About Anthony's Fish Grotto

Anthony's Fish Grotto is San Diego's original seafood restaurant. Founded in 1946, Anthony's still uses original family secret recipes to serve what Zagat's 2013 City Guide calls San Diego's Most Popular Seafood.

An extensive menu of seafood is complimented by chicken, beef, and even an incredible hamburger, ensuring that there is something for everyone. The building is built over the water of San Diego Bay and it offers diners some of the best views in the city.

1360 N Harbor Dr
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner

Sunday through Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday and Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:30pm

Brunch

Sunday: 11:00am - 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Ash Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 232-5103

Website:
http://www.gofishanthonys.com/

Parking Details:
Metered parking directly in front. Paid parking lots also available in walking distance at County Administration building, Wyndham Hotel, and at the Lane Field Cruise Ship Parking lot.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Anthony's Fish Grotto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (85)
Scenic View (81)
Casual (57)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (39)
Great for Lunch (39)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Historic (35)
Local Ingredients (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Authentic (29)
Family Style (29)
Comfort Food (22)
Outstanding Value (21)
Business Meals (21)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fun (19)
Romantic (18)
Kid-friendly (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
People Watching (17)
Healthy (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Cozy (13)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Seasonal (5)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
 (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very GOOD!!

 
 (México)·Dined 3 days ago

Very GOOD!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed it, it is unfortunate tha ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoyed it, it is unfortunate that they lost their lease. A San Diego gem that will soon be no more.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service and food. Very loud (think ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and food. Very loud (think there was a football game on?). We sat near bar area which was a lot more casual than we envisioned. We asked for a window seat as we're hoping to overlook water but only saw our reflections in glass (at night ) so not really the ambience we were hoping for. Good for a casual night with friends not a romantic date or anything.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Had reservations at 3:30 but could not g ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Had reservations at 3:30 but could not get there because. Of mlk parade Road closures. Went back at 6:00 and was seated in bar. It was loud and service started out. Slow food was good.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

An overall favorite. So heartbroken to s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

An overall favorite. So heartbroken to see it closing

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Romantic, , Scenic View, Hot Spot, Historic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Anthony's one last time before i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Went to Anthony's one last time before it closes on Jan 31. Great experience to mark the end of an era. Great food and service! Will miss this institution!

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing service and good! First time her ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing service and good! First time here and everything was all around great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant! So sad the lease i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent restaurant! So sad the lease is up to make way for new construction for other restaurants! Such a loss to the San Diego waterfront! Top notch establishment!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I got ghastly sick. This place sucks. Do ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

I got ghastly sick. This place sucks. Don't bring your wife

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

An amazing restaurant that will be misse ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

An amazing restaurant that will be missed. I grew up eating at Anthony's at Seaport Village and this location in downtown. I am sad to see this going the way the Seaport Village location and closing. Shame on the city of San Diego for letting this happen. Thank you Anthony's for the memories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the last places my moth ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

This was one of the last places my mother visited and I wanted to pay honor in her memory. She loved the seafood here! However, my daughter's and I thought it was just O.K.The presentation not appealing but the the check was... to over price for the quality of food.I'm glad I was able to visit this place before it official close just to say that I've been.It was a beautiful drive down from Pasadena but lukily we found some other great eats!

Tags: Scenic View, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

So sad that Anthony's is closing down. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

So sad that Anthony's is closing down. It is one of the best places to go in San Diego. The views are spectacular, the service exceptional and the food is always great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a 7:15 PM reservation and arrived ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a 7:15 PM reservation and arrived a liitle early and was seated. Our waiter Paul was great. Every course ordered was brought in a timed fashion that never felt we had to hurry. Love this place. We were very sad to hear from the Uber driver that after 70 years, Anthony's is closing. That really made us sad.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Anthony's because we wanted a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We went to Anthony's because we wanted a last lunch there before they closed.

It has always been our favorite place for seafood. What a shame it will be gone at the end of the month. What fond memories we have had at Anthony's Sea Food Grotto.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anthony's food experience over the years ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Anthony's food experience over the years, has been great. Unfortunately, after 70 years they are closing for good (bad) the harbor location.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent, but sadly going away very soo ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent, but sadly going away very soon. I have been going there for over 50 years !

