About Anthony's Fish Grotto

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Shelter Island / San Diego Bay ›

Scenic View (173)
Special Occasion (81)
Great for Lunch (76)
See All
Good for Groups (63)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Kid-friendly (56)
Romantic (43)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Waterfront (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Casual (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Hot Spot (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Family Style (14)
Historic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (8)
People Watching (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great Beer (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Healthy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was really tough to find a place to p ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

It was really tough to find a place to park for dinner, but they had some great specials for restaurant week and it was worth the trip. I had the filet mignon with coconut shrimp and liked both dishes quite well. My son ordered the lobster with shrimp and he really enjoyed the lobster. They had great mashed potatoes and fresh asparagus as well. Dessert was ok, but I would not have ordered it if it was not part of the special restaurant week menu. The view was great!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I went to Anthony's for Restaurant Week ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

I went to Anthony's for Restaurant Week and was very pleased with the menu choices. The bread was served with a flavored butter which I enjoyed very much. I ordered the clam chowder which was a little disappointing, but my entree of lobster tail with 2 large coconut shrimp was very good. I had eaten more than enough so I took home the zabaglioni which was delicious the next day. My waiter was Jose and he couldn't have been more attentive without overdoing it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for Groups, People Watching, Cozy, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Wa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, service and ambiance. Waterside location affords beautiful views. We were a little concerned that this would be a "tourist venue" and it may be but the food was absolutely excellent!! Service was delightful despite sharing our server with a very large and demanding party. We were there for a magnificent sunset which made it all the more enjoyable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were very good. I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were very good.

I requested a table by a window and got it.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service, great seafood and bea ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service, great seafood and beautiful view!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I try to go to Anthony's each time I am ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

I try to go to Anthony's each time I am in San Diego. I am never disappointed. Everything was very good and I especially liked the most local sand dab fillets.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Historic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Have been enjoying Anthony's for years. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Have been enjoying Anthony's for years. Always good food and service

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Historic, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was perfect. Dusk overloo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The atmosphere was perfect. Dusk overlooking the harbor. The food was great, service was great and the company was great. Very enjoyable dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for a Friday night ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We made reservations for a Friday night at 5pm and had no problem being seated quickly. Being there that early, ensured getting a table right on the water. The service was wonderful the whole night; our waitress was very friendly and prompt. The food was delicious!! I would definitely come back here to try other things on the menu; none of us were disappointed. The drinks were also good. The only downfall is the atmosphere is definitely a bit dated. It doesn't look like a pricey seafood place, which is both good and bad - it makes it very approachable for the everyday person, but leaves a little to be desired if you are going for a special occasion. Overall, I would def recommend this restaurant, though!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

It was simply Divine! Absolutely fantast ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was simply Divine! Absolutely fantastic as always!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's on the waterfront has been an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Anthony's on the waterfront has been an icon in San Diego for decades. Soon it will be gone. Last chance to say goodbye.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great sunset view while dinner. Good ser ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great sunset view while dinner. Good service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was disappointed in ambience I realize i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Was disappointed in ambience I realize it old time for upgrade in furnishing and interior

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Anthony's Fish Grotto never disappoints ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Anthony's Fish Grotto never disappoints . The traditional favorites are consistent. Yummy Clam Chowder, Light and Flaky Fish & Chips, and Shrimp Louie Salad. Sclosing in 2017. We want to go a few more times before it closes forever on Jan. 31, 2017.

Parking can be challenging, so plan to make a couple of loops through the one-lane diagonal parking strip just before the Maritime Museum.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience from beginning ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had a great experience from beginning to end. All staff were friendly! Great service and location!!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, People Watching, Family Style, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The combination of the service, views an ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The combination of the service, views and drinks list made this one of my favorite places in San Diego

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Luz....our waitress was excellent. There ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Luz....our waitress was excellent. There when we needed her..and not hovering. Food was wonderful, fresh and just the right portions. View of sunset over San Diego harbor is always a treat.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Expensive, noisy, mediocre food. Servic ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Expensive, noisy, mediocre food. Service was good.

This is not the Anthony's we knew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

We were in San Diego for a conference an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were in San Diego for a conference and the hotel recommended Anthony's for a nice dinner. We were eager to try local seafood so we headed there one night. Big mistake. The place was so loud, there were kids everywhere.

And the food. So bad. I've had way better fish in landlocked Oklahoma. What I ate looked and tasted like it had come out of a bag from Costco. 2 bites and I was done. Crab cake was just mush. Wine pours were tiny. My companion's skewer was inedible due to the "barbecue" sauce they had dumped on it. Total and complete waste of time and money. Hated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The food and service was fantastic. Grea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food and service was fantastic. Great seafood. Be careful, the big portions are big!

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We've dined here a couple times now and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We've dined here a couple times now and every experience has been great!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We didnt get to go as we searched for pa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We didnt get to go as we searched for parking for 45 minutes. Festival was covering most of the parking.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only reason I did not give them 5 st ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The only reason I did not give them 5 stars re the food is my son's kid meal, "chicken" was truly awful - it was rubbery and too oily for his consumption - he ate his fries, so the kid's meal was a bust, but the salad I had was wonderful....

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food - the squid steak is outs ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food - the squid steak is outstanding. Our waiter was also great as he provided an extra portion of sculpin to one of us as he thought the amount provided was not sufficient. Good value for the quality and quantity of food. A little loud for atmosphere. We will be very sorry to see the restaurant close, as they have lost their lease.

