About ANZU

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Brian Healy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Union Square ›

Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Seasonal (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wasn't too helpful when using a gift car ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Wasn't too helpful when using a gift card. Didn't know what some of the garnishes were. Was just curious but at times got a little defensive (might just be me). Service stopped promptly as soon as I couldn't find the coupon code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

dELICIOUS BUT MY WIFE'S DUCK WAS A LITTL ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

dELICIOUS BUT MY WIFE'S DUCK WAS A LITTLE DRY AND THEY ALMOST FORGOT ONE OF OUR APPETIZERS BUT STILL AN OUTSTANDING PLACE AND WILL RETURN. Sorry about the caps!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was good to excellent. Menu had not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good to excellent.

Menu had not seemed to have changed much in months.

Cod was scrumptious and special seafood risotto excellent.

Soup and salad ok. Pot de cream very good but cheese cake average.

Service excellent

Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Loved the overall dining experience cele ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Loved the overall dining experience celebrating a birthday and with 2 kids for our party of 6. The food was beautifully presented and equally delicious. We will definitely keep this on our list of go-to restaurants in San Francisco.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited for Thanksgiving. The restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Visited for Thanksgiving. The restaurant is clearly not set up for hosting an elegant buffet, the food was mediocre and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I was there for Thanksgiving dinner. I ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

I was there for Thanksgiving dinner. I realize it's not easy to prepare/cook for the masses, but I thought the food was just mediocre. The traditional Thanksgiving food was better than the Asian. It was our least favorite meal during our Napa/SAN Fran vacation and at $110 a person, the most expensive. So yeah, a little disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Where to start. Went here for their Than ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Where to start. Went here for their Thanksgiving buffet dinner, and let me tell you the food was magical. Have you ever watched a Ghibli movie where the food just looks scrumptious and you think, "Yeah I wish" Its just like that. It not only looks the part but tastes just how you imagine. The food was astounding, the variety was plentiful, the mood was jolly and heartwarming. Almost choked on my (lemon) water when i got the check, but man it was worth it. 10/10.

5 stars. Would choke again.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

3rd time at Anzu holiday buffet. I will ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

3rd time at Anzu holiday buffet. I will not go back. 4 for the Thanksgiving buffet, $359. We are water drinkers so no alcohol, etc. $70/pp, plus 18% service fee. It's a buffet.

Food was mediocre. I finally got to the turkey carving station and it was the end of one bird with a full bird sitting to the side to be carved. The carver gave me 1/2 slice of breast. When I let him know I wanted more. He scraped up some random pieces from the plate and tossed it onto my plate. Those random pieces included papers from the tray. It was ridiculous. When I figured out what was on my plate, I said it out loud in front of the server who just continued filling my water. The cranberry sauce was so sour I couldn't eat it.

Needless to say, there won't be a 4th time at this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We had a family gathering dinner here on ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a family gathering dinner here on thanksgiving. There was an amazing assortment to choose from in the buffet style dining. There were a your classic thanksgiving dishes, but with so many other options. I loved the salmon, oysters, prawns, sushi, prime rib, lobster bisque, etc. there must have been a dozen different desserts to choose from. The atmosphere is gorgeous. The staff so friendly. I think we may have just started a new thanksgiving tradition.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

A little pricey for seniors who do not e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

A little pricey for seniors who do not eat much! Very attentive waiters. We went for Thanksgiving Dinner buffet--the presentation was excellent and we enjoyed the ambience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food was amazing. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great service and food was amazing. The first time ever using a rock to cook food. A must try if you visit. I also had the duck breast with foigras and it was very delicious. It was a small portion, but the richness in flavor was just enough to make you satisfied.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great service! Appreciate the warm hosp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great service! Appreciate the warm hospitality. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, excellent staff. Very ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great atmosphere, excellent staff. Very pleased at Any.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service. I don't typicall ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food and service. I don't typically expect this level of restaurant inside a hotel. Will return next trip through San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrible meal.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Terrible meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

ANZU is a very elegant, quiet restaurant ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

ANZU is a very elegant, quiet restaurant in the Nikko hotel at Union Square in SF. We had a pretty simple but delicious dinner. I had a sunchoke and pear soup followed by an excellent duck breast, while my dinner partner started with the duck confit appetizer and finished with black cod. He seemed very satisfied, and so was I. (The hostess was very pretty, very charming, and actually helpful).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Sushi was amazing. Will go back next tim ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Sushi was amazing. Will go back next time we come to SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sushi chef was friendly and prepared ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The sushi chef was friendly and prepared the rolls in front of us at the bar. Limited selection to choose from. You rely on the bartender for your service, which means you get little attention when the cocktail bar is busy. It is a great choice if you don't want to leave the hotel for dinner. Above average for a hotel restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing dining experience!

