About Anthony's Fish Grotto

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (87)
Waterfront (79)
Casual (54)
See All
Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (39)
Great for Lunch (35)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Historic (33)
Good for Groups (30)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Local Ingredients (28)
Worth the Drive (25)
Family Style (25)
Authentic (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Kid-friendly (21)
Fun (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Romantic (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Business Meals (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
People Watching (12)
Cozy (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great Beer (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a nice dinner. At the waterfront ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a nice dinner. At the waterfront and having good food- perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anthony's is an old San Diego classic & ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Anthony's is an old San Diego classic & so is the food. Our waiter was especially rude & inattentive, especially since we had specifically informed the staff that it was a 65th birthday celebration.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

It was awful!

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

It was awful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

I can't believe that this iconic restaur ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

I can't believe that this iconic restaurant is going to be closing soon. Anthony's has some of the best seafood and chowder in San Diego along with a fantastic view of the harbor. It's a place I have been visiting each year for the last 30 years. On my last visit we had a fantastic waiter named Paul. Our food was delicious as always. We had the ahi poke which was fresh and not too heavy and then we shared the crab and melted cheese sandwich, which was very yummy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The decor is not fancy, but the view of ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The decor is not fancy, but the view of the water makes up for it. Since they are closing the restuarant in January, we wanted to eat there one last time. The prices during lunch, until 4pm, are very very reasonable. Worth eating there.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Anthony's is closing on January 31, 2017 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Anthony's is closing on January 31, 2017. It has always been a favorite of mine, and will be sorry to see it go. I don't know if it is because of the short term remaining, but for the first time I was not 100% thrilled by the meal. I ordered Clam Chowder; it never came until I asked about it - and when it was brought it was while I was eating my entree. I sent it back. I had a fish/shrimp combo, and the breading seemed to me to be greasy. I have never had that problem here before and was disappointed in the feel it left in my mouth. Would I go back? Definitely, but the atmosphere is more a draw than the food these days.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Anthony's is and been part of San Diego ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Anthony's is and been part of San Diego for 70 years and it is tragic that the greedy San Diego Port District is replacing them with two very mediocre, pricey chain restaurants. Many long time San Dieigans have considered Anthony's to be the best and most reliable fish restaurant in San Diego. It's location is wonderful with gorgeous harbor views, it's menu is extensive, the food is excellent and fairly priced and the service is good. Our extended family has dined their often for over 50 years. We are very disappointed that they are being forced to closed by a short-sighted port district.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Historic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Stopped for lunch. Fish and chips and ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Stopped for lunch. Fish and chips and chowder good, crab cakes marginal. Early in day so may not have been up and running full speed yet, more interest in decorating for Christmas than waiting on customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Excellent as normal and the best service ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent as normal and the best service and food in the city

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So sorry to see this longtime San Diego ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2016

So sorry to see this longtime San Diego staple closing...

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed what was our last nig ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed what was our last night in San Diego. Gina was our server and added to our meal

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there because of convenience for ou ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Went there because of convenience for out of town guests who were staying across the street at the Wyndham. We had not been there for a couple of years.

The service was excellent, but the value was akin to a place ripping off visitors by a place closing on January 31, 2017. A four ounce salmon with an extra cost mini salad wedge was $32. I am sorry, but at an alleged family restaurant that is outrageous. I have had bigger portions at nicer restaurants in NYC for less. At least the children menu was reasonable. The food was fine, but the portion sizes and cost took away from the experience.

When we heard this 70 year old San Diego tradition was closing we were sad. Now, we are apathetic.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a wonderful time and were very sa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We had a wonderful time and were very sad to hear that you were closing. We had come their often when visiting San Diego

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the worst meal I have had in ye ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

This was the worst meal I have had in years. We should have known there was going to be a problem when our dinner rolls were brought to us burned on top. The waiter was horrible. He left and did not come back, we had to flag him down. My husband's halibut was so over cooked, it crusted on top!! You could pound on it. My sole and halibut fillet was so over cooked it was hard on the bottom. This meal was horrible. They called my baked potato loaded and it only had butter and sour cream on it. The restaurant smelled fishy. Unfortunately paid over $70 for this awful meal. It a good thing they are closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall we were not blown away by the fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Overall we were not blown away by the food. It was good, not bad, but also not a WOW factor. I was expecting a more impressive food selections and a more flavorful experience. The view was awesome, service was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

very good seafood restaurant‼︎

 
 (大阪)·Dined on November 14, 2016

very good seafood restaurant‼︎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food. Great service. Good prices. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food. Great service. Good prices. Out dated decor. Nice view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very good food and our waiter was very a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very good food and our waiter was very attentive. The new we had was awesome and felt private

