About Antlers Lodge

9800 Hyatt Resort Drive
San Antonio, TX 78251
View Larger Map

Crowned by its namesake, an impressive chandelier created from 500 sets of naturally shed antlers, Antlers Lodge offers a menu filled with innovative twists on traditional Texas fare. Whether you prefer prime cuts, fish, or game, you'll discover a fresh and savory culinary selection. Proud to offer locally harvested ingredients and regional specialties, our menu changes seasonally.

Antlers Lodge is located next to the Hyatt Hill Country Golf Club Pro Shop on the south end of the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa. If driving, take the first available right after passing the security check point, and follow the path leading to the Hill Country Golf Club. Parking is complimentary.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Saturday 5:30 to 10PM
Closed Sunday and Monday

Cross Street:
Rogers Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 520-4001

Website:
http://www.hillcountry.hyatt.com/en/hotel/dining/AntlersLodge.html?src=prop_sanhc_hr_nplk_opentable_antlers_oct2014

Parking Details:
Convenient and complimentary parking located at the south end of the resort by the golf course.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We would love to host your next private party or special event. For parties of 15 or larger, please call (210) 520-4001 for reservations and special menu options.

Private Dining

Surrounded by french windows, overlooking our award-winning golf course and the beautiful Texas Hill Country, our intimate and private Kerrville dining room provides the perfect setting for your next celebration, special event, or business meeting.

Antlers Lodge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Antonio
Steak
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in North San Antonio ›

special occasion (15)
romantic (10)
good for groups (9)
See All
scenic view (8)
fit for foodies (7)
notable wine list (7)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

They feature wild game

Dined on May 14, 2016

The elk was a little gamey though and under seasoned. I've had elk in other restaurants that was fabulous, this was average at best and for the price it should have been the same.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous restaurant with a wonderful wai ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fabulous restaurant with a wonderful wait staff. Everything was cooked to perfection. Could not have asked for a better experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome Experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

We enjoyed the diversified cuisine of Chef Armondo Diaz. The flavors and spices used on his dishes made the best meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Texas Country Club meets steakhouse in SA

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Can't complain about a thing here. Great steaks, game, and sides. I normally get fish in a place like that, but they only had scallops. So I chose a filet mignon (poblano & tomatillo soup to start) and my companion chose the bison tenderloin and quail to start; we split a side of smoked cheddar mashed potatoes. All were thoroughly enjoyable as was the nice cabernet they recommended. The service was pleasant, never obtrusive, on point with solid recommendations, and there when you needed them. We really enjoyed our Saturday night here. If you're there early enough for sunset, the view of the Hill Country at sunset is quite nice as well. Due to price point, you'll get an upscale clientele but the drinks are flowing so it can get a little rowdy...not too bad.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Antelope carpaccio was fantastic, steaks cooked to perfection. Party of 12, got us in last minute!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Could have been so much more...

Dined on April 18, 2016

My mistake for thinking that a high price would equate to great food and an upscale dining experience. I think that my $180 meal for two was to pay for the opportunity to eat at the Hyatt. Steak was under cooked and tasted gamey (asked for medium and received rare). Cheddar mashed potatoes were runny. Cedar salad had an overpowering anchovy taste, sent it back. The desert (chocolate cake with sauce and ice cream) was on par with Applebees. It was also loud in the restaurant, I had to strain to hear my wife from the noise from the open kitchen and other patrons conversing. Only saving grace was our waitress Marcy, she was professional and accommodating. Lesson learned and hopefully this was just an off night for the antler but at these prices every dining experience should be close to perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Cozy ambiance with very good menu choices and very friendly and professional staff

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here this past weekend and had an amazing dinner. We started with the chicken fried oysters which were awesome! We split a beat salad- so yummy! I had the filet and my hubby had the elk filet. Both were prepared perfectly! We had the boar mac & cheese and Brussels sprouts for sides. You won't be disappointed with either! Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wonderful!

Dined on March 9, 2016

Perfect food in a perfect setting. We always go for the excellent ambiance and comfort. They specialize in game food and it's always prepared to the highest standards. The restaurant is elegant and cozy at the same time with superior service that's not hovering. The whole experience leaves you feeling pampered and happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is so ridiculously tasty! Brin ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food is so ridiculously tasty! Bring a large appetite!

food4
ambience4
service5

The restaurant works with very lodge typ ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

The restaurant works with very lodge typical fare...elk, boar, river fish, etc. Makes for an interesting menu. Would like to see more than one meatless dish on the menu, but the food we had was wonderfully prepared.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They aim to please!

