About ANZU

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Michael Raub

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 1:00PM

Mon - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 11:00AM - 1:00PM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Sat 11:00AM - 1:00PM 5:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Union Square ›

fit for foodies (51)
special occasion (48)
romantic (43)
See All
good for groups (27)
notable wine list (21)
great for lunch (17)
great for brunch (13)
neighborhood gem (13)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully adorned with lights, greenery, water, large bar. Menu was very eclectic. Sushi was very good , but definitely not unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service

vip
Dined 5 days ago

The service was a bit slow. The manager and others were aware of it and made every effort to compensate.

food1
ambience4
service4

Had dinner Friday evening. The hostess ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Had dinner Friday evening. The hostess was very friendly and promptly seated us. Our waiter was helpful and went over all the specials. Overall service was that of a 4 star restaurant. The problem is the food portions My wife ordered the black cod. The portion size was under 5oz Almost the size for appetizer not a main course entry . I had the 15 piece sashimi This was a major disappointment Extra thin slices of tuna and salmon. The octopus was about the size of my thumb nail. Taste of all the food was good but not for the prices. The manager came over and did comp one of the meals which was very fair. If the fish portions were larger and the sashimi was cut better this would be a 4 star restaurant without any questions

food4
ambience4
service4

Tucked away in a hotel. Was pretty nice

Dined on May 11, 2016

Tucked away in a hotel. Was pretty nice

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a breakfast buffet, which was a n ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a breakfast buffet, which was a nice combination od Asian and European/American. Good food.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and the food was fantastic ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Great service and the food was fantastic, Thank you for a great experience👍😋.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food

Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed our experience so much at Anzu, we ate there all three days that we spent at the Hotel Nikko. The service is great, but the sushi is amazing. The entrees were equally good. The chefs are creative and work with the freshest of ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good asian fuson

Dined on May 8, 2016

Quiet and comfortable dining in a Hotel dining room. Food selection interesting, good; but expensive for what you got. The Rock, wagu beef grilled at your table on a hot stone, is a perfect starter -- a couple of ounces of prime beef for $20 and enough to share for two. Limited entre selection, small portions very well prepared. Looking for a more authentic Japanese meal -- this is probably not the spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful place good food as usual.

Dined on May 5, 2016

Beautiful place good food as usual.

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Not the same

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We had the lunch specials and noticed that the portions were much smaller and flavors less vibrant than the past 2 visits. They are still interesting combinations, and waiter accommodated a food allergy by substituting the soup.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They were particularly open and helpful ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

They were particularly open and helpful in discussing and accomodating special dietary requirements.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It was full of smoke

Dined on April 30, 2016

They had a special dish which used hot stone to cook beef. It happens to be a few table ordered the same dish and make the entire restaurant very smelly and full of smoke. I would think for the ones who ordered the dish they love it. However, for the people like me did not order it will find it annoying because going to a nice restaurant for dinner ended up become very smelly, it's as if I went to a Korean BBQ restaurant or something. I think if they want to continue to serve this dish, they should consider upgrade their ventilation so the smoke and smell will not pass around. The Oyster was excellent. Sushi was ok. Entrée was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicioso and Pretty food! Loved it!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Delicioso and Pretty food! Loved it!

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was superb

Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was superb

food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first experience at Anzu. We ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

It was our first experience at Anzu. We ordered cocktails to start which were very tasty and not watered down. The two kinds of bread were freshly baked. We both ordered a meat dish dinner. They were cooked to perfection and the presentation was impressive. The dessert was the best when it comes with its own fog...how cool was that! We will return when we visit the city again.

food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Bad form

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great meal was ruined by manager asking us to move to the bar before our meal was over due to a party of eight arriving early. Bad form. We were not done. Ruined the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled asparagus and scallop yaki were ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Grilled asparagus and scallop yaki were excellent starters. The mains were solid, but dessert was the star. The creamsicle parfait was bright and creamy, and was generally a well rounded dessert.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food & Great Service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Very knowledgeable waitstaff! Small but interesting and delicious menu. Food was beautifully presented. Great wine and sake menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! Wait staff was excelle ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was amazing! Wait staff was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Clean healthy food, nice atmosphere

Dined on April 16, 2016

I have been to ANZU twice, and each time the meal was excellent, with fresh ingredients and very nice service. Can't go wrong here, try the Wagu Beef cooked at your table on a hot stone. The sushi roll was delicious, as was the asparagus soup. The beet salad with basil goat cheese is yummy and wish the portion of that was bigger to share. Get one each.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant situated in the Hot ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Very nice restaurant situated in the Hotel Niko. Ambiance was great, menu was unique. Not the best sushi I've ever had but it was good!

food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Disappointed

Dined on April 14, 2016

It Japanese restaurant But not hospitally was not Japanese resturant We ordered nigiri How to eat ? Folk? Unbilevable

