AOC

4.7
2554 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Great for Outdoor Dining
  • Special Occasion
A.O.C. is a small plates restaurant driven by seasonal ingredients, locally sourced. Our California French cuisine was developed by Chef Suzanne Goin, and has some Mediterranean influences as well. We have 24 wines by the glass and 150 bottles to choose from, curated by Caroline Styne, all of which are either organic, biodynamic or sustainable. And now, featuring a full bar with premium spirits and specialty cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch:
Monday - Friday, 11:30 am - 5:00 pm

Weekend Afternoon Menu:
Saturday & Sunday, 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Dinner:
Tuesday - Saturday, 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sunday & Monday, 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday, 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

Happy Hour (at the bar & communal): Daily, 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 859-9859
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Suzanne Goin
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a private space that can seat up to 40 people sit down and 50 guests for a standing reception. We also have a semi-private areas and the restaurant is available for full buy-outs. Please call the restaurant for more information.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Email events@aocwinebar.com: (310) 859-9859
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact Jessica Goin at Lucques Catering for information. jessica@lucquescatering.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
George Burns Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
You can park on the street at a meter, if available, or use our valet.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Please contact events@aocwinebar.com for information.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

What Insiders Are Saying

The Infatuation
8.8

A.O.C. in Beverly Grove is fancy and sexy and serves top-notch French food as well. Your sex life can thank us later.

Ratings 8.5-9.0:Now we’re in the range of absolutely excellent restaurants that you might go to more than once a year/lifetime. These restaurants tend to define a city, and make up the places that you absolutely cannot miss if you want to have any credibility as a restaurant-informed person in a major metropolis.
What 2554 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.7
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
88% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined 2 days ago

My husbands nephew was visiting from San Francisco, and I wanted to take him to a high quality foodie destination in LA.

I dine regularly at Lucques, but read the article in LA Mag today about fried chicken, and the Spanish chicken and AOC sounded like a great option for dinner.

Unfortunately, the service was sub-standard.

We were seated at 7:30, and ordered 5 plates as suggested by our waiter. The first plate arrived within a reasonable time frame, but the Spanish Chicken dish took nearly 2 hours to arrive.

The food was good, but the service was painfully bad. We won't be returning to AOC anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Super cute and charming with creative menu and cool atmosphere. One of my favorite places to go with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Literally everything was delicious. A very special night!

I'm temporarily disabled and only semi-mobile, and AOC was helpful and solicitous so I could have an easy, enoyable night out.

Thank you for being so accommodating of my knee scooter! I saw how well the staff worked with a visitor in a wheel chair, too. Not everyone is so considerate, and those who are deserve recognition. AOC's staff is truly kind. The depth of my appreciation is very real. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful Father's Day brunch - perfect ambiance and lovely food. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 5 days ago

This is usually one of our favorite spots in Los Angeles, but we were very disappointed in today’s visit. Yes, it was Father’s Day, but mediocre food and endless waiting doesn’t need to happen. The hostess was sour, the waiter was nice but not that attentive and the food (which is usually always fresh and tasty) was lukewarm, soggy, incorrect, and just bland. Not to mention what felt like an eternity after having a small appetizer of dates and toast, which were the best items we had at our meal. The men who bussed and served food were the only saving grace for this sad brunch we had for my husband. We might have to retire AOC from our usual dining roster for a bi, to get this disappointing experience out of our heads.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

The food was cold especially the fried potatoes. My poached eggs were only warm and my bacon was way undercooked.
I’ve been there for dinner and have had great meals but I will not go again or recommend this place for breakfast.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

We’ve been wanting to try this restaurant for some time now. We fine dine quite often. This is a beautiful restaurant but we were disappointed with everything else. The food is good. The service wasn’t. The food really wasn’t good enough to make up for the poor service. I really don’t know why these servers are so snotty!? There are so many great restaurants out there with excellent food and excellent service so I wouldn’t bother recommending this restaurant or dining there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful fun food, tapas style. Sat outside in courtyard for dinner, ambiance was terrific. Very solid service, only minor drawback was a 20 minute lull between courses. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Absolutely delicious as always. We had a 6:00 rez for four, and when we arrived asked if we could sit on the patio, which was pretty empty. We were told there was nothing avail: they were all requested. We had a nice view of the patio and watched a a bunch of 4-tops sit empty the entire time. As we left I mentioned it, which the hostess denied.
Left a bad taste in our mouths after a very tasty meal.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 12, 2018

