About Antlers Lodge

Crowned by its namesake, an impressive chandelier created from 500 sets of naturally shed antlers, Antlers Lodge offers a menu filled with innovative twists on traditional Texas fare. Whether you prefer prime cuts, fish, or game, you'll discover a fresh and savory culinary selection. Proud to offer locally harvested ingredients and regional specialties, our menu changes seasonally.

Antlers Lodge is located next to the Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club Pro Shop on the south end of the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. If driving, take the first available right after passing the security check point, and follow the path leading to the Hill Country Golf Club. Parking is complimentary.

9800 Hyatt Resort Drive
San Antonio, TX 78251
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:30 to 10PM
Closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Rogers Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 520-4001

Website:
http://www.hillcountry.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/AntlersLodge.html?src=prop_sanhc_hr_nplk_opentable_antlers_oct2014

Parking Details:
Convenient and complimentary parking located at the south end of the resort by the golf course.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to host your next private party or special event. For parties of 15 or larger, please call (210) 520-4001 for reservations and special menu options.

Private Dining

Surrounded by french windows, overlooking our award-winning golf course and the beautiful Texas Hill Country, our intimate and private Kerrville dining room provides the perfect setting for your next celebration, special event, or business meeting.

Antlers Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Fireplace (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Cozy (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
367 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

4th time here and I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The lighting was dim, perfect for a relaxed/romantic feel. Amazing service and the food tasted exquisite! I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

food was amazing. service was not the level I expected for the price of the food. took awhile to be greated by server. table had bread plates and butter knives but didn't get any bread so would have been nice if server removed plates to make more room if we were not going to be receiving bread. restaurant was very loud while we were there with a large group that was enjoying what looked to be too much wine.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Asked for table close to fireplace and they stated all were reserved. They must not turn tables. We were less than hour and no table was ever seated by the fireplace.
Steak was over cooked and over priced. Prob won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Portions Huge on Appetizers.
Service scrambled

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went for a nice steak dinner. The steaks were great but said in came with fingerling potatoes and asparagus. Did not order a side. Each plate had one small fingerling potato cut in half and 2 skinny asparagus. Would have ordered a side to share if we knew this is all that came with the steak. Our waitress was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great service, it's always nice to be remembered. The staff greats me by name and recalls my favorites!!

Server had a large group and my service never suffered, the server team steps up and works together. Great job.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Enjoyed the evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 24, 2017

everything was fantastic. waiter Adam great.
wouldn't change a thing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Reception was friendly and welcoming. The lighting was a bit dark (had trouble reading menu) and the noise was a bit high (had trouble hearing my wife) but service was great and accommodating. Food was absolutely delectable - so many flavors in the dishes! We were dissappointed though that the chef didn't speak with us this time. Anyway, well worth the visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great as usual. Noise level off the hook due to an annoying gal at a nearby table. Manager did address but after the guest had upset several of us. Service, food, etc great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had the Valentine's special and I just wasn't impressed. Nothing creative on the menu. Steak and asparagus.... The 2 dessert options were a chocolate bowl (yawn) and a strawberry pistachio cake that had the flavor of neither and the texture of tres leche. The offerings were just not great at all. The service however was fantastic and they really went out of their way to accommodate us and ensure we enjoyed our evening. Perhaps the traditional menu is better.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Special Valentine's Day menu was very good. Food was very good but impossible to eat everything served. The cauliflower soup was the best I have ever eaten. The atmosphere is unique and moderately quiet

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The occasion was a special dinner on Valentine's day. When we entered the restaurant, we were greeted by an extremely friendly and cordial person and promptly taken to our table. The wait person was very professional, always available and attentive to our every need. The food was exquisite in every way.....we could not have asked for more. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing experience. Food was awesome and our server was the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A very pleasant evening with excellent steak and elk. Service was outstanding, but dining early with not many other guests present caused the entrees to arrive almost too quickly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

i'm not usually a fan of hotel restaurants, but Antler's Lodge is an exception. Great to see Eli is still working as a waiter here. He is such a humble waiter and willing to make suggestions as you need, never upselling his guests. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and they even had a card signed by the staff when we arrived.
I enjoyed the house salad, which was a generous portion and full of fresh greens, cranberries, candied pecans, and root vegetables. For my entree I had to go for the huge tomahawk pork chop. It was paired with sautéed greens and fingerling potatoes. The pork chop, cooked medium rare was excellent.
They brought the birthday girl a chocolate torte that was dense and decadent. Antler's Lodge is definitely a great place for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there for New Year's Eve. Because of the new year, there was a four course dinner for $125 per person. The food was definitely not worth that price. My husband's soup was cold and the fish was burned. The filet was mediocre.

The best part of the whole experience was the jazz band that was hired to play. The band's music was wonderful and made the whole experience tolerable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was New Year's Eve gathering. Just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Went as a couple for Christmas dinner -- overall quite pleasant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I originally wanted to have dinner there at 8 pm (two young kids were included in my party). Somehow, my reservation was changed to 27!!! Despite the fact my only registered change concerned was from 7 to 8 guests. Fortunately, I got a reminder this morning showing the mistake and allowing me to make a new reservation that ended up allowing us to dine at 9:30 pm with one kid sleepining when we get there and the other falling asleep before eating his chosen dish. So much for a Christmas Eve's dinner! Surprising for such a wonderful restaurant, which I visit quite frequently.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been coming to the Antlers for the past 19 years. In fact, it was the place where my wife and I became engaged. Over time, their exceptional service, outstanding food, with incredible ambiance, has brought us back each year to commemorate the beginning of us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 15, 2016

