About Anthony's Fish Grotto

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (190)
Special Occasion (101)
Great for Lunch (96)
See All
Good for Groups (81)
Neighborhood Gem (71)
Kid-friendly (60)
Romantic (56)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Great for Brunch (24)
Hot Spot (16)
Late-night Find (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
764 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent clam chowder and great servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent clam chowder and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I am a long-time patron of Anthony's, ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

I am a long-time patron of Anthony's, having grown up in San Diego. I am very sad to hear that they will be moving out of their location on San Diego's Embarcadero, but have high hopes that their new location will be even better. Anthony's never disappoints, the food is always outstanding!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to this establishment for the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I've been to this establishment for the first time in 2004 with my grandparents. I was 15 then. Great food and great location by the bay. I'm from the Los Angeles area so every so often I'm down in the San Diego area. Last Sunday I celebrated mine and my girlfriend's anniversary. She loved the place and the food. She ordered the shrimp scampi. The server was very nice and pleasant. Food was great. The view of the bay was outstanding. Absolutely love this restaurant. Worth the drive from LA. A lot of nostalgia here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had really great service..Thanks to G ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had really great service..Thanks to Gina for our wonderful window table. Food was delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible, tasteless food! Was sooo grea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Horrible, tasteless food! Was sooo greatly disappointed! Hated spending that much money on such terrible food! Our first night in San Diego and was sooo disappointed!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Friends recommended this place and we we ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Friends recommended this place and we were no disappointed with it. The food was great and so was the service. We loved the view and definitely will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On the bay, so nice view. Thought it wo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

On the bay, so nice view. Thought it would be fresh fish, but we were wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

We are in from Philadelphia and wanted a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We are in from Philadelphia and wanted a seafood meal on the water. We found it! The lobster, steak and shrimp were really good. What made the night for us was our waitress, Carolyn. Efficient, friendly and she had tons of tips for our visit. She is a very special lady who took time to speak with us, even though she probably was very busy. We are sorry to hear you are closing...but we would recommend your restaurant to anyone who wants a relaxing evening with good food. Ask to be seated in Carolyn's section!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I had asked for a table by the window, i ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I had asked for a table by the window, if possible, as I had two out-of-town guests. When we arrived, the hostess told me there would be a 20-25 minute wait for a window table. Since we did not have time to wait, I told her that any table was fine. She said, "I'll see what I can do for you ," and she did find a table by the window in the bar area. I was very appreciative of her extra effort!! The view, service, and food were great!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love coming to Anthony's. We have be ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love coming to Anthony's. We have been coming for 3 generations. Making special trips from Glendale, AZ to San Diego, CA just for great food. We are very sad to hear that they are not allowed to renew their lease. We must return before the end of January 2017. Great food, great service and a beatiful view. We've always have great service and food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was recommended by a local. H ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Restaurant was recommended by a local. Had fish and chips and since I didn't want fries, the waitress offered to substitute the vegetables for it. She stated the veggie was asparagus but when it was served, it was string green beans. They were good but I had my hope for asparagus. The whipped butter and bread was delicious. Coleslaw was very good and server was attentive to me. Overall a very positive experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a Tourist night with a view - gre ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was a Tourist night with a view - great food for a vacation dinner out !

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was not hot and not really that ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was not hot and not really that good. Lacked flavor. Service was okay, a little slow and they didn't seem that busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Can't go wrong with this place especiall ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Can't go wrong with this place especially if you want a decent meal with a nice meal. Definitely recommend anyone to try this place before Brigantine moves in.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super place. If you haven't gone, pleas ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Super place. If you haven't gone, please do so as this restaurant is part of the building that will be gone after January to make room for redevelopment on the harbor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was excellent and we had a go ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Everything was excellent and we had a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food at great prices. Visited ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fantastic food at great prices. Visited twice during 1 week stay in San Diego

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

We've been to San Diego a million times ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We've been to San Diego a million times yet we've never bothered to stop into Anthony's which is on Harbor Blvd and on the water. The restaurant looks great and we were seated quickly with our reservation.

We ordered our meal and an appetizer. We received our meal in a normal amount of time. I ordered the King crab legs and was going to share then with my daughter. They advertise 1 1/2 lbs for 49.95. When they arrived, I was truly disappointed in the size of the legs and meat inside. I've been to the Harbor house and their same portion was more than enough for 2 people. We also ordered the swordfish with was good, but small portion. Oh yea, I forgot to mention the appetizer...thats because it did not show up. I had to ask for it when our main meal arrived. Anthony's did comp us on the appetizer so that was nice. Also, check your receipt. Anthony's charges a 3% MISC fee on your receipt.

