About Antlers Lodge

9800 Hyatt Resort Drive
San Antonio, TX 78251
View Larger Map

Crowned by its namesake, an impressive chandelier created from 500 sets of naturally shed antlers, Antlers Lodge offers a menu filled with innovative twists on traditional Texas fare. Whether you prefer prime cuts, fish, or game, you'll discover a fresh and savory culinary selection. Proud to offer locally harvested ingredients and regional specialties, our menu changes seasonally.

Antlers Lodge is located next to the Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club Pro Shop on the south end of the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. If driving, take the first available right after passing the security check point, and follow the path leading to the Hill Country Golf Club. Parking is complimentary.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:30 to 10PM
Closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Rogers Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 520-4001

Website:
http://www.hillcountry.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/AntlersLodge.html?src=prop_sanhc_hr_nplk_opentable_antlers_oct2014

Parking Details:
Convenient and complimentary parking located at the south end of the resort by the golf course.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to host your next private party or special event. For parties of 15 or larger, please call (210) 520-4001 for reservations and special menu options.

Private Dining

Surrounded by french windows, overlooking our award-winning golf course and the beautiful Texas Hill Country, our intimate and private Kerrville dining room provides the perfect setting for your next celebration, special event, or business meeting.

Antlers Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
3 More
Notable Wine List
San Antonio
Romantic
San Antonio
Scenic View
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

special occasion (21)
romantic (14)
notable wine list (10)
See All
scenic view (9)
fit for foodies (9)
good for groups (8)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
hot spot (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant had a very nice, romantic, an ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant had a very nice, romantic, and quiet atmosphere. We enjoyed the food , Our selections were delicious. And the waiter was attentive! We will definitely return !

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting for romantic dinner. Recom ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great setting for romantic dinner. Recommend later dinner after kids leave and noise die down

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

great meal and service. will return wean ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

great meal and service. will return wean next at Hyatt HC

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A filet was ordered and the steak was ra ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A filet was ordered and the steak was rare as order but both the top and bottom where chard. Very disappointing for a restaurant I remember being amazing as a kid. Will not be coming back and will not recommend and will tell others about the disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was very good, and we had a gre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food was very good, and we had a great server, but compared to other places we have been (the JW Marriott, the Driscoll in Austin) the Antler Lodge wasn't at the same level. It may have just been circumstances as there was a large group (over 20 people) dining at the same time, so the staff was at a disadvantage. We were looking for a private and romantic experience (it was our 37th Wedding anniversary), and the circumstances detracted from our expectations.

It's important to understand this is not a criticism of our server or the chef, they did the absolute best they could, but the experience wasn't what I'd hoped for for this occasion.

Nonetheless, we had a very good dinner and enjoyed ourselves, and were very grateful to the server for taking photos for us. In fact, I'd appreciate it if you'd give her our regards and appreciation, just let her know we were the ones who gave her "flashing" pens.

Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of San Antonio's hidden gems. The st ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

One of San Antonio's hidden gems. The staff are on top of their game. Chef greeted patrons as their main course was served. We dine here whenever we are near this restaurant. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very attentive. Foods was pr ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Service was very attentive. Foods was prepared well. Chef made sure all was well.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for dinner. The food is good ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great place for dinner. The food is good, albeit a little overpriced for what you get. At the end of the day you're paying for the convenience of not having to leave the hotel so it's probably worth it(especially when you've managed to snag a front row parking spot and don't want to lose it).

They seem to be fairly kid-friendly and promptly replaced my kids' wine glasses with plastic cups for water. Apparently they know how well children and glass go together. There were also a couple other families having dinner there so we weren't the only ones with kids in tow.

Our waiter was attentive, answered any questions we had about the menu, and treated our children as if they were small adults(some times they almost act human).

