About Anthony's Fish Grotto

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
San Diego
Great for Lunch
San Diego
Scenic View
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Shelter Island / San Diego Bay ›

scenic view (166)
special occasion (100)
great for lunch (95)
See All
good for groups (74)
neighborhood gem (65)
romantic (49)
kid-friendly (41)
fit for foodies (40)
great for outdoor dining (35)
great for brunch (29)
hot spot (19)
late-night find (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
notable wine list (6)
Sort By:
Newest
663 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Although I told them it was our annivers ...

Dined 7 days ago

Although I told them it was our anniversary they didn't do anything to help us celebrate. We were put in the side room and not the main dining area which was disappointing. Very good food but very expensive. Probably $10 over what we'd pay elsewhere. Still, I hate to see this landmark leave this location. There is something comforting and wonderful about tradition.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Restaurant with great views

Dined 7 days ago

We've been dining here for 40+ years. This is my family's favorite seafood restaurant. Great location.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went there with my mother, since she ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I went there with my mother, since she recommended this place. I have booked online, already knowing that this is the popular place and it was on Saturday. The service was very nice and the foods were in big serving compared to the price. I still miss the chowder we had which was very nice and creamy! The view from the restaurant was so nice too. We will definitely come back to this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was great. The whole experience was wonderful.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 20th anniversary ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and I requested an ocean view table & they accommodated. I requested gluten-free options & not only did they accommodate but they actually have a gluten-free menu that clearly helps you determine what is available & what can be modified. Their staff has been with them for many years so they are well Knowledged and willing to accommodate any of your dietary issues & they are friendly & willing to help out it anyway needed. Javier took such great care of us, we returned the next day & had another excellent meal & our server Jose was super helpful & recommended a perfect dinner for me. My only complaint: they are so far away from us, We can't go everyday. Thanks for making our anniversary dinner super special.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time at the restaurant even tho we ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

First time at the restaurant even tho we have known about and its reputation for years. So sorry it is being displaced end of year....but even though it's leaving hope it opens up elsewhere. Our fish and shell fish was fabulous, scenic views great and our waiter was very accommodating. Loved our experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Ask for Ryan. He's the best!

Dined on May 17, 2016

Ask for Ryan. He's the best!

food3
ambience5
service5

Great service. Not too fancy for the inc ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great service. Not too fancy for the incredible location. Decent food, slightly over priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were on vacation. Found good reviews ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were on vacation. Found good reviews online. Open for many years so we thought we would try this restaurant. Although we found the food to be very good, we thought the prices for the entrees should have been less. The waiter service was very good also.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food was very good...great lobster c ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was very good...great lobster cooked just right...table with view was awesome. Would deffinitely go back...Clam chowder was really good...a lot of clams.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This venue has been in our family for ye ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This venue has been in our family for years, my mom and dad would come here to sit by the water and have a quiet dinner, so for mother day that's what my sister and i did for mom, since Dad is resting in haven. I truely hope nothing much changes when the new owers step in.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been driving from Alta Loma, CA (1 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Have been driving from Alta Loma, CA (120 miles) several times a year since 1967 to dine at Anthony's . Always have great service and good food and beautiful scenic view on the Bay.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service4

Great view, but dated, especially the me ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great view, but dated, especially the menu. Cruise-boat food.

