About ANZU

222 Mason St.
San Francisco, CA 94102
View Larger Map

The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU, located on the second level of Hotel Nikko, is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, sustainable California cuisine is enhanced with Asian flavors, creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture that patrons from all over the world appreciate. ANZU is renowned for an epicurean ingenuity that is truly captivating – no small feat in San Francisco.

Our full bar, with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. Come see what happens when contemporary tastes have a Zen breakthrough. Experience ANZU.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Steak, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Saturday : 11:30am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Sunday: Brunch (a la carte menu & Breakfast Buffet): 10:30am - 1:00pm; sushi bar: Tuesday - Saturday 5:30pm-10pm; Daily Happy Hour 4:30pm - 7:00pm

Cross Street:
O'Farrell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 394-1100

Website:
http://www.restaurantanzu.com/

Entertainment:
"Feinstein's at the Nikko" nightclub is located downstairs. Visit ANZU for Pre-Theatre dinner or a post show nightcap. ANZU caters the cuisine served in Feinstein's at the Nikko. Both venues may be reserved for private events.

Catering:
Let the exceptional California cuisine with Asian highlights set the stage for your own special event at ANZU, where private dining has received public acclaim. Whether you seek a private room for up to 20 guests or wish to reserve the entire restaurant, ANZU will lift your spirits and exceed your expectations.

Parking Details:
Two hours complimentary valet parking validation for dinner on Thursday -Saturday. All other dining times receive half off valet parking for up to two hours (First 2 hours are $5 per hour and after 2 hours parking is the regular price of $10 per hour)

Public Transit:
The hotel is located on the corner of O'Farrell and Mason Streets. Two short walking blocks from the Powell Street BART station.

Executive Chef:
Michael Raub

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We encourage special events! Some events are hosted by the hotel and some of our clients choose to host private events. For more information about events in Restaurant ANZU and in Feinstein's Nightclub contact Marcia Striffeler at mstriffeler@hotelnikkosf.com, or 415.394.1146

Restaurant Photos

38 North Duck Breast
Titus Roll
Uni
Wagyu Beef
Grilled Beef Onglet Steak, Infused Peppercorn Sauce, Fries
Ahi Tuna Spring Roll
Firecracker Roll
Chocolate Mousse & Cannoli
Hamachi Crudo
Raining Purple Sake
Eggs Benedict
Anzu Roll
Albacore Delight Roll
Fried Calamari
The Rock
Petite Iceberg Wedges
Black Cod With Ginger Dashi
Cherry Blossom Roll
Snow Mountain Roll
Dutch Donkey
Albacore Delight Roll And Cherry Blossom Roll
Anzu Manhattan
Raspberry Press Cocktail
Dungeness Crab Dome
Rum Soaked Raisin Bread Pudding
Prime Beef Tartare
Anzu Roll And Kingdom Roll
Salmon With Spicy Creamed Spinich
For The Healthy
Green Tea Gelato
Smoked salmon
Sakeno Shioyaki
Cornbread
Smoked Trout
Kamaboko
Tea
Chicken And Pork Sau
Cheese
Salted Salmon
Prime Rib-eye Steak
Oysters and Pearls
Grasshopper
Vine Ripe Tomato Hand Pulled Burrata
Truffle Mac And Cheese With Crispy Pancetta
Wagyu Slider
Honey Roasted Sonoma Duck Breast
Anzu Roll And California Roll
Kobe Beef Sliders
Chocolate Fondue
Flatiron Steak With Blue Cheese Butter

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Mon - Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Sat 11:30AM - 1:00PM 5:30PM - 8:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Anzu Restaurant & Bar sets the stage for your special event, whether a dinner for 20 close friends in our private room, a celebration for 150 guests using the entire restaurant, or something magical in between.

ANZU Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Union Square ›

fit for foodies (39)
special occasion (38)
romantic (31)
See All
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
notable wine list (11)
great for lunch (11)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (6)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice atmosphere, we were seated right aw ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Nice atmosphere, we were seated right away. Server was very courteous and knowledgeable.

The food was well prepared and well plated.

We are welcome to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The sushi was not very fresh. The soup ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined 6 days ago

The sushi was not very fresh. The soup was good but a small portion for $8. Wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

There was not a good variety of food for ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

There was not a good variety of food for lunch. The food we are was very bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Elegant venue and excellent service....I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Elegant venue and excellent service....I would go back time after time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The cocktail lounge was very good! We ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The cocktail lounge was very good! We arrived early (before restaurant opened) and had two drinks. Service was great! Ambiance was wonderful!

Then we went to dinner. The service was slow even though the restaurant had only a handful of diners. I ordered 'Duck Breats' and they were served (in a manner I had never experienced) as

'cubes' about 3/4" to a side. Inedible! I sent it back and ordered something else. It took a long time to get the waitperson to serve us (anything).

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great atmosphere/environment; fit for da ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great atmosphere/environment; fit for date nights with your significant other; low noise level that is fit for meaningful conversations; delicious food however slightly pricey appetizers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice Chef's Tasting with wine pairing. T ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Nice Chef's Tasting with wine pairing. The chicken was a little dry. Would probably opt for the full menu on return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Most of the food was surprisingly good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Most of the food was surprisingly good. The wine was decent.

Suggestions by the wait staff were trustworthy.

Service was a little hard to procure, especially given they were maybe 30% full, and some utensils were either dirty or forgotten, but the staff were happy to bring new ones.