The food was hot and tasty. The two most notable dishes were my son's fish and my daughter's choice of Mac and cheese. The fish was wonderfully seared with a great crust and moist, flaky interior. The mac and cheese was great but you'd better bring an appetite because it's a gigantic bowl of mac and cheese. Both kids shared some, my wife and I both had several bites and there was still plenty leftover. We also tried the soup of the day, tomatillo I believe, and it was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family vacation to Hyatt Hill Country / ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Family vacation to Hyatt Hill Country / Wild Oak Ranch should always include Antler's Lodge. Great place, great environment, kid friendly while still enjoying a classy dining experience. Food is always good when we visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was very good and prepared nice ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food was very good and prepared nicely. The elk was done perfectly (medium rare) but the portion was quite small for the $$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Long dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was excellent but the meal took way too long. We waited an eternity between the soup/salad course and getting our entrees. Almost to the point we were too tired to eat. Faster delivery of the entrees would have made for a much more enjoyable evening.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good, but not great

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I had to return my steak because it was warm - that will happen on occasion - but all they did was pan saute the steak to warm it but that rendered a steak from medium to medium well. I should have returned it a second time, but I was at dinner with a friend and didn't want to make a big issue. The service was excellent, but I was surprised since this was on a Hyatt property, a manager didn't come by to apologize. I would go again,but I would complain again if faced with the same issue.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Perfect celebration after a spa & golf d ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Perfect celebration after a spa & golf day at Hyatt Hill Country ... Service and food 👍🏻👍🏻

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They feature wild game

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The elk was a little gamey though and under seasoned. I've had elk in other restaurants that was fabulous, this was average at best and for the price it should have been the same.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Fabulous restaurant with a wonderful wai ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous restaurant with a wonderful wait staff. Everything was cooked to perfection. Could not have asked for a better experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed the diversified cuisine of Chef Armondo Diaz. The flavors and spices used on his dishes made the best meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy! Food was amazing -- will defiantl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Yummy! Food was amazing -- will defiantly return! Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Texas Country Club meets steakhouse in SA

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Can't complain about a thing here. Great steaks, game, and sides. I normally get fish in a place like that, but they only had scallops. So I chose a filet mignon (poblano & tomatillo soup to start) and my companion chose the bison tenderloin and quail to start; we split a side of smoked cheddar mashed potatoes. All were thoroughly enjoyable as was the nice cabernet they recommended. The service was pleasant, never obtrusive, on point with solid recommendations, and there when you needed them. We really enjoyed our Saturday night here. If you're there early enough for sunset, the view of the Hill Country at sunset is quite nice as well. Due to price point, you'll get an upscale clientele but the drinks are flowing so it can get a little rowdy...not too bad.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Top notch!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Antelope carpaccio was fantastic, steaks cooked to perfection. Party of 12, got us in last minute!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could have been so much more...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

My mistake for thinking that a high price would equate to great food and an upscale dining experience. I think that my $180 meal for two was to pay for the opportunity to eat at the Hyatt. Steak was under cooked and tasted gamey (asked for medium and received rare). Cheddar mashed potatoes were runny. Cedar salad had an overpowering anchovy taste, sent it back. The desert (chocolate cake with sauce and ice cream) was on par with Applebees. It was also loud in the restaurant, I had to strain to hear my wife from the noise from the open kitchen and other patrons conversing. Only saving grace was our waitress Marcy, she was professional and accommodating. Lesson learned and hopefully this was just an off night for the antler but at these prices every dining experience should be close to perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great food, great service

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Cozy ambiance with very good menu choices and very friendly and professional staff

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love this place!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here this past weekend and had an amazing dinner. We started with the chicken fried oysters which were awesome! We split a beat salad- so yummy! I had the filet and my hubby had the elk filet. Both were prepared perfectly! We had the boar mac & cheese and Brussels sprouts for sides. You won't be disappointed with either! Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Perfect food in a perfect setting. We always go for the excellent ambiance and comfort. They specialize in game food and it's always prepared to the highest standards. The restaurant is elegant and cozy at the same time with superior service that's not hovering. The whole experience leaves you feeling pampered and happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is so ridiculously tasty! Brin ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food is so ridiculously tasty! Bring a large appetite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant works with very lodge typ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

The restaurant works with very lodge typical fare...elk, boar, river fish, etc. Makes for an interesting menu. Would like to see more than one meatless dish on the menu, but the food we had was wonderfully prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

They aim to please!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Very accommodating service,Moreau food and classy ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and service. A great special occasion destination. The special for 2 was amazing.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's 2016

