though the day was quite warm, the shaded patio was a lovely temperature, and it is one of the most beautiful in town, as well. The bacon wrapped dates are the perfect salty snack to whet your appetite, and the lemon zest butter with the toasted blueberry bread - I could have eaten that all day! Our waiter was attentive without being overly so - we'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a great time

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our first dinner at AOC was fantastic....wonderful service and the food was delicious. On our way home from a long trip abroad, we made a list of the food in LA we were craving ...AOC was near the top of our list. Unfortunately our server couldn't be bothered.
While we were "greeted" within a few minutes of sitting down, there was no greeting or welcome. She asked if we had been there before and then told us, "great, so you know the drill" and pushed us to order food within just a few minutes of sitting down, skipping over wine or cocktails . While I did manage to slow her down enough to order a glass of wine, she didn't seem to catch on.
She was barely able to finish her sentences each time she walked away from our table, she only smiled when we left. I tried to encourage her by chatting with her, smiling at her when she spoke, I asked her her name but it's not my job to make her feel comfortable.
The food was still great, but we didn't have a chance to really choose what we preferred because she was rushing us so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Although the ambience was nice and the food, when it arrived good, we waited over an hour for our food after our first waiter disappeared. During this hour we watched as two other tables, sat after us, was promptly delivered their food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We were celebrating birthdays with a group of 6 women from the office for
Lunch. We had the table in the alcove on the terrace. Our service was fantastic and everyone loved it.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food, wine and service couldn't possibly have been better. I went for an everyday meal and left feeling like it was a special occasion.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fun, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had Easter Brunch and it was lovely! The service was just ok due to our waiter going missing a few times for 20 minutes or more. I was out of water, had to flag him down to order, and I had to get another waiter to finalize our bill after he was no where to be seen for a very long time. The restaurant was not overly packed or else I'd give him a break. Otherwise, all other staff was very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.