Dined on February 17, 2016

Very accommodating service,Moreau food and classy ambiance!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food and service. A great special occasion destination. The special for 2 was amazing.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Valentine's 2016

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I have dined at the Antler Lodge the two previous Valentine's days and loved it so this year we decided to invite my wife's sisters and their husbands. My wife and I felt terrible that we invited them to an expensive meal and the food was completely sub par. In particular, the red snapper was completely terrible. Three people ordered it at our table and none of us could eat more than about two bites of it. The funny thing is that we grew up on fish. We are all from the same small town on the TX coast and have literally had fish and shrimp just about anyway you can cook it. What we had Saturday night was aweful. Hopefully this was just a fluke, because like I said before we hav loved it previous years.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was perfect and the service as ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was perfect and the service as well. The business men around us were noisy, however. Don't understand why the staff crowded us all together like they did.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

Dined on January 23, 2016

We took advantage of restaurant week to try Antlers Lodge, which we knew was beautiful inside. The room was gorgeous, with impressive antler chandeliers. It was not only great value but very good. The crispy duck pot stickers were wonderful, my red snapper green curry was delicious, and my husband's short ribs were good and meaty and not too soft. Dessert was deep-fried banana spring rolls, and how can you beat that? Our server, Marcy, was outstanding.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on January 23, 2016

Pleasant atmosphere, excellent aged ribeye and sides, as well as service. Definitely a 5 star restaurant. Catered to my gluten-free needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, intimate atmosphere

Dined on December 25, 2015

Antler's Lodge is the fine dining option at the Hyatt Hill Country Resort. Living up to the overall quality of the resort, the restaurant is a truly special restaurant featuring a very good selection of wild game along with the standards. For my appetizer course, I had a salad with one of the finest prepared quails I have ever tasted. The chicken entree was prepared so expertly that the skin was more like a crisp duck skin than chicken. Overall, an excellent dining experience and one of my favorite parts of visiting San Antonio.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food

Dined on December 25, 2015

Oysters were too chewy and potatoes Luke warm. Asked for Draft beer and waiter appeared like it was a bother to get it from the Bar. Ambience was very good.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A real Texas feel!

Dined on December 18, 2015

Gorgeous Chandelier made of Antlers. Wow! Fare is distinctly Texan, beautifully prepared and presented. Only reason this is not a 5 star rating is because my mixed drink was weak. No other complaints. I'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Ok, but left a lot to be desired.

Dined on November 27, 2015

We went for Thanksgiving Dinner at 7:15 p..m. We had made reservations for 7 people about 3 weeks in advance. Though the dining room had empty tables we were seated in an adjacent dining room at folding tables - nicely dressed, but still - and nice hotel chairs but not main dining room furnishings. The main dining room is lovely. The food was served family style on small serving dishes with two meats pre-sliced into small pieces squeezed onto the same plate. The sweet potatoes and stuffing were similarly crammed into the same bowl for what reason I cannot imagine. There was one decent sized bowl of roasted vegetables but that was it. They were not replenished. Desserts were extremely disappointing - small squares and rounds of dessert type things but not real pieces of pie or cake. We paid a $715 tab, no wine. We were underwhelmed. Food tasted just ok, not special. They can't claim being slammed since it was reservations only. I don't think I'd go back.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service2

Just Misses 5 Stars

Dined on November 26, 2015

A Thanksgiving meal to remember. Outstanding selection of food served. But, too much. I hate to waste ,especially, when it is so outstanding. They should modify the quantity. As for the service. Not so good. Waitress was very delightful but, unable to keep up with the tables she had. They seriously need a proper level of bus service to remove the problem from the wait staff. Again, though, a great meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanksgiving Dinner At Antlers Lodge

Dined on November 26, 2015

Beautiful setting, dining room elegant, Marcy, our server, was very courteous and attentive. Dinner served family style and quality of food was excellent, although we found the portions extremely small, not what we expected for Thanksgiving.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a wonderful filet and my wife had ...