My favorite! The service cannot be beat. We celebrated our anniversary last August and my birthday this week. Adam took care of us both times. He attention to detail was great. We shared a steak and an extra plate was provided when the meal was served. Usually for a special occasion a dessert is provided at no charge. We did not want dessert and Adam reduced the meal by 10%. Not expected, but greatly appreciated. We highly recommend Antlers for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner at Antler. Food was terrific and Adam did a great job taking care of us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

While staying at the Hyatt Hill Country Resort we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. We chose Antler's Lodge for dinner on Saturday evening and it was the perfect choice. I enjoyed the elk and my wife the filet. The ambience was fantastic and we didn't feel rushed, under serviced or over serviced. our drinks and meals arrived quickly, our server was very friendly and she helped my wife navigate her gluten-free needs with ease. When we mention sit was our 10th anniversary our server comped both of our desserts! Quality establishment all around. We would go back if we weren't from out of town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I was staying at the hotel for a convention. I took a chance at booking our business dinner there. All six of us were very pleased with the resauraunt. The food is great. Try the pork chop. It was fantastic.
The raking on the service was low because the hostess took about 10 minutes to acknowledge me at the door. Once we were seated, the table service was quite good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

In NW San Antonio's Hyatt Hill Country Resort & Spa, Antlers' is the fine dining option amongst beautiful grounds and where a quiet dinner with excellent service was our experience. We had made reservations for 7:30, but arrived 6:45 to see if we might be seated earlier; however were told maybe we could be accommodated in 20-25 minutes. We opted to go to the bar several steps away for martinis and catch sup on ome sports on the multiple TV's there. The barkeep donning a Ohio State jersey was personable and made us classic martinis, exactly what we had in mind. Peanuts in the shell handy.

We sauntered back to the restaurant and were seated at a table for two in an open room with the kitchen service open to which we'd view the occasional flaming sear. Center in the room's ceiling hangs a massive chandelier adorned with antlers; hence the restaurant's name. Service was excellent. Our waitperson Rachel was attentive but not hovering. The wines available had a very good mix. We opted for wines by the glass with nice house Viognier [unusual to find a house viognier, but this was excellent] and Pinot Noir. Water service was prompt. Breads and honeyed butter welcomed us as we made our decisions. First courses we'd selected were the warm beet salad which my partner enjoyed. The chicken fried oysters were well prepared, spicy with Calabria peppers and an oniony Jicama slaw. Main courses we'd opted for the Texas quail and the Ribeye Cap. both perfectly prepared and portion sizes not overwhelming for these sexagenerians. The quail was half the bird on grits - very Texas. The ribeye cap was medium-medium rare sumptious and satisfying, accompanied bygrilled asparagus spears and fingerling potatoes. Eyeing our neighbors' desserts, we chose to finish with simple bowls of vanilla ice cream to end a very satisfying dining experience.

The room was warm and not noisy allowing quiet conversation. Service never felt hurried. Would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Corpus Christi)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Had a wonderful time. Our waiter lacked a sense of humor. We had a big group and he was very straight faced. Not bad but we were all having a good time.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent ambiance. Our young server was friendly and enthusiastic. Our two appetizers (antelope carpaccio and chicken fried oysters) were delicious. We were a little disappointed in our entrees (short ribs and cornmeal encrusted trout). They were rather dry and needed some sauce or, in the case of the trout, perhaps tartar sauce. The wine list was impressive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is my 3rd time to dine here, so I had high expectations. Sadly, the experience fell short of the mark. The appetizers were great, but the butternut soup was too salty for me. When we got our filets, they had essentially been over-seared to the point of being burned. We didn't want to make a fuss so we cut off those parts and the inside was fine. Dessert was excellent. However, I feel that the meal overall was so-so and do not feel it merited the price we paid for it. We will come back, though, with the hope that this was an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It's a beautiful room, but why not decorate for fall! Where are the fall decor and pumpkins? My guest ordered the chicken. It was nothing like it was described to us by the waitress, but he didn't complain because it was good and we were hungry. I ordered the short rib, which was delicious. The fries were boring, the coleslaw was way over salted and weird. The ambiance was really nice. All the wait staff at the restaurant were delightful.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very good food and service. Elk steak is outstanding as was the beet salad. Dessert was the only disappointment - apricot cake was dried out and unappetizing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Even though our steaks were too rare and were sent back twice, the chef came out to apologize to us. Our server, Adam, was very attentive and made sure we were happy with the final attempt. The food was outstanding so well worth the wait.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Loved it so much, I went 3 out of 5 nights while at hotel for dinner. Food was amazing for taste and presentation. Definitely would go back again.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very good food, great service, accomodating-we ewre a large group and everything was perfect

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Awesome dinner with clients. Elk tenderloin enjoyed by all.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fantastic, unique food as well as excellent service! The value for the price was very good as well. We had our toddler and infant with us as well and we didn't feel out of place. Wonderful restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We have dined here several times as a family, on trips to the Hill Country. Food is always outstanding. Wait staff was very friendly and courteous. However, service was slow between salad and main course. No comments were made as to time elapsed, and tables had turned over near us. It was not clear where the issue existed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was moderately good, although we had to send the chicken fried oysters because of a bad fishy taste. We were not charged for the oysters, and received a free bananas foster desert to make up for them. They were out of all the bone-in steaks, which was my first choice, so I tried a redfish instead which was decent, but not out of the park. Overall, it is relatively expensive for food that isn't fantastic in my opinion, but it has a captive audience within the Hyatt resort, so I guess it doesn't have to be. Service was substandard at first, went 20 minutes without anyone coming by when we needed new drinks. After I pointed it out to them, they fawned over us, so don't be afraid to speak up if they don't see you. They use a system where there appears to be multiple waiters, a little annoying if they don't make it work right. Anyways, this review is too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Really enjoyed our meal at Antlers Lodge! Food was great and service was also excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.