Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Ruth's Chris Steak House - San DiegoRuth's Chris Steak House - San Diego
(1928)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 11 times today
Herb & WoodHerb & Wood
(884)
$$$$
Californian | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 58 times today
Ironside Fish & OysterIronside Fish & Oyster
(1282)
$$$$
Seafood | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 74 times today
Juniper & IvyJuniper & Ivy
(2896)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 135 times today
BarbusaBarbusa
(438)
$$$$
Italian | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 49 times today
Kettner ExchangeKettner Exchange
(523)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 36 times today
Born & RaisedBorn & Raised
(73)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 143 times today
Bencotto Italian KitchenBencotto Italian Kitchen
(952)
$$$$
Italian | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 53 times today
Puesto at the HeadquartersPuesto at the Headquarters
(1146)
$$$$
Mexican | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 48 times today
Prepkitchen - Little ItalyPrepkitchen - Little Italy
(981)
$$$$
American | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 9 times today
Davanti Enoteca - Little ItalyDavanti Enoteca - Little Italy
(302)
$$$$
Italian | Little Italy, San Diego
Booked 6 times today
CoasterraCoasterra
(1399)
$$$$
Regional Mexican | Harbor Island, San Diego
Booked 128 times today
Seasons 52 San Diego - Seaport DistrictSeasons 52 San Diego - Seaport District
(1171)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 28 times today
Top of the MarketTop of the Market
(1816)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 43 times today
Eddie V's - Seaport DistrictEddie V's - Seaport District
(1219)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 27 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.30mi

About Permanently Closed - Anthony's Fish Grotto

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

5.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
100% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (México)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Why did it close? It was delicious and such an icon! It is really sad that it is closed for good. The food was good, the ambience fine and the panorama was fantastic! The seagulls in the little pier were fun.
I was hoping to take my kids there, but now it won't be possible.
Sad.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We have always loved Anthony's and will miss it very much BUT we will make the effort to go to the La Mesa location for sure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The restaurant is closing, and we wanted to go one last time. The white clam chowder was salty, and the manhattan lacked a bit of flavor. the caesar salad was skimpy. the tuna avocado salad was very good.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome location,sad to see it go. We had been here before and found it to be enjoyable

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The last of a San Diego icon - gone ! Such a sad goodbye to a restaurant synonymous with the Embarcadero. I wish the Ghio Family and their loyal staff all good wishes. The waterfront won't be the same without Anthony's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had an early lunch on Sunday, to celebrate my friend's birthday and to say goodbye to Anthony's. We had a wonderful time, but we were very sad knowing that this wonderful restaurant is closing,, and we will no longer see the historical sign while driving down Ash. I have lived in San Diego since 1969 and have many, many delightful memories of wonderful meals with friends and co-workers. I am happy they will continue to operate the restaurant in La Mesa. Since I live in East County, I will continue to be a loyal fan!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Sad to see you close a restaurant with no areas of complaint

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Lot of History at this location after 70 years, closing it is doors

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were there over the weekend. We were a little disappointed that you were out of King Crab. My husband had the Fried fish and shrimp combo. The food was way too oily. My husband got physically sick before we could even get the check. On the plus side though, it was a nice setting, the server was very good. Just wish we could have enjoyed our meal and my husband didn't get sick.

Tags: Quick Bite, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

25th Birthday Dinner for Daughter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Unfortunately, we went there the weekend it closed for good. They still have another restaurant in La Mesa, but waterfront dining at Anthony's Fish Grotto is officially a thing of the past.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Kinda expensive nowadays. I know you need to pay your staff but for fish and chips and a sandwich or two and no alcoholic drinks $104.00 was alot. But, it was closing. Also.....Mama Ghia's red chowder recipient has been altered. I am going to try it again at La Mesa! I used to eat it alot when I worked in LA Mesa.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our farewell to Anthony's on the bay in San Diego They Close today JAnuary 31 2017. Personally I think it was one of the worse mistake San Dieg could make by not renewing their lease!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Impeccable Food, Service and location...
Sorry it's closing down...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We came to experience the last weekend of Anthony's in San Diego downtown. So sad to see it go. I am a native San Diegan and loved this restaurant. Very fun day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This restaurant is immensely popular and has established itself on the San Diego waterfront for 70 years. I've eaten there with family since 1960. However, due to the City awarding the new waterfront restaurant lease contract to another bidder, Anthony's is being forced out. The replacement restaurant will no doubt be pricier, trendier and fancier, but it will not be able to for the waterfront what Anthony's restaurant has done. Anthony's reputation is built upon its ability to expertly prepare and serve seafood at a reasonable price, making this place one of the best values in town. I urge diners, now that the waterfront facility is closing tomorrow, January 31, to check out the other Anthony's sister restaurant location in La Mesa. Same good food and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a great experience in getting seated and served quickly, at a wonderful waterfront table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2017

So sorry to be losing Anthony's by the water frontin downtown SD. A REAL LOSS after 70 years!