Tags: Healthy, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations so seating was easy, ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had reservations so seating was easy, and we asked for a table by the window when I made the reservations, so the view was gorgeous. The food was very good and the server was friendly and accommodating. It was a fun evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten here more times than I can ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I have eaten here more times than I can remember and each and every time it seems the quality gives a little more. The food quality is not what it was 10 years ago. Don't get me wrong it's still pretty good but for the price or a little more their are much better places. But this is a landmark in SD so at least try it once and make your own decision after that. Don't go when it's busy if you can avoid it. That would probably help.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Good solid seafood at reasonable prices. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good solid seafood at reasonable prices. Nothing over-the-top special, but it was nice to have a view of the water while we ate. It was in walking distance of our hotel, so it was convenient, but I'm not sure I would seek it out as a dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was very good and our waitress was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was very good and our waitress was excellent. Portions were also good. Sad part is, this restaurant is closing for good after 50 years. I am glad got to experience it before closing.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This used to be our favorite place to ea ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This used to be our favorite place to eat when in San Diego, but the quality of our meal was not like it was the last time we visited. The appetizers were great, but our dinner was disappointing. My salmon was dry and thin, and the green beans were dry, too. Will not be coming back and will find a new seafood place for our next trip out here.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing view of San Diego Bay, excellent ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Amazing view of San Diego Bay, excellent service, and delicious seafood made Anthony's a great choice to celebrate a wedding anniversary!

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I went to Anthony's Fish Grotto for my b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I went to Anthony's Fish Grotto for my birthday. I had heard great things about this place and had wanted to try it out. I also was in the mood for good seafood and a steak and this place offers both. We arrived about 30 minutes before our reservation and were seated early, about after waiting just ten minuets. We were seated at a window table as I had requested. Up to this point all is very good. The noise level was a bit intense but that is because the place was packed and the dinning room is very large.

We ordered a bottle of prosecco, which was very reasonably priced, and an appetizer of a half dozen oysters on the half shell. The oysters were delicious and went well with our wine. All good up to this point. Then we ordered dinner. I ordered the Filet Mignon and added the scampi for another 7.95. I ordered the coleslaw and the smashed baby red potatoes for my sides. My partner ordered the Halibut with a fruit salsa on top. She ordered the fresh green beans and french fries for her sides.

It took a while for the food to arrive. I had ordered my steak to be cooked rare, which it was, but when it arrived it was cold. My partner's fish was also barely warm. It seems as though the food had come off the grill and just sat there for about ten minutes. This made the whole experience a bummer. The food was of good quality and we were hungry so we ate the meal. The sides were also good. The green beans were especially delicious and fresh. We told our server that the food was cold and she offered to go get "another one" for us, but after having waited so long and having nearly finished the bottle of prosecco we just wanted to eat.

Could have been a fluke, the place was packed. We came here because we heard good things. The prices are lower than other places located on the water. But all in all it wasn't worth the 140+ dollars we spent for dinner. I would have easily spent another 50.00 for a better experience and food that wasn't cold!

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This place is both amazing and memorable ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place is both amazing and memorable. My fiance and I are both in our early 20s and we go here every year for our anniversary. The seafood and waterfront view is unmatched. We drive all the way from Anahiem, Ca because it's worth it and refuse to go anywhere else. And the outstanding guest hospitality are the welcoming touch to this one of a kind landmark and piece of San Diego history. Hope to visit Anthony's for years to come.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great our server was pat ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was great our server was patient with our guests because they cannot hear too good. You would think that being so close to all this Seafood they could do more with their fish dishes other than breading and frying it. Hawaiian Ono breaded really.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We have started a tradition of eating at ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have started a tradition of eating at Anthony's when we visit San Diego from Arizona. We understand that the one at the Downtown ocean view location may not be there next year which would be sad if true. We hope it works out that you can stay there but will try our best to drive to where ever location you are. We truly enjoy the great flavors that are in all the dishes we have tried so far and want to continue eating at your restaurant whenever we can. Thank you.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Scenic View, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent clam chowder and great servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent clam chowder and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Very good food and service.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Has been a favorite for a long time. Dis ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Has been a favorite for a long time. Disappointed in item ordered, Panko COD.

Tags: Tapas, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Making the reservation was easy. Seati ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Making the reservation was easy. Seating was as requested, by the window. The noise level was so loud moved to a booth, a little better. Our waiter, Alphonso was excellent. It was a bit noisy but the food was good, good service.

Tags: Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service was extremely slow, which is ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our service was extremely slow, which is hard for me to say because I am the type who likes to be left alone while on our rare occasion of having a night kid free. However, I do not like waiting for refills or having to wait 25 minutes for a bill and etc. The food was not good, especially for those prices. I ordered Halibut and it was almost like eating a fried fish stick. Very bland and basic. My husband ordered steak and shrimp. The husband who never complains about food and loves to eat anything, said his steak was dry and not very flavorful. Unfortunately, this was a huge disappointment to us. We even made a reservation and went to the one by the Bay thinking it would be perfect for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

I am a long-time patron of Anthony's, ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I am a long-time patron of Anthony's, having grown up in San Diego. I am very sad to hear that they will be moving out of their location on San Diego's Embarcadero, but have high hopes that their new location will be even better. Anthony's never disappoints, the food is always outstanding!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.