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Amazing dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When we enter Anzu from the outside nois ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

When we enter Anzu from the outside noise of the city, all of a sudden we are in an elegant setting far from the crowds and cars honking. The food is always well-prepared and delicious. Anzu is well-situated for a dinner before the theater in the heart of San Francisco. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent sushi. Surprised me with elega ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent sushi. Surprised me with elegant dessert for my birthday. Great service

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All our dishes were delicious! The ambia ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 29, 2016

All our dishes were delicious! The ambiance is classy. The servers were prompt and very nice. The only thing I didn't like as much is that the tables for 2 are very close to each other, so you end up hearing your neighbor's conversation the whole time. But, other than that, everything else was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is still our favorite pre-theater o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This is still our favorite pre-theater option. You can "go Japanese" or stay "Californian", the 4 course prix fixe is a great value, and with a 6pm reservation, the servers can pace the 4 courses so you don't miss the curtain! It's also quiet enough for easy conversation. Kudos to the chef for our recent special of the day scallops and branzino main course - delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great experience!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Great food and great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite dinner spots - great ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 19, 2016

One of our favorite dinner spots - great for special occasions.. food is exceptional

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tuna and Salmon in the rolls were VERY u ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Tuna and Salmon in the rolls were VERY unfresh. Cod dish is super small, with a bizarre soggy piece of scallion pancake laid underneath. Just disappointing.

The salad came with the cheap store bought ginger sauce--Very low end taste

Server was super nice, though I was there for the food

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Five spice chicken and the Anzu sushi r ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Five spice chicken and the Anzu sushi roll were delicious. The smoky old fashion cocktails were superb. And the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Sushi's were excellent but the chicken o ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Sushi's were excellent but the chicken only so so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service is Always Outstanding! I mo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service is Always Outstanding! I most love coming here for breakfast when there's no crowds. The breakfast buffet has everything you could want from traditional Western bacon, eggs, sausage & potatoes to Eastern (Japanese) Rice, Miso Soup, Broiled Salmon and even Natto! If you love dining and something different, definitely order off the menu. The Chicken & Waffles are an interesting take on the traditional. It's a Green Tea Waffle with Spicy Maple Syrup and Chicken Katsu. As a Benedict lover, the Anzu version comes with Rice wrapped in Serrano and a Wasabi Hollandaise served with a side of breakfast potatoes & cherry tomatoes. A great place for any meal but My favorite place for breakfast in San Francisco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining room is very modern and attra ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The dining room is very modern and attractive with great views of downtown SF. The food is very tasty and presented beautifully. Excellent location for theatre dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not enough food in the plate . Raw fish ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Not enough food in the plate . Raw fish is tasty but only thin slices . Wines prices are too high

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Won't go back

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Good food and great service. Portion siz ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Good food and great service. Portion size was disappointing... Which is why I only gave it 3 stars. After dropping easy $50 a person, we all walked down the street and got snacks from Walgreens. I could have easily eaten 2 portions of what I was served.

I feel like an obese American with a crazy appetite writing this review, but actually am not. The portions are that small.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

We were here 3 years ago and I wasn't im ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We were here 3 years ago and I wasn't impressed. But on this visit was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and the preparation. I had the Black cod and it was delicious. Some rice would have been good with this meal. My husband had the scallops and ahi that was outstanding. The portions were small so we wished we had ordered more than the salad we had split as a starter. No chocolate desserts so we had dessert elsewhere. We often stay at the Nikko when we come to SF. We love the convenient location to everything. So glad we gave Anzu another try. It was excellent!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good for a party of 8; disappointed ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Very good for a party of 8; disappointed that full sushi menu was not available on a Sunday night.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very expensive! So not a good value. But ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very expensive! So not a good value. But quiet, peaceful and delicious food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

The 48-hour smoked short ribs were delic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The 48-hour smoked short ribs were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An amazing dinner we had. Staff was atte ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

An amazing dinner we had. Staff was attentive and water was always filled. Food was perfectly prepared. We did the tasting menu. It's actually a bargain to be had. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All started well- dinner by yourself in ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2016

All started well- dinner by yourself in a large city can be daunting , but yet quite enjoyable all at the same time....

The boat was was super sweet and say me in the lounge as she thought I'd be more comfortable there. It was nice- the server was friendly and prompt... AT FIRST- as things got busy- I must have accidentally put my invisibility cloak on- nothing worse than stacking ur plates to show you've been waiting 15 minutes for ur check....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Intimate, elegant Japanese / California ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Intimate, elegant Japanese / California dining experience for seafood and beef lovers who want an explosion of clever, but healthy flavors, textures, and colors. Beautiful snapper... Sushi... Lamb preparations. Wonderful desserts. Great, friendly service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.