food5
ambience5
service4

Got seated immediately

Dined on May 8, 2016

Got seated immediately

food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Beautiful Seaside Restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dining on the water in the early evening has it's advantages. The sun setting over the pacific ocean, the ambiance of people in the restaurant celebrating whatever get together they planned and the rush of a busy restaurant. This was picture perfect. I am not sure if it was an off day for the restaurant but I was not really impressed with the service and food. My first and utmost complaint was having to ask for glasses of water for my table of five. In fact I had to ask for refills several times. As for food, the grilled octopus was hard and rubbery. None of the people at my table liked it at all. We ordered a dumpling appetizer that was cold when it arrived at the table. My main course of local fish was really tasteless... seasoning was light and it was hidden by the pan fried too much butter sauce. My mother wanted sweet wine, the waiter had no clue what red wine on their list was sweet so he recommended a glass of wine that was dry and bitter. Total opposite of what we wanted. Finally, the Mississippi mud pie was very deceiving and not was explained in the menu. I've had this pie at many restaurants. It is a warm pie with a melting chocolate filling. I was served an ice cream pie. It is not what I expected nor what I wanted. In summary, when I mentioned Anthony's restaurant to people I heard great reviews and was told what to order, etc... Maybe this built up my expectations. It is true that you cannot beat the location nor the scenic view but the service and the food was not impressive.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

It was super noisy and food was nothing ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was super noisy and food was nothing special specially when you pay $17:00 dollars for a shrimp and crab salad. I was so disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Ocean fish with convienant location

Dined on May 8, 2016

Within a few steps of the Wyndham Hotel on Harbor Drive, Anthony's is a gathering spot for tourists and locals. With a varied fish menu, it provides San Diego a great moderate priced collection of dishes. The octopus starter is straight from Sicily with capers, tomatoes and warm olive oil. Lightly battered Fish and Chips will welcome the demanding palette. New Orleans blackened fish is not over powering or over cooked. Always crowded but large accommodations proves a long time local favorite. Hurry before they close at the end of 2016 when a new tenant takes over.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Weekend Lunch on the Water

Dined on May 7, 2016

First time at Anthony's Fish Grotto - parking is TERRIBLE, so plan to make a few trips through the parking lot or just walk over. The wine and food were great. My mom had the Lobster Trio with a lobster tail, 2 coconut shrimp and 2 crab cakes - she was in HEAVEN... I ordered the Barramundi "simply grilled" and our server suggested their garlic butter sauce - it was delicious! Our La Crema Pinot Grigio was the perfect compliment to our meal... we had no room for dessert, but we'll definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place

Dined on May 7, 2016

We always like going to Anthony's. The downtown location has great views of the harbor. This particular day, had great sunset views, even with the clouds. We always enjoy the food, and look forward to the rolls and the wonderful flavored butter. Their seafood selection is great, and usually cooked to perfection, in the way you want it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

It's important to make reservations and ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

It's important to make reservations and ask for an oceanfront table.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

great service and view

Dined on May 7, 2016

we grabbed drinks at the bar while we waited, great service. Also our server was super nice and helpful during dinner. Food was a little bland- got crab legs and steak but it wasn't horrible. great view - ask for window view! calamari was really tasty- we asked for 4 different dippers to try with it. just overall a good experience and enjoyed it.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good stuff

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great meal and great service. Thought my margarita was a little skinny on tequila. Would go back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anthony's was a plus!!

Dined on May 3, 2016

It was excellent from the food, staff, view and location! I wish I lived closer so I could enjoy the food more often. Thanks for the memories. The view of the bay is outstanding. You will see a beautiful sunset at this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Lackluster

Dined on May 1, 2016

Went here for graduation lunch in which I had reserved seating for 12 outside for the view. Get there to the venue, check-in and we are lead to a setting inside. I told the waitress that reservations were made for outside in which she promptly stated that she has no record of this. She then stated that we could wait an additional hour to sit in which we declined. The decor is extremely dated and the food was bland. I had the crab cake which was unappealing, and then other guests had their pasta and steak with lobster. The mimosas were okay, but given the prices of the cuisines I could have easily went to another venue with better food. I was told after leaving that the place is closing down, and well I was not surprised. While they remain open I personally would not refer anyone to spend money on dishes that were unseasoned, long waiting periods, dated decor and not a special occasion or notable place to celebrate on the harbor.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Location

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very friendly staff ,good food and great service. Very reasonable price nice view of the ocean