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey but very good. We were going to ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Pricey but very good. We were going to a play at Golden Gate Theater and there aren't many decent places to eat nearby. This worked out great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

quiet alternative to nearby hotel restaurants

vip
Dined on April 11, 2016

Excellent service. Lots of quiet space. On a business trip for a conference across the street. In a four night trip, I had 2 breakfasts, 1 cocktail hour, and 1 dinner. Consistently attentive service. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was outstanding

Dined on April 10, 2016

The food, cocktails, and ambiance were pretty outstanding, but what really stood out was the amazing service; we were lucky to have "Acen" as our waiter, and he was not only very knowledgeable and accommodating regarding my wife's gluten-sensitivity, but super friendly about it as well, which is really hard to come by. We will be coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Enjoyed a Good Meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

ANZU was very close to the Westin St. Francis where we were staying so we walked down to the hotel where the restaurant is located. It's a nice property with friendly staff. The hostess was cheerful and seated us right away. The food was very good and the prices were reasonable for the quality and location. Tried the house beer and didn't enjoy it. Only negative was the waiter took a long time to bring my second beer ( I couldn't wait to cleanse my palate from the first). We were on the fence about getting dessert but the waiter highly recommended the pot de creme so we went with his suggestion. It took at least 15 minutes for the dessert to show up, which is excessive for cold pudding. It was good, though. I expected the dessert would be removed from my bill due to the delay (which the waiter was aware of) but it was on the check. Not a big deal for a $10 dessert but the service didn't match the food and atmosphere. I would go back and give them another chance if I'm in the area.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Elegant enough

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Among the best hotel restaurants. Oddly, the appetizers were over-thought and precious, not as good as the main courses. Expensive, but a great, quiet, delicious place to catch up with visiting friends, taking our time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A nice hotel restaurant. Too pricey for the food

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

The place is in a nice hotel and was a short walk from our convention space. The meal was OK, not bad and not great. There are far better eateries in SF, especially considering the price. The waitstaff was very nice.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Interesting

Dined on March 27, 2016

They do not disappoint, I will agree that the brunch was cool. But after 4 yrs, it's the same food complex. For an Easter theme it was very much so boring and lacking in decoration. The bunny was around but the egg samples were not extraordinary. One year they decorated the tables with Chocolate bunnies as a souvenir for the kids . This year it was plain. The variety of the meal ranged from protein. Seafood, sushi, eggs, steak and much more. The chocolate fountain off course was to die for. Compliments to the chef. It was very good in taste but it was very plain. Not very festive at all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

They gave me a personalized birthday exp ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

They gave me a personalized birthday experience. The food is excellent and service outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 16, 2016

This is great place, inside the Hotel Nikko, the sushi and sashimi was awesome, I would recommend this to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice evening with friends

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

We invited a former student and her husband to eat with us at our hotel when we came to SF for a conference. Convenient for us. Turns out that it was a very nice place, and not as pricy as downtown SF restaurants can get. Very nice dinner and evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

I highly recommend this restaurant at anytime but especially if you are going to Feinstein's to see a show. The food is fabulous and the service is fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Expect less

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

The ratings mislead me. This is a typical hotel restaurant in that it is far over-priced and catering to the hotel guests that don't want to leave the building. The menu gives the impression that it might be worth it. But the food undeliveries by a long shot. Needless to say, there are an endless number of much better restaurants. Most are not in Union Sq.

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Overly ambitious menu, poor service

Dined on March 11, 2016

The menu, while creative, didn't translate well to the table. Overly ambitious with flavor compromised or missing altogether. The sushi was just so-so and one roll in particular was a bit too fishy tasting. The high point of our selection was the lobster ravioli but that was pretty much it. Our server (Darryl?) was competent but we were left alone for long periods of time before he or any other wait person would check in on us. It was pretty busy for a Thursday night and it seemed that the restaurant was either over booked or simply failed to staff accordingly as we heard the couple next to us complaining about their server being gone for a long time.

food3
ambience4
service3

Good food but not outstanding. Nice wi ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Good food but not outstanding. Nice wine by the glass.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

delicious food and friendly service

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

A large table seated right before us slowed down the delivery of our order so the manager brought us a round of drinks and an appetizer. It certainly kept our frustration at bay and was a very nice and very generous gesture. Food was delicious and the service came through. Will certainly go back next time we are in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch twice. Creative, nice presenta ...

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Had lunch twice. Creative, nice presentation, great flavors.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good place for a business dinner - servi ...

Dined on March 2, 2016

Good place for a business dinner - service was good and the food was great.

food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Asian Flair

Dined on February 28, 2016

Anzu was an elegant treat for a before theater dining experience. The menu was full of choices from sushi type dishes to more traditional plated meals. The atmosphere was subdued and had an intimate feel. The food was very tasty and nicely plated and of ample quantity. We shouldn't have ordered dessert, but the Pumpkin Bread Pudding is highly recommended and so yummy! My only complaint is that it took 20 minutes to get my cocktail. Also, we were attempted to be served our 1st course twice. It is a quick few blocks walk from the Golden Gate Theater and there is a Starbucks in the lobby of the Nikko Hotel for that quick cup of joe before the show.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.