Negative: Surcharge on bill and merchandise surcharge related. San Diego City

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anthony's is a long-time favorite of our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Anthony's is a long-time favorite of our family. We regret that Anthony's Harborside is closing. We like the Brigantine, but we LOVE Anthony's. Thanks to the Ghio family for serving up delicious memories for so many years.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A GEM on the Bay that will be missed aft ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A GEM on the Bay that will be missed after 70 years of business. Luckily if you would like to try their food, Anthony's has another location in La Mesa, California. This site is a Gem too...with tables inside and out by their lake! Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Scenic View, , Comfort Food, Romantic, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place to celebrate any speci ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A wonderful place to celebrate any special occasion. Decent pricing, excellent service, good food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, , Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very sad to see this fabulous restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Very sad to see this fabulous restaurant leave the waterfront. Brigantine won't last there long!

Tags: Waterfront, Quick Bite, , Casual, Romantic, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining at Anthony's for man ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We have been dining at Anthony's for many years. Unfortunately, the waterfront location is closing and another restaurant (chain) will open on the site. We're glad the La Mesa location is still open.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was mediocre taste and poor value. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Food was mediocre taste and poor value. This place along with some other tourist traps charge a "3% surcharge" for whatever ridiculous reasons. I would skip this place had I known better.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

There were 6 of us, we all loved our mea ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2017

There were 6 of us, we all loved our meal. Scallops were amazing!!!!

Paul did a fantastic job of serving us.

Completely sad you are closing :(

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was my mother's favorite restaurant ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This was my mother's favorite restaurant. When we heard Anthony was closing at the end of January (2017), we decided to go there for the last time for remembering my mother and celebrate life.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

I can't believe they are closing this pl ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I can't believe they are closing this place. It has been a favorite of ours forever. Nothing the Brigantine builds will equal the memories we have of this place. So Sad!!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except one in our p ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was great except one in our party's meal was undercooked. The manager came to apologize and removed the meal from the bill as well as gave a free dessert. Customer service 100%. What a shame this restaurant is closing at the end of January. I'm glad we got to experience it one more time!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

New Years Eve we decided to go to Anthon ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve we decided to go to Anthony's Harborside as it is closing the end of January. Lots of memories as I was taken here as a little girl (over 60 years ago). Learned to eat scallops here. SD institution and we are sad they are leaving. Great service when I asked for fried scallops which were not on the menu. They were wonderful at accommodating my request. Food was good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great location near the water. We arrive ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great location near the water. We arrived early and they accommodated us quickly. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I really enjoyed dinning here. The food ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I really enjoyed dinning here. The food was amazing and the people were so nice, sweet, and personable. My family and I had an amazing experience and would recommend anyone to try it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anthony's has been synononomous with fin ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Anthony's has been synononomous with fine seafood dining in San Diego for over 57 years. The loss of this waterfront landmark by our Port commission in exchange for a chain establishment, signifies the end of an era and ushers in another which fails to embrace the past and instead is all too dismissive of tradition, particularly for San Diegaans, the legacy of our fishing industry and what it has meant towards the creation of who we are as a community. This loss is irreplaceable and inexcusable.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good, but the music w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is always good, but the music was something to be desired, needs better music.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

What a crime that Anthony's is losing th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

What a crime that Anthony's is losing their lease after 70 years. Maybe the City will make a bit more money, and I'm sure the new tenant will be more tourist friendly, but it just won't be the same. We're losing one of the little things that makes San Diego San Diego and not OC South.

Food is always at least good and often very good, view is great, ambiance may be mid-century but it's comfortable for both families and dates. We'll miss it.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Was at Anthony's in the 70's when I was ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Was at Anthony's in the 70's when I was a kid. Took my family there just as I was as a youngster. Great experience. A little confusion with the wait staff. Food and ambiance were very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Superior service with a complete menu. E ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Superior service with a complete menu. Especially nice are the meat and seafood combos and great prices on lobster. Local wine list and reasonable prices on everything. Very sorry to see it disappear from this location.

Tags: , Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view, particularly at sunset. T ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing view, particularly at sunset. This place is an institution in San Diego that is sadly being pushed out after 70 years at the same location. Please pay your respects before 1/31, because when it's gone, it's gone forever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner and Beba helpe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner and Beba helped make it special!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The seafood would've been good if it was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The seafood would've been good if it wasn't drowned in the Italian red sauce, which drowned out the taste of the fish. It was too pricey for what it taste and is worth.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

HAD A GREAT VISIT TO ANTHONY'S WITH FAMI ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

HAD A GREAT VISIT TO ANTHONY'S WITH FAMILY. FOOD AND SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual. So very, very sad it's c ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great as usual. So very, very sad it's closing for good Jan 31st :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was so special to celebrate with our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was so special to celebrate with our adult children a place they went to with their grandparents as children. As always, the food is delicious and well prepared...The staff is always friendly and attentive. We hate to see Anthony's end their 70 years downtown. We will miss this dining establishment as they close next month.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.