About ANZU

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Michael Raub

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Restaurant Photos

Titus Roll
38 North Duck Breast
Wagyu Beef
Uni
Grilled Beef Onglet Steak, Infused Peppercorn Sauce, Fries
Ahi Tuna Spring Roll
Firecracker Roll
Chocolate Mousse & Cannoli
Hamachi Crudo
Raining Purple Sake
Eggs Benedict
Anzu Roll
Albacore Delight Roll
Fried Calamari
The Rock
Petite Iceberg Wedges
Black Cod With Ginger Dashi
Snow Mountain Roll
Cherry Blossom Roll
Dutch Donkey
Albacore Delight Roll And Cherry Blossom Roll
Raspberry Press Cocktail
Anzu Manhattan
Dungeness Crab Dome
Rum Soaked Raisin Bread Pudding
Prime Beef Tartare
Anzu Roll And Kingdom Roll
Salmon With Spicy Creamed Spinich
For The Healthy
Green Tea Gelato
Cheese
Smoked Trout
Chicken And Pork Sau
Kamaboko
Salted Salmon
Smoked salmon
Cornbread
Tea
Sakeno Shioyaki
Prime Rib-eye Steak
Oysters and Pearls
Wagyu Slider
Truffle Mac And Cheese With Crispy Pancetta
Grasshopper
Vine Ripe Tomato Hand Pulled Burrata
Honey Roasted Sonoma Duck Breast
Kobe Beef Sliders
Anzu Roll And California Roll
Chocolate Fondue
Flatiron Steak With Blue Cheese Butter

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Enjoy a lavish Thanksgiving Day Buffet in Restaurant ANZU. Turkey with all the trimmings plus Raw Bar, Sushi, Prime Rib, Salmon, Roast Lamb and Roast Pork. Desserts include pies, cakes, cheesecake and petit fours. Enjoy the Holiday in style in ANZU
$70/Adult, $57/Senior, $37/Child (5 to 12)

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Union Square ›

Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Casual (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very expensive! So not a good value. But ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very expensive! So not a good value. But quiet, peaceful and delicious food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

The 48-hour smoked short ribs were delic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The 48-hour smoked short ribs were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

An amazing dinner we had. Staff was atte ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

An amazing dinner we had. Staff was attentive and water was always filled. Food was perfectly prepared. We did the tasting menu. It's actually a bargain to be had. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All started well- dinner by yourself in ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

All started well- dinner by yourself in a large city can be daunting , but yet quite enjoyable all at the same time....

The boat was was super sweet and say me in the lounge as she thought I'd be more comfortable there. It was nice- the server was friendly and prompt... AT FIRST- as things got busy- I must have accidentally put my invisibility cloak on- nothing worse than stacking ur plates to show you've been waiting 15 minutes for ur check....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Intimate, elegant Japanese / California ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Intimate, elegant Japanese / California dining experience for seafood and beef lovers who want an explosion of clever, but healthy flavors, textures, and colors. Beautiful snapper... Sushi... Lamb preparations. Wonderful desserts. Great, friendly service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Honestly, this is one of the best restau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Honestly, this is one of the best restaurant experiences we have had in a very long time.

The service was impeccable - we were always addressed by name, our waitress was incredibly friendly, our food was delivered to the correct person without being "auctioned off" - even the hostess remembered that we mentioned that we were going to the theater after dinner, and said "Hope you enjoy your show" as we were walking out, a good hour after we arrived!

As for the food, it was outstanding. we both had the tasting menu - consisting of an "amuse" (think quick bite), an appetizer (choose soup or salad), an main course (3 options were available), and a dessert. There was an option to add a wine pairing to each course, which I accepted, and my wife did not. I had the salmon, and my wife had the chicken confit. Both were amazing. But the real gem of the evening was the dessert - a Panna Cotta featuring fresh berries and a plantain chip. Too often I get Panna Cotta that comes out more like flan - with a bit of a slimy texture. This was absolutely perfect. Soft, silky, and flavorful. I believe it's the best Panna Cotta I've ever had.

The atmosphere was very nice - quiet without being silent. I will note that the restaurant was very empty the day we visited so it may get louder if they fill up. The decor was a modern mix of Japanese and American style, and didn't seem "kitschy" as can often be the case when east and west are mixed.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone - and we will be going back for sure!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was okay nothing sp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service and food was okay nothing special. Price to high for the quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The sushi was the best I've had. All di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The sushi was the best I've had. All dishes had beautiful presentations. Atmosphere and waitstaff were lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A friend and I wanted a quiet place for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

A friend and I wanted a quiet place for lunch and to have a good visit. Anzu was the perfect spot! First of all, the ambiance is elegant and tranquil, the service unobtrusive and impeccable, and the $21 express lunch included soup, baby lettuce salad, two exquisite pieces of crab roll, choice of salmon, carrot risotto or chicken and goat cheese cheesecake. The lunch items were exquisitely served on a white china version of a Bento box and the cheesecake was on a separate plate with dots of raspberry sauce. We're still talking about how good it was.

Highly recommended for a business or social lunch or dinner. Very impressive staff as well.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is really hit and miss. Our ap ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food is really hit and miss. Our appetizers were bland — both the beef soup of the day and the “scallops” which were mostly fried bread and no clear presence of scallop. The chicken entree was pleasant, the risotto was above average - but the portion was miniscule. The waiter tried hard but was off-key in reading what was needed and when and was too self-involved. If it weren’t for the connection with Feinstein’s, there's no reason to go there in a city with so many fine options; the prices and mediocrity just don’t cut it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I don't even know where to begin. The ma ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I don't even know where to begin. The master sushi chef is so meticulous in his attention to detail, and the sashimi is to-die-for good. The sake list is impressive, and I highly recommend "The Rock."

