About Anthony's Fish Grotto

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
San Diego
Great for Lunch
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Shelter Island / San Diego Bay ›

scenic view (170)
special occasion (106)
great for lunch (99)
See All
good for groups (82)
neighborhood gem (66)
romantic (56)
kid-friendly (50)
fit for foodies (48)
great for outdoor dining (35)
great for brunch (30)
hot spot (15)
late-night find (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
notable wine list (7)
Sort By:
Newest
708 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience1
service3

Food was overpriced. Restaurant was date ...

vip
Dined 2 days ago

Food was overpriced. Restaurant was dated.

food4
ambience2
service5

The food is awesome! But the restaurant ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food is awesome! But the restaurant needs an URGENT upgrade and renovation. With that location, that service and that food, could be a fist class restaurant and it is not.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ill b back

Dined 3 days ago

Ill b back

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is fabolous with a lot of choic ...

Dined 4 days ago

The food is fabolous with a lot of choices - for fish, seafood and some meats, the quantity of food is large and the view of the water right outside the window is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not noticed this restaurant even ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had not noticed this restaurant even though right opposite our hotel on the San Diego Embarcadero between the USS Midway Museum and the San Diego Maritime Museum. What a find! The seafood we ate was absolutely fantastic and just about #1 of all the eateries we used in 2 weeks travel from San Francisco to San Diego. That is some statement. The cost was no more expensive than in any other decent restaurant serving like-for-like. I splashed out on the Alaskan King Crab legs, one of my favourites, and the best example of that I have had. My wife's fish dish was just perfect and delicious. There is no doubt that on any return trip to San Diego I shall be back there!

Tags: group bookings, special occasions, scenic view, neighbourhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1

Service was terrible and the food just d ...

Dined 5 days ago

Service was terrible and the food just didn't impress me at all. The view was beautiful though.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

I took my sister from Colorado for what ...

Dined 5 days ago

I took my sister from Colorado for what I expected to be a great meal and I was very disappointed and embarrassed by the food. We both had the fried fish combo, which came with, what we decided to get as a side, the coleslaw. It had way too much dressing (mayo) on it. When the dinner came, the fish batter had no taste and was just warm and a little soggy, and the crab balls were very fishy. I was too embarrassed to say something to the waiter because of my sister being there. The bar on the other hand, had an excellent bar tender (David) who knew how to mix a great Mai Tai. I have eaten here numerous times over the last 20 years and don't think I would go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still one of my favorite spots to go. Fo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Still one of my favorite spots to go. Food was fantastic. Service was outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We spent our 42nd Anniversary at Anthony ...

Dined 5 days ago

We spent our 42nd Anniversary at Anthony's over a FABULOUS meal and a wonderful glass of wine. Our server was so sweet. She took exceptional care of us, and even brought us a special dessert for our celebration! It was a wonderful evening thanks to Anthony's Fish Grotto!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Horrible food. Can see why the city want ...

Dined 6 days ago

Horrible food. Can see why the city wants to close it down. This restaurant may have been good 20 years ago. Not now.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We enjoyed a delicious fresh seafood din ...

Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a delicious fresh seafood dinner while on vacation. The scallops were sweet and very fresh, as were the sides. Our server was pleasant and efficient. You can't beat the location or the view.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

For 30+ yesrs the food is always great a ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

For 30+ yesrs the food is always great as is the ambiance and views. On rare occasions, like this time, the service is a bit off (the waitress, whose name started with Mor..., was not that interested in waiting on us) but the food always outweighs any problems. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Anthony's is a longtime dinner venue in ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Anthony's is a longtime dinner venue in SanDiego. Scenic view overlooking the bay, great seafood with excellent service. For that must have window view make sure to make a reseservation online.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved the food and the ambience. Great ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

I loved the food and the ambience. Great place! Worth the price!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service5

Deep fat fried food. Have not made the ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Deep fat fried food. Have not made the necessary menu changes over the years.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wish this restaurant wasn't going away ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I wish this restaurant wasn't going away. It is a historical landmark.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The people at the restaurant were very a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The people at the restaurant were very accommodating for a change we needed to make. The food was great, the waiter did a great job. The next time I am in town, I will go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I specifically asked for a table with un ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I specifically asked for a table with unobstructed view to the water - they had it waiting for us. Our waitress, though more than adequate, was out of a diner! She is old-time, no fuss. We've been to Anthony's many times, but for some reason this visit was the best. The artisan salad I had was way beyond delicious. I have to say, I walked out without leaving a tip. I realized it several minutes later, and ran back to find our waitress. She was totally gracious, as if I was doing something fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Took my wife for our anniversary. Reques ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Took my wife for our anniversary. Requested a window seat, guess I should have specified dining room. We were seated in a corner in the bar. There was a table on the patio right next to ours. I didn't realize we would have another couple right next to us taking selfies blocking our view and making out, all while we were trying to enjoy our anniversary. We also had to listen to some loud guy at the bar talk about his ball surgery with the staff. Normally we enjoy coming here but was not impressed this time.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