This place was honestly a bit of a letdown. Sure, it has a nice European-style courtyard (with a view of a pharmacy out of the window.) It seems technically elegant, but was nothing outstanding. The food choices were underwhelming, and the salads were so basic that you would find similar or better at casual places like TenderGreens or Lemonade (which obviously aren't comparable in atmos, but just talking about the food.) Servers were fine, but knew little about the menu without checking multiple times with others. And it was wayyyy overpriced for what you got. Better places to go in my opinion, especially if you are well-traveled, this may disappoint.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

I would give 5 stars if not for the fact that I booked this place for my grandma's 80th birthday brunch and the whole time a waiter only came with water once. The food was quite salty (not always a bad thing) so water was NECESSARY. It also took a very long time for our server to come take orders and check in about our needs and the check.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great spot in LA. Great drinks!! Food very good. Service outstanding. Our server for the evening was Sage. He is awesome!!! He made it very enjoyable!!
Everything he suggested was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We love happy hour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Everything was wonderful but before we had a chance to look at the menu we were asked if we’d like some almonds and olives, so assumed they were complementary but when we got the bill we were charged nine dollars and six dollars, respectively. Other than that the food was delicious, and the service was excellent. I just wish it had been worded so that we knew that the almonds and olives were charged items,

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

The food was good but our server was very snobby. Food wasn’t as good as the price would suggest.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Always a great meal at AOC. Love their patio. Drinks are delicious. Fantastic service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Had a wonderful experience. The service was fantastic and very welcoming. The food also tastes amazing and there are plenty of veggie options. Vegan can be a little trickier but just let your server know and they can make recommendations/ accommodations (cheese on the side, no butter, etc) and the meal is just as yummy! If you are not doing valet, parking can be a little tricky but I suggest looking at the side streets or the structure down the street. Overall, I highly recommend this spot!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We went at 3:30 and the menu was limited. But dinner is beautiful

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Loved sitting on the patio. Great service and attention to allergies. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Incredible place. Really great service and location. The food was fantastic as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Consistently the best restaurant in LA.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

One of my favorite LA spots. Great atmosphere and awesome food always!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We had a large party and it was great! They were very helpful in the planning and confirming and even helped accommodate a larger party than we had originally planned for. Everyone enjoyed their meal and their experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Wonderful meal

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Food was horrible. Coffee was horrible. Service was ok. Dishes were really dirty. Don’t waste your time not your money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I wish that we had been seated in the courtyard. It was dismal inside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Awesome food! You have to try the clams cooked in sherry and garlic sauce. Best dish of the night! Great ambiance, too. Our server was attentive and gave great recommendations. I thought the desserts were just okay. Nothing too special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

One of our favorite spots in Los Angeles. A.O.C. never disappoints!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

They milk your wallet pretty well: asking for jelly with breakfast toast, showed up on the bill at $4. Really. Then they try to stick you with an additional 3.5% for medical insurance for the staff. We left a generous tip (we usually do) but declined the insurance fee.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

It was great -- went with my mom and mother-in-law and the wait staff couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. All three of us felt like the menu had both a sense of adventure as well as comfort -- not easy to pull off. We also thought the drinks were great. Really felt like a night out (on the early side) but not alienating in any way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Beautiful setting, great food, good service, lovely experience...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

We have celebrated 15 out of 19 Mother's Days at AOC (and previously Orso) and have never been disappointed. This year was no exception. Outstanding server, delicious food, beautiful surroundings - ideal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Great Ambiance, great wine selection! Server was nice and helpful. The food was amazing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Always delicious with great cocktails in a beautiful setting.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

First time..this place is nothing special. Waiter was snooty and came with bad attitude. Ignored us the whole time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I had another great experience at this place. Fair price for the area, the food and drinks are great, I will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I've been coming to this restaurant for about 20 years and it never disappoints! My first time to their new location (well they moved 5 years ago but I lived in NYC) and it was awesome! We had Alex as our server and the food and drinks were yummy, they have a beautiful outdoor garden patio too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for mothers day. Its a beautiful restaurant with $8 valet parking. The food was better than "okay", but I wouldn't call it great. You are definitely going for drinks/atmosphere.

The service was a little all over the place, we had 2 servers ask if we had been helped yet (when we already had been).
Our server also had to come back to the table to confirm our ONE dish order (we spilt a meal). She also did this to the table next to us.

The bar/bartender was amazing! We had a few drinks with him before we were seated. Over all, I would probably rate this place a 3.5 out of 5, but I'd like to go back on a day where it wasn't a "holiday".

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Frustrating that they lost my reservation after calling me personally to confirm

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day was fabulous! Service was great and food was prepared exactly as I specified, please note that I am not an easy consumer, lol!
One thing that was weak was the quality of coffee. But that is a small inconvenience.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
64

Tweets by AOC