About ANZU

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Michael Raub

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Restaurant Photos

38 North Duck Breast
Titus Roll
Uni
Wagyu Beef
Grilled Beef Onglet Steak, Infused Peppercorn Sauce, Fries
Ahi Tuna Spring Roll
Firecracker Roll
Chocolate Mousse & Cannoli
Hamachi Crudo
Raining Purple Sake
Eggs Benedict
Anzu Roll
Albacore Delight Roll
Fried Calamari
The Rock
Petite Iceberg Wedges
Black Cod With Ginger Dashi
Cherry Blossom Roll
Snow Mountain Roll
Dutch Donkey
Albacore Delight Roll And Cherry Blossom Roll
Anzu Manhattan
Raspberry Press Cocktail
Dungeness Crab Dome
Rum Soaked Raisin Bread Pudding
Prime Beef Tartare
Anzu Roll And Kingdom Roll
Salmon With Spicy Creamed Spinich
For The Healthy
Green Tea Gelato
Smoked salmon
Sakeno Shioyaki
Cornbread
Smoked Trout
Kamaboko
Tea
Chicken And Pork Sau
Cheese
Salted Salmon
Prime Rib-eye Steak
Oysters and Pearls
Grasshopper
Vine Ripe Tomato Hand Pulled Burrata
Truffle Mac And Cheese With Crispy Pancetta
Wagyu Slider
Honey Roasted Sonoma Duck Breast
Anzu Roll And California Roll
Kobe Beef Sliders
Chocolate Fondue
Flatiron Steak With Blue Cheese Butter

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Union Square ›

fit for foodies (43)
special occasion (41)
romantic (32)
See All
good for groups (20)
notable wine list (13)
great for lunch (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (9)
great for brunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Yummy food but it ended there. Server w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Yummy food but it ended there. Server was very rude (made a comment about me putting butter on my bread!), kids everywhere at 7:30 reservation and very loud. With that said- oysters, duck and cod were amazing!!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very professional and courteous wait sta ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very professional and courteous wait staff. The business was well kept and maintained. Our waiter and all the other individuals who waited on our table were very professional and contributed greatly to the quality of the restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

From the Salmon Cha Cha Cha rolls to the ...

Dined 6 days ago

From the Salmon Cha Cha Cha rolls to the Misoyaki Black Cod and Seared Pork Loin special, to the amazing roasted banana bread pudding, the entire meal was delicious. Portion size was perfect, and the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious and worth every penny (dollar) ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious and worth every penny (dollar). Waiter was friendly buy not obtrusive. Ordered a bottle of wine that was one of the ones from the tasting menu. It was one of the lowest priced wines and was very good, Will return when i am next on SF

food4
ambience4
service5

I love Anzu, especially to entertain. W ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

I love Anzu, especially to entertain. Whether it is the bar or the restaurant. The staff is very attentive and the Asian inspired California cuisine is great. I dined this night at the bar with my guest. We enjoyed the hamachi crudo and scallop yaki appetizer and a couple of the fish main dishes. It was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A very wonderful dining experience. I w ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

A very wonderful dining experience. I would strongly recommond this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

We really enjoyed the set menu with wine ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the set menu with wine pairings. Great meal with friendly service; I would recommend it to friends making the trip to SF in the future.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special evening!

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was a special evening for a once-a year get together with dear friends. The servers were wonderful!!! They made the evening very enjoyable. Food portions on the small side. roasted beet salad was tiny. Duck was tough. Still had a very nice time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and unique.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was delicious and unique.

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Skip it.

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Very disappointed with the raw oysters on half shell - they were served with shredded vegetables between the oyster and shell - who does that?! The crispy duck breast was tough and lacked any kind of flavor - just tasted rubbery and bland. The uni and scallop-yaki were ok, but in general I would skip this restaurant altogether. There are too many fabulous places in SF to waste a meal on this hotel restaurant/bar.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! Great food and ambiance ! I'd ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved it! Great food and ambiance ! I'd come back in a heart beat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully adorned with lights, greenery, water, large bar. Menu was very eclectic. Sushi was very good , but definitely not unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was a bit slow. The manager and others were aware of it and made every effort to compensate.

food1
ambience4
service4

Had dinner Friday evening. The hostess ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Had dinner Friday evening. The hostess was very friendly and promptly seated us. Our waiter was helpful and went over all the specials. Overall service was that of a 4 star restaurant. The problem is the food portions My wife ordered the black cod. The portion size was under 5oz Almost the size for appetizer not a main course entry . I had the 15 piece sashimi This was a major disappointment Extra thin slices of tuna and salmon. The octopus was about the size of my thumb nail. Taste of all the food was good but not for the prices. The manager came over and did comp one of the meals which was very fair. If the fish portions were larger and the sashimi was cut better this would be a 4 star restaurant without any questions

food4
ambience4
service4

Tucked away in a hotel. Was pretty nice

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tucked away in a hotel. Was pretty nice

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a breakfast buffet, which was a n ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a breakfast buffet, which was a nice combination od Asian and European/American. Good food.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and the food was fantastic ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great service and the food was fantastic, Thank you for a great experience👍😋.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food

Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed our experience so much at Anzu, we ate there all three days that we spent at the Hotel Nikko. The service is great, but the sushi is amazing. The entrees were equally good. The chefs are creative and work with the freshest of ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good asian fuson