This restaurant has been in its spot for ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant has been in its spot for 50 years. My husband was feeling nostalgic so we went for dinner. Stepping into the restaurant took us back to 1980. Literally. The food was good but its not unique or very current. I had a great margarita and my husband had a strong Dark and Stormy. The olive, salty buttery was delicious on a warm roll. That is a must try. Its a casual restaurant with a lot of families, tourists and locals.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Heard wonderful things about Anthony's a ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Heard wonderful things about Anthony's and our experience was far from wonderful. Undercooked fish, everything had a sauce or was fried. Bland tasting food. Will not be returning.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great venue for family and business. Gr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great venue for family and business. Great place to celebrate any type of occasion

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This is a long-time San Diego institutio ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is a long-time San Diego institution, located right on the waterfront. It is well worth having lunch or dinner here. There is a wide variety of fresh and delicious seafood dishes available. The prices are extremely reasonable. Service is outstanding. This place has never disappointed me.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Dined at Anthony's Fish Grotto for my boyfriend's birthday. Food was fantastic. Ambiance perfect. Service was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Decent food, mediocre service

Dined on June 10, 2016

We just had clam chowder and salad and the food was pretty good although I would have expected a little more flavor from the soup being a seafood restaurant. Our waiter was pleasant but too rushed. Never stopped to ask how things were. I would go back to try a full meal. Others we saw looked really good.

food1
ambience2
service2

Contrary to the posted 4-5 star rating, ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Contrary to the posted 4-5 star rating, this is a place to avoid. My server was not interested in providing information about the menu items. She had a lack luster personality. The item I ordered was scallops with sautéed spinach, portobello mushrooms, tomatoes, and onions. Unfortunately, I left my magnifying glass at home to find the mushrooms and tomatoes! The spinach was swimming in a pool of a tasteless sauce, and I could count on one hand the Portobello mushroom and tomatoes pieces drowning in that sauce. I have shared my experience with colleagues and warned them to avoid Anthony's.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service and great food

Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent service and great food

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food for thought

Dined on June 9, 2016

The clam chowder and crab cakes were excellent. The rest of the platter was bland in flavour. The cold slaw was not very tasty. The serving portions were adequate but not great. They should add some small shrimp to the platter. Would probably go back again but not for a special occasion.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we loved this place people very friendly ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

we loved this place people very friendly and food was awesomne!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great recommendation from a friend

Dined on June 7, 2016

A friend recommended Anthony's to us. Boy, he was right...great view of the bay, as well as, great food.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service3

The only positive was the service an vie ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The only positive was the service an view

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and everything was perfect. It was very crowded because of Prom night but we were seated without much wait from our reservation time. The food was excellent and the server, Noemi was very attentive and friendly. Will be back before it closes in January.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience2
service4

I feel bad this place is closing, but it ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

I feel bad this place is closing, but it seems they have lost their gusto. I have no problem paying a premium for a fantastic view. The service was excellent. The food was fair at best. There are so many options for seafood in San Diego that outshine Anthony's. The view just isn't making up for it any longer.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Oops!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

For some reason, I thought that this was going to be a really lovely seafood restaurant on the water. I guess I didn't do my research! Yes, is it seafood, and yes, it is on the water - however, it's a tourist dive/ factory. Our sweet, air headed waitress got my order wrong - twice (and did that slooooowwwly). And then the food was just not good. Perhaps their fried fish is better. I was trying to order grilled sole, and it actually tasted like they microwaved it. It was bland with zero grilling. Don't come here unless you are just in a hurry.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Best fish and chips period.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Best fish and chips period.

food4
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff and great views

Dined on June 1, 2016

Friendly staff and great views

food5
ambience4
service5

Le Anne was the best!

Dined on May 31, 2016

Le Anne was the best!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location with reasonably priced food.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Good food and location. It's a shame it's being replaced, it's a local landmark and will be missed.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

Went here with mom visiting from the eas ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Went here with mom visiting from the eastcoast. I had an entree that consisted of shrimp, salmon, crabcake, and two sides. Nothing spectacular and definitely got a lot of food from it. My mom said her salmon reuben had way too much sauerkraut. View was awesome and service was very prompt in this busy dinner setting.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

If you love fish

Dined on May 30, 2016

Always good, fresh seafood well prepared. Extensive menu, decent wine list, friendly atmosphere make Anthony's a great family restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.