About Anthony's Fish Grotto

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Shelter Island / San Diego Bay ›

scenic view (176)
special occasion (104)
great for lunch (98)
See All
good for groups (82)
neighborhood gem (62)
romantic (57)
fit for foodies (52)
kid-friendly (48)
great for outdoor dining (36)
great for brunch (31)
hot spot (19)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (10)
notable wine list (9)
Sort By:
Newest
729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great way xperience. So sad they will be ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great way xperience. So sad they will be closing. A family tradition for many years.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thrilled to get a reservation (as we wer ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Thrilled to get a reservation (as we were searching for a place to eat) during Comic Con, and it was a gorgeous little waterfront walk from our hotel. Our server Tina made us feel so at home, and our meal was tasty and not too expensive.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have a long time fond memory of Anthon ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have a long time fond memory of Anthony's. It started with my grammie who lived on prospect in la Jolla. She didn't cook and when I visited we'd walk to Anthony's where she was always warmly greeted; "good evening Mrs Chittick. How are you this evening?"

I love your fish and chips. Prospect restraunt is long gone and harbor soo to be. I will miss you.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The squid steak was very tender, but the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The squid steak was very tender, but the excessive melted butter and bread crumbs overpowered the delicate flavor of the squid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, clam chowder was fan ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was delicious, clam chowder was fantastic. Restaurant was very busy, yet service was friendly and fast. View of the ocean and passing boats was enjoyable and exciting for the children. would definitely come here again when visiting San Diego.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A magnificent place to dine and food was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A magnificent place to dine and food was amazing!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time to Anthony's, we were vis ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our first time to Anthony's, we were visiting from out of town and heard it would be closing in January 2017. So glad we came for dinner, our waiter Alfonso was attentive, knowledgeable and fabulous during our entire meal. The New England Clam chowder was delicious, as were the salad and appetizer. Sorry to see this lovely restaurant close as it serves yummy food, and wonderful staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the pleasure of taking my children ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had the pleasure of taking my children here while visiting San Diego, making this three generations of family members who have enjoyed Anthony's. Our meals were tasty and the bay view was memorable.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and fresh. Service w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was delicious and fresh. Service was excellent! Would highly recommend .

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must for San Diego tourists. A classic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A must for San Diego tourists. A classic location that serves a great while with an amazing view of the port.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't great. Service was terrible. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Food wasn't great. Service was terrible. We felt this was like The Denny's restaurant with Seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

I actually used the app for checking in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I actually used the app for checking in prior to arriving for dinner which I thought was amazing no wait time whatsoever sat right away Gina was our server from the moment we sat down she greeted us with a friendly smile offered us drinks offered to take her order order was brought to us within a very short timeThe Haula bit was delicious perfect mango sauce over rice pilaf was delicious my friends fish tacos were very pleased his bowl of clam chowder was very please with that everything was just great a perfect 10 all the way around we would definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten there twice and both times h ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We've eaten there twice and both times have been great. Our server was good, the food was great and both times we got a window table to enjoy the great bay view. I would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The parking is terrific for being right ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The parking is terrific for being right at the ocean. After one or two passes, there was parking for all three of our vehicles. Very convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and view were great. Service was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and view were great. Service was not up to par. Server was OK but asst. Was bad and rude.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We were able to show our out-of-town rel ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We were able to show our out-of-town relatives a lovely time. You couldn't beat the food, service, ambiance or location. We also wanted to visit Anthony's while it is still on the bay. Sad that the city is doing this.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and even better location. It ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and even better location. It is located on the bay and has beautiful views. We were taken care of by our server and received our food quickly.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the fish and chips and the clam cho ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Love the fish and chips and the clam chowder!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was glad to find this service online. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I was glad to find this service online. I live about an hour plus away. The service was very convenient and the people were very polite.

Thank you for your customer service.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The view was beautiful. Staff was friend ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The view was beautiful. Staff was friendly. Our waitress was quick and gave some recommendations . The food was ok.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We made an 8:30 reservation and when we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We made an 8:30 reservation and when we arrived we were told that the kitchen closes at 9. We felt very rushed. Several drink orders were incorrect and the cocktails were weak. They brought out coleslaw orders at the time salads were served which was very odd. The food was ok. Overall we did not enjoy this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Food was overpriced. Restaurant was date ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Food was overpriced. Restaurant was dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3

The food is awesome! But the restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

The food is awesome! But the restaurant needs an URGENT upgrade and renovation.