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scenic and Savory

Dined on May 1, 2016

Anthony's never disappoints. Our food was delectable and the sunset while eating was gorgeous. (I had the halibut...try it! It was perfectly flaky and the mango pineapple sauce was amazing!)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Really gone down hill since our last visit.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Wow, how disappointing. Our table was not ready when we arrived. We were finally seated next to the kitchen door. Very noisy, could not converse comfortably. Service was very slow. We were seated at 6 something and did not receive food until after 7 p.m. Food was mediocre at best.

food5
ambience5
service4

The food was good as always! I thought t ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was good as always! I thought the service was a little off by our server, but the other staff did great keeping our drinks filled. It wasn't crowded for a Friday night. We had reservations for 6:30, arrived at 6 and were seated after 5 minutes by the window. It's a shame they lost their lease and will be closing at years end.

food4
ambience4
service5

The waitress was very nice and the barra ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

The waitress was very nice and the barramundi was good.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great Food, Service not so much

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Food at Anthony's is all excellent! Unfortunately, my server forget to bring my salad so that was delivered during my main dinner. She also forgot to bring my wine until after the check. Another table of 4 next to me had three of the meals delivered. The 4th dinner was delivered about 15 minutes later, which made it awkward for the other diners. It should be noted that it was not that busy either. Food is really good though with ample quantity.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Furniture needs improvement

Dined on April 26, 2016

We were sat at a booth where the seat was damaged. The server seemed to be very stressed, in a hurry, and no smile.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

My husband and I dined at Anthony's Fish Grotto to celebrate our 24th anniversary. The staff was wonderful, the food delicious, the atmosphere inviting and the view was beautiful. We were given a table by the window, and they gave us a complimentary dessert in honor of our anniversary. I would highly recommend Anthony's!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual dining with a fantastic view.

Dined on April 22, 2016

When we walked in we were greeted with a smile and hello with in a few seconds. I felt that I was being welcomed in their home. Very friendly. Our server was very knowledgeable of the menu. A plus when you are not familiar with the cuisine. Suggested that we have certain item that would compliment our food choices. Everything that he suggested were fantastic tasting. Every form full was a party for my taste buds. The halibut, salmon and Rex Cole were very delicious. The shrimp and lobster were scrumptious. The greens salad was a breath of fresh air. It did not contain ice burg lettuce which is s huge plus! I had a local ipa for my beverage choice. He informed me it was a good choice. Man, he was right!! Fantastic beer. Green flash west coast ipa. Fresh light hoppy with layers of the hop that I enjoy. Our table was by the Windows. Great view of the bay and airport. Watched flights take off and land while watching the bay go from day to night. Lights lit up the city while we consumed my favorite meal here in San Diego. Prices were comprable to any other place with casual dining. 100$ with tip was a great price. When I come back to San Diego, I will glady go there again. All around a fantastic dining experience. I am from Milwaukee, Wisconsin and the experience blew me away.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Lunch

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

We had a great meal and a beautiful view. The service was great too! It is a wonderful place to have a birthday lunch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Cajun Baramundi was outstanding. Good va ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Cajun Baramundi was outstanding. Good value.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply fantastic!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Anthony's was terrific, I had made reservations for 12 for a get together for a conference i was attending and only 4 people showed up and they still sat us on time and we're very polite and professional about it. will visit soon!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2

Not as good as I remember years ago. The ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Not as good as I remember years ago. They do not look as they are trying hard enough. Menu was boring. They should go and try Anthony's I the Seattle area.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome. Scenic. Great service.

Dined on April 13, 2016

Everything was terrific. My server was Annette, and she totally rocked. She had great recommendations (combo platter) and her service was terrific. I can't ready to go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch

Dined on April 9, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch with outstanding service. First time dining for us and friends who were on the Princess cruise ship. Lovely time at Anthonys. Will certainly dine again.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The octopus was delicious - perfectly pr ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

The octopus was delicious - perfectly prepared. And the tuna was done to a turn... so fresh. Salads are generous although a bit heavy on the dressing. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.