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Muy bien rico , buena vista

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Muy bien rico , buena vista

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was good, the service was a l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Everything was good, the service was a little weak because we had a new waiter that really wasn't very good but not terrible. He didn't do anything really wrong, just long waits between water refills and forgetful. This is a easy place to grab a decent seafood meal if you are in the area, not fancy or expensive. We had the crab cakes, squid steak, shrimp trio, and lobster tail, everything was good for the price and I would not say this is the best place in the area, but it is far from the worse. The atmosphere was pretty good as well, I scored it a three on all categories, & don't consider that bad, I just try to really make places earn a four or five stars grade and they really have to be terrible to hit a one or a two. So, overall it was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have been going to Anthony`s on the w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We have been going to Anthony`s on the wharf for 47 years. We live in Az. and come to San Diego quite often, and always make it a point to come. We came for the last time, and are sorry to see it close.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly atmosphere the staff is attenti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Friendly atmosphere the staff is attentive. Had the clam chowder and calamari and it was great.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary. Ever ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We celebrated our 40th Anniversary. Everything was great. We are sad that this will be our last visit. We look forward to eating there on all of our San Diego trips. Sorry to see it close.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great and the food was de ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our server was great and the food was delicious. It was a foggy night so the view was obstructed, but on a clear night and during the day the view is great. So sad to know they may be leaving.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was wonderful. She brought ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful. She brought things, unprompted, that improved the meal, kept our water glasses full, made great suggestions, and was overall very friendly.

The view out over the bay was rather pleasant as well.

The decor is in need of some help though. Losing the ugly carpet, making the ceiling black (or at least not white drop ceiling tiles), swapping out some of the booths for better color schemes, and losing the chairs with the awful hunter green cushions would go a long way towards making this place feel better. As it is, it seems it hasn't been updated since the 90's. The place has been here for 70 years or so, so it's understandable. (However, keeping modern decor might have helped them stay in business - it seems that their lease is not going to be renewed because the developers want to put some more modern things in that spot.)

The food was quite tasty. We both chose entrees from the fresh seafood menu and were both happy with our selections. Overall a good experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great find, my co-workers and I were in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great find, my co-workers and I were in town on business & a local told us to check it out. We had the charred octopus to start & for our entrees we had the fresh scallops, swordfish & the steak/crab legs combo - everything was cooked to perfection, we all left pleasantly full & very happy with our meals. Our server, Noemi, also gave us great suggestions - would definitely come back, but disappointed to hear this location is closing - visit before it's gone!

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront, Historic, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was amazing and ricardo, our waiter ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was amazing and ricardo, our waiter, was super sweet!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but not great. It was ver ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good but not great. It was very noisy. If l am in the area again I will try another restaurant. View is great and likely the best part.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Love the place and love the family. So s ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Love the place and love the family. So sad they are ending 70 years of being on the water. Thank you to the Ghio family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Decent fish house with great views. Serv ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Decent fish house with great views. Server was a bit aloof but all in all a decent meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very comfortable, good value, beautiful ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Very comfortable, good value, beautiful sunset from our booth!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Good food, great venue. A shame that lo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Good food, great venue. A shame that location will disappear. I doubt the Brigantine will be as affordable.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice view of the water and surrounding l ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Nice view of the water and surrounding lights of the seaport in the distance. Would be much better in daylight to see the harbor. Menu has wide assortment, but lots of fried type dishes, would have preferred more grilled health options. We had a group of 12 and was easy to seat us having a wide open space with many open tables to chose from.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Anthony's Fish Grotto on the downtown wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Anthony's Fish Grotto on the downtown waterfront is a classic and will be going away soon. Their fresh fish and signature pineapple coleslaw is always a winner! We will miss Anthony's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Waterfront, Scenic View, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried and true but tired...... We wanted ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Tried and true but tired...... We wanted to dine once again at Anthony's at the Harbor, before it is removed and replaced by the Brigantine. Yes, it does bring back many great memories of special occasions spent there, however, the restaurant is just tired. There has been few, if any, upgrades and it all looked rather dull. Service was quite good - when a waiter saw I had hair in my salad he not only comped the salad but brought over the manager to apologize. Good for a last good-bye, but I doubt I go to Anthony's again.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We went to Anthony's for my mom's birthd ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went to Anthony's for my mom's birthday celebration. She has eaten here many times over the years so it is nostalgic for her. We had a table right by the window with a wonderful view of the water. We saw a seal swim by so we all loved that. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The portions are very large. We will be very sad to see Anthony's go.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Too bad it is closing down in late Janua ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Too bad it is closing down in late January 2017. Yes, there is another location in San Diego. It is about location. My father comes to town we must eat at this location everytime he comes from out of town.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

awesome great time, so sad its closing.. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

awesome great time, so sad its closing.... glad i got to come one last time

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We haven't been back to SD in about 20 y ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We haven't been back to SD in about 20 yrs so we decided to add a couple of days ahead of our conference to visit SD again. We remembered dining here several times before decided to come back.

We got a corner table by the window and it was nice to watch the sunset. Our wait staff, Liliana, was so nice and genuine. One of the nicest person we met on this trip. Even nicer than the pretentious hipsters working at our hotel.

We found a coupon good for up To 4 free clam chowders in one of the tourist pamphlets as long as you order an entree for each person.

The chowder was good but not the best I've ever had. More potatoes than clams in it.

Hubby got a coconut fried tilapia which only came with rice pilaf. The outside of the fish was charred and over cooked. My fried prawns were large and crispy with a great baked potato, asparagus. After 2-3 of the shrimps, it got nauseating with the oil. So I pulled off the batter and ate the shrimp.

OK food without too much of a wait if you make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A lovely seafood located the sea. ask f ...

 
 (London)·Dined on October 22, 2016

A lovely seafood located the sea.

ask for more. The food is very nice too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.