With that location, that service and that food, could be a fist class restaurant and it is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Ill b back

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Ill b back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is fabolous with a lot of choic ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food is fabolous with a lot of choices - for fish, seafood and some meats, the quantity of food is large and the view of the water right outside the window is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not noticed this restaurant even ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had not noticed this restaurant even though right opposite our hotel on the San Diego Embarcadero between the USS Midway Museum and the San Diego Maritime Museum. What a find! The seafood we ate was absolutely fantastic and just about #1 of all the eateries we used in 2 weeks travel from San Francisco to San Diego. That is some statement. The cost was no more expensive than in any other decent restaurant serving like-for-like. I splashed out on the Alaskan King Crab legs, one of my favourites, and the best example of that I have had. My wife's fish dish was just perfect and delicious. There is no doubt that on any return trip to San Diego I shall be back there!

Tags: group bookings, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was terrible and the food just d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Service was terrible and the food just didn't impress me at all. The view was beautiful though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I took my sister from Colorado for what ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I took my sister from Colorado for what I expected to be a great meal and I was very disappointed and embarrassed by the food. We both had the fried fish combo, which came with, what we decided to get as a side, the coleslaw. It had way too much dressing (mayo) on it. When the dinner came, the fish batter had no taste and was just warm and a little soggy, and the crab balls were very fishy. I was too embarrassed to say something to the waiter because of my sister being there.

The bar on the other hand, had an excellent bar tender (David) who knew how to mix a great Mai Tai.

I have eaten here numerous times over the last 20 years and don't think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Still one of my favorite spots to go. Fo ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Still one of my favorite spots to go. Food was fantastic. Service was outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We spent our 42nd Anniversary at Anthony ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We spent our 42nd Anniversary at Anthony's over a FABULOUS meal and a wonderful glass of wine. Our server was so sweet. She took exceptional care of us, and even brought us a special dessert for our celebration! It was a wonderful evening thanks to Anthony's Fish Grotto!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Horrible food. Can see why the city want ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Horrible food. Can see why the city wants to close it down. This restaurant may have been good 20 years ago. Not now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

We enjoyed a delicious fresh seafood din ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious fresh seafood dinner while on vacation. The scallops were sweet and very fresh, as were the sides. Our server was pleasant and efficient. You can't beat the location or the view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

For 30+ yesrs the food is always great a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

For 30+ yesrs the food is always great as is the ambiance and views. On rare occasions, like this time, the service is a bit off (the waitress, whose name started with Mor..., was not that interested in waiting on us) but the food always outweighs any problems. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Anthony's is a longtime dinner venue in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Anthony's is a longtime dinner venue in SanDiego. Scenic view overlooking the bay, great seafood with excellent service. For that must have window view make sure to make a reseservation online.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I loved the food and the ambience. Great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I loved the food and the ambience. Great place! Worth the price!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deep fat fried food. Have not made the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Deep fat fried food. Have not made the necessary menu changes over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

I wish this restaurant wasn't going away ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I wish this restaurant wasn't going away. It is a historical landmark.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The people at the restaurant were very a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The people at the restaurant were very accommodating for a change we needed to make. The food was great, the waiter did a great job. The next time I am in town, I will go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I specifically asked for a table with un ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I specifically asked for a table with unobstructed view to the water - they had it waiting for us. Our waitress, though more than adequate, was out of a diner! She is old-time, no fuss. We've been to Anthony's many times, but for some reason this visit was the best. The artisan salad I had was way beyond delicious. I have to say, I walked out without leaving a tip. I realized it several minutes later, and ran back to find our waitress. She was totally gracious, as if I was doing something fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Took my wife for our anniversary. Reques ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Took my wife for our anniversary. Requested a window seat, guess I should have specified dining room. We were seated in a corner in the bar. There was a table on the patio right next to ours. I didn't realize we would have another couple right next to us taking selfies blocking our view and making out, all while we were trying to enjoy our anniversary. We also had to listen to some loud guy at the bar talk about his ball surgery with the staff. Normally we enjoy coming here but was not impressed this time.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.