Overall, i can officially say "been there, done that". There are far better options in San diego.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The signature Squid Steak was fantastic! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The signature Squid Steak was fantastic! I would go back just to have it again. Our server was ver attentive, personable, and wore a beautiful smile. A+ dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was a great family experience, grea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This was a great family experience, great service and good food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

70 years of restaurant experience shines ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

70 years of restaurant experience shines through. Mama Ghio's red chowder is excellent. Wonderful blue point oysters. Calamari steak outstanding. My fresh Alaskan halibut was a touch overcooked 😣

The coleslaw was yummy.. San Diego will lose this institution soon. Too Bad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Was visiting from out of state and alway ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Was visiting from out of state and always wanted to eat there in past years.. This time visiting area we had a chance to eat there... Everything was great.. Next year we are definitely go to stop in again..

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 22 minutes before server came to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Waited 22 minutes before server came to table. He

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

The food was on the salty side.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was on the salty side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

love it. good food, beautiful setting. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

love it. good food, beautiful setting. Will miss it when it closes.

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

They took our reservation for 10 people ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

They took our reservation for 10 people, allowed us to push it back when traffic became an issue. Big plus. Lee Ann was wonderful and patient with a group that large. The food and ambiance was superb. No wonder it's been around for 70 years.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed. Expected the clam cho ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Very disappointed. Expected the clam chowder to be outstanding. It was not. Tasted more like canned. The shrimp and pork wontons were terrific but small. The best part was our waitress, Beba

She was outstanding.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I live in Los Angeles and come to San Di ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I live in Los Angeles and come to San Diego to Eat at Anthony's

probably some of the best seafood in the US. Very large restaurant, but you feel that that you have it all to yourself. The friendly staff greets you at the entrance and waits on your every need until you leave.

I will be going here for a very long time. Thank you for a wonderful dinner and a fun evening.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The restaurant was nice. The food was g ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The restaurant was nice. The food was good and the service was good. The waitress I think had to many tables to have to wait on to give great service. Also, I took my husband there for his birthday and mentioned it to the waitress and she said we have to do a dessert and we could choose from two. I was surprised when i got the bill and the dessert was on the bill. Any other restaurant the birthday cake/dessert was always on the house.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Anthony's food is superb. We loved the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Anthony's food is superb. We loved the new items on the menu, especially the sand dabs. The location on the waterfront is spectacular. It isn't a chain type restaurant but one that has personality and class! What a wonderful meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful view but other than t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a wonderful view but other than that it was very noisy and the food was average. It was a disappointing experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Anthony's is a historic site on the San ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Anthony's is a historic site on the San Diego waterfront. They have a great menu of sea food items at very affordable prices. The service we had was outstanding and the view of the San Diego Bay made for a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a nice way to celebrate a family mem ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Was a nice way to celebrate a family member's birthday

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservation via OT but we still had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Made reservation via OT but we still had to wait as we wanted a table near a window for the breathtaking view. There wasn't a place to show this as an option - although retrospectively, could have added it to the "special requests" section of the OT form but since we'd never been there, had no idea to even ask.

Once seated, the service and the food were excellent - service rating would have been 5 stars if we walked right in and had a table ready.

A bit pricey for a family of 4 so overall value was not perfect. We brought 2 kiddos who drank waters and we adults had no alcohol, still was $70+.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great way xperience. So sad they will be ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great way xperience. So sad they will be closing. A family tradition for many years.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Thrilled to get a reservation (as we wer ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Thrilled to get a reservation (as we were searching for a place to eat) during Comic Con, and it was a gorgeous little waterfront walk from our hotel. Our server Tina made us feel so at home, and our meal was tasty and not too expensive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have a long time fond memory of Anthon ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I have a long time fond memory of Anthony's. It started with my grammie who lived on prospect in la Jolla. She didn't cook and when I visited we'd walk to Anthony's where she was always warmly greeted; "good evening Mrs Chittick. How are you this evening?"

I love your fish and chips. Prospect restraunt is long gone and harbor soo to be. I will miss you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The squid steak was very tender, but the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The squid steak was very tender, but the excessive melted butter and bread crumbs overpowered the delicate flavor of the squid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious, clam chowder was fan ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food was delicious, clam chowder was fantastic. Restaurant was very busy, yet service was friendly and fast. View of the ocean and passing boats was enjoyable and exciting for the children. would definitely come here again when visiting San Diego.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A magnificent place to dine and food was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A magnificent place to dine and food was amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.