Tags: Healthy, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The outstanding New England Clam Chowder & the fresh fish selections🙌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Loved the service and the attention received by the employees helping our dinner to be more memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

This was an outstanding dinner time. We had to go one last time before Anthony's Fish Grotto closes on Jan. 31, 2017. We got to have a window table, fight on the water, and watched the sun set, one of my favorite things !!! the food was excellent, and a good size for the price. The service was excellent, we had the exact type of dining one would hope for ! making reservations through this site made this an easy experience.

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We have enjoyed dining at Anthony's Embarcadero location for more than 50 years, and we're so sad to see it close. We recently visited for lunch one last time on our anniversary, and it was great as always!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Love Anthony's, been going to the restaurant since the 70's. Beautiful scenery, great staff & delicious food. Very sadden that the restaurant is closing. A historical landmark in our beautiful city, the waterfront will not be the same! Goodbye to all the delicious one of a kind seafood taste.....you will be missed!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Waitress was OUTSTANDING for personality, service, knowledge, eyc

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Prices high for very average meal. It deserves to go out of business by delivering such mediocrity in such a great location.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Open table made a "reservation ". Rude hostess said that reservation was actually preferred seating. Went through the reservation tab on the official website for Anthony's. That felt really shady especially since it was to celebrate my birthday which I noted in the comments. No special treatment. Should not offer to make a reservation if you will not honor it. Nothing at all said preferred seating. Such a joke. Really set it off for a bad mood to celebrate for my special day. Other staff was okay but we spent enough money where you should be treated better. Management needs to reevaluate especially since they are losing this location. Hopefully la Mesa fares okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We will miss this great restaurant. A lot of family historic meals here. Will not be forgotten.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It's always sad to see a part of the family say so long. A part of many families of San Diego for almost 71 years! I paid my last respect to sit and go back on memory lane with the same loved ones gone before me. I stuck to the never disappointing clam chowder, gorged on the bread and sun dried tomato butter while diving into the crispy calamari. By the time our entrees arrived, i was more than satisfied and stll mesmerized by the ocean bay view. Unfortunately, the decor or should i say, the furnishings are still time warped in the 50s diner look and out dated ambiance. Recipes should stay intact, not the furniture. I almost sank in the split cushioned booth and thought it was time to rip. The passion had died.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Sadly, closing this week-?ubderstand there is a second location...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

So sad they are going away! Many years at this location. Always a favorite of ours.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Anthony's delivered everything we hoped for. We came for a late Christmas family get together. Anthony's is an iconic San Diego restaurant that brings us lots of memories. The food was exactly what we hoped for. Mama Ghio's batter on the shrimp was just as we remembered: crunchy, tasty, not too thick, just yummy and delicious cocktail sauce. We all dined on different items from the menu and we all enjoyed our choices.

We are sad this iconic San Diego restaurant. It will be missed.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Wanted to eat seafood and this was close by. Restaurant is very casual. Have been here before and the restaurant seems to have gone down hill. You can get better seafood in San Diego but the prices were good for the limited menu offerings. View is the best part of the restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Long time customer. Had to visit one more time before they close. Great meal

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent San Diego Landmark too bad it is closing on 1/31/2017, we wanted to go one more time I have been going since I was 8 yrs old at the La Jolla Location on prospect in the 1960s with my Maternal grandmother Parent and 7 siblings :-)

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and great friendly service. Sorry to see them go at the end of the month. Shared a bottle of wine, house white zinfandel with my mom. Delicious. Pot stickers appetizer was perfectly cooked and very tasty. The salmon was cooked perfectly. Thank you Anthony's for being there for so many years!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our outing was fantastic. The food was good and the service was excellent. It is a shame that this restaurant will be closing forever.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My first time there, shame it will be my last. Service was great, thank you, Matt. Beautiful view.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Have loved this place for 3 decades, always a special place for my family and our celebrations, from the time I was growing up tiI'll now. Superb!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This San Diego waterfront restaurant will be sorely missed by many.
Thank heaven they will maintain their La Mesa location.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wanted to go here once more before they close for good. We went after the Women's March and they were slammed with visitors and a huge waiting list. Thanks to Open Table, we walked right in. Our server forgot the clam chowders 2 of us ordered, but given the deluge of customers, we understood.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.