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have dined at the Antler Lodge the two previous Valentine's days and loved it so this year we decided to invite my wife's sisters and their husbands. My wife and I felt terrible that we invited them to an expensive meal and the food was completely sub par. In particular, the red snapper was completely terrible. Three people ordered it at our table and none of us could eat more than about two bites of it. The funny thing is that we grew up on fish. We are all from the same small town on the TX coast and have literally had fish and shrimp just about anyway you can cook it. What we had Saturday night was aweful. Hopefully this was just a fluke, because like I said before we hav loved it previous years.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was perfect and the service as ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was perfect and the service as well. The business men around us were noisy, however. Don't understand why the staff crowded us all together like they did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant week

 
 (New England)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We took advantage of restaurant week to try Antlers Lodge, which we knew was beautiful inside. The room was gorgeous, with impressive antler chandeliers.

It was not only great value but very good. The crispy duck pot stickers were wonderful, my red snapper green curry was delicious, and my husband's short ribs were good and meaty and not too soft. Dessert was deep-fried banana spring rolls, and how can you beat that? Our server, Marcy, was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Pleasant atmosphere, excellent aged ribeye and sides, as well as service. Definitely a 5 star restaurant. Catered to my gluten-free needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, intimate atmosphere

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Antler's Lodge is the fine dining option at the Hyatt Hill Country Resort. Living up to the overall quality of the resort, the restaurant is a truly special restaurant featuring a very good selection of wild game along with the standards. For my appetizer course, I had a salad with one of the finest prepared quails I have ever tasted. The chicken entree was prepared so expertly that the skin was more like a crisp duck skin than chicken. Overall, an excellent dining experience and one of my favorite parts of visiting San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

Oysters were too chewy and potatoes Luke warm. Asked for Draft beer and waiter appeared like it was a bother to get it from the Bar. Ambience was very good.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

A real Texas feel!

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Gorgeous Chandelier made of Antlers. Wow! Fare is distinctly Texan, beautifully prepared and presented. Only reason this is not a 5 star rating is because my mixed drink was weak. No other complaints. I'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ok, but left a lot to be desired.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

We went for Thanksgiving Dinner at 7:15 p..m. We had made reservations for 7 people about 3 weeks in advance. Though the dining room had empty tables we were seated in an adjacent dining room at folding tables - nicely dressed, but still - and nice hotel chairs but not main dining room furnishings. The main dining room is lovely.

The food was served family style on small serving dishes with two meats pre-sliced into small pieces squeezed onto the same plate. The sweet potatoes and stuffing were similarly crammed into the same bowl for what reason I cannot imagine. There was one decent sized bowl of roasted vegetables but that was it. They were not replenished.

Desserts were extremely disappointing - small squares and rounds of dessert type things but not real pieces of pie or cake. We paid a $715 tab, no wine. We were underwhelmed.

Food tasted just ok, not special. They can't claim being slammed since it was reservations only. I don't think I'd go back.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Just Misses 5 Stars

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

A Thanksgiving meal to remember. Outstanding selection of food served. But, too much. I

hate to waste ,especially, when it is so outstanding. They should modify the quantity. As for the service. Not so good. Waitress was very delightful but, unable to keep up with the tables she had. They seriously need a proper level of bus service to remove the problem from the wait staff. Again, though, a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Thanksgiving Dinner At Antlers Lodge

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Beautiful setting, dining room elegant, Marcy, our server, was very courteous and attentive. Dinner served family style and quality of food was excellent, although we found the portions extremely small, not what we expected for Thanksgiving.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a wonderful filet and my wife had ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

I had a wonderful filet and my wife had the elk. She loved it! Nice ambiance, excellent service, and delicious food. Will definitely come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date Night

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

My wife and I reserved a table at Antler's Lodge for a special occasion date night. We were seated at a table directly in front of the fire place and were incredibly pleased with the ambiance and romantic atmosphere. However, we both ordered steaks and were very disappointed in the lack of flavor and in the quality of the dish for the price.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Anniversary Weekend Highlight - Antlers

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 8, 2015

We spent our anniversary at Hyatt Hill Country resort, and our dinner was special. The food was great, we enjoyed Antelope Carpaccio as an appetizer which was really good. And then shared a rib-eye, and we loved it. Service was great, loads of wine options both by the glass and bottle (with a nice range of prices), and a nice quiet spot to get away. Highly recommended

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.