Overall, a great evening. If they brushed up a little on the service, it would be great.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The flavors were very basic but the pres ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The flavors were very basic but the presentation was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

This restaurant has become our usual pla ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This restaurant has become our usual place for brunch before a matinee at the theater. It is peaceful, quiet enough to allow for civilized conversation, and everything we have ordered has been very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy food but it ended there. Server w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Yummy food but it ended there. Server was very rude (made a comment about me putting butter on my bread!), kids everywhere at 7:30 reservation and very loud. With that said- oysters, duck and cod were amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value4

Very professional and courteous wait sta ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very professional and courteous wait staff. The business was well kept and maintained. Our waiter and all the other individuals who waited on our table were very professional and contributed greatly to the quality of the restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

From the Salmon Cha Cha Cha rolls to the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

From the Salmon Cha Cha Cha rolls to the Misoyaki Black Cod and Seared Pork Loin special, to the amazing roasted banana bread pudding, the entire meal was delicious. Portion size was perfect, and the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious and worth every penny (dollar) ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Delicious and worth every penny (dollar).

Waiter was friendly buy not obtrusive.

Ordered a bottle of wine that was one of the ones from the tasting menu. It was one of the lowest priced wines and was very good,

Will return when i am next on SF

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Anzu, especially to entertain. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love Anzu, especially to entertain. Whether it is the bar or the restaurant. The staff is very attentive and the Asian inspired California cuisine is great.

I dined this night at the bar with my guest. We enjoyed the hamachi crudo and scallop yaki appetizer and a couple of the fish main dishes.

It was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A very wonderful dining experience. I w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

A very wonderful dining experience. I would strongly recommond this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We really enjoyed the set menu with wine ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We really enjoyed the set menu with wine pairings. Great meal with friendly service; I would recommend it to friends making the trip to SF in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Special evening!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was a special evening for a once-a year get together with dear friends. The servers were wonderful!!! They made the evening very enjoyable. Food portions on the small side. roasted beet salad was tiny. Duck was tough. Still had a very nice time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious and unique.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was delicious and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Skip it.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very disappointed with the raw oysters on half shell - they were served with shredded vegetables between the oyster and shell - who does that?! The crispy duck breast was tough and lacked any kind of flavor - just tasted rubbery and bland.

The uni and scallop-yaki were ok, but in general I would skip this restaurant altogether. There are too many fabulous places in SF to waste a meal on this hotel restaurant/bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Loved it! Great food and ambiance ! I'd ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved it! Great food and ambiance !

I'd come back in a heart beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great restaurant in a hotel. Beautifully adorned with lights, greenery, water, large bar. Menu was very eclectic. Sushi was very good , but definitely not unique.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The service was a bit slow. The manager and others were aware of it and made every effort to compensate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Had dinner Friday evening. The hostess ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Had dinner Friday evening. The hostess was very friendly and promptly seated us. Our waiter was helpful and went over all the specials. Overall service was that of a 4 star restaurant. The problem is the food portions My wife ordered the black cod. The portion size was under 5oz Almost the size for appetizer not a main course entry . I had the 15 piece sashimi This was a major disappointment Extra thin slices of tuna and salmon. The octopus was about the size of my thumb nail. Taste of all the food was good but not for the prices. The manager came over and did comp one of the meals which was very fair. If the fish portions were larger and the sashimi was cut better this would be a 4 star restaurant without any questions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Tucked away in a hotel. Was pretty nice

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Tucked away in a hotel. Was pretty nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a breakfast buffet, which was a n ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a breakfast buffet, which was a nice combination od Asian and European/American. Good food.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great service and the food was fantastic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Great service and the food was fantastic,

Thank you for a great experience👍😋.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We enjoyed our experience so much at Anzu, we ate there all three days that we spent at the Hotel Nikko. The service is great, but the sushi is amazing. The entrees were equally good. The chefs are creative and work with the freshest of ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good asian fuson

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Quiet and comfortable dining in a Hotel dining room. Food selection interesting, good; but expensive for what you got. The Rock, wagu beef grilled at your table on a hot stone, is a perfect starter -- a couple of ounces of prime beef for $20 and enough to share for two. Limited entre selection, small portions very well prepared. Looking for a more authentic Japanese meal -- this is probably not the spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful place good food as usual.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Beautiful place good food as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not the same

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We had the lunch specials and noticed that the portions were much smaller and flavors less vibrant than the past 2 visits. They are still interesting combinations, and waiter accommodated a food allergy by substituting the soup.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

They were particularly open and helpful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

They were particularly open and helpful in discussing and accomodating special dietary requirements.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was full of smoke

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

They had a special dish which used hot stone to cook beef. It happens to be a few table ordered the same dish and make the entire restaurant very smelly and full of smoke. I would think for the ones who ordered the dish they love it. However, for the people like me did not order it will find it annoying because going to a nice restaurant for dinner ended up become very smelly, it's as if I went to a Korean BBQ restaurant or something. I think if they want to continue to serve this dish, they should consider upgrade their ventilation so the smoke and smell will not pass around. The Oyster was excellent. Sushi was ok. Entrée was good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicioso and Pretty food! Loved it!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Delicioso and Pretty food! Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was superb

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Everything was superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first experience at Anzu. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

It was our first experience at Anzu. We ordered cocktails to start which were very tasty and not watered down. The two kinds of bread were freshly baked. We both ordered a meat dish dinner. They were cooked to perfection and the presentation was impressive. The dessert was the best when it comes with its own fog...how cool was that! We will return when we visit the city again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bad form

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great meal was ruined by manager asking us to move to the bar before our meal was over due to a party of eight arriving early. Bad form. We were not done. Ruined the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Grilled asparagus and scallop yaki were ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Grilled asparagus and scallop yaki were excellent starters. The mains were solid, but dessert was the star. The creamsicle parfait was bright and creamy, and was generally a well rounded dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food & Great Service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very knowledgeable waitstaff! Small but interesting and delicious menu. Food was beautifully presented. Great wine and sake menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing! Wait staff was excelle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was amazing! Wait staff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.