Dined on May 8, 2016

Quiet and comfortable dining in a Hotel dining room. Food selection interesting, good; but expensive for what you got. The Rock, wagu beef grilled at your table on a hot stone, is a perfect starter -- a couple of ounces of prime beef for $20 and enough to share for two. Limited entre selection, small portions very well prepared. Looking for a more authentic Japanese meal -- this is probably not the spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful place good food as usual.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Beautiful place good food as usual.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not the same

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We had the lunch specials and noticed that the portions were much smaller and flavors less vibrant than the past 2 visits. They are still interesting combinations, and waiter accommodated a food allergy by substituting the soup.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They were particularly open and helpful ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

They were particularly open and helpful in discussing and accomodating special dietary requirements.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It was full of smoke

Dined on April 30, 2016

They had a special dish which used hot stone to cook beef. It happens to be a few table ordered the same dish and make the entire restaurant very smelly and full of smoke. I would think for the ones who ordered the dish they love it. However, for the people like me did not order it will find it annoying because going to a nice restaurant for dinner ended up become very smelly, it's as if I went to a Korean BBQ restaurant or something. I think if they want to continue to serve this dish, they should consider upgrade their ventilation so the smoke and smell will not pass around. The Oyster was excellent. Sushi was ok. Entrée was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicioso and Pretty food! Loved it!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Delicioso and Pretty food! Loved it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was superb

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was superb

food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first experience at Anzu. We ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

It was our first experience at Anzu. We ordered cocktails to start which were very tasty and not watered down. The two kinds of bread were freshly baked. We both ordered a meat dish dinner. They were cooked to perfection and the presentation was impressive. The dessert was the best when it comes with its own fog...how cool was that! We will return when we visit the city again.

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Bad form

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great meal was ruined by manager asking us to move to the bar before our meal was over due to a party of eight arriving early. Bad form. We were not done. Ruined the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled asparagus and scallop yaki were ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Grilled asparagus and scallop yaki were excellent starters. The mains were solid, but dessert was the star. The creamsicle parfait was bright and creamy, and was generally a well rounded dessert.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food & Great Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very knowledgeable waitstaff! Small but interesting and delicious menu. Food was beautifully presented. Great wine and sake menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! Wait staff was excelle ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was amazing! Wait staff was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Clean healthy food, nice atmosphere

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to ANZU twice, and each time the meal was excellent, with fresh ingredients and very nice service. Can't go wrong here, try the Wagu Beef cooked at your table on a hot stone. The sushi roll was delicious, as was the asparagus soup. The beet salad with basil goat cheese is yummy and wish the portion of that was bigger to share. Get one each.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant situated in the Hot ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Very nice restaurant situated in the Hotel Niko. Ambiance was great, menu was unique. Not the best sushi I've ever had but it was good!

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 14, 2016

It Japanese restaurant But not hospitally was not Japanese resturant We ordered nigiri How to eat ? Folk? Unbilevable

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey but very good. We were going to ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Pricey but very good. We were going to a play at Golden Gate Theater and there aren't many decent places to eat nearby. This worked out great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

quiet alternative to nearby hotel restaurants

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Excellent service. Lots of quiet space. On a business trip for a conference across the street. In a four night trip, I had 2 breakfasts, 1 cocktail hour, and 1 dinner. Consistently attentive service. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was outstanding

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food, cocktails, and ambiance were pretty outstanding, but what really stood out was the amazing service; we were lucky to have "Acen" as our waiter, and he was not only very knowledgeable and accommodating regarding my wife's gluten-sensitivity, but super friendly about it as well, which is really hard to come by. We will be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed a Good Meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

ANZU was very close to the Westin St. Francis where we were staying so we walked down to the hotel where the restaurant is located. It's a nice property with friendly staff. The hostess was cheerful and seated us right away. The food was very good and the prices were reasonable for the quality and location. Tried the house beer and didn't enjoy it. Only negative was the waiter took a long time to bring my second beer ( I couldn't wait to cleanse my palate from the first). We were on the fence about getting dessert but the waiter highly recommended the pot de creme so we went with his suggestion. It took at least 15 minutes for the dessert to show up, which is excessive for cold pudding. It was good, though. I expected the dessert would be removed from my bill due to the delay (which the waiter was aware of) but it was on the check. Not a big deal for a $10 dessert but the service didn't match the food and atmosphere. I would go back and give them another chance if I'm in the area.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Elegant enough

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Among the best hotel restaurants. Oddly, the appetizers were over-thought and precious, not as good as the main courses. Expensive, but a great, quiet, delicious place to catch up with visiting friends, taking our time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A nice hotel restaurant. Too pricey for the food

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The place is in a nice hotel and was a short walk from our convention space. The meal was OK, not bad and not great. There are far better eateries in SF, especially considering the price. The waitstaff was very nice.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting

Dined on March 27, 2016

They do not disappoint, I will agree that the brunch was cool. But after 4 yrs, it's the same food complex. For an Easter theme it was very much so boring and lacking in decoration. The bunny was around but the egg samples were not extraordinary. One year they decorated the tables with Chocolate bunnies as a souvenir for the kids . This year it was plain. The variety of the meal ranged from protein. Seafood, sushi, eggs, steak and much more. The chocolate fountain off course was to die for. Compliments to the chef. It was very good in taste but it was very plain. Not very festive at all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.