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our meal was gorgeous tasting and lookin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Our meal was gorgeous tasting and looking. We thoroughly enjoyed then Chefs tasting menu with the wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It's rare to find a place where everythi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It's rare to find a place where everything you order and try is delicious, but Anzu nailed it with the food selection. We had several bites at the bar and then moved to the table and tried an assortment of items - each was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and a romantic atmosphere.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food and a romantic atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The restaurant was very nice but the foo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The restaurant was very nice but the food is not my cup of tea the service was good this was my mistake I should not have made reservations at this restaurant all in all just not for me

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice atmosphere, we were seated right aw ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice atmosphere, we were seated right away. Server was very courteous and knowledgeable.

The food was well prepared and well plated.

We are welcome to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The sushi was not very fresh. The soup ...

vip
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The sushi was not very fresh. The soup was good but a small portion for $8. Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great service at Anzu and the hotel in g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great service at Anzu and the hotel in general. We came for a late dinner after a day trip in Napa. Didn't feel rushed to order and finish our meal since we were the last seated. They kept insisting we take our time. Recommend the lamb shank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

There was not a good variety of food for ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

There was not a good variety of food for lunch. The food we are was very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Elegant venue and excellent service....I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Elegant venue and excellent service....I would go back time after time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktail lounge was very good! We ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The cocktail lounge was very good! We arrived early (before restaurant opened) and had two drinks. Service was great! Ambiance was wonderful!

Then we went to dinner. The service was slow even though the restaurant had only a handful of diners. I ordered 'Duck Breats' and they were served (in a manner I had never experienced) as

'cubes' about 3/4" to a side. Inedible! I sent it back and ordered something else. It took a long time to get the waitperson to serve us (anything).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great atmosphere/environment; fit for da ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere/environment; fit for date nights with your significant other; low noise level that is fit for meaningful conversations; delicious food however slightly pricey appetizers.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice Chef's Tasting with wine pairing. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice Chef's Tasting with wine pairing. The chicken was a little dry. Would probably opt for the full menu on return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Most of the food was surprisingly good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Most of the food was surprisingly good. The wine was decent.

Suggestions by the wait staff were trustworthy.

Service was a little hard to procure, especially given they were maybe 30% full, and some utensils were either dirty or forgotten, but the staff were happy to bring new ones.

Overall, a great evening. If they brushed up a little on the service, it would be great.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The flavors were very basic but the pres ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The flavors were very basic but the presentation was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This restaurant has become our usual pla ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant has become our usual place for brunch before a matinee at the theater. It is peaceful, quiet enough to allow for civilized conversation, and everything we have ordered has been very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy food but it ended there. Server w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Yummy food but it ended there. Server was very rude (made a comment about me putting butter on my bread!), kids everywhere at 7:30 reservation and very loud. With that said- oysters, duck and cod were amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Very professional and courteous wait sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very professional and courteous wait staff. The business was well kept and maintained. Our waiter and all the other individuals who waited on our table were very professional and contributed greatly to the quality of the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

From the Salmon Cha Cha Cha rolls to the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

From the Salmon Cha Cha Cha rolls to the Misoyaki Black Cod and Seared Pork Loin special, to the amazing roasted banana bread pudding, the entire meal was delicious. Portion size was perfect, and the service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious and worth every penny (dollar) ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious and worth every penny (dollar).

Waiter was friendly buy not obtrusive.

Ordered a bottle of wine that was one of the ones from the tasting menu. It was one of the lowest priced wines and was very good,

Will return when i am next on SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Anzu, especially to entertain. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love Anzu, especially to entertain. Whether it is the bar or the restaurant. The staff is very attentive and the Asian inspired California cuisine is great.

I dined this night at the bar with my guest. We enjoyed the hamachi crudo and scallop yaki appetizer and a couple of the fish main dishes.

It was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A very wonderful dining experience. I w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A very wonderful dining experience. I would strongly recommond this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Inside hotel Nikko. Upstairs. Greeted wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Inside hotel Nikko. Upstairs. Greeted with smiles and everyone who worked there was helpful. Food was good and refreshing. Great presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the set menu with wine ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the set menu with wine pairings. Great meal with friendly service; I would recommend it to friends making the trip to SF in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Special evening!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was a special evening for a once-a year get together with dear friends. The servers were wonderful!!! They made the evening very enjoyable. Food portions on the small side. roasted beet salad was tiny. Duck was tough. Still had a very nice time.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious and unique.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was delicious and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Skip it.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very disappointed with the raw oysters on half shell - they were served with shredded vegetables between the oyster and shell - who does that?! The crispy duck breast was tough and lacked any kind of flavor - just tasted rubbery and bland.

The uni and scallop-yaki were ok, but in general I would skip this restaurant altogether. There are too many fabulous places in SF to waste a meal on this hotel restaurant/bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Loved it! Great food and ambiance ! I'd ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved it! Great food and ambiance !

I'd come back in a heart beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully adorned with lights, greenery, water, large bar. Menu was very eclectic. Sushi was very good , but definitely not unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was a bit slow. The manager and others were aware of it and made every effort to compensate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.