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

I had a wonderful filet and my wife had the elk. She loved it! Nice ambiance, excellent service, and delicious food. Will definitely come back!

food2
ambience5
service4

Date Night

Dined on November 22, 2015

My wife and I reserved a table at Antler's Lodge for a special occasion date night. We were seated at a table directly in front of the fire place and were incredibly pleased with the ambiance and romantic atmosphere. However, we both ordered steaks and were very disappointed in the lack of flavor and in the quality of the dish for the price.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Weekend Highlight - Antlers

Dined on November 8, 2015

We spent our anniversary at Hyatt Hill Country resort, and our dinner was special. The food was great, we enjoyed Antelope Carpaccio as an appetizer which was really good. And then shared a rib-eye, and we loved it. Service was great, loads of wine options both by the glass and bottle (with a nice range of prices), and a nice quiet spot to get away. Highly recommended

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent wild game

Dined on October 25, 2015

Also very accommodating to dietary restrictions. We've been several times and never disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place to eat!!! Can't wait to ...

Dined on October 18, 2015

Wonderful place to eat!!! Can't wait to return. The food is delicious!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Adam was our server and provided excepti ...

Dined on October 10, 2015

Adam was our server and provided exceptional service to our table of 8. The food was amazing everyone in the group commented on the besteal ever.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

A great evening

Dined on October 7, 2015

A most enjoyable dining experience for my special lady and myself.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Simply Amazing

Dined on September 30, 2015

From other reviews, we expected the Antlers Lodge to be good. We had no idea -- we were blown away by the food ---- the presentation, the flavors, the menu variety. Started the evening with a Charcuterie plate - house-cured BISON PASTRAMI! Delicious. The country pate of wild boar was fantastic - surrounded by house-made pickles and local cheeses. My soup (tomatillo/poblano cream) made me want to bathe in it. My husband and I both ordered the wild game special - which was antelope tenderloin. Perfect. Chef Armando does an amazing job and the whole staff was friendly and professional. We will return to San Antonio JUST to go back to Antlers Lodge.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

GREAT FIND AT HILL COUNTRY HYATT

Dined on September 13, 2015

We escaped for the weekend following Labor Day to San Antonio. Antler Lodge is within the complex. This was a great place for a romantic dinner. Be sure to sit back and relax! There is no rush on anything here - which is a complement. The wait staff was observant enough to know when to stop by the table. We each had the El Spicy Bandito cocktail. This is a little rich, and ALOT spicy. Maybe not the best to start a meal. We shared the heirloom tomato appetizer. This was wonderful. Hub' had the bone in ribeye and I had the red snapper special. Both were cooked to perfection. We followed the meal with coffee and a chocolate skillet cake - which is plenty to share, if not almost too much. Shane, the maitre d', was very attentive and went out of his way to talk with of about the wine and food options. I'd have given it 5-stars if the dress code was enforced. I sure don't mind dressing up a little, but it was disappointing to see flip-flops and pajama pants on 1 lady at the same table with a gentleman in a printed tee-shirt.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal, large wine list and cocktail ...

Dined on August 24, 2015

Great meal, large wine list and cocktail menu. Staff was wonderful. Good view.

food4
ambience3
service3

Good Food but should have Dress Code

Dined on August 23, 2015

We had a very nice meal there and very much enjoyed the wild game of Elk and Bison and their pairings. The restaurant was a little noisy but that was OK and service was average. Pricing was a little on the high side but sitting next to someone dressed in a t-shirt and flip flops, in my opinion, should have been stopped at the door. I realize this is a resort but an upscale restaurant, such as this, should have a dress code that should have their patrons at least go back to their rooms and dress for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

vip
Dined on August 23, 2015

As always, it was an absolutely perfect evening!! The menu Chef made for restaurant week was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall great experience

Dined on August 15, 2015

Antlers lodge was wonderful. The charcuterie plate could have been a meal in itself. Service was attentive, but not pushy. Great views of the golf course.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Our vacation dinner of choice while stay ...

Dined on August 5, 2015

Our vacation dinner of choice while staying at Hill Country

food5
ambience5
service5

Shane Tiler, Chef Armando and the entire ...

Dined on July 17, 2015

Shane Tiler, Chef Armando and the entire staff were, as usual, very attentive without being intrusive. I simply love the ambiance of Antlers! The new scallop special was over the top spectacular. The entree came with four very large scallops. After I was nice enough to share with my five dinner guests I only had two left. No more sharing !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

A little expensive and out of a few items.

Dined on July 14, 2015

A little expensive and out of some items we wanted to try. Most folks at the hotel did not eat there. The items we had were well prepared and presentation was wonderful.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Elk Excellent, Dress Code Ignored

Dined on July 9, 2015

The Elk Tenderloin was outstanding, the veal chop good, not great ( a little tough). Very good dining experience, but did not like that the host ignored the published dress code and seated a group of 6 that had collarless t-shirts, sport shorts and gym shoes. This detracts from the dining experience of those